Wellness Core Dog Food (Dry)

Share

Rating: ★★★★★

Wellness Core Dog Food earns the Advisor’s top rating of 5 stars.

The Wellness Core product line includes seven dry dog foods, six claimed to meet AAFCO nutrient profiles for adult maintenance one recipe for growth (Puppy).

The following is a list of recipes available at the time of this review.

  • Wellness Core Ocean Formula
  • Wellness Core Puppy Formula
  • Wellness Core Original Formula
  • Wellness Core Large Breed Formula
  • Wellness Core Small Breed Formula
  • Wellness Core Reduced Fat Formula
  • Wellness Core Wild Game Formula (4.5 stars)

Wellness Core Large Breed Formula was selected to represent the other products in the line for this review.

Wellness Core Large Breed Formula

Dry Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 38% | Fat = 13% | Carbs = 41%

Ingredients: Deboned chicken, chicken meal, turkey meal, potatoes, peas, tomato pomace, dried ground potatoes, ground flaxseed, chicken fat (preserved with mixed tocopherols), natural chicken flavor, pea fiber, potassium chloride, spinach, broccoli, carrots, parsley, vitamins [vitamin E supplement, beta-carotene, niacin, d-calcium pantothenate, vitamin A supplement, riboflavin, vitamin D3 supplement, vitamin B12 supplement, pyridoxine hydrochloride, thiamine mononitrate, ascorbic acid (vitamin C), biotin, folic acid], apples, minerals [zinc proteinate, zinc sulfate, iron proteinate, ferrous sulfate, copper sulfate, copper proteinate, manganese proteinate, manganese sulfate, sodium selenite, calcium iodate], blueberries, kale, sweet potatoes, l-carnitine, mixed tocopherols added to preserve freshness, glucosamine hydrochloride, chondroitin sulfate, taurine, chicory root extract, Yucca schidigera extract, dried Lactobacillus plantarum fermentation product, dried Enterococcus faecium fermentation product, dried Lactobacillus casei fermentation product, dried Lactobacillus acidophilus fermentation product, rosemary extract, green tea extract

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 6.7%

Red items when present indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis34%12%NA
Dry Matter Basis38%13%41%
Calorie Weighted Basis34%29%37%

The first ingredient in this dog food is chicken. Although it is a quality item, raw chicken contains about 80% water. After cooking, most of that moisture is lost, reducing the meat content to just a fraction of its original weight.

After processing, this item would probably account for a smaller part of the total content of the finished product.

The second ingredient is chicken meal. Chicken meal is considered a meat concentrate and contains nearly 300% more protein than fresh chicken.

The third ingredient includes turkey meal, another protein-rich meat concentrate.

The fourth ingredient is potato. Potatoes can be considered a gluten-free source of digestible carbohydrates. Yet with the exception of perhaps their caloric content, potatoes are of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

The fifth ingredient includes peas. Peas are a quality source of carbohydrates. And like all legumes, they’re rich in natural fiber.

However, peas contain about 25% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the meat content of this dog food.

The sixth ingredient is tomato pomace. Tomato pomace is a controversial ingredient, a by-product remaining after processing tomatoes into juice, soup and ketchup.

Many praise tomato pomace for its high fiber and nutrient content, while others scorn it as an inexpensive pet food filler.

Just the same, there’s probably not enough tomato pomace here to make much of a difference.

The seventh ingredient is ground dried potatoes, a dehydrated item usually made from the by-products of potato processing. In most cases, dried potato can contain about 10% dry matter protein which can affect our estimate of the total meat content of this recipe.

The eighth ingredient is flaxseed, one of the best plant sources of healthy omega-3 fatty acids. Provided they’ve first been ground into a meal, flax seeds are also rich in soluble fiber.

However, flaxseed contains about 19% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

The ninth ingredient is chicken fat. Chicken fat is obtained from rendering chicken, a process similar to making soup in which the fat itself is skimmed from the surface of the liquid.

Chicken fat is high in linoleic acid, an omega-6 fatty acid essential for life. Although it doesn’t sound very appetizing, chicken fat is actually a quality ingredient.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With two notable exceptions

First, chicory root is rich in inulin, a starch-like compound made up of repeating units of carbohydrates and found in certain roots and tubers.

Not only is inulin a natural source of soluble dietary fiber, it’s also a prebiotic used to promote the growth of healthy bacteria in a dog’s digestive tract.

And lastly, this food contains chelated minerals, minerals that have been chemically attached to protein. This makes them easier to absorb. Chelated minerals are usually found in better dog foods.

Wellness Core Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Judging by its ingredients alone, Wellness Core Dog Food looks like an above-average dry product.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 38%, a fat level of 13% and estimated carbohydrates of about 41%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 38% and a mean fat level of 17%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 37% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 44%.

Above-average protein. Near-average fat. And below-average carbs when compared to a typical dry dog food.

Even when you consider the protein-boosting effect of the peas, dried potatoes and flaxseed (as well as the pea and potato proteins, chickpeas and lentils contained in other recipes), this looks like the profile of a kibble containing a notable amount of meat.

Bottom line?

Wellness Core is a meat-based dry dog food using a notable amount of poultry, lamb and named fish meals as its main sources of animal protein, thus earning the brand 5 stars.

Enthusiastically recommended.

Those looking for a wet grain-free product from the same company may want to read our review of Wellness Core Canned Dog Food.

Please note certain recipes are sometimes given a higher or lower rating based upon our estimate of their total meat content.

Special Alert

Rice ingredients can sometimes contain arsenic. Until the US FDA establishes safe upper levels for arsenic content, pet owners may wish to limit the total amount of rice fed in a dog's daily diet.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, due to the biological uniqueness of every animal, none of our ratings are intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in a specific dietary response or health benefit for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

To learn how we support the cost of operating this website, please visit our public Disclosure and Disclaimer page.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Notes and Updates

11/18/2009 Original review
06/15/2010 Review updated
07/07/2010 Review updated
06/07/2011 Review updated
06/08/2012 Review updated
11/12/2013 Review updated
11/12/2013 Last Update

  • Mag Dukes

    Ahhh Thanks! That’s funny…my dearly departed Black Lab/Border Collie mix had to switch foods late in life and I had done a bunch of research. Picked a 4-5 star food that she excelled on. Then flash forward several months and I saw that asterisk and thought I had missed some crucial point. *DUH!!!*

    Funny how you pay the closest attention to some details and let others slip!

  • Cyndi

    Awww! She’s adorable!!

  • Crazy4cats

    Awww, what a precious baby! :)

  • Mag Dukes

    Thanks!!

  • LabsRawesome

    Hi Mag, *Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO dog
    Nutrient Profiles. That just means that one of the ingredients in Merrick Puppy is not “recognized as essential” by AFFCO standards. Merrick’s foods are AFFCO compliant. The ingredient will have the * beside it.

  • LabsRawesome

    Oh my goodness, she is too cute! (:

  • Guest

    One more question, since you’ve been so helpful! I found the Merrick formula I am thinking of trying on the Best Puppy Food link. All Merrick formulas seem to be 4-5 stars. BUT the Merrick site says: *Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO
    Dog
    Nutrient Profiles.

    How can a food be 4-5 stars and NOT be recognized by AAFCO?

  • Mag Dukes

    Thanks for the link and suggestions! I am hopeful that it’s as easy as a food switch but will definitely refer back to this if it turns out to be more! The Merrick formula I think I may try (once she is done with all her meds to be sure!) has Yucca Schidigera Extract in it. That apparently promotes healthy happy bellies and reduces the stink involved in gas and stool.

  • Mag Dukes

    Golden Pitador – sounds like a champion!! When she was surrendered to the ER at 2 months she had intestinal parasites which were treated. She now has skin mites due to the weaker immune system of a puppy who nearly died. That is being treated.

    She was on a chicken and rice diet along with the probiotics and diarrhea meds. We just finished that medicine and we finished weening her off the chicken and rice diet. (She didn’t care for the pumpkin…I tried!) So right now she is on the probiotic and the mite meds, with normal feeding. No more true diarrhea but wet for sure. While the meds could still be an influence on the loose stool, the fact that 75%+ of her stool since we got her has been loose makes me curious about the food.

    I should say too that she is gaining weight and growing so the food is obviously doing some good! Just not leaving her bum very happy!)

    Thanks for the links! I found an “all life stage” Merrick formula that is suggested for sensitive bellies. Perhaps I’ll give that a try.

    Thanks again!! I will look into the rotational diet. I have never used that for previous pets. It’s an interesting concept, and I bet will keep them from getting bored with their food!

  • Crazy4cats

    Hi Mag-
    In addition to the advice that Cyndi gave you, I’d like to point out a great website that has a lot of information on digestive disorders. It is http://www.dogaware.com. My pups also had/have issues. I use probiotics with additional supplements that help with digestion and loose stools. I rotate between Gastriplex made by Thorne, Vetri-Pro BD made by Vetri-Science and Perfect Form made by The Honest Kitchen. They all include supplements such as slippery elm and l-glutamine that also help with diarrhea. They can be ordered through Amazon.com. Good luck to you and thank you so much for rescuing this poor dog. It sounds like she’s in good hands.

  • Cyndi

    Also, there is a Large Breed Puppy thread in the forum section you should check out. You can find it here: http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/forums/topic/large-and-giant-breed-puppy-nutrition/

  • Cyndi

    Hi Mag, Love how you made that breed name, lol! That does sound awesome!

    You should check out the “Best Puppy Food” thread and look into a good 4 or 5 star food for her. Since she already has diarrhea, I guess don’t worry about doing a gradual switch. You can start giving her some pure canned pumpkin, for the diarrhea and also keep up with the probiotics. Has the vet check her for intestinal worms or parasites? There are alot of different things that can cause loose stools, one of them being just that she’s had such a rough start in life. Once you find a food that agrees with her and she starts doing better, you can look for another 4 or 5 star food and do a rotational diet. Check out the links below and if you have any other questions, there are plenty of people here willing to help. Good luck to you with your Golden Pitador! Lol! Love it!

    http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/best-dog-foods/best-puppy-foods/

    http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/frequently-asked-questions/diet-rotation-for-dogs/

  • Mag Dukes

    I recently rescued a Golden Pitador (doesn’t that sound great? It’s a fancy way to say Pit/Golden Lab mix) She had rough beginnings, and was the only surviving pup in a litter of 8 after the dirtbags that had them let her siblings starve to death. The ER and foster home she went to served her Wellness Puppy. Now, I have had her for 3 months and the whole time she has had some rotten gas and wet poop. I’m starting to think it’s the food…though she does LOVE to eat it! Has anyone else had a similar problem? If so, what alternate food did you switch to?

    **I should say, she is only 6 months old, and we have been to the Vet – but really it was following an unfortunate rawhide incident she we have been using probiotics and an antidiarrheal.**

  • Jordie

    DITTO MOLLY…DITTO

  • Jordie

    Nope…mixed it properly. Several days, small amounts with old foid. Did it correctly .

  • LabsRawesome

    If you fed it to them without mixing it with their previous food, that’s why your having problems.

  • Molly Weems

    I just bought a 4lb bag of Wellness Core Turkey Blend(testing it out) for my two dogs. One of them, the German Sheperd had explosive diarrhea …. everywhere…my whole day was spent washing everything in the part of the house where she likes to stay….I have to attribute it to Wellness Core..the other dog hasn’t had the diarrhea yet, but is showing signs of it starting…this is a nightmare…these poor animals and what they have to endure from these damn corporations who can’t seem to keep their food safe.

  • Jordie

    I could not agree more. Wellness has served me WELL :) with other dogs too. Sticking with it! I did find the folks at CANIDAE very kind. But that doesn’t have anything to do with their food. Can not get past the DIAMOND issue.

  • 4FootedFoodie

    I would stick with Wellness too. I have no reservations about their using CJ Foods or Hagen as co-packers. Hagen is certified organic manufacturing facility and is inspected four times annually. Both are reputable manufacturing facilities. And, most of all, Wellness doesn’t hide that information and will readily offer it to anyone who asks.

    I have a dog with food intolerance issues. There are so few foods he can eat and, as much as I’m tempted, I can’t bring myself to try Canidae Pure for him, because it’s likely I’d be buying a Diamond manufactured food.

  • Jordie

    Hi there
    UPDATE: I surly do not want to imply CANIDAE differently caused my Labs problem . I am just giving the facts as I see them.
    Gracie is getting better August 23-14 but still showing gastro symptoms. I will be seeing a specialist on Monday .
    I liked the ingredients in CANIDAE. What I didn’t like was the fact that they produced out their production of food in several different places.
    DIAMOND BEING ONE OF THEM. Not a fan of DIAMOND.
    However as is posted here….so does WELLNESS. But not with DIAMOND.
    THIS IS WHAT CANIDAE SENT ME:
    Ethos Pet Nutrition is our own advanced research and development center as well as our pet food manufacturing facility which serves as our flagship food and treat facility. We also have our recipes produced at several other facilities across the United States including Diamond Pet, Performance Pet, and Hampshire Pet. These facilities are all committed to achieving CANIDAE’s extremely high standards for quality and safety. I also want to let you know that all ingredients are tested prior to unloading. Product is tested during the manufacturing process. Finished product is set aside and is not released until it passes our “Test and Hold” protocols
    I am sticking with WELLNESS. I spoke with a pet nutritionist in my area and she likes WELLNESS. Good protein levels.
    She said, I would not go back and try CANIDAE again.
    After $1,000 in ER and vet bills I will continue on Wellness unless specialist advises differently.
    All I know is….my Gracie was Gravely ill.

  • Ingrid Castillo

    Hi, Jordie. Is there any update on how your lab is doing? I was going to try Canidae, but now am hesitant.

  • Dori

    I don’t feed my dogs canola oil. One of my dogs (15 year old Maltese with arthritis) has arthritis so I don’t feed night shade veggies (white potatoes).

  • Jordie

    I think the Ocean in free of any chicken? Will double check. But you are correct. Chicken is a big problem for lots of dogs.
    C

    If you’re going through hell,keep going
    Winston Churchill

  • Dori

    No I don’t feed Wellness. I’m a raw feeder. On occasion I’ve tried a dry food but one of my girls has too many intolerances and insensitivities and does best on raw foods. Also, all the Wellness Core (grain free) formulas contain some sort of poultry and that’s one of her worst intolerances.

  • Jordie

    Do you feed Wellness?

    C

    If you’re going through hell,keep going
    Winston Churchill

  • Jordie

    I really like Wellness. But a bit disappointed in this info.

  • Dori

    Ignore my post below. I just came across your answer to 4FFoodie.

  • Dori

    What were the two plants she mentioned?

  • Jordie

    Yes, same here, very nice named Barbara . Still though, I wish they didn’t .

  • 4FootedFoodie

    OK, I understand now. I stand corrected.

    I called them also and was told the same thing.

    From what I understand, prior to bringing the majority of their production in-house, Wellpet used co-packers which included Hagen in New York and CJ Foods Oklahoma. They continue to use those additional co-packers for overflow Wellness dry food production as needed. They previously used Diamond for overflow co-packing as well, but severed all ties with them following historical recalls.

    The Wellpet representative I spoke with was very helpful and willingly offered the information I requested.

  • Jordie

    Did not write them down…should have.

  • Jordie

    I called them yesterday and the woman said there are 2 other facilities that will make their food if they need more supply.
    She named 2 plants.
    That’s what I was told?

  • 4FootedFoodie

    I think I’m confused.

    Wellness manufactures all of their foods at their Wellpet facilities.

    On the other hand, Canidae uses Diamond as a co-packer, but would have you think that they manufacture much of their product in-house at their Ethos facility.

    Where and by whom exactly did Wellpet tell you that their products were made?

  • Jordie

    Hey…Lab Mom here with the upside down pic :)
    I called wellness and asked if there was only one place their food was made. I was told there Are 2 other facilities if they have an overflow and need to make more. 98 % she said was make at original plant???
    I don’t like that and here is why.
    I was so excited to return to wellness after Trying Blue.
    I tried a bag of wellness Core Ocean and Gracie did great. After I finished the bag I tried a bag of CANIDAE bison and Lamb.
    In the past week August 14 2014 until today Gracie has been in ER twice and regular vet 4 times,
    Vomiting, and horrible bloody diarrhea for days,not eating, and sick as hell!
    X-rays showed severe inflammation of stomach and intestinal Trac,
    Going to internal medicine specialist on Monday if necessary.
    I BELIEVE IT WAS THE CANIDAE!!!!
    But I do not like the fact that Wellness has 2 other places that make their food.

  • joanne

    that is a great idea Cyndi, rotational diet

  • joanne

    OMG this happened to my dog! for three months he has been sick because of it. I now have him on canned salmon,rice and pumpkin+am giving him vit. B12 shots weekly and prostura/probiotics. My morkie poo was down to five lbs. it broke my heart he ate grain free wellness small kibbles for two yrs. as well. Now I am researching different kibbles to get him back on but it needs to be salmon,rice and pumpkin and can not find on?

  • kelly

    I bought him a small bag of a different brand with similar blend to hold him over while I find a better food. He ate, and is keeping it down. I am ordering a bag of Orijen. For the issues he has with his allergies and immune system, this brand seems to have what we are looking for.

  • Cyndi

    You should research some 4 or 5 star foods on this site and begin a rotational diet. It’s better for your dog and when things like a recall or discontinued food happens, atleast it won’t affect your dog that much.

    http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/frequently-asked-questions/diet-rotation-for-dogs/

  • kelly

    I have had my dog on wellness core for over almost two years with no issues. I swore up and down that this food was wonderful, high quality dog food that worked miracles for my sickly pup. Recently, we received a bag of food that smelled a little stronger than usual. The food itself looked okay, the food doesn’t expire until next year, so I gave it to my dog. Big mistake. My poor dog threw up all over. It made him SO SICK. I took him to the vet thinking he had come down with something, much to my surprise, our vet told me that besides the vomitting, my dog was perfectly healthy, and told me to toss the food in the bin straight away. I made a call to wellness to find out if they had any recalls recently. Their reply was just as I had suspected. No recalls. I made the decision not to buy another bag of wellness. While at the store researching the different grain free brands on my phone, a store employee approached me and asked if she could help. I decided to tell her about my dog’s reaction to his food. She asked me if the food had a foul odor, and proceeded to tell me that they have had issues with every shipment they have received from wellness. Either the bags are damaged and food is contaminated, people buy the food and return it because of foul odor and their dogs vomitting, or the food is expired. She told me that she would never recommend wellness to customers.

    Its so frustrating. After almost 2 years, we now have an issue with my dogs food. This dog has been through enough. Shame on you wellness.

  • Betsy Greer

    My Cavalier loves it too! She looks great when she’s eating Core Small Breed.

  • Qi Koh

    Wellness Core Small Breed Formula
    My 5 yr old Pom who has sensitive skin & stomach as well as picky appetite seems to especially love her meals now with this product. Will be sticking with this product for her.

    She used to have Orijen, Hill’s, & EVO. Have never seen her so happy to eat her food. I give Orijen 4.5, EVO 3.5 and Hill’s 1. She seems to like Acana as well (fed to my bigger dogs).

  • Lab Mom

    Oh, and her itching has gotten better too! Yeah, this Welness has always been my favorite!

  • Lab Mom

    My Lab Gracie is back on Wellness after foolishly going with BB.
    BB is being sued by Purina. 6-14. By products in their food .
    Wellness is a terrific food.
    Called them and they sent me a 10$ coupon! Now that helps !

  • Betsy Greer

    Hey BC,

    Any idea what the deal is with that eye thing that I mentioned above? I was always curious about that.

  • theBCnut

    :-( They all have tomato :-( but Gideon and Angel do really well on it and the cats love it.

  • Betsy Greer

    I don’t recall who it was, but a while back a guy was posting that worked in a rendering plant. He said that it wasn’t unusual for Wellness to reject product that didn’t meet their standards.

  • Betsy Greer

    I love Wellness! My Cavalier, Bella, has one eye that the pigment from her eye seems to spread over on to the white of her. Each time I’ve fed her Wellness Core foods, the white of her eye clears up. Right now, she’s eating Wellness Core Small Breed, and is doing great on it.

  • theBCnut

    That’s fantastic!! If only I could feed Wellness to Micah…The other two dogs and the cats love it though.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    No it’s not the case. Wellness guarantees their meat meals to be free of preservatives upon arrival at the manufacturing facility. No synthetic preservatives are added during any stage of production.

  • theBCnut

    Unfortunately, with the way our labeling laws are written, if a preservative is added to the chicken or turkey meal by whoever Wellpet buys it from, they don’t have to list that on the label, and it is extremely likely that this is the case with Wellness as well as Blue buffalo. The only way to know is to call and ask very specific questions and evaluate the answers you receive.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Shelf-stable foods must contain preservatives in some form, otherwise the food would go rancid. Wellness claims to be free of synthetic preservatives, if that’s what you’re referring to. It does contain natural preservatives.

  • Dwan Suggs Buddin

    Is Wellness Brand preservative free? This was why I chose Blue Buffalo…which is supposedly preservative free when most other brands are not.

  • Crazy4cats

    I just checked the website. It shows deboned chicken as the first ingredient. Are you sure you are looking at the large breed Core formula? That is the one chosen to represent the products for the review.

  • Allison Carroll

    Not sure if this makes a difference to anyone (besides possibly correcting the info here) but the Wellness website lists the first ingredient as deboned turkey, with no deboned chicken at all

  • maryann amodei

    she look like cocker spaniel. with hair cut.

  • Crazy4cats

    Sounds like you are off to a good start. If your pups have been on the same food for a long time, take the transition slowly to avoid digestive upset. Also you might want to add a little plain canned pumpkin and/or probiotics to help with the transition. Good luck!

  • Betsy Greer

    I’ve fed my Cavalier Wellness Core Small Breed and Ocean formulas. I’ve fed her a lot of different foods (I rotate my dog’s foods regularly), but had the best results with these two of any I’ve fed.

    Yes, I advocate diet rotation. I’m constantly switching because there are so many I want to try and I never know if there’s something else that they might have even better results on. The biggest reason to feed a variety of foods including fresh, whole “people foods,” is that a variety of healthy foods supports a healthy gut; and, because there is no one perfect food. Rotation minimizes exposure to less desirable ingredients and ensures balance over time with a wider variety ingredients.

  • Shar24

    Thank you for the update, glad to hear she is feeling better.

  • BlondeAmbition

    I would like to transition my two pomeranians to the dry/wet Wellness Core brand from Hill’s Science Diet. What can I expect? Also, have been told about rotating foods…all of this is very overwhelming but I know I’ll figure it out in time. Like they say, once you know better, you do better…I’m trying.

  • LynD

    Another update: dog is perfectly fine back on this same food, but I am starting a rotation with some Fromm and Nature’s Instinct. The culprit here seems to be cranberry supplements I was giving her for previous UTI problems. Seems that cranberry is not always well tolerated and can cause irritation in the GI tract to include diarrhea. So for my dog, Wellness Core Puppy is fine (stored in a cool part of the house in a plastic tub) wasn’t the problem: its the supplement.. It does make sense to rotate food especially if there’s a recall or other problem where I can’t get it.

  • Bobby dog

    Hi Shelley:
    That’s a great suggestion! I have never placed kibble in the fridge but I do freeze opened bags that I won’t finish right away. One tip, when you take the bag out of the freezer, let it rise to room temp before opening the bag. This will help keep condensation from forming inside the bag; moisture from condensation could encourage the growth of mold. I have used several frozen bags in the past and will probably freeze more in the future if necessary with no issues. :)

  • Shelley Holte

    You also might consider how you store your (dry) dog food. The higher quality foods don’t contain all those nasty preservatives and the healthy oils can become rancid if not stored properly or consumed in a fairly short amount of time. I often hear people say they have been feeding the dog food with no problems then all of a sudden the dogs refuses to eat his regular food or starts having digestive issues. This could be from the food spoiling. For this reason I buy the smaller size bags or store what I won’t use in a week or two in the freezer or refrigerator. I had a similar incident happen three years ago when my dog was eating Natural Balance Duck and Potato. She was diagnosed with Pancreatitis. Her symptoms cleared up on homemade food but when I tried to incorporate the kibble back into her diet (3 different times) the symptoms returned. At the time Natural Balance was supposed to be a good food and of course the company denied having any problems with the batch! That was when I made the switch to Wellness. I have been feeding Wellness Core and Simple recipes to my own dogs as well as the rescue dogs (mostly small breed) I have fostered. Additionally I have had about 10 clients (I do pet sitting on the side) make the switch from various brands (mostly quality foods) to Wellness with amazing results. Several Senior dogs who were having digestive upset on their “usual” diets switched to Simple recipe and once the digestive upsets cleared they have done amazingly well on a combination of Simple and the Core recipes. As most of us know, every dog is different but I swear by Wellness foods for both dogs and cats. Good luck and remember with summer coming and the warm weather, think about how and where you store you open bags of food. Keep them in a cool area or better yet refrigerate or freeze open bags! :) Also its best not to “dump” your food bags into plastic (or any container) leave it in the bag and place the bag inside the container. It limits the contact with air which contributes to spoilage.

  • Bobby dog

    Hi Danni:
    Bobby has only been itchy, red & had lots of dandruff once, which brought me to DFA. I was feeding a bad canned topper with a DFA 5 star rated food. So who knows what the problem was because I completely changed his diet the next day. He also reacted once to a kibble with itchy red skin. The reaction was immediate so that was an easy fix.
    I don’t know if you give your pup any extras, but what really helped Bobby with his skin and coat issues was the addition of organic unrefined coconut oil, fish oil, and apple cider vinegar (with the mother); they really helped him heal quickly.

  • Danni

    A cute one?

  • Danni

    Thanks so much. :-) Cost isn’t really an issue. I have been thinking about a Costco membership- I have Sam’s Club and their dog section sucks.

    My new Pom Puppy has been a bear to feed. But he is good now on Wellness Simple GF Small Breed Salmon and potato and I rotate canned, freshpet and natures instinct. He loved Wellness Core but chicken is a no go.

    My Rottie, (has always been rotated since I got him at age 2) all of a sudden has Dandruff and itchiness. I rotate him so much I don’t know what the heck is causing it. Ugh…what a pain. Thank you so much for the advice and posts.

  • Bobby dog

    Hi Danni:
    My conversation with C4c after my below reply to you got me thinking. I am not sure if you are looking for budget friendly 5 star canned foods, but Kirkland Cuts & Gravy (DFA 5 stars) is probably the most affordable. It is Costco’s house brand and the only reason I don’t feed it is because I have a membership to BJ’s wholesale club, not Costco. C4c uses it in her rotation and highly recommends it. You have to buy a case at a time and I believe the price is $18.99/24; very nice price!

  • Crazy4cats

    Yes, you do need to find someone with a membership! I don’t think we have BJ’s in this area. Nor do we have Tractor Supply. Well, I’m glad that is the reason you aren’t using. I was hoping it wasn’t because of something that I should know about!

  • Bobby dog

    Hey C4c:
    I haven’t tried KC & gravy yet, it’s definately on the list to try. I used to have a membership to Costco but my dad’s cousin offered us a membership to BJ’s at a discount; so that’s our wholesale club now. I will try it one of these days. I definately suggest it as one of the budget friendly 5 stars when asked (per your review!). I need to make friends with someone who has a Costco membership. lol

  • Crazy4cats

    Hi Bobby Dog’s Mom-
    I’m curious about whether you have tried the Kirkland Cuts in Gravy or not?

  • Bobby dog

    I change toppers every few days and rotate between different proteins. I feed grain inclusive and grain free. I look for canned food with average to low carbs and fat. I do not feed any company who uses Evanger’s as a co-packer or who won’t disclose their co-packers.

    Bobby has done well on all the canned foods he’s eaten and always eats every last morsel. However, I will not feed Halo or by Nature again because they will not disclose their co-packers.

    My main rotation is Tractor Supply’s 4Health (99 cents & 4.5 stars), Wal-Mart’s Pure Balance stews ($1.00 & 5 stars) or Pure Balance 95% ($1.25 not DFA rated), and BJ’s Earth’s Pride ($8.99/6 pack not DFA rated). My budget is tight so anything else I buy is on sale or I have a coupon for it.

    Here’s the rest of the list: by Nature 95%, all Halo’s Spots Stew and Choice recipes, Lotus (don’t remember which recipe), Precise Holistic Pork w/gravy, Precise Chic & rice and Lamb & rice recipes, Purina Pro Plan – Beef & Brown Rice, Chic & Brown Rice, and Sensitive Skin & Stomach Salmon & Rice recipes, Rachael Ray all recipes, Tiki Dog all Succulent Chic recipes, Wellness Core Beef, Venison & Lamb recipe, Wellness 95%, and Weruva Human Style or the recipes canned in Thailand only (can’t remember specific recipes).

    FWIW Bobby’s fav’s are 4H Lamb, Earth’s Pride, Wellness Core and Tiki Dog.

  • Danni

    I would love your canned list please? :-)
    Thanks in advance!

  • Shawna

    Thanks Bobby dog!! :)

    I was going to let her hair go and never cut it but after it got about 5 inches long I decided to do it. It grows really fast and is SUPER soft. She cuddles up to me in the morning and I bury my face in her fur.. I miss that after a cut but, as mentioned, it does grow back pretty fast.

    The odd thing is she, and four of her five siblings, doesn’t look anything like either of her parents or like either of her maternal grand parents.

  • dchassett

    Papillon ears for sure. Looks a bit larger than my sons Papillon, Spenser. Really cute no matter where he hails from.

  • dchassett

    Not Maltese.

  • jay

    thanks alot :)

  • Cyndi

    Now I got it. Well, whatever your pup is, he sure is cute!! :)

  • jay

    yes the first pics i posted was the mother, she is shaved in the first pic and the one where the owner is holding her up she has hair

  • Cyndi

    Are those first pics you posted your dog’s mother? Thats why I had gotten confused I think! Lol!

  • jay

    shes cute :) and yeah i guess she is a mix thanks

  • jay

    thanks :) i think jay is fantastic lol

  • jay

    no because like i said the mother doesnt look like a shih tzu to me maybe the owner doesnt know what her dog really is lol, but ehh ill says hes a shih tzu/papillon lol

  • Cyndi

    So, I guess you answered your own question on what your dog is, lol! If the mom is shih tzu & the dad is a papillon, that makes her a papitzu or a shihtzillon. Lol!

  • Bobby dog

    I love her hairdo, I don’t think I could give that cute little face a haircut! How adorable. :)

  • theBCnut

    Oops! Sorry!

  • theBCnut

    Your puppy looks more Shih Tzu than the mom, but to me much cuter, which could be some Maltese influence, or who knows. I hope your pup has Pap characteristics/personality, because they are fantastic little dogs.

  • theBCnut

    Well, the dad is purebred… If she is a purebred Shih Tzu then her greatgrandparents should have all been neutered. Fortunately, looking like a standard doesn’t determine how good a pet it will be, so have fun with your baby!!!

  • Shawna

    Hi Jay,

    I think she looks very similar to my Audrey when she’s had a fresh haircut – which not in this pic. That would make her Boston Terrier, Chihuahua and Toy Poodle.. :) Even if not the same as Audrey, like the others, I bet she’s a mix.

  • jay

    lol its a nipple yeah

  • jay

    all four pics are the same dog there is 3 of when she was shaved and the other when she had hair

  • jay

    thats not me holding her lol and im not sure if that is fully grown

  • jay

    The one laying down is the dad and the other two pics is my puppy jay:)

  • jay

    wow she is mixed with so many? lol the reason i ask is because that is the mother of my puppy. the owner told me it was a purebred shih tzu but to me she doesnt look like one so now i have no
    idea what my puppy is. btw his dad is a papillon

  • LabsRawesome

    Yeah, I know. I was just kidding. :)

  • theBCnut

    Maybe a bit of Maltese in there, but the ears are sort of beaglish, bigger than the rest of the head. And definitely one of the breeds that often have crooked legs.

  • theBCnut

    No, doggie DNA tests are not definitive, unless you also have DNA of the parents. Doggie DNA tests only look at genetic characteristics and then assign a breed based on the characteristics. So genetic long legs could be a hundred different breeds, but they will pick a breed to assign it to. Same with whatever other characteristics. These tests are totally unreliable. I know several people that sent off samples for grin and giggles and found out that their purebred dog was a “mut.”

  • Melissaandcrew

    Definetly a mix. Muzzle and head shape are wrong for shihtzu or lhasa. Cute though!

  • theBCnut

    Mix. Could have poodle or ever cocker in it, as well as others. Neither Shih Tzu or Lhasa look right to me, the skull isn’t shaped right.

  • LabsRawesome

    Ok. The pic finally showed up, His friends dog, a shih tzu, does have a shorter muzzle. I guess she is a Lhasa Apso. Or some kind of mix. Only way to know for sure, is a doggie DNA test. :)

  • Cyndi

    I think it is all the same dog. I’m confused now. Lol! Doesn’t take much, lol!

  • LabsRawesome

    I thought the same thing, that all 4 pics were the same dog. And 1 with the coat grown in a bit.

  • Betsy Greer

    Her body, face shape, eyes and nose remind me a bit of my Cavalier.

  • Cyndi

    .

  • jay

    Look at my friends shih tzu his muzzle is shorter

  • Cyndi

    That last pic, of you holding her, is her hair fully grown back there? Lhasa Apsos usually have longer hair I think.

  • LabsRawesome

    LMAO

  • Cyndi

    That’s one of her nipples. I noticed that too! Lol! Penis on the brain, lol!! (sorry, couldn’t help that!)

  • LabsRawesome

    Oh sorry, lol. In the pic where she’s standing, I could’ve sworn I saw a penis. Maybe it’s something in the back ground? Any way she could be a Lhasa Apso, the 2 breeds do look similar when they are shaved. :)

  • Cyndi

    Nowadays they’re breeding everything with poodles and shitzus and all little dogs to get different mixes like Shiweenies and cockapoos and puggles and dogs like that, so I guess you never know….

  • Cyndi

    I like my spelling better! Ha ha! I just wanted to type the “s” word!

  • jay

    Hi its a girl lol she was pregnant in the first picture and i ask because i thought shih tzus had shorter muzzles

  • LabsRawesome

    Hi jay, cute pup. He looks like a Shitzu. :)

  • Crazy4cats

    I agree with Cyndi. I’m leaning toward the Llasa Apso.

  • Cyndi

    Maybe a Shitzu or a Lhasa Apso?

  • jay

    Anyone knows what type of dog this is?

  • CheckIt

    Could be an off batch. I’ve used core for years. Without preservatives, it can happen. Try a different batch but also check with the manufacturer.

  • LynD

    Prior to this episode she’s been eating 4 cups per day, spread out with two meals. Probably just can’t handle the fat load in this food in two meals. The dog was also on meds and she may have had something going on too that it fixed. But that same food quantity in three meals seems to be working. Eventually we’ll transition off this rich puppy food to something lower in fat but she’s still growing.

  • Shar24

    I have read that over feeding one of the top (if not the top) cause of digestive upset in dogs. So glad to hear you got this all sorted out

  • Barbara

    I only want to add that my 100# Lab takes the same amount of Benedryl when he has an allergic reaction as prescribed by his vet. He told me the dosage was 1 25mg tablet per 25# of dog however YOU SHOULD always have your vet check the dog out first and tell you if and how much of any medicine the dog should get.

  • LynD

    Thought I would give an update to close the thread out. After visit to vet we had meds and a new probiotic (Proviable, available from the vet.) I had been feeding her another probiotic. Fecal was run and negative for parasites, giardia and coccidia. The dog was very hungry on her cooked diet so I started slowly reintroducing the Wellness Core Puppy, She’s back to normal stool amounts and its formed,but a little soft. No diarrhea so I’ll take it. In case this is a situation of too much food in one feeding, I’m also doing three feedings per day: breakfast, lunch and dinner. The dog’s attitude has really improved with the three feedings because she’s not hungry mid day, and if it helps with the digestive issues then we all win. So I guess we have another mysterious case of dog diarrhea, or even “Dietary Indiscretion.”

  • Crazy4cats

    Hi LynD-
    I’m glad to hear you are having a fecal test done. Puppies can pick up that yucky stuff so easy. Mine had it and I just kept switching foods. I had never heard of giardia. I hope yours doesn’t have it, but at least you can start treating it right away if they do. Good luck!

  • Betsy Greer

    You should look for another food. I think Wellness Core is a great product, but there is no one perfect food. It’s the same reason why you eat a variety of foods for a variety of nutrients, that your dog needs a variety of foods.

    Aside from the fact that it’s not healthy to eat only one thing every day for an extended period of time, the food obviously doesn’t agree with your dog’s system.

    You’ve already attempted to reintroduce it once before. I’m not a gambler, but I’d be willing to bet that if you introduce it again, you’ll get the same results.

    Take a look at other quality foods to begin rotating and aim to find threre or four foods your dog likes and does well on and rotate them. While you’re trying new foods, keep notes on each food you try and the ingredients.

    Good luck!

  • sue66b

    Just looked & the fat is 16% in the Core kibble maybe he’s having trouble with the high fat or maybe the higher protein, this happened with my boy but with another kibble, I kept thinking it was the fiber, 6months later Patch was diagnosed with Chronic Pancreatitis, so now he’s on a lower fat 10%, Maybe give the Wellness Complete Health a try if the test come back all good, the Deboned Chicken & oatmeal recipe is only 12% fat or try the Lamb & barley recipe also 12% fat & just see if the diarrhea stops, some dogs just cant handle alot of fat or protein..

  • LynD

    Visited vet today as this has been going on too long. Asked for screening for giardia and coccidia and parasites. Vet has us on Metronidazole and an antacid along with a new probiotic and old fashioned Kaopectate (which is no longer available on the human market.) But I will probably find another food if this doesn’t resolve.

  • Amanda

    Any dog that is fed the same food over and over can develop an allergy to the food. Allergies don’t necessarily mean sneezing or itchy skin, it can also be an adverse reaction such as diarrhea. I would switch foods. Not to say it’s a bad food but your dog has obviously developed an intolerance. I would also recommend switching between 5 star foods regularly to develop healthy gut flora in your dog. If switching food doesn’t help her tummy I would take her to the vet to make sure there aren’t any other issues going on.

  • LynD

    Been feeding this to my Giant Schnauzer since she was 8 weeks old, and suddenly at six months she has horrible diarrhea. The past two days I’ve had her on chicken and rice at the advice of the vet and the diarrhea cleared, so this morning I added 1/4 cup of the Wellness and diarrhea again. Back to chicken and rice for two more days. Any advice or comments? Would things be fine for almost 5 months and then give the animal diarrhea? Dog is otherwise healthy.

  • Mike Rodrigues

    Any input on the new Core wild game? Noticed it is rating 4.5 stars. Would like input and ingredient breakdown. Read on dog food advisor FB page someone posted Core causes or has caused kindney and UTI issues. Any hear this or experienced this? Input on the wild game Core is appreciated. We have a 8 yr. old Boxer that is currently on TOWT sierra mountain. No problems, just wanna switch it up and increase her protein a bit.

  • Joanne

    My 7.5years mixed breed has been on a generic dog food (Mera Dog) for about 4 years.

    A month ago, i switched her over to Wellness Core after vet’s recommendation to remove grain from her diet.

    2 days ago, she had a grand mal seizure for the first time in her life, scared the heck out of me. The vet doesn’t think it had anything to do with the food, but i’m wondering if i should stop feeding her Wellness Core, just to be on the safe side.

    Would appreciate any advice anyone can share.
    Thanks so much!

  • Marilynn

    Thanks for the suggestions. I was already thinking about Merrick, but will definitely check out the others as well.

  • Kimi_Forever

    Try Petcurean Go! Fit and free, Orijen and another good one (except it has a little lower protein) is Fromm GF Surf and Turf

  • Bobby dog

    I know exactly what you mean, Bobby is spotted and his head is mostly black. He had a very shiny head when he was on Wellness; at the time I was not supplementing with fish & coco oil.

  • Hater & Molly’s Mom

    Thank you! I’m still trying to find something else to rotate with the Wellness Core. I have tried a few different foods, but they haven’t worked. Since i have been feeding Wellness the coats on both dogs have dramatically improved.

  • Bobby dog

    I do and it is about once a month. There are so many foods I want Bobby to try and I only started him on a rotation diet in September. He has done well on most everything so I figure I will keep feeding him a variety. If for any reason I need to limit or change any aspect of how I currently feed him I will without hesitation. Right now he seems to be enjoying the variety of foods, his dish always looks like it just came out of the dishwasher by the time he’s done!

  • Hater & Molly’s Mom

    Hi Bobby, So you rotate them after each bag? Is that about once a month?

  • Marilynn

    Thank you very much for your suggestions. We have 5 dogs varying in age from 2 to 9, so it’s sometimes hard to find a brand they all do well on.

  • Bobby dog

    Hi Marilynn:
    I am happy to share my rotation with you. Please keep in mind each dog will respond differently to their diets. Bobby is four, active, has no health issues, and no food intolerances. I feed GF and grain inclusive to hopefully avoid developing food intolerances from being fed one recipe or brand. With each new bag I change the brand, protein, and starch. Here’s what Bobby has done well with: Wellness Core GF, 4Health GF Beef, Whitefish or Turkey only, Avoderm GF Trout, Source Lamb & Brown Rice, Earthborn Holistic Meadow Feast, and Rachael Ray Zero Grain Salmon or Turkey. Right now I am feeding Purina One Beyond Chicken and next month will be Nutrisource Lamb GF. I always feed canned with every meal also. If you want any canned food suggestions just ask I probably have fed over 10 different brands! :)

  • Marilynn

    My dogs are doing very well on this, but I need a few other ones for their rotation. What other foods do you use?

  • Marilynn

    what other dog foods do you use in your rotation? My dogs are doing very well on this, and it’s almost time for me to rotate to a new brand. Thanks!

  • JC77

    I used to feed my one year-old pug Wellness CORE, but then I switched to Acana. Both are great high-quality food, but with Acana my pug’s fur looks better and is a lot softer.

  • Karissa Dreese

    Why is the Wellness Wild Game given only 4.5 stars?

  • JudyandSam Simpson Norris

    You could try Innova Natures Table or Prime, I think its called now. Or Castor & Pollux Untramix Grain Free or Fromm Grain Free. My cocker, Abbie, had really bad skin issues until I changed her to Castor & Pollux and Fromm Grain Frees.

  • JudyandSam Simpson Norris

    Mine have been on Fromm Grain Free for awhile and love it. My Abbie has skin allergies too and has done well on the Fromm Grain Free. I go to Hollywood Feed and they will give you samples, if they have them. They have also had Castor & Pollux Grain Free and love it too. I swap up every so often as they get tired of the same thing over and over. Wellness seems to be rated high here so I may try it too.

  • JudyandSam Simpson Norris

    As you have probably seen on here by now, if you checked out the rating, Beneful is garbage. If you care about you dog, feed him good food.

  • c.vonM

    Over the past several daysI have transitioned my 4 mo. old miniature poodle to wellness core puppy from royal canin. She is now drinking tons of water, much more than she had been. Is that normal? It is interfering with her almost house-trained status since she now needs to urinate very frequently.

  • Bobby dog

    Hello:
    My dog loves this food and does very well on it. I have not fed it in a couple of months, but it is part of my rotation diet for my dog. I feed the regular gf because he is a medium sized dog, 40 lbs, with a topper for added moisture. I also found I needed to feed less than the recommended serving which was just another bonus.

  • cbw7

    I am using Wellness CORE Grain-Free Large Breed Formula Dry Dog Food By Wellness. My thre labs love it and they are very healthy. I did a research about this food, I compared it with other brands and with the other options from Welness grain-free as well, and I chose this one. I would like to know what do you think about this food? Thanks

  • Karen

    My Havanese does great on this food. Her coat is shiny, no digestive issues or skin problems and her eyes shine. I just recently found out that Wellness also advertises they are Non – GMO! Yay!

  • Pattyvaughn

    I can’t say about the 1 month per year part since my pup came to me at 8 weeks old with issues and the 2 1/2 months it took to get him straightened out happened before his first birthday, but otherwise I completely agree, especially about having patience with the healing process. The damage didn’t happen in a day, so don’t expect it to clear up that fast either.

  • Anie Bananie

    Good points, we estimate, when you get a really good diet going after ruling out conditions, or identifying them, keep going patiently, but we have found that it takes approximately 1 month for every year of feeding abuse on average. It may take longer depending on the specifics. You need to find a good vet that listens and does not push all their products on you, but will consider natural things as well as medications when absolutely necessary. Also avoid vaccines that are not mandatory, Dr. Pitcairn reviews these as well as other vets. Remember every med/vaccine is to help, but with the help their are side effects, the question is if it is necessary or if the benefits outweigh the risks. Best of luck on the journey to wellness.

  • Anie Bananie

    We switched to this brand, plus we use Dr. Pitcairn’s natural recommendations, an absolute plus is codliver oil, his book breaks everything down for you to make it easy. Welness in the am and raw foods later in the day. Dogs systems were designed for raw, but we get how that is not always practical or affordable. We have turned 12 year old dogs around, their skin, teeth, coat and eyes now need limited attention or none at all. 2 dogs had serious hair loss, and even the 14 year old with a heart condition improved tremendously. Most of these 5 star foods are good, but we believe like humans no 2 dogs are exactly the same but they all need the basics. Don’t forget some of your daily foods are good for your pup too. Again Dr. Pitcairn’s books are a great guide on the foods and supplements. Watch out for all those meds and especially the pest controls put on dogs or given to them, they are poison and when on a good diet they naturally repel these pests. The best to you on your journey!

  • Pat C.

    Itchy skin problems…..try Vet Solutions Universal Medicated Shampoo (can get at Amazon). Cleared it right up after trying various other things that didn’t work over the course of a year. My dog was losing hair and bloodying herself where she would bite the itchy spots. I and my dog were so relieved when this stuff worked. I keep mentioning this when I read about other dog’s skin problems because I don’t want others to suffer needlessly like we did and waste money on other shampoos, meds and foods that did not fix the problem.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Keep in mind that starch sources have proteins in them too, so dogs can be allergic to them too. Keep ingredient lists and make notes on what your dog does well on and doesn’t do well on. Hopefully, by comparing ingredient lists, you will be able to figure out what your dog is reacting to.
    Allergies do not reflect on the quality of the food. One of my dogs is allergic to some of the best foods around.

  • Guest

    I was gradually transitioning my dogs to this and one of them developed an anal gland rupture which the vet thinks might be due to an allergy, especially as his ear are somewhat inflamed. So even though the food may sound good in theory, it may not be right for every dog. There are so may ingredients that I don’t know which one might be the problem for this dog. I think I will keep them on a single protein source. The one they are on now was chicken based.

  • jay

    Oh its nice too see that someone has the same breed as me! Can i see pics of him i need to upload pics of my boy . And i put him on wellness core for puppies and will change him to small breed maybe mines will like it? Or if not ill put him on tje reg pne cause he likes the puppy one! And do you boil the egg and cook the meat? I thought human food was bad for dogs :/

  • Bianca

    I’ve been feeding my shih tzu/papillon mix wellness core since he was about 5-6 months old. His bowel movements weren’t healthy until he started eating wellness core. Now, his bowel movements are regular and healthy and he continues to maintain a healthy weight, beautiful teeth, high energy and mood and his coat is beautiful! He is almost a year and a half now. I came back to find another food for him for really no other reason except he’s been eating this for a while. I throw in an egg, veggies, or meat into his bowl a couple times a week, and nothing seems to upset his stomach anymore!! Ps, I feed him the original. The small breed upset him a little bit. Good luck! I never reply to these things, but you’re the first person I’ve seen with the same mix as me! They’re the sweetest pups around!

  • Akari_32

    Anything is better than Beneful, so its a great idea. Wellness CORE is my favorite food to feed my dogs, and is the best available in my area.

  • Ollie

    Many many dogs have died or gotten really sick on benefull any Purina product is the worst to feed. Don’t feel to bad about feeding it because I did to ,not knowing what it was doing to dogs till mine threw up a lot. Im not sure if small puppies need a certain puppy formula or not and I haven’t used this food but it’s definitely better than the beneful which is under 1 star food review so you can look at it if you want. You could repost the question under off topic discussion and could get more response back. Hope this helps .

  • jay

    i just got a 6month old shih tzu/papillon mix and he is currently on beneful for puppies i am thinking about changing him to wellness core puppies is this an ideal food for him?

  • Eric Bowman

    Can you delete her comments she is doing cyberstalking.

  • Shelby girl

    My shorkie has been put on Urinary SO by Royal Canine…because of possible kidney issues….however she has had a time with yeast ever since I put her on this…any suggestions? HELP!

  • Bryce Martin

    Just mix the dry kibble with enough water to get the consistency you would like. Once you add the water let it sit for a minute or two and the kibble will soften up.

  • Gena Hail

    I have 2 new rescues shih Tzu mixes. One has extreme food allergies but is also very picky. I have tried all of the grain free dog foods and he doesn’t like any of them. I’m on this one now it seems too hard to chew. Is there anything I can add besides mixing with canned dog food the expense is more than I can handle with my job shutting the doors to the business.

  • Pattyvaughn

    I agree, benedryl should only be given on the advice of your vet, so I wouldn’t tell people what the dosage instructions should be, as if I’m inviting them to use it anyways.

  • Caroline Capobianco

    Thanks Betsy! I had no clue. I just googled it. They’re beautiful dogs! Definitely large breed! lol!

  • Betsy Greer

    Hi Caroline,

    I believe she must have a Native American Indian Dog which would definitely be considered a large breed with a weight anywhere from 55 lbs to 120 lbs.

  • Caroline Capobianco

    Hi Jeanette. What is a NAID? If you have a large breed puppy, they have specific dietary needs like lower calcium levels when they are puppies. Wellness Core Puppy is a really good food and is appropriate for large breed pups. Here is a list of other foods for large breed puppies: https://docs.google.com/file/d/0BwApI_dhlbnFTXhUdi1KazFzSUk/edit. You could try transitioning him to Wellness Core Puppy. Fromm doesn’t agree with every dog. Mine never did that well on it and one just wouldn’t eat it.

  • Jeanette

    I also need help I have a new baby he is a NAID. I really think he getting diarrhea from his puppy food lg breed puppy From Gold. Please help me with this food stuff I’m really going insane please thank you for your time

  • Dizzydog10

    Benedryl should only be given on the advice of your Vet. My Chihuahua takes it 2x’s a day. The average dose, for a small dog is 1 mlg.Childrens Benedryl liquid per pound. When I had my Australian Shepard Mix, she was 50 pnds, she was on 1 25 mlg adult tab every 12 hours. This is only if your vet has ruled out any other problem.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Please don’t tell people to use 4 tab of benedryl a day on their dog without even mentioning the size of your dog or how often you give how much. Overdose on benedryl does happen. OTC drugs are the ones most likely to be used wrong, especially on pets and still need a vets advice on dosing.
    Fortunately, the usual first sign of benedryl overdose is vomiting and that gets rid of some of it, but not always.

  • Dog..Bahama

    Try Wellness Core And add extra omegas to the diet. My dog had similar issues so I also took her off grains. I add salmon oil for extra fatty acids and it seems to be cleaning up.

  • wendy

    My dog is 7, and I just went through the same thing, including about $500 in medications. Hair loss, pimples, massive red skin etc…We have no flees either and the vet made me put her on a very expensive flee control (no difference there), so I took her off. The meds cleared up most of the hair loss and cracking skin. I was told she had a food allergy (after all these years). I switched her to the vet recommended Natural Balance. HOWEVER, she now smells like cat pee (so does my new puppy, both on NB sweet potato and bison)and she still has some pimples which I put neosporin on to clear up. I just read how bad NB has become and that it does cause that smell issue in some dogs. Many bad review on NB and also on Blue Buffalo. i guess they were both recently bought out by others, and quality of food is not the same. Not sure what dog food to try next. The thing that works best for my dog after many $ and vet visits is Benedryl. Up to 4 tabs of 25mg per day. It does not have the same tiring effect on dogs as on humans. This keeps the sores and red skin at bay without the expensive meds with side effects.Hope this helps.

  • InkedMarie

    I agree with Patty.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com/ Mike Sagman

    Hey Guys,

    The Dog Food Advisor community encourages “courteous critiques, polite debate and calm disagreement”.

    Unfortunately, recent remarks here compel me to remind all involved to adhere to Our Commenting Policy which states:

    “… we delete comments that exceed the boundaries of courteous behavior. This includes remarks that are rude, profane, mean-spirited, disrespectful, lack good manners or otherwise unrelated to the topic at hand.”

    Flagged comments in violation of this rule have been removed. Your respect for the opinions of others would be appreciated. Thank you.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Sorry, you’re right. That should have said lower meat protein.

  • sue66b

    Another one that has to add her 2c.

  • sue66b

    Which Wellness Core is Moose on, is it the original, as my boy suffers from IBD & Colitis & he’s on the Eukanuba Intestinal this has help him, excellent poos but some days after eating especially mornings he does his licking his lips like he feels sick then wants his grass the vet has said to try & not let him have grass as this will irritate the bowel then this makes his Colitis come back.. Do u know if the Wellness core kibble dissolves easy when put in hot water, as my boy cant digest some hard kibbles, the kibble just sits in his stomach then when he’d spew it still was whole 8 hours later, that was the Royal Canin Hypoallergenic, the Eukanuba Intestinal breaks down as it a low residue kibble..I cant seem to find another Low residue kibble they all seem very very hard,, there has to be another kibble out there that my boy can digest easily..

  • Pattyvaughn

    See if you can find the Natural Balance LID foods somewhere near you. They are not the best food out there and I wouldn’t want to put a dog on them forever, but they are a good tool to start getting a handle on what your dog is reacting to.

    When my dog was still eating a food that he reacted to and I switched him to a food that was a good match for him, I could tell within 1 week that he was getting better, but it took about 2 1/2 months for all the symptoms to go away completely.