4Health Dog Food (Dry)

Share

Rating: ★★★★☆

4Health Dog Food receives the Advisor’s second-highest tier rating of 4 stars.

The 4Health product line includes nine dry dog foods.

Although each appears to be designed for a specific life stage, we were unable to find AAFCO nutritional profile recommendations for these dog foods on the product’s web page.

The following is a list of recipes available at the time of this review.

  • 4Health Puppy Formula
  • 4Health Small Bites Adult
  • 4Health Large Breed Adult
  • 4Health Mature Adult (3 stars)
  • 4Health Chicken and Rice Adult
  • 4Health Salmon and Potato Adult
  • 4Health Lamb and Rice Adult (3 stars)
  • 4Health Healthy Weight Adult (3 stars)
  • 4Health Performance Formula Adult (5 stars)

4Health Chicken and Rice Adult formula was selected to represent the other products in the line for this review.

4Health Chicken and Rice Adult

Dry Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 29% | Fat = 17% | Carbs = 46%

Ingredients: Chicken, chicken meal, cracked pearled barley, millet, brewers rice, chicken fat (preserved with mixed tocopherols), dried plain beet pulp, natural chicken flavor, flaxseed, fish meal, potassium chloride, salt, choline chloride, dried chicory root, glucosamine hydrochloride, vitamin E supplement, iron proteinate, zinc proteinate, Yucca schidigera extract, copper proteinate, ferrous sulfate, zinc sulfate, copper sulfate, potassium iodide, thiamine mononitrate, manganese proteinate, manganous oxide, chondroitin sulfate, ascorbic acid, vitamin A supplement, biotin, niacin, calcium pantothenate, manganese sulfate, sodium selenite, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), vitamin B12 supplement, riboflavin, vitamin D supplement, folic acid

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 4.4%

Red items when present indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis26%15%NA
Dry Matter Basis29%17%46%
Calorie Weighted Basis25%35%40%

The first ingredient in this dog food is chicken. Although it is a quality item, raw chicken contains about 80% water. After cooking, most of that moisture is lost, reducing the meat content to just a fraction of its original weight.

After processing, this item would probably account for a smaller part of the total content of the finished product.

The second ingredient is chicken meal. Chicken meal is considered a meat concentrate and contains nearly 300% more protein than fresh chicken.

The third ingredient is barley. Barley is a starchy carbohydrate supplying fiber and other healthy nutrients. However, aside from its energy content, this cereal grain is of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

The fourth ingredient is millet, a gluten-free grain harvested from certain seed grasses. Millet is hypoallergenic and naturally rich in B-vitamins and fiber as well as other essential minerals.

The fifth ingredient is brewers rice. Brewers rice is a cereal grain by-product consisting of the small fragments left over after milling whole rice. Aside from the caloric energy it contains, this item is of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

The sixth ingredient is chicken fat. Chicken fat is obtained from rendering chicken, a process similar to making soup in which the fat itself is skimmed from the surface of the liquid.

Chicken fat is high in linoleic acid, an omega-6 fatty acid essential for life. Although it doesn’t sound very appetizing, chicken fat is actually a quality ingredient.

The seventh ingredient is beet pulp. Beet pulp is a controversial ingredient, a high fiber by-product of sugar beet processing.

Some denounce beet pulp as an inexpensive filler while others cite its outstanding intestinal health and blood sugar benefits.

We only call your attention here to the controversy and believe the inclusion of beet pulp in reasonable amounts in most dog foods is entirely acceptable.

After the natural flavor, we find flaxseed, one of the best plant sources of healthy omega-3 fatty acids. Provided they’ve first been ground into a meal, flax seeds are also rich in soluble fiber.

However, flaxseed contains about 19% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With three notable exceptions

First, we note the inclusion of fish meal, another protein-rich meat concentrate.

Fish meal is typically obtained from the “clean, dried, ground tissue of undecomposed whole fish and fish cuttings” of commercial fish operations.1

Unfortunately, this particular item is anonymous. Because various fish contain different types of fats, we would have preferred to have known the source species.

Next, chicory root is rich in inulin, a starch-like compound made up of repeating units of carbohydrates and found in certain roots and tubers.

Not only is inulin a natural source of soluble dietary fiber, it’s also a prebiotic used to promote the growth of healthy bacteria in a dog’s digestive tract.

And lastly, this food also contains chelated minerals, minerals that have been chemically attached to protein. This makes them easier to absorb. Chelated minerals are usually found in better dog foods.

4Health Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Judging by its ingredients alone, 4Health Dog Food looks like an average dry product.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 29%, a fat level of 17% and estimated carbohydrates of about 46%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 27% and a mean fat level of 15%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 50% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 54%.

Near-average protein. Near-average fat. And near-average carbs when compared to a typical dry dog food.

Even when you consider the protein-boosting effect of the flaxseed, this looks like the profile of a kibble containing a moderate amount of meat.

Bottom line?

4Health Dog Food is a plant-based kibble using a moderate amount of chicken, lamb or fish as its main sources of animal protein, thus earning the brand 4 stars.

Highly recommended.

Please note certain recipes are sometimes given a higher or lower rating based upon our estimate of their total meat content and (when appropriate) their fat-to-protein ratios.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, due to the biological uniqueness of every animal, none of our ratings are intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in a specific dietary response or health benefit for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

To learn how we support the cost of operating this website, please visit our public Disclosure and Disclaimer page.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Notes and Updates

06/14/2014 Last Update

  1. Association of American Feed Control Officials
  • LabsRawesome

    You’re welcome, Dori! I’m so glad the trap worked. :) No one can say you didn’t try to find the puppy’s owner, that’s for sure! Yeah even a tag with his name and address/phone would’ve been his ticket home. All my dogs have tags with my contact info. Even my 3 indoor only cats wear collars with tags. And they never even try to go outside. You definitely are that pup’s guardian angel! Glad everything turned out well for him. :)

  • Dori

    The older I get the more horrifying stories I hear and the less I can figure out people. Anyway happy ending for little Maltese and the York.

  • Melissaandcrew

    Lol. A skunk is always my biggest concern. Worse I ever caught was a ticked off opossum.

  • Melissaandcrew

    You would be amazed what people do. Just last week a toy York is was picked up here. After 10 day hold not a single person looking for him. The woman who scooped him off the street adopted him. The majority of strays in my area are pit and pit mixes but the cute purebred are often unclaimed as well. Go figure.

  • Dori

    I agree. It doesn’t make any sense at all. It’s a purebred Maltese that I can only imagine if they got from a breeder cause quite a bundle. I remember what we paid for Hannah and that was 15 years ago and it was way way more than a couple of hundred dollars. In any event it’s going to a new “forever home”. I have no intentions of attempting to find the owners. They don’t deserve him, or should I say, he deserves so much better. The least that they could have done was call a shelter or dog pound. They share date base on line and he would have popped up. I’m an advocate for microchipping which he wasn’t. If it is the case that he was stolen or is miles from home he would have been scanned, owners called and they’d have their baby back. I don’t have to tell anyone on DFA all the different things that they could have done. The fact of the matter is, they did none of those things. Maybe if we lived out somewhere where there is lots of property, few roads, teeny tiny towns??? But I live in the city of Atlanta. It’s a big city, crazy traffic, speeders galore, very built up area. No woods or anything like that around here. (Hmmmmm? What the hell am I doing here?) But I digress. My thinking is that they weren’t interested enough or left a sitter in charge (I’ve never done that) but you know pretty darn well that if someone left their dog in my care or any of you here and that dog got out. We would have called every shelter, every vet, posters and fliers for miles around. Hell I called every vet, every shelter, every dog store, called the pounds, called rescues. Called Maltese rescues. Called Maltipoo rescues even though I knew it was a purebred Maltese. Nothing and no one was looking for this poor baby. I spent six days on the streets walking, driving and on line. They don’t appear to have done any of that. Ok. I’m starting to rant. I apologize for the long post. Again, thanks for telling me about the trap. I should have posted last Sunday and he would have been caught much sooner. Anyway, he’s safe now.

  • Crazy4cats

    Job well done, Dori! This is a situation where you wish they could talk. You will probably never know his story. Labs is right, he could have come from miles away. Luckily he ended up with you. I hope if he has a very sad family somewhere, somehow they will find him. You could put an ad on Craig’s List and check it to see if there is a missing dog ad on there as well. Otherwise sounds like he has a great new home.

  • LabsRawesome

    I’m glad he’s healthy, and on his way to a good home. Maybe he was stolen from someone’s yard? He could’ve been driven miles from home, maybe that’s why you’re not seeing any lost dog posters? I mean why would someone pay a couple hundred dollars for a pure bred puppy, and purposely let it run loose? And not even bother to look for it? It just doesn’t make any sense. Since the puppy can’t tell us, we’ll never know for sure. I’m so sorry about Hannah. I agree, she wouldn’t be able to deal with a puppy, in her condition.

  • LabsRawesome

    That’s because you were giving him food & water. :) I figured the trap would work, I’m so glad you caught him.

  • Melissaandcrew

    I am wondering if he isn’t owned and idiot owners let him run loose. That may be why no one was looking before..he was not missing and would explain his favorable body condition. Unwittingly dogs that are allowed to run loose expand their territory and that may be why he was just noticed a week ago. Hope not. They dont deserve him imo.

  • Dori

    Actually Melissa it was the sweet little guy because I’d see him eating and since I didn’t want to stop him from eating I would let him finish and then quietly try to follow him. He would even come by in the middle of the afternoon for meals and water. He was too smart for me. Until I caught him that is. The vet told me he couldn’t believe that he actually wasn’t dehydrated and couldn’t remember seeing a dog in as good a shape as this little guy after being loose for 6 days.

  • Dori

    Hi Cody. I can only tell you what I would do. I would return the remainder of the 4Health dog food to the store where you bought it. Most if not all stores will accept the food back and either refund your money or trade it for another food. I would purchase the Taste of the Wild again (I’m not happy that they are a Diamond made food but with that said, since she was doing well on that food I would stick with that). I would feed her the Taste of the Wild with a digestive enzyme, or Perfect Form (it’s made by The Honest Kitchen and works better than anything bar none that I have ever used for diarrhea). Any store that carries THK foods will also carry Perfect Form or you can order directly from The Honest Kitchen or Amazon or Chewy.com. A store or Amazon (if you’re a prime member) will deliver it faster than the other dog food sites on line. Anyway, I would quit the chicken and rice. Only feed her the Taste of the Wild with the Perfect Form twice a day. Nothing else. No treats of any sort whatsoever until gut has healed completely and then I would still wait a few days more to make sure her poops are nice and solid again. If you use the Perfect Form, you should do that with each meal for a few days or longer until everything seems back to normal.

  • Dori

    Nothing wrong with the puppy at all other than matted and dirty. Health wise he checks out great, he’s all nice and white. He was not microchipped which I was praying was the case because anyone who has lost their dog since Sunday and did not have the decency to call the pound, vets in the immediate vicinity, no posters, no flyers, no nothing and obviously not looking for him does not deserve to get him back.

    MORE GOOD NEWS!!!!!!! One of the vet tech’s has fallen in love with him and wants to adopt him. She’s one of the people that has been hunting for him with me all week. She was very sweet about it, I thought. She said that she would love to adopt him but, of course, she wouldn’t because she felt that I should have first choice. Everyone in the office thought the same and told her that had to check with me first. I gave her the go ahead. I’ve got three dogs already and with Hannah being 15 and with cancer I know that it would be too stressful for her. When we adopted Katie and Lola 5 years ago it took Hannah a full year and a half before she would go anywhere near them. She’s too old and too sick to put her through something like that again. But I’ve got to tell you all, that little puppy is a real survivor. To be on the streets (and I live in a very busy area of Atlanta near multiple busy streets) since last Sunday and still be so friendly and sweet it’s just amazing. I guess he kept running away when he saw me or anyone was because he was scared. Poor sweet baby. He’s so so sweet and lordy, he is one handsome guy.

  • Dori

    He was in the trap eating away. I bought a can of dog food and put it in a bowl at back of trap. I figured the wet food would entice him into the trap more than the dry I’ve been putting out since Sunday.

  • Melissaandcrew

    Awesome!!! How was she after being trapped? Or he??? Lol. Update us please!!! I am so excited that you got it!!

  • LabsRawesome

    YAY!! That’s so awesome!! Looks like you’ve got yourself a new puppy, if you can’t find her owner. :)

  • Dori

    Hi Labs. Got the Have-a-Heart trap last night and caught the puppy this morning. Puppy is at my vet being checked out for health, bathed, hydrated, etc. etc.

  • codydash

    Thank you.we are still having issues. I think I am completely scratching the 4 health for good.back to Taste of the wild it is. So should I just give her pumpkin for a few days or mix it with rice and chicken? And then switch her back to totw?

  • codydash

    Yes.but orange

  • Crazy4cats

    Hi Dori-
    When I was trapping wild kitties at my grandmas after she passed, my first catch was a skunk! Lol! I still have one of the kitties. She is now 15 years old.

  • LabsRawesome

    Hey Dori, TSC (Tractor Supply Company) sells live traps, in store. I’ve seen them. I hope you catch her! :)

  • Melissaandcrew

    Dori-It could be anything eating the food during the night. Most dogs on the run show up very early morning to eat. Put something very smelly in the have a heart trap, do not leave anything outside of it as they will not be as attempted to enter into it. It may take a few days for her to get hungry enough to go in, but she will. Once you catch her, take her inside into a small room in the house in case she bolts when the trap is opened.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Before you buy one check with your local shelter. Most shelters will loan you one.

  • Dori

    I’m going to go to Home Depot tonight and buy a large size one that they sell for feral cats. I think that’s the largest size. The puppy seems to come in the middle of the night to drink water and eat because every morning the food bowl is completely empty. So maybe, I’m thinking, if I put some food out on the ground (little bit) outside the Have-a-Heart trap and then the bowl inside, maybe I can get the puppy that way.

  • Crazy4cats

    Our feed store sells them. Have you thought of checking with a rescue or shelter who might lend or rent one to you? I know that cat rescues use them. You wouldn’t need a very big one. That’s so frustrating. I’ve been through that. You get so close and then they get away! Darn buggers. LOL! I hope you are successful.

  • Dori

    Thanks Labs. What type of store would I find that at? Do you know? Really, I’m exhausted and stressed to the max trying to catch this dog. She looks exactly like Hannah did at the age of 1 – 2 years old. I think that’s another reason why I’m so freaked out.

  • LabsRawesome

    Try a humane trap, she might fall for it. Put some really yummy food inside. I think TSC sells them. :)

  • Dori

    You mean Taste of the Wild. Orange bag with wolves is Prairie for puppies. Is that the one?

  • Dori

    4FootedFoodie. I think she’s talking about Taste of the Wild Prairie for puppies. It’s got wolves on the bag and it’s orange.

  • 4FootedFoodie

    This is the one, right?

  • Dori

    OK So it seems like it was the Taste of the Wild Prairie formula for puppies. The bag has wolves on it and it’s orange. As HDM said, it may very well have been the center cut bones that contain marrow that has caused the gas and diarrhea. If that’s the case then it should clear up in a couple of days but were it me I’d buy the pumpkin and go back to the Taste of the Wild. She was doing well on that food correct? I don’t feed it but a little of kibble feeders seem to like it. Once her tummy is completely back to normal you can start a slow transition to a different puppy kibble that is less expensive if the money was the issue with the Taste of the Wild. Just research on hear posts on puppy foods also search out the 4 and 5 star reviewed foods on DFA for other quality foods. Quality foods does not mean expensive. There are a lot of quality, grain free dog foods that are very affordable. Hope your baby gets well soon.

  • 4FootedFoodie

    Hmm, picture was there and now it’s not…

    LOL…, still not there. Oh well!

  • 4FootedFoodie

    Is this the one?

  • 4FootedFoodie

    …because you’re probably thinking of Wild Calling. LOL!

  • Dori

    The name Call of the Wild was familiar but you’re absolutely correct as always. Call of the Wild is a supplement put out by Wysong so I guess I was thinking it was a food by Wysong called Called of the Wild.

  • codydash

    Thanks yea was pretty sure I said it was call of the wild

  • codydash

    The call of the wild with wolves on the bag and it was the dry food.

  • Dori

    OK HDM. That’s funny. I got it wrong too. It’s been crazy around here for the last few days. There’s been a very young maltese roaming the streets of our neighborhood since Sunday afternoon. No one can seem to catch her so we have made a schedule and we are all out scouring the streets and yards trying to find her. It’s really very sad. I’ve been leaving water and food out for her since Sunday and the pup has been eating it. As soon as she sees a person she/he takes off running. It’s been in the 90′s here with lots of thunder storms, winds, etc. I really am at my wits end as we all are here in the neighborhood. We’ve called around everywhere we can think of and no one is claiming that they’ve lost a puppy.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Well she actually said “call of the wild.” I’d never heard of it so I did a google search and the top results were all for TOTW so I assumed that’s what she meant. Also TOTW and 4Health are both carried at Tractor Supply – so if she was purchasing her food at TSC it would likely be TOTW.

  • Dori

    Now I’m confused. Your initial post you said you were feeding your pup Wild Calling before switching to 4Health, but now you say Taste of the Wild. Which of these were you feeding, they are two entirely different foods and companies.
    There have been many posting of people having issues with 4Health such as diarrhea and gas. Also, HDM is absolutely correct. Do not feed bones that contain marrow. If you want to feed your pup a bone you would be better off with something like a beef spare rib (raw) that you can pick up at any grocery store. If you were feeding Wild Calling, was it the kibble (dry) or the canned. Wild Calling’s canned formula has a very high fat content.

    As far as the diarrhea is concerned I think you would be better off buying purred canned pumpkin (grocery stores) not the pie filling. You can add up to a tablespoon at a time per meal (depending size of your dog). It works for diarrhea and constipation.

  • Dori

    HDM She wasn’t feeding Taste of the Wild, she was feeding Wild Calling. Completely different food. Your mind probably processed Wild and remembered that part only. We do that sort of stuff all the time, at least I do.

  • codydash

    The vet I just talked to told me to cover her immodium and keep her on the food. I didn’t listen prob should have but I want the diarrhea to stop now. So I did give her the meds she said to give and did mostly chicken and rice with some of her food I don’t want to go through the food switch again I just want her to feel better asap

  • codydash

    Thank you so much they were both the puppy formula totw orange bag 4health light blue

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Hi Codydash –

    I can’t say for sure that it wasn’t the 4Health that caused the gas and diarrhea but I can say that it’s fairly common for raw bones (especially those containing marrow) to cause diarrhea and gas in dogs that either have never eaten them before or don’t eat them frequently. A lot of recreational-type bones are very high in fat and for dogs that aren’t used to those high levels of fat there can be some serious digestive upset. Obviously you had the best intentions, but it probably wasn’t a good idea to introduce her to both a new food and a new treat at the same time because it complicates matters when trying to determine which is causing the issues. What I would suggest would be to get her onto either boiled chicken and rice or a prescription formula from your vet such as I/D (preferably canned) for anywhere from a few days to a week. I’d also put her on a probiotic or go to your vet and see if you could get some propectalin tabs (these contain kaolin, pectin and Enterococcus foecium – they work really well for firming up acute bouts of diarrhea in my experience). Additionally (just to cover all your bases) I’d suggest having a stool sample taken to the vet just to be sure she doesn’t have coccidia or some other parasite. Once her stools firm up you could put her back on TOTW or if the 4Health is something you really want to make work, gradually reintroduce the 4Health and be sure not to give any new treats during the transition process – this way if something does go wrong you’ll know for certain it was the 4Health that caused the issues.

    Out of curiosity which TOTW formula (or formulas) has she been eating and which 4Health formula did you try? Although in this particular case I doubt the issue is a food intolerance it’s always possible. If there’s an ingredient in the 4Health that wasn’t in the TOTW it could be thee culprit.

    Hope that helps, good luck!

  • codydash

    My puppy is 4 months old. I started her on call of the wild and it went well. The lady at tractor supply suggested 4health puppy. I slowly introduced the 4health food mixing the new food in progressively. I also for the first time bought her center cut bones or something like that for a treat. This was not her first bone, she has had major major gas and really nasty diarrhea. It didn’t seem like we were having issues in the switching process. I don’t know if its the food or the bones but I am freaking out. I know about the rice and chicken but idk if I should feed her that and discontinue the 4health or what I am lost and if I should wtf am I supposed to feed her :((((

  • S menges

    I purchased the beef and potato for my adult dogs fed it to two of the three. My Lab started to vomit the first day he ate it, the same day my corgi began to urinate in the house ( this is not normal for her) the beagle who wasn’t on the food was fine. I called the vet three days into the bag by the fourth day I stopped the 4 health and secured a vet appointment for the corgi because she continued to have her problem. My lab stopped vomiting as soon as he was taken off the food. As a result of the my 20.00 purchase of 4 health food I’m left with a vet bill of 195.30 and a dog with a moderate bladder infection.

  • 4FootedFoodie

    I know this post is a month old, but you realize that TOTW is made by Diamond, right? I know I’m in good company when I say that I wouldn’t use any Diamond products for my dogs.

  • Wilma Hernandez

    I am feeding my schnauzer with Pure Balance which is in the list of the best dry food in Food Advisor. So far everything is well and my dog loves it. Also, this food is grain free an it comes with chicken, lamb, salmon, and bison. You can find it at Walmart on a very good price.

  • Brian Diffenderfer

    If your a breeder, Flaxseed can cause pregnancy complications.

  • Katie

    Over on the grain-free forum it appears that 4Health switched its supplier fairly recently and quite a few owners are experiencing changes with their dogs, attributed to this. A recent comment suggested that whatever it was has been fixed, but I’m not sure.

  • Mandy

    We’ve been feeding our now 8 month old puppy the 4Health puppy since she was 4 months. The last few weeks she’s had soft/runny stool and the gas is the worst I’ve smelled. Her health check at the vet was fine. I think it just started after the last bag of food we bought. Our other two adult dogs are on the 4Health Chicken and Rice and have never had a problem. I guess I need to find the puppy a new food.

  • Heidi

    Bought puppy formula and my dog has AWFUL GAS! Like I can hearher farts! She has loose stool as well! So disapointed! We have always loved 4Health. I am thinking about returning it to Tractor supply.

  • dani
  • Chris Lozo

    I have had poop tested twice because I have a new foster in my house but thinking its the food now all was negative with the test done

  • Chris Lozo

    My dog have had bad diarrhea as well for weeks have there been any recall

  • Patty Gould Paone

    I have not read anything bad about Ainsworth, anything I find is good. As I said I read that three of the grain frees are made by them. By personal experience, I have no complaints, feed the can food too. My dogs have eaten this since pups and they are two. I have tried switching them to 2 high rated foods and have gone back, they didn’t do well on either. My one guy is very lean by nature, I switch him to anything else, his ribs show within a few days. He eats 5 cups a day, I had to increase him to 6 to hold his weight as I switched them back. From my experience, this is a good solid food. I recommend to all my friends.

  • pitparent

    Thanks Patty) Is Ainsworth better than Diamond? I’m asking because I have been slowly switching them over to taste of the wild wetlands. They seem to love the taste. And if diamond can steer clear of mishandling the ingredients I think (from research) this should be a good move for all. Have you heard anything negative about ainsworth? Thank you again)

  • Patty Gould Paone

    I had that same problem. I changed mine over to the grain free turkey and potato, problem was solved. It is a little more expensive than the regular, but it has solved gas problems in all of ours. I was just reading different factories make the different formulas and this one is made by Ainsworth.

  • Angel Pearson Booth

    It will still be a little while before I try a new food with my Dane. She is still transitioning from home cooked chicken and rice to a sensitive stomach dog food. She has been doing really well for about 3 weeks now so I don’t want to change her just yet. We have been through some terrible times! However, I do not want to keep her on this sensitive stomach food. I will wait until I am sure that her stomach has settled down and she is back on an actual dog food before trying the Victor. I am anxious to try it though. :)

  • Angel Pearson Booth

    Awww, they are sweet! :)

  • LabsRawesome

    Hi Angel, you’re welcome. If you do try Victor, let me know how it goes. My 3 do great on it. :)

  • Betsy Greer

    Lucky. ; )

  • Angel Pearson Booth

    I just checked. They actually do have it at a Farm And Feed store in my town so I will definitely be checking into it! Thanks so much for your recommendation!

  • Angel Pearson Booth

    Thanks, I will check it out. I have never seen it around where I live though but I will check anyway.

  • LabsRawesome

    Check out Victor. If you can find a local store the grain inclusive formulas are pretty cheap. 20lbs for around $20. It also comes in larger bags if you have large/multiple dogs. Here’s Victor’s site. victordogfood.com Click the find a dealer button for stores in your area. :)

  • Angel Pearson Booth

    Something has seemed to have changed with several of the foods containing chicken. I know it’s not that my Dogs are sensitive to chicken because I had to feed them home cooked chicken and rice while trying to decide which food to change them to and they are totally fine now. Both of my Dogs had terrible gas like you said but also bad diarrhea and vomiting. I put them on home cooked chicken and rice not knowing what the problem actually was and when they got better I tried giving them the 4 Health again and all of the bad stuff cam back. I am sure it was the food. Vet thinks so too. Now to figure out what to change to. It’s hard to find a good food for a good price!

  • Angel Pearson Booth

    I will be switching brands too. Too bad because I have been using it for years with no problems at all and the price is great. I currently had to put one of my Dogs on a sensitive stomach food because the 4 Health seemed to have messed her stomach up so much. She is doing better now but I want to find a different food for her to stay on. Thanks for your reply Brandon! Hope you find a solution too!

  • Brandon

    My dog has had extremely soft stool since the last bag of food (purchased about 3 weeks ago). I will probably be switching brands. Currently feeding the large breed.

  • pitparent

    I have been feeding my pits 4health Performance (chicken based) for about a year now. All was fine until recently. The last 2 bags we’ve gotten have produced UNBEARABLE frequent gas. Not sure what has changed. But I have spent the last 4 hours researching dog food trying to find something better. I have heard mention of change in company who makes the 4health brands, but not sure if that’s the problem here. As with any multiple dog owner, we have the itchy allergy sensitive dog and the one who tolerates most anything. So my new search is not going to be easy. Any input on this matter would be greatly appreciated. Thanks)

  • Angel Pearson Booth

    Anyone having a problem with the Large Breed Formula or the Adult Chicken and Rice? Both of my Dogs ave had terrible stomach upset on these foods all of a sudden. They were checked by the vet and the vet thinks it is this food. I spoke with a manager from the store I got it at and even brought a sample to send for testing. The manager wasn’t very nice about it and never contacted me back about the food test.

  • gmcbogger38

    I did try grain free foods without white potato, but maybe I need to do a longer trial. I can and will definitely keep feeding Victor for now. Thanks for your help!

  • LabsRawesome

    I don’t think it’s the grain free aspect of the foods, but the white potato is the most likely culprit for causing skin issues. I totally understand the budget concerns. Can you stick with the formulas of Victor that they’ve done well with? You can always rotate thru the Victor brand like you were doing. You could always try 4health, if it fits your budget better. But Victor grain inclusive and 4health grain inclusive are about the same price.

  • gmcbogger38

    I know. I’m not 100% comfortable feeding anything made by Diamond, but for the price, size bag and quality I feel that it would be ok to rotate with for now. I have tried several 4 & 5 star grain free foods over a period of a year and ended up with skin problems with my dogs, so I’m sticking with grain inclusive for now. I have been hurting a little financially recently (less than 10 mths of college left), so I’m not planning on feeding 4health long term, anyway. Are there any other grain inclusive foods around the same price that you’d recommend? I’ve even thought about Authority.

  • LabsRawesome

    Just so you know, all the grain inclusive 4health and the 2 new 4health
    grain free formulas (Duck and Pork) are made by Diamond. The 3 original
    grain free 4health formulas Turkey, Beef, and Whitefish are made by
    Ainsworth.

  • gmcbogger38

    Went to Tractor Supply today and after some food research have decided to try 4health. It appears to be a decent food for the price. When checking out for the items I purchased, not food, I ended up receiving a coupon for $5 off 4health dog food. How convenient! I am definitely going to try it now and I’m hoping my dogs do well on it.

  • RoadDawg

    hey brandy wine
    I had the same thing happen to me, my dog was also finicky to that food.Now I bought taste of the wild salmon flavor….He eats that. and I cant blame him … I tried both; as a taste test myself. The 4Health tasted like cardboard and I was really able to taste the fish in the call of the wild, Its more expensive but it actually cut my food bill. (both foods made by Diamond brand) My Bull mastiff used to eat 1-50pound bag of science diet every 3 weeks, 1-50# bag of cheep stuff weekly now its a 30# bag monthly, all foods get a half can of something he likes ei spaghetti os ,tuna, ect. His weight has been the same from 2-6 yrs old and he still acts like a puppy. good luck

  • Bryan Ford

    I’ve checked… ingredients are the same since I’ve been feeding this food.. about three years.. my dogs love it and are in perfect shape…. its a great food, but no food is for every dog.

  • Bryan Ford

    My dogs are doing GREAT on 4Health Chicken and Rice

  • brandy wine

    I decided to try 4Health, Salmon and Potatoe, but won’t buy it again because my dogs don’t seem to care for it. Before I tried the grain-free Beef and Potatoe but got the same reaction. I’m going to get some canned dog food they like and mix in with what’s left of the 4Health, but going back to something they like better from now on after that’s gone.

  • SandyandMila

    Maybe he’s just used to the not so healthy food and why there’s a recommended transition period on the label. Cyndi’s suggestions are great! My dog loves a soft boiled egg with her kibble. Something quick and easy. And also you could try green tripe as a topper, most dogs seem to love it. (Canned, raw, or dehydrated)

  • Cyndi

    Add some healthy toppers to the dry food, like canned food, or raw egg or sardines maybe…

  • Marisol Barreneche-Velez

    What is the use of healthy dog food, if your dog doesn’t like it. I have tried few and my dog rather starved than eat the nutritional , non by meat products. I have a picky Eater do you have any suggestions?

  • nan

    Not sure what’s up, but I did take the food back to Tractor Supply on Saturday and the manager was very empathetic and didn’t brush the problem off—that was good to see. She was going to call the main office and take it from there. I also tried calling the 800 number listed on the dog food bag on Friday after work, but they were already closed for the weekend. I sent an email instead.
    Hope your girl is getting better! All three of mine are doing fine now (off the 4Health, back to their old brand).

  • Michelle

    I have been feeding my girl 4Health kibble for over 3 years. With the last purchase April 2014, I noticed that she does not seem to like the taste very much. She is hesitant to eat but she is very food driven and will eat anything edible, even when she doesn’t like it! With this last bag, she has been losing weight and so hungry! I have doubled her portions and she has still not gained a pound. Am currently searching for a new food choice.

  • Michelle

    I noticed a change with my recent purchase too! My poor girl has been so hungry that I have doubled her portions and she has not shown any weight gain!

  • nan

    I have three large dogs. They get dry food in the morning and canned food in the evening. They have never had any health problems, but I wanted to upgrade their food regardless. I switched from Purina Healthy Morsels to 4Health Lamb and Rice about a month ago. Did a two-week transition on the dry food. This week, I opened a new bag of 4Health and within three days, two of my dogs had diarrhea and the third had loose stools. Took them off the 4Health and gave them wet food twice a day, and the problem eased. Took them to the vet today just in case and they have no parasites, blood tests are fine. Vet thinks it must be the food. Either I got one bad bag of 4Health or this brand is no good overall. I’m not willing to give it another try. It’s going back to Tractor Supply.

  • theBCnut

    Yep, she should start slowing down now. Be careful to not let her get pudgy. That’s really hard on growing joints.

  • cnymike

    She will turn 6 months old in 5 days. She is still gaining weight, about 1 – 1.5 lb/wk. She’s about 42 pounds right now but will certainly start slowing the weight gain very soon. Her mature weight will probably be around 50-55 pounds if her parents are used as the benchmark.

  • theBCnut

    Hmm, try mixing in a little canned and then only offer food for about 20 minute, then pick it up and put it in the fridge for the next meal. You need to teach her to go ahead and eat what she is given. I haven’t had a dog yet that would eat three meals a day at 6 months of age. How is her weight? If she is maintaining weight well, then don’t worry about her missing a little. Her growth is probably slowing.

  • cnymike

    Thanks, that’s a good suggestion.

  • cnymike

    Thanks. I was just following the feeding guide on the back of the package. But it’s getting close to the time to cut her back a bit and then to only 2 feedings a day according to that schedule. I just leave the kibble in her bowl and she usually finises it off… eventually. Last night the poor baby finished it off at midnight!.

  • theBCnut

    I’m always for switching brands, since I believe that feeding variety is as healthy for dogs as it is for humans, and I like adding toppers too, but one thing you need to consider is your dog’s age. Maybe it is time to go to feeding twice a day instead of three times. And she might be starting to settle down a little and not need quite so many calories as she did.

  • LabsRawesome

    Canned food usually does the trick for dogs that don’t want to eat kibble.

  • cnymike

    We started feeding our Standard Poodle puppy 4 Health Puppy Formula at 8 weeks of age. Now at 6 months we have ramped her up to 4 cups a day (1.5 in AM, 1 cup at noon, 1.5 cup in PM). In the last few weeks her interest in eating the kibble has diminished. She leaves half a bowl, if not more, at most feedings. Sometimes she’ll nibble on the remaining kibble througout the day, but usually not.

    I’m concerned that her nutritional needs are not being met. Should I switch brands or try adding some canned food to the kibble?

    Any suggestions?

  • Jwiggs

    I feed my English pointer 4H and do a rotational diet he keeps weight on and sheds less than he did when I adopted him a few years ago. He didnt care for the lamb and rice but loves the GF duck!

  • c,gunsmoke

    MY DOG FARTS NO MATTER WHAT I FEED HIM ,,I FOUND IF I ADD WATER TO HIS FOOD HE EATS SLOWER /&HE DONT FART I BEEN USING THIS TRICK FOR 4 YEARS IF I OMIT THE WATER HE FARTS AGAIN

  • Sara Nadratowski

    I have fed the salmon and potatoe for 2 years now. No problems with gas. Most of the time excessive gas is caused from a dog eating too fast and swallowing air. They sell special bowls that makes them slow down. Another trick is (for small dogs) put golf balls in their dish so they are forced to eat around them.

  • KnitWitty66

    I guess I should amend this to say that we are currently feeding 4Health Grain Free Beef & Potato. He occasionally gets gas and it is pretty bad. His stools are firm and not copious amounts. But his sister, also a Pug, is itchy so the vet recommended we switch to Salmon food (he recommended Blue Buffalo) to see if it helped with her skin issues. He said some dogs are itchy on beef so maybe the fish would clear it up. I’m not set up to have dogs on 2 different foods, so if I switch one, they’re both getting the new food.

    We used to give them Stoneyfield Farms yogurt but when his gas disappears, then we forget to buy it.

  • Betsy Greer

    You could try adding digestive enzymes and probiotics to his food. If that doesn’t help, I’d switch him to something else as he’s not digesting the food properly. It could be the fish protein, the grain or some other ingredient. It could also be that he needs more or less fiber. How is his stool quality?

  • KnitWitty66

    Has anyone with brachycephalic breed dogs used the Salmon 4health? My boyPug has some horrendous gas already and I’m afraid if he gets fish-farts, we’ll have to burn candles every night! =:oD

  • Camden Campbell

    Thanks, I did send them a request for info. I appreciate your responses.

  • theBCnut

    Several regulars have emailed them to ask questions and reported back here about their answers. You could do likewise.

  • Camden Campbell

    Thank you for the info, where can I find that information on the Ainsworth company, I’ve looked at some of their info and do not find the listing for 4health, although I do find several other foods that I have been tempted to use for my babies. thank you

  • theBCnut

    The grain inclusive line and the 2 new flavors(Duck and Pork, I believe) of the grain free line are made by Diamond. The other grain frees are made at Ainsworth.

  • Camden Campbell

    where is the 4health pet food made at. I cannot find that info, on the packaging it just says distributed by tractor supply. but not where the food is actually processed and packaged. if anyone knows please post this info and where I can locate it myself. thanks

  • soulful_singer514

    I would never feed my dog the light tan bags again….he eats anything and he would completely ignore his bowl for hours, rather than devour it right away like he normally would. I only use the dark black/brown bags now. I can’t find the article now, but I read that they are manufactured in two different places and the light tan bags have had recall issues in the past.

    My lab/boxer/pitbull mix loves 4 Health Beef and Potato food. And I have been feeding it to him now for over a year. His coat is shiny and beautiful and he has great energy and a perfectly lean and muscled build.

    Hope this helps!

  • Alan Patrick

    The salmon and potato is on the list above which got 4 stars

  • Audie Dewey

    Fellow dog owner, If you’d cry if your dog died, then you need to see this. Discover the deadly secret the dog food industry spends millions to make sure you never find out.Check it out…http://www.dogfoodsecrets.best-online-solution.com/

  • MitzMom

    Hi Amanda. I feed my Belgian Shepherd the grain free Turkey and Sweet Potatoes. She previously has skin irritation, itching and spotty hair loss. This food was just what she needed…coat is thick and shiny (its beautiful) the itching and skin irritation is gone. Vet gave her a thumbs up.

  • Kathleen Glielmi

    I started feeding 4 Health, changing over from Diamond. Two of my German Shorthairs were hard to keep weight on, but feeding 4 Health High Performance keeps their weight just right. My other dogs do well on 4 Health lg Breed Adult. 4 Health is reasonably priced for feeding my 6 dogs.

  • Sherry Noss

    I feed my allergic to alot ;) Basset Hound the GF Beef and Potato. He loves it and does great on it.

    I also use the Salmon and Potato for my other Bassets and they love it and do great on it.

    The only thing that bothers me about the 4health is that they never return calls. I have a concern about the “natural flavors” listed on the bags… I want to know what it is !!!
    especially for a known allergy dog! Good luck with that. Other than that I believe this is a good food. My dogs have done well on it. I used Diamond Naturals prior to this and they did fine on that too but I am concerned about the rice content in that food. I prefer the Potato be the carb source.
    I would double check the ingredients on the TSC website page to make sure that chicken is not in the food you are looking at. So many have chicken listed further down the list.

  • Margaret Aitch

    We switched our 2 dogs to 4Health Chicken and Rice Adult food approximately a year ago, after finding the dog food advisor’s website and realizing just how bad the food that we were feeding them really was. Our Pug who is now 10, was overweight at 26 lbs around that time. He is now a healthy 19lbs. Our German Shepard/Husky mix stayed at 47lbs. Both dogs love the food! And it really doesn’t cost much more than what we were paying for 1 star rated food.

  • wv hippie

    I used to feed it to my terrier mix. Unless its changed in the last year or so its pretty small, a quarter inch at the most. He done well on it I switched both of mine to their grainfree line.

  • Amanda

    My mom has a white boxer who has several allergies; dairy, beef, chicken, duck. I just saw the 4health and saw that it is available in stores near us. Would the grain free or salmon be a good suggestion to give to him?

  • Chathuri Upamalika

    Fellow dog owner, If you’d cry if your dog died, then you need to see this. Discover the deadly secret the dog food industry spends millions to make sure you never find out.Check out…http://www.dogfoodsecret.best-online-solution.com

  • MitzMom

    I feed my dogs the 4Health Turkey and Potato grain free dry. I split a can of 4Health Chicken and Veggies between them daily. My Belgian Shepherd formerly had skin sensitivity with intense itching and hair loss. This seems to be the magic food that solves the allergy problem and both dogs love it. There has been no dietary related problems, coats are nice and shiny,” thumbs up” during check up at the vet, and the cost is very reasonable:)

  • JaketheMutt

    Does anyone know about how big the kibble is in the small bites formula?

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Hi Megan –

    Unfortunately none of the 4Health products are appropriate for a giant breed puppy like a Great Dane – the calcium levels are too high. Excess calcium during the formative months has been linked to increased incidence of developmental orthopedic disease and large and giant breed puppies. Most veterinary nutritionists recommend 3.5 g. calcium per 1,000 kcal. or less. Here is a list of 4 and 5 star foods that are appropriate for large and giant breed growth:

    https://docs.google.com/a/dogfoodadvisor.com/file/d/0BwApI_dhlbnFTXhUdi1KazFzSUk/edit?pli=1

  • Megan

    I have two Great Dane puppy’s. One is 11 months and the other is 6 months. Is the 4 health puppy food good for large breeds or if I change to it do I need to supplement them with something. Im feeding them large breed Purina puppy chow now and the vet says they look great. Do I keep them or change foods

  • chrs

    Have been feeding our two the salmon and potato for two months now. We have a 13yr old chiweenie (dachshund/chihuahua) and 2yr old labrador. Our chiweenie has colitis and had become so severe that even the food our vet prescribed wasn’t doing the trick. He spent a week on IV fluids to bring him back from an episode three months ago. We had tried all foods available. OTC dry/wet and prescription dry/wet along with a two week trial period of boiled white/dark meat chicken with steamed rice. After trying all these methods nothing seemed to work. Our last viable option was to put down our 13yr old chiweenie.

    After looking online at different foods and alternative medicines we may have overlooked I noticed the 4Health brand that I had never seen before. Looking through the ingredients I became interested and emailed the company immediately with a long list of questions we had about the food. We were told that the salmon/potato was the most popular and it was suggested we give it a shot. If our dog didn’t take to the food we could return it to the supplier for a refund.

    We mix the Salmon/Potato with a homemade gravy and the results we experienced happened immediately! Since our dog had been on a IV prior to 4Health we started him off slow with small amounts. His next BM had only a trace of blood and by his second BM he had no trace of blood in his stool!

    Literally no other food on the market or any food combination worked for our dog until the 4Health Salmon/Potato. The results we experienced might not be the same for others but without finding this food our only other option was to put down our beloved pet. It should also be worth mentioning that the only additive hes been on for the past two years is a weekly dose of an amino acid to help with the lining of the intestines.

  • chrs

    May I suggest you making your own gravy for your pup. We have a chiweenie and lab and we make our own gravy for the two. Piece of mind for us knowing whats going in our dogs systems. Its a basic recipe of low sodium chicken and beef stock, peas, yams and pureed pie pumpkin (not the canned pumpkin as thats usually butternut squash with pumpkin pie spice). Healthy ingredients that has helped with our chiweenies colitis!

  • InkedMarie

    I may be wrong but I assume from what you wrote that you just gave the dog the other food, you didn’t transition? If I’m correct, that would be why. It’s not the food per se, it’s the fact that he went from one food to another immediately.

  • Crazy4cats

    I’m not sure about this food, but typically the weight management foods in most brands are a lot higher in fiber than the regular maintenance food. That could be what caused the diarrhea. Most of the weight management foods aren’t recommended much on this site. Well, anyway, that was a bummer. Good luck to you.

  • LabsRawesome

    Hi

    Yardbirdsfan, If you ever happen to buy the wrong food again don’t even open it. If you do open it and then notice your mistake, just return it. Most stores (every one I’ve ever dealt with) will take dog food back, even if it’s open.

  • Yardbirdsfan

    My 8 year old lab did OK with the 4Health Salmon and Potato, but I made a mistake and bought a bag of 4Health Healthy Weight Adult. I should have known when I opened the bag that it wasn’t good food. It was a white/tan color and looked and smelled like sawdust. The two days that she ate it were a nightmare. She never ever has gone to the bathroom in the house. When I got up in the morning she had diarrhea all over the living room rug. The second morning the smell woke me up. My carpet needs replaced. I took the food back to Tractor Supply and got a refund. No more 4Health for her of any kind.

  • Andrea Blackburn

    Thanks for your help! I am definitely going to try adding in canned especially since it keeps getting harder to keep weight on our old girl.

  • LabsRawesome

    I split a can between my 3 dogs. My Dachshund gets about 2 tablespoons, and then I split the rest of the can between my 2 big dogs. I feed 2x per day. I go through 5 cups of dry and 2 cans a day.

  • Andrea Blackburn

    How often & how much of the canned food do you suggest alongside the dry food?

  • LabsRawesome

    I absolutely think grain free is better. 4health has recently added a couple new formulas. Duck and Pork, I believe. And if you can afford it, it’s a great idea to add some canned. 4health cans are .99 cents. And Costco has Kirkland cuts in gravy $18.99 for a case of 24 cans.

  • Andrea Blackburn

    I have not tried the grain free. I have a 12 year old English Coonhound that thrives on anything and a 5 year old Catahoula(Ringo) who has some stomach issues. We feed Purina for years then Ringo started having stomach problems so we switched to 4health and the vomiting has pretty much stopped since our switch 6 months ago. We have been feeding the lamb&rice 4Health and I noticed that it has a less of a rating than the chicken so I wondered if maybe we should try the chicken. I have not tried grain free but if Ringos stomach acts up again we will be attempting grain free. Is grain free better?

  • LabsRawesome

    Hi

    Andrea Blackburn, foods are rated by their protein content, so usually the higher the protein, the higher the rating. Have you ever tried 4health grain free?

  • Andrea Blackburn

    I have been feeding my dogs the 4health Lamb & Rice adult dog food for about 6 months now. I was wondering what the difference was in the different 4health dog food line that made some 4 stars and others 3 stars. I was thinking maybe I should switch from the lamb & rice to maybe the chicken & rice but I am unsure of why one is better than the other.

  • my777history

    I have an older german shepherd who is allergic to corn, wheat and chicken. I also have a yorkie who has a hard time keeping weight on….We switched to 4health and use fish and potato….It has made an amazing difference for both of my kiddos!!!!great vitamins, glucosamine, chondriotin, etc!!

  • LabsRawesome

    Good to hear. Glad you found something that is working for you.

  • tasha vansickles

    Yes my dog has a sensitivity to anything with beef in it.. like she gets hot spots from it. We have been using the 4 health grain free whitefish and she does great with it..we also have a husky and border aussie too. Their stomach problems went away too

  • LabsRawesome

    I think she means her dog is scratching itself, due to food allergy/intolerance.

  • Charles Mitchell

    what does digging have to do with Beef allergy?

  • Betsy Greer

    Urinating every hour and chronic gas would not indicate good health to me. There are other foods and I would find one to switch to.

  • Soullieren

    Yes, both of our puppies have gas…our 6 mth old and our 2 mth old….and they are urinating ALOT…every hour just about..and there isn’t any other puppy food…so I don’t know what to do..they love their food and seem to be healthy.

  • Angela

    Y’know, I had the same problem with the chicken and rice formula. Switched over to Salmon and Potato, and the gas is gone! It was horrible, so maybe try that formula? The food is funny looking- little round disks. Just be sure to gently switch your dogs over, so that they don’t keep having gas!

  • Conrad’s mom

    I have a 4 year old chocolate lab. He was having difficulty with scratching and scaly patches on his back side just above his tail, then finally he started loosing his hair. He was absolutely miserable. Took him to the vet, got shots, pills, special shampoo, nothing seemed to help. I started researching dog food. After doing a lot of reading I decided to try 4 Health. What a difference in my Conrad. He has stopped scratching, his hair has grown back and no more scaly patches. He loves his food. I feed him the 4 Health Salmon and Potato.

  • Cavalier mom

    This site is highly manipulated by editor Mike. Yesterday and yesterday before 7posts dissappeared where people quoted that your dog doesn’t need more than30% protein. Those people were legit. When I pointed it out reg the history log it dissappeared too. He is very bias and wants you to have one sided information. They deleted my posts on wellness complete now you won’t have the information where I have proven them wrong and caught Shawna in many lies also Hounddog twists and turns the truth.
    This site is fascist. Buyer beware they have blocked1000s of people who did nothing wrong

  • Crazy4cats

    Congratulations!

  • burghdog

    lose
    LOL

  • burghdog

    I used 4 Health with my dog’s pregnancy…A healthy delivery, and 8 healthy beautiful Pups! (I don’t want to debate spay/neuter my male has his scheduled for two weeks, my girl after pups go home!)

  • burghdog

    I have been using 4 Health before and during my dog’s pregnancy. She had a beautiful litter of 8!!!!!!!!!! (Yikes that’s a lot of babies) The mom had a healthy pregnancy…and is nursing with tons of milk. She is a trim weight, but not under, she’s pretty much at her prepregnancy ‘look’. She has not continued to ‘loose’ while nursing….she eats the puppy formula and also the 4 health grain free….She’s Healthy! and so are the pups! She was eating 4 health prior to her pregnancy too….She’s my turn around dog! I’m so proud of her, and thankful for 4 Health!

  • jessicaw

    I buy the 4 health performance for my english pointer in order to keep weight on him hes VERY active and never stops running hes a typical bony looking pointer still but he eats alot less of this compared to many of the other foods i have tried which is about 3-4 cups now. You can buy it at tractor supply.

  • Crazy4cats

    That’s great :)

  • LGMich

    A few months ago, we switched from Blue Buffalo to 4Health Adult to give it a try. Our 10-year old Rott was a picky eater all of his life, and his interest in BB was sporadic at best. Mr. Picky has turned into Mr. Big Butt. I’ve never seen that dog clean his bowl consistently every night. Now we monitor his portions because he has returned to his prime years’ weight of 135#. Happy dog, happy dog parents, happy vet.

  • NickP

    I just bought some of this food and compared this sites listed ingredients to the bags and saw oatmeal listed but not millet. I’m guessing oatmeal is a good ingredient. I have no results yet to how my dog reacts to this food. I’m doing a slow transition from purina one only because this one is rated 4 stars and purina is rated 2 stars and more expensive than 4health.

  • LabsRawesome

    Hi SpanielLoverRVT, you should try feeding your dog with acid issues small meals throughout the day. And give him a snack before bed, so the acid doesn’t build up. :)

  • SpanielLoverRVT

    Hi Everyone!

    First off, this website is very useful, and I recommend it to most of my clients with health concerns.

    I am a Register Veterinary Technician and I work at a specialty/emergency hospital. Our hospital includes a veterinarian who specializes in nutrition, and I’ve consulted with her. We do TONS of research, and I have to say, that each food is specific to each patient. Also, we are very familiar for food that are prescribed by veterinarians. While, most of the foods are great for other medical issues, there are quite a few over the counter foods that help out A LOT.

    So, with that background, I feed my dogs 4Health. My beloved 8 year old cocker spaniel, who is allergic to EVERYTHING (literally I have the allergy bloodwork to prove it) and I have absolutely no problems with her. No skin breakouts, no “yeasty” smell, no inflamed ears, and no diarrhea. She LOVES it. Also, her arthritic issues have improved substantially. I even took her off of her anti-inflammatory medications.

    Also, my 3 year old catahoula has a regurgitation issue, that is a product of too much acid produced by his stomach. The 4Health food has definitely helped this issue. While he still does it occasionally, it will never be fully corrected without surgery. We were feeding a gastrointestinal prescription food, and honestly, 4Health decreased the frequency of episodes.

    Hope this helps!

  • Shebbaa33

    try giving some boiled ground turkey or ground chicken and make some rice and mix those together and then feed that in small portions till your dog has better stool…then eventually you can start to incorporate a dog food in with the mix gradually transitioning over to the dog food I would recommend a food that is basic with chicken or turkey, my Dog is allergic to Lamb…I have a golden who is 6 years old and now is on 4Health for large breed. and what I described above on feeding with the ground turkey or chicken and rice is what I had to do with her because she almost died from Purina One dog food. But I had tried Blue Buffalo foods and she did better on those but still had itching and hives from something in those….I hope this helps you some :)

  • Crazy4cats

    Actually you can also buy the dry food at Del’s feed store in the Pacific Northwest. I just looked at ordering online and it would be $30 to have a bag shipped. It states free shipping to a store if you spend $99. Not much help if you don’t have a store. Lol!

  • morrwells

    Buy**

  • morrwells

    You can only by the 4Health brand at Tractor Supply. You could order it from their website. Good luck!

  • Lori Thomas

    I have started my 2 year old White German Shepherd who is also my service dog on 4 health performance her start weight was 62 pounds she is now 70 pounds she loves it I put a tablespoon of coconut oil in her food

  • LabsRawesome

    If you have a Costco, they have Nature’s Domain it’s grain free and has 3 offerings. Turkey, Beef,and Salmon.

    If not, maybe it would be easier for us to recommend foods to you, if we knew which stores are in your area.

  • Crazy4cats

    If you use the type with grain, Kirkland Signature dog food is close to the same thing and made by the same manufacturer. Do you have a Costco close by?

  • Mel

    I checked and the closest Dels is in Lewiston.

  • Nathan Storm’nMormon

    Hi 808pup, I had some of the same issues with my dogs when I switched foods. I learned a couple things, 1. you need to switch food over a period of time. Compare it to us eating fish every day to then eating jalapenos very day. You could bet there would be some diarrhea! lol So I would suggest adding a little bit in their original food then continually to add more and less of the original. This will help with the food difference. 2. A dog does have allergies. I have to give my dogs(a german shepherd coon hound mix, and a shiba inu) grain free. The grain free seems to be easier on the stomach and solidified their stools. Having a 6 week old pup, is a BIG task and I think it is normal to see runny stools at that age because they are still trying to get used to normal food. But USA Dog Treats does bring up a great point. Make sure the pup is up to date on shots and checked for worms. Worms can give some pretty wicked poop. Hope this helps!

  • Denise Gollott Stover-Bill Sto

    Maybe a vet could have it or a farm supply store?

  • tasha vansickles

    I have a golden retriever with a beef allergy, she digs like crazy if it has any beef in it…we have been feeding our dogs 4 health for a long time.. my dogs favorite was the salmon and potato, but we recently tried the whitefish, and that is their new favorite, they scarf it right down. it seems to keep them full, sometimes they don’t even eat all that’s in there dishes.

  • Chandrasiri Wickramaarachchi

    Fellow dog owner, If you’d cry if your dog died, then you need to see this. Discover the deadly secret the dog food industry spends millions to make sure you never find out.Check it out…http://www.dogfoodsecrets.best-online-solution.com/

  • InkedMarie

    thank you.

  • USA Dog Treats

    Hi 808pup,

    I am trying to follow the timeline. Your pup is 6 weeks old now and you have been feeding 4 health kibble for 2 weeks already. Since he was 4 weeks old? And before that he was on science diet?

    So he was eating commercial dry food before he was 4 weeks old? That is very early. He could have the runs just from eating a kibble at 4 weeks old.

    When did the diarrhea start, and what was he eating when it started and what was he eating right before it started.

    Has he been checked for worms? Worms can cause the runs and are pretty common in 6 week old puppies.

    At 6 weeks I would recommend canned food, not kibble. Take a look at the 5 star canned foods listed on this website. Large breed puppies have special nutrient requirements, calcium is one. Search for Large Breed Puppies on this site and you should find some articles to guide you.

    Good Luck!!!

  • 808pup

    I am from Hawaii, and I have a 6week old pup (Rott/blue nose) I have been giving him 4Health for about 2 weeks now and he seems to keep having the runs that gets all over the place. I don’t know what to do or what other foods I should try that will be great for him. The vet dr. of course sells the science diet which I will not give him again. I did have him on it when I first got him which was from the dr. But I switched food because I heard it wasn’t a good food. Any suggestions anyone? He is my baby and I want the best for him.

  • Bobby dog

    Hello:
    I am not sandman404, but have a zoo of animals and shop quite a bit at TSC. I have received promo discounts through their e-mail promotions. You can sign up for e-mails by visiting their homepage; there is an option towards the lower left of the page. I have also had luck with Googling “TSC coupon”, or another phrase that you think might work, and sometimes find a $5.00 off coupon promo.

  • pradas mom

    How do u get the 10% off coupon?! We buy our dog food from them and have yet to receive one of those!

  • Khloe Trust

    Our labs itching was fixed by adding the VitaHound Dog Supplement to her food. 4Health is a great food however I have found without the addition of a powerful probiotic you lose the benefits of the high quality ingredients.

  • Crazy4cats

    Hi Mel-
    I’m in Washington state and we do not have any Tractor Supply feed stores either, however, we do have Del’s and they sell 4 health dry food also. Maybe you have a Del’s or some other affiliated feed store that would sell it?

  • Annie

    I was told by the tsc rep 4health can’t be ordered online it has to be bought in store only. I was going to order some of it awhile back but couldn’t. Maybe they changed things since then.

  • Lynne

    I had a Pit that lost all of his hair, he itched so bad. It was kibble and bits that caused it. He was put on very expensive food by the vet. I eventually got it under control by feeding him Beneful. Took a year, and its not a high quality food, but it solved the problem, which never returned.

  • Lynne

    I buy it at the tractor supply store. It’s their brand.

  • Lynne

    Order it online.

  • Stacey from Pa.

    We have fed 4Health Performance to our German Shorthairs for over a year.(previously were on Solid Gold Hundenflocken). Their coats are great and their sensitive bellys have been less irritated and much less gas and stool. I have no complaints about this food and my “Boys” who are 14 and 10 are doing great on it :-)

  • Pattyvaughn

    If you know what foods make your dog itchy, you could compare ingredient lists and figure out what ingredient your dog is reacting to, so you would know what to avoid.

  • Mel

    4health is the only food that keeps my lab from itching. It’s been wonderful.
    Now I’m moving to Idaho where it’s not sold. Any suggestions?

  • Pattyvaughn

    Try digestive enzymes for a couple weeks and see if that helps.

  • Elena Iannone

    Yes that is why I am on this site, we can take the gas anymore and have been trying to see if it might be the food. Did you find a solution? I have a greater swiss mtn dog 110 lbs.

    Elena