Fromm Family Classics (Dry)

Share

Rating: ★★★½☆

Fromm Family Classics Dog Food receives the Advisor’s mid tier rating of 3.5 stars.

The Fromm Family Classics product line includes two dry dog foods, one claimed to meet AAFCO nutrient profiles for all life stages and one recipe for adult maintenance (Mature Adult).

The following is a list of recipes available at the time of this review.

  • Fromm Family Classics Adult
  • Fromm Family Classics Mature Adult

Fromm Family Classics Adult was selected to represent both products in the line for this review.

Fromm Family Classics Adult

Dry Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 26% | Fat = 17% | Carbs = 50%

Ingredients: Chicken, chicken meal, brown rice, pearled barley, oatmeal, white rice, chicken fat, menhaden fish meal, whole egg, beet pulp, wisconsin cheese, flaxseed, brewers dried yeast, potassium chloride, salt, calcium sulfate, dl-methionine, tryptophane, taurine, chicory root extract, Yucca schidigera extract, sodium selenite, vitamin A acetate, vitamin D3 supplement, vitamin E supplement, vitamin B12 supplement, choline bitartrate, niacin supplement, d-calcium pantothenate, l-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate, riboflavin supplement, thiamine mononitrate, pyridoxine hydrochloride, folic acid, biotin, zinc sulfate, ferrous sulfate, manganous sulfate, magnesium sulfate, copper sulfate, cobalt carbonate, calcium iodate, sorbic acid (preservative), ferrous proteinate, zinc proteinate, copper proteinate, manganese proteinate, magnesium proteinate, cobalt proteinate, dried Lactobacillus acidophilus fermentation product, dried Bifidobacterium longum fermentation product, dried Lactobacillus plantarum fermentation product, dried Enterococcus faecium fermentation product

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 4.4%

Red items when present indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis23%15%NA
Dry Matter Basis26%17%50%
Calorie Weighted Basis22%35%43%

The first ingredient in this dog food is chicken. Although it is a quality item, raw chicken contains about 80% water. After cooking, most of that moisture is lost, reducing the meat content to just a fraction of its original weight.

After processing, this item would probably account for a smaller part of the total content of the finished product.

The second ingredient is chicken meal. Chicken meal is considered a meat concentrate and contains nearly 300% more protein than fresh chicken.

The third ingredient is brown rice, a complex carbohydrate that (once cooked) can be fairly easy to digest. However, aside from its natural energy content, rice is of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

The fourth ingredient is pearled barley. Barley is a starchy carbohydrate supplying fiber and other healthy nutrients. The term “pearled” means the grain has been processed to remove its outer hull and bran, unlike whole barley. However, aside from its energy content, this cereal grain is of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

The fifth ingredient is oatmeal, a whole-grain product made from coarsely ground oats. Oatmeal is naturally rich in B-vitamins, dietary fiber and can be (depending upon its level of purity) gluten-free.

The sixth ingredient is white rice, a less nutritious form of rice in which the grain’s healthier outer layer has been removed.

The seventh ingredient is chicken fat. Chicken fat is obtained from rendering chicken, a process similar to making soup in which the fat itself is skimmed from the surface of the liquid.

Chicken fat is high in linoleic acid, an omega-6 fatty acid essential for life. Although it doesn’t sound very appetizing, chicken fat is actually a quality ingredient.

The eighth ingredient is menhaden fish meal, another protein-rich meat concentrate.

Menhaden are small ocean fish related to herring. They’re rich in protein and omega-3 fatty acids. What’s more, in their mid-depth habitat, menhaden are not exposed to mercury contamination as can be typical with deep water species.

Fish meal is typically obtained from the “clean, dried, ground tissue of undecomposed whole fish and fish cuttings” of commercial fish operations.1

We are pleased to note that, unlike many fish meals, this particular item appears2 to be ethoxyquin-free.

The ninth ingredient is whole eggs. Eggs are easy to digest and have an exceptionally high biological value.

The next ingredient is beet pulp. Beet pulp is a controversial ingredient, a high fiber by-product of sugar beet processing.

Some denounce beet pulp as an inexpensive filler while others cite its outstanding intestinal health and blood sugar benefits.

We only call your attention here to the controversy and believe the inclusion of beet pulp in reasonable amounts in most dog foods is entirely acceptable.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With four notable exceptions

First, flaxseed is one of the best plant sources of healthy omega-3 fatty acids. Provided they’ve first been ground into a meal, flax seeds are also rich in soluble fiber.

However, flaxseed contains about 19% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

Next, brewers yeast can be a controversial item. Although it’s a by-product of the beer making process, this ingredient is rich in minerals and other healthy nutrients.

Fans believe yeast repels fleas and supports the immune system.

Critics argue yeast ingredients can be linked to allergies. This may be true, but (like all allergies) only if your particular dog is allergic to the yeast itself.

In addition, a vocal minority insists yeast can increase the risk of developing the life-threatening condition known as bloat. However, this is a claim we’ve not been able to scientifically verify.

In any case, unless your dog is specifically allergic to it, yeast can still be considered a nutritious additive.

What’s more noteworthy here is that brewers yeast contains about 48% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

In addition, chicory root is rich in inulin, a starch-like compound made up of repeating units of carbohydrates and found in certain roots and tubers.

Not only is inulin a natural source of soluble dietary fiber, it’s also a prebiotic used to promote the growth of healthy bacteria in a dog’s digestive tract.

And lastly, this food also contains chelated minerals, minerals that have been chemically attached to protein. This makes them easier to absorb. Chelated minerals are usually found in better dog foods.

Fromm Family Classics Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Judging by its ingredients alone, Fromm Family Classics looks like an above-average dry dog food.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 26%, a fat level of 17% and estimated carbohydrates of about 50%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 24% and a mean fat level of 14%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 53% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 59%.

Below-average protein. Below-average fat. And above-average carbs when compared to a typical dry dog food.

Even when you consider the mild protein-boosting effect of the flaxseed and brewers yeast, this looks like the profile of a kibble containing a moderate amount of meat.

Bottom line?

Fromm Family Classics is a plant-based dry dog food using a moderate amount of chicken and chicken meal as its main sources of animal protein, thus earning the brand 3.5 stars.

Recommended.

Please note certain recipes are sometimes given a higher or lower rating based upon our estimate of their total meat content.

Those looking for a slightly better kibble from the same company may wish to visit our review of Fromm Four Star Nutritionals or Fromm Gold Nutritionals dry dog foods.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, due to the biological uniqueness of every animal, none of our ratings are intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in a specific dietary response or health benefit for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

To learn how we support the cost of operating this website, please visit our public Disclosure and Disclaimer page.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Other spellings: Fromms

Notes and Updates

03/01/2010 Original review
10/02/2010 Review updated
06/27/2012 Review updated
01/21/2014 Last Update

  1. Association of American Feed Control Officials
  2. Fromm, 3/1/2010
  • theBCnut

    Inactive probiotics should not make a dog ill, they just shouldn’t provide benefit either. There is nothing in them that is not already in a normal healthy dog. They just can’t do the job you are paying the big bucks for.

  • theBCnut

    Since the post you are responding to is from 8 months ago, it would be an entirely different batch, with a few batches made in between. That does not make Fromm a liar. A single complaint 8 months ago is not a complaint on the food you are feeding. That being said, many people have reported getting the same line from many different companies, most notable lately has been Blue Buffalo, so you really can’t trust any business to have your best interests at heart, if they conflict with their best interests.

  • sue66b

    When I see kibbles with these ingredients in the last 3 lines, (probiotics) I stay away from them, I’ve read that probiotics die in the heat process, sometimes probiotics are added after the heat process at the end of making kibble.. if kibble is not stored properly in pet shops or when shipped these kibbles can make a dog real sick, also if u buy ur kibbles from a warehouse type place they are normally very hot inside & kibbles should be stored under 26 degree, Eukanuba also said that to me, that Im the only one that has made an complaint about a certain kibble, I think thats a line they have learnt to say, so you start to think, Oh, maybe its not the kibble, its something else, Ive noticed on this site a few of the kibbles with all those ingredient in the last 3 line, that dogs have been sick, (Canidae) is another one where dogs have had diarrhea & vomiting..

  • Laurie Taylor

    OMG!!! I just had the same issues with my pack! (still on antibiotics) I also called Fromm, to ask if they have had any other calls or concerns from any other dogs having issues/problems, or getting very sick? I was not accusing or pointing fingers. Only looking for ANSWERS/HELP because my pack was so sick! Fromm denied receiving any other calls, complaints, reports, or issues with any of their foods. I was in fact told, I was the ONLY call they had, with these issues and concerns! They have never had a recall. Well, … maybe that is so, But, … maybe they SHOULD!??, yet, DID NOT DO IT!! ?? I’m concerned and afraid, after reading this!! I TRUSTED and BELIEVED in Fromm! I WILL be calling them again, since your post was from 8 MONTHS AGO!! They could have at least been HONNEST!! I will inform everyone else I know about Fromm’s dishonesty, and the posts on here! I’m DONE with Fromm! It might be different if they would have been honest and helped me by admitting there were in fact other dogs with the same problems!! That is awful!! and WRONG!!!

  • Fran Corwin

    I started using Fromm Family Classics Mature Formula Dry Dog Food in January 2014. My 16 year old Cocker Spaniel developed incontinence and tremors that I quickly contributed to her age. After 2 different medications failed to help her, I began checking the ingredients in the new food.
    I zeroed in on the rice because of the:
    Special Alert shown in the article above:
    Rice ingredients can sometimes contain arsenic. Until the US FDA establishes safe upper levels for arsenic content, pet owners may wish to limit the total amount of rice fed in a dog’s daily diet.

    Arsenic can cause tremors and damage to the kidneys among other things. I have contacted the FDA with preliminary information.

    Has anyone considered arsenic poisoning as a possibility or had the food checked for arsenic levels?

  • BW

    I had an aging Rottie mix who had developed skin issues. Suspecting a problem with her diet I did some research and also asked pet owners what brands they were feeding. Many were on Fromm. We tried it and had the skin issues clear up. She also had more energy and would again play with the rest of the pack. Fromm is the only food I recommend as it has higher ratings than many of the high-priced over-rated brands sold at many vet offices. And not a single recall to my knowledge.

  • Suz & Hogan at the beach

    ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS FOOD!!!! I have an 8 year old Lab and too much protein makes him really sick. Prior to Fromm, we used Canada Platinum however, one bad food recall was enough for us & discontinued use right away.

    I immediately did to researched and was so overwhelmed in regards to finding a food that offered a balance of protein without the fat & calories… I finally found the Fromm “MATURE DOG” formula in the red & white foil bag and my dog LOVES it!!!

    He has been thriving on it, has perfect weight, no gas & ” clean up” duty is easy. Finding this food was a miracle and I love the Fromm family story. It’s also reassuring to know, they have NEVER had a recall and the business is still on family hands.

    We hope they come out with cookies on the West coast soon and appreciate their price point… I can say, it’s ideal for Labs and other large dogs that have to watch protein levels… They never use by-product or meal. The ingredients are pure and true to their word… Nothing hidden!

    Thank you Fromm & keep up the great job!!!

    Susan & Hogan too
    Newport Beach, CA

  • sue66

    My boy was getting the gurgling stomach (Colitis) early hours of the morning not from Fromm but from having wet tin food at nite, so now I do the wet in the morning then some kibble separate & just the Kibble at nite, look at the fat content try not to get anything over 12% fat..

  • Shane Welch

    Thank you Molly for your input. I had not thought about the wet food being too rich, but you may be right. We do mix the wet food with brown rice but it could be too rich for her. She seems to have the aversion to the dry food with the upset stomach in the morning before eating, so it could be from the wet food the night before. I will try rotating the flavors. We tried giving her Pumpkin, which is made for dogs and she really liked it. We do like Fromm, so will try your suggestions. Thanks again.

  • Molly Henderson

    It is also possible that the wet Gold by itself is too rich. I always mix it with kibble. Dogs get better digestion this way from my experience. I def would add digestive enzymes and probiotics/yoghurt to the canned food and see if your dog improves.

  • Molly Henderson

    Fromm does not use any ingredients from china. Their vitamins are all from Europe too. Most companies use some vitamins from china. I would rotate the different flavors more.

  • Molly Henderson

    Fromm is a fantastic company BUT they still use conventional chicken. And even thouch it is human grade conv. chicken can have arsenic in it to name an example, even thouch their meats are all medication free and nothing is from china it is still conv.
    I would give your dog some yoghurt or better kefir plus some charcoal for a few days. I would def. talk to Fromm about the issue and rotate the flavors more. I also would not give dry food every day. Your dog could also have an intolerance. How about give him some premix like Grandma lucy all you have to do is adding meat. Also adding digestive emzymes may help. I would rotate flavors more and give some grama Lucy it is excellent food too. Fromm is an awesome company please do ot give up on them.

  • Shane Welch

    We have had our Rottie/Shepherd on Fromm for about 8 months now and really like it. She was on Innova and we finally switched after several recalls. She eats the dry food in the morning (green bag) and the wet Gold food at night. We noticed again this morning (about the 3rd time) that she is not eating the dry food and has a gurgling stomach. She vomited once before, but before she ate. We are not sure if it is an unrealted issue to the food or the dry food. Any suggestions? Colorado ResQ I am sorry about your dog. It is always difficult to loose a pet. Hope you are doing well.

  • Pingback: Feeding Puppies Adult Food - Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums

  • Jennifer Andersen

    After three years of feeding our dog Fromm Gold, we were very happy with it. Our chocolate lab has grown up on it and he is thriving. However, the last bag we bought must have something wrong with it, or they changed suppliers of one ingredient, or something. He has constant diarrhea and it immediately goes away on a chicken/white rice diet. We have attempted twice to slowly introduce the bag of food, and he is immediately loose again. We won’t know if there is something wrong with this particular bag, or if we buy another one we may have the same problem. I don’t want to risk a bacterial infection, but I don’t think that’s the problem because otherwise he would still have diarrhea on the chicken/white rice diet. Please post the results of your testing because I would love to know what they find. My guess is that they might have changed to a Chinese supplier of one ingredient, and for some reason that ingredient is tainted -

  • Colorado ResQ

    When Nutro was having all it’s issues years back, Clostridium was a problem with it. There are several strains of this bacteria. I was told one particular strain is related to Salmonella food poisioning. Several of our rescue dogs have had issues with Clostridium over the years, and it usually clears up when I stop the food for a day or two and feed them a very bland diet. This time was very different. I’m sorry to hear about your dog with bladder cancer, we recently lost our Papillion to bladder cancer. I do senior and special needs pet rescue…so there is always some kind of issue we deal with here. I too was feeding “Diamond” years back and had several dogs get sick from that as well…but none have ever died. It’s so frustrating that so many dog food companies have recalls and issues. And when you’re dealing with seniors, like we do, you have to be very careful what you feed them.

  • Pattyvaughn

    That’s the Circovirus.

  • Colorado ResQ

    I just heard that Ohio Dept of Ag had a positive test come back for a virus that is mainly in pigs…now they are wondering if it could be related to vaccines. There is a post about it on FB from the news station.

  • Jan_Mom2Cavs

    I also feel Fromm is an excellent company, but they aren’t immune from things happening….I hope they never do, of course!! But, until this poster finds out all the info. who are we to doubt his story. I also know that sometimes people post fraudulent things on here (and other places) but until that is found, I will give him the benefit of the doubt.

  • Jan_Mom2Cavs

    Sorry again for your loss. I went back and reread your post and I missed the clostridium part the first time. I recently had a dog (my 12 yr. old Mixed Breed, Lucy Mae) that had a few clostridium bacteria show up in a stool sample. She was put on clavamox and flagyl and it cleared up. Don’t know what caused it in her. She does have bladder cancer and I’m glad she’s back to herself. I will say she does have some good days and some “off” days with her condition, but overall is doing well.

  • somebodysme

    I have to say that the thought crossed my mind too. This same scenario I’ve heard quite a few times here.

  • Colorado ResQ

    We are in Colorado. I have been in touch with the Dept of Ag in Ohio…this is not the same issue as they are having. They are having issues with HGE. Similar…but not the same. This is Clostridium Bacteria.

  • Colorado ResQ

    I am not a rival company trying to make up stories about Fromm…just a pet owner who lost the sweetest little Chihuahua ever do to a possible food contamination issue. I have a report in to the FDA and did turn the remaining food over to an “independent” lab of my choice to have the food tested for bacteria. This is a slow process it seems and I am still waiting for results.

  • Jan_Mom2Cavs

    I’m so very sorry for your loss. May I ask where (what state) you live. There have been reports of a new virus that has been killing dogs…circovirus, or something like that. It has been found in dogs that are from California and Ohio.

  • Tobias C

    Any proof? It’s been a while since your post. They would have recalled it by now. Still nothing… Not even the slightest information about a possible recall or sick pets from any dog food forum. Are you representing a rival company trying to make up stories about Fromm?

    They have a very good reputation. Had it been Diamond we would believe you but you need to have some hard evidence before we believe you about Fromm.

  • Colorado ResQ

    I had major issues with Fromm Classics Adult. I am looking for a lab to test the remaining food I have. The last three bags I have had small issues with vomiting and or diarrhea. This last bag caused severe bacteria issues in my rescue dogs. My little Chihuahua started with vomiting, being lethargic, then bloody diarrhea. It came on quickly and within 3 days she was dead. The vets had her on IV fluids and antibiotics…but she did not make it. Seven of my other rescues got the same symptoms, but with supportive care and antibiotics they were all able to be saved. Their poops tested positive for Clostridium Bacteria. I have made a report to the FDA. I sent email to Fromm and did get a reply back from them stating they were sorry for my loss and if I could send them some food they would test it for me. I did NOT send them any food…it’s still sitting here waiting to get mailed. Today I received an email stating, “We received the food you sent us and tested it. We did not find any toxins or bacteria in it. The food is safe. If there is anything we can do to further help you let us know.” WHAT…REALLY…tested food that I DID NOT SEND THEM. I will not send them any food at this point…I do not trust them. I have one other little Chihuahua who is on another “brand” of dog food here, and I have 3 other dogs who are on yet another “brand” of dog food…NONE OF THEM GOT SICK. This is clearly a food problem. I have emailed the Dept Of Agriculture to see if they can tell me a lab I can use to have the food tested. PLEASE if you have dogs eating Fromm and you have similar symptoms stop the food and get them to your vet ASAP.

  • Tobias C

    Never mind I just noticed you have English Bulldogs.

  • Tobias C

    Fromm Puppy Gold can be used for adults and is 27% 18%. Classics is too low IMO 23% 15%.

  • Brad Dom

    Good point Wisconsin Girl. That really doesnt sit well with me either.

  • Wisconsin Girl

    I’ve considered using this brand… I just wish it wasn’t borne from a Silver Fox Fur farm all those years ago! Does that bother anyone? (The dog food was once a bi-product of the fur farm?) I suppose the fur farm is gone now… but it still bothers me. But maybe I can rationalize it because they did improve vaccinations and nutrition in pet foods… Thoughts?

  • Brenglora English Bulldogs

    I am a breeder of over 30 years and have used many foods more expensive including Qrjen. None compare to this. My dogs do better than they have on any other food I have tried and Fromm has had no recalls.

  • Pingback: Company Profile Fromm Family Foods - Maltese Dogs Forum : Spoiled Maltese Forums

  • Pattyvaughn

    Fromm Gold is only 1% higher in protein, 1% higher in fat and 2% lower in carbs. Otherwise very similar ingredients.

  • HerdingDogRescuer

    I’m currently feeding the Fromm Gold, but the Classic is >$10 a bag less. I’m going through 2 bags a month. I wonder if the Classics would provide as much nutrition as the Gold.

  • LoveLife30

    I have fed my husky Fromm for about 6-7 months now after being referred to them. It is a wonderful food for the price and I have to disagree with Tinky1. The Adult Gold from Fromm has Duck, Chicken & Lamb. It is missing the fruits but you can always serve those on the side as I do. 

  • Lori

    We have fed Fromm for over 20 years and all of our dogs (different breeds) have all lived well past their life expectancy and we get a lot of comments on how well they look and how soft their coats are. 

  • tinky1

    Not a Good Food missing so many fruits and whole meats. Grain Free Dog Foods are best with having Better Blood Test results due to the mold in the breads and spider dropping poop in the grains before being made. Any dog food Grain Free with whole meat and meat meals too are best containing blueberries and cranberries in it. Check out Orijen and Timberwolf Dog foods : ))))) along with NuVet Plus product, your dog can live 15-18 years. https://www.nuvetlabs.com/order_new/index.asp

  • Aron

    For the Price this is great.  In my area I can get it for $1 per pound.

  • Tammy N

    I am a cat breeder and i have a blue heeler , i love this food for my cats and dogs i recommend the Fromm Gold Highly and wish i had it for my sheltie who fought for his life from the Food recall. RIP partner your loss has taught me a lot and Not to just trust either . this company has my trust, Keep up the food Grub guys thank you

  • Ted B

    I agree with Erin. I have my english black lab on the Fromm Family Classics Adult. She does well on it with no problems. For the price you can’t beat it! Its $38 a 30 pound bag.

  • erin c.

    Comparatively speaking this looks like a fairly decent dog food–especially when compared to stuff I used to give my dog.

    If this isn’t expensive, it could be an acceptable alternative.