Victor Select Dog Food (Dry)

Share

Rating: ★★★★☆

Victor Select dog food receives the Advisor’s second-highest tier rating of 4 stars.

The Victor Select product line includes ten dry dog foods, six claimed to meet AAFCO nutrient profiles for all life stages and four for adult maintenance (High Energy, Performance Formula, Multi-Pro Maintenance and Senior/Healthy Weight .

The following is a list of recipes available at the time of this review.

  • Victor Select High Energy
  • Victor Select Hi Pro Plus (5 stars)
  • Victor Select Ocean Fish Formula
  • Victor Select Professional Formula
  • Victor Select Performance Formula
  • Victor Select Lamb Meal and Brown Rice
  • Victor Select Multi-Pro Maintenance (3.5 stars)
  • Victor Select Beef Meal and Brown Rice (3.5 stars)
  • Victor Select Senior/Healthy Weight Formula (4.5 stars)
  • Victor Select Chicken Meal and Brown Rice with Lamb Meal

Victor Select Professional Formula was selected to represent the other products in the line for this review.

Victor Select Professional Formula

Dry Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 29% | Fat = 20% | Carbs = 44%

Ingredients: Beef meal, whole ground grain sorghum, chicken meal, chicken fat (preserved with mixed tocopherols), whole ground millet, pork meal, dehydrated alfalfa meal, flaxseed (source of omega 3 fatty acid), oat meal, potassium chloride, dried kelp, yeast culture, montmorillonite, monosodium phosphate, tomato pomace (source of lycopene), whole carrots, dried celery pomace, dried beet pomace, dried parsley pomace, dried lettuce pomace, dried watercress pomace, dried spinach pomace, l-lysine, Yucca schidigera extract, choline chloride, hydrolyzed yeast, taurine, dried chicory root, l-carnitine, zinc sulfate, ferrous sulfate, vitamin E supplement, zinc amino acid chelate, iron amino acid chelate, selenium yeast, vitamin B12 supplement, niacin (vitamin B3), copper sulfate, d-calcium pantothenate (vitamin B5), vitamin A supplement, copper amino acid chelate, manganese sulfate, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), biotin (vitamin B7), magnesium amino acid chelate, manganese amino acid chelate, riboflavin supplement (vitamin B2), pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), vitamin D3 supplement, calcium iodate, lecithin, folic acid (vitamin B9), oil of rosemary, dried Enterococcus faecium fermentation product, dried Lactobacillus acidophilus fermentation product, dried Aspergillus niger fermentation product, dried Bacillus subtilis fermentation product

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 4.2%

Red items when present indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis26%18%NA
Dry Matter Basis29%20%44%
Calorie Weighted Basis24%40%36%

The first ingredient in this dog food is beef meal. Beef meal is considered a meat concentrate and contains nearly 300% more protein than fresh beef.

The second ingredient is sorghum. Sorghum (milo) is a starchy cereal grain with a nutrient profile similar to corn.

Since it is gluten-free and boasts a smoother blood sugar behavior than other grains, sorghum may be considered an acceptable non-meat ingredient.

The third ingredient includes chicken meal, another protein-rich meat concentrate.

The fourth ingredient is chicken fat. Chicken fat is obtained from rendering chicken, a process similar to making soup in which the fat itself is skimmed from the surface of the liquid.

Chicken fat is high in linoleic acid, an omega-6 fatty acid essential for life. Although it doesn’t sound very appetizing, chicken fat is actually a quality ingredient.

The fifth ingredient is millet, a gluten-free grain harvested from certain seed grasses. Millet is hypoallergenic and naturally rich in B-vitamins and fiber as well as other essential minerals.

The sixth ingredient includes pork meal. Pork meal is considered a meat concentrate and contains nearly 300% more protein than fresh pork. Yet it can also be high in ash — about 25-30%.

However, the ash content of the final product is typically adjusted in the recipe to allow its mineral profile to meet AAFCO guidelines.

The seventh ingredient is alfalfa meal. Although alfalfa meal is high in plant protein (about 18%) and fiber (25%), this hay-family item is more commonly associated with horse feeds.

The eighth ingredient is flaxseed, one of the best plant sources of healthy omega-3 fatty acids. Provided they’ve first been ground into a meal, flax seeds are also rich in soluble fiber.

However, flaxseed contains about 19% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

The ninth ingredient is oatmeal, a whole-grain product made from coarsely ground oats. Oatmeal is naturally rich in B-vitamins, dietary fiber and can be (depending upon its level of purity) gluten-free.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With five notable exceptions

First, montmorillonite clay is a naturally occurring compound rich in many trace minerals. Montmorillonite has been approved for use in USDA Organic Certified products.

Reported benefits include the binding of certain mold-based toxins and even controlling diarrhea and irritable bowel syndrome (IBS).

Next, tomato pomace is a controversial ingredient, a by-product remaining after processing tomatoes into juice, soup and ketchup.

Many praise tomato pomace for its high fiber and nutrient content, while others scorn it as an inexpensive pet food filler.

Just the same, there’s probably not enough tomato pomace here to make much of a difference.

In addition, we note the inclusion of dried fermentation products in this recipe. Fermentation products are typically added to provide enzymes to aid the animal with digestion.

Next, this recipe also contains selenium yeast. Unlike the more common inorganic form of selenium (sodium selenite), this natural yeast supplement is considered a safer anti-cancer alternative.

And lastly, this food also contains chelated minerals, minerals that have been chemically attached to protein. This makes them easier to absorb. Chelated minerals are usually found in better dog foods.

Victor Select Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Judging by its ingredients alone, Victor Select dog food looks like an above average dry product.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 29%, a fat level of 20% and estimated carbohydrates of about 44%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 28% and a mean fat level of 16%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 49% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 58%.

Near-average protein. Near-average fat. And near-average carbs when compared to a typical dry dog food.

When you consider the protein-boosting effects of the alfalfa meal and flaxseed, this looks like the profile of a kibble containing a moderate amount of meat.

Bottom line?

Victor Select dog food is a plant-based kibble using a moderate amount of various named meat meals as its main sources of animal protein, thus earning the brand 4 stars.

Highly recommended.

Please note certain recipes are sometimes given a higher or lower rating based upon our estimate of their total meat content.

Special Alert

Rice ingredients can sometimes contain arsenic. Until the US FDA establishes safe upper levels for arsenic content, pet owners may wish to limit the total amount of rice fed in a dog's daily diet.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, our rating system is not intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in specific health benefits for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

To learn how we support the cost of operating this website, please visit our public Disclosure and Disclaimer page.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Notes and Updates

11/30/2010 Original review
04/14/2011 Review updated
06/07/2011 Review updated
09/27/2011 Review updated
06/28/2012 Review updated
04/21/2012 Review updated
04/21/2013 Last Update

  • Linda

    Hi crazy4 cats
    I ordered smallest bag of Select Beef meal and brown rice. It is a step up from what he is on now, thats for sure ! fingers crossed that he can get used to it.

  • Crazy4cats

    Oh, good. I think victor pets is the same as sport dog? Keep checking the store locater sporadically also. I think they are starting to expand. Which variety did you order? Good luck.

  • Linda

    yeah – thank you !!!

  • Linda

    thank you !

  • Crazy4cats

    I have ordered online from amazon. I have also seen it available online at sport dog, rocket petz and eBay. We finally have one store that carries it here. It’s quite a drive, so I call about a week ahead to special order to make sure they have it when I make the drive. The cheapest online store is RocketPetz.com. They only sell the grain free, however. I’ve had good luck with the grain free joint health after trying several other foods with digestive issues. Also it is a fairly budget friendly for a 5 star food. Good luck.

  • dchassett

    You can order it on line from their site also from many dog food sites and also Amazon.

  • theBCnut

    Many of us live in areas where we can’t get a good selection of dog foods locally, so we order from the internet.

  • Linda

    I also requested samples.

  • Linda

    OK I would like to try this food, but it is not available in my state. I wrote to the company to see if I can have it shipped. Do you all get it this way also?

  • Melissaandcrew

    Hi there. Just saw this and am glad to hear that victor is helping your dog and the colitis. I haven’t been around as much dealing with the new dog who had an addisons crisis. She is doing well now so more free time.

  • sclemmons

    Researched the heck out of the food and chose Victor. Switched dogs to it and the one who was a part-time grass eater is now a GRAZER?? Did a gradual switch. He used to play chase for an hour straight. Now I throw ball and he gets it, drops it, and eats grass!!! This is ridiculous. Any thoughts? Other dog seems same. Poops seem good. Just confused about grass eating to point of not playing.

  • Bryan Ledford

    I’m moving from Wisconsin to North Carolina and have been looking for something to replace my current American Natural Premium Endurance formula. My senior Boxer mix has tried so many things over the years and does well with some grains and a 30/20 ratio. She gets gassy on root starches like russets and sweet potatoes. It’ll make you leave the room. Does anyone use the Hi Pro Plus? Experiences?

  • Crazy4cats

    Thanks for the warning! I am using the beef and sweet potato right now and will be trying the salmon next. Hope I can’t smell it all day after feeding them. LOL! I’m looking forward to trying it out. Sounds like it’s a hit at your house. Thanks for the review.

  • Lil Louis

    I gave my dog the sample of Salmon & Sweet Potato. He loved it. 1st time he’s ever eaten his food and not picked at it!! Beware…has a definite salmon smell.

  • Freeholdhound

    Sorry- I didn’t see your post. The “avoid” list is: turkey, chicken, salmon, white fish, venison, sweet potato, & oatmeal. I’m feeding Natures Logic Beef or Sardine and Earthborn Holistic Great Plains Feast plus some raw grinds.

  • dchassett

    How do you delete a post? I haven’t been able to figure it out.

  • dchassett

    OH!. Such good news. Really happy for you.

  • Crazy4cats

    No problem, I just was really following Melissa (not stalking) for a bit and her recommendations for Victor. I use the grain free joint health variety. I don’t think there is any fish in that one. I agree that Wysong has good customer service. I also have called them and they followed up with an email in about 15 minutes.

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    Yes, at the natural garden store. Just makes me want to make garlic butter bread after using it!

  • Crazy4cats

    Thank you very much, Dori. The surgery went better than expected. We are ecstatic! They were able to repair the existing tendon reattach it and remove a bone spur rather than totally replacing it with one from his leg. This is known in the baseball world as tommy john surgery. He should be able to be back on the mound pitching by December to prepare for next year’s college season. It still is a long rehab, but about 3 to 6 months less than earlier expected. Money, money, money!

  • Crazy4cats

    There is garlic spray for the yard? Do you have the best smelling yard in the neighborhood? Lol! I learn something amazing every day on this site.

  • 5BarkingDogs

    Thanks Shawna! I have used aloe, but haven’t heard of SeaCure. I guess that & slippery elm is next on the list.

  • 5BarkingDogs

    Hi Labs, when I figure out how to get the pics on here I will do. :)

  • losul

    I’m O.K. 5BD. I hope things keep getting better for you and yours. It’s a real shame all that has happened to your girl. So hard to believe it’s still on the market.

    I agree with you about DFA and all the good people here sharing. I’d be lost without them.

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    I use nematodes in the yard and then wait a couple weeks before I spray garlic spray, neem oil spray and sometimes cedarwood oil spray on the yard every couple of weeks. I’ve used Mercola flea spray and Halo Herbal Dip the past 2 years and added Flea Free Supplement and Bug Off Garlic this last year. No flea/tick meds at all.

  • Hater & Molly’s Mom

    I haven’t started a rotation diet yet for our dogs so if this works out well i can start to rotate with this. I’m always nervous trying a new food.

  • Hater & Molly’s Mom

    You are welcome and thank you!

  • LabsRawesome

    Oh, thanks. I thought you meant Victor’s site, I scrolled all the way down to the bottom of their page, and it ends with cat food. No free samples. I was like, why am I not seeing them? Lol. This is the Victor’s site that I was using. victordogfood.com The site you posted is sportdogfood online store. Which does have free samples of Victor. You can get free samples of Victor on Facebook, as well. https://www.facebook.com/sportdogfood :)

  • dchassett

    Thanks Shawna. I’ll try a different enzyme checking similar ingredients with Mercola so that i can avoid similarities. Yikes! Will I ever be able to stop checking and eliminating ingredients? I think not. Just as I think I’m on a roll with the girls something else pops up.

    Also thanks for Mary Lou’s story. It has helped in my decision making.

  • Hater & Molly’s Mom
  • Shawna

    Hi Dori,

    Yes, I do. I buy bulk food grade DE from my local health food store. But any food grade product is okay. I add it to their supplement mix in rotation. Current mix might have DE, spirulina, turmeric and a mushroom blend and then I might not rotate it in again for several months.

    My dogs don’t really have issues with fleas but my least healthy girl, the OCD girl that reacted badly to her rabies vacc, will sometimes get a few fleas on her the very end of the season (we have COLD winters). She’s a Pom so I separate segments of fur and apply pinches of DE and then rub it all in spreading it over her skin/fur with all fingers. I usually apply it every three or four days for a few weeks to get not only the live fleas but those not yet emerged from the eggs, at the first application, too.

    Last year I had to do Peanut (the OCD Pom) that way and Mimi and Gizmo also had to have one application. The other five were good. I also give them fresh garlic.

    Other things that can be done for fleas are to apply nematodes in the yard if your weather is suitable. Use a garlic spray in the yard. DE can be used in the yard too but it kills beneficial bugs as well as parasites so not ideal. You can bath the kids with an essential oil shampoo and/or use a essential oil spray as needed when they got outside. I think the one I have, but don’t use, is called Flea Flicker.

    A good friend, Mary Lou in Florida, has a beautiful little Bichon boy named Dupree. Dupree is allergic to flea bites as well as having a food allergy. She found that by improving his health (by eliminating the allergy causing food), minimally vaccinating, by feeding high quality foods (including raw/freeze dried) etc that his flea allergy became less problematic. Now she is able to give him Comfortis as needed — which is not year round even though she’s in Florida.

    With continued improved health you should see the same benefits for all your kids including your little delicate flower… :)

    Although not particularly common I have heard at least one other having an issue with the Mercola enzymes. It could be any ingredient as the product has more than just enzymes, like ox bile extract. I’d just try another product and see how that works. If still having issues then you can compare the two ingredient lists and see what the commonalities are and go from there.

  • Hater & Molly’s Mom

    Hi Labs, I just typed in Victor Dog Food and it took me right to the site. I doubled checked and the link is still at the bottom of the page. I tried to copy and paste the link here but for some reason i couldn’t.

  • LabsRawesome

    Hi

    Hater & Molly’s Mom, I went to Victor’s site. I didn’t see any free samples. victordogfood.com

  • Michele

    great, thanks. I already use SportDogFood didn’t know they had free samples :)

  • Shawna

    Hmm, that’s weird.. Sorry about that.. Betsy found the correct link. There was also a news segment about a month before the below linked one aired. This (Betsy’s link) is the followup story to that one.

  • Betsy Greer

    Thanks for the correction on that C4C!

    And, darn it! I was on the Victor site earlier thinking I was going to try a “pro” formula of some sort next since I’ve been hearing good things about it for dogs who seem to be prone to bowel issues, but both the Hi Pro Plus and the GF Ultra Pro contain fish.

    Actually, I went through each formula and they only use fish in those formulas and not surprisingly, the Ocean Blend.

    I have a couple of trial bags of Wysong at home that I haven’t opened. So unfortunately, no, I don’t have any experience with it yet. Their website is interesting and their customer service is very helpful as I have emailed them some questions previously. If I’m not mistaken, I believe Sandy uses some Wysong formulas.

  • LabsRawesome

    Hi Michele, you can get 3 free samples here. https://www.facebook.com/sportdogfood

  • Betsy Greer
  • Hater & Molly’s Mom

    I went to their website. If you scroll all the way down to the bottom of the page you will see a link for free samples. They actually sent me two of each!

  • Michele

    where did you get samples?

  • Hater & Molly’s Mom

    I just received my samples of Victor dog food in the mail. My babies will be trying them for dinner tonight.

  • neezerfan

    I’m not finding that story on that page.

  • dchassett

    Hi Shawna. Do you use diatomaceous earth on your dogs and if so, which one do you use? Do you think Katie (“delicate flower” girl) would benefit from diatomaceous earth? She’s started scratching again recently and oddly enough when I stopped adding digestive enzymes (process of illumination with supplements) to her meals it stopped. I asked Losul if dogs had allergic reactions to it, but haven’t heard back yet. Do you know? The little girl is driving me nuts!!!!!!! As Gilda Radner used to say on SNL, if it’s not one thing it’s another.

  • LabsRawesome

    Hello 5BarkingDogs, welcome to DFA!! You are very welcome, if I have helped you in some small way. So great to hear your dog is feeling better on Victor foods. I was so happy when my Trinity’s eyes cleared. I feel it is the Montmorillonite clay that has the healing effect on dog’s bodies, because it reaches every cell within their body, it can alleviate many conditions. Please keep us posted on your dogs progress. Oh, and how about some pics? :)

  • Shawna

    My Pom gets ulcerative colitis if she eats chicken for more than just a few days. While trying to diagnose the cause and for some time after eliminating chicken, I used the herb slippery elm (also coats the digestive tract) and a product called SeaCure (made for humans and dogs) that helps heal the gut faster. Food grade aloe is also good for coating the digestive tract..

    Vet Dr. Karen Becker talks about slippery elm in one of her videos/articles. She says “When slippery elm combines with digestive juices, it produces a gel-like
    material called mucilage, which coats and soothes the GI tract and
    helps to firm the stool.” http://healthypets.mercola.com/sites/healthypets/archive/2012/11/19/dietary-fiber.aspx

    Food grade diatomaceous earth kills parasites (except possibly tapeworms) and also absorbs toxins. Pretty cheap too.

    Some options if you ever can’t get your hands on the Panacur and Endosorb. :)

  • Shawna

    OH MY GOD!!! A news reporter found out via the Freedom of Information Act that the FDA has had 700 (at that time) consumer reports of dog deaths believed to be due to Trifexis. Apparently their website, at that time, said only 31 but they were “in the process of updating the site” WHAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The number of vomiting on FDA website is 2200 but actual number is “more than 30,000″.

    The news report video is here http://www.wsbtv.com/news/news

  • Shawna

    OH MY GOD!!! A news reporter found out via the Freedom of Information Act that the FDA has had 700 (at that time) consumer reports of dog deaths believed to be due to Trifexis. Apparently their website, at that time, said only 31 but they were “in the process of updating the site” WHAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The number of vomiting on FDA website is 2200 but actual number is “more than 30,000″.

    The news report video is here http://www.wsbtv.com/news/news/local/owners-blame-700-dog-deaths-trifexis/nb5B4/

  • dchassett

    Good luck to your son C4C. I’ll be thinking of you both today.

  • 5BarkingDogs

    Good luck to you & your son! Talk to you soon

  • 5BarkingDogs

    I feel the same, exactly the same! We lost our 12 yr old chihuahua to the whole dog food/dog treats China fiasco in 2006. Who knew?? Now with this trifexis/China thing. It brings back very painful memories of of a very sad time. I wish there was better regulations, but too many people feel like animals are animals are animals & nothing more. I have cried so many times over these guys thinking I’m doing right by them, only to read it’s not right, then feeling like I’m going to lose it! Again, I’m glad I found you guys & such a fantastic community to bounce ideas back & forth. THANK YOU!! :)

  • Crazy4cats

    Oh, I’m also very familiar with the panacur. Have used it several times also. Luckily, I found it online and at Fred Meyer for about half the price as the vet. Will look into the endosorb later as I’m getting ready to take my 19 year old son to the hospital for surgery. He’s having a new ligament put in to his elbow. It’s from a baseball injury and it is about a 9 month rehab process. If its not one thing it’s another. Thank you.

  • 5BarkingDogs

    I took Gobi to a vet in Florida (new eyes) when she wasn’t doing well down there last year & he put her Panacur & Endosorb. His explanation was it will coat her insides to help with the pain from colitis & the clay will help take out the toxins &/or parasites. He gave her 10 days worth for $35, I looked it up & Amazon sells it for I believe $65/500. Needless to say, I bought it from amazon & use it when she flares up. I just got lucky finding it down there, it’s from a local company in Pensacola. They have a website & it has the dosage listed, but says it can’t be overdosed. Yea!!
    I mentioned it to my vet here in Atl., he had not heard of it.

  • Crazy4cats

    Actually, I think it is the grain free ultra pro that Melissa uses, not the hi-pro. They have many different lines that kind of sound the same. I also found that Wysong includes the clay. I haven’t heard much talk of that food on this site. Do you have any thoughts or experience with that brand? Thanks.

  • 5BarkingDogs

    The medication is so harsh. :( My girl was overdosed on the metronidazole early last year. Unfortunately, (b/c of the expense) it happened at 10:30 on a Saturday night after her regular vet had closed, but fortunately she went to a 24 hr ER & was seen by another vet with new eyes on the matter.
    She has been on that, prednisone, & a sulfa drug (a giant yellow pill, its not in front of me right now) all with harsh results. Since the trifexis, her body has had a hard time regulating her body temperature, so I keep her shaved, she’s an inside dog & is hot all the time. When she’s on the meds or is feeling bad I can see her body get knotted up & a little bloated looking. I’m not sure I would notice if her hair was long. I would love to find other brands to rotate in, pls let me know if you run across anything. :)

  • Crazy4cats

    Our vet sent us home with trifexis for the pups also after way too many shots. I gave a few rounds and it just didn’t feel right giving so much stuff to 3 or 4 month old pups. I wish I would have been more puppy educated before getting them. I feel like I did too many things wrong. You mention endosorb pills, I’d like to know more about those. I also give supplements that contain L-Glutamine, N-glucosamine, and slippery elm that seem to help. My family, friends, and even husband think I’m crazy trying to make the pups better too. Our other dogs and cats have never had any issues.

  • 5BarkingDogs

    ahh! More great advice! :) thanks for the food suggestions. No, I haven’t tried many other foods. She/they were on Castor & Pollux, Organix, chicken formula for a yr or so with the meds without any results, then finally they all just stopped eating it (only eating the homemade food). I will definitely try some of them b/c they do get bored & variety is good. :). I made the mistake of letting the owner of the pet store that sells Victors shame me into buying a more expensive food called Canidae. She said dogs with colitis did better on it, my dogs wouldn’t touch it! I let it go 2 1/2 days, then checked this site for reviews & just wanted to cry! I took it back & exchanged it for 3 different bags of Victors (the store is very limited on choice) & the others seem to like the taste of Hi Pro the best, including my little girl with some sort of chicken intolerance. I have been feeding her the Yukon Salmon & Sweet Potato, but she sneaks bites from other bowls & it doesn’t seem to bother her (??).
    Melissaandcrew is another one to thank! I haven’t seen much from her lately, but think it’s just b/c I’m maybe following different links now?
    I asked for Heartgard Plus from my vet 6 wks ago & he suggested TriHeart Plus instead b/c he said that Heartgard is beef based & TriHeart is pork based (IDK?) this will be the second month taking the TriHeart, they were originally on Sentinel before the Trifexis, then when the Sentinel factory was back up & running, I switched them back,
    but decided to try something that may be easier on the old girls
    system.
    Why do you not want to use
    the Heartgard Plus?
    Thanks for the flea repellent ideas. I signed up for the Mercola website (& bought the dog food recipe book) but got bombarded with the emails not only for dogs but for humans too. I got so overwhelmed with the constant emails that I finally had to stop looking at them. (it was too much–too much!)
    What kind of dog is on your icon? It’s sooooo precious! I have rescue mutts, I don’t know much about purebreds. ;)

  • Crazy4cats

    That’s great. Yes, the eye thing is weird. Labs will be thrilled to hear you back her up on that. I just bought a big bag of dry for cats, so it may be a while before I try it. I don’t bring my cats to vet much either. When my senior cat was barfing frequently, however, I did take her and it was hyperthyroidism. She’s on meds now and doing well. I’d stick with the Victor for a while. I attempted to rotate my dogs off after two 30 lb bags to Earthborn Meadow Feast then Natures Variety Prairie with terrible results. I hope some day I can find at least one other brand that works for them. They have been on Metronidazole so many times. Don’t want to do that anymore.

  • Betsy Greer

    Sam, my Golden, was taking Trifexis. The day after a dose, he was always very mopey ~ that’s why I say, just not himself. Surprisingly, I didn’t notice other symptoms (loose stools, vomiting) like others here have experienced. I could just tell by watching him that he didn’t feel good and it would take several days before he was the same playful pup. And, he was just a tiny puppy when I first chose Trifexis for him. He’s taken it the past two Summers and will be two in May.

    I wasn’t using the same integrative / holistic vet that I am now when Sam was first prescribed the Trifexis. It’s cold enough here that I only administer HW preventative April through October, so I have appointments scheduled for both of my dogs later this month for SNAP 4DX tests. I’ll be starting from scratch and I’m eager to talk to my vet about her recommendations for HW preventatives. I’m leaning toward Heartgard (not Heartgard Plus) or Interceptor, but Melissa told me the other day that Interceptor is no longer being manufactured. I’m going to try Springtime Bug Off Garlic and Mercola Natural Flea and Tick Defense for crawlies.

    That’s interesting about the Hi Pro Plus being what’s working so well for him. Melissa (aka Melissaandcrew) has a doberman with a very sensitive system who is prone to loose stools and that’s the formula that her dog has done very well on also. Melissa also had great luck with Abady granular food, that might be something of interest to you also. I do believe the montmorillonite in the food helps the stool quality, but those additional clays you’re adding are interesting. With all the snow we have (and continue to have) it’s hard to get out into the yard and do a good stool check right now. Have you ever tried Nature’s Variety products? They also contain montmorillonite. I know there are other ingredients, not just the montmorillonite, in the Victor that are helping your pup.

    Glad you’re here!

  • 5BarkingDogs

    :)

  • 5BarkingDogs

    Hi Crazy4cats! I’m feeding her the Hi Pro Plus for Active Dogs & Puppies with the best results. The eye thing is weird. I noticed the same on one of my other guys (8 yr old) yesterday…the eyes are glassy now. So weird?
    I have been so wrapped up with my dog I haven’t even thought about the cats, we have 3. I switched our 12 yr old to senior food last yr b/c she started throwing up ALL the time. They are all in great health, probably b/c after they get their initial shots, they don’t go back to the vet, unlike the dogs.
    Please let us know how the cat food works out for you. :)

  • 5BarkingDogs

    Hi losul, how are you? The local news, WSB in Atlanta, did a couple of segments on trifexis & said there are 2 medications in it, spinosad & milbemycin. The milbemycin is sourced from China & is believed to be what’s affecting or killing dogs. There is a FB page dedicated to it called, “Does Trifexis Kill Dogs”, it used to be Trifexis Kills Dogs, but it attracted some real whack-o’s & they changed it. Its heartbreaking reading all the stories of this medicine killing dogs. I hate to say my girl was lucky b/c she didn’t die, but her life hasn’t been the same since she began taking it 2 yrs ago. It should be outlawed!

  • 5BarkingDogs

    Hi Betsy, thank you! Please let me be clear to all, this food is the best tolerated & has helped, not cured. I have been cooking homemade food for her & giving Her Endosorb (clay pills), mixing organic French green clay in her water (with a bowl of fresh water beside it), as well as foemotidine or rantididine (sp?) on occasion. I bought 3 different bags of Victors, she is doing best on the Hi Pro Plus Formula for Active Dogs & Puppies (ironically she’s neither). She was also taking canine probiotics for at least a yr, but started to have a weird reaction, so I stopped those.
    What were your dogs symptoms on trifexis?
    My vet still won’t acknowledge it affected her, she was on it for a yr & 1/2 before I took her off of it. :(

  • 5BarkingDogs

    Hi dchassett, thank you for the warm welcome. It’s nice to be somewhere with like minds…my friends & family have all called me crazy over the past two yrs b/c of my search to help my dog. & like many of you I have had to do it on my own b/c my vet is a straight up old fashioned science guy. A lot of my research was coming from colitis sites for humans until I found you guys :)

  • dchassett

    Hi 5BarkingDogs,
    Without Mike and this site I fear a lot of us would have lost our minds. Welcome. Always nice to have a new voice. I’ve learned more on this site in the last two years than I ever learned from all the vets combined that have been in my dogs and other animals lives.

  • losul

    Besty, speaking of Trifexis, I ran across some shocking info recently in my HW research.

    Did you know that Spinosad is used in “organic” agriculture and for storage protection of grains against moths and other insects? I didn’t.

    “Spinosad was first registered as a pesticide in the United States for use on crops in 1997.[8] Its labeled use rate is set at 1 ppm (1 mg a.i./kg of grain) and its Maximum Residue Limit (MRL) or tolerance is set at 1.5 ppm. Spinosad’s widespread commercial launch was deferred, awaiting final MRL or tolerance approvals in a few remaining grain-importing countries. Spinosad is considered a natural product, and thus is approved for use in organic agriculture by numerous nations.”

    “Spinosad has high efficacy, a broad insect pest spectrum, low mammalian toxicity, and a good environmental profile. This is a unique feature of an insecticide, compared to others that are currently used for the protection of grain products.[5] Spinosad is considered a natural product and approved for use in organic agriculture by numerous national and international certifications.[8] Spinosad residues are highly stable on grains stored in bins, with protection ranging from 6 months to 2 years.”

    .http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spinosad

  • Betsy Greer

    Hi 5BarkingDogs,

    So glad you joined the conversation! : )

    Damn Trifexis. I’m so sorry to hear about the problems your dog had with it. I was using it too and didn’t like the way my dog reacted to it ~ not a reaction as serious as yours by any means, but he always seemed “different” the day after a dose. I’m done with it too.

    I’m on a Victor trial also right now. Mine are eating the GF ALS, and are doing great on it. I was excited to find a fish free food that wasn’t a limited ingredient product. That’s awesome that your dog is doing so well on it! Which variety are you feeding?

  • dchassett

    Hey Marie. I think I read for almost two years before I ever posted. I think I must have been blind sided by how very little I actually knew when I thought I knew so much. Was trying to catch up. Obviously 5BarkingDogs is ahead of the game. You are also one of the people I learned so much from. Thanks. Initially, you know how it goes. Your stunned at how brain washed you are by vets and marketing. Glad I crossed over to the other side. Actually, glad for my girls.

  • InkedMarie

    I’m amazed anyone can read for a year & just post! Now that you’ve started, you can’t stop, lol! Glad I helped in some way!

  • Crazy4cats

    Yippee! Mine aren’t perfect yet either, but much better. Which variety are you feeding? The eye thing is very cool too. Mine don’t have that issue but my senior cat does. I’ll try the cat food next.

  • 5BarkingDogs

    Hi guys! I found this site & have been following for the past year or so. I came to the site because my oldest dog got very sick with colitis 2 yrs. ago after taking trifexis & I was at my wits end taking her to the vet & she being prescribed more & more meds that were so harsh on her body & were wearing her down before her time. 3 weeks ago I ran across a conversation about colitis & Victor’s dry dog food. I thought I (we/she) have nothing to lose by trying it…I’m happy to say so far she seems to be healing WITHOUT meds! She is still having some issues–she’s not cured by any means–but she’s doing much better & is not on any medication this time. And btw, the haze in her eyes is clearing up too–I thought it was old age, she’s 10 next month.
    I greatly appreciate what Dr Mike has done here & would also like to thank LabsRawesome, Hound Dog Mom, Inked Marie, BetsyGreer, & Crazy4Cats for your posts & random advice (I’m sure there are more peeps, just not coming to mind right now). Without you guys I think I might have lost my mind over this dog. I love my 5 mutts so much & like many others I thought feeding them name brand food & shoving down whatever pill my vet gave them without question I was being a responsible pet owner…I regret some of those decisions now & it breaks my heart they don’t have a voice to say what’s going on with them.
    A BIG THANK YOU FROM ME & MY 5BarkingDogs!!!
    Keep it up guys. :)

  • dchassett

    I guess that’s really not too bad. They are less expensive than Amazon.

  • dchassett

    Much cheaper than Amazon even with Prime membership. I made the mistake of ordering from Amazon.

  • Crazy4cats

    You have to spend $69 to get the free shipping at rocket pets.

  • Crazy4cats

    Excellent, thank you. I know, they won’t ship a 50lb bag, but they will ship two 30lbs? But they are much cheaper than Amazon so I’ll deal with it. BTW, i like my nickname. Prob much easier to type! Thanks again, for the update.

  • dchassett

    Wow! That’s a lot of food and money spent to get free shipping. I’m not positive but I think there are other sites that you can get free shipping for a lot less. Two 30lb bags of food is a lot of kibble.

  • Michele

    i had to get 2 – 30#’s. total was $102 for free shipping. they only have the GF formulas. I’ve also used Amazon Prime and SportDogFood. they offer free over $35 but I think some people say Sportdog doesn’t ship everywhere free??? they do to me so not sure about any restrictions

  • dchassett

    What size are the bags you bought and what price for free shipping?

  • Michele

    Hi C4C – box just arrived via Fedex. All looks good. I wish I didn’t have to buy 2 bags to get free shipping. I still need to use SportDogFood bc I use Senior/Healthy Weight on my 8 year old. overall – its safe to order, good luck ;)

  • Michele

    I just checked tracking and it is do in tomorrow. I will reply when I receive.

  • Crazy4cats

    Hi Michele-
    Have you received your Victor order from Rocket Petz yet? I probably will order from them if you were happy with your experience. Thanks.

  • gmcbogger38

    That does make sense. Didn’t see it that way. I agree that both foods are great quality for price.

  • Crazy4cats

    I’m probably over my head with this question. But, here is my theory. The guaranteed analysis shows 26% protein for the with grain food and 33% for the grain free. So would it be 78% of the 26% is meat for the grain and 75% of the 33% is meat for the grain free? They both seem pretty darn good for the price however it works out!

  • gmcbogger38

    I have a question that I would greatly appreciate if someone could answer this for me. So, according to Victor’s website the Select Professional (reviewed here) contains 78% meat protein, 7% plant protein and 15% grain protein. Overall, that is 78% from meat and 22% from non-meat. The All Life Stages formula (reviewed for the grain free varieties) contains 75% meat protein, 25% plant protein and obviously 0% grain. Overall, that is 75% from meat and 25% non-meat. My question is this: why is the grain inclusive considered a plant based kibble and not meat when it contains higher percentage of meat protein and a smaller percentage of non-meat protein as compared to the grain free? If this is a dumb question I apologize. I’m just a little confused.

  • Cindy

    All 8 of my dogs love this food. I have GSD, Coonhounds, Australian Shep and a Boxer.

  • Cindy

    I have 7 dogs….GSD, Coonhounds and a boxer….they love Victor and all do so well on it.

  • disqus_3ihtnbzjk8

    I’ve started using the Hi Pro Plus for my Gordon Setter puppy this week, and so far so good. She manages to eat around her Taste of the Wild and picks out all of the Victor. No upset stomach/stinky farts so thumbs up from us. Victor website has a store locator.

  • Crazy4cats

    :)

  • Michele

    yes, I had to spend 101.98 to get the free shipping. I use Yukon and Ultra. If it works out I guess I will get Senior at Amazon with my prime. paws crossed

  • Crazy4cats

    Oh, thank you, thank you! You can be the guinea pig! lol! Their prices looked the best. You do have to spend more than average to get free shipping. But, I would be ok ordering two bags if they are a reliable company.

  • shep

    Had to call 6 different supply stores, but I finally found the senior dog in my area (and a super nice guy to sell it to me to boot). I’m so excited to be feeding a higher quality food for 60 cents less PER POUND than what I was paying for our other food. (and I know that it is the cheapest per pound of the foods that I was looking into at the time) I can’t wait to start my dogs on Victor.

  • Michele

    Rocket only has the 4 GF formulas. Lambert only 3. I counted 14 on SportDogFood. I just bought 2 bags at Rocket for the first time. I will let you know when/how it arrives.

  • Crazy4cats

    Hi Marie-
    Yes, I’ve checked out rocket pets and they seem to be the best deal. I haven’t heard anyone talk about them so was a little leery. I’ve not heard of the other one you mentioned. I’ll check it out. Thanks!

  • Michele

    I do Amazon with Prime. They also offer free ship on $35. SportDogFood.com has free ship on $35 also but it only looks like Northeast. I think thats all they sell … they have every formula in all the sizes

  • InkedMarie

    I just did a google search…..RocketPetz.com carries Victor, free shipping $69+ code is freeship

    Lambertvetsupply.com carries Victor, free shipping on $100+, call to order.

  • Freeholdhound

    Earthborn Holistic GPF, & Natures Logic Beef or Sardine formulas primarily plus some raw. Can’t have chicken, turkey, venison, salmon, white fish, swt potato or oatmeal.

  • dchassett

    Hi C4C’s. I ordered from Amazon also. There is no one in my area that carries it. All the stores in my area that I called said that their distributor didn’t carry it yet but they were hopeful. I don’t get why, but anyway I bought from Amazon Prime.

  • Betsy Greer

    I thought the site seemed different as well. I could’ve sworn that several months ago, when I also priced out some items, that shipping was a lot more than what it appeared today.

  • Crazy4cats

    Ok, so I went back to sport dog’s site. They only have free delivery to a few states. They do use fed ex and deliver to my area. It would be around $11 to ship. Their website has changed a little since the last time I visited three or four months ago. Hopefully some stores in my area will carry soon. In the mean time, I’ll special order or use Amazon.

  • InkedMarie

    I read other posts….I guess they don’t offer free shipping if you spend a nominal amount, am I correct? C4C said they don’t deliver to her area….does that mean don’t deliver for free? Pretty sure fed ex delivers anywhere.

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    I’ve only used two of the formulas since they reformulated last year and the Hi-Pro/Puppy is tiny and the grain free is very small. Be sure to ask yours for samples. The Cold River was small.

  • Bobby dog

    You are welcome. I shop on-line & from stores, where ever the sales are! Anyway, I am interested in this food after reading all the good reviews and my samples were ordered yesterday. Hope your dogs like your choices!

  • LabsRawesome

    Hey Bobby dog, thanks for posting that info, I had no idea as I do not order dog food online. My 3 free samples are on their way. I am trying some formulas that I haven’t tried yet. TY. :)

  • Jan_Mom2Cavs

    I can Nature’s Select delivered to me out of Dayton, OH.

  • Jan_Mom2Cavs

    Marie, I believe SportDogFood delivers by FedEx. I just ordered some.

  • Michele

    needed to avoid? what are you feeding now?

  • Bobby dog

    Hi LabsRawsome (and they are!):
    They are offering up to three free samples of various grain free and grain inclusive varieties of Victor dog food (Hi-Pro plus being one) on Sportdogfood’s site; if you already discussed this offer, sorry for the repeat. On their main menu page on the upper right side there is a large black arrow shaped tab “specials click here.” On the specials page it is the fifth offer down, “free stuff.” It takes you to a Facebook page for your selections. No purchase necessary, no s & h charges, and no cc required. The offer is only valid in the Northeast area; the states are listed on the Facebook page.

  • dchassett

    Hey Labs. I spoke with Bryan at Victors in Texas. I posted down below one of your other posts. I spoke to him about your lab and my maltese re nuclear sclerosis and he said that it is not the Montmorillonite Clay which is for digestion, what is treating and turning the eyes brown again (not just your dog but others too) are the manganese and magnesium. He was very sure about it and when I asked if it was the Clay he said, no it’s the manganese and magnesium. Wanted you to know, and me too, before we start pumping our babies with Montmorillonite Clay.

  • Freeholdhound

    Before I knew what I needed to avoid for Harry I ordered Victor from Sportdog. Great experience, always fast shipping & many many times free. I wish I could’ve continued using them & Victor :(

  • Jan_Mom2Cavs

    Now I know where I saw those ingredients before lol. I was going to church one day and saw a car with the Nature’s Select logo on the bag and I squealed hahahaha. My husband thought I was crazy! But, when I told him why I was excited he understood (he’s used to my dog food obsession). Anyway, I keep forgetting I can get Nature’s Select delivered to me, too. Gonna have to check ‘em out more closely. I do have lots of food to go through now, though. I have some Annamaet, Fromm Salmon, and some Victor’s coming. So it will be awhile before I try Nature’s Select.

  • Michele

    I use them. small co. I think its just 2 people husband and wife. super nice. always available for my quest. I hear the same comments from others too.

  • InkedMarie

    How do they ship?

  • Crazy4cats

    Yes, that’s what it was. I am out of their free shipping area. I remember now, it would have been over $20 for them to ship it to me. No thanks! LOL!

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    No clay. Large bag is 30 lb for $42-$56 (salmon) and over $75 gets a 10% discount and its delivered to your door. Depends on what your distributor is offering if its available in your area.

  • LabsRawesome

    Sweet. Does Nature’s Select have Montmorillonite Clay? And do you have any prices/bag sizes?

  • Betsy Greer

    Within the past six or eight months, I’ve emailed Victor three or four times and have always gotten a response to my email within hours.

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    Nature’s Select is made at the same place as Victor and they also use Sel-plex, Bio-moss and Actigen. You can see this at naturalpetfooddelivery dot com. I’ve only used the Hi-Pro/puppy and their Grain Free formla. And they give me a rescue discount!

  • LabsRawesome

    wendyzee, You’re Welcome. :) It’s good to know that Victor has great customer service as well. Thanks for posting that info. :)

  • wendeyzee

    Labs, thanks for your response, I have read both threads entirely and it sounds like this food is helping your dog alot. I found the one comment disturbing so I called the company and the gentleman was familiar with the comment, he took the time to tell me what he knows as well as talk to me about their quality control protocols, so I do feel better now. This dog food has been getting such great reviews and comments i’ll give it a try!

  • Betsy Greer

    The shipping to my area, Chicago area, was going to be pretty costly.

  • Michele

    I also buy on amazon with my prime account but I like sportdogfood customer service. kinda the same money-wise … on Amazon I pay tax, get free shipping and Sportdogfood its no tax but I pay small shipping. I’m not in their free shipping area either but I think they ship everywhere ??? maybe not. cheers

  • Jan_Mom2Cavs

    Yeah, Betsy…their delivery are is limited, but mine is on it, YAY! The guy emailed me today and said since I was new to them he wanted to know about my dogs and he would put some other samples of things in there with my order. Very good customer service! I can’t wait to try the food. I ordered 5lb. bags from them for now.

  • Betsy Greer

    Hi Kristen,

    If you can find it locally, they carry the product in smaller bags in the store. The one nearest me carried several varieties in 5 pound and another larger size, somewhere between 12 and 15, it’s at home so I don’t have the information. Try use the Victor product locator and see if you have a retailer near you: http://www.victordogfood.com/

  • Betsy Greer

    Sportdogfood has a seemingly very limited delivery area though.

  • LabsRawesome

    Hi Wendyzee, I think Victor is a great food, at a great price. I have had awesome results with Victor dog food. If you go to the Victor grain free page, you can read posts from me and other posters as well. :)

  • wendeyzee

    Hello, I’m new here, I found this wonderful site while researching dog food for our newly adopted GSD. Many of you have given this food great feedback except for one commenter named collie lover posted 3 mos ago that she found metal slivers in the food! Anyone have any knowledge or feelings about this? None of you folks seem to respond to the post just wondering.

  • Crazy4cats

    That’s great. If I remember correctly, they do not deliver to my area. I’m in Washington state. I’ll look again. Thanks.

  • Michele

    I just grabbed this for sportdogfood …
    100% Money Back Guarantee. No questions asked. No returns necessary. If you or your pet is not satisfied with ingredients or flavor, all we ask is that you donate your un-used portion to your local shelter.

  • Crazy4cats

    Hi Kristen-
    Rachel Ray has three different varieties. Two of them, Just 6 and Zero Grain both are either 3 or 4 stars. Have you tried either of those? I wouldn’t get too hung up on how many stars a food is. Every dog and every budget is different. They might be 5 stars to your situation. As far as the Victor goes, I do not think it is too high in calories for an average active dog. The fat is a little higher than I’ve fed, but many dogs do great with it. You probably just have to feed less than you are currently feeding. You can look at the back of the bag or use the dog food calculator on this site to help you out with that. As far as ordering a food online that you haven’t used before, it is a little scary in my opinion also. Returning things by mail is not as easy as bringing back to a store for sure. So, I understand you wanting to start with a smaller bag. That’s why I was wondering if any of your local smaller pet stores could special order for you if they don’t stock it. I have also seen this brand sold on ebay, rocketpetz, sportdog and Amazon. Good luck to you.