Dog throwing up

Dog Food Advisor Forums Raw Dog Food Dog throwing up

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Paul H

Hello, I’ve been feeding my 8 yr old black lab raw for about 2 years. He loves it and has been very healthy. Recently I changed his glucosamine supplement and after a few days he got sick and was throwing up most of the day. We took him to the vet, he had no temp, no diarrhea, or blood in vomit. Our vet said to wait until 12 hours after his last vomit, and cook up some ground beef and white rice. We fed him that twice last night, he seemed better, but now my wife found some vomit with the food in it. Could it be because we fed him cooked beef? Thank you in advance.

#93158 Report Abuse
    anonymous

Give the vet a call and ask him to call you back when he has a minute.
    I would stop all supplements, keep his diet as simple as possible. He is a senior at 8 years old, break the piggybank and get some lab work done (if you haven’t done so already).
    Lab values tell a lot and can identify ailments in the early stages, when they will respond to treatment. I would stop the raw. Instead, get a quality kibble and gradually mix the cooked beef/rice mixture into it, add a splash of water to meals. Maybe presoak the kibble in H2O if he doesn’t frequent his water bowl. Hope this helps.
    Also, http://skeptvet.com/Blog/?s=raw

PS: I would continue the bland diet for your dog, boiled rice and hamburger, until stable.
    I would add a splash of water to meals.

#93218 Report Abuse
    Susan
    Participant

Hi Paul,
    as we get older we don’t make as much hydrochloric acid to digest our food & its harder to digest food so the food sits in our stomach, Google “Hypochlorhydria” is low stomach acid