What to Feed Toy Poodle Breed? 36% Crude Protein to high?

Dog Food Advisor Forums Feedback and Suggestions What to Feed Toy Poodle Breed? 36% Crude Protein to high?

Viewing 27 posts - 1 through 27 (of 27 total)
  • Author
    jnconner
    Participant

Help! First, let me stated this is my first pet ever so I’m new to the dog game, so to speak. I’m an advocate for the healthy, wholefood, holistic approach as it relates to my family and I would like to include our newest addition as well. I have a four month old toy poodle name Coco who is currently on Science Diet. This is what his breeder was feeding him. After recently finding out the contents in dog food, I would like to switch him to a 4/5 Star quality dog food such as Wellness Core Grain Free puppy formula or Blue Freedom Grain Free for puppies asap.
    My question is around the amount of protein. Should I be concerned with the percentage of protein for a dog of his size (3.5lbs)? Is 36% crude protein to high?
    My question steams from my visit to PetSmart where a sale associate recommended me not to use Wellness Core Grain Free due to the high protein content stating it would be to much for his system to handle and toy breeds don’t need this much protein.
    The Wellness Core Grain Free Puppy Formula has 36% crude protein and the Blue Freedom Grain Free Formula has 27% crude protein.
    I’m just trying to find the best food for my toy poodle that will aid in his growth to becoming a healthy adult with many years of life. Thanks for your feedback.

#14578 Report Abuse
    suztzu
    Participant