Thoughts on Vegan dogs

Dog Food Advisor Forums Vegetarian Dog Food Thoughts on Vegan dogs

Viewing 50 posts - 1 through 50 (of 187 total)
  • Author
    matt1186
    Participant

I’m a manager at a pet store and I’m continually trying to improve my knowledge on pet food so I can help people as best as I possibly can. My problem is that I have a lot of customers that feed their dogs vegetarian dry dog foods and every seemingly factual article I find advises against it. I wanted to know if there is anyone on the forum that does and if there is any proven benefits to it.

Thanks,
    Matt

#12198 Report Abuse
    InkedMarie

This is not scientific, just what I’ve read but dogs need meat. IF there is some medical issue that a dog can’t have meat or fish, then maybe. Unfortunately, every single dog I hear of who eats a vegetarian or vegan diet is because the owner is a veg or vegan.

#12221 Report Abuse
    Hound Dog Mom
    Participant

Hi Matt –