šŸ± NEW!

Introducing the Cat Food Advisor!

Independent, unbiased reviews without influence from pet food companies

Viewing 31 posts - 1 through 31 (of 31 total)
  • Author
    Angela S

I have been giving my dog greenies for a couple of years now, since she’s not crazy about having her teeth brushed. They seem to do a pretty good job at keeping her teeth nice and clean. I noticed that pedigree dentastix are significantly cheaper. Not sure if i should switch to dentastix to save money or not.. has anyone used both? and how do they compare? or if you just used dentastix, how are your dog’s teeth? what do you think of dentastix?

thanks!

#119699 Report Abuse
    anonymous

Quote: “Not sure if i should switch to dentastix to save money or not.. has anyone used both? and how do they compare? or if you just used dentastix, how are your dogā€™s teeth? what do you think of dentastix”?

They don’t do anything, except maybe freshen the breath a little. Save your money for professional cleanings as recommended by the examining veterinarian. Keep your eye open for inflammation, difficulty eating and other signs of pain or discomfort.
    Go for annual checkups. Do the best you can to brush her teeth once or twice daily, this helps but does not prevent periodontal disease, some of it is genetic.
    In my experience, most dogs may need at least one or two professional cleanings per lifetime, even with daily brushings. Sometimes you get lucky and they don’t…..

Hope these articles help
    http://skeptvet.com/Blog/?s=dental
    http://avdc.org/AFD/category/facts/
    http://www.bostonherald.com/lifestyle/2018/07/dental_x_rays_help_vet_care_for_dog_s_teeth

• This reply was modified 5 years, 8 months ago by anonymous.
    #119701 Report Abuse
    anonymous

PS: Will she chew on a raw carrot? One of my dogs loves them. You can freeze them to make them even more crunchy.
    Don’t get baby carrots, they are bleached/chemically treated and a choking hazard due to their size.