TimberWolf Platinum (Dry)

Share

Rating: ★★★★★

Timberwolf Platinum Dog Food receives the Advisor’s top rating of 5 stars.

The Timberwolf Platinum product line includes six dry dog foods, each claimed to meet AAFCO nutrient profiles for all life stages.

The following is a list of recipes available at the time of this review.

  • Timberwolf Platinum Ocean Blue
  • Timberwolf Platinum Black Forest
  • Timberwolf Platinum Wilderness Elk
  • Timberwolf Platinum Wild and Natural
  • Timberwolf Platinum Lamb and Apples
  • Timberwolf Platinum Southwest Chicken and Herbs

Timberwolf Platinum Wild and Natural was selected to represent the other products in the line for this review.

Timberwolf Platinum Wild and Natural

Dry Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 40% | Fat = 20% | Carbs = 33%

Ingredients: Chicken, herring, spray dried chicken liver, green peas, garbanzo beans, chicken fat, salmon, sweet potatoes, flaxseed, spray dried chicken, dried organic kelp, dried Saccharomyces cerevisiae, sardine oil, dehydrated alfalfa meal, whole carrots, dried celery, dried beets, dried parsley, dried watercress, dried spinach, dried tomatoes, casein, dried whole milk, lecithin, choline chloride, minerals: [zinc amino acid complex, iron amino acid complex, manganese amino acid complex, calcium pantothenate, potassium iodide, sodium selenite], vitamins: [vitamin E supplement, vitamin B12 supplement, vitamin A acetate, niacin (a source of vitamin B3), vitamin D3 supplement, riboflavin (a source of vitamin B2), folic acid, pyridoxine hydrochloride (a source of vitamin B6), thiamine hydrochloride (a source of vitamin B1), biotin (a source of vitamin B7), citric acid (a source of vitamin C), mixed tocopherols (a source of vitamin E and a natural preservative)], prebiotics: [chicory root (inulin)], probiotics: [dried Lactobacillus acidophilus fermentation product, dried Lactobacillus casei fermentation product, dried Lactobacillus lactis fermentation product, dried Bacillus subtillus fermentation product], papain, Yucca schidigera extract, beta-carotene, fructooligosaccharides, taurine, l-carnitine dl-methionine, rosemary extract (a natural preservative)

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 2.7%

Red items when present indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis36%18%NA
Dry Matter Basis40%20%33%
Calorie Weighted Basis33%40%27%

The first ingredient in this dog food lists chicken. Although it is a quality item, raw chicken contains about 80% water. After cooking, most of that moisture is lost, reducing the meat content to just a fraction of its original weight.

After processing, this item would probably account for a smaller part of the total content of the finished product.

The second ingredient is herring, another quality raw item. Herring is a fatty marine fish naturally high in protein as well as omega 3 fatty acids, essential oils needed by every dog to sustain life.

The third ingredient is dried chicken liver, a dehydrated product made from whole chicken livers. Because it contains about 62% protein and 20% fat, this item makes a favorable addition to this dog food.

The fourth ingredient mentions peas. Peas are a quality source of carbohydrates. And like all legumes, they’re rich in natural fiber.

However, peas contain about 25% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

The fifth ingredient is garbanzo beans, also known as chickpeas. Like peas, bean and lentils, the chickpea is a nutritious member of the fiber-rich legume (pulse) family of vegetables.

Garbanzos contain about 22% protein, something which also must be considered when evaluating the total protein reported in this food.

The sixth ingredient is chicken fat. Chicken fat is obtained from rendering chicken, a process similar to making soup in which the fat itself is skimmed from the surface of the liquid.

Chicken fat is high in linoleic acid, an omega-6 fatty acid essential for life. Although it doesn’t sound very appetizing, chicken fat is actually a quality ingredient.

The seventh ingredient is salmon. Salmon is an oily marine and freshwater fish not only high in protein but also omega 3 fatty acids, essential oils needed by every dog to sustain life.

The eighth ingredient is sweet potato. Sweet potatoes are a gluten-free source of complex carbohydrates in a dog food. They are naturally rich in dietary fiber and beta carotene.

The ninth ingredient is flaxseed, one of the best plant sources of healthy omega-3 fatty acids. Provided they’ve first been ground into a meal, flax seeds are also rich in soluble fiber.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With four notable exceptions

First, chicory root is rich in inulin, a starch-like compound made up of repeating units of carbohydrates and found in certain roots and tubers.

Not only is inulin a natural source of soluble dietary fiber, it’s also a prebiotic used to promote the growth of healthy bacteria in a dog’s digestive tract.

In addition, sardine oil is naturally rich in the prized EPA and DHA type of omega-3 fatty acids. These two high quality fats boast the highest bio-availability to dogs and humans.

Depending on its level of freshness and purity, sardine oil should be considered a commendable addition.

Next, we note the inclusion of dried fermentation products in this recipe. Fermentation products are typically added to provide enzymes to aid the animal with digestion.

And lastly, this food also contains chelated minerals, minerals that have been chemically attached to protein. This makes them easier to absorb. Chelated minerals are usually found in better dog foods.

Timberwolf Platinum Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Judging by its ingredients alone, Timberwolf Platinum dog food looks like an above average dry product.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 40%, a fat level of 20% and estimated carbohydrates of about 33%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 37% and a mean fat level of 18%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 38% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 49%.

Above-average protein. Above-average fat. And below-average carbs when compared to a typical dry dog food.

Even when you consider the protein-boosting effect of the peas and garbanzo beans, this still looks like the profile of a kibble containing a significant amount of meat.

Bottom line?

Timberwolf Platinum dry dog food is a meat-based kibble using a significant amount of named meat ingredients as its main source of animal protein, thus earning the brand 5 stars.

Enthusiastically recommended.

Please note some products may have been given higher or lower ratings based upon our estimate of their total meat content.

Special Alert

Rice ingredients can sometimes contain arsenic. Until the US FDA establishes safe upper levels for arsenic content, pet owners may wish to limit the total amount of rice fed in a dog's daily diet.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, due to the biological uniqueness of every animal, none of our ratings are intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in a specific dietary response or health benefit for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

To learn how we support the cost of operating this website, please visit our public Disclosure and Disclaimer page.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Notes and Updates

03/21/2010 Original review
11/04/2012 Review updated
01/19/2013 Review updated
01/19/2013 Last Update

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com/ Mike Sagman

    It appears from your claims you have had a vested interest in this product. And you could be posting with a hidden agenda. If so, you are required by our stated rules to disclose this fact to our community and to use your real name. Until you do, your comment has been temporarily removed.

  • Cass

    You won’t find it on the FDA site because all tests carried out by the FDA and 2 independent labs proved there were no adverse findings and in either of the foods and they didn’t need to be recalled. Timberwolf withdrew these 2 foods purely as a precautionary measure.

  • susan

    This site is highly nmanipulatedb.When you say someting against their favorate companies for instance Nature Logic or orijin then you find yoru posts eather

    officially deletedn or magically dissappeared a few days later. Only the devotees posts will remain.When you say someting about

    their nheigh proteinn diets who are proven nwrong then they will bullyn,flag,nblock and ndelete you in order to

    promote their subversivenn angenda.i have to write this way otherwise I end up in nspamn.They misrepresentedb the bstudies

    and then when you point out the ndangers their own nstudies have shown they will delete your posts making up stories.

    They construe textbooks for instance claiming the textbooks state you can give 40 or 50% knprotein to a senior dog

    while they say 28% max. then they use nstudies sponsored by pharmacytical companies or purina to falsely substantiate their claims.

    when you point out the flawsn then your posts will dissappearn. Nshawnna will lie pretty much about anything to

    promote her 50% nprotein dietnn. For instance falsely claiming her dog is not on medication or those dogs would not live very long

    while it would not be unusual if the dog is still alive. Then she keeps contradicting herself how much knprotein she feeds

    depending on the arguments.check out the web under nscammn about more information.

    100s of people have been nbulliedn and blockedn on here. Vetsn get regularly blockedn and their posts deletedn. Mnike the ndentist

    is not an expert yet him among the devoteesnn without any credentials make so many false claims but think they know it all.

    Please don’t buy into their highnnnproteinn meatmnn based dietn it is all not nessessarly superior, also don’t believe their

    exchagerated claims on lentils,ngluten,nntomatoes,nraw food etc.

    Buyer Beware!yre

  • Pattyvaughn

    If that is actually the case, man up and do the right thing and report to the FDA, with your real name so they will take it seriously.

  • anonymous

    did not work for company itself, but worked closely with the manufacturing office in NY. Do not believe the content on the bags or on the website. all false, does not have the high meat content it claims to have.

  • ChiChi

    Yea I just figured since the only spray dried meat ingredient is well after quite a few other non meat ingredients, it wouldn’t contribute much.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    They use spray dried meats.

  • ChiChi

    How can this food be very high in meat without any meat meals? It can’t possibly get all of its meat content from fresh meats… right?

  • aimee

    Melissa ,I just remember “chatter about it. Not sure if the company formally addressed it or not.

  • Melissaandcrew

    I think there was an issue with larger than normal bones in the fish according to internet threads I had read but I do not recall it being widespread or a recall. Do you have a link that I missed re a recall?

  • aimee

    I thought there was one for bone shards and one for BSE.

    I think Tn fined (?) them for not meeting their G.A. for protein content.

    I haven’t made up my mind yet about this company.

  • Melissaandcrew

    Hi Ab-
    We go through this at least several times a year here, usually by a poster who will drivce on through. Pls link the “several questionable” recalls that you claim they have had-there was the radiation in Australia issue, Grassland was stopped at the US border for salmonella(and tested out as negative) and I know of nothing else.

  • Pattyvaughn

    The only Champion recalls I’m aware of where product withdrawals from Australia, because they didn’t take into consideration the effects on cats that too much irradiation on dog food would have. JMHO, but they seem to be one of the most careful companies out there.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Thanks, I guess that means they had a recall of food back in late 2007 or early to mid 2008 depending on how long it took them to find out they had a problem.

  • InkedMarie

    replying to myself but I can’t find it on the FDA either. Still looking though…

  • InkedMarie

    http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/dog-food-recalls/

    When was their recalls? I don’t see it listed there but I may have missed it.

  • AB

    I “Googled” Timberwolf Dog Food Recalls and found this posted on their company website… Due to complaints of sick dogs from customers – Timberwolf Dog Food has voluntarily recalled two brands of dry dog food.

    Dakota Bison with ‘best by’ date of 2/12/2009 and Ocean Blue with ‘best by’ date of 2/20/2009 and 3/8/2009. There has been no
    determination as to cause.

  • AB

    Orijen is manufactured by Champion Pet Foods in Edmonton, AB, and they also manufacture Acana dog food. I am an Albertan and would love to support their product but after trying Orijen which my dog reacted to quite seriously and then after researching their products further I discovered they have had several questionable recalls over the years, and decided to not risk buying anymore of their product. So please be careful.

  • Pattyvaughn

    BCs are definitely known for longevity.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Then you mean something different than I do when I say I feed something from birth to death. To me that means the pregnant bitch was eating it at the time of birth so that was where the nutrition for milk came from, the puppies were weaned on to it, and it was the only thing fed until they died. That’s fed from birth to death. Sorry for the misunderstanding.

  • bcmom

    No. A Border Collie/Sheltie cross lived to 15. My foundation stud Border Collie lived to 14. both died of old age. I had a daughter to my pair die from a disease at 9. I currently have a 12 or 13 yrs. old female Border Collie (my retired brood bitch) and her 9 yrs. old son. I orginally fed Sensible Choice by Royal Canin until 2000 or 2001 when they changed the recipe to include beet pulp. My Chow/husky/something wild mix couldn’t eat it due to gastric issues. That’s when I found Chicken Soup. One of my 4 litters was raised on Sensible the other all on CCS. Birth weights were great. Weaning weights were fantastic. Never a ribby or potbellied puppy in my group. Awesome coats too.

  • losul

    I think I can agree.I believe some of the border/herding collie types are well known for their longevity.

  • Pattyvaughn

    I’m sorry, does this mean that your Border Collies have only lived to be 10 years old? That’s a very short life for a BC.

  • bcmom

    I’ve been using Chicken Soup for the Dog Lover for over 10yrs. Swear by it. I have fed to from birth to death on my Border Collies. Only think I will feed.

  • Pattyvaughn

    When was Timberwolf recalled?

  • guest

    I used timberwolf years ago and when it was recalled the natural food store for pets did not tell me. I went to ask them if any recall they told me no… but it was! my dogs got very sick. never again will I buy anything from that store and I use orijen now.

  • Caroline Capobianco

    My local independent pet store just started carrying TimberWolf. I got the smallest bag of the Black Forest variety to try with our 70lb pit bull.

  • Betsy Greer

    Their site loaded for me: http://timberwolforganics.com/.

  • Denise

    Darned auto correct Timberwolf. Why it changed to two words. Thanks

  • Denise

    I have use timber wolf for years as a treat for my dog. I am now at a lose were to purchase it. I can’t find any place online that carries it. Also can’t get the timber wolf site to load. Is it even still active? Can’t find anything. Any info will help

  • Ray Marine

    When You Switch To A New Dog Food, ALWAYS Spend 1-3 Days Of Mixing The Old And New Dog Food Together When Feeding Your Dog. This Way The Dog Will Not Become Sick And Have Diarrhea Etc.

  • Angie Hendrickson

    I’ve decided I’m going to go with this food despite all the complaints. People are making all kinds of complaints – but no proof that the food is ‘bad’. Sometimes, when you switch your dog to a new food, diarrhea and a reaction is going to happen only because he’s adjusting to a new diet. Maybe the dog was use to eating ‘crap’ before, I don’t know.
    But I talked to Timberwolf, and talked to Roxanne, a very nice person. She answered ALL of my questions. I even adressed all the complaints I have read. The customer service was wonderful. I wouldn’t pass judgment on a company just because some one wasn’t easy to
    talk to over there.

    Also, I have been looking at ingredients of almost every 5 star food on this website desperately trying to find a company who cares enough about their ingredients and doesn’t have a recall history. I couldn’t believe how superior Timberwolf appears to be in what they put in their food. It is bundled with wholsome meat that isn’t from poor quality raised animals; vegetables, fruits, berries, and TONS of herbs. I myself eat holistically, and I want my dog to too. I can’t wait to get this and switch my puppy over to their New Zealand imported Elk formula. Personally, I’m not interested in animals that are packed in like sardines (Chicken, cows, pigs), living terrible lives where they barely have room to move a few inches throughout the course of their life, of which makes for a very low vibrational unhealthy meat no one should be putting in their bodies, let alone our canine friends..

  • Angie Hendrickson

    I’ve decided I’m going to go with this food. People are making all kinds of complaints – but no proof that the food is ‘bad’. Sometimes, when you switch your dog to a new food, diarrhea and a reaction is going to happen only because he’s adjusting. Maybe the dog was use to eating crap before, I don’t know. But I talked to Timberwolf, and talked to Roxanne, a very nice person. She answered ALL of my questions. The customer service was wonderful. I wouldn’t pass judgment on a company just because some one wasn’t easy to talk to over there.

    Also, I have been looking at ingredients of almost every 5 star food, and cannot believe how superior Timberwolf appears to be. I can’t wait to get it and switch my puppy over to their New Zealand imported Elk. I’m not interested in animals that are packed in like sardines, living terrible lives, of which makes for a very low vibrational unhealthy meat. A happy animal is a happy healthy meat.

  • Melissaandcrew

    My crew like fish based kibble and honestly since each bag is opened and used very quickly, I don’t worry about it. I look for the longest expire dates out that I can, and it doesn’t last more than 4-5 days once opened in this house : )

  • Storm’s Mom

    I’m thinking of maybe just keeping an eye out for any brand new fish formula (well, a decent one anyway) and squeezing that into the rotation as soon as it comes out ..because it’s brand new on the market and shelves, it’s more likely to be as fresh as possible, is what I’m thinking, you know?

  • InkedMarie

    I read the article too. Unsure how I feel. I don’t have many fish foods I feed anyway but if Boone can eat the NL sardine, I’ll make sure to buy the mid size bag, feed it to both and only buy it when I’m running low on the current food (so I can feed it as soon as it arrives)

  • InkedMarie

    No,it’s in my breezeway

  • Storm’s Mom

    My fingers are crossed for you and Boone!!!! :-)

  • InkedMarie

    Me too, with Boone. No chicken or potato. If he can eat some of the NL, I’ll have more options.

  • Pattyvaughn

    It certainly is hard to find.

  • Kikki

    Sounds about right but I think it’ll be difficult to find a good kibble that doesn’t have omega 3 added even if it’s not fish-based. All the food I’ve fed or read the backside of all have added omega 3 and 6.

  • Kikki

    Thanks! I think this was 1 of the articles I read.

  • Pattyvaughn

    You can get hurricane kit foods that are good for x number of years(prepper foods, good for 30 years), but I prefer to have things that my picky kids and I would actually eat, so we def. don’t buy kit foods. We have to be ready for both evacuation and staying in place without power. I would way rather stay, evacuating with all the animals is a royal pain. We had a wild fire threaten us a couple years ago and I found out how quickly I can pack up everything that matters to me, but it was not a good experience! Dog food(kibble) is the easiest item to keep prepared.

  • Storm’s Mom

    Except for the dog food, of course, the earthquake kit contents are good for 5 years (probably because we, thankfully, do not have “earthquake seasons” lol) …but we digress :-O

  • Pattyvaughn

    We stock the hurricane kit in May and some things are rotated out every time I get new, like horse feeds, and other things are good for the entire season.

  • Storm’s Mom

    Yes, all the items have due dates, which I’ve written down on a separate sheet of paper… I just restocked about 2 weeks ago, though, so not sure of the exact due dates, but I know I’m good for a while ;-)

    I actually have 2 earthquake kits.. one is a hardcore one for home.. it’s got, like, a water-tight, air-tight, basically indestructible case ..and then I have a 72-hour car kit, which is really a waterproof “backpack kit” because I basically have my backpack with me all the time, so it made more sense to put it there. There’s Smack packs in each kit :-)

  • Pattyvaughn

    Do you rotate stuff out of the earthquake kit to keep it good? We have the hurricane kit, which is a really big misnomer, since it is actually enough different totes to fill a truck bed.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Wow!! That looks very yummy!!

  • Storm’s Mom

    Yep! ..Smack is actually in the earthquake kit for Storm!! :-) I’m hoping to actually try it on him before The Big One hits, though ;-) …err, not by using the packages in the earthquake kit, ones I will buy at some point haha There’s a store close to work that sells it, but I keep forgetting to go there to buy some :-( Not sure where else sells it, but I suppose I could check their site to find out…

    Edit: hmm, the store I had in mind isn’t listed on their site.. ok, so maybe they don’t sell it. They do sell Amore, which is similar, I think. The only ones listed on the Smack site near me are both about an hour away :-O

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy
  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy
  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy
  • Pattyvaughn

    It was about the fats going rancid in fish kibbles faster and how rancid omega 3s are worse than no omega 3s. I feel better giving my dogs fresh omega 3s and raw fish. I’ve read about the problems with fish kibbles enough different places now that the info is sticking, finally.

  • Kikki

    Do you mind sharing what she said or direct me there? I read an article (think it was on WDJ) saying fish-based kibble go rancid a lot quicker. Ever since, think it was last week, I’ve been thinking about not feeding fish-based kibble no more and just give them canned and/or maybe try raw. Fish kibble isn’t too popular amongst my dogs anyways (except the Shiba puppy but she’s a healthy eater and loves most things) so I won’t feel too sorry removing it from the rotation.

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    You can feed them canned sardines or raw sardine. Mine l-o-o-o-o-v-e raw sardines. And also give them some kind of fish oil will help with coat.

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    My pugs like the sardine. The only food one of mine didn’t like was Orijen (old formula Regional Red). He picked it out and spit it out to the floor piece by piece. A pug not liking food??? What??? They’ve eaten Core Ocean and Blue Fish and Sweet Potato and Brothers Fish and of course the raw sardines.

  • InkedMarie

    Lots of food have fish varieties: Natures Variety Instinct (unsure about Prairie), Orijen, Acana, Natures Logic, Earthborn, off the top of my head

  • Pattyvaughn

    That’s what I’m struggling with. I haven’t found enough different kibbles that Micah can have to suit me, so I hate to completely leave out a protein source that is one of the easier ones to find good ones. Why do they have to go and add some kind of chicken to so many different foods!?!

  • Storm’s Mom

    LOL @ “that stinks!!! ;-) But good to know about your dogs not going gaga over the sardine. It’s a bit of consolation since I can’t feed it at the moment ;-) I’ve got a store that has tried several times to order it in for me, but their distributor is telling them it’s not available in Canada yet :-( No one seems to know why, though.

  • Storm’s Mom

    Yeah, I’ve definitely been giving the whole fish thing some thought since HDM comments…. and I think going forward I’ll only have 1 or 2 fish kibbles in his rotation …but I am just not sure I can bring myself to forego fish kibble entirely….

  • Pattyvaughn

    I guess I’m kind of leaning toward agreeing with HDM about fish kibble. I keep reading things that are making me less and less comfortable believing it is fresh enough. And one of my dogs favorite raw foods is fish.

  • Betsy Greer

    That stinks. I had hoped that mine would love the sardine, but they just found it so-so.

    I have a health food store near my office that carries NL, and doesn’t stock sardine, but they have ordered it for me and it’s easily found online in the US. Wish you could find it there also. : )

  • Storm’s Mom

    lol, I am sure Nature’s Logic Sardine would be Storm’s and my favourite fish kibble if I could actually get it here, like I can allllll the other Nature’s Logic kibbles (except Beef, but that one’s just not allowed in, period… the Sardine one is simply not available…. yet) *siiiiiiiiiigh* The canned Sardine has been available here for ages but not the kibble :-( Therefore, for now, the Sardine kibble is “out of sight, out of mind” for me, I guess ;-)

  • Pattyvaughn

    Nature’s Logic also has a sardine formula.

  • Storm’s Mom

    Maybe see if you can find Horizon Legacy Fish, Pulsar Fish, or Earthborn Holistic Coast Catch. The latter has potato, though. There’s a new one out here in Canada called Nutrience Grain Free Ocean Fish & Salmon that is currently my favourite fish kibble (Storm’s too haha), but I’m not sure if it’s available in the US. Those are the fish kibbles with the best value that I can think of at the moment. You could also just supplement with a fish oil, too, with whatever kibble you go with. Hope this helps!!

  • Lorie

    I really wanted to get a food with fish in it because it makes their coat so nice and Merrick doesn’t carry a product with fish, so I purchased Kirkland’s Nature’s Domain (Costco brand) Salmon and sweet potato. The product has a 4.5 review, but I know the product is made from Diamond, which I’m not real thrilled about. It is hard to find out who makes the food for some of dog food. Some of these really “good” foods are made by Diamond. We will see. I really liked Timberwolf, but like you, the customer service was all that I could take.
    Thank you very much!

  • Kikki

    What a nightmare! Sorry you had such a horrible experience and thanks a lot for sharing so no one else has to go through it. I’ve been curious about the food for a while but there’s so many other foods I’ve heard great things about (both food wise and customer service) so I never got to TimberWolf and now I’ll never have to either. I’m currently feeding Earthborn and the 3 next foods I’m definitely trying are Dr. Tim’s, Nature’s Logic and NutriSource.

  • InkedMarie

    I don’t care how good the food is, I wouldn’t feed a food from a company like this. Sorry you went through this; what are you feeding now?

  • LPZ

    I switched my dogs to Fromm and I am very happy with it.

  • Angie Hendrickson

    Oh my god. I was moments away from ordering a large bag of their food,
    and all I’m reading is nightmare stories about not only the customer
    service and bad management, but the terrible quality OF the food. Why
    can’t I just find a good premium food that REALLY puts in their food
    what they say they do.. This is getting so discouraging. Just when I
    THINK I found something I could transition my puppy to (getting him off
    of sold gold), it ends up probably being a bad bet.

  • Angie Hendrickson

    Oh my god. I was moments away from ordering a large bag of their food, and all I’m reading is nightmare stories about not only the customer service and bad management, but the terrible quality OF the food. Why can’t I just find a good premium food that REALLY puts in their food what they say they do.. This is getting so discouraging. Just when I THINK I found something I could transition my puppy to (getting him off of sold gold), it ends up probably being a bad bet. I’m so sorry about your german shepherd.

  • Lorie

    Please see my post on August 27, 2013. Their food is good, but if you have any ISSUES…..BEWARE!!! Their customer service and management team are horrible and as it was clearly stated to me, by the manager, “At the end of the day, they only want to make money”! You decide. I am confident that you can buy the same quality of food, maybe even cheaper, with a “professional” level of customer service!

  • Lorie

    I just posted a review about how horrible their customer service (and management team) is!
    I will never buy from them again!!! NEVER!!

  • Lorie

    Good Food, but beware of their poor customer service including the “manager”. You pay a premium for this food, but their customer service and management team is no where close to “premium” service. I have ordered from them 6 times, pre-ordered twice, only because they didn’t have the product I wanted in stock. Both pre-orders had issues. Both times they were not my fault, but theirs. They had my last pre-order, which was placed July 30, 2013 in stock on August 19, 2013, but they “chose” not to send my product, because they were having issues with their “new” warehouse. My dogs were out of food, I emailed them, no response. Started a chat conversation and was told about the warehouse issue. She told me (conveniently) they had my product in stock and could ship out that day, however it would be 2 days before I got it. Requested to have it shipped overnight. Request denied. I then called to speak to someone and she told me the reason my order didn’t ship the following Monday was because I ordered it on a Tuesday! Totally different story. Asked it I could have it shipped overnight…DENIED. I requested to speak with the manager, Regina and explained that I had no choice but to pre-order as my regular product was not in stock. It was now 4 weeks since my Pre-order and they had the product in stock, but choose NOT TO SHIP MY ORDER because of their warehouse issues. (Please note, I never received any information from them about this warehouse issue such as, “we have your order in stock, but because of warehouse issues”…etc) She is stating to me that their website states 3-5 weeks for “pre-order” and they were within their time frame. I’ll give her that, however:

    1) They had the product in stock, as I checked their website prior to my calling, and they were selling it directly to customers who didn’t pre-order , which was also told to me but the CSR (they make more money off the product when it isn’t pre-ordered)

    2) Per CSR, my order was to be shipped (Aug 19, 2013) the Monday prior to my calling, but because their warehouse was not “up to their customer service standards” they didn’t ship it.

    3) They also told me that I ordered this on a “Tuesday”, not Monday, that is why my order didn’t ship.

    I did not feel my request to ship overnight was unreasonable since product was and had been in stock since the week before, but they chose not to ship it to me.
    None of the reasons they gave me were my fault. I pre-ordered because they did not have my product in stock!

    Customer Service was less than poor, it was horrible. The manager wasn’t much better as this is the exact words she told me:

    “at the end of the day, we are
    here to make money”.

    That statement told me everything I wanted to know about them. The manager really didn’t care about their customers. I also requested cancellation of this order and to credit my account for $93, for 48 pounds of food! The “manager” told me she would cancel it and send an email of the cancellation confirmation within the hour. This was at 9:30am. By 1:30pm, no email. Called again, spoke to the same CSR and asked to speak with Regina, the manager. She wanted my name, told her, she put me on hold (without asking if it was okay to put me on hold…basic CS skills!) and then she told me Regina had “just stepped out”. I asked the CSR if my order was cancelled, she again got very rude and told me it was cancelled. I asked her why I didn’t receive an email. She told me, ” once the order is cancelled, you will receive an automated email with the confirmation and that I would receive that email within the hour.” She then told me it was cancelled. I stated they have already lied to me why should I believe my believe my order had been cancelled. I called my credit card company and opened up a dispute. Explained all of this to the bank and they credited my account for $93.xx right then. Shortly thereafter, I received a “skathing” email from the manager, Regina. At the bottom of this email, was an ugly Pay-Pal receipt showing a credit. If you are interested, I would be happy to email you a copy! Timberwolf is a good dog food and I am willing to pay a higher price for a product, but I am also expecting to have a “professional level” of customer service to go along with the price of the product. However, if their Customer Service and management can’t make reasonable accommodations to treat customers right, the product isn’t worth it!

    Like I stated, the dog food is good, but if you have any issues and are willing to go thru what I did, with the CSR and manager, go right ahead and order. But, BEWARE!

  • InkedMarie

    Wow, not good. I used it years ago but when it became too difficult to find the food, I stopped. Poor customer service is a deal breaker for me, doesnt matter how good the food is.

  • iamdum

    I was hesitant buying this food after reading all the negative reviews. Long story short, don’t buy this food. The company does not respond to your emails for weeks. The food, when it arrives, expires within 3 months. They send a ton of little bags, for some unknown reason, and none of them fit the specifications they list on their webpage (supposed to have some sort of release valve?). My dog now itches his face, has terrible poop, and licks his paws red. I’m donating this dog food to a nearby shelter, since at least its better than the crap that Purina gives out.

  • Kim

    Check out the 5-Star raw foods on this site, followed by the 5-star wet foods on this site. If you must stick with dry food, this is a really good product and so is Orijen. I also think Ziwi Peak is an exceptional product. I think of it more like a dehydrated raw product although Mike classifies it as a kibble.

  • Kylie’s Mom

    I have a Golden Retriever puppy(4 mo old) that I would like to put on a premium food. Our breeder started the pups on Nutro Ultra Large Breed puppy and we have stayed on that food. I just want to make a good choice for my puppy.
    Any suggestions?

  • Kristin

    Just wondering if this food would be a good choice for a pitbull/american bulldog cross? She’s pure muscle and I am trying to find her a dog food that is best suited to her. There is so many to choose from, its proving to be more difficult than I thought!

  • Cindy

    Yes they have engaged in a process of reformulating their foods for two lines recently.
    And there was was some additional tinkering initially with the ultimately selected current formulas. I’ve always had a lot of confidence in the ingredients they use, the quality and reasons they choose or change them tho — so this didn’t really worry me.
    I’d rather have a company that is constantly striving to improve its food, researching new things, staying up to date, and being responsive to changes in the industry and repeatedly responsive/sensitive to what its long time customers want from the foods, than not have these things.
    I wouldn’t be overly worried about a few differently shaped, lighter colored kibble pieces — though I would online chat w/them about it to get an explanation. I’ve never had that happen in the numerous bags I’ve bought from them over about a decade.
    The best way to ensure you get exactly the ingredients on the website, when they have been in the process of reformulating, is to tell them that when ordering & order directly. My last bag was flagged and Bailey (a cs there) graciously took extra care to send me a latest batch of the exact ingredients I wanted, the newest as reflected on the website. A previous bag bought in retail did not match what was on the website, was from a previous batch, leaving me a bit disappointed — but there was nothing bad about it, had great ingredients, just wasn’t the final version they ended up perfecting.

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    Well I finally opened the small bag I have and have only scooped out a couple cups to mix in the dog food jug but I’ve already found several larger lighter colored triangle pieces of kibble in it. Not to mention they have reformulated twice in such a short time that the bag I purchased isn’t event the same as the one currently listed on their website!

  • Cindy

    I love this brand’s foods & my gorgeous GSD has thrived on them. The first commercial kibble for my working dog to do so, to keep weight on! Incredibly nutrient dense & high quality ingredients, with exacting quality standards.

    I prefer the other formulas to the Wild & Natural and I think they are what make Timberwolf a stand out. (And my baby is allergic to chicken anyway . . . not that there’s anything super special or necessary about feeding chicken anyway.) Here’s what I ordered (online) today:

    Wilderness Elk Platinum 34% Protein/16% fat

    Salmon, Venison, Spray Dried Salmon, Elk, Herring, Pumpkin, Sweet Potatoes, Salmon Oil, Green Peas, Flaxseed, Sunflower Oil, Dried Organic Kelp, Dried Saccharomyces Cerevisiae, Herring Oil, Apples, Blueberries, Cranberries, Dried Figs, Thyme, Ground Cinnamon, Garlic, Sunflower Seeds, Dehydrated Alfalfa Meal, Whole Carrots, Dried Celery, Dried Beets, Dried Parsley, Dried Watercress, Dried Spinach, Tomatoes, Lecithin, Choline Chloride, Minerals: [Zinc Amino Acid Complex, Iron Amino Acid Complex, Manganese Amino Acid Complex, Calcium Pantothenate, Potassium Iodide, Sodium Selenite], Vitamins: [Vitamin E Supplement, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Vitamin A Acetate, Niacin (A Source Of Vitamin B3), Vitamin D3 Supplement, Riboflavin (A Source Of Vitamin B2), Folic Acid, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (A Source Of Vitamin B6), Thiamine Hydrochloride (A Source Of Vitamin B1), Biotin (A Source Of Vitamin B7), Citric Acid (A Source Of Vitamin C), Mixed Tocopherols (A Source Of Vitamin E and A Natural Preservative)], Prebiotics: [Chicory Root (Inulin)], Probiotics: [Dried Lactobacillus Acidophilus Fermentation Product, Dried Lactobacillus Casei Fermentation Product, Dried Lactobacillus Lactis Fermentation Product, Dried Bacillus Subtillus Fermentation Product], Papain, Yucca Schidigera Extract, Beta-Carotene, Fructooligosaccharides, Taurine, L-Carnitine, DL-Methionine, Rosemary Extract (A Natural Preservative).

    ***All salmon is wild Alaskan salmon, naturally preserved & never Ethoxyquin. Ditto other sourced fish.

    The “spray dried” ingredient, as here, I called & asked about, is hydrolyzed & high protein in dried form. From my own research, such ingredients are more easily digested and hypoallergenic when used as sole proteins, as I’ve seen in some prescription diets.

  • Lucya

    The platinum dog food made my german shepherd’s hair fall out. When I tried to reach Timberwolf Organics, I got a woman telling me to call back after noon time I sent numerous emails with them ignoring me. The food is not good and Royal Canin is 100 times better for my dog.

  • Torimelissa

    Chris5045, my dogs eat the wilderness kind. They LOVE it and actually refuse to eat any other kind of food. I couldn’t be happier with this dog food for our pups.

  • chris5045

    Has anyone tried this food recently? I just bought a trial bag, I know in the past they have had issues regarding their ingredients and honesty, I am a little hesitant in feeding this to my dog does anyone have advice?

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Thanks, Shameless… I’ve now corrected the spelling and title errors. However, please be aware, both TimberWolf reviews are outdated. There’s been a significant recipe change in each. So, I’ve added them to my update list. I promise to get to it as soon as I can. But still working with no power due to hurricane. Thanks for the tips.

  • ShamelessRawFoodie

    Mike – Corrections needed on this page:
    http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/dog-food-reviews/timberwolf-organics-dry/

    Spelling errors:
    TimberWolf Sothwest Chicken and Herbs
    TiberWolf Dog Food The Bottom Line

    ‘Organic’ is listed in dashboard product name, but ‘organic’ isn’t listed elsewhere:
    Dashboard – TimberWolf Organics Lamb and Barley with Apples

  • Brittany

    Is TimberWolf Ocean Blue good for weight loss in dauchsunds? I also can’t seem to find this specific kind anywhere, is there somewhere I can find it?

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Kat… Actually, both of your explanations are correct. Methionine is an essential amino acid for both dogs and cats. It is a more critically vital additive in cat food.

    In most cases, methionine is added to a dog food not only to increase the supply of the nutrient itself but also to acidify the animal’s urine to prevent discoloration of grass and shrubbery.

    Methionine is also used to help prevent the formation of struvite crystals in the urine. But unfortunately, it can also increase the potential for urinary oxalate stones, too. Not sure which is better (or worse).

  • Kat

    Hi,
    I was looking at Timberwolf and noticed that the formulas Black Forest, Wilderness, Dakota Bison, Wild & Natural have DL-Methionine in them. I usually avoid foods that list this b/c I read that this synthetic amino-acid is often added to “make up” for lower grade ingredients and to make the food more nutritious. Timberwolf’s website has this whole spiel where the owner “rants” about dog food ingredients and then that. I have also read that DL-methionin is used to make urine more acidic to avoid build up of crystals….

    What is your opinion/ knowledge about DL-Methionine in dog food?

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Andy… Haven’t yet reviewed Gaea Dog Food. When we monitor search data from Google, we haven’t notices much interest in this product. So, due to our current backlog of reviews, it could still be a while longer before we get to it. Thanks for the reminder.

  • Andy

    Have you updated or done the Gaea dog food product yet? I couldn’t find it on the list.

    Thanks, Andy

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Michelle… I included Wild and Natural in the TimberWolf Organics product line. Maybe at some later date I’ll pull it out and review it separately. There have been some ingredient changes for TimberWolf recently and I’ll catch them when I update this product line in the future.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Michelle… Thanks to your suggestion I’ve added Gaea ALS to my To Do list.

  • Michelle

    Hi Mike also Timberwolf’s wild formula has more protein 36% is grain free and contains no pea protein… http://www.timberwolforganics.com/wild.html

  • Michelle

    Hi Mike I would like to see a review for Gaea it is an ALS formula that is made by Timberwolf…Thank You. http://www.timberwolforganics.com/gaea.html