Results of Dietary Change

Dog Food Advisor Forums Canine Nutrition Results of Dietary Change

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    bomashisha
    Participant

I have been feeding my lab Muenster Dry Dog Food for several years with no problem. He recently developed allergies and even though we are not sure they are caused by his diet, we decided to change to Nature’s Variety Instinct Chicken Kibble. Everything was going along fine for a few days but now his elimination habits have drastically changed. He used to go to the bathroom twice a day, once after breakfast and once after dinner when I take him for his walk. For the last week, he is just about stopped going to the bathroom after breakfast. He continues to go to the bathroom during his walk for the most part, but occasionally, he doesn’t eliminate until later on in the night. Also, he has way more flatulence than previously and it has a very noticeable odor. I am not sure if just feeding the kibble is what is causing the problem since it appears there is very little fiber in it. What do you all recommend as a supplement to the kibble? Thank you.

#21412 Report Abuse
    bomashisha
    Participant

Just curious why no one has responded to my questions.

#21413 Report Abuse
    InkedMarie

I missed your questions. Did you do a gradual change from the old food to the NV or an abrupt transition? Chicken is a protein that I can be a high allergen for some dogs. Try a different protein. You can also add probiotics (I use human Dr Langers from Swanson vitamins), digestive enzymes (I use dog ones from Mercola healthy pets)…. You can try canned pumpkin, plain, not the one with spices.

#21417 Report Abuse
    pugmomsandy
    Participant