4Health Dog Food (Dry)

Share

Rating: ★★★★☆

4Health Dog Food receives the Advisor’s second-highest tier rating of 4 stars.

The 4Health product line includes nine dry dog foods.

Although each appears to be designed for a specific life stage, we were unable to find AAFCO nutritional profile recommendations for these dog foods on the product’s web page.

The following is a list of recipes available at the time of this review.

  • 4Health Puppy Formula
  • 4Health Small Bites Adult
  • 4Health Large Breed Adult
  • 4Health Mature Adult (3 stars)
  • 4Health Chicken and Rice Adult
  • 4Health Salmon and Potato Adult
  • 4Health Lamb and Rice Adult (3 stars)
  • 4Health Healthy Weight Adult (3 stars)
  • 4Health Performance Formula Adult (5 stars)

4Health Chicken and Rice Adult formula was selected to represent the other products in the line for this review.

4Health Chicken and Rice Adult

Dry Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 29% | Fat = 17% | Carbs = 46%

Ingredients: Chicken, chicken meal, cracked pearled barley, millet, brewers rice, chicken fat (preserved with mixed tocopherols), dried plain beet pulp, natural chicken flavor, flaxseed, fish meal, potassium chloride, salt, choline chloride, dried chicory root, glucosamine hydrochloride, vitamin E supplement, iron proteinate, zinc proteinate, Yucca schidigera extract, copper proteinate, ferrous sulfate, zinc sulfate, copper sulfate, potassium iodide, thiamine mononitrate, manganese proteinate, manganous oxide, chondroitin sulfate, ascorbic acid, vitamin A supplement, biotin, niacin, calcium pantothenate, manganese sulfate, sodium selenite, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), vitamin B12 supplement, riboflavin, vitamin D supplement, folic acid

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 4.4%

Red items indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis26%15%NA
Dry Matter Basis29%17%46%
Calorie Weighted Basis25%35%40%
Protein = 25% | Fat = 35% | Carbs = 40%

The first ingredient in this dog food is chicken. Although it is a quality item, raw chicken contains about 80% water. After cooking, most of that moisture is lost, reducing the meat content to just a fraction of its original weight.

After processing, this item would probably account for a smaller part of the total content of the finished product.

The second ingredient is chicken meal. Chicken meal is considered a meat concentrate and contains nearly 300% more protein than fresh chicken.

The third ingredient is barley. Barley is a starchy carbohydrate supplying fiber and other healthy nutrients. However, aside from its energy content, this cereal grain is of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

The fourth ingredient is millet, a gluten-free grain harvested from certain seed grasses. Millet is hypoallergenic and naturally rich in B-vitamins and fiber as well as other essential minerals.

The fifth ingredient is brewers rice. Brewers rice is a cereal grain by-product consisting of the small fragments left over after milling whole rice. Aside from the caloric energy it contains, this item is of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

The sixth ingredient is chicken fat. Chicken fat is obtained from rendering chicken, a process similar to making soup in which the fat itself is skimmed from the surface of the liquid.

Chicken fat is high in linoleic acid, an omega-6 fatty acid essential for life. Although it doesn’t sound very appetizing, chicken fat is actually a quality ingredient.

The seventh ingredient is beet pulp. Beet pulp is a controversial ingredient, a high fiber by-product of sugar beet processing.

Some denounce beet pulp as an inexpensive filler while others cite its outstanding intestinal health and blood sugar benefits.

We only call your attention here to the controversy and believe the inclusion of beet pulp in reasonable amounts in most dog foods is entirely acceptable.

After the natural flavor, we find flaxseed, one of the best plant sources of healthy omega-3 fatty acids. Provided they’ve first been ground into a meal, flax seeds are also rich in soluble fiber.

However, flaxseed contains about 19% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With three notable exceptions

First, we note the inclusion of fish meal, another protein-rich meat concentrate.

Fish meal is typically obtained from the “clean, dried, ground tissue of undecomposed whole fish and fish cuttings” of commercial fish operations.1

Unfortunately, this particular item is anonymous. Because various fish contain different types of fats, we would have preferred to have known the source species.

Next, chicory root is rich in inulin, a starch-like compound made up of repeating units of carbohydrates and found in certain roots and tubers.

Not only is inulin a natural source of soluble dietary fiber, it’s also a prebiotic used to promote the growth of healthy bacteria in a dog’s digestive tract.

And lastly, this food contains chelated minerals, minerals that have been chemically attached to protein. This makes them easier to absorb. Chelated minerals are usually found in better dog foods.

4Health Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Judging by its ingredients alone, 4Health Dog Food looks like an average dry product.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 29%, a fat level of 17% and estimated carbohydrates of about 46%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 27% and a mean fat level of 15%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 50% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 54%.

Near-average protein. Near-average fat. And near-average carbs when compared to a typical dry dog food.

Even when you consider the protein-boosting effect of the flaxseed, this looks like the profile of a kibble containing a moderate amount of meat.

Bottom line?

4Health is a plant-based dry dog food using a moderate amount of chicken, lamb or fish meals as its main sources of animal protein, thus earning the brand 4 stars.

Highly recommended.

Please note certain recipes are sometimes given a higher or lower rating based upon our estimate of their total meat content and (when appropriate) their fat-to-protein ratios.

4Health Dog Food
Recall History

The following list (if present) includes all dog food recalls since 2009 directly related to this product line. If there are no recalls listed in this section, we have not yet reported any events.

You can view a complete list of all dog food recalls sorted by date. Or view the same list sorted alphabetically by brand.

To learn why our ratings have nothing to do with a product’s recall history, please visit our Dog Food Recalls FAQ page.

Get free dog food recall alerts sent to you by email. Subscribe to The Advisor’s recall notification list.

Dog Food Coupons
and Discounts

Readers are invited to check for coupons and discounts shared by others in our Dog Food Coupons Forum.

Or click the buying tip below. Please be advised we receive a fee for referrals made to the following online store.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

The Dog Food Advisor does not test dog food products.

We rely almost entirely on the integrity of the information posted by each company on its website. As such, the accuracy of every review is directly dependent upon the quality of the test results from any specific batch of food a company chooses to publish.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, due to the biological uniqueness of every animal, none of our ratings are intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in a specific dietary response or health benefit for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

However, we do receive a fee from Chewy.com for each purchase made as a direct result of a referral from our website. This fee is a fixed dollar amount and has nothing to do with the size of an order or the brand selected for purchase.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Notes and Updates

12/13/2015 Last Update

  1. Association of American Feed Control Officials
  • Denise

    Sorry for the delay. It’s not that the food is bad. My other 2 dogs were eating it with no problem. My #3 dog (Beagle) may have an allergy or sensitivity/intolerance to something in the food. He is now on a limited ingredient food. He has been through several tests including an ultrasound. He’s been diagnosed with IBD. He’s now taking 10mg Famotidine and 5mg Metoclopramide twice daily indefinitely and 2.5 mg prednisone once daily for short-term. Keeping fingers crossed.

  • Mames3

    The Wavy Chicken Strips with Sweet Potato also contains Sulfuric Acid. This raises up a red flag for me. Going to call the company tomorrow and ask why they put this chemical in these treats, too. Using their dried and can dog food and our pup (Adult Pup) loves them.

  • Lana Reddock

    Sample of dog foods would help select dog’s favorite

  • Kelsie

    We buy ours at Tractor Supply! It’s about $35 for a 30lb bag of food that lasts our one large dog approximately 1.5-2 months.

  • Bobby dog

    Hi jcostin:
    As of 3/24/15 Ainsworth manufactures GF Turkey and GF Beef kibbles. As of 5/25/15 Diamond manufactures all grain inclusives, GF Whitefish, GF Duck, and GF Pork kibbles.

    Co-packers can and do change. It’s always best to contact the pet food companies directly. Tractor Supply, Ainsworth, and Diamond have always responded promptly to my questions.

  • jcostin

    Who makes the food?

  • LeAnda Carver Latstetter

    We feed our 11 y/o lab/ridgeback, 3 y/o boxer/pit and 16 y/o chi/pom mix 4Health and have been for about 5 years. They all love it and have never become ill from the food.

  • Jeremy Smith

    Highly recommend 4health dry formula. I switch my cocker spaniel to this a little over a year ago. She was over weight with low energy, had red tearing of the eyes, and had a lot of skin issues. She’s like a new puppy now I was shocked with the improvement in her health. The tearing is completely gone, she’s lost a few pounds, and is more playful now than she was as a puppy. Great dog food for a reasonable price.

  • Haleigh Christine Marie O’Tool

    Not sure how this discussion works and indent have Twitter so if there’s anyway to comment here or Facebook message me about anything similar I would greatly appreciate it.

    Without getting into my whole ordeal/rant, 3 vets haven’t confirmed or denied the possibility of food allergy or bad batch of food (my 2 dogs have been on it at least 1.5 years so I’m not out to complain/bash the food if it’s not even the hidden issue) but in 7 days I’ve taken my dogs to the vet(s)literally 10x with one dog getting any test you could charge me for. If anyone else could possibly relate and make their symptoms less crazy and make sense to myself or the vets that are just treat each symptom separately that would make me feel so much better.

  • Crazy4cats

    Hi Chris-
    In my experience, most of the 4Health kibble recipes are pretty low in calories. How do you feel about adding some canned to their meals to increase the calories a bit? I like low calorie foods for my dogs because they tend to be chubby and I can still feed them a decent amount and add some fresh or canned toppers.

  • Chris Brown

    I have a pit boxer mix and a pit Hound mix. They need to gain weight what 4 health can do the trick?? Right now I feed them the Chicken & rice one

  • Amelia Sargent

    There is little evidence to rule out food for FCE stroke. Could be toxins that could have caused this. No, she’s not “overweight” but a little above “normal”. This was for maintenance. I’m a Vet.

  • BrokenRT

    You obviously switched to a weight loss diet for a reason. Was your dog already suffering from over weight issues and already on the brink of a stroke? Already have a spinal injury and weight was a concern of causing more damage? They’re’s no way you can blame the food for giving your dog a stroke. Especially an FCE stroke. A FCE stroke is caused by fibrous cartilage breaking off in the spine and blocking blood vessels. Often from an spinal injury and common in many large breeds and few small breeds. Or a obese dog with spinal malformation over time.
    You only had the dog on a diet for 3 weeks. Not enough time to lose enough weight to hopefully prevent such things.
    Coming from a medical professional in respiratory and also having a medical technologist degree with 17 total years expirence and 8 of those years in a major world known clinical laboratory.
    Gastrointestinal issues or appetite issues, maybe allergy yes but a spinal stroke not at all! A FCE stroke is not from blocked arteries or bad food itself but more from weight, injury, or just genetics. Maybe all 3!
    Sorry for your pets condition it’s very sad to hear! They’re our family and we love them so and I can understand wanting to blame someone else or something else but the facts are the facts and degree and expirence or not… A simple google search on the that type of stroke and a little anatomy would conclude that the food change was not the blame.

  • Amelia Sargent

    After switching my dog to 4health weight management food, 3 weeks later my dog had an FCE stroke and is paralyzed. Slowly she’s gaining her strength back,

  • Crazy4cats

    That’s good news! We just got a TSC in my neck of the woods last week. I plan on trying out the beef and potato 4Health kibble next. Thanks for the review.

  • BrokenRT

    Dave549863214- Read my comment above. I tried to reply but it’s not under your comment.
    Hope this helps!

  • BrokenRT

    Come take a nice ride to Kingman AZ. to Tractor supply and have Cracker Barrel for breakfast or lunch! We have Tractor Supply here in Kingman AZ. Short drive from Vegas!
    Easy drive and now even faster with the bridge bypassing the dam. From Henderson/215 it’s barely over an hour to Kingman. The first exit off the 40 Stockton hill Rd. and TSC is right there across the street. The mileage to the Bullhead city location may be shorter but time wise it’s longer.
    Weve been feeding our yellow lab and or mixed cattledog the Beef and Potato 4 Health for just over a year now. He’s in excellent shape and loves it. It bulked up the cattledog too. We live on 10 acres and they are very very active. Our lab is solid muscle, great coat, beautiful teeth, and amazing stamina. I strongly believe the food is a major part in his great health. He has a very sensitive gut. Certain grains and sources of fat cause him to vomit within few minutes of eating. We had him on Blue Buffalow and he loved it. It was fine till something changed in it. Now all their feeds and treats upset him.
    Then we went to Kruse’s that’s usually only found at feed stores. Their Canine Advantage green bag 22/10 Lamb and Rice was the only thing we found at the time he didn’t vomit but they started dusting the kibble with a dry powder to stop the oils sticking and then he started getting bad gas from it-it was out of control! Even making him restless at night. It’s a shame because it’s a 45 pound bag instead of 40 and every 10th bag you get a free voucher in the mail.
    The 4 health from TSC has been a blessing for his gut but also has played a major role into turned him into an extremely in shape dog! People comment and ask all the time what we do to get him so healthy. Love him, let him run, retrieve, and feed him right! The duck and sweet potato is great to but the other dog is not a fan of it so we only get it maybe every 4th bag or if they are out of the beef. I’ve got all my neigbors feeding it to their dogs now too! Tell your brother to take a short road trip to Kingman!
    Hope this helps!

  • onehealthdoc

    Hi Denise–I’m so sorry to hear about your dog’s illness. Can you please message me on twitter @vet4onehealth–I heard about another dog that had similar illness.

  • Crazy4dogs

    It’s available online from various websites, including chewy. They have a website that you can plug in your zip code and it will give you a list of stores that carry it.

  • dave549863214

    Thanks for the response. Where in Vegas or Henderson can one get it ?

  • LabsRawesome

    The only other store I know of that has 4health is Dell’s.
    Costco has Nature’s Domain. I’ve had good results with it.
    Another food I use is Victor. Here’s their site victordogfood.com
    Nutrisource is another good food to look into.

  • Crazy4dogs

    Hi dave…

    I think 4health is a Tractor Supply exclusive brand. Have you looked at ProPac Ultimates as an alternative? They are rated the same and are priced about the same. It might be a good alternative. They seem to be easiliy available online.

  • dave549863214

    Any other suggestions

  • dave549863214

    There are no Tractor supply`s in Vegas

  • LabsRawesome

    4health is sold at Tractor Supply.

  • dave549863214

    My brother wants to try the 4 Health food for his dogs. He spoke of the GF Beef and Potatoes. He lives in Vegas or actually Henderson, NV. He cannot find anywhere online that lists a store location close to him. Do you have any suggestions?

    Thank you

  • LabsRawesome

    You’re welcome. 🙂

  • DBJ

    Again, thanks

  • DBJ

    Thank you

  • LabsRawesome

    Diamond. Ainsworth only makes 3 of the grain free formulas of 4health. They make gf turkey, gf beef, and gf whitefish cat food.

  • LabsRawesome

    I do not have that info. You would have to contact the company.

  • DBJ

    Is Simmons a 100% USA company with no imports from China?

  • DBJ

    I forgot…I have another question. Who produces 4health, Grain Free, Small Breed Formula .. Diamond or Ainsworth? Beef is the #1ingredient.

  • LabsRawesome

    4health cans are made by Simmons.

  • Crazy4cats

    Diamond does NOT have a canning facility. I often buy the 4Health stews for my dog to mix in their kibble. I also buy their canned for my cats. It’s a great value!

  • DBJ

    What about 4health grain free wet dog food…is it made by Diamond or Ainsworth and does anyone know if ANY portion/ingredient of 4health grain free (wet or dry) is imported, packaged or manufactured in China?

  • theBCnut

    If the only change is the protein level, then you’re right, but increases in protein usually are accompanied by increases in fat, which does raise the caloric density of the food.

  • LabsRawesome

    Ainsworth makes 4health grain free turkey and potato, and the grain free beef and potato, and the grain free whitefish cat food. All the other 4health foods are made by Diamond. Merrick was bought out by Purina.

  • Ray S

    Yes I always do that when switching out food. She started having the runs from day one. We tried for over a week and it kept getting worse. Our dog has a picky diet though and somewhat sensitive stomach. The food looks good though and I checked the ingredients and it was similar to what she was having before. I ended up giving the bag away to someone who has another terrier and they did not have any problems with it.

  • LabsRawesome

    You have to do a gradual switch by mixing the old and new food together for 10 to 14 days.

  • Ray S

    My Boston Terrier didn’t like this food. I know a lot of people have had success with this brand but it made my dog’s poop runny. Switched back to her old food.

  • Pitlove

    High protein does not put weight back on dogs. You need to feed more calories than he is burning to help him gain weight. Best of luck.

  • Just an FYI… TOTW is manufactured by Diamond. If you want to stay away from Diamond foods, I’d switch to something else.

  • exactly

  • Do you have a link that proves Diamond does package those particular foods? I called the 800 number on the back of the bag, they confirmed that Ainsworth manufactures the Grain-Free Turkey & Potato, and Grain-Free Beef & Potato. I won’t feed my dog anything made by Diamond. Which is why we don’t feed TOTW.

  • DogFoodie

    Diamond co-packs quite a few, but not all, of the 4Health formulas.

  • Wrong! Ainsworth manufactures 4Health Turkey & Potato and Beef & Potato. A simple Google search will prove that.

  • Alan Patrick

    would be nice if you could post a link to prove that

  • Alan Patrick

    Yes Diamond makes 4Health for TSC exclusively. I feed the Salmon and Potato to my Husky and he is doing fine with it.My 14 yr old dog is now on a high protein diet to try and put some weight back on him. My dogs for some reason will NOT eat any of the lamb dog foods. I am not sure why but they will turn their noses up at it.

  • Melanie Anne Miller

    I dont use Earthborne. I feed Taste of the Wild. But like LE51900, my dog with multiple allergies did poorly on 4Health. She loast almost all of her coat, dry skin with sores developed. She is a golden retriever so you can imagine what kind of fur loss it was. Since being put on TOTW she gas made a complete 180. I believe some dogs, probably a small minority dont do well on 4Health. THat being said,my other dogs did fine on it. However because it is impossible for me to keep her from stealing from another dog’s bowl occasionally. I just have decided to stay with TOTW. I do supplement with 4Health lamb and rice wet food and she seems to do very well with that.

  • Denise

    I’ve recently been giving my 3 dogs the 4Health grain free dry chicken and rotating with the turkey. One of my dogs has become very ill with severe gastroenteritis related to an allergy or intolerance to the food (ingredients). Now he’s on a special diet. He was previously eating Nature’s Recipe grain free and looking back it seems he did better on that food. If it is true that the 4Health s made by Diamond, I will discontinue giving it to my other 2 dogs. Does anyone know for sure who makes this food? I’m looking at giving them Merrick Limited or Acana Single Soure instead, and changing from fowl to lamb or salmon.

  • Mona Brallier

    I agree! We’ve always fed all 4 yes four of our German Shepherds 4 Health brand and have not had any problems….no I take that back we changed flavors and my weak stomach dogs got the runs….switched back no problem! My dogs cannot eat any greasy foods without getting the runs! Therefore, we’ve never really had any major issues or problems and they love it!

  • Jack Schulz

    bitly.com/shawdogfood

  • YoMama

    Or you can go to tractor supply; buy the 4health grain free food that this post is about for only $37.99 a bag/30 lbs!

  • Kane

    great, thanks.

  • Doug Bittinger

    I would think so: my Blondie Bear is a pit bull/Lab mix: very active. She does well with it. I pay about $32 for a 35 pound bag at Tractor Supply.

  • Kane

    Would this be a good food to feed a lab/retriever mix? How much would it cost?

  • Doug Bittinger

    Several years ago we switched our dogs from Science Diet to 4-Health grain-free. They have always eaten it without a problem. We started them with the Chicken and Rice formula because Cochise developed hypo-hypothyroidism and had gained a lot of weight. Once he was back to his proper weight and active again I switched them to the Salmon and Potato formula as a reward (as long as they remain active and keep the weight off) they LOVED it. Meals are always happy times, but now they get really excited. On my last kibble run (yesterday) Tractor Supply no longer had the salmon, so I got them the Duck and Potato. We have always been pleased with the results of this feed and the dogs enjoy eating it. While using it I have yet to see 4-Health on a recall alert. I’m no expert, but I have confidence in this brand.

  • Tanya Hahn

    Earthborn is a VERY GOOD all around pet food !! Another AMAZING brand is Zignature ! NEVER been on ANY RECALL LIST !!!!!!

  • Just an FYI… the 4Health Grain Free Beef & Potato and Grain Free Turkey & Potato are NOT made by Diamond.

  • aimee

    Hi txn64,

    Though you may disagree with pitlove’s advice it is really good advice.

    Here is an article written by a board certified nutritionist that may help you understand why the current recommendations are to use a puppy food specifically geared for large breeds during the growth period of large breeds.

    http://www.veterinarypartner.com/Content.plx?P=A&S=0&C=0&A=3501

  • Pitlove

    I agree that LBP’s can be fed an adult maintenance food or even an all life stages formula so long as the calcium and phosphorus levels are controlled or safe, however a puppy food formulated specifically with those safe levels is no different aside from possibly a higher calorie content and even still it’s easy not to have an overweight pup with proper portion management.

    I’m glad you have not had issues with your GSD’s, however raising them for 35 years doesn’t automatically make you more knowledgable than anyone else and doesn’t mean you have nothing left to learn. My advice comes from research and the advice of veterinary nutritionists on how to properly feed a LBP.

    Thankfully for you, I was not offering you advice and you do not have to feed your dogs the way I’m suggesting. If you’d like to offer another opinion to someone who I have suggested a puppy food for, you are more than welcome to do so, but telling me I’m annoying doesn’t do much, as I’m not terribly concerned with your opinion of me.

    I don’t own a medium sized dog as all of mine are well over 50lbs at mature weight (AmStaff and Lab) and puppy food worked just fine for them.

  • LE51900

    You’re wrong. I could completely delete Earthborn’s name and still leave this post here and it stand truthful. I’m sorry you are too closed minded to see that some may have a bad experience with the 4Health brand. Not all people can tolerate certain foods, the same goes for animals.
    Thanks for being concerned about the welfare of my pet over the brand of food……oh wait, I’m mistaken, you weren’t! Post the link to your facebook group, I would be very happy to come and repost my post there, minus the name of the new food. My dog is doing SO much better now that he is off of 4Health. He eats the food I put down everyday, with no leftover. That NEVER EVER happened with 4Health. When you posting such things as you have, it is like saying that people with uncommon allergies are liars just because a majority of others don’t have their particular allergy. You want me to post all my Tractor Supply receipts for all the 4Health food I purchased as well? I can accommodate.

  • txn64

    You are one of the most annoying people I have seen on here.. Please stop telling people how they need to stay on puppy food. Large Breed puppies need to be on Adult food for the exact reasons your specified. To avoid Pano and joint issues. I have been raising German Shepherds for 35 years and have never fed my pups puppy food.. I have very healthy dogs and have never had Pano or Hip Problems. Leave people alone already and stick to your medium size dog and what is best for him. I’m out!

  • txn64

    And so is Taste of the Wild and many others.

  • txn64

    Actually not all states have recalls maybe just your Chevrolet Plant? There are different Diamond Plants and when there is a recall they tell you out of which plant the recall is from.. It has been basically from the same plant every time in the east.

  • txn64

    I have raised German Shepherds for 35 years. I do not feed puppy food for the simple reason you need to slow the growth of the bones to prevent joint disease. It does not stunt the growth as what some people want to think. They will grow up healthy and strong and get all the nutrients they need from an large breed adult food or you need to feed large breed puppy food. I put all of mine on large breed adult. Diamond is a great food and so is the 4Health.. It’s your pick really.. You won’t go wrong with either one..

  • txn64

    I’m convinced you have never used 4Health and only came here to push Earthborn. This was your sole purpose of your post.
    I have a FB Group and we have TONS of people who speak out on the foods they use and a lot use 4Health and I see very few using what you use.. 4Health is a very good Dry Dog Food at a good Price! And a lot of dogs love it.. The reviews speak for themselves.

  • Lamiaa Lamiaa Ahmed

    Excellent post. Its very informative and helpful to my
    Golden Retriever http://golden-retriever-dog.com
    Thanks

  • B Stow

    My dogs love it. I have a German Shepherd (3) and a Belgian Shepherd(9). The Belgian has dog food allergy issues and Perianal Fistulas. This food and Tractor Supply’s Dog bone Treats have not only relieved her allergies, but produced a softer stool for her as well which is so critical with that disease. It saves me a lot of headaches with flare ups and their coats are nice too. I had the Belgian to the vet today for a check up and even he commented on her skin and hair. For the money, this is great stuff! It works for us.

  • Kelli Hart Brenneke

    I use it my dog loves it. I think it’s personal preference.

  • Kelli Hart Brenneke

    I love 4Health I have a Doxy Basset hound mix and he loves it. We had been giving him Cesar’s canned food but he was getting fat and refused to eat any dry food. We switched to 4Health and he LOVES it, now canned 4Health is a treat!

  • DeDe

    We just got a Tractor Supply Company in our town. After talking with one of their employees, I decided I was going to try their 4Health dog food. One of our Golden Retrievers was starting to look, well, ugly. His hair was brittle and he had scabbing around the underside of his neck. I compared it to thick cradle cap. Anyway, I put them on the large breed formula of 4Health and sure enough, he’s looking great. The scabbing disappeared (one day prior to an appointment I had made for him at the vet) and his hair is looking much better. It will take some time for his coat to be completely replaced, but he’s beginning to look beautiful again.

    I would definitely recommend this food.

  • Sugar Daddy

    They had problems and recalls as well. So thank you but all dog food is the same as far as safety goes.

    I will stick to what kept my dog alive for 12 years

  • GSDgrl82

    You won’t feed diamond made products but you will feed blue??? That makes zero sense LOL. Blue is no better in quality and I’ve heard of many dogs having issues with it. For the money I’d feed Fromm instead, much better quality, ingredients and company integrity.

  • Crazy4cats

    Glad you found something that your dog is doing well on. The 4Health canned stew recipes do not contain carrageenan.

  • LE51900

    My dog had an awful allergy to something in the 4Health dry foods! We started feeding it to him almost a year ago and he wasn’t really interested in it at all. So we switched from the Chicken & Potato, to Lamb & Potato and he still turned his nose at it. When he wouldn’t eat that, we moved on to Salmon & Potato. He finally started to eat some of it, but he really didn’t want it at all. I figured he was just a picky eater. Several months later, he began having awful skin, tooth and ear problems. I talked to the vet and they suggested I try going with grain free to see if that helped. So we moved to the grain free line and he would barely touch his food and I had to get creative with getting him to eat. (sad face) His skin problems got SO BAD that you couldn’t even touch him without him getting all twisted up from the itching.

    I FINALLY decided it was time to switch his food and I did a BUNCH of research on dog foods. Apparently this same problem happens to many animals that eat the 4Health brand. I found that 4Health is made by Diamond and Diamond has had SO MANY recalls on foods. (sad face)

    I decided to try Earthborn Holistic Grain Free line of dry food, and in just 1 week, my dog is showing MAJOR improvement in his skin and ears. I’m so glad we switched him to something better because he was miserable and hated eating the 4Health food. Now, when I put a scoop of Earthborn Holistic in his bowl, he is chomping it down before I can even finish pouring it. He hasn’t turned his nose up once at the Earthborn. This is the first food he has EVER eaten every single time I put it in his bowl. No leftovers with Earthborn, and he even begs for more by sitting by the bag and whining. (happy face)

    I found that Earthborn food has a much higher consumer rating that 4Health and that it is MUCH better for dogs. The 4Health brand canned food even has carrageenan (Extensive peer-reviewed
    and published research indicates that food-grade carrageenan
    causes intestinal inflammation with the potential to
    lead to cancer, even in small doses.) NOT good!!

    Find the report here……..

    http://www.cornucopia.org/2015/11/new-report-exposes-dangerousunhealthy-pet-food/#more-18352

  • Chris Brown

    Ok sounds good Thank you So much!! +=)

  • Pitlove

    I’d say, if there is even a chance that they will be even 45 lbs at max weight, feed the large breed puppy formula. that way if they are over 50 lbs you’ve given them the proper nutrition to grow correctly.

  • Chris Brown

    Oh lord only god knows. LOl There daddy is a big boy. But they have Different moms. So idk how things gonna play out.

  • Pitlove

    will they be over 50 lbs when they are at their mature weight?

  • Chris Brown

    So 4health Puppy Formula Is ok?? There the small pieces.

  • Pitlove

    lol you won’t kill them if you put them on an Adult formula, but it is better for their growth to be on the large breed puppy formula.

  • Chris Brown

    Ok Thank you!! I’m just trying not to kill my boys LOl

  • Pitlove

    No you want to keep them on puppy until they are a year old. They are very cute 🙂

  • Chris Brown

    So I Just started switching My 6 mouth old Boxer Pit mix and My 6 Month old Hound pit mix From Beneful healthy weight To 4health Puppy Formula And There Large Breed. Should I change them to Adult Size Food of try this one out first?? Im a first time Parent And I want the best for them.

  • labdad

    If you have one locally,go to a Petsmart (NOT Petco)and find their store brand Authority in the Grain free formula. If your dog likes it and does well which I have no doubt of either, you can buy it online and if you buy $50 or more they will ship it free to your door. Have been feeding our adult labs this same food for over 3 years now and no problems. We tried a year ago to go to a different food (from Sams club and ended up with a trip to the ER)and within 2 bags went right back to AuthorityGF. It’s good food (4 stars on here)and not expensive at all.

  • PF Flyer

    I have 2 dogs permanently damaged by the misformulation of Blue yrs. ago. They never paid my vet bill, or even acknowledged my letters; their rep clandestinely questioning people in PetSmart before it was public would not answer my questions. Blue sucks.

  • Misty Martin

    I have large dogs, beneful killed one. I found 4health performance to be the best most amazing dog thus far. I’d dome my research before trusting another brand, I can see why it’s a 5 star dog food. I seen a complete turn around in my remaining dogs within 2 days of switching. Diamond isn’t a good dog food, it’s cheap but does have a lot of fillers and by producta plus it’s tasteless to dogs .

  • Misty Martin

    I did the exact same thing, unfortunately not in time. Beneful killed my Boston terrier before I’d heard about the lawsuits, she had several side affects listed as in non stop drinking. Although my vet confirmed it, there was nothing I could do other than help get the message out there. I beat myself up for along time, but had to realize I wasn’t the one making poisonous dog foods. I too use the 4health performance and has seen incredible changes in the remaining dogs, no more constant drinking, bloating, vomiting, bloody stools, miresey and expensive vet bills. I now have very happy, healthy dogs that loves this food and have no problems getting them to eat it. I had stopped Beneful, was cooking for my dogs until I found this. I made sure to do my research before trusting another dog food and it paid off. Beneful needs to be pulled from the shelves, many people don’t get it and worship that dog poison, I just hope it doesn’t take a loss like mine to get the message through.

  • Natasha Myers

    My pit bull/lab mix used to be really picky. He would not eat his food unless I added canned food. I switched him to Nutrisource chicken and rice about a year ago and he still gobbles it up in like 3 minutes. His coat is really shiny and he maintains a good weight. I feed about 1/2 cup less than I used to feed with other foods.

  • Bobo

    My husband and I as well as my sister in law were feeding our dogs the same type of 4health. I can’t remember which kind. We never had a problem till about 5 months ago. All 4 dogs started itching constantly, chewing their tails, one so badly she almost lost her tail. We thought it’s was hot spots being that it was summer. However, they continued to get worse. We switched to the 4health mature formula with no wheat or soy. They all started getting better. By the second bag all symptoms started over again. We switched to a new brand and now all 4 dogs are fine. Will never buy 4health again. Totaled together we spent close to 5 grand because of this dog food.

  • Gdog

    I left Beneful after hearing about the lawsuit. I’ve been using the Performance formula for 6 months. My dog’s behavior has completely changed. Went from lethargic and bad arthritis to running around like a puppy again. He’s happy and doesn’t constantly drink water like he used to. I really can’t say enough about this dog food. It is amazing.

  • Sugar Daddy

    I looked it up.
    In fact it is made by Diamond

  • Carolyn Vickers

    No it is not. I get it at Tractor Supply Co. It was recommended to me by the people that work there, they all feed it to their dogs. My golden was having severe food allergies, and so I put her on 4Health grain free Beef and Potato. Her food allergies cleared up within a month!

  • Pitlove

    Fromm Gold Large Breed Puppy, Precise Holistic Complete Large/Giant Breed Puppy and my new favorite I added to my list, Nutrisource Large Breed Puppy. Those are my suggestions for a good LBP food.

  • DogLover

    My vet had no recommendation on what to feed our 16 week old puppies (mastiff/St. Bernard/something smaller) except for look for the seal of approval. TSC said either Diamond or 4Health. Then I read comments here; I don’t know what to buy. They are currently on Purina Puppy Chow (that’s what the kennel was feeding them). Help!

  • Mike Edwards

    Only the Beef and Turkey GF are made by Ainsworth… the rest are made by Diamond

  • Pitlove

    I know and I personally don’t have an issue with by-products. I only mentioned it because some people feel that if a company is dishonest, they aren’t worth supporting.

    If you are still going to go with Blue make sure you get a formula for large breed puppies.

  • Sugar Daddy

    I am thinking adding things that were not suppose to be there and adding things that killed dogs are a bit different. I doubt anything is 100% when it comes to dogs.

  • Pitlove

    Alright. make sure you look into the legal trouble Blue has been having as well.

  • Sugar Daddy

    Going with blue.

  • Tammy

    You could try the Fromm Gold LB puppy food. It has worked well for my Lab puppies, nice slow, even growth.

  • Bobby dog

    You’re welcome. I used to feed the GF kibble, but when one of the recipes that Ainsworth manufactured went to Diamond I stopped. Didn’t want to have to keep checking on the manufacturer. Still waiting out Diamond to see if they have improved their manufacturing practices.

  • Crazy4dogs

    Thanks for updating with the current information BD! 🙂 I don’t use it and didn’t have time to finish researching!

  • Bobby dog

    Hi C4d:
    As of March 2015 the information I received from an Ainsworth rep via e-mail is they manufacture 4Health GF Beef & Potato, GF Turkey & Potato dog foods, and GF Whitefish & Potato cat food.

  • Crazy4dogs

    Hi DTalksAll,

    I looked up 4Health on TSC website. There is a difference in protein level and fat. The performance is higher in both, which could be causing the problems. Also, the performance says “Adult” specifically, which means it isn’t an all life stages formula. If they are ALS, they are stated that they are specfically on the bag. Mixing the 2 might be a good idea. Here’s the formula links:

    http://www.tractorsupply.com/tsc/product/4health-puppy-formula-35-lb-bag

    http://www.tractorsupply.com/tsc/product/4health-performance-formula-for-adult-dogs-35-lb

    There is a good forum on Large Breed Puppies on the forum side of this site and here is a link on DFA regarding Large Breed Puppy food.

    http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/best-dog-foods/best-large-breed-puppy-food/

  • Crazy4dogs

    That’s very possible. I’ve seen differing comments all over the web.

  • Pitlove

    the GF lines are made by Ainsworth if I’m not mistaken

  • Crazy4dogs

    I’ve read conflicting links. Some say Diamond, some say Ainsworth. They might be splitting between 2 manufacturers and formulas.

    You might want to look into the DFA large breed puppy food link:

    http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/best-dog-foods/best-large-breed-puppy-food/

    There is also a lot of information on the forum side of this site.

  • Pitlove

    yes it is made by Diamond. are you looking to switch your puppy off this food?

  • Sugar Daddy

    Isn’t this stuff made by diamond?
    I just got an 8 week old Labrador and my vet said no to this when I said what she was eating.

    Diamond has had more recalls than Chevrolet.

  • theBCnut

    All Life Stages meets the requirements for Growth. It is puppy food.

  • Pitlove

    Lol wow! What an over reaction to my questions! I am NOT trolling you at all. I am asking you the same questions anyone would be asking you on this site. This is how we think here and I’m not a mindreader.

    If you are looking for an easy answer that doesn’t require people to ask you questions, I don’t suggest asking for advice on DFA or from your vet. Both will ask a lot of questions to help solve your problem.

    Good luck with your puppy. Take care.

  • Nancy Walk

    We have always fed our two boxers age 9 and 2 the 4 health line. We have switched from the large breed to the performance, due to the large breed was not available at our local store. After being on the performance for a couple months both of our dogs started not wanting to eat and getting sick. We have spent $810 in this past month for testing for vomiting and chronic diarrhea in both dogs, ruled out parasites, worms, etc. just to finally come down to the conclusion “we must of got a bad bag of dog food because there are no current recalls.” Very dissatisfied with this brand due to our recent experience and looking to switch.

  • Oh my gosh! YES, he’s been to the vet, no issues. Like I said in my original comment, they just aren’t as consistently formed as they were when he was on the puppy food. He was tested for Giardia & put on antibiotics a few weeks ago after camping and probably drinking too much lake water. He has been on the 4Health performance for a few months now. Some times he has formed stool for a week straight. Other times it’s just once a day.
    Would you like a list of the supplements he gets? The amount of coconut oil I feed him? How about a list of the treats I feed him? My Vet’s phone number, or my breeders? His fecal sample?
    I’m done feeding the troll.

    I was wondering if others experienced the same issue as mine & what they did about it. I did not come here for a lecture on puppy food and pumpkin. It’s people like you that ruin the comments for everyone else.

Get Free Recall Alerts by Email

Get Free Recall Alerts by Email

Receive lifesaving dog food recall alerts anytime there's a recall event in the U.S. or Canada.

You'll also get our best tips and ideas to help you feed your dog better... and safer.

No spam.  Unsubscribe anytime.

You have Successfully Subscribed!