šŸ± NEW!

Introducing the Cat Food Advisor!

Independent, unbiased reviews without influence from pet food companies

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Erin N

Hi I am a newbie to this site and owning a dog. Our family just adopted our first puppy and we are smitten!! “Charlie” is 9 weeks old. His mom is a lab/shepard mix. We don’t know what the dad was. The foster mom and vet are guessing he could grow to be 40-50 pounds.
    The foster mom was feeding him Great Life dry dog food (Salmon) so we are continuing to do that for consistency. I see it is only rate 3.5 stars on this site and I would like to feed him a 5 star food for the best health possible.
    He has had diarrhea since we brought him home a week ago. I’ve been giving him a little organic pumpkin with his dry dog food and it seems to help a bit but I would like to transition him to a 5 star food that could also help with the lose stool.
    I would so appreciate any dog food brand recommendations any of you may have. Thank you in advance for your help!!!!!

#82600 Report Abuse
    anonymously

First thing, I would make an appointment to have him seen by a veterinarian asap
    Puppies are vulnerable to dehydration. Then, if the vet approves, I would feed him something bland like boiled hamburger and rice. Ideally he could have stayed with the mother and sibs for another 2-3 weeks.

#82603 Report Abuse
    JeffreyT

Here is Dr. Becker’s turkey and pumpkin recipe for stomach issues.
    http://healthypets.mercola.com/sites/healthypets/archive/2014/09/01/pumpkin-dietary-fiber.aspx

You may consider probiotics and enzymes to help with stomach problems, maximum absorption of nutrients and immune function. They can be used every day. I always keep Perfect Form by Honest Kitchen on hand which is a miracle supplement.