Pedigree Dog Food (Canned)

Share

Rating: ★½☆☆☆

Pedigree canned dog food receives the Advisor’s lowest tier rating of 1.5 stars.

The Pedigree product line includes 19 canned dog foods.

However, since we’re unable to locate AAFCO nutritional adequacy statements for these dog foods on the Pedigree website, it’s impossible for us to report specific life stage recommendations for these recipes.

The following is a list of recipes available at the time of this review.

  • Pedigree Choice Cuts in Gravy with Beef
  • Pedigree Choice Cuts in Gravy with Chicken
  • Pedigree Choice Cuts in Gravy Country Stew
  • Pedigree Choice Cuts in Gravy with Beef and Rice
  • Pedigree Meaty Ground Dinner with Chunky Beef
  • Pedigree Choice Cuts in Gravy with Beef and Liver
  • Pedigree Meaty Ground Dinner with Chopped Beef
  • Pedigree Choice Cuts in Gravy with Beef and Barley
  • Pedigree Weight Management Beef and Liver Dinner
  • Pedigree Meaty Ground Dinner with Chunky Chicken
  • Pedigree Choice Cuts in Gravy with Chicken and Rice
  • Pedigree Meaty Ground Dinner with Chopped Chicken
  • Pedigree Choice Cuts in Gravy with Lamb and Vegetables
  • Pedigree Puppy Meaty Ground Dinner with Lamb and Rice
  • Pedigree Meaty Ground Dinner with Chopped Liver and Beef
  • Pedigree Puppy Meaty Ground Dinner with Chicken and Beef
  • Pedigree Meaty Ground Dinner with Chunky Turkey and Bacon
  • Pedigree Meaty Ground Dinner with Chunky Beef, Bacon and Cheese
  • Pedigree Meaty Ground Dinner Chopped Combo w/Chicken, Beef, and Liver

Pedigree Meaty Ground Dinner with Chunky Beef, Bacon, and Cheese was selected to represent the other products in the line for this review.

Pedigree Meaty Ground Dinner with Chunky Beef, Bacon, and Cheese

Canned Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 36% | Fat = 27% | Carbs = 28%

Ingredients: Sufficient water for processing, chicken by-products, chicken, meat by-products, liver, beef, bacon, wheat gluten, ground wheat, corn gluten meal, citrus pectin, minerals (calcium sulfate, potassium chloride, calcium chloride, zinc sulfate, copper sulfate, potassium iodide), guar gum, cheese, vegetable oil (source of linoleic acid), sodium tripolyphosphate, carrageenan, added color, dried yam, tetrapotassium pyrophosphate, onion powder, vitamins (vitamin E, A & D3 supplements, d-calcium pantothenate, thiamine mononitrate [vitamin B], biotin), garlic powder, sodium nitrite (for color retention)

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 6.8%

Red items when present indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis8%6%NA
Dry Matter Basis36%27%28%
Calorie Weighted Basis28%51%22%

The first ingredient in this dog food is water, which adds nothing but moisture to this food. Water is a routine finding in most canned dog foods.

The second ingredient is chicken by-products, or slaughterhouse waste. This is what’s left of a slaughtered chicken after all the prime cuts have been removed.

In a nutshell, chicken by-products are those unsavory leftovers usually considered “unfit for human consumption”.

In addition to organs (the nourishing part), this stuff can contain almost anything — feet, beaks, undeveloped eggs — anything except quality skeletal muscle (real meat).

Although this item contains all the amino acids a dog needs, we consider chicken by-products an inexpensive, lower quality ingredient.

The third ingredient is chicken. Chicken is considered “the clean combination of flesh and skin… derived from the parts or whole carcasses of chicken”.1

Chicken is naturally rich in the ten essential amino acids required by a dog to sustain life.

The fourth ingredient is meat by-products, slaughterhouse waste. This is what’s left of slaughtered animals after all the prime cuts have been removed.

What’s worse, this particular item is anonymous. It doesn’t even specify the source animal. So, this meat can come from almost anywhere, even diseased or dying livestock.

Although meat by-products can be high in protein, we do not consider a generic ingredient like this a quality item.

The fifth ingredient is liver. Normally, liver can be considered a quality component. However, in this case, the source of the liver is not identified. For this reason, it’s impossible to judge the quality of this item.

The sixth ingredient is beef. Beef is defined as “the clean flesh derived from slaughtered cattle” and includes skeletal muscle or the muscle tissues of the tongue, diaphragm, heart or esophagus.1

Beef is naturally rich in all ten essential amino acids required by a dog to sustain life.

The seventh ingredient is bacon, the cured, fatty meat obtained from the belly of a pig.

The eighth ingredient is wheat gluten. Gluten is the rubbery residue remaining once wheat has had most of its starchy carbohydrate washed out of it.

Compared to meat, glutens are inferior plant-based proteins low in many of the essential amino acids dogs need for life.

This inexpensive plant-based ingredient can significantly boost the total protein reported on the label — a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

The ninth ingredient is wheat. Like corn, wheat is an inexpensive and controversial cereal grain of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

For this reason, we do not consider wheat a preferred component in any dog food.

Next, we find corn gluten meal, another plant-based protein booster.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With six notable exceptions

First, vegetable oil is a generic oil of unknown origin. The ratio of omega-6 to omega-3 fats in any oil is nutritionally critical and can vary significantly (depending on the source).

Without knowing more, it’s impossible to judge the quality of an item so vaguely described. However, compared to a named animal fat, a generic vegetable cannot be considered a quality ingredient.

Next, we’re always disappointed to find artificial coloring in any dog food. Coloring is used to make the product more appealing to you, not your dog. After all, do you really think your dog cares what color his kibble is?

Onion and garlic are controversial items. In rare cases, onion and garlic have been linked to Heinz body anemia in dogs3.

However, the limited professional literature we surveyed provided no definitive warnings regarding the use of onion or garlic– especially used in small amounts (as it likely is here).

Additionally, we also note the presence of sodium nitrite, a controversial color preservative. Sodium nitrite has been linked to the production of cancer-causing substances (known as nitrosamines) when meats are exposed to high cooking temperatures.

And lastly, the minerals listed here do not appear to be chelated. And that can make them more difficult to absorb. Non-chelated minerals are usually associated with lower quality dog foods.

Pedigree Canned Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Judging by its ingredients alone, Pedigree canned dog food looks like a below-average wet product.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 36%, a fat level of 27% and estimated carbohydrates of about 28%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 40% and a mean fat level of 25%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 26% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 62%.

Near-average protein. Above-average fat. And below-average carbs when compared to a typical canned dog food.

When you consider the protein-boosting effect of the wheat gluten and corn gluten meal, this looks like the profile of a canned product containing a moderate amount of meat.

Bottom line?

Pedigree is a meat-based canned dog food using a moderate amount of generic meat and chicken by-products as its main sources of animal protein, thus earning the brand 1.5 stars.

Not recommended.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

We rely almost entirely on the integrity of the information posted by each company on its website. As such, the accuracy of every report is directly dependent upon the quality of that data.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, due to the biological uniqueness of every animal, none of our ratings are intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in a specific dietary response or health benefit for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

To learn how we support the cost of operating this website, please visit our public Disclosure and Disclaimer page.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Notes and Updates

04/23/2012 Original review
11/02/2013 Review updated
11/02/2013 Last Update

  1. Association of American Feed Control Officials
  2. Association of American Feed Control Officials
  3. Yamato et al, Heinz Body hemolytic anemia with eccentrocytosis from ingestion of Chinese chive (Allium tuberosum) and garlic (Allium sativum) in a dog, Journal of the American Animal Hospital Association 41:68-73 (2005)
  • Dori

    Well YEAH???? Who doesn’t love junk food!?!?!

  • Danny

    This is bs! I recently tried Acana, Orijen and Before Grains with my Pit. She ate the Acana, once. The two others, she just plainly refused and I tried lots of methods. Tried Pedigree canned food and she’s eating good! No problems besides her wanting more :).

  • Shar24

    I understand. We all do the best that we can and changing a dogs diet when they have eaten one food for over a decade can certainly be an undertaking. I know because I have been there.

  • Heidi

    Thank you, since your the only one that hasn’t actually put me down, insulting comments, etc. I was just stating “my” experience.

  • Shar24

    I truly believe that you really love your dogs and want to do the best you can for them, and I think that is probably why you are feeling so defensive about this issue. I agree with you in that probably millions of dogs across America eat Pedigree dog food and like brands and I am sure many of them do live to be 10+ years old.

    Here is the thing. This is a website devoted to the science of what makes a good dog food, how to select a high quality food that works for your pups specific needs and discussion about differing feeding philosophies. In short, people with a real passion for feeding their pets the best food that they can. If this is the place you choose to argue the merits of Pedigree dog kibble then so be it, but don’t expect the regular users here to agree or to cosign that.
    We are particular about what we feed our pets for good reason. The commercial pet food industry has been directly responsible for the sickness and death of many many thousands of beloved pets. This is indisputable. That is not to say that if you feed this brand your pet will get sick and die. Just like eating nothing but the “best food” is not a guarantee of health. But for the best chances of good health, a high quality, healthy diet is a cornerstone. It is difficult to argue the merits of what goes into this food.

  • Cyndi

    Nowadays they are putting more crap in dog foods than they used to. I had a dog that lived to be 17 on Alpo his whole life. Now, the big companies don’t care. They cut corners and add crap to their products without batting an eye, just for the money. & nowadays, there is an overabundance of euthanized pets. They have to end up somewhere. Back 30, 40 years ago, dogs weren’t dropping dead from eating commercial pet food like they are now.

    All of us that have done research are just trying to help others, not be “know-it-alls”. We’ve had bad experiences from bad dog foods and we are trying to help anyone that will listen.

  • Heidi

    Let me tell you something. I have had dogs since I am 5yrs old. Every single one of our dogs lived a long and healthy life. 10+ yrs. We have had Beagles, Black Labs, Schnauzers, mutts and each and everyone has been well taken care of, shot always up to date, check ups, heartworm/flea preventive, and neutered/spayed. Most if not all of our dogs were rescues. But being you all are such experts and telling me that I have no earthly clue on how to feed my pets or how to make a transition when changing their diets, well then you explain to me how did I manage to have all of our pets live past 10+ yrs? Our Schnauzer lived to 16, and our Labs to 14 and 15. You people really crack me up, and I have no clue as to why I am arguing with you all. You are not veterinarians, as far as I can tell. You have your beliefs, and I have mine. I believe if MY dogs are happy and healthy then so be it. I never once had any Vet tell me that I am feeding them wrong or harming them.

  • Storm’s Mom

    I figured as much. Did you transition to the “top brand” foods gradually, starting with, say 25% new food to 75% Pedigree, increasing the % of new food only once stools were firm? Did you use digestive enzymes and/or probiotics during the transition from one food to another?

    Heidi, your dogs got diarrhea because THEY are NOT healthy..it has nothing to do with the “top brands”. The “top brands” did not give your dogs diarrhea. Pedigree doesn’t “work” for your dogs..the fact that they couldn’t change foods, couldn’t handle new (presumably higher quality) food, is evidence of that. Their digestion is messed up because they’ve been eating the same poor quality food for so long. You’re fooling yourself if you think otherwise, I’m sorry to say.

    Pedigree is “puppy crack”, so it makes total sense that your dogs wouldn’t “want” to eat other food. Feeding your dog should never be about what it “wants”, though.. it’s about what it NEEDS to thrive. That’s your decision to make, not your dogs. You’re essentially choosing to feed your dog junk food every single day. Is that a choice you’d make for yourself, to eat McDonald’s every day? No? Then why are you insisting your dog live like that? ..especially when you now have evidence that it’s actually NOT working for them, they are NOT healthy?!

  • Heidi

    We tried several top brands, and they gave our dogs diarrhea and they didn’t want to eat it.

  • Melissaandcrew

    Because its our right to make bad choices…cigarettes aren’t making humans any healthier either and yet still on the market.

  • Cyndi

    It’s on the market because people are duped into believing it’s good! If it walks like a duck, talks like a duck and looks like a duck…..well you get what I’m trying to say. Just look for yourself at the ingredients, seriously. It’s not just MY opinion that this food is garbage, it literally is!
    I used to feed this crap to my other dog for a LONG, and he was never truly healthy & when he died of something unexplainable and my cat too, after changing his food, I did some research. & what I found made me sick! I couldn’t believe I was feeding my dog this crap and I believe that is what eventually caused his death.
    If you want to believe this is a good food, then more power to you, but I know how to read labels and I know it’s a fact that this food is crap, plain and simple!

  • Cyndi

    Eating McDonald’s and junk food every day would TOTALLY work for me, but is it healthy to do that? Of course not! But that’s exactly what you’re feeding your dog, junk food every day.

  • Storm’s Mom

    What, if any, other foods have you fed and how did your dog(s) do on it/them?

  • LabsRawesome

    All I can tell you is look at the ingredients. A food cannot magically be better than the ingredients used to make it. And it’s on the market because it’s not illegal to sell junk food to people or dogs.

  • Heidi

    Yes, actually it is NICE! He is healthy, happy and lives a great life! Again, if it is sooooooo bad, why is it still on the market???

  • LabsRawesome

    So you’re admitting you know it’s not good food. But you still feed it to your dog anyway? Nice.

  • Heidi

    Never said it was “good” food. I said I have never had any issues with it, and months ago, I had stated that I hadn’t heard any recall on it till today.

  • LabsRawesome

    Well you are the one saying that Pedigree is a good food. Please tell me which ingredients you think are good. You can’t because there aren’t any. There are people that live pretty long lives on cigs and junk food. That doesn’t mean those things are good for them. It’s still on the market because the manufacturer of Pedigree has found a way to turn trash into cash. Why would they ever stop?

  • Heidi

    Whatever……….All I am trying to say, that we have had long lived dogs on this brand. You can knock it all you want. I just do not appreciate someone telling me that we feed our dogs garbage. I am sure I can nit pick many of your so called “best” brands. Point is…………if it is that bad, why is still on the market?

  • LabsRawesome

    Please check the ingredients list at the top of this page. What ingredients in Pedigree are good for your dog?

  • Heidi

    My point was, she has told me that I am feeding my dog “Garbage”. What works for some, may not work for others.

  • Storm’s Mom

    Because if you’re not able to change your dog’s food without “breaking” your dog’s digestion, it (the food you’re feeding) really is not “working” for your dog (and thus your dog is not working optimally) at all.

  • Heidi

    That’s great that you love your dog that much. I think 99% of us LOVE our pets and treat them as family and try to find that perfect food that works for them. With that said, To each their own, but if something “works” for them, then why change it? Don’t fix it if it isn’t broken is what I always say.

  • Heidi

    Agreed!

  • Heidi

    UH, Yes, our dog has been on Pedigree for a long time with NO issues. He is 12 years old, why the heck would I want to change his diet now? That is only your opinion that you feel it is garbage. If the product was that bad, don’t you think that the product would have been pulled from the shelves? Our pets are our family and we treat them with what works for them. Blue Buffalo, and Wellness dry made our dog sick. Oh, are these not top of the line products? Yes, we tried them too early on. They failed. So I think if something works for your pet, then you stick with it. So I have to disagree with your negative comment, feel SORRY for my dog, and claiming that we give our dog GARBAGE. Our dog is happy, healthy, and has many more years with us. THAT is all that matters to us.

  • Cyndi

    Your dog has been eating Pedigree for 12 years???? Wow! I feel so sorry for your dog. Have you ever considered a rotational diet and/or getting him off of this garbage “food”?

  • Heidi

    Yes, I got the notification this morning, but like I have said before, it has been a very long time since I have seen a recall on the dry food with this brand.
    I guess everyone will have their opinion on brand name foods, and I’ll just stick with this being my pup has been on it for 12 glorious years and why would I change now.

  • Harry Flo
  • jim

    Just a note..I had two male Shih-Tzu’s and they both developed rectal cancers…at 12 years and 6 years respectively. Male Shih-Tzu’s should be neutered after 5 years to avoid cancer. Little known…but have had two vets tell me this.And had this happen over a 30 year timespan.

  • theBCnut

    That was the melamine recall and a lot of foods were recalled at that time, but not all of them, and that didn’t make Pedigree a good food either. I knew what recall you were refering to. My post was to Cindy, who said,

    “I know people that say that their animals ate Blue Buffalo and became violently ill and some died, so this happens more then you know, but I still don’t believe the scare tactics in the discussion. Many dog foods were on recall during that time frame, NOT just Pedigree….geeezzz”
    I assume she was talking about the recent complaints about BB, but I really don’t know.

  • Shawna

    You’re referring to the Menu Foods melamine issue in 2007.. I feed A LOT of different foods and not one of them were on the recall. Poor quality foods that used wheat gluten as a source of protein was the problem.

    Interestingly, which not in the US, in 2004 over 6000 dogs and cats were sickened and/or killed due to the same contamination here three years later. And Pedigree was involved in the 2004 issue. “Kidney failure in the animals was linked to Pedigree dog foods and
    Whiskas cat foods manufactured in Thailand by Mars Inc. Thousands of
    pets died, according to Asian media reports at the time.” http://usatoday30.usatoday.com/news/nation/2008-03-10-petfood_N.htm

    I notice that the above foods ingredient panel lists “wheat gluten”. Although the ingredient is likely to never again be contaminated with melamine/cyanuric acid, it is still a poor quality ingredient in a poor quality food.

  • Alexia MacReady

    I’m not going to say that dogs like to eat poop. That’s disgusting. The recall I was referring to happened about 4 or 5 years ago and almost every brand dog food was recalled except Pedigree. I checked.

  • Alexia MacReady

    My dogs ate Blue Buffalo if I jazzed it up with beef leftovers and broth or chicken leftovers and broth. I have 4 dogs and it can get really expensive to buy them meat from a butcher or a grocery store.

  • Shawna

    You are welcome and thank YOU for the kind and thoughtful reply!!

    Yeah, it seems we think we’ve taken two steps forward only to watch the news or read an article and find we actually took three steps back. Ughhh

    Environmental Working Group did an analysis on the tap water in 100 different cities and my city was in the top 10 worst for contamination. We’ve been buying reverse osmosis water for nearly 20 years (for us and the dogs).

    You do everything you can and hope it is enough. Diet, in my opinion, is the factor we have the most control over that will have the greatest impact..

    Good luck in finding that perfect food or foods. If you need ANY help there are tons of people here that are super helpful and can give ideas for any budget etc. Figuring out what’s causing a food intolerance can drive ya batty!!! At least you know you can go back to Pedigree if you have to….

  • Sue

    Thanks for all the info Shawna. I have tried eliminating most everything from her diet that I can think of over the years to no avail but I have to say that I am probably convinced of getting her off the Pedigree and trying a higher grade canned food again.

    The article concerning the study by Environmental Working Group was an eye opener, thanks for sharing. It’s also frightening because no matter how much you do to improve or extend the life of your pet like using only glass or metal bowls, no plastic toys, no flea/tick control, limiting immunizations…..there is no way to avoid the chemicals that growers put on fruits & vegetables, what’s in our water and our air so as they say “life on earth causes death”. At least unless we ever start to turn things around. I recently saw a news story about supposed “organic” fruits and veggies that we are paying top dollar for but aren’t really organic at all and there’s no way to know it. I cracked 1/2 dozen eggs the other day and 4 out of 6 of them were double yokes which tells me they are probably giving the chickens fertility drugs…now I am ingesting those!! ugh. It’s painful. :)
    But thanks for the info and you made me think twice about the Pedigree.

  • swak

    way back

    richarddarlington.com

  • Shawna

    The loose stool in your BMD could have been an intolerance to a specific ingredient fed that isn’t in the Pedigree. Without knowing any background, this is more likely the cause than all higher quality foods causing a reaction. My Pom gets EXPLOSIVE diarrhea if she eats anything with chicken in it for more than 3 or 4 days. Doesn’t matter what the quality of the food, chicken causes diarrhea in her.

    I know other dogs that get diarrhea from gluten grains, potato, green beans, garbonzo beans and on and on. It’s actually not that uncommon.

    I’m not suggesting you switch foods but I am asking you to consider just how the nutrients we take in can affect our cells in a negative way.

    Some other examples — too much omega 6 causes inflammation in the body but too little causes poor health too. Too much omega 3 causes faster aging cells but too little makes the excess omega 6 worse. There are so many more examples.

  • Shawna

    I do agree with you Sue!!! In addition to the shots and meds, dogs back then were often allowed more exercise.

    And there wasn’t nearly the toxins that there are now. The Environmental Working Group tested dogs and cats for a number of toxins and found that “Dogs and cats were contaminated with 48 of 70 industrial chemicals tested, including 43 chemicals at levels higher than those typically found in people, according to our study of plastics and food packaging chemicals, heavy metals, fire retardants, and stain-proofing chemicals in pooled samples of blood and urine from 20 dogs and 37 cats collected at a Virginia veterinary clinic.

    Average levels of many chemicals were substantially higher in pets than is typical for people, with 2.4 times higher levels of stain- and grease-proof coatings (perfluorochemicals) in dogs, 23 times more fire retardants (PBDEs) in cats, and more than 5 times the amounts of mercury, compared to average levels in people found in national studies conducted by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and EWG (Figure).” http://www.ewg.org/research/polluted-pets

    Couple that with the shots, meds and poor diet we feed them and it’s no wonder we have sicker pets than back then. :(

  • Shawna

    Sickness just doesn’t “happen”. Foods can either heal or harm. Every single cell in the body is dependent on the nutrients we take in. Here’s just a few examples of how ingredients and foods can cause harm.

    Kibble in and of itself increases a dogs risk of cancer. Vet Dr. Demian Dressler discusses why in his article titled “Dog Food: Is There a Cancer Risk”. http://www.dogcancerblog.com/dog-food-is-there-a-cancer-risk/

    Other foods, like berries and mushrooms and pineapple, can actually kill cancer. Oncologist Dr. William Li talks about it in this Ted TV video titled “Can we eat to starve cancer”. https://www.ted.com/talks/william_li

    Some foods, like garlic and the spice turmeric, prevent cancer from ever developing in the first place by causing the bad cell to commit suicide before it can grow into a tumor.

    I already mentioned gluten’s tie to autoimmune diseases in my previous post.

    A morphine like substance called BCM-7 in dairy is suspected of causing illnesses like type 1 diabetes, autism, schizophrenia and heart disease.

    Flavor enhancers to make poor quality ingredients and bland foods taste better can cause brain damage and autoimmune disease like lupus.

    Gluten can also cause brain damage (white matter brain lesions), stroke like events and temporary blindness. This is called gluten ataxia.

    Onion (and garlic to a much lesser degree) is well known for causing heinz body anemia even in relatively small amounts. Which is where the red blood cells are damaged faster than the body can make them and life threatening anemia is a potential risk. There may not be enough onion in the food to cause anemia but maybe there is enough to cause healthy red blood cell destruction which in turn would like put a constant stress on the body.

    The foods we eat have a profound influence on our health on a cellular level. We may live a very long time despite poor choices but it is quite likely that long life won’t be particularly healthy, especially in our golden years.

  • Cyndi

    I think “back then” they made dog food a bit better. Nowadays they are using 4-D animals in the dog food and THAT is what is killing out pets and giving them diseases. The dog food companies will you anything in dog foods nowadays just to make money, they don’t care about our pets.

    I had a dog growing up who lived to be 17 years old and he ate Alpo all his life. Alpo, I guarantee, was a better food 40 years ago than it is now. The companies put more garbage than anything actually beneficial in dog food these days. I firmly believe that.

  • Shawna

    In the link you mention it discusses that dogs that the type of diabetes in humans called type 1 diabetes.

    “Dietary gluten has been associated with an increased risk of type 1 diabetes.” http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/15220190

    You are correct that type 1 diabetes does have a genetic factor but so does having an issue with gluten. It is likely that gluten, like what is in this food, can cause type 1 diabetes in certain dogs.

    Gluten can also cause inflammatory bowel disease, rheumatoid arthritis, a specific type of kidney disease and other autoimmune diseases in susceptible individuals.

  • Cyndi

    Do you know what “meat by-products” are? It is in your dogs food and it can contain diseased livestock. Do you know what that could do to a dog if eaten day after day after day? I would NEVER want to find out because I love MY dog too much!

  • Sue

    Heidi I definitely agree with only products made in USA! Since all the recalls on chicken treats I have started dehydrating my own chicken tenders and it’s so much better. : )

  • Sue

    I know Heidi, the same with our childhood dogs. The cheap crap is all you had back then and we never had dogs immunized back then and they all lived to be old. You never heard of dogs dying of cancer back then. I really have to wonder about all the shots and meds that the vets prescribe these days. Perhaps those are the culprits.

  • Sue

    Yes good point about Mcdonalds but since my dog is actually doing BETTER on the cheap brand I see no reason to switch. You just never really know the causes of dogs getting sick unexpectedly. Heck, for all we know it could be the water!

  • Heidi

    Slyk, you need to read this. If you think that Pedigree dog food gave your dog diabetes, you really need to read this article. Your breed is very common to get diabetes.

    http://www.theveterinaryexpert.com/diabetes/diabetes-in-dogs/

    By the way, our mix bred dog was just diagnosed with diabetes in Jan. of this year. He is 12yrs old and he is taking 13 units of Vetsulin 12 hours apart.
    I do not blame the food that he has been eating all of his life.
    It happens.

  • Heidi

    I haven’t seen any recalls on Pedigree in a very long time. Matter of fact, I don’t think I have ever seen a recall on it. But, I could be wrong. I can’t see how someone can actually claim that a certain dog food brand has killed their dog, unless there has been a recall on it, meaning several dogs have been effected by it.
    Heck, my husband’s childhood dog, was brought up on Ken L Ration (Sp?) all of his life.
    Now you want to talk about a cheap product? He was a 12yr old, standard Poodle.
    Again, I think people associate sickness with the current brand of food that they are on, because they have nothing else to blame.
    Face it, it happens. We lose our precious furry pets to just about anything out there.
    The only thing that I strongly agree with is, any product made outside of the USA.
    I refuse to buy unless it is made in the US.

  • Heidi

    So what did the blood work actually reveal?

  • Shawna

    Everything you say makes sense but if we use that logic then it should be perfectly fine for humans to eat McDonalds every day as long as they supplement with a vitamin to make sure they get all their daily required nutrients.

    I’ve always been a little freaked out by the “onion powder” in some Pedigree foods too..

  • Sue

    Totally agree with you!! I can only imagine what the Drug commercials on tv do to some of these people….don’t fall for those scare tactics.

  • Sue

    congratulations and that’s a great testimony. I have never had a dog live to be 16 or 18 yrs old and I think I take excellent care of them all. This makes me feel much more comfortable about keeping my dogs on Pedigree.

  • Sue

    I just wanted to chime in because I started feeling a little guilty about feeding my 3 dogs this cheap brand but I must agree with AIF and some others who say dogs eat much worse things in the wild and it doesn’t hurt them. I was always a firm believer in feeding the most high quality products and fed previous dogs home cooked meals of chicken w/rice, also tried the raw diet route, also paid top dollar for the organic dry foods but none of these foods seemed to make a difference one way or the other (hard to really know) One of my labs died at age 6 from cancer and lived the healthiest lifestyle of all of my dogs. One of my current dogs (Bernese Mountain Dog) constantly had loose stools until I started feeding her this Pedigree and now her stools are firm. All 3 of them love this stuff and gobble it down which is a big plus. As I said, you never really know what causes a dog to develop cancer or any sickness at a young age but in my opinion if the dog seems to like it and it’s not causing problems that are obvious then I say go for it. There are very few foods that my BMD will eat because she is picky so I am sticking with this one. She is 7 years old now and still acts like a puppy. I think all dogs are different and some things don’t agree with them, just like people. To blame the dog food after eating just 1/2 can seems a little bit dramatic to me. I agree with the person who said people are so fearful and are so quick to panic and try to blame something when things go wrong. Bottom line is, you gotta do what YOU think is right.

  • Shawna

    I agree with you Al F but there’s a but. In nature the by products are only a minor part of the entire diet. Raw feeders, like myself, purposely seek out these “by-products” but those of us who aim to feed a balanced diet use only 10 to 20% of those foods. The rest is mostly muscle meat. IF a company uses that same or similar ratio, I have no issue. If however they rely on by-products as the sole, or even primary, source of protein nutrition, I find this to be inappropriate. Just me though.

  • Al F

    I dunno. I’m not a Vet, but my personal opinion is that we (consumers) sometimes forget that our loved ones (dogs) are truly animals, who, in the wild, will eat whatever carcass meat there is. So all the negativity regarding “by products” might be a little overrated…simply because we (humans) don’t desire those “parts” of animals to consume, doesnt mean for our dogs its improper or unhealthy. I mostly care about what sort of man made chemicals or additives might be in this or any dog food.

  • Slyk Willy

    my lhasa opso maggie pictured here is 5 years old and she has been fed Pedigree Dog Food since birth, she now has a 50% chance to live and if she makes it she will have to have daily insulin injections. If you love your dog spend the money and buy the best dog food for your pet ans dont feed them this crap……

  • http://www.lilledoodles.com Kimberly

    Cindy,
    Who do you work for???? The kennel is my own! I have 8 dogs and the TWO that were sick were in the same kennel and ate from the same bowl of food. They were the only ones who received Pedigree wet dog food. All the other dogs were in separate kennels in the same bldg. and nothing happened to them. Furthermore I DID HAVE BLOOD WORK DONE! My Labradoodle has since died at the age of 3! I had an autopsy done as well. The Vet sent a sample of the kidney off since her kidney levels were very high in her blood work. What came back was “something” made her kidneys stop working. She was a healthy gorgeous female. Since both dogs were VERY sick with the VERY same symptoms and they shared the same food bowl along with the same food there can be no other conclusion. None of this will bring my sweet beautiful girl back but if I can stop this from happening to anyone elses pet I will continue to tell my story. If you would like to see the blood work results and the autopsy or kidney results please let me know!
    PEDIGREE KILLED MY DOG!!!

  • theBCnut

    Seriously!?! What timeframe are you talking about? I didn’t know about a recall of “many dog food” including Pedigree 10 months ago. Pedigree is garbage all the time, they don’t need a recall. Try reading the ingredient list. Which of those ingredients would you be ok with eating. And if you’re going to come back with the argument that dogs eat poop, so it doesn’t matter if you feed them this c**p, then I will say to you right now, I DON’T BUY POOP to feed to my dogs. You can if you like, but that doesn’t make it good food.

  • theBCnut

    She was talking about their crate or run at home that they stay together in, not a boarding kennel. That is why they both ate the same food at the same time. Good grief!

  • theBCnut

    The risks of a male shih tzu getting mammary cancer are almost nonexistant.

  • Cindy

    I know people that say that their animals ate Blue Buffalo and became violently ill and some died, so this happens more then you know, but I still don’t believe the scare tactics in the discussion. Many dog foods were on recall during that time frame, NOT just Pedigree….geeezzz

  • Cindy

    Are you sure that it wasn’t something that your dog didn’t contract from his stay at the kennel?, Or maybe there was something in the food that your pet was allergic to, just like people who are allegic to peanuts and other foods that can make them violently ill, sounds like your jumping to conclusions without anything to back it up that it was the food and not something else. Did you have any blood work done on your dog, tested in any way? Probably not would be my guess……

  • Cindy

    Talk about gross, I’ve seen dogs eat their own poop.

  • Cindy

    Are you trying to say that your dog died because of this food? Because my vet told me that smaller dogs are are at a higher risk of developing mammary gland tumors, and even more so if not spayed before the age of 2. Not sure of the risks on male Shitzu’s

  • CONCERNED MOM

    OMG MY DOG ATE SOME OF THIS FOOD AND IT GOT RABIES AND STARTED FOAMING FROM THE MOUTH. HIS POOP WAS LIKE 2 DIFFERENT COLORS AND HIS EYES CHANGED COLORS.

  • http://www.lilledoodles.com Kimberly

    MY 3 YEAR OLD DOG ALSO BECAME VIOLENTLY ILL AND DIED AFTER 4 DAYS. WE HAD TWO DOGS IN THE SAME KENNEL AND GAVE THEM A CAN OF PEDIGREE WET DOG FOOD. THE 3 YEAR OLD DIED AS SHE CONSUMED THE MAJORITY AND THE 14 YEAR OLD WAS VERY SICK WITH ALl THE SAME SYMPTOMS JUST NOT AS SEVERE AS HE ONLY GOT THE RESIDULE THAT WAS LEFT IN THE BOWL. DEHYDRATION, LETHARGIC, VOMITING AND BLOODY STOOLS. THAT IS WHEN I FOUND THE LIST OF ALL THE SAME COMPLAINTS FROM OTHERS WHOSE PETS SUFFERED ALL THE SAME SYMPTOMS AS MINE!!! PLEASE HELP SPREAD THE WORD TO NOT BUY THIS DEADLY FOOD AND PROTECT THE ANIMALS THAT CANT PROTECT THEMSELVES!!! THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL!!!

  • Heidi

    ANY dog can develop cancer. Your just associating this brand to it.
    Our neighbor’s Husky developed cancer at a very young age, and he was on Buffalo Blue brand, which is a high rating.

  • Heidi

    I don’t know……..our dogs have been on this wet and dry food brand for years (10+yrs)! Two Labs, a Schnauzer, and a mix breed. Never had any issues with Pedigree. Our 2 Labs lived to 16yrs old, and our Schnauzer, 18yrs old. We still have our mix pup, 12yrs old.
    Suing? That is going to be real tough to do. You would have to prove that your dog is actually allergic to it.
    Some animals have allergic reactions to certain foods, and yet it can be frustrating.
    All of you that say that your dog has gotten this or that from it, may not actually be because of this brand of food.
    I know some pet owner’s, AND breeders, that are on the Top Brand list of foods, and some still get sick, and have developed cancer, pancreatic etc.

  • middleoftheroad

    I fed it to my Shih Tzu until he was four years old and diagnosed with cancer.

  • Bruce

    This crap gave my dog explosive diarrhea and vomiting after only a third of a can. I have NEVER seen him react to wet food in this manner. It was their vegetable and lamb wet food.

    I’m honestly considering suing these idiots at pedigree for nearly killing my dog when he got severely dehydrated from his body trying to reject it (while spraying it all over every carpet and floor in my home, ruining all of them in the process). I have never seen my dog so sick.

    Do not touch this crap with a ten foot pole. I bought ten cans of it, used one, and threw the rest of it away. Utter crap, and dangerous too. What a waste of cash, I wish I had seen this beforehand. I will never buy this godawful product again.

  • Mania

    LongLegsChick, the reason I “get scared too easily” is because my perfectly healthy and jumpy dog got violently sick after I fed her her first 1/3(!!) can of Pedigree wet food (chopped combo with chicken, beef and liver). I thought it would be a nice treat and she ate up her dinner within 10 minutes. A little while later though, she had severe and bloody diarrhea and couldn’t get out of the house fast enough to relieve herself. When I fed her another 1/3 with her usual dry food, the diarrhea was even worse. So, unless you lack some compassion for our canine friends, feeling worried when our dog falls sick is perfectly normal. So YOU get over your condescending tone and allow for people to care about their pets, sheesh

  • Mike

    Hounddog is very young with a sharp tongue

  • Anna Boone

    longlegchick, while you may not be having any health problems atm with your dog, you could be in the future, and are most likely shortening your pets life span with out knowing it. You may be willing to ignore what is in front of you on your list of ingredience but My dog will most likely live longer than yours based on our difference of opinions.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Do you know that the chicken and other ingredients in this food don’t come from China?

  • LongLegsChick

    Geez, some folks are so gullible you get terrified of every little thing. I have a chichihua 3 years old and have been feeding him this brand of canned food since he was a little puppy and no health problems at all. Clean bill of health with every annual vet check up. Seriously, I don’t know what’s wrong with some of u ppl. You guys just get scared too easily with these scare tactics.

    Just stay away from any dog food and/or products made from China.

  • laboop2u

    Alexia – And dogs could kill or eat dead rats that have been poisoned! Those by products may not come from where you think! They could come from rendering plants that take in roadkill, animals PTS, diseased animals, dead animals from research labs, etc. They grind them all up – some with their flea collars and with maggots. You want to feed your pets these by products knowingly. Check youtube for Rendering plants and see how dog food is really made!

  • Stan DaMann

    I believe she is attracted by the hunting aspect. Dogs love to hunt for food. If you want your dog to eat something and are having trouble getting them to eat it, hide it somewhere where they usually walk, and they will eat it.

  • Betsy Greer

    Dogs love gross stuff like that. Maybe she’s on a protein seeking mission. What are you feeding her?

  • Stan DaMann

    I was reading the posts about dogs eating anything, and now I have to add that lately my dog is hunting dried up worms and eating them. She goes out in concrete/pavement areas that have cracks in them, and finds worms that wandered out and then couldn’t find their way back to ground.

  • TracyB

    DO NOT BUY ANY PEDIGREE PRODUCTS – MAKING ANIMALS SICK AND SOME ARE DYING. MY DOG GOT SICK AFTER EATING PEDIGREE DOG FOODS AND DIED ALL WITHIN FOUR DAYS. OVER 300 COMPLAINTS SINCE AUG 2013 AND STILL NO RECALL! STAY AWAY FROM THIS FOOD.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Don’t forget Baneful!

  • Dena

    It is, I have been told, Careegenan, don’t know if it is fact or not, but the guy that answers the phones for Ziwi Peak, told me that it actually separates from the contents of the food and you can just spoon it off.

  • Dena

    There is also Furina

  • Dena

    You must mean Deadagree right?

  • Cecil Memmers

    Oh noeeezzz! Not Slow-Death-Pedigree! (it’s actual name)
    Some of the snobs on this site are laughable.

  • Pattyvaughn

    My dogs would happily eat the fur too. And I would much rather that they eat mice and rats than Pedigree. I feed my dogs by-products, but they are named by-products, like liver, kidney, lung, trachea, tripe, even eyeballs, and brains. I know what quality they are. You definitely don’t with Pedigree, or what else is in there.

  • GSDsForever

    Dogs and cats will also readily eat antifreeze. What’s your point?

    Just because a dog will naturally eat something does not mean it is good for them.

    There is also tremendous variation in quality and type, as well as quality control standards, among animal byproducts. Generally, it is good to know what species, what specific parts & ratios, what grades of animals (and whether 4D animals are used) and byproducts are allowed, and digestibility.

    And, I’m sorry, but you are very misinformed claiming that Pedigree was the only food not recalled during that incident. There are a number of foods that were not recalled, even though it is true that many were.

    Particularly in the clear were foods not made by the same copacker/manufacturer and foods that did not contain particular ingredients foudn to be contaminated. MenuFoods does not and never has made all other foods besides Pedigree, just as Diamond (another big manufacturer for others) does NOT make all other foods.

    My dog’s food, Timberwolf Organics, has a very good history of safety and responsiveness, and was NOT affected by that recall (China melamine/cyanuric acid) or the previous biggest recall (moldy grains with Diamond). I have fed it for many years with great success and know others who have as well. I am far more confident in every one of its ingredients than I would be in those in Pedigree.

    I’m glad you’re happy with Pedigree and hope your dog(s) continue to do well on it. I would personally trust feeding dozens of other foods over it. There are a lot of good choices out there now.

  • Alexia MacReady

    Dogs will kill a mouse, a rat, a chicken and they’ll eat everything except the fur from nose to butt. Why would I worry about by-products? Dogs love that stuff.

    Pedigree was the ONLY dog food not recalled a few years ago when China was busy poisoning all the other dog foods and dogs were dying in the USA from kidney failure.
    By products are good for dogs. Muscle meat is good for humans.

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    dogaware.com has a section on home cooking. There are also several recipe books available to purchase online. Using a Premix is also an option. It takes the guess work out of homemade. All you do is add meat and sometimes oil.

  • Kristy Lynn Hall Howard

    Do you have any certain recipes or websites you might recommend, when choosing to start home cooking for dogs? Thank you for any advice you might be willing to share.

  • hugi

    bad food, dont feed it!

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1522128470 Donna Criswell Mollaun

    This is the brand that we fed our dogs before I started making their food.

  • JellyCat

     Don’t give this to your dog at all. Especially if you noticed something weird in the can. Although, this food is weird and sketchy in general.

  • John

    Has anyone noticed that Pedigree has a lot more gelatin stuff like in the cans lately?
    The 22 oz can had 6 oz of this stuff in it. Funny thing is when I separated it and put it on a plate next to the wet food my dog went for this mystery gel first. 

  • LabsRawesome

     Prand18, Pedigree uses much worse ingredients than onion powder. Chicken by-products, Meat by-products, wheat gluten, corn gluten, vegetable oil, sodium nitrate. The whole entire product is sketchy.

  • Prand18

    Pedigree uses onion powder in their canned foods…

  • Jan_Mom2Cavs

    It would be nice if you could politely suggest (or work it in to the conversation lol) a different food for this dog.  I know it’s hard sometimes because talking about dog food and suggesting that someone isn’t doing all they can for their dog is akin to talking about someone’s religion or politics lol.  I have family that I’ve even given up on feeding their animals better…sigh!

  • Marcia

    I do dog boarding and I am currently boarding a dog who is fed primarily Pedigree canned– as reviewed here.   I find that I can barely be in this dog’s presence because there is such a terrible odor wafting from her.  When I open the can, the odor is akin to this.  Most dogs I care for do not have body smells, and that is because they are fed better food.  it is my feeling that garbage in = garbage out.  I feel bad for this dog.  She seems basically healthy, so I don’t think her smell comes from a diseased state.  I have home cooked for my dogs for the last 30+ years and have never had a dog who smelled anything other than sweet.