🐱 NEW!

Introducing the Cat Food Advisor!

Independent, unbiased reviews without influence from pet food companies

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    jcosler

This ratio is often listed in your reviews. What ratio should one be aiming for? what is the significance of this ratio?

#30727 Report Abuse
    theBCnut

You should aim for approximately 2:1. That has the calories from protein about the same as the calories from fat. If you get too high in fat, the dog can get all the calories it needs before it gets the nutrients it needs. Also, some dogs have issues handling too much fat.

#30747 Report Abuse
    jcosler

i guess you actually state it as fat-to-protein ratio. so, you would want this to be <=50%? is that correct?

#30748 Report Abuse
    crazy4cats
    Participant

Ok, so I’m not a rocket scientist, but that tells me that fat has approximately twice the calories of protein. I hadn’t paid that much attention to the calorie weighted analysis before. Interesting 🙂

#30760 Report Abuse
    pugmomsandy
    Participant

crazy4cats,

That’s why I had such an issue with one brand of canned food which severely understated the fat content on their website. Their Duck formula originally stated 8% protein and 6% fat, but now their updated info says 8% protein and 10% fat which is 125% fat-to-protein. No thanks. Not for my indoor, lazy, house dogs!! Unfortunately, consumers must ask the pet food company for more accurate info since they only have to list minimums.

#30762 Report Abuse

Other way around. 2 calories of protein to 1 calorie of fat if I understand Patty correctly. I know she has told me before that for moderate amount of fat in the food it is if the fat is half the % of protein. So if the protein % is 42% and the fat % is 21% then that is half the amount of protein and a moderate amount of fat.

#30768 Report Abuse
    theBCnut