Canidae Grain Free Pure (Dry)

Share

Rating: ★★★★★

Canidae Grain Free Pure Dog Food receives the Advisor’s top rating of 5 stars.

The Canidae Grain Free Pure product line includes four dry dog foods, each claimed to meet AAFCO nutrient profiles for adult maintenance.

The following is a list of recipes available at the time of this review.

  • Canidae Grain Free Pure Sea
  • Canidae Grain Free Pure Sky
  • Canidae Grain Free Pure Elements
  • Canidae Grain Free Pure Land (4 stars)

Canidae Grain Free Pure Elements was selected to represent the other products in the line for this review.

Canidae Grain Free Pure Elements

Dry Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 36% | Fat = 20% | Carbs = 36%

Ingredients: Lamb, turkey meal, chicken meal, sweet potatoes, chickpeas, peas, chicken fat, menhaden fish meal, potatoes, suncured alfalfa, natural flavor, minerals (iron proteinate, zinc proteinate, copper proteinate, ferrous sulfate, zinc sulfate, copper sulfate, potassium iodide, manganese proteinate, manganous oxide, manganese sulfate, sodium selenite), vitamins (vitamin E supplement, thiamine mononitrate, ascorbic acid, vitamin A supplement, biotin, niacin, calcium pantothenate, pyridoxine hydrochloride, vitamin B12 supplement, riboflavin, vitamin D3 supplement, folic acid), choline chloride, dried Enterococcus faecium fermentation product, dried Lactobacillus acidophilus fermentation product, dried Lactobacillus casei fermentation product, dried Lactobacillus plantarum fermentation product, dried Trichoderma longibrachiatum fermentation extract, mixed tocopherols (a natural source of vitamin E)

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 4.4%

Red items when present indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis32%18%NA
Dry Matter Basis36%20%36%
Calorie Weighted Basis30%40%30%

The first ingredient in this dog food is lamb. Although it is a quality item, raw lamb contains about 80% water. After cooking, most of that moisture is lost, reducing the meat content to just a fraction of its original weight.

After processing, this item would probably account for a smaller part of the total content of the finished product.

The second ingredient is turkey meal. Turkey meal is considered a meat concentrate and contains nearly 300% more protein than fresh turkey.

The third ingredient is chicken meal, another protein-rich meat concentrate.

The fourth ingredient is sweet potato. Sweet potatoes are a gluten-free source of complex carbohydrates in a dog food. They are naturally rich in dietary fiber and beta carotene.

The fifth ingredient is chickpeas, also known as garbanzo beans. Like peas, bean and lentils, the chickpea is a nutritious member of the fiber-rich legume (or pulse) family of vegetables.

However, chickpeas contain about 22% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

The sixth ingredient includes peas. Peas are a quality source of carbohydrates. And like all legumes, they’re rich in natural fiber.

However, peas contain about 25% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the meat content of this dog food.

The seventh ingredient is chicken fat. Chicken fat is obtained from rendering chicken, a process similar to making soup in which the fat itself is skimmed from the surface of the liquid.

Chicken fat is high in linoleic acid, an omega-6 fatty acid essential for life. Although it doesn’t sound very appetizing, chicken fat is actually a quality ingredient.

The eighth ingredient is menhaden fish meal, yet another high protein meat concentrate..

Menhaden are small ocean fish related to herring. They’re rich in protein and omega-3 fatty acids. What’s more, in their mid-depth habitat, menhaden are not exposed to mercury contamination as can be typical with deep water species.

Fish meal is typically obtained from the “clean, dried, ground tissue of undecomposed whole fish and fish cuttings” of commercial fish operations.1

We are pleased to note that, unlike many fish meals, this particular item appears2 to be ethoxyquin-free.

The ninth ingredient is potato. Potatoes can be considered a gluten-free source of digestible carbohydrates. Yet with the exception of perhaps their caloric content, potatoes are of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With three notable exceptions

First, alfalfa is a flowering member of the pea family. Although alfalfa is more commonly associated with cattle feeds, it can still provide healthy nutrients to any dog food.

Next, we note the inclusion of dried fermentation products in this recipe. Fermentation products are typically added to provide enzymes to aid the animal with digestion.

And lastly, this food also contains chelated minerals, minerals that have been chemically attached to protein. This makes them easier to absorb. Chelated minerals are usually found in better dog foods.

Canidae Grain Free Pure Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Judging by its ingredients alone, Canidae Grain Free Pure looks like an above-average dry product.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 36%, a fat level of 20% and estimated carbohydrates of about 36%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 34% and a mean fat level of 19%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 40% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 55%.

Above-average protein. Above-average fat. And below-average carbs when compared to a typical dry dog food.

When you consider the protein-boosting effect of the chickpeas, peas and alfalfa, this looks like the profile of a kibble containing a notable amount of meat.

Bottom line?

Canidae Grain Free Pure is a meat-based dry dog food using a notable amount of named meats and meat meals as its main sources of animal protein, thus earning the brand 5 stars.

Enthusiastically recommended.

Please note certain recipes are sometimes given a higher or lower rating based upon our estimate of their total meat content.

Those looking for a quality wet food from the same company may wish to visit our review of Canidae Grain Free Canned Dog Food.

Special Alert

Rice ingredients can sometimes contain arsenic. Until the US FDA establishes safe upper levels for arsenic content, pet owners may wish to limit the total amount of rice fed in a dog's daily diet.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, due to the biological uniqueness of every animal, none of our ratings are intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in a specific dietary response or health benefit for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

To learn how we support the cost of operating this website, please visit our public Disclosure and Disclaimer page.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Notes and Updates

12/06/2009 Original review
07/17/2010 Review updated
11/09/2010 Upgraded (ethoxyquin free)
04/12/2011 Review updated (major product line change)
12/07/2012 Review updated
11/02/2013 Review updated
11/02/2013 Last Update

  1. Association of American Feed Control Officials
  2. Canidae website
  • yuriko

    Good job Robin people need to learn to read the labels on dogs food just like we take time on our own food because if they realized what crap as ingredients purina, bebeful, science diet

  • yuriko

    I personally like the salmon because it gives them shinny coat and less chances of allergy

  • yuriko

    I would say if he or she likes a certain kind you should stick with it because he/she might like the others but if you’ve tried it and it works then you can unless he/she has a meat allergy like my kobe he can’t eat turkey

  • Shar24

    Interestingly, even though this is an adult maint. formula now, I just noticed that this is much higher in calories then Wellness Core Puppy.

  • theBCnut

    I live in the area serviced by the Diamond plant that has all the recalls and all the quality control issues. Diamond as a company has never done a major public shake up of their SC plant after one of these fiascos, so I don’t trust the company as a whole to do the right thing.

  • Anne Dorsey

    I use apple cider vinegar in my dogs food at both feedings. My wolfhound gets 2capfuls, & my akita & golden get 1cap in each feed. I started this when my 1st akita started w terrible allergies. His fur would fall out in clumps & his skin would bleed, he had blisters all over him, & he had a smelly, brown& runny discharge coming from his ears. Did ALOT of research & found out that using frontline or any other flea & tick prevention is just dousing ur animal with poison. Read the label. ..if u get any on u WASH IT OFF IMMEDIATELY! Seriously? Then y do I want to put that on my dog’s skin?? As for heartguard or interceptor or any other heartworm products, Apple cider works for that too & its all NATURAL! Because when u use those other products you might as well just open your dogs mouth & spray a can of raid down their throats. I have been using this method for 10yrs now & have not had 1 flea or tick…not even a mosquito bite. I do test them for heartworm 2xs a yr. I live in Pennsylvania & live in areas where wehave very high west nile virus & Lyme disease. This stuff really works. Oh another added benefit. Washing them in Murphy’s oil soap. Yes. What u wash ur wood floors with. You’ll b amazed at how beautiful their skin & coats feel afterwards & there’s a citronella scent that also repels insects. All of the medicated shampoos that $$ could buy couldn’t help my boys skin the way this stuff did. Im still amazed!

  • Natalie Marie Alvarez Padilla

    how did you figure that out?

  • Natalie Marie Alvarez Padilla

    Why is diamond bad?

  • Shar24

    Or maybe I am just completely wrong lol. That is definitely a possibility too. :) I do seem to remember the Pure formulas being all life stages though, and I think the cat versions still are.

  • Shar24

    I feel like they may have changed it because I noticed that whereas I seem to remember all of the Taste of the Wild formulas used to be All Life Stage foods, now if you go to their website, the High Prarie, and Pacific Stream (the ones they make puppy formulas for) are now Adult Maintenance. And I think Wetlands might be Adult Maintenance too. Canidae Pure now has a Puppy formula called “Foundations” so they may have recently changed it. Seems foolish.

  • theBCnut

    Hmm. You’re absolutely right! I wonder how I missed that. All of the Pure formulas in this review are Adult Maintenance. I thought my computer search was only for All Life Stages foods when I found this line. I must have been mistaken.

  • Shar24

    I just picked up a small bag of the Sky version and this bag says Adult Maintenance. I only paid a couple bucks for the 4lb bag so I am planning on mixing it in to stretch my little guy’s puppy food (right now its Wellness Core)

  • Crazy4cats

    And so shy!

  • Crazy4cats

    Oh, my! Lol!

  • Robin Bucklin

    Jatzu is a Japanese Chin and Shih Tzu. His name is Coby. A wonderful breed of dog!!

  • theBCnut

    My first dog was a Pekihua Terrier, pronounced Pikawa. We had many Native American friends and most others thought our dog was some “Indian breed.” They couldn’t see the Pekingese, Chihuahua, and Cairn Terrier. We didn’t often enlighten them.

  • theBCnut

    Yes, yes you are!

  • USA Dog Treats

    Hi Labs,

    I know a lady with a cocker/maltese mix aka a cocktese!

    My little rescue is a Pomke. He looks like a pomeranian with just a touch of yorkie!

    Moving on, technically breed crosses are not hybrids. Hybrids are species crosses such as a dog and a coyote which would be a dogote or a coydog. The male species is usually listed first in a hybrid.

    Even a wolf and a dog cross is (currently) not a hybrid as a dog is (currently) listed as a sub-species of the wolf.

  • LabsRawesome

    I’m so clever! lmao.

  • theBCnut

    I think you are right on about hybrids, and right on about what you call a JRT Shih Tzu mix.

  • theBCnut

    It wasn’t showing up, but there it is now. I’ve noticed that Disqus does that sometimes, usually when there are multiple new posts on one thread.

  • LabsRawesome

    Check my post to Betsy. It’s like 5 posts down from this one. :)

  • theBCnut

    I was guessing Japanese Chin and Shih Tzu, but I don’t really have a clue.

  • LabsRawesome

    Oh yeah, I guess that could work too. It looks like a Shih-Tzu to me. Really cute puppy. It’s hard to keep track of these hybrid dogs, and their hybrid names. :)

  • Betsy Greer

    I wondered too. When I looked it up, I found Japanese Chin and Shih Tzu.

  • LabsRawesome

    You’re Welcome. :)

  • Crazy4cats

    Oh, of course! Thanks.

  • LabsRawesome

    Jack Russell Shih-Tzu.

  • Crazy4cats

    So cute! Is Jatzu her name or her breed?

  • theBCnut

    Too cute for words!!!! The only issue with Canidae Pure formulas is whether or not they come from the Diamond plant in South Carolina. All of the Pure line are All Life Stages foods.

  • LabsRawesome

    Oh my goodness, your puppy is adorable!!!

  • Robin Bucklin

    One comment. The breeder was feeding this puppy Purina. I didn’t waste time gradually taking him off this garbage food. I went straight to Canidae grain free puppy. No stomach issues and no problem with stools. Doing great!

  • Robin Bucklin

    Has anyone had any experience with the new Canidae Pure grain free puppy food? I am feeding my new Jatzu this formula and she eats it without hesitation, but I know nothing about it. Also, can you rotate Canidae’s other Pure grain free foods.

  • sue66b

    Maybe try a kibble that is lower is fat% & protein..being a German shepherd they are known to suffer from Pancreatitis & have sensitive tummy/bowel…Candiae make the Life stages formulas the Platinum formula is low in fat 8.50% no chick peas or lemuges also the Lamb & rice is 12.50% fat with no chick peas or lemuges..

  • sue66b

    Canidae has just released a new Grainfree Puppy formula with 45grams of protein per cup, made with fresh chicken…

  • ImplyingFacts

    My two dogs love this stuff, and have shown no negative side effects since I started them on it about 3 months ago.

    I even switch between land, sky, and sea varieties and they still have no negative reactions.

  • Nancy Calloway

    Amber – I just saw this and I have been battling diarrhea with my 22 month old GSD since FEBRUARY bec I was trying to get him off TOW also! He had pudding poops after I reached 50/50 with both Origen and Acana. I decided it MUST BE THE LEGUMES (chickpeas) and maybe the richness of the food. I think I remember that Canidae has chick peas. I could of course be wrong, but it is something for us to consider moving further.
    Now looking at fewer ingredients foods. Dr Tim’s is one I shall try.
    Good luck.

  • theBCnut

    The Pure line is for sure manufactured at all the different manufacturer that Canidae uses, including Diamond. The only way to be sure that you are getting Pure from Ethos is to buy in Texas, and even then it might depend on where in Texas. You could try asking for the info at Petco, but I wouldn’t hope for too much.

  • Amelia

    Does anyone have any updates on the Pure formulas? I was just reading through the comments from the past and I am planning on switching my 3 to Canidae Pure Elements. I live in Nebraska and am going to buy from Petco. Just curious if anyone found out if the Pure line is for sure manufactured in Ethos.

  • Amber McNeil

    Yes, I have given them canned pumpkin before – no luck. I switched them from TOTW because they started turning their noses up to it, so I decided to rotate them. They also both had dark discoloration at the base of their nails so I thought a switch might help. If I have no success with Canidae, my 2nd choice will be to give Blue Wilderness a shot.

  • Betsy Greer

    I agree with BCnut. I think it’s time to switch to something else.

    Have you tried adding some plain canned pumpkin to their food? That might help firm things up a bit while you get ready to switch to something else. Because they already have diarrhea, you could probably also go ahead and make a quick switch to something else.

    Was this just a rotational switch or were you switching from TOTW for a particular reason? As much as I dislike Diamond products, if they were doing OK on TOTW, I’d probably go ahead and switch back to that while their systems calm down.

    I had great luck making a quick switch to NutriSource Adult Chicken and Rice when I had a pup with lots of loose stools.

  • theBCnut

    I wouldn’t have given it this long. When you transition, you shouldn’t add more of the new food until the stool is normal on the previous amount and if the stool starts to get loose when you up the amount of new food, you should go back to the previous amount for a couple days then try adding a smaller amount of new food. After all this time, I would assume there is something about this food that doesn’t agree with your dogs.

  • Amber McNeil

    I slowly transitioned both of my bull terriers to Canidae from TOTW and both have had yellowish pudding-like diarrhea and horrible gas the entire time. They are on their 3rd bag of Canidae and I finally decided to put them both on anti-diarrhea meds, which seems to be helping. I was very hopeful about this food because of the great reviews and high ratings, but I don’t know how much longer I should give this food until I switch them to something else…

  • EdannatheHusky

    Least I won’t feed my dog junk you should educate people feeding junk food not worrying about something like grammar you nazi.

  • EdannatheHusky

    Don’t get what your problem is I was just asking a friendly question and I’ve already been at school and passed everything with flying colors, I won’t listen to you anyways because I’m going to prove everyone whose rude wrong…

    Someone’s a grammar nazi! You do realise no one likes nazis right? So you should totally not be one.

  • alexis

    i don’t want you to own a dog. i want you to go to school.

  • EdannatheHusky

    Trying to learn as much about all things dogs as I can while my memory is at its peak :p only 24 and I have memory problems woot! Among other problems which are just as un fun! Anyways while I’m remembering I’ve been reading a lot and is kibble really worth buying at all? After months of different research I’m really not sure i ever want to feed it… It’ll be several years before I get my dog cause I live at home and my dad doesn’t want anymore dogs and I’m just wondering from the many people on here whether I should in the future or not? I’m gonna try raw from the start and see how my dog is after that and of course I’m gonna take up a dog history and all that course unless someone has a book they know of so I don’t spend $750 on a course that has all the same stuff as 1 book? Or a few books? Not costing anywhere near that amount? Cause I wanna learn everything I need to take care of a dog in the best possible way and also I want to do the $2500 dog training course and of course I need to keep reading and watching videos on the best way to do the raw diet, I’d probably be feeding k9 natural and/or barf and than just add any extras that are needed based on what I would of learned after my several years of research since I read about dog foods and supplements every single day! I’m mad! So yeah is kibble worth the extra cost or if you go raw just stick to raw and add supplements?

    Not sure it says but I’m from Australia and we really don’t have very many good options to choose from here, perhaps in the years to come we will have some better stuff I can only hope that when the time comes around that there will be some better foods on the market for my puppy.

  • mhb2004r

    My White Shepherd was allergic to all poultry (and pollen), had IDB, and ended up passing of cancer. Be sure there is no poultry ‘meal’ either…I never noticed the Blue Wilderness duck had chicken meal. It took me his whole life to figure it out and ended up on Merricks Grain Free which he LOVED…the Texas Beef one has no poultry at all…fish changed his poo to REAL STINKY so he was stuck with beef…but he was quite happy to eat steak in his dry Merricks.

  • Cate

    I haven’t tried Holistic Select yet but thanks for the reminder about it. That is interesting what you say about kibble hardness, Susan. I have wondered myself whether or not that plays a part in my dog’s problems. I have also wondered whether it is the higher protein foods that she doesn’t like. I do lots of wondering…not much concluding.

  • susan

    My boy is on a vet diet, it has helped & his poos are good but he’s having troubles keeping on his weight & gets stomach acid after he has eaten his kibble,I was worried about the protein, fat & the fiber being higher then he’s use too.. having IBD if he can have a higher protein diet. I suppose I’ll have to try it & see what happens,

  • susan

    Holistic Select has a single protein thats just Duck have you tried that one & it is Hydrolized kibble so it digests easier.. When I buy a new kibble I boil the jug I put 2 kibbles in the cup of boiled water for about 40sec then I take one of the kibbles out with a spoon I get another spoon & try to crush the kibble inbetween the 2 spoons, if it breaks up easly I know that the kibble will digest good in his tummy.. I found kibbles with potato dont break up quickly even after being in the cup of boiling water for 1 min so I stay away from the harder kibbles as my boy doesn’t chew his kibble sometimes than we have tummy pain 1 hour later.. the Holistic Select Duck Meal Formula does break up easy..

  • Cate

    Hi Susan. I have recently had my dog on Canidae Pure Sky. I have had problems finding a food for one of my dogs in particular. She is 7 now and most of her life I have been on a never-ending quest to find a food she can tolerate. She problems with her skin and tummy. Having the two problems has complicated the whole thing. For a year or so she was doing really well on Canidae Pure Elements but she ended up not being able to eat it for some reason. She then went on to a series of other foods. A few months ago, after a food exclusion trial, I did have her on Artemis Osopure Duck temporarily and that seemed to be ok by her. but I switched back to Canidae when they bought out the new recipes a little while ago. She went onto Pure Sky for a couple of bags. I thought it was would be a better food and it was similar recipe to the Artemis Duck. Unfortunately it didn’t work for her at all. I then tried her on Wellness Core Original and that didn’t work either. She wouldn’t even eat that by day 3. Which got me wondering if it is the Turkey or Chicken in the Pure Sky and Wellness Core that doesn’t agree with her. The Artemis is duck only. But that is pure speculation on my part. Who knows what else it could be?!? She is now on BlackHawk Lamb and Rice and doing quite well on that. Her coat, within a few weeks, is now soooo glossy and no tummy rumbles. I will get her on Artemis Duck again and also try the Canidae Pure Land and see how we go rotating those three with some homemade too. So, I don’t know. I think it is just a matter of trial and error and seeing what works for your dog and whether you know exactly what your boy has a problem with.

  • Lara

    Susan,
    I have a German Shorthair Pup who is 10 months old. I have wanted to feed him the best we could afford. Started him on blue buffalo large breed puppy and then switched him to the blue buffalo wilderness. He always had stool and gas issues. Did a lot of research..Long and short I put him on Natural Balance grain free duck which had solved all his issues, but there is not enough protein and he started losing weight. Calorie content was too low. Just started Canidae Pure Sky and the transition has been perfect no digestive or stool issues. Been about two weeks and going great. Best of luck

  • susan

    I found a Pet Store that sells the Canidae & I want to try the grain free kibble Pure Sky, but my boy has a sensitive tummy, IBD & I was wondering has anyone tried the Canidae Kibble that has a dog with a sentsitive tummy & which one worked for them or didnt work..

  • Malen

    I posted this photo of the kibble difference on Canidae’s Facebook. They towed the same line of bs (small batches, natural foods batch to batch will look different, blah blah blah). Apparently, they didn’t like it when I mentioned the part about having 4 different processors (Diamond being one), yet Ethos on every bag. They immediately took down the post. The way that this company is handling a simple discrepancy in the look of food supposedly of the EXACT same formula, makes me wary if ever there was a recall. I’m done feeding this food to my dogs, others can make their own judgment calls. Canidae wants me to believe that this was the same formula, just looks different because it was another “small natural batch”. Sorry, that’s a different food. I should send the batches for analysis to see exactly HOW different they are.

  • Malen

    They didn’t say they can’t track it, they just brushed me off. They HAVE to be able to track it. It’s part of the requirements to be a pet food manufacturer and to be in compliance with any recall.

  • Malen

    I agree. Either chicken based or no meat at all. Mind you, I sent these exact photos to Canidae.

  • Malen

    They are both supposedly the exact same formula, according to Canidae. They are obviously not the same according to anyone with eyes…..and my dogs intestines. I have no intention of feeding this food anymore

  • Bob K

    With the bag serial number, lot number etc…… they can track the bag of kibble to a mfg. plant and perhaps the source of some of the ingredients, shipper, date of mfg. time of mfg., machinery used if they want. The ERP software has been available for over a decade. If they say they can’t track it, you are talking to the wrong person or the company is not run properly and you should find another kibble.

  • Pattyvaughn

    That looks like a chicken based dog food. I agree, not good enough.

  • Bob K

    Malen – Not only is the color different, the size of the kibble appears different. Are you sure you are comparing the exact formula? Take the refund they offered and if you are concerned, vote with your wallet and choose another brand of kibble. I have been feeding Diamond Natural to my dogs for over 5 years without incident.

  • Malen

    Update: Canidae will not provide any identifier to tell which bags are made at Diamond Pet. This picture is supposedly of the foods Canidae states as “Canidae is Canidae” no matter which plants it’s processed in. The lighter food made my dogs intestinally sick, as if switching to a different food. To me, it looks like it’s lacking meat, perhaps?? The bison? Which is the whole reason for feeding it.
    Bottom line: Canidae wants me to ship a 24lb opened bag of food that made my dogs sick back to the retailer for a refund or mail Canidae the UPC from the bag to get a voucher for another bag of food that they can’t tell me where it’s been manufactured.
    Sorry. Not good enough.

  • Malen

    Well, after some back and forth btwn me and a rep from Canidae, the bottom line is this: Canidae claims that “Canidae is Canidae” no matter where it’s processed, yet I had 5 bags of food, 3 entirely different in looks and manufacturing origin from the other 2, purchased at 2 different online retailers. Two of the bags made my dogs sick, as if they had switched foods entirely. Canidae also, apparently has “100% satisfaction guaranteed”, yet wants me to return an opened bag of food to an online retailer whose return policy clearly states they accept unopened bags and customers must pay return shipping (roughly $20). I asked Canidae directly for a refund of an opened bag of food, which will likely make my dogs sick again due to the same look of the food and manufacturing codes as the other bags that made them sick.
    We’ll see what the rep comes back with, but at this point, if Canidae thinks Diamond is quality, hides behind their retailers for returns and can’t readily tell me where a food was processed, I’m done. I’ve already purchased Orijen Regional Red. I’m hoping that works for my dogs.

  • InkedMarie

    I have the holistic open sky, wilderness and wild ocean on my list.

  • Alexandra

    Lol, I see it on the next reply!

  • Alexandra

    Hi Betsy,

    Glad to head that! Do you feed the grain free varieties? If so which ones have you used?

    I’m looking at the Wilderness first…I’m trying Dante off of poultry.

  • Alexandra

    I have never had an issue with their customer service, of course it has been at least a year since I talked with them.

    I really loved the old Venison grain free that they had. They dropped the protein quite a bit with the current formulas…

  • Betsy Greer

    In particular, lamb or chicken with pearl millet. I also have a bag of Wild Ocean GF that we’ll open soon ~ that’ll be a new one for him.

    I used Wilderness GF before, but wasn’t doing a good job of keeping track of how things worked for him then. I don’t remember any problems with it though.

  • InkedMarie

    Which CC does Sam do well on?

  • Betsy Greer

    Hi Ali,

    Both of mine love CC! Sam, my yeast prone pup, does amazingly well on it. It’s one of his best and it’s firmly rooted in our rotation…, bad customer service and all!

  • Pattyvaughn

    CC has one food with pearl millet that I can try on Micah. I’m looking for single grain foods with no chicken or tomato to try with him. He could probably handle 3 of the grain frees too.

  • InkedMarie

    Two or three CC are on my list. Don’t like some of what I’ve heard about their customer service but if it works, I’ll add it to his rotation.

  • InkedMarie

    There were so many foods that I sent to my vet; most of the limited ingredient diets are made by makers not on my preferred list. I’ll be interested to hear what she says

  • Pattyvaughn

    I’ve been having good luck with Earthborn Holistic Grain Free Great Plains Feast. I have a bag of Coastal Catch to try soon.

  • Pattyvaughn

    If Canidae thinks Diamond is up to their standards then I’m guessing we were wrong about how high we thought Canidaes standards are.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Yes, all the Natura foods were recalled. One single recall doesn’t bother me too much, if they handled it well. They were ok, not great, but ok. If they start showing a pattern of recalls then I wouldn’t even try them, but I feel recalls can happen to any company at some time. It’s what they do about it that counts.

  • Pattyvaughn

    I don’t doubt it one bit.

  • Pattyvaughn

    How very pompus of them.

    “CANIDAE is CANIDAE that is why we have our
    Ethos plant on the back of our new bags.”
    It does sound like they can’t even imagine why some might have an issue with a Diamond produced food. Too bad!!

  • Malen

    Both of my dogs did really well on Pure Land, but these recent bags were 2 different foods, not “variations” of lots. The difference in the kibble is obvious.

  • Malen

    I’m really frustrated bcz both my dogs did well on the Pure Land. I’m completely bummed out to have to hunt, yet again, for foods.

  • Pattyvaughn

    I absolutely agree with you!! I really like how my dog does on their food, but I won’t risk getting a bag of Diamond made food. I’ve been caught by every one of Diamonds past dog food recalls. That is not going to happen again.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Probably the only way to know would be to buy from some place in TX, but even then, you really don’t know. I hope they are forthcoming with info on how to tell, but I won’t be holding my breath.

  • Alexandra

    Hi Malen,
    Thanks for the information!
    I wouldn’t trust ANYTHING from a Diamond plant…given Diamond’s shoddy history, they don’t live up to Canidae’s high standards.
    its a shame. Their new formulas looked pretty good and I was giving some serious consideration to trying this product on my GSD.
    I thought that after the last Diamond recall, that they were going to sever ties with them…Guess that didn’t happen.

  • Malen

    California Naturals had a recall in March 2013 for salmonella. It’s a full time job trying to keep up with what’s safe, changed, recalled…

  • Malen

    See the above response that I posted for Alexandra. I feel that full transparency is a requirement. If a bag is processed at XYZ plant, it should be CLEAR to the consumer that it’s processed there. If Ethos manufactured ALL of the recipes and the other plants only packed, I can see having Ethos on the bags. But the actual recipes being made at the other plants…sorry, I don;t care where the recipe originated, no matter how much they assure me it’s safe. Diamond has had problem after problem.

  • Malen

    According to the rep: ”

    Ethos
    Pet Nutrition is our own advanced research and development center as
    well as our pet food manufacturing facility which serves as our
    flagship food and treat facility. We also have our recipes produced at
    several other facilities across the United States including Diamond Pet,
    Performance Pet, and Hampshire Pet. These facilities are all committed
    to achieving CANIDAE’s extremely high standards
    for quality and safety. CANIDAE is CANIDAE that is why we have our
    Ethos plant on the back of our new bags.”

  • Malen

    The bags with the info in middle were Petfooddirect.
    Chewy.com bags had the lot# at the top.

  • Alexandra

    I called Chewy, since this was on my short list for Dante for Limited Ingredient, and they really couldn’t answer which plants they had. So given that, I have to cross it off of my list.

    So it looks like I’m going to try one of the Canine Caviar foods for the LID.

  • Pattyvaughn

    California Naturals is on my list for Micah, I can’t wait to try it, even though it’s a P & G food. Boy, I must be getting desperate.

  • InkedMarie

    It’s a Natura Pet food so manufactured by proctor & gamble but California Natural has grainfree limited ingredient foods. Also, Wellness Simple.

    I feel your pain. I’ve had one of mine on NB lid sweet potato & fish with great results; I just hate the food. I’m speaking to my holistic vet the end of the month about a few other foods to try him on. These three are on my “possible” list.

  • Pattyvaughn

    I called over the summer, and while I can’t remember word for word what they said to me, they implied that Ethos made the Pure line, not Ethos and every other maker of their food. I did try it, in fact I have a partial bag now, and Micah does GREAT on this food, but I still won’t be getting any more of it, if I can’t tell who made it.

    They definitely have several different copackers.

  • Alexandra

    So, what they show on once website is likely untrue? The way they depict Ethos is that they are the makers of the food.

    Glad I didn’t almost try it. I won’t feed anything from Diamond.

  • Pattyvaughn

    I feel your pain. My dog can’t have chicken, many grains, or tomato. I thought the Canidae Pure line was going to be an excellent choice for him, but I won’t risk feeding a Diamond food. I’m very interested in what they have to say about how to tell where the food comes from. So were the bags with the info in the middle from petfooddirect or chewy?

  • Malen

    I have been feeding Canidae Pure Land for about 1 1/2 years to my 2 husky mixes. Recently, I purchased from Petfooddirect.com and Chewy.com and when switching from one bag to another, noticed that the kibble was entirely different. My male, who has allergies, etc., acted intestinally as if he had been switched to a new food. I thought maybe it was the one bag. Not so. Some of the bags have the lot#/expiration date at the top of the bag, some in the middle of the bag. I emailed Canidae and the rep told me that because it’s a natural food and made in small batches, there is variation within the batches. She requested I send pictures, so I did. I sent her pictures of the bags from Chewy and Petfooddirect, the lot# stamps and two bowls of each of the foods side by side, which you can clearly tell are different. I also wanted clarification if the food is manufactured in a Diamond plant, and why, if that’s the case, there are Ethos pictures on the bags. She stated that Ethos is Canidae’s research facility which is why it’s on the bags, and Diamond does some of the manufacturing, along with Performance Pet and Hampshire Pet. Additionally, she asked which lot# corresponded with the lighter formula, which I thought nothing of until I looked again at the Pure Land bags. The lighter colored kibble looks absolutely nothing like the picture denoted on the bags of food. The bags I got from Chewy.com have kibble that resemble what the picture on the bag looks like. The bags from Petfooddirect, quite frankly, look like Purina type, light colored stuff. (I’m in no way accusing Petfooddirect of anything. Just stating what bags came from where). It was curious that the Canidae rep immediately asked about the light colored kibble, not the dark. I emailed her back, requesting information on how to tell what foods were manufactured in the Diamond plant, they HAVE to have this information or they are not compliant with quality control. I will wait to see if she has the guts to tell me, or tows the line for the company, but I am not comfortable feeding a food from Diamond at all. Now I’m really irritated that I have to look for another food, as my male is incredibly allergic. I think Chicken is one of his allergies, which negates almost every food out there. I thought maybe I’d try Venison or Rabbit, but many of the foods have a chicken fat or pork (which I don’t want to feed him). I’m looking at Acana Grasslands or Orijen Regional Red, but holy cow, these are expensive. I’m also not quite sure why a company would put juniper berries, lavender and marigold in their foods, as these are allergy triggers.
    When they were puppies, we fed Merrick grain free, but my male had horrible diarrhea on it.
    My past dogs ate Natural Balance Venison, which one was of the last recalls in the China pet food scandal and I’m quite convinced had alot to do with 1 dog’s death, also, that formula had rice in it, which probably had high levels of arsenic.
    Ugh. This is really frustrating.

  • Karina Salas-Amparo

    It’s official! My Chow’s favorite protein is duck. She goes wild after smelling Canidae Pure Sky and Acana Duck and Pear. I like the higher protein of Pure Sky though. No more problems feeding the picky eater.

  • ChristieB

    After FINALLY figuring out that the tomato pomace in Wellness was causing my chihuahua to have tear stains, I switched him to Canidae Pure Land. He loves it, and the tear stains are gone. Love this product!

  • LeahA

    Yes I do like to feed a variety and thanks I will look into those!

  • Pam c

    Yes this also what they stated in an e-mail several days ago. (Ethos + Diamond Pet, Performance Pet, and Hampshire Pet). I also live in N.Y. and would like to avoid Diamond. Thanks for posting.

  • InkedMarie

    Wonder what happens to people who buy online?

  • Pattyvaughn

    It would depend on where your distributor gets it from. If your distributor is really 3 or 4 distributors all over the country, they could potentially but from another plant and have it trucked in. If not they likely got it in TX. I haven’t tried looking at the codes on the bags I have and calling Canidae, but I’ve thought about it.

  • Melissaandcrew

    I have no idea. You need to call and ask them which plant supplies your area.

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    So if I live in Tx, will I get Ethos-made food?

  • Pattyvaughn

    Yep!!

  • Betsy Greer

    I hate that. It’s almost worse that they seem to be using the whole Ethos thing as a ruse.

  • Pattyvaughn

    The bag even has a little advert for Ethos on it so you will think that the food was made there.

  • Melissaandcrew

    That does stink. It kills me that the they use Diamond-most of the pure foods would work “fat wise” for my crew.

  • Pattyvaughn

    It sounds like I understood wrong. I thought I understood, over the Summer, that the Pure formulas were made at Brownwood, but the other formulas were still made at both Brownwood and by Diamond. I have no idea what their rep said to me that gave me that impression, but that was what I thought I heard when I hung up with them, so I recently tried Canidae Pure Sky. And Micah is doing great on it, rats! I will not risk getting a Diamond food, so I’m back to 2 brands that he can eat. Bummer!

    They also told me that they had no intentions of leaving Diamond entirely.

  • Melissaandcrew

    Hi patty-
    Since when? Last time I called(this past spring) all foods were made at all plants, and where “yours” came from depended on what state you lived in. NY’s foods came from Diamond in SC, which was a huge NO for me. If its true that the pure formulas are all now made at Ethos, I might give it a try. They told me at that time that they had no plans on making all their own food/dropping Diamond as a contract facility.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Let us know if they get back to you.

  • Pam c

    Based on the response I received from Canidae, I would not feel comfortable feeding this.
    Edit: I tried calling and they said I could leave a message and they’d get back to me.

  • Pattyvaughn

    All of the Pure formulas are supposed to be being made at Ethos in Brownwood, Texas, but I’m with Sandy, since that could change at any moment, I would call and make sure before buying.

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    If you like to feed a variety, you might check out Nature’s Logic and Amicus. These kibbles are tiny.

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    Canidae opened their own plant but I would contact them and ask to be sure if this is made there or somewhere else.

  • LeahA

    I have a 9 month old yorkie and he loves Canidae pure sky with duck. I used to have him on Whole Earth Farms but his hair was falling out because of all the grain that’s in it. I switched to this and his hair grew back and he is doing so much better! He loves the taste and likes when I soak it in water. For canned I feed Pure Balance 95% meat, Happy Hips grain free, Whole Earth Farms grain free and Evolve grain free cans.

  • Pam c

    I really wanted to try out either pure sky or elements. Looks like I’m going to pass because I don’t want to buy food that was potentially packed at a Diamond plant :(.

  • ALV

    Ah ha! Good to know. To me chickpeas are a gimmick and it is making chickpea farmers very happy right now.

  • Betsy Greer

    Since having been reformulated, I believe the Canidae grain free formulas now contain chickpeas. My Golden gets gas and soft stools on chickpeas and after a while, my Cavalier strains to poop. I avoid chickpeas altogether and unfortunately, that seems to be the new trend.

  • ALV

    That I don’t know, Betsy, but good point. All i know is that something about the new food seriously disagrees with my dogs’ digestive tracks. And my dogs really aren’t that sensitive.

  • Betsy Greer

    I haven’t checked myself, but has the calorie content decreased? That could further contribute to the argument that the price had actually increased.

  • ALV

    As a corollary to your use of SRP to claim the price on Canidae has gone down, we can also say, using your data, that the old SRP is between $2.13 – $2.33 per pound of this food. And the new food has an SRP of $2.29 – $2.50 per pound. Also still looks like a price increase to me. Any way you look at it, the price has increased.

  • ALV

    AS, I don’t like misinformation on the internet for all to see either. I also don’t like partial information that is misleading such as the paragraph you wrote. You are missing most of the important data and the data you do give is called SRP, which is suggested retail price. Not real information at all.

    So let’s examine this problem with better information. Canidae Grain Free Pure now comes in three sizes. The largest bag is 24 pounds. In the old version of this food, the largest bag was 30 pounds. The last time I bought the old version in Feb 2013, the cost of my 30 pound bag was $63.98. My cost for that same bag for much of 2012 was $59.98.

    If I were to buy the new version of Canidae Grain Free today at the exact same location that I used to buy the old version, I would be paying $54.98 for a 24 pound bag. Now let us do the arithmetic. Old version works out to $2.13 per pound. New version works out to be $2.29 per pound. That, AS, looks like a price increase to me.

    There are plenty of other grain-free choices on the market that are less expensive than the new version of Canidae grain free. I just made a cursory scan and there is Nutrisca, Nature’s Variety Instinct, Taste of the Wild, Earthborn Holistic, Blue Wilderness, and Natural Balance to name a few. I am currently using Earthborn and it doesn’t give my greyhounds diarrhea like the new version of Canidae does.

    Do you honestly believe that a corporation is going to lower the price of one of their products and thereby cut into their profit margin? Why on earth would they do that? Out of the goodness of their heart or concern for consumers and their dogs? Really? You are either naïve or a rep from the Canidae dog food company.

  • Pattyvaughn

    55-60 lb bags, seriously? I haven’t seen a 55 or 60 lb bag of dog food since the ’70s or ’80s. I don’t compare prices except by price per pound of food, because if the food is 2 buck per pound for a 40 lb bag, it will be $80, but if it is $2.25 per pound for a 30 lb bag it costs $67.50. So you may shell out less, but you are still definitely paying more.

  • AS

    ALV, I hate to see people with misinformation on the internet for all to see–the new Pure formulas bag size went down but so did the price. Consumers are quick to assume that prices always go up but that wasn’t the case on these bags old srp between 64-70$ new srp 55-60 on big bags. Small bags retail around 14.99- no other grain free with this quality at that kind of price.

  • William Henneberg

    OK, got it. Thank you for the clarification.

  • Pattyvaughn

    If the overall rating is for 5 stars then any foods that have earned a different rating are noted in parentheses. No special notes, 5 stars.

  • Crazy4cats

    I think it is noted on the list as 5 stars.

  • William Henneberg

    I’m a little confused……First, we read, “Canidae Grain Free Pure Dog Food receives the Advisor’s top rating of 5 stars.”. ….Then, a few lines down, we read: “Canidae Grain Free Pure Land (4 stars)”…………Does Canidae Grain Free Pure Elements get 5 stars, even though it is not noted on the list?

  • Heather

    Oh, has anyone tried Dinovite?

  • Heather

    Why did the Grain Free Pure Land only get 4 stars? My lab/dane mix has an affinity towards bison based food. Any suggestions on other brands? Canidae is pretty pricey, but I don’t want to sacrifice quality.

  • bsoslander

    My dentist uses a product called Nimble on her horses and five Westies. Available through a vet in So. California.

  • bsoslander

    Forgot to add, try Zuke’s Hip Action. I don’t know if it helps yet, but dogs tolerate it very well. I also now make my own sweet potato “jerky” and that is enjoyed without digestive issues–I do limit how many they get daily. My shepherd weighs 90 lbs. and I give him 2 cups a day, plus some treats. He’s lost nearly all the weight he needs and will shortly be eating more! ditto the new little rescue, who came weighing 35 lbs. and should be about 25. She’s below 30, doing great, and can still enjoy a treat or two daily–Nutro now sells dental treats. The thing I really like is that they’re getting enough FOOD, because before I felt like I was starving our big dog.

  • bsoslander

    Try Fromm Gold. I recently switched my german shepherd to it along with a new rescue who needed to lose some weight. Both are looking wonderful, coats shiny and they’re satisfied. I like that I can feed them this plus some treats and they are no longer starving or getting intestinal issues because I’m cutting the kibble with vegetables which apparently causes issues. I was using Nutro Natural Choice Senior Lite (or whatever it’s called) and had to cut the quantity down to nearly nothing for my big guy. This is much better.

  • bsoslander

    You can try rolling something really sexy like turkey or salmon in the powder. Also, take the long view or try incorporating the powder a 1/4 tsp at a time in her meals? Put it all in her bowl, add a little water to generate juice and sprinkle, stir, etc. All you can do is try until you figure out something that works. Good luck.

  • bsoslander

    You can make your own sweet potato treats: slice large sweet potatoes lengthwise into 1/3″ thick slices (crosswise for small dogs), put on rack inside cookie sheet, bake for about 9-10 hours at 170 degrees. NOTHING in them except sweet potato. They turn out sort of chewy, thinner ones are crunchy. My big guy and little guy both like them. I live in Las Vegas, so I store them in an open container. I only use about 3 sweet potatoes at a time, but I understand if they’re not completely dehydrated they can get kinda funky. Definitely worth the experiment.

  • bsoslander

    sweet potato gave my german shepherd colitis. Have to be careful, introduce slowly to see what happens. To at least give emergency nutrition, try Nutri-Cal (Vetoquinol mfr.) or baby food, poached salmon, tuna.

  • bsoslander

    Yes, my german shepherds had ear problems and itchiness, didn’t connect it to the food until the second one and read a comment in a breeder’s website about Canidae and reports from her customers having ear issues. Once I switched the itching stopped.

  • Pattyvaughn

    That sounds like a food intolerance/allergy. You should definitely keep the ingredients list and if she ever reacts to a food again, compare list to see if you can figure out what she is reacting to. Also use the list to compare to foods that you know she does well on so you know which of the ingredients are not the culprit.

  • linda

    Yes I have…my coondog has been on it ( the pure sea) for 3 weeks and she has broken out in a terrible rash across her tummy and privates and is itching like crazy, I feel so bad, I thought I was making a better choice, clearly this was a mistake! Will be going back to EVO, never had these problems before!

  • Kinny Salas

    My Dog loves Duck best so the Pure Sky is one she will gobble up even when served without toppings. Her skin looks great and her Chow Chow fur becomes so lush!

  • Sdelaney22

    I heard from Canidae today. They said the Brownwood plant is manufacturing all the products and if I live in Texas, which I do, then chances are the food is from Brownwood. Which also suggests there is still manufacturing at Diamond. They offered to check my code on the bag and let me know where the food came from. They were real nice and responded to my email within 10 minutes. So, Brownwood facility makes more than just cat food. FYI everyone!

  • Pattyvaughn

    The thing that makes me think it isn’t Evangers is the ingredient list and the GA. Evanger foods GAs don’t match the ingredient list. They report low protein and low fat on a no carb food to disguise how much fat is actually in there. The Canidae GA is in line with the ingredient list. Still just speculation, but that’s my take on it.

  • Betsy Greer

    I would email Canidae and ask them, posthaste! I would definitely not want to use anything that Evangers has touched. Something makes me think it’s not Evangers though (maybe that’s just wishful thinking) because I don’t think they’d want to be associated with Evangers. Look at how they moved what they could of their kibble production to their own facility. That’s a whole lotta speculation on my part though. : )

  • InkedMarie

    Crap, I hope it’s not Evangers. Canidae is one of four canned foods I can find with certain protein, fat and fiber levels.

  • Betsy Greer

    Holy smokes! I’m not sure. I was just looking on Susan Thixton’s site and came up with both Simmons and Evangers as of 06/06/2012. I can only hope it’s the former and not the latter.

    http://truthaboutpetfood2.com/who-makes-what-in-pet-food

  • InkedMarie

    Where is the canned Pure made?

  • Shawna

    July 22, 2013
    “Canidae® Natural Pet Food Company Announces New Recipes For Their Pure Grain Free Formulas.” http://www.prweb.com/releases/2013/7/prweb10947091.htm

    Pet Food Industry also reported on it — http://www.petfoodindustry.com/48784.html

    Why would Canidae “announce” a reformulation if it were not true?

    But to take away any doubt (because it’s the Internet), Canidae discusses the formula change right on their website “CANIDAE® Grain Free PURE Products Have A Fresh New Look & All New, Simpler Recipes!” http://www.canidae.com/customer-care/support/new-packaging-pure

  • Pattyvaughn

    Paul, we have a long memory, I guess. A recall just last year is a recent recall for us. We are waiting to hear that Canidae has moved completely away from Diamond, but we aren’t holding our breath. Do you by chance have any affiliation with Canidae? And have any official information?

  • Betsy Greer

    Canidae, manufactured by Diamond, was involved in recalls as recently as 2012:

    http://www.fda.gov/Safety/Recalls/ucm303063.htm;

    http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/dog-food-recall/canidae-dog-food-recall/;

    http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/dog-food-recall/diamond-dog-food-recall-summary/.

    Maybe that’s not recent enough for you, but it is for me; especially if they’re still using Diamond as a co-packer.

  • Betsy Greer

    Paul Pion,

    Not all Canidae food is made at Ethos. Unfortunately, some varieties are still co-packed by Diamond.

  • Paul Pion

    Donna, Canidae has not been involved with any recent recall and the food is made in Brownwood Texas in there plant.

  • Paul Pion

    Sandy, Not true only the pure line was reformulated. Nothing has changed in the Life Stages formula. Sandy just because the internet is there it shouldn’t be used to send false information. Donna, taking a dog straight from a red meat formula to a multi protein mix can be rough on some dogs digestion system you should slowly introduce it to them.

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    Around the same guaranteed analysis as the Pure Land (and with bison or lamb meal) would be Earthborn Holistic grain free Meadow Feast, Nutrisource grain free Heartland Select and Taste of the Wild Sierra Mountain. Then with a little more protein would be Nutrisource grain free Lamb Meal, Nature’s Logic Lamb, Core Wild Game and then Merrick grain free Beef. Incidentally, higher prices and smaller bags isn’t anything new. I’ve noticed it more often since the economy tanked several years ago.

  • Michelle C Burke

    Our 16 month old Pom was on the old Pure Elements formula from puppyhood. He enthusiastically endorses the new lamb-based formula!

  • Craig Lore

    My dog was doing fine on the old formula dry Canidae Grain Free Land, so I kept buying it. But the last time I went to get some, it was the new version with fewer pounds and a higher price. So I won’t buy it again. That’s just wrong. Any suggestions about a replacement?

  • LuvmyShiba522

    My Shiba Inu loves the Canidae Pure Sea Salmon formula. I was looking for a fish-based dry food with no chicken in it, and this food is the one that agrees with my finicky, picky eater the best. The feeding chart on the bag is surprisingly accurate. It suggests 3/4 to 1 cup for a dog weighing 10-25 lbs. My Shiba is 23 lbs, and he eats approximately that amount. I divide his meals into 4 servings throughout the day. Each serving is 1/4 cup, and he eats it up every time! His weight is consistent, he has not lost any weight. In fact, people say he looks like he is getting bigger. His stools are firm and a uniform brown color. No diarrhea when switching to Canidae. He previously ate Blue Buffalo Wilderness Salmon formula, but it still had chicken in it.

  • Donna Marie Adams

    Not sure either as the bag tore so threw out the ID#. I know that some had been on recall from the South Carolina factory but the Bison I have was manfg. in Brownwood, Texas ( my home for 10 plus wonderful years). Here’s hoping all will get back to normal soon. Right now they are off food except for the rice and boiled chicken breast and a little ID SDiet for upset tummy’s. Thank you for the input. :)

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    They reformulated both lines of food – Life Stages and Pure.

  • Betsy Greer

    Hi Donna,

    I know that Canidae recently changed some of their formulas. Could it be that the first bag that you bought was the old formula and the second bag was the new formula?

  • Donna Marie Adams

    Well, decided to leave this note regarding new dog food purchase FYI in case other dogs are having a bad case of diarrhea as well. After buying a small bag of the Canidae Bison to try as I’d been using Kirkland but am trying to get my dogs to eat mainly dry food, They liked it and no problems at all. I then got the larger bag of the Life Stages chicken, turkey variety. Within a few days one my dogs had diarrhea and it continued for 2 days before I took her to the vet, thinking it was some bacterial thing. She was examined, tested and bottom line “Not bacterial, something she may have eaten” which I didn’t notice. My dogs are inside and I am always with them when they are out. After a $125.00 vet bill and some Flagyl and more rice and boiled chicken diet…my other little doggie came down with the same symptoms. I had kept her on the dry food as she seemed ok but soon she became sick as well. So…it WAS their dog food after all. Both had EXTREME diarrhea and my one little Coton de Tulear vomited and they were both so sick. Don’t know if it was the recalled brand from So. Carolina or not that i’d gotten from PetCo as I’d thrown out the bag or what. I am/was so upset. Bottom line I am returning it today and will not get Life Stages Chicken, turkey again.
    Most dogs don’t do well at all on fresh turkey so why would it be any different in a bag? I AM progably going to go back to the Bison as they did well on it. I only changed because they are seniors and the sales person told me that the Life Stages was for seniors. So much for that. They are on the mend but still on Rx. I will see when they get back on solid regular pet food later this week. Thanks for reading. :)

  • ALV

    Yes, Canidae is changing the formulation of their grain free foods. And raising the price, of course. My dog has been eating the chicken version for a long time. The last bag I bought (old packaging) and my dog started losing his appetite. Couldn’t figure it out and it never occurred to me that it would be the food as I have never had a problem before. Then came the diarrhea. I started doing a little experiment to see what was causing all this. Eventually I bought another bag (old style packaging again) and I got the same reaction from my dog…he didn’t want to eat it and he still had diarrhea. So I went out and bought EVO and dog is once again eating and the diarrhea cleared up right away. I am wondering if the new formulation is being packaged in the old style bags perhaps to use up some left over inventory. There doesn’t appear to be a chicken version in the new formulation either. The main meat is listed as lamb. At least I haven’t seen a chicken only version. Well all this doesn’t matter to me. I am spooked enough and disgusted with the price increase that I won’t buy Canidae anymore.

  • InkedMarie

    Did you contact Dr Mike to let him know that the ingredients are different or did you just post that?

  • Deanna Lates

    The ingredients are different now. You should update your site so it is more accurate. I’d really like to know the actual score of this food.

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    it’s on the list to do!

  • GSDmom

    Will you ever be reviewing the new formulas? Just wondering if the ratings will change for them.

  • Vivian Perez

    totally ADORABLE!!!

  • Vivian Perez

    the sweet potato is very good for stomach problems.

  • Vivian Perez

    try Nature’s Receipe toy breed chicken and barley one…my two old chi’s love this food and since one has no teeth left, i moisten them and they loooooove it…i have not had any stomach problems since on this.
    also, try boiling chicken breast without skin…chop it up and serve it with boiled white starchy rice….and my lhasa was having runny stool and stomach issues…i was told to give it Activia Vanilla flavor….really helped.

  • Vivian Perez

    ive been feeding my dogs the Pure Sea for a week…they clean their bowls. I just started feeding them this food and so far they all love it when usually not all of them like the same dog food.

  • Lydia

    Are you Roger Michael Biduk?

    https://www.google.com/search?q=Roger+Michael+Biduk&oq=Roger+Michael+Biduk&aqs=chrome..69i57&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8#q=Roger+Michael+Biduk

  • Hound Dog Mom

    I use Sentry Natural Defense which comes in an applicator like Frontline but is made with natural oils (peppermint, clove, lemongrass, thyme and cinnamon) instead of chemicals. I also use Earth Animal flea and tick herbal tincture. I haven’t had any issues with fleas this summer.

  • http://www.bestcatanddognutrition.com/ Roger Biduk

    There’s lots of natural flea preventatives that work that don’t cause cancer.

    The first thing to do is work with a vet that practices both allopathic and holistic veterinary.

    I wrote a couple of excellent posts on the BCDN Facebook page http://on.fb.me/16QJbrI and on my timeline http://on.fb.me/1b6mfw4 about flea/heartworm.
    Roger Biduk

  • Kate

    Thanks Jess. I would like to hear how it goes. BTW, just as another alternative for you, the Artemis Osopure range, which I am currently feeding my dogs is another grainfree with around 25% protein.

  • James’ Grandma

    What can one use if not using Frontline? Our doggie day care provider requests people use some kind of flea protection.

  • Melissaandcrew

    Although I do not feed this, I did get an email announcing their new website etc. If you do feed, check the formulas…looks like some changes and some are going to single protein sourced foods

  • http://www.bestcatanddognutrition.com/ Roger Biduk

    I just saw that you were using an oatmeal wash which is a big mistake.

    Just as dogs should never, ever eat grains make sure the shampoo or wash doesn’t contain oatmeal which unfortunately is in many pet shampoos.

    Grain-based shampoos provide a carbohydrate
    food source for unwanted yeast and bacteria, accelerating allergies, itchiness and actually make things much worse.

    I’ve seen this happen to lots of dogs because of unknowing owners thinking oatmeal is a good ingredient in shampoos.

    The only pets that truly benefit from oatmeal shampoos are those that have poison oak or poison ivy reactions.

    One would think that all vets would know about this but they’re mainly the same ones selling garbage “Prescription Diets” along with the oatmeal-based shampoos.

    Roger Biduk

  • http://www.bestcatanddognutrition.com/ Roger Biduk

    Using poisonous, toxic chemical insecticides like Frontline is a very, very bad idea.

    The main active ingredient in Frontline is fipronil and it’s brutal; it’s caused kidney damage, significant alterations in thyroid function and aggressive behavior in laboratory animals.

    Fipronil, also altered the levels of sex hormones in those animals.
    The offspring of pregnant lab animals exposed to the insecticide were smaller than normal and took longer to sexually mature.

    The U.S. EPA has classified fipronil as a possible human (Class C) carcinogen due to the development of both benign and malignant thyroid tumors in laboratory animals exposed to it.

    Minute concentrations of fipronil can prove toxic to several animals including birds, lizards and fish.

    It lasts for a minimum of 56 days on pets, and people can be exposed by petting an animal that has been treated with a spot-on product containing the insecticide like Frontline.

    Another reason that cancer is now the #1 killer of dogs…
    Roger Biduk

  • Jess

    I ordered the new recipe for the Pure Land from Heartypet.com. It is supposed to be delivered tomorrow. I chose it, because it has 25% protein. The other recipes have more protein, but my dog is sensitive to protein higher than 25%. I am currently feeding Wellness and am looking forward to trying the Canidae Pure Land. I like that I can feed less for the same cost and it has better and less ingredients than what I am feeding now. I can let you know how much girl does on it.

  • Linda

    I just heard about Canidia, Was happy to read more about it. I have been feeding Lifes Abundance for 11 years and have had perfect health in my Dogs and cat. So not looking to change. BUt always looking for the best.

  • Kate

    Anyone tried the new recipe for the Pure range? I was feeding the old grain free Canidae to my dogs for sometime and my allergy dog was doing so well on it but then after a year or so on it, she refused to eat it and started getting tummy problems. I tried again after a break but the same thing happened. They did so well on it with her rashes for so long, until whatever it was turned her off, that I was prepared to give it another go on the new recipe. We won’t have it available here for another month or so.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Sorry cinci, I didn’t read through the entire conversation – just the post I responded to.

    Coconut oil is actually recommended for dogs suffering from pancreatitis – it’s comprised of medium chain triglycerides which don’t require pancreatic enzymes to digest. It obviously shouldn’t be given in excess to a pancreatitis prone dog, but it can be beneficial in small amounts.

  • cinci

    I agree with you, but I was responding to a suggestion that what I thought was rendered chicken or turkey fat added to dogfood by an owner. All I am saying is that people should talk to their vet before adding fatty table ‘scraps’ or even coconut oil ,so that they are clear on what can trigger pancreatitis. Maybe my mixed breed dog was predisposed to getting it, I don’t know. I am not even sure exactly what I gaeve him to trigger that attack. All I know is that I had a minset that adding a little oil or feeding table scraps was okay and I ended up with a very expensive vet bill and a lifetime problem for my dog.

  • aimee

    The NRC sets the safe upper limit for fat at 70% calories. This is approximately 10% less than the level shown to induce pancreatitis.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Hi cinci –

    This isn’t true. Some breeds are predisposed to pancreatitis, yes, but this is the exception and not the rule. Healthy dogs can safely consume foods with fat levels in excess of 50% on a dry matter basis (or greater than 75% of calories from fat) – in fact, these high levels of fat are essential for many endurance athletes to achieve adequate energy intake. Some dogs also do better on higher fat diets, this is particularly true for many active dogs that are of the high-drive/working breeds. My bloodhounds are very active and have difficulty maintaining a healthy weight, they do best on a diet higher in quality fat – their meals are generally 45% – 55% protein, 30% – 40% fat and <20% carbohydrates. I achieve the higher fat levels by feeding items like green tripe, skin-on raw meaty bones, eggs, full fat dairy, coconut oil, sprouted nuts/seeds and small amounts of quality omega 3's.

  • cinci

    Yes, they need healthy fat. Ask your vet to guide you.

  • Pattyvaughn

    The fat level should be about 50% of the protein level, so this food has the perfect fat level. That being said, as long as you are not adding too much, it should be fine and in fact, some dogs thrive on a higher fat level.

  • Maukwa

    Thanks cinci…and so sorry about your dog…..I read that they needed a little fat…no?

  • Maukwa

    It is my pleasure ;)

  • Maukwa

    Thank you cinci

  • cinci

    He is adorable and lucky to have a caring owner like you!!

  • cinci

    Be careful with feeding your dog fat because it can cause pancreatitis. My dog got it, spent a week at the vet and came out as a diabetic. He went blind from the diabetes. Fat is a slippery slope.

  • mward1993

    It could very well be the frontline. And frontline has quit working for a lot of dogs, mine included.

  • Kim

    It may not be the food at all, could be the frontline.

  • starch0

    Hi! We just adopted a 4 yrs old mixed breed (rottie – gsd – random), overweight (could barely feel ribs) and fed on pedigree his whole life. Over the last 2 months, we’ve given him his shots (first ever), put him on frontline & interceptor (so no ticks, fleas or mites), and switched him to Canidae ALS with some occasional homemake meals of boiled chicken or pork with some fish oil. But from the 2nd week (about 6 weeks ago), he’s been scratching and itchy. It’s getting crazier and crazier, and now he has a bald spot above his hind leg and two more developing on either side. We thought it was his shampoo, and switched him to a homemade simple oatmeal wash – still scratching. Has anyone had or heard of itchiness on Canidae or Canidae ALS?

  • mia

    adorable, thanks for saving him?

  • Lynn

    Read my story, it may help. Ignore the german shepherd part as EPI is now an every dogs’ condition.
    http://www.total-german-shepherd.com/EPIanddogs.html

  • Maukwa

    Honey…I have two “giant Chihuahuas” :)
    She is a “Deer” Chihuahua and weighs 16 pounds.

  • Maukwa

    LOL….Yes, he does…and I do have a “Deer Chihuahua” which is the big original sized Chihuahua, and they look like giant Chihuahuas….Here is Honey, the Deer Chihuahua…also saved from death in California, with her brother, Sparkie last Halloween. Chihuahuas are the second most killed dog in our so called shelters…next to the bully breeds :(

  • Cyndi

    He almost just looks like a beefed up chihuahua! Lol! He is really adorable!

  • InkedMarie

    Omg, what a face!

  • Cyndi

    Lol! I figured that’s what it was. I just had to mess with ya though, lol! :)

  • Shawna

    LOL, autocorrect decided Coggins sounded better than Corgi’s.. Gets ya every time! Ugh

  • Cyndi

    Shawna, what’s a “Coggins”? Lol! ;)

  • Maukwa

    Yes, he does have the Pit/Staffie markings….he is as sweet as he looks.

  • Maukwa

    Thank you….we would love him even if he weren’t adorable :)

  • Shawna

    I’m not familiar with Coggins but I definitely see the pit and chi. TOO CUTE The Staffie I grew up with had very similar markings..

  • Maukwa

    Thank you Cyndi….we think he is adorable…but then he is our baby. :)

  • LabsRawesome

    Adorable!!!

  • Maukwa

    Please do not give your dog ANYTHING to eat that is made in China…:) I use Nylabones for my dogs…the vet has told me not to use raw hides.

  • Cyndi

    OMG, Look at him!! What a cutie!!! He TOTALLY looks like all 3 of those breeds, lol! He’s adorable!

  • Maukwa

    This is Sparkie. Rescued from LA North Central Animal Control on “his last day”. He is sweet, smart, and a joy…Welsh Corgi, Chihuahua, and Pit Bull Terrier…and he looks like all of them. Corgi body, Chihuahua legs, and a Pit Bull face…cute don’t you think?

  • Liz M

    Good to know about the chicken. I feel like it is either the chicken or the grain. She seems to be doing better on Stella & Chewy’s surf n turf. Just yesterday I reintroduced chicken wrapped raw hide (made in China). It was always one of her favorites – I wonder if the chicken will set her off again. I need new treats. Thank you so much for your input. Is it possible to buy turkey fat?

  • Shawna

    Chicken (as well as many other foods) can actually cause colitis and other forms of inflammatory bowel disease. My Pom gets ulcerative colitis if she eats chicken too frequently. NSAIDs like Metacam and Rimadyl do the same thing to her.

  • LabsRawesome

    Corgi Chihuahua Pit bull? I’d love to see a pic of that dog. :)

  • Maukwa

    My seven year old Corgi, Chihuahua, Pit bull :) had the same problem, and of course is picky…I have found that eliminating chicken from his diet has pretty much stopped the stool problems….I have had him on Wellness Simple Turkey potato…but because I don’t want him to gain weight, I am looking at trying the Merrick Grain Free…which has duck, turkey meal and “sweet potato”…..try putting a little melted chicken or turkey fat over your dogs food…see if that helps his appetite. Good Luck! BTW, he had been put on antibiotics also, and was thought to have some type of colitis….but I just think that he cannot digest the chicken products.

  • LabGuy

    I have two English Labs. The nine year old is as spry as the three year old. Every day she gets two Arthroplex capsules. You can get it on Amazon. Ingredients: Active Ingredients Per Capsule:Glucosamine Sulfate (as Glucosamine Sulfate Potassium Chloride complex) 225 mg.
    Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C) 100 mg.
    Green-Lipped Mussels 90 mg.
    DL-Phenylalanine 75 mg.
    Indian Frankincense extract (gum) (Boswellia serrata) 35 mg.
    Bromelain 35 mg

  • mward1993

    I agree, dogs need at least 18% protein, but most dogs do best with more. Some dogs can’t handle protein in the 30s for whatever reason, my dog has good muscle tone and is healthy on 23-25% protein in the form of a dry, canned mix. Moisture from canned food, raw, or soaked kibble is very good for dogs. This can help prevent kidney problems, protein has little to do with it

  • Pattyvaughn

    See if your grocery store has kefir in the refridgerator section. It has a good selection of probiotics in it. Or try mixing the probiotics in something tasty like a spoonful of canned food, tuna or sardine water.

  • Liz M

    Agree. Usually if I sprinkle the probiotics on her food she won’t eat. So I think I will just have to put the powder in a pill pocket (I was using greenies brand, am currently trying Pill Wrap by Vetoquinol which the first ingredient is wheat flour). I haven’t tried yogart with her, she might do yogart over the long haul.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Regardless of what you end up deciding to feed, your dog needs good probiotics with every meal for at least two weeks after every round of antiboitics. You may find out that you won’t need antibiotics anymore if you just deal with this one thing. Try Mercola’s probiotics or Swanson’s. Look for one that has at least 9 different strains, 14 is better. Considering how long you have been dealing with this, I would consider keeping her on probiotics for life.

  • Liz M

    Hi all. My 9 year old Chihuahua, Prissy, has suffered from bowel problems since she was 3. We have lived with Flagyl for all this time and I have been so thankful for it, but didn’t realize her food could be what is causing her problems. She has been on Canidae Chicken and Rice formula since she was 5.

    Her condition and frequency of getting sick kept getting worse and after finding this website a couple of months ago, I changed her diet to Canidae Pure Sky about 1 month ago. I totally took her off the old food and have been mixing ground turkey with the new kibble. She has always been a finicky eater and still won’t eat much of this new kibble – about 10 kibbles a day if I’m lucky and I am only giving her about a teaspoon of turkey because I’m trying to force her to eat the kibble. She is losing weight and getting weak. She is 5 1/2lbs, has a heart murmer, low energy is her norm, but she is boney and could easily handle an extra pound of weight on her frame.

    Because she won’t eat this kibble I’d like to change to another brand. I’d like to exclude potato and grain. I’m thinking about Brother’s Complete, but wondering if anyone has any other suggestions?

    Her illness manifests as a mucus stool that quickly turns into bloody stools, and results in an overgrowth of Clostridium. She just finished her latest round of Amoxicillin on Tuesday. I though she was doing better having cut out the old food, so I reintroduced the treat she likes – a poor quality beef jerky – and she was bleeding from her rear with in a week.

    Any comments/suggestions would be appreciated.

  • Pingback: Researching Grain-free options - Page 2

  • Guest

    I finally decided to buy a small 2.2kg bag of Canidae Grain Free Pure Sea formula from my local store, today. A bit of a change up from using Artemis Maximal and Earthborn Natural Primitive and Coastal Catch formulas. Probably a surprise to some that I would buy kibble at all. Whilst being an extremely pro-raw advocate, I do like to occasionally give my dogs a bowl of such at least, better quality holistic grain free kibble brands with full cream full fat organic yoghurt as a topper. The only topper worth using as a topper as you get the kibble more wet, and provide an even more enticing smell and taste for the dog (unless your dog wants the smell of a meaty topper then use a quality hi protein canned meat topper), as well as probiotics that provide extra digestion aid and the general extra goodness in using yoghurt.

    The other great use I have for such kibble like this and the others I can get access to, is put them in my dogs; buster cube and watch them play with it, moving it around to get the kibble out and get rewarded for their effort. I like buster cubes better Kongs, although I use a Kong and dabble some peanut butter in it and watch my dogs go for it. Otherwise I do also break up air dried liver and place them in the buster cubes. This gets a bot more tedious to do and who’s got the time, and such better quality kibble makes a great substitute.

  • Melanie_Samuels

    I love the ingredients to the formulas that excludes canola oil. This is great quality food. Unfortunately, the protein level is simply too high for my girl. It seems she can only handle a max of 30%.

    Just a reminder to all, higher protein doesn’t necessary suit all dogs. Adult dogs need at least 18% protein. Getting 25-30% is ideal for my dog, in my opinion.

    When I fed my dog this food, she ate it readily. The kibble size is small and round. It could easily fall out of a kong. It’s also fairly affordable kibble at around $2.05/lb. Many high quality Grain Free foods are closer to $2.50/lb. You could be saving over $10 a bag! I think this food is definitely worth a try! :) Especially since soon they will not be manufactured by Diamond, yet they will still be made in the USA!

    If your dog’s stool remains loose after 2 months then you may want to try adding probiotics and enzymes to help digestion. That is if you are intent on staying with this food.

    If not, it might be worth your time to try Fromm or Acana. Both seem to have lower levels of protein (at least according to this site). Your dog(s) may do better on them.

    If those options are too pricey, you may wish to consider NutriSource Grain Free food. Their max protein is under 30%.

  • Melanie_Samuels

    Yay!!! Thanks for sharing!! This is fantastic news! :)

  • InkedMarie

    Hi Cheryl, We once adopted a dog who needed to lose half of her weight. I chose Wellness Core’s reduced fat; it’s one of the “light” foods I’m in favor of. We fed her the amount of food for what she *should* weigh.
    An overweight dog is NOT a good thing, especially a very large breed. As you’ve figured out, it doesn’t help the joints. I recommend you use salmon oil and for a joint supplement, you can buy human glucosamine and break up the capsule over his food or buy a liquid one. Look at Glycoflex 3, they make chewables that dogs will generally eat right up. Good luck!

  • http://www.thegreedypinstripes.com/ BryanV21

    Consider quality over quantity.

    It’s not just about lower calories and fat, it’s about providing the RIGHT calories and fat.

    And keep in mind that a food with more meat or animal-based protein is going to be higher in calories, and therefore you don’t feed as much. I mention this because I’ve recommended some foods for overweight dogs and they see the calorie content and flinch, without knowing that they will be feeding less of the food.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Hi Cheryl –

    Most lower calorie dry foods are also lower quality, I would just stick with a high quality (4 or 5 star) regular food. Weight loss is a tough thing, if he’s not losing that means he’s consuming too many calories and his portion needs to be reduced. You just have to ignore the begging and acting hungry, dogs typically want to eat more than they need.

    Canned food, dehydrated food (when rehydrated with water) and raw or home cooked foods have a much lower caloric-density due to the high water content than kibbles – they great foods for weight loss and healthier than kibble but, unfortunately, they cost more. I’m not sure what your budget is, but Tractor Supply sells 4Health canned food for only $0.99 per can, they have three grain-free varieties that only have around 350 calores per 13.2 oz. can (most kibbles have around 400+ calories per 8 oz.).

    If you get the weight off that will help his joints. Maybe you could try something other than glucosamine and he’s tolerate it better -chondroitin, MSM, cety myristoleate, green lipped mussel, sea cucumber and shark cartilage are all great for joint maintenance and yucca, boswellia and tart cherry are great for pain and inflammation. If you do want to go lower calorie here are some of Dr. Mike’s recommendations: http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/best-dog-foods/suggested-low-fat-dog-food/

  • Cheryl

    This is all so confusing. My almost 7 year old English Lab Kobe is overweight. I’ve had him on Iams large breed weight control for several years and it hasn’t helped. He gobbles down his food in seconds. We feed him 1 1/2 C twice a day, with his 2nd feeding we add either green beans or carrots. He is often in discomfort and seems to have some type of joint problems. I tried giving him Glycosamine tablets on several occassions, but he vomited them immediately. He seldom vomits. I was hoping to find a lower calorie food with possibly a low dosage of Glycosamine to help with his discomfort. We do however have to take into consideration the cost. If anyone has any helpful suggestions, they would be appreciated. Thanks

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com/ Mike Sagman

    Hi Dana Sanders,

    The link for the FDA notice you posted is dated May 1 of last year. That particular recall has already been covered in a previous article on this website.

    Hope this helps.

  • Dana Sanders
  • Ralphmclovin

     After years of eating pedigree, my poor dogs have been on canidae for about a year now. They are a spunky 9yr JRT and a hefty 10yr lab/cattledog mix. Each time a buy food I get a different bag of pure and a bag of the platinum formula. I mix the bags to keep the calories down and my dogs love the variety of the different pures. My big maggiegirl is at a good weight and got alot of energy back and my jackieboy will go like a charged battery till he keels over(hopefully many years from now).
    My dogs have gone thru an almost miraculous transformation since being on (imo)such a great food. They have regained their youthful playfulness, they have amazing coats that shed less, nice bright eyes, and the first thing I noticed after switching to canidae was the vast improvement in their breath.
    My big mutt went from a 70lb fatty that would drag ass around the block to a healthy muscular 55lb animal that now pulls me along 4 blocks, did I mention that the platinum has glucosamine in it…
    I used the many resources of this site not only to learn how to match both my dogs calorie intake to their own metabolisms, but all the information was very helpful to me in finding the highest quality food that I can find and afford.
    Thanks, Ralph

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1140685339 Betsy Greer

    Hi Bill Hill, I’d love to see What you received. I have been waiting for a response from them myself for some time regarding the very same matter, but never received one (probably because I use an AOL email address which likely gets dumped as spam).

    That’s very useful information, definitely not clutter.
    : )

  • LabsRawesome

    Hi Bill Hill, you are correct. I just found out that the plant does have a limited supply. Still, a step in the right direction. Hopefully, they will build more plants, in the future, and totally cut ties w/Diamond. Please post any info that you have. :)

  • Upphill

    Hi LabsRawesome, I think your information might not be correct. I have a response from a Canidae rep saying that their food is manufactured regionally by contractors because of  high transportation costs. So, the Texas plant probably only ships to a limited radius of sites.  Don’t want to clutter up this site, but I can post what I received if anyone wants to see it. 

    Bill Hill

  • LabsRawesome

    Starting in November, Canidae/Felidae is manufactured here. http://www.ethospet.com/  Great move, getting away from Diamond.  :)

  • Pattyvaughn

    Are you saying “Where does the 56/30/14 come from?”  I think that’s the break down of a “typical” prey animal given in dry matter basis, with all water removed.

  • Gohanesian

    thanks for your comments… they are correct but they also support what is being implied on this site that kibble shouuld be avoided like the plague! One of the key tenets of a raw diet is that 56/30/14 “ancestoral” nutrient breakdown that is said to be species appropriate for carnivores. Does anyone know the scientific foundation of that assumption? If that is supported which i assume it is then how the heck can anyone looking out for their dogs feed dried out carb dense crappy food…yes, i know, it is soooo convenient, isn’t it !!

  • Pattyvaughn

    From my understanding, kibble has to have a certain amount of carb to hold together as kibble, otherwise it would be powder.  So kibbles that have closer to the minimum amount of carbs, tend to have more proteins and are the better kibbles.  Kibbles aren’t best, but most people would rather settle for less than the best and feed kibble, so they need a way to judge the quality of kibbles.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Hi Gohanesian –

    I understand the confusion. Dr. Mike rates products in comparison to other products of the same type. For example, how does the protein content of one kibble compare to the average protein content of other kibbles? How does the protein content of one canned food compare to the protein content of other canned foods? The only way to achieve the ancestral diet percentages is with a raw diet or high quality canned food. Due to the nature of kibble (it’s a bakery product) carbs are required as a binder – otherwise the kibbles would just fall apart (you can’t bake something without flour of some sort..right?). So in this case, while this food does have lower protein and higher carbs than the ancestral diet, it has higher protein and lower carbs than most other kibbles.

  • Gohanesian

    i do not understand why when the “ancestral” nutrient breakdown touted on this site is like 56% protein, 30% fat and 14% carbs (and NOT the wheat, rice, corn, soy, pulp carb type junk)…why is it that a food with this much carb junk can actually be “enthusiastically recommended”. If that is true than the import of the “ancestral” requirements for carnivores seems to be a useless statistic! Please someone explain

  • Luvdpugs

    ONe vet told me to stay away from bananas because it will raise the potassium level. lab work may show this and mimik a disease like Addision’s Disease. Also, it is high in sugar as is carrots. Sweet potatoes are ok.
    I learned the hard way.
    I was giving my pug bananas. she loved them. She ate maybe 1/4  a few times a week.  When her labs were done for different problems thinking allergies, her K was high. I am a nurse so it accurred to me that the bananas were the cause. I told him and he said stop. She will be fine.  WRONG. we went a year before she was diagnosed with Addision’s Disease and died a year later. It took it’s toll on her. She had had it for several years. SAD. My Stucky Mae died march 17th 2012.

  • Jenny

    Hi Bear–  Canidae Pure Land may be good for Bear, but you will need to reduce his serving size significantly from Premium Edge to control his weight. 
    My Leo used to be on Premium Edge Weight Reduction (before Blue Buffalo Wilderness Salmon), based on the review on this site. Like you, I couldn’t find it locally, and over the course of three orders in 6 months, my online vendor sent bags all with the same expiration date, less than a year in the future, meant it was made more than a year ago. I had no idea if the vendor properly stored the food. I decided to buy locally so I could check the date on the bag before buying, but I would have to switch brands. I wanted a grain free, five-star food, and after some experiments, I now feed Leo Canidae Pure Land and have seen excellent result.  Premium Edge has 347 calories/cup, but Pure Land is 478/cup and has the fewest calories of the Pure line. Surprisingly, Leo doesn’t seem hungry on the smaller serving–I guess it is like oatmeal for humans. I supplement his meals with green beans, use a flat bottom dish to spread the kibble out, and  pour some warm water on it.  This prolongs his eating time, (he used to gobble a cup of dry kibble in 9 seconds and begged for more) so maybe that helps him feel sated. He has not gained weight on the Canidae Pure Land.

  • lola

     Hi,
    When I switched to Canidae my dog has  loose or soft stools most of the time, but  I did not want to switch to cheaper brand instead I decided to try the Canidae grain free w/c is now called Pure Element, she rarely have bloating or any stomach issues since then. She loves Canidae and I also put a little bit of good quality virgin olive oil in her food every morning w/c also made her coat shinier and softer.

  • Pingback: opinions on canidae?

  • Shawna

    Hi :)

    No, I think it is probably perfectly fine to give the pups a small amount of banana in the mornings. 

    Generally when problems are seen is when larger amounts are fed often.  If you want to be cautious however, you can give the banana slices 4 days a week and give their digestive tracts a break from them 3 days a week.  IF there is a mild reaction even to the small amounts, taking a few days off without them every week allows the gut to heal before more is fed —- IF they even have a problem to begin with..  Banana is not one I’ve seen/heard of to cause a lot of issues.  However, green beans aren’t often an issue either but I have a friend that can’t feed her dog green beans more then two days in a row without a reaction.  She didn’t think it was the green beans cause he had eaten them for a long time before symptoms started.  But, when she stopped them completely—symptoms stopped.  And when she started them again, symptoms started…

  • Diomedeswolf

    CINDY 

    I give my 7 basset hounds several slices of banana every morning with their Canidae Chicken and Rice breakfast.  Is this bad for them?  They love them.