Fromm Four Star Nutritionals Grain-Free (Dry)

Share

Rating: ★★★★½

Fromm Four Star Nutritionals Grain Free Dog Food receives the Advisor’s second-highest tier rating of 4.5 stars.

The Fromm Four Star Nutritionals Grain Free product line includes six dry dog foods, each claimed to meet AAFCO nutrient profiles for all life stages.

The following is a list of recipes available at the time of this review.

  • Fromm Four Star Nutritionals Grain Free Game Bird
  • Fromm Four Star Nutritionals Grain Free Pork and Peas
  • Fromm Four Star Nutritionals Grain Free Lamb and Lentil
  • Fromm Four Star Nutritionals Grain Free Salmon Tunalini
  • Fromm Four Star Nutritionals Grain Free Beef Frittata Veg
  • Fromm Four Star Nutritionals Grain Free Surf and Turf (5 stars)

Fromm Four Star Nutritionals Grain Free Game Bird was selected to represent the other products in the line for this review.

Fromm Four Star Nutritionals Grain Free Game Bird

Dry Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 32% | Fat = 19% | Carbs = 41%

Ingredients: Duck, duck meal, peas, turkey, potatoes, pea protein, dried tomato pomace, pea flour, dried whole egg, quail, chicken meal, chicken fat, salmon oil, sweet potatoes, chicken, pheasant, cheese, flaxseed, carrots, broccoli, cauliflower, apples, celery, parsley, lettuce, spinach, chicken cartilage, potassium chloride, blueberries, cranberries, salt, chicory root extract, Yucca schidigera extract, alfalfa sprouts, sodium selenite, folic acid, taurine, sorbic acid (preservative), vitamins, minerals, probiotics

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 3.9%

Red items indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis29%17%NA
Dry Matter Basis32%19%41%
Calorie Weighted Basis27%39%34%
Protein = 27% | Fat = 39% | Carbs = 34%

The first ingredient in this dog food is duck. Although it is a quality item, raw duck contains about 80% water. After cooking, most of that moisture is lost, reducing the meat content to just a fraction of its original weight.

After processing, this item would probably account for a smaller part of the total content of the finished product.

The second ingredient is duck meal. Duck meal is considered a meat concentrate and contains nearly 300% more protein than fresh duck.

The third ingredient includes peas. Peas are a quality source of carbohydrates. And like all legumes, they’re rich in natural fiber.

However, peas contain about 25% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the meat content of this dog food.

The fourth ingredient is turkey, another quality raw product.

After processing, this item would probably account for a smaller part of the total content of the finished product.

The fifth ingredient is potato. Potatoes can be considered a gluten-free source of digestible carbohydrates. Yet with the exception of perhaps their caloric content, potatoes are of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

The sixth ingredient is pea protein, what remains of a pea after removing the starchy part of the vegetable.

Even though it contains over 80% protein, this ingredient would be expected to have a lower biological value than meat.

And less costly plant-based products like this can notably boost the total protein reported on the label — a factor that must be considered when judging the meat content of this dog food.

The seventh ingredient is tomato pomace. Tomato pomace is a controversial ingredient, a by-product remaining after processing tomatoes into juice, soup and ketchup.

Many praise tomato pomace for its high fiber and nutrient content, while others scorn it as an inexpensive pet food filler.

Just the same, there’s probably not enough tomato pomace here to make much of a difference.

The eighth ingredient is pea flour, a powder made from roasted yellow peas. Pea flour contains as much as 25% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the meat content of this dog food.

The ninth ingredient is whole dried egg, a dehydrated powder made from shell-free eggs. Eggs are easy to digest and have an exceptionally high biological value.

The tenth ingredient is quail, another quality raw item.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With four notable exceptions

First, salmon oil is naturally rich in the prized EPA and DHA type of omega-3 fatty acids. These two high quality fats boast the highest bio-availability to dogs and humans.

Depending on its level of freshness and purity, salmon oil should be considered a commendable addition.

Next, flaxseed is one of the best plant sources of healthy omega-3 fatty acids. Provided they’ve first been ground into a meal, flax seeds are also rich in soluble fiber.

However, flaxseed contains about 19% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

In addition, chicory root is rich in inulin, a starch-like compound made up of repeating units of carbohydrates and found in certain roots and tubers.

Not only is inulin a natural source of soluble dietary fiber, it’s also a prebiotic used to promote the growth of healthy bacteria in a dog’s digestive tract.

And lastly, this food contains chelated minerals, minerals that have been chemically attached to protein. This makes them easier to absorb. Chelated minerals are usually found in better dog foods.

Fromm Four Star Nutritionals
Grain Free Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Judging by its ingredients alone, Fromm Four Star Nutritionals Grain Free looks like an above-average dry product.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 32%, a fat level of 19% and estimated carbohydrates of about 41%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 32% and a mean fat level of 19%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 41% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 59%.

Above-average protein. Above-average fat. And below-average carbs when compared to a typical dry dog food.

When you consider the protein-boosting effect of the pea products, flaxseed and chickpeas (contained in other recipes), this looks like the profile of a kibble containing a moderate amount of meat.

Bottom line?

Fromm Four Star Nutritionals Grain Free is a plant-based dry dog food using a moderate amount of various named meals as its main sources of animal protein, thus earning the brand 4.5 stars.

Highly recommended.

Please note certain recipes are sometimes given a higher or lower rating based upon our estimate of their total meat content and (when appropriate) their fat-to-protein ratios.

Fromm Dog Food
Recall History

The following list (if present) includes all dog food recalls since 2009 directly related to this product line. If there are no recalls listed in this section, we have not yet reported any events.

You can view a complete list of all dog food recalls sorted by date. Or view the same list sorted alphabetically by brand.

To learn why our ratings have nothing to do with a product’s recall history, please visit our Dog Food Recalls FAQ page.

Get free dog food recall alerts sent to you by email. Subscribe to The Advisor’s recall notification list.

Dog Food Coupons
and Discounts

Readers are invited to check for coupons and discounts shared by others in our Dog Food Coupons Forum.

Or click the buying tip below. Please be advised we receive a fee for referrals made to the following online store.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

The Dog Food Advisor does not test dog food products.

We rely almost entirely on the integrity of the information posted by each company on its website. As such, the accuracy of every review is directly dependent upon the quality of the test results from any specific batch of food a company chooses to publish.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, due to the biological uniqueness of every animal, none of our ratings are intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in a specific dietary response or health benefit for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

However, we do receive a fee from Chewy.com for each purchase made as a direct result of a referral from our website. This fee is a fixed dollar amount and has nothing to do with the size of an order or the brand selected for purchase.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Notes and Updates

10/16/2015 Last Update

  • BucFan478340

    My pup uses the Pork and Peas and has done very well on it. One of the few foods that does not bother her tummy.

  • Adrienne P.

    My Eskie-Pom mix was just finishing up a bag of Zignature and I wanted her to try something new. Before trying a new brand of dog food, I always request for coupons and samples. Fromm doesn’t provide samples but they did send coupons and a product booklet. We went to our local pet feed store and the staff told me the flavors that sold best were the Lamb and Lentils, Game Bird, and Salmon. My dog wasn’t a fan of the Salmon (I think she flat-out doesn’t like fish) so we exchanged it for the Lamb and Lentils. She did great on it. We then bought the Pork and Peas which she also did great on. I prefer to stick to grain free, single protein formulas and rotate them. Since my dog recently had beef and chicken, I didn’t have much option in the Grain Free line so I opted to let her try the Duck and Sweet Potato formula which isn’t grain free. I don’t think my dog has any allergies to grain so we will so how she does on this formula.

  • Jesse

    Hi everyone,

    I’m thinking about switching my one-year-old Golden Retriever to the Fromm Heartland Gold Large Puppy or the Four-star Pork & Peas. Anyone who has tried and liked any of the above? Any problems?

    My pup is currently on 70% kibbles from Kasiks’ Pacific Fish and 30% Primal Freeze Dry as topping. She’s still gobbling up her food but she’s been on this formula for a while, and I’d like to expand her taste buds a bit.

    Thank you! A pic of my pup below.

    Jesse

  • Storm’s Mom

    Sounds like it very well could be a food intolerance. A food intolerance can occur with any ingredient (mine recently developed an intolerance to alfalfa..previously only poultry had been a problem). Best thing to do would be to compare the ingredient lists of the previous few foods you’ve fed, determine the ingredients common among them, and see which of those are in the current food. Whatever’s left over (ie common to the others but not to the current one) would be the likely culprits.

  • Amy

    The weirdest thing happened while feeding this to my dog. I switched him from Aqualuk to this because of dragon breath (the salmon and tuna and switching up with the rabbit). Over this winter I noticed that he’d get what I thought were bug bites on his haunches. I’d scratch his legs and they would burst open like little pimples. One week switching to another food and they are gone. I have looked through the ingredient list and can’t find anything that I thought might be the culprit. But no more Fromm for us

  • Hater & Molly’s Mom

    I use Wellness Core in my rotation with great results. I tried the Fromm grain free and both of my girls coats suffered while I was feeding it. I noticed a lot of shedding. It’s a good food from a good company, but it didn’t work for my girls.

  • Helena Handbasket

    I had been feeding my dogs Wellness Core and wanted to switch things up, so I bought the Fromm beef frittata formula. Now they both have tear stains, their coats are getting rough and dull, and one of them is having ear problems. I’m disappointed because I know this is a good food, but I guess it just doesn’t work for my boys.

  • Samille

    We started with Beef Frittata and I had the same reaction. We have two 70+pound Labradoodles. They love the food and have had no trouble with it at all. We feed the other grain free Fromm’s 4 Star food without brown rice. There has been so much on Consumer’s reports about arsenic in brown rice, that we try to avoid it. There are several varieties without the rice. I really think it is the best food for our dogs. Good luck!

  • Eva

    Fromm looks like it’s an excellent food and I might consider trying it on Mimi, but the Beef Frittata Veg and Pork and Peas bother me a bit. They have meat as the first ingredient which is fine by me, but instead of beef/pork meal as the second ingredient it’s peas.

  • Judy Sharp

    How can you say that the small breed is good for teacup breeds when there is no such breed teacup, that is false advertising, sorry just makes me angry when people say teacup

  • Katie Vance

    There are much better food than Science Diet, they use a lot of low quality filler ingredients like corn & more corn. Vets just “recommend” it because many get paid to. I don’t even like going to vets that try to sell that food because they should know that it’s not a great food.

  • Debbie DiFrancesco

    thanks, sorry about the spelling lol

  • Shea

    No. Champion foods hasn’t sold out to any company. They have built another plant in Kentucky for the US customers.

  • Debbie DiFrancesco

    I herd something about acana and orjin getting bought out by anither company and one know if this is true

  • Andrea Utsava Erhart

    Every food has different shapes and sizes, the Four star grain free are all small kibble. If you want grain free larger kibble, the Gold grain free line is.

  • Andrea Utsava Erhart

    I have recommended this food to so many people and several pet stores started to carry the food thanks to my recommendations. Fromm has lots of human grade ingredients and uses vitamins from europe, none from china. Their practices are excellent overall. However, I’m disappointed about their latest formula, it is with rabbit. Rabbits are NOT humanly raised in France or wherever and the meat is not that nutritious. When I expressed my disappointment in a very polite way on Facebook, they blocked me, I find this outrages, it was just a disagreement you know…anyhow part of the reason I thought the food is so great had to do with the people involved, don’t like this attitude. First rabbit meat, then this and when you look at the ingredients of the rabbit food, there is more pork in it than duck or rabbit as advertised, this is not very integer. I personally don’t feed Fromm anymore after this, I give them lots of home cooked food and vegetarian brands, for instance Petguard and my dogs have never looked better and have LOTS of energy, 10 and 14 years old. They have no joint issues and are very mobile. Regarding food, for ethical reasons, don’t feed anymore conventional foods esp. with livestock not humanly raised.

  • Andrea Utsava Erhart

    If you want to give extra taurine: Cottage cheese has LOTS of taurine naturally, 10 times more than chicken. I give often eggs and cottage cheese to my dog for breakfast. Regarding seizures, heard this can come from chemicals or medications in meat. This brand is excellent, I’m not surprised that Hills is making issues. I think their quality of ingredients is very low, I think you are def. better off with Fromm, might fix even the seizure problem, who knows…

  • Java

    Your best bet is to try a novel protein (not beef, chicken, pork) and avoid grains, dairy, soy. Switching to something (as the suggested lamb and lentil or duck/rabbit) is not a bad start. Remember to give the food 6 weeks to work. Make sure you feed only that food or treats associated with the specific diet you’re feeding (i.e. if you’re on a lamb diet, maybe pieces of lamb are treats or you find an equivalent lamb treat to feed if you want to do treats)… or order canned food and make them into treats/special rewards. True food trials are often not done correctly, but you’re right to be looking into changing the food for better results…. especially if your pup is a repeat offender for yeast infections.

  • Java

    Whenever I look at Taurine, it’s typically in regards to heart health. I have doubts whether it would help with seizures (but everything in the body IS CONNECTED so perhaps!) and I’d tell you what any veterinarian would tell you- record all the events your pet is having (date, length, what happened, etc) that you witness. Hills Science Diet Advanced Fitness is something I’d fed a few years back, but found much fewer tummy upsets in my dogs when I switched over to a different food. Diet does make a difference, and it never hurts to try. Just remember that when switching a food, it typically takes 6+ weeks to see the results of the food you have switched to. =)

  • Adrienne

    My dog Kody has an occasional seizure. He had blood work done about 3 years ago and everything came back clear. He is 5 years old now and is going next week for a full panel of blood work to make sure nothing has changed. He is naturally a nervous dog. He doesn’t like thunder, fireworks, vacuum cleaners. When he hears loud noises like fireworks, he trembles uncontrollably, and his heart races. When he has a seizure – he stays conscious but falls to one side, his paws draw up a little bit and his head cocks to one side. It doesnt last but a couple of secs to a couple of mins. Then its over and he throws up. He has medicine for stressful episodes but I was reading online that Taurine is an amino acid that has been known to help with seizures. I noticed while looking at the ingredients to this dog food, Taurine is listed. Has anyone bought this dog food for their dog for seizures?
    I’ve been giving him Hill Science Diet Advanced Fitness for several years but am rethinking his diet now.

  • Andy Delin

    You can also try adding coconut oil to the meal it will help with the coat and skin issues.

  • I can put it on the list but it will be a while since this food line was updated this past October.

  • Pitlove

    Hi sandy- Is there a review for the new Hasen Duckenpfeffer formula in the works?

  • We just started on a bag of Beef Frittata and the kibble is tiny! It’s like toy/teacup breed or puppy kibble.

  • theBCnut

    Not DFN, but the one in the grocery store may not be all it’s cracked up to be. Try a health food store or order online from Swansons.

  • Shea

    Sadies still doing well with the Acana Singles. She’s on the Duck and Bartlett Pear now. There’s not as many ingredients in it as the Fromm and I feel it’s better for her skin issues. It’s a great company. In Spring 2016, they are releasing new foods from their new plant in Kentucky! Hopefully, this will make Acana more available here in the states. I order through chewy.com or get it at an independent store when I visit Alabama.

  • Crazy4dogs

    I hope she’s been doing better since the last posts! I know what you mean. They are precious and I’ve spent a good amount myself, but not quite as much at one time as you did! Good luck with her! She has an awesome mom! πŸ™‚

  • theBCnut

    Once daily, or half that amount in each meal, BUT start out with just a quarter teaspoon and slowly increase the amount until you get there. Suddenly adding a full teaspoon of fat to your dog’s diet could have very unpleasant consequences. And don’t forget to adjust the amount of food you feed since fat is more calorically dense than other foods.

  • JudyandSam Simpson Norris

    so, I would give her 1 teaspoon- how often, I feed her 2x daily……

  • JudyandSam Simpson Norris

    hey, where do you get your organic coconut oil or will the regular coconut oil base I get at the grocery store do………

  • JudyandSam Simpson Norris

    I feed mine Fromm Lamb & Lentils and its only $15- for the small bag and it last her a long time. They also send me coupons by email all the time. I got a buy one, get one free coupon for black Friday/Saturday the other week.

  • JudyandSam Simpson Norris

    she could be allergic to chicken and potato

  • JudyandSam Simpson Norris

    tell us where you’re at, we’ll be right over- for the wine !!!!!!!!!!!

  • JudyandSam Simpson Norris

    yeah, you’re right, website does tell you that. I don’t have any that small and I’m not going to take the time to resize it. Yall can just look at my profile photo of my Abbie !!!!!

  • JudyandSam Simpson Norris

    check the “settings” and see if you can set it to a certain dimension there. I know on my Samsung phone, I have mine set to save as large a file as I can so that if I take a good photo, I can download it to my desktop, it will open and go into my Photoshop Elements software and I can edit it and make prints, if I want.

  • JudyandSam Simpson Norris

    Nope, not Fromm, Dog Food Advisor sent it to me, sorry……

  • JudyandSam Simpson Norris

    Sandy, I think, sent it. Been a while now…. still on F L & L though !!!

  • JudyandSam Simpson Norris

    Did your vet not give you any idea of how much food…… It will also give you a guideline on the bag………

  • JudyandSam Simpson Norris

    Abbie’s been on Fromm for 4+ years now, no gas or stool problems. Lamb & Lentils.

  • JudyandSam Simpson Norris

    She was on steroids along with 3-other meds. She had to have a transfusion at the vet’s office 3 days after diagnosis, started going down hill rapidly. So funny now, but I even outran the police getting her to the vet, or they decided not to chase me after seeing my flashers !!!!! Spend 10 days in the animal er- along with $4500, but, she’s my baby.

  • JudyandSam Simpson Norris

    We’ve been on Lamb & Lentils for 4+ years now. Abbie doesn’t like the Pork & Peas, plus she has a mild allergy to pork and she hates the fishy smell of the fish foods, any of them……

  • JudyandSam Simpson Norris

    try Lamb & Lentils

  • JudyandSam Simpson Norris

    Oh, we couldn’t go there with the auto immune disease, when she was diagnosed in April 2013 and had to have an emergency transfusion at my vets, then off to the animal ER, we where there a whole 10 days and it costs us $4500. I know a lot of people think I’m crazy for spending that much on a “dog” but that dog is my baby and a part of our family, she’s my child, just like my human one.

  • JudyandSam Simpson Norris

    I rotate because Abbie gets tired of the same thing over and over. This morning, she got her Fromm Lamb & Lentils with some goats milk; tonight she got tilapia that I cooked with ours. Sometimes I will cook her salmon, husband likes it, so I just put in some for her too. Tomorrow morning, she will get her Fromm with some yogurt, but she does get tired of it time to time. But honestly, I have tried others and she just will not eat even 1/2 the bag after a few days………. and she’s auto immune and we have ear and yeast problems……….. Almost at my wits end here………

  • JudyandSam Simpson Norris

    The lamb & lentils is right at $15 – where we live at a Hollywood Feed, its a nutritionist pet food store.

  • JudyandSam Simpson Norris

    Me too. We had to have allergy testing on Abbie to find out what she was allergic to…..

  • JudyandSam Simpson Norris

    Abbie literally hates the smell of fish………..

  • JudyandSam Simpson Norris

    Abbie’s allergic to chicken & potatoe….. and has had a very bad yeast infection. Not a lot he can give her with the auto immune disease. I give her yogurt every other day……….

  • JudyandSam Simpson Norris

    maybe that’s what I need to try……… skin issues and ear infections here too. She is a blue merle cocker, more white than the merle, hence all the skin issues……….

  • JudyandSam Simpson Norris

    My Abbie is allergic to chicken & potatoes (white). We finally had to do allergy testing to find out. She’s been on Lamb & Lentils for quite some time now, up to 4 yrs. but she does get tired of the same thing. I have tried mixing it with Nutro Lamb, Pure, Merrick, Lotus, Earthborn but she’s picky and will usually just eat it the one time. Not sure what to mix it with anymore……….. she also has an auto immune disease sinc April 2013, but is in remission now. she spent a week at the ER after getting a transfusion at my vet’s office…………

  • ChiChi

    Thank you for all of this great information! My dog isn’t super yeasty but it definitely shows on her feet when it gets bad. I ended up taking a chance and bought some Fromm. I got their new rabbit/duck/and pork mixture. I’ve been mixing it with Acana Singles Duck, and despite the potato she isn’t having any problems with it. Yay!

    Also, it turns out she probably can have lamb. I thought she had an allergic reaction to it because after I started her on a lamb food, she got extremely itchy. It was just bad timing though. Turns out she is itchy because she has a bacterial skin infection πŸ™ Vet said it could have been caused by an allergic reaction to something so still need to be cautious. But it’s almost completely clear now, so that’s a plus.

  • Andrea Utsava Erhart

    Have used this food for a decade it is of very high quality. Yeast issues are much less in my dog with certain foods, like Taste of the wild, believe it or not, probably due to the spec. probiotics, have heard someone who owned a pet store tell me this, and she was right! I know the lamb version by Fromm is for sensitive dogs but have not seen a difference reg. the yeast problems, however, it is very good food and each formula is awesome. I personally would not worry about pea, I don’t find some people’s concern accurate. Peas have valuable fiber and amino acids. Are you sure your dog cannot have lamb? Is there an allergy? In any case, Fromm has an amazing money back guarantee in case the food disagrees with her. How about the duck formula or gamebird? A good hypo allergic food I found to be is Horizon Pulsar. I hope this helps. What also I find help with yeast infections are vegetarian options like the ones from Petguard as the yeast doesn’t survive as well with the higher pH or raw food the enzymes seem to also help a lot. I hope this helps.

  • Shea

    We tried her on Zignature last year and she hated it. I have switched her to Acana Singles. She really loves it and doing well on it. Skin issues are gone!

  • ChiChi

    I really want to try this food as I like the company and it has tons of great reviews. Only problem is it has potatoes and my dog has slight yeast issues. Most people say to stay away from potatoes if your dog gets yeasty. Has anyone had success with this food for a dog with similar issues? She gets itchy smelly feet when a food bothers her and something like a hot spot on her back.

    I see the lamb and pork are potato free but she can’t have lamb and the pork formula is too pea heavy imo.

  • Pitlove

    Look into Zignature. They make a few formulas of proteins it seems she hasn’t eaten yet. Kangaroo being one of them

  • Shea

    This has been a wonderful food for my mixed terrier. Her stomach issues totally cleared up which I’m very thankful for. She has loved this food more than any other she has tried. A couple of months ago while on this food, she broke out with scabs on her back. With a mud treatment at the groomers, it went away for a few weeks. A couple of weeks ago, it came back. And shes licking her paws and legs alot more as well. That is something she has always done though. She has also been scratching more. I’ve been looking into limited ingredient diet foods for her to see if I can figure out if she’s allergic to an ingredient in her Fromm grain free game bird and salmon tunalini I’m feeding her currently. Any suggestions will be appreciated. She turned 8 a few months ago.

  • Pitlove

    Glad shes doing better. You can also try adding some Salmon Oil to her diet and I’ve used coconut oil topically to heal sores on my pitbull. My boy was losing hair from sores that would scab over and his hair has completely grown back. He eats Fromm Gold actually, with salmon oil on top.

  • Storm’s Mom

    Did the vet say what they thought she might be allergic to? (and how did they determine that? ..allergy tests are notoriously unreliable) The only reason I ask is that chicken seems to be one of the most common allergens for dogs, and potatoes can be problematic too, so I’m a bit surprised she’s doing better on the new food.

  • Crazy4dogs

    Awe, she’s adorable! β™‘

    Glad to hear she’s better! Thanks for saving an adult! πŸ™‚

  • Kaleigh Ann Reynolds

    My baby:)

  • Kaleigh Ann Reynolds

    Sorry for the late response I got her in with the vet and they said she had allergies. I switched her food to Acana chicken and burbank potato she has been on it for a week, her stool is firm and her skin is already healing nicely (she had scabs on her back just above her tail).

  • Crazy4dogs

    The easiest way to tell if it’s beef is to try a formula that is only beef. Merrick’s formulas all have other proteins in it. Otherwise try to find a brand that has single protein sources to see if it helps.

  • Crazy4dogs

    DogFoodie has a good suggestion. I’ve had fosters that still have parasites even after initial treatment. Sometimes they’re not detected even if a float was done so being sent out to a lab might be necessary. Otherwise, it could be the food is a bit richer than she’s used to. You could try a bit of pure pumpkin and feeding a bit less. Good luck! πŸ™‚

  • Kaleigh Ann Reynolds

    She has but I’m not sure if they checked for parasites. I’ll call my vet and check with them.

  • DogFoodie

    Has she been to the vet, Kaleigh? Have you ruled out any intestinal parasites?

  • Kaleigh Ann Reynolds

    I just got a Doberman Pinscher mix 3 weeks ago from my local Humane Society. When I brought her home her skin was flakey and her coat was dull and incredibly coarse. I immediately started feeding her Halo Wild Salman dry dog food. After a bath and brushing along with the better food her coat is in a much better condition, but her skin is still flakey! So I was hoping for some advise and maybe dog food suggestions since you are all so knowledgable!:)

    I’d also like to note that her poop hasn’t completely solidified yet after 3 weeks of being on this food.

  • Brigette

    I’m going to give Fromm a try. I have used Merrick Grain Free for a few years and although i know that Purina is sort of involved now, I still would have wanted to try something different because one of my Shih Tzu has yeasty ears. I was told it could be caused by a food allergy. Right now they eat the Merrick grain free Texas beef. If it’s a food allergy, should i try something other than a beef recipe? I tried all the Merrick grain free recipes and the beef and buffalo were the ones she didn’t turn her nose up to. She likes her red meat! I see they offer a satisfaction guarantee.. so that’s a plus! As this food isn’t cheap.. but comparable in price to Merrick. πŸ˜‰

  • PieGuy1955

    Thank you for that info…I wonder if those are norms for dogs overall or if the Apoquel may have contributed….wish there was a comparison with healthy dogs and dogs with the problems that Apoquel is prescribed for

  • el doctor

    Hi PieGuy1955

    Apoquel is a systemic suppressant, so it works by weakening a part of a dog’s natural immune system.

    Here are some of the long term side effects experienced by 239 dogs in a study that averaged 372 days.

    “239 dogs enrolled in an unmasked (no placebo control), continuation therapy study receiving APOQUEL for an unrestricted period of time. Mean time on this study was 372 days (range 1 to 610 days). Of these 239 dogs, one dog developed demodicosis following 273 days of APOQUEL administration. One dog developed dermal pigmented viral plaques following 266 days of APOQUEL administration. One dog developed a moderately severe bronchopneumonia after 272 days of APOQUEL administration; this infection resolved with antimicrobial treatment and
    temporary discontinuation of APOQUEL. One dog was euthanized after developing abdominal ascites and pleural effusion of unknown etiology after 450 days of APOQUEL administration. Six dogs were euthanized because of suspected malignant neoplasms: including thoracic metastatic,
    abdominal metastatic, splenic, frontal sinus, and intracranial neoplasms, and transitional cell carcinoma after 17, 120, 175, 49, 141, and 286 days of APOQUEL administration, respectively. Two dogs each developed a Grade II mast cell tumor after 52 and 91 days of APOQUEL administration, respectively. One dog developed low grade B-cell lymphoma after 392 days of APOQUEL administration. Two dogs each developed an apocrine gland adenocarcinoma (one dermal, one anal sac) after approximately 210 and 320 days of APOQUEL administration, respectively. One dog developed a low grade oral spindle cell sarcoma after 320 days of APOQUEL administration.”

    So while it may be considered a “Miracle Drug” by some pet parents, I would use it with extreme caution. Apoquel doesn’t “Cure” anything, it only masks the symptoms of whatever the underlying problem is.

  • PieGuy1955

    Hi Heather, same thing with Max, vet suggested because of the short supply I give him as little a dosage as possible so I give him half a dose in AM, then half before bed. Although not perfect it is a lot better. When supply gets better will increase the dosage I think.

  • Heather Felcher

    We are on appliquΓ©s. It has been a life saver but we are still very itchy. It does not last U.S. 24 hours. I guess we need to go back and see if there are any adjustments that can be made

  • PieGuy1955

    Hi Heather, a fairly new “Miracle Drug” as my vet says is APOQUEL (made by Zoetis)
    for dogs with allergies and skin atopica. My dog Max same problems when on Apoquel is problem free. This drug is so good that the company that makes it keeps running out and may be difficult to get. Might talk to your vet, might be a waiting list.

  • Pitlove

    I keep going back to Fromm after trying other foods to see if my dog would like them. Glad your dog is doing well on Fromm. I agree with everything you said.

  • Rayjj

    I’ve been feeding my one dog fromm lamb and lentils for about 4mnth and he still loves it,the company has a really good name and no recalls,that what a dog owner likes to see,and real good ingredients,I would put this fog food up there with orijen..

  • Pitlove

    The 4 star GF is good, but honestly I would feed anything from any of their lines. Their Gold Large Breed Puppy is my favorite puppy food for large breeds. I’ve fed the Prairie Gold as well which is GF and their Family Classics line, while not GF, is still a good food and I would feed it.

    Just depends what you are looking for.

  • Alisoquoladi

    Well that is good to know. I got several samples from the pet store I get my food from. I’ve looked them all up and this one seems to be the best of the bunch. A few I’m just going to return the sample. Don’t even want to take the chance. I see no recalls on Fromm so that’s a plus too. Thanks for the feed back.

  • Pitlove

    Fromm is a great food. I honestly prefer it to Merrick even pre-Purina buyout.

  • Alisoquoladi

    Well I’m going to give it a try. I’ve been feeding Merrick grain free for about 2 yrs and have had no problems but they have been sold to Purina/NestlΓ© and I refuse to do business with Nestle. They might not change the formula right away but you can bet it will get changed. I have no respect at all for the NestlΓ© guy. More monopolies that give us the illusion of choice. I am just fed up with everything that is a good product being sold to a corporation that places no value on human life out alone my dogs. I like the reviews so hoping this is a good decision.

  • Valorie

    I am so happy with the Fromm Company and dog food. I have done SO much research (literally hours and hours, exhausting myself) researching dog food and different brands. I used to feed Blue Buffalo to my yorkie and even though his poop was fine, he was constantly itching and would vomit once or twice every couple weeks. I have fed him Fromm Surf n Turf and Lamb and Lentil and he does not vomit at all, or scratch as often. His coat is also very shiny and he has lots of energy, My dogs are like my children so I feel good about the ingredients, where they come from and that this is a nutritious and safe food for my two dogs. I wish more people would pay attention to ingredients and what they feed their dogs. I would recommend Fromm.

  • puppycakes

    My dog loves the Surf & Turf. His poop is nice and solid too.

  • Crazy4dogs

    Hi Shea!

    Whatever flavor she likes and works for her is the the one to use. πŸ™‚

    Rotation is entirely up to you and how well your dog is able to transition on the rotations. Many on this site advocate it while others stay with one brand, protein, etc. I personally rotate after every bag, but my dogs are very accustomed to this process. I think I’ve used the Fromm Pork formula once or twice and have used a couple of other brands that are pork based. My dogs haven’t had any issues so far. If you want to switch to a different protein source, I would probably transition to it before you reach the end of the bag you’re using now, just to keep everything going smoothly.

  • Shea

    I had to end up getting her the Pork and Peas because she tried the others again and liked this recipe the best. I was wondering if anyone had experience feeding this. brand and how often you change flavors. I would like to change flavors after each bag is done but she is so picky and gets tired of a flavor after a week or so. It usually takes her about a month to just get through a 4 pound bag.

  • Crazy4dogs

    That’s great! Just go slow. Sometimes the issues show up after a few days, but they may never show at all. Fromm is a very well like brand. Wellness is too and has a grain free that she might like and do well on also, just for future reference. It might work, but it might not either, it just depends on the dog. Continued good luck with it!

  • Shea

    Well she has had no problems with changing over to it after feeding her 2 meals with it. Its the game bird flavor. She is done with wellness!

  • Crazy4dogs

    I’m glad she likes it and I hope the transition goes well. Adding some fresh or canned food is really good for her, you might want to keep doing that. It adds more moisture and more moisture is really great for all animals.

  • Shea

    The 3 samples I tried her on were Game Bird, Salmon Tunalini and Pork and Peas. She liked the game bird flavor the best but she liked them all. I’ve never seen her like every sample of a dog kibble til now. I’m excited for her to try the others. But will go out and buy a bag of the game bird tomorrow!

  • Pitlove

    Nature’s Logic would be a good food to try.That being said I defer to Storm’s comment on what they are actually allergic to as that plays a huge part in what they can tolerate food wise.

  • Pitlove

    I have fed the exact formula used for this review with no problem. Fromm is an easily digestable food that is easy to transition to, that being said it’s not for every dog just because it’s a good food. My dog is also used to frequent changes in diet and has helped him become interested in eating again.

  • Shea

    I was feeding her Wellness small breed. She hated it and I had to add meat or canned food just for her to eat it. Thanks for the advice.

  • Storm’s Mom

    What are they allergic to??

  • Crazy4dogs

    Probiotics and some pure canned pumpkin should help. What were you feeding her before?

  • Heather Felcher

    I have 2 Shih Tzu’s and they have been diagnosed with “severe allergies”. I feel like I have exhausted all possible solutions. I have tried several limited ingredient foods, grain free, etc. I have tried several prescriptions, antihistamines, steroids. I have tried several lotions, sprays, with no success. I just ordered a kit from nzymes and the recommended shampoo. They only recommend a few foods and I am at a lost where to turn. My pet store recommends Earthborn, another one recommends Natures Logic, nzymes recommend Fromm and Precise. Can anyone recommend one? I was also told with allergies you should only use 1 protein based food not ones that have multiple? is this true?Also I have been reading your comments and am curious why you rotate foods?

  • Shea

    I received some samples of the grain free Fromm for my dog to try and tried 3 of them to see which one she liked. Well when I tried to mix one with her old food, she wouldn’t eat any of it! When I’ve changed her to other foods, I’ve always transitioned slowly. Now she won’t eat the old one at all. Has anyone else had problems with this when changing their dog to Fromm? I’m hoping she won’t get an upset stomach now.

  • Crazy4dogs

    No problem! πŸ™‚

    Poor girl! Is she on steroids?

    I do like to rotate, but is there a reason you are going to add a grained food with a lower (not that 4 is bad) rating? There are other foods that don’t contain potato. Earthborn has some and Nutrisca comes to mind.

  • JudyandSam Simpson Norris

    My bad, it’s Lamb & Lentils. She’s allergic to chicken & potato, so we usually just do this and mix it with Pure Lamb & Rice, but getting ready to try the new Nutro Farm’s Harvest mixed with her Fromm. Abbie has auto immune hemolytic anemia too but is in remission as of Jan. of this year.

  • Crazy4dogs

    Hi Judyand Sam,
    I’m glad your dog is doing well. I’ve fed Fromm for a number of years, it’s a good food.
    I do want to set the record straight though. If you’re feeding any Lamb & Rice formula you are NOT feeding grain free. Rice is a grain. If the food is grain free, generally it will say grain free. As I’ve said I use Fromm on a regular basis, but I don’t think they have a Lamb & Rice formula. I’ve never used the classics and have only used the Four Star Nutritionals both grain inclusive and grain free, but I don’t recall a Lamb & Rice specific formula. Are you confusing it with another food?

  • JudyandSam Simpson Norris

    My Abbie didn’t like Earthborn. She’s on Fromm Grain Free Lamb & Rice for about 4yrs. now. I also mix it with Pure Lamb & Rice, but getting ready to switch to Nutro Farm’s Harvest Lamb & Rice and of course, the Fromm she is on.

  • Ray Korbyl

    They one thing I don’t like about nature variety’s is only 22% protein..

  • Ray Korbyl

    So whitch would you say you have better results with Fromm or earthborn??

  • Guest

    So which is better?

  • DogFoodie

    Ditto what aquariangt said!

  • aquariangt

    Family picture? πŸ™‚
    I like both brands a lot. Try them both, and use both in rotation, for the most part, I have at least 2 brands that I use for each protein source in rotation (Except for Pork) and I switch between them each time that comes up

  • Ray Korbyl

    I am debating between Fromm lamb and lentil and earthborn holistic meadow feast natural dog food,any suggestions???I need a new dog food my rotations

  • Ray Korbyl

    I am debating between the lamb and lentils and earthborn holistic meadow feast grain free for my rotations any suggestions???My dog can’t have chicken, terkey..

  • tesslynn amburgey

    I discovered Fromm for my older sheltie, she had issues with chicken later in her life and so I got her on the lamb. Before Fromm I tried BB, wouldn’t eat any of the samples, tried wellness wouldn’t eat it. Everytime there was a sample fair I would talk to reps and try to get her to eat the more popular ones, and she just didn’t like them. Fromm was one she would eat and tolerate.I liked what I read about their product. Now I have new pups, and they were fed costco…don’t have a mbrshp, so one likes Canidae, and the other prefers Fromm…I think it is kibble size mostly.

  • Ray Korbyl

    Or your can try orijen or precise holistic lamb and turkey,found out about precise holistic from a vet and it has been great for my dogs,family owned business made in USA,it worked for me,I’ve tried orijen, Merrick,Fromm and earthborn and this is the only one that worked..

  • Susan

    Hi Beryl, my boy has IBD & can’t eat boiled rice as it irritates his bowel, the edges of rice irritates some dogs bowel especially if they have IBD but he can eat grounded rice in kibbles, What I do is for breakfast, I give the cooked meal..I give boiled chicken breast & about 1 tablespoon boiled pumkin, I use to add a boiled egg but the yoke was too high in fat for Patch, Susan Lauten a dog Nutritionist on the “IBDogs” yahoo group said to use rice noodles instead of rice as rice noodles don’t have the cornered edges like rice,I haven’t tried rice noodles yet, when I googled rice noodles, it said you just soak in boiling water until soft, boiled sweet potatoes are also good to add or potatoes as long as she doesn’t have yeasty skin problems, as potatoes are high in starch, my boy can’t eat potatoes, he gets diarrhoea & rash all over chest….then for lunch & dinner, I give his kibble, so if he isn’t having a balanced diet for breakfast he gets what he needs from his kibble…. sardines are a good topper, oh they may be to high in fat, its a good fat but to greasy for Patch, I use tuna in spring water instead of sardines or sometimes salmon in spring water but you have to watch the salt content in the salmon, I think the salt is from the water the salmon is soaked in, so I rinse the salmon with water in the tin a few times…. There’s a few good yahoo groups….Monica Segal has a group called “K9Kitchen” she helps people balance meals for dogs with health & GI problems, Even Lew Olson has a good book called “Raw & Natural Nutrition for dogs” it has raw & cooked meals & everything to add to balance the meals, very simple easy meals, for Puppies & health problems etc.. after boiling a egg, save the egg shells & dry them out & crush the egg shell & sprinkle over meal for their calcium, 1 egg shell crushed is about 1 teaspoon..,Lew Olson writes the amount daily for a pup or adult dog in her book, its cheap on Amazon about $12…

  • Dog_Obsessed

    You’re welcome and good luck!!!

  • Dog_Obsessed

    Some dogs are irritated by grains, so that could be why the rice bothered her. If her stomach is more upset than usual at any point, you can feed her boiled chicken with some pumpkin or sweet potato instead of rice for a few days. It can be either canned or boiled, but make sure it is not pie filling. It is important not to to this long-term, because it is not a balanced diet. If you want to feed home-cooked long-term, make sure it is a balanced diet. Dogaware.com has some good recipes. Also, you could use a pre-mix such as THK Preference or See Spot Live Longer. A pre-mix is complete and balanced except for the meat, which you add yourself. It’s good to gradually change pre-mixes and meat sources every once and a while.

  • Beryl Chen

    Hi, I have looked at the website you gave me. This product has almost all positive reviews. This brand is sold in a local pet store in my area and hopefully i can find it there. I will definitely have a try.

    I still have half pack of BB so I will more time to do the research on dog foods. Hopefully i will find one best for my dog.

    Thanks for your help.

  • Beryl Chen

    Hi Susan, thanks for your reply. Actually I have tried cooked food for my dog. I made chicken/white rice for her. She loved it so much but again the rice gave her a soft stool. Not sure if it was because there was too much moisture in steamed rice to result the soft stool. Have you ever tried homemade dog food? Besides meat, what kind of stuff can I add to her food? Calcium and other vitamin supplements are also my concerns about the cooked food.

  • Susan

    Hi Beryl, try a kibble with limited ingredients & low in fat% around 10% fat also a kibble not too high in protein around 26% then if she is doing OK after 6 months then increase the protein & see how she does…..cooked food would be better then kibble…

  • Dog_Obsessed

    I don’t know about Fromm being good for digestion, but I might recommend adding some of The Honest Kitchen Perfect Form supplement. Here is a link to it on their website:
    http://www.thehonestkitchen.com/treats-supplements/supplements/perfect-form

    In my opinion, Fromm is better than BB. BB has had quality control issues. Just make sure you transition slowly to the new food.

  • Beryl Chen

    I have a 1 year old Siberian Husky, who is currently on Blue Buffalo Wildness. She has a very weak GI system, and has soft stool, frequent bad smell gas problem. After her first heat cycle (2 month ago) she became a picky eater so that I have to add some cooked meat as a topping on her dry dog food. I am planning to switch to Fromm, hopefully it will help to clear up the bad smell gas and harden the stool. Could anyone give me some suggestion if Fromm is a good one for weak digestive system? I think I would try beef recipe first.

  • fourdogs

    Feeding Salmon Tunalini to two of my four dogs. My PWD has always had a sensitive tummy, and an itchy side. Narrowed it down to her being sensitive to chicken and beef. Although this has some chicken in it, she doesn’t itch like she does on other chicken based foods. Her stool is finally perfect too, once I stopped following the notion of “rotation.” She was not tolerating it at all and rewarded me with very messy pooper scooper duty. My other girl, Cookie, a chihuahua, has megaesophagus, and so I grind her portion of Fromm to a powder, add water to make a gruel and she has had no problems whatsoever. Her retrograde aspiration (up into her nasal cavity) has improved a bunch, and she is overall looking much better. Her previous diet was canned food, and that even caused issues for her. Both dogs’ coat quality has improved to being extremely soft and much less shedding. (the pwd has the shedding/short coat). Very happy with this food!

  • Darrell Powell

    I’ve transistioned my 10 month old Newfoundland and my aging Rottweiler to Fromm’s Beef Fitata dry dog food and I couldn’t be happier. I used to notice that my Rotty always seemed to eat a lot of grass so this worried me and I took him to the vet and after numerous test there was nothing that would explain it and my vet recommended changing his food and he gave me a list of about 5-10 different ones.

    I came across this website and after readings he reviews I decided to try the Fromm, not because of any particular reason but I had to start somewhere. I gave it about 10 days and started checking and it didn’t appear that there wasANY grass in the stool when previously there was no doubt there was grass.

    I love the fact that Dog Food Advisor gives you the information, tons of information, and that they care about our dogs eating quality food. I recommend this website to everyone I can because I believe their animals deserve the best. The way I look at it, if I eat quality food why shouldn’t my dogs?

    Darrell

  • irishsand

    My head has been spinning in regard to choosing a quality dog food along with all the other puppy preparations I’m busy with before I leave to pick up my 8wk English Lab (Louie) on Wednesday. So, I finally choose the Large Breed Puppy dry dog food. I was going to order Orijen (5 Star Rating), because it’s one of the best (though most expensive at 28lbs/$75.99), however a very knowledgeable man at chewy.com suggested Fromm Large Breed Puppy (4.5 Star 33lb/$50.34), even though Orijen is one of their top brands).

    While speaking to him I quickly referenced the Dog Food Adviser’s ingredient analysis on Fromm Large Breed Puppy Dry Dog Food and found it also to be very good and highly rated.

    Not only this, but Chewy.com credited me for the Royal Canin and told me not to bother returning it. Plus they offer free shipping too. They’re amazing!!

    I’ve heard a lot of great reviews about Chewy.com in this Dog Food Adviser’s “Large and Giant Breed Puppy Forum.” So far, my experience with them is really great!! The man I spoke with really helped me find a quality food at a even better price, even though I was ready to pay the more expensive price.

    I am so pleased and also finally at peace in regard to the dog food. πŸ™‚ Now I can continue to search through these wonderful resources of information and great advice on this forum….at leisure without the panic I’ve been currently feeling.

  • theBCnut

    What I somehow left off my last post was the final line that said “IDK, I’m stumped.” They do seem very similar, very similar.

    Usually, the bottom line applies to all the foods in the line because after the main one or two ingredients the rest of the ingredients are usually identical within a line of foods.

    I would assume that one was a low 5 and the other a high 4, except that we know Dr Mike does give 1/2 stars, so I’m stumped too. Can I suggest you use the “contact us” function and ask him directly?

    Oh, I just thought of one more thing. I didn’t check the dates on when each of these reviews were updated. He has changed how some things are weighted, but until he gets around to time for the review to be updated, those changes will not be taken into consideration.

  • Victoria WITrailrider

    Thanks again BCnut. I appreciate you taking the time to correspond on this. When I read the bottomline, it’s comparing Fromm’s overall, it is not the bottomline for the 5 star Surf & Turf. But when I read them both, they seem very similar. The fat to protein ration in Fromm is 60% and Zignature is 55% … so that means Fromm has more fat, so that should give it a lower rating than a higher rating, right? Even reading your reply, you mentioned that the pea protein is controversial, and then you said there is less Pea Protein in the Zignature than there is in the Fromm, – so if there is less of it, the Zignature should have a higher rating? I feel so silly being confused by this, but I still feel stumped. I get that they are both good quality foods. But 4 star vs 5 star is a big difference, so I feel like I’m still missing something. Thanks again for your help. If you can see what I’m missing, please let me know. Otherwise, maybe Dr. Mike or Sandy can point something out that we’ve missed. Thanks again πŸ™‚

  • theBCnut

    Oh, OK. Dr Mike converts all the numbers to dry matter so you are comparing apples to apples, because some foods have more moisture content and that skews the numbers.
    The pea protein in Zignature is after the fat source, so there is a lot less of it than there is in the Fromm that is used as an example, but the peas, chickpeas, and flaxseed, in Zignature, are also high protein.
    On this review, read “The Bottom Line” then go to the Zignature review and read “The Bottom Line.”

  • Victoria WITrailrider

    Thanks theBCnut, I got the protein % from the side of the Surf and Turf back, it says 30% on the bag? Thanks for the information about the Pea Protein. Do you know if Fiber and Omegas are important, it still seems that Zignature should be a higher rating, unless that Pea protein is really a strong negative.

  • theBCnut

    Not Dr Mike or Sandy, but Zignature uses pea protein to boost the protein level and that is one of the things that Dr Mike downgrades for. Another is the number of controversial ingredients.

  • Victoria WITrailrider

    Hi Sandy or Mike, I love your website thanks so much for doing this!!

    I have been trying to decide between Fromm’s and Zignature. They are pretty equally priced and they have similar varieties. So I am trying to take a scientific approach to the decision. I’ve been looking at your website comparing the two. If I base my decision solely on the Star rating, the Fromm’s is definitely higher. (5 star Surf/Turf Fromm vs 4 star Zignature)

    However, before making the switch, I have four questions:

    1) Why is the Fromm’s Surf & Turf rated 5 stars where the rest of Fromm’s are only 4.5 stars? Based on some of the other comments on this page, I am assuming it’s because of the protein level is higher in the Surf/Turf (30% vs 29%), however, I wasn’t sure if 1% would equal half a star, so I wanted to inquire if there was another factor making the Surf & Turf better than the rest?

    2) Fromm (5 star Surf/Turf) vs Zignature (4 star): The Protein level in Zignature is actually higher 31% vs the 5 star Surf/Tuf 30%. So I would think the protein level would raise the star rating on Zignature, was there another variable in Zignature that pulled it down a star lower than Fromm Surf/Turf?

    3) Is Fiber an important value for me to be looking at? I found an article on your site about the importance of Fiber and “average dog foods” have 2.5 to 4.5 fiber. Fromm’s has 4.5, so that puts it on the upper edge of “average”. However, Zignature has 7.2 fiber, making it pretty high above average. The article says to stay away from 10 fiber, so the 7.2 fiber seems good?

    4) Omega 3 & 6, are these factors I should look for, do they effect the star rating? Zignature has 1.0% of Omega3, and 7.0% of Omega6, whereas Fromm’s has only 0.6% of O3, and only 2.8% of O6.

    So, Zignature has more protein, more fiber, more Omega 3 & more Omega 6, so if I just look at the numbers it seems like it should be better. However, it’s a whole star lower than Fromm’s. So I am wondering if there something in the ingredients that is pulling down the Zignature to be lower than the Fromms?

    Thanks so much for your help, this website is so great, it is a true asset to the dog community and for people who truly care about their dogs happiness and health. Thank you!!

  • DogFoodie

    LOL!! Right?!

  • JudyandSam Simpson Norris

    I’m retired now, Mike, so I’m guessing it was the other email but I do remember someone getting back with me, could have been Sandy, doesn’t matter to be, mine have always done well on Fromm Lamb & Lentils and the other grain frees they make. Abbie is my cocker with Auto Immune Hemolytic Anemia and allergies, so we will stay on Lamb & Lentils until they get tired of it. She’s allergic to chicken and potatoes. Again, Thanks !!!! Hey, is that your pup in the photo, is he/she a beagle ?? Adorable !!!!!
    Subject: Re: New comment posted on Fromm Four Star Nutritionals Grain-Free (Dry)

  • theBCnut

    LOL!! I was reading something the other day where someone was trying to explain the conflicting advice they got from 3 different groups and it was “They,they,they…” I never did get it sorted out.
    The response does seem to mean Dr Mike, but for some reason, content I guess, I read it as someone from Fromm.

  • DogFoodie

    Dang pronouns.

  • theBCnut

    I thought she meant someone from Fromm.

  • No worries. Fromm remains an excellent dog food.

    Sandy has been my long time research assistant (and also the official moderator here). And her reply does a great job of answering your question.

    BTW, unless you are using a different email address or last name, I have no record of any communication with you.

  • DogFoodie

    Are you saying that Dr. Mike is the “he” who sent you a personal email?

  • JudyandSam Simpson Norris

    Yes, he sent me a personal email. Fromm has never had a recall. I trust them completely and the employees where I get Abbie & Emma’s food love this company because they stand behind what they say and do. They have to go thru 2wks of Nutionalist Classes before they let them sell in the store. I wish they, Hollywood Feed, were nationwide and I’m sure they will be in a few years. They are very reasonably priced as you would buy anywhere else. They only difference is they only sell the holistic, natural and the best foods and treats at their store, not all the other stuff… They have natural treats also like antlers and things, mine love them !!!!! You might could “Google” them and see if there’s one close to you !!!

  • This article was updated in 4/2014. Since it’s original posting date, there were new recipes added and/or recipe changes. The latest rating of 4.5 stars reflects those changes which includes the product line’s overall protein amount and any inclusion of plant-based protein concentrates like pea protein. And to answer your question, it was the overall protein.

  • Deb Smith-Utes

    Are we certain that was the only difference was protein? I was looking for an official response from Mike. I am so skeptical of all dog food companies after so many pets have died that I wanted to be certain.

  • Molly’s mom

    Thanks for the help. She is crazy about the Fromm Game Bird Recipe Dry Food. She empties her dish, and begs for more. No more hiding it around the house.

  • pugsandbullies

    The last batch of beef and egg allergy formula was produced in february 2013. The last bag was sold on the company website in april 2014. It was 14 months old. richard has never denied it because its true.

    in april 2014 richard posted the expiration date of the beef and egg allergy formula on the company website it ws august 2014. bc uses an 18 month life cycle. 18 months before august 2014 was februaray 2013 just like i said.

  • Dori

    Because I never believed that story. That was typical troll bashing of that company. I fed the food for quite a while to my three dogs and not one bag was old, rancid or anything else. I had to stop because one of my dogs is highly intolerant of all things poultry including eggs, not because I had an issue with the food or the company. Many posters on this site that feed kibble still feed that food. πŸ™‚

  • pugsandbullies

    How could you trust them after they got caught selling dog food that was over a year old?

  • Dori

    I used to love Brother’s and would still feed it if they would have a formula that didn’t have poultry of any sort in it. I really like the company and the people that own and run it. Every once in a while I email Richard, Aaron and/or Pierre and ask, please, have a non poultry formula. Katie and her poultry issues. Jeesh!

  • LabsRawesome

    Oh gotcha! πŸ™‚

  • theBCnut

    That’s like one of those corolariesto Murphy’s Law. My favorite is the wet dog will be most attracted to the clean sheets. OK, maybe not favorite, but it is the one I seem to witness the most.

  • Dori

    Happens all the time at our house. My girls think I’ve fluffed all the pillows and cushions just for them. As soon as I finish they all jump up. lol

  • theBCnut

    The dog food that I love, but it attracts trolls, Brother’s Complete.

    Sent from my iPod

  • theBCnut

    I could have said fat flappy lips, but that sounds derogatory and I don’t want Bowzer to think he has a reason to bite me as I lean over to kiss that big fleshy mouth. πŸ™‚
    Sent from my iPod

  • Crazy4cats

    Here is us trying to prevent the dogs from getting on the love seat by covering it with pillows before the guests arrived. Oh well!

  • LabsRawesome

    Good job with the pics, but what the heck is BC?

  • Crazy4cats

    Hey, we had B-Day cake for my son today too. He turns 20 on Tuesday. Yikes! (And he’s my youngest)

  • Crazy4cats

    Big fleshy mouths? Lol! Good description. Yeah, I thought it sounded funny when my neighbor was explaining it to me.

  • Dori

    Good job with the pics. I tried posting a picture of the NL and just couldn’t figure it out. As I’ve said, NL is the tiniest kibble I’ve ever seen and you’re right about six pieces can fit on a dime. Glad you were able to do it.

  • theBCnut

    So far it looks like zero. ARRGGHH!!!

  • theBCnut

    I’m trying to post my pic of BC and Nature’s Logic, but it’s fighting me at every turn. We’ll see if I get 0, 1, or 3 copies of the picture.

  • theBCnut

    I would say that socializing with other kids can be highly overrated. Kids are cruel. Kids grow up to be adults, so that’s who they really need to socialize with. The problem is that Asperger kids, and loads of others, need to actually be told how to acquire social skills, just interacting will not do the job.

  • LabsRawesome

    Yeah, I don’t mind that he barks. I’m just teaching him to quiet down when I say to. He’s my first little dog, as you know. The big dogs I have don’t bark that much at all.

  • Dori

    Great BC. I hope you saved me some.

  • Dori

    Labs. Small dogs just bark. They think they are the protectors of the neighborhood. Not just home but everyone’s home they can see. It’s just built into them, I guess it overcomes their size for them.

  • Dori

    I have a friend with a son that has Asperger’s also and, sadly, she had to finally resort to home schooling. A very sad situation. He doesn’t get to socialize with other kids and my friend is a really wonderful nurse who had to stop practicing so that she could be home with her son.

  • LabsRawesome

    Blue barks at everything. He’s getting better with training. πŸ™‚

  • LabsRawesome

    OMG Dori, I can’t even imagine.

  • theBCnut

    I think you deserve cake today too.

  • theBCnut

    She is one of my heros. My nephew has Aspergers syndrome and no matter how smart he was(genius), he was told he was trouble in the public school system. They were worried that he would mess up their standardized test scores. Stupid them, he tests extremely well. My sister pulled him from the public school system after his teacher pulled a stunt that should have gotten her fired and put him in our friends school. He thrived in an environment where he was never teased for being different and where they recognized how smart he is and continued to challenge him. My nephew is now a happy, confident highschooler.

  • LabsRawesome

    Okay, yeah that’s pretty tiny. I don’t have any Victor right now, or I’d post a pic to show the size. It’s pretty tiny too. πŸ™‚

  • theBCnut

    One and a half to two grain of cooked rice.

    Sent from my iPod

  • Dori

    Thanks C4C. I don’t know how I did it which is very frustrating because I’ll have to go through the same exhausting process to try to do pics of Lola and Katie. Grrrrrrrrh!

  • Crazy4cats

    She looks great! Good job, both on taking great care of your pup and a successful pic. πŸ™‚

  • Dori

    Oh my! I think I deserve that cake today too! I’m such a chocoholic and with heavy fudge icing too? Now you’re just being mean.

  • Dori

    Small dogs really don’t have a clue about size. My dogs always bark at the biggest most ferocious looking dogs. They don’t bother in the least with other small dogs. Only the big scary ones.

  • Dori

    Yeah. Definitely forgive your friend. There are definitely just so many hours in a day and she sounds like a wonderful person.

  • Dori

    She was diagnosed with multiple cancers at the end of last spring or early summer. Hasn’t slowed her down. My husband and I and her vets all agreed that chemo and radiation is not something that any of us felt we would do to her. She still has the quality of life that she has always had so we’re not going to mess with that. If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it has always been my philosophy or, don’t mess with a good thing. To do anything else would truly ruin the time she has left on this earth. My feelings and thank goodness my husband agrees with me, that when it’s your time to go, it’s just your time to go. Leave here with as much grace and dignity as you can muster for yourself or your loved ones. I believe that we all have an expiration date, we just don’t individually know when that is so just live life to the fullest you never know when your heading to the spoilage date. She’s had a really good life given as much love as we’ve gotten from her. Truthfully we’ve gotten much more from her. She gave me a reason to force myself out of bed when my son passed away 8 years ago so I credit her with my sanity and with my life. He was my only child. But that’s another story for another day and certainly a different web site. It’s gonna be quite difficult when she passes that’s for sure. She’ll be in good hands, I know that for sure.

  • Dori

    Good explanation of the size. It really is the smallest kibble I’ve ever seen.

  • Dori

    It really is teeny tiny, as I said. It’s so super tiny. I will definitely post a picture of it when I get a handle on this pic posting. It took me hours to figure out one pic. Nature’s Logic is much much smaller than Victor’s. Keep in mind it is also much more expensive.

  • LabsRawesome

    Sorry, I have no idea what size a piece of barley is.

  • theBCnut

    Speaking of dessert…
    My son’s birthday was in early August, but life was crazy and we were leaving on a trip the next day, so he decided that he didn’t want a small birthday cake on the day, he wanted a big one later. Today was later. Its chocolate with heavy fudge icing. I deserved dessert today, too!

  • theBCnut

    My friend’s dog probably looks older because she has tear and saliva stains and doesn’t get her coat brushed out as much as a Malty needs. My friend is a kindergarten/first grade teacher of special needs students and a mother of 4 adopted kids with special needs, so I’ll forgive her for not having enough hours in the day.

  • theBCnut

    It’s about the size of a piece of cooked barley, as long as you don’t over cook it.

  • Dori

    Wow. That ‘s too bad about your friends Malty looking old at 4. Most Maltese’s look like puppies most of their lives. Her hair is what is the most work with her and always has been because I keep her body and legs in show coat style. Requires combing out every day. I bath her every 7 to 9 days which is how her hair is as white as it is.
    I do trim her ears and her beard cause it’s just too messy dealing with any dehydrated foods.

  • Dori

    OH! The whole experience exhausted what brain cells I have left. Yes, okay, I will keep trying. No, I certainly wouldn’t want C4C to think I was lying. Yuk! This was not a fun experience. I think I need a glass of wine before I can continue. Maybe some food too. Hmmmm? Maybe dessert too.

  • LabsRawesome

    Oh wow Nature’s Logic must be super tiny if it’s smaller than Victor Grain free. Victor’s is tiny so NL must be like dust or something. lol. jk. Yeah I’m learning about small dogs, Blue is my first. πŸ™‚

  • theBCnut

    Ah, Ah, Ah!! You already promised C4C that you would keep trying, so I guess you will have to figure out what you did and repeat it at least twice. Wouldn’t want C4C to think you were lying…

  • theBCnut

    The picture came out great!!! She looks really good. I have a friend with a 4 year old Malty that looks older than she does.

  • LabsRawesome

    Hahaha yeah I’m learning that about small dogs. Blue is my first little one, and he barks 100 times more than my big dogs. What he lacks in size, he totally makes up for in noise. lol. He’s doing better now that he knows what Shhh means. I won’t tell him to shut up tho, that would be rude! πŸ™‚ Edit- I replied to your original post that talked about her being a watchdog. Sorry to hear she has cancer, how very sad. Poor thing. I can tell from her pic that she is loved, and very well cared for. πŸ™‚

  • Dori

    Thanks Labs. I love her to pieces. She really is my baby girl. And……as pretty much of you know she has cancer of the bladder and lung and still doesn’t realize or act like she’s sick and we’re not telling her anything about it. Still eating and playing like a puppy.

  • LabsRawesome

    Oh wow 15? She doesn’t look that old at all! She is ADORABLE!!! πŸ™‚

  • Dori

    Thanks for all your help BC. Finally got one pic on of Hannah but haven’t a clue how I did it so no one should be expecting to see pics of Lola and Katie any time soon. lol

  • Dori

    Good Grief. I’m embarrassed to say that it has taken me this long to get Hannah’s picture up and it’s not clear, wrong size and couldn’t possible retrace my steps if my life depended on it. Here’s hoping it never does. Oh shoot! What happened to her pic it was there a moment ago. I swear, I give up. Oh lookie it just should up. Huh? Like I said, I haven’t a clue how I did it.

  • theBCnut

    This website always tells me to resize under 2M, but pictures load better onto it when they are under 1M. Good luck!!

  • theBCnut

    Breeds with big fleshy mouths do have more trouble keeping kibble in their mouths until it goes down the hatch, even larger kibble pops out the sides of their mouths. Smaller kibbles are just more chances for the food to vacate the premise. I actually ROFL when I watch a bulldog eat. They have to pick up every piece multiple times before it gets swallowed…every meal. And yes, adding something that helps bind it all together does make it much easier for them.
    I had a friend with a bulldog that’s bite was so bad that she had to make meatball and handfeed the dog so it didn’t starve. As a new born pup, it couldn’t nurse and they had to tube feed it. I never did understand the people that breed those things. I think its cruelty.

  • Dori

    OK. So I also have an iThingy and use a Mac. I shall now try your instructions. Yeah, Apple always thinks they know better than you a what you want to do.

  • Dori

    Thanks C4C. I will indeed keep trying. I’m determined that this old dog can definitely learn this new trick.
    I’m sure Nature’s Logic is much more expensive than Victor’s regardless of what area you live. I can get away with it because my girls, as you know, are pretty small so don’t eat very much and it’s only fed by my husband who I cannot trust with the raw, and he’s quite happy about that, or if they were ever to be left with a sitter or kennel. That’s the one draw back that I have found with feeding raw. Kennel’s will not keep it nor would I trust them to do it right with the freezer and unfreeze. I could do the freeze dried for that purpose but I like to add water to the freeze dried and would worry about that too. I worry a lot about the girls as you can plainly see.

  • theBCnut

    I have to take the picture on my iThingy, email it to myself, log on to my email on the laptop and download the picture, resize it, and then I can start the process of actually posting it. Apparently, Apple doesn’t think you shoud decide for yourself what size file a picture should be.

  • Crazy4cats

    In this area, Natures Logic is much more expensive than Victor. Otherwise I’d probably be feeding it more regularly. About kibble size, my big dogs eat the small kibble just fine. But, my neighbor’s big American Bulldogs, struggle with small kibble. They say it falls thru their mouths and ends up all over the floor. But as I write this, I’m thinking a big difference could be that I always mix in a topper of some sort holding the kibble together. I’m guessing they don’t add anything. Hmmmm? BTW, my first picture that I posted after several attempts ended up being sideways! Keep trying!

  • Dori

    Oh thank goodness BC. I just can’t seem to figure it out even with Labs step by step instructions it doesn’t work. Glad it’s not just me.

  • theBCnut

    You wouldn’t believe what I have to go through to post a picture, so I sure don’t blame you for not having that one down.

  • Dori

    Hi Labs. Just saw this post of yours. I’ve seen the size of Victor’s and I’ve got to tell you that Nature’s Logic (at least the sardine formula) is minuscule compared to Victor’s. Try to get a sample if you can so that you can see the difference or ask someone in a small pet store that carries it let you see the actual kibble, they’re pretty good about that, at least where I live. It is more expensive than Victor’s which is another thought that I had for not feeding her large dog the Nature’s Logic though I just realized that I didn’t type that part out in my response to Melanie I didn’t know that big dogs will eat tiny kibble. Your point as to digestion is a really good one. Probably ignorance on my part as I’ve never had big dogs and usually someone asking me for advice has toy or small dogs like mine. If I could ever figure out how to post pictures I would do it. The crazy thing is that I’m pretty proficient on computers and I know you send me info how to do it and yet I just don’t get it. Senior brain I suppose. I always thought you could teach any old dog new tricks, I guess not in this old dog.

  • Dori

    A lot of dog food manufacturers will send you samples for free, you just have to pay for the nominal shipping. Also almost all of the smaller pet stores in the neighborhood always have samples to give out. You just have to ask them. They’re happy to give them out.

  • LabsRawesome

    You’re welcome! Raw would be the best food for your little one. πŸ™‚ I hear ya on feeding the big dogs commercial raw, it can get really expensive. If you ever want to try homemade raw, their are some very knowledgeable raw feeders on this site, that could help you out with that. They say homemade raw is much cheaper to feed than commercial raw.

  • Dori

    Hi Melanie. Unfortunately most quality commercial raw’s that I trust are pretty comparable in price. But on the upside, you do save lots in vet bills.

  • Crazy4cats

    :D!

  • Melanie

    I meant bully sticks lol not bulky sticks. Not too crazy about the smell though. Must be why she loves them!

  • Crazy4cats

    I’m sorry, but I think that is hilarious! She is very clever. Just like our human children! I hope you can find a healthier food that she actually likes. You might have to transition slowly as sometimes it’s hard to get them off that yummy cheap food that they are addicted to. You might want to start topping the new food with canned or fresh foods such as, eggs, sardines or healthy leftovers to entice her. Good luck!

  • Melanie

    Thanks Dori. She’s not having any diarrhea now even after introducing her to raw food. Is that other raw you recommended a little cheaper than the Instinct. I know raw will never be cheap. Just curious.

  • Melanie

    Thanks Labs. She does love her bulky stick so I won’t worry about her teeth. I think I will keep her on just a little kibble and feed her the commercial raw. My lab will just have to have the raw as a topper cuz I will go broke if I feed him raw.

  • LabsRawesome

    Hi Melanie, kibble is not better for their teeth. Kibble doesn’t clean teeth. RMB’s (Raw meaty bones) clean teeth the best. My dogs never need a dental treatment. Here’s an article by Dr. Mike (the creator of this site) on the subject. http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/choosing-dog-food/dry-dog-food-cleaner-teeth/

  • LabsRawesome

    Hey Dori, great advice! The only thing I don’t agree with is tiny kibble not being good for big dogs. My 2 big dogs eat tiny kibble (Victor GF, and Nutro Ultra GF) with no problem. I like tiny kibble the most for any size dog. The smaller the kibble, the better. It’s much easier to digest kibble when it’s teeny tiny, for any size dog. πŸ™‚

  • theBCnut

    Isn’t she the clever little one!!!

  • Dori

    As I said NL is a bit pricey but you don’t feed as much as most other dry foods. As for raw foods, that will help with any diarrhea issues. Is she having any diarrhea issues now? If she is it could also be the stress of a new home and new people which typically causes upset with digestion. Primal is another good raw to try. Go onto NV and Primal’s web sites and sign up for their newsletters and periodically (often actually) they’ll start emailing you coupons. Usually $3.00 off a bag. I get them from both companies all the time so it helps with the cost.

  • Melanie

    Thanks Dori. All of you have such great suggestions. I have been using the Nature’s variety Instinct frozen raw as a topper for both dogs. I think the bag reads for a 5 lb dog feed 2 thawed patties a day. Maybe I will try the NL mixed with the raw. I think it was Storms mom who suggested NL to me awhile back for my lab but I never tried it. I do remember it being pricey. It wouldn’t be too pricey to feed the little one just the raw. I’ll have to transition her. My lab can eat anything but the rescue informed me not to transition the little one too fast cause she’s had issues with diarrhea in the past. Thanks again

  • Molly’s mom

    Thanks! I haven’t decided what food to put her on. I wish I could get samples to see what she would like. If she does not like a food she hides it all over the house to get it out of her dish, then begs at the table.

  • Dori

    Hi Molly’s Mom. Well your on the Fromm thread so I’m assuming your thinking of feeding this food. Go to their web site, check for which of the Fromm foods you want to feed then go to their feeding guidelines and go by the weight your dog should be, not what she presently weighs since your saying she’s a little heavy. You can do the same with any food you choose. Most, if not all, dog food sites have feeding guidelines. Just figure out what her optimum weight should be and go from there.

  • Dori

    Hi Melanie. Just saw your post to me. I have three toy dogs all of which I feed commercial raw foods. I’m a big believer in feeding raw. The change in my dogs on raw as compared to kibble has been so dramatic that if it weren’t that they are my dogs I wouldn’t believe they are the same three dogs. I feed very high protein, moderate fat and low carbs. My dogs are 5, 6, and 7 lbs. two of my girls are 5 years old and one is 15 years old. They all have great teeth and that is saying something for a 15 year old Maltese. Toy dogs are notoriously known for having the need for multiple extractions as they age. Is it possible for you to feed just the chihuahua raw. It would be pretty expensive to feed your Lab raw. If not raw then I would suggest dehydrated foods like The Honest Kitchen where you just rehydrate the food with water. You could continue to feed your Lab kibble if you want and add a little of the rehydrated as a topper to his meal so he doesn’t feel left out. Next I would suggest canned food. Be careful if you choose to go with canned foods as to who and where they are manufactured, that they contain no red ingredients in the reviews and that the cans themselves contain no BPA.

    As far as small kibble is concerned, the smallest kibble I have ever seen or fed is Nature’s Logic. I mean it is teeny teeny tiny. Nature’s Logic is a fabulous food, fabulous company and very forthcoming about their ingredient sourcing. I think the size of the kibble would be much too small for your Lab so you would just feed the dogs different foods. Natures Logic is not inexpensive but a chihuahua , like my dogs, does not eat a lot of food. Also you feed less with Nature’s Logic than most other foods because it is highly nutritious so a bag goes a long way. Also important is that it’s grain free. Hope I’ve helped. By the way I’ve had small dogs all my life.

  • Molly’s mom

    I have a 1 1/2 yr old 11 lb Shih Tzu. I just found I am feeding her a corn based dry dog food that is rated very low. I think she is a little heavy for her bond structure. Does any one have any suggestions of what and how much I should feed her.

  • 4FootedFoodie

    Like yours, Labs’ doxie is a new addition to her crew, too. : )

  • LabsRawesome

    Thank you! Yep. My Dachshund owns my big dogs too. lol. πŸ™‚

  • 4FootedFoodie

    My mistake. I misunderstood her age. I was stuck on 5 and was thinking she was 5 years old. So, that’s good, probably not a dental issue. : )

    Yes, if I had just one small dog, I’d feed canned or commercial raw.

  • Melanie

    OMG your dogs are so cute! Labs are awesome. They get along with all creatures big or small. Mine even let our new dog take over his big bed for awhile. Very small dog in a very large bed! Very cute. Thanks for the recommendation. I’m definitely open to feeding wet food.

  • Melanie

    Thanks for the reply. My new pup is only 1 1/2 yrs old and teeth were just recently cleaned at vet 6 months ago according to rescue. LabsRawesome recommended wet food. I’ve been mixing their kibble with the NV raw venison to boost the protein so she does get some moist food. I think I’m scared of causing her to have diarrhea since I’m still housebreaking her. Would most of you on this site recommend only wet instead of dry for a small dog? She doesn’t eat much. I’ve always heard kibble is better for their teeth. Maybe I’ll just combine the two for awhile and see how she does. Thanks you guys. Appreciate it.

  • 4FootedFoodie

    Hi Melanie,

    Congrats on the new pup! How wonderful. : )

    Just thinking, have you had her teeth checked? I wonder if her oral health has been neglected and that’s why she’s having trouble chewing. You could always moisten her food with warm water for a few minutes before offering it to her.

  • LabsRawesome

    Hi Melanie, would you consider feeding her canned? It’s better for her than kibble. I use these, their all budget friendly, especially for such a tiny dog. Pure Balance Puppy (don’t let the name fool you, it’s all life stages) $1 per can at Walmart, 4health cans are .99 at Tractor Supply, and Costco has Natures Domain Turkey Stew, $20 for a case of 24 cans.

  • Melanie

    Hi Dori I have a question for you that is totally unrelated to the above post. You seem to know a lot about small dogs. I just adopted a 5 lb chihuhua from a rescue for my 7 yr old daughter. Never thought I’d have a small dog considering I’ve always had labs but my kiddo wanted a lap dog and even though my lab thinks he’s a lap dog he weighs way more than her! Anyways, I’ve recently been feeding my lab the Fromm food and he looks great. Gained some needed lbs. the little dog is on Nature’s Variety Prairie with venison and I want to transition her to the Fromm because she looks so skinny and the NV is so low in protein at only 23%. Is it better to have a small dog on lower protein? Even though the Fromm kibble is small she seems to have a hard time chewing it for some reason. It’s almost like the kibble is too hard. Can you recommend a good dogfood for a small dog that’s affordable? The NV Instinct is out of my price range. Any recommendations from all you regulars on this site are greatly appreciated.

  • JudyandSam Simpson Norris

    I was just curious. They love Fromm Lamb & Lentils and my Abbie has auto immune hemolytic anemia so I am very cautious. they both have been on Fromm for over 2yrs. now and from what I can tell they are a good company. Thanks for letting me know it was the protein.

  • JudyandSam Simpson Norris

    Chris, she could be allergic to chicken, my Abbie is. I would try to stay on one food for about a month, then if still itching go to another. Right now, you know the chicken is not working, possibly turkey too. Abbie is also allergic to Pork, but only a category 1/6. Plus she is highly allergic to white/regular potatoes that a lot of foods have. I have her completely on Fromm Lamb & Lentils now. Nothing else. It doesn’t have the white or Yukon gold potatoes, only the sweet potatoes that she can have and with the Zyrtec, I have the scratching at bay. I am going to try to phase her off the Zyrtec when we all get back from vacation. I would rather keep her on it while we are in the mountains rather than take her off and try to find a vet up there. She also eats a little banana, cooked carrots and apple every week. If it keeps up, I recommend you have her tested for allergies and then you will know for sure what to stay away from, but I bet it’s cc
    Hickey and the potatoes

  • aquariangt

    4.5 stars is certainly not a rating to be scared of. It’s a bit lower in protein than most 5 star foods, which is the only reason it fell. I wouldn’t worry about them at all, they are still a very trustworthy company

  • Kathy Niskala

    I would like to know too why Fromm dropped in ratings,I also use this one for one of my crew…..been switching over to raw for one and Annamaet for another…..maybe I should drop Fromm.. from my rotation…which I really have trusted for long time…..

  • JudyandSam Simpson Norris

    We just found out that Abbie is allergic to Chicken, but Fromm doesn’t make a chicken so we are good with the Lamb & Lentils. Our pet food store, Hollywood Feed, gives samples, so you might ask about that with your food store. All that I know will let you bring it back if they don’t eat it.

  • JudyandSam Simpson Norris

    RPK- mine like all the Fromm grain Free except the Salmon. Our vet wanted her on a kangaroo but they will not eat it. Allergies seem to be at bay now with the Zyrtec, so we’ll see…..

  • JAM

    Thanks for the info! We have an appointment with a veterinary ophthalmologist later this month and hopefully will get to the bottom of this; we are now transitioning to grain-free (Surf and Turf) but could go with any Fromm formula if that turns out to help.

  • JudyandSam Simpson Norris

    Raw is not an option with Abbie since she has the auto immune disease. She does love her lamb & lentils, eats it up more than any other I have tried. I’ll check the ingredients on the Natures

  • Dori

    As a kibble I like Nature’s Logic. I know a lot of other posters on dog sites like it too. I’ll try to come up with some others for you. I eventually had to switch to raw foods for my girls because one of my dogs (Katie my Maltipoo) has so many food issues that it was crazy. I will say that she can eat the Nature’s Logic Sardine formula for a few days in a row without scratching herself raw. I then switch her back to raw for a few days. I like to feed rotational proteins within the same company and also with other brands. I’ve never had an issue though with any of my dogs on Nature’s Logic Sardine formula. The list of Katie’s allergies is too long to type. You might check it out. It’s probably a little more expensive then some other brands but if you could get your pooch off Zyrtec then the money all balances out.

  • JudyandSam Simpson Norris

    We tried California kangaroo, but they both would not eat it. Any suggestions ???

  • Dori

    Hi JudyandSam. Fromm Lamb & Lentils contains peas, pork fat and pork liver. Maybe if you can find a food without those ingredients also you might be able to get her off the Zyrtec.

  • JudyandSam Simpson Norris

    We had to finally do allergy testing on Abbie -2-wks ago. Found out she is allergic to the following: Foods: soybean, white potatoes, chicken, rabbit, yeast. Pork and peas only showed a 1/6 category, so those -2- aren’t as bad as the first few.
    Weeds: short and giant ragweed, dandelion, goldenrod, marsh elder.
    Trees: maple, red cedar, elm
    Grasses: Johnson
    Epidermals: sheep wool
    Insects: black ant, flea

    She is currently on Zyrtec 10mg daily and it has made a world of difference in the itching, scratching and biting. We feed her Fromm Lamb & Lentils and she loves it !!!,

  • JudyandSam Simpson Norris

    she’

  • JudyandSam Simpson Norris

    Mike, why did Fromm drop to a 4.5 star food ???? It was a 5 star food. That’s all mine will eat, Fromm Lamb & Lentils….. And Abbie, my Blue. Merle Cocker has Auto Immune Hemolytic Anemia and allergies. She is also on Zyrtec daily.

  • kcbdal

    My boxer used to pass gas a lot and has a very sensitive stomach. I feed her a blend of Fromm’s grain free and half Natural Balance Synergy. This was a terrific combination and she hasn’t had gas since. It doesn’t seem to matter at all which Fromm food she gets. I have also switched from Synergy to another salmon based food and it has been terrific. Canidae didn’t help and I discovered she can’t have liver in any product.

  • JudyandSam Simpson Norris

    Be sure to check to see where toses treats are made. DO NOT BUY ANY TREATS FROM CHINA !!!!! I only buy the Fromm treats , give them cooked carrot slices and apple slices.

  • JudyandSam Simpson Norris

    Should be on the bag or call Fromm and ask. They are very helpful !!!

  • JAM

    My 1-1/2 year old papillon/poodle mix is very high-energy and has always been indifferent to his premium commercial kibble; he is very healthy but just could not keep weight on. On the advice of my groomer I switched him to Fromm a month ago and the difference is amazing! He eats with gusto and has gained healthy weight. I love that Fromm uses no wheat or corn, and am thinking of switching him from Gold Small Breed Adult to a completely grain-free formula. The other issue he has is constant tearing (I can control the staining, but he still tears.) Any recommendations or advice?

Get Free Recall Alerts by Email

Get Free Recall Alerts by Email

Receive lifesaving dog food recall alerts anytime there's a recall event in the U.S. or Canada.

You'll also get our best tips and ideas to help you feed your dog better... and safer.

No spam.Β  Unsubscribe anytime.

You have Successfully Subscribed!