How to feed GOAT NECK

Dog Food Advisor Forums Editors Choice Forum How to feed GOAT NECK

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Nancy C

Bought a 2 pound GOAT NECK at the butcher. It’s very meaty looking with a bone in it (the neck bone?) which is not large — The neck is in the freezer now and I want to use it. Does anyone know anything about GOAT NECKS and are there any particulars I should know before giving it to my dog? It is NOT fatty. He’s a 75 lb GSD and calculations show he should eat betw 1 1/2 and 2 pounds a day of raw. So I should probably only let him eat half of this at a time, tugging and pulling. Eh?

Thank you to anyone who can make suggestions. (I am new to raw)

#55149 Report Abuse
    theBCnut

What will he be eating for the other half of his meal?

When it’s something that big and you know they can’t eat it all in one meal, you let them have it for as long as it takes to eat the amount they should have, as long as it is under two hours, then rinse off, and refrigerate or freeze the uneaten portion, depending on whether you are feeding the rest the next day. You can make up a spray bottle of 2 oz of vinegar and 8 oz of water and spray the surface then rinse to kill some of the germs, if you want. If it is something that would take more than 2 sittings to finish, I would have the butcher cut it up, and since I’m at the butcher to start with, I might have the butcher cut it anyways. They have the saw that just zips right through the bones.

#55342 Report Abuse
    Nancy C