Royal Canin Breed Health Nutrition Adult (Dry)

Share

Rating: ★★½☆☆

Royal Canin Breed Health Nutrition Adult dog food receives the Advisor’s second-lowest tier rating of 2.5 stars.

The Royal Canin Breed Health Nutrition product line includes 17 dry dog foods, each claimed to meet AAFCO nutrient profiles for adult maintenance.

The following is a list of recipes available at the time of this review.

  • Royal Canin Pug
  • Royal Canin Boxer
  • Royal Canin Beagle
  • Royal Canin Bulldog
  • Royal Canin Shih Tzu
  • Royal Canin Rottweiler
  • Royal Canin Chihuahua
  • Royal Canin Dachshund
  • Royal Canin French Bulldog
  • Royal Canin Cocker Spaniel
  • Royal Canin Poodle (2 stars)
  • Royal Canin Golden Retriever
  • Royal Canin Yorkshire Terrier
  • Royal Canin Labrador Retriever
  • Royal Canin German Shepherd
  • Royal Canin Miniature Schnauzer
  • Royal Canin West Highland White Terrier (2 stars)

Royal Canin Yorkshire Terrier was selected to represent the other products in the line for this review.

Royal Canin Yorkshire Terrier

Dry Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 29% | Fat = 18% | Carbs = 45%

Ingredients: Brewers rice, brown rice, chicken by-product meal, chicken fat, wheat gluten, corn gluten meal, corn, natural flavors, powdered cellulose, dried plain beet pulp, fish oil, grain distillers dried yeast, vegetable oil, potassium chloride, calcium carbonate, sodium silico aluminate, fructooligosaccharides, sodium tripolyphosphate, salt, taurine, hydrolyzed yeast, vitamins [dl-alpha tocopherol acetate (source of vitamin E), inositol, niacin supplement, l-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), d-calcium pantothenate, biotin, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), riboflavin supplement, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), vitamin A acetate, folic acid, vitamin B12 supplement, vitamin D3 supplement], dl-methionine, choline chloride, magnesium oxide, l-lysine, glucosamine hydrochloride, marigold extract (Tagetes erecta l.), trace minerals [zinc proteinate, zinc oxide, ferrous sulfate, manganese proteinate, manganous oxide, copper sulfate, calcium iodate, sodium selenite, copper proteinate], tea, l-carnitine, chondroitin sulfate, rosemary extract, preserved with mixed tocopherols and citric acid

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 5.6%

Red items indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis26%16%NA
Dry Matter Basis29%18%45%
Calorie Weighted Basis25%37%39%
Protein = 25% | Fat = 37% | Carbs = 39%

The first ingredient in this dog food is brewers rice. Brewers rice is a cereal grain by-product consisting of the small fragments left over after milling whole rice. Aside from the caloric energy it contains, this item is of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

The second ingredient is brown rice, a complex carbohydrate that (once cooked) can be fairly easy to digest. However, aside from its natural energy content, rice is of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

The third ingredient is chicken by-product meal, a dry rendered product of slaughterhouse waste. It’s made from what’s left of a slaughtered chicken after all the prime cuts have been removed.

In addition to organs (the nourishing part), this stuff can contain almost anything — feet, beaks, undeveloped eggs — anything except feathers.

On the brighter side, by-product meals are meat concentrates and contain nearly 300% more protein than fresh chicken.

In any case, although this item contains all the amino acids a dog needs, we consider chicken by-products an inexpensive, lower quality ingredient.

The fourth ingredient is chicken fat. Chicken fat is obtained from rendering chicken, a process similar to making soup in which the fat itself is skimmed from the surface of the liquid.

Chicken fat is high in linoleic acid, an omega-6 fatty acid essential for life. Although it doesn’t sound very appetizing, chicken fat is actually a quality ingredient.

The fifth ingredient is wheat gluten. Gluten is the rubbery residue remaining once wheat has had most of its starchy carbohydrate washed out of it.

Although wheat gluten contains 80% protein, this ingredient would be expected to have a lower biological value than meat.

And less costly plant-based products like this can notably boost the total protein reported on the label — a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

The sixth ingredient is corn gluten meal, another plant-based protein booster.

Although corn gluten meal contains 60% protein, this ingredient would be expected to have a lower biological value than meat.

The seventh ingredient includes corn. Corn is an inexpensive and controversial cereal grain. And aside from its energy content, this grain is of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

For this reason, we do not consider corn a preferred component in any dog food.

After the natural flavor, we find powdered cellulose, a non-digestible plant fiber usually made from the by-products of vegetable processing. Except for the usual benefits of fiber, powdered cellulose provides no nutritional value to a dog.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With five notable exceptions

First, beet pulp is a controversial ingredient, a high fiber by-product of sugar beet processing.

Some denounce beet pulp as an inexpensive filler while others cite its outstanding intestinal health and blood sugar benefits.

We only call your attention here to the controversy and believe the inclusion of beet pulp in reasonable amounts in most dog foods is entirely acceptable.

Next, we find grain distillers dried yeast, also known as GDDY.

GDDY is an ingredient obtained from the fermentation of cereal grains separated from distilling mash as a by-product of the ethanol (biofuel) industry.

This low-quality item is typically found in cattle feeds and is only rarely used to make pet food.

Although it contains over 40% protein, GDDY would be expected to have a lower biological value than meat.

What’s more, less costly plant-based products like this can notably boost the total protein reported on the label — a factor that must be considered when judging the meat content of this dog food.

In addition, we note the inclusion of vegetable oil, a generic oil of unknown origin in this recipe. The ratio of omega-6 to omega-3 fats in any oil is nutritionally critical and can vary significantly (depending on the source).

Without knowing more, it’s impossible to judge the quality of an item so vaguely described. However, compared to a named animal fat, a generic vegetable oil cannot be considered a quality ingredient.

Next, this recipe contains fructooligosaccharide, an alternative sweetener1 probably used here as a prebiotic. Prebiotics function to support the growth of healthy bacteria in the large intestine.

And lastly, this food also includes chelated minerals, minerals that have been chemically attached to protein. This makes them easier to absorb. Chelated minerals are usually found in better dog foods.

Royal Canin Breed Health
Nutrition Adult Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Judging by its ingredients alone, Royal Canin Breed Health Nutrition Adult looks like a below-average dry dog food.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 29%, a fat level of 18% and estimated carbohydrates of about 45%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 27% and a mean fat level of 16%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 49% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 59%.

Near-average protein. Near-average fat. And near-average carbs when compared to a typical dry dog food.

When you consider the protein-boosting effect of the wheat gluten and corn gluten meal, this looks like the profile of a kibble containing a moderate amount of meat.

Bottom line?

Royal Canin Breed Health Nutrition Adult is a plant-based dry dog food using a moderate amount of chicken by-product meal as its main source of animal protein, thus earning the brand 2.5 stars.

Not recommended.

Please note certain recipes are sometimes given a higher or lower rating based upon our estimate of their total meat content and (when appropriate) their fat-to-protein ratios.

Royal Canin Dog Food
Recall History

The following list (if present) includes all dog food recalls since 2009 directly related to this product line. If there are no recalls listed in this section, we have not yet reported any events.

You can view a complete list of all dog food recalls sorted by date. Or view the same list sorted alphabetically by brand.

To learn why our ratings have nothing to do with a product’s recall history, please visit our Dog Food Recalls FAQ page.

Get free dog food recall alerts sent to you by email. Subscribe to The Advisor’s recall notification list.

Dog Food Coupons
and Discounts

Readers are invited to check for coupons and discounts shared by others in our Dog Food Coupons Forum.

Or click the buying tip below. Please be advised we receive a fee for referrals made to the following online store.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

The Dog Food Advisor does not test dog food products.

We rely almost entirely on the integrity of the information posted by each company on its website. As such, the accuracy of every review is directly dependent upon the quality of the test results from any specific batch of food a company chooses to publish.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, due to the biological uniqueness of every animal, none of our ratings are intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in a specific dietary response or health benefit for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

However, we do receive a fee from Chewy.com for each purchase made as a direct result of a referral from our website. This fee is a fixed dollar amount and has nothing to do with the size of an order or the brand selected for purchase.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Notes and Updates

12/18/2015 Last Update

  • KcQ8ov

    Do not give over the counter medications or supplements, especially those intended for humans unless recommended by a veterinarian that has examined your dog.
    You could make the situation worse, without a diagnosis you have no idea what you are treating.
    Only a veterinarian that has examined your dog and reviewed his history can diagnose and prescribe medication/treatment.

  • Susan

    Hi yes if you can afford raw diet YES raw is the best I just started feeding Raw diet the next day for breakfast BUT make sure you balance over the week, you don’t have to balance every single meal but over the week make sure he gets everything he needs in diet also add tin Sardine in oil or spring water only NOT in brine, Sardines are one of the highest source of omega 3 fatty acids…Give about 1/4 small tin per day, about 3-4 small sardines…. Sardines have Vitamin A, B-6, B-12, D, Calcium, Magnesium, Iron, excellent for their skin/coat, joints, brain, heart……here’s the raw diet I feed, I also did raw vegetables peeled & cut up & put thru a blender to break them down into a pulp… Dogs can’t break down raw vegetables, I would add 1 cup raw meat & 2 spoons blended vegetables & fruit, I froze the blended vegetables & fruit in a ice cube tray covered with plastic, also if your on Face Book follow “Rodney Habib” he has a raw/cooked recipe & he always post fruit & vegetables to add to diet…. http://naturalanimalsolutions.com.au/Shop/2016/03/15/maintenance-dog-diet/

  • Susan

    Hi, sound like Environment Allergies runny eyes….Can you buy Antihistamines for humans from your chemist or supermarket?? Telfast 90mg tablet you give 1/4 tablet per 10kg twice a day or Zyrtec 10mg tablet you give 1/2 tablet per 10kg twice a day, Claratyne 10mg tablet 1/2 tablet once daily for 10kg dog…

  • KcQ8ov

    I would take the dog to a veterinarian and have him examined, diagnosed and treated as soon as possible.

    https://www.mspca.org/angell_services/choosing-the-right-diet-for-your-pet/ (excerpt below, click on link for full article)
    “Raw diets are another popular option on the market today. Studies have shown that 20-35% of raw poultry and 80% of raw food dog diets tested contained Salmonella. This poses a health risk for your pet, but also for humans. This is especially true for children or immunocompromised adults, whether exposed to the raw food directly, or the feces of the pet eating the raw food. Additionally, there is increased risk of other bacterial infections and parasitic diseases when feeding raw diets. And the bottom line is there is no reason to believe raw food is healthier than cooked food”.

    More information below:
    http://skeptvet.com/Blog/2016/07/more-nonsense-from-holistic-vets-about-commercial-therapeutic-diets/

  • KcQ8ov

    I would take the dog to a veterinarian as soon as possible to be examined, diagnosed and treated. From what you describe the dog may be suffering and need medical attention.
    I would not feed a raw diet, especially to a dog that is sick.

  • KcQ8ov
  • KcQ8ov

    I would take the dog to a veterinarian as soon as possible to be examined, from what you describe he may be suffering and need medical attention.

    https://www.mspca.org/angell_services/choosing-the-right-diet-for-your-pet/ (excerpt below, click on link for full article)
    “Raw diets are another popular option on the market today. Studies have shown that 20-35% of raw poultry and 80% of raw food dog diets tested contained Salmonella. This poses a health risk for your pet, but also for humans. This is especially true for children or immunocompromised adults, whether exposed to the raw food directly, or the feces of the pet eating the raw food. Additionally, there is increased risk of other bacterial infections and parasitic diseases when feeding raw diets. And the bottom line is there is no reason to believe raw food is healthier than cooked food”.

  • KcQ8ov

    I think you should take the dog to a veterinarian as soon as possible.
    Only a veterinarian that has examined your dog and reviewed his history can advise you correctly.

    https://www.mspca.org/angell_services/choosing-the-right-diet-for-your-pet/ (excerpt below, click on link for full article)
    “Raw diets are another popular option on the market today. Studies have shown that 20-35% of raw poultry and 80% of raw food dog diets tested contained Salmonella. This poses a health risk for your pet, but also for humans. This is especially true for children or immunocompromised adults, whether exposed to the raw food directly, or the feces of the pet eating the raw food. Additionally, there is increased risk of other bacterial infections and parasitic diseases when feeding raw diets. And the bottom line is there is no reason to believe raw food is healthier than cooked food”.
    http://support.mspca.org/site/PageServer?pagename=latestnews_GenericPetFoodRecipes
    More information below:
    http://skeptvet.com/Blog/2016/07/more-nonsense-from-holistic-vets-about-commercial-therapeutic-diets/

  • KcQ8ov

    I would take the dog to a veterinarian as soon as possible, if his allergies are environmental, his symptoms may have nothing to do with his diet.

    Go to the forums section of this site and search allergies.

    Be careful, DR Google is not a good source. Only a veterinarian that has examined your dog can diagnose his condition and advise about what would be the best diet.

    https://www.mspca.org/angell_services/choosing-the-right-diet-for-your-pet/ (excerpt below, click on link for full article)
    “Raw diets are another popular option on the market today. Studies have shown that 20-35% of raw poultry and 80% of raw food dog diets tested contained Salmonella. This poses a health risk for your pet, but also for humans. This is especially true for children or immunocompromised adults, whether exposed to the raw food directly, or the feces of the pet eating the raw food. Additionally, there is increased risk of other bacterial infections and parasitic diseases when feeding raw diets. And the bottom line is there is no reason to believe raw food is healthier than cooked food”.
    http://support.mspca.org/site/PageServer?pagename=latestnews_GenericPetFoodRecipes
    More information below:
    http://skeptvet.com/Blog/2016/07/more-nonsense-from-holistic-vets-about-commercial-therapeutic-diets/

  • सौरभ सिंह राजोरिया

    i have been feeding my labrador indian chapati+buttermilk+tomato+cucumber and veggies for some months…he has chronic itching problem..i think he has food allergy and atopy..i surfed on the net and i got to know that i should feed him raw meat diet as he is a carnivore….i used to fed him kibble but he used to vomit it out quite often so i stopped it……so tell me if i should feed him raw or not..and if yes then how should i start/switch from all vegan diet to a raw,meaty one

  • sharron

    hi – similar to someone with COPD – she’s om wet food – i’m pretty sure it’s the bones that she chews that causes it – it happens late at night or early morning and at times can last the whole next day – the vet gave me some cough suppressant syringes to give when necessary which help

  • theBCnut

    My JRT has a collapsing trachea and she can’t wear a collar, I have to be very picky about what type of harness she wears, and I can’t scratch her throat. She does best if her food is wet down, so it doesn’t scratch her throat going down. I also keep scented items and volatizing chemicals away from her.

  • InkedMarie

    I suggest you may need a specialist if your vet isn’t being helpful.

  • sharron

    i didn’t know where to ask this question, so i posted it here since this is what she eats and is doing fine – lexee’s trachea keeps collapsing, which after all these years is the cause of her gagging, heaving etc. – i thought it was from being hungry but her vet says no. her vet doesn’t know why it keeps collapsing – wondering if anyone has an idea as to why…….thanks

  • Susan

    A raw diet is the best diet to feed a dog & a cat…. kibble is just easy for us humans, not really good for dogs or cats… Royal Canine Breed kibble is crap, sorry but read the ingredients then read ingredients too 4-5 star kibbles….Have a look at Earthborn Holistic grain free kibbles they’re a environmentally safe company..

  • port1974

    Boy Lanie you sure have access to a lot of information. Again please back up these claims. I’d like to know …which a$$ are you pulling your info out of.

  • port1974

    Another quality statement from the uber-qualified Lanie!!!

  • port1974

    You must work for or represent Royal Canin in some way? Are you a dog nutritionist to make these claims? Last I checked dogs never hunt for grains or brewers rice in the wild.

    It’s the dog food industry that came along and decided to add these as fillers in order to reduce costs and increase profit.

    Please feel free to back up your comments with some actual science….science that isn’t sponsored by the industry that is.

  • port1974

    By inference you admit that, by not competing in the human food supply, this is in fact an inferior product. Feeding your pet by-products is the equivalent of feeding a child McDonalds everyday at every meal for their entire life. People have the audacity to spend thousands of dollars for their pet; shove expensive Kong toys in their faces; sleep on beds fit for princesses; pay massive vet bills… Only to then shove this crap Down their throats. If you were a true advocate for dogs you wouldn’t bother having spewed such trash.

  • Edu San Pietro

    The use of by products involves a great deal of effort in ensuring the highest nutritional quality in the ingredient while at the same time not competing with the human food supply. Environmentally friendly companies and consumers should learn from this effort. Competing in the human food supply means higher prices for our food and a waste of resources left in the by-products.
    These articles are biased in the way that they rate animal food, and its nutritional value in terms of human taste.
    While companies less interested in caring for the environment nor the nutritional value of their products ride on the latest human consumption trends and deceitfull claims of fresh meat content the ones doing the right thing get the bad reviews….

  • Johnna Boss

    well I can only speak for me and my frenchie, but I recently (as in this will be the 3rd week) started giving her the RoyalCanin French Bulldog and she has had NO breakouts. She has severe allergies, and I have tried everything I can think of to help her, from making her food myself; to vet prescribed diets; as well as many foods such as – Arcana, Canidae; Fromm; Taste of the Wild; Blue Buffalo; others as well… she ALWAYS breaks out, itching constantly. Since I began this food with her, voila ! no break outs. So like I said , I can only speak for me and my pup, but she is a happy girl now, and so am I. most of the other “top” rated brands actually made her sick – vomiting/diarrhea, along with the breakouts and hives.
    so far so good with this one !!

  • sharron

    exactly

  • Pitlove

    alright so basically you are just looking to rotate and give variety is all.

  • sharron

    ok thanks – to be clear on this- i’m not changing her food because she won’t eat. i bought the canisource for her so she can have something different now and then

  • aimee

    Your post made me think of this report in the forum http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/forums/topic/garlic/

    The owner reported that after feeding a dehydrated food with garlic one of her dogs became anemic.

    At the time of the post the garlic was thought to be the cause as no other cause was found.

    There is individual sensitivity.

  • sharron

    hi – yes i have, i have a bag of stella and chewy’s and a bag of NV medallions still in the freezer, she doesn’t do raw, doesn’t like it – i’m not trying to change her food completely, i just thought she might like something different now and then, she still likes her RC wet and the canisource

  • InkedMarie

    Feed her what she will eat. There is nothing wrong with garlic unless you feed the enormous amount that it takes for toxicity.

  • bojangles

    Hi Pitlove,

    Thanks for the happy face!

  • bojangles

    Hi aimee,

    I didn’t know that you didn’t mean a word of what you wrote, Sorry!

  • Pitlove

    Oh geez lol. To be fair my boy didn’t like THK or Sojo’s either. I guess it’s a texture thing? Who knows? I forget, have you ever tried raw with Lexee?

  • sharron

    let’s see, honest kitchen, doesn’t like it, NRG, doesn’t like it, sojos, doesn’t like it – there is orijen freeze dried that she likes but it she puts on weight and i did cut back on the amt, i’m sure there are others but can’t think of them right now – tried fresh pet but the smell of it made me ill, the garlic made my fridge smell to high heaven

  • Pitlove

    as always, you are very welcome. what other dehydrated brands are available to you?

  • sharron

    i appreciate your opinions – you are very knowlegable and i don’t know enough about it – so i really do appreciate your input

  • Pitlove

    ha. well that is just my opinion. Shawna and others find that garlic has good benefits. I don’t really know how to feel about it so I just avoid it the best I can, just in case!

  • sharron

    it seems that any time i find a dog food that she will eat and i rotate, there is someting not quite right with it, either it’s a totally crappy food according to a lot of people or there is an ingredient or more in it that’s questionable

  • Pitlove

    So much controversy over garlic. Some say that it is a healthy addition to a dogs diet, but others (including veterinary proffessionals) argue that even a small amount of garlic damages the red blood cells.

    I just wouldn’t feel comfortable using a food all the time that has it that high up in the ingredient list with so many unknowns about it’s true nature for dogs.

  • sharron

    ok thanks – why garlic in dog food?

  • Pitlove

    Hi sharron-

    I’ve never heard of Canisource before. Is it a Canadian only brand?

    I couldn’t tell you anything about the company itself, so I could only judge off the ingredients. The garlic being that high on the list is a bit concerning, but other than that the ingredients look alright.

    Perhaps Storm’s Mom (who is another Canadian) has heard of this food and can offer you a better opinion?

  • aimee

    Hi bojangles,
    The post was in reply to a now deleted post. It’s purpose was to point out that the OP’s reasoning bias could be applied to other situations

  • sharron

    hi pitlove – wondering what your thoughts are on Canisource – good, bad, so-so?…..thanks

  • Pitlove

    🙂

  • Pitlove

    You do not have a clue what I’m talking about or what my store is like El Doctor.

    🙂

  • bojangles

    Hi Pitlove,

    It’s actually bad news for you, lol, that you find my comment funny, it means that the “boutique pet food store” that you work for doesn’t fit my description.

    Out here in Los Angeles there are at least 5 in my area alone that only carry pet foods they believe in.

  • Storm’s Mom

    I don’t think I’ve been to any pet store, large or small, that didn’t recommend a brand they sold when asked for a recommendation (which, admittedly, I don’t do very often). Regardless of the size of the store, you’re dealing with a salesperson..it’s their job to try to sell you what their store sells.

  • Pitlove

    I have bad news for you lol

  • bojangles

    Hi aimee,

    Or, because they were a small “boutique” pet store and were not beholden to any large corporation that was more interested in profits than in pets, they only carried the foods that they believed in!

  • LabsRawesome

    I think their talking to Lanie?? Hahaha

  • InkedMarie

    Who are you talking to?

  • Katelyn LeBlanc

    I feel so sorry for your pets. There food is coming from roadside dead animals. The vets must love your kick backs though. Good luck with your advertising buisness.

  • Lanie Malvit

    Its not repetitive

  • Babslynne

    I flagged this post for being repetitive, which you have already been warned about by our moderator.

  • Lanie Malvit

    Royal canin is made out of 100% human grade ingredients, Please stop spreading false information everyone! Brewers rice is used in beer making, PEOPLE EAT BROWN RICE ALL THE TIME, Royal canin only uses chicken organs, heads and carcasses in their chicken by product meal, and all of those are human grade, chicken fat is in pretty much any chicken you can buy at the store, and wheat gluten is sold for human consumption: http://www.walmart.com/ip/Vital-Wheat-Gluten/37745162?wmlspartner=wlpa&selectedSellerId=14&adid=22222222227025910586&wl0=&wl1=g&wl2=c&wl3=52351977975&wl4=&wl5=pla&wl6=79452289575&veh=sem

    Of course it doesnt sound appetizing, but it sure is healthy! especially for dogs!

  • Lanie Malvit

    please give me atleast 5 things that make raw foods better than royal canin (aka the healthiest dog food on earth)

    Exactly

  • Lanie Malvit

    IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR THE BEST DOG FOOD ON EARTH…
    Royal canin is the best food you could ever feed your dog.
    Roayl canin has tested over 1,000 ingredients and developed over 150 dog formulas so that any dog can be a royal canin dog!
    Whether your dog is over weight, underweight, large, small, digestive issues, They even have a food for the rare dogs who have grain allergies.

    Also royal canin tests every batch of their food,to ensure it goes up to the highest standards, Also royal canin has been testing and developing all of their formulas since 1962 (over 50 YEARS ago)

    Royal canin is simply the best food a dog could eat,

    I hope this helped you make your decision (:

  • Lanie Malvit

    royal canin has spent over 50 years testing over a thousand ingredients, and has developed over 150 UNIQUE formulas so that there is a formula to fit each dogs specific needs, whether they are big, small, over weight, under weight, grain free (for the rare dogs that are allergic to grains) digestion issues, and many more things
    If you are still skeptical about trying royal canin, you can try it, and if you or your dog doesn’t like it, you can bring it back to where you bought it for a 100% refund, Then you can try a different formula, and i guarantee you that you will find one that is perfect for you and your dog,
    Also, you can use their product selector tool on their website to make it even easier to find the perfect formula for your dog.

  • Pitlove

    Thankfully, the mods don’t ban people for being a rep for a company or prefering a certain brand. That would be ridiculous. However, I do agree that her behavior has been tolerated for long enough.

  • sharron

    i didn’t do anything special, but you are most welcome

  • mahoraner niall

    lol ikr

  • Babslynne

    I wish the moderator would ban and block her because she is obviously a Royal Crap (Canine) Rep!

  • Lanie Malvit

    I cant believe you! The best dog food on earth is royal canin, and i cant believe that you would even suggest a raw diet!
    You disgust me! you should be ashamed!

  • mahoraner niall

    lol, this thing has 79 comments, well now 80,
    lol

  • mahoraner niall

    Actually raw diets are great for dogs!
    And i would feed it if i had the time and money too,
    But for now my dog is on the best thing that my budget can afford, and that is wellness large breed puppy

  • mahoraner niall

    thank you!
    now if only she would listen, lol

  • mahoraner niall

    OK, just did the math, and its $1.88 a pound for royal canin Labrador Retriever food,

    I can list over 100 foods that are safe for large breeds and much better than that crap that are LESS than that. (but i only have the time for about 10)
    hmm, lets see

    Taste of the wild
    Wellness
    FROMM
    Blue wilderness
    Canidae
    Newmans own
    Premium edge
    Chicken soup
    Diamond naturals
    Diamond naturals grain free
    Holistic select
    Whole earth farms
    Natures recipe
    Sportmix wholesomes
    Avo derm
    Nutro ultra
    i and love and you
    blue buffalo
    Eagle pack
    Natural balance
    California naturals
    EVO
    Earth born
    Nutri source

    wow, i actually got way more than 10,
    i got 24 to be exact

  • Katelyn LeBlanc

    Let’s all get off this Royal discussion and go to real dog food one like Fromm, Purevita, Acana, Taste of the Wild, Solid Gold? Good luck Royal families…

  • Babslynne

    Here is an article for you that just came out, it involves a list of over 11,000 people with connections to the dog food industry and narrowed it down to the best.
    ◦Over 20 experts contributed their valuable time to our work, including veterinarians, dog trainers, animal behaviorists, university researchers, and authors.
    ◦Surveyed 300 dog owners and asked them if they knew what was in their dog’s food.
    ◦Gathered a list of over 8,000 search queries to find out what matters most to dog owners.
    ◦Read and analyzed 72 of the most popular articles and studies on dog food.
    ◦Compiled a list of 2219 formulas from 115 brands and reviewed their ingredients.
    and Royal Canine is on the list!

    http://iheartdogs.com/company-researches-2200-dog-food-formulas-and-finds-only-119-to-be-satisfactory/

  • Lanie Malvit

    Like i said, i will not stop until all dogs are on the highest quality food on earth, and that food is royal canin!

  • Amateria

    You were clearly told to stop, so stop acting like a troll who needs his fix and just stop it already and really everyone else? Your behaving no better than her at this point.

  • Jean

    It explains in detail WHY it’s a 2 star food. copied: Judging by its ingredients alone, Royal Canin Breed Health Nutrition Adult looks like a below-average dry dog food.
    But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.
    The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 29%, a fat level of 18% and estimated carbohydrates of about 45%.
    As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 27% and a mean fat level of 16%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 49% for the overall product line.
    And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 59%.
    Near-average protein. Near-average fat. And near-average carbs when compared to a typical dry dog food.
    When you consider the protein-boosting effect of the wheat gluten and corn gluten meal, this looks like the profile of a kibble containing a moderate amount of meat.
    Bottom line?
    Royal Canin Breed Health Nutrition Adult is a plant-based dry dog food using a moderate amount of chicken by-product meal as its main source of animal protein, thus earning the brand 2.5 stars.
    * *Not recommended.

  • Lanie Malvit

    Actually with how high quality their ingredients are, this should be a 4 star food

  • Jean

    Well I’m 60 years old and I have studied hard for nearly 20 years. Actually until I found THIS SITE. This amazing site does all the work for us. One of these days you will grow up and realize you don’t know everything and don’t always make the best choices in where you get your information. That said, your dog will do ok on Royal Canin. Heck dogs have lived for years on plain old Purina, Kibbles and Bits, Ol’Roy and the like. Before I would feed that to my dog though I would feed Chicken from here at the house. Here is a list with facts, years of study, compiled by the page we are on. You should not be referring people to a 2 star food here on their page. that’s just wrong. I can’t believe they have let you get by with it. http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/best-dog-foods/best-dry-dog-foods/

  • Lanie Malvit

    Purina and iams say that they use vets, but they dont. Royal canin tells the truth and uses vets to develop and test their food, so which they are real vets, not made up

  • Lanie Malvit

    Actually it means that the MORE brewers rice royal canin uses, the LESS profit they get
    which means they don’t care about the money, they care about the actual dogs live they are improving

  • DogFoodie

    The irony is that the graphic in your link is actually telling you that brewer’s rice is a cheap, inferior ingredient.

  • sharron

    what is a “real vet” – isn’t a vet, a vet?

  • Lanie,

    You have already made your points about brewers rice and that vets recommend RC. Please stop repeatedly posting the same information. Thanks for your cooperation.

  • Lanie Malvit
  • sharron

    good one!!

  • InkedMarie

    Come on Sharron, can’t you at least feed Hostess Cupcakes? They taste much better than Twinkies. Oh wait, too much chocolate for dogs. Back to Twinkies!

  • theBCnut

    If it were plain old rice, they would call it RICE, just like every other company that uses rice in their food. AAFCO has legal definitions that dog food companies are required to use on their government regulated label. They can’t go around calling any ingredient whatever they want. If their label says brewers rice, then it meets the LEGAL AAFCO definition of brewers rice, which is NOT plain old rice.

  • sharron

    or a greeter at walmart – i bet she could push the ol roy

  • Crazy4dogs

    This is just crazy! 🙁

  • Crazy4dogs

    ROFLMAO!

  • sharron

    or twinkies…..she told me that feeding a grain free food like the amicus i’m feeding is worse than twinkies

  • Crazy4dogs

    Yeah, my vets are specialized surgeons and dental specialists in my area, so I do know what a vet is. BTW, my vets have gone to school for more than 4 years.

  • InkedMarie

    She realizes nothing. She has not realized that MOST vets get very little nutritional education. If my guess is correct, she just says “yes” to everything they say.

    If Boone ate grains & a hole bunch of ingredients found in kibble, he’d be at the vets all the time. I don’t talk nutrition with my vets: their food shelf is all Science Diet.

    If Lanie’s vet sold SD she’d be on that bandwagon.

  • sharron

    let’s see if i have this right….you are saying that everyone that owns a dog or cat should listen to their vet and only their vet on what they should be feeding their pet and not what is said on the internet..but here you are posting comments about Royal Canin and how good it is and everybody should be feeding RC and only RC

  • Shawna

    What is “energy”?

  • Lanie Malvit

    Unlike you people, i get my facts from my VET and only my VET

    If you do not know what a vet is, A vet is someone one who goes to vet school for AT LEAST 4 years and studied only animal health (including nutrition) for those 4 years.
    while on the other hand, anyone who is old enough to go on google and go to a site like wix can write something on the internet. Actually, all they need to do is go on their mama’s iphone and click on facebook and type whatever the heck they want.

    How do you NOT see the difference?

    educated 30 year old vs a 6 year old 1st grader
    Which one would you trust more about dog food?

  • Lanie Malvit

    it is the only high quality source of energy for dogs.

  • Crazy4dogs

    You do realize that all of the ingedients are not even human grade quality since the US and AAFCO doesn’t require that in pet food, so where are you basing your information from? And if you removed the vitamin pack, how nutritious do you think this food would be?

    Please provide a valid link for your claims.

    EDI: my dog gets ear & skin infections when fed grain. She’s been grain free for 11 years with no problems.

  • Shawna

    I specifically want to know why they are required not why RC’s are better.

  • Lanie Malvit

    grains are a part of a dogs balanced diet. Just like humans! But the grains that royal canin uses are not just your ordinary grains. Royal canin inspects all of their grains and tests each shipment of them they receive to make sure they are the highest quality they can be, thats what makes them different from purina, iams, blue buffalo, etc

    And for the nutrition aspect, lets use their first (high quality) ingredient; brewers rice
    First of all it is NOT left over rice from brewing, nor is it the left over scraps like al of you keep saying. Brewers rice is just plain rice that they WOULD use for brewing, but instead royal canin uses it in their high quality food. and nutrition wise, Brewers rice helps digestion and provides high quality energy

    Something none of the ingredients in your grain free or raw foods would ever be able to do

    Dogs need grains just as much as we do. Stop trying to change that, its never going to work

  • Shawna

    Purina uses nutritionists per their website.

  • Shawna

    Could you please explain, in detail, why grains are required?

  • Lanie Malvit

    I would if they would allow me to make them only sell royal canin. But i know they wouldn’t let me.
    But i have been considering hanging posters around my town showing the facts about royal canin and raw food

    like how brewers rice is commonly mistaken as a low quality ingredient. im going to put quotes from my vet AND sources that prove its not low quality on the poster AND facts and prove that raw food IS dangerous, along with grain free

  • Lanie Malvit

    i know what your trying to do, but i wont stop until every dog in this country is on the highest quality food possible. and that food is royal canin

  • InkedMarie

    You’re embarrassing yourself. If you think your type of posting is going to get people to try RC, you’re mistaken. It’s going to put people off.

  • Lanie Malvit

    sorry, but i believe in freedom of speech.
    I wont stop until all dogs in this country are on the highest quality of dog food, and that food is royal canin!
    Also, unlike your raw and grain free foods, royal canin has a food perfect for any dog,
    whether its weight management, sensitive stomach, no problems, digestion issues, urinary issues, and honestly any problem a dog could have, royal canin has a formula for it.

  • InkedMarie

    You’re not going to change the minds of most of us here so please, just stop. We aren’t going to change your mind either so just agree to disagree and move on.

  • sharron

    Hi – you’re right – that’s why i haven’t responded to her re: my twinkie comment to her, any comment made to her will never be right, so why bother

  • Azul

    Hi Sharron, please just ignore Lanie. We all know she’s dead wrong. I’m hoping she’ll go away if no one responds to her.

  • Katelyn LeBlanc

    She’s clearly a seller or vet. Only vets know Royal Canin. And prescription food is not healthy for a dog life term. No good nutrients in it. Good luck to your pet ha

  • Katelyn LeBlanc

    My dog had exact same issues. I hope more people get educated properly. It’s so sad to know what these dogs are really eating when there are better family owned companies out there which care about pets!

  • Katelyn LeBlanc

    You nailed it. My dog had the exact same issues. I refuse to let my dog eat food from another dead dog which is what’s in petsmart dog foods. SO sad!! I only hope more families get educated properly.

  • Katelyn LeBlanc

    First, my dog was pushed but her vet for Royal canin because that’s ALL they know…they are not nutritionist and get very little training on nutrition for dogs. My dog was on it for 2 years and sick, bumps on her skin, scratching, puking which I was told to ignore as a gastric reflux, then not eating it all. Dogs can sense when it’s crap food and I refuse to feed my dog remains off the streets from other dogs which is how a lot of petsmart foods are made. We switched ourselves and got a lot of education from specialist who agree dogs do not need corn and rice as the first ingredient in the diet. They are wild animals and need meat and protein. Fromm dog food no recalls, family owned and no problems at all now with my baby. Acana, Instinct also made by one manufacture. I feel bad for owners not educated and dogs dying from cancer. ITS THE FOOD!!!! I will not support vet kick backs and Lanie you are 100% educated wrongly on grain free dog foods. Just my opinion 😉

  • Amateria

    Never know till you try!

    If she does indeed trust that every vet cares, she should go and read every bad review about banfield vets hehe and see how bad some can be.

  • Lanie Malvit

    Actually, now your feeding something WORSE than twinkies. now your feeding something that can actually kill her!
    Dogs need grains to survive, that is why so many dogs die from grain free food every day! I don’t know where this fad about grain free food started. But i wish it would just end! Vets wouldn’t recommend royal canin if it was a bad food. Vets want to make your pet healthy, Not worse!
    Please switch her back to royal canin! she will be much better off! You should never switch their food JUST because they “don’t like it” and if you think they are allergic to it, go to your vet and ask them to prescribe you a royal canin prescription diet!
    or feed her royal canin sensitive stomach formula.

    either way, you should never stop feeding royal canin, its the best dog food on earth, and you guys just dont want to admit it

  • Lanie Malvit

    I will not let a dog suffer on a raw diet just because the owner is uneducated about dog food

  • Lanie Malvit

    The only things i get paid for is selling my belongings and my job which is NOT at royal canin
    While you keep believing that raw an grain free is best and having your poor dogs die every 2 years, my dog will still be healthy and strong on royal canin.
    and in 15 years, i will be celebrating my dogs 20th birthday while you will be sitting at all 7 of your dogs graves

    I just want your dog to live to the fullest life they can, And i don’t want an innocent dog to be punished with a very early death just because his owner is uneducated about dog food.
    And no, you dont need to go to vet school just to learn which dog food is best. That’s why you have your vet. And my vet wouldn’t recommend anything but the best food.

    Please, just try royal canin for even just a week, and you’ll SEE how much happier and healthier your dog is

    and if you dont believe me, and 2 years pass, i’d bet you’ll be sitting at your dogs grave thinking to yourself “Why didn’t i trust Lanie!

    Or if you do switch him to royal canin, in 2 weeks or so you will be thinking “oh my, why didnt i do this years ago! wow, Lanie was so right!”

  • InkedMarie

    Rofl, coffee on the keyboard!

  • Azul

    Hi Sharron, Amateria is right. Maybe if we all just ignore Lanie she’ll go away. I doubt it, but it’s worth a try. 🙂

  • Azul

    I know. It’s hard not to respond because she’s writing such idiotic posts. I would just feel really bad if some naive person actually took her advice. But I know you’re right tho. Hahaha 😛

  • Susan

    You need to do more research about dog kibbles…. 4 years ago I too thought Royal Canine was GREAT, I have never had a sick dog or cat…..I rescued Patch who suffers with IBD & Skin Allergies, his first vet put him on Vet Diet R/C Hypoallergenic, Patches skin improved & he started doing firm poos & stopped waking me up thru the night with his bowel making loud gurgling rumbling noises, I thought gee R/C is excellent food then after 1-2 months eating R/C Patch became ill, bad acid reflux, crying after eating his R/C kibble, then vomiting up the R/C kibble 7-8 hours later all undigested, all these symptoms from the ingredients in the R/C Hypoallergenic kibble…..Royal Canine, Hills, Purina & Iams all add Beet Pulp & other ingredients to firm dogs stools so you think the food is excellent & other ingredients like (Borage Oil, Soya Oil, Marigold Extract Calendula,) to help with skin problems.. When you google, side effect to Borage Oil, it says nausea, indigestion, stomach upset, constipation or diarrhea, belching, bloating & rash, all the symptoms Patch was having, I change vets, I now see a lady vet that’s a holistic vet & has studied Pet Nutrition….
    All the money Royal Canine, Hills, Purina & Iams make you’d think that they would start improving their ingredients to all their formulas so dogs live longer & don’t become sick from eating these kibbles but they only care about making money & profit….These comapanies don’t really care about our pets…Start doing some research about dog kibbles….here’s a link you can start with http://www.naturalnews.com/Report_pet_food_ingredients_8.html
    then google “Why is Kibble BAD” http://rawdietfordogs.blogspot.com.au/2012/04/why-is-kibble-so-bad-anyways.html

  • sharron

    you make it sound as though i am feeding her Twinkies

  • Amateria

    By the way your telling her to give it a rest and yet you keep responding also 😛

    At this rate it will never stop, she’s enjoying that everyone keeps responding to her, it’s totally making it all worth it!

  • sharron

    sorry forgot to mention, that i am feeding Lexee Zoe wet food that they just introduced and that is going well too – so all is good

  • sharron

    thanks Shawna!!!!!!

  • Shawna

    Mine have my number too. As long as she handles a food well you can switch up her diet often to prevent her from getting bored with it. Feed her Amicus for a couple days and then try canned RC for a day (or until the can is gone). Then a day or two of Amicus again and then a day of raw etc etc. May not work for her but can’t hurt to try.

  • sharron

    got a problem with that? what difference does it make to you?

  • sharron

    oh my gosh! will you relax please!!!
    and move on

  • sharron

    Hi Azul – she is doing well on it – thanks for asking – still have to add a bit of wet with it but we’re doing fine

  • Azul

    Hi Sharron, how is Lexee doing on Amicus?

  • Azul

    Oh my gosh! Please give it a rest. Royal Canin IS NOT the best food you could ever feed your dog.
    You seriously have to be getting paid to make these ridiculous posts.

  • Lanie Malvit

    oh my gosh! why would you do something so bad! Royal canin is the best food you could ever feed your dog!
    and not only that, the food you switched to is grain free! how could you do something so bad to something that was so great! ):

  • Lanie Malvit

    Royal canin uses REAL vets, purina and iams DO NOT

  • Hater & Molly’s Mom

    Amen to that! It’s the same thing over and over with her.

  • InkedMarie

    Unless you want to spend the rest of your life looking for new food, start practicing “tough love”: put the food down, give her 15 min & pick up what she doesn’t eat. She gets nothing in between meals: no treats, no people food, nothing.

    I know people with Chihuahua’s; neighbors have 4 & no issues with eating. I only know one yorkie but he eats anything.

    I believe you have created a picky dog.

  • Crazy4dogs

    I do have my facts straight. They are directly from AAFCO. Perhaps you do not understand what the definition is stating.

    “If the product bears a name descriptive of its kind, it must correspond thereto.”

    That means if it’s from a chicken it would be called “chicken” by product. The same would go for turkey, duck, etc.

  • Lanie Malvit

    its CHICKEN byproduct meal.
    get your facts right!
    and because of the nonsence you guys have been throwing at me, i emailed royal canin and asked what their chicken byproduct meal consisted of, and they said “Our chicken byproduct meal is a high quality ingredient that is high in protein and energy, The chicken byproduct meal we use in all of our dog formulas do not contain bones or feathers, Our chicken byproduct meal only consists of chicken organs, heads, hearts, and carcass”

  • sharron

    she was eating the RC dry and wet for a good month or two then quit eating it, is she being picky or did she get tired of eating the same thing – been told by breeders that yorkies can be very picky and chihuahuas can have poor appetites

  • Crazy4dogs

    It’s interesting that you are using the PurinaOne definitions to try to prove your point of brewer’s rice being healthy as you have called Purina crap in one post: “purina started making people feed their pets crappy food” and in another post said “I have tried blue, nutro, purina one, AND iams naturals, and she has gotten terrible loose stools and has puked on a day-to-day basis to all of them”.

  • Crazy4dogs

    I’m not sure where you’re sourcing your definitions from, since you don’t site a link, but this is the correct AAFCO definition of Chicken by product and by product meal:

    “Poultry By-Products must consist of non-rendered clean parts of carcasses of slaughtered poultry such as heads, feet, viscera, free from fecal content and foreign matter except in such trace amounts as might occur unavoidably in good factory practice. If the product bears a name descriptive of its kind, it must correspond thereto.”

    Similar to “meat by-products,” it is most of the parts of the bird that would not be part of a raw, dressed whole carcass. That may include the giblets (heart, gizzard and liver) but also other internal organs, heads and feet.

    “Poultry By-Product Meal consists of the ground, rendered clean parts of the carcasses of slaughtered poultry such as necks, feet, undeveloped eggs and intestines, exclusive of feathers except in such amounts as might occur unavoidably in good processing practices.….{the definition goes on to include the required mineral specifications and required nutrient guarantees}….. If the product bears a name descriptive of its kind, it must correspond thereto.”

    Essentially the same as “poultry by-products,” but in rendered form so most of the water and fat has been removed to make a concentrated protein/mineral ingredient.”

    You might note that in AAFCO’s definition, it says “may contain organs.” Generally, if a product contains organs, they tend to specify that on the ingredient list since that would be a high quality source of protein as opposed to viscera, beaks and feet. I know many foods do list the organs used or say “organs only” when listing byproducts as ingredients.

  • Susan

    Australia a vet must study for 6 yrs then they can do extra study on pet nutrition… Over the years once they have become vets they can go to conferences about new medications, products, new surgery procedures, new diseases etc (some vets don’t bother going) …ask your vet did he study pet nutrition & does he go to the up to date conferences…a good vet does not recommend to feed any processed kibble.. also a good vet would of said STOP feeding kibble & contact an animal nutritionist to prepare a balanced cooked diet for your dog….If you care & love your dog then start replacing 1 kibble meal with a freshly cooked meal, if you want your dog to be healthy & live 30yrs like the oldest dog in the world lived (Australia) then stop feeding any kibble & start feeding fresh healthy whole foods…. After eating kibble for 6 months-1 year your dog will probably start spewing & having sloppy poos again cause the vet never found out why your dog was having these GI problems….The corn gluten meal, dried beet pulp & brewers rice flour in the Royal Canine Medium Sensitive Digestion is making your dog poos firm & the fish oil & vegetable oil has made his coat shinny….

  • InkedMarie

    I’ve told you this before but I believe you’ve made her picky. Pick a food she likes and stick with it. Practice ‘tough love’ if she stops.

  • aimee

    Hi Azul,

    I think it important to be respectful and to refrain from calling the food someone chooses to feed their pet as “garbage”

    I may never chose to feed the foods you chose for your pet and you may never feed what I choose for mine. But there isn’t any reason to resort to name calling.

    Jack was a very ill little dude. His intestinal lymph nodes were enlarged and his liver got into the act …bile acid tests were elevated. Pancreas was involved as well. He had intermittent vomiting, weight loss, bloody stools and food refusal. This went on for months. After many diet trials, including home cooked, he finally got relief when using a Royal Canin product.
    .

  • Amateria

    Probably, her comments seem like it.

  • Azul

    That is obvious. LMAO. We’re all wrong tho.
    Her vet has some kind of secret insider knowledge
    that cheap grains are the best food in the world for dogs.
    I swear she’s getting paid for her participation here.

  • sharron

    she’s been picky since she was about a yr old – it all started when i first boarded her at the vet clinic when my husband and I went away – while there she wouldn’t eat due to stress, so they fed her can food – up to that point she ate only dry, she didn’t know there was other types of food until she went to the clinic, so since then it’s been a challenge feeding her. i can certainly continue feeding her can but i do know she likes a change after a while, i don’t mean every other day but she’s good for a month or two – i have tried adding a bit of meat and last night i put a bit of the liquid from the tuna can and mixed it with her food, it was tuna packed in water, she wouldn’t touch it. She doesn’t like anything lumpy, chunky, shredded or stewy – has to be pate

  • Pitlove

    So does she not consistantly eat the RC canned food?

    I know that with my dog, I made him more picky when I was changing his food constantly. Perhaps the same effect is happening to Lexee? I don’t know…

  • sharron

    i have been feeding her the RC can for quite sometime now – the problem i have is when she gets tired of the same food and quits eating, then i don’t know what else to give her

  • Pitlove

    Hi sharron-

    I may have said this before, but I’ll mention it again. Sometimes, we as the human, tend to overthink the choices we make for ourselves and our dogs as well. If she enjoys canned food, does well on Royal Canin canned food, why not feed her that? It sounds like the people who make negative comments to you on here are influencing your choices more than Lexee is. Royal Canin canned seems to be the best food for Lexee… is it not?

  • sharron

    these are the foods i have tried recently when she stopped eating the RC. NRG, Stella and Chewy Patties, Orijen Freezed Dried, this one she ate sometimes, Nature’s Variety Medallions, Nature’s Variety Small Breed Dry with Raw Bits, she woudn’t eat any of them even with can mixed in – i know she prefers only wet food over everything else but the only can food she prefers is RC – isn’t there a better can food – i wanted to put her on ziwipeak can but i can’t find it anywhere in the city

  • InkedMarie

    Is there a reason she can’t just eat canned, dehydrated such as The Honest kitchen, freeze dried that you add water to such as Grandma Lucy’s or a premades raw (look like hamburger patties, nuggets or chubs)?

  • InkedMarie

    LOL I don’t think you have any idea what makes a good dog food or a bad dog food. Carry on.

  • sharron

    oh she has my number but she is a lot better than she was – i was going to go with the Pulsar Turkey but the gal at the pet store thought Amicus is a better quality food than Pulsar – perhaps i can alternate between the two? – here the rating for Pulsar is 4 1/2 stars – your thoughts?
    Thanks

  • Azul

    Congratulations. That’s nothing to brag about. You are paying a high price for a bag of garbage.

  • Shawna

    I respect your vet for recommending minimal vaccinations!!!!!

  • Azul

    Royal Canin is not the healthiest dog food on Earth.
    Please tell me how a highly processed rock hard piece of kibble is the healthiest “food product” on Earth.
    That’s like saying fast food is the healthiest food for humans.
    You are very naive, and have no clue about food and nutrition.

  • Shawna

    Lexee is a very adorable little stinker isn’t she? Hee hee I think she must just like variety. 🙂 Nothing wrong with that!! Variety is really good for them.

  • Shawna

    Oat groats are not a good source of omega 3. Did your vet really say that?

    Corn gluten meal (which is the protein portion of corn) does provide amino acids for sure but not in appropriate amounts. This is why additional synthetic sources of amino acids (like l-lysine, l-carnitine, taurine etc) have to be added. A diet high in more expensive meat protein is more likely to have adequate amino acids so less, if any, supplementation is needed.

    Fiber helps with digestion, which can be found in veggies.

    Wheat – “a high energy carbohydrate”. Why does that make wheat a good ingredient?

  • sharron

    thanks – i tried acana but she chokes on it, kibble’s too big, so i went to the pet store again and looked at every bag of food on the shelves

  • InkedMarie

    Boone is 10 & never been on a vet food either and he’s very healthy. Go figure!

  • aimee

    Hi Lanie,

    I just wanted to say the little guy in my avatar eats Royal Canin as his base diet. : )

  • Shawna

    I’d be happy to do that extensive research if you can name 3 vets in Omaha that recommend Royal Canin. It would be much easier to use verifiable sources online.

    Also, I’m not suggesting you can’t find vets that recommend Royal Canin but rather am stating that just because YOUR vet said raw is dangerous doesn’t make it gospel. It’s actually a sign of ignorance unless he/she stated qualifiers (like an “unbalanced raw diet is dangerous” – which is not what you said).

  • Lanie Malvit

    Actually the only shots and prescriptions my vet suggest are the lyme vaccine which is a necessity in my area, and rabies vac which you legally need to get in usa
    and the only pills my vet recommends is generic heart gard which is almost a necessity

    And OF COURSE MY VET SELLS THE HEALTHIEST DOG FOOD ON EARTH what do you expect her to sell, some crap of a food?

  • Lanie Malvit

    Name some in the Philidelphia area then, take your time, i know you’ll never find more than 3, yet id find way more that 10 that do suggest royal canin

  • InkedMarie

    Glad she’s eating Amicus!

  • Lanie Malvit

    Here are the reasons for the formula i feed
    brewers rice : helps with digestion and is high in energy
    Chicken by product meal – clean organs and other high quality parts that are high in protein and
    wheat – a high energy carbohydrate
    corn gluten meal – supports strong and healthy muscles and is a great source of amino acids
    oat groats – provides omega 3
    and there are many more great ingredients but that should be enough to prove that royal canin IS a great food

  • sharron

    after reading so many negative comments recently about RC i took Lexee off of it and started her on Amicus which she is dong well on – she quit eating the RC anyways

  • InkedMarie

    I get notifications for DFA via email. I scanned my email and see you TALKING IN ALL CAPS, which is annoying, touting Royal Canin on 3 or 4 food reviews (and I stopped scanning my email, there may be more). First, stop yelling and second, be careful how many times you repeat the same thing as it looks like you’re spamming DFA. Third, there are only a handful of people here who are going to listen to you. Most of us know how to spot a quality dog food (RC isn’t in my opinion & the opinion of others) and trust me, most of us aren’t going to be asking ourselves why we didn’t listen to you. it will be the very opposite.

  • Azul

    Do a search for holistic vets in your area.

  • Lanie Malvit

    ok, name some in the Philadelphia area then (:<

  • Azul

    Exactly. A vet saying that any kibble is the best, and only food to feed your dog is seriously clueless.
    If a M.D. told people to feed their kids processed foods only, and never give them any fresh whole foods, fruit/veggies ect. People would say that M.D. was nuts.
    But when vets tell them to feed their dog highly processed kibble, they think that vet knows best. It’s like all common sense goes right out the window. It’s a very sad situation for the dogs. 🙁

  • Azul

    Okay since your vet explained every ingredient in RC and how it is healthy, please enlighten me. How are brewers rice, brown rice, wheat gluten, corn gluten meal, powdered cellulose, and vegetable oil all healthy things to feed a dog with a definite carnivorous bias? ( not a true obligate carnivore like a cat) but still, dogs do have a carnivorous bias. How are these ingredients healthy for an animal that has absolutely zero need for any carbohydrates in their diet?

  • Bobby dog

    😉

  • aimee

    I went to our local “boutique” pet store and they recommended several different brands… but then I saw they sold all of the brands they recommended so I knew i couldn’t trust their recommendations. They were probably just directing me to diets that they make the most money on.

  • Shawna

    Would it surprise you to know that a lot of vets are opposed to foods like Royal Canin and many of those also feed and recommend raw diets?

  • Azul

    Just because you write “vets know best” in all caps doesn’t make it true. There are vets that will recommend Beneful and similar grocery store brands.
    I’m guessing your vet sells Royal Canin at his office.
    The brands you listed as premium are all junk. I would never feed any of them.
    I bet your vet also recommends yearly vaccinations too.
    Your dog doesn’t need those either. Vets give yearly shots to make money. That is the only reason.
    When a puppy receives their shots, it gives them immunity for life.
    Think about it, you received a series of shots as a baby.
    Do you go back every 1 to 3 years and get your shots again? No because shots give you lifelong immunity. The shots your puppy received do the same for them.
    You and your dog cannot possibly get “more” immunity by repeating the same shots on a yearly basis.
    Never blindly trust your vet. Do some research on your own.

  • Lanie Malvit

    I actually dont work for them, i actually went to college for business, And i have no high knowledge of dogs bodies except for the basics and what my vet has taught me. And Since i do not have that knowledge, i only trust my vet (who DID go to vet school) for information about my dog and his diet

    And the only reason i strongly recommend royal canin is because 1) my vet EXPLAINED each and every ingredient on the label to me and how its healthy
    2) my dog has tried MANY other grain free and natural foods, and got sick on all of them
    3) my VET who went to VET school explained how they develop the food and test it, and actually showed me pictures

    Also, i know my vet doesn’t work for them because the name of the vet is (my towns name) VET

  • Azul

    LMAO. When a person defends a food so vigorously I’m guessing that they are either paid to do so or extremely naive.

  • Crazy4dogs
  • theBCnut

    No, I didn’t go to vet school, I went to vet tech school. And I get the exact same continuing education classes that the vets get. I’m in the exact same room with them at the exact same time. So I know what Royal Canin and the other CE sponsors tell them about their products. I know what their ingredients are and what their feeding philosophy is. You may be surprised that their philosophy is not to produce the very best food they can. Yes, their food is mostly very well balanced, but that’s about all it has going for it. Being able to read an ingredient list and explain what it is to you does not make this the best food.

    Your vet goes to college to learn in detail about over 20 different species and the diseases and treatments of each, plus a smattering of info on many other species. They have very little time to learn about anymore than the most basic nutrition. They rely on RC, Science Diet, and Purina for their information. Most vets will tell you that Purina is just fine, even though they create some of the worst so called foods out there. That just goes to show that they really don’t have very high standards. But if you and your vet are enjoying the kool aid, go right ahead.

  • theBCnut

    That must be it. LOL!!

  • theBCnut

    Soooo you think dogs were only domesticated 150 years ago? And that RC’s science is better than Purina’s, when they use the same science?

  • theBCnut

    Doctors don’t recommend a diet of processed foods and vets shouldn’t. They recommend these foods FOR CONVENIENCE, not because that is the best way to feed anything. They recommend them because they think people won’t take the time to do a little research and learn how to feed a balanced diet. And for some people that is obviously true.

  • theBCnut

    All the foods you just listed are GARBAGE foods. Do not try to compare them to an actual quality diet. Do a little research. Yes, RC is better than Pedigree and other trash foods. So what!

  • theBCnut

    Your dog will have eaten years of nothing but highly processed convenience foods. In a human diet, that is the lowest form of nutrition. My 14 year old dog ate your crap for the fist 4 years of her life. She had no muscle tone, had to have her teeth cleaned every year, and laid around all day with no energy. Then I got her and started feeding her real food. She plays all day, never has any build up on her teeth, and is thin and muscular. She didn’t die within a year. Her health improved dramatically. She just had a senior chem panel done a couple months ago and my vet said she was perfect. Her sister, who stayed on your crap, died at age 9. My vet(who I got her from in the first place) thinks she is the luckiest dog in the world. So good luck with your dog. And maybe consider that there are as many different opinions about dog food FROM VETS as there are from other people.

  • Shawna

    Purina, Science Diet and Iams also bases the production of their feeds on scientific research as well. Yet you call Purina crap???? I really don’t see the relevance of scientific research if it can produce a great food but also “crap”.

  • Shawna

    I foster – I’ve had over 40 dogs in my home over the last 12(ish) years. My neighbors have Dacshunds… MANY current day dogs eat living things whenever they get the opportunity. I found my Shih Tzu, Chihuahua and Papillon had raided a bunny nest and provided dinner for themselves — this isn’t uncommon for these three (as well as many I have fostered). My neighbors weiner dogs are now taken out on leash only, even in the back yard, as they are devastating to backyard wildlife. We may provide cute little beds and toys for them but we haven’t domesticated out their wild nature entirely.

    Purina didn’t make people do anything but the convenience of a compact, dry and longer shelf life, pelleted food was a big draw. Not really a great reason to feed a type of food but it caught on.

  • Crazy4dogs

    My large breed dogs never ate Royal Canin or any vet diet and lived 15 and almost 14 years respectively, far past their “expiration”. My oldest current large breed is almost 12 and jogs almost 2 miles daily. She’s never eaten Royal Canin and gets a variety of well rated kibble canned, fresh and raw. She is very active and healthy.

  • Lanie Malvit

    it was a joke, They ate living animals BECAUSE they hadn’t been domesticated, then 150 years ago purina started making people feed their pets crappy food, then royal canin came along and made them healthy again

  • Shawna

    Royal Canin was founded in 1968 (48 years ago). I’m not sure how dogs from 150 years ago could have eaten Royal Canin anything?

  • Lanie Malvit

    also proof that they actually TEST all of their products: “Royal Canin bases the production of its feeds on scientific research” https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Royal_Canin

  • Lanie Malvit

    they ate royal canin wet

  • Lanie Malvit

    Im sorry that im trying to kick some knowledge into you about good dog food, i have tried many “natural” and “grain free” foods (blue buffalo, purina one, iams, iams natural, paws for pets, pedigree with meat, and a few others) and all of them made my dog really sick, then one day i finally talked to my vet and i put him on royal canin, and he has been happy and healthy ever since.

    So sorry i actually CARE about my, and many others dogs health, and im trying to teach you guys that VETS KNOW BEST, and not just my vet agrees that royal canin is the best food out there, here is a video of a REAL vet recommending it for proof : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hdulsy0ExG0

  • Azul

    They all died @ one year old because there was no vet formulated/approved kibble. LMAO

  • Babslynne

    I believe you are a Troll that works for the RC company trying to push your brand, we are not buying it because we are all smarter than that. Please stop trolling this forum.

Get Free Recall Alerts by Email

Get Free Recall Alerts by Email

Receive lifesaving dog food recall alerts anytime there's a recall event in the U.S. or Canada.

You'll also get our best tips and ideas to help you feed your dog better... and safer.

No spam.  Unsubscribe anytime.

You have Successfully Subscribed!