Innova Dog Food (Canned)

Share

Rating: ★★★★☆

Innova Canned Dog Food receives the Advisor’s second-highest tier rating of 4 stars.

The Innova product line includes seven canned dog foods, two claimed to meet AAFCO nutrient profiles for all life stages, one for growth (Large Breed Puppy) and four for adult maintenance.

The following is a list of recipes available at the time of this review.

  • Innova Puppy (5 stars)
  • Innova Senior (2 stars)
  • Innova Adult (4.5 stars)
  • Innova Lower Fat Adult (3.5 stars)
  • Innova Large Breed Adult (5 stars)
  • Innova Large Breed Puppy (5 stars)
  • Innova Large Breed Senior (3 stars)

Innova Adult recipe was selected to represent the other products in the line for this review.

Innova Adult Formula

Canned Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 41% | Fat = 39% | Carbs = 13%

Ingredients: Turkey, chicken, chicken broth, brown rice, potato, carrot, herring, natural flavor, whole egg, guar gum, apple, alfalfa sprouts, cottage cheese, herring oil, carrageenan, l-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), minerals (iron amino acid chelate, zinc amino acid chelate, cobalt amino acid chelate, copper amino acid chelate, manganese amino acid chelate, selenium yeast, potassium iodide), potassium chloride, vitamins (vitamin E, A, B12, D3 supplements, thiamine mononitrate, biotin, riboflavin supplement), sunflower oil, pumpkin, sodium phosphate, inulin, salt, choline chloride, beta carotene

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 6.8%

Red items when present indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis9%9%NA
Dry Matter Basis41%39%13%
Calorie Weighted Basis28%64%9%

The first ingredient in this dog food is turkey. Turkey is considered “the clean combination of flesh and skin… derived from the parts or whole carcasses of turkey”.1

Turkey is naturally rich in the ten essential amino acids required by a dog to sustain life.

The second ingredient is chicken, another quality raw item.

The third ingredient is chicken broth. Broths are nutritionally empty. But because they add both flavor and moisture to a dog food they are a common finding in many canned products.

The fourth ingredient is brown rice, a complex carbohydrate that (once cooked) can be fairly easy to digest. However, aside from its natural energy content, rice is of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

The fifth ingredient is potato. Potatoes can be considered a gluten-free source of digestible carbohydrates. Yet with the exception of perhaps their caloric content, potatoes are of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

The sixth ingredient is carrots. Carrots are rich in beta-carotene, minerals and dietary fiber.

The seventh ingredient is herring. Herring is a fatty marine fish naturally high in protein as well as omega 3 fatty acids, essential oils needed by every dog to sustain life.

After the natural flavor, we find whole eggs. Eggs are easy to digest and have an exceptionally high biological value.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With seven notable exceptions

First, herring oil is naturally rich in the prized EPA and DHA type of omega-3 fatty acids. These two high quality fats boast the highest bio-availability to dogs and humans.

Depending on its level of freshness and purity, herring oil should be considered a commendable addition.

Next, this recipe contains cottage cheese. Compared to other dairy products, cottage cheese is high in protein yet contains 70% less lactose than whole milk.

In addition, carrageenan is a gelatin-like thickening agent extracted from seaweed. Although carrageenan has been used as a food additive for hundreds of years, there appears to be some recent controversy regarding its long term biological safety.

Next, this food also contains chelated minerals, minerals that have been chemically attached to protein. This makes them easier to absorb. Chelated minerals are usually found in better dog foods.

Additionally, sunflower oil is nutritionally similar to safflower oil. Since these oils are high in omega-6 fatty acids and contain no omega-3’s, they’re considered less nutritious than canola or flaxseed oils.

Sunflower oil is notable for its resistance to heat damage during cooking.

There are several different types of sunflower oil, some better than others. Without knowing more, it’s impossible to judge the quality of this ingredient.

We also note the inclusion of inulin, a starch-like compound made up of repeating units of carbohydrates and typically sourced from chicory root.

Not only is inulin a natural source of soluble dietary fiber, it’s also a prebiotic used to promote the growth of healthy bacteria in a dog’s digestive tract.

And lastly, this recipe also contains selenium yeast. Unlike the more common inorganic form of selenium (sodium selenite), this natural yeast supplement is considered a safer anti-cancer alternative.

Innova Canned Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Judging by its ingredients alone, Innova canned dog food looks like an above average wet product.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 41%, a fat level of 39% and estimated carbohydrates of about 13%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 37% and a mean fat level of 26%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 29% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 71%.

Near-average protein. Above-average fat. And near-average carbs when compared to a typical wet dog food.

Free of any plant-based protein boosters, this looks like the profile of a wet product containing a moderate to above-average amount of meat.

Bottom line?

Innova is a meat-based canned dog food using a moderate to above-average amount of chicken and turkey as its main sources of animal protein, thus earning the brand 4 stars.

Highly recommended.

Please note certain recipes are sometimes given a higher or lower rating based upon our estimate of their total meat content.

Those looking for a comparable kibble from the same company may wish to check out our review of Innova Dry Dog Food.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

We rely almost entirely on the integrity of the information posted by each company on its website. As such, the accuracy of every report is directly dependent upon the quality of that data.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, due to the biological uniqueness of every animal, none of our ratings are intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in a specific dietary response or health benefit for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

To learn how we support the cost of operating this website, please visit our public Disclosure and Disclaimer page.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Other spellings: Inova

Notes and Updates

11/23/2009 Original review
06/24/2010 Review updated
05/01/2012 Review updated
11/09/2013 Review updated
11/09/2013 Last Update

  1. Adapted by the Dog Food Advisor and based upon the official definition for chicken published by the Association of American Feed Control Officials, Official Publication, 2008 Edition
  • 4FootedFoodie

    I think the good news is, that it appears your pup’s fat threshold might be a bit higher than you originally thought.

    If you’re looking for a lower fat kibble to use with the canned food, you could also take a look at Wellness Core Reduced Fat and Go! Senior.

  • M C

    4FootedFoodie, Thank you for your reply. I hadn’t read the dry bags of INNOVA LOWER FAT, yet, but now I’m concerned about that fat content. I guess more researching and taking notes for my Yorkie’s diet binder… so thankful that at least the INNOVA LOWER FAT ADULT DOG FOOD is working for us.

  • M C

    Thank you so much, sue66b. I really like your kibble test–I’m writing all your advice/notes in my Yorkie’s diet binder. I have recently noticed he does well on White Albacore tuna, but I like your toast idea and will add that to his problem days.

    Please check these 2 links about Cushing’s Disease and Cushing’s Syndrome from corticosteroids (again, I need to get my dog tested specifically for Cushing’s Disease this time around, but he has all the symptoms–including turning into a bad ravenous doggy who gets in the trash):
    http://pets.webmd.com/dogs/cushings-syndrome-dogs

    http://dogs.lovetoknow.com/wiki/Cushing%27s_Disease_in_Dogs

    Thank you again, and I wish the best for you and Patch. :) **PS: I found much cheaper cans of the INNOVA LOWER FAT DOG FOOD, 13.2oz on http://www.Chewy.com.

  • sue66b

    Hi MC, you have just described what my dog goes thru when he eats of a morning, he cant wait to eat then 15mins later he’s in pain crying & whinning, for me to rub his right side, vet wants to put him on steriods, I wont, just be careful trying the kibble as kibble is harder to digest especally if it has potato in it, I do the kibble test… I get a couple of kibbles put them in a glass, I fill the glass with boiling water then I count to 40 then I get 2 teaspoons I put 1 kibble inbetween the spoons & press them together & if the kibble crushes easily I know that the kibble is easily digested, the Wellness Simple Duck & Oatmeal is excellent it crushes easy & Patch doesnt cry after eating it or doesnt spew it, but wet food is better, easier to digest Ive also found that 1 piece of dry toast white bread with salmon & lobster paste thinly spread cut into pieces also helps after he has vomited & is still hungry he doesnt seem to have his pain after his toast also if he has spew his vet diet kibble the toast is always gone & been digested but the kibble hasn’t, its awful watching them suffer & feeling so helpless it breaks my heart, I hope your boy gets better & puts on some weight, its hard keeping their weight on…

  • 4FootedFoodie

    The irony is, when you convert the fat in this food to a dry matter basis, you’ll find the fat is actually 18.2%.

  • M C

    INNOVA LOWER FAT ADULT DOG FOOD, 13.2oz, Green Can: 5 stars, in my opinion
    This food has saved my 11 year old Yorkie dog from painful pancreatitis flareups. He would beg to be fed, but within 20 minutes of a meal he’d double over, shaking, curling his back legs up slightly in the air, and it was so upsettng because the vet couldn’t seem to get it right. (Tests, iv fluids, antibiotics, more tests.) I’m also certain he has Canine Cushing’s Disease, but I need to get him tested…again.
    Over the past two years he could digest less and less foods, until I had him on a diet of cottage cheese, brown rice, chicken broth, and pumpkin. I did solid daily research online, and found that he needs a low fat diet with white fish and chicken or turkey–I’m talking around 10% or less crude fat. Another week of searching in pet stores, grocery stores, and online, reading the backs of bags and cans trying to find low fat, limited number of ingredients, and good nutrition–then I found INNOVA at the very end of a PETSMART isle. I tried a small spoonful to see if my Yorkie could digest it, and he was fine–begged for more. I tell you I cried happy tears when he ate a full meal and was still not sick 1 hour later. My poor doggy previously lost so much weight, but now he’s starting to recover after 6 weeks eating INNOVA. He’s stronger, looks bright-eyed again, and he has not once gotten sick on this food. ******Please, anyone who has a dog suffering from chronic pancreatitis flareups-possibly related to Cushing’s- DO TRY THE INNOVA LOWER FAT ADULT DOG FOOD, 13.2 OZ, in the GREEN CAN with the SCHNAUZER on it. (Also, I add these with each meal: vitamin supplements, Petco GAS STOP w/ Yucca, and PetAlive Cushex Drops herbal remedy. You will be amazed at the difference with your dog’s digestion and overall health–my Yorkie is regrowing hair.) Hopefully, I’ll be trying the INNOVA dry food, soon.
    I hope this helps someone who’s had similar problems for his/her beloved pet.

  • Guest

    INNOVA LOWER FAT ADULT DOG FOOD, 13.2 OZ, IN THE GREEN CAN: 5 Stars, in my opinion
    This food has saved my Yorkie dog from painful pancreatitis flareups. He
    would beg to be fed, but within 20 minutes of a meal he’d double over,
    shaking, curling his back legs up slightly in the air, and it was so
    upsetting because the vet couldn’t seem to help me keep this from
    happening. (I’m certain he also has Canine Cushing’s Disease, to be
    tested.) Over the past two years he could digest less and less foods,
    until I had him on cottage cheese, brown rice and pumpkin–begging my
    vet for help. (Not much help except more tests, IV fluids and
    antibiotics).
    I did solid daily research online,
    and found that he needs a low fat diet with white fish and chicken or
    turkey–I’m talking around 10% or less crude fat. Another week of
    searching in pet stores, grocery stores, and online, reading the backs
    of bags and cans trying to find low fat, limited number of ingredients,
    and good nutrition–then I found INNOVA at the very end of a PETSMART
    isle. I tried a small spoonful to see if he could digest it, and he was
    fine–begged for more. I tell you, I cried when he ate a full meal and
    was still not sick 1 hour later. My poor doggy previously lost so much
    weight, but now he’s starting to recover after 6 weeks eating INNOVA.
    He’s stronger, looks bright-eyed again, and he has not once gotten sick
    on this food. ******Please, anyone who has a dog suffering from chronic
    pancreatitis flareups (and Cushing’s Disease), DO TRY THIS CANNED FOOD:
    INNOVA LOWER FAT ADULT DOG FOOD, 13.2 OZ, IN THE GREEN CAN WITH THE
    SCHNAUZER ON IT. (Also, I add these with each meal: vitamin supplements,
    Petco GAS STOP w/ Yucca, and PetAlive Cushex Drops herbal remedy. You
    will be amazed at the difference with your dog’s digestion and overall
    health.) Hopefully, I’ll be trying the INNOVA dry food, soon.

  • Pingback: Best Canned Dog Food: A Few Extra Years For Your Dog | Best Dog Treats For Your Happy & Healthy Dog !!

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Innova has out a new wet product line called Farmhouse Stews that’s grain-free and comes in BPA-free tubs:

    http://www.innovapet.com/products?utf8=%E2%9C%93&brand_name=Innova&species=&packaging=&specialty=Stews&commit=Search

  • http://www.thegreedypinstripes.com/ BryanV21

    If you can find it try Evanger’s game meats. You can just add them to your pup’s dry food, as they are just meat. Great way to give your dog more fat and calories, without adding any more carbs. And cheaper than a canned full diet food, too.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Did you suddenly switch to a lot of canned or just put a couple spoonfuls on his dry? I use a little canned or raw meat and warm water mixed in with dry and my dogs inhale it.

  • http://www.facebook.com/rabonnicole Crystal Nicole Nelson Rabon

    I feed my Great Dane the large breed dry food and he does great but recently my vet recommended I start giving canned food so that he would pick up weight he got violently ill and had to be put in meds for the diarrhea

  • http://www.thegreedypinstripes.com/ BryanV21

    Your dogs likely did not get diarhea because it’s a low quality food (it’s middle of the road in my opinion), but because of an intolerance to an ingredient in the food. And ingredient that could probably be found in many other foods as well. So to talk down about it for that reason is incorrect. Should I talk down about onions because I can’t eat them?

    And if you checked the cans of food before buying them and they were fine, and after you got home you saw that a can had air in it, then how is that the manufacturer’s fault. Sounds like you either missed something upon checking them beforehand (things happen on shipping, it’s not due to poor food), or it got damaged while in your possession.

    I’m responding because it irks me when people unfairly criticize a company, or talk trash about them. Innova is not my “go-to” food, but it doesn’t deserve having it’s products talked down upon like that.

  • Alexandria

    I started feeding both my cat and dog innova for the past week and have since stopped. This being because both experienced diarrhea with my puppy experiencing it the worse and this was just when I was attempting to introduce the food by slowly switching it over. Also before I purchased the food I checked to make sure all they were all sealed and now one of the cans has air in it so the safety seal has popped (I can push down on the top of it like a button). I would highly discourage people from considering this dog food.

  • Robert

    I ran out of the Evangers my dogs usually eat and tried a can of this in a pinch.  My two chihuahua mixes ate the whole can quick.

  • Ladolcevita

    Patty, my dogs too! They got very sick, and i knew it was from the food. Once i stopped serving to them, they got better. I called the company and all they told me, it was probably a bad batch! 

  • Shawna

    Hi Dave’s Hounds ~~ I don’t recall and I’ve posted too much to try to find it..  But my guess is that I posted that I was concerned about the fat content.

    Example — per onlynaturalpet.com the freeze dried venison has 34% minimum protein and 26% fat.  They also state that venison makes up at least 65% of the ingredients..  This doesn’t make sense to me..  Venison is a lean meat.  If it makes up 65% of the diet then where does all the fat come from? 

    Mike has a different analysis here on DFA.  He shows that fat makes up 55% of calories and protein makes up 30%.  Almost double the calories from fat then protein.  My sources indicated 49% of calories should be protein and 44% should be fat.  That is a big difference..

  • Dave’s Hounds

    Shawna – what was your post about ziwipeak?

  • Pattyvaughn

    The lot number was150ZM212 2207. The best by was 2/21/14.

  • Pattyvaughn

    A lady from my training club just forwarded an email from a friend of hers, she has multiple dogs, but the four that are on innova canned just got violently ill from the first cans from a new case. Innova’s customer service was less than helpful. She has reported to FDA and is planning on sending a couple cans for testing. Watch your pups people.

  • Shawna

    During an elimination it is okay to use whatever works…  Once phasing in more foods though I would feel better if some lower fat ones were rotated in with the Duck (and lamb if you continue to feed :)…

    Just sent you an email….I didn’t see these replies til after reading and replying to your email… :)

  • Mary Lou

    Sneaky indeed!!  He does love that duck, though.  I think we will do away with buying the lamb anymore.  Good work, Sherlock!!!

  • Mary Lou

    You go ahead and laugh.  I am dead serious!!  I already told my husband!!  It would be amazingly fun, and Dupree might even benefit from the visit.  : )

  • Shawna

     
    I just figured out what the S&C rep was saying when suggesting that rehydrating drops the fat level……

    Rehdrating changes the percentages due to the included water (hence why Primal venison shows 19% protein as fed but when converted to dry matter is over 60%)……

    So yes, she is correct in that the percent will decrease when dehydrated BUT the fat is still there….. That is very sneaky of her to say imo!!!!!!!!! Not only does it decrease the fat percentage but it also decreases the protein percentage…

  • Shawna

    LOL!!!!!!!!!  That would be so much fun!!  I AM looking forward to sitting by the pool sipping a yummy cocktail :)…  And then when you come here we’ll head to Telluride for hot toddys by the fire and skiing…

  • Mary Lou

    Thanks, Shawna ~ that sounds like a great idea.  I want to find a middle of the road or lower fat food.  That’s why I was sure hoping the Weruva would have worked out.  I wouldn’t mind the Stella & Chewy’s for one meal, but I would like to find something else for the other. 

    Maybe the water thing is what they say to appease people like monkey and me.  ; )  Dupree absolutely loves the duck; so I would like to keep that one around.

    I noticed the new store here had some Bravo, but didn’t pay close attention, as I was looking at the Primal.  I may check it out tomorrow.

    I still have the Grandma Lucy’s Pureformance Rabbit that I never really introduced.  I just gave him a taste twice, and he seemed to like it.

    I want to stay away from the ZiwiPeak now after reading your post a few days ago. 

    I was adding the extra meat thinking that I was offsetting the higher fat, but I guess that’s not how it works.  I’m dumb.  Sooooo thankful for you!!!

    I don’t mind giving him meat and extras, but I in no way want to have to get into balancing meals and all that.  I want the best, but with simplicity.  Hee hee.

    Maybe I should just have you come here for a visit and get me all set up.  Would be fun!  : )

  • Shawna

    No, that doesn’t make any sense to me Mary Lou?  I don’t understand how the temperature of the water would have any affect on the fat content?  Gonna have to think about this one some more :)

    It is not that dogs will get sick from the fat.  Rather the fat can prevent them from eating enough protein.  Protein is the MOST important nutrient in the diet.  If fat adds more calories it bumps protein..  Dr. Becker says fat should be no more then 50% of the protein to prevent this from happening.  So if protein is 30% then fat should not exceed 15%.  Dupree is doing well on this food but I would be looking at ways to lower the fat in the long run.. :)

  • monkey

    I’ve emailed Stella & Chewy before letting them know about the high fat concern. They just said they will keep it in mind.

  • Mary Lou

    Hi Shawna ~ she said that rehydrating the freeze-dried with warm (not hot) water drops the fat level dramatically.  Does that make sense to you?  She said the fat level is not too high for the majority of dogs.

  • Shawna

    PS — did she happen to mention why their foods are so high in fat?

  • Shawna

    Hi Mary Lou ~~ she is right…  You can add some extra food (be it meat, veggies etc) to a diet but if you go over around 20% you run the risk of unbalancing the diet..  Always keep extras under 20%…

  • Mary Lou

    I was emailing with Emily from Stella & Chewy’s.  She said that adding extra meat to the rehydrated product is not the best idea.  She said that it may be playing with the nutritional levels in his overall diet.  So….I will be reevaluating that part of the equation.

  • Mary Lou

    Sandi ~ My heart really feels for you ~ I know how much you loved him.

    My all time favorite food for Dupree is Stella and Chewy’s freeze-dried.  I don’t know if it would be cost effective for Kevin.  He’s a bit larger than Dupree.  : )

    You know, we went kibble free for quite awhile.  I tried to introduce a couple with less than optimum results.  I finally found success with Nutrisca Lamb.  He did not have one isse with it.  I wouldn’t hesitate to try the Salmon at some point.

    Today ~ Stella and Chewy’s Lamb for breakfast with some NV Instinct Lamb canned.

    For lunch ~ kibble ball with Nutrisca.

    Dinner ~ S & C Duck, Duck, Goose (he loves!) with some lightly cooked ground turkey. 

    I’ve just started adding a bit of garlic.  He gets probiotics, enzymes, krill oil, and coconut oil for a treat.  I take a taste and then give him a tad off my finger.  It’s pretty yummy.  : )

    I read your posts about THK.  We have tried it.  In regard to the poops ~ that was the first time Dupree had an accident in the house.  We were upstairs and he just went.  He couldn’t hold it.  : )

    I hope you find something that Kevin loves and loves him back.  ; )

  • http://www.whosyourvet.com/ Sandi

    Hi Mary Lou,

    Thanks for your condolences.  Bernie was a kind hearted soul and true gentleman – I miss him every day.  Enjoy every moment you have with  Dupree.  Which food did you finally end up feeding?

  • Mary Lou

    Sandi ~ I am so sorry to hear about Bernie.  I did not know.  Blessings.

  • http://www.whosyourvet.com/ Sandi

    From what I read, seniors need more high quality protein that’s necessary  to organ health, muscle tone,  coat and skin. When they age, their ability to maintain a good muscle tone & to keep the immune system strong lessens.   They also felt if your dog has kidney problems, not to feed high protein.  Their thinking has changed on that too. 

    http://healthypets.mercola.com/sites/healthypets/archive/2011/05/05/surprising-findings-from-tufts-study-of-37-senior-dog-foods.aspx?SetFocus=353715#

  • http://www.whosyourvet.com/ Sandi

    Glad to know there is another Whippie pet parent.  I put my 15 yo Whippet to sleep in December.  Kevin is going on 8 yrs.  You might want to join Whippet World forum – great people & very supportive. 
    http://www.whippetworld.net/board/

    You’ll probably end up getting another Whippet as there are breeders in the group that post pics of their litters.  Is your Whippet chewing up your house LOL – You have over another year before they calm down.  You might want to think about lure coursing depending where you live. 

    I use to feed the Natura line until P&G took over.

  • frank

    mike   why is it bad to have lower protein for a senior dog.  i was under the impression that high protein products may have an adverse effect on a senior’s kidneys.  therefore, at least initially, i sought out lower protein products  please advise

  • Alexy J Rantes

    I feed my dogs Innova Adult, and have been doing so for about a year now. This is one of the only canned foods my dogs (1 yr old Whippet, 3 yr old chi-weenie) eat wholeheartedly and these two are picky eaters. I, too was a bit worried about the P&G ownership but have not noticed any problems with the dogs, they are healthy, shiny coats, my whippet is as fast as ever and have super clean strong teeth, normal small stools. I will keep feeding until I see a bad reaction in them. I do not mix their wet food with the dry, I feed separate.

  • guy nelli

    this is a quote from dogfoodscoup.com. although you may choose the wait and see approach regarding Natura dog food, we personally, have enough to form an opinion on PK’s history of deceitful practices, and lack of ethics. ( this was in relation to the buyout of Iam;s, and Eukanuba dog food)

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Jason… Thanks for sharing this letter and your opinion. I too am aware of the public’s fear of last year’s buyout of Natura by P&G. However, in the spirit of fairness to all (including pet food manufacturers), it’s unreasonable and unscientific to assume a merger will automatically produce inferior products. Whether or not that fear is justified will be borne out by the company’s future actions in the ongoing evolution of its products. So, until I see a change on the labels of Natura’s products, our ratings will remain unchanged.

  • Jason

    Hi everyone,

    This concerns the buyout of Natura Pet by Proctor and Gamble. There is another dog food review website and it boldly states that all Natura products were removed from their 4 star status and placed at 2 stars solely because of the buyout. Evidently, that review site has very little faith in big corporations and in my opinion, doesn’t even wait for actual evidence.

    So without any actual proof to deserve 2 stars, I decided to write Natura Pet/P&G myself. I asked them if any changes in ingredients and/or quality had been made and also if any changes were being planned for the future. This is their reply so you be the judge.

    Dear Sir/Madame,

    Thank you for contacting Natura Pet Products. Natura Pet Products is owned by Proctor & Gamble. The sale of Natura Pet Products to Proctor & Gamble was finalized on June 1, 2010.

    Our brands and formulas have not changed. Our ingredients, quality, integrity, etc. have not changed. Proctor and Gamble will never degrade or lessen the quality of our products. Because consumers have come to expect leadership, innovation, and 100% honesty and integrity from Natura, we are more committed now than ever to breaking the transparency barrier by implementing consumer informational initiatives about our practices and plans, as well as complete nutritional information.

    Natura’s dedication to quality and nutritional philosophy has not changed. Natura’s Founders; John & Ann Rademakers and Peter Atkins, started Natura’s business with the purpose to provide the healthiest pet foods in the world. In building Natura’s business they have maintained animal health and wellness as a priority. They have strongly supported their independent retail partners.

    P&G is committed to growing the Natura brands. They recognize the critical nature of growing the entire portfolio through the independent pet specialty stores. The quality of our products will continue to be world class. Natura’s nutritional philosophy will not change. The foundation of our success is rooted in our products and their performance. We will not compromise our standards.

    P&G have acquired our manufacturing facilities in Fremont, NE and San Leandro, CA along with the full complement of Natura employees. P&G intends to operate Natura Pet Products as an independent entity. Our approach to formulation and product design will remain the same, and we will continue to position our formulas on the cutting edge. We will continue to evolve and improve our market leading products. Our ingredient selection philosophy will remain unchanged.

    Natura’s current operating management team will remain in their respective positions and Natura’s business relationships will remain unchanged.

    P&G has sought us out to advance and improve their natural and holistic product line and are interested in our products because they believe that we are the best at what we do… providing “The Healthiest Pet Food in the World.”

    Thank you once again for confiding in us. We especially thank you for giving us the opportunity to respond to your concerns.

    If you have any additional questions or concerns please feel free to contact me at your convenience.

    Best Regards,

    Ashley

    Natura Product Advisor

    Licensed Veterinary Technician

    (800) 532-7261

    [email protected]

  • http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ninja Dog Food Ninja

    Peter, the listed ingredients is all Mike goes by, so according to that list, this is still a good food. But here’s where p&g can screw this food up… by changing the source of those ingredients to cheaper, sketchier suppliers. So, who knows. That’s not a parameter Mike can take into account, as manufactures don’t have to disclose such information, and even if they did, it would take Mike years to amass such information. And then, said information is subject to constant change. It would take an entire staff of highly paid personnel to keep track of such things… certainly not just one full-time dentist! :-)

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Peter… As far as I know, there have been no changes to the label for Innova since the P & G buyout in May of 2010. But to be sure, you’ll need to contact their customer service. Hope this helps.

  • Peter

    Does that mean that to your knowledge, the ingredient label for Innova has not changed?

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Peter… Proctor and Gamble acquired Natura Pet back on May 5, 2010. And based upon P&G’s history, I can understand your concern. However, in the spirit of fairness to all (including pet food manufacturers), it’s unreasonable and unscientific to assume a merger will automatically produce inferior products.

    In any case, we try our best to intentionally ignore the never-ending barrage of unverifiable rumors and pet food industry politics. And we focus on the only source of information we feel we can reliably trust… government-regulated pet food labels. To see why we ignore almost everything else, you may wish to visit our article, “The Problem with Dog Food Reviews“.

    And until I become aware of any changes to the label, I’m not planning to revisit this product.

    To hear what others have to say, why not browse the Comments section after each review in which you might have some personal interest. In any case, whether or not you choose to pay attention to the reports and opinions you read there is a decision you’ll ultimately have to make for yourself.

  • Peter

    Mike – Is it possible for you to do a followup review on Innova as a “post P&G” review of the food? I’m curious whether or not the producers, now under new ownership, have changed the recipe and are pushing out an inferior product.

    Any sort of update on this food would be much appreciated!

    Thanks for all your work here,

    Peter

  • Meagan in iowa

    Mike p- you get coupons from some of the four and five star foods correct? just wondering if you know if they can be used when ordering online? or do they have to be used only in a store? thanks

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Val… That would depend on the caloric content of each food and the amount of each one served. Unfortunately, it would be impossible for me to offer precise calculations for each reader. Wish I could be more help.

  • val

    80 lbs, oops!

  • val

    Our 5 year old great 80 mix breed is having a right leg problem. She is getting acupunture. The vet suggested she get a cool diet. Canned food is cool. We are now giving her a small amount of dry and canned the rest. We use adult Inova Food. I do not see a true list of how much to use for a mixture of foods. Any help? Please! and many thanks.

  • erin

    Just opened a can of Innova this morning. The smell kind of reminded me of Kennel Ration. Our medium-sized 13 year old mutt ate it up.

    I don’t mix can with dry anymore. No matter what the wet food or the dry food was, she would just walk away.

    Now I just give her 1/3 can in the morning, and then offer dry whenever. (I can’t leave it down because the cats will nibble at the dog food, which isn’t a bad thing, except that the dog throws a fit.) The dry food is a mix of some 4 & 5 Stars. She is not overweight. If anything, she might be underweight.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Amanda… Like so many other senior and weight loss dog foods, this product’s notably lower protein content (about 20% on a dry matter basis) appears to contain a significantly reduced meat component. This fact compels us to downgrade this food to (just barely) 3 stars.

  • Amanda

    Just wondering why the Senior formula receives only 3 stars? What is different about it?

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Lynn… Unfortunately, there’s no way to know the answer to your question. In many ways, larger companies have the resources to support more elaborate quality control testing programs as they procure the ingredients for each batch of dog food.

    What’s more, in the spirit of fairness to pet food manufacturers, it’s unreasonable (and unscientific) to automatically assume unexplained symptoms (like diarrhea) are directly related to something as vague as a company merger. We try our best to ignore the never-ending barrage of unverifiable rumors and pet food industry politics. So we focus on the only source of information we feel we can reliably trust… government-regulated pet food labels. To see why we ignore almost everything else, you may wish to visit our article, “The Problem with Dog Food Reviews“.

    Like everyone, we’re always concerned about any corporate merger (including Proctor and Gamble’s buyout of Natura). So, we continuously monitor our readers’ comments for any visible sign of a recipe (or quality) change.

    Fromm is a very good choice. But don’t give up just yet on Innova (and the other Natura products). The true story of this merger is yet to be written.

  • Lynn Gelman

    I was told that about 6 months ago Inova was bought out by Procter & Gamble. I found this out after my cocker spaniel started have really bad diarrhea. After doctor visits and tests the only answer they could come up with was the food that she had been on for 5 years and then started having problems after switching hands. Do you think a company like P & G would prefer to make more money for themselves and therefore scrimp on nutrition? And if that is true, do you still highly recommend it. I also spoke with other dog owners who had the exact problem. I now feed her Fromms. Thanks for any info.