šŸ± NEW!

Introducing the Cat Food Advisor!

Independent, unbiased reviews without influence from pet food companies

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Thomas B

Hello everyone, I’m a newbie here. So, my 11 years old senior dog started losing weight. The only food that he eats is not full of good nutrients also.. I don’t know what to do… I searched for a specific food that helps a dog to gain weight, but I don’t want to waste money on foods that are not helpful at all. I found an article about that and it looks like there might be something that I need. Here is a link to this article if you have the same problem https://petshotspot.com/dog-foods-for-weight-gain/. So what are your recommendations? I tried to feed him with raw food but he vomits a lot and I guess it is hard for him to digest it.

#130744 Report Abuse
    anonymous

Dogs love chicken, just add a little to his kibble with a splash of water

I boil a small chicken once a month in a huge pot, nothing added, then let it simmer for 3 to 4 hours.
    Let it cool for a couple of hours. You may have to put it in the fridge for at least 2 hours.
    When cool enough to handle, remove the chicken and debone, be very careful and throw out small pieces and such as tiny bones could be in there. When in doubt, throw out.
    Put the pot of broth in the fridg on cold temp for 24 hours, the fat will rise to the top so that you can easily remove it.
    Separate the broth in individual containers or freezer baggies (3 or 4 day supply each) store in freezer.
    Do the same for the chicken meat.
    Its a bit of work and messy, but cost effective, and you know for sure that there are no added ingredients.
    The store bought has preservatives and salt. The more expensive brand in the organic section might be a little better.

#130745 Report Abuse
    anonymous

If that is too much work for you, boil or scramble an egg (no milk) and add to his kibble meal with a splash of water.