Evanger’s Dog Food (Dry)

Share

Rating: ★★★★½

Evanger’s Dog Food earns the Advisor’s second-highest tier rating of 4.5 stars.

The Evanger’s product line includes three dry dog foods, each claimed to meet AAFCO nutrient profiles for all life stages.

The following is a list of recipes available at the time of this review.

  • Evanger’s Chicken with Brown Rice
  • Evanger’s Pheasant and Brown Rice (4 stars)
  • Evanger’s Whitefish and Sweet Potato (5 stars)

Evanger’s Chicken with Brown Rice was selected to represent the other products in the line for this review.

Evanger's Chicken with Brown Rice

Dry Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 29% | Fat = 17% | Carbs = 46%

Ingredients: Chicken, ground brown rice, chicken meal, potato product, pearled barley, chicken fat (preserved with natural mixed tocopherols (vitamin E)), carrot, celery, beet, parsley, lettuce, watercress, spinach, oat meal, catfish meal, brewers dried yeast, natural chicken flavor, flaxseed meal, egg product, monosodium phosphate, d/l methionine, lecithin, fish oil, l-lysine, salt, kelp meal, potassium chloride, natural Yucca schidigera extract, vitamin E supplement, ascorbic acid, biotin, niacin supplement, d-calcium pantothenate, vitamin A acetate, riboflavin supplement, vitamin B12 supplement, thiamine mononitrate, pyridoxine hydrochloride, citric acid, vitamin D2 supplement, folic acid, ferrous sulfate, zinc sulfate, zinc proteinate, iron proteinate, zinc oxide, copper sulfate, manganese sulfate, manganese proteinate, copper proteinate, manganous oxide, sodium selenite, calcium iodate

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 4.4%

Red items when present indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis26%15%NA
Dry Matter Basis29%17%46%
Calorie Weighted Basis25%35%40%

The first ingredient in this dog food is chicken. Although it is a quality item, raw chicken contains about 80% water. After cooking, most of that moisture is lost, reducing the meat content to just a fraction of its original weight.

After processing, this item would probably account for a smaller part of the total content of the finished product.

The second ingredient is ground brown rice, another name for rice flour. Ground rice is made from either white or brown rice and is considered a gluten-free substitute for wheat flour.

The third ingredient is chicken meal. Chicken meal is considered a meat concentrate and contains nearly 300% more protein than fresh chicken.

The fourth ingredient is potato product, a dried residue of the potato processing industry primarily consisting of potato pieces, peelings and culls.

With the exception of perhaps its caloric content and a small amount of protein, potato product is of only modest nutritional value to a dog.1

The fifth ingredient is pearled barley. Barley is a starchy carbohydrate supplying fiber and other healthy nutrients. The term “pearled” means the grain has been processed to remove its outer hull and bran, unlike whole barley. Unlike grains with a higher glycemic index, barley can help support more stable blood sugar levels.

The sixth ingredient is chicken fat. Chicken fat is obtained from rendering chicken, a process similar to making soup in which the fat itself is skimmed from the surface of the liquid.

Chicken fat is high in linoleic acid, an omega-6 fatty acid essential for life. Although it doesn’t sound very appetizing, chicken fat is actually a quality ingredient.

The seventh ingredient includes carrots. Carrots are rich in beta-carotene, minerals and dietary fiber.

The eighth ingredient is celery. Although raw celery can be very high in water, it can still contribute a notable amount of dietary fiber as well as other healthy nutrients.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With six notable exceptions

First, flaxseed is one of the best plant sources of healthy omega-3 fatty acids. Provided they’ve first been ground into a meal, flax seeds are also rich in soluble fiber.

However, flaxseed contains about 19% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

Next, this product contains catfish meal, another protein-rich meat concentrate.

Fish meal is typically obtained from the “clean, dried, ground tissue of undecomposed whole fish and fish cuttings” of commercial fish operations.2

We are pleased to note that, unlike many other fish meals, this particular item appears3 to be ethoxyquin-free.

In addition, brewers yeast can be a controversial item. Although it’s a by-product of the beer making process, this ingredient is rich in minerals and other healthy nutrients.

Fans believe yeast repels fleas and supports the immune system.

Critics argue yeast ingredients can be linked to allergies. This may be true, but (like all allergies) only if your particular dog is allergic to the yeast itself.

In addition, a vocal minority insists yeast can increase the risk of developing the life-threatening condition known as bloat. However, this is a claim we’ve not been able to scientifically verify.

In any case, unless your dog is specifically allergic to it, yeast can still be considered a nutritious additive.

What’s more noteworthy here is that brewers yeast contains about 48% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

Next, fish oil is naturally rich in the prized EPA and DHA type of omega-3 fatty acids. These two high quality fats boast the highest bio-availability to dogs and humans.

Depending on its level of freshness and purity, fish oil should be considered a commendable addition.

We find no mention of probiotics, friendly bacteria applied to the surface of the kibble after processing to help with digestion.

And lastly, this food also contains chelated minerals, minerals that have been chemically attached to protein. This makes them easier to absorb. Chelated minerals are usually found in better dog foods.

Evanger’s Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Judging by its ingredients alone, Evanger’s Dog Food looks like as above-average dry product.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 29%, a fat level of 17% and estimated carbohydrates of about 46%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 30% and a mean fat level of 15%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 47% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 51%.

Near-average protein. Near-average fat. And near-average carbs when compared to a typical dry dog food.

Even when you consider the protein-boosting effect of the brewers yeast and flaxseed meal, this looks like the profile of a kibble containing a notable amount of meat.

Bottom line?

Evanger’s Dog Food is a plant-based kibble using a notable amount of poultry and fish as its main sources of animal protein, thus earning the brand 4.5 stars.

Highly recommended.

Please note certain recipes are sometimes given a higher or lower rating based upon our estimate of their total meat content.

Those looking for a nice wet food to go with this kibble may wish to visit our review of Evanger’s Classic Dinners canned dog food.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

We rely almost entirely on the integrity of the information posted by each company on its website. As such, the accuracy of every report is directly dependent upon the quality of that data.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, due to the biological uniqueness of every animal, none of our ratings are intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in a specific dietary response or health benefit for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

To learn how we support the cost of operating this website, please visit our public Disclosure and Disclaimer page.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Notes and Updates

03/08/2010 Original review
10/08/2010 Review updated
07/05/2012 Review updated
02/08/2014 Last Update

  1. Dried Potato Product
  2. Association of American Feed Control Officials
  3. Evanger’s Customer Service, 10/8/2010
  • Jefferson Loulan

    We had an AKC Boxer who seemed to be allergic to almost everything…. except Evanger’s Whitefish & Sweet Potatoes Recipe. This is the only food we found that didn’t give her fits. AWESOME!

  • LabsRawesome

    LMAO.

  • theBCnut

    Isn’t that from “The Shining.”

  • Crazy4cats

    She’s baaaaack…..! LOL!

  • theBCnut

    I need some of those too, but I can’t remember what they’re called.

  • Bobby dog

    We just can’t keep up with this stuff can we. lol It makes sense they make kibble for other people, gotta pay the bills!

    I just refuse to give any money to Evanger’s. It looks decent. I remember now seeing Evanger’s on the WDJ list but just skimmed over it because of who the owners are. At the time I wasn’t familiar with Mid-America pet anyway. I just forgot about the list until I read your post last night! I need to get some of those vitamins that improve memory.

  • LabsRawesome

    Hey Bobby dog, I just got off the Phone with Mid America Pet. The guy said It’s a family owned company, 90% of the food they make is Victor. They do make Evanger’s kibble, ( he pronounced it Evan- ger’s, with a southern drawl. LOL) something called Cahoot? And Thrive horse feed. So I would trust Evanger’s kibble but not their canned, because Evanger’s makes that. I new Victor’s was a family owned/operated company. I didn’t know they made any other private label foods tho. Thanks for that info. :) http://www.midamericapetfood.com/

  • Bobby dog

    I absolutely agree! The list comes in their regular issue. But people post the PDF version on the Internet all of the time. My mom used to give me a WDJ subscription for a present each year. She would receive an offer for a subscription that included the list. Since they stopped including the manufacturers this year I asked for a subscription to another magazine. For me that was the most important part of the list, not necessarliy who they recommend.

  • LabsRawesome

    Oh, I thought you had to pay a membership to see their list. Doesn’t seem like it’s a very reliable source, considering the fact that they recommend Evenger’s.

  • Bobby dog

    You can find the WDJ lists on the Internet if your interested. But, they are not useful to me anymore since they stopped listing who manufactures the brands that make their list.

  • LabsRawesome

    I knew Evanger’s had a cannery, but I thought they also made their own kibble. Apparently not. Oops. I don’t really follow them because of all the dirty stuff they have done. I don’t pay for any of those lists for dog food. :)

  • Bobby dog

    I knew Evanger’s only had a cannery, but always wondered who made their dry, only out of curiousity, because I have seen good reviews. Never thought to look at the WDJ list.

  • LabsRawesome

    Evanger’s owns their own cannery. http://www.evangersdogfood.com/?p=about-us
    As the only family-owned and operated pet food cannery in the United States, we thank you and appreciate your loyalty to our products.

    Holly and Joel Sher
    Give me a sec to check on the dry.

  • Bobby dog

    Just looking on WDJ’s approved dry dog foods for 2013, they list Mid America Pet Foods as Evanger’s manufacturer. I don’t have this years list.

  • LabsRawesome

    Victor DOES NOT make Evangers. The ONLY food Victor makes is Victor’s period.

  • Shar24

    Wow! That is sooo scary

  • Betsy Greer

    Holy smokes! Did you make a report of that to the FDA? http://www.fda.gov/animalveterinary/safetyhealth/reportaproblem/ucm182403.htm

    I’d also be inclined to share that information with Susan Thixton: http://truthaboutpetfood.com/

  • Laura R

    I have been a loyal customer of Evanger’s for many years. If you just go by ingredient labels, they are a great food. I have seen complaints about the company, but our rescue dogs were doing well on the food, liked the food, and it was reasonably affordable for our rescue. Recently, I have noticed more and more issues with inconsistency in their canned foods. Sometimes runny, sometimes smells odd, sometimes a huge layer of fat (way too much). Last week, I opened a can of their Chicken Stew for one of the senior blind dogs in the rescue. I was shocked to find a huge piece of metal in the food and upon further inspection, noticed many smaller, sharp pieces of metal. It scares me because had it not been for the large piece, I might have missed the small pieces of metal and wonder if this has happened in the past. Quality control at Evangers seems non-existent.
    I attempted to notify Evangers, but so far they have not returned our emails or calls. I understand that thing can happen in manufacturing, but this could have been deadly for the dog had we not noticed. The fact that Evangers has not even responded says a lot about their company. After many years of being loyal customers and recommending their foods, we are done with their food and will never purchase again! Another interesting thing I noticed, any even slightly negative experiences or comments posted to their Facebook page seem to just disappear. Terrible for a company to be so irresponsible and show no accountability or concern for their products.
    By Nature is similar in pricing and their quality seems much better with consistency in their foods, I know what to expect when I open a can!

  • Susan Medellin

    Natural Balance has small sized kibbles and my dog loves it. She’s very picky and will ONLY eat Evangers canned grain free game chicken mixed with Natural Balance canned chicken dinner for breakfast and the Natural Balance dry chicken (hand fed – kibble by kibble) for dinner. Since I have been feeding her the Evangers, her coat has become shiny and thick. She is a special needs dog born with brittle bones and only 3 legs. I’m not taking her off the Evangers OR the Natural Balance. She has been eating Natural Balance since she was a pup and the Evangers refreshed her appetite.

  • Shar24

    great resource list, thank you

  • Barry Collier

    Victor was rated by the Whole Dog Journal is one of the best brands. So was Evangers. It was listed that Victor makes Evangers so good luck with that. I will say as someone that has been showing dogs for over 25 years, Evangers, Fromm, Blue Buffalo and Acana are very common brands breeders feed.

  • InkedMarie

    We “bash” Evangers because of being a very shady company. That has nothing to do with a recall or salmonella. Salmonella can’t hurt dogs so for me anyway, that’s not a deal breaker. For me, Diamond is also a deal breaker, since they used cardboard & duct tape on equipment.

  • Annie

    Just a heads up about Earthborn formulas—if your dog is allergic to peas, it’s one of the main ingredients in their line. I discovered one of my dogs is allergic to peas after rotating to Earthborn. Otherwise, it’s a good food at a good price.

  • Shawna

    Yeah, I have to agree with Storm’s Mom. Evangers has been in the news a lot for reasons far worse in my opinion than a recall.

    FDA found “adulterated” products — lamb food with no lamb in it (had a “bovine” substance instead) and duck with no duck in it? http://www.fda.gov/ICECI/EnforcementActions/WarningLetters/ucm255000.htm

    Evangers lost a lawsuit for not paying their employees overtime wages for hours worked in excess of 40 hours in a given week. http://docfiles.justia.com/cases/federal/district-courts/illinois/ilndce/1:2009cv00227/227424/44/0.pdf

    And they stole gas and electric in the amount of $500,000.. http://www.truthaboutpetfood2.com/evangersfiling.pdf

    I’m not sure how one could compare those offenses to a salmonella recall??

  • Pattyvaughn

    Then there are the complaints from the neighbors that were found to be true about them leaving rotting meat in trailers and body fluids dripping on the ground and the maggots and filth that were found in their floor drains, etc.

  • Storm’s Mom

    I wouldn’t put Merrick on the same level as a company (Evangers) who put ingredients into food that wasn’t on the label, and whose owner stole electricity (and then tried to bribe a witness..landing him (owner) in jail), and mistreated their employees by not paying them overtime… all of which are detailed in lawsuits or FDA letters.

  • Storm’s Mom

    Hi there, I’m not sure I would say that Amicus is “FULL of peas”…on a dry matter basis, it has at least 2, possibly 3, ingredients before the peas (chicken meal, and lentils ..both of which have more protein than peas) … and then possibly (though unlikely) turkey depending upon how much turkey was originally used before processing.

    Then you get to the 2 pea ingredients (pea and pea starch). It is unfortunate that Horizon chose to ingredient split like this, but to say it’s “FULL of peas” is a bit of a stretch, I think.

    But, yeah, if you have a dog that’s allergic to peas, most likely no amount of peas in a dog food is going to be a good thing, so you would be wise to steer clear of it.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Which numerous recalls are you referring to? Have they had any recall at all other than the one on treats, because I haven’t seen anything on their dry foods and I certainly haven’t seen anything on the canned, which is what this discussion was about.

  • hugz4all4

    you bash evangers for thier pratices but you feed Merrick, hmmm maybe you should google merrick and see what you find on that company and the NUMEROUS recalls they have had for samlonella issues. This food made my dogs eyes, paws and around the anus turn bright red.
    You guys are so easy to bash one company but feed another with even a worse reputation.
    and no I dont work for evangers nor do I feed it. Just couldnt help posting on your comments.

  • hugz4all4

    Amicus is FULL of peas and pea protien… recent articles out have not recommend this as a good ingredient in dog food. I have two dogs that are highly allergic to it. Would touch this brand with a 10 foot pole, no matter how high its rated!

  • Brinny

    I love Victor! My pup’s coat is great on it. I am also looking at different kibbles to rotate with. I also feed him raw meats and raw eggs as well.

  • Goshe

    I will not feed evangers. I believe it is a poor quality food. I have even read that the list of ingredients is not true. I feed Orijen. It is a higher protein so you must be sure your dog can handle it. Works great on my service dog.

  • hislilpigeon

    I have had my dogs on Evangers Whitefish and Sweet Potato for several months now and their coats are horrible. So dry and dull. I will be switching to something else. Any recommendations? Think I will try Victor.

  • Pattyvaughn

    How can good come out of deceit?

  • sarah

    I’m just going to say that yes, that was me. I didn’t mean to cause any harm but I was afraid that if I said anything positive, people would not like it. And my point was proven. so yes, my dogs name is Lilly and my name is Sarah. But I do love this food, and I still have never had problems with it besides things like this. I don’t get why everything on here has to be so negative and if anything good comes out of it, then it gets questioned :/ but again, I apologize.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com/ Mike Sagman

    Carmen, Sarah and Calli…

    Your use of multiple identities as evidenced by your comments posted on this and other Evanger’s articles using the same computer and IP address is a violation of Our Commenting Policy.

    This rule clearly states:

    “…the use of multiple identities or other deceptive tactics designed to mislead readers are strictly forbidden.”

    Because you have violated this policy, all your comments have been removed.

  • Carmen

    Evanger’s has been great with my dogs Lilly and Comisky. They have been fed the wet food for years. Maybe a little more expensive but I have saved so much money by not having to go to the vet. After reading your reviews, I called the company and talked to them. It seems that they have everything worked out. And assured me that it was a bad former employee.

    On the other hand, that still does not count out the fact that I think they have one of the best foods out there. I have done a lot of research and most of the other brands either outsource, use by-products or I have no idea what is going on on the ingredients list. Evanger’s is human grade, made in the USA, no preservatives or by-products and I have never had a problem. I would eat their food…actually I have had their sweet potato (Im a vegeterian and sweet potato is the only ingredient and I thought it was really sweet and pretty good). I am happy with the food and have no complaints and neither do my dogs. Evanger’s has treated them very well and I get comments on how great they look all the time!

  • Jala Duta

    Thanks so much! I guess it didn’t like the parenthesis. I think it’s fixed now…worked for me. Let me know if not :)

  • InkedMarie

    FYI, the first and the last links didnt work for me

  • Jala Duta

    Thanks, I checked out Amicus today…never would have known thank you!

  • Jala Duta

    *ISSUE with Evangers* (wanted to post this just so that there is a concise little report for any new viewers).

    1. FDA issued warning letter to Evangers May 5, 2011 because food samples tested from the company did not contain the meat advertised.

    Resolution: As of Feb 28, 2013 the FDA said the violations have been settled/fixed

    Source: (http://www.fda.gov/ICECI/EnforcementActions/WarningLetters/ucm255000.htm)

    2. Stole $2M in electricity

    Source: (http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2010/03/25/evangers-dog-and-cat-food_n_512873.html)

    3. Then, bribed witness to cover is up

    Source: (http://articles.chicagotribune.com/2013-02-09/news/chi-man-accused-of-trying-to-bribe-witness-20130209_1_bribe-witness-power-lines-gas-flow)

    4. A slough of complaints in 2008 that Evangers food (wet and dry) caused seizures, blindness, and illness in pets as well as had rot/mold/botulism issues.
    Source: (http://www.consumeraffairs.com/pets/evangers.html)

    FINAL WORD: I would not trust this brand or company. It seems that as of Feb 2013 they have cleaned up their act some…but anyone willing to go to these lengths to break the law, who knows how much they truly care about making a quality product!

  • Jala Duta

    Thanks for all the suggestions! Went to my little food shop today after work and checked out a few of the suggestions here. I ultimately wound up going with Acana “Wild Prairie.” I had him on Acana before, but he was just a little puppy (about 3.5 months old) and the kibble seemed hard for him to eat. However, he’s 7.5 months old right now and he gobbled down the Acana no problemo! Actually, since he seemed to like the Evangers I did a little test: put Evangers in one bowl and Acana in a different one. He didn’t even touch the Evangers. Like, he finished the Acana and was still hungry and sat there and waited for me to fill the bowl again…didn’t touch the Evangers at all!

  • Pattyvaughn

    Earthborn Great Plains Feast is about the size of a dime and very thin too.

  • Storm’s Mom

    To be honest, Fromm would probably be the last one on that list I’d go for. I’m presuming you are talking about the grain-free anyway (the grain-inclusive don’t have neeeearly enough protein, so I wouldn’t even touch those). I just feel that the Fromm Grain-free does not have nearly enough meat protein to a) feed on its own (wet toppers would be a must) and b) justify the price (that I pay, anyway..it’s the most expensive kibble available here). All the others are far better values.

  • Hound Dog Mom
  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    The small kibbles I have around here are Nutrisource Grain Free Lamb, Nutrisource Small and Med Breed Puppy (tiny), Epigen, and Nutrisca. Instinct/Prairie is quite small also. And yes Amicus is tiny.

  • Storm’s Mom

    Oh, another one I just remembered is Earthborn Holistic Coastal Catch. I’m not sure if the other Earthborn Holistic varieties have the tiny kibble, but the Coastal Catch definitely does.

  • Storm’s Mom

    Good luck!! Let us know how it goes with whatever you ultimately choose!

  • Jala Duta

    Ooo, thanks! I’ve been thinking about Fromm, but will need to special order it at my local pet store…I might just do that! I’ll check out those brands as well and see if I can find them. Thanks again for taking the time to write!

  • Storm’s Mom

    Amicus by Horizon would be one to check out. It’s made specifically for small breeds, so the kibble size is tiny. Nature’s Variety Instinct also has a tiny kibble size but it’s significantly more expensive. Nature’s Logic also has a tiny kibble size. Those are the 3 that immediately come to mind. Oh, Fromm also has a tiny kibble size.

  • Jala Duta

    Wow, thanks! It’s weird that all you info comes from just one site, but I guess that’s okay. I’ll be switching brands anyways because they seem dubious. I am not looking for wet food anymore. I’ve switched my dog back to dry and will use wet as a treat. I’ll probably do Weruva brand for the wet. I need a dry food that has small kibble size, like the Evangers. My puppy gobbles it down!

  • Hound Dog Mom

    I wouldn’t trust Evanger’s. Here’s some info:

    Evanger’s Pet Food Owners Accused of Stealing $2M in Gas and Electricity
    http://truthaboutpetfood2.com/evangers-pet-food-owners-accused-of-stealing-2m-in-electric-and-gas

    FDA Warning Letter to Evanger’s Pet Food Company
    http://truthaboutpetfood2.com/fda-warning-letter-to-evangers-pet-food-company

    Update on Warning Letter to Evanger’s
    http://truthaboutpetfood2.com/update-on-fdas-warning-letter-to-evangers-pet-food

    FDA Closes Warning Letter to Evanger’s
    http://truthaboutpetfood2.com/fda-closes-warning-letter-to-evangers-pet-food

    Evanger’s Pet Food Troubles
    http://truthaboutpetfood2.com/evangers-pet-food-troubles

    If you’re looking for some other reasonably priced canned options. Tractor Supply carries a canned food called 4Health that’s rated 4.5 stars and runs $0.99 per can. Costco carries Kirkland Cuts in Gravy which is rated 5 stars and runs $0.79 per can. Walmart carries Pure Balance which is not yet rated but I’d assume at least 4 stars (based on ingredients and general analysis) and runs $1 per can.

  • Jala Duta

    Ahhh! Help!!! I am currently feeding my dog Evangers and I thought it was awesome. Inexpensive/good quality…maybe too good to be true it seems. I was doing the wet food, but just switched back to the dry food (a mixture of Chic/Br Rice and Whitefish/Sweetpotato). My dog is small so I love the small kibble size and he gobbles it down. BUT…now I am worried after reading those ChiTribune reports about shady activity by the owner and the possibility of lies about the ingredients. Can we trust this brand?!?!? Whats the current sentiment? Is there another brand that you can recommend that has tiny kibble size? I used to use Acana but they are HUGE! Arggg….so frustrating and scary trying to navigate the pet food industry.

  • Pattyvaughn

    It means the Rabbinical Council is not aware that Evangers is knows for leaving meat on trucks to rot and other unsanitary, unkosher practices or it means they don’t care. Evangers is also known for lying about their practices so they can’t be believed regardless.

  • Andrew M

    To any of you who have experienced illness after feeding Evanger’s pet food, please file a complaint with the Better Business Bureau.

    The BBB just recently lowered Evanger’s rating from A to B after being notified of the ongoing FDA investigation that was begun in 2011, but there are currently no complaints recorded against the company, which gives the impression that they are a reputable business.

    By the way, the owner, Joel Sher, was arrested in February for attempting to bribe a witness in the utility theft case. http://articles.chicagotribune.com/2013-02-09/news/chi-man-accused-of-trying-to-bribe-witness-20130209_1_bribe-witness-power-lines-gas-flow

  • phaedra

    Evanger’s Kosher Line is overwhelmingly endorsed by Rabbinical Council
    of Chicago per phone conversation. Rabbinical Council is on site for the
    production of the Kosher products they produce. They said you can
    absolutely trust Evangers and they endorse without hesitation.
    SO, WHAT DO YOU BELIEVE? WHAT DOES THIS MEAN?
    WILL WE “EVER” KNOW THE TRUTH?

  • Shawna

    There are two foods that can legally make human grade claims on their labeling because they are both made in facilities that make human foods.  Weruva is one and The Honest Kitchen is the other. 

    They say this on Weruva’s webpage
    “Our formulas are produced in a human food facility using many of the ingredients and processes that are used in products made for people”  http://www.weruva.com/about-us.php

    Statements like the below one at Only Natural Pet are plastered all over the Internet.  They could not legally make this claim if the food was not human grade (aka made in a facility that produces human foods). 
    “Weruva’s all Human Grade line is made with the strictest quality control standards in place.”  http://www.onlynaturalpet.com/products/weruva-grain-free-canned-dog-food/278100.aspx

  • Jan_Mom2Cavs

    You’re right Labs…I had forgotten about that!  I used to use Evanger’s all the time and loved the food for my dogs, but one time I bought the “Hunk-o-Beef” and my dogs all got diarrhea and were slightly ill.  I suspected the food, but I had used the brand for years.  I remember that right after this was when they were finding the “wrong” protein in their cans and along with that my local store stopped carrying it.  So I moved on.  Now, my local store is carrying it again and I admit I bought a can a few weeks ago.  The dogs did fine on it, but I really just don’t feel good about feeding it, so back to Weruva/Simply Nourish I went! 

  • HealthyDogs

    Like I said I wish it were a more accurate list.  Weruva Human Style isn’t human grade, it is style, not grade. The Weruva that is not made at Evangers is made in Thailand at an undisclosed plant.  My original comment was more of a buyer beware.  We THINK our canned food is made the same place as our dry.  Not so it requires different machinery.  Evangers copacks for way more than I listed, as does Simmons and Performace Pets. 

  • Shawna

    Thanks HealthyDogs :)

    I must say, I almost panicked just a bit!!  I use a lot of Weruva but I only use the human style.  Since it is human grade it must be made in a facility that cans human products so I think I can calm myself a bit :)..  Hee hee

    I also use Merrick and Lotus so good there.  Recently I’ve started using Earthborn but it’s not a canned food so I think I’m good there too…

    THANKS again for taking the time to list these!!  If I change any of my products or add any new I’ll make sure to call to confirm first…

  • HealthyDogs

    Hey Shawna,
    It changes pretty regularly, last I knew, and as I said it changes litterally month to month and this is a very abbreviated list, Canine Caviar Cans, Evanger’s obviously, Pet Tao, Weruva (some varieties), Hound & Gatos (they tried another cannery and it didn’t work out so they are back to Evangers), Canidae and there are many more, you would have to contact the brand and ask who makes their food.  Menu Foods (the big player in the Melamine Recall of 2007)was purchased by Simmons foods in 2010.  Last I knew Simmons made Breeders Choice, Dogswell, Dr. Fosters & Smith, By Nature (some varieties), Natura (Cal Natural, Evo and Innova) Nature’s Variety, PetGuard, Solid Gold, some Wellpet. PerFormance Pet Products does Some Canidae, Castor & Pollux, Diamond (some) Fromm, By Nature (some) Mulligan’s Stew, Natural Balance, Verus.  Again, disclaimer is that it may have changed, and this is a super limited list.  The only companies other than these co-packers, that I’m aware of that make their own canned foods are Merrick and Lotus.  Wish I could give you a more difinative list.

  • Pattyvaughn

    No, it’s not just you, me too.

  • Shawna

    HealthyDogs ~~ Do you know which canned foods are processed by Evangers.  I choose not to support their company (or any buying from them) due to their employee labor issues and their stealing of utilities.  IMO that clearly demonstrates they are more concerned with profit than anything else.  Just me though.

  • Pattyvaughn

    If by law they have up to a year to make label changes, then they can do about anything, as long as they do it for less than a year.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    I do think that having ingredients not listed and/or substituting ingredients in dog foods is more common than consumers are led to believe and I agree it’s probably not limited to Evanger’s. I know I was having a conversation with my vet about prescription foods and I was saying how ridiculous it is that anyone would put a dog with allergies on those lomited ingredient foods (venison, duck, etc.) from Hill’s and Royal Canin that cost a fortune and have hardly any meat when they could just buy a quality limited ingredient 5 star novel protein/grain-free food for cheaper. She told me she agrees that these other foods are better in terms of protein, fat, etc. but that they don’t control the ingredients as strictly as the ingredients of precription foods are controlled, she said often if a company can get a cheaper price on a different but similar ingredient they’ll sub that in which would be a risk to dogs with serious allergies. At first I was kind of like yeah okay, but maybe there’s some truth to this? I think the pet industry is a pretty poorly regulated amd deceptive industry. I’m just glad I make my dogs’ food myself..

  • HealthyDogs

    The latest story on the smell issue, if you read the real reports was in 2006 or2007, as court systems go, it is now appearing. The DNA, if you go back and read, the food was then sent to an independant lab and Duck DNA was found. In October of this year,The Pet Food Industry magazine reported on a study for the industry and found of 20+ foods tested 8 did not have indredients listed, or had ingredients in the food that was not listed. They did not name brands. This is an industry issue, not contained to Evangers. A nice review of this study is in the current Whole Dog Journal. As far as there being other great canned foods, there is a good chance they are canned by Evangers. There are only what? Three pet food canneries, you have Evangers, the old Menu Foods (which changed its name after the 2007 melamine debacle) and one other. There is a good chance any canned food you are feeding is canned by Evangers.
    Not pro or con here, just clarifying so you can make an informed decision.

  • LabsRawesome

     Hi Jan, it is the owners that have problems, but also, it is the food. Remember, they tested the food for DNA of the claimed source animal, and I believe, there was no actual “duck” in the duck canned food…..

  • Pattyvaughn

    The earliest complaints about Evangers were from 2006 and there have been more fairly regularly ever since.  Most of them have to do with unsanitary conditions, the smell of rotting flesh, open containers of meat products, maggots, contaminated water puddling on the groung.  I can’t even think about buying their food!

  • Jan_Mom2Cavs

    I will say I used to love feeding Evanger’s canned food to my dogs, but I just don’t feel comfortable with it anymore.  I know any pet food company could have problems but they have had a few.  I also know that it’s the owners, mostly, that have had issues and not their food but it makes me a little nervous.  There are just too many other good to great canned foods out there I can use instead.

  • doggonefedup
  • LuvsCavaliers

    Evangers was in the paper once again…and not for a good reason.  An article in the Chicago Tribune dated December 13 states they are being ticketed for a “rancid smell” coming from their plant.  I think this food needs to be down graded from a 4 star food.  Seems there is always some problem linked to this company.  I would not trust their food anymore.

  • dog lover

    So what’s the deal with the FDA Warning Letter, dated May 2011?  That’s over a year ago.  Is everything all better now? Did Evanger respond and correct the stated problem?  Where is the follow-up on this?

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    You might like the Paleo Diet: lean meats/seafood (organic, pasture raised if possible), fruits and veggies, no grains, no legumes, no processsed foods and no dairy.

  • Jewelled Rose

    Just saying but i have seen no one mention the big problems with this brand. They have been proven to lie and mislead consumers about what ingredients are actually used in these products…what if there were stuff in it that wasnt so good for our fur babies in order to keep costs down….i prefer to make my own…or go organic..definitely do your research before you committ to a brand its not only the list of ingredients to be concerned with…..for me if meat is used i want to know how those animals were farmed and killed…..and i dont want scrap parta to be ground up and fed to my fur babies….people often buy what they can afford…what ever is easy…what ever brand is well known amd what looks better on the packaging to them and what brand that is available at the store…..and lastly you even in your own life dont need to suffer on a diet or only be a grazer (salad eater) to be healthy…..quality meats…get rid of bologna and hot dogs from your food intake…..get rid of boxed items and try not to eat too many things with artificial flavoring or preservatives….the fresjer the ingreints in your food that you make yourself and family …… the healthier you will become…think about it….start making simple changes that believe it or not do not cost anymore than going out to eat or junk food…..

  • Debfromlodi

    My dogs love Evangers wet and dry food. My daughter just changed her dogs over too. Brett Sher is a nice person, he has returned phone calls to us when we had questions. He is very helpful and I am happy I have switched my dogs from TOTW to Evanger’s.  I love the selection of wet food and my dogs really love the dry fish formula. 

  • Kari

    Hi –sorry just saw your reply–actually Trevor always has had issues since I put him on the better food–no issues when he was on Purina Pro Plan believe it or not– I always transition slowly–hes been tested for all kinds of parasites–the dr just thinks he may be one with a nervous system.  I have tried Rice, yogurt you name it.  The dr now has him on Tylan to see if that helps..I wonder if he is allergic to the yeast in the Evangers

  • Bob K

    kari – Has the black lab always had problems?  Have any foods worked for the Black Lab?  Step # 1 is a complete fecal test for parasites including: Giardia, Coccidia and Crypto.  What else is he eating?  Sticks, Rocks, dirt, Lake water, People food etc…..?  Have you tried any other foods?  Remember to transition slowly to a new food.   Ever try a little pumpkin or Yogurt?

  • kari

    I have been using Evangers Chix/Rice for a couple years now–my one black lab has diarreah a lot- my other labs are fine w/ it.  They all get 2 to 2.5 cups a day along w/1/4 cup Evangers canned–coats look awesome but the loose bowels concerns me  Vet tried to push the Science Diet perscription food..not only EXTREMELY expensive…its not rated very well on DFA

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Josiephan,

    Thanks for the tip. Evanger’s actually has now introduced both regular as well as grain-free kibbles. Both are on my To Do list for review. But due to my current backlog (and some additional help sometime after the first part of 2012), it could be a while before I get to that product line.

    Thanks again for the reminder.

  • Josiephan

    Evanger’s now has a grain-free dry kibble. I hope to see a review for it soon. Thanks!

  • Brad Stanley

    Nikki I agree with your suspicions that these posts have been taken over by Evanger’s competitors. For a customer service rep to have good grammar and then a response of that of the next one doesn’t make sense. The grammar fits of one that Ed Smith posted. I’m no detective but the name or Ed Smith sounds a little fishy too.
    I actually called the company and they very nice, helpful and knowledgeable. I told them that I would write this post after speaking with them. BTW, my dogs love Evanger’s, do well on it and no I do not work for them.

  • Gordon

    Nikki – There are plenty of customer service reps or even bosses/owners who’s grammar could be improved. I read it all the time and it’s more common than you think!

  • Gordon

    Paco’s Mommy – Ahuh, how bout being told to f*** o** in a phone call to a dog food owner? Not this food, but another. It happens a lot.

  • Paco’s Mommy

    Wow, I was going to buy the Whitefish & Sweet Potato Formula dry food as I received a sample and my dog really liked it. But, what is up with the owners response “Your a loser and you Mom must be proud of you.”? Aside from the grammatical errors, who writes that to a customer? Especially on a internet site? Has he apologized? It really makes me think twice if this is how a manufactuer treats his/her customers . . .

  • Nikki

    I’m currently feeding my dog Evanger’s Pheasant and Brown Rice, together with TOTW and a spoonful of Merrick’s Turducken. Even before I added the TOTW and Merrick’s, she was doing great on Evanger’s. She passed stool less often, and they wouldn’t be very smelly. The consistency was also good. Before, when I had her on Wellness, she pooped ALL THE TIME — Not to mention she turned her nose up at it no matter what I did. This is very good food, in my opinion, especially paired with TOTW.

    @Ed Smith: I don’t know whether to believe that you are honest and haven’t forged those emails, or to completely disregard your post. That a person hired as a customer service representative would have such poor grammar, or would say anything so insulting as they could be fired instantly, just strikes me as odd. They also have the same writing style and there’s too similar of a voice to your own in the two emails. If you could provide proof, that would be another story…

  • Gordon

    That was meant to state, “Oh, did you KNOW….”

  • Gordon

    Oh, did you Artemis’s canned products are made by Evanger’s. Their kibbles are by Diamond Pet but not their canned.

  • Gordon

    “I hear we’re you’re coming from.”….That was meant to write “where” instead of “we’re”. Perhaps I should work on my on grammar, lol.

  • Gordon

    Huh, I know how you feel Ed Smith. When the going gets tough for those that answer customer inquiries, they’ll end up resorting to counter ridiculing to an even lower standard than your heart felt concerned and inquisitive questioning.

    This is all too often the case and is representative of those placed to represent their companies, of how a lack of true professional customer servicing is the blatant case.

    For example, instead of replying to you stating, “Your a loser and you mom must be proud of you.”, I would have made sure that my grammar firstly was above board, i.e. “You’re” instead of “Your”, and an appropriate kind of reply would have been something like……”OK, Mr. Smith, I hear we’re you’re coming from. I am sorry that you’re obviously feeling wrongly done by, and I want to assure you that we at Evangers will strive to set things straight and on the level. Every business has fallacies, and we will and do intend to rectify ours and place emphasis on integrity as well as quality in our ongoing production line. Bear with us, stay tuned, and we sincerely do and want to result in your and all our customers ultimate satisfaction”

    But then many of these reps are not properly trained in appropriate public relations which is a big hole and under investment of a long term vision for winning customer confidence.

    When an owner, director, and educated Vet doesn’t know how to handle customer concerns, who is clearly not a ‘people person’, it’s not surprising that it is an unfortunate fact that many companies simply do not invest in proper professional customer handling.

  • Ed Smith

    See what you think of Evanger’s final reply to my email…

    Dear Evanger,

    Im sorry to inform that your replies to the FDA findings dont make sense to me, so I will have to stop buying your food. You keep claiming all is safe, but thats not the problem…the problem is you not using the ingredients you claim. the DNA test result is supposed to show ingredients? There could be one drop of duck blood in that can and it would show positive for duck DNA, and what abouth the LAMB??? Independently test and post result of the PERCENTAGE of DUCK or LAMB contents…I bet you dont… Regards, Ed Smith

    —————————————–

    Mr.Smith, There was duck in the duck and chicken formula and lamb in the lamb product we manufactured. You may call the lab the specializes in DNA testing since they have more knowledge in this area than myself if you care to. DNA is qualitative not quantitative so either you have the DNA or you don’t. I already wrote my congressman about this instance and now they are involved.

    Sincerely, Brett Sher

    Evanger’s Pet Food

    847-537-0102

    ———————————————

    Very strange reply. Gee, ok, since you say so…”duck in duck, chicken in chicken, lamb in lamb”. Wow that really put my mind at ease. And to tell your customers to “call the lab”??? It’s not my job to “call the lab” so to put customers mind at ease about your products, it’s YOUR job to do that. The FDA didnt find ANY ingredients you claim. How do we know you didnt correct the ingredients AFTER you were caught by the FDA??? And I understand that the FDA does NOT use DNA to test, they use actual quantitive analysis, just like you could and should do, but wont because I think you know what the results would be. And I also contacted my Congresswomen about Evanger’s Pet Food faking ingredients and commiting massive fraud on the public and they replied that there is a current investigation of your company ongoing at this time, so yes, they are involved… Thanks, Ed Smith

    ——————————-

    Your a loser and you mom must be proud of you.

    Brett Sher

    Evanger’s Pet Food

    847-537-0102

    ——————————————

    I will be sure to post Evanger’s reply on as many discussion boards as possible, along with… twitter, facebook, myspace, etc.. Very professional… Regards, Ed Smith

  • http://[email protected] Spencer

    Here is the letter from the FDA:

    * Home
    * FDA Warning Letter to Evanger’s Pet Food Company

    FDA Warning Letter to Evanger’s Pet Food Company

    * Written By: Susan Thixton
    * 5-18-2011
    * Categorized in: Pet Food Ingredients, Pet Food News

    Evangers Pet Food has received a warning letter from the FDA citing violations of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act. FDA testing found a lamb dog food did not contain lamb and a grain free duck pet food did not contain duck.

    The FDA Warning Letter to Evangers…

    May 5, 2011
    Warning Letter
    CHI-12-10

    Ms. Holly N. Sher, President
    Mr. Joel A. Sher, Vice President
    Evanger’s Dog & Cat Food Company, Inc.
    221 Wheeling Road
    Wheeling, Illinois 60090

    Dear Mr. and Ms. Sher:

    From December 2, 2010 through February 10, 2011, the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) conducted an inspection of your low-acid canned food manufacturing facility located at 221 Wheeling Road, Wheeling, Illinois. In addition, on August 19, 2010, FDA received samples of (b)(4) Lamb and Rice Dog Food from the distributor, (b)(4). This letter notifies you of the violations of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act (the FD&C Act) that we found during our inspection and from the samples we received from the distributor. You can find the FD&C Act and its associated regulations on the Internet through links on FDA’s web page at http://www.fda.gov1.

    We found that you offered for sale (b)(4) Lamb and Rice Dog Food which was adulterated. Under Section 402(b)(2) of the FD&C Act, 21 U.S.C. § 342(b)(2), a food is deemed to be adulterated if any substance has been substituted wholly or in part therefore. Our analytical sample results of this product revealed that a substance (lamb) was not detected in the product and another ingredient (bovine material) detected in the product was substituted therefore. Furthermore, this product was misbranded. Under Section 403(b) of the FD&C Act, 21 U.S.C. § 343(b), a food is deemed to be misbranded if it is offered for sale under the name of another food. This product was offered for sale under the name of “(b)(4) Lamb and Rice Dog Food.” However, the analytical sample results did not detect the presence of lamb, but detected the presence of bovine material.

    On December 14, 2010, FDA collected samples of your Evanger’s Grain-free Duck Pet Food during the inspection of your facility. We found that the Evanger’s Grain-free Duck Pet Food product was adulterated. Under Section 402(b)(1) of the FD&C Act, 21 U.S.C. § 342(b)(1), a food is deemed to be adulterated if any valuable constituent has been in whole or in part omitted or abstracted therefrom. Our investigation revealed that a valuable constituent (duck) was not detected in the product and had been omitted or abstracted therefrom. Furthermore, this product was misbranded. Under Section 403(a)(1) of the FD&C Act, 21 U.S.C. § 343(a)(1), a food is deemed to be misbranded if its labeling is false or misleading in any particular. The labeling indicates that Evanger’s Grain-free Duck Pet Food contains duck, but the analytical sample results did not detect the presence of duck in the product.

    In addition, your firm was not able to provide processing and production records upon written demand, as required by 21 C.F.R. 108.35(h), for products manufactured in 2009.

    The above is not intended to be an all-inclusive list of violations. As a processor of animal food, you are responsible for ensuring that your overall operation and the food you distribute are in compliance with the law. You should take prompt action to correct the violations described in this letter and to establish procedures to ensure that these violations do not recur. Failure to do so may result in regulatory action without further notice such as seizure and/or injunction.

    You should notify this office in writing of the steps you have taken to bring your firm into compliance with the law within fifteen (15) working days of receiving this letter. Your response should include each step that has been taken or will be taken to correct the violations and prevent their recurrence. If corrective action cannot be completed within fifteen (15) working days of receiving this letter, state the reason for the delay and the time frame within which the corrections will be completed. Please include copies of any available documentation demonstrating that corrections have been made.

    Your written response should be sent to Rosemary Sexton, Compliance Officer, U.S. Food and Drug Administration, 550 West Jackson Boulevard, Suite 15, Chicago, Illinois 60661. If you have any questions about this letter, please contact Compliance Officer Rosemary Sexton at 312-596-4225.

    Sincerely,

    /S/

    Scott J. MacIntire
    District Director

    Source: http://www.fda.gov/ICECI/EnforcementActions/WarningLetters/ucm255000.htm

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Sarah… My research confirms the issuance of this official FDA warning letter. I’ve now placed an alert link at the top of each Evanger’s review posted on my website. Thanks for taking the time to share this important news with us.

  • Sarah

    I was just sent this information from a friend. I find it disturbing that Evanger’s has had so many problems and I think many dog owners will want to take this into consideration before deciding to feed Evanger’s products to their pets.

    http://efoodalert.wordpress.com/2011/05/17/evangers-back-in-hot-water-with-fda/

  • Christy

    Any chance you can do a review of the Pheasant & Brown Rice recipe? Just really wondering how the ingredients look in this one. Thanks in advance!

  • Melanie A.

    I love this brand of dry food. I use the Pheasant & Brown Rice for my Shih Tzu, and pour the Evanger’s grain-free Signature Series stews over the top of the kibble. I vary the flavor of canned foods, but keep the dry constant. In addition to the nutritional benefits in the Pheasant and Brown Rice, I like the size of the kibble. It is very small so my shih tzu does not have a difficult time chewing, as I’ve seen with larger kibbles I’ve tried like Orijen. Thanks for the evaluation – great food!

  • Linda

    Just came across your website and was thrilled to see the 5 star rating for Evanger’s since that’s the brand I feed my dogs. The gas thing going on sounds like a disgruntled employee who must have gotten fired to start all this. Seriously doubt this allegation is true and hard to believe a company’s gas bill would be 2 million in 2+ yrs?? And I have been feeding my dogs Evanger’s for about 5 years and my dogs love the food and the nutritional quality of the food is superior. Definitely deserves the 5 star rating. Besides, this claim sounds too far-fetched and here is a comment from a reader regarding the article:
    Jay on March 24, 2010 4:36 PM
    Do you really think the Sher’s would know how to do such a thing? I would check out the ex-employee who turned them in, he knew all the details, of course he never disclosed the information until he and his wife were fired for stealing.

  • Dona

    Thank you for quick response. You answer was what I needed, I appreciate your help.

    Dona

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Dona… Like you, we’re not sure what to make of the company owner’s legal and ethical issues either. In any case, we try to stick to the only information we feel we can reliably trust: government-regulated pet food labels. And from a label reading standpoint, this product does appear to be a very good dog food.

  • Dona

    I was just at the pet store and the owner recommended this dog food. One of my four dog. a Brittany is on Taste of the Wild was losing weigh. There are no health issues. So I just wanted to add a 1/2 cup of a quality dog food that was high in grain to his diet. He recommended this… after reading about the FDA Suspention and about the owneer legal issue I am not sure what to think. Yous website say the Pheasant/brown rice dry dog food is a 4 star dog food so I would like to think it is okay to still add it to the food to put on weight or should I return the bag, I did not open it yet.

    Your thoughts?

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Alex… Thanks for sharing this disturbing story. After reading it, I’m not sure what to do about our currently favorable Evanger’s product ratings. The dog food labels say one thing about the products. Yet the alleged unethical behavior by the company’s leadership tell a different story. Makes us wonder.

    Hopefully, our readers will take the time to read these comments. Thanks again for the tip.

  • Alex

    The owners of Evanger’s were recently charged with utility theft. Their behavior is so blatantly unethical that I am forced to question the quality and content of their dog food. I no longer trust this company and would never feed their product to my dogs.

    http://www.chicagobreakingnews.com/2010/03/pet-food-firm-owners-accused-of-stealing-2m-in-eletricity-gas.html

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Chrissy… As we understand, the suspension was only temporary and the company is back in production at this time. If you need more information, Evanger’s Customer Service should be able to supply you with more details.

  • Chrissy

    I have read that The FDA suspended Evangers permit 6/12/09. Have your heard about this? What was involved and is it resolved now?

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Sumee… like us humans, dogs react differently to each recipe we offer them. And it seems the older the dog, the more prone they are to GI upsets with food changes.

    By the way, it’s crucial when making dietary changes to “dovetail” the new food SLOWLY into the old food. I’d start with no more that just 10-20% of the new food and take 2 weeks to ever-so GRADUALLY increase the new food to 100%.

  • sumee

    when I tried switching my 8 year old shepherd pit mix from EVO grain-free turkey/chicken venison to Evangers Pheasant, she had horrendous diarhhea for a week. My lab was fine though his stool was considerably softer than the rock hard EVO emissions. Both dogs are fine with brown rice, as I do give that to them with ground beef on occasion, so Im wondering what was so awful in the pheasant evanger’s?