Hey! Which Food To Choose

Dog Food Advisor Forums Diet and Health Hey! Which Food To Choose

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    kullboys b

I have a 6 lb long-haired chihuahua and she is currently on Blue Buffalo. I want to switch her to a higher quality food and have narrowed it down between the 4 below. I wanted to see if anyone could help me choose 1 or narrow it down (based on your experience or research). My dog doesn’t have any allergies and generally likes any food that’s put in front of her 🙂

– Nature’s Logic
    – NutriSource
    – Zignature
    – Orijen
    – Instinct

Thanks .

• This topic was modified 5 years, 5 months ago by kullboys b.
    #123126 Report Abuse
    joanne l

Hi, I have some experience in dog food. I would choose Natures Logic or Instinct. I don’t care for the others. Here are my reasons: Zignatures has too many peas and too much fiber. Orijen lists peas and lentils about six times, even though they use a lot of meat they are still using a lot of beans and such. So to me it is like half and half. Also I know a lot of people like Instinct. Hope this helps.

#123140 Report Abuse
    Patricia A
    Participant

I have Chihuahuas’ also. Sixteen year old is now on Stella Chewy’s Raw coated kibble small breed with a topper. My four year old and eight year old are both on Stella’s kibble as a small base and get Freeze Dried Stella’s as a topper. Flavors are revieved as five star and they are Chicken, Rabbit, Venison. I also rotate with Primal Freeze Dried Turkey/Sardine and Duck.Both reviews as 5 stars. The only freeze dried topper my 16 year old eats is Bixbi Rawbble in Chicken/Salmon. They not found at Petco but my Pet Supply Store. Very easy to use. Just crumble and add a little warm water. I mix it with the kibble. The Bixbi Chicken/Salmon I just give dry. They are crunchy and almost like a treat to them. All these are high in meat with low carbs.
    This is an example of ingredients in Bixbi Beef.