Fromm Four Star Nutritionals Grain-Free (Dry)

Share

Rating: ★★★★½

Fromm Four Star Nutritionals Grain Free dry dog food receives the Advisor’s second-highest tier rating of 4.5 stars.

The Fromm Four Star Nutritionals Grain Free product line includes six dry dog foods, each claimed to meet AAFCO nutrient profiles for all life stages.

The following is a list of recipes available at the time of this review.

  • Fromm Four Star Nutritionals Grain Free Game Bird
  • Fromm Four Star Nutritionals Grain Free Beef Frittata
  • Fromm Four Star Nutritionals Grain Free Pork and Peas
  • Fromm Four Star Nutritionals Grain Free Salmon Tunalini
  • Fromm Four Star Nutritionals Grain Free Lamb and Lentils
  • Fromm Four Star Nutritionals Grain Free Surf & Turf (5 stars)

Fromm Four Star Nutritionals Grain Free Game Bird was selected to represent the other products in the line for this review.

Fromm Four Star Nutritionals Grain Free Game Bird

Dry Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 32% | Fat = 19% | Carbs = 41%

Ingredients: Duck, duck meal, peas, turkey, russet potatoes, pea protein, dried tomato pomace, pea flour, whole dried egg, quail, chicken meal, chicken fat, salmon oil, sweet potatoes, chicken, pheasant, Wisconsin cheese, flaxseed, carrots, broccoli, cauliflower, apples, celery, parsley, lettuce, spinach, chicken cartilage, potassium chloride, cranberries, blueberries, salt, chicory root extract, Yucca schidigera extract, alfalfa sprouts, sodium selenite, folic acid, taurine, vitamins: vitamin A acetate, vitamin D3 supplement, vitamin E supplement, vitamin B12 supplement, choline bitartrate, niacin supplement, d-calcium pantothenate, l-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate, riboflavin supplement, thiamine mononitrate, pyridoxine hydrochloride, biotin, minerals: zinc sulfate, ferrous sulfate, manganous sulfate, magnesium sulfate, copper sulfate, cobalt carbonate, calcium iodate, sorbic acid (preservative), ferrous proteinate, zinc proteinate, copper proteinate, magnesium proteinate, manganese proteinate, cobalt proteinate, probiotics: dried Lactobacillus acidophilus fermentation product, dried Bifidobacterium longum fermentation product, dried Lactobacillus plantarum fermentation product, dried Enterococcus faecium fermentation product

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 3.9%

Red items when present indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis29%17%NA
Dry Matter Basis32%19%41%
Calorie Weighted Basis27%39%34%

The first ingredient in this dog food is duck. Although it is a quality item, raw duck contains about 80% water. After cooking, most of that moisture is lost, reducing the meat content to just a fraction of its original weight.

After processing, this item would probably account for a smaller part of the total content of the finished product.

The second ingredient is duck meal. Duck meal is considered a meat concentrate and contains nearly 300% more protein than fresh duck.

The third ingredient mentions peas. Peas are a quality source of carbohydrates. And like all legumes, they’re rich in natural fiber.

However, peas contain about 25% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the meat content of this dog food.

The fourth ingredient is turkey, another quality raw product.

After processing, this item would probably account for a smaller part of the total content of the finished product.

The fifth item is potato. Potatoes can be considered a gluten-free source of digestible carbohydrates. Yet with the exception of perhaps their caloric content, potatoes are of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

The sixth ingredient is pea protein, what remains of a pea after removing the starchy part of the vegetable.

Even though it contains over 80% protein, this ingredient would be expected to have a lower biological value than meat.

And less costly plant-based products like this can notably boost the total protein reported on the label — a factor that must be considered when judging the meat content of this dog food.

The seventh ingredient is tomato pomace. Tomato pomace is a controversial ingredient, a by-product remaining after processing tomatoes into juice, soup and ketchup.

Many praise tomato pomace for its high fiber and nutrient content, while others scorn it as an inexpensive pet food filler.

Just the same, there’s probably not enough tomato pomace here to make much of a difference.

The eighth ingredient is pea flour, a powder made from roasted yellow peas. Pea flour contains as much as 25% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the meat content of this dog food.

The ninth ingredient is whole dried egg, a dehydrated powder made from shell-free eggs. Eggs are easy to digest and have an exceptionally high biological value.

The tenth ingredient includes quail, another quality raw item.

The next ingredient is chicken meal, another protein-rich meat concentrate.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With five notable exceptions

First, salmon oil is naturally rich in the prized EPA and DHA type of omega-3 fatty acids. These two high quality fats boast the highest bio-availability to dogs and humans.

Depending on its level of freshness and purity, salmon oil should be considered a commendable addition.

Next, flaxseed is one of the best plant sources of healthy omega-3 fatty acids. Provided they’ve first been ground into a meal, flax seeds are also rich in soluble fiber.

However, flaxseed contains about 19% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

In addition, chicory root is rich in inulin, a starch-like compound made up of repeating units of carbohydrates and found in certain roots and tubers.

Not only is inulin a natural source of soluble dietary fiber, it’s also a prebiotic used to promote the growth of healthy bacteria in a dog’s digestive tract.

Next, we note the inclusion of dried fermentation products in this recipe. Fermentation products are typically added to provide enzymes to aid the animal with digestion.

And lastly, this food also contains chelated minerals, minerals that have been chemically attached to protein. This makes them easier to absorb. Chelated minerals are usually found in better dog foods.

Fromm Four Star Nutritionals
Grain Free Dry Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Judging by its ingredients alone, Fromm Four Star Nutritionals Grain Free dog food looks like an above average dry product.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 32%, a fat level of 19% and estimated carbohydrates of about 41%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 32% and a mean fat level of 19%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 40% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 60%.

Above-average protein. Above-average fat. And below-average carbs when compared to a typical dry dog food.

When you consider the protein-boosting effects of the pea products, flaxseed and chickpeas (contained in other recipes), this looks like the profile of a kibble containing a moderate amount of meat.

Bottom line?

Fromm Four Star Nutritionals Grain Free is a plant-based dry dog food using a moderate amount of named meats and meals as its main sources of animal protein, thus earning the brand 4.5 stars.

Highly recommended.

Please note certain recipes are sometimes given a higher or lower rating based upon our estimate of their total meat content.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, due to the biological uniqueness of every animal, none of our ratings are intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in a specific dietary response or health benefit for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

To learn how we support the cost of operating this website, please visit our public Disclosure and Disclaimer page.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Other spellings: Fromms

Notes and Updates

10/01/2010 Original review
04/16/2014 Last Update

  • pugsandbullies

    The last batch of beef and egg allergy formula was produced in february 2013. The last bag was sold on the company website in april 2014. It was 14 months old. richard has never denied it because its true.

    in april 2014 richard posted the expiration date of the beef and egg allergy formula on the company website it ws august 2014. bc uses an 18 month life cycle. 18 months before august 2014 was februaray 2013 just like i said.

  • Dori

    Because I never believed that story. That was typical troll bashing of that company. I fed the food for quite a while to my three dogs and not one bag was old, rancid or anything else. I had to stop because one of my dogs is highly intolerant of all things poultry including eggs, not because I had an issue with the food or the company. Many posters on this site that feed kibble still feed that food. :)

  • pugsandbullies

    How could you trust them after they got caught selling dog food that was over a year old?

  • Dori

    I used to love Brother’s and would still feed it if they would have a formula that didn’t have poultry of any sort in it. I really like the company and the people that own and run it. Every once in a while I email Richard, Aaron and/or Pierre and ask, please, have a non poultry formula. Katie and her poultry issues. Jeesh!

  • LabsRawesome

    Oh gotcha! :)

  • theBCnut

    That’s like one of those corolariesto Murphy’s Law. My favorite is the wet dog will be most attracted to the clean sheets. OK, maybe not favorite, but it is the one I seem to witness the most.

  • Dori

    Happens all the time at our house. My girls think I’ve fluffed all the pillows and cushions just for them. As soon as I finish they all jump up. lol

  • theBCnut

    The dog food that I love, but it attracts trolls, Brother’s Complete.

    Sent from my iPod

  • theBCnut

    I could have said fat flappy lips, but that sounds derogatory and I don’t want Bowzer to think he has a reason to bite me as I lean over to kiss that big fleshy mouth. :-)
    Sent from my iPod

  • Crazy4cats

    Here is us trying to prevent the dogs from getting on the love seat by covering it with pillows before the guests arrived. Oh well!

  • LabsRawesome

    Good job with the pics, but what the heck is BC?

  • Crazy4cats

    Hey, we had B-Day cake for my son today too. He turns 20 on Tuesday. Yikes! (And he’s my youngest)

  • Crazy4cats

    Big fleshy mouths? Lol! Good description. Yeah, I thought it sounded funny when my neighbor was explaining it to me.

  • Dori

    Good job with the pics. I tried posting a picture of the NL and just couldn’t figure it out. As I’ve said, NL is the tiniest kibble I’ve ever seen and you’re right about six pieces can fit on a dime. Glad you were able to do it.

  • theBCnut

    So far it looks like zero. ARRGGHH!!!

  • theBCnut

    I’m trying to post my pic of BC and Nature’s Logic, but it’s fighting me at every turn. We’ll see if I get 0, 1, or 3 copies of the picture.

  • theBCnut

    I would say that socializing with other kids can be highly overrated. Kids are cruel. Kids grow up to be adults, so that’s who they really need to socialize with. The problem is that Asperger kids, and loads of others, need to actually be told how to acquire social skills, just interacting will not do the job.

  • LabsRawesome

    Yeah, I don’t mind that he barks. I’m just teaching him to quiet down when I say to. He’s my first little dog, as you know. The big dogs I have don’t bark that much at all.

  • Dori

    Great BC. I hope you saved me some.

  • Dori

    Labs. Small dogs just bark. They think they are the protectors of the neighborhood. Not just home but everyone’s home they can see. It’s just built into them, I guess it overcomes their size for them.

  • Dori

    I have a friend with a son that has Asperger’s also and, sadly, she had to finally resort to home schooling. A very sad situation. He doesn’t get to socialize with other kids and my friend is a really wonderful nurse who had to stop practicing so that she could be home with her son.

  • LabsRawesome

    Blue barks at everything. He’s getting better with training. :)

  • LabsRawesome

    OMG Dori, I can’t even imagine.

  • theBCnut

    I think you deserve cake today too.

  • theBCnut

    She is one of my heros. My nephew has Aspergers syndrome and no matter how smart he was(genius), he was told he was trouble in the public school system. They were worried that he would mess up their standardized test scores. Stupid them, he tests extremely well. My sister pulled him from the public school system after his teacher pulled a stunt that should have gotten her fired and put him in our friends school. He thrived in an environment where he was never teased for being different and where they recognized how smart he is and continued to challenge him. My nephew is now a happy, confident highschooler.

  • LabsRawesome

    Okay, yeah that’s pretty tiny. I don’t have any Victor right now, or I’d post a pic to show the size. It’s pretty tiny too. :)

  • theBCnut

    One and a half to two grain of cooked rice.

    Sent from my iPod

  • Dori

    Thanks C4C. I don’t know how I did it which is very frustrating because I’ll have to go through the same exhausting process to try to do pics of Lola and Katie. Grrrrrrrrh!

  • Crazy4cats

    She looks great! Good job, both on taking great care of your pup and a successful pic. :)

  • Dori

    Oh my! I think I deserve that cake today too! I’m such a chocoholic and with heavy fudge icing too? Now you’re just being mean.

  • Dori

    Small dogs really don’t have a clue about size. My dogs always bark at the biggest most ferocious looking dogs. They don’t bother in the least with other small dogs. Only the big scary ones.

  • Dori

    Yeah. Definitely forgive your friend. There are definitely just so many hours in a day and she sounds like a wonderful person.

  • Dori

    She was diagnosed with multiple cancers at the end of last spring or early summer. Hasn’t slowed her down. My husband and I and her vets all agreed that chemo and radiation is not something that any of us felt we would do to her. She still has the quality of life that she has always had so we’re not going to mess with that. If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it has always been my philosophy or, don’t mess with a good thing. To do anything else would truly ruin the time she has left on this earth. My feelings and thank goodness my husband agrees with me, that when it’s your time to go, it’s just your time to go. Leave here with as much grace and dignity as you can muster for yourself or your loved ones. I believe that we all have an expiration date, we just don’t individually know when that is so just live life to the fullest you never know when your heading to the spoilage date. She’s had a really good life given as much love as we’ve gotten from her. Truthfully we’ve gotten much more from her. She gave me a reason to force myself out of bed when my son passed away 8 years ago so I credit her with my sanity and with my life. He was my only child. But that’s another story for another day and certainly a different web site. It’s gonna be quite difficult when she passes that’s for sure. She’ll be in good hands, I know that for sure.

  • Dori

    Good explanation of the size. It really is the smallest kibble I’ve ever seen.

  • Dori

    It really is teeny tiny, as I said. It’s so super tiny. I will definitely post a picture of it when I get a handle on this pic posting. It took me hours to figure out one pic. Nature’s Logic is much much smaller than Victor’s. Keep in mind it is also much more expensive.

  • LabsRawesome

    Sorry, I have no idea what size a piece of barley is.

  • theBCnut

    Speaking of dessert…
    My son’s birthday was in early August, but life was crazy and we were leaving on a trip the next day, so he decided that he didn’t want a small birthday cake on the day, he wanted a big one later. Today was later. Its chocolate with heavy fudge icing. I deserved dessert today, too!

  • theBCnut

    My friend’s dog probably looks older because she has tear and saliva stains and doesn’t get her coat brushed out as much as a Malty needs. My friend is a kindergarten/first grade teacher of special needs students and a mother of 4 adopted kids with special needs, so I’ll forgive her for not having enough hours in the day.

  • theBCnut

    It’s about the size of a piece of cooked barley, as long as you don’t over cook it.

  • Dori

    Wow. That ‘s too bad about your friends Malty looking old at 4. Most Maltese’s look like puppies most of their lives. Her hair is what is the most work with her and always has been because I keep her body and legs in show coat style. Requires combing out every day. I bath her every 7 to 9 days which is how her hair is as white as it is.
    I do trim her ears and her beard cause it’s just too messy dealing with any dehydrated foods.

  • Dori

    OH! The whole experience exhausted what brain cells I have left. Yes, okay, I will keep trying. No, I certainly wouldn’t want C4C to think I was lying. Yuk! This was not a fun experience. I think I need a glass of wine before I can continue. Maybe some food too. Hmmmm? Maybe dessert too.

  • LabsRawesome

    Oh wow Nature’s Logic must be super tiny if it’s smaller than Victor Grain free. Victor’s is tiny so NL must be like dust or something. lol. jk. Yeah I’m learning about small dogs, Blue is my first. :)

  • theBCnut

    Ah, Ah, Ah!! You already promised C4C that you would keep trying, so I guess you will have to figure out what you did and repeat it at least twice. Wouldn’t want C4C to think you were lying…

  • theBCnut

    The picture came out great!!! She looks really good. I have a friend with a 4 year old Malty that looks older than she does.

  • LabsRawesome

    Hahaha yeah I’m learning that about small dogs. Blue is my first little one, and he barks 100 times more than my big dogs. What he lacks in size, he totally makes up for in noise. lol. He’s doing better now that he knows what Shhh means. I won’t tell him to shut up tho, that would be rude! :) Edit- I replied to your original post that talked about her being a watchdog. Sorry to hear she has cancer, how very sad. Poor thing. I can tell from her pic that she is loved, and very well cared for. :)

  • Dori

    Thanks Labs. I love her to pieces. She really is my baby girl. And……as pretty much of you know she has cancer of the bladder and lung and still doesn’t realize or act like she’s sick and we’re not telling her anything about it. Still eating and playing like a puppy.

  • LabsRawesome

    Oh wow 15? She doesn’t look that old at all! She is ADORABLE!!! :)

  • Dori

    Thanks for all your help BC. Finally got one pic on of Hannah but haven’t a clue how I did it so no one should be expecting to see pics of Lola and Katie any time soon. lol

  • Dori

    Good Grief. I’m embarrassed to say that it has taken me this long to get Hannah’s picture up and it’s not clear, wrong size and couldn’t possible retrace my steps if my life depended on it. Here’s hoping it never does. Oh shoot! What happened to her pic it was there a moment ago. I swear, I give up. Oh lookie it just should up. Huh? Like I said, I haven’t a clue how I did it.

  • theBCnut

    This website always tells me to resize under 2M, but pictures load better onto it when they are under 1M. Good luck!!

  • theBCnut

    Breeds with big fleshy mouths do have more trouble keeping kibble in their mouths until it goes down the hatch, even larger kibble pops out the sides of their mouths. Smaller kibbles are just more chances for the food to vacate the premise. I actually ROFL when I watch a bulldog eat. They have to pick up every piece multiple times before it gets swallowed…every meal. And yes, adding something that helps bind it all together does make it much easier for them.
    I had a friend with a bulldog that’s bite was so bad that she had to make meatball and handfeed the dog so it didn’t starve. As a new born pup, it couldn’t nurse and they had to tube feed it. I never did understand the people that breed those things. I think its cruelty.

  • Dori

    OK. So I also have an iThingy and use a Mac. I shall now try your instructions. Yeah, Apple always thinks they know better than you a what you want to do.

  • Dori

    Thanks C4C. I will indeed keep trying. I’m determined that this old dog can definitely learn this new trick.
    I’m sure Nature’s Logic is much more expensive than Victor’s regardless of what area you live. I can get away with it because my girls, as you know, are pretty small so don’t eat very much and it’s only fed by my husband who I cannot trust with the raw, and he’s quite happy about that, or if they were ever to be left with a sitter or kennel. That’s the one draw back that I have found with feeding raw. Kennel’s will not keep it nor would I trust them to do it right with the freezer and unfreeze. I could do the freeze dried for that purpose but I like to add water to the freeze dried and would worry about that too. I worry a lot about the girls as you can plainly see.

  • theBCnut

    I have to take the picture on my iThingy, email it to myself, log on to my email on the laptop and download the picture, resize it, and then I can start the process of actually posting it. Apparently, Apple doesn’t think you shoud decide for yourself what size file a picture should be.

  • Crazy4cats

    In this area, Natures Logic is much more expensive than Victor. Otherwise I’d probably be feeding it more regularly. About kibble size, my big dogs eat the small kibble just fine. But, my neighbor’s big American Bulldogs, struggle with small kibble. They say it falls thru their mouths and ends up all over the floor. But as I write this, I’m thinking a big difference could be that I always mix in a topper of some sort holding the kibble together. I’m guessing they don’t add anything. Hmmmm? BTW, my first picture that I posted after several attempts ended up being sideways! Keep trying!

  • Dori

    Oh thank goodness BC. I just can’t seem to figure it out even with Labs step by step instructions it doesn’t work. Glad it’s not just me.

  • theBCnut

    You wouldn’t believe what I have to go through to post a picture, so I sure don’t blame you for not having that one down.

  • Dori

    Hi Labs. Just saw this post of yours. I’ve seen the size of Victor’s and I’ve got to tell you that Nature’s Logic (at least the sardine formula) is minuscule compared to Victor’s. Try to get a sample if you can so that you can see the difference or ask someone in a small pet store that carries it let you see the actual kibble, they’re pretty good about that, at least where I live. It is more expensive than Victor’s which is another thought that I had for not feeding her large dog the Nature’s Logic though I just realized that I didn’t type that part out in my response to Melanie I didn’t know that big dogs will eat tiny kibble. Your point as to digestion is a really good one. Probably ignorance on my part as I’ve never had big dogs and usually someone asking me for advice has toy or small dogs like mine. If I could ever figure out how to post pictures I would do it. The crazy thing is that I’m pretty proficient on computers and I know you send me info how to do it and yet I just don’t get it. Senior brain I suppose. I always thought you could teach any old dog new tricks, I guess not in this old dog.

  • Dori

    A lot of dog food manufacturers will send you samples for free, you just have to pay for the nominal shipping. Also almost all of the smaller pet stores in the neighborhood always have samples to give out. You just have to ask them. They’re happy to give them out.

  • LabsRawesome

    You’re welcome! Raw would be the best food for your little one. :) I hear ya on feeding the big dogs commercial raw, it can get really expensive. If you ever want to try homemade raw, their are some very knowledgeable raw feeders on this site, that could help you out with that. They say homemade raw is much cheaper to feed than commercial raw.

  • Dori

    Hi Melanie. Unfortunately most quality commercial raw’s that I trust are pretty comparable in price. But on the upside, you do save lots in vet bills.

  • Crazy4cats

    :D!

  • Melanie

    I meant bully sticks lol not bulky sticks. Not too crazy about the smell though. Must be why she loves them!

  • Crazy4cats

    I’m sorry, but I think that is hilarious! She is very clever. Just like our human children! I hope you can find a healthier food that she actually likes. You might have to transition slowly as sometimes it’s hard to get them off that yummy cheap food that they are addicted to. You might want to start topping the new food with canned or fresh foods such as, eggs, sardines or healthy leftovers to entice her. Good luck!

  • Melanie

    Thanks Dori. She’s not having any diarrhea now even after introducing her to raw food. Is that other raw you recommended a little cheaper than the Instinct. I know raw will never be cheap. Just curious.

  • Melanie

    Thanks Labs. She does love her bulky stick so I won’t worry about her teeth. I think I will keep her on just a little kibble and feed her the commercial raw. My lab will just have to have the raw as a topper cuz I will go broke if I feed him raw.

  • LabsRawesome

    Hi Melanie, kibble is not better for their teeth. Kibble doesn’t clean teeth. RMB’s (Raw meaty bones) clean teeth the best. My dogs never need a dental treatment. Here’s an article by Dr. Mike (the creator of this site) on the subject. http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/choosing-dog-food/dry-dog-food-cleaner-teeth/

  • LabsRawesome

    Hey Dori, great advice! The only thing I don’t agree with is tiny kibble not being good for big dogs. My 2 big dogs eat tiny kibble (Victor GF, and Nutro Ultra GF) with no problem. I like tiny kibble the most for any size dog. The smaller the kibble, the better. It’s much easier to digest kibble when it’s teeny tiny, for any size dog. :)

  • theBCnut

    Isn’t she the clever little one!!!

  • Dori

    As I said NL is a bit pricey but you don’t feed as much as most other dry foods. As for raw foods, that will help with any diarrhea issues. Is she having any diarrhea issues now? If she is it could also be the stress of a new home and new people which typically causes upset with digestion. Primal is another good raw to try. Go onto NV and Primal’s web sites and sign up for their newsletters and periodically (often actually) they’ll start emailing you coupons. Usually $3.00 off a bag. I get them from both companies all the time so it helps with the cost.

  • Melanie

    Thanks Dori. All of you have such great suggestions. I have been using the Nature’s variety Instinct frozen raw as a topper for both dogs. I think the bag reads for a 5 lb dog feed 2 thawed patties a day. Maybe I will try the NL mixed with the raw. I think it was Storms mom who suggested NL to me awhile back for my lab but I never tried it. I do remember it being pricey. It wouldn’t be too pricey to feed the little one just the raw. I’ll have to transition her. My lab can eat anything but the rescue informed me not to transition the little one too fast cause she’s had issues with diarrhea in the past. Thanks again

  • Molly’s mom

    Thanks! I haven’t decided what food to put her on. I wish I could get samples to see what she would like. If she does not like a food she hides it all over the house to get it out of her dish, then begs at the table.

  • Dori

    Hi Molly’s Mom. Well your on the Fromm thread so I’m assuming your thinking of feeding this food. Go to their web site, check for which of the Fromm foods you want to feed then go to their feeding guidelines and go by the weight your dog should be, not what she presently weighs since your saying she’s a little heavy. You can do the same with any food you choose. Most, if not all, dog food sites have feeding guidelines. Just figure out what her optimum weight should be and go from there.

  • Dori

    Hi Melanie. Just saw your post to me. I have three toy dogs all of which I feed commercial raw foods. I’m a big believer in feeding raw. The change in my dogs on raw as compared to kibble has been so dramatic that if it weren’t that they are my dogs I wouldn’t believe they are the same three dogs. I feed very high protein, moderate fat and low carbs. My dogs are 5, 6, and 7 lbs. two of my girls are 5 years old and one is 15 years old. They all have great teeth and that is saying something for a 15 year old Maltese. Toy dogs are notoriously known for having the need for multiple extractions as they age. Is it possible for you to feed just the chihuahua raw. It would be pretty expensive to feed your Lab raw. If not raw then I would suggest dehydrated foods like The Honest Kitchen where you just rehydrate the food with water. You could continue to feed your Lab kibble if you want and add a little of the rehydrated as a topper to his meal so he doesn’t feel left out. Next I would suggest canned food. Be careful if you choose to go with canned foods as to who and where they are manufactured, that they contain no red ingredients in the reviews and that the cans themselves contain no BPA.

    As far as small kibble is concerned, the smallest kibble I have ever seen or fed is Nature’s Logic. I mean it is teeny teeny tiny. Nature’s Logic is a fabulous food, fabulous company and very forthcoming about their ingredient sourcing. I think the size of the kibble would be much too small for your Lab so you would just feed the dogs different foods. Natures Logic is not inexpensive but a chihuahua , like my dogs, does not eat a lot of food. Also you feed less with Nature’s Logic than most other foods because it is highly nutritious so a bag goes a long way. Also important is that it’s grain free. Hope I’ve helped. By the way I’ve had small dogs all my life.

  • Molly’s mom

    I have a 1 1/2 yr old 11 lb Shih Tzu. I just found I am feeding her a corn based dry dog food that is rated very low. I think she is a little heavy for her bond structure. Does any one have any suggestions of what and how much I should feed her.

  • 4FootedFoodie

    Like yours, Labs’ doxie is a new addition to her crew, too. : )

  • LabsRawesome

    Thank you! Yep. My Dachshund owns my big dogs too. lol. :)

  • 4FootedFoodie

    My mistake. I misunderstood her age. I was stuck on 5 and was thinking she was 5 years old. So, that’s good, probably not a dental issue. : )

    Yes, if I had just one small dog, I’d feed canned or commercial raw.

  • Melanie

    OMG your dogs are so cute! Labs are awesome. They get along with all creatures big or small. Mine even let our new dog take over his big bed for awhile. Very small dog in a very large bed! Very cute. Thanks for the recommendation. I’m definitely open to feeding wet food.

  • Melanie

    Thanks for the reply. My new pup is only 1 1/2 yrs old and teeth were just recently cleaned at vet 6 months ago according to rescue. LabsRawesome recommended wet food. I’ve been mixing their kibble with the NV raw venison to boost the protein so she does get some moist food. I think I’m scared of causing her to have diarrhea since I’m still housebreaking her. Would most of you on this site recommend only wet instead of dry for a small dog? She doesn’t eat much. I’ve always heard kibble is better for their teeth. Maybe I’ll just combine the two for awhile and see how she does. Thanks you guys. Appreciate it.

  • 4FootedFoodie

    Hi Melanie,

    Congrats on the new pup! How wonderful. : )

    Just thinking, have you had her teeth checked? I wonder if her oral health has been neglected and that’s why she’s having trouble chewing. You could always moisten her food with warm water for a few minutes before offering it to her.

  • LabsRawesome

    Hi Melanie, would you consider feeding her canned? It’s better for her than kibble. I use these, their all budget friendly, especially for such a tiny dog. Pure Balance Puppy (don’t let the name fool you, it’s all life stages) $1 per can at Walmart, 4health cans are .99 at Tractor Supply, and Costco has Natures Domain Turkey Stew, $20 for a case of 24 cans.

  • Melanie

    Hi Dori I have a question for you that is totally unrelated to the above post. You seem to know a lot about small dogs. I just adopted a 5 lb chihuhua from a rescue for my 7 yr old daughter. Never thought I’d have a small dog considering I’ve always had labs but my kiddo wanted a lap dog and even though my lab thinks he’s a lap dog he weighs way more than her! Anyways, I’ve recently been feeding my lab the Fromm food and he looks great. Gained some needed lbs. the little dog is on Nature’s Variety Prairie with venison and I want to transition her to the Fromm because she looks so skinny and the NV is so low in protein at only 23%. Is it better to have a small dog on lower protein? Even though the Fromm kibble is small she seems to have a hard time chewing it for some reason. It’s almost like the kibble is too hard. Can you recommend a good dogfood for a small dog that’s affordable? The NV Instinct is out of my price range. Any recommendations from all you regulars on this site are greatly appreciated.

  • JudyandSam Simpson Norris

    I was just curious. They love Fromm Lamb & Lentils and my Abbie has auto immune hemolytic anemia so I am very cautious. they both have been on Fromm for over 2yrs. now and from what I can tell they are a good company. Thanks for letting me know it was the protein.

  • JudyandSam Simpson Norris

    Chris, she could be allergic to chicken, my Abbie is. I would try to stay on one food for about a month, then if still itching go to another. Right now, you know the chicken is not working, possibly turkey too. Abbie is also allergic to Pork, but only a category 1/6. Plus she is highly allergic to white/regular potatoes that a lot of foods have. I have her completely on Fromm Lamb & Lentils now. Nothing else. It doesn’t have the white or Yukon gold potatoes, only the sweet potatoes that she can have and with the Zyrtec, I have the scratching at bay. I am going to try to phase her off the Zyrtec when we all get back from vacation. I would rather keep her on it while we are in the mountains rather than take her off and try to find a vet up there. She also eats a little banana, cooked carrots and apple every week. If it keeps up, I recommend you have her tested for allergies and then you will know for sure what to stay away from, but I bet it’s cc
    Hickey and the potatoes

  • aquariangt

    4.5 stars is certainly not a rating to be scared of. It’s a bit lower in protein than most 5 star foods, which is the only reason it fell. I wouldn’t worry about them at all, they are still a very trustworthy company

  • Kathy Niskala

    I would like to know too why Fromm dropped in ratings,I also use this one for one of my crew…..been switching over to raw for one and Annamaet for another…..maybe I should drop Fromm.. from my rotation…which I really have trusted for long time…..

  • JudyandSam Simpson Norris

    We just found out that Abbie is allergic to Chicken, but Fromm doesn’t make a chicken so we are good with the Lamb & Lentils. Our pet food store, Hollywood Feed, gives samples, so you might ask about that with your food store. All that I know will let you bring it back if they don’t eat it.

  • JudyandSam Simpson Norris

    RPK- mine like all the Fromm grain Free except the Salmon. Our vet wanted her on a kangaroo but they will not eat it. Allergies seem to be at bay now with the Zyrtec, so we’ll see…..

  • JAM

    Thanks for the info! We have an appointment with a veterinary ophthalmologist later this month and hopefully will get to the bottom of this; we are now transitioning to grain-free (Surf and Turf) but could go with any Fromm formula if that turns out to help.

  • JudyandSam Simpson Norris

    Raw is not an option with Abbie since she has the auto immune disease. She does love her lamb & lentils, eats it up more than any other I have tried. I’ll check the ingredients on the Natures

  • Dori

    As a kibble I like Nature’s Logic. I know a lot of other posters on dog sites like it too. I’ll try to come up with some others for you. I eventually had to switch to raw foods for my girls because one of my dogs (Katie my Maltipoo) has so many food issues that it was crazy. I will say that she can eat the Nature’s Logic Sardine formula for a few days in a row without scratching herself raw. I then switch her back to raw for a few days. I like to feed rotational proteins within the same company and also with other brands. I’ve never had an issue though with any of my dogs on Nature’s Logic Sardine formula. The list of Katie’s allergies is too long to type. You might check it out. It’s probably a little more expensive then some other brands but if you could get your pooch off Zyrtec then the money all balances out.

  • JudyandSam Simpson Norris

    We tried California kangaroo, but they both would not eat it. Any suggestions ???

  • Dori

    Hi JudyandSam. Fromm Lamb & Lentils contains peas, pork fat and pork liver. Maybe if you can find a food without those ingredients also you might be able to get her off the Zyrtec.

  • JudyandSam Simpson Norris

    We had to finally do allergy testing on Abbie -2-wks ago. Found out she is allergic to the following: Foods: soybean, white potatoes, chicken, rabbit, yeast. Pork and peas only showed a 1/6 category, so those -2- aren’t as bad as the first few.
    Weeds: short and giant ragweed, dandelion, goldenrod, marsh elder.
    Trees: maple, red cedar, elm
    Grasses: Johnson
    Epidermals: sheep wool
    Insects: black ant, flea

    She is currently on Zyrtec 10mg daily and it has made a world of difference in the itching, scratching and biting. We feed her Fromm Lamb & Lentils and she loves it !!!,

  • JudyandSam Simpson Norris

    she’

  • JudyandSam Simpson Norris

    Mike, why did Fromm drop to a 4.5 star food ???? It was a 5 star food. That’s all mine will eat, Fromm Lamb & Lentils….. And Abbie, my Blue. Merle Cocker has Auto Immune Hemolytic Anemia and allergies. She is also on Zyrtec daily.

  • kcbdal

    My boxer used to pass gas a lot and has a very sensitive stomach. I feed her a blend of Fromm’s grain free and half Natural Balance Synergy. This was a terrific combination and she hasn’t had gas since. It doesn’t seem to matter at all which Fromm food she gets. I have also switched from Synergy to another salmon based food and it has been terrific. Canidae didn’t help and I discovered she can’t have liver in any product.

  • JudyandSam Simpson Norris

    Be sure to check to see where toses treats are made. DO NOT BUY ANY TREATS FROM CHINA !!!!! I only buy the Fromm treats , give them cooked carrot slices and apple slices.

  • JudyandSam Simpson Norris

    Should be on the bag or call Fromm and ask. They are very helpful !!!

  • JAM

    My 1-1/2 year old papillon/poodle mix is very high-energy and has always been indifferent to his premium commercial kibble; he is very healthy but just could not keep weight on. On the advice of my groomer I switched him to Fromm a month ago and the difference is amazing! He eats with gusto and has gained healthy weight. I love that Fromm uses no wheat or corn, and am thinking of switching him from Gold Small Breed Adult to a completely grain-free formula. The other issue he has is constant tearing (I can control the staining, but he still tears.) Any recommendations or advice?