Orijen Dog Food | USA (Dry)

Share

Rating: ★★★★★

Orijen Dog Food (USA) receives the Advisor’s top rating of 5 stars.

The Orijen product line includes seven dry dog foods.

Each recipe below includes its related AAFCO nutrient profile when available on the product’s official webpage: Growth, Maintenance, All Life Stages, Supplemental or Unspecified.

  • Orijen Puppy [A]
  • Orijen Senior [M]
  • Orijen Tundra [A]
  • Orijen Original [A]
  • Orijen Six Fish [A]
  • Orijen Puppy Large [A]
  • Orijen Regional Red [A]

Orijen Original was selected to represent the other products in the line for this review.

Orijen Original (USA)

Dry Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 43% | Fat = 21% | Carbs = 28%

Ingredients: Deboned chicken, deboned turkey, yellowtail flounder, whole eggs, whole atlantic mackerel, chicken liver, turkey liver, chicken heart, turkey heart, whole atlantic herring, dehydrated chicken, dehydrated turkey, dehydrated mackerel, dehydrated chicken liver, dehydrated turkey liver, whole green peas, whole navy beans, red lentils, chicken necks, chicken kidney, pinto beans, chickpeas, green lentils, alfalfa, chicken fat, natural chicken flavor, herring oil, ground chicken bone, chicken cartilage, turkey cartilage, dried kelp, freeze-dried chicken liver, freeze-dried turkey liver, whole pumpkin, whole butternut squash, kale, spinach, mustard greens, collard greens, turnip greens, whole carrots, apples, pears, pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, zinc proteinate, mixed tocopherols (preservative), chicory root, turmeric, sarsaparilla root, althea root, rosehips, juniper berries, dried Lactobacillus acidophilus fermentation product, dried Bifidobacterium animalis fermentation product, dried Lactobacillus casei fermentation product

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 4.5%

Red items indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis38%18%NA
Dry Matter Basis43%21%28%
Calorie Weighted Basis36%41%23%
Protein = 36% | Fat = 41% | Carbs = 23%

The first two items in this dog food are chicken and turkey. Although quality items, raw poultry contains about 80% water. After cooking, most of that moisture is lost, reducing the meat content to just a fraction of its original weight.

After processing, these items would probably account for a smaller part of the total content of the finished product.

The third ingredient is flounder, a type of marine fish describing several distantly related species.

The fourth ingredient includes whole eggs. Eggs are easy to digest and have an exceptionally high biological value.

The fifth ingredient is mackerel, another quality, raw item inclusive of water. Mackerel is an oily salt-water fish naturally high in protein as well as omega-3 fatty acids, an essential fat needed by every dog to sustain life.

The sixth and seventh ingredients are chicken liver and turkey liver. These are organ meats sourced from a named animal and thus considered a beneficial component.

The eighth and ninth ingredients are chicken heart and turkey heart. Although it doesn’t sound very appetizing, heart tissue is pure muscle — all meat. It’s naturally rich in quality protein, minerals and complex B vitamins, too.

Although quality items, raw organs such as liver and heart contain about 80% water. After cooking, most of that moisture is lost, reducing the meat content to just a fraction of its original weight.

After processing, these items would probably account for a smaller part of the total content of the finished product.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With seven notable exceptions

First, we note the inclusion of peas. Peas are a quality source of carbohydrates. And like all legumes, they’re rich in natural fiber.

Next, we find navy and pinto beans, legumes naturally high in dietary fiber and other healthy nutrients.

In addition, this recipe contains both red and green lentils. Lentils are a quality source of carbohydrates. Plus (like all legumes) they’re rich in natural fiber.

However, peas, beans and lentils contain about 25% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

Next, we note the use of chickpeas, also known as garbanzo beans. Like peas, bean and lentils, the chickpea is a nutritious member of the fiber-rich legume (or pulse) family of vegetables.

However, chickpeas contain about 22% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

In addition, this recipe contains alfalfa, a flowering member of the pea family. Although alfalfa is high in protein (18%) and fiber, it’s uncommon to see it used in a dog food. This hay-family ingredient is more commonly associated with horse feeds.

We also note the inclusion of chicory root. Chicory is rich in inulin, a starch-like compound made up of repeating units of carbohydrates and found in certain roots and tubers.

Not only is inulin a natural source of soluble dietary fiber, it’s also a prebiotic used to promote the growth of healthy bacteria in a dog’s digestive tract.

And lastly, we find only one added mineral detailed on the ingredients list. We must assume many of these essential nutrients are provided by the food ingredients in the recipe.

Orijen Dog Food (USA)
The Bottom Line

Judging by its ingredients alone, Orijen (USA) looks like an above-average dry product.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 43%, a fat level of 21% and estimated carbohydrates of about 28%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 43% and a mean fat level of 20%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 29% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 46%.

Above-average protein. Above-average fat. And below-average carbs when compared to a typical dry dog food.

Even when you consider the protein-boosting effect of the various legumes and alfalfa, this looks like the profile of a kibble containing an abundance of meat.

Bottom line?

Orijen (USA) is a grain-free meat-based dry dog food using an abundance of named meats and fish as its main sources of animal protein, thus earning the brand 5 stars.

Enthusiastically recommended.

Please note certain recipes are sometimes given a higher or lower rating based upon our estimate of their total meat content and (when appropriate) their fat-to-protein ratios.

Orijen Dog Food
Recall History

The following list (if present) includes all dog food recalls since 2009 directly related to this product line. If there are no recalls listed in this section, we have not yet reported any events.

You can view a complete list of all dog food recalls sorted by date. Or view the same list sorted alphabetically by brand.

To learn why our ratings have nothing to do with a product’s recall history, please visit our Dog Food Recalls FAQ page.

Get free dog food recall alerts sent to you by email. Subscribe to The Advisor’s recall notification list.

Dog Food Coupons
And Discounts

Readers are invited to check for coupons and discounts shared by others in our Dog Food Coupons Forum.

Or click the buying tip below. Please be advised we receive a fee for referrals made to the following online store.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

The Dog Food Advisor does not test dog food products.

We rely entirely on the integrity of the information provided by each company. As such, the accuracy of every review is directly dependent upon the specific data a company chooses to share.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

We rely on tips from readers. To report a product change or request an update of any review, please contact us using this form.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, due to the biological uniqueness of every animal, none of our ratings are intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in a specific dietary response or health benefit for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

However, we do receive a fee from Chewy.com for each purchase made as a direct result of a referral from our website. This fee is a fixed dollar amount and has nothing to do with the size of an order or the brand selected for purchase.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Notes and Updates

07/12/2016 Last Update

  • Julie

    The US formula has a lot more protein than the Canadian formula, so perhaps some dogs are adjusting to the new protein sources/percentages. My dogs are thriving on Orijen and Acana even though at first, we had runny poops due to the large increase in the protein amounts. Almost every brand of food will have people who love it and hate it, so don’t discard it just because others have had problems. Try a small bag from an authorized dealer (NOT Amazon) for yourself.

  • Julie

    My dogs are a little over a year, and we have fed just about every premium brand of raw, homemade and kibble (with a little canned food thrown in). We have settled on Champion foods recently because my dogs push their bowls across the floor trying to take in every last bit of food. Orijen has the best ingredient list, hands down, and I don’t have to feed multiple cups a day. I buy smaller bags of both Acana and Orijen and change their flavor for every meal. I will even use the Singles line and change out some of the food with Primal Freeze dried nuggets just to add some variety. We will also add sardines, chicken, cottage cheese and other extras so the dogs are constantly getting a different flavor. We have less poops, and the dogs coats are just beautiful. I don’t worry about ingredients like vitamin paks from far away countries, and I know the doggies are getting the high percentage of protein that they need. We are very happy!

  • Suzie

    Hey, same issues! White powdery stuff on the kibble and our puppy has horrible skin issues. Turns out the white stuff is MOLD!!! Switching him off immediately!

  • Suzie

    Hi All,
    Similar bad report here. We’ve been feeding Orijen for at least 6-7 years to our shepherd mix, and recently to our new puppy, a staffie mix. Our older dog did really well on the six fish until he started getting ear infections constantly and itching all the time. We switched him to a raw diet thinking it was just him getting older or whatever, and that seemed to clear it up. We started feeding our new puppy Orijen large breed (first time buying it) and I noticed it had like a white powdery coating but just thought it was something they used in the formula to preserve it. Today I opened a new bag of kibble only to find it with the same white-ish coating, but unmistakably hairy, fuzzy MOLD. I was horrified and so angry at myself for not questioning it more before and looking more closely at the kibble I thought was safe – our puppy has had the worst skin itching and he’s almost lost all of his hair on his hind quarters. We’ve been treating it with Zyrtec thinking it was a grass allergy but now I think we’ve been poisoning our puppy. I’m sick to my stomach. I think I’m done with processed dog food altogether and am just going to feed my dogs homemade raw foods and supplements. How else do you know it’s safe?

  • Stephanie Carpenter

    But, Pedigree and Ol’ Roy got Top Ratings from this site. I would be concerned about that.

  • Tammy

    Thank you for all the info. I was thinking of putting my dog on Orijen, but will definitely look at something else. So sorry to those of you whose dogs are unwell, hope your dogs recover.

  • Susan

    Hi Grace & Oliver,
    That’s awful, your poor dogs,
    Please google “Toxins in Pet food” look for a company that completed a study of 1,084 pet food products from 80 brands. Products were screened for over 130 toxins including heavy metals, BPA, …
    Orijen was one of the worst brands when tested Orijen was high in lead, arsenic, mercury, cadmium, 130 toxins & contaminates. I’m not allowed to post name of this company testing pet foods, after you google & find this company, when you go find the link their name starts with Clean ? ? then click on “Dry Dog Foods” on your left then click on pages 10-11-12 & onwards have all the 1 star brands & their formulas that are really high in toxins heavy metals etc..
    I always rotate between a few different brands now so if 1 pet food has something wrong with it my dog isnt just eating that brand 24/7, have a look at “Canidae” Pure Fields Small Breed formula did really well in the pet food toxin testing & Canidae make “Under The Sun” which did really well, here’s Canidae’s link scroll down a bit look to your right & click on “View All” & all Canidae’s formula’s come up.. https://www.canidae.com.dog-food/products

  • Grace and Oliver

    I have two yorkshires terriers and began feeding them Orijen about 4 years ago. Recently, I had bloodwork done on both dogs prior to having their teeth cleaned. Liver enzymes for both dogs were alarming. One was over 3x normal, and the other over 5x normal (Under 100 is considered normal ALT.) We repeated the blood work fasting – confirmed the original results. My heart broke, as I had formerly lost a beloved pet to liver disease. We changed them to Hills Liver Disease prescription food (because, surprisingly neither dog was symptomatic and all signs pointed to that) and planned to retest blood work before doing bile acid tests and ultrasounds. 30 days later, ALT for both dogs are completely normal- both in the 50’s.

    Vet quizzed me extensively about their food. I headed right to this website, as this is where I did my original research and based my decision to select this dog food for them in the first place. I never knew there was a formula change.

    From the moment I began phasing out the Orijen and incorporating the Hills LD food, the dogs scoured through their whole bowl to pick out the new kibble. They absolutely refused to eat the Orijen once there was an alternative in their bowl.

    My Vet was interested in obtaining the bag of dog food so that she could contact the manufacturer and initiate an inquiry. Apparently, our concerns are not isolated.

  • Anonymous

    It’s really a shame that so many dogs that previously enjoyed Orijen with good results have done poorly on the formula change. I hope Champion is made aware of these constructive comments and does what they can to hopefully resolve or at least lessen the issues. With their excellent reputation in the dog world I would hope they’d at least give these comments a sideways glance.
    One dog we train with was on Orijen since she was a puppy, and since the change in the food she developed some minor GI issues. Nothing serious, but it’s just one of those things. The owner switched to Acana and so far so good.
    Again, it would be great if the company took note and realized many dogs have done well with the change and some have not.
    One guy we train with swears by Zignature. Another training couple swears that Merrick is the way to go. A few others (myself included) are raw feeders and feel it’s a good way to go for healthy dogs that accept the diet readily (different story for immune compromised pets, or pets that decide to go off the diet, JMO). In that case, we encourage others to research and ignore the internet BS that it “magically cures cancer” and “magically prevents all disease” and will somehow “make your dog live until they’re 62 years old”, etc. Those claims IMO are completely bogus.
    It can get confusing as even two dogs in the same household could respond favorably to one brand while the other dog in the same family could respond poorly. If a dog responds poorly to a food IMO it doesn’t mean the food is bad, it’s just bad “for them”! It’s no different than a human with (for instance) a peanut allergy or a shellfish allergy; it doesn’t mean peanuts and shellfish are bad foods, it’s just that the person in question doesn’t handle those foods well.

  • Anonymous

    Agreed.
    We had a pup with raging IBD symptoms and our regular vet was helpful, but didn’t specialize in such problems and we went to a vet that was reportedly very good in getting intestinal matters worked out and giving the dogs and cats they worked with good relief without taxing the owners bank. This vet didn’t call themselves a specialist, but considering what we received and the results we saw due to their recommendations and suggestions, they were pretty specialized. Specialists can be expensive, but I’d rather pay to have the problem diagnosed and resolved through whatever means of treatment necessary.
    If it’s financially feasible, a vet that’s well versed in dealing with GI problems can be money well spent. IMO it’s usually a case of pay (money) now and save (money, not to mention stress on the dog and owner) later.

  • Anonymous

    Hey Susan, I haven’t fed kibble in forever but I checked out the earthborn link and holy crap–dog food has come a long way. BPA free bags and non-GMO! Pretty cool stuff =)
    To me, Orijen looks species appropriate when considering the ingredients list. But I’ve heard one too many people say that their dogs do poorly on this brand, but do well on Acana or another diet that’s similar in quality. A few training buddies have gone to Acana and a few to Zignature and a few to Merrick and brands of similar quality.
    Even as a raw feeder I would feel pretty OK feeding my dogs something along these lines as the ingredients and quality of the foods seem to have really increased over the years. Sheesh when I was a kid you pretty much had Gravy Train or Purina Dog Chow to choose from! =)

  • Susan

    Hi Toto,
    pooing blood normally is food sensitivities, food intolerances, there’s an ingredient in the Origen he’s eating that isnt agreeing with him, yes try “Canidae” Pure Wild Pure Land formulas or try Canidaes All Life Stages formula’s read the ingredient list to the food he’s eating & change protein source as well.

    also have a look at “EarthBorn Holistic” Venture formula’s, there’s Rabbit Meal & Pumkin, Pork meal Butternut, Duck Meal Pumkin, Turkey & Butternut Squash formula’s just make sure your read the fiber % as they all vary, maybe he does need more fiber??

    The only real test is a food elimination diet, to work out what ingredients he can & can’t eat that’s what Patches vet recommended to do with my IBD boy…when you add pumkin 1 spoon this works out if he needs more fiber in diet, he’ll do firm poo’s with the added cooked pumkin, where my boy does sloppy poos when I add 1 then 2 spoons boiled pumkin to 1 of his meals… there’s a little trick then you can pick a higher fiber diet or a lower fiber diet around 3-4%…

    another really good LID brand is “California Natural” Lamb Meal & Rice, it just has 3 ingredients, Lamb Meal, Rice & Sun flower Oil this way there’s no peas, no chickpeas & no Lentils as they can cause intestinal stress, does the Orijen have Chickpeas or Lentils?? if so then if you do pick “Canidae” Pure Grain free formula then pick their Pure Sky it has NO chickpeas same with their Pure Sea but the protein & fat is higher in their Pure Sea…I’d get a lower fat & lower protein LID formula.. there’s Canidae Pure Petite small breed formula’s but I think they have lentils & eggs you could give it a go & see, Canidae is money back if anything goes wrong so best to shop at a Pet Shop its easier for returns..
    I found “Taste Of The Wild” Sierra Mountain Roasted Lamb to work the best for my boy, it is LID just has Lamb meal, Sweet Potatoes, Peas, Potatoes & Egg & Berries, Protein -25%,
    Fat-15%max, Fiber-4%max,
    There’s also “4Health” Special Care Sensitive Stomach, it just has Potato & Egg it would be good like the California Natural Lamb meal & rice formula cause it just has about 3 ingredients, then when your dog is doing well then you start adding 1 cooked ingredient for 6 weeks & see does he start pooing sloppy or pooing blood again? add ingredients that’s in kibbles, Peas, Chickpeas, etc then you’ll know which ingredient is causing this problem….

    Dogs are often fussy for a reason the food upsets their stomach/bowel then some dogs are smart & become fussy eaters…my boy still eats the same foods that cause him problems he hasn’t put 2 & 2 together yet my old cat & last dog worked it out & knew, no last time I ate this I had diarrhea, vomiting etc…

  • Anonymous

    We’ve had some training friends recently become less happy with Orijen. On paper it looks great but it doesn’t seem to set well with a lot of dogs. There are a LOT of ingredients in the food, some dogs do well and others don’t. That’s what sucks about star ratings, even though the website talks about those problems!
    I know I would be hard pressed to pay for any food priced like that if my dogs weren’t absolutely thriving on it so I think you’re right to listen to your vet.

    Did your vet have any suggestions on a good LID? If he’s not a fan of Orijen he might have a few recommendations on a good diet that’s comparable in quality.

  • Anonymous

    ????

  • Storm’s Mom

    “Gourmet pet food store”!?!? I’m sorry, but your “story” lost all credibility right there.

  • anon101

    I would go with a prescription/therapeutic diet as I assume your vet has recommended.
    I would also consider more diagnostic testing such as a GI workup. See what your vet recommends, ask for a referral to a veterinary internal medicine specialist or get another vet’s opinion if your current vet isn’t helpful within a reasonable amount of time.

  • Toto Mango

    Here’s our story: 11 lb poodle, 5 years old

    Got our dog from the Pound when he was 1. I tried other dog foods that were good, as advised at this site, but he couldn’t handle them — all gave him massive diarrhea. The thing they had in common was flaxseed or flaxseed oil. I concluded that perhaps there was just too much fiber content for the little guy..and this was a common complaint I had with all of my smaller-breed dogs. Maybe its just too much for small dogs.

    Anyway, the gourmet pet food store in town raved about Orijen. My dog is not a particularly picky eater, but he only eats this stuff if there is nothing else to eat…which means he has to be pretty hungry to eat it. However, at least he didn’t have runny accidents in the floor on it, so we kept this as our choice.

    We have had him on it for 4 years, and this past year he has started to have problems with it, and pretty serious. Bloody stools. He has always strained a little to poo, but it has grown worse. Took him to the vet and the first time he was put on an antibiotic and hamburger and rice diet to clear it up.

    But he keeps getting bloody stools….so back to the doc he went. THis time he put him on a laxative and asked what the dog food was we’re using, and I told him Orijen and he just shook his head in slight disgust and asked if he drinks a ton of water after eating and I said yes. He said it was most likely the dog food. He said the other time it was likely that the hamburger and rice cleared it up more than the antibiotic.

    So now I’m trying to find some thing else…considering Canidae with limited ingredients. Maybe it isn’t the flax, but some additive that has blown out all of my dogs with these other expensive dog foods?

  • Annie Lin

    My Westie has been eating Orijen Six Fish since she was a pup but since the formula change, she was getting constant diarrhea and didn’t always want to eat. We then tried Orijen Tundra and same thing. She had diarrhea or runny poo every/every other day. Thankfully our local pet store let us return the food. We are from Canada and all the formulas up here have changed as well. There is no longer salmon in the Six Fish formula. If you go to the Orijen Canadian website you can see the changes in their ingredient list. Since then, we have switched to Valens Fisher, a small local company from the Fraser Valley in BC Canada. Since the switch, she is regular again and always licks her bowl clean. We had always thought we were feeding her a superior quality food by feeding her Orijen. We are so disappointed with Champion foods and their false claims that the new formula is suppose to be an improvement with an increase in protein content, instead, so many dogs are getting sick from it. We just hope there are no long term damages from having fed our dog this food.

  • haleycookie

    You’ll have to move to Canada to get the Canada formula. They don’t ship the Canada formula to the us anymore unfortunetly.

  • sam turner

    My dog has been on Orijen for a couple of years and never had a problem with Orijen from Canada ( Orijen Tundra) but recently the only thing that has been available are the USA version and Tundra is no longer available here. My dog have been doing poorly on the US version.
    Could anyone tell me if it’s possible to buy the canadian version of this product? If so, where? I would try amazon but I’m afraid they might give me a bag from the US instead.

  • Jason Julian

    The new US made Six Fish compares unfavorably to the Canadian made Six Fish, especially in the Omega 6/3 ratio. I fed the Canadian made Six Fish for over 5 years with great results. I will not touch the new US formulation.Apparently the Canadian made product is no longer sold in the uS.

  • Krista

    I don’t feed this food currently but have in the past. These Comments are very worrisome! I really had nothing against champion except for the fact that they seem to use a lot of beans in their food. Disappointed by all these negative reactions to the food. Wow.

  • haleycookie

    They rate foods on a different scale on that sight. Nutritionally it’s no question Orijen is supiorior however they use a ton of fish in all of their formulas which is usually full of chemical contaminants because of pollution in rivers and oceans. K&b probably just uses regular farmed animal waste that isn’t necessarily contaminated with the chimerical a they tested food. I belive that’s how they got to that conclusion. I’ve never fed fish for that simply reason. If human babies and pregnant women shouldn’t eat fish why should my small animals eat it?

  • Murphs mom

    So I just check out that “Clean Label” web site. It gave Orijen 1 star and Kibbles and Bits 5. Yeah, I don’t think so!

  • Murphs mom

    I too switched from Orijen Six Fish to Instinct Salmon. I am now back to Orijen Original. My Golden has been eating it for a month now with no adverse affects. He had been eating Orijen his whole life, 5 1/2 years but for a few months. I ‘d have to think if so many dogs were becoming ill from the food it would be all over the news with recalls. I hope all of your dogs recover and feel better.

  • Tammy Aune

    Same issues with my three dogs from six fish.

  • Kathie Heiden

    Hi Susan. It is Canidae Grain Free Pure Elements. Limited ingredient formula diet. He has had the lamb flavor and the duck flavor, so far. Seems to like them both. We have also given him the Canidae All Life Stages in the past. He is not doing so well. They have done so many tests, bloodwork & xrays. They are treating him right now with Panakare Enzymes on his food, antibiotics (3rd round), prednisolone, methocarbanol (for 5 days) we are just waiting to see if he responds. So far (3rd day) it’s not so great. They believe it is an extreme infection & his stats show inflammation along the outside of his spine in several areas. We are keeping our fingers crossed and praying a LOT. Thank you for the information and asking about him.
    Kathie

  • Susan

    Hi,
    how is he doing, is he slowly getting beter as each day passes?
    I think you mean Canidae Pure Land, someone else also said they’re feeding Canidae Pure Lamb aswell I thought Canidae must have a new formula lol ….Canidae also has their Pure Wild” Boar formula if you want to try another formula or their new All Life Stages,Turkey Meal & Brown Rice large breed formula with limited ingredients…click on link below & scroll down a bit then click on “View All” https://www.canidae.com/dog-food/products

  • Orca Kwong

    Hi Stacy, could you specify what you switched to when you say “after this switch”? Thanks!

  • Kathie Heiden

    He was also on Canidae Pure dry dog food. So, after eliminating that one first with no change we eliminated the Orijen Regional Red. Which is when he improved a bit. He is still on Canidae pure lamb. Thank you So much for your help. It is much appreciated. We’re keeping our fingers crossed.
    Thank you,
    Kathie

  • Susan

    Hi so sorry about your dog & what he’s going thru, the same thing happen 2007 when Orijen was imported to Australia, Orijen had over irradiated the cat food & cats were dying & had neurological symptoms….Read “Clean label project” lasted test study formula’s that are high in Toxins, Acrylamides & BPA/BPS here’s CLP site click on “Dry Dog Food on your left & you’ll see all the 5 star kibbles thru to 1 star foods the pages 11 thru to 16 have all the 1 star formulas that are very high in Toxins, this was just released last week… CLP 1st test Study done in April a few of Orijen formulas were in the worse top 10 list that were VERY high in toxins. Go on CLP f/b page & send CLP a msg, a lady called Jaclyn might be able to help you in some way..Hopefully your boy will slowly get better What is he eating at the moment?? http://www.cleanlabelproject.org/pet-food-study-2-0/

  • Stacy Haller

    Thank you for posting this Kathie. My yorkie also developed weakness and a limp out of nowhere along with the other symptoms from my post, heart murmur, loss of appetite, lethargy, needing help up, grumbling at me in discontent. Only 7 years old. I am so sorry you are going through this.

  • Stacy Haller

    My dog has been eating Orijen Six Fish and Acana Pacifica for 2-3 years now. After this switch, he got so ill that he was refusing all food including even eggs. He’s a very healthy 7 1/2 year old yorkie. He immediately became low energy, chewing his body, eventually refusing all food, he’s limping, he suddenly has a heart murmur after no record of having one. His cbc came up clear, he was given fluids, anti nausea meds, and I have him on science diet z/d to straighten out his stomach. We’re going for a check up tomorrow. This should be criminal. He ate the Freshwater Fish and Six Fish. This company should be ashamed of themselves.

  • Kathie Heiden

    I am so very disheartened by all of this. I have been reading these posts in desperation for an answer to our issues. We have a 5 year old miniature retriever who has been fed Orijen for his entire life. He was recently on the Regional Red. A couple months ago he started getting very sick. Diarrhea, throwing up, lethargy, losing weight & very depressed. Found that he wasn’t absorbing any of the vitamins and was slowly wasting away. After the process of elimination, we came to the conclusion that is was his food. He is currently receiving Vitamin B12 injections, antibiotics etc. The lasting issue for us is that he is extremely weak in his hind quarter. He is not able to get up off the floor without assistance, can no longer climb stairs & and is just plain weak. We are praying and keeping our fingers crossed in hopes that he will get better, but our vet is just not sure if the damage is too much. After going to our vet and getting three other opinions from other specialist vets, they all feel that the food is the cause of all these secondary issues. I so hope this does not happen to any other dog as this has been a terrible thing to endure. Hopefully something can and will be done.

  • Kathie Heiden

    I am so very disheartened by all of this. I have been reading these posts in desperation for an answer to our issues. We have a 5 year old miniature retriever who has been fed Orijen for his entire life. He was recently on the Regional Red. A couple months ago he started getting very sick. Diarrhea, throwing up, lethargy, losing weight & very depressed. Found that he wasn’t absorbing any of the vitamins and was slowly wasting away. After the process of elimination, we came to the conclusion that is was his food. He is currently receiving Vitamin B12 injections, antibiotics etc. The lasting issue for us is that he is extremely weak in his hind quarter. He is not able to get up off the floor without assistance, can no longer climb stairs & and is just plain weak. We are praying and keeping our fingers crossed in hopes that he will get better, but our vet is just not sure if the damage is too much. After going to our vet and getting three other opinions from other specialist vets, they all feel that the food is the cause of all these secondary issues. I so hope this does not happen to any other dog as this has been a terrible thing to endure. Hopefully something can and will be done.

  • Tammy Aune

    I am so glad I came to this site and read this! I’m not the only one having issues with this food also purchased from chuck and dons. I have three dogs that all have loose stools the last three weeks. We have been to the vet and had everything checked out and everyone has a clean bill of health. We did the bland diet of boiled chicken and rice tried introducing Six Fish 1/4 a cup at a time and the soft stool happened again. I contacted Orijen and they checked my lot number and said everything was perfect with my bag of food but agreed to replace it for free. Well the free bag with different lot numbers also caused major stool issues! I chatted with Orijen again today explaining their food is making my dogs sick and they denied it up and down and told me my dogs all three of them can not tolerate the food. I have fed this food for over a year with no issues until three weeks ago. I am so done with Orijen and I will be sending my vet bills their way.

  • JJ

    Ps, FYI. Orijen Tundra is still made in Canada.

  • Ann Williams

    I have found the same thing with my 2 dogs. They used to love this dog food, but I bought a bag a few months ago and they were hesitant to eat it unless I mixed it with egg or other ingredients. I thought it might have been an odd batch and bought another bag. For the last two weeks, they wont eat it, no matter what I mix it with. Contacted Origen last month about possible changes and never heard back. I guess I’ll be getting rid of $100 in dog food and trying something else. Very frustrating when I thought I found a good thing.

  • Cindy

    I don’t use any flea or tick products, or any chemicals on my house or yard.
    According to Jean Dodds, turkey, and rabbit, can cause seizures in susceptible animals. Chicken has arsenic unless organic. Fish looks like the best option, if wild caught in the Atlantic. It seems like almost everything is contaminated with toxins these days. I wonder about Wild Boar?
    When I checked out the CLP site a while ago I didn’t think their methodology was very good so I don’t really fully trust them.

  • Susan

    Hi Brad, did you slowley introduce new food over 7-10 day period, some dogs need 14 days ??
    Orijen is a very rich food & has a few meat proteins in some of their formula’s, if your dogs aren’t use to eating high protein & high fat diet then they will not do well, better off trying “Merrick” limited ingredient….I feed “Taste Of The Wild” Sierra Mountain, Roasted Lamb to my IBD boy & “Canidae” Pure Wild these formula’s have 25%-protein & 15%-fat & only have 1 meat protein & sweet potatoes potatoes, peas, egg, ingredients that firm up poo & are healthy….
    Take back the food get a refund or start feeding their old food & slowly introduce 1/4 cup new kibble to under 1 cup old kibble for the first 2 days then 1/2 new 1/2 old the next 2 days look up on Orijen site or on the kibble bag it should tell you how to introduce new food….or take back & look for a limited ingredient brand that’s lower in fat & protein & has sweet potato, potatos, egg, peas, then when you have found a kibble that works for your dogs, start introducing another new food then you rotate these 2 or 3 different brands with different meat proteins, this strengthens up their immune system & makes them healthy & if 1 of the brands your feeing isn’t balanced or has toxins your dogs aren’t on this food or this batch of food for too long cause you are rotating & are feeding another brand by now, as soon as the bag of kibble starts getting very low make sure there’s enough old kibble for 5-7 days this is when you start adding the new kibble with the old kibble & slowly introduce the new with teh old kibble….later on you won’t need to introduce all 2 or 3 brands I don’t have too now only if its a food he hasnt eating before I introdce over 10 days some days I stay on 1/2 & 1/2 for 4 days look at the poos if the poo’s aren’t firm then don’t add more new kible add more old kibble.
    I rotate monthy or some days I feed the TOTW then the next day I feed the Canidae or somedays I feedboth 1 for breakfast & the other formula for dinner or cooked for dinner, I ask Patch which one does he want to eat … Does the Orijen formula your feeding have Chickpeas or Lentils or both?? they can cause intestinal stress for some dogs…

  • Susan

    Hi, here’s “Clean Label Project” site a few of Orijens food when tested were very high to toxins & contaminates, if you think it is the food then change their food, this is why I always tell people to rotate between a few different brands with a different meat protein, this way if 1 of the foods your feeding has toxins, or the food is off or isn’t balanced properly your dog isn’t on this food long enough to have any long term health problems, may I ask 1 question what flea product are you using?? Please don’t use any of the new chews like Bravecto or Nexgard especially on senior dogs as dogs get older tehy can have a
    underlying health problem you don’t know about, then you give your dog say Bravecto which stays in teh dogs system more then 3 months & you can’t get it out of teh dogs system you just have to wait & wait for time to pass, there’s a few groups set up on face book where these product have caused harm or killed people dogs.. I never use any oral stuff for my boy, my vet said NO… vet could probably tell the public a few sad stories what they see in their job, I know a few from talking with people at the dog park Here’s the CLP site. after you’ve red teh to ten worst foods with toxins & contaminated look up teh top “?hover over “Product Ratings” & click loo at your left & click on dry dog foods & you’ll see teh 5 stars foods that tested clean of toxins, look for a cleaner meat Turkey & chicken are clean meats they have as many toxins like fish have.. http://www.cleanlabelproject.org/

  • Cindy

    Has anyone else had seizures occur with Orijen (Kentucky) Regional Red? At first, when my 2 year old got them I thought he was getting epilepsy. Then my 7 year old had one, his first ever. Seems a bit too much of a coincidence that both suddenly get seizures a month or two after I began feeding this food. I fed Orijen for years to young and old dogs, with good results, but that was the Canadian variety. They changed the formulations in Kentucky.

  • Brad

    We’ve been giving our dogs this food for several years due to its reputation for quality and the fact that our dogs overall seem happier and healthier eating it. I’m very disappointed to report that since the manufacturing change we have noticed some very disconcerting things with our otherwise healthy dogs. Both dogs are on a stringent diet with only all natural treats given at specific times of the day. We noticed awhile back that both dogs were having very loose stools and occasionally vomiting. This was very strange to us considering it was happening to both around the same time and frequency and seemed to coincide with the change from being made in Canada vs. being made in the United States. Noting the change, we restricted treats to rule out the food. Unfortunately, even after withholding their treats, they still were having diarrhea. Both will be visiting the vet this week to get a full work-up to determine the issue, but the only common denominator is the food. This is very unfortunate for what used to be a phenomenal food. Unfortunately, Champion Food’s quest for profits is probably going to be their undoing in the United States. Why would I pay $100/bag for food that makes my pets ill? I wouldn’t…and after hearing from Chuck and Don’s that they’ve had many food returns of Orijen from long-time customers, I’m sure many others will drop it as well. I would not recommend this food any longer after several recommendations to everyone I know who has a dog. If you must try Orijen, try it with the smaller, less expensive bag and see how your dog reacts…there’s no point in spending $100 for overpriced, reduced quality kibble.

  • haleycookie

    As long as your pup isn’t sensitive to anything then no it’s not bad. It’s an excellent quality food with protein from several high quality meat sources.

  • Krista

    Hi is anyone concerned with how many ingredients are in this recipe? (Over 40) my dog seemed to do ok on this but is that too many ingredients?

  • Susan

    Hi take the food back, if you brought online ring them & tell them your dog won’t eat the food, normally all pet foods are money back guaranteed for palability, order a food you think will work for your dog…

  • anon101

    Unless your vet recommends a prescription food (which may not be a bad idea). I would consider Zignature, my dogs are thriving on the whitefish kibble as a base. Zignature’s website is user friendly, if you have any questions. http://zignature.com/?page_id=5&lang=en

    If you are receptive to science based veterinary medicine this an excellent site for information http://skeptvet.com/Blog/category/nutrition/

    Ps: Add water to their kibble besides always having fresh water available to help flush out the kidneys.
    Continue to work with your vet regarding medication and treatment.

  • Susan

    Hi, your going to need a lower phosphorus diet for your senior with level 1 kidney failure, join “Canine Kidney Disease” group on face book & see what other people are feeding their elderly dogs… Have a look at “Canidae” Pure formula’s & rotate with their Life Stages formula’s as well, the kibble size is nice a & small & no bad smell… here’s their link.. the Canidae formula’s start on page 3, “Under The Sun” is Canidae other product it’s cheaper.. https://www.canidae.com/dog-food/products

  • Tara Gentry

    We have been feeding our dogs the Orijen senior food for a couple of years now. We have mixes 4,6,8 years old and a 10 year old Shepard mix. Our 10 year old has been having diarrhea off on for the last two months with another dog having a bought of gastritis but the vet said it was stress related due to it being right after 4th of July. We have since had more tests done on our Shepard and he had level 1 kidney failure. We are now testing for Addison’s disease. We’ve always been vigilant about foods and thought Orijens was one of the best. After reading some recent experiences which align with our own suspicions we will now be switching foods as we had suspected a change in the food but dismissed it. The smell was different (more pungent) and color was lighter. We only purchase 1 bag at a time about every 3 weeks and keep it in an air right food container.

  • Cary Kerbs

    Dogs are sick. The last 2 bags of Orijen (6 fish & Regional Red) purchased in July are bad. My dogs usually eat the food as soon as I poor it in the bowl but they smelled it and walked away. Only after they were hungry would they eat it. They both have diarrhea from the food. I feel awful I should have know something was wrong when they walked away. I have used Orijen for 3 years and they have loved it but now that its made in the US its crap. Don’t buy this food will make your dogs sick.

  • Stacy Maran

    I have switched to Dr. Gary’s Best Breed. So far so good.

  • me

    I’m trying 4health alot of people I know swear by it.

  • AnneMarie

    I am having the same experience. My dog has been eating Orijen’s food since he was a puppy. I swore by it and recommended it frequently. We never had a problem until production switched to the US. There is a visible difference in quality. The food is lighter in color, it breaks apart easily so there is a large amount of ‘kibble dust’ in the bag, and it smells different. Worst of all, my dog developed a skin rash. It went away when we switched to the non-chicken product (and gave him steroids), but then returned within a couple months. I didn’t want to think it was the food, but this time we switched from Orijen’s and the rash healed (no steroids this time) and the rash returned when we reintroduced Origen’s product. I am so disappointed in the change in the product.

  • Chelsea

    In the same boat here, no way to prove anything.

  • Janice L Dwyer-Greenberg

    I get Timberwolf from their website online and Horizon Legacy from Petflow.com

  • Donna J McMullen

    I hope your pup is doing better and that you’ve found a much better food for him.

  • Donna J McMullen

    Yes, my dog died almost a year ago, after the switch was made. No one told us about the switch so we were not able to do any mixing of the old/new formula. It was a bag of senior, and it did smell different and I regret not questioning it. When I bought it up to the company I was told when introducing a new food I should have mixed it. Now, my dog did have digestive issues but he did excellent on the Senior formula. I know it was the food that killed him, just no way to prove it.

  • Sue Robinson

    I’ve been feeding Orijen Adult to my 3 adult Dalmatians for a few years. When they switched to the Kentucky location, the formula changed slightly. My dogs’ ages are 6, 11, and 14. All three lost 3 to 4 lbs right away on the new formula. Getting ready to change to a different brand.

  • Zac Chernik

    Interesting read on this link regarding all the peas that Champion and others are starting to use in their product lines.

    Researchers are developing a dog food made from pulse crops, specifically chickpeas, beans, and lentils (also called legumes)

    Chickpeas, beans, and lentils are high in protein — but not the type of protein dogs and cats thrive on, which is animal protein

    Legumes also contain phytates and lectins, two substances that carnivores should not consume on a consistent basis

    The
    researchers have received funding for a very expensive high resolution
    ultrasound microscope to monitor the cardiovascular and reproductive
    health of the animals in their study

    http://healthypets.mercola.com/sites/healthypets/archive/2016/02/01/pulse-crop-pet-food.aspx

  • Zac Chernik

    Bedford Capital bought Champion Pet Foods a few years ago…..so guess what…..profit profit profit is what drives the product line…….changes to ingredients which our dogs and cats are now feeling the affect.

    Back in Nov 2016 I was conversing back and forth with Bonnie Gerow and Richard Forsythe of Champion and they assured me of the safety of the Kentucky Kitchen Product but I still had my doubts.

    Also, I discovered the Kentucky Plant is only a few miles away from a SUPER FUND CLEAR UP SITE and I really wondered if their water used in the plant had the chromium contamination from the SUPER FUND SITE. They mentioned no problem it’s been tested.

    from Bonnie:

    Zachary,
    you had mentioned the superfund site, and I do want to assure you that we are aware of this. The Caldwell Superfund site has been closed since1985.
    In 1990, the Environmental Protection Agency and the Kentucky
    Department for Environmental Protection (KDEP) took steps to further
    clean the site after the initial closure.
    Today, following site investigations, the Environmental Protection Agency has determined that this site does not pose a threat. With continued surveillance, the EPA and KDEP ensure the safety of people as well as the environment. Our promise to pet
    lovers is that we will not compromise our foods with ingredients that do not meet our standards – we continue to stay abreast of the situation.

  • Lexi Van Steenburg

    Tried to contact Champion…by sending an e-mail regarding Chewy no longer being able to distribute. Crickets…no response. By the threads I have read and my personal experience with them, I find them to be TOTALLY irresponsible, unconcerned with pets/pet owners and solely focused on $$$$. Well, I will no longer feed or recommend Orijen. What a bunch of yams! Sorry I ever did business with them. VERY UNPROFESSIONAL! Do not recommend this company or there products!

  • haleycookie

    It appears that chewy will indeed stop selling this food along with all other champion products now that it’s been aquired by petsmart.

  • Chelsea

    I did voice my concerns to Champion about the heavy metals in the food from Kentucky. Also My Facebook comments were deleted off their page, questions are answered with a generic response. Only recently have I started to wonder if it is all connected and there may be sick/dying dogs all over the place and it’s just not been put together that it’s the food. It’s not like a contaminated food that causes illness instantly, so just curious if it’s happening to others. It’s terrible about the cat food in Australia, I have zero faith in champion actually putting the health of our babies first anymore.

  • Susan

    Hi Chelsea,
    sorry for your loss…. Champion pet foods are really good with blowing off customers when their foods are toxic, did you email Champion & tell them what has happened to your dog? did Champion ask to return the remaining kibble bag for it to be tested?
    Look what happened in Australia 2008 when the cats were dying after eating the Orijen cat dry kibble, a Vet had to go to the media & tell the media what’s was happening & Campion FINALLY put out a recall on the Australian Orijen cat formula’s… but more cats had to die before they would do the recall….
    The sad thing was all Orijen had to do was just change a few ingredients to pass the strict Australian custom laws we have then Orijen wouldn’t have needed to treat the imported Orijen cat food with gamma irradiation…
    http://www.wherearethepetfoodchampions.com/web/Orijen_Recall.html

  • Susan

    Hi what flavor is it? is it a formula with fish?

  • Chelsea

    Wondering if anyone else has had severe illness and or death since changing to the USA formulas. I lost my Mastiff (9) in March, another friend lost her golden retriever (13), and another just lost a young dog(4). All were on Orijen or Acana rotating formulas. All were healthy and had normal blood work within weeks of having a “unidentified mass on spleen/liver rupture”. All were taken to the vet for not being excited to eat, digestive issues, running noses, 2 had bloodshot eyes, and all were lethargic. All happened within 6 months of being on the new formulas, which none of those babies did well on. I had questioned Champion about the mercury content of the food if the fish was locally sourced in KY where there is a consumption advisory warning to not eat more than 6oz. of certain species of fish per month and get a very generic response with a link to the “white sheet” that only gives details on Canadian formulas. The new Acana formulas have those high risk fish species listed in the top 10 ingredients. Just wondering if there are others who have had the same thing or something similar happen since the change. It seems as though all the complaints to Champion are being blown off or ignored, and definately deleted off their Facebook pages.
    I have since taken my other 2 dogs off orijen and switched to Victor, the change is significant. They don’t have bloodshot eyes, peeing and pooping normally, their energy is back up, and the bloated bellies are gone. I just know it was the food.
    I’m really hoping I didn’t kill my dog by feeding him the new formulas and trusting that they were making a superior and safe product.

  • DEANNA ARSENEAU

    ask your vet about using metamucil,worked well for my two GSD’s a several years ago when they were sick from eating Canidae foods, my vet recommended it.I mix it with water until it is like applesauce and put it in theyre food it is all natural and safe.they only like the plain no orange flavor.

  • Miss E

    Like some who have posted below, my 13kg bag of Orijen that expires in November 2017 also has kibble that have begun to develop a whitish powder film that looks like mold and the other kibble have gotten extremely crumbly. What is happening?

  • Miss E

    My 13kg bag of Orijen (expires in November 2017) has, like some people below, a few kibble that has whitish powder that look like mold and the others have gotten crumbly. What is happening? 🙁 I have been a loyal Champion foods customer since 2014, and always appreciated the dark rich kibble. Until now.

  • Misty

    Our 1 year old Beagle mix puppy has been on Orijen since we rescued her and has always done well. Over the past two months, though, she has gotten the same GI upset with vomiting and diarrhea every time we would give her Orijen. She has also developed vaginitis. We stopped the Orijen cold turkey, calmed her Gi system down with chicken and wild rice, then canned Weruva. We now have her on Now Turkey grain free formula with Weruva topper and probiotics. She’s doing GREAT and is very excited about eating again! I’m so disappointed with Orijen and do NOT recommend!

  • Donna D

    I bought the food from Chewy.com and they immediately sent me a new bag. They are great! At that time I also contacted Champion to let them know. They just wrote back saying it looked like mold. I offered to send them a sample so they could test it but they didn’t want it.

  • Susan

    Hi did you take food back & get a refund…I read a complaint about senior Orijen dry kibble on a German Shepherd site, the lady’s 2 dogs have bad diarrhea as soon as they eat the Orijen senior kibble & she has a few bags & has contacted Orijen but still hasn’t received her refund, the vet put her dogs on a Hills W/D vet diet & Flagyl the dogs did firms poos then vet said put them back on the Orijen Senior kibble & they’re sick again….. This is why I rotate my dry kibbles so if there’s something wrong with one brand my boy isn’t on it long enough to suffer any real bad health problems…
    Look what happened in Australia 2008 all those poor cats died a painful death… Champion pet foods knew there was a problem with the food but did nothing about it until more cats died & a vet went public about all the deaths, then finally Champion pet foods had a recall on all their Orijen cat dry kibble only in Australia…..Our government has banned any Champion pet foods to come into the country now….all they care about is making money..
    Canidae Pure has a really good senior dry kibble called the Pure Meadow Senior… http://www.canidae.com/dog-food/products

  • Donna D

    I’ve been feeding my German Shepherd Dog Orijen most of her life. I’m now using the senior formula. The last bag didn’t smell quite right and then we found pieces of kibble with fuzzy white stuff on them. I contacted Orijen and they said it looked like mold. They said the issue stemmed from bulk storage and it had been corrected but they were not concerned on getting the word out in case there were other bags out there with mold in them. This made me lose confidence in them and I’m now looking to switch foods.

  • Susan

    Hi Deborah, sounds like it’s the food + food maybe causing intestinal stress….
    They do well while on the Flagyl (Metronidazole) then you stop the flagyl & keep feeding 1/2 Orijen & re infected the bowel?? I would STOP the Origen cold turkey re start the Flagyl & I ask vet can you try the Hills I/D Digestive Care instead of the Hills W/d….
    W/D formula the in-soluble fiber is very high 29% & the soluble fiber only 1.5% very low… W/D is for dogs with Diabetes, but cause of the high insoluble fiber can be used for dogs with IBD…My dog would not do firm poos on the W/D formula…..
    ..Stop the Orjen & just feed the Hills W/d & see do their poos firm up after 3-5 days?? if not see vet & tell him what worked
    or see another vet with fresh eyes…
    are poos yellow or look like a cow pattie & real dark ??
    With my boy we went through 2 yrs of hell “Taste Of The Wild” Sierra Mountain Roasted Lamb life stages kibble firmed Patch Poo’s up within 1-2 days & poos STAYED firm….. Sometimes these vets have no idea what some of these vet diets formula have in them….cause the formula worked for 1 dog so the vet tries the same vet formula on other dogs with diarrhea, also why hasn’t the vet continued the Flagyl?? sometimes the Flagyl needs to be taken for 28 days to clear up S.I.B.O….
    & diet needs changing…

  • Stacy Maran

    I was using Orejen original formula when the troubles began. I was told the recipe had changed. My vet recommended a bland diet of chicken and rice over the weekend. I have since switched to Dr. Gary’s dog food. So far so good. I can no longer recommend Orejen.

  • Deborah Nelson

    Rachel, what is your vet doing about the diarrhea? It has been two months and every time i take my 2 dogs off the Flagyl the diarrhea starts back. I switched them to the original since it was the senior food that made them sick, and the vet didnt want to change the food drastically right now so they are on 1/2 orijen original and 1/2 Science W/D, but i am going to ask the vet if i can take all 4 dogs off Orijen completely and I will return the 4 bags that ii have. The suffering my dogs have gone through and the messes i have had to clean up and the vet expense and time have been horrendous. I am so,tired of deaking with this and Orijen was supposed to replace the senior bags but they did not follow through. Just wondering how you are handling the problem.

  • Susan

    This link below was posted yesterday on a face book group I belong too…. It’s CBS interviewing CLP about their test result….. CLP have given all their test result to all the dry,wet & treats pet food companies that were tested & had very high readings…. which I think is a really good thing to do…..All CLP wants is what we all want, clean, safe, toxic free foods to feed our pets, these pet food companies now have the choice to either act & fix the problem, change their suppliers
    who they get their meats from or sit back & do nothing, we all will know if the pet food companies do nothing cause when CLP test their foods again they’ll still be high in contaminates, then stop feeding those formula’s….. http://sanfrancisco.cbslocal.com/2017/05/24/lead-mercury-arsenic-cadmium-found-in-popular-pet-foods/

  • JJ

    Thanks but “no thanks” we’ve only experienced stellar results with this food since introducing him to it since he was 8 weeks. My dog is now 4 years old and has been on the US version for a year. Before transitioning him to the US formula we stopped regional red and transitioned to Tundra. Afterwards we slowly fed US formula Regional Red. There were ZERO problems. I’m sorry for pet parents who had and are having problems.

  • Rachel

    It was tested from third party accredited labs, results posted online from Clean Label Project. You can check out their website, where they rated hundreds of brands.

  • aimee

    Hi JJ,
    Here is a link to the paper published regarding this incident https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/19703134

    It had been known and previously published that the feeding of irradiated cat food led to neurological disease, apparently Champion didn’t take the time to read the research.

  • Susan

    Here you go http://www.wherearethepetfoodchampions.com/web/Orijen_Recall.html read this & see how much Champion cares about our pets, read how many cats had to die in Australia from 2008-2009 cause Orijen didn’t care to remove their pet foods off the Australian shelves they knew there was a problem but didn’t want another recall, so more cats died, if Orijen met the Australian Quarantine Standards when bringing their pet foods into the country, none of this would have happened, do you think Orijen cares about your pet? I doubt it, they just see $$$ signs…..Orijen Champion pet foods are not allow to be imported into Australia now, these cats died very painfully…

  • Mayday

    “If they’re making a human grade claim, it should meet human grade standards,” Bowen said.

    Orijen brand pet food states that it’s biologically appropriate on the label and it’s website claims they use human grade ingredients. However, the lab says it found lead in at least one Orijen dog food product, at levels three times the FDA guidance for lead in certain human foods.

    They say the Orijen food tested positive for 300 ppb lead. The FDA advisory levels for dried fruit and candy limits lead to 100 ppb for human consumption.

  • Mayday

    I just read an article regarding lead levels in Orijen Tundra. 3X above safe limit. Any info on this?

  • Rachel

    Thank you. I’ve read that link, but unfortunately I still dont feel any better about their levels. If other high protein/low carb brands scored well, why is Orijen/Acana so much worse? It was stated the higher meat inclusions scored worse, but that proves to be false, in comparison to well rated high meat inclusion brands, like Primal, etc. Primal is even lower carb, higher protein than Orijen, yet, they scored 5 stars. Im still conflicted over Orijens scores, and not convinced on their defensive position of organic versus inorganic sources. Would anyone want to feed their children high levels of “organic” Arsenic day in and day out? Still seems there would be negative health consequences, after so many years of eating high levels of organjc arsenic/lead daily. I wish Orijen would stop taking such a defensive position, and just be willing to work with CLP to reduce the toxins. I’ve discontinued feeding it because of these concerns, as well as the quality issues of USA verus Canadian. They can defend their organic heavy metals all they want, but at the end of the day it’s still weighting heavily upon pet owners minds, as nobody wants to feel as though they are slowly poisoning their beloved pets.

  • JJ

    Thanks so much for providing these true and researched science based facts. The practice of individuals presenting made up information is scary and frustrating.

  • A.J. Jessup

    Is there any way to purchase the Canadian formula?
    Also- I feed my dog Orijen (all different varieties ) for breakfast and honest kitchen for dinner with no problems. He will be two in a couple weeks. We started him on earthborn holistic puppy for his whole puppy years (we didn’t know what he would like and didn’t want to waste money until we knew). Then at one years old he graduated to the expensive stuff (going back and forth between acana and Orijen- but he likes Orijen better). The only thing that concerns me is when he gets older- Orijen is very high in protein and that can be taxing on the kidneys. But we also supplement his food with fish oil, coconut oil, and a variety of veggies that we mix up from day to day- kale, spinach, green beans, broccoli, asparagus, butternut squash, carrots, sweet potatoes, pumpkin, zuchinni (he gets a mixture of three greens and an two oranges spread throughout the day). Plus he gets a spoon of plain Greek yogurt and three blueberries (or blackberries or raspberries). All the veggies are organic and frozen- easy to prep (and theyblast longer and little sodium). Finn loves frozen veggies- and we have given him fruit and veggies since he was a baby- so he’s used to it and loves them-there are many studies showing if you add something green to their diet each day-you cut cancer risk by 90% and Orange by 70% (sonwe do both). I cut his food portions down bc of the extra veggies. He is a very active dog but I feed him like he’s sedentary on the package to make room for veggies and some treats throughout the day. We will prob go to all home cooked when he is older and I have several books on making sure they get the right nutrients and proportions. After all this rambling- my point is that with this mixture he seems just fine. I did read recently about the concern of metal toxins in the food but found this article and feel better.
    http://www.championpetfoods.com/heavy-metals-and-pet-food-white-paper/
    My biggest praise was the food was from Canada and I felt much safer with that- but now that it’s from KY- that makes me nervous and I was hoping if I could still buy or import the Canadian one?

  • A.J. Jessup

    Here is an article that refutes this one- basically Orijen/scans is safe and the levels of these metals are found organically and at extremely low levels (we eat these metalsnin our foods too)
    http://www.championpetfoods.com/heavy-metals-and-pet-food-white-paper/

  • A.J. Jessup

    Read this research it may help with the heavy metal discussion- http://www.championpetfoods.com/heavy-metals-and-pet-food-white-paper/

  • JJ

    My store told us a year in advance about the change. The new Dogstar Kitchen was featured in many publications 2 years before they started construction.

  • JJ

    My dog also has NOT had any problems with the new formula. Hmmm

  • Susan

    Here you go, read then scroll down & read the bottom ten brands & their formula’s http://www.cleanlabelproject.org/product-ratings/pet-food/ the fish formula’s seem to have the most toxins….but the Orijen Tundra Goat, Venison, Mutton, Bison, Artic Char came 6th & has meats in it, sometimes these 5 star foods get a real good name & fall under the radar….

  • JJ

    Hello I would like to see where you read the info stating that the Kentucky manufacturing plant
    uses high levels of environmental toxins in the food. If you have this proof please forward.

  • Teri Retzlaff

    I can no longer recommend Orijen now that it is made in the U.S. After several years as a loyal Orijen customer, the last three bags have a great deal of crumbs (about 1 TBSP per cup vs 1 TBSP per 28 lb. bag when made in Canada). I find occasional fibers about 1.5″ long, too. I am switching to another grain-free kibble brand. Orijen deserves to lose the U.S. market with this visible-to-the-eye decline in quality. Additionally, my Golden Retriever seems hungry constantly. That’s what prompted my research to determine what was going on with this formerly trusted brand. Disappointing. Yes. Lost customer!

  • Rachel

    I have complained to them, even filed a formal complaint, they simply defended their brand and make excuses. Their KY plant doesnt seem to be the same, as well as the fact that their foods rated very bad for high levels of environmental toxins, such as lead & arsenic, according to the Clean label Projects lab tests on both Orijen and Acana. We switched b/c of this.

  • Stacy Maran

    I am beyond angry with these “best rated” dog foods! I have a diabetic mini schnauzer. As if the fact he is diabetic isn’t enough to worry about. I want him to have the best of everything available to him. Once diagnosed, we change food to Pinnacle. Everything was going great. A couple of months on Pinnacle, it was not available anymore. After much research, Orejen was the next best rated. After nearly a year, it breaks my heart what is happening. My guy has had awful diarrhea for the last week. I have been awake since 1am with the poor guy. I called the vet and they recommended a bland diet over the weekend. I still wasn’t sure what the source of the problem was. Well, I guess I know now! Why is this okay?! I don’t have any problems paying the cost for a good quality food. But when the makers of foods decide to cut corners and change recipes, putting pets at risk, it makes me f—-ing furious!!!!!

  • Deborah Nelson

    If enough people complain to orijen then maybe we can retrieve our vet bills. I am still waiting on the coupons promised for the last two bags. An attorney in my office, I just found out his son owns Honest Kitchens. Thought I would try some of it with my home cooked meals. Everyone needs to contact orijen about these problems. They are telling me no one else has complained

  • reiko

    six fish for years diarrhea for two months…….. $$$$$$$$ spent at vet to diagnose with no results, switched to honest kitchen no more diarrhea!! wonder if we can recover our vet costs since so many dog owners are experiencing diarrhea

  • reiko

    I have 2 big dogs and ship six bags (at a time) of Orijen six fish and alternate with regional red ; been doing this for years. My flat coated retriever has had diarrhea for months now and my lab has been bloated. The vet asked if i switched foods and I said no so he ran hundreds of dollars of tests and nothing. I switched to honest kitchen and wha la no diahrea and no bloating. I just noticed the bags say made in Kentucky and saw the “raw” ingredients. WOW!!! Im surprised my supplier didnt mention the formula change. Seriously disappointed in the supplier and Orijen. Returning 6 bags tomorrow.

  • Renee Barone

    I haven’t had any issues with her yet, and really don’t want to have to start doing that. Thanks for your reply

  • aimee

    Hi Frank,

    I totally agree in regards to the star rating. They let people assume a 1 star food is problematic when it may or may not be.

    IMOHO I think the CLP is a bit of a money grab… create panic and ask for donations to join the cause and further expose the “problem”

    That said I don’t have any reason not to trust that 1 star food had higher levels than a 5 star food at that one snapshot in time when they measured levels. But with no way of knowing if anything is above a MTL that information is somewhat meaningless.

    Really for me it all goes back to quality control.Is the company vested in animal health and tests their ingredients and their finished products? Do they employ toxicologists and veterinarians and nutritionists and microbiologists? Or are they just a marketing company putting out a product?

  • I guess posting the numbers could help their credibility since we can evaluate their methodology a little better and see something a bit more defined than a generic star rating. If the numbers you provided is accurate though, it pretty much makes their star ratings pointless, which seems designed to scaremonger. I would have expected a one star rating to mean the food was OVER the NRC tolerable limit, not merely slightly higher but still well within safety guidelines, and I’m sure that’s what other people would have assumed as well.

  • aimee

    Hi Frank Swift,

    If they posted the numbers would you trust the actual numbers more so than the ranking? Why or why not?

    For me the importance of having the numbers is to see if they are at all relevant. From the little data we have available I’d venture to say they are not.

    They posted a few Orijen averages: Arsenic avg 1050 ppb for cat food and 850 ppb for dog food. The NRC maximum tolerable limit 2005 is 12,500 ppb for sensitive species and 30,000 ppb for mammals in general.

    Lead: ~210 ppb for cat food and

    100 ppb for dog food maximum tolerable limit 10,000 ppb

    While Orijen’s numbers for arsenic are much higher than other products they are still well below a level at which an adverse effect would be expected.

    CLP also published their average for the bottom 5% of products: Arsenic 5550 ppb, Lead 2420 ppb, and mercury 187 ppb. These averages are all under MTL with an exception for mercury in cats during reproduction as that MTL is 68 ppb For non reproducing MTL is 267 ppb.

    As the 187 ppb is average it seems likely to me that some products may have tested higher that the MTL for this heavy metal.

    Interestingly enough no where on the site so I see the NRC MTL posted. They only compare to humans, different species different responses to these naturally occurring substances.

  • LunaLove

    I tried ACANA for the first time with my dog and she didnt do well on the food not blaming the food at all, however she now needs to get anal glands expressed twice a month and has never had this problem until I tried this food.

  • LunaLove

    Hi Frank I was wondering if you could give me any reccomendations on wet and dry dog food. I’m always concered about the added vitamins and was considering The Honest Kitchen but seen a review stating how big the vitamin pack was. I’m not sure what that meant but compared to other dry dog food I seen no difference. I’m not saying there isn’t a difference what I mean is I don’t know what the difference is. I was also considering Nature Logic until I was made aware of how the levels were either too high or too low and not balanced. I can’t fix that problem by adding or adjusting the food so I need a balanced dry or wet dog food as it is. I wanted to try Nature’s Variety but I feel like the have a lot of recalls.

  • We don’t know anything because they don’t display the data that show how they arrived at their conclusions. How do we know A tested higher than B, because they say so? That’s why the relative rankings are worthless.

  • aimee

    Hi Frank Swift,

    I read through a lot of the comments and didn’t find anything to make me question the relative rankings. I found nothing implying that A had more than B but the Clean Label Project reported B had more than A.

    Let’s say Product A had 15 times the levels of heavy metals than B. What does that mean??

    It could be that both products were well below safe upper limits for heavy metals. It could mean that both products exceed the safe upper limit for any particular heavy metal. Or it could mean A exceeds the safe upper limit and B does not.

    All we know is that A tested higher (less stars) than B. I think the problem lies with people assigning relevance to the rankings when there may not be any.

    It does make sense to me that fish based products will test higher than non fish, and I can also see how poultry products (slaughtered at a young age) would have lower heavy metal levels than non poultry products.

    Heavy metals accumulate in bone. In my opinion this is likely the reason for the relatively high levels in Nature’s Logic, which produces some very very high ash products. Lots and lots of bone.

    On a darker note the CLP may be intending to cause a bit of panic to drive donations and the clean label certification seal may be a way of “extorting” funds from companies. Maybe all the products are safe but only companies that pay CLP to use their seal appear safe to the general consumer.

    I don’t know how this all plays out which is why I said “I too have some concerns with the clean label project”

  • Katrin Hanson

    Thank you for all your help, after reading the Reddit thread I think I can relax a little, I will still walk away from Orijen since I was happier with the Canadian version of the food.

  • You should have every reason to distrust their ratings though. Here’s a really good Reddit thread where they were questioned and vetted by skeptics: https://www.reddit.com/r/IAmA/comments/64mpty/we_are_the_clean_label_project_a_nonprofit_that/

  • aimee

    Hi Frank Swift,
    I too have some concerns with the clean label project. I’d really like to see the actual data instead of their interpretation, but it doesn’t surprise me that fish products rate high in toxins given all the human warnings in regard to limiting certain fish consumption.

    I have no reason not to trust their 5 star rating on Beneful based on the parameters they are judging food by. Different parameter will lead to different ratings.

    Nature’s Logic scored poorly by those parameters and I have no reason not to trust that rating either.

  • Katrin Hanson

    I know what you mean, a lot of food I would never feed my dogs received 5 starts.
    Most of there top rated have chicken and rice as the main ingredient.
    There are a couple fish foods that still ended up with a higher rating.
    I just can’t wrap my head around it. Since some brands like Sojo have products with 5-1 stars.
    Clean Lab claims to be a nonprofit organization, and a lot of different news agencies released their findings. Just don’t know who to trust nowadays.

    Nonetheless seeing a grafic like this… https://uploads.disquscdn.com/images/c47dc60f400f97502543f1a06cee2d1f8fbe4193bae12f4f4bfede5c44679d9b.jpg

    is just scary and made me look into different foods again. Probably will end up rotating different foods.

  • Clean Label Project appears to be a spurious site, lack of transparency and their testing appears to be non-standard. They seem to immediately tag any dog food with fish ingredients with a one star rating. Seems fishy to me. (no pun intended)

    And there is no reality in which Beneful could legitimately be given 5 stars as a quality dog food. If I didn’t know better I’d say this site was a fake charity front being run by Purina.

  • Katrin Hanson

    I fed raw for a few years until our new dog didn’t take to it. I have been happy with Orijen but now I am concerned after clean lable project came out with a list ranking dog food by their contamination with toxins like lead and arsenic..
    For some reason a lot of the cheaper low quality foods had better test results as Orijen or your mentioned food Nature’s logic.
    Would be nice to have a food without toxins and that are nutritional healthy…

  • Deborah Nelson

    It is the Orijen Senior that made my 2 dogs sick from the past two bags. The other 2 dogs use Orijen Original. My vet who is anti-home cooked meals for dogs says maybe it is the change of ingredients from Canada to the Ky plants. I think the Ky plant has been open for the past year. Orijen is denying that there is anything wrong with their Senior dog food. Has anyone complained to Orijen? If you don’t file a complaint they will never do anything. Also a report just came out on dog food and Orijen has been named one of the best. It has everything about all dog foods. Best Dog Food Reviews.com My dogs are going back on home made food as soon as they are back to normal. I was already giving half and half. I hate to think if they were only on the Orijen what would have happened. Deborah

  • Tara Lujan Reyes

    I to noticed that the new formula was not dark and it didn’t have the fish smell. I took the bag back I thought it was because the air was not taken out of the bag. When I would by the food it was like a brick now it’s loose like they don’t vacuume it like they did in Canada. I am looking for a new food my dog was on 6 fish for 4 years never a problem until now.

  • Elizabeth

    I switched my dachshund to Orijen about two weeks ago. Over the past couple of days, she has been very different. Almost as if she was in a fog, her whole body feels very stiff, she seems to calculate every move she makes. Her whole personality has changed it seems. Has any one experienced this when switching foods?

  • Dj

    Also have two older dogs who I cycle through Orijen and Acana. Just cycled back to Orijen and both have diarrhea. This latest bag also smells much worse than I recall before. Looks like it may be rancid or something.

  • Renee Barone

    I understand, I meet with a vet that seems to be a great vet who also feeds Purina. I just know from pasted pets that I want to try to feed my pets better food.

  • Renee Barone

    I’m sorry to hear that. I’m definitely getting her on a lower protein food.

  • Renee Barone

    Thank you, that was one company I was concerning to use.

  • Renee Barone

    Thank you for all the info. I’m going have to search the city’s 2 hrs either directions to find the foods you mentioned. I live in a area that only has a petco. I really do appreciate all the knowledge you shared with me. It’s time for a road trip. LoL

  • Henry Jackson

    me too

  • Jill K Avery

    Hi, I am so sorry to hear. Where do you live bc I buy my raw food from a local holistic pet store. I can ask them who they trust though if you are not in Palm Beach County/Broward County area.

  • Henry Jackson

    same here .. what raw do you use ?

  • Henry Jackson

    why did they not put out of notice they were doing this so we could slowly introduce our dogs and not make them sick.. they don’t care about anything except money

  • Henry Jackson

    people please realize that too high protein will cause dogs to sometimes males pace cant go pee or pee a lot or be uncomfortable when peeing …….. this happened years ago and spent tons of money on them with tests it was too high protein in evo. 4 days after I stopped they were back to there selfs..

  • Henry Jackson

    me to as of today

  • Henry Jackson

    well something has changed which made me look up reviews today. I am very smart about slowly introducing they have been on orijen for years but recently started having the runs, nausea , urine problems.. I am taking them off this food. I had such high hopes.. this happened many years ago with EVO . I took my dog to the vet .. trouble peeing man I spent a lot of money they found zero nothing .. I thought you know that food is new.. sure enough took him off the whole problem stopped.. damn now what am I going to do..

  • Henry Jackson

    ear dry relief from vets best works wonders keeps ears dry so ear infections don’t get bad .. I am in the same boat as you my dogs are also old. they all started having problems last 5 months.. eating grass throwing up sick ,the runs.. I think from high protein they have developed kidney problems . ugh what chicken rice and broth? then multivitamin . I am at a loss

  • Henry Jackson

    I just started checking after using ojijen for years my 6 dogs are not well and many the diarrhea this is an expensive food to be having these problems.. I have cancer or at this point I would make it myself ..

  • Troy Johnson

    USA orijen is garbage.My dog will not even touch it.Another great company going bad because of money greed.They just couldn’t just stay with there roots.

  • Bohyeon An

    Try Open farms or Ziwi Peak venison or the honest kitchen grain free recipe. I have Corgi, feed her all different one by rotation or mixing together, she doesn’t have any problem. But trying to give new one her slowly & mixing little by little.

  • Bohyeon An

    What about the color ? Is that darker than old one ? I just got back to orijen original. It wasn’t that uch darker than before. Did I got just wrong bag ?

  • Bohyeon An

    My friend has English Bulldog. She had problems nodding head up and down after changed food which has high protein ; Brand- Blue buffalo, from same brand. So my friend changed to Canidae chicken, problems solved. No diarrhea, no more nodding head. Hope it helps. By the way, when my friend’s dog had nodding problem, we went to vet. Vet said same thing, possibly high protein caused.

  • Bohyeon An

    I came back to Orijen original today from Canidae, Open farms. Now I’m feeding my Corgi Ziwi peak venison, Orijen original and Honest kitchen grain free turkey/chicken by rotation or mixing together for her picky taste. Lucky she doesn’t have any problem so far. She likes new formula than old one. However, the color of kibble is very darker than old formula. I called to the local pet shop where I purchased it. I was worrying that I got expired one. She said it may possible for changed the formular of food. Is that true ? Will attached pictures. https://uploads.disquscdn.com/images/c4f1f1133b25315ceb4f70a47488843a7ffebbf53cbe2b2ff79abd4d8260404b.jpg https://uploads.disquscdn.com/images/d17e41f74d8cb5af7c0bb977c8b4f91d7d79fd5c352a1254a9383acfde27660c.jpg

  • Edgar Sianez

    Thank you i will take a look at it right now!

  • Pitlove

    Hi Edgar-

    A couple I follow on youtube that has 3 Huskies, uses Dr.Tims. Excellent food and the Kinesis formula comes in 44lb bags.

  • Edgar Sianez

    I would like know what would be a food to feed my husky who he is a year and four months and i still dont know what type of food to buy him

  • Renee Barone

    Can I ask what kind of fur baby’s you have? Do you have any issues with anal glands? Those comments worried me. I was all set to switch then read that. Does anyone like the solid gold? I thought it was a good dogfood maybe I’m mistaken. It’s just that the protein is so high that it worried me.

  • Renee Barone

    This is so confusing. You have to be a scientist to figure it out! I’m glad you guys know this stuff I was clueless. I would make her food if I knew what was a balanced diet for her. At least I’d know where the food was coming from and what it is.

  • Renee Barone

    Thanks Frank, I was reading the comments and I read someone said about them having to do anal glands, I’ve been lucky so far in not having any issues with that. Did you see those comments? I was hoping any dog food I chose it wouldn’t have to much ( it was beans I think) of those ingredients in them. When you supplement with raw do you purchase ready-made raw food or just do it yourself ? I was going to just buy chicken and grind it up myself and add it. I just haven’t seemed to find the time. It’s just easier to purchase. After finding another website someone posted I may just start doing it myself. It’s scary to think what these dogfood companies put in there mixes! Thanks again

  • Yes I was paying attention to the sugar content, and the fact that millet is a safe grain option for diabetics, those two would indicate to me that it’s a safe ingredient to use as a binder. Though I would still rotate diets anyway just to ensure millet isn’t a constant everyday ingredient.

  • aimee

    Thanks for clarifying. The Glycemic load table I looked at listed millet boiled at 26, cooked and cooled potato as 12 with some entries higher and some lower. (Potato GL varied a lot depending on variety and method of cooking and serving), and peas much lower at 4.

    In regards to sugar content millet is the lowest and pea the highest.

    As I said I really don’t know how this relates to a complete kibble product where it is mixed with a lot of other ingredient sources.

  • I look at the glycemic load, not the the GI for a more accurate picture, though I should have said it is lower in natural sugar than glycemic value (I keep conflating the two.) Millet has a GL of 17, lower than potatoes but higher than peas. Peas and lentils have the lowest count while potatoes have the highest, so millet seems to fall in between.

  • aimee

    Hi Frank Swift,
    Honestly, I don’t know the relevance of GI of any one ingredient in a processed food but I’ve always thought of millet as a having a higher glycemic index that peas or potato(cold potato as it would be in kibble is almost in the low GI range) You posted ” They use millet as a binder, which even though is a type of grain, has a lower glycemic value than peas and potatoes”

    I find millet commonly reported as 71 ( high GI) or when a porridge 107, Peas in the 40’s ( low GI) and cold potato in the range 55-56( borderline between low and medium).

  • I understand your frustration, been doing a ton of research as well and would have settled on Orijen/Acana had they not gone to crap with their USA product line.

    Instead I’ll be trying Nature’s Logic as a kibble base with 50% raw mixed in. Nature’s Logic has no corn, wheat, rice, soy, tapioca, or potato. They use millet as a binder, which even though is a type of grain, has a lower glycemic value than peas and potatoes (which is the important thing). It seems to be the best alternative if you’re looking for a formula that doesn’t use lentils or potatoes, and contains no synthetic vitamins.

    There are complaints that Nature’s Logic is either incomplete as a complete and balanced diet or the company is not totally honest in their nutrient analysis, but this is the best dry food option I found that doesn’t use peas, potatoes and synthetic vitamins, and may have a total glycemic value lower than meat based kibble that uses lentils or potatoes as binders. Since I’m feeding partial raw anyway, I think any deficiency in nutrients will be covered by topping half the kibble with a good raw brand anyway.

    Hope this helps!

  • Deborah Nelson

    My 4 goldens have been on orijens for years and have been on the Ky formula since they opened. 2 of them have been sick the past 2 months diahhrea night and day. I just realized the 2 sick dogs are on the senior and the other 2 on adult. I think there is a serious problem going on with the senior. I gave all 4 the adult last night and no diarrhea. Just the last 2 bags of senior were a problem. I am very upset because vets never want to say it is the food. I am going back to homemade. Too many recalls and crap in manufactured dog food. I am going to find out how to have the food analysed.

  • Renee Barone

    I was all set to try Acana or Orijen till I read the comments. I’m tired or researching dog food. I only want the best like everyone else. I have a 14 month golden retriever she’s 62 lbs. I had her to two vets that day her weight is very good. I’ve have her on Solid gold barking at the moon and Natures variety instinct raw chicken. I was all set to do a raw diet from what I read and changed my mind. I only give her about 1/4-1/2 cup of raw each meal. The Breader was giving kibble and raw where I got her. She is getting over a yeast ear infection in both ears. So after some research an online vet said to stay away from starches. I made her homemade treats with a lot of sweet potatoes. I’m thinking it’s my fault for the ear infection. So I’m looking for food with no rice, very limited or no starches. I’m loosing my mind researching. She is not as active as she was as a pup so the 40% protein she is on is to much. Someone also had dogs and seem to think the high protein dog food might have caused some issues. I only want to do my best. Can anyone help me decide? Thank you

  • adopt_a_dog

    Sorry to inform you but anything Purina is crap

  • Janice L Dwyer-Greenberg

    You’re welcome ! 🙂

  • Janice L Dwyer-Greenberg

    Hi Zoey, I order Horizon Legacy from Petflow.com. I get the Puppy formula as it has more protein. I order the Timberwolf Legends from Timerwolf Organics website. I get their. Grainfree formula.

  • Janice L Dwyer-Greenberg

    Excuse the typo. It’s supposed to say grainfree.

  • Janice L Dwyer-Greenberg

    This is for Zoey: I buy Horizon Legacy from Pet Flow.com. I get the Puppy formula as it has more protein than the adult formula. A 25lb bag is $70 dollars with free shipping. I buy Timerwolf Legends from Timerwolf Organics’ website . I get the Grainger formulas.

  • zoey zhu

    Btw, where can I get those brands dog food?

  • zoey zhu

    Thanks so much! It’s very helpful!

  • dulcetpine

    My lab (who literally has eaten just about everything including a giant sea shell) stopped eating the original formula. I’m leaning towards moving away from Orijen.

  • Reggie A.

    I’ve been feeding my fur babies Orijen for years. After the change from the Canadian formula to the US formula, we transitioned between the formulas to our pets slowly, about 2 weeks. No complaints, no problems, no issues. Happy gals munching away. I have to admit, the odor of the new formula is a bit overbearing though lol. I have a feeling some of the complaints are of parents not transitioning correctly. New/ different ingredients, to me mean new food, good thing we still had some of the old stuff. the only CONS other than the odor, is that the price has changed too. Still a loyal believer in Orijen…

  • Thena Sky

    Same. Three dogs on Acana for years and now all are sick. Took me too long to realize it’s the food. My poor babies…