Dad’s Dog Food (Dry)

Share

Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Dad’s Dog Food receives the Advisor’s lowest rating of 1 star.

The Dad’s Dog Food product line includes four dry recipes. However, since we’re unable to locate AAFCO nutritional adequacy statements for these dog foods on the product’s web page, it’s impossible for us to report specific life stage recommendations for these recipes.

The following is a list of recipes available at the time of this review.

  • Dad’s Trail Mix
  • Dad’s Bite Size Meal
  • Dad’s Healthy Homestyle
  • Dad’s Natural Big Dogs Chunx

Dad’s Trail Mix was selected to represent the other products in the line for this review.

Dad's Trail Mix

Dry Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 24% | Fat = 11% | Carbs = 57%

Ingredients: Ground yellow corn, soybean meal, beef meal, animal fat (preserved with BHA), chicken by-product meal, corn gluten meal, natural flavor (source of liver flavor), dicalcium phosphate, dried beet pulp, salt, calcium carbonate, dried cheese powder, iron oxide, artificial color (red #40, yellow #5 & yellow #6, blue #2), vitamin E supplement, choline chloride, zinc sulfate, ferrous sulfate, l-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), niacin, manganese sulfate, natural flavor (source of bacon flavor), copper sulfate, d-calcium pantothenate, biotin, sodium selenite, vitamin A supplement, riboflavin supplement, vitamin D3 supplement, thiamine mononitrate, pyridoxine hydrochloride, menadione sodium bisulfite complex (source of vitamin K activity), vitamin B12 supplement, potassium iodide, cobalt sulfate, folic acid

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 4.5%

Red items when present indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis21%10%NA
Dry Matter Basis24%11%57%
Calorie Weighted Basis22%26%52%

The first ingredient in this dog food is corn. Corn is an inexpensive and controversial cereal grain. And aside from its energy content, this grain is of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

For this reason, we do not consider corn a preferred component in any dog food.

The second ingredient is soybean meal, a by-product of soybean oil production more commonly found in farm animal feeds.

Although soybean meal contains 48% protein, this ingredient would be expected to have a lower biological value than meat.

And less costly plant-based products like this can notably boost the total protein reported on the label — a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

The third ingredient includes beef meal. Beef meal is considered a meat concentrate and contains nearly 300% more protein than fresh beef.

The fourth ingredient is animal fat. Animal fat is a generic by-product of rendering, the same high-temperature process used to make meat meals.

Since there’s no mention of a specific animal, this item could come from almost anywhere: roadkill, spoiled supermarket meat, dead, diseased or dying cattle — even euthanized pets.

For this reason, we do not consider generic animal fat a quality ingredient.

What’s worse, this fat is preserved with BHA, a suspected cancer-causing agent.

The fifth ingredient is chicken by-product meal, a dry rendered product of slaughterhouse waste. It’s made from what’s left of a slaughtered chicken after all the prime cuts have been removed.

In addition to organs (the nourishing part), this stuff can contain almost anything — feet, beaks, undeveloped eggs — anything except quality skeletal muscle (conventional meat).

On the brighter side, by-product meals are meat concentrates and contain nearly 300% more protein than fresh chicken.

In any case, although this item contains all the amino acids a dog needs, we consider chicken by-products an inexpensive, lower quality ingredient.

The sixth ingredient is corn gluten meal. Gluten is the rubbery residue remaining once corn has had most of its starchy carbohydrate washed out of it.

Compared to meat, glutens are inferior grain-based proteins lower in some of the essential amino acids dogs need for life.

This inexpensive plant-based ingredient can significantly boost the total protein reported on the label — a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

After the natural flavor, we find dicalcium phosphate, likely used here as a dietary calcium supplement.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With five notable exceptions

First, beet pulp is a controversial ingredient, a high fiber by-product of sugar beet processing.

Some denounce beet pulp as an inexpensive filler while others cite its outstanding intestinal health and blood sugar benefits.

We only call your attention here to the controversy and believe the inclusion of beet pulp in reasonable amounts in most dog foods is entirely acceptable.

Next, we’re always disappointed to find artificial coloring in any pet food. That’s because coloring is used to make the product more appealing to humans — not your dog. After all, do you really think your dog cares what color his kibble is?

In addition, we find no mention of probiotics, friendly bacteria applied to the surface of the kibble after processing to help with digestion.

Next, the minerals listed here do not appear to be chelated. And that can make them more difficult to absorb. Non-chelated minerals are usually associated with lower quality dog foods.

And lastly, this food also contains menadione, a controversial form of vitamin K linked to liver toxicity, allergies and the abnormal break-down of red blood cells.

Since vitamin K isn’t required by AAFCO in either of its dog food nutrient profiles, we question the use of this substance in any canine formulation.

Dad’s Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Judging by its ingredients alone, Dad’s Dog Food looks like a below-average dry product.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 24%, a fat level of 11% and estimated carbohydrates of about 57%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 25% and a mean fat level of 11%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 56% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 43%.

Below-average protein. Below-average fat. And above-average carbs when compared to a typical dry dog food.

When you consider the protein-boosting effect of the soybean and corn gluten meals, this looks like the profile of a kibble containing a below-average amount of meat.

Bottom line?

Dad’s Dog Food is a plant-based kibble using a below-average amount of beef meal and chicken by-product meal as its main sources of animal protein, thus earning the brand 1 star.

Not recommended.

Special Alert

Rice ingredients can sometimes contain arsenic. Until the US FDA establishes safe upper levels for arsenic content, pet owners may wish to limit the total amount of rice fed in a dog's daily diet.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, our rating system is not intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in specific health benefits for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

To learn how we support the cost of operating this website, please visit our public Disclosure and Disclaimer page.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Notes and Updates

03/24/2010 Original review
02/18/2014 Last Update

  • guest

    I was worried there for a second. haha

  • priscilla

    I have four pets, two dogs,one is 16 who has regurgitation issues due to having been a rescue. The other is a mix who is 6. I have two cats, one is 10 and the other is a rescue who is 2years old. I have a strict budget and would like nothing more than to feed them better brands but that is not possible. I use the Trail Mix five tasty flavors.The one good thing is that the food does not give them gas. The problem I have is that the recent bag of Trail Mix contained smaller chunks.I bought it because of the larger chunk size and because of the contents being 20 pds versus the 17pds.The 20 pd lasts 2 weeks till I shop again.I wish you would go back to the larger chunk size. My 16 yr old does not choke as much.I do not want switch brands.

  • laruen

    ok great, thanks so much for the advice!

  • Pattyvaughn

    I absolutely love homemade, but if it is the only thing your dog is getting, you have to make sure to do the research to do it right.

  • InkedMarie

    I always wanted a dog but wasn’t allowed. I’d have done anything to have one. Good luck. Dogs, especially puppies, are a lot of work.

  • Betsy Greer

    Hi laruen,

    Home prepared meals are great, but require a lot of research into preparing what are properly balanced and complete meals.

    Failure to balance your dogs diet and ensure that he’s getting ultimate nutrition can do far more harm than good and actually be the worst thing that you can feed your dog.

    http://healthypets.mercola.com/sites/healthypets/archive/2010/07/21/13-pet-foods-ranked-from-great-to-disastrous.aspx

  • laruen

    Oh, after doing some more research today I think I want to make homemade meals for the dog. A lot of people actually make their own dog food and treats. What is your opinion on that?

  • laruen

    I would also like a dog, I feel my family is ready. Thanks so much for the advice, I will definitely check out the library!

  • InkedMarie

    I assume you’re planning on getting your dog from a shelter or a rescue; especially with children, you can’t plan to get a dog next week. There may or may not be the right dog at a shelter. If you’re going through a rescue, you feed to fill out the application & be approved first. If you’re going to get a puppy from a reputable breeder, you will probably need to be put on a list.

    They said, don’t get a dog just for the kids, it usually ends badly. If you want a dog, that’s great!

    Regarding dog food, this is NOT a good one. Research here, read the articles in the library.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Did you read the review at all? Dad’s is a cheap nasty substitute for real food. Please at least look at foods on the 3 star list instead of cursing a new puppy with such a poor excuse for nutrition.

  • laruen

    My daughter has been asking for a dog for some time now so since I have never had a dog before I have been doing research on things like what are the best vitamins for dogs and what human foods can be harmful to them. I have never heard of Dad’s before but it sounds great. I think I am going to pick up our new family member next week so I need to start getting some things together. Do you recommend a specific breed for new dog owners with small kids? This was very helpful, thanks for sharing.

  • Walt Wills

    This review of Dad’s pet food is full of crap. Dad’s is family owned pet food company and uses only 100 percent USA ingredients. My dogs have been on it for years. They are all past the normal life expectancy. Where does this guy get off calling himself a pet food adviser???

  • Linda

    I have had dogs and cats that I have only fed them Dad’s. It’s
    economical. My current dog is 14 and still seems spry except
    for the tumors. She loves Dad’s and we have tried to switch
    her to something else and she won’t eat it. I don’t plan to have
    any more dogs but if I did, they would get Dad’s too!!!

  • shirley

    Their dog food contains high fructose corn syrup, causes animals as well people to gain weight. I THREW THE BAG AWAY. When trying to call to complain you get an answering
    machine left 5 messages and no return phone calls.

  • JellyCat

    Dad’s is a true garbage food. If you mean well for your dog – feed something better. There are plenty of inexpensive better quality foods.

  • cheryl

    My dogs love it too, and after using other name brands and the hair falling off my dogs backs, when I began using Dad’s the problem stopped and they have beautiful shiny hair now! It may be cheaper but it seems to be better than most of the other name brands I have used!

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Growing up my family fed all our dogs and cats Dad’s. All our dogs (large breeds) lived into their early to mid teens and our cats into their late teens with no serious health issues. That still doesn’t make it a good food and even though I’ve had animals live long and seemingly healthy lives on it, knowing what I know now I’d never feed it to an animal. In addition, I don’t think the Dad’s pet food of my childhood is the same Dad’s that’s sold now. I’m pretty sure it used to be just corn and by-products for the most part, now there’s high fructose corn syrup, propylene glycol and colorings..

  • cigar13

    I often buy Dad’s dog and cat food for our local Shelter. The dogs eat it just fine, and most of the cats prefer it over other brands.

  • ValerieNoyes

    Belinda, that’s an awfully broad question. There are many good foods, but it depends on your pets and their individual needs. If you’re currently feeding Dad’s, most everything will be a step up. Check out the 4 & 5 star foods here on DFA as a start. Some are pricey, others not as much. Finding several brands you can rotate through is best. Many people consider raw the best choice, canned second with kibble last. That said, there are many high quality kibbles that provide quality nutrition to dogs. I feed a combination of all three.

  • http://www.facebook.com/ibdogluvr091 Belinda Mosteller

    does anyone know of a good dog food out there thats not gonna harm these pets ?

  • Gunit

    I mean they lived to be 14 !!!!!!   Not 1….

  • Gunit

    I had two labs that lived to be 1 years old, they ate nothing but Dad’s dog food…  So how old would they have lived if I fed them $50.00 a bag dog food…  Probably not much longer.  Its a great product

  • Pearly1

    AND my 10 year old dog :)

  • Pearly1

    My 15 year old cat still loves Dad’s

  • Ldroot

    We tried. Dads Trail mix for about a week with our GSD and tossed the rest of the bag when we concluded that it was turning our dogs breath putrid. It seriously had us concernedl for her health but cleared the day we stopped.

  • Pingback: dads dog food | All About Pets

  • daisy1999

    CocaCola-cleans the grime off your windshield, gets rid of the corrosion on your battery cables, makes ring around the commode disappear-yes I have tried these and sadly I still drink it (maybe once a month).

  • doglover

    Yes, i agree with LabsRawesome, this is not a slam against humans, it is just factual assessment of the nutrtitional value of this dog food.

    Long ago, i fed my dog horrible dog food, i shiver now to remember.  I just did not know any better back then. I had no idea ppl could sell such lousy crapola to us. And i loved that dog!!!  I would have done better for him,IF i had known better back then.Even humans who LOVE their dogs,(and who doesn’t!!) could inadvertently be feeding their beloved dog the worst food around.I read something on this site, about the owner of this site, became interested in dog nutrition, when he had mislead by his veterinarian to feed some brand of dog food which he later realized, was not helping his dog at all.  I totally understood his story, it was the same for me. I was feeding worst dog food, oh it was expensive, but it was still horrible dog food, and MY VET told me it was “great” dog food, so what did i know?  This happens.  this is WHY we dog guardians have to learn on our own what to feed our dogs.
    and re: length of time something is sold,is no measure of a product’s nutritional value.  ONe of the most unhealthy products consumed by humans is drinking CocaCola, yet, that is one thriving company, and that product will be here, and be popular, long long long after we are all gone…..still, there is not one good thing one can say about the nutritional value of coke drinks.

  • LabsRawesome

     Hi Nettieray17, It’s not the people that are being put down, it’s the  dog food. Please read the detailed review above & the detailed explanation of the review. Then you will understand why people don’t like this dog food.

  • Nettieray17

    You people just like to put eveyone down . If Dads dog food is soooo unhealthy then how have they been in buisness for 70 years ? Have all of you ?

  • Bob K

    Guest – What brand did the sales rep represent? There are many affordable 3 and 4 star dog foods available that provide your dog better nutrition that a 1 star rated dog food that won’t break the bank.   A quality dog food costs less per day for a large dog than a large McDonalds Milk Shake, McDonalds Big Mac or Starbucks coffee. 

  • Guest

    I was once told by a sales rep of a high rated dog food that if he had to feed his dog a grocery store brand, Dad’s would be it.  While doing an analysis of dog food for his company, he thought this one was the best of the economical brands.  Yes, it is not the best but then not everyone can buy the best for their dogs or their families and have to get the best they can afford.

  • Bob K

    PCmedic – Did you read the detailed report above?  Quality dog foods are available for a daily cost less than half you pay for a McDonalds meal, TacoBell, Wendys meal or large Lattee at your Starbucks or a gallon of gas.    I do not understand how people can buy a pure breed dog, spend all sorts of money on training, gun clubs, shot guns, eCollars, gps systems, trucks and feed the dog a marginal meal. 

  • PCmedic

    I don’t know about you but my chocolate lab loves the trail mix and has the energy to go hunting and not get as many birds as she would like to retrieve. I don’t the problem and the price seems right.

  • Toxed2loss

    Marie,
    GFETE but only on ornamentals!!!

  • Marie

    Now, now, Dad’s Dog Food isn’t all that bad. It looks like it would make a fine fertilizer. So would Ol’ Roy and Kibbles N’ Bits for that matter.

  • Toxed2loss

    Bob K,
    I’ve read those post you refered to, and in theory, I agree with you! GFETE ‘Cept I wouldn’t feed ‘em to a pig or goat, if I had one!!! LOL

    & you’re welcome. :-)

  • Bob K

    Toxed2loss – Thanks for the more detailed explanation and time to write it up.  I wish there was a 0 star rating of dog formulas that should not be fed to animals.  You have probably heard me call some of the marginal dog formulas goat or pig food previously.  Of course whats even more difficult to determine is long term use or exposure to the toxins and what levels are acceptable if any. 

    While I hate to group all 1 star foods together, they are 1 star for a reason.   Your approach to answering the question of food differences that effect behavior is different than Glycemic index.    Thanks for the details.  

  • Toxed2loss

    Bob K,
    I understand your concern, and it is a good point. However, I am a recognized expert in my field. I have 28 years of research in dietary and environmental toxins. While I Admittedly don’t know everything about diet, I do admit what I don’t know! If I say something, it’s often accumulative knowledge from reading tens of thousands of research articles. That makes it a little difficult to pin down, the exact research paper with one bit of knowledge from one study that, taken with other bits of knowledge from other studies that adds up to irrefutably establish facts. But in the area of Toxic Injury, thats what I do. I write “White papers.”

    Bob, I’m going to start by apologizing, cause I can’t come up with a kinder way to say this…”you are missing the message.” I need you to read my statement more closely. In it I state why..”the preponderance of toxic ingredients in 1 star foods.” in Dads, all of the red ingredients + natural flavor and dried cheese powder are toxic and like the point you were trying to make in another thread, meat meals can have toxins by process. As we look over the foods that Dr. Mike has rated, as we move t’word the 5 star foods, you’ll see fewer red items and fewer toxins, that Dr. Mike hasn’t flagged, yet. Dr. Mike hasn’t flagged them yet because it takes time to manage and get to everything on the site. Then before he’d write anything, he’d be obligated to do his own research… He also states that he doesn’t know it all and learns from the forum… So let’s grace him and give him time…

    I’m not trying to be rude here but, the little words are important…. Like “fewer, and “less.” Few processed foods are completely without toxins. So while they have “some”, they have “less.” and that’s important. And I’m talking about ALL toxins, synergistically, not just excitotoxins. The more toxins you remove from the diet, (and environment) the more dramatic the difference. If an owner went from a 1 star rated food to a 5 star rated food, they’d notice a difference. If you’ll reread my statement carefully, you’ll notice that I also stated that individual susceptibility plays a role… You can’t subtract any one part of my statement, or you’re no longer stating what I did. There are a lot of variables. There will always be dogs that are anomalies, but by in large, what I stated is true. In those dogs that didn’t improve I’d be looking at environmental toxins….

  • Bob K

    Toxed2loss – I just want to make sure there is something to back up claim of behavior possibilities due to low quality dog foods.  The evidence you are pointing to is ingredients that may cause issues in any dog food, not just 1 star foods.  To make a blanket statement that 1 star foods cause behavior issues still seems a stretch to me.  Maybe I am missing something.  I do not remember mention of Dr. Mike dog food evaluations that point our Dye and MSG issues in foods nor any behavioral comments in his evaluations.

    You also make a point of the renewed energy some dogs have with better foods.  I would have energy if I ate some crap for years then all of a sudden I got a decent meal.    This is all very interesting, just want to make sure we got all the facts straight.  There is enough dog food misinformation in this world. 

  • Toxed2loss

    For Bob K
    http://jap.physiology.org/content/60/6/2056.abstract
    MSG cadrio vascular problems in dogs

    http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/m/pubmed/19686114/
    MSG – aPpetite stimulant in dogs

    http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/m/pubmed/9256971/
    MSG & glaucoma in dogs

    With those kinds of physiological problems, don’t you think they, in and of themselves would cause behavior changes?  However, there are specific studies just on behavioral effects due to MSG. here’s one…

    AND I think that should be enough to make my point.

    Manuel, M.F., J.H.A. Abalos, and C.D. Solis (2002). Some acute behavioural and physiological effects observed in local Philippine dogs voluntarily fed with monosodium glutamate (MSG) in the diet. Philippine Journal of Veterinary Medicine 39(1): 50-51. ISSN: 0031-7705.
    NAL Call Number: 41.8 P53
    Abstract: Twelve 4- to 7-month-old Philippine nondescript dogs of both sexes were fed monosodium glutamate (MSG) in the diet in quantities varying from 0, 5 and 10% of the amount of food given, using the Latin square design. Both physiological and behavioural parameters were examined in all animals an hour before and after feeding. Doses of MSG as high as 10% did not induce any noticeable change in the behaviour of the dogs. On the other hand, some temporary physiological changes such as tachycardia, vomiting and excretion of dark-coloured faeces were observed in 10 of the dogs.

  • Toxed2loss

    This the same info, but it’s the actual scientific paper on MSG & blue &yellow dyes…

    http://toxsci.oxfordjournals.org/content/90/1/178.long

  • Toxed2loss

    O.k. bob K,
    Here’s one on food additive combinations. This addresses the MSG, food colorant synergy. :-)

    http://www.wellsphere.com/add-adhd-article/food-additive-combinations-and-adhd/598733

  • Toxed2loss

    DFN & Marie,
    Nice posts! Thanks for sharing your knowledge both of you!!

    Bob, the list of behavioral problems that DFN gave are correct. And while I’ve read copious amounts of research, including canine research, that does document it, I usually only save a small handful, pertaining to the specific topic I’m researching at the time. I’ll try to post a few when I’m through with this post (iPad limitations with Disqus) BUT, Marie is correct when she includes dyes, as well as the excitotoxins that DFN mentioned. Dyes compound the reaction, and depending on the individual suceptability, it doesn’t have to be a large amount of toxins!

    There are other behavior modifying additives as well, but that would be a much more indepth discussion. Suffice to say, there are only two kibbles that I would recommend, because of what I know about dietary toxins.

    Marie also said that she didn’t think that human to dog extrapolation was too big a jump…. Actually a good deal of the dietary research work for humans, is done on dogs…GFETE. And yes, excitotoxins make dogs cranky, some down right aggressive, they definitely cause them to over eat, and as excitotoxins cause brain cells, neurons and synapses to over fire until they die (Dr.Russel Blaylock, neurosurgeon) They cause brain damage. So I am stating, unequivocally that, due to the preponderance of unhealthy (and or toxic) ingredients in 1 star kibble vs. the preponderance of healthier ingredients and the significantly reduced (and or absence of) toxins in 5 star kibble, you do see behavioral changes and learning ability differences in dogs, based on the quality of the kibble and it’s lack or inclusion of toxic substances, and according to the dogs individual Susceptibility, there of. I’m stating this a professional in the area of Toxic Injury.

    And the ‘cu-d-gra’ (phonetic spelling) We see evidence of it posted right here, when some one switches to a higher rated food!! They always note the behavior change that “sparky” is so much happier, has more zest for life, etc, etc. Re-read some of those posts with new eyes. If your looking for it, you’ll find it! Thing is, it’s been right there, in front of people’s noses all along, and no one thought to connect the dots!!!

    DFN, thanks for calling me “Toxie.” Every time I read it I get a huge smile and start thinking “rhinestones, Guitars and horses!!!!!” LOL It’s a great way to start my day! GFETE

  • i8ok

    About personality and behavioral changes, I convinced a friend to feed better food and more meat to her ten year old cat who had always been fed cereal dry food. After a few weeks on better food my friend said her cat’s coat and eyes sparkled. She then whispered that her cat’s attitude was improved. And asked if I thought that was possible. She insisted she was serious but didn’t want others to think she was kooky to believe this was possible. I responded with a question to her. Isn’t your attitude better when you eat fabulous food? I know mine is.

  • Dog Food Ninja

    Unfortunately, the damaging effects of excitotoxins are most immediatly visible in behavior modifications after consuming large amounts of free glutamic or aspartic acid. Irritability, aggression, depression, confusion, and excessive food cravings are all examples of how excitotoxins effect the brain and, therefor, behavior. Also, it is well noted that sugar effects behavior very rapidly. If you have a group of children that just ate McDonald’s and another group that just ate fresh veggies and roast beef, I bet you could tellwhich group ate what. ;)

  • Marie

    Although I agree with the idea that a one star food is  likely to promote a behavioral issue due to lower quality ingredients (dyes, sugar, high-carbs) you are probably right that there aren’t any specific studies with canines to back that up. There ARE, however, studies and evidence that shows this to be the case with human children, and I don’t feel that extrapolation is too much of a jump.

    But your point is valid.

  • Bob K

    Dog Food Ninja and Toxed2loss – I am skeptical to make personality and behavorial claims with dogs eating 1 star vs. 5 star foods unless there is some firm research to back up that up.   Claiming dog behavior differences based on commerical dog food ratings is very suspect and interesting to me.   I am sure you can come up with a unique food combination that effects a dogs behavior but we are talking about commercially available rated kibbles. 

  • Dog Food Ninja

    Hey bob. I’m going to have to agree with Toxie on this one. First of all, most people who feed a 1 star food have done so for a while, so there is no telling what their dog’s temperment or personality may be like if they had been raised on healthy foods. Like toxie mentions with children, I have seen reports before that show kids fed healthful fooods do better in school. The reasons I truly think crappy foods like the above have an effect on be3havior are excitotoxins in several ingredients, artificial colors which have been shown to cause hyper activity in children independent of sugar content, and then the high glycemic index alone would probably be enough to cause focus problems and hyper activity.

  • Bob K

    Toxed2loss, Are you suggesting there are behavior differences in dogs eating 1 star vs. 5 star foods? 

    I understand coat, eyes, ears, teeth, stamina and endurance differences being effected by diet but I am skeptical about behavioral differences. 

    We read this on this website all the time when we read people telling us how their dogs thrive on some of the 1 star dog food that should be rated 0 stars.  I think the biggest difference is when when the get older, and you see buildup in the teeth, fat lumps, liver and kidney, thyroid issues etc… most dog owners are ignorant to their pets diet as well as overall health and diet.  Thats why this website is so great and important.

  • Toxed2loss

    Michael,
    I think that’s a pretty good assumption.

    Bob K,
    I was an elementary school teacher. After lunches of junk food, even the better behaved kids had behavior problems, learning difficulties, trouble focusing… You can see the difference if you know what you’re looking for. Same with dogs. :-)

  • Bob K

    Dan – You can feed your own children junk food all day and tell little difference if they eat 100% organic natural foods prepared in the best kitchens possible.  Either you believe in the value of good nutrition, healthy foods, proper preparation or you don’t.   The same concepts, ideals and goals of good nutrition and diet is similar to humans as well as our 4 legged loved ones.   

  • Dan

    I doubt I’ll get this brand again, however I have not seen any differnce in any of my dogs weather they eat Dad’s or a more expensive food.

  • max

    well i was short on money so i baught dads dog food witch i will never buy it again it about killed my 8 yr old pitt bull this food gave him 17 seizures in 48 hr period this is the onley thing that i changed in five days  so never again will i buy this dog food…IF U LOVE YOUR PET BUY ANOTHER BRAND ITS NOT WOTH KILLING YOUR DOG OVER A FEW DOLLARS

  • Michael

    Hello, I would like to hear what you think of a Veterinarian that would recommend my client use 1 of 2 foods. The first is Science Diet, of course, we all know the deal with Vets recommending this stuff.(Kinda like the professor making you buy his $100 textbook for his class) The other brand he mentioned was Dad’s. We all know this food is garbage. Is he trying to create a favorable comparison for his office’s product or am I missing something?

  • http://www.facebook.com/Toxed2loss Toxed2loss

    Your welcome, but you don’t have to apologize for making improvements. I’m enjoying the morphing. :-)

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Toxed2loss… Great idea. However, for now, I’ve added the original Recent Comments widget back to the right sidebar. And I’ve left the newer Comments with Excerpts link just below it, too. So, now you can access comments either way.

    In any case, I’ve added your suggestion for a Recent Comments link below the “Leave a Comment” box for future consideration. Thanks for putting up with all these changes while I try different features. :)

  • http://www.facebook.com/Toxed2loss Toxed2loss

    Hi Mike, I have a suggestion…would it be possible to add an additional “recent comments” link at the bottom of the page, under the post a comment button? That way we don’t have to scroll all the way back to the top. ;-)

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Michelle… The previous Recent Comments forced users to click on each link to see what was being discussed. The the tiny sidebar space didn’t allow for anything other than just 20 comments and nothing more.

    So, after reading many suggestions from users, I created the Recent Comments page you now see. This is unlimited and shows all 27,000 comments currently posted. And you can now see excerpts of each comment so you can decide if it’s worth visiting.

    I may add the old system back so you can have both methods if you’d like. I’m always open for suggestions. :)

  • Michelle

    Hi Mike. What’s up with this new format? I liked the old format better. :(

  • http://www.facebook.com/Toxed2loss Toxed2loss

    Lisa Petteys,
    I took a look at the ratings for these two foods that your and your friends dof both had seizures on. Did it occur to you that, though thy have different labels, they could have been batched by the same facility. It’s very common. Remember the melimime poisoning of ’07? The two foods have several common ingredients. Some of them are heavily processed and prone to contamination, like corn gluten meal, etc.

    If you’re feeding this food because it’s in your price bracket, consider Costco’s Kirkland Supreme. It’s far superior to this brand (4 stars) and has tons less starchy carbs. Starchy carbs can contribute to seizures in dogs on their own. :-}

  • Lisa Petteys

    Melissa,
    We usually buy Olroy high performance, or their lamb mix. Even though Ive heard bad reports about that brand, she has done okay on them.. I did call our vet and several others. To see if anyone else’s dogs have suffered seizures in the last few weeks. the all said could be but unlikely due to stress of changing food, or also a food allergy. Also a friend on facebook’s dog had a seizure yesterday evening after starting a new bag of dry food. but she started feeding their dog pedigree. After having been feeding their dog Purina.

  • melissa

    Lisa Petteys-

    What is your normal brand that you feed your dog?

  • Lisa Petteys

    Our dog now who suffered this is young and very healthy. But years ago when they were recalling all the animal food our old dog got very sick.

  • Lisa Petteys

    Our dog’s regular brand wasn’t in stock so I bought a bag of dad’s bite size meal. Just finally used up the last of her normal brand, and started the bag of Dad’s. It’s getting put in the trash(didn’t keep the receipt.) Same symptoms. Don’t have money for her vet, but have dealt with this before with our old dog. her hinds legs gave out looked like she was having a seizure and her tongue was almost white, held her through it. gave her some deluted milk and a egg, after she became okay(few mins.) then raced to the store and bought her liver for the iron her body needed(white gums and tongue). Now we home cook for her! and she is already back to normal. I’m reporting the bag to dads food they should be under recall, and have their food off the shelves! We are taking her to the vet next paycheck to make sure she is going to be okay

  • Mike P

    Hmm Jessica…My sister’s dog is foaming at the mouth,crapping himself,and SHAKING HIS HEAD VIOLENTLY and you need to come to this site to find out what to do? Please take that dog to a vet today. Richard I fed crap food before to my last dogs. When you come upon a site like this and just read the review of what your feeding,not making a change is crazy.I made it through half the post here and quit. You read the same comments on any 1 star thread.Just look at the Roy thread…

  • http://brotherscomplete.com Richard Darlington

    Jessica

    You definitely need to take your sisters dog to the Vet. as she has trusted you with it, and it’s the right thing to do.

    I read the comments on this thread for the first time (I just read them all from the beginning and must say it was disturbingly entertaining – in a very sad way – but I was laughing – or perhaps gagging – despite myself). Is it possible that these people are real?

    I’m praying that they were all made up by whoever is selling this stuff because some of these comments just boggle my mind.

    Ninja – I had wondered why you spend so much time on these low star foods and now I understand – your help is desperately needed.

    Melissa – You get credit for making me laugh as hard as I’ve laughed in a long time with your comment to Bob K…

    “And Bob K – Please stop suggesting that these bottom of the barrel feeds would be great for goats. I would never feed junk like this to my goats, and neither would any other self respecting goat owner that I know! LOL!! Now perhaps pig owners…….”

    So much for my first venture into 1 star foods…WHEW!!!

  • melissa

    Jessica-

    Take the dog to a vet as Mike suggested. It could be anything, especially if the dog is home alone and unsupervised-he could even have something stuck in his mouth or throat. I would think if your dog has a rabies vaccine, and has not been attacked by a wild animal, rabies is low on the list, but seizures much higher. Just like people, seizing dogs many be unaware of what they are doing, or who is around them, and I would caution about trying to interact with a seizing dog unless you know what you are doing. Call your sister and speak with her, and get the dog to the vet today.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Jessica… It’s impossible for anyone to tell you what’;s wrong with your dog in a limited venue like this. Just the same, from your description, it sounds like your dog may be very ill. No matter what the cause, please take your dog to a vet as soon as possible.

  • jessica

    Hope someone can answer today. my sister is out of town and were watching her bullmastif greatdane mix before they left my mom went and bought DAD’S bite size meal dog food chicken and rice flavor. Yesterday I went to walk him and as soon as he got outside his lips started to curl up he was shaking his head violently and just foaming out of the mouth. I’ve never seen him do this before with other DAD’S brands so I was wondering if anyone else has had their dog go into a seizure attack after feeding their dog this food it if he may have gotten bit by something cause they have a fenced in yard. Oh and I say it maybe rabies because just a few minutes ago my bf and I tried walking him about half a hour ago and he came inside so I could put him on his leash and he started to do the same thing but he pee and popped himself and then once my bf got him outside he started foaming still and was growling I’m hoping its just a seizure cause id hate to put him down. So if anyone has just had a sudden incident after giving their pet this food is greatly appreciate if someone would tell me.

  • monkey

    Dorothy Dowell,

    I would leave it too.

  • Dorothy Dowell

    There must have been a bad batch made in the factory. My cat absolutlely refused to eat it. She has ate it in the past. The outside cats wouldn’t eat this 11lb bag of food. They all made me a believer when the possum, we named Pete, pulled the dish out in the middle of the patio and left it. I still have 5 lbs to get them to eat. The raccoons are slowly doing away with it.

  • Steve

    I would just like to say a few things about so-called “by-products”. What do you think “by-products” are? Chicken meal, chicken fat, beet pulp, fish meal, skim milk, turkey meal, tomato pumace…on and on and on. These are all solid ingredients, but they are also BY-PRODUCTS! Get a grip people. By-products are not evil…and there are not many pet foods that are truly by-product free. One more thing, Saccharomyces cerevisiae is listed on one of the “best” dry dog foods and guess what…yep it’s a by-product that is also called brewer’s yeast! There is nothing wrong with brewer’s yeast. It is one of the best sources of naturally occuring B vitamins.

  • Gordon

    Jackie – I’ve read that some Labs have reached beyond 20 years. Of course these were fed Mother Nature’s intended foods and not Dad’s toxic concoction.

  • jackie

    i have feed my dogs dads for many years. my golden retriever lived for 14 years and was an outside dog. never any healthissues. My yellow lab is eating dads and has no health concerns.

  • Gordon

    Paul K – I can see your point. But assuming you’re in America, I read a lot that there are a few 4 star foods at around the same price if just a tad dearer, at place like Costco, which you could choose over this less than desirable….I wouldn’t even personally call it food for any living organism.

  • Paul K

    I use to buy the high end brands but hard to justify the extra money for dogs when humans have to go without. We feed the goldens Dads and all are doing great.

    Most dogs eat corn based dog foods. Is high end food better – I like to think the extra $2500 – $5000 over dogs life would be a real big difference – I can get a slew of high quality dogs for that money.

  • Bob K

    Michelle & Star – Michelle – I love many of the 4 star foods because they are very affordable and readily available. Besides the stores you mention, Menards has Diamond Natural with a price of $24.00 – $32.00 for 40 lbs depending on the specific formula and if it’s on sale or not.

    Star – As Michelle said please read a little more about this food above. If you love your pet, try to feed him a more nutritious food.

  • Michelle

    Star Burson, You really should read the review at the top of this page for Dad’s dog food. Mike explains why this food receives 1* out of 5. Their are other more nutritious foods for not that much more money. If you are interested I can give you a list. Walmart has started to carry Evolve, which is a 4*. Costco has Kirkland at 25 dollars for a 40lb bag. Tractor supply has Diamond Naturals and 4health.

  • Star Burson

    Do you have coupons out for the Dad’s cat and dog food. My pets really like this. I have four dogs and 2 cats at present.

  • Star Burson

    I buy Dad’s for my dogs and cats. They seem to really like this food. It use to be inconvient to travel to the pet food stores such as Big R, Kmart, etc.
    Recently is came out at the Dollar stores. It is more convienant now and not too far to travel.
    I hope to start finding coupons for these.
    Thanks

  • tk

    I’ll let my healthy 14 year old standard poodle know that the only dog food she has ever eaten is no good for her. Who knew?

  • Gina

    I adopted my dog at 6 months from a shelter in Maryland, the previous owners stated on the adoption form that she was fed Dad’s. This is a horrible poisonous dog food. She was in terrible shape, they thought she had a problem with her anus which needed surgery because part of it would come out when she pooped. Her teeth were full of plaque. Her skin was flakey and dry. As it turned out, nothing was wrong with her except consequences of a poor diet. If you do not have money enough to spend a few extra dollars on proper dog food (ie. if you are buying Dad’s), you should not have a dog or any animal for that matter. I recommend EVO or Wellness.

  • Sarah C.

    I’ve read a bunch of reviews here that basically say “we’re going to keep feeding our dogs this crap because they love it and it’s cheap!” Based on that logic, I should feed my kids ice cream and McDoubles every day because they love it and it’s cheap. Have some common sense and some more devotion to your animals. If you don’t care that much about your dog’s health, you shouldn’t have a dog. And for the “allergic” dog, pony up for the pricier stuff with less allergens, or cook up your own food with quality ingredients.

  • http://www.whosyourvet.com Sandi

    Diane – I noticed on Walmart’s page the Origin of Components: USA and/or Imported.
    http://www.walmart.com/ip/Dad-s-Trail-Mix-W-Beef-Chicken-Cheese-Bacon-Liver-Dog-Food-18-lb/10314093

    You might want to get in touch with the company and find out where they source (get) their ingredients from (i.e. China).

    Dad’s Products, Inc. (Dad’s Pet Care)
    18746 Mail Street
    Meadville, PA 16335
    1-800-DADSPET (1-800-323-7738)
    between the hours of 9AM and 4PM Eastern Time.
    http://174.129.27.60/about-us/

    What’s interesting to me – I don’t see on their website where they list the ingredients for each product or the guarantee analysis. Just seeing pictures of the farmers wouldn’t be my selling point.
    http://174.129.27.60/on-the-farm/meet-the-farmers/

    Please take your time and learn how to read labels and what’s really in pet foods. Mike has a lot of great info located under Article Library. This is also a good site: http://www.dogfoodproject.com/index.php?page=labelinfo101

    It’s better to be proactive in the health of your pet. Vets are not trained in nutrition. I think after you learn about which ingredients to stay away from, you might want to educate your Vet.

    Keep in mind for all pet food brands, they are trying to sell their product. Don’t believe everything you read – do your own research. If I never educated myself, I too would probably buy Dad’s basing on their claims – it sounds great on paper.

  • Adam Clive

    did someones dad make this recipe? silly name silly artificial anything but dogie food. :(

  • Bob K

    Diana – There is a detailed review of this product above. Please read it. Dogs are meat eaters and the first two ingredients are: Ground yellow corn, soybean meal. Perhaps you should direct your vet to this website and have him read the review. Why did your Vet recommended this food? What is so good about it? Is this the best you can afford for your loved one. A dog is not a goat or pig.

  • Diana Pierce

    My vet said Dad’s is one of the better brands to give your pet. The bite size meal contains no red dyes like many others do. I fed my dogs purina/alpo Come N Get It for along time until my 9 year old developed an allergy which caused me to find one without the dyes. I fed my cat Dad’s cat food also. They like Dad’s and have been picky at eating other brands. If the vet okays it why not feed Dad’s. At least it hasn’t been recalled for making pets sick yet. That scare of all those recalls did get my attention. Unless we grow everything ourselves people food has bad things in it to.

  • brent birker

    i have a two year old female german shepard who is very picky eater and the only kind of dry dog food she will eat is dads homestyle and if i give her any thing else she will starve her self the onlyproblem i see with this food is alot of retailers in my area dont carry this food i hope dads can correct this problem

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Betty… Unfortunately, I don’t track that information. Wish I could be more help.

  • betty cook

    i dint care what anybody says. i have 4 picky eating dogs. every dog food i got they would not eat it, they ate the cat food, until, i found dads. my cats, 2, and my dogs eat it,but. the stores in portageville, mo dont carry it, which stores carries it?

  • Maria Holdcroft

    I purchased Dads Trail Mix and when I got it home my 14 yr old opened the bag to feed the dogs. She came in screaming because of what she found inside the bag where 3 baby rats that were alive and moving. I checked the bag and there were no holes and since she opened it when I got it home I know that they where packaged with the dog food at the plant. I called the grocery where I had purchased the dog food at immediately so they could pull all the dads from the shelf. I have pictures to prove that they where in the bag. I would be happy to email them.

  • ShamelessRawFoodie

    Gail Jones – I’m curious to know, since you “will NEVER buy this junk again”, WHAT will you buy to feed your dog that isn’t junk?

  • Gail Jones

    I got some Lamd Dad’s dog food only to find out when I got home, there was no lamb in the bag of dog food at all, I was upset, I’m on SS and money is tight, my dog is my best friend. This junk should be taken off the market as it lies about what is in the bag by big fake lettering!! I’m mad and will NEVER buy this junk again.

  • Jonathan

    “I feel like this most hummans eat humman food not dog food. So you feed your dog dog food.”

    What does “dog food” mean? How can there be such a definitive thing? Actual food for dogs would be meat, meat, meat, and some scavenged greens. This product is a pile of corn and chemicals.

    The idea that “dog food” is “for dogs” is actually completely incorrect. Commercial “dog food” is the furthest thing from what would be appropriate for a dog to eat. Just like cereal grains and McDonald’s are the furthest thing from what people should eat. That stuff isn’t “people food”. I wouldn’t feed it to a dog, either.

  • charlie

    I have 2 large and one small dog. They all eate TRAIL MIX large bag. Had other large dogs in the past and they lived a ripe old age. Our dogs love trail mix. One German Sheppard was my police dog on the force for 14yrs, before I had to p[ut him down. Because of hip problums no Dads dog food. I never ever feed any my dogs tabble scraps or raw hide bones. I feel like this most hummans eat humman food not dog food. So you feed your dog dog food.

  • Melissa

    Jennie-

    Do you use an old school farm vet? I do not mean that in a bad sense, however, I know of no modern, state of the art vet hospital that would ever reccomend such food to anyone. I tend to find that our farm vets are a little more “old school” then our small animal vets, hence why I use two vets, lol

    And Bob K-Please stop suggesting that these bottom of the barrel feeds would be great for goats. I would never feed junk like this to my goats, and neither would any other self respecting goat owner that I know! LOL!! Now perhaps pig owners…….

  • Bob K

    Jennie – Please read the detailed evaluation of the food above. If your dog was a goat or pig, I would say its a great dog food. Your posting provides many questions. No pure bred Brittney weighs 65 lbs. and is not fat. Your Dobe mix is allergic to everything else? What else have you tried? If this is the best you can afford, then its better than starving to death. I understand Walmart sells this.

  • Jennie

    Ever since I was a kid we fed our dogs Dads. One dog I had as a child (65lbs 13y/o when he died Brittney Spaniel. Not fat, almost the size of my current GS pup and solid) would only eat the Economets. My Dobe mix can only eat Dads as she has allergic reactions (skin) to anything else. I’ve never had an issue with it, and in fact my vet recommends it. Recall-wise…it has never been recalled that I can find and that alone must say something.

  • “Ryo”

    Also, I’ve gotta point this out…. Dogs eating dogs; “you are that you eat” has never been so literal!

  • “Ryo”

    Jonathan, that was the most beautiful rant I’ve ever seen. Ever. Thank you! :)
    You are so, completely, totally right. I mean, I bet at least 90% of dog owners have referred to their dogs as their “babies” or “children” at least once- so, my reaction to that is….. would you feed your kids euthanized pets, industrial chemicals, and artificial color?!? People need to brush up on their facts! :(

  • Jonathan

    Dude, did you read what it’s made out of? Did you see all those chemicals?? DID YOU SEE ALL THE INDUSTRIAL TRASH??? AHH! GROSS!

    Then, I guess if your stance is “hey it’s just dog food” like, “what does it matter, it’s just a dog…” then I understand why you don’t care about what’s in the food. I just don’t understand your mentality.

    Nutrition is so important, and with a dog (unlike people) you have supreme control over what goes in him. And what you eat is literally what you are made of! Your (and your dog’s) body reproduces millions of cells a day, and the raw material it uses are the foods you put in your body. Do you feed yourself trash from McDonald’s dumpster? I hope not! but that’s what this food basically is. I beseech you to have a second look at the above review!! :-)

  • da viking

    Koby the wonder dog loves this stuff — hay it’s dog food, cost is under nine bucks a bag (and u get two lbs free).. she eats it — loves it and her stools are medium/hard… nuff said huh??

  • joe martin

    Bought a can of the meatloaf. new york strip flavor wet dog food.. It was ..GARBAGE..It was runny.. Since when does dog food out of the can RUN ? Didnt need a knife to get it out, all i had to do was POUR it.. Needless to say, it sat in the bowl for hrs.Dog wouldnt touch it. There went 85 cents down the drain.
    No more dads dog food for me..

  • greg prindle

    don’t know about Dad’s dog food but I know cats love their cat food!

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Norma… When a dog food “grows” molds, it is almost always due to moisture contamination (somewhere along the way). It is possible that this occurred before you bought it. But it is also possible the package was exposed to dampness in your own home. So, it’s impossible to say for sure who’s at fault here. Wish I could be more help.

  • Norma Stuckert

    Feeding our Shi Tzu Natural Pet Pride….became deathly sick had a $200 vet bill…Come to find out the food was moldy in the bottom of the bag. the bag was not wet but the food was gray fuzzys and some was in clumps…..called Krogers they said they are not responsible for it after leaving the store….they said it must have drawed dampness…..i don’t buy that…..what could have happen.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Erica… Some pet stores and shops will take back a product you’re not satisfied with. Why not see if you may return it for credit?

  • erica

    my husband just bought Dad’s because it was on sale at the store and also it had said made in the usa…..well, after reading this review of how much bad stuff is put into it, i am going to go to dave’s petstore to buy the dog’s food the next time…….dave’s received 4 stars! now i am tempted to throw this large bag of dog food i just bought out!!!!!

  • Jonathan

    Greg, if I may…

    THIS FOOD IS MADE OUT OF TRASH!!! DID YOU NOT READ THE ABOVE REVIEW?

    It has every single worst-of-the-worst red-flag ingredients… cancer-causers, cereal grain by-products, meat-packing by-products, artificial colors, menadione, possibly even euthanized pets and roadkill.

    If you were a conscientious breeder, and you really cared about the health of your animals, how could you read the above review and still want to feed this to any living creature?

    Please read the description of what this garbage is made out of, and think really hard about your decision to continue using this product.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Greg… Unfortunately, there’s nothing I can do about this. I don’t manufacture or sell any dog foods. You’ll need to contact the manufacturer to get an answer to your question.

  • greg

    and all of are custumers who buy dogs from us feed dads to and now they can’t get it .what are you going to do about this……………………………….

  • greg

    we run a kennel with 14 big working dobermans we have fed dads forever now we can’t get it were we buy .and if we go somewhere else it’7or8 dollars more a bag the store we buy at is sams club . why cant they get it .why schould i have to pay more now .if dads cant fill orders then go out of business.dont milk your customers that made u who u are.we love dads food but won’t be soaked by there stores they sell to.plea feel free to e-mail us
    dads if you want to keep loyal customers

  • Melissa

    Jonathan-

    I don’t know that its assuming that commercial dog food is inherently good for the dog, but rather assuming that its not ; ) Its just too easy to buy what is located by convenience(say the market when you are already there) or be swayed by huge amounts of advertising-afterall, I do believe its human nature to feel “better” about what is more familiar.

    When a product is convenient, I think more people tend to use it, thereby giving the new pet owner a feeling of “Wow, so many people use it, it must be good” rather than thinking more appropriately “well it can be found on just about every shelf, so therefore its bound to be bought more frequently”.

  • Jonathan

    Right on, KC23.

    Less than 2 years ago, I started my young family’s first puppy out on Beneful. I let advertisements and price dictate my dog food choice.

    It’s too easy to just assume that commercial dog food is inherently good for your dog and never look into what it is really made of.

    That’s why I have become so passionate about dog food… to me, knowing something so important and NOT sharing it with people would be a bigger crime than the ignorance itself.

  • KC23

    Jonathon–You are 100% right, and I regret even posting that. I was just making a statement about previous pets I had when I was younger, but knowing what I know now–I wish I would have fed them differently. My current dogs get a 4-Star kibble along with mix-ins of real beef, chicken, eggs, veggies, etc. or homecooked meals. I’ve been educating myself more and more about how to properly prepare my own meals for my pets that would provide the appropriate/balanced nutrition. Hearing about recalls/tainted products is very disturbing.

    It wasn’t so long ago that everyone was just saying “Make sure your first ingredient is a meat” when buying dog food. Sites like these along with reading good books about these topics really help open our eyes.

  • Jonathan

    To KC 23…

    Bite Size Meal isn’t any better, unfortunately. Corn is still the first ingredient, by-products are still used extensively, generic animal fat is still used, and still preserved with a known carcinogen, menadione is still there, the minerals are not chelated, there are no probiotics or prebiotics, there is artificial color, and the protein and fat content are still below average.

    And here it is right from the manufacturer’s website.

    Dad’s Bite Size Meal Dog Food

    Ground Yellow Corn, Beef Meal, Chicken By-Product Meal, Corn Gluten Meal, Animal Fat (Preserved with BHA), Oatmeal (source of soluble oat fiber), Brewers Rice, Natural Flavor, Flaxseed, Dried Beet Pulp, Salt, Potassium Chloride, Iron Oxide, Calcium carbonate, Vitamin E Supplement, Zinc Sulfate, Ferrous Sulfate, Choline Chloride, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (Source of Vitamin C), Niacin, Manganese Sulfate, Copper Sulfate, D-Calcium Pantothenate, Biotin, Sodium Selenite, Vitamin A Supplement, Riboflavin Supplement, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Menadione Sodium Bisulfite Complex (Source of Vitamin K activity), Vitamin B12 Supplement, Potassium Iodide, Cobalt Sulfate, Folic Acid.

  • Samantha’s Mom

    I had run out of my Nutro Naturals & bought Dad’s Trail Mix at a local mom & pop since it’s 35 mi. to town. I trusted the co. because it’s a US co. & it uses local product but now I think the local product is mostly just by-products or waste. My precious cocker spaniel is fighting for her life after gall bladder surgery I really fear it is because instead of disposing of the rest of the Tail Mix when I got a bag of the Nutro, I instead mixed the two together so she continued eating the Trail Mix. Our other buddy has developed really foul breath & I fear that he also has a problem. They both got a clean bill of health in Aug. at their annual check ups & this s the only thing that seems to make sense. Thank you for your informative site. I thought I was a careful mom in choosing their food but not careful enough.Will always check here in the future!

  • KC23

    Sorry…I meant to say that the 2nd ingredient listed for Dad’s Bite Size Meal is actually BEEF meal, not meat meal.

  • KC23

    Seems to me like the Dad’s Bite Size Meal would be best choice of the 4, but it wasn’t reviewed. It’s wheat-free and the 2nd ingredient is Meat Meal and the 3rd is Chicken By-product meal.

    I had a dog and 3 cats that ate Dad’s food for years. They all lived long, healthy lives without health issues, and they loved the stuff.

  • Rachel Powell

    Ive tried every dog food with my 5 yr old rhodesian ridgeback, ive even tried Earthborn he only likes dads and does great on it.

  • jayna

    My dog loves this stuff more then any other brand I have tried and it doesn’t go “through” her like the kibbles n bits crap did.
    Shes a happy camper eating Dads

  • mekamac

    i cant believe this, i just bought a big bag of this junk today, & decided to look it up I AM SO PISSED!!!