Primal freeze dried raw food

Dog Food Advisor Forums Editors Choice Forum Primal freeze dried raw food

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Rena C

Can dog food advisor investigate and update us on recent quality of Primal freeze dried dog food? Cos recently there were bags (duck recipe and turkey sardine recipe) that I and many other friends purchased smelly really bad (bad oil smell) and like rotten. I’ve been feeding primal duck to my dog for several years and it used to smell very nice, I can tell the difference now once I opened the bag. Is the factory having changed the oil or some ingriedients thar affect and lower he quality now? Is it still justified to rate 5-Star? Is it still no health issue to dogs? Many thanks!

#120496 Report Abuse
    Patricia A
    Participant

If you go to Primal dog food Facebook page you can ask them if recipe has changed there. They usually reply very quickly. I rotate with freeze dried Stella’s and Primal. Haven’t purchased in over a month because I was waiting till my pet supply store got samples of Pronto to try out in the turkey/sardine. Now I’m glad I didn’t get the duck or turkey/sardine in the freeze dried. I’ll write and ask also.

• This reply was modified 5 years, 6 months ago by Patricia A.
    #120498 Report Abuse
    Rena C

Thank you Patricia! 🙂

#120499 Report Abuse
    zcRiley

A rotten oil smell means rancid, they wouldn’t sell that on purpose. Anything that smells off, even a little, do not feed to pets. Report the product and its best by/lot # to the recall website. And contact Primal’s customer service number on the back of the bag. Tell them your friends’ lot numbers as well. This is how recalls start so they can take the others off the shelves.

#120500 Report Abuse
    Rena C

Thanks! I just sent private message to their Facebook and will wait for their reply. A bit worried about my dog as I’ve fed most of the bag to her😩😭 I’ll shift to Stella’s if not hearing assurance from them.