Purina Moist and Meaty (Semi-Moist)

Share

Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Purina Moist and Meaty Dog Food receives the Advisor’s lowest rating of 1 star.

The Purina Moist and Meaty product line includes four semi-moist dog foods.

However, since we’re unable to locate AAFCO nutritional adequacy statements for these dog foods on the product’s web page, it’s impossible for us to report specific life stage recommendations for these recipes.

The following is a list of recipes available at the time of this review.

  • Moist and Meaty Steak Flavor
  • Moist and Meaty Chopped Burger
  • Moist and Meaty Burger with Cheddar Cheese Flavor
  • Moist and Meaty Rise and Shine Awaken Bacon and Egg Flavor

Moist and Meaty Burger with Cheddar Cheese Flavor was selected to represent the other products in the line for this review.

Purina Moist and Meaty Burger with Cheddar Cheese

Semi-Moist Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 27% | Fat = 10% | Carbs = 55%

Ingredients: Beef, high fructose corn syrup, soybean grits, soybean flour, water, wheat flour, corn syrup, calcium carbonate, brewers condensed solubles, phosphoric acid, salt, sorbic acid (added to prevent spoilage), dried cheese powder (predominantly cheddar cheese), calcium propionate, (added to prevent spoilage), dl-methionine, choline chloride, added color (yellow 6, red 40, yellow 5 and other color), zinc sulfate, ferrous sulfate, vitamin supplements (E, B12, A, D3), ethoxyquin (a preservative), riboflavin supplement, manganese sulfate, niacin, calcium pantothenate, copper sulfate, biotin, thiamine mononitrate, folic acid, pyridoxine hydrochloride, menadione sodium bisulfite complex (source of vitamin K activity), calcium iodate, sodium selenite

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 4.5%

Red items when present indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis18%7%NA
Dry Matter Basis27%10%55%
Calorie Weighted Basis25%24%51%

The first ingredient in this dog food is beef. Although it’s a quality item, raw beef contains about 80% water. After cooking, most of that moisture is lost, reducing the meat content to just a fraction of its original weight.

After processing, this item would probably account for a smaller part of the total content of the finished product.

The second ingredient is high fructose corn syrup (or HFCS). HFCS is a corn-based sugar mixture commonly used to make soft drinks, cookies and candy. Sugar is an empty nutrient — just as unhealthy for dogs as it is for humans.

The third ingredient is soy grits, soybeans which have been toasted and broken into small pieces. Although high in protein, compared to meat, soy grits are an inferior source of amino acids.

Even though soy grits are relatively high in protein, this ingredient would be expected to possess a lower biological value than meat.

The fourth ingredient is soy flour, a high-protein by-product of soybean processing.

Even though soy grits and soy flour are relatively high in protein, these ingredients would be expected to have a notably lower biological value than meat.

And less costly plant-based products like this can notably boost the total protein reported on the label — a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

The fifth ingredient is water, which adds nothing but moisture to this food. Water is a routine finding in most canned dog foods.

The sixth ingredient is wheat flour, a highly-refined product of wheat milling. Like corn, wheat is an inexpensive and controversial cereal grain of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

For this reason, we do not consider wheat a preferred component in any dog food.

The seventh ingredient is corn syrup. Corn syrup is a glucose-rich, high-calorie item of questionable nutritional value to a dog.

The eighth ingredient is calcium carbonate, likely used here as a dietary mineral supplement.

The ninth ingredient includes brewers condensed solubles, a by-product of making beer. It’s an inexpensive feedlot supplement commonly used as a “topdress” for feeding cattle.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With four notable exceptions

First, we’re always disappointed to find artificial coloring in any pet food. That’s because coloring is used to make the product more appealing to humans — not your dog. After all, do you really think your dog cares what color his food is?

Next, the minerals listed here do not appear to be chelated. And that can make them more difficult to absorb. Non-chelated minerals are usually associated with lower quality dog foods.

In addition, we note the inclusion of menadione, a controversial form of vitamin K linked to liver toxicity, allergies and the abnormal break-down of red blood cells.

Since vitamin K isn’t required by AAFCO in either of its dog food nutrient profiles, we question the use of this substance in any canine formulation.

And lastly, this dog food contains ethoxyquin, a controversial preservative linked to the accumulation of hemoglobin pigment in the liver and elevated hepatic enzymes in the blood.

Purina Moist and Meaty Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Judging by its ingredients alone, Purina Moist and Meaty looks like a below average dog food.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 27%, a fat level of 10% and estimated carbohydrates of about 55%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 27% and a mean fat level of 10%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 55% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 39%.

Near-average protein. Below-average fat. And above-average carbs when compared to a typical dog food.

When you consider the protein-boosting effect of the soy items, this looks like the profile of a semi-moist product containing a modest amount of meat.

Bottom line?

Purina Moist and Meaty is a plant-based semi-moist dog food using a modest amount of beef or beef by-products as its main sources of animal protein, thus earning the brand 1 star.

Not recommended.

Please note certain recipes are sometimes given a higher or lower rating based upon our estimate of their total meat content.

Special Alert

Rice ingredients can sometimes contain arsenic. Until the US FDA establishes safe upper levels for arsenic content, pet owners may wish to limit the total amount of rice fed in a dog's daily diet.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, due to the biological uniqueness of every animal, none of our ratings are intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in a specific dietary response or health benefit for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

To learn how we support the cost of operating this website, please visit our public Disclosure and Disclaimer page.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Notes and Updates

12/21/2009 Original review
07/30/2010 Review updated
05/27/2012 Review updated
12/21/2013 Review updated
12/21/2013 Last Update

  • theBCnut

    I agree it’s disturbing what goes into dog food, and I don’t, won’t and wouldn’t feed Purina, but Purina doesn’t use animals euthanized from shelters in their food, at least not anymore. Other cheap sleazy companies might.
    Some meat raised for human consumption is disturbing too. As much as I can, I raise my own. And I try to buy from sources I can trust.

  • Madam Vonkook

    I give my dog only human grade food ..most people dont realize companies like purina use animals that have been euthanized from pet shelters as well as sick and diseased horses then use chemicals to sanitize the meat by products…it is disturbing

  • Madam Vonkook

    Dogs are omnivores like humans

  • Pattyvaughn

    Been there, done that. My first dog got whatever sounded yummy to me, which ended up being a lot of food dyes, preservatives, chemicals, and sugar. Mine could have died of old age , but she had arthritis all over her whole body, so when the time was right we put her down. She was a small mixed breed dog that really shouldn’t have had that much wear on her little frame, but all that garbage made it difficult for her to repair herself, I guess. Other than one bout with Mighty Dog induced pancreatitis, she was never sick, but she was never vibrant like my dogs are now either.

  • Cyndi

    There is a lot of us here who have done the same thing. I had a mutt when I was younger that ate Alpo his entire life. He lived to be 17 years old. I fed my last dog Iams and Purina One, which I believe contributed to his death. Since finding this site 8 months ago, I educated myself and now feed my current dog a raw diet. You live and learn, too bad it sometimes has to be at the expense of our pets. You’re here now, make the best of it! Good luck with your dog. :-)

  • Guest

    I had my dog on this garbage for 17 years,he passed of old age about 2 years ago.Not condoning this food in any way,I feel bad for feeding it to him his whole life,never looked at the ingredients until I got my current dog who has allot of food allergies. Total ignorance and stupidity on my part!

  • mward1993

    Yes, if your dog is picky there are tons of other better options.

  • Betsy Greer

    I don’t mean to be rude, Sissie, but consider it a blessing. It’s a sign that you need to switch to something else before this stuff destroys your poor pup.

    Would you consider switching? If so, we’ll happily recommend some other foods that might work for you.

  • Sissie Dauzat

    why can’t I find moist n meaty chicken flavored?

  • mward1993

    There is a difference between clean, quality organ meats, ” byproducts” and the random diseased body parts that make up the majority of byproducts in the pet food industry.

  • mward1993

    Try a healthy canned food. Perhaps limited ingredient. Natural balance, natures variety, some Nutro formulas ( grain free and sensitive stomach varieties) wellness simple solutions, any of these would be worth a try. Have you had your dog examined by a vet?

  • Shawna

    Agree :) One of my favorite quotes is from Dr. Royal Lee “One of the biggest tragedies of human civilization is the precedence of chemical therapy over nutrition”.

    I would add, it’s not only what he ate but what HIS parents ate before conception and prenatally.. :)

  • Barbara

    Dr Becker ROCKS!

  • Barbara

    Hello Shawna, love that GrandPa! In my experience, people who live over 100 generally ate fresh farm/garden food with little to no chemicals. God created bodies to self heal, but they need the proper, SAFE food to do it. GrandPa ate well, his body had what it needed to counter the effects of a couple of vices. Died happy no doubt!

  • Barbara

    My 4 year old Eskie cannot tolerate any dry food at all – some kind of bowel disorder. Moist and Meaty is the ONLY food she does not have a problem with and she loves it. I am DESPERATE to find a healthy but similar alternative. Suggestions? Oh, as an American Eskimo, easy weight gain is always to be kept in mind.

  • InkedMarie

    Find a better food; if you want help, tell us about your dog: any health issues, how’s his coat? Ear infections, how but weight? Can you order online? When you find a new food, take a week to transition over, adding more & more of the new food to the old as the week goes on leave the food down for 20 min. If he doesn’t eat it all, pick it up & nothing til the next meal

  • Cyndi

    I would switch her to a better dog food if I were you, especially after looking at the ingredient list for this food. If she won’t eat a better food, you could try mixing it with a 4 or 5 star wet food. That would be better for her anyways.

  • Kim Blades

    My dog is 15 years old and only eats moist and meaty. She has been eating for years. She is picky and will only eat that food, I’ve tried everything.

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    She’s been eating sugar all her life and it will be difficult to get her off this food! But please try something else and start looking in the 3 star (or higher) category as (alot of) these foods most likely won’t have sugar or too many other red flag ingredients. Get some canned foods to mix in with her kibble to make it more appealling. Even adding in some people food will help (people food with no sugar of course). When I say people food I mean meat, eggs, canned fish, cooked chopped veggies.

  • LawofRaw

    Well at least you’re doing your vet big favours :)

  • disqus_lRXTM6Kt6i

    My dog is just about to hit six years old and she has been eating this brand for years. It’s the /only/ brand she’ll eat because she is so finicky. Reading several articles online are making me rethink her diet, but she won’t eat anything else?

  • Cyndi

    LOL!! LOVE that!! I’m going to print that out and hang it on the wall in my office!

  • LawofRaw

    Yeah, I agree re animal byproducts (depending though, if they’re not just feet or tail etc but including offal) but you made no mention of soy grits, soy flour, high fructose corn syrup, wheat flour, corn syrup, dried cheese powder, dl-methionine, added colour (yellow 6, red 40, yellow 5 and other colour), and ethoxyquin etc. Have dogs been eating those for “centuries”?

    It’s no wonder atrocious pet foods like this, cause cancer and premature death in most dogs, especially since the advent of business driven processed pet foods.

  • Pattyvaughn

    You have a simple misunderstanding about the difference between what the legal definition of ‘meat by product’ is and what and animalwould be given by it owner or find in the wild. I pay good money to get good by products for my dogs, you couldn’t pay me to take “meat by products” and give them to my dog.

  • LabsRawesome
  • Logical pet owner

    Not only that, dogs have been eating “meat by products” for literally centuries. That is primarily what they ate — the meat (they are carnivores after all) that the humans didn’t eat.

  • http://www.facebook.com/jack.tripper.3950 Jack Tripper

    your post is clearly a logical fallacy. regardless, perhaps the food you fed your dog was good since lamb & rice isn’t one of the foods that is reviewed here.

  • http://www.facebook.com/jack.tripper.3950 Jack Tripper

    its kind of like with human food, sunny d mixes water and high fructose corn syrup with a little vitamin c then says it has more vitamin c than orange juice. or soy milk itself has no calcium but they add it to it then say it has more calcium than dairy milk. they don’t have to differentiate between foods that naturally contain vitamins and minerals and foods with no nutritional value that are fortified with supplements.

  • http://www.facebook.com/jack.tripper.3950 Jack Tripper

    ya i dont think all the added supplements are all that important. they are mostly put there so the food can claim to meet aafco standards. ideally all or most nutrients should come from the food itself not by mixing saw dust and slaughterhouse waste with a mashed up centrum and callling it nutritious like the grocery store brands do.

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1140685339 Betsy Greer

    One of my favorite kibbled and canned diets is made with whole food ingredients and has no synthetic vitamins or minerals added; and it has no ingredients from China. I feel good about feeding it to my dogs and they both love it. Nature’s Logic also happens to be made in the USA by trusted manufacturers as well.

  • http://www.facebook.com/jack.tripper.3950 Jack Tripper

    this comment is really old but ya as sales associate said, orijen (and acana and many of the best quality foods) is made in canada. considering many of the worst foods are made in the US, it’s probably better to buy canadian ones anyways. also, as sales associate stated, a lot of the added vitamins and minerals come from china. if you want to avoid chinese ingredients, stick to foods that don’t add supplements (they may not meet aafco’s standards but aafco is kind of a joke anyway). even if you add the supplements yourself, many will originate overseas.

  • Shawna

    I’m so sorry for your loss!! :(
    Purina really should be ashamed, I agree.. High fructose corn syrup can cause fatty liver disease in humans. Imagine the consequence in our dogs!!

  • Dave C

    please be careful. I just lost my absolutly best friend of 6 years. cause was moist & meaty buger & cheese. gave him liver cancer. I thought I could trust purena,guess I was wrong

  • http://twitter.com/stupidpetpeople Sales Associate

    Are you talking about Orijen 6-Fish? Because that’s made in Canada, not the US.
    Also, there is no such thing as a food 100% made in the US, since the US doesn’t manufacture most of the added vitamins and minerals. These are produced outside the US in ready-made packets they add to the food, since it’d be way too expensive and impractical for them to be made in the US. They mostly come from Africa and Asia where the minerals are readily available.

  • Flatbushgambler

    I’m a half second away from cooking for my dogs.   After considerable research, I only found 2 brands of dogfood that were made solely in the US plant they are packaged in.  6-Fish and Merrick.   And that can change next week, if a cheaper source is chosen to get the ingredients.   Cooking costs more, but sounds well worth it.  Country dogs lived on table scraps for years – perhaps it’s time to reconsider with a little research on vitamin intake for people vs. dogs on table scraps.  

    Our shepherd was a strong healthy animal.  We began feeding him Puperoni – totally unaware that the petfood industry is, basically, unguarded.   He got several puperoni treats.  Then, one day, he began throwing up blood.   He was dead two days later.  Diagnosis – cancer.  And, it may have been – sadly we will never know.

    Hello home cooked food.  Good-bye mega-corporation plastic processed kibble . . .

  • Helen Fidler2012

    Get them off that crappy food for starters!!!!!!  I would never feed this crap to a dog.   People are so uneducated about what they feed their dogs!  Veterinarians are half the problem as they do not receive proper nutritional training.  

  • doggonefedup

    Maybe all the preservatives had something to do with it!
    beef-by-products….formaldehyde ????  ;)

  • Shawna

    My girlfriend’s grandpa made it to age 105 on nitrite laden bacon and cigarettes.  Smoked to the day he died (living on his own not in a nursing home)..  He drove and was in his right mind clear til the end too.  However his longevity doesn’t magically make bacon and cigarettes healthy..  Likewise, your pups longevity doesn’t make the ingredients in this food healthful..  :)

  • Iris

    I had a dog that lived 19 years only on Moist and Meaty – Rice and Lamb flavor. She had a beautiful coat and never a single problem. She only went to the vet for annual check-ups. Guess it can’t be that bad since she outlived most of the dogs that eat “better” dog food.

  • Gale

    I’m kind of stuck here.  I do mix in Merrick dry with this brand, but my ole dog has bad teeth and due to his age they will not remove.  So I looked for a softer food and got this.  I wish Purina would do better then this, especially for older animals that almost have to eat this food.  Will stick to the Merrick cans and dry with this mixed in.

  • Pingback: All Different Dog Food Brands & Types | My Blog

  • iluvedoggies5

    This food is absouletly aweful! The ingredients can tell you that.

  • Ez101188

    I am looking for advice on this food, my pug puppy is recently on it & she is going to the bathroom a lot, is this a food issue?! I hope not… will be switching foods asap

  • M Ward1993

    I can almost garantee this is the cause.

  • Johnandchristo

    Worrisome….

    HELLOW, this food will kill him. if he is all red on the outside what do you think his insides look like? flea shampoo, is not the greatest thing for him. read the review. fed him a better food, his redness will clear up
    right away. 

  • Worrisome

    I think my dog is allergic to this food, but I’m not sure. He’s been eating this since January. He’s been scratching himself severely and his belly is all red. I was going to get him flea shampoo, but a Petsmart employee said that it could be a food allergy. This food is cheap so price range, it’s good, but if this is the cause for him scratching and skin irritation, then NO MORE for him. 

  • Dog Food Ninja

    This food must have a massively high glycemic index.  What a disgraceful thing for a company to market as “food”.   

  • Shawna

    cjdlfc ~~ I agree that Moist & Meaty is a really poor quality food, I have to say that I’ve never been impressed with any of the food in the Natural Balance line.  And especially not the rolls.  The second ingredient in the three foods is wheat flour and the third ingredient is “SUGAR”..  I also has many flavor enhancers to make the food taste good to the pet but they too come with consequences.  The company should be ashamed for making a food where sugar is in the ingredient list at all but let alone so high in the list..

  • M Ward1993

    yeah, the dog food rolls are good but Natural Balance dry food and canned is better, honestly.

  • cjdlfc

    I have recently purchased Moist & Meaty for a picky eater but haven’t been impressed by the poor nutritional reviews & information. There isn’t even much good information about it on the Purina site. Luckily, I have found a much healthier option. Natural Balance Dog Food Rolls. They havehigh nutritional value, are convenient & the price is reasonable. One roll equals about 10 cans of dog food. I by them @ Petco. All the reviews are good. All of the other Natural Balance products are good as well. I think Petsmart carriers something similar.

  • Meagan

    Jill M-So sorry to hear that you went through that. Maybe you should change your vet.

  • Jill M

    I have been feeding my four dogs (3 cockers and 1 poodle terrier mix) moist and meaty for a couple years. I was mixing it with canned Alpo Prime Cuts. I always bought both at Sam’s Club because it was convenient. All was fine until a couple of weeks ago. My dogs had drastically decreased appetites and were lethargic compared to normal. I immediately looked for dog food recalls and didn’t find any. So, after a few days I bought a different food. I sent an email to Purina to see if they had changed it or if there was anything wrong with the batch. Purina just sent me back an email saying that they didn’t know what could have caused and were going to send me coupons.

    Their appetite was back for the first feeding and then waned some. However, each day they were eating a bit more, but still not normal. So, all four went to the vet. She just felt them up and looked at their eyes/ears/mouths. She said it wasn’t the food and to go back to the original.

    I had told her exactly what I was feeding them.

    So, I gave them just the moist and meaty for the next feeding. And, within 15 minutes one of my cockers went into a LONG seizure. She has never had one before. So, all the moist and meaty went into the trash can. I called the vets office and they said not to bring her in.

    I immediately started looking online again and ended up at this website. I am currently going through the 4 star and 5 star dog foods trying to find a brand that they like.

    She hasn’t had any more seizures and they are all back to eating normal.

    Thank you for this website!

  • sandy

    Gail T,

    I feel for you Gail. Before this site, I was feeding Beneful. You are not alone. Just a suggestion – I’m sure others will throw in their suggestions, too. Maybe try a good limited ingredient diet that doesn’t have any of those red flag ingredients to start off with. Can good food be a shock to the system after 9 years of M & M? Maybe start off with a 3 star limited ingredient food and see how your dog tolerates real meat and potatoes or rice for starters. Wellness fish & sweet potato, Natural Balance Limited Ingredient Diets, Nature’s Variety Limited Ingredient Diets (these just came out) and then after that add in some other foods with more meat and veggies from the 4-star or 5-star lists. And unfortunately you’ll need to use the M&M while transitioning your dog to the new food. Good luck!

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Gail… Watch these 2 videos by Dr. Karen Becker: “The Best and Worst Types of Dog Foods” and “How to Choose a Good Dog Food“.

  • Gail T.

    I came across this site by accident..Now I am scared to death as I have been feeding my now 9 year old Papillon Purina’s moist n meaty just about all these 9 years also….He seems to love it, although to me the dog does not seem well to me..I can not place a reason for it except to say that 3 months ago I took him to the Vet and after some expensive blood results he tells me something was wrong with his liver..I was given meds to treat him and I don’t understand what the problem was..I can not afford to take my dog to the vet often as I may like ( they overcharge !! ) And that upsets me..Much as I love my dog, now I am at a loss..What is the best way to feed your dog ?

  • http://www.drianbillinghurst.com/ Gordon

    I don’t want to impede or get anyone upset, and I feel sorry for your Elmo, Bounora. However Bounora may or may not have had his or her dog attend the same Vet clinic for all those 11 years. Most likely your Vet simply told you he died because of eating this Purina trash, and the Vet would have put 2 and 2 together. Unless I stand corrected and Bounora elaborates further?

    With this in mind, my Vet said to me, as an example of how negligent most can be, “It’s ok to keep my dog on Pedigree” who was being fed this by her previous owners for 2 years since her birth. In hindsight, I reflect on this…..was she kidding me? Sadly no she wasn’t. Ergo from all my own experience and other such negative stories, I’m betting that food is the last priority of concern placed in consultations with most Vets along the course of one’s dog’s Vet visits.

    That’s what similar real life scenario, I’m deducing from Bounora’s story, may be. And what’s more, I’m only speculating, unless Bounora elaborates or clarifies further, that then, your Vet, would have advised you to feed an upgraded Purina formula, or similar, when and if you decide to buy another dog, to which isn’t or aren’t much better than this Purina formulated trash!

    Bounora, my and many other commentators’ advice, would be for you to get yourself more educated on what actually goes into making dog kibbles and processed foods, to be in a better position to trial better quality dog foods, such as the listed 4 or 5 star rated foods on this website, and on other similar websites which I can’t actually post here because I suspect the creator, Mike, has had his software programmed to stop similar equivalent websites be advertised here. Having said that, this website is a well presented and site-mapped same, providing many good articles of substance and reliable information, to help you improve your knowledge, now on better quality dog feeding regimes, should you acquire another family best friend.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Bounora… I’m so sorry to hear about Elmo’s ordeal. You obviously cared a lot about him. Thanks so much for taking the time to share this heartbreaking story with us.

  • Bob K

    Bounora – You bought it, you fed it to him and he was at least 11 years old when he died. Your vet said nothing for 11 years about this food? When did you realize that the food was a 1 star food? How was His death linked to the Purina “Moist and Meaty” brand dog food. How did they proove the link? If you had a child and fed him junk food for 11 years and he developed medical problems, you’d blame his food? Somehow the blame seems a little misplaced.

  • Bounora

    Our dog has been eating Moist and meaty for about 11 years. In August of 2010 he has been off and on getting sick, which increased to several times a day. He went from being 7lbs to 3lbs and could no longer keep anything he ate down. After about 7-8 months he needed to be manually fed and carried. We took him to the vet to find out, he had liver damage and after a long battle of nine months with this mysterious disease, he died today. His death has been linked to the Purina “Moist and Meaty” brand dog food. I do not suggest this to any pet owners. I hope my story may prevent premature deaths to other dogs. R.I.P. Elmo

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Aaron… Since each dog responds to a particular food in its own way, it would be misleading for me to confirm this dog food was the cause of your dog’s kidney stones.

    You should be able to find some information about dog food and urinary stones by visiting our FAQ page and looking for the topic, “Dog Foods for Special Diseases”. Hope this helps.

  • Bob K

    Aaron – A poor diet for human or animal is not good. May I suggest you take a look at 4 and 5 star foods on this website and slowly transition your dog to a better food. For a rough idea of prices: https://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key=0AmNw5KB82-n_dGtyOEpVVXhPQ2tfeU1FUGdEdjVnTkE&hl=en#gid=0

  • Aaron

    Question, would this food be to blame for kidney stones? I found that an excess amount of magnesium can be the cause but I’m not sure if this food is the culprit.

  • Jonathan

    Buy a better dry food and moisten it with warm water!

  • Wendy

    One of my 4 dogs gets choked on everything. This is the only soft dry food I’ve been able to find in stores that he can eat. Anyone have a better suggestion?
    Thanks!

  • sandy

    nature’s select has a 50 pound bag for $56. It’s rated 4 star.

  • Jonathan

    Woe is me… make sure you have enough of this garbage left to transition your dog to a new food! And don’t be scared… decent food need not be expensive!! take a look at Pro Pac, Diamond Natruals, Kirkland, 4Health, Perfectly Natural, … Antonio, ed, you guys know a bunch of the good inexpensive foods… jump in any time here…

  • Jonathan

    Yeah, guys, your dogs probably do love this food… sugar is addictive! Congratulations on discovering the TRUTH about this junk! And good luck finding (and switching to!) your dog a better food. Let us know what happens!

  • st.kiser

    My dog loves it but he don’t get no more

  • woe is me

    my dog really really liked it… so i ate some… it tastes like playdoh… it’s too bad it’s just as nutritious… all the food i bought for my dog has turned out to be crap… beneful dry food, pedigree choice cuts wet, and this junk… i wish i’d found this site sooner… now i have to wait for him to eat it all and then buy better stuff… if i can afford it…

  • Jonathan

    Oh my god, yeah, SHICA, this food is a train-wreck of corn syrup (highly processed sugar) industrial waste from agriculture and meat packing, and dangerous chemicals. There are tons of good quality treats out there. I wouldn’t feed this food to a stray raccoon with rabies.

  • Carrie

    SHICA, why would you? There are so many better things you can treat your dog with instead of this terrible food. It really is one of the worse foods out there.
    If you need an inexpedience treat, you can boil some chicken legs and strip the meat off (stay away from cooked bones) you can give you dog any sort of raw or cooked meat, they LOVE it and it is SOOO good for them, and meat is not really that expensive for the amount you would give.

  • SHICA

    IS IT OK TO USE AS A TREAT TO MY PUP?

  • Jonathan

    Donna, this dog food is trash. That’s what’s “going on” with it! Read the above review, and you should have a good idea as to why your pups got sick.

    And get ‘em on something better, ASAP! :-)

  • Donna Worrell

    I just bought a new box of moist and meaty beef cheese dog food Saturday night. My 2 dogs and my friends 2 dogs all ate it. They have all been deathly sick this week.Whats going on with this dog food