Back to Basics Dog Food (Dry)

Share

Rating: ★★★★★

Back to Basics Dog Food earns the Advisor’s top rating of 5 stars.

The Back to Basics product line includes four dry dog foods, each claimed to meet AAFCO nutrient profiles for all life stages.

The following is a list of recipes available at the time of this review.

  • Back to Basics Pork Formula
  • Back to Basics Duck Formula
  • Back to Basics Turkey Formula
  • Back to Basics Open Range Formula

Back to Basics Turkey Formula was selected to represent the other products in the line for this review.

Back to Basics Turkey Formula

Dry Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 42% | Fat = 20% | Carbs = 30%

Ingredients: Turkey giblets (turkey livers and turkey hearts), turkey meal, turkey, chicken meal, tapioca, pea protein, poultry fat (turkey and chicken, preserved with mixed tocopherols), dried whole egg, whole flaxseed, menhaden fish oil, natural chicken flavor, peas, sunflower oil, salt, l-carnitine, potassium chloride, zinc proteinate, iron proteinate, vitamin E supplement, l-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), choline chloride, biotin, copper proteinate, manganese proteinate, niacin, calcium pantothenate, sodium selenite, vitamin A supplement, riboflavin supplement, vitamin D3 supplement, thiamine mononitrate, vitamin B12 supplement, calcium iodate, pyridoxine hydrochloride, folic acid

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 3.3%

Red items when present indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis38%18%NA
Dry Matter Basis42%20%30%
Calorie Weighted Basis35%40%25%

The first ingredient in this dog food is turkey giblets comprised of turkey liver and turkey hearts. Giblets are the edible by-products of poultry slaughter. They include the gizzard, brain, lungs, kidneys, heart, spleen, liver, ovaries and other visceral organs.

Though the thought of eating an animal’s internal organs probably wouldn’t appeal to most humans, these grisly-sounding ingredients can all be considered a natural part of an authentic ancestral diet.

Giblets are an acceptable (although less costly) meat ingredient.

The second ingredient is turkey meal. Turkey meal is considered a meat concentrate and contains nearly 300% more protein than fresh turkey.

The third ingredient is turkey. Although it is a quality item, raw turkey contains about 80% water. After cooking, most of that moisture is lost, reducing the meat content to just a fraction of its original weight.

After processing, this item would probably account for a smaller part of the total content of the finished product.

The fourth ingredient is chicken meal, another protein-rich meat concentrate.

The fifth ingredient is tapioca, a gluten-free, starchy carbohydrate extract made from the root of the cassava plant.

The sixth ingredient is pea protein, what remains of a pea after removing the starchy part of the vegetable.

Even though it contains over 80% protein, this ingredient would be expected to have a lower biological value than meat.

And less costly plant-based products like this can notably boost the total protein reported on the label — a factor that must be considered when judging the meat content of this dog food.

The seventh ingredient is poultry fat from turkey and chicken. Poultry fat is obtained from rendering, a process similar to making soup in which the fat itself is skimmed from the surface of the liquid.

Poultry fat is high in linoleic acid, an omega-6 fatty acid essential for life.

The eighth ingredient is dried whole egg, a dehydrated powder made from shell-free eggs. Eggs are easy to digest and have an exceptionally high biological value.

The ninth ingredient is flaxseed, one of the best plant sources of healthy omega-3 fatty acids. Provided they’ve first been ground into a meal, flax seeds are also rich in soluble fiber.

However, flaxseed contains about 19% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

The tenth ingredient is menhaden oil. Menhaden are small ocean fish related to herring. Their oil is naturally rich in the prized EPA and DHA type of omega-3 fatty acids, two high quality fats boasting the highest bio-availability to both dogs and humans.

What’s more, in their mid-depth habitat, menhaden are not exposed to mercury contamination as is typical with deeper water species.

After the natural chicken flavor, we find peas. Peas are a quality source of carbohydrates. And like all legumes, they’re rich in natural fiber.

However, peas contain about 25% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the meat content of this dog food.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With three notable exceptions

First, sunflower oil. Sunflower oil is nutritionally similar to safflower oil. Since these oils are high in omega-6 fatty acids and contain no omega-3′s, they’re considered less nutritious than canola or flaxseed oils.

Sunflower oil is notable for its resistance to heat damage during cooking.

There are several different types of sunflower oil, some better than others. Without knowing more, it’s impossible to judge the quality of this ingredient.

Next, we find no mention of probiotics, friendly bacteria applied to the surface of the kibble after processing to help with digestion.

And lastly, this food also contains chelated minerals, minerals that have been chemically attached to protein. This makes them easier to absorb. Chelated minerals are usually found in better dog foods.

Back to Basics Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Judging by its ingredients alone, Back to Basics dog food looks like an above average dry product.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 42%, a fat level of 20% and estimated carbohydrates of about 30%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 42% and a mean fat level of 20%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 30% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 47%.

Above-average protein. Above-average fat. And below-average carbs when compared to a typical dry dog food.

Even when you consider the protein-boosting effects of the pea products and flaxseed, this looks like the profile of a kibble containing a significant amount of meat.

Bottom line?

Back to Basics dog food is a meat-based, grain-free kibble using a significant amount of various organs and named meat meals as its main sources of animal protein, thus earning the brand 5 stars.

Enthusiastically recommended.

Please note certain recipes are sometimes given a higher or lower rating based upon our estimate of their total meat content.

Special Alert

Rice ingredients can sometimes contain arsenic. Until the US FDA establishes safe upper levels for arsenic content, pet owners may wish to limit the total amount of rice fed in a dog's daily diet.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, due to the biological uniqueness of every animal, none of our ratings are intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in a specific dietary response or health benefit for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

To learn how we support the cost of operating this website, please visit our public Disclosure and Disclaimer page.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Notes and Updates

04/05/2010 Original review
11/05/2010 Review updated
03/30/2011 Updated, major recipe change, upgraded from 3 to 5 stars
11/02/2011 Added Duck Formula
05/11/2013 Last Update

  • theBCnut

    I went through 3 ssslllooowww transitions with her, then she was able to handle normal transitions. After about 3 normal transitions, I started switching daily. The whole process took her about 4 months.

  • Casie McNamer

    how long once you started switching foods did it take for your dog to get used to it?? My dog is not eating much and doesn’t seem to like her current wellness complete at all!! so I want to change her asap!

  • Susan Krasher

    Does anyone know which Back to Basics dog food is perfectly round, very dark in color dry food. My Bichons love it. We received it as a sample from our pet store and they have no clue which flavor it is. HELP!! I am thinking it may be the Open Range??

  • sharron

    hi – i was told by a pet store owner that you can freeze dry food – i talked to champion foods who makes orijen and acana about this and they told me not to as it destroys a couple of nutrients that the dog needs (can’t remember which nutrients they are)

  • Betsy Greer

    Great idea! Just be sure to let the portions come to room temperature before you open them; otherwise, you’re introducing moisture into the kibble.

  • Donna O’Neill-Mika

    Good point. I would probably rather freeze the bag in portions and then just take them out as I need them.

  • Betsy Greer

    Maybe you could try separating out the amount that you would use in a few days and sealing up the bag and refrigerating it until you need more.

    The scary thing about rancidity is that the food could actually be rancid before it smells rancid.

  • Donna O’Neill-Mika

    Hi Betsy, I do realize 2.5 months is a long time. And I always make sure the kibble is not rancid smelling before I feed it. My dog is a pretty inactive house dog that weighs 15lbs so he doesn’t eat that much dry food considering I mix it with wet. I buy the smallest bag possible so I do often have to throw the last bit out. I’m jealous of all you guys who can burn through 15lb bags in a month!

    Thanks for the article! :)

  • Betsy Greer

    Hi Donna,

    2-1/2 months is a very long time to have a bag of kibble open. Fats begin to go rancid as soon as you open the bag. Ideally, you should buy the size bag that you’ll use within a few weeks of opening.

  • Donna O’Neill-Mika

    I feed a rotational diet like some of the others below, i.e. a different food each time my bag runs about which is about every 2.5 months. He switches cold turkey fine. I’ve used B2B’s pork formula, which Rosco LOVED. I’ve only ever had him try samples of Orijen and he didn’t seem to like it, but this he gobbles right up, so I can’t really comment on the difference there. We currently just opened a bag of the Open Range too :)

  • Bonnie

    I replied, but guess it didnt post…

    Currently theyre finishing up Castor&Pollux Ultramix GF. They really like this food and have had almost no gas which they did have on Authority GF.

    In the morning they get raw (a piece equivilant to the size of an average chicken leg – turkey leg). Then (per husband insistence) they get about 1 1/4 cup kibble even tho they dont even touch it til the afternoon. Depending on their activity level theyll get 1/2 cup kibble in the evening.

    This past week it was over 100 degrees so they didnt eat as much since most of the day they layed around.

    I never mix foods to ease them onto it and they never have any issues with that.

  • Tony

    At Bonnie. I’m interested to know what u currently feed? How’s the schedule

  • Bonnie

    FWIW we feed our 6mo old rottie and 4mo old boxer mix different foods all the time. I get a different bag everytime we begin running low. I dont even need to mix a little more of the new food in each time. They never get an upset tummy, vomiting or diahrea from switching foods. We also feed raw each morning.
    Mostly I do whatever 4-5 star food I find a good sale on/have coupon for. So far theyve had Castor & Pollux ultramix, Authority Grain Free, Pure Balance Grain Free. Raw: Lamb, Chicken, Turkey, Pork, Beef, Eggs, salmon, trout, tilapia … most of their raw is parts of a whole chicken each day tho.

    Im looking to try B2B soon esp if I find a coupon…

  • Duke The Boxer

    Duke did amazing on the open range formula and I would recommend trying it.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Actually I’m hoping to try B2B soon for my crew. Right now, I’m feeding Nature’s Variety Instinct, Brother’s Complete, and finishing a bag of Canidae Pure(that I wish I hadn’t bought). Next, I’ll be trying Nature’s Logic, reusing Earthborn Holistic, and another flavor of Brother’s. Soon, I want to try Mulligan Stew, California Naturals, Annamaet, and B2B. I’ve fed several others in the past, but I have a dog with food intolerance/adverse food reaction issues, so I’m trying to find foods for my whole crew that he is OK with so I don’t keep having to worry about him getting something he shouldn’t have. I also feed some raw food each day.

  • Bruno

    And what foods do you feed?

  • Pattyvaughn

    If your dog isn’t used to change, definitely go slow!! But don’t stop there. I used to have a dog that took a month to switch foods, but after committing to a rotational diet, she can now eat a different food at every meal. She used to have a very unhealthy gut and got an upset stomache from anything. Now she never gets upset stomaches anymore and she is acting like a 7 year old instead of a 12 year old.

  • Bruno

    really, mixing dog foods is good? I was always told if you change to go very slow. i do not want or need diarrhea.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Don’t limit yourself to one food, pick a few to try, then pick a few more. Feeding a rotational diet is good for the gut.

  • Bruno

    i am thinking about B2B for my 127lb, 11month bullmastiff.
    can anyone tell me how there pup have done on it, or should i look at Orjien, i have also been thinking about this dog food, Please help!
    thank you

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    I also like Nutrisource grain free lamb formula. It’s about $49 for the big bag.

  • LabsRawesome

    Yes Whole Earth Farms is Merricks budget friendly brand. WEF is China Free, the same as all Merrick foods. All the info is on their site that I linked to in my previous post.

  • Jill Simson

    You know, it’s funny you mention them because I recently saw them in Petco and I was curious to know about them. They are very reasonably priced. It’s a quality food? I really like the Merrick brand so if it’s their product that’s reassuring.

  • LabsRawesome

    Hi Jill, if your are looking for a high quality grain free dog food, check out Merrick’s value food. It’s called Whole Earth Farms. They have recently come out with 2 new grain free recipes. http://www.feedgoodness.com/recipes/

  • Jill Simson

    I have a question for everyone -I have a senior female pit bull and a male jack Russell/dachshund mix who is very active. I had them on Merrick grain Free and they were doing pretty well, but I switched them to Taste Of the Wild because money was a little tight. Now that I found out that TOTW is owned by Diamond I definitely want to get them off. I recently went to the pet store and saw the Back to Basics grain free and organ meat brands. B2B grain free and Merrick are about the same price, but the organ meat B2B is about $20 more. Are any better than the others? Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

  • mental editor

    Duck or porn lol

  • Duke The Boxer

    Well I went ahead and ordered the open range beef liver formula. I will report in a couple weeks.

  • InkedMarie

    I liked the unedited version of your comment, when you “kissed” her on the forums lol

  • Julie

    The original Back to Basics Pork High Protein has not caused my dog any loose stools. She’s been doing great on it! I just started adding in the B2B Liver & Pork wet to the dry. She loves it and no bad reactions from it, only good!

  • Pattyvaughn

    My 12 year old gets ALS, so does everyone else. I feed puppy food for life. Generally speaking, you pay the same for adult food, but the mineral levels are not as closely monitored, you get less protein, and you get less fat, which means you get lots more carbs.

  • Duke The Boxer

    Thank you a ton HDM! Have a good week!

  • Hound Dog Mom

    We don’t mind the questions!

    I wouldn’t ever recommend feeding an “adult” food. I’d suggest looking for a food labeled “all life stages” – just about every 5 star food is all life stages. True “maintenance” foods are generally very low in protein.

    Yeah I haven’t been on the forums in awhile. I always had so much trouble logging in and posting I haven’t tried to get on in awhile.

  • Duke The Boxer

    I fee like such a noob for asking so many questions. But this is for anyone. When can I start feeding duke adult food? He is 9 months I think since idk exactly when he was born since I rescued him at around 3 months old. He weighs like 52 lbs now. Also it’s nice to see you are doing well HDM I missed you on the forums.

  • Duke The Boxer

    Hahaha you do have a point.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Skin goes with the theme. LOL!!

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Wow I’m having trouble typing too. That should be skip not skin lol

  • Duke The Boxer

    Hehehe -.- but that is a very good question. I do plan on trying them all except my family isn’t so with me on rotating foods. That’s kind of why I want to get like 4-5 different foods of different proteins to rotate yearly. And changed every year or something. Duke has done great on the coastal catch from earthborn so I think I might try the primitive natural. Like I said I just wanted a high protein food with most of its protein from animals.

  • Betsy Greer

    Don’t feel foolish!! When I was trying to respond to you my auto correct changed “high organ” to Higginbotham. Glad I caught that one in time!

  • Hound Dog Mom

    I think all the brands you mentioned are great. Why not try them all? (Well except for the porn might wanna skin that one lol!)

  • Duke The Boxer

    Hahahah pork* lol. Damn the keyboard is small on these damn iPhones. -.- I feel foolish

  • Betsy Greer

    Porn?? LOL!

    Hey, my two both developed loose stools after a few weeks on the original B2B duck formula. Not sure if that was because they were still both very young and the high organ meat content or if it was a duck issue.

  • Duke The Boxer

    Oh wow that is very sketchy. Well I will try and talk to b2b’s on site vet and see what he says about the loose stools possibility. But my current options are Orijen, b2b duck or porn, Earthborn Primitive natural, Nature’s logic but I’m concerned that NL is more plant based protein and meat. I walk duke like 3-4 miles everyday and we play a lot in my yard so I just want something that will keep him gaining more muscle and a little more mass. He is still only 9 months old. What do you recommend HDM?

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Most any of the 5 star foods would fit the criteria of having a low percentage of protein from vegetable sources. Victor, as labs mentioned, is a great food. Back to Basics would still be worth a shot though – just because some dogs have issues with it doesn’t necessarily mean Duke will (it does look like a great food). Timberwolf looks good ingredient wise, however I’m hesitant to recommend their products due to the fact that they refuse to disclose who their manufacturer is.

  • LabsRawesome

    Hey Duke, have you ever considered Victor dog food? I like the GF Ultra Professional Formula. They have a protein score card, that reads 81% protein from meat, poultry, and fish. 19% protein from plant, and veggie, and 0% protein from grains. http://www.victordogfood.com/

  • Duke The Boxer

    Woah HDM! So good to hear from you! Thank you for the response. I was talking about their grain free food that I heard people having problems with. I’m just trying to find duke a good high protein food with low protein from plant and vegetables % timberwolf platinum also looked good. Can you offer any suggestions? Duke is 9 months now and is at like 53 lbs.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    I wasn’t aware that there were any formula changes. This review hasn’t been updated in 10 months and the ingredient list and general analysis match what the website says.

    I would assume that the high organ meat content causes the loose stool. They do have an entirely new line of foods but they don’t look very good – they only got 3.5 stars and they actually cost more than the good formulas I believe.

  • Duke the Boxer

    I have heard of people having loose stools with the old formula of B2B. Does anyone know if these formulas also have been causing loose stools in your dogs? I’m thinking of trying the pork formula.

  • Rae

    Thanks so much! Your comment was very helpful. The ingredients look great, and the price isn’t too bad either compared to the other brands I use. I read that the B2B brand was bought by another company who changed ingredients (for the better I heard) and some people were not too happy about the change. When I used evo it was great, until P&G bought them out, now I can’t feed it without worry. I hope this company isn’t the same, because I really think I might try this next time I buy food.

  • Julie

    I can highly recommend the Back to Basics Pork Formula, which my dog is currently eating. I’ve looked “high and low” for a potato-free, limited ingredient food with high protein and this one fits the bill. However, my dog can’t have the other B2B high protein formulas due to intolerances. And, I have tried multiple varieties of NVI (dog had allergic reactions so I won’t use it anymore) and Orijen red meat. I think B2B is similar to the Orijen except B2B is more limited ingredient which is better in my opinion and why I’ll continue to buy it. My dog’s yeasty paws have totally cleared up, her eyes are finally not goopy, fur is not turning rust color but actually full and shiny, scratching is at a minimum. She is doing really good on this food, knock on wood. I don’t know anything about the company except the bag says it’s manufactured by Ainsworth and made in the USA.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Last time there was a discussion about this brand and it’s quality was over a year ago, so anything could have changed.

    I hope Hound Dog Mom sees this, because she is the one who usually has the recent knowlege. I’m not ready to order it quite yet, so I haven’t tried to contact them yet. I still have about 100# of dog food to use up.

  • Rae

    I just worry about ingredient quality and sourcing. Do u know anything about the company? I’ve visited the website but have not emailed them yet.Thanks for the reply! If anyone else has tried this brand as well as Orijen and/or NV Instinct and can give me some pointers that’d be great :)

  • Pattyvaughn

    I have no idea how it compares other than it has high protein, but I can tell you that it is also on my list to try for my dogs’ rotation.

  • Rae

    Hi all. I just found this food and was thinking of adding it to my rotation. I have read some comments but would like some opinions. I was looking at the venison formula. I feed Orijen and NV Instinct, different formulas in rotation. I got hooked on NV Instinct when Orijen had the kitchen fire and I couldn’t find a supplier, my dogs really like it and do well on it. My question is how does Back To Basics compare to these two brands? Any help me s greatly appreciated. Thanks so much!

  • Freeholdhound

    My dog has similar intolerances : no chicken, turkey, venison, salmon or white fish. I tried the Pork formula and he didn’t handle it well. I hope yours does better =)

  • Betsy Greer

    We tried it when the pups were both still very young and ended up with loose stool after several weeks of eating it.

  • Pattyvaughn

    It’s on my short list for my dog with food intolerances too.

  • Julie

    I’m trying this brand in the high protein pork. My dog is intolerant to many meat proteins such as chicken, fish, venison and lamb. She’s also highly reactive to kelp and alphalfa. This dog food does look limited ingredient enough for my dog and it has a good amount of meat in it.

  • liz

    I also buy other food for my poodle at few of pet boutigues too and onlines chewy.com, petfooddirect.com they have back to basic food and other good food as well, doggiefood.com has shipping is free and has discount on all the food u order,, I get this coupon there all the time,, I love shopping at the pet boutique places then shopping at the warehouse cause sometimes there aren’t have sell food what I want, sometimes they don’t have the food I want to get,, I have either place order to get the food on time,, one place near me carries back to basic dog food full lines everyday, and close to me driving only 5 minutes and its big place then other pet supplies plus, I been to other PPP and it wasn’t good , food was kind of old not taking care of, so not all PPP is bad ~~ we don’t have tractor supply near me , there is 1 but I have to drive 2 hrs ~ to get there, anyway I got the back to basic grain free, gluten free potato free 4pound bag turkey and pork formula for $14.99 good price ~ it was on sale for couple days!! some of my friends recommended to me, she is feeding this food to her yorkies and poodles and doing very well, and good for picky eater do well too!! her poodle won’t eat any other dry kibbles except this one! will see if my picky poodle likes to eat this food~ will be updated soon!

  • CranberryCoco

    Do yourself a favor and shop around.

    Certain chain pet stores like to jack up the price so they can have have “sales” and “coupons”. I would do some shopping around to make sure you’re buying the food for a reasonable price.

    If you have a pet feed store like Tractor supply, I would check them out first. It seems like they seem to have the freshest foods. If they don’t have what you want they might be able to special order it.

    There’s also pet boutiques that may carry Back to Basics. It’s often still cheaper to buy from these stand-alone stores even without the sales and coupons.

  • liz

    few of pet supplies plus near where I live ~ pet store are very huge place looks alike Costco, they are clean and they change every food updated, I shop there often and always look carefully expiration and food bag quality, opened package if not satisfy with food it is refundable!! but never happen to me and food are very fresh there! only thing is the price is little high for 4 pound bag is $16,99 but long as my poodle likes doesn’t matter!

  • CranberryCoco

    Yes just make sure to check the best by date. Pet Supplies Plus closest to me doesn’t seem to move some of their pet food very fast. I also wish they weren’t so overpriced on some of their stuff.

  • liz

    I can buy Back to Basic grain free, gluten free, potato free, all kinds of meat formula and also all other back to basic food locally at Pet supplies Plus , this store is state to state, u can check store location near u~

  • Liz

    These are the lists of Probiotic/enzymes for dog and cat
    1. Prozymes Original (probiotic/enzymes)
    2. Animal Essential plant enzymes
    3. NWC Natural Total -Zymes & Total Probiotic
    4. Dr, Mercola Digestive enzymes
    5. Dr, Mercola complete probiotic for pet
    so fat these product probiotic enzymes are safe and no side effect unless dog /cat has some other illness issues good to research reviews, I tried for my poodle 2 kind brand, one is Prozymes orginal and the other one is Animal essential plant enzymes so far, both of these woks well no side effect!! u can add into wet, dry, raw, home cooked food~ some times I sprinkled some prozymes powder into mix with plain yogurt works well too,
    one more thing for the Animal essential plant enzymes powder supplement ~ after open bottle must stored into fridgerator for further freshness and active well~

  • Julie

    No she hasn’t been tested, not yet. And I just remembered I did buy some enzymes from PetCo a while back. She got a yeast infection in her ears so I stopped. But I still may try the Back to Basics dry in pork (she cannot have poultry among other things.) I’m glad your dog is maintaining on this food and you figured out what works.

  • Eldee

    Before you add enzymes you should have your dog tested for EPI. it is a blood test that determines the level of pancreatic enzyme activity in your dog. Maya is in the grey area with low enzymes being excreted from her pancreas and thus she needs extra enzymes so she can get the nourishment from her food. It is recommended that these dogs have a grain free diet and lowish fat. Has your dog been diagnosed with EPI?

  • Julie

    Enzymes, what brand exactly? Or do you think any brand would do? I’ve never given them to my dog before. Should I start slowly? Thx again.

  • Eldee

    The old formula. turkey. Works really well. I soak it first until it soft, then I add her enzymes and mix and sit for 1/2 hour or so and then it goes into the fridge for the next day.

  • Julie

    May I ask which Back to Basics formula works for your EPI dog? TIA

  • mnc

    yes a german shepherd is considered a large breed,get her off of buffalo and on a food she likes,mine is enjoying newmans dog food which ranks w/ 4 stars.your dog will stay under weight as long as she is puking up her food.good luck.

  • Eldee

    I don’t know why Back to Basics came out with a new line. I hope that doesn’t mean they will stop making the old one. It agrees with my EPI dog as it is 0 grains, 0 gluten and 0 potato. Making it a lot more digestible.

  • Ozzy’s Dad

    I went back to the store and they said they hadn’t received any of the other type.
    At least I know I can keep him oh his original diet. As long as I grab the right bag!!!
    Duh…

    Thank you

  • Pattyvaughn

    Adoptadog has got it right, you don’t have the food that you think you do.

  • adoptadog

    Looks like you picked up the wrong bag of food. They have a newer line of grain free kibble, which is consistent with what you posted. Maybe you can take it back and exchange it?

  • Ozzy’s Dad.

    We have a 140 lbs German Rottweiler, whom we’ve been feeding Back to Basics for the past couple of years and has loved it thus far.
    Yesterday we got his regular supply of BtB Turkey dry food, and noticed that they have completely changed their recipe to include potato. The nutritional value has also changed significantly:

    Crude protein from 38% to 24%
    Crude fat from 18% to 14%
    Crude fiber from 3% to 4%
    Vitamin A is not mentioned in the new recipe
    Zinc is included in the new recipe at a 250 mg/kg
    Glucosamine from 1,500 mg/kg to 800 mg/kg
    Chondroitin from 1,200 mg/kg to 400 mg/kg
    Taurine from 0.10% to 0.05%.

    The feeding guidelines also changed, recomending to increase the amount of food with the new recipe.
    Just to point a couple of them out…

    For active large breed dogs (51-100 lbs)
    From 3 – 4 3/4 cups to 4 1/4 – 7 cups.

    For active extra large dogs (over 101 lbs)
    From 5+ cups (+ 1/2 cup for each additional 10 lbs) to
    7+ cups (+ 1/2 cup for each additional 10 lbs).

    we are concerned that this change on the nutritional value wil affect negatively on his diet.

    Any feedback would be appreciated.

    Thank you.

  • anita

    back to basics pork worked for our gsd who is 1 year six months old

  • Shane

    Shane
    @ Storm’s Mom – Thank you very much.

  • Storm’s Mom

    Sounds like you’ve been feeding him all chicken-based foods thus far, so it could be he’s allergic/intolerant to chicken..I would try something chicken-free (and grain-free) to start. If German Shepherds are considered a large breed (I’m not sure), be sure to feed him something on this list: https://docs.google.com/a/dogfoodadvisor.com/file/d/0BwApI_dhlbnFTXhUdi1KazFzSUk/edit?pli=1 These are foods that meet the unique nutritional requirements that large breed puppies have.

  • Shane

    Hello;
    I have the similar problem as Jason Van Campenhout has… My 12 week old German Shepperd puppy is refusing food. Home breeders were giving them Pureena and then we switched to Hollistic Chicken base… But he does not seems to like it. Then as per the pet store owner, I’m trying now Legacy – All natural puppy food but he seems not fond of it. I cannot say he is under weight as he is arund 29 lbs now. I mix the wellness wet food to this dry food so at least he eats something….
    Please help… He is our first doggy and we are so new to raising a dog.
    Thank you.
    ik

  • CranberryCoco

    Wrong spot

  • CranberryCoco

    Stop feeding the blue buffalo. Not only does it not agree with your dog but there’s quite a few people claiming Blue buffalo made their dog sick. The company takes no responsibility.
    I’m not sure if German shepherd is considered a large breed.

  • Jason van Campenhout

    hey everyone, could someone please help me out here? i’ve recently (4 months ago) bought a 10 week old german shepherd puppy, i’ve been feeding her blue buffalo, and she seemed to do fine on that, but now that she is a little bit older she doesn’t seem to like it very much anymore, also i went to the vet with her because she is underweight and constantly pukes up her food, the vet told me its just that i need to feed her more, so i did i just leave the food in a bowl for my dog to choose, but she really seems to not like blue buffalo. almost every night she is acting like she has to puke it all out, sometimes she even pukes it back up. please can someone help me figure out what would be a very good dog food for her? i can’t seem to figure out what is best and what is bad. i’m looking for her to get healthy and slowly start getting back on her normal weight. please someone help me.

  • Zyekitty

    great, I checked my local pet supply store and they don’t carry back to basics, then I went on back to basics web site and they have a thing that tells you places that carry back to basics that are “near” you, the closest one was over an hour away, so I’ll check out Amicus and Nature’s Logic.

  • Kikki

    In this particular case, I don’t think your dogs are going at it because it’s a mediocre food. It’s more likely because there’s a lot of meat in the food which dogs love.

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    Amicus and Nature’s Logic are tine kibbles as well, smaller than Back to Basics.

  • MHF

    We tried the “Turkey, chicken and salmon” one. My (minor) concern was with the number of additive ingredients towards the end of the list. We threw out the package, so I don’t have the list handy. Also that the regular Nutrience only has a 3.5 star rating. It very well may be 5 stars, but I’d like to see Dog Food Advisor do an analysis of it. It seems too different from the other Nutrience to only have one rating for the brand.

    I’m also concerned simply because of the way my dogs went at it. They tend to do this with mediocre food. It’s similar to the way humans will often eat McDonald’s over healthy food. Every other food that our dogs have eaten in this way has had a lot of artificial flavour/additives in it.

    That said, the top ingredients all looked fine. The top two ingredients were turkey and turkey meal, then chicken, then sweet potato. The middle ingredients had a number of fruit and vegetables. ‘ll be happy if this turns out to be 5 stars.

  • Storm’s Mom

    Which Nutrience GF did you/they try, the Fish or the Chicken one? My guy has had 2 medium bags of the Fish (he’s allergic to chicken, otherwise I would’ve tried that one, too), and LOVED it as well. I plan to add it to his rotation.

    I believe Nutrience GF is not rated on here because it’s very new and Dr Mike hasn’t gotten to either updating the “regular” Nutrience review to include this one or, if warranted, do a separate review on it. At any rate, my guess would be that Nutrience GF would be a 5 star food.

    I was so pleasantly surprised to see that Nutrience came out with a GF food that is actually a LOT better than its other foods.. a lot of companies coming out with GF stuff at the moment seem to have products equal in quality to or even less than their other products, which is unfortunate and disappointing. I’m impressed that Nutrience has gone the other route and created a much better food than anything they’ve previously made. I never would’ve fed Nutrience previously, but now, like I said, I plan to add Nutrience GF Fish to my guy’s rotation.

    I’m curious what you mean by “the ingredients look good, but not as good as the ingredients in our regular brands”, though? I would disagree with respect to Fromm GF and Now which seem to have far less protein from meat sources than Nutrience GF (well, protein generally, but especially from meat sources). It seems pretty on par with Acana Regionals and Go Fit & Free (and much better than the rest of the Acana Singles or the other Go formulae).

  • MHF

    We got a free sample bag of Nutrience Grain Free recently. Our two Yorkies love it. We normally feed them Fromm, Acana, Now or Go. We mixed the Nutrience in and they were picking it out and leaving the Fromm behind.

    They have preferred the less healthy food in the past so them liking it may be a bad sign – I’m looking for a rating on this food. The ingredients look good, but not as good as the ingredients in our regular brands.

  • Zyekitty

    thanks

  • Eldee

    They would be the perfect size for your dog.

  • Zyekitty

    I have a little yorkie, Zyekies, he currently eats wellness core small breed and is doing very well but I would like to add some variety to his diet. Does anyone know about how big the kibbles are for Back to Basics?

    The ones in wellness core small breed are about the size of a cheerio, except they’re triangles, I would like to find something about the same size, could be a bit bigger but not a lot bigger.
    Thanks

  • Melissaandcrew

    Oh, I agree. if it becomes available here, I would give it a go in the rotation for the possee : )

  • Kikki

    I understand and that’s why I said “first glance” because there can be protein splitting too for the ingredient list too look nicer. Let’s say food A has 9 lbs salmon meal and then 3 lbs peas vs. food B which has 4 lbs salmon meal, 4 lbs menhaden meal and then peas. At first glance food B will look nicer even though there’s more fish in food A but I guess that’s why we have to look at the guaranteed analysis but then again I don’t know how much protein there is in fish vs. peas to do a better guesstimate. But that’s what I meant (but not saying that’s the case with Nutrience in relations to HL though).

  • Storm’s Mom

    I don’t have a bag here anymore, but I believe you are right Melissaandcrew. It’s headquartered in Montreal and owned by a Canadian family, but I believe I did see that the bag said it was manufactured in the US. For this reason, I find it odd that it seems to not be widely available in the US!

    When I thought Hagen (parent company of Nutrience), same thing here, I thought fish food, and their lower-quality dog food …but it seems like they have really “upped their ante” with this grain-free line, which I am really glad to see and want to support!!! …particularly when so many companies are coming out with, well, grain-free lines that match or lower their reputation!! (the awful Hill’s Ideal Balance GF, the new Back to Basics low-protein GF, etc) Nutrience could’ve easily gone that route and created a grain-free food that matched the quality of their other foods (which I never fed and never would feed), but instead they created a really good looking grain-free kibble.

  • Melissaandcrew

    One thing I find interesting is that while Nutrience is a Canadian company, I believe its made here in the USA at Hagens in Waverly NY I really don’t think dog food when I think Hagen..they are best known for Hamster habitrails, Tetrafin fish food( which I used to use) and various bird products.I didn’t even know they had a dog food plant!

  • Storm’s Mom

    A (quick!!) reply from Nutrience about the “fish oil” in their GF Ocean Fish & Salmon ingredients list.

    Hello,

    Thank you for your comments! The fish oil in our formulas is indeed salmon oil; this has been labeled correctly on our packaging for the Natural line of dog and cat foods; however, labeling it as “fish oil” on our Grain Free packaging was an oversight on our part, and reprints of the packaging will instead list salmon oil in the ingredient list.

    We are glad you are pleased with the Grain Free formula – we hope your pet enjoys it and that you feel good about feeding it!

    Please let us know if you have any other questions. We appreciate your feedback!

    Best regards,

    Michelle

  • Pattyvaughn

    Splitting meat ingredients that are before the starch ingredients means that there is more of both of those meats than there is of the highest starch. I don’t have a problem with that. It’s splitting starch ingredients so there appears to be less starch that is a problem.

  • Storm’s Mom

    I agree with you on the ingredient splitting, but this isn’t really the case with Nutrience. There’s only pea ingredient before the oil (“green peas”), and I don’t think the “pea fiber” listed after the oil would contribute much, if anything, to the protein level. Horizon Legacy Fish, on the other hand, has both “peas” and “pea starch” BEFORE the oil.

  • Kikki

    Mm, I see. Ever since learning about ingredient splitting, I won’t get sold on 2 vs. 1 protein meals before carb at first glance but I’m not an expert so I look forward to see Dr. Mike’s verdict. I agree with everything else you said though as you feed rotational, the small details aren’t biggie and if it’s easier to find and you can get better deals on it, big plus on the side.

  • Storm’s Mom

    I’ve fed 2 medium-sized bags of it, Storm did awesome on it and seemed to love it!! :-) Regular price here is the same as Legacy Fish …probably not by accident! lol ;-) ..but Nutrience is sold primarily (exclusively? not sure…) at a Canadian “big box pet store” that often has “buy 1 get half off the 2nd one” sales, while Horizon Legacy Fish, at least around here, is only sold at small boutique-ish shops and is hardly ever on sale, certainly not for “buy 1 get half off the 2nd one”!! For this reason, I would say that you get “more bang for your buck” with Nutrience.

    The fact that Nutrience has 2 meals before the peas gives it the edge for me over Legacy Fish, too, which has 1 meal before the peas (both have deboned fish as the 1st ingredient…whitefish for Nutrience, salmon for Legacy). I think Nutrience also has slightly less carbs than Legacy Fish, but I always have to wait for Dr Mike’s review to figure that figure out! lol.

    The only things I don’t love about the Nutrience are the “fish oil” (wish it was a named fish – Legacy Fish has “salmon oil”), “natural fish flavour” (same reason, but also because of the MSG – Legacy Fish doesn’t use flavourings), and canola oil (Legacy Fish uses the previously mentioned salmon oil) …but none of these are a big deal to me (it’s just one kibble in his rotation) and I think the extra protein from meat/fish sources makes me decide in Nutrience’s favour. But I’m willing to be persuaded back to Horizon Legacy Fish ;-)

  • Kikki

    Never heard of the brand, probably because it’s Canadian and because I never check anything below 4 stars which their old food are. Just visited their website because you sparked my curiousity. Looks great! Have you had the chance to try it yet and how is the price compared to Horizon Legacy? I wonder if it will affect HL’s sales.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Yes, that’s kind of how I feel about it too.

  • Storm’s Mom

    My sentiments exactly! This is why I was so pleasantly surprised to see Nutrience come out with their Grain-Free formulae, which look a milllllllion times BETTER than any of their other formulae! The other formulae were lower-mid level I would say …I think they are mostly rated 3 stars here with maybe some 4 varieties. Although Nutrience Grain Free has not yet been rated on here, it would not shock me at all if it were 5 stars. Their fish formula will likely replace Horizon Legacy in my rotation, if you can believe that!! (Nutrience appears to have more protein from meat and less peas than Legacy Fish). Great stuff!

  • Kikki

    They should’ve just put a grain-free stamp or logo on the old food and called it a day. By doing what they did, I feel the company is kind of dishonest and shady. Been wanting/hoping to try this food down the line but now I feel kind of iffy about the company itself.

  • InkedMarie

    Ugh, I hope that doesn’t happen here! I love that I ordered Wednesday and it was here today, before noon. I’ll be adding a little in to her NV raw boost.

  • Melissaandcrew

    Definetly. My crew had odd play doh looking stool on the Nl.

  • Melissaandcrew

    Sorry for the late response. It would cost me a fortune with that kcal count to feed my crew. That is one food I would not recc for the average dog.

  • InkedMarie

    will do!

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Let everyone know how the NL goes. I think you’ll like it, it’s a wonderful food.

  • InkedMarie

    If it was one food with low calories, I’d say it’s a typo but not all of them!

    I have my first bag of Natures Logic chicken arriving today, for chicken. Then, I ordered a case of their food for she & Gemma plus a case of Wellness Core salmon for Boone! I think I can squeak one more order of Darwins but that will be it for awhile

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Wah. Gertie and Mabel would need nearly 10 C. per day if they were eating the whitefish formula!

  • InkedMarie

    I can’t see where Melissa responded but I will. On their site, here is what I see:

    high protein turkey: 402 kcal’s/cup
    high protein duck: 387
    high protein pork: 424
    high protein open range: 400

    grainfree turkey/potato: 282
    gf whitefish/potato: 273
    gf lamb/potato: 297

    Thats the dry. Whoa, those are some low cal foods! Wonder how many people buy it, dogs lose weight and they wonder why? Pretty cost prohibitive to feed this, at least for me.

  • Tiara’s Family

    The Royal Canin Hepatic was suggested by the vet because she has high liver enzymes and this food is designed for easy digestion. Royal Canin Veterinary Diet Hepatic Formula Dry Dog Food is a vet diet that contains all the necessary ingredients to manage disease in your pet’s liver. A moderate level of high quality vegetable protein, elevated levels of dietary fiber, increased zinc, and restricted copper go into this therapeutic vet diet. Royal Canin Veterinary Diet Hepatic Formula Dry Dog Food is naturally preserved, and supplies powerful antioxidants which help maintain a strong and healthy immune system for your dog.

  • Pattyvaughn

    I’m sorry I didn’t explain myself better. If you tell us specifically what he needs and needs to avoid, you are more likely to get some good choices suggested. If your only criteria is under $3.20 a lb, then almost any OTC food will fit the bill.

  • Tiara’s Family

    That’s a given, just trying to find something that doesn’t cost $3.20/pound.

  • Pattyvaughn

    I hope the remodeling is going well. And yes, it seems to me they are attemping to make a new diet food or something, not a quality grain free.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    I can’t find the calorie content on their website. Where are you seeing it? If it is less than 300 kcal. per cup then yes, very weird. Actually, I think that would even be odd for a grain-inclusive food. The only foods I would expect to see with that low of a calorie count would be like a prescription weight loss food.

  • Melissaandcrew

    I have been swamped with our remodeling here and just catching up. I was unaware of the new foods and just looked. Is it me or does less than 300cals per cup for grain free seem odd? I honestly expect good grain frees to be 400-500 cals per cup..

  • Pattyvaughn

    You should talk to your vet about what specific things you should be looking for in a food.

  • Tiara’s Family

    I have been feeding my dog Royal Canin Hepatic. Do you have a food that is good for the liver?

  • Pingback: Back to Basics | Global Pet Foods St. Catharines

  • InkedMarie

    One reason I’m not a Natural Balance fan

  • Storm’s Mom

    This is why I was so surprised/pleased when I saw that Nutrience – which produces a lot of low protein, starch/carb laden stuff – came out with 2 grain-free formulae that are actually significantly better looking than anything they’ve ever produced before! There’s no way I’d ever look twice at their grain-inclusive stuff, but they’re gaining my respect with their newest grain-free stuff!! Storm’s doing fantastically on it!

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Unfortunately this is becoming all too common. Many companies are beginning to play off the average consumer’s naivete by using the buzzword of the moment “grain free.” People are hearing that grain-free is a good thing and think that switching to a grain-free food will automatically be healthier for their pet even if this “grain-free” food is about about 22% protein and loaded with potatoes or legumes or canola meal. It’s not about the grain, it’s about the protein. :(

  • Betsy Greer

    Back to Basics really threw me off with their new line of “grain free” products. The original “high protein” formulas are grain free, but just don’t say it on the bag. It’s almost like the company was trying to capitalize on the consumer demand for grain free products, but the way they’ve gone about it is really sort of insulting.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Hi Dacholiday Dach –

    I think you may have tried a food from Back to Basics new lower quality line – not this 5 star rated line. The original Back to Basics line doesn’t have a fish formula. Maybe you should try one of the 5 star formulas listed above – they’re much higher quality and contain a lot of meat (which dogs love). You could also try mixing in some quality canned food to get her to eat. Or you could just leave the food out until she decides to eat, she won’t starve herself. She’s probably addicted to all the sugars in the Purina. Personally, if Purina was the only food my dogs would eat they wouldn’t be eating. Dogs can be finicky – just give her some time to adjust to a quality food.

  • Cyndi

    Your dog is absolutely adorable! :-)

  • Betsy Greer

    Hey ajaycee,

    I meant to ask the other day, are you in the US? You mentioned something that made me think of it again when you said that some particular brand of food wasn’t available “over here.” I just wondered because this might affect availability issues for some of the brands we’re talking about.

  • Betsy Greer

    Mine are currently on a rotation of Horizon Legacy. This is the first time I’ve used it and both of my dogs are doig fantastic on it. I have one dog that can eat practically anything and another that has to have grain and white potato free because he’s prone to yeast and he has a sensitive stomach so he does better on foods that don’t contain chickpeas or lentils.

  • Betsy Greer

    Hi ajaycee,

    I use Nature’s Logic, also. I use all of their proteins in both kibbled and canned diets and recommend it, but you should know it’s not grain free.

    Nature’s Logic contains millet, which is a gluten free pseudo grain.

  • Melissaandcrew

    Hi tek and pro pac and I believe grandma maes country naturals have no recalld.

  • InkedMarie

    THK is one of the foods I’ve fed for about 7yrs, will continue. It was tainted parsley, I don’t believe any dog got sick. They have changed where they purchase the parsley.

    this recall will not stop me from buying it. For me, it’s the amount of recalls, what the recall is for, did dogs get sick and any other stuff, such as (I believe it was, someone correct me if I’m wrong), the fact that the FDA found duct tape and cardboard used on dog food equipment. Also, Evangers was caught, with canned food, not having what was labeled in the food, stealing electricity and not paying overtime to workers. Those last two parts have nothing to do with food but I personally won’t buy food from this kind of company.

  • InkedMarie

    pretty sure you can add Brothers and Annamaet to that list

  • Hound Dog Mom

    THK recalled a few lots of their food because a supplier they source their human-grade parsley from found salmonella in some of their parsley stock. None of THK’s foods tested positive for salmonella and no dogs or people reportedly got sick. They recalled the product as a precautionary measure. IMO – there is a big difference between a recall such as this and a recall such as, say, Diamonds many recalls that are poorly handled and for the same offenses. It takes a lot of integrity to do what THK did. They were a company that had never had a recall and they were willing to tarnish their reputation due to safety concerns for the people handling their products and the animals eating them. Most companies will do anything to avoid having a recall and will wait until the FDA forces a recall or until so many animals and/or people get sick it’s unavoidable. This is why I think it makes much more sense to judge a company based on what there recall was for/how they handled it/frequency of recalls/etc. versus whether or not they’ve had a recall.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    My cats currently eat NL in their rotation and do wonderfully on it. I’ve also used their canned foods and whole food supplements in the past for my dogs with success. I’d highly recommend this brand.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Hi ajaycee –

    4Health is Tractor Supply’s store brand of pet food. The grain-inclusive line is manufactured by Diamond, however the grain-free line is manufactured by Ainsworth.

  • ajaycee

    you know what’s funny about this whole thread? One of my dog’s name is Diamond

  • ajaycee

    4Health: Owned by DIAMOND – http://www.petsitusa.com/blog/?p=5059

  • Dave’s Hounds

    Natures Logic is a regular in my rotation – I use all of their protein and the canned as well.

  • Storm’s Mom

    http://www.nutrience.ca/Grain-Free/ – scroll to the bottom and you’ll see “Learn about Grain Free for Dogs”, above the brown strip at the very bottom. Click on “Learn about..” and a PDF of the info will open. Scroll to the last 2 pages and you’ll see the 2 new formulae. They’ve been available here in Canada for about a month. I was quite surprised to see them come up with such a great looking product because, as you noted, basically all of their other formulae are, well, not great/crap.

  • ajaycee

    you must be ahead of the curve on that Nutrience grain free, because I dont even see that formula on their own website …their other formulas have corn in them though. yuk.

  • ajaycee

    I wish these recall sites had a function where you enter the dog food name then their number of recalls pops up …thx for the FDA link though, I’ve used that one before, and sometimes I check here. And I have the alert to email set up

  • ajaycee

    It’s a shame to see the Honest Kitchen on that list of recalls

  • ajaycee

    that Horizon looks really good too. I’m checking them all out right now lol

  • Storm’s Mom

    Nature’s Logic is one of my absolute favourites!!! (um, Storm’s too haha)

  • Storm’s Mom

    Merrick has had treats recalled but not food. Forgot about the treats!! Meh, I probably will take Merrick out of the rotation anyway…Storm never really did all that great on it, anyway.

    Here’s where I look recalls up:

    http://www.fda.gov/AnimalVeterinary/SafetyHealth/RecallsWithdrawals/default.htm

  • ajaycee

    That’s Nature’s Logic looks really good

  • ajaycee

    Thanks I will check those out …I’ve fed Merrick a lot, but not the others. Merrick has zero recalls though? I’m not doubting it, but that kinda surprises me. Where do you check for absolutely certain that a company has had zero recalls?

  • Storm’s Mom

    Nature’s Logic, Horizon Legacy, NutriSource, Earthborn, Merrick, Fromm…. and others. Those are the ones that come to mind, though, and I currently use in my rotation. I’m currently using Nutrience’s new Grain Free Fish formula, not sure if Nutrience has been recalled in the past….I’ll look it up before I feed again (I was just super curious to try the new Grain Free, and I was in a store that had “buy 1, get 50% off the 2nd”, so I couldn’t resist)

  • ajaycee

    and those are?

  • Storm’s Mom

    I like (stick with) the zero percentage recall companies, personally ;-)

  • ajaycee

    BTW, if anyone knows of a report that shows PERCENTAGES of recalled product instead of total number of recalls, by all means, PLEASE share with me.

  • ajaycee

    Diamond is a huge company …let’s say for the sake of argument 10 to 20 times larger than some of these others. Through simple mathematics and volume of product they are going to have a far larger number of recalls, and probably draw inspections at a rate proportionate to their size. I would be more interested in percentage of product that is recalled than simple numbers …I always wish they would make a report like this. For example, if company A produces 20 bags per month and 2 bags are recalled that’s a 10% recall rate. Company B produces 100 bags per month and 5 are recalled, a 5% recall rate. Simple numbers suggest 2 bags recalled is better than 5, but clearly company A’s recall rate is far worse, and actually double what company B’s recall rate is. Using cardboard and duct tape is quite ridiculous though, a company that size should be ashamed of themselves for doing that.

  • ajaycee

    Rachel Ray and Whole Earth are a no go, but I might try some of those other ones. Earthborn has been on my list for awhile. And I don’t know where you get your Fromm, but it is not inexpensive over here.

  • Butchroy

    I just thought of a food she might like, I know what you mean about our beloveds that only want the cheap food! You could try the 4 health grain free, at TSC, it is in the brownish bags, that one is made by Ainsworth not Diamond. The company sent me an email and verified it. There are three sets of flavors, I believe one is a fish variety, a chicken and a beef. The price on it is excellent, and they do have a small bag available. I am very happy with it. My cats loves the food too and they are the picky ones who only want the cheap stuff, the dog loves it but then he loves everything.

  • Dacholiday Dach

    I just bought the whitefish and potato for my girl. I chose this because she has itchy skin and thought the oils and such would be good for her. Well It definitely smells like fish, and she won’t touch it. She even refused to eat the Halo that was next to it, so I had to throw out both.

    I may try the duck formula and see how that goes.

    She prefers cheap food, and will eat any of that stuff with enthusiasm. Right now until I get back to buy more good stuff she’s eating Purina little bits. Silly dog.

  • InkedMarie

    Hi Maria, there are several online places to buy almost any dog food: PetFlow, DoggieFood, Wag, PetFoodDirect, Chewy, all at dot com.

  • Storm’s Mom

    Sorry, that “Guest” comment above was me, I thought you were asking where to find Back to Basics, not the other brands Betsy Greer mentioned.

  • Storm’s Mom
  • Maria Boiser

    Where do you buy these brands?

  • InkedMarie

    Recalls do not happen to any food, nor every food. One recall isn’t a big deal but Diamond has had multiple. I can’t link it on my tablet but google for the FDA report, which includes using cardboard and duct tape to fix equipment. I cannot give my business to a company like this but it’s up to you.

  • ajaycee

    I rotate their food every month or two so as to try and avoid allergies. This also keeps them interested in their food. I know I wouldn’t like eating the same thing month after month. They mostly get chicken, turkey, or duck formulas and occasionally I will get a fish formula. The last 3 brands they ate were Nutrisca, Merrick, and Newman’s Own. Other brands I feed them frequently are Taste of the Wild, Chicken Soup and Natural Balance. Acana when I I’m in a spending mood. When I have time, I also mix in fresh meats and vegetables so they’re not always eating just processed foods. I don’t always change the brand though. For example, when it’s time to rotate a bag of TOTW, sometimes I will just go from one of the fowl formulas to one of the fish formulas. We don’t do beef …maybe the B2B has some kind of beef ingredient in the Turkey formula. I will have to double check, but I usually check for beef ingredients, especially in the top 10. That could be it I suppose. I recently took on 2 more rescue dogs so I’m thinking of trying everyone on Diamond Naturals for now. It looks to be a pretty decent food at a good price point when you have many mouths to feed…plus it’s from the same company that makes almost half the brands you see at the store. And I know, everyone will talk about their recalls, but recalls happen with any food, and I keep an eye on them too.

  • Pingback: Best Dry Grain Free Dog Foods | Story Blog

  • InkedMarie

    What food (name & flavor) was your dog eating before?

  • ajaycee

    I know everyone’s experience is going to be different but I have been wanting to try this food forever, I just couldn’t pull the trigger on paying $70-$75 per bag. When I read the ingredients this food looks awesome. Finally my local store put it on sale (the Turkey formula) for $56 plus I had a $10 coupon, so I finally bought a bag. Almost immediately my Bulldog/Boxer mix had some kind of allergic reaction. His eyes began to pus up and he was itching and scratching like crazy. I took him to the vet and he said it could possibly be from an ingredient in the new food. So I just chalk it up to his experience with this food being different than other dogs. I’d love to know what set off that allergic reaction though. My Pit Bull did very well on this food. Her skin, coat and eyes were looking even better than before. So at least I was able to finish the bag off with her while buying a bag of something else for my Bulldog. I’m not sure what the news is on Back to Basics but now my local store has all of the formulas DEEPLY discounted at the end of the aisle where they put food they are trying to get rid of. This throws up a red flag for me, which is a shame, because all outward appearances suggest that this is a great food.

  • Georgiapeach

    If you went from 50/50 straight to all BtoB, it may have been too fast of a switch. It’s a rich food.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    As far as I know Back to Basics hasn’t changed any of their original formulas. Did you, by chance, mistakenly purchase the turkey formula from their new line of foods? They recently launched a new line of lower protein kibbles and there is a turkey formula.

  • A.D.M.

    Can any one tell me what changed in the Turkey?

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Back to Basics just came out with a new line of food – it’s a big downgrade from their original formulas. The food is grain-free but only contains 24% protein and it has white potatoes, pea protein, peas and pea starch. They also came out with a line of wet food, it looks okay but contains pea protein as well, in addition to caramel coloring and natural flavors. Kind of disappointing, I’d expect more from Back to Basics. I hope the new products are at least reasonably priced.

  • Melissaandcrew

    leave a message. They will call you back.

  • ShepAussie

    Are anyone’s calls answered when you call Ainsworth Specialty Brands the manufacturer of Back To
    Basics pet food? They have horrible and/or no customer service it seems. The # is 1-800-219-2558

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    I tried one medium size bag of Duck and there was one little red fish kibble in it and one (that I found anyways) X-shaped kibble that was brown like the Duck kibble.

  • ShepAussie

    I am going through my first small bag of their Open Range formula and found some different looking pieces of kibble in the bag. That is not good.

    Has anyone else found different looking kibble in your packages?

    They need to have some customer service! Nobody answers their customer service number and I have not received a reply email.

  • StormCloud

    My dogs, Hektor and Max love Back to Basics Turkey and Potato Treats. Blue Buffalo brand has been a part of their diet for nine months. They are now eleven months old (adolescence :-/), so we are transitioning from Blue Buffalo Wilderness Puppy to the Back to Basics Turkey and Potato (50/50) for dogs. They appear to be adjusting to the adult food very well. My german shepherds have beautiful coats and high energy levels. The Blue Buffalo brand has been working exceptionally well.

  • Lynn

    Great food. Have been using this for a year and Maya is doing great. Doing a bit of research on glutens in dog food and from my understanding they should be avoided. Seems like Back to Basics has done its homework on their recipes. 0 grains, 0 glutens 0 potato. I looked at Orijen but the fiber number was too high for my EPI dog. Has to be low fiber and I think no glutens as well for her to be digesting properly with the added enzymes. I mix it with Royal Canin vet diet gastro intestinal as she seems to do better with a bit of that food for some reason.

  • G300d

    I have Yorkshire Terriers, and have been using the Duck formula for several months, and my dogs are very happy on it. They like the tiny bite sized morsels. I have seen the picky eaters gain a little desired weight, and they are thriving on it. I mix it with another brand of dog food called Wellness Super Five Weight Control for my dogs that tend to put on extra pounds, and I discovered that they stay at a stable weight which was sometime hard to acheive with some of my dogs. Overall, I think that it is a quality dog food, but very pricey at $90 for 27 lbs.

  • Guest

    I’m currently feeding Taste of the Wild but with all the recalls and the more education I get on dog nutrition I dislike the food more and more. I would like to switch to raw or dehydrated in th future but right now I need to stick to kibble. Is there anything around the same price range that is any better than TOW or do I need to jump in price to get a better food?

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1140685339 Betsy Greer

    Wow, I don’t know where you’re buying your Back to Basics that you’re paying what you are for it. At wag.com, the price for a 27 pound bag ranges from $67.49 for turkey to $79.99 for the same size bag of the duck formula. If I were you, I’d shop around.

  • Amanda

    My two dogs are on Back to Basics Turkey formula and I have noticed an increase in their coat, breath smell, clear eyes and they LOVE it. We also supplement raw with it. I personally think this is a great dog food even though it is more expensive at almost $100 for a 25 lb bag.

  • http://www.facebook.com/roy.arensberg Roy Arensberg

    The fact that this contains more organ meats than most, I would assume it would be lower in ash content. Would’t it?

  • Otis’s Dad

    Sorry cheating here. I want to thank everyone that added suggestions for me.
    Hope everyone had a great weekend.

  • InkedMarie

    I ordered those Swanson ones that someone (HDM, I think) posted a link to. They arrive this coming Friday.

  • losul

    I think vitacost is another good source, both for humans and pets. Free shipping over $49.

    Here’s the one’s (enzymes) designed for humans; They also have some specifically for pets. They have their own branded products, plus other name brands;

    http://www.vitacost.com/productResults.aspx?NttSR=1&ss=1&x=0&y=0&ntk=products&Ntt=enzymes

    I don’t use any enzymes, but have used a few other things from them, have also used Puritan.com. I’m going to try their brand of coconut oil next time I need some. Very reasonable.

    http://www.vitacost.com/vitacost-extra-virgin-certified-organic-coconut-oil-54-fl-oz-9

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Hi Otis’s Dad -

    I would go with a supplement made for humans versus one made for dogs. Human supplements are generally higher quality and cost less (go figure). When looking for an enzyme supplement at the very least you want cellulase, protease, amylase and lipase – but the more enzymes included the better. You can just get a human supplement at the health food store or the vitamin section of your grocery store. If you’re ordering online I’d recommend swansonvitamins.com, drugstore.com or puritan.com – I order most of the supplements I use for my dogs and myself from these sites, they all have a great selection and great prices.

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1140685339 Betsy Greer

    Hi Otis’s Dad,

    I use and would recommend Mercola probiotics: http://healthypets.mercola.com/sites/healthypets/digestive-enzymes-for-pet.aspx. I use their human versions of digestive enzymes and probiotics myself with great success. : )

  • Otis’s Dad

    Thank you.
    Is there any particular that I should be getting him or just a digestive enzyme from the health food store? We have had the gas issue with commercial food for ever, none at all when I was making his food. This time around it is really disgusting.
    Again thank you so much.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Hi Otis’s Dad –

    You may want to try supplementing Otis’s diet with digestive enzymes, this can help with gas.

  • Otis’s Dad

    I am on the 5th bag now of the Turkey Back To Basics. I have a 4.5 y/o Boston Terrier.
    I was making my own dog food, but just was not satisfied that I was doing the best thing, I was constantly worried that Otis was getting enough of everything that he requires.
    I did some digging and came to Back To Basics. To date I am very happy with the product. Otis eats it down with out issue. He has put on some weight. His coat is nice and shiny. Also he had gone through a time period where he had lost the hair on his stubb of a tail which has now grown back. Eyes are Bright, Always in play mode. I really have no complaints other than the gas attacks which are worse than we have ever experienced. I have tried using special bowls to prevent the gulping of food but no success. Lastly, Otis’s stool is the way they are suppose to be, formed, yet soft, not flying out like bullets that we have experienced with other brands of lesser quality.
    Otis and I are very happy with the outcome of switching over to Back to Basics

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1140685339 Betsy Greer

    Hi Carol Hale,

    Thanks for rescuing your pup! It sounds like she’s found herself with a loving family.

    Hey, don’t feel embarrassed either! We all start somewhere and it’s often that experience with lesser quality foods that makes us fully aware of their hidden dangers and gives us something to compare the results of better foods to when we do make the switch. Heck, dog food is fun! I’ve started quite a collection myself. ; )

  • http://www.facebook.com/carol.hale.560 Carol Hale

    Interesting debate with Sandy. I bumped into this site today by accident. That, in and of itself, is very embarrassing since I’ve owned a dog for a year. I had no idea about rotating food or food qualities to look for. Our great pyranese was rescued from a high kill shelter in Texas (we live in Alabama) and getting her to eat anything that wasn’t junk was almost impossible at first (as was getting her to look at us – we know she was severely abused based on how she’s been acting. She finally enjoys walks and looks forward to Wellness treats and loves playing with us.) i researched dog food and found that Rachel Ray had high reviews. Eeek! Not true here. I’m glad I found this site and will try to get a great food that won’t break the bank. I really appreciate the longer comments I’ve read here because I now have an understanding of how much I don’t know. Don’t waste time on people who are defensive. You guys have a lot of knowledge that is helping a lot of people -even people who may not respond. Thanks for taking the time!

  • Valleydogtreats

    Definitely stop the steroids and antibiotics. Go with a different protein, no chicken 
    . Dogs with sensitivities tend to be allergic to chicken.
    Fish, rabbit, bison,venison are good choices to try. Good luck

  • Pattyvaughn

    Try pre/probiotics and digestive enzymes with every meal.

  • Dcombs1957

    Just started feeding 100% back to basics for about a week to my cockerpoodle and dachsie.Dachsie only ate half this morning but hard to tell if its the food since she is 21 and has multiple issues normally she eats anything.The cocker,brady has allergies and lives in an e collar.He eats it fine but has soft stools which are a pain to pick up.All the vet does is give out steroids and antibiotics which don’t last.I’m trying to find natural things that will help him.By the way my dachsies name is Libby.

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1140685339 Betsy Greer

    Last call for Back to Basics coupons. I have one for $5 and one for $8, each off of a 13 pound bag or larger that expire on 12/31/2012; and three for $2 each off of Real Meaty Bites treats that expire on 03/31/2013. The first to email me at Betsy10360 (at) aol (dot) com gets ‘em!

  • ohnoesaz

    It’s not pea protein.. It has peas listed, that’s the only pea reference. Pork liver, pork protein, tapioca, pork fat all come before peas, and then theres three more meats after peas.

    Either way, I have plenty of foods here that contain a lot of peas. The foods still smell rich like all grain free high-protein foods do.

    Back to basics has NO smell at all. It reminds me of the days when I was kid and we opened up a bag of corn/soy based food for the family dog. It basically smelled like paper, if anything at all.

    I’m not going to feed this stuff anymore…

  • Dave

    It has Pea Protein which can be 90% vegetable protein. It doesn’t have as much meat as you think. This is same trick that Fromm and Earthborn play,

  • Melissaandcrew

     Ohnoesaz-

    I have to agree on the lack of scent thing. Perhaps I am just used to the Acana that I use(the food smells like the meat ingredients) but I always have a moment of pause when I open a food with no smell to it. I have to wonder how all that meat can be in the bag, and no “food smell”….

  • ohnoesaz

    One thing that concerns me is this dog food has NO smell to it. Protein-based high quality dog foods always have a smell, usually a strong smell, and especially when you open the bag for the first time.

    Not Back to Basics… It’s like opening a bad full of paper or something. Zero smell.

    Makes me wonder…

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1140685339 Betsy Greer

    Hi Jim,

    I agree with everything Alexandra said.  50/50 for a few weeks was a good idea, but that jump to 100% BTB was pretty quick.  Did you finish up the Blue?  I’d probably get a small bag and continue the 50/50 til things settle down and then gradually increase up to 100% BTB.  

    Personally, I think this is a great food.  Mine are eating it right now also.  

  • ohnoesaz

    I added this food a few weeks ago to my dog’s rotation. They get it every 5th meal that goes by. They don’t poop strange or get diarrhea in the 24 hours following that meal. They eat some other rich foods, including EVO, so maybe that helps with handling rich food. All in all, it seems like a quality food for an acceptable price.

    My biggest concern is it is made in the same facility as some lower quality foods… Including some junk Rachael Ray treats and the VF Complete line that contains menadione, as well as some grain foods. Ainsworth’s website makes it very clear that foods are NOT cross contaminated. We have no way of ever knowing, but I feel some relief in knowing that they at least are aware its possible. A good company (if they are) will try to prevent it from happening.

    So the ingrediants are good, the price is acceptable, but for the same price you can get another high-end food that’s not made in the same facility as lower quality items.

  • Alexandra

    Hi Jim,

    I wouldn’t say the food is prone to causing diarrhea, however every dog is different

    The way you transitioned was pretty quick. Usually I do a 75-25 until stool is good then work my way up to 50/50 and so on until they are at 100%. It usually takes me 6 weeks or so.

    Having said that, B2B uses organ meats which are far richer then anything in Blue Buffalo. First cut back the amount of kibble and add in some pure pumpkin NOT pie filling. Your dogs should eat a fair amount less on this food the the blue.

    Hope this helps

  • Jim Young

    I was feeding my dog Vlue Wilderness (dry) and bought a bag of Back to Basicas, introducing it 50-50 for a few weeks. Yesterday I went 100% Back to Basics and this morning the house was full of diarrhea. Gave Pepto-Bismol, rice and nothing else after this episode.
    Is Back to Basics more prone to cause this condition?
    Jim Young
    [email protected]

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1140685339 Betsy Greer

    I contacted Back to Basics regarding the source for the ingredients for their Real Meat Bites treats and this is the reply I received:

    Hi Betsy,

    All the ingredients in the Back to Basics treats are sourced from here in the
    United States.

    If you should have any additional questions, please feel free to contact us at
    800.219.2558.

    Sincerely,
    Tanya

    Ainsworth Pet Nutrition
    the home of Enhance, VF, Back to Basics, and Source
    18746 Mill Street | Meadville, PA | 16335
    800.219.2558

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1140685339 Betsy Greer

    I have two Back to Basics coupons I won’t be using.  One is for $8.00 and the other for $5.00 ~ each on a 13 pound or larger bag.  If you want them, send me an email and I’ll drop them in the mail to you tomorrow.  [email protected]

  • Hannahanna

    My dogs do very well on this food. They love evo and they like taste of the wild. The only food they did not do well on is brothers. I tried the chicken one and one of my dogs wouldn’t touch it and my other poor baby had diarrhea for two weeks.

  • ARK

    Shawna, thanks.  I like this food a lot better than the Royal Canine Vet HP Formula which is a potato base food.  My dog had gotten to the place where he wouldn’t eat it even topped with the RC canned HP Vet Formula.  So I dropped the RC canned and added a 5.5 oz can of Nature’s Variety Grain-Free.  Needed a rotation and this food has some nice ingredients; more than the RC.  Never been a raw feeder so I applaude you. 

  • Shawna

    I haven’t seen the new Open Range Formula yet..  I’ll have to look it up.  There are a couple ingredients I don’t care for in the food — but I can say that about most foods :).  I’d use it in my rotation if the stores here carried it..

    Three of my dogs get kibble with raw and canned toppers.  The other five get raw with canned toppers.  As a raw feeder I know 10% is the max organ that should be included so 71% made me scratch my head :)..

  • ARK

    Thanks.  This makes me feel better. 

  • ARK

    Shawna:  I just read the package and it indicates 71% Animal, 29% Vegetables, and 0 Grain/Gluten/Potato.  I was mistaken and you’re right 71% organ is high.    I’ve been using a 5.5 oz., canned Nature’s Variety Instinct Grain-Free as a topper and it appears to be working, but didn’t want to overfeed. He’s a Collie with allergy problems which has cleared up.  He was on Royal Canine Vet Hypo Formula (potato based).  It was ok but was loooking for something else with a little more protein and no potatoes.  I do like the Back to Basics ingredients and they’ve came out with an Open Range Formula which looks good.  I’ll continue with the topper.  Thanks for your quick reply.

  • Shawna

    Hi ARK ~~ where did you get 71% organ from?  That’s HIGH..  Heart functions as an organ but can be fed as a muscle (since it is technically a muscle).  Additionally, the meals (on a dry matter basis) should contribute more protein then the organs. 

    I see no reason why a topper couldn’t be used?

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Unbalanced extras/toppers/treats can safely be used for up to 20% of the dog’s daily food intake without throwing off nutritional balance.

  • ARK

    Question: Does anyone know if it’s okay to feed a spoon of canned topper with the Back to Basics Formulas?  Just wondering since it’s 71% organ meat. 

  • Jeanine

    Is the flax ground or whole in Back to Basics

  • LabsRawesome

     Yeah, he’s a field type Springer Spaniel. I keep him shaved, he needed a hair cut in that pic, for sure.  :)

  • InkedMarie

    aww, cute! Is the one a springer?

  • LabsRawesome

     After you posted the full name I did a search, and found pics and breed info. Interesting dogs, and cute too. Here’s a pic of my 2.

  • InkedMarie

    Full blooded french scent hound, they’re in the hound group if you watch a dog shows. His name is Boone, by the way and yes, Ginger is a Brittany

  • LabsRawesome

     Oh okay. Never heard of that breed. Is it a full blood or mixed dog? Face kinda looks like an Old English Sheepdog. Is the other dog a Brittney Spaniel?

  • InkedMarie

    oops, sorry. PBGV (Petite basset griffon vendeen), aka peeb. It’s the breed that is the black & white one in my picture over there
    <~~~~

  • LabsRawesome

     InkedMarie, please forgive my ignorance, but what is a peeb?

  • InkedMarie

    replying to myself but I generally don’t care if people never show back up but this guy is probably the only one here beside myself who has a peeb and he has not come back!!!

  • Hockleyglen

    It would be ground flaxseed, because if it weren’t you would see all the seeds in the kibble pieces.  Everyone knows that in order for flaxseed to be beneficial it has to be ground.  Surely the nutritionists at Ainsworth know this.  ( let’s hope)

  • Hockleyglen

    My dog is doing so fine on this food.  I like what I read about it and my girl loves it.  Bottom line, what Maya likes, Maya gets.

  • Kathy

    You say flaxseed is good as long as it’s ground, yet the ingredients in this 5-star Back To Basics Dry dog food lists whole flaxseed as an ingredients. I find this conflicting, especially since you gave it 5 stars.

  • InkedMarie

    BillBeck!  You have a peeb? No way! I don’t meet many owners of peebs online except for on my peeb list. My Boone is 6.5yrs old; he’s our first. Thats him in my picture. I’d suggest looking for a food with no corn, wheat, soy or rice; chicken and beef can be high allergens too. My peeb had many many ear infections. He does fine on fish or turkey foods. I’d look at grainfree ones, such as Acana Pacifica, Earthborn fish one (can’t think of the name), Nature’s Variety limited ingredient turkey….if you’ve been feeding Beneful, the one with less sticker shock is Earthborn. They’ve never had a recall, it’s a very good food. 

  • Bill Beck47

     I have a 9 y.o. PBGV has had ear infections; has some subaestious cysts (fatty type) Vet NEVER suggested a different DF. I’m so sorry we have been feeding Herbie Beneful…Help me decide what to change him to.     Thanks,     

  • Alexandra

    Stacy,

    I have not tried it. I feel it is heavy in pea content. So the protein is artificially high. And given all the problems I have had with my GSD, if it ain’t broke, you don’t fix. :-)

    He is thriving on 50% raw and 50% Brothers, he gets a different formula with every bag.

  • stacy

    Have u tried nutrisca?  That is potato-free.  How does this compare to brothers?

  • http://BrothersComplete.com/ Richard Darlington

    Scrabbleaims

    High temperatures are a problem on a few levels for dog food. The mixed tocopherals they use to preserve the food is compromised by heat and heat always speeds up biological activity.

    The mixed tocopherals can be almost completely neutralized within a few months if not kept in air conditioning which means the fats will go rancid.

    Best to put the food in a cooler storage place.

  • Scrabbleaims

    Im a shih tzu breeder and I now use Back to Basics (BTB) dry.  I’ve noticed that my dogs don’t eat very much of it.  I’m not sure if they don’t like the flavour or if they are filled up because of the concentration of healthy ingredients.  I’ve always fed holistic, grain-free foods such as Orijen down to Canidae but they seem to have eaten more of those foods. Their stools seem to be soft and not having much form to them on some of my dogs.  I’m wondering if it is too rich for them?  Since I have been feeding them BTB, they haven’t been eating each others poop!!
    As a breeder I go through many bags of dog food and so I purchased around 8 big bags.  I am wondering though, how safe is it to keep so many bags (as the dogs aren’t eating nealy half of what they used to with the other foods) in a room with no air conditioning…  Will the warmth cause bacteria in the unopened bags?

  • Dog Food Ninja

    You know, it occurred to me looking back at this food that I have heard that flax seeds, once ground, go rancid and degrade too quickly to be of use in a dog food. Plus, flax is a plant based source of omega 3 which must be converted by the dog, so it’s not as useful as animal based omega 3. I’d like to see more premium dog foods stop using this ingredient. Other than that, the only two suspicious ingredients in this food are pea protein and “natural chicken flavor”, both of which are sources of free glutamic acid. And peas contain lectins similar to grains and white potatoes. Otherwise, an excellent food. The macronutrients alone make it worthy of 5 stars!