šŸ± NEW!

Introducing the Cat Food Advisor!

Independent, unbiased reviews without influence from pet food companies

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Richard G

Vet recommends 8-12 week trial with a food with broken down protein. Any thoughts? This is brought about by our dog having recurring diarrhea every 2-4 weeks. Other testing has been negative.

#56022 Report Abuse
    theBCnut

8-12 weeks should be just the very beginning of the food trial. Usually, you put your dog on the hydrolyzed protein diet for at least 10 weeks to get rid of all symptoms, then you start adding back one ingredient at a time for a period of time to see if the dog reacts to it or is OK with it. This way you can learn what it is that your dog is reacting to and find a commercial food that your dog is fine with. It can take months to do a complete elimination diet. I’ve been testing ingredients on my dog for 2 years now and just found another that he reacts to, but I have also found 20 foods that he does good on. I specifically tested ingredient that were in a food I wanted to move him to first, so I could get him off of his starting diet quickly.

#56040 Report Abuse
    Susan
    Participant

Hi Richard, Ive been going thru this with diarrhea & skin problems since I rescued my boy on the 20th November 2012…..are you starting with home cooked food trial or a vet prescription diet?

I started with a vet prescription diet first, I found it easier & ur dog gets all his vitamins etc…Your dog doesn’t have to stay on the vet prescription diet forever but its a starting point & probably will help with his diarrhea if put on the right vet prescription diet…