4Health Dog Food (Dry)

Share

Rating: ★★★★☆

4Health Dog Food receives the Advisor’s second-highest tier rating of 4 stars.

The 4Health product line includes 9 dry dog foods.

Each recipe below includes its related AAFCO nutrient profile when available on the product’s official webpage: Growth, Maintenance, All Life Stages, Supplemental or Unspecified.

Important: Because many websites do not reliably specify which Growth or All Life Stages recipes are safe for large breed puppies, we do not include that data in this report. Be sure to check actual packaging for that information.

  • 4Health Puppy Formula [U]
  • 4Health Small Bites Formula [U]
  • 4Health Large Breed Formula [U]
  • 4Health Chicken and Rice Formula [U]
  • 4Health Salmon and Potato Formula [U]
  • 4Health Performance Formula (5 stars) [U]
  • 4Health Mature Adult Formula (3 stars) [U]
  • 4Health Lamb and Rice Formula (3 stars) [U]
  • 4Health Healthy Weight Formula (3 stars) [U]

4Health Chicken and Rice Formula was selected to represent the other products in the line for this review.

4Health Chicken and Rice Formula

Dry Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 29% | Fat = 17% | Carbs = 46%

Ingredients: Chicken, chicken meal, cracked pearled barley, ground white rice, chicken fat (preserved with mixed tocopherols), oatmeal, dried beet pulp, natural chicken flavor, flaxseed, fish meal, potassium chloride, salt, choline chloride, dried chicory root, glucosamine hydrochloride, dried Lactobacillus acidophilus fermentation product, dried Bifidobacterium animalis fermentation product, dried Lactobacillus reuteri fermentation product, vitamin E supplement, iron proteinate, zinc proteinate, Yucca schidigera extract, copper proteinate, ferrous sulfate, zinc sulfate, copper sulfate, potassium iodide, thiamine mononitrate, manganese proteinate, manganous oxide, chondroitin sulfate, ascorbic acid, vitamin A supplement, biotin, niacin, calcium pantothenate, manganese sulfate, sodium selenite, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), vitamin B12 supplement, riboflavin, vitamin D supplement, folic acid

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 4.4%

Red items indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis26%15%NA
Dry Matter Basis29%17%46%
Calorie Weighted Basis25%35%40%
Protein = 25% | Fat = 35% | Carbs = 40%

The first ingredient in this dog food is chicken. Although it is a quality item, raw chicken contains about 80% water. After cooking, most of that moisture is lost, reducing the meat content to just a fraction of its original weight.

After processing, this item would probably account for a smaller part of the total content of the finished product.

The second ingredient is chicken meal. Chicken meal is considered a meat concentrate and contains nearly 300% more protein than fresh chicken.

The third ingredient is barley. Barley is a starchy carbohydrate supplying fiber and other healthy nutrients. However, aside from its energy content, this cereal grain is of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

The fourth ingredient is ground white rice, another name for rice flour. Ground rice is made from either white or brown rice and is considered a gluten-free substitute for wheat flour.

The fifth ingredient is chicken fat. Chicken fat is obtained from rendering chicken, a process similar to making soup in which the fat itself is skimmed from the surface of the liquid.

Chicken fat is high in linoleic acid, an omega-6 fatty acid essential for life. Although it doesn’t sound very appetizing, chicken fat is actually a quality ingredient.

The sixth ingredient is oatmeal, a whole-grain product made from coarsely ground oats. Oatmeal is naturally rich in B-vitamins, dietary fiber and can be (depending upon its level of purity) gluten-free.

The seventh ingredient is beet pulp. Beet pulp is a controversial ingredient, a high fiber by-product of sugar beet processing.

Some denounce beet pulp as an inexpensive filler while others cite its outstanding intestinal health and blood sugar benefits.

We only call your attention here to the controversy and believe the inclusion of beet pulp in reasonable amounts in most dog foods is entirely acceptable.

After the natural flavor, we find flaxseed, one of the best plant sources of healthy omega-3 fatty acids. Provided they’ve first been ground into a meal, flax seeds are also rich in soluble fiber.

However, flaxseed contains about 19% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With three notable exceptions

First, we note the inclusion of fish meal, another protein-rich meat concentrate.

Fish meal is typically obtained from the “clean, dried, ground tissue of undecomposed whole fish and fish cuttings” of commercial fish operations.1

Unfortunately, this particular item is anonymous. Because various fish contain different types of fats, we would have preferred to have known the source species.

Next, chicory root is rich in inulin, a starch-like compound made up of repeating units of carbohydrates and found in certain roots and tubers.

Not only is inulin a natural source of soluble dietary fiber, it’s also a prebiotic used to promote the growth of healthy bacteria in a dog’s digestive tract.

And lastly, this food contains chelated minerals, minerals that have been chemically attached to protein. This makes them easier to absorb. Chelated minerals are usually found in better dog foods.

4Health Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Judging by its ingredients alone, 4Health Dog Food looks like an above-average dry product.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 29%, a fat level of 17% and estimated carbohydrates of about 46%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 27% and a mean fat level of 15%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 50% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 54%.

Near-average protein. Near-average fat. And near-average carbs when compared to a typical dry dog food.

Even when you consider the protein-boosting effect of the flaxseed, this looks like the profile of a kibble containing a moderate amount of meat.

Bottom line?

4Health is a plant-based dry dog food using a moderate amount of named meats as its main sources of animal protein, thus earning the brand 4 stars.

Highly recommended.

Please note certain recipes are sometimes given a higher or lower rating based upon our estimate of their total meat content and (when appropriate) their fat-to-protein ratios.

4Health Dog Food
Recall History

The following list (if present) includes all dog food recalls since 2009 directly related to this product line. If there are no recalls listed in this section, we have not yet reported any events.

You can view a complete list of all dog food recalls sorted by date. Or view the same list sorted alphabetically by brand.

To learn why our ratings have nothing to do with a product’s recall history, please visit our Dog Food Recalls FAQ page.

Get free dog food recall alerts sent to you by email. Subscribe to The Advisor’s recall notification list.

Dog Food Coupons
and Discounts

Readers are invited to check for coupons and discounts shared by others in our Dog Food Coupons Forum.

Or click the buying tip below. Please be advised we receive a fee for referrals made to the following online store.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

The Dog Food Advisor does not test dog food products.

We rely entirely on the integrity of the information provided by each company. As such, the accuracy of every review is directly dependent upon the specific data a company chooses to share.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

We rely on tips from readers. To report a product change or request an update of any review, please contact us using this form.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, due to the biological uniqueness of every animal, none of our ratings are intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in a specific dietary response or health benefit for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

However, we do receive a fee from Chewy.com for each purchase made as a direct result of a referral from our website. This fee is a fixed dollar amount and has nothing to do with the size of an order or the brand selected for purchase.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Notes and Updates

06/13/2017 Last Update

  1. Association of American Feed Control Officials
  • Morgan Whitney

    4Health is made for Tractor Supply by Diamond. Tractor Supply owns their own research and development team that created 4Health. Taste of The Wild is made my Diamond. Many farm stores carry it. Bomgaars, Orschlen, and TSC are a few I know of. Bomgaars and Orschlen Farm and Home are family owned companies. Both being Midwest stores. Mostly in Iowa and Nebraska. Last I knew TSC does not have the TOW Prey line as they just got a new line of 4Health. I worked for all 3 companies i have listed.

  • Shelley Rodriguez

    The puppy food is not for large breed puppies. My Ovcharka Mountain Shepherd puppy likes the food and it seems to be high quaility but the pellets are too small. She gets them caught in her throat and ends up coughing until she throws up. She is not a food gulper either. They should have a large breed puppy specific food.

  • anon101

    I would just change, that is what I do with a couple of the Zignature formulas that I use as a base.
    The most that might happen is a soft stool or two (if anything at all).

  • Crazy4cats

    It really depends on your dogs. You might want to take it slow if they have been eating the same food every day for a long time. I switch brands and flavors without transitioning now. But, I’ve been feeding a variety of toppers and kibble for a few years. I transitioned them to new kibble over about 7 to 10 days when I first started. Good luck to you. I believe it’s healthy to feed a little variety!

  • bill mckelvey

    I give this food to my dogs, my question is if I change flavors, do I need to transition or can I just change it out. They are acting like they are getting tired of the current flavor which is the lamb and rice. Thank you.

  • Darla

    It’s not the protein. It’s high calcium absorption. High levels of vitamin D will also cause more calcium to absorb. As Haleycookie mentioned, proper calcium/phosphorus is very crucial.

  • Darla

    Pedigree needs to be banned!

  • Luv

    I’m not sure. Hopefully, DogFoodAdvisor does a Review on it soon.

  • Cory Mann

    Something still doesn’t add up to me cause there is no chance of tractor supply having tow prey….that would then compete with their exclusive brand 4health around the same price range…maybe you might know but I can’t get or find out who actually owns the private label 4health but I’m starting to think it’s Schell and Kampeter….

  • Luv

    We received TOW Prey last week and we just put it on the shelves yesterday. It’s sparked a lot of interest with our customers. The beef is definitely going to be the best seller. I expect a markup on the prices once it gets a little more out there.

  • Cory Mann

    I stand corrected and I’m about to have alittle chat with my newco rep ….i was lead to believe that even after Diamond bought TOW that it would still not be sold to the big box stores…..But their prices on it are the same as ours and we are in a small town…also your right on the new product “prey” and I just ordered a bunch cause I was also told no big box stores would be offered it cause it was made to compete with thier cheaper brands. Cause they are putting a 29.99 retail price on it for 30lb bag that’s not much different from the regular formula tow….im started to think it’s all a big monopoly by Schell and Kampter that has the pet food market cornered

  • Luv

    I’m pretty sure Tractor Supply is the only big store that can get TOW. But TOW has a new line now called TOW Prey… I’m not sure if TSC has that.

  • Cory Mann

    Hello Kathleen, all three brands you mentioned all have a chicken free line now I believe ….also did you know all three are manufactured from the same company(Not owned).Im my opinion tractor supply co is just the new Costco cause by making their brand that is comparable to the competition makes them alot more $$$$$$ Example—-costco made the Kirkland label and tractor supply has 4health….So of course the price point is gonna destroy anyone else…My opinion on picking a dog food is something with no fillers and has a no chicken product cause obviously your dog has food allergies and just look into the recipe and see where the proteins and nutrients and pulled from. Cause there is good and bad ways to get that from other items. Also my suggestion on the soft stools is go buy some pumpkin supplement and it will take care of that

  • Cory Mann

    Hi Amber I’m in the same boat with the feed store as you are …..Dont forget we are able to get TOW which won’t sell to any box stores or supermarkets just indepently own businesses…Both brands are really comparable in base price and quality in my opinion. Also everyone should understand that the grain free is a fairly new thing and can be argued from both sides on which is better for your animal..Also when it comes to protein there is no such thing as giving to much(too little yes) cause they only way it could hurt your animal is if it has a sensitive stomach or other medical conduction….what people should really look at is how are these companies are getting their proteins and nutrients for their foods cause that’s what I base my choice on.

  • Cory Mann

    Actually you are half right cause 4health is a private label made exclusively for tractor supply co. They are actually manufactured by the Schell and Kamter co (which also owns Diamond Co and now taste of the wild) Its kinda strange to me but the Schell and kampter manufactured alot of the dog foods out there… seems like it would be a conflict of interest to me ….Few examples Kirkland dog foods ,Canidie pet foods plus many more including their own TOW and Diamond

  • It is my firm belief that they are too much for a non working companion dog. Yes, technically they are better as they don’t contain empty fillers.

  • anon101

    See excerpt below from http://skeptvet.com/Blog/2015/08/veterinary-medicine-is-a-business-and-that-includes-alternative-medicine/ click on link for full article and comments.

    Bottom Line
    “The bottom line is that financial bias is a real issue in veterinary medicine at all levels, and it has to be investigated and managed. However, this is not the same as saying there is widespread fraud or a sinister conspiracy involving vets and companies that do business with them. There is no reason to believe that the majority of vets are doing anything other than the best they can to help their patients and clients. And there is absolutely no reason to believe vets offering alternative therapies are any less subject to financial bias or any purer in their motivation or behavior than vets practices science-based medicine.”

  • Luv

    My friend, who is a vet, said that vets get paid to recommend Pedigree. It’s awful, isn’t it?

  • Luv

    Hi Amber! I definitely understand your frustration. I work at a local feed store that my family owns. We can’t carry 4Health due to it being a Tractor Supply only brand.

    I had a bit of trouble choosing a dog food that fit my two labradors needs, just like you. We sell a product called Victor that is absolutely perfect. I am the top Victor salesman in Alabama. I personally feed their Senior Healthy Weight to my two.

    I would recommend checking them out and finding a local provider. They do not do chain stores, which I can appreciate since we are also a local business. They are in Texas. They also have a cat food (which i don’t feed to my two because I need a weight management food) that is very good too.

    They do have a variety of foods that are less than a 28% protein. Those are the Multi-pro (21-10), Beef (23-11), Chicken (24-?), High energy (24-20), Lamb (26-?), Performance (Recommended for labs because of the added glucosamine, 26-18), and the professional (26-18).

    If your beagle needs a food that helps his skin, then you could check out their Victor Ocean Fish. I believe it is also under 28% protein.

    Thanks,

    Olivia.

  • nekkidtuber

    I’m starting to think grain free isn’t all it’s cracked up to be. Our dogs have been on Taste of the Wild grain free for five years, and their SW Canyon for two years. It is made by the same company as 4Health. They started getting picky a few months ago with it so we had to start putting a little wet food in it. Then one got diarrhea in June 2017 that cleared up when we took her off it. Put her back on it and the diarrhea came back and turned into soft messy stool for months into October 2017 when we took her off it again. Not going abnormally, just twice a day, but never a good stool. Took her off it again and stools went back to normal. Then one of our other dogs got diarrhea and we found evidence of soft stools out in the back of the yard where he usually goes. Took him off it and stools went back to normal. We have all three on the 4Health Chicken and Rice now and they are doing fine. My research said that the grain free food use peas and/or potato to make up bulk and that a lot of dogs have problems with those. However, ours had been fine on it up until a few months ago. I sent an inquiry to TOTW (Diamond) to see if the formulation had changed but haven’t heard back.

  • Roe Wedd

    Yes! Something has happened to 4Health. My 6 yr old poodle won’t touch the new bag after eating it for 2 years! Now after reading yours I will not try to force him to eat it any more. So sorry to hear about your Levi.

  • Kathleen S

    I recently decided to give this food a try after hearing many good things about it. I have an 8 year old lab who has rotated through many different foods in her life. Most recently I was feeding canidae when I open a bag she wouldn’t touch…not like her at all.

    I can’t feed my dog any chicken formulas, it gives her gas, and I love that this food has multiple formulas without chicken. She has done great on this food, I even noticed her poops are smaller!
    The ironic thing is I’ve given her diamond naturals before and it did not go well.

    I’m trying my new puppy on this food as well and it’s going ok…I’ve tried several things and he continues to have soft stool regularly. I was hoping to feed the dogs the same food, but it might not happen.

    For the price this food is definitely worth a try!

  • haleycookie

    You can contact any company about their calcium and phosphorus amounts in their foods. Also protein has nothing to do with how the bones grow. That is an old myth. Large and giant breeds should be kept on a large breed puppy food for 1 and a half to 2 years at least as adult foods do not have the proper calcium and phosphorus for a growing large breed puppy bones.

  • s_smc

    I have very large breed and most of us switch off the puppy food between 4 & 6 months because too much protein can grown their long bones too fast. Seriously doubt it will hurt your pup, although watch the fat. One issue I have with 4Health and New Balance is they don’t list the calcium and phosphorus content… yet Diamond does.??

  • Lakota Cockers

    We were devout earthborn users since day one they came on the market but started having issues with differences in the quality and runny stools ,throwing up etc. Then went to 4Health..although made me nervous being made by Diamond…now getting same issues with this product (both salmon based foods) I’m at my wits end..we have 8 dogs (show and pet) Boxers Cockers and a Poodle…Vet tech for decades nutrition counselor for both Hills/Science Diet and Purina.( I would not feed either one!!)..Im fed up ( no.pun intended..well maybe)

  • joe b

    I have an 11 week old shep/lab. feeding her 4health chicken rice grain free puppy food and adding in some 4health puppy can. She likes it.
    Going to stick with it. It is a few bucks cheaper than Fromm and Chicken Soup for Soul. Ingredients are good. Puppy likes it and vet says she is doing well. Same company makes chicken soup, taste of wild…

  • Flano

    just check online how hard is that

  • Flano

    I have been using 4Health now for 2 years…I have eleven dogs and finally found a dog food they all eat dry…can only buy at Tractor Supply or online

  • Susan

    Hi, yes when the pet food smells real fishy you’re right the oils have gone rancid or theyre’re using off fish cuts, change food, look for turkey, turkey is a leaner & cleaner meat…Turkey meat doesnt have toxins & contaminates like fish can have..

  • Janice Reeves

    We think Levi was 7, but our vet thinks older. We adopted him last October from a safe shelter. Thank you for your kind words, and I hope Staffy will do well. Just love on him!

  • Janice Reeves

    Thank you for the kind words and for sharing your experieces. I think it all boils down to for me is what could I have done differently? or what would or could have made a positive difference for Levi? We miss him so much.

  • Susan

    Hi Janice, sorry about Levi, can I ask how old was he? this probably would of happened no matter what Levi was eating & went off his food, its very hard to know when they’re real sick, we only know when they stop eating & then it’s normally too late, my Staffy has IBD & is a real talker & whinger, he tells me straight away when something is wrong but then some days he’s real quiet & sleeps most of the day, it’s so hard to know what’s wrong…..
    Levi is up at Rainbow bridge & pain free now, playing with all the other animals…

  • You are doing a fantastic job for the dog lover. Your dog food advice is very professional. I have never feed 4health to my dog. I will try it this week.

  • Amber Mathew

    I called multiple times to ask about an ingredient in the cat food, I have some special diet cat that require low phosphorus and low magnesium… I kept getting sent to Simmons Pet Food, the manufacturers… It may be manufactured under the name of retriever, however it’s made at Simmons…

    I have switched my dogs and cats back to a quality food and their greasy nasty coat is gone, the food doesn’t smell like death, and everyone is doing well digestively.. Win for our family!

    I know some foods have strong smells, like the fish formulas, but this smell was rancid!

  • haleycookie

    I’ve seen this. Not gonna lie, I’d try it with my cats if it ever became available in my area. The petco I work at has started to carry fish food based on maggot meal. It’s quite pricey though. 20$ for a small bag of pleco pellets.

  • Crazy4cats

    Diamond Pet makes Diamond dry pet food and I believe most of 4Health dry food as well.

  • MaryLovesherdogs
  • MaryLovesherdogs

    PLEASE LOOK AT PHOTOS I POSTED

  • MaryLovesherdogs
  • MaryLovesherdogs

    LabLover, I’ve had dogs all my life and I’m almost 55 years old and I’ve never opened a bag of dog food and found anything like that in any brand I’ve ever fed my dogs. But I’m sure it does happen.

  • MaryLovesherdogs

    The bag must have got wet sometime and flies got in it.

  • MaryLovesherdogs

    That makes more sense than somebody packing the can with worms.

  • MaryLovesherdogs

    The Company is Retriever. The same company that makes Diamond dog food. Retriever is sold only at tractor supply companies and Dell feed stores

  • MaryLovesherdogs

    4Health is made especially for Tractor Supply Company and Dells Farm and seed company and it’s made by Retriever. I feed mine the salmon and potato and when you open the bag you can really smell the fish and it is sort of greasy. I’m going to have to switch to the 4Health Healthy Weight Dry because it has a lot less fat in it and that will help with the dog’s digestive systems and if any of them has sensitive stomachs plus I have 3 that are way too overweight LOL.

  • Tonya Spicer- Hutto

    4Health has a dry puppy food formula at Tractor Supply. I see it each time I purchase my mature dog formula.

  • Janice Reeves

    Hello there. Our dog, Levi (Cavalier King Charles Spaniel), was eating the 4Health Salmon and Potato and did very well with it. It was on sale for a month or so at the end of spring/beginning of summer 2017, then the prices went up higher than before. I don’t know if there was a new recipe or what in conjunction with the price hike, but Levi did not like the new bag that was opened and would hardly eat it. We kept trying to get him to eat it, thinking he was just being picky. Eventually, he became so sick we had blood tests and xrays. I don’t know if there was a difference in the formula that contributed to his illness, or something wrong with the food. I can’t help but wonder if the food was a factor. We had to switch him to prescription food and lots of meds, but he became even sicker and had to be euthanized last week. The vet thought he had either PLE (protein losing entropathy) or possibly a cancerous situation? It was all in the gut, an inability to digest the food or obtain the nutrients from the food due to some kind of damage to the lining of the intestines. All I do know really is, we miss Levi terribly. Was there a change in the formula of the 4Health Sweet Potato and Salmon?

  • Crazy4cats

    Yuck! Just curious what part of the US you live in and what flavor of food was contaminated?

  • Pitlove

    Hi Amber-
    I did not say it’s not happening just that I’ve not experienced it in my store. We likely have better food storage practices than larger chain stores because we have very little overstock.

    Taste of the Wild is a big seller at my store and we have not had any complaints of moldy bags. I would definitely bring that bag to the store you purchased it at and show them.

  • Amber Mathew

    We have 5 dogs and 9 cats, so I feel like our chances of seeing an adverse reaction to a particular food is much higher than families with one or two pets…

    I’ve put a lot of time and energy into researching pet nutrition, not only for my own pets, but also to help my clients with their pets! I board and groom, so I see a lot of different breeds on a lot of different feeds… Haha

    I have experienced issues ranging from loose stool all the way up to hospitalization for liver disease in my own pets! All due to particular brands of food…

    A brand I fed for over a year was great until a month or so ago.. All the cats started puking, dogs had loose stool and ate grass like it was going out of style… Since researching, it appears others are having the same issues and the consensus is they have changed suppliers or the suppliers have pulled a bait and switch..

    Also, with that food, I recently opened a bag that was full of wet most clumps of food and wiggly little maggots.. It does happen, just be glad it doesn’t happen to You! https://uploads.disquscdn.com/images/3a6295bd657acabbbcb488be9a9a42c4c0c4495a7b24d1b10f63d5c95c40ea2d.jpg

  • Amber Mathew

    I had been feeding Taste of the Wild dry cat and dog food for over a year… I opened a bag of cat food about a month ago and it was full of maggots and clumps of wet moldy food… Just because you haven’t experienced it doesn’t mean it doesn’t happen.. https://uploads.disquscdn.com/images/3a6295bd657acabbbcb488be9a9a42c4c0c4495a7b24d1b10f63d5c95c40ea2d.jpg

  • Amber Mathew

    We have 5 dogs and 9 cats who share our home. I have researched foods for them for years! The Chinese fiasco of 2007 really freaked me out! Anyway, I’m very particular when it comes to selecting my pet’s food and we found a food they were doing great on, until a month or so ago… Enter 4Health.. I read reviews and between this site and other dog food analyzing sites, I decided I’d give it a shot if for nothing else than an in between brands food…

    I bought both wet and dry, for both cats and dogs. I will leave a comment per each type on this website.

    I opened the first bag of dry dog kibble and I must admit, it smells! It has a very intense odor that other grain free brands have not had… In addition to the odor, the kibble itself felt greasy to the touch…

    The dogs ate it without an issue, mixed with their daily scoop of pumpkin.. I purchased a second bag about 2 weeks later and the same smell and greasy kibble was present..

    At about 3 weeks in, I noticed my dogs were beginning to have an odor as well as a dull, greasy to the touch, fluffy looking coat..

    My dogs range from an 8LB Chihuahua to a couple 100LB Labs.. I have a Cairn Terrier, around 10 lbs with mild kidney issues (we always look for protein at or less than 28%) and a Min Pin Beagle mix around 25 lbs with skin issues.. Normally my dogs are sleek and shiny and shed very little! I moved my Silver Labs kennel from the wall and vacuumed a complete other dog off the baseboard.. It looked like he went through a second spring shed! He seemed to get the worst and most immediate side effects of the food out of the dogs.. All of them lost their shiny coat but didn’t quite have the shed of the Silver Lab…

    I also give my dogs fish oil supplements daily, which helps their coat.. I can’t imagine what they’d look like without it!

    Needless to say, I am still seeking a new brand of dog food, when it was time to by a new bag, I bypassed 4Health and picked up another in between foods brand..

  • Pitlove

    Couldn’t tell you. I use ProPlan and we sell it at my store. Never had that issue.

  • haleycookie

    Its all stored the same way. Like I said the last time we did it it was only the expired proplan that was on the shelf that we pulled and opened into the garbage that had moths and webbing in it. Nothing else we opened and threw out did at that time. But I’ve had proplan customers come in with complaints of that as well as a bag of nv had mold in it once and quite a few bags of science diet with maggots and webbing. Not sure why the moths prefer science diet and proplan more then other brands.

  • Pitlove

    Working for both Petco and now an independent pet store, I have never seen bugs etc in any brand of kibble expired or not. Could be an issue with how your Petco is storing the food.

  • haleycookie

    I don’t think it is possible if it’s sealed correctly. However it only takes a tiny hole or the can tab opened just a fraction of a millimeter for gnats or flies to get in and create maggots. I’ve seen that plenty of times working in a pet store. Kibble is the worst however. Since it is just in a paper bag and easily permeable by insects or rodents or moisture. I’ve seen webs maggots and heaps of mold in every brand but it happens and no company is perfect. Some are definitely worse then others that’s for sure. Purina seems to be the biggest offender. My store recently did out dates and we pulled some bags from back stock that were expired in early 2016. However the only bags that had maggots and webbing were the purina proplan bags that were expired.

  • Tammy Clark Lilley

    How would worms live in a sealed container? That seems impossible.

  • LabLover

    Heck, I worked as a QA Mgr for 25 years, so believe me, I seen crazy things. I believe things can and do get found in dog food. Iv found a couple things in people food because of manufacturing. But, if you come here or other dog food sites, people claim it happens so often. I probably believe about 5% of the claims. LOL Now I will admit Iv fed some foods that my dogs have done better on or liked better, but never remember a dog getting sick. I have had many occasions where they got sick from other scenarios. I actually feel bad for dog food companies that get blasted for things that probably never happened.

  • Crazy4cats

    Oops! Glad you found it before eating.

  • anon101

    Never say never. Yesterday I opened a large can of brand name tuna, as I was spooning it out to make tuna salad I observed a quarter sized hard as rock bone fragment (I think).
    Anyway, I’m glad I found it as I could have knocked out a dental filling on that thing.
    Sometimes I give my dogs a bite of tuna, so from now on I will take a closer look.
    I didn’t complain though, these things happen.

  • Crazy4cats

    I have often thought the same thing. Once I bought a can of dog food with a foreign object in it. Most likely a part of machinery. My pets have also done better on some foods than others. However, other than that, none of the things you mention either. Who knows?? Hopefully not jinxing myself. : D

  • LabLover

    I know Im going to sound like a bad guy here, but I have no idea how so many people can make statements about bugs, worms, mold etc. in dog foods. Iv been feeding dogs for a couple decades and have never seen such a thing. Iv fed my dogs twice a day (by the cup full) every day. I just laugh at people when I read these statements. I know it can happen, but people make it sound like it happens so often. Heck, Iv never even had a dog get sick from a particular food.

  • ann

    we don’t feed puppy food, but they have one, it is a good food. We just start our puppies on the Salmon and Potato, what the adults eat. They all do well. We have Labs. We have been using this food for years and have always had healthy dogs, great coats.

  • docola

    Oh my gosh, never heard of this dog food company, then saw a can of this opened and it was full of worms, still alive! I thought I was going to get sick! We have seven dogs, so no thank you, I’ll stick with our brand for them.

  • Cindy Berryhill

    My 9 week old German Shepard had only ever eaten 4 health. My breeder recommended it so they’d what I’ve kept her on. My vet recommended a large breed formula food, she also said as far as she knew 4 health was a good food. My question is this… Does 4 health make a large breed food for puppies? I know they do for adults but I cannot find it in puppy formula. Note that I only feed dry. I don’t want to add wet food to her diet. She’s doing great on her 4 health chicken flavor.and she eats 1 1/2 cups twice daily.

  • Cathy Bonner

    These pictures and videos were posted on our facebook page showing a can full of maggots swimming inside the can. Yuck. This is just gross and unthinkable for food for pets.
    https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=234412867055555&id=100014605295362

  • Nate Estey

    We have had our dogs on 4 health Lamb and rice formula for 4 years now. The color of the food has always been a lighter colored brown. This most recent bag is a dark brown and has a different smell. Does anyone know if they switched the formula?

  • Scott Bilinsky

    I am so sorry to hear that. I know exactly what you mean, our Dog was passing so much blood I didn’t think he was going to make it. But it cleared up after we stopped feeding the 4health. I hope your dog is feeling better.

  • KM

    4Health Dry Dog Food
    I have been feeding this food to my dog for 4 years and last week she also developed bloody stools. In fact, I had to immediately run her to the vet because there was so much blood. The vet said that it appeared that she may be hemorrhaging from a bacterial infection. We finished the last dose of antibiotics last night so we will see if that was the case.

    Just today they did a stool test and advised me to immediately switch her food and said there was far too much fat in her diet and that this is not a good food to feed your dog. We are VERY strict with treats and food outside of her dry dog food.

    Still too early to tell if these two issues are directly related.

  • Scott Bilinsky

    I have had my 2 dogs on the 4 health chicken and rice for a year now. My Brussels Griffon developed bloody stools. And is now on a prescription diet. And now my miniature schnauzer is recovering from kidney stone surgery. I will be switching to Iams sensitive naturals. Hopefully this will help.

  • carol

    I used Pedigree for many years, on my vet’s recommendation! But the 2 pits I have now were scratching like crazy. I switched to 4 Health, and in less than 2 weeks the scratching had all but stopped! Once I had them completely off the Pedigree, it only took a few days. I was surprised. I honestly didn’t expect that big of a difference. Great food!

  • Diamond K Farms

    Supposedly, Diamond.

  • Fancy Ramen

    In case you are like me and bought your puppy the puppy food because of the 4 star rating of the adult food, here is the list of ingredients:

    Lamb, Lamb Meal, Cracked Pearled Barley, Ground White Rice, Peas, Egg Product, Chicken Fat (Preserved with Mixed Tocopherols), Pea Protein, Tomato Pomace, Oatmeal, Potatoes, Natural Flavor, Flaxseed, Ocean Fish Meal, Salmon Oil (Source Of Dha), Salt, Potassium Chloride, Choline Chloride, Dried Chicory Root, Dried Kelp, Carrots, Apples, Tomatoes, Blueberries, Spinach, Cranberries, Rosemary Extract, Parsley Flake, Yucca Schidigera Extract, L-Carnitine, Dried Lactobacillus Acidophilus Fermentation Product, Dried Bifidobacterium Animalis Fermentation Product, Dried Lactobacillus Reuteri Fermentation Product, Vitamin E Supplement, Iron Proteinate, Zinc Proteinate, Copper Proteinate, Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Sulfate, Copper Sulfate, Potassium Iodide, Thiamine Mononitrate, Manganese Proteinate, Manganous Oxide, Ascorbic Acid, Vitamin A Supplement, Biotin, Niacin, Calcium Pantothenate, Manganese Sulfate, Sodium Selenite, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B6), Vitamin B12 Supplement, Riboflavin, Vitamin D Supplement, Folic Acid

  • spanielvet

    the dog food has nothing to do with an FCE. thats a traumatic accident. its absurd to think 4health had anything to do with that. some dogs are just predisposed to FCE

  • janet

    has the vet checked their thyroid?

  • Stephanie Gladney

    I love 4 Hea,the. My dogs have done great since I switched to the salmon and potato. No ski issues anymore and they love it! Plus it is very economical.

  • Amateria

    I’m pretty sure that Ziwipeak at $218 for 5kg is much more expensive, I’ll be buying earthborn after I run out of Artemis as if like to give L carnitine a try with Rusty.

  • Donna Davis

    Too Expensive !!!

  • Donna Davis

    It is a Tractor Supply brand but you should be able to buy it online and have it shipped to your house.

  • K B

    I use small bites and that is a 4 start too. https://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/dog-food-reviews/4health-dog-food-dry/

  • K B

    I am trying to figure out why plant protein is so bad mixed with a meat source. For me I don’t even mind the cellulose over a corn filler as my dog is not scratching like crazy from it. If you look at the break down on the rating sites, they give these items bad marks but do not say why they are bad. I do know Boo like your dogs will not eat dry kibble alone. he does not like wet dog food but for beneful and that gave him tumors. I say that because when I switched to boiled chicken on top his food the last 2 he had shrunk down to nothing and he already had two plum size ones removed.

  • Jenni

    Hello,,
    I went to my TS store and they said their 4Health was not made in China. They believed none of Diamond’s food was made overseas. I will look it up on line and get back to you.. but when I researched the 4Health alone I couldn’t find anything saying where it was made.

  • s croslin

    Very sorry to hear your dog had an FCE stroke. Hopefully there will be a full recovery. There is no evidence to link diet to FCE strokes. It is usually a physical issue related to an injury or congenital defect, and is more prevalent in some breeds, especially large breeds. It’s possible that excess weight may be a contributing factor. Although the cause in many canine strokes is never determined, there are no indications or mechanisms that have postulated the diet is involved. Again – hope your pet continues to recover.

  • Donna Davis

    You need to see a Vet ASAP !!!

  • Donna Davis

    Try one with fish in it as it improves the skin.

  • Donna Davis

    Maybe try one with potato in it as that is carbs and will put weight on.

  • Donna Davis

    I have 2 dogs and both are on 2 different flavors of 4health. One is a great weight and one is overweight and I was wondering which one you are using for weight loss because I am not getting results from the one I am using. Thank you for your help.

  • Donna Davis

    I have a 7 year old Pit/Rot mix who has had hind end problems his whole life although the symptoms come and go he has to be put on Prednisone for a few weeks and he gets better. I also feed him 4health large breed and he does well on it. Although you should keep the Dog on a puppy food at least until 1 year old you can change her over to the puppy formula by mixing it with the food she is on now and do the same when you switch her to the large breed adult when she turns 1. My dog’s have grown up in 4health and do great on it. It is comparable to the Diamond brand and the Taste of the Wild brand at a fraction of the cost. Great dog food and great affordable choice. Good luck and I hope this helps.

  • theBCnut

    That may be their body responding to the temperature difference. It is easier on their body if they stay on the lean athletic side. You may find it easier to get them to gain weight after they have acclimated for a year.

  • Chris Brown

    Ok I’ll look into that aswell. Since we moved to Florida I can’t keep no weight on them.

  • Chris Brown

    Ok I’ll try that I mean sometimes I give them canned food but it’s like off and on type deal. But I’ll try to keep it going. Thank you!!

  • Jorja

    We have a Rottweiler puppy who is already showing signs of weakness in her back legs. She is actually my BF’s daughter’s dog who now lives with us. Since she was about 2 months old, we have had her on a good large breed puppy formula like Blue Buffalo but it is getting expensive for the daughter as she is not working at the moment. I have my other large dogs on 4Health large breed adult and would like to put the Rott pup on it as well. So I am wondering, is there a big difference in a puppy formula vs a large breed puppy formula as 4Health only seems to have the puppy formula? I am already looking into supplements to help with the weakness in the legs.
    TIA

  • Jorja

    Hi, Danny. I have 2 chihuahuas who have a tendency toward skin issues and a boxer/blue heeler mix who scratched constantly! All of them and my boxer were having horrible issues with extreme shedding. I actually deal with candida/yeast/fungus issues in humans so when my babies started having issues, I did some research then added coconut oil and a probiotic which has an anti-fungal in it, to their food and all of their issues have stopped! I melt the coconut oil (unrefined) and pour over their 4Health dry food then open the capsule of the probiotic and pour the contents over the coconut oil. They love it and will not touch their food until it has the coconut oil on it. If there is signs of a yeast/fungus issue, it comes from the inside so the fungus yeast shampoo is not going to help them.

  • Alaturka

    Danny >> could you switch your poms over to Canidae for a couple of months? It’s a good food for dogs that have allergies or skin problems.

  • Alaturka

    Chris … if you want to put on a little weight, try the Performance

  • Danny Drummer

    Sorry you are going through that.
    Any possible way you can help. I’m a pomeranian breeder. We had 3 pups they are all losing hair. Vet prescribed fungus yeast control shampoo, but they are getting worse not better. Could this be diet related? They are on 4health since weaned.

  • Kristie

    I’ve been using 4Health in my rotation for several years now along with several other brands and proteins for variety. This is a question that I have pondered about for quite some time, or at very least since 4Health came out with their grain free version. I’ve only bought a few bags of the grain free since it came out. I recently bought a bag of the regular “small bites” to rotate in next so thought this would be a good time to ask.

    Given the grain free variety has a generous percent of “pea protein” to boost up the protein level. But the regular variety isn’t using pea protein or another non-meat protein so they are getting their protein from actual meat instead. (for the most part that I am aware of, at least)

    Wouldn’t the non-grain-free be the better option because of the whole pea issue. Like many others I would prefer the protein come from meat sources rather than vegetable sources. Or is there an actual benefit to using the kibble with the pea protein that I have missed?

    The example given above for the (on DFA)
    Chicken & Rice has a guarantee analysis of 26% protein.
    While the grain-free example of the
    Beef & Potato has a guarantee analysis of 28% protein.

    We have a couple of dogs and the largest of our crew (just a few pounds over a hundred) gets a combination of kibble and canned per meal. She gets the entire 13 oz can of canned with the amount of kibble she needs for her calorie intake for each meal. (twice a day) She would also get a bit of raw figured into her calories just because she likes it……

    Because of budget issues at the moment I’ve switched my smaller dogs off their raw diet and onto a canned & kibble diet. They prefer raw of course but they eat the former just fine as well as long as the kibble is mixed in with the canned really good. They are not fans of plain kibble at all. They all get a 1/2 of a 13 oz can plus a measure of kibble depending on their weight, per meal and fed twice a day. No leftover cans of dog food left opened in the fridge, so it works out nicely. Funny how our large breed dog actually prefers the smaller kibble pieces. In the future I do plan on getting back on to the raw diet.

    But in the mean time I thought I would ask this question since it’s one I have always thought of and every time I walk by any dog food in whatever store I am in.

    Any thoughts on the grain free version VS the original version of the 4Health varieties that rate 4 stars? Since a few types of the original rate 3 stars and some of the grain-free rate 3.5 stars.

  • michellew

    I just started mine on Salmon and potato last night. Mixed it with current other brand. Hoping for good results, I weight pull, wall climb, and lure race mine. Plus miles of hikes and other activities. One 8 yr old and 4 month old.

  • Crazy4cats

    Mine liked it too! It’s a great base kibble that I can add some healthy toppers to. I also like that it is a single protein food.

  • Yamile Mazola

    Lucky here is 40$

  • Yamile Mazola

    I just got that one and my dogs love it

  • Yamile Mazola

    I have a question since your a vet? If my adult dog that’s a senior is having diarrhea and bloody stools because of her dog food which one of these foods would you recommend?

  • Denise

    Sorry for the delay. It’s not that the food is bad. My other 2 dogs were eating it with no problem. My #3 dog (Beagle) may have an allergy or sensitivity/intolerance to something in the food. He is now on a limited ingredient food. He has been through several tests including an ultrasound. He’s been diagnosed with IBD. He’s now taking 10mg Famotidine and 5mg Metoclopramide twice daily indefinitely and 2.5 mg prednisone once daily for short-term. Keeping fingers crossed.

  • Mames3

    The Wavy Chicken Strips with Sweet Potato also contains Sulfuric Acid. This raises up a red flag for me. Going to call the company tomorrow and ask why they put this chemical in these treats, too. Using their dried and can dog food and our pup (Adult Pup) loves them.

  • Lana Reddock

    Sample of dog foods would help select dog’s favorite

  • Kelsie

    We buy ours at Tractor Supply! It’s about $35 for a 30lb bag of food that lasts our one large dog approximately 1.5-2 months.

  • Bobby dog

    Hi jcostin:
    As of 3/24/15 Ainsworth manufactures GF Turkey and GF Beef kibbles. As of 5/25/15 Diamond manufactures all grain inclusives, GF Whitefish, GF Duck, and GF Pork kibbles.

    Co-packers can and do change. It’s always best to contact the pet food companies directly. Tractor Supply, Ainsworth, and Diamond have always responded promptly to my questions.

  • jcostin

    Who makes the food?

  • LeAnda Carver Latstetter

    We feed our 11 y/o lab/ridgeback, 3 y/o boxer/pit and 16 y/o chi/pom mix 4Health and have been for about 5 years. They all love it and have never become ill from the food.

  • Jeremy Smith

    Highly recommend 4health dry formula. I switch my cocker spaniel to this a little over a year ago. She was over weight with low energy, had red tearing of the eyes, and had a lot of skin issues. She’s like a new puppy now I was shocked with the improvement in her health. The tearing is completely gone, she’s lost a few pounds, and is more playful now than she was as a puppy. Great dog food for a reasonable price.

  • Haleigh Christine Marie O’Tool

    Not sure how this discussion works and indent have Twitter so if there’s anyway to comment here or Facebook message me about anything similar I would greatly appreciate it.

    Without getting into my whole ordeal/rant, 3 vets haven’t confirmed or denied the possibility of food allergy or bad batch of food (my 2 dogs have been on it at least 1.5 years so I’m not out to complain/bash the food if it’s not even the hidden issue) but in 7 days I’ve taken my dogs to the vet(s)literally 10x with one dog getting any test you could charge me for. If anyone else could possibly relate and make their symptoms less crazy and make sense to myself or the vets that are just treat each symptom separately that would make me feel so much better.

  • Crazy4cats

    Hi Chris-
    In my experience, most of the 4Health kibble recipes are pretty low in calories. How do you feel about adding some canned to their meals to increase the calories a bit? I like low calorie foods for my dogs because they tend to be chubby and I can still feed them a decent amount and add some fresh or canned toppers.

  • Chris Brown

    I have a pit boxer mix and a pit Hound mix. They need to gain weight what 4 health can do the trick?? Right now I feed them the Chicken & rice one

  • Amelia Sargent

    There is little evidence to rule out food for FCE stroke. Could be toxins that could have caused this. No, she’s not “overweight” but a little above “normal”. This was for maintenance. I’m a Vet.

  • BrokenRT

    You obviously switched to a weight loss diet for a reason. Was your dog already suffering from over weight issues and already on the brink of a stroke? Already have a spinal injury and weight was a concern of causing more damage? They’re’s no way you can blame the food for giving your dog a stroke. Especially an FCE stroke. A FCE stroke is caused by fibrous cartilage breaking off in the spine and blocking blood vessels. Often from an spinal injury and common in many large breeds and few small breeds. Or a obese dog with spinal malformation over time.
    You only had the dog on a diet for 3 weeks. Not enough time to lose enough weight to hopefully prevent such things.
    Coming from a medical professional in respiratory and also having a medical technologist degree with 17 total years expirence and 8 of those years in a major world known clinical laboratory.
    Gastrointestinal issues or appetite issues, maybe allergy yes but a spinal stroke not at all! A FCE stroke is not from blocked arteries or bad food itself but more from weight, injury, or just genetics. Maybe all 3!
    Sorry for your pets condition it’s very sad to hear! They’re our family and we love them so and I can understand wanting to blame someone else or something else but the facts are the facts and degree and expirence or not… A simple google search on the that type of stroke and a little anatomy would conclude that the food change was not the blame.

  • Amelia Sargent

    After switching my dog to 4health weight management food, 3 weeks later my dog had an FCE stroke and is paralyzed. Slowly she’s gaining her strength back,

  • Crazy4cats

    That’s good news! We just got a TSC in my neck of the woods last week. I plan on trying out the beef and potato 4Health kibble next. Thanks for the review.

  • BrokenRT

    Dave549863214- Read my comment above. I tried to reply but it’s not under your comment.
    Hope this helps!

  • BrokenRT

    Come take a nice ride to Kingman AZ. to Tractor supply and have Cracker Barrel for breakfast or lunch! We have Tractor Supply here in Kingman AZ. Short drive from Vegas!
    Easy drive and now even faster with the bridge bypassing the dam. From Henderson/215 it’s barely over an hour to Kingman. The first exit off the 40 Stockton hill Rd. and TSC is right there across the street. The mileage to the Bullhead city location may be shorter but time wise it’s longer.
    Weve been feeding our yellow lab and or mixed cattledog the Beef and Potato 4 Health for just over a year now. He’s in excellent shape and loves it. It bulked up the cattledog too. We live on 10 acres and they are very very active. Our lab is solid muscle, great coat, beautiful teeth, and amazing stamina. I strongly believe the food is a major part in his great health. He has a very sensitive gut. Certain grains and sources of fat cause him to vomit within few minutes of eating. We had him on Blue Buffalow and he loved it. It was fine till something changed in it. Now all their feeds and treats upset him.
    Then we went to Kruse’s that’s usually only found at feed stores. Their Canine Advantage green bag 22/10 Lamb and Rice was the only thing we found at the time he didn’t vomit but they started dusting the kibble with a dry powder to stop the oils sticking and then he started getting bad gas from it-it was out of control! Even making him restless at night. It’s a shame because it’s a 45 pound bag instead of 40 and every 10th bag you get a free voucher in the mail.
    The 4 health from TSC has been a blessing for his gut but also has played a major role into turned him into an extremely in shape dog! People comment and ask all the time what we do to get him so healthy. Love him, let him run, retrieve, and feed him right! The duck and sweet potato is great to but the other dog is not a fan of it so we only get it maybe every 4th bag or if they are out of the beef. I’ve got all my neigbors feeding it to their dogs now too! Tell your brother to take a short road trip to Kingman!
    Hope this helps!

  • onehealthdoc

    Hi Denise–I’m so sorry to hear about your dog’s illness. Can you please message me on twitter @vet4onehealth–I heard about another dog that had similar illness.

  • Crazy4dogs

    It’s available online from various websites, including chewy. They have a website that you can plug in your zip code and it will give you a list of stores that carry it.

  • dave549863214

    Thanks for the response. Where in Vegas or Henderson can one get it ?

  • LabsRawesome

    The only other store I know of that has 4health is Dell’s.
    Costco has Nature’s Domain. I’ve had good results with it.
    Another food I use is Victor. Here’s their site victordogfood.com
    Nutrisource is another good food to look into.

  • Crazy4dogs

    Hi dave…

    I think 4health is a Tractor Supply exclusive brand. Have you looked at ProPac Ultimates as an alternative? They are rated the same and are priced about the same. It might be a good alternative. They seem to be easiliy available online.

  • dave549863214

    Any other suggestions

  • dave549863214

    There are no Tractor supply`s in Vegas

  • LabsRawesome

    4health is sold at Tractor Supply.

  • dave549863214

    My brother wants to try the 4 Health food for his dogs. He spoke of the GF Beef and Potatoes. He lives in Vegas or actually Henderson, NV. He cannot find anywhere online that lists a store location close to him. Do you have any suggestions?

    Thank you

  • LabsRawesome

    You’re welcome. 🙂

  • DBJ

    Again, thanks

  • DBJ

    Thank you

  • LabsRawesome

    Diamond. Ainsworth only makes 3 of the grain free formulas of 4health. They make gf turkey, gf beef, and gf whitefish cat food.

  • LabsRawesome

    I do not have that info. You would have to contact the company.

  • DBJ

    Is Simmons a 100% USA company with no imports from China?

  • DBJ

    I forgot…I have another question. Who produces 4health, Grain Free, Small Breed Formula .. Diamond or Ainsworth? Beef is the #1ingredient.

  • LabsRawesome

    4health cans are made by Simmons.

  • Crazy4cats

    Diamond does NOT have a canning facility. I often buy the 4Health stews for my dog to mix in their kibble. I also buy their canned for my cats. It’s a great value!

  • DBJ

    What about 4health grain free wet dog food…is it made by Diamond or Ainsworth and does anyone know if ANY portion/ingredient of 4health grain free (wet or dry) is imported, packaged or manufactured in China?

  • theBCnut

    If the only change is the protein level, then you’re right, but increases in protein usually are accompanied by increases in fat, which does raise the caloric density of the food.

  • LabsRawesome

    Ainsworth makes 4health grain free turkey and potato, and the grain free beef and potato, and the grain free whitefish cat food. All the other 4health foods are made by Diamond. Merrick was bought out by Purina.

  • Ray S

    Yes I always do that when switching out food. She started having the runs from day one. We tried for over a week and it kept getting worse. Our dog has a picky diet though and somewhat sensitive stomach. The food looks good though and I checked the ingredients and it was similar to what she was having before. I ended up giving the bag away to someone who has another terrier and they did not have any problems with it.

  • LabsRawesome

    You have to do a gradual switch by mixing the old and new food together for 10 to 14 days.

  • Ray S

    My Boston Terrier didn’t like this food. I know a lot of people have had success with this brand but it made my dog’s poop runny. Switched back to her old food.

  • Pitlove

    High protein does not put weight back on dogs. You need to feed more calories than he is burning to help him gain weight. Best of luck.

  • Just an FYI… TOTW is manufactured by Diamond. If you want to stay away from Diamond foods, I’d switch to something else.

  • exactly

  • Do you have a link that proves Diamond does package those particular foods? I called the 800 number on the back of the bag, they confirmed that Ainsworth manufactures the Grain-Free Turkey & Potato, and Grain-Free Beef & Potato. I won’t feed my dog anything made by Diamond. Which is why we don’t feed TOTW.

  • DogFoodie

    Diamond co-packs quite a few, but not all, of the 4Health formulas.

  • Wrong! Ainsworth manufactures 4Health Turkey & Potato and Beef & Potato. A simple Google search will prove that.

  • Alan Patrick

    would be nice if you could post a link to prove that

  • Alan Patrick

    Yes Diamond makes 4Health for TSC exclusively. I feed the Salmon and Potato to my Husky and he is doing fine with it.My 14 yr old dog is now on a high protein diet to try and put some weight back on him. My dogs for some reason will NOT eat any of the lamb dog foods. I am not sure why but they will turn their noses up at it.

  • Melanie Anne Miller

    I dont use Earthborne. I feed Taste of the Wild. But like LE51900, my dog with multiple allergies did poorly on 4Health. She loast almost all of her coat, dry skin with sores developed. She is a golden retriever so you can imagine what kind of fur loss it was. Since being put on TOTW she gas made a complete 180. I believe some dogs, probably a small minority dont do well on 4Health. THat being said,my other dogs did fine on it. However because it is impossible for me to keep her from stealing from another dog’s bowl occasionally. I just have decided to stay with TOTW. I do supplement with 4Health lamb and rice wet food and she seems to do very well with that.

  • Denise

    I’ve recently been giving my 3 dogs the 4Health grain free dry chicken and rotating with the turkey. One of my dogs has become very ill with severe gastroenteritis related to an allergy or intolerance to the food (ingredients). Now he’s on a special diet. He was previously eating Nature’s Recipe grain free and looking back it seems he did better on that food. If it is true that the 4Health s made by Diamond, I will discontinue giving it to my other 2 dogs. Does anyone know for sure who makes this food? I’m looking at giving them Merrick Limited or Acana Single Soure instead, and changing from fowl to lamb or salmon.

  • Mona Brallier

    I agree! We’ve always fed all 4 yes four of our German Shepherds 4 Health brand and have not had any problems….no I take that back we changed flavors and my weak stomach dogs got the runs….switched back no problem! My dogs cannot eat any greasy foods without getting the runs! Therefore, we’ve never really had any major issues or problems and they love it!

  • Jack Schulz

    bitly.com/shawdogfood

  • YoMama

    Or you can go to tractor supply; buy the 4health grain free food that this post is about for only $37.99 a bag/30 lbs!

  • Kane

    great, thanks.

  • Doug Bittinger

    I would think so: my Blondie Bear is a pit bull/Lab mix: very active. She does well with it. I pay about $32 for a 35 pound bag at Tractor Supply.

  • Kane

    Would this be a good food to feed a lab/retriever mix? How much would it cost?

  • Doug Bittinger

    Several years ago we switched our dogs from Science Diet to 4-Health grain-free. They have always eaten it without a problem. We started them with the Chicken and Rice formula because Cochise developed hypo-hypothyroidism and had gained a lot of weight. Once he was back to his proper weight and active again I switched them to the Salmon and Potato formula as a reward (as long as they remain active and keep the weight off) they LOVED it. Meals are always happy times, but now they get really excited. On my last kibble run (yesterday) Tractor Supply no longer had the salmon, so I got them the Duck and Potato. We have always been pleased with the results of this feed and the dogs enjoy eating it. While using it I have yet to see 4-Health on a recall alert. I’m no expert, but I have confidence in this brand.

  • Tanya Hahn

    Earthborn is a VERY GOOD all around pet food !! Another AMAZING brand is Zignature ! NEVER been on ANY RECALL LIST !!!!!!

  • Just an FYI… the 4Health Grain Free Beef & Potato and Grain Free Turkey & Potato are NOT made by Diamond.

  • aimee

    Hi txn64,

    Though you may disagree with pitlove’s advice it is really good advice.

    Here is an article written by a board certified nutritionist that may help you understand why the current recommendations are to use a puppy food specifically geared for large breeds during the growth period of large breeds.

    http://www.veterinarypartner.com/Content.plx?P=A&S=0&C=0&A=3501

  • Pitlove

    I agree that LBP’s can be fed an adult maintenance food or even an all life stages formula so long as the calcium and phosphorus levels are controlled or safe, however a puppy food formulated specifically with those safe levels is no different aside from possibly a higher calorie content and even still it’s easy not to have an overweight pup with proper portion management.

    I’m glad you have not had issues with your GSD’s, however raising them for 35 years doesn’t automatically make you more knowledgable than anyone else and doesn’t mean you have nothing left to learn. My advice comes from research and the advice of veterinary nutritionists on how to properly feed a LBP.

    Thankfully for you, I was not offering you advice and you do not have to feed your dogs the way I’m suggesting. If you’d like to offer another opinion to someone who I have suggested a puppy food for, you are more than welcome to do so, but telling me I’m annoying doesn’t do much, as I’m not terribly concerned with your opinion of me.

    I don’t own a medium sized dog as all of mine are well over 50lbs at mature weight (AmStaff and Lab) and puppy food worked just fine for them.

  • LE51900

    You’re wrong. I could completely delete Earthborn’s name and still leave this post here and it stand truthful. I’m sorry you are too closed minded to see that some may have a bad experience with the 4Health brand. Not all people can tolerate certain foods, the same goes for animals.
    Thanks for being concerned about the welfare of my pet over the brand of food……oh wait, I’m mistaken, you weren’t! Post the link to your facebook group, I would be very happy to come and repost my post there, minus the name of the new food. My dog is doing SO much better now that he is off of 4Health. He eats the food I put down everyday, with no leftover. That NEVER EVER happened with 4Health. When you posting such things as you have, it is like saying that people with uncommon allergies are liars just because a majority of others don’t have their particular allergy. You want me to post all my Tractor Supply receipts for all the 4Health food I purchased as well? I can accommodate.

  • txn64

    You are one of the most annoying people I have seen on here.. Please stop telling people how they need to stay on puppy food. Large Breed puppies need to be on Adult food for the exact reasons your specified. To avoid Pano and joint issues. I have been raising German Shepherds for 35 years and have never fed my pups puppy food.. I have very healthy dogs and have never had Pano or Hip Problems. Leave people alone already and stick to your medium size dog and what is best for him. I’m out!

  • txn64

    And so is Taste of the Wild and many others.

  • txn64

    Actually not all states have recalls maybe just your Chevrolet Plant? There are different Diamond Plants and when there is a recall they tell you out of which plant the recall is from.. It has been basically from the same plant every time in the east.

  • txn64

    I have raised German Shepherds for 35 years. I do not feed puppy food for the simple reason you need to slow the growth of the bones to prevent joint disease. It does not stunt the growth as what some people want to think. They will grow up healthy and strong and get all the nutrients they need from an large breed adult food or you need to feed large breed puppy food. I put all of mine on large breed adult. Diamond is a great food and so is the 4Health.. It’s your pick really.. You won’t go wrong with either one..

  • txn64

    I’m convinced you have never used 4Health and only came here to push Earthborn. This was your sole purpose of your post.
    I have a FB Group and we have TONS of people who speak out on the foods they use and a lot use 4Health and I see very few using what you use.. 4Health is a very good Dry Dog Food at a good Price! And a lot of dogs love it.. The reviews speak for themselves.

  • Lamiaa Lamiaa Ahmed

    Excellent post. Its very informative and helpful to my
    Golden Retriever http://golden-retriever-dog.com
    Thanks

  • B Stow

    My dogs love it. I have a German Shepherd (3) and a Belgian Shepherd(9). The Belgian has dog food allergy issues and Perianal Fistulas. This food and Tractor Supply’s Dog bone Treats have not only relieved her allergies, but produced a softer stool for her as well which is so critical with that disease. It saves me a lot of headaches with flare ups and their coats are nice too. I had the Belgian to the vet today for a check up and even he commented on her skin and hair. For the money, this is great stuff! It works for us.

  • Kelli Hart Brenneke

    I use it my dog loves it. I think it’s personal preference.

  • Kelli Hart Brenneke

    I love 4Health I have a Doxy Basset hound mix and he loves it. We had been giving him Cesar’s canned food but he was getting fat and refused to eat any dry food. We switched to 4Health and he LOVES it, now canned 4Health is a treat!

  • DeDe

    We just got a Tractor Supply Company in our town. After talking with one of their employees, I decided I was going to try their 4Health dog food. One of our Golden Retrievers was starting to look, well, ugly. His hair was brittle and he had scabbing around the underside of his neck. I compared it to thick cradle cap. Anyway, I put them on the large breed formula of 4Health and sure enough, he’s looking great. The scabbing disappeared (one day prior to an appointment I had made for him at the vet) and his hair is looking much better. It will take some time for his coat to be completely replaced, but he’s beginning to look beautiful again.

    I would definitely recommend this food.

  • Sugar Daddy

    They had problems and recalls as well. So thank you but all dog food is the same as far as safety goes.

    I will stick to what kept my dog alive for 12 years

  • GSDgrl82

    You won’t feed diamond made products but you will feed blue??? That makes zero sense LOL. Blue is no better in quality and I’ve heard of many dogs having issues with it. For the money I’d feed Fromm instead, much better quality, ingredients and company integrity.

  • Crazy4cats

    Glad you found something that your dog is doing well on. The 4Health canned stew recipes do not contain carrageenan.

  • LE51900

    My dog had an awful allergy to something in the 4Health dry foods! We started feeding it to him almost a year ago and he wasn’t really interested in it at all. So we switched from the Chicken & Potato, to Lamb & Potato and he still turned his nose at it. When he wouldn’t eat that, we moved on to Salmon & Potato. He finally started to eat some of it, but he really didn’t want it at all. I figured he was just a picky eater. Several months later, he began having awful skin, tooth and ear problems. I talked to the vet and they suggested I try going with grain free to see if that helped. So we moved to the grain free line and he would barely touch his food and I had to get creative with getting him to eat. (sad face) His skin problems got SO BAD that you couldn’t even touch him without him getting all twisted up from the itching.

    I FINALLY decided it was time to switch his food and I did a BUNCH of research on dog foods. Apparently this same problem happens to many animals that eat the 4Health brand. I found that 4Health is made by Diamond and Diamond has had SO MANY recalls on foods. (sad face)

    I decided to try Earthborn Holistic Grain Free line of dry food, and in just 1 week, my dog is showing MAJOR improvement in his skin and ears. I’m so glad we switched him to something better because he was miserable and hated eating the 4Health food. Now, when I put a scoop of Earthborn Holistic in his bowl, he is chomping it down before I can even finish pouring it. He hasn’t turned his nose up once at the Earthborn. This is the first food he has EVER eaten every single time I put it in his bowl. No leftovers with Earthborn, and he even begs for more by sitting by the bag and whining. (happy face)

    I found that Earthborn food has a much higher consumer rating that 4Health and that it is MUCH better for dogs. The 4Health brand canned food even has carrageenan (Extensive peer-reviewed
    and published research indicates that food-grade carrageenan
    causes intestinal inflammation with the potential to
    lead to cancer, even in small doses.) NOT good!!

    Find the report here……..

    http://www.cornucopia.org/2015/11/new-report-exposes-dangerousunhealthy-pet-food/#more-18352

  • Chris Brown

    Ok sounds good Thank you So much!! +=)

  • Pitlove

    I’d say, if there is even a chance that they will be even 45 lbs at max weight, feed the large breed puppy formula. that way if they are over 50 lbs you’ve given them the proper nutrition to grow correctly.

  • Chris Brown

    Oh lord only god knows. LOl There daddy is a big boy. But they have Different moms. So idk how things gonna play out.

  • Pitlove

    will they be over 50 lbs when they are at their mature weight?

  • Chris Brown

    So 4health Puppy Formula Is ok?? There the small pieces.

  • Pitlove

    lol you won’t kill them if you put them on an Adult formula, but it is better for their growth to be on the large breed puppy formula.

  • Chris Brown

    Ok Thank you!! I’m just trying not to kill my boys LOl

  • Pitlove

    No you want to keep them on puppy until they are a year old. They are very cute 🙂

  • Chris Brown

    So I Just started switching My 6 mouth old Boxer Pit mix and My 6 Month old Hound pit mix From Beneful healthy weight To 4health Puppy Formula And There Large Breed. Should I change them to Adult Size Food of try this one out first?? Im a first time Parent And I want the best for them.

  • labdad

    If you have one locally,go to a Petsmart (NOT Petco)and find their store brand Authority in the Grain free formula. If your dog likes it and does well which I have no doubt of either, you can buy it online and if you buy $50 or more they will ship it free to your door. Have been feeding our adult labs this same food for over 3 years now and no problems. We tried a year ago to go to a different food (from Sams club and ended up with a trip to the ER)and within 2 bags went right back to AuthorityGF. It’s good food (4 stars on here)and not expensive at all.

  • PF Flyer

    I have 2 dogs permanently damaged by the misformulation of Blue yrs. ago. They never paid my vet bill, or even acknowledged my letters; their rep clandestinely questioning people in PetSmart before it was public would not answer my questions. Blue sucks.

  • Misty Martin

    I have large dogs, beneful killed one. I found 4health performance to be the best most amazing dog thus far. I’d dome my research before trusting another brand, I can see why it’s a 5 star dog food. I seen a complete turn around in my remaining dogs within 2 days of switching. Diamond isn’t a good dog food, it’s cheap but does have a lot of fillers and by producta plus it’s tasteless to dogs .

  • Misty Martin

    I did the exact same thing, unfortunately not in time. Beneful killed my Boston terrier before I’d heard about the lawsuits, she had several side affects listed as in non stop drinking. Although my vet confirmed it, there was nothing I could do other than help get the message out there. I beat myself up for along time, but had to realize I wasn’t the one making poisonous dog foods. I too use the 4health performance and has seen incredible changes in the remaining dogs, no more constant drinking, bloating, vomiting, bloody stools, miresey and expensive vet bills. I now have very happy, healthy dogs that loves this food and have no problems getting them to eat it. I had stopped Beneful, was cooking for my dogs until I found this. I made sure to do my research before trusting another dog food and it paid off. Beneful needs to be pulled from the shelves, many people don’t get it and worship that dog poison, I just hope it doesn’t take a loss like mine to get the message through.

  • Natasha Myers

    My pit bull/lab mix used to be really picky. He would not eat his food unless I added canned food. I switched him to Nutrisource chicken and rice about a year ago and he still gobbles it up in like 3 minutes. His coat is really shiny and he maintains a good weight. I feed about 1/2 cup less than I used to feed with other foods.

  • Bobo

    My husband and I as well as my sister in law were feeding our dogs the same type of 4health. I can’t remember which kind. We never had a problem till about 5 months ago. All 4 dogs started itching constantly, chewing their tails, one so badly she almost lost her tail. We thought it’s was hot spots being that it was summer. However, they continued to get worse. We switched to the 4health mature formula with no wheat or soy. They all started getting better. By the second bag all symptoms started over again. We switched to a new brand and now all 4 dogs are fine. Will never buy 4health again. Totaled together we spent close to 5 grand because of this dog food.

  • Gdog

    I left Beneful after hearing about the lawsuit. I’ve been using the Performance formula for 6 months. My dog’s behavior has completely changed. Went from lethargic and bad arthritis to running around like a puppy again. He’s happy and doesn’t constantly drink water like he used to. I really can’t say enough about this dog food. It is amazing.

  • Sugar Daddy

    I looked it up.
    In fact it is made by Diamond

  • Carolyn Vickers

    No it is not. I get it at Tractor Supply Co. It was recommended to me by the people that work there, they all feed it to their dogs. My golden was having severe food allergies, and so I put her on 4Health grain free Beef and Potato. Her food allergies cleared up within a month!

  • Pitlove

    Fromm Gold Large Breed Puppy, Precise Holistic Complete Large/Giant Breed Puppy and my new favorite I added to my list, Nutrisource Large Breed Puppy. Those are my suggestions for a good LBP food.

  • DogLover

    My vet had no recommendation on what to feed our 16 week old puppies (mastiff/St. Bernard/something smaller) except for look for the seal of approval. TSC said either Diamond or 4Health. Then I read comments here; I don’t know what to buy. They are currently on Purina Puppy Chow (that’s what the kennel was feeding them). Help!

  • Mike Edwards

    Only the Beef and Turkey GF are made by Ainsworth… the rest are made by Diamond

  • Pitlove

    I know and I personally don’t have an issue with by-products. I only mentioned it because some people feel that if a company is dishonest, they aren’t worth supporting.

    If you are still going to go with Blue make sure you get a formula for large breed puppies.

  • Sugar Daddy

    I am thinking adding things that were not suppose to be there and adding things that killed dogs are a bit different. I doubt anything is 100% when it comes to dogs.

  • Pitlove

    Alright. make sure you look into the legal trouble Blue has been having as well.

  • Sugar Daddy

    Going with blue.

  • Tammy

    You could try the Fromm Gold LB puppy food. It has worked well for my Lab puppies, nice slow, even growth.

  • Bobby dog

    You’re welcome. I used to feed the GF kibble, but when one of the recipes that Ainsworth manufactured went to Diamond I stopped. Didn’t want to have to keep checking on the manufacturer. Still waiting out Diamond to see if they have improved their manufacturing practices.

  • Crazy4dogs

    Thanks for updating with the current information BD! 🙂 I don’t use it and didn’t have time to finish researching!

  • Bobby dog

    Hi C4d:
    As of March 2015 the information I received from an Ainsworth rep via e-mail is they manufacture 4Health GF Beef & Potato, GF Turkey & Potato dog foods, and GF Whitefish & Potato cat food.

  • Crazy4dogs

    Hi DTalksAll,

    I looked up 4Health on TSC website. There is a difference in protein level and fat. The performance is higher in both, which could be causing the problems. Also, the performance says “Adult” specifically, which means it isn’t an all life stages formula. If they are ALS, they are stated that they are specfically on the bag. Mixing the 2 might be a good idea. Here’s the formula links:

    http://www.tractorsupply.com/tsc/product/4health-puppy-formula-35-lb-bag

    http://www.tractorsupply.com/tsc/product/4health-performance-formula-for-adult-dogs-35-lb

    There is a good forum on Large Breed Puppies on the forum side of this site and here is a link on DFA regarding Large Breed Puppy food.

    http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/best-dog-foods/best-large-breed-puppy-food/

  • Crazy4dogs

    That’s very possible. I’ve seen differing comments all over the web.

  • Pitlove

    the GF lines are made by Ainsworth if I’m not mistaken

  • Crazy4dogs

    I’ve read conflicting links. Some say Diamond, some say Ainsworth. They might be splitting between 2 manufacturers and formulas.

    You might want to look into the DFA large breed puppy food link:

    http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/best-dog-foods/best-large-breed-puppy-food/

    There is also a lot of information on the forum side of this site.

  • Pitlove

    yes it is made by Diamond. are you looking to switch your puppy off this food?

  • Sugar Daddy

    Isn’t this stuff made by diamond?
    I just got an 8 week old Labrador and my vet said no to this when I said what she was eating.

    Diamond has had more recalls than Chevrolet.

  • theBCnut

    All Life Stages meets the requirements for Growth. It is puppy food.

  • Pitlove

    Lol wow! What an over reaction to my questions! I am NOT trolling you at all. I am asking you the same questions anyone would be asking you on this site. This is how we think here and I’m not a mindreader.

    If you are looking for an easy answer that doesn’t require people to ask you questions, I don’t suggest asking for advice on DFA or from your vet. Both will ask a lot of questions to help solve your problem.

    Good luck with your puppy. Take care.

  • Nancy Walk

    We have always fed our two boxers age 9 and 2 the 4 health line. We have switched from the large breed to the performance, due to the large breed was not available at our local store. After being on the performance for a couple months both of our dogs started not wanting to eat and getting sick. We have spent $810 in this past month for testing for vomiting and chronic diarrhea in both dogs, ruled out parasites, worms, etc. just to finally come down to the conclusion “we must of got a bad bag of dog food because there are no current recalls.” Very dissatisfied with this brand due to our recent experience and looking to switch.

  • Oh my gosh! YES, he’s been to the vet, no issues. Like I said in my original comment, they just aren’t as consistently formed as they were when he was on the puppy food. He was tested for Giardia & put on antibiotics a few weeks ago after camping and probably drinking too much lake water. He has been on the 4Health performance for a few months now. Some times he has formed stool for a week straight. Other times it’s just once a day.
    Would you like a list of the supplements he gets? The amount of coconut oil I feed him? How about a list of the treats I feed him? My Vet’s phone number, or my breeders? His fecal sample?
    I’m done feeding the troll.

    I was wondering if others experienced the same issue as mine & what they did about it. I did not come here for a lecture on puppy food and pumpkin. It’s people like you that ruin the comments for everyone else.