Go! Sensitivity + Shine Dog Food (Dry)

Share

Rating: ★★★★☆

Go! Sensitivity + Shine Dog Food receives the Advisor’s second-highest tier rating of 4 stars.

The Go! Sensitivity +Shine product line includes three dry dog foods. However, since we’re unable to locate AAFCO nutritional adequacy statements for these dog foods on the product’s web page, it’s impossible for us to report specific life stage recommendations for these recipes.

The following is a list of recipes available at the time of this review.

  • Go! Sensitivity + Shine Duck Recipe (3.5 stars)
  • Go! Sensitivity + Shine Salmon Recipe (3.5 stars)
  • Go! Sensitivity + Shine Grain Free/Potato Free Turkey (5 stars)

Go! Sensitivity + Shine Duck Recipe was selected to represent the other products in the line for this review.

Go! Sensitivity + Shine Duck Recipe

Dry Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 24% | Fat = 13% | Carbs = 54%

Ingredients: Duck meal, oatmeal, potatoes, whole oats, de-boned duck, canola oil (preserved with mixed tocopherols), apples, natural flavour, flaxseed, quinoa, kamut flakes, calcium carbonate, potassium chloride, sodium chloride, dried kelp, vitamins (vitamin A supplement, vitamin D3 supplement, vitamin E supplement, inositol, niacin, l-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (a source of vitamin C), d-calcium pantothenate, thiamine mononitrate, beta-carotene, riboflavin, pyridoxine hydrochloride, folic acid, biotin, vitamin B12 supplement), minerals (zinc methionine complex, zinc proteinate , iron proteinate, copper proteinate, zinc oxide, manganese proteinate, copper sulphate, ferrous sulphate, calcium iodate, manganous oxide, selenium yeast), dried chicory root, l-lysine, dried Lactobacillus acidophilus fermentation product, dried Enterococcus faecium fermentation product, dried Aspergillus niger fermentation product, dried Aspergillus oryzae fermentation product, Yucca schidigera extract, dried rosemary

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 3.9%

Red items when present indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis22%12%NA
Dry Matter Basis24%13%54%
Calorie Weighted Basis22%29%49%

The first ingredient in this dog food is duck meal. Duck meal is considered a meat concentrate and contains nearly 300% more protein than fresh duck.

The second ingredient is oatmeal, a whole-grain product made from coarsely ground oats. Oatmeal is naturally rich in B-vitamins, dietary fiber and can be (depending upon its level of purity) gluten-free.

The third ingredient is potato. Potatoes can be considered a gluten-free source of digestible carbohydrates. Yet with the exception of perhaps their caloric content, potatoes are of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

The fourth ingredient is oats. Oats are rich in B-vitamins, minerals and dietary fiber.

The fifth ingredient is duck. Although it is a quality item, raw duck contains about 80% water. After cooking, most of that moisture is lost, reducing the meat content to just a fraction of its original weight.

After processing, this item would probably account for a smaller part of the total content of the finished product.

The sixth ingredient is canola oil. Many applaud canola for its favorable omega-3 content while a vocal minority condemn it as an unhealthy fat.

Much of the objection regarding canola oil appears to be related to the use of genetically modified rapeseed as its source material.

Yet others find the negative stories about canola oil more the stuff of urban legend than actual science.1

In any case, plant-based oils like canola are less biologically available to a dog than fish oil as a source of quality omega-3 fats.

The seventh ingredient is apple, a nutrient-rich fruit that’s also high in fiber.

After the natural flavor, we find flaxseed, one of the best plant sources of healthy omega-3 fatty acids. Provided they’ve first been ground into a meal, flax seeds are also rich in soluble fiber.

However, flaxseed contains about 19% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

The tenth ingredient is quinoa. Quinoa (pronounced keen-wah) is not a true cereal grain but a plant prized for its gluten-free seeds.

Compared to most other grain-type ingredients, it is high in protein (about 12-18%), dietary fiber and other healthy nutrients.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With three notable exceptions

First, this recipe contains selenium yeast. Unlike the more common inorganic form of selenium (sodium selenite), this natural yeast supplement is considered a safer anti-cancer alternative.

Next, we note the inclusion of dried fermentation products in this recipe. Fermentation products are typically added to provide enzymes to aid the animal with digestion.

And lastly, this food also contains chelated minerals, minerals that have been chemically attached to protein. This makes them easier to absorb. Chelated minerals are usually found in better dog foods.

Go! Sensitivity + Shine Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Judging by its ingredients alone, Go! Sensitivity + Shine Dog Food looks like an above-average dry product.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 24%, a fat level of 13% and estimated carbohydrates of about 54%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 27% and a mean fat level of 15%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 50% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 54%.

Near-average protein. Near-average fat. And near-average carbs when compared to a typical dry dog food.

When you consider the protein-boosting effects of the flaxseed, quinoa and lentils contained in another recipe, this looks like the profile of a kibble containing a moderate amount of meat.

Bottom line?

Go! Sensitivity + Shine Dog Food is a plant-based kibble using a moderate amount of turkey, duck or salmon meals as its main sources of animal protein, thus earning the brand 4 stars.

Highly recommended.

Please note certain recipes are sometimes given a higher or lower rating based upon our estimate of their total meat content.

Special Alert

Rice ingredients can sometimes contain arsenic. Until the US FDA establishes safe upper levels for arsenic content, pet owners may wish to limit the total amount of rice fed in a dog's daily diet.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, our rating system is not intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in specific health benefits for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

To learn how we support the cost of operating this website, please visit our public Disclosure and Disclaimer page.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Notes and Updates

05/28/2010 Original review
12/27/2010 Review updated
11/22/2011 Review updated
05/21/2013 Review updated
05/21/2013 Last Update

  1. Mikkelson, B and DP, Oil of Ole, Urban Legends Reference Pages (2005)
  • Jeffrey Gino-gino Pinili

    We fed this to our 2mos shih tzu they love the salmon flavor and no alegies and what soever. Highly recomended.

  • Kinny Salas

    My 8 month old Chow is thankfully not allergic to Turkey as he is to chicken. This has the right protein and fat % although a bit high on calcium for a growing pup. problem is… She doesn’t like it. SIGH… For now staying with Duck and Pear from Acana as well as lamb and apple.

    She hated the Salmon recipe and itched with the Chicken turkey and trout puppy.

  • Storm’s Mom

    I’ve been feeding it for about a month now, and have seen nothing of the kind in Storm’s stool. There’s no corn in this formula at all. Yours might just not be processing an ingredient in it well. Storm’s doing fantastically on it (among the best I’ve seen him, actually!), which is a bit surprising given that it’s got lower protein than most of the kibbles he gets!

  • Myles

    I have tried the Turkey w/o potato for my 6 year old Pointer, and something wrong with his digestion. Seems to be corn in his stool or some yellowish substance. I changed his food to Orijen and everything went back to normal.

  • Storm’s Mom

    Good to know, thanks InkedMarie! I’m relieved that Turkey is an option for Storm. He’s had other foods that included turkey among other proteins (ie Performatrin Ultra Grain Free has turkey, salmon and duck) and has been fine, but I wanted to make sure with a standalone turkey one. Success!!! :-)

  • InkedMarie

    Boone can’t have chicken but has no problem with turkey. Most of his kibbles have been turkey

  • Storm’s Mom

    Storm’s been eating the Grain-Free/Potato-Free Turkey formula for probably about 3 weeks or so now, and I have to say I’m impressed!! ..and relieved!! Because Storm’s allergic to chicken, and I had read (and been told) that if you have a dog allergic to chicken you want to stay away from turkey too (had also read some contradictory info about this), I was a bit wary about trying this one, but thankfully he’s showing no signs of an allergy at all! :-) I’m especially thankful because it’s a big bag and I have no idea where the receipt is!

    Initially, I was feeding him 1 1/4 cups (the bag says 7/8 to 1 1/3 cup for a 20 to 30lbs dog ..he’s 26lbs), but it looked like he was gaining weight on that like crazy (in part probably because the food he came from had much more protein/less carbs), so I’ve cut it back to 1 cup and that seems to be the sweetspot for him with this one. He still has lost some muscle definition from the last one he was on (it was higher protein..but I forget exactly what I was feeding now, though haha).

    His coat looks really good.. sometimes on food that appears to have more protein from non-meat sources than meat sources, his coat can get a little “iffy”, but it’s holding up really well on this food (which does have more non-meat protein sources than I like to see, especially relative to the single meat (turkey) source).

    Poops are normal, too.. 2, sometimes, 3 per day, normal looking. I was worried that the non-meat protein sources might bloat his poop a bit, like chickpeas tends to do, but that doesn’t seem to be the case. He seems to be handling the food well.

    All in all, I think this will be the turkey option in his rotation going forward! Yay!! I still would prefer to feed Holistic Blend Grain Free for that, but alas it has potato ..and way too high up in the ingredient list for my liking. I will be adding a canned topper the next time I feed Go Turkey, though, to increase the protein level (I don’t use toppers the 1st time I try a new kibble because I like to see how he does on the kibble by itself to start with, and then the next time I feed it I add a canned topper)

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Yes, dog food can definitely go bad. However, as long as it was stored properly prior to opening and after opening and hadn’t gone by the expiration date it shouldn’t have gone bad in 10 days. The general recommendation is to store food in a cool dark and dry place, always keeping the bag closed (if you can store the food in the original bag in a sealed food storage container that’s even better) and use within 3 – 4 weeks. Did the food smell funny?

  • Lucy

    We have been using the Salmon for all breads for our two dogs and 10 days into a new bag and both dogs stopped eating. After a day and half we introduced a different brand, they were both hungry and ate up the new brand. Can dog food go bad? We have a Lab mix and a shitzu mix.

  • Bea_Gees_Mom

    Interesting….I feed my dogs the Go Sensitivity & Shine Duck and I noticed a while ago that the kibble had sharp points.  I have actually hurt my fingertips on it.  It looked liked points of duck feathers.  I am slowing changing them to the Acana Duck & Bartlett Pear.  No sharp edges there.

  • Pattyvaughn

    I believe this food review is due to be updated in May, so keep checking back.

  • Rranosztay

    I am wondering what are the reviews on the food lately?

  • shirley

    I also am wondering why there is a change?  Also, I am wondering about the below average protein listed on my last bag (22%), so I guess I need to add protein, and if so, what?  I am not comfortable with adding raw meat to my 14 year old mini-dachshund with IBD.  I don’t think her system could handle that.  Maybe canned salmon?  What is the change that was made?  I am assuming that more fillers were added?  Anyone know what change was made?  I have a new bag to start tomorrow and I did not think about doing a gradual change, so I could have poo problems tomorrow.

    Shirley C

  • Coltyboy2010

    I am feeling the same frustration!  Why did they change the formula???  I am now looking into other foods.  Not having any luck though.

  • Lisa

    Verus is very good food, high in carbs, but otherwise pure, you could add the NewZealand lamb, or Fromm is excellent. They eat less with Fromm, as it is higher quality, they need less, Petcurean adds some filler, I found, not byproducts, just they take certain shortcuts and they are more hungry/need more of the food.

  • Lisa

    You are right about your concern, you will have to check with the company. I know that Orijen and Fromm buy Ethoxyguin free meats/fish. There have been articles of vets where people switched their dogs to foods with Ethoxyguin and then they got cancer within 6 months. i personally have tried the Go and the Now and found it good, but I do find this is a corporation who seems to want to take shortcuts, I don’t think they are 100%. They also downplayed the issue with BPA in their cans (most cans contain it; BPA free cans are merrick and verus, nothing else I know of). I find Fromm much higher quality and they are a family business, I don’t know exactly why but I don’t trust Petcurean 100%, overall, not to bad though.

  • Yves lauzon

    My dogs was on GO Salmon for over one years now and was doing very good , GO was the best dod food my dog could possibly get but unfortunetly, go as change their recipe and ingredients without any notice !!! My dogs had overcome a serious problem which was dog candida(yeast) and was doing very good but now, came back with the problems of yeast!!! Why did GO change their ingredients ?? More fiber at a better cost??? TNX so much!!! My dogs had their last GO dog food for the rest of their life…Never again !!!!

  • Terrijohn99

    We started feeding Go Salmon and Oatmeal for our girl who had a very sensitive tummy to every food we tried and didnt tolerate any chicken foods.  She did great on this food. She did tend to have fishy breath and since she is over 150 lbs of dog you tend to smell her more than the average dog so we started to switch her over to the Duck, Sensitivity and Shine. Hoping that her stomach would be ok with adding a little of the new slowly over a week or so, and she is doing great on that as well. We are very happy to have found this food.
    And we get always get compliments on how soft and beautiful her coat is. 

  • Teresawagner

    My Red and White Irish Setter has been eating GO chicken and veggies for 5 years now, (she was on raw for the first year of her life) and has NEVER,EVER been sick. I know she had excellent breeding etc, but we do believe that the food has to be good to keep her in such excellent health. She is extremely active, and has never looked anything but the picture of shining health.

  • Pingback: Highest quality food at pet stores - Boxer Forum : Boxer Breed Dog Forums

  • Shawna

    Shaylea ~~ we really have no other choice but to trust the word of the manufacturer.  Petcurean states on their website that they test for mercury and that they and more importantly their suppliers do not use ethoxyquin. 

    That said, I am a firm believer in rotation so adding in the kangaroo and other protein sources, in my mind, is a good thing. :)

    Curious?  Have you seen Dr. Becker’s articles/comments on grains in the diet?

  • http://pulse.yahoo.com/_XHYPJVBBFCTEZF2LY7YVZQPOFE Shaylea

    My dog is on the Go Salmon and Oatmeal and doing extremely well. The fat and protein levels are agreeing with her. What disturbs me however is an article I read from Dr. Karen Becker and find I might be second guessing myself with giving her this food as her staple (meaning salmon)

     I have slowly started rotating a bit here and there with First Mate (fish)free of salmon  and Addiction Kangeroo, and a little canned food as a topper and so far she seems fine.

     Even though Purcurean has addressed the ethoxyquin issue as well as Champion, after reading this article it can still make you uneasy. Here are some excerpts. 

    “The pet food company you purchase your cat’s or dog’s food from may NOT be adding ethoxyquin, but that doesn’t mean it isn’t in the fish meal in that food. Because ethoxyquin is added before the raw ingredients are shipped to the pet food manufacturers, it doesn’t get listed or disclosed on the product label.Don’t make the mistake of assuming if the fish meal product label doesn’t list ethoxyquin, it’s not in there. Unless the label specifically states the formula is ethoxyquin-free, or you call the manufacturer’s 1-800 number and are told it’s not in the raw materials they purchase nor added during their own manufacturing process, you should assume the formula contains ethoxyquin.

    Chances are there is mercury, ethoxyquin and other potentially carcinogenic preservatives in those fish-based diets. Many types of fish are also contaminated with industrial chemicals like PCBs, dioxins, and pesticides like DDT.These toxins are absorbed by the smallest ocean plants and animals at the low end of the food chain. As larger ocean dwellers come along and consume these contaminated plants and prey, the toxins accumulate and become more concentrated in the bodies of the bigger fish.”

    ****Sometimes for various reasons, (allergies, pancreatitis etc. etc) you need to be on a fish based diet. You want to try and be assured as much as possible that you’re doing the best and you’re always going to wonder…

  • Julie

    Adding to the above…She is a Golden Retriever and weighs about 60 lbs. but needs to gain more!

  • Julie

    I have started using the salmon and the oatmeal, and my allergic dog seems to be doing better. I was told to give her something she has not had before and she also needed lower fat because of pancreatitis (but the attack was over a year ago)

    I think its is Salmon and Oatmeal 12% which my vet has now said this ok – we have graduated from 10% fat (another dog food) gradually over a long period of time.

    The problem is ..that according to the package directions it says for an active dog to use about 2 3/4 cups -maybe 3 …however she is always hungry and even lost some weight. She needs to gain about 5 lbs. and don’t know what else to give her to add some weight because I do not want to over do the fat. According to the company, they said I could give her 4 cups a day when I phoned them.

    Also in some of the Weruva foods eg. tuna or mackeral, why not just open a can of human salmon, tuna etc. and sprinkle some on food or give as a treat? Why actually buy the particular food? It’s mostly fish, so why not just open a human can and give a couple of teaspoons?
    I was thinking of adding a canned food (Weruva) but that is also low fat so don’t know if that would help her gain.

    She seems to be allergic to chicken, turkey,duck – Does anyone have any suggestions as to what I could use to add some more calories in a safe way?

    I was using some of the taste of the wild fish can even though it was more fat but only used a very small amount for a topper and she seemed fine.

    Thanks1

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Stacey… There are many larger breed pet parents who passionately insist on special large breed formulas. However, even that won’t guarantee a healthy growth rate. Recent research suggests skeletal dysplasias are more related to simple overfeeding (may be the most common cause), excessive dietary calcium… and (often overlooked) genetics.

    Be sure you’re feeding a quality dog food that’s designed specifically for puppies, too. These would be AAFCO rated for either all life stages or growth and reproduction. Hope this helps.

  • Stacey

    We’ve been feeding our 2 cats the Go! chicken & vegetable for the past few years. I think they’ve done really well with it. They’ve never really cared for anything else. We are bringing home an 11 week old puppy tomorrow. After reading the comments for the Go dog food, I’m thinking we’ll give it a try. The puppy is an Alaskan Malamute. Do you think he would do well or should we try something specific for a large breed. Or, maybe that doesn’t matter?

  • Jan (Mom to Cavs)

    Sandra, I haven’t tried the GO! foods, but I like the NOW! foods for my cat and dogs. I have a friend that has an all white English Bulldog that has to eat NB Fish or Venison due to allergies. She also used a probiotic with him and Apple Cider Vinegar. I’m glad you found something that’s working!

  • Sandra

    I have to say for anyone with a bully with a yeast problem due to allergies this dog food has been a godsend to me. I am referring to the go natural salmon and oatmeal. I have been through maybe 10 foods in the last year and 1/2 trying to get rid of the yeast on her paws and back and tailpocket. i have to say since starting this food she has been getting better every day. I do mix this food with dogswell nutrisca lamb as the protein is a bit low and its also low glycermic. Her fur is growing in and back is no longer black. her cysts are almost gone and the yeast on her pads is getting better by the day. Her stools are good. I also have my 2 boston terriers on the chicken fruit and vegetable one and they are doing great. fur is soft and shiny and energy is great. I have a cat on the now senior weight formula and he is doing great as well. fur soft and shiny good energy. all in all i am very pleased with this food.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi P Dunn… Fish4Dogs is a UK product and not available here in the US. It may be available in Canada but I’m not sure. In any case, due to differences in labeling standards unique to each country, I’m currently reviewing products marketed only within the US and Canada. Wish I could be more help.

  • ShamelessRawFoodie

    P Dunn – Fish4Dogs? Never tried it; never will. More potatoes than fish. Not for my dog!

  • P Dunn

    Anybody tried Fish4Dogs? Any feedback people?

  • Lisa

    Hi Marlise, I recently left another comment but it disappeared. I was wondering if you ever tried completely grain free? My beagle had the same problem until I went grain free and she does better on fish based with her allergies. I haven’t tried this food yet, I wanted to see the reviews.

  • Lisa

    Hi Marlise, have you ever tried a completely grain free formula? My beagle who has bad allergies will has the same problems with any food that is not completely grain free. I haven’t tried this formula yet, I wanted to check out the reviews.

  • Marlise JORG

    My dog has food intolerance (diarrhea, gas, etc) and I had great hopes with this apparently excellent kibble. However, as soon as I introduced this new kibble with his old one (R.C. Sensitivity Control) the stool got loose and even only 1/3 new to 2/3 old it got to diarrhea. Too bad… Had to stop immediately and went to Hill’s Z/D Low Allergen which seems to respond better.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Matt… The link you posted is no longer “active” but the FDA document you referenced in your comment is dated November 3, 2003. That’s more than 8 years ago.

    I’m not aware of any current issues with any of Petcurean’s products. Unfortunately, I’m not sure how anyone other than the company can assure you this product is “safe”.

    To learn why I limit my analysis to the government-regulated label only, you may wish to visit my article, “The Problem with Dog Food Reviews“. Hope this helps.

  • Matt

    I want to try the GO or the NOW for my bully. I emailed the company and they have responded back with every question I have asked. Hower back in 2003 I guess there was some question regarding the food. And they sent me the following:
    ———————————————————————
    Is there any questions regarding the Go! or Now! that you have? In the fall of 2003 it was necessary for us to produce food in the US for the US market only, due to the mad cow issue in Canada. It was at this time we were advised that a limited number of animals had become sick in a very limited geographical area, and as a precautionary measure we initiated a voluntary recall. The FDA stated that the voluntary recall was done very promptly and at a level exceeding the requirements of recalls relating to Human Health. It was also noted as one of the most public and efficient recalls done by a pet food company in North America according to the FDA. During this process extensive tests were completed by both the FDA and Petcurean Pet Nutrition on the Go Natural pet foods. It should be noted that Go was one of the most tested pet foods in the history of extruded foods during this process. After extensive testing with toxicologists across North America and the FDA, the FDA has classified the event as a voluntary market withdrawal due to lack of anything untoward being found within the food.

    We went very public on behalf of our consumers, distributors, retailers and most importantly the pet’s safety, even though we had no evidence that the food may be at issue. We chose to put the pet’s health first, and as a small company from ownership to sales staff we answered each and every consumer call personally.

    I have included a link to the FDA websites that reclassifies it as a market withdrawal, and not a recall.

    http://www.fda.gov/cvm/CVM_Updates/petcureanrc.htm

    Please let me know if you have further questions.
    ——————————————————————-
    So is the food safe??? – I just want to make sure nothing happens to my bully. What do you think???
    Thanks.

  • Christine

    Thank you for the info…I had a feeling it was not a good idea! I was interested in the salmon and oatmeal. However, given the duck and the Now grain free to try out. They were very helpful and wonderful, I just happened to notice that as I pulled it out to open.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Christine… The risk of increased rancidity in oils and fats as well as the possibility of dangerous molds makes it risk to feed dog foods that have gone past their Best By dates. Sorry for the bad news.

  • Christine

    I was very excited to try this food. The store gave me a generous and big bag sample (sealed unopened) and they were so nice to all of us. When I got it home, I realized it said on the package best before 12-7-10…kinda out dated. Never opened is it ok, or should I not even try this one? I was bummed : (Any thoughts. I am thinking what I would do if I had something I bought outdated, I am not sure how long unopened dog food can go past a date? Thanks for suggestions!

  • IC

    Hi Melody, thank you for your response. I also add animal protein to my dogs Go formula. I use the Salmon and Oatmeal and I have her on a low glycemic diet so the Salmon Formula has made a remarkable difference. I sometimes add some boiled, drained and rinsed vegetables to the animal protein as well. Sometimes egg, yogurt or (rarely) cottage cheese.
    I soak the kibble before mixing and feeding as I find some of the kibbles hard as rocks. Don’t want my toy dog breaking any teeth!
    Other than that, for any dog that may be having issues that could be related to yeast imbalance, such as scratching, licking paws or worse etc, I highly recommend the Go naturals Salmon and Oatmeal Formula and cut out any high glycemic foods, including carrots, peas, sweet potatoes, yams and any even grains, especially those that are not gluten free.
    Hard to find a commercial food that offers all the above but Go Naturals Salmon Formula does just that. Works for my dog.
    I also like that the protein content isn’t so high that I can’t add some of our own gently cooked high quality animal protein as well. Adds flavor and a little lift to the otherwise same old same old.
    Glad I am not the only one doing this! Thanks again.

  • Pingback: go! Natural? - Golden Retrievers : Golden Retriever Dog Forums

  • Melody Richards

    Hello
    So glad to hear the good things about this dog food and that I have been, over the last 5 years or more, been using it correctly. That is, mixing equal amounts of protein with it, chicken, beef or lamb and combining them. My dog is a healthy one thanks to GO and the complimenting protein that I put in as well.
    Thank you for doing this analysis, it is needed badly for those poor under-nourished dogs. Send to everyone!!
    Thank you
    Melody Richards