Pure Balance Dog Food (Dry)

Share

Rating: ★★★★☆

Pure Balance Dog Food receives the Advisor’s second-highest tier rating of 4 stars.

The Pure Balance product line includes three dry dog foods.

Each recipe below includes its related AAFCO nutrient profile when available on the product’s official webpage: Growth, Maintenance, All Life Stages, Supplemental or Unspecified.

  • Pure Balance Chicken and Brown Rice [A]
  • Pure Balance Lamb and Brown Rice (3 stars) [A]
  • Pure Balance Small Breed Chicken and Brown Rice [A]

Pure Balance Chicken and Brown Rice was selected to represent the other products in the line for this review.

Pure Balance Chicken and Brown Rice

Dry Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 30% | Fat = 17% | Carbs = 45%

Ingredients: Chicken, chicken meal, brown rice, brewers rice, pea protein, poultry fat (preserved with mixed tocopherols), rice bran, dried plain beet pulp, dried egg product, natural flavor, oatmeal, sunflower oil, dried peas, dried carrots, whole flaxseed, dried cranberry, potassium chloride, salt, zinc proteinate, vitamin E supplement, iron proteinate, l-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), choline chloride, manganese proteinate, l-carnitine, copper proteinate, niacin, d-calcium pantothenate, biotin, sodium selenite, vitamin D3 supplement, riboflavin supplement, thiamine mononitrate, vitamin A supplement, vitamin B12 supplement, calcium iodate, pyridoxine hydrochloride (source of vitamin B6), folic acid

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 5.6%

Red items indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis27%15%NA
Dry Matter Basis30%17%45%
Calorie Weighted Basis26%35%39%
Protein = 26% | Fat = 35% | Carbs = 39%

The first ingredient in this dog food is chicken. Although it is a quality item, raw chicken contains about 80% water. After cooking, most of that moisture is lost, reducing the meat content to just a fraction of its original weight.

After processing, this item would probably account for a smaller part of the total content of the finished product.

The second ingredient is chicken meal. Chicken meal is considered a meat concentrate and contains nearly 300% more protein than fresh chicken.

The third ingredient is brown rice, a complex carbohydrate that (once cooked) can be fairly easy to digest. However, aside from its natural energy content, rice is of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

The fourth ingredient is brewers rice. Brewers rice is a cereal grain by-product consisting of the small fragments left over after milling whole rice. Aside from the caloric energy it contains, this item is of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

The fifth ingredient is pea protein, what remains of a pea after removing the starchy part of the vegetable.

Even though it contains over 80% protein, this ingredient would be expected to have a lower biological value than meat.

And less costly plant-based products like this can notably boost the total protein reported on the label — a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

The sixth ingredient is poultry fat. Poultry fat is obtained from rendering, a process similar to making soup in which the fat itself is skimmed from the surface of the liquid.

Poultry fat is high in linoleic acid, an omega-6 fatty acid essential for life.

However, poultry fat is a relatively generic ingredient and can be considered lower in quality than a similar item from a named source animal (like chicken fat).

The seventh ingredient is rice bran, a healthy by-product of milling whole grain rice. The bran is the fiber-rich outer layer of the grain containing starch, protein, fat as well as vitamins and minerals.

The eighth ingredient is beet pulp. Beet pulp is a controversial ingredient, a high fiber by-product of sugar beet processing.

Some denounce beet pulp as an inexpensive filler while others cite its outstanding intestinal health and blood sugar benefits.

We only call your attention here to the controversy and believe the inclusion of beet pulp in reasonable amounts in most dog foods is entirely acceptable.

The ninth ingredient is dried egg product, a dehydrated form of shell-free eggs. Quality can vary significantly. Lower grade egg product can even come from commercial hatcheries — from eggs that have failed to hatch.

In any case, eggs are easy to digest and have an exceptionally high biological value.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With five notable exceptions

First, flaxseed is one of the best plant sources of healthy omega-3 fatty acids. Provided they’ve first been ground into a meal, flax seeds are also rich in soluble fiber.

However, flaxseed contains about 19% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

Next, sunflower oil is nutritionally similar to safflower oil. Since these oils are high in omega-6 fatty acids and contain no omega-3’s, they’re considered less nutritious than canola or flaxseed oils.

Sunflower oil is notable for its resistance to heat damage during cooking.

There are several different types of sunflower oil, some better than others. Without knowing more, it’s impossible to judge the quality of this ingredient.

In addition, we note the inclusion of dried peas. Dried peas are a good source of carbohydrates. Plus they’re naturally rich in dietary fiber.

However, dried peas contain about 27% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the meat content of this dog food.

Next, we find no mention of probiotics, friendly bacteria applied to the surface of the kibble after processing to help with digestion.

And lastly, this food contains chelated minerals, minerals that have been chemically attached to protein. This makes them easier to absorb. Chelated minerals are usually found in better dog foods.

Pure Balance Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Judging by its ingredients alone, Pure Balance looks like an average dry dog food.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 30%, a fat level of 17% and estimated carbohydrates of about 45%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 28% and a mean fat level of 17%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 47% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 61%.

Near-average protein. Near-average fat. And near-average carbs when compared to a typical dry dog food.

When you consider the protein-boosting effect of the pea protein, flaxseed and dried peas, this looks like the profile of a kibble containing a moderate amount of meat.

Bottom line?

Pure Balance is a plant-based dry dog food using a moderate amount of named meats as its main sources of animal protein, thus earning the brand 4 stars.

Highly recommended.

Please note certain recipes are sometimes given a higher or lower rating based upon our estimate of their total meat content and (when appropriate) their fat-to-protein ratios.

Pure Balance Dog Food
Recall History

The following list (if present) includes all dog food recalls since 2009 directly related to this product line. If there are no recalls listed in this section, we have not yet reported any events.

You can view a complete list of all dog food recalls sorted by date. Or view the same list sorted alphabetically by brand.

To learn why our ratings have nothing to do with a product’s recall history, please visit our Dog Food Recalls FAQ page.

Get free dog food recall alerts sent to you by email. Subscribe to The Advisor’s recall notification list.

Dog Food Coupons
and Discounts

Readers are invited to check for coupons and discounts shared by others in our Dog Food Coupons Forum.

Or click the buying tip below. Please be advised we receive a fee for referrals made to the following online store.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

The Dog Food Advisor does not test dog food products.

We rely entirely on the integrity of the information provided by each company. As such, the accuracy of every review is directly dependent upon the specific data a company chooses to share.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

We rely on tips from readers. To report a product change or request an update of any review, please contact us using this form.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, due to the biological uniqueness of every animal, none of our ratings are intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in a specific dietary response or health benefit for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

However, we do receive a fee from Chewy.com for each purchase made as a direct result of a referral from our website. This fee is a fixed dollar amount and has nothing to do with the size of an order or the brand selected for purchase.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Notes and Updates

04/01/2017 Last Update

  • Michelle Bryant

    Hi Penny,

    Do you remember the “Great Dog food recall” a few years ago? Almost 9k dogs died and it was several brands. How many had to die before the recall happened?
    Recalls happen on a regular basis because dog food manufacturing is not monitored by the government in the way people food is.

    Things can go wrong. Dogs don’t always die, sometimes the food makes them sick, and I’m not talking about allergies or sensitivities. Excessive thirst (constant drinking) and bloating, frequent urination and accidents, or dehydration are not symptoms of allergies or sensitivities. They are symptoms of serious kidney disease.

    What can make us soooo thirsty?
    Sodium is one. I imagine there are other things, I don’t know. If it is only happening to some dogs, that could mean there is an issue with an even distribution of ingredients.
    This could also be said for the blanched stools (all white, dry looking) which can come from eating bones or? (an I’m balance in the amount of calcium/minerals)?

    This is just 2 of the things that I discovered through my own experiences with their chicken and rice diet. They were both on it for over 2.5 years prior to the 2 incidents (2 different bags, 3 months apart). He still eats chicken and rice no issues; so far 4 different brands. I am a cautious and conscientious pet owner and a veterinary technician for over 15 years. I have learned some things about diet throughout my 39 years as an owner, breeder, and rescue person.

    I was very grateful for this dog food as well for a long time. So please, when sharing your perspective in a forum, try not to paint all others who’ve had different experiences than yourself, with such a broad brush. Everyone’s experience should be given the same amount of respect.
    If we haven’t walked in someone else’s shoes, we can stand to be more compassionate even when others are not.

  • Michelle Bryant

    Hi Penny,

    Do you remember the “Great Dog food recall a few years ago? Almost 9k dogs died and it was several brands. How many had to die before the recall happened?
    Recalls happen on a regular basis because dog food manufacturing is not monitored by the government in the way people food is.

    Things can go wrong. Dogs don’t always die, sometimes the food makes them sick, and I’m not talking about allergies or sensitivities. Excessive thirst (constant drinking) and bloating, frequent urination and accidents, or dehydration are not symptoms of allergies or sensitivities. They are symptoms of kidney

  • Penny LadyPraise Coursey

    IMO, I think it’s a great brand and my almost-senior dog, Roscoe, loves it! We get different flavors for him just to change it up a bit (as he can be a picky eater) and each one is a hit. There have never been any issues with him regarding this brand of food and I’m thankful for that. I am sorry for those that have had issues with this one though. However, I do wish people would understand that not every food is for every dog. Some just don’t respond as well as others to different types of food.

  • BaahBen .

    I have now had our dogs on Pure Balance (Lamb and Brown Rice) for 5 months. I could not be more pleased with the results at literally half the price of Nutro from the pet chain stores. I get Pure Balance from Walmart…Trust me it is not a dirty word! BTW, they have other really good brands at prices far less than those at Petsmart and Pet Supermarket.

    Too many Walmart haters on this site – Total Bull S–t

  • Crazy4cats

    Raccoons carry it in my area.

  • s_smc

    leptospirosis – it is passed in urine and exists in wet environments. It doesn’t have to be rats, but that is common and rats can live outdoors everywhere.

  • Michelle Bryant

    I’m so sorry, Bean Jean! Can you give the information surrounding these illnesses? What you fed before, when you started feeding PB, when the symptoms started and we’re there any other symptoms prior?
    The breeds, ages of your dog’s and any history of illness?
    I am taking everything I can find to the BBB under their parent company, Western Mills/Milling.

  • Bean Jean

    Pure Balance has sickened my dogs.. one seems to be pulling through but IDK if my other one will make it.. as he is much older. They both started with the vomiting of the food then my young one refused to eat it anymore and he seems to be getting better. My older guy is now not eating and throwing up bile. I am sure it’s the Pure Balance doing it as this is the only change made to their diet.

  • Michelle Bryant

    WALMART DOES OWN “PURE BALANCE” DOG FOOD. (And CAT FOOD) The corporate office will now point you to the manufacturers and say “This is their responsibility, go talk to them” (unless they’re being lied to as well, lol) and the employees, even managers, will tell you they do not own it, just sell it.

    The only thing they can’t lie about is the actual introduction of Walmart’s Pure Balance dog food on national television, then the web. Here is the page of one of their first promotions, written by the Vice President of Walmart’s pet department 08/14/2012 *** IT IS NOT a LINK***

    corporate.walmart DOTcom/_news_/news-archive/2012/08/14/walmart-launches-first-ultra-premium-dog-food-brand-pure-balance

    Here are some more promotional ads, some also specifying it IS Walmart’s brand.

    “Walmart Launches Store-Brand Premium Dog Food”
    “Walmart, the Bentonville, Ark.-based discount giant, jumped into the premium pet food market today with its own brand, Pure Balance.
    August 14, 2012”

    google keywords: reuters article/us-walmart-dogfood/walmart-u-s-launches-its-own-high-end-dog-food

    “Courtesy of Walmart
    Walmart, the Bentonville, Ark.-based discount giant, jumped into the premium pet food market today with its own brand, Pure Balance.
    Available exclusively in more than 2,900 Walmart stores, the retailer’s first ultrapremium dry dog food”

    google keywords: veterinarypracticenews/walmart-launches-store-brand-premium-dog-food/

    There are more articles and even a video.

    google Keywords: Walmart introduce launches new dog food 2012
    (don’t google the brand name it’ll take you to a new 2017 ad)

  • Amanda Smith

    Yes they tested for all of those things. We told the vet to run whatever tests he needed to. All in all it still didn’t matter. Thank you for your condolences. It means more than you know.

  • Amanda Smith

    If you are referring to my dog, he is not okay he died the very next day after taking him to the vet.

  • BaahBen .

    I would find it most unlikely that your choice of dog food resulted in your dog’s demise. Did your Vet tell you this? I highly doubt it. The word co-incidence should be part of this discussion so do not beat yourself up.

  • Anonymous

    Amanda, did they do a snap test or mention parvovirus? I’m so sorry for you and your family and Hemi. What a terrible story 🙁

  • Crazy4cats

    I’m sorry, I didn’t intend to imply that you are cruel. Thank you for the link.

  • BaahBen .

    You need dry food for their teeth even though they are gonna lose that set. Also, you need a specific puppy kibble with high protein and fat contents..They are designed for very active dogs.

    On a completely different topic, if you can start getting the puppy use to having your hands in its mouth and then introduce brushing you will save thousands of dollars in teeth cleaning bills over the life of your dog.

    Sadly, with poodles, its very hard. The bigger the dog, the better the teeth BTW.

  • BaahBen .

    I understand Amanda. Glad your dog is now ok.

  • BaahBen .

    I am going to butcher the name of this deathly virus but any Vet will know what I am talking about…Liproysis.

    I didn’t suggest that you had rats in your home. Sorry if you interpreted it as such.

  • Amanda Smith

    Honestly the fact that it was bought from walmart isn’t what bothered me. I was suggesting it could have been the food before I even got on here, and saw that Wal-Mart was the makers of the food.

  • Amanda Smith

    I’ve never heard of that. But there’s no rats in my house.

  • BaahBen .

    For all you Walmart haters…they do not personally make Pure Balance they just sell it. I for one thank them for that. I was sick and tired of going to Petsmart and Pet Supermarket where they make their living only on pets and have far more pricing pressure on them. And, they no nothing about the foods. There is zero reason for them to charge $16 to $25 for 6 lbs of dog food! It is a total rip off.

    If you want someone to hold your hand, I suggest going to a feed store because they do know about your animals..

  • BaahBen .

    And if didn’t come from Walmart would all you be suggesting it was the food? Just asking……

  • BaahBen .

    I don’t know if this dog ran into a terrible virus that you pick up from rats in their urine. Sounds like it though.

  • BaahBen .

    I’d get me a new Vet. Just like physicians, they are required to keep updated on all new medical issues, If a virus was going around or even suspected that could cause a false reading you check for it! Surgery should be the last resort.

  • BaahBen .

    I have two dogs with sensitive stomachs; both Poodle mixes. Poodles are well know for having stomach issues and being incredibly fussy eaters. If the change to Pure Balance would have affect them, I’d know it.

    They have now gone through at least 30 plus pounds and there is no issue with the dog food. It is as good as Nurto at half the price in my opinion.

  • BaahBen .

    Thank you Michelle. I will look at it now. Yeah, my little Maltipoo has terrible teeth (a breed problem) and half her teeth have already been removed; she is 8. So I know she struggles with the bigger kibble.

  • Michelle Bryant

    Diamond actually makes a comparable food and a small bite for small breeds. I have switched to this. They have lamb and rice, chicken and rice and grain free diets for different stages, and also large breed.
    Diamond has been manufacturing for other brands for a very long time as well, and has been around the block. PB’s manufacturer, in CA at least, Perfection Pet Foods, is only a few years old.

    I buy for my 65 lb. dog and my 8 and 4 lb. dogs, different foods by them, and they are very reasonable. You also get a 40 lb. bag (not 28 or 30) for $33-$37 depending on chicken or lamb. For a few bucks more, you get the grain free bags with salmon, and other protein sources as well as carbs like sweet potato which they love.

    You get a 6lb bag of small breed puppy for $10-$11, and they need to eat so little it lasts a long time. I am amazed how small an amount of food my pomchi’s need to eat. And my shepherd has put weight back on after his ordeals with PB this year. Two of my dogs had been on it for 2.5 years without issue prior to 2017. Then they got sick from 2 different bags, 3 months apart, and 2 expens

  • Michelle Bryant

    I just want to remind the people who believe that people who are stating that PURE BALANCE dog/cat food is making their dog/cat “SICK”, or that there is MEDICAL EVIDENCE via BLOOD WORK that their dog(s) DIED from KIDNEY or LIVER DISEASE while on PURE BALANCE dog food, it is NOT to be TAKEN LIGHTLY.

    If anyone feels this is a JOKE or an excuse to whine and blame, let me remind and refer you to the “GREAT PET FOOD RECALL OF 2007”.

    Only SOME pets; the ones whose owners’ came forward or were aware of the biggest recall to date, were tallied at over 8,800 ANIMALS “DEAD” from MULTIPLE BRANDS of PET FOOD INCLUDING “TOP NAME BRANDS” such as BLUE BUFFALO and SEVERAL MORE! That is in 1 year, nationally. This does not include brands sold internationally. That’s just shy of NINE THOUSAND DOGS AND CATS “DYING” from PET FOODS, that came forward. This is NOT INCLUDING ALL those which were ILL, or died later.

    HOW MANY DOGS/CATS had to get SICK or DIE before it was even RECALLED? THOUSANDS!

    PLEASE FOLLOW THIS LINK or LOOK UP the GREAT PET FOOD RECALL of 2007 and educate yourselves somewhat on what goes on with PET FOOD MANUFACTURING and the GOVERNMENT agencies PAID to MONITOR the PET FOOD INDUSTRY. And this is just a SAMPLE of the ones that GET CAUGHT, and the MEDIA somehow gets wind of it. WE ARE BEING FAILED and LIED to about what we pay OVER 35 $BILLION DOLLARS$ a YEAR for (just in the U.S. alone) to FEED OUR DOGS and CATS! W E . P A Y . T H E M .

    Changes need to be made, and it’s up to “US” to REQUIRE MORE from
    PET FOOD MANUFACTURERS via PET FOOD BRANDS, whose EXECS “TAKE HOME” $35 BILLION DOLLARS in a SINGLE YEAR, every year.

    Remember, payroll of employees is deducted as a cost, therefore the NET TAKE HOME is thirty-five billion dollars just in the United States.

    This link takes you to the article written by the “Huntington Post”.

    https://www.google.com/amp/m.huffpost.com/us/entry/us_55b67875e4b0a13f9d1976e7/amp#ampshare=http://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/pet-food-safety_us_55b67875e4b0a13f9d1976e7

  • BaahBen .

    I got sick and tired of paying Pet Supermarket $15 for 5 lbs of Nutro for my two small dogs – It was their lamb version. I took that label and went to Walmart to compare the ingredients. After reading them both, I felt it was equal or close enough for me. So, I have transitioned my dogs into this food. In the past 4 months, I’ve seen nothing to cause me to change to something else and I am saving $8 a bag. Pure Balance – Lamb. I would like to see them make a mini bite, but I do not think that is going to happen.

  • Crazy4cats

    It’s up now!

  • anon101

    I got in this morning. Maybe they are doing some maintenance? Although, I think this happened once before when a ton of inappropriate comments were posted…….

  • Pitlove

    Have not been able to get in for several days.

  • Michelle Bryant

    It shouldn’t change. The color nor the oil type or content. Potatoes don’t change the color of the food, especially when they are not in the ingredients. Check the ingredients, then find
    good information about what form they are when added and how the extrusion process works.
    This is NOT normal. However, the companies are going to come up with some story to get people to stop pestering. Manufacturers do NOT want to deal with the public, especially answering questions. So if you ask a reasonable but fairly simple question, people are not too unhappy to pass a “story”. A story you are unlikely to validate.

    In my case they did the same thing but using a vet-4-hire company to tell me a story. If I didn’t know some things about nutrition, symptoms, and illness, I would have believed him enough to discuss it with my vet, or just forget about it all together.

    If you’ve ever tried to get a medical procedure approved by your insurance company, or get anything out of your insurance company, they ALWAYS say no the first time. Everyone knows, if you don’t want to “pay out”, and instead keep that money, you always say no the 1st and sometimes 2nd time because people get frustrated, are busy with their lives, families, and give up. I’m sure there’s even a name for it.

    There is so little vegetable content in the food. When you break it down into a liquid form and cook it with all the added vitamins and minerals, I seriously doubt it would change color enough to be noticed. In my 47 years as a multiple dog owner,
    and many years as: a breeder, vet tech, pet retail manager, boarding facility animal care person, trainer, as well as doing rescue, I have not seen obvious changes in kibble color and I’ve fed many different brands from Pedigree to brands of dog food over $50 a bag, or more for high end cat food.

    When the type or quality of oil is changed, or the content of oil is too high, it will darken the kibble. One of my dogs told me immediately that the food was off that bag, and it WAS darker. But in January of 2017, I was told, that specific nutrients had to meet a criteria set forth by a governing agency. What I don’t know is how the food has changed. Is it not being mixed
    adequately, or are small enough quantities being
    tested frequently enough (or at all) to check even ingredient distribution.

    I wonder where all the animal fat/gristle and grease goes from the slaughter, butcher, and baker. I know restaurants/sports bars recycle used oil/grease from deep fryers. Companies come around and pick it up.
    Where does it go?? I’ll have to find out. But I’m not going to settle for one answer.

  • Crazy4cats

    Me neither.

  • InkedMarie

    I got on yesterday I believe but down now

  • Randy

    OT, but are the forums down? I haven’t been able to get to them for 3 days from phone, iPad or desktop?

  • katiek77

    The first one on mine the vet said there were some unnatural shadows. That why we did the barium one next instead of surgery. We tried less invasive. Our vet didn’t think it was a virus bc she had no fever and her blood panel came back perfect. No signs of poisoning or anything. On the collie forum I’m on they did mention a mutated virus that was going around. The only way to tell what could of happened is autopsy (and still may not know). I hope it wasn’t the dog food. I’m debating on giving this brand a try. My collie gets so bored with food I have to switch a lot. She has to have several brands in between before I can go back to the nutro max. I’m sorry about your baby. Our dear female rotti passed to cancer 7 years ago. We still have my 9 yr old male rotti. Very great and loyal breed.

  • Amanda Smith

    An x-ray was done on my baby and there was no blockage.

  • katiek77

    I went through the same thing several weeks ago. My collie was on nutro max. So it’s not the food. She had hospital stay with IV for 5 days and one extra day with no IV. We did X-ray witch showed possible blockage. We then did barium X-ray which indicated blockage. She went into surgery after full exam if her intestines all the way down to her colon and her stomach cut open there was no blockage. She apparently gotten a virus that shut down her digestive system which caused the barium to not move through the track that mimic a blockage. She was given IV meds to jump start her digestive system and on antinausea meds for two weeks after surgery and a week in half worth of daily probiotics. $1900 later and she is still with us full of energy like nothing ever happened. It sounds like your pup got the same virus. She had her surgery 7/16/17.

  • heather u

    I just came across this while looking to see if anyone else’s dog experienced itching with this food. I’m so sorry for your and your family’s loss. We lost a puppy when she was just over a year old due to inoperable cancer (due to poor breeding practices, others in the litter suffered the same fate as my baby Ginger). It’s horrible and so painful and my heart breaks for you and yours. Its been almost 3 years and my family is still mourning her. As a side note, I wouldn’t put anything past that garbage dog food. The best way to get answers is testing on that food. Again I’m so sorry.

  • Teena Fay Abbott

    Yes my dogs. Everyone of them and it a started when I put them on Pure Balance. I actually found cat food in the bag of dog food. They were miserable. one of the dogs is very sensitive to grain and has chewed his fur off. I just switched them to Racheal Ray Zero Grain. I am hoping they will stop scratching and chewing. No they don’t have fleas. The common factor is rhe dog food.

  • Susan

    Hi Michelle, its normal for kibble to be a different colour when a new batch is made, when I was buying Earthborn Holistic this would happen & PAtch would get bad wind/farts & do sloppy poo’s & I emailed Earthborn & the lady said sometimes they buy brown potatoes, white, rustic potato whatever they can get this will change the colour, also different veggies also changeteh colour, an Australian made food called Meals For Mutts was the same the coloured changed all teh time but the lady told me they used seasonal vegetables is written in teh ingredient list & the veggies changed with the seasons, sometimes there’s Bok Choy or broccolli etc…
    My boy has IBD has a very sensitive bowel & I have to feed kibbles that stay the same & they don’t buy cheaper foods, so I feed “Taste Of The Wild” Sierra Mountain Roasted Lamb & it stays the same colour never changes always brown sometimes it might be a touch lighter in colour but its very rare, the same makers Diamond make the cheaper version “Kirkland Signature” sold at Costco, or “4Health” sold at Tractor Supply, rotate & try another brand & see how you go, it’s best to rotate between a few different brands & proteins just in case something is wrong with a formula your feeding, when you rotate your dog isn’t eating the same brand all the time….

  • Michelle Coventry Vicat

    I’ve been buying this food for awhile and have noticed recently when I finish one bag and open another, the kibbles are a different color. I contacted Ainsworth (who makes the food for Walmart) the first time and they were very responsive and said they would look into it and the second time it happened, I contacted them and received no response. I also contacted Walmart who referred me to Pure Balance? Shouldn’t dog food be the same color if it contains the same ingredients as a prior batch?

  • Chris Kleinbeck

    I’m no expert on dog foods but dogs are like humans also…its no different from animals to humans on what they eat,some humans are allergic to certain foods also..Just because your pet don’t like a certain food don’t bash the company for selling it..common sense should tell ya go and try the next brand…….

  • Susan

    Hi if your dog was doing well then you rotated & changed formula’s it could be an ingredient in the new dog food, or sometimes it can be fleas, flea’s like to hang around the base of the tail lower back area,does she/he have fleas?
    The best way to work out what foods your dog is sensitivie too is to do a food elimination diet, start with 1 novel meat protein she hasn’t eaten before or much off & 1 carb, or look for a formula that has a few ingredients & only has 1 meat protein & a few carbs, “California Natural” has their Lamb meal & Rice, it has just 3 ingredients, you see how your dog goes for 6 weeks just eating the Lamb & rice formula, no treats, no extra foods in this 6 week period….
    Make sure you’re bathing in a medicated antifungal shampoo like “Malaseb” medicated shampoo, you can buy Malaseb on Amazon or at the vets,or get a antifungal shampoo with same ingredients as the Malaseb shampoo has, it kills the yeast & bacteria on the skin, relieves the itchy skin & puts moisture back into their skin, bath weekly or twice a week till its all gone then make sure you bath every 2 weeks, baths wash off any allergens that may be on te skin I bath Patch weekly….Once your dog is doing well on the new limited ingredient formula only introduce 1 new food to teh food he’s eating, tin sardines in spring water or olive oil are good to add cause they are high in Omega 3 fatty acids what’s needed for the skin problems & helps the skin heal, add a few sardines about 2-3 sardines to his meals, do this for 6 weeks if he’s still itch free & no yeasty smell then add chicken or an ingredient to both of his meals you think he is sensitive too & see what happens if he starts to itch & scratch then STOP adding the new ingredient straight away & write it down in a diary, go back to feeding just limited ingredient kibble & sardines then in a few day when he’s all back to normal again add another new ingredient, I add cooked foods that are in kibbles, like sweet potato, potato peas. carrots, egg…my boy cant eat chicken, oats, barley, carrots, tapioca, wheat.. I know within 20mins with some fods Patch getshis red paws within 20 mins of eating chicken teh as te days go by he starts smelly real yeasty & starts scratching his skin, this is why you must baththem so hehas no allergens on his skin environemt allergies can make things very confusing as well, my boy has both. seasonal environment allergies & food sensitivities, best to do elimination food diet in the cooler months Winter when all the pollens aren’t around…

  • Kim Milliken

    If you are feeding the chicken formula
    You need to Change to lamb or salmon. The nber one protein a dog will be allergic to is chicken. I know it’s hard to believe but I is. I am a pet food nutritionist. Allergy expert. Have cured many cats and dogs. The allergy to the chicken will cause yeast problems.

  • Michelle Bryant

    You’re right, Peek. It doesn’t prove anything….until it does. We share because we want to give people a choice, and, if they HAVE had the same experience, it helps others get answers and info about what they can do about it. When a company is not forthright in accepting, handling, or helping health complaints, there is something wrong! Why wouldn’t they want to know about the issues dogs are having? It can only help them improve on their diet if possible, maybe even eliminating the cause of some pretty indicative symptoms. This isn’t JUST people switching dog foods too quickly, or dogs having an allergic response to corn or a specific protein they’ve been overexposed to.

    No, it’s not EVERY dog, at least not yet, but not everybody gets really sick or dies from a bee sting, an ant bite, a scorpion sting or a venomous snake. Not everyone has a nut allergy and has to get an injection immediately or they’ll stop breathing. But that doesn’t mean these things are not listed as poisonous or hazardous to your health in CASE you have a sensitivity. They don’t say, it’s okay to be stung a little and most people will be fine. Scorpions are listed as venomous, period. The government doesn’t discern which scorpions, bees, etc., are ok, it says scorpions, bees, etc., are venomous. It’s up to you to decide whether you want to play Russian roulette. (not saying the food is venomous, lol)

    My point is this: just because a smaller percentage of dogs are having serious side effects from a diet vs the larger percentage of dogs that are not (as far as we know because it is being hidden from the public) doesn’t make the food safe. It’s still a gamble and maybe the odds are in your favor.

    If you buy spinach at the market like 100 other people and one person gets sick from E.coli, there is an immediate recall on all of that brand or batch of spinach, and a warning. It doesn’t say do not eat the spinach with the E.coli or you’ll get sick, it says do NOT eat this spinach, or maybe any spinach from this region.

    Someone could say, bah! I’m not worried that it’ll happen to me, and eat the spinach and not get sick. However, the government must put out the warning and therefore give you the choice. They also must put warnings on a label of any ingredient that may have come in close proximity to any nuts.

    I hope this was not confusing and didn’t come off condescending. That truly is not my intention. But you are not alone in your belief and this is a forum in which to share our thoughts, beliefs, and experiences.

    Thank you for allowing me the opportunity to share a different perspective.

  • Michelle Bryant

    Thank you SO much, Brian, for getting this info out there! I am trying to post another number for Perfection Pet Foods but the site is saying it was held back as SPAM. So hopefully they will release it. I also saw your remarks on Amazon and appreciate it. Can you tell me if you’ve found other sites that will accept your post?? All the others I can find will not post mine or, it looks like, any other ACTUAL claims of illness. (only the mouse and the plastic or bugs) Until yesterday when I was able to relocate this site, I could find no evidence to show PPF. However, this site will not allow me to print the comments, lol.
    I did call the number you gave and it was answered professionally and I received another call from the vet-4-hire aka North River Enterprises. They sell “go-between” services to dog food manufacturers to keep customer complaints off their backs. The manufacturers literally are not set-up to handle complaints or feedback, hmmmm. Why not? It’s their responsibility according to Walmart, the owner of the dog food. Other big companies do?
    Anyway, my experience was with a dishonest vet, that doesn’t really practice veterinary medicine. He runs a blood bank and works with a few others at the above company who apparently has changed it’s phone number. Wow! More phone numbers not available to the public for assistance. His name is Jeremy Tarlow, DVM.

    Anyway, thank you again, Brian, for continuing to share in your journey. I know it helps me get through knowing you haven’t given up.

  • Susan

    Hi I’d say the Salmon wet tin food they were eating had toxins & the smaller pup didn’t cope as well as his bigger sibling,
    Do not feed any fish pet foods especially wet tin fish, better to add make yor own with human grade Salmon & make their meals or add human Salmon, Sardines as a topper on kibble, best to feed turkey & chicken these meats are cleaner meats.
    What has happened with this little pup did he get better like sibling??

  • Amanda Smith

    I will try my best to remember everything you just said. I posted my story here because his food was my very last thing to rule out of what was wrong with him. The only difference in Hemi from every other bad review I’ve seen in here is the bloating. Hemi did not bloat he did the opposite, his stomach became severely sunken in in the matter if 1 day. So much to were you could literally stick your hand inside his ribcage. I researched everything that was wrong with him. Sometimes it sounded like one thing and then I would be led to something else. But it would never fully match up until I got on here. The vet gave Hemi a blood test to see if it was parvo because he was afraid it was too soon to tell by the normal test. If he was becoming ill from parvo his blood count would be low. It was not. Everything came back okay. So all of his tests appeared normal and Hemi died the next day. I still have his bag of food its about halfway full. Idk about the receipt I need to check my purse for that. As far as Hemi’s body, we had to bury him right away because my kids were in the next room and we didn’t want them to see Hemi that way. And it was Saturday and the vet we used that Friday was closed. What do you mean about posting my story to the main page? I did post it to the top of this thread but no one was really telling me anything that I needed to know.

  • Michelle Bryant

    Amanda,
    Please copy and past your story to the main board where everyone can see it. Off shoots of threads are harder to see as the buttons are not obvious.

    I will do the same following you.
    This needs to get OUT THERE.
    Other sites are refusing to post any TRUE complaints.

  • Michelle Bryant

    Dear Amanda,
    I cannot tell you how sorry I am to hear of your devastating ordeal with poor Hemi. Do you still have the bag with the
    BB DATE at the top right,
    and a BATCH number below it,
    with a time stamp below that?
    If you can find that it is extremely important.

    Also, the bag will have a barcode. If you have either take pics and don’t lose them.
    If you have the Walmart receipt,
    do the same.

    Is poor Hemi’s body at the vet and held? He should be kept in a freezer, sad to say, in case the manufacturer or owner of PB dog food requires a necropsy.

    Keep any remaining food from the bag and put it into a ziplock bag in the freezer immediately!
    Keep a sample no matter what.

    Call the store you purchased from and speak to the manager. Take notes or record conversation when you ask to fill out a claim form for the dog food. Go to the store, fill out the form with a shirt list

  • Amanda Smith

    Okay so here is my story. If anyone can shed some light on this I would be oh so greatful. We got a puppy rottweiler when is was 8 weeks old I think. His name was Hemi. Hemi was a very playful dog and we had him on Pure Balance. He finished off 1 bag of food. We noticed he was becoming more hungry. Okay understandable with the breed he is growing. So we uped his food intake a little. He finished the first bag. So I went and purchased a second. He had a week if that worth of feedings out of it. I also noticed he was becoming more thirsty. I also shrugged it off as he is growing fast. And last Thursday I woke up, fed him, took him outside and he pooped twice. Later that afternoon before his second feeding he was playing and then layed down to take a nap. 15 minutes later he was vomiting. And wouldn’t eat when we tried to feed him again. So the next morning I woke up and there was no vomit. I took him outside and he began throwing up again. Then he went to poop and it was diarrhea that was blanched. And his stomach was very sunken in. Which was unusual because he had been growing so fast and putting on some weight. So I immediately drove him to the vet. The vet did a physical exam, took xrays, took blood work, and a stool sample. All of those tests came back okay. So the vet sent my baby home with an upset stomach and some antibiotics , a nausea shot, and some canned dog food. The vet bill was $600 dollars. Which I didn’t mind as long as Hemi got better. Once we got home he began vomiting bile but not a lot. They said that was normal because his stomach was officially empty and to give the medicine time to work. Hemi however was still drinking water. The next day Hemi pooped again and it was still blanched. Soon after that Hemi had bloody diarrhea everywhere and vomited everywhere and he couldn’t get up. His breathing became heavy and then he died within a matter of minutes. There was nothing I could do to try to save him at that point. Hemi was 14 weeks old when he died. My kids are devastated, I’m devasted as well as my husband. So I ask y’all please could this have been Pure Balance food?!

  • Amanda Smith

    My husband works for the sheriff’s office. He met the breeder due to his home being in my husband’s area of patrol. This man is no longer a breeder Hemi and his siblings were the last litter. But this man use to breed and train these dogs as k9 rottweilers. So he sold to only law enforcements officers down to the very last litter. My husband has spoken with him and the siblings seem to be doing just fine he said. Hemi had been eating this food for about 2 months. He seemed to be digesting it just fine. But I read some comments below that people had some problems just like Hemi’s and it all led back to the food. The vet still don’t know what happened.

  • InkedMarie

    I can’t answer your question but wanted to say i am so sorry for your loss.

  • anon101

    Did you notify the breeder that you bought him from? There may be something contagious going on.
    Especially since you had lab work done and had taken him right to the vet.
    Otherwise, I agree, something about that food didn’t agree with him, he couldn’t digest it………maybe some dogs, especially puppies do better with wet/canned food.
    Anyway, I am sorry for your loss and it sounds like you did everything right.
    Did the vet offer an opinion as to what went wrong?

  • Amanda Smith

    I get what you’re saying. But all of those theories was exasperated. He was an inside pup. I always have small children so there was absolutely nothing he could have gotten into. We also did not feed him human food because we knew one day he would be huge and be able to take it off your plate or out of your hands for that matter. We also have a fenced in back yard and again because I have small children there was absolutely nothing out there that would harm him. And also along with that every time Hemi went out, I went out with him. Because I was training him so I needed to be able to see when he used the bathroom so I could tell him “good boy”. Therefore he was watched closely. I had just bought a new bag of food and yes I still have it and its full because he only had a weeks worth of feedings. As far as necropsy that isn’t plausible because he was buried almost immediately because we didn’t want my children to see Hemi like that.

  • haleycookie

    It could have been a plethora of things. The antibiotics or nasea medicine could have had a bad effect on him. He could have gotten into something, he could have had an underlying issue, or maybe it was the food. It’s hard to say 100%. You can go onto any dog food review on this sight and find horror stories on all of them and you can find great success stories for them as well. I’d suggest if you have any of the dog food left to try and have it tested for contaminates. Also if you can have a necropsy preformed on your pup before you bury/cremate him. That should give you some answers. But unless you do these things it’s really difficult to tell exactly what it was. I’m sorry you lost you pup. He was very handsome. I hope you have a way to do those tests and hopefully get some answers back on what took him away. Keep us updated if you do decide to look deeper into it.

  • Amanda Smith

    Okay so here is my story. If anyone can shed some light on this I would be oh so greatful. We got a puppy rottweiler when is was 8 weeks old I think. His name was Hemi. Hemi was a very playful dog and we had him on Pure Balance. He finished off 1 bag of food. We noticed he was becoming more hungry. Okay understandable with the breed he is growing. So we uped his food intake a little. He finished the first bag. So I went and purchased a second. He had a week if that worth of feedings out of it. I also noticed he was becoming more thirsty. I also shrugged it off as he is growing fast. And last Thursday I woke up, fed him, took him outside and he pooped twice. Later that afternoon before his second feeding he was playing and then layed down to take a nap. 15 minutes later he was vomiting. And wouldn’t eat when we tried to feed him again. So the next morning I woke up and there was no vomit. I took him outside and he began throwing up again. Then he went to poop and it was diarrhea that was blanched. And his stomach was very sunken in. Which was unusual because he had been growing so fast and putting on some weight. So I immediately drove him to the vet. The vet did a physical exam, took xrays, took blood work, and a stool sample. All of those tests came back okay. So the vet sent my baby home with an upset stomach and some antibiotics , a nausea shot, and some canned dog food. The vet bill was $600 dollars. Which I didn’t mind as long as Hemi got better. Once we got home he began vomiting bile but not a lot. They said that was normal because his stomach was officially empty and to give the medicine time to work. Hemi however was still drinking water. The next day Hemi pooped again and it was still blanched. His stomach was so sunken in you could feel his ribcage. Soon after that Hemi had bloody diarrhea everywhere and vomited everywhere and he couldn’t get up. His breathing became heavy and then he died within a matter of minutes. There was nothing I could do to try to save him at that point. Hemi was 14 weeks old when he died. My kids are devastated, I’m devasted as well as my husband. So I ask y’all please could this have been Pure Balance food?! https://uploads.disquscdn.com/images/4febf7dfcd4c219d21f0aeebc9c458416b4dcfe95a6eafe7e8bf079b85dadbb1.jpg https://uploads.disquscdn.com/images/aec019fba5d9aecf454bc3039f046018a581ca7cb39a5f73a0145851cdbb7a97.jpg

  • Michelle Bryant

    Perfection Pet Foods and Ainsworth manufacturing plants. At least one is in CA., all in USA.

  • Michelle Bryant

    Hi Lynnie,
    Did you actually read the full post. They said they kept the largest and smallest pup and both needed treatment.

    I appreciate that the info was provided, and fyi, no fingers were pointed. 🙂

  • Jessica Andrews

    The adult formula? It’s not too harsh on his stomach? We use the salmon and pea.

  • Jessica Andrews

    Ooo, he’s is a beauty

  • Bobby dog

    Hi Jessica:
    It looks like the three recipes listed in the review above are labeled “all life stages.” Check your bag to be sure sometimes recipes are changed in between review up-dates.

    Here are a couple of DFA articles about nutrient profiles.

    Explanation of “all life stages” towards the end:
    http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/frequently-asked-questions/aafco-nutrient-profiles/

    http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/choosing-dog-food/dog-food-vitamin-mineral-standards/

  • Jessica Andrews

    I understand that, but for me it’s more “natural” than most food brands. And my lab has a sensitive stomach and it is great for her.

  • anon101

    Have you been to the vet? There are a multitude of things that could cause this skin condition, food being very low on the list.

  • anon101

    The term “natural” doesn’t really mean much.
    See http://skeptvet.com/Blog/?s=natural (nothing is being sold there)
    I have never tried Pure Balance, so I don’t have an opinion.
    However, I consider Zignature to be a quality dog food.

  • Jessica Andrews

    We use this for our 1.5 yr old lab mix and it’s great. Considering the natural ingredients, does anyone feel it would be good for puppies? I can only find wet puppy food and prefer both.

  • Syrita Barbera

    Has anyone’s dog started scratching? My dog has a yeast infection on her tail now. And the only thing I changed was to this food. Wondering if anyone else had an issue. Thanks

  • Cristina Scala

    I agree!

  • Cristina Scala

    My dogs love Pure Balance; have one picky Pomeranian, but not with this brand. She eats every flavor. my cats eat the dog food over their own expensive brand. Very satisfied.

  • Wileyoldman

    Have been feeding our dogs Pure Balance Chicken & Brown Rice for years. No problems! My dogs are healthy & full of energy & their coats are shiney! Also feed them the cans of wet food too! The puppy food is excellent > full of chicken & vegetables. . People have nothing better to do but complain and I suspect some do it to promote their own brand! if your dogs have *whip worms…they come from the soil > your dogs rooting around in the backyard. If you are feeding your dogs TREATS from the store shelves most of them come from CHINA! Alot of dogs are always chewing on things in your house that make them sick too! Don’t always blame the Dog food! Ainsworth Pet Nutrition has been around for 80 years. It is made in USA in Pennsylvania! They have had very few recalls and most were their own over elevated Vitamin D levels, I trust this brand of dog food.

  • Susan

    Hi David it’s best to rotate between a few different brands with different proteins, this way if the kibble you’re feeding isn’t balanced properly or has dodgy ingredients your dogs aren’t eating the same brand 24/7 they get a break when you feed another brand…. Look at “4Health” sold thru Tractor Supply & Aldis has their new “Pure Being” grain free kibble, it’s posted on the Shep Dog Food page scroll thru the comment section, scroll down to Micheala61 has written the ingredients for the Chicken formula, or just go to Aldi’s & look for Pure Being kibble….. Dog Food Advisor hasn’t added the Pure Being kibble to the list of foods yet… Pure Being has a Salmon & Sweet Potato formula, apparently a lot of dogs really like the Pure Being kibble.. Just make sure you rotate with a different protein so your dogs aren’t just eating fish all the time…

  • David

    I am shocked to read the stories about dogs that have been so negatively affected by this food. We have been feeding the salmon & pea recipe to our two Labs for more than 2 years and have never had the kinds of issues that have been described here. I won’t say that our dogs just love the food, but they don’t refuse to eat it either. I haven’t noticed any vomiting or increased water intake as has been mentioned here by others.

  • Linda Bahr

    Hello Brian, Thank you very much I will keep your pup in my prayers..I will also let my cousin know not to feed her this food. Thank you again and take care and give extra hugs to your pup <3 keep us posted. Praying for your pup <3

  • Brian J Henry

    Part of what motivated me to tell everyone to contact them with the batch number is unfortunately, we’re in the middle of moving, and my roommate threw away the bag (we keep the food in an airtight container), not knowing I keep it for exactly this reason. Ainsworth has said depending on the bloodwork, they may have me mail them the food (I kept it) for testing, and they’ll see what they can do from there without the batch number.

  • Brian J Henry

    Hi Linda – I’m so sorry to hear about your cousin’s dog. The bloodwork came back with heightened liver enzymes (one test, the ALT, being 7x the amount of the upper limit), and the vet does suspect the food. We are going to retest his blood soon now that he’s been off the food for a couple weeks to see if it’s improving.

  • Justin Dean Rowland

    if its whipworm that means its in their vomit/feces. this also means the worms are not food related. Your vomiting/diarrhea issue may be health related and not actually related to the food at all…you should research and test more instead of just telling people to stay away from a product with very few health complaints…

  • Linda Bahr

    Hello Brian, I was wondering how your pup made out? Is he ok? My cousin feeds her dog this food and on Saturday she blew up so big they took her to the Emergency Pet care and Her kidneys and liver shut down..The Vets there don’t know why they are stumped. Please let me know. and I hope your pup is doing good . Sincerely, Linda

  • Rhonda Herrick Smith

    Would you please give the batch number of the bag that gave you problems. I just bought a bag today, for the first time, and I am nervous it could affect my dogs.

  • Brian J Henry

    To anyone who is having health issues potentially related to this food: PLEASE REPORT IT. Call the number on the bag. It’s 1-877-307-2192. It’s WalMart Brands’ hotline. Give them the batch number on the bag that has given you trouble. Tell them your dog’s symptoms/what your vet has told you/what it’s costing you to get this all figured out.

    I’ve been feeding my dog the Chicken and Brown Rice food for over a year with no issue, and suddenly one bag I bought looked off, and after a few days of eating it he can’t seem to drink enough water, to the point where if he’s not taken out every couple hours he’s having accidents. WalMart has taken my complaint very seriously, filed a ticket, and a few days after calling them I received a call from Ainsworth Pet Nutrition, saying they were the manufacturers and they wanted to know if my dog is continuing to have symptoms (he is, and we’re awaiting bloodwork results) and if I’d been compensated.

  • Mary Jones

    In the food .naturally my jusband didnt hear me that i 2as takeing it back amd thew it awy. Bet said that he had a lot of dogs on pure balance that are vomitting feces like material amd sebere diarrhea

  • peek

    This is the only food my dog has ever eaten. She’s 7.5 now. She’s a cocker/springer mix. She is in excellent health. Other than one ear infection as a puppy she hasn’t had a single health issue. She gets lab work every year and it always comes back impeccable. She eats a combo of wet and dry Pure Balance. She still thinks she’s a puppy, she plays and acts as spry as she did when she was little. Nothing wrong with the food, dogs get sick, it happens. With so many people on the net of course lots of them are going to be eating the same food, you can look up any food and you will see the same stories. Doesn’t prove anything.

  • Cylie Fields

    Make sure that you research a lot about a raw diet and you must make sure its balanced. Or go with origin, acana, or firstmate.

  • Susan

    Where’s the worms in the dog food or in their vomit/diarrhea?

  • Mary Jones

    Do not buy this dog food both my dogs ended up with vomiting feces and diarrhea taking to the vet and there’s worms and the dog food special different kind of whipworm

  • Sara Rademacher

    My Springer has been eating this brand for about a year. She suddenly istopped eating it ,had great thirst and would lay next to food and cry. Took her to vet and found she had enlarged heart,pnemonia, ear infections,gum issues. She had lost 11 pounds(she was overweight so we were happy)She took antibiotics and heart medication but still would not eat food. Got Costco food and she snarfs it down as soon as we put it in bowl. She had continued to eat oranges,peppers,strawberries and other fruits but refused the Pure Balance. We gave the Pure Balance that we had left to my son for their dog. They mixed it with her regular food. She picked it out and left it on floor but now refused to eat for two days! This food is bad!!!! What can we do,…it has such good rating on line and I had to search for this site

  • JusticeforJayda

    Bless your heart

  • michelle

    my prayers are with you because obviously you’re in a lot of pain so sorry for your loss

  • JusticeforJayda

    My post was sharing my story from three weeks ago looking for answers if this dog food had anything to do with the loss of my dog. Sometimes, the subtext to certain context can be easily lost in translation. Especially, when it’s over the Internet where the confusion arose as to why this question is directed to the JusticeforJayda post not to the appropriate party that could truly answer that question.
    Sorry, to report the food so it can be recalled… @pitlove
    I will apologize for coming off abrasive. I lost my best friend three weeks ago and this is connected to my email. The rhetorical question written on Jayda’s post rather than as a solo post had me taken aback.

  • michelle

    Yes pitlove that’s exactly what I’m saying

  • Pitlove

    Hi JusticeforJayda-

    Consumers can’t recall products. That is not what Michelle was asking. She was asking why the company has not issued a recall.

    Hope this helps!

  • michelle

    WoW… slow down I am so not blaming you I just want to know why Walmart PetSmart anybody hasn’t had a recall on this dog food

  • JusticeforJayda

    How do you know what I’ve done and what I’ve haven’t done, or what anyone has or hasn’t done for that matter. Good call, don’t take any chances. So, instead of getting on here and asking why I haven’t taken action on something, that I very well could have in the last nine days, why don’t you return the food and recall the product as well. The more people the better.

  • michelle

    why hasn’t somebody recalled this dog food it’s horrible I just bought a big bag yesterday I’ve had my dogs on it for a few months haven’t seen any problems yet but I’m not taking any chances

  • disqus_SBl7sCuYS7

    First, if you haven’t already, take them to the vet for an exam and lab work.
    Rule out medical causes. How did they do at their last annual exam?

  • Rhonda Fox

    My dogs (husky shep mixes) have been on this food for about 2 years. Lately I have been noticing the smell is off (smells super fishy) and one of my dogs has been throwing up. He doesn’t seem interested in eating like he used to.I thought maybe he got into something, but after reading these posts, I am going to switch foods. They have been on the Chicken and Rice dry food.

  • Annie

    Very sad, sorry for your fur baby loss!

  • JusticeforJayda

    Thank you so much! I’m reading through the article now.

  • JusticeforJayda

    Me too, thank you.

  • disqus_SBl7sCuYS7

    Hope this helps, http://skeptvet.com/Blog/2016/07/things-holistic-vets-say-about-cancer-that-should-make-pet-owners-run-the-other-way/ Excerpt from article below:
    Things Holistic Vets Say About Cancer that Should Make Pet Owners Run the Other Way
    Posted on July 5, 2016 by skeptvet
    Cancer is a common and frightening disease, and many pet owners will have to face making decisions about cancer care for their pets at some point. While there are many therapies that can improve quality of life for a veterinary cancer patient, extend life, and even cure cancer in some cases, the painful reality is that there is much we don’t know about cancer. Often, cancer will be life limiting despite the best care possible.
    This unpleasant reality leads many to seek alternative therapies for their pets with cancer. Unfortunately, those alternatives are almost never proven to be safe or effective, and many, such as homeopathy, are unquestionably nonsense. Yet despite the lack of evidence to support many alternative cancer treatments, and the evidence that shows some such treatments can cause real harm, some vets will try to frighten and mislead pet owners into avoiding scientific medical therapies and grasping at the various straws they offer, from homeopathy to acupuncture, from supplements and magical diets to outright magic such as so-called “energy medicine.”
    Click on link above for full article.

  • InkedMarie

    I’m very sorry for your loss.

  • JusticeforJayda

    Thank you. Yes, that’s exactly what I’m doing, questioning EVERYTHING. Where did I go wrong as her mother. Yep, her sudden collapse leading to the splenectomy, then three weeks later it hit her liver. We didn’t want her to go through what she did with her spleen, so we did what we thought was best for her. It is truly horrific. Thank you for your kind words. I’m sorry you and your fur baby had to experience the same tragedy. It’s never fair, and they are the last to deserve something so terrible. God bless.

  • disqus_SBl7sCuYS7

    I lost a dog to hemangiosarcoma. I believe it is genetic. Tends to strike certain breeds between 8 and 10 years of age. By the time it shows symptoms, it’s usually too late.
    Sorry for your loss.

  • JusticeforJayda

    I’ve always loved Pure Balance for my pup. She’s always had a sensitive tummy and skin, and it has always seemed to solve the problem. Last year she had three UTIs, and the last one I saw blood. We took her to the vet each time, and the last time for an ultrasound on the bladder to check for stones. Well, this past March we were struck with very shocking and traumatic occurrence(s) and news. She had to have an emergency splenectomy due to a mass rupturing on her spleen. This is being connected to hemangiosarcoma, a very aggressive cancer that is incurable, and they haven’t figured out the cause. Pathology came back and she was fine. Unfortunately, regardless of the good news, somehow the same process started on her liver causing internal bleeding again, and abnormalities. In other words. hemangiosarcoma was still silently residing despite the negative results. Word has been sent back to pathology and we’re waiting to hear back. I know removal of the spleen in this cause, can cause the cancer to rapidly spread. But for a negative result that was good news to ultimately end off in the worst outcome ever is bizarre, or at least rare. As a doggie mommy, I’ve always carefully watched her, made sure she was on a healthy and well balanced diet (including treats), got her teeth cleaned, and on probiotics; the whole kit and kaboddle. Well, sadly, we had to lay her to rest. So, now I’m vigorously researching very recent updates I may have missed. I’m looking into this food, her probiotics, and comfortis as we had given her one sense fleas were starting up. We usually don’t give her that, but to avoid nasty diseases from nasty bugs we decided the best decision was to give her one. All and all, I’m trying to narrow down if something caused this so I can seek justice for my baby dog, or to accept that fact that vets / we still don’t know the cause for hemangiosarcoma. I just want to make sure Pure Balance was not an active role in our tragic loss. Any advice would be great and much appreciated.

  • disqus_SBl7sCuYS7

    There is a genetic component, poodles are high on the list.
    Increase water, presoak kibble, offer frequent bathroom breaks, opportunities to urinate. Take out every 2 hours, or at least every 4. Keep the bladder flushed, stagnant conditions in the bladder are conducive to bladder stone formation.
    The surgery to remove the existing stones is necessary. Status post surgery you may want to consider prescription food, as I am sure your veterinarian will recommend.

  • Jessica Reynolds

    I have been giving my 9 year old little yorkie the pure balance chicken and brown rice small breed dog food for months but noticed she started to drink more and more water, took her to the vet and she had a painful UTI. A few days ago I noticed she was peeing blood rushed her back to the vet to find out that she now had bladder stones and will require surgery to removed them. Asked the vet what could have caused this and the vet confirmed that it was from the food she was eating. Started talking to my mom about the issue and she has noticed that her standard poodle has started drinking more water and peeing more frequently and was going to change over his food as well, since she feeds him pure balance food as well.

  • Dee Nikki

    I’m so glad that I read these comments! My dogs bm’s are changing as well. My girl is constipated and her appetite is way different. She will eat other food, without her normal enthusiasm mind you, but when I put out the Pure Balance, she refuses. My boy is VERY food driven and he is starting to turn away from it too… Maybe third time will be the charm on finding them a dog food that is healthy and will KEEP them healthy… -_-

  • disqus_SBl7sCuYS7

    Dogs that are vulnerable to get urinary tract infections and crystals do well with water added to the kibble.
    The antibiotic treatment is VERY IMPORTANT.
    If her issues are only helped temporarily and reoccur, I would ask your vet to do an ultrasound/x-ray to rule out bladder stones.
    Usually genetic predisposition and inadequate fluid intake are the causes. Also, make sure the dog is taken out to void (pee) often, keep the bladder flushed. Every two hours is ideal, at least every 4 hours, stagnant conditions in the bladder contribute to these problems.
    About the diet, check with the vet, he may recommend prescription food for now.
    I’d skip the supplements and spend the money for additional testing instead.

  • Melc

    After I started feeding my dog this brand, she developed a complicated, painful urinary tract infection (UTI). I’m switching to Natural Balance — from Bomgaards pet feed and supply — that kept her healthy before, but costs more. It ends up costing less than the $130 vet bill and antibiotics that didn’t help her. I’m also mixing some Organic Apple Cider Vinegar (1 t.) — the type with the “mother” residue in it, and adding it to to three tablespoons of plain yogurt, which I heard will help her immensely.

  • Raquel

    I started mine on pure balance about 6 months ago and I noticed he started peeing a lot more and drinking constantly. Just finished with his antibiotics.

  • Raquel

    So, so sorry. Mine developed a kidney infection with blood in his urine. Just stopped the chicken and pea dry dog food. I hope it’s not to late.

  • Raquel

    I just took my Chihuahua off pure balance tonight. Had to get her on antibiotics due to a kidney infection. Non stop peeing from this food till he was raw and had blood in his urine. Was feeding him pure balance chicken and pea grain free. Changing his food.

  • Mortikus

    I mix Pure Balance Superfood and Earth Born Hollistic for Puppies together(For her coat and it stops her itching from the oils), I then put a small can of soft pure balance on top. The puppy has become healthier and does not scratch as much when we first got her. This puppy now runs with my daughter non stop all day. Do not see any problems with it.

  • Susan

    Change to another brand, don’t keep feeding it take it back to shop say they wont eat it & get a refund, look for a grain free kibble with a different protein, a single protein kibble with limited ingredients, no grains…. My boy has skin problems & IBD, finally I found & I feed “Taste Of The Wild” Sierra Mountain, Roasted Lamb & he’s been doing really well, he’s been eating it over 1 yr now & doing really well, people always tell me how shinny his coat looks, I also buy other kibbles every now & then when the TOTW bag is nilly finished & introduce the new kibble but he always likes his TOTW Roasted Lamb the best …. We just tried “Pro Pac Ultimates” Meadow Lamb grain free & the Bayside Select Whitefish which he loved… Give the “Pro Pac Ultimates Bayside Select, Whitefish grain free a try.. Fish kibbles are good for skin problems they’re higher in omega 3 fatty acid.. you’ll see a big improvement with the skin…..The same makers Midwestern Pet Foods who make “Earthborn Holistic” make the Pro Pac Ultimates, the Pro Pac Ultimates is cheaper..

  • CW818

    The whole point is that it is a BASE and you’re meant to add protein. There are others in the line that already have turkey or a chicken ingredient so you don’t have to add anything if you don’t want to. Or you can buy one of each and mix them. All four of my dogs love it.

  • Michelle Bryant

    Hi Shauna.
    Sorry you and your dogs are going through this. It’s a great thing their mom is aware.

    Most dog food companies pay one of only a few manufacturing plants, to take their ingredient list and produce their dog food. So, 1 manufacturing plant makes many brands of dog food.

    It is up to the owner of the brand to go to the plant and say, what’s going on here, look into this.

    Random accidents/even subtle changes of a computer setting can happen with ingredients and mechanics and that is why they have safeguards in place to check

  • Babslynne

    I noticed the same thing around the same time, and my dogs didn’t want to eat anymore like they used to, so I switched them over to the Kirkland Signature Nature’s Domain Turkey and Pea Stew at Costco, and I mix in a little of the Pure Balance Beef & Chicken 95% Grain Free, they are happy now.

  • Shayna

    I have had one of my dogs larger breed on Pure Balance for some time now. I Originally had her on another brand all together and found out there was a HUGE recall on that dog food. I had noticed her loosing weight, having bm issues, excessive hair loss. She has a very sensitive tummy so any change in her food causes her to have explosive bm. I changed her diet to Pure Balance after finding out about the recall on her old food. This was well over a year ago. I also put my smaller guy on the same food just so they all on same diet. This was now several months ago.
    Up to speed
    About a bit over a month ago after switching my little guy over to pure balance. I noticed that my bigger dog (female) started having looser bm also more frequent, she has been drinking water as if she will NEVER get another sip again, she does urinate bit more than she use to now. My little guy has never been one to drink to me enough water and now he also has been drinking it a lot more often than his norm, his BM has also changed, he also has waaaaayyyyyy to over active bladder both in urine and bms. Before when I first put my female bigger breed on Pure balance it had helped put a healthy weight on her, gave her healthier coat, made her an overall healthier dog. But as of like I said bit over a month ago now EVERYTHING has changed.
    I do not know if they changed the ingredients? I did notice that the size of the nibs were now smaller and more flat than before (round and bigger).
    Now I am upset that have to find YET another dog food to put my dogs on. I do NOT like changing their diets at all when they are doing well. But I am now going to have to because I can not imagine the thought of these two being unhealthy, hurt, ill, possibly fatal, due to what I am feeding them. Not sure what had happened to Pure Balance. But wish that they would not have changed whatever it was and or fix it. =-(
    My Dogs both loved this food so did I till I started seeing them both showing signs of sickness. Nothing else has changed and both are healthy dogs. Hope that this is resolved.

  • Michelle Bryant

    This is the issue I have read and heard about with Wally World. They do not respond. I honestly believe they are not set-up to respond. I had to jump through flaming hoops myself in regards to the fact that when you purchase a 2 yr. product warranty from them on-line, they do not mail a receipt with the product if they ship it to your home. When you register your products for the warranty, they want a copy of the receipt scanned and uploaded to them.
    They eventually told me, after 2 months of being sent back and forth, on “another” call out to them (the warranty co) that I don’t need a receipt since it was purchased on-line. Yeah, Weee’ll just see, won’t we? Someone else will tell me down the line that you have to upload a receipt, you watch.

    Normally, if you call their customer service number you will end up in Malaysia or somewhere with someone sitting in their living room taking calls.

    Sorry for your frustration. I just switched to a similar dog food type called “Supreme Source”. I bought it at Winco (employee owned grocery store) but I don’t know if it is their food. It’s about the same price per pound. I don’t go through it that fast. The bags are 24lb.s and I pay $24-27.00. (I’m in Phoenix) I am very happy so far and because it encompasses pups and adults, I’ve started my baby Pomeranian on it as well.

    The roundish kibble is about the size of a large pea, but that doesn’t matter to my Belgian shepherd (62 lbs.) or other small dog. (and less risk of choking if they gulp their food). I’ve only seen the salmon/sweet potato/pea and chicken/? grain-free formulas, but this store is limited. Remember meat (chick, lamb, turk, salmon, etc.. “meal” is the highest quality form of whatever animal protein you are feeding, and it is not watered down by the moisture inside that meat.

    I know there are better foods out there, but this is what I can afford and my dogs are my kids so I want the best I can provide according to ingredients, not media.

    I always give a food a month to see if stools shrink or grow by the end, and several months to see how the dogs are doing on it. The way each dog processes each food is different, so it takes at least a month to start to know where you are.

    Best wishes.

  • Sgt. York

    I’ve waited for five months for an answer from Wally World and gotten no answer as of yet. I even offered to by a case of lamb and they said they would get back to me but nothing yet.

  • Michelle Bryant

    Try Walmart.com. If not, ask them where.

  • Michelle Bryant

    IT’s a good thing you had this friend. She saved you and your dog a lot of stress, trials, frustration, and grief and possibly more vet bills. There absolutely is not 1 dog food for every dog, and sometimes the high priced dog food actually turns out to be a great, well-balanced dog food with less of the higher risk ingredients. The good news is when you find one that lives up to it’s price, you do feed less and have less stool. At least that’s what I say to convince myself, lol.

  • Michelle Bryant

    When your dog starts having diarrhea, it needs to be treated. Every day the risk is there for blood in the stool as the good bacteria and mucous lining in the intestinal track (walls) is stripped away and there is nothing to help stop the inflammation.

    Whenever switching diets, you blend them slowly over a period of at “least” a couple of weeks ( a month is best of course for sensitive stomachs) slowly adding a little more of the new food as you go. That way, if they start having diarrhea, you can stop the food early with less risk of stressing the bowel and intestinal tract.

    When your dog has food allergies, you have to use extreme caution like you would with a human baby that has the same. Once the allergic inflammation has started, the best thing to do is go to as few ingredients as possible like 1 meat and 1 carb boiled and drained, and when you find a set that works, find a food that matches and very slowly integrate it. The vet should treat the dog for the inflammation immediately as this will just confuse any trial.

  • Michelle Bryant

    Would you please share a name for these other sites?

  • Michelle Bryant

    It may be the a bad batch. If you have the receipt and food, return it to the Walmart you purchased it and talk to the store manager about filing a liability claim if you had to go to a vet, or at least have them open a case to check-out the batch of food. They are supposed to send a sample to a lab. This “could” save other people’s dogs who, like mine, still ate it.
    Hope your dogs are ok now.

  • mayberry

    It is a Wal-Mart Product….so what can you expect. They also sell the lowest rating of all of the dog foods…Old Roy…which is only a 1 Star out of a 5 Star (5 being the best) rating system.

  • mayberry

    4HEALTH available at Tractor Supply. It is a 4 Star rated food. I am a Rescuer and I have used it for over 5yrs. I use and have used the dry food and the canned. In the canned I like the Lamb and Rice and the chicken and Rice. The canned food is only .99 cts a can.

  • Michelle Bryant

    So, we have enough people making important statements about their dogs getting sick and with similar or the same symptoms (excessive thirst, vomiting, discomfort or pain, over-active bladder, clear urine, distended belly/bloating, and blanched stool. If you research you will find these symptoms are typical identifiers of kidney (including diabetes) bladder, pancreatic disease.

    I was scared after 1.5 days because I’m a vet technician and know about these illnesses and their possible signs. Is anyone else going to ask for a recall? Anyone? I’m going to take it to Pure Balance and they will take it to Ainsworth. But it will take more than a few people, unless they are already on the fence. I want a reimbursement on my vet bill as well as a recall. Together we could form a class action for those who HAVE proof they have lost their dogs while on this diet.

    For more about my story (symptoms started 01/17/17 ended 01/21/17) please follow the thread started with jtavegia.

  • Michelle Bryant

    Before you tell off someone who has just been devastated by the loss of not one but two dogs, YOU should educate yourself. The fact that 2 dogs died from kidney failure when they were on the same food is definitely suspicious! That is NOT random. If you read what I just wrote in response to JTavegia (above) you will possibly understand my point. Aside from that…Dude, get some sensitivity training, wow!

  • Michelle Bryant

    This happened to me as well, a few days ago as soon as I bought this last bag. From day 1 and for 3 days of over-drinking, vomiting, and bleached stools I took my larger dog to the vet really scared as these can be symptoms of liver or kidney failure, diabetes, and other relevant illnesses. $350 later after full blood work-up and urinalysis and the vet recommending x-rays and ultra sound to try to rule out tumors on these organs or enlargement of liver, kidney, bladder, I went home with antibiotics but waited to give them for 24 hours, but discontinued the Natural Balance. There were no more issues.

    I had been feeding Natural Balance Dry for almost 1 year. Suddenly “THIS BAG”……..both dogs with zero history of digestive sensitivity for 2.5 yrs. and 7 yrs.. It was not expired.

    I have a receipt for the food and a vet record showing I took my dogs in 3 days later. Food sensitivity from sudden changes typically causes diarrhea. There was none. Just bloating/distension, water sloshing sounds from the excessive amount of water intake, not really wanting to eat it but doing it anyway, whining off and on all day (discomfort) blanched (pale) stools, clear urine due to amounts of water which both also imitate kidney failure, and vomiting huge amounts of food and water hours after eating.

    I knew before I came to this site that it was a BAD BATCH. What does this mean? It could be a poisonous substance (from inside or outside manufacturing has gotten into the batch (once, it was melamine). It could also be a combination of specific ingredients combined and heated at an inappropriate temperature can create a toxic chemical substance.

  • WakeUp America

    Pure balance lamb and rice is great! idk about all the science behind it but the difference it made in all 3 of my dogs was incredible. Best coats of there life, was less shedding and bad breath gone! We have an american bully, black lab and pomeranian.

  • Brandy Stewart

    Both of my dogs have been drinking more. Bob just came from the vet. He has a kidney issue. We are still waiting on the results from one of the tests. They are both on a week of home cooked food to detox. They usually eat the chicken and pea formula.

  • jtavegia

    We just started giving our 1 1/2 and 3 year old’s Pure Balance dry with their usual canned and I noticed they are drinking a lot more. I’m guessing it’s because they were not getting ANY dry for about 9 months because we had a very old lab who was sneaking dry food and aspirating it/ choking. We stopped offering dry to keep him safe. Now that he’s gone, we added back the dry (yesterday) and I was up at 1, 3 and 5 a.m. with one of them wanting something to drink and then 2 hours later wanting to go out to pee! They seem to love the food, tho.

  • Jill Michaels

    I feed my teacup Yorkie small breed ORGANIX dog food. I get it from Amazon.

  • Linda

    I’ve been feeding my senior chihuahua the Small Breed Chicken & Rice for over a year now, and she does great on it. Drinks more water though. I’ve also been feeding my larger dog (40+ lbs) the regular Chicken & Rice blend and she keeps having bouts of diarrhea on it. It’ll come and go, seems to happen 2x a month at least. I have to fast her, only water & Pepto for a day or so, then white rice, then white rice and pumpkin.

    I took her to the vet in May 2016 about it and the vet prescribed her probiotics and EXPENSIVE can and dry food. Now it’s not just the prices I had issues with, but the actual ingredients in the prescription food. Cheap fiber, that’s all it was and it made my dog have the most horrendous huge smelly poops.

    Can anyone recommend a similar brand to Pure Balnce that’s not going to be over $30 a bag? Thanks!

  • Ashley Heaven Starkey

    I have to say this food is great. I get pure balance for small breed, the wet dinners, and the dog food roll. I have a picky eater on my hands plus he has allergies to certain things in dog food. He goes crazy for this he’s not itching anymore and no problems I will be sticking with this food all three things. In morning he gets dry plus a spoon of wet dinner and than I use the dog food roll they have as a treat 5 stars from me

  • Amateria

    I’ve never seen this food here anywhere, I feed homemade, freeze dried, raw, canned and kibble from various companies like Ziwipeak, K9 Natural, Ivory Coat, Artemis, Sunday Pets, Taste of the Wild, Meals for Mutts tripe powder and I think that’s it lol, I feed a gigantic amount of variety it’s crazy!
    I also add organic bio dynamic yoghurt and kefir into the mix.

  • Tyler

    Exactly, that’s why there’s a hundred different people on other sites saying the exact same thing I did. Many of which, their dog has died. You like the dog food good for you, this is not an attack on your choice to use this dog food but blindly defending it like you know what’s being put in it and how it’s made like you made it yourself is a problem. Hopefully your dog doesn’t get sick and drastically drop weight like the hundreds of other people’s pets who have.

  • Amateria

    Considering how many people have dogs, quiet a lot probably feed this food because of its decent ingredients with a decent price tag, I’m sure if there was a lot of problems with it, we’d be hearing about it everywhere and yet that’s not the case.

    Maybe you just had a bad batch since those are happening very frequently these days.

  • Tyler

    It’s already been at least a week and every dog is different on transitions from one food to the next, stop spouting off incorrect information on here someone’s dog could die from eating this

  • Babslynne

    It should have taken at least one to two weeks for you to slowly transition from the old dog food to this new one, that’s probably why they got sick because you didn’t transition them correctly.

  • Tyler

    Started feeding my dog a week ago did good the first couple days. He now has excessive vomiting, other two dogs won’t touch the food. Definitely do not feed this to you dogs it’s the most oily dry food I’ve ever seen

  • Deb Durbin

    My dogs seemed to love the first 4lb bag of grain-free Pure Balance we bought last week so we bought another bag this week — the Salmon & Pea Grain-Free Formula. Both dogs just sniff at it, then walk away, sniff it again and walk away. They are hungry. One dog usually scarfs up most anything. I too am now wondering if something could be wrong with this food. The bag is marked Best if Used By Nov 22 2017 TL2 17:37 C.

  • mindy

    I wonder if there might be something wrong with the Pure balance that has been circulading the past month, as I see people just in this past month have said there dogs haven’t been doing well on it and have been throwing up! I have had my dog on PB for about two years with no problems until just this past month, he has not been eating what he usually does and he has been throwing up every so often. Also he will run outside and hurry over to eat grass or leaves like he has an upset belly! I wonder if there is a bad batch of food going around? =O

  • Sgt. York

    I did a month ago and am still awaiting an answer.

  • newsnose

    Just a reminder to always check the Mfg. date on the package. You don’t want to buy old food. Sometimes it is stored in a hot warehouse too and it is not shipped refrigerated so be careful of where you buy it.

  • newsnose

    My senior – 7 yr Ctlahoula is doing fine on the Salmon – no weight gain at all. I had a 17yr old Lab mix and after fight with her weight I put her on PB and she did great. Unfortunately she developed urinary cancer tumor(inoperable) but she had not been on the food long enough for that to be any of the cause.

  • newsnose

    If the food was good you should not have to supplement it with other ingredients. I’ve looked at H.K. and it is not the best. Look at this list and notice the UGLY: http://www.thehonestkitchen.com/articles/pet-food-ingredients-guide/

  • newsnose

    Go to Pure Balance website and ask them.

  • newsnose

    Rachel Ray’s food is full of garbage and dyes if I remember right. I looked at the ingredients and wanted to throw all the stuff in the store in the garbage. I was appalled that someone in her position disregards the health of an animal and produces such garbage.

  • newsnose

    I’ve been feeding Pure Balance Salmon dry and my dog is looking and doing great. I no longer have a weight problem. It is made entirely in the U.S.A. and that relieves my mind plus it has none of the useless and dangerous food colorings, etc. that many foods have nor preservatives.
    I’ve read almost every label of all the so-called healthy dog foods and this is one of the best I’ve found. Price wise I find it lower than most foods in this category and I can get it at Wal Mart or order it and pick it up.

  • Brian J Henry

    Okay, sure. I’m not arguing either way. I mentioned it because currently this page says “However, since we’re unable to locate AAFCO nutritional adequacy statements for these dog foods on the product’s web page, it’s impossible for us to report specific life stage recommendations for these recipes.”

  • circe801

    just bought a new bag and the food as well as the volume seem like the original again.

  • circe801

    i wonder why, though, that the cat PB doesn’t contain chelated minerals like the dog versions.

  • circe801

    ALL dog food–even the cheapest garbage–meets AAFCO requirements…

  • circe801

    unfortunately, Purina One Smartblend is chock full of corn, corn gluten and does contain wheat as well, if i’m not mistaken. i would definitely call or email purina. go to their website and look for their contact info,. they will ask for codes on the bag, so hopefully you still have it…

  • JudyandSam Simpson Norris

    I bet yours may be allergic to chicken & potatoes like mine. We did do the allergy testing and that’s what we found out. I only feed Abbie Acana Freshwater Fish formula dry.

  • Skip Scarpati

    I purchased pur balance both bison and chicken products. After just two feedings both of my dogs developed vomiting and bloody diaharea. My vet recommended tossing the food out. He put them on medication and within two days the symptoms disappeared. Do not recommend this product!!

  • InkedMarie

    I’m pretty sure if you go to the Purina website, you will find the customer service email and phone number.

  • Sharlene Cleaver

    Mine did same thing!!