Kirkland Dog Food (Dry)

Share

Rating: ★★★★☆

Kirkland Signature Dog Food receives the Advisor’s second-highest tier rating of 4 stars.

The Kirkland Signature product line includes six dry dog foods. Although each appears to be designed for a specific life stage, we were unable to find AAFCO nutritional profile recommendations for these dog foods on the product’s web page.

The following is a list of recipes available at the time of this review.

  • Kirkland Signature Adult Chicken
  • Kirkland Signature Puppy (4.5 stars)
  • Kirkland Signature Small Dog (4.5 stars)
  • Kirkland Signature Adult Lamb (3.5 stars)
  • Kirkland Signature Mature Dog (4.5 stars)
  • Kirkland Signature Healthy Weight (3 stars)

Kirkland Signature Adult Chicken recipe was selected to represent the other products in the line for this review.

Kirkland Signature Adult Chicken

Dry Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 29% | Fat = 18% | Carbs = 45%

Ingredients: Chicken, chicken meal, whole grain brown rice, cracked pearled barley, chicken fat (preserved with mixed tocopherols and vitamin E), egg product, dried plain beet pulp, potatoes, fish meal, flaxseed, natural flavor, brewers dried yeast, millet, potassium chloride, salt, choline chloride, carrots, peas, dried kelp, apples, dried skim milk, cranberries, rosemary extract, parsley flake, dried chicory root, glucosamine hydrochloride, vitamin E supplement, iron proteinate, zinc proteinate, copper proteinate, ferrous sulfate, zinc sulfate, copper sulfate, potassium iodide, thiamine mononitrate, manganese proteinate, manganous oxide, chondroitin sulfate, ascorbic acid, vitamin A supplement, biotin, niacin, calcium pantothenate, manganese sulfate, sodium selenite, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), vitamin B12 supplement, riboflavin, vitamin D supplement, folic acid

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 4.4%

Red items when present indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis26%16%NA
Dry Matter Basis29%18%45%
Calorie Weighted Basis25%37%39%

The first ingredient in this dog food is chicken. Although it is a quality item, raw chicken contains about 80% water. After cooking, most of that moisture is lost, reducing the meat content to just a fraction of its original weight.

After processing, this item would probably account for a smaller part of the total content of the finished product.

The second ingredient is chicken meal. Chicken meal is considered a meat concentrate and contains nearly 300% more protein than fresh chicken.

The third ingredient is brown rice, a complex carbohydrate that (once cooked) can be fairly easy to digest. However, aside from its natural energy content, rice is of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

The fourth ingredient is pearled barley. Barley is a starchy carbohydrate supplying fiber and other healthy nutrients. The term “pearled” means the grain has been processed to remove its outer hull and bran, unlike whole barley. However, aside from its energy content, this cereal grain is of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

The fifth ingredient is chicken fat. Chicken fat is obtained from rendering chicken, a process similar to making soup in which the fat itself is skimmed from the surface of the liquid.

Chicken fat is high in linoleic acid, an omega-6 fatty acid essential for life. Although it doesn’t sound very appetizing, chicken fat is actually a quality ingredient.

The sixth ingredient is egg product, an unspecified (wet or dry?) form of shell-free eggs. Quality can vary significantly. Lower grade egg product can even come from commercial hatcheries — from eggs that have failed to hatch.

In any case, eggs are easy to digest and have an exceptionally high biological value.

The seventh ingredient is beet pulp. Beet pulp is a controversial ingredient, a high fiber by-product of sugar beet processing.

Some denounce beet pulp as an inexpensive filler while others cite its outstanding intestinal health and blood sugar benefits.

We only call your attention here to the controversy and believe the inclusion of beet pulp in reasonable amounts in most dog foods is entirely acceptable.

The eighth ingredient is potato. Potatoes can be considered a gluten-free source of digestible carbohydrates. Yet with the exception of perhaps their caloric content, potatoes are of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

The ninth ingredient is fish meal, another protein-rich meat concentrate.

fish meal. Because it is considered a meat concentrate, fish meal contains almost 300% more protein than fresh fish itself.

Fish meal is typically obtained from the “clean, dried, ground tissue of undecomposed whole fish and fish cuttings” of commercial fish operations.1

Unfortunately, this particular item is anonymous. Because various fish contain different types of fats, we would have preferred to have known the source species.

We are pleased to note that, unlike many fish meals, this particular item appears2 to be ethoxyquin-free.

The next ingredient is flaxseed, one of the best plant sources of healthy omega-3 fatty acids. Provided they’ve first been ground into a meal, flax seeds are also rich in soluble fiber.

However, flaxseed contains about 19% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With four notable exceptions

First, brewers yeast can be a controversial item. Although it’s a by-product of the beer making process, this ingredient is rich in minerals and other healthy nutrients.

Fans believe yeast repels fleas and supports the immune system.

Critics argue yeast ingredients can be linked to allergies. This may be true, but (like all allergies) only if your particular dog is allergic to the yeast itself.

In addition, a vocal minority insists yeast can increase the risk of developing the life-threatening condition known as bloat. However, this is a claim we’ve not been able to scientifically verify.

In any case, unless your dog is specifically allergic to it, yeast can still be considered a nutritious additive.

What’s more noteworthy here is that brewers yeast contains about 48% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

Next, peas are a quality source of carbohydrates. And like all legumes, they’re rich in natural fiber.

However, peas contain about 25% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the meat content of this dog food.

In addition, chicory root is rich in inulin, a starch-like compound made up of repeating units of carbohydrates and found in certain roots and tubers.

Not only is inulin a natural source of soluble dietary fiber, it’s also a prebiotic used to promote the growth of healthy bacteria in a dog’s digestive tract.

And lastly, this food also contains chelated minerals, minerals that have been chemically attached to protein. This makes them easier to absorb. Chelated minerals are usually found in better dog foods.

Kirkland Signature Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Judging by its ingredients alone, Kirkland Signature looks like an above-average dry dog food.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 29%, a fat level of 18% and estimated carbohydrates of about 45%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 28% and a mean fat level of 15%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 49% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 54%.

Near-average protein. Near-average fat. And near-average carbs when compared to a typical dry dog food.

Even when you consider the mild protein-boosting effect of the flaxseed, peas and brewers yeast, this looks like the profile of a kibble containing a moderate amount of meat.

Bottom line?

Kirkland Signature is a plant-based dry dog food that uses a moderate amount of named meats and meat meals as its main sources of animal protein, thus earning the brand 4 stars.

Highly recommended.

Please note certain recipes are sometimes given a higher or lower rating based upon our estimate of their total meat content.

Those looking for a lite kibble from the same company may wish to visit our review of Kirkland Healthy Weight Formula dog food.

Special Alert

Rice ingredients can sometimes contain arsenic. Until the US FDA establishes safe upper levels for arsenic content, pet owners may wish to limit the total amount of rice fed in a dog's daily diet.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, our rating system is not intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in specific health benefits for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

To learn how we support the cost of operating this website, please visit our public Disclosure and Disclaimer page.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Other spellings: Costco, Kirklands

Notes and Updates

02/20/2010 Original review
09/24/2010 Review updated
06/19/2012 Review updated
01/11/2014 Review updated
01/11/2014 Last Update

  1. Association of American Feed Control Officials
  2. Diamond Pet Customer Service via email, 7/7/2010
  • Shell Alexandra

    We’ve been feeding our two pitty babies the Kirkland Brand since Costco finally opened a store here in New Orleans, so around 8 months now. Even after all this time they still act like it’s delicious at dinnertime and absolutely go crazy for their food! They were previously fed Fromms Gold, which was beginning to hurt our pocketbook, so we were excited to see the kirklands was virtually the same ingredients and is rated here the same 4 stars. At almost $2 per lb versus 0.85 per lb, it turned out to a hefty savings considering just how much our pitties eat! Our boy used to have some dry skin issues but he hasn’t been itching or chewing at his tail like he used to sometimes do. Both of their coats have changed drastically and now look SUPER shiny and healthy, I’ve even noticed a difference in their shedding. All-in-all I would definitely recommend this for anyone on a budget who wants a great quality food at prices comparable to popular corn padded brands. PROTIP: Stay away form the Lamb & Rice if your doggies have any digestive problems and by that I mean farts! lol Our’s didn’t have any problems with it but a friend said it was pretty gross for her Bulldog.

    ~Dr. Sagman, Our pitties thank you for helping us research more affordable brands and still keep them healthy! I had searched many sites before and none are as comprehensive and well researched as this.
    Love from Kingsley and Lily Bean!

  • Guest

    We’ve been feeding our two pitty babies the Kirkland Brand since Costco finally opened a store here in New Orleans, so around 8 months now. Even after all this time they still act like it’s delicious at dinnertime and absolutely go crazy for their food! They were previously fed Fromms Gold, which was beginning to hurt our pocketbook, so we were excited to see the kirklands was virtually the same ingredients and is rated here the same 4 stars. At almost $2 per lb versus 0.85 per lb was hefty savings considering just how much our pitties eat! Our boy used to have some dry skin issues but he hasn’t been itching or chewing at himself like he used to sometimes do. Both of their coats have changed drastically and now look SUPER shiny and healthy, I’ve even noticed a difference in lower shedding. All-in-all I would definitely recommend this for anyone on a budget who wants a great quality food at prices comparable to popular corn padded brands.

  • theBCnut

    Have you signed up for recall notices through your email.

  • LeahA

    I know, a recall is what I’m afraid of but I will keep my eye out and check for kirkland recalls regularly.

  • theBCnut

    There is absolutely no reason for your dogs to not do well on this food, until the next time they should have a recall. Of course, they won’t tell you in advance.

  • LeahA

    I was worried about feeding this because of recalls but my dogs are doing great on it!! I added the kirkland chicken, rice and vegetable formula to their rotation and their poops have never been better! They’re healthy and energetic and they love the taste. They have been on this food for a few weeks now and all is good. I also give them the kirkland cuts in gravy, which they also love! Definitely recommend this!

  • theBCnut

    This is totally a myth that has been disproven for years. Calcium and over feeding are the problem, not protein. The right puppy food is what LBPs need.

    http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/forums/topic/large-and-giant-breed-puppy-nutrition/

  • Gayle

    Large breed dogs should not be fed puppy food past the age of 4 months the high protein level causes rapid growth which contributes to hip dysplasia. He is so beautiful

  • Crazy4cats

    Wow! What a nice looking family you have. What do you mean by, they are not doing as well? I don’t feed Kirkland Mature, so I don’t know if there has been a change. But if you think they need additional joint support, you could always add a supplement with glucosamine, chondroiten and/or msm. There are many available.

  • Guest

    I was wondering if anyone else noticed or was aware of when Kirkland
    reduced the amount of Glucosamine and Condroitin it in in their Mature
    Dog labled dog food. Also if they changed that without telling anyone
    did they change anything else I should be aware of. We have six dogs: 3
    Goldens, 2 border collies and a cairn terrier and we noticed that the
    Goldens and my older border have not been doing as well as they have
    been previously. It was only during my last purchase that I revisited
    the ingredient label on the bag and noticed the significant decrease in
    the Glucosamine and Chondroitin.

  • Jille AngelEyes

    I was wondering if anyone else noticed or was aware of when Kirkland reduced the amount of Glucosamine and Condroitin it in in their Mature Dog labled dog food. Also if they changed that without telling anyone did they change anything else I should be aware of. We have six dogs: 3 Goldens, 2 border collies and a cairn terrier and we noticed that the Goldens and my older border have not been doing as well as they have been previously. It was only during my last purchase that I revisited the I gradient label on the bag and noticed the significant decrease in the Glucosamine and Chondroitin.

  • theBCnut

    He’s beautiful!!

  • Cyndi

    Wow! What a beauty!! Hope he grows into those ears, lol!

  • Crazy4cats

    Oh my gosh, so handsome. His ears are awesome! :)

  • Myriam V Aguirre

    Mars 5 months old:)

  • Myriam V Aguirre

    Thank you for the info! My dog loves Kirkland dry puppy food,I’ve been feeding him since he started eating solid food, he’s just a healthy doggy:) Mars 5 months old:)

  • theBCnut

    While I don’t like Kirkland, because Diamond produces it, I completely agree with you. When people who know talk about cheap grocery store brands, they are talking about Dog chow, Ol’ Roy, Alpo, Kibbles & Bits, etc, not the few decent foods that some stores actually carry. To compare this food’s quality based on the location where you bought it is like saying you can’t get a decent car anywhere in the US because we aren’t Germany. Not bright and certainly not true.

  • Livia Perez

    We have been feeding our 8 year old dog and 8 year old cat Kirkland for YEARS. They are both VERY healthy. Friends/family give me a hard time about feeding my animals a “cheap grocery store brand”, so when we brought home our newest member of the family, a standard poodle pup, I did some deeper research. I found the Kirkland is one of the BEST dry dog/puppy foods. It even ranks higher that Science Diet, Nutro, Bil-Jac, and even some of the Blue Buffalo foods. So, I decided to stick with the Kirkland. My vet even feeds it to her dogs and highly recommends it!

  • Ms DLCH

    Currently , the Kirkland bag is almost gone. I’ve been mixing it with Caesars puppy wet food and all has been well. My pup will not eat kirkands without the wet food. I read that it’s pretty common so no worries with that. Caesars will be replaced soon though with a better brand. Thanks for your input.

  • RG

    I have a question. I have been feeding Onyx, our now 12 week old puppy (a newfoundland and standard poodle mix) the kirkland brand of puppy food ever since we brought him. At his first vet appointment last week the vet recommended that we put him on a puppy large diet, and gave us a sample of hill’s science (Which is not as well ranked on this site as Kirkland). He loves the Hill’s food and we are thinking of mixing the Kirkland Puppy with the Hill’s Puppy Large, do you think that will take care of the “large food” issue?

    Also, THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR ALL THE WORK YOU DO. You have been a veritable god send for new puppy owners like us! I didn’t know all the crap about dog food out there, and that there is hardly any regulation. It angers me that there is absolutely no responsibility amongst the big name brands. It’s disgusting.

    And, here’s Onyx!

  • RG

    I have read online that feeding pumpkin puree to your dog takes care of poop issues (either way). My puppy was chewing his butt, and I smelt a raw fish smell so I guessed that my puppy was having anal gland issues at the age of 9 weeks. So I started feeding him a heaping tsp of pumpkin puree in the morning and at night. It was like magic! All issues have been taken care of, and he looooooves the pumpkin. Follows me around whenever her sees the spoon in my hand. He has been eating Kirkland puppy food every since we brought him home at 9 weeks. I totally trust the brand ever since I read this site, and I read all the comparisons of the dog food.

  • Betsy Greer

    The Adult Chicken is four stars.

    Dr. Mike notes those products which deviate from the overall product rating by noting the rating for those products in parentheses next to those products. In this case, the overall product rating is four stars, which is what the Adult Chicken received.

  • Crazy4cats

    Four stars

  • Peggy

    So what is the rating for the Adult Chicken??

  • Jennifer Heckman Davis

    This is what we are currently feeding our two dogs. 3 year old pug and 1 year old boxer. At first they didn’t seem interested but began eating it. Seem to do ok on it but have noticed then chewing their butts since on it. No fleas or anything like that. Could this be an allergy? Was thinking of switching them to Taste of The Wild grain free food. Heard some good things about this food, scored pretty well on the rating

  • m&m

    I have fed Kirkland signature dog food to my dogs and Kirkland signature cat food to my cats for years. I have a cat who just died at the age of 18, this was all he ate his ENTIRE life. The only time he went to the vet was to be neutered or vaccine at a mobile clinic. He was SO healthy. My other cat is 9 years old, never had a health problem, only been to the vet for spay and vaccines. My German Shepherd is 9 years old, acts like a puppy and is a very happy dog. I do really like Kirkland signature products. I tried the Natures domain with my German Shepherd, she did lean out, coat looked better than on the Kirkland signature, BUT I noticed every once in a while she would rush outside and just start chowing down on the grass and plants. When I took my GSD in for vaccines, I mentioned it and she said that it could be that the grain free (Nautres Domain) doesn’t have enough fiber in the diet. Anyways, I switched her back to the Kirkland Signature. She’s a happy girl and it amazes me that at 9 years old, being a large breed she acts SO young. I would recommend this food.

  • Arhcangel

    I second this recommendation. Our Peekapoo routinely had upset stomach and was constantly eating grass. We started adding a tablespoon of plain Greek yogurt to her kibble and she hasn’t shown any signs of upset stomach since (5 years).

  • InkedMarie

    Recently, I got my hand slapped for saying someone was wrong to stick a brand new puppy outside when she worked & for going on vacation days after bringing home the pup. If I recall, your answer was everyone has to work & to find a friend or relative to take the puppy but make sure they like dogs. Is that really good dog ownership, for a brand new pup? Is breeding a dog with allergies okay with you? I just don’t get why we’re supposed to keep our mouths shut if we don’t agree with something. People can say they leave their dogs outside in the heat or the cold, they don’t remove tight collars, their dogs never come inside etc and we aren’t allowed to comment? Maybe you should let us talk only dog food and nothing else unless it’s on the Off Topic section.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com/ Mike Sagman

    Asking you and others involved to simply read my letter must have touched a nerve. You said, “Criticism is usually ‘unsolicited’ and typically unwelcome…”.

    Well, obviously, from your responses here, you guys didn’t welcome such unsolicited criticism yourselves.

    I stand by my continued requests of everyone here to make all guests and visitors feel welcome and appreciated and not habitually judged simply because they don’t meet your own personal criteria for what you believe to be right.

  • dchassett
  • InkedMarie

    You, too, said it so much better.

  • InkedMarie

    I need your email, you say it so much better than I could have.

  • InkedMarie

    What I mean is that anyone can dislike what anyone writes & flag it. People can do it just because they don’t like what someone says (whether rude or nicely written) or because they’re a ” troll”. That is what I mean about it being “Jack”. If I can think of another way to explain what I mean, I will.

  • dchassett

    Hi Mike. I assumed yesterdays post was pretty much directed at me since I was pretty outspoken on my feelings on what had been done. I was not rude but I was truly sickened and hurt. Having a dog with these issues I know what the potentionaI lives these puppies are in for. I don’t know anything about people flagging others. I certainly wouldn’t flag that post. I didn’t think that was what flagging was meant for. In my memory, and you’d be able to check that, I’ve only ever flagged one post and that was someone that was cursing and called someone an as—le. I flagged it the moment I read it. Firstly, I couldn’t believe my eyes, secondly it was disgusting and had to come down before too many others read it. It was deleted pretty quickly after my flag. I thought that was a good thing I did. There is no reason to be crude on any site. I don’t find the need to flag anyone for any other reason because my belief is that we are free to share our experiences, opinions and concerns so that we may all help educate each other in being responsible guardians to all animals not just our own. I believe we were trying to say “Hey! You can’t breed a dog with genetic problems. It’s not fair. That’s bad for the canine population”. I wasn’t screaming, cursing, or putting anyone down. But I, as others, spoke out. Some people maybe don’t know that that shouldn’t be done. Now if someone breeds dogs that have genetic problems at least they know that they are doing so with the knowledge that the littler may have similar and they can alert the new owners. Hopefully.

  • Melissaandcrew

    Hmm, well I am one of the guilty parties for commenting, I guess. So I want to take a moment and voice my thoughts.
    While the pix are adorable, the reality is(from the poster) that the dog was “studded out”. This means the dog was hired as a stud for money(or a puppy back) The dog suffers from allergies.
    How many people come here on a daily or weekly basis seeking help from the “regular” community on how to help alleviate the very same issue? How many people are stuck in the vicious cycle? How many dogs are suffering from this massive spread health issue? I don’t know the answer to any of those questions, but I do know this-
    It can be prevented/reduced by NOT breeding a dog with a known health condition. I am sure the poster in question does love her dogs, the same as every one else here, however, when one wants to undertake creating more life, love is simply not enough. It takes research, dedication, time and health testing.
    As a breeder(and once you are responsible for single litter on the ground, you enter that world ) its your responsibility to do everything in your power to produce happy health dogs who will bring years of joy, not heartache to the new family. Breeders are not gods, but we must utilize all the tools available to us, and we must also be able to overcome a disease that we all can suffer from-and that is called kennel blindness-the inability to judge with an unbiased eye and mind whether or not the genes should be carried on and replicated.
    Criticism is usually “unsolicited” and typically unwelcome, but merely pointing out a shortcoming does not equate to nasty or malicious.
    If my comment kept just one reader who was considering breeding their dog with a health issue from doing so, or even if it made/makes them research further, its worth the reprimand. Just because someone does not like the comment I made does not mean it was nasty or abusive or me being a bully.
    Just wanted to respond since I was one of the commenters on this thread-
    melissa

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com/ Mike Sagman

    I’m sorry you feel flags don’t mean “jack”. For without them, you would not believe the lawlessness that would exist here.

    Flagging means a lot. I take flags very seriously. They’re not down votes. They’re messages sent directly to the moderator of any blog asking us to take notice.

  • InkedMarie

    i don’t think flagging means jack, to be honest. I could flag every comment I don’t like too. We just disagree. I just hope some of the posters here find their way to other forums where they may learn that what they are doing is not correct. To me, if no one speaks up, people think it’s okay.

    Note that I think most who responded to her said IF you bred, did you breed……has this person come back to say she has or hasn’t?

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com/ Mike Sagman

    When I read Di’s post, I saw a loving dog lover who cared enough about her pups to share 7 sweet photos.

    Without knowing more about this situation than we do, it’s impossible to justify the unsolicited criticism this guest received from some in our community. And the multiple flags I received only confirmed my concerns.

    Calling attention to the unfriendly judgement this visiting stranger received here is precisely the reason I took the time to write and publish the letter I was referencing in my comment.

  • Ms DLCH

    Thank you! We are still doing half Beneful and half Kirkland which is working. He still protests a little but he stopped spitting out the Kirkland. I have to get him out of tipping over the bowl now. He does that if he doesnt want food anymore.

  • Melissaandcrew

    Too stinking cute!

  • dchassett

    Yeah, right? Is that not the cutest little thing?

  • InkedMarie

    Omg.

  • dchassett

    The only suggestion that I could possibly make is that you switch him very slowly to a different food. Not all dog foods are for all dogs. I believe that most dog food stores will accept the open bag of food. All of them in my area certainly will as long as the food is in it’s original bag. But until you settle on the food that he will eat and thrive on I would caution you to buy small bags. I know it could be a little costly initially but once you’ve figured out the right food you can go for the larger bag. If your pet store will not take the food back then you can always donate the open bag to a nearby shelter. They’d be thrilled to have it.

  • Ms DLCH

    Thank you!! This is Batman today. Becoming fully Brindle, with his ears starting to stand up…..and also getting taller :)

  • dchassett

    OMG! He’s just too too cute! Love his name too.

  • dchassett

    I’m sorry Mike if I came off as rude as that was not my intention. I’ve been dealing with one of my girls for close to 4 1/2 years old that is riddled with food allergies and intolerances as well as environmental allergies. The product I’m sure because someone felt it was more advantageous to breed and make money than to give thought to what they were doing. You should not breed dogs that are genetically prone to illnesses whatever they may be. That’s not just my opinion, but the opinion of many all over. I spoke up as did others because after having a dog with these issues one personally knows how devastating and miserable they are physically. No matter what we guardians of dogs with illnesses do, we simply make them a little more comfortable, we can’t make them well. I spoke up for myself, my girl, Katie, and knowing what it is to live with allergies for her and me. It’s a miserable existence. If someone was offended or thought I was being to harsh well so be it. Hopefully it may have made someone think differently before breeding a dog with genetic issues. Yes, the dogs are adorable but that doesn’t negate what was done. I was not necessarily trying to bash that one person, I just couldn’t believe the situation or that someone would not know that you don’t pass on misery to another dog and their new “forever home” guardians. Again, if it came off as rude, that was not my intention. Just simply the opinion of myself as well as others not just on this site but on sites all over the world including responsible breeders and the AKC.

  • InkedMarie

    I don’t understand. Truly. I assume you are scolding some of us who posted about this person breeding a dog with allergies. What is the problem with pointing that out? It’s possible I missed posts but those who posted did so fairly nicely. If someone was rude, that is not right but aren’t we allowed to post about such things? If not, may I ask why not?

    It’s jmo but not everyone reading here reads other forums. IF this person has bred dogs with allergies, that is not something that is okay & I think lurkers, newbies, those not as educated should know that is not correct.

    I feel the same way about other topics here. I fear people think some things are okay when they aren’t. I know others feel as I do and won’t up vote this and that’s okay but it’s time for me to speak up. I know I could email you but decided since you posted that link here, I’d respond here. No disrespect intended.

  • Ms DLCH

    Thank you for replying. Im not too familiar with the raw diets or adding extras to his food. Ill have to do more research for puppies. Batman, my puppy, does not have that strong of a stomach as of yet.

  • Shawna

    Oh my gosh!! What a handsome boy is he! Is he always grinning like in the two pics? I want one of those puppies!! :) So CUTE

    Because allergies and intolerances can have a genetic factor, like the others said, do let the new puppy parents know that your boy has issues and what he reacts to.. Could save the new parents and puppy some of the frustration and discomfort you and your boy had to deal with.. Love the pics. Thanks for posting. Any of the Bully breeds are my all time favorite breeds.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com/ Mike Sagman

    To many (but not all) of you replying to this obviously caring dog owner, please read the letter I posted here just a few days ago:

    http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/open-letter-to-members-guests/

    Thank you.

  • Grecia

    Thank you! Yes, I am looking to rescue a Great Dane and hopefully I find one soon :) I’ll look into Victor foods and hopefully make a decision soon, thanks!

  • dchassett

    Absolutely. I mean allergies are forever. You can spend your life and theirs attempting to control them but there’s no cure. It’s forever. So many of these pups will probably at some point be put on a lifetime of meds and steroids. Not all animal guardians are going to spend the time nor have the inclination to make their lives better without drugs. They’ll go for what they’ll consider to be the easy fix.

  • dchassett

    I seriously am still hoping naively that they haven’t bred this allergy prone dog. To knowingly do something like this is disgraceful and inhumane. It’s bad enough for an animal to develop allergies but to put them in a situation of starting out this way is just too sad. I suppose at my age the things that people do for money shouldn’t surprise me but they do. I feel bad and sad for the puppies, their new “forever home” parents, etc.

  • Betsy Greer

    I see what looks like kibble in the food you prepared, but I don’t see any of the chicken you mention. If you’re using kibble as a base, you need to be certain that your extras don’t make up more than 20% of the meal or you’ll throw off the nutritional balance of the kibble; unless you’re making certain that your homemade meal is nutritionally complete and balanced on its own.

  • Melissaandcrew

    Cute pups. Unfortunetly many allergies are genetic and you may have just created heart break pups for the new owners. How sad.

  • theBCnut

    Any new puppy owners could have to go through what you and I went through and are going through with our dogs.

  • dchassett

    If true, then I am truly distressed. I know how miserable Katie can be. I also suffer from allergies and it’s just a miserable condition to be constantly uncomfortable in your own skin

  • theBCnut

    From the pictures, I don’t think so. On the pictures of the dad, you can see the damage to the skin from allergies. What a shame to pass this genetic weakness on to more puppies.

  • InkedMarie

    You know I read via email, I read that and came here to post the same thing. I hope we’re reading it wrong.

  • dchassett

    As the “mom” to a dog with many food intolerances as well as allergies as well as environmental allergies I hope theBCnut and I have misinterpreted your post. Have you bred your allergy dog? I’m praying I’ve read your post incorrectly.

  • theBCnut

    Am I understanding you correctly? You bred a dog with allergies?

  • Di

    see my post…I add things to kibble to insure the health of my dog. my parents bred beagles for 2 decades…mom too added extras to kibble to assure happy healthy hunting beagles

  • Di

    try probiotics….I give mine 2 a day (see my post) my dog no matter what he ate, had gas so bad it would peel paint off the walls

  • Di

    My 90lb pitbull, when not eating the green gobbly goop I make with fresh chicken, fruits, veggies, omega 3 oils n probiotics gets KIRKLAND kibble. But …..because he has skin allergies (especially with cheap food) I blend: slow cooked chicken (meat, bone & skin) fresh chicken a whole raw egg shell and all, tumeric, organic flaxseed oil, fish oil & hemp oil along with fresh organic garlic, ginger, cilantro, rosemary, parsley and 2 probiotics daily. He has way less skin allergy issues plus he sheds far less than normal. Even if I have no time to blend I just stir in the extras. My dog is a healthy beast who just studded out for the first time at 6 yrs old. Jan 27th & 28th the female gave birth. Proud parents of 10 real super healthy puppies (5 girls-5 boys)

    pics: #1 black nose TX patch on chest-6 wks old #2 tan pup stretching 5 wks old #3 Daddy #4 Daddy #5 mommy with newborns right after birth #6 kibble plus when no time to blend #7 brindle female 4 wks already eating kibble

  • LabsRawesome

    Hi Grecia, from your post, if I followed it correctly, you are looking for a food to feed an adult dog. Kirkland and Premium Edge are both decent foods. Another food to look at is Victor. If you can get it locally, it’s a really good food at a great price. I pay $38.99 for a 30lb bag (5 star) of grain free. The grain inclusive (GMO Free) Active dog & puppy formula is $40 for a 40lb bag, also 5 star food. ( Your dog doesn’t have to be active or a puppy to eat this.) You can look at the review on this site. Also here’s Victor’s site victordogfood.com they have a store locator, to see if it’s available in your area. Rotating foods is a great idea, why not find 3 or 4 brands that your dog likes, and rotate through them.

  • Grecia

    I actually don’t have a Facebook but I did my research into the breed for about a year and a half and also to find a reputable breeder. I do know about all the puppy food (protein/fat amounts etc) but was wondering about your Dane since you said you feed KS. I will be rescuing an Adult Dane and in the future (year or two) I’ll get a puppy Dane and know what to feed him. I was considering feeding KS but I’m not sure yet, I still have time to decide. One of the foods I was thinking about as well is Premium Edge and they too don’t offer a large/giant breed version. I found you on FB but I can’t message you since I don’t have an account…

  • theBCnut

    Why won’t this myth die? Protein does not cause the problem. This has been proven. Too much calcium and overfeeding are the culprits, not protein.

    http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/forums/topic/large-and-giant-breed-puppy-nutrition/
    Please read the links, especially the one with Dr Lauten’s study.

  • jea10

    It’s pretty complicated w/Danes. Whatever you do DO NOT feed high protein puppy food – it can cause them to grow too fast & big causing long term serious effects. Same goes for spaying & neutering. If you’d like, message me personally @ West Coast Canis Panther Dog Breed (on Facebook) & we can exchange phone numbers. Too much to write in depth about this particular subject. Congrats on your pup/dog!

  • Grecia

    Hi! So is the adult Kirkland dog food good for your Dane? I was wondering if you’ve noticed any gained weight with him? (Kirkland doesn’t offer a Large/Giant breed food, just the adult version and was wondering how a Dane would be on that food?) Thank you! Btw, I’m going to rescue a Dane in the near future hopefully and wanted to pick a good dog food before hand. I was actually deciding between a few really good, expensive brands but remembered this and saw it has a 4 star rating! So I’m really contemplating buying this for my future Dane :)

  • Allyssa Brown

    My 2yr old Great Dane/lab mix has horrible allergies. He was eating a dry food that the vet recommended but it was $35 for an 11lb bag. For a growing boy it was so expensive. Someone recommended Kirkland to me so I took a chance and switched him to the dry beef. Not only does he love it but we haven’t had any allergy problems. He gets staph infections from allergies so it’s kind of a big deal. I’m really happy about the cost too. Worth the costco membership.

  • Crazy4cats

    You’re welcome. After reading back through this, you might want to start with a 3 star food to make a more gradual transition. It might be tough, as I know I’d rather eat the bowl of froot loops than the bowl of bran flakes! lol! I really recommend adding some canned food or even some healthy left overs such as lean meats or vegetables to make the food more interesting. Good luck.

  • Ms DLCH

    Thank you for the advice! I will most likely change the food because I tried adding water and he still wasnt interested. I will take the food back to Costco.

  • http://www.brookscherryoilspillclaims.com Collin Cherry

    I started my boston terrier puppy on this product. He developed constant horrible gas that would clear a room. I suspected the problem was from an allergy to the whole grains and brewers yeast in the Kirkland product. I switched him to organic Blue Buffalo dog food from Petco that has no grains or soy in it to help his stomach distress. My research revealed that many dogs have allergies to whole grains and soy and there are lots of products that do not contain ether.

  • Crazy4cats

    Hi-
    OMG, so adorable. You definitely are on the right track by finding something new. Beneful has some very unhealthy ingredients. Unfortunately, that’s probably why your pup loves it. It contains corn, gluten and sugar. It’s like feeding Froot Loops everyday in my opinion. The dog gets addicted to it. Have you tried adding a little warm water to make a gravy? Or you could even try adding a little canned food to make it more enticing. You should have no problem returning it if it doesn’t work out. Costco has a generous return policy. But, I’d definitely try to find a 4 or 5 star food to transition to. Good luck.

  • Ms DLCH

    I just started the Kirkland Super Premium Puppy Food for my 12 week old Boston Terrier. He was started off with Beneful Healthy Growth, which I feed him for 4 weeks before the change.

    My dog will not touch the new food. I switched because Beneful isnt the best and I read great things about Kirklands. Even mixed with the old food, my dog will eat the old food and spit each Kirkland kibble out on the floor. The mix also made his poo very runny and soft. He hasnt thrown up or anything. I’ve tried just giving him the new food only and he wont eat it he’ll just look at me. The Kirkland bag is pretty huge to just throw away and Im not sure they’ll except an open, eaten, bag.

    Any suggestions?

  • InkedMarie

    What a cutie!

  • dchassett

    He is adorable. How old is he? Definitely sounds like a food allergen. Quick question? Why does he got Bordatella vaccines every six months? That’s quite excessive imo. I understand you’re doing the vaccine because you board him and most kennels insist on it but it has always been my understanding that the Bordatella vaccine only needs to be given yearly if you board often.

  • LabsRawesome

    Hi Tori S, Phil is so cute! Sorry to hear he hasn’t been feeling well. It sounds like he has an allergy/intolerance to one of the ingredients in the food. Look at the ingredient list for the Kirkland formula that you were feeding. Get something with a different protein. I don’t know if you’ve tried grain free food, but that may help as well. Keep us posted. :)

  • Tori S

    We have been feeding our older Cocker Spaniel Kirkland Dog Food (Red Bag) for about 8 months. Our neighbors feed it to their three dogs and recommended it for reduced gassiness in our dog. Right after we switched to this, we boarded our dog for a week. When we returned home he had symptoms similar to Bordatella. We were shocked since we vaccinate for Bordatella every 6 months. Our vet prescribed antibiotics. No change. We went back and had chest xray, no masses or unusual legions. Went back on antiobiotics and a bronchial dilator. No improvement. All this time still feeding him this Kirkland dog food. He was drinking large amounts of water but no accidents but would wake us several times during the night to go out. (This has gotten very old) A few days ago we ran out of this Kirkland food and started giving him some Natures Pride. Guess what? The dog has not gagged or choked in over 24 hours and has slept through the night for two nights. Coincidence? I’m going to see my vet again this morning for a follow up but if my instinct is right, there is some allergen in the Kirkland food.

  • Crazy4cats

    Wow! That is awesome!

  • Colleen Jones

    My chocolate lab is almost 16 years old and has been on the Kirkland
    Lamb and Rice dog food since we got her. It has kept her healthy and she
    has out-lived her life expectancy.

  • Shawna

    The dog in my avatar has had kidney disease since birth. At just six weeks of age she had excessive thirst and urination and would sleep in the water bowl if it was empty. She was officially diagnosed at her one year blood eval and was given one year past that to live. That was almost seven years ago – she’ll be eight the end of June 2014. She’s been raw fed since she was weaned. The ONLY time she gets ill is if I have to feed her kibble for more than a few meals…

    Pathogens are also a “normal” constituent of the canines digestive tract.
    “Center for Companion Animal Health, UC Davis School of Veterinary Medicine,Vol. 8, No. 2, Fall 2003

    A number of bacterial organisms commonly associated with diarrhea in dogs and cats include Salmonella, Campylobacter, Clostridium perfringens and Clostridium difficile. Veterinarians are faced with aquandary when attempting to diagnose dogs and cats with suspected bacterial-associated diarrhea, because these organisms commonly represent a normal part of the host’s intestinal microflora.” http://www.vetmed.ucdavis.edu/ccah/local-assets/pdfs/newsletter_2003_fall.pdf

    Vet and Nutritionist Dr. Meg Smart (taught clinical nutrition for over 30 years) has a link to an article on her website entitled ”

    An Evidence Based Rebuttal to the AVMA Position on Raw” http://petnutritionbysmart.blogspot.com/search?updated-min=2012-01-01T00:00:00-08:00&updated-max=2013-01-01T00:00:00-08:00&max-results=15

    The above redirects you to an article written by Vet Dr. Jean Hoffe. A quote from that article ”

    Now, let’s look at the positive side of raw meat diets. We won’t belabor the point with the thousands of stories told by veterinariains and pet owners alike of near-miraculous cures when a pet’s diet was changed from heat-processed to raw.

    But there are actually multiple studies showing that raw meat diets for dogs and cats are more digestible than heat-processed foods. Here are a few of them:” http://www.littlebigcat.com/blog/avma-vs-raw-food/

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100000183721392 Kaycee Andersen

    Please be aware that even in nature, animals die from eating “raw”. They are NOT immune from E-coli, Trichinellosis, Salmonella, C.jejuni, Vibrio, and C. botulinum. As well raw meat can (and does) contain viruses, parasites, chemicals, and even hepatitis. There is as much danger to any living thing that consumes something” raw” as their is to humans. The difference is that when people, for example, eat raw meat (such as sushi, steak tar tar, etc), it is in a controlled environment (we hope), prepared by skilled hands. While it’s a wonderful treat for animals – of course – please don’t for a second believe that wild animals do not perish from raw-meat-borne illnesses. They do. As for dry kibble – there are safeguards and handling laws/processing laws in place because of the risk of even DRY food becoming unsafe (as we know). Feed your dog what you want – do it safely. But the continuous delivery of false information about coyotes and wolves and what they eat in the wild needs to stop. Hunters are keen to stake out a quiet spot in a corn field, because they KNOW that coyotes and wolves LOVE to dine on ears of corn, as well as any fruit or vegetables that have fallen (they follow the scent of rotting/fermenting vegetables/fruits). The truth, as hard as it is to digest at times, is that our beloved dogs simply do not live long enough.. we are blessed to have them, and yet cursed that we outlive such perfect creatures. My vet always says he has yet to NOT have to put down animals who were fed RAW .. that they are not immune to death or having unjustly shortened lives. Disease is simply unavoidable.

  • LabsRawesome

    Here’s Kirkland’s website for more info. http://www.great-pet-supplies.com/

  • Crazy4cats

    Oh yes, and most importantly, sign up for the recall alerts if you haven’t already. Good luck!

  • HoneyHazelCabo

    No I have not but I will be sure to do that!

  • HoneyHazelCabo

    ok thank you for the answer! Very much appreciated.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    The California plant wasn’t affected by the recalls. If you can verify that the product you’re purchasing has originated from the California plant I think it would be okay. It seems to be the South Carolina plant that has the most trouble.

  • Crazy4cats

    Have you tried clicking on the recall tab above and check out when and where the last recalls took place?

  • HoneyHazelCabo

    I would like to buy this food since it has good ingredients and its affordable but I’m a little worried about the constant diamond recalls. I heard there are 4 plants and only one was affected by the recall. I live in southern California and would like to know if the plants in California were affected? And does the recalled plant distribute to California? I would appreciate it if someone could answer my questions. thanks.

  • LabsRawesome

    Hi Lynn, you can read about Kirkland here. http://www.consumersearch.com/dog-food/kirkland-signature-lamb-rice-and-vegetable If you scroll down their is an article that should answer all your questions. Also heres some info on Diamond.
    Where are your foods made?

    Diamond Pet Foods owns its own manufacturing facilities. We have four plants, all located in the United States. Our original plant and home of Diamond Pet Foods headquarters is located in central Missouri. The other three plants are located in northern California, central California and South Carolina. No matter where you live, you will be purchasing food made in one of these three plants.

  • Lynn

    Why doesn’t it say this on their bags of dog food? Just says distributed by Kirkland. But I didn’t see any Made in USA label. I heard their dog food was made in China. Is there a way to be absolutely sure? Wasn’t there a recent recall on their dog food because of China?

  • Marion Maki

    Thank you Crazy4cats! It sounds like more than 2 cents worth! Very helpful info. :)

  • Crazy4cats

    Well, I have a brochure for the Kirkland food that I picked up at Costco with all the specs. I would definitely go with the Mature Dog over the Healthy Weight formula. The healthy weight has 20% protein, 6% fat and 13% fiber, where the mature diet has 27% protein, 12% fat and 3% fiber. In my opinion the protein and fat are way too low and the fiber way too high in the weight mgmt food. The mature formula at 12% fat is still lower than most foods. Where you will have to be careful is that the mature recipe has 330 calories per cup and the healthy weight only has 275. You may have to feed a little less food, but he will be getting so much more protein rather than carbs. Also may have to switch slowly due to the fairly large difference in fiber. Well, that’s my 2 cents anyway. Good luck!

  • Nila

    I would not worry so much about the star ratings. There are lots of great dog foods in the four star ratings that are better than five stars. The rating goes by protein content. But that is not messessarly better, my dogs do very well on senior low fats. Ask your vet about how much protein your dog needs not what people claim.

  • Marion Maki

    I have a 75 lb lab who is a service animal from a very reputable school. My trainers recommended Kirkland Weight Management. He’s been doing great and weight is stable. I am thinking of switching to Mature Dog with a 5 star rating as he is 7 yrs old. I noticed also that Weight Management has only a 3.5 star rating. My question is whether or not Mature Dog would affect his weight management? Any ideas?

  • Charlie

    Are you deaf? It is about life or death with bad diet they should be quiet

  • Charlie d

    Mike needs to go higher bc he is a liar

  • Charlie d

    Hounddog is very young with a sharp tongue she is very rude and should be sued

  • Bob K

    If you don’t like the music – turn to a different channel – Bye Bye

  • Charlie d

    The troll is on a roll you don’t want to be a sheep don’t sleep

  • Charlie d

    Shawna sells you meat with deceit

  • Charlie d

    Mike from Virginia acts like a Gorilla and chews you up like a vanilla

  • Charlie d

    Editor Mike put me in spam bc he is a scam

  • Charlie d

    Shawna with all her meat that’s not neat

  • Charlie d

    Patty does’t have proper training for what she is claiming

  • Charlie d

    That old man with his charm causing all the harm

  • Charlie d

    A vet said don’t sweat I’m right not Shawna andMike

  • Charlie d

    This site is too tight controlled by fascist Mike who needs to take a hike

  • Charlie d

    The groupies give the bad votes acting like goats

  • PuppyLover12

    Oh, and the food has 335 calories per cup.

  • PuppyLover12

    Thanks! This sounds like it will work. I am trying to give her more exercise and hopefully be switching her to a better food. She is currently being fed pedigree.(ugh) Thanks again! :-)

  • LabsRawesome

    Yes Kirkland is made in USA, by Diamond at 3 different plants.

  • Dog owner

    Is Kirkland (Costco) dog food made in the USA?

  • KarenJG

    As others have said, it looks like the source of the protein (meat vs. plant) is the main reason. I feed the grain-free Nature’s Domain anyway, because one of my dogs is allergic to storage mites, which live in dry grain products.

  • Betsy Greer

    It won’t help your dog lose weight any more than Sensa will help me lose weight. But, watching portions and keeping that little Corgi moving will help her lose weight.

    As a senior, your pup needs more high quality protein, not less.

    Weigh or measure your portions and feed her the appropriate calories for a 28 pound dog. If you’re feeding her the amount for a 28 pound dog and she’s still not losing weight, decrease her portion a bit. Watch the treats and remember, those aren’t invisible calories!

    Have you used the calculator: http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/dog-feeding-tips/dog-food-calculator/. According to the calculator, your dog should have about 472 calories per day. What are you feeding now and how many kcals per cup is the food you’re currently using?

    I found a website that listed the kcals per cup for the Kirkland Lamb & Rice as 342. (Check the bag if you buy this, the information I found was fairly old). So, if you were feeding this food, you’d be feeding just over 1 & 1/4 cups total per day.

  • PuppyLover

    This food sounds pretty good. Will it help a dog lose weight since it doesn’t have all the artificial junk in it? The dog weighs 35 lbs and is 11 years old and needs to be about 28 she is a pedigree pembroke welsh corgi. Thanks in advance

  • PuppyLover12

    Do you mean two months old? Two weeks is to early for solid food.

  • jea10

    I love Kirkland dog foods! I have a Great Dane & a Canis Panther & they both have a tendency to sensitive stomachs, & my Canis Panther has sensitive skin particularly during allergy season. After buying 35lb bags of dog food at the pet stores for ~$50 each for 4 years, which none of them made any difference in my dogs’ sensitivities, or would trigger them to be even worse, I was told by a lady that works at Petsmart to buy the Kirkland brand b/c the food is made by Diamond, & just as superior as the food I was buying for almost $20 more per bag. I switched after trying SO many high priced brands & my dogs thrive on the Kirkland brands! I’ve had them on the Lamb & Rice formula, but am going to switch to either chicken or beef next time. The only reason why is because there are recent studies done by renowned scientific research labs/universities that say that lamb & fish (ocean products) based foods have a potential to cause fatal diseases early in a dog if used long term. My dogs go through 120lbs or dog food a month (I have two little Pugs as well), & since I breed Canis Panthers & will be adding a couple new dogs to my breeding program soon the cost will only go up. Being able to afford a quality dog food product is really a blessing for me & my dogs. I also add other things such as the soft dog food & a tbsp. of pure, raw pumpkin, and other things to their food everyday as well & they are extremely healthy dogs. Thank you Costco for offering this food for this price so that we are able to feed our dogs well! (& thanks to the lady at Petsmart that told me about it as well!) :))

  • Carlyn Jefferson

    Next time I’m over there, I’ll try to pick some up. I know Diamond makes Kirkland, and the dogs are on D.naturals right now, (it’s $1/lb) and I’m SO glad they’re doing good, since I hear either REALLY good reviews, or REALLY bad ones on it.
    I figure since Diamond makes both DN and Kirkland, the ingredient difference wouldn’t be big enough to throw off the dogs much. They have rock solid tummies, lol!

  • keit

    about 26-28$ no more than that, I’ve been feeding both my labs Kirkland food for 5 yrs since they were 2 wks old with no problems. I trust the Kirkland Brand!

  • LabsRawesome

    Hi Igmu, because dogs need moisture in their diet, and canned is much less processed than kibble. I also give fresh foods, and human grade fish oil.

  • igmu

    Filaowner, I just had a look, and I think (not positive) that the reason is this: the grainfree version is considered to be a plant-based protein food, and thus has a lower-than-average amount of meat protein. Also contributing to the 3.5/5 decision is the “fish meal” protein. Sounds great, but it is not specific (such as anchovy meal, salmon meal) and is the same as saying “meat meal” for chicken and beef combined. I would think this, even more than the plant-based protein status, would have earned the lower rating. Surprising that they would cut that corner, but then most of the grain-free foods in the huge stores (Petco, PetSmart) aren’t very good.

  • igmu

    Everyone, please be aware that Kirkland dog foods are a Diamond product. Diamond has many “hats,” including Taste of the Wild. When you consider all the different companies, they have had many recalls.

  • Igmu

    If you are getting Victor, why even bother with the Kirkland? It is by far superior…

  • igmu

    I was just wondering the same…

  • Pingback: Kirkland kibble for standard puppies? - Poodle Forum - Standard Poodle, Toy Poodle, Miniature Poodle Forum ALL Poodle owners too!

  • Pattyvaughn

    Usually it’s the protein level, the fat level agreeing with the protein level, and the number of red ingredients that makes 2 foods that are close either higher or lower than another.

  • LabsRawesome

    I don’t worry too much about the number of stars on the dry food, because I add 5 star canned (Kirkland Cuts In Gravy) and fresh meats. I also add eggs and sardines, as cheap protein sources. I rotate dry foods. Nature’s Domain is one of the foods I use. Right now my dogs are on Victor Ultra Professional Formula, I picked it up at a local pet store for $40 for a 30lb bag. I would pick a lower rated grain free over a higher rated grain inclusive, because one of my dogs smells like hot garbage and his white fur on his belly gets stained red if he eats grains, because he has an intolerance to grains. Also grains are not a natural food for dogs in the first place.

  • Crazy4cats

    I’m guessing that it is due to the fact that the Kirkland Signature line is higher in protein than the Nature’s Domain. If you go to the top menu bar and click on “library” which will bring up a menu for FAQ and under that is: “How We Rate Dog Food.” Dr. Mike spells out exactly how he rates the different foods. Good luck! BTW, just because one food is rated higher than another, doesn’t necessarily mean that your dog will do better on it.

  • Filaowner

    Can anyone here take a guess to why he rates the signature line higher then the grain free line of Kirkland dog food? I have looked over both ingredients again and again. It seems like he would rate the grain free higher but he doesn’t and I can’t figure out why.

  • Pattyvaughn

    It shouldn’t be too hard to google for yourself.

  • Linda Myers

    You made several serious complaints against the Kirkland brand, but offered nothing in the way of credible proof that what you say is true.

  • Pattyvaughn

    This food was part of that same recall as were several other big names.

  • wandawoof

    I stopped feeding canidae after their recalls a couple years back…

  • InkedMarie

    You need to read http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/frequently-asked-questions/rate-dog-food/

    It has nothing to do with dogs getting sick on it. Lots of people feed this food & their dogs don’t get sick, other foods as well.

  • Crazy4cats

    It is rated 4 stars.

  • Nancy McLeod

    I feed my dogs Kirkland and will never buy it again. I don’t know why it got 5 stars. If you check online so many dogs have had ill affects from Kirkland dog food. My dogs developed allergies from this dog food. Other people have complained of diarrhea, vomiting and seizures to name a few. Do not buy this dog food!

  • DeeGentry

    I am a hobby breeder and feed the Kirkland’s Puppy dry formula to my puppies once they have moved to dry, and the small dog formula to my adult dogs. I have heard bad things about the weight management and would not use it. I wonder why you would switch from a puppy food to a weight management? How old is your dog? IMHO, you would be better off feeding her the suggested amount of the adult food over weight managment which might be used on an overweight dog. Even with an overweight dog I would prefer attempting first to control the weight w/proper feeding sizes and exercise. Exercise is the best way to bond w/your dog.

  • Valerie

    I have been feeding this dog food to my dogs since it was available- I joined Costco in 2001 and soon switched to their food. My dogs are healthy, rarely see a vet, have shiny coats, active and seem to thrive. For a short time I fed Canidae and I liked that too, but the cost sent me back to the Kirkland brand.

  • JBFROMMT

    In all actuality Dog’s like their wild cousins are opportunistic
    eaters. They will east anything that smells good to them including other animals excrement. I live in Montana and have seen wolfs eating wild berries, and fruit from orchards. Same with my three dogs. They will jump and pick apples and peaches in the late summer. My German Wire Hair
    will jump the garden fence to get tomatoes, peppers and squash. Its rather funny to see because the other two
    will sit by the fence and wait for her to bring them a snack from the garden. I feed them raw Deer and Elk meat from time to time but there main diet is the kibble from Costco. They are all very healthy, and look great. My oldest is 13 and she is a German Sheppard who is still energetic and healthy looking with only a little arthritis setting in. I think she has a few more good years left in her. I think as long as you feed them a high qulity food and give them lots of love they will do just fine.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Have you read the Large and Giant Breed Puppy Nutrition thread over on the forum? I would make sure that any food I fed was on Hound Dog Mom’s list. Here is the most current one.

    https://docs.google.com/viewer?srcid=0BwApI_dhlbnFTXhUdi1KazFzSUk&pid=explorer&efh=false&a=v

  • Darryl Quinn

    Hi – have you first ruled out anything medical regarding the soft stool (ie: had his stool been tested at the vet office)? Particularly because he is only 5months old and puppies are susceptible to certain things.

  • Kobe

    i have a 5 month Cane Corso and im feeding him Canidae ($45 for 30lbs a bag) dog food. its an outstanding dog food, but its so rich that it gives my dog a very soft stool and his weight is steady bc of the ingredients. ive been told that this dog food is real good for large breed dogs due to their stomachs being sensitive. can someone enlighten me if Im making the right move.

  • nvrat

    Kirkland.

  • Crazy4cats

    Both the Kirkland and the Natures Domain are exclusively sold at Costco. I believe they are both manufactured by Diamond. Kirkland has both chicken with rice and lamb with rice. Natures Domain has grain free turkey, salmon or beef. The Kirkland is about 75 cents per pound depending on which life stage you choose. Natures Domain is a little more expensive. About 95 cents per pound. Very good value food, but has had some issues with recalls in the past.

  • InkedMarie

    Is it Natures Domain or Kirkland?

  • Guest

    Is it Costco food or NaturesvDomain?

  • nvrat

    I pay $26.00 for a 40lb bag of both COSTCO Mature dog food and Healthy Adult dog food (lamb).

  • Kaurie Fjellman

    Just to let everyone know, Costco sells the above dog foods for around $30 dollars for a 40 lb. bag

  • Kaurie Fjellman

    I just went to CostCo today, all of the dog foods listed at the top of the article are around $30 for a 40 lb. bag

  • TINA

    I FEED MY DOGS THIS ALL THE TIME. THEY LOVE IT. I CANT FIND THE PUPPY ONE UNFORTUNATELY FOR MY SMALL DOG. BUT THE 18KG BAG IS ONLY $39 APROX

  • Carlyn Jefferson

    Costco is over an hour’s drive from my house, but if the price is right, I’d consider this brand. Does anyone know what the average price would be for a large (30-50lb) bag?

  • Shawna

    What about the dogs physiological and metabolic processes makes them all that different from the wolf?

    For what it’s worth — my dog, born with chronic kidney disease, has been raw fed her whole life and now at seven and one half years old is still healthy and going strong..

    “Raw” doesn’t cause gas and horrible smelling poop either.. Anaerobic bacteria feasting on undigested protein (of any kind) is what causes smelly gas.

    You really need to read veterinary nutritionist Meg Smarts blog.. She taught clinical nutrition for over 30 years.. http://petnutritionbysmart.blogspot.com/2012/07/practical-advise-on-feeding-your-dog.html

  • neezerfan

    I feed my dog raw and he’s never had any of those issues from it. He previously had horrible gas when I fed him kibble.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Hmm that’s strange. I’ve fed my dogs a raw diet for going on three years now and none have ever experience pancreatitis, GI upsets, horrible gas or “horrific” smelling poop (I mean it smells obviously, but not any worse than any other dog poop I’ve smelled). In fact, my dogs are healthier than ever. Must be these issues aren’t as common as you think.

  • Pattyvaughn

    First of all, evolution takes more than a few thousand years. Dogs are almost identical to wolves. Second, raw diets are not notorious for causing pancreatitis, fat is. People are always coming on here about the GI upset that their kibble caused. GI upset is because of an unhealthy gut, which can be from feeding the same food day in and day out for long periods of time, which raw feeders do NOT typically do. Next, poop from raw feeding is known for being nearly odorless, especially when compared to poop from kibble diets, and owners of kibble fed dogs are constantly complaining about the gas their dogs produce. Honest Kitchen is NOT raw. There have been many recalls lately on kibble due to salmonella, and those recalls affect thousands and thousands of dogs. Finally, if my dogs don’t get sick from eating days old dead frogs off the road, why would I care what growth your petrie dish had in it? Yes, owners of immune compromised dogs should be careful with raw food, but even more, they should be careful of kibble. Maybe homecooked food would be safer for them.

  • Anonymous

    Everybody is missing the point. Dogs are domesticated animals far evolving from wolves which includes changes in their physiological and metabolic processes. Raw diets not only contains tons of potentially pathogenic bacteria, but they are also notorious for causing severe pancreatitis and GI upsets. Of course a holistic vet is going to push holistic type diets because this is their views, just like eastern vs western medicine. Raw diets also cause horrible gas and HORRIFIC smelling poop! I had a bet going with a holistic vet that I know about the “safeness” of a raw diet brand called Honest Kitchen and I personally cultured the food myself in a lab and if you were to see some of the nasty looking bugs growing on those plates, I bet none of you guys would feed raw diets ever again. Although, raw vs “processed” foods are a matter strictly opinion based, the fact that dry food rarely has recalls strongly outweighs the risk of raw diets that 100% of the time contain opportunistic pathogens (which those of whom have immunocompromised dogs/cats should be especially cautious of).

  • Pingback: Boston Terrier fart problem!! Please help!!!

  • Pattyvaughn

    Any ingredient that has protein in it can be the culprit, not just the meat. There is nothing in puppy food that adult dogs can not have as long as you adjust the amount fed, so why not go back to the food that she did well on until her skin calms down, then start looking for a new food.

  • Dana

    I’m wondering if you can either share with me or point me to where I can find the ingredients for the Kirkland Puppy Formula. I just switched my Frenchie from the puppy to the weight management adult formula and she’s having an allergic reaction and her poor ears are infected. I wanted to cross check the proteins to make sure that’s not the problem. My vet only suggested making sure the protein in her adult food matched the puppy food but beyond that he said I just need to use trial by error. I just don’t want to put her through hell in the process =/ thank you!

  • Charlene Zubka

    Gina-congratulations on taking such good care of your Lab. Living to 16 is proof that aside from good genetics, you were also doing something right. I have to laugh at how your post’s main message got de-railed into a debate over carnivore and ominvore while missing the main point! You have an older than average, large dog breed who is by the sounds of if still happy and healthy. That is tremendous!

  • Shawna

    Wolves are technically omnivores as well but not many would suggest that high, or even moderate, carb would be species appropriate for a wolf.

    Unless, of course, you ask a kibble manufacturer. The ingredient list from Purina Mills “Exotic Canine Diet” (what a joke)
    “Ground corn, poultry by-product meal, brown rice flour, corn gluten
    meal, porcine animal fat, stabilized poultry fat, porcine meat meal,
    brewers dried yeast, poultry digest (flavor), dried beet pulp, ground
    soybean hulls, flash dried blood meal, dried whey, dried egg product…..” —- 28% protein and 18% fat..

  • Dr J

    There used to be a sub-order omnivore, but I think it slowly fell of the edge of the plate of taxonomy.

  • Pattyvaughn

    When prey is easily available, such as salmon spawning, the bears that have access eat a carnivorous diet. Otherwise, I don’t think meat is that plentiful to bears, they have to be able to catch it after all, and humans do tend to make life difficult for predators.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Hmm…I’m not so sure about that. About 80% of a black bear’s diet is still plant material even though it lives in north american forests where it could feasibly obtain a large portion of its diet from prey if it desired. The eating meat and having a successful pregnancy is applicable even to herbivores – like rabbits. So I’m not sure that that would necessarily correlate with being the ideal diet. But then again look at polar bears, they’re basically entirely carnivorous. So who knows.

  • Pattyvaughn

    I remember when Pandas were classified as herbivores, but alas, when given a choice, they decided that being an omnivore was better. And lo and behold, they had successful pregnancies far more frequently when they were fed as omnivores too. Just goes to show that the regular diet is the available diet not necessarily the best diet. Maybe if meat had been more available Pandas would be carnivores.

  • aimee

    Well sure…. but there isn’t an order “omnivora” is there? : )

    Because systemalists classify dogs as omnivores I do not see that it is incorrect for others to refer to them in that manner.

  • nigel’snana

    I agree 100%. My comment was about the pandas, they are indeed carnivores,
    but feed on bamboo right? why? because it is there, and genes are not deterministic. What survives must be adept to adaptation, not the other way way around. Go back in time wolves, bears and pigs were very closely related but became very different animals. Dogs still are carnivores very close to the wolf and fox, and will do best on a meat based diet. Hopefully more dogs will get fed as a carnivore.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Whether a dog is a facultative carnivore or an omnivore basically a moot point imo (I tend to refer to them as facultative carnivores). Especially for domesticated dogs as very few domesticated dogs are fed as carnivores. The point is that dogs require high levels of animal-derived protein in order to thrive.

  • nigel’snana

    I think it may have to do with genes. Genes are not deterministic, they are opportunistic. apply to evolution,what happens in one place and time does not in another .

  • nigel’snana

    oh please.

  • Dr J

    Heck there is always an exception to the rule, just look at language. All I am saying is that an animal is classified as a carnivora then it is a carnivore, even if it eats bamboo or tofu or Brussels sprouts. Vegetarians are omnivores although they eat a herbivore diet ;-)

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Not saying whether I do or do not feel that dogs are carnivores however pandas are classified under the order “carnivora” as well – their diet consists almost exclusively of bamboo. So that doesn’t mean much.

  • Dr J

    Kingdom: Animalia
    Phylum: Chordata
    Class: Mammalia
    Order: Carnivora
    Family: Canidae
    Genus: Canis
    Species: Canis lupus

  • aimee

    Actually they have anatomic traits of an omnivore as well. Starting with their teeth.

    Not sure what the dog not having a requirement for carbs has to do with it as people don’t have a requirement for carbs either.

  • nigel’snana

    Dogs only exhibit some of the metabolic characteristics of a omnivore. The primary energy source for omnivores is carbohydrates. Dogs do not require carbohydrates.

    The anatomy of the dogs digestive system identifies the dog as a carnivore. End of story.

  • aimee

    Hi Dr. J,

    Dogs are classified as omnivores based on metabolic traits.

    Nutrient Requirements of Dogs and Cats, National Research Council of the National Academies (2006)

  • Dr J

    Omnivores? I guess that is why humans have canines and hardly any molar teeth…..

  • Pattyvaughn

    Many people refer to antifungals as antibiotics.

  • LisaM

    Antibiotics kill bacteria, a yeast infection is not caused by bacteria. Antibiotics usually CAUSE yeast infections. I think you need a new vet.

  • frpoage

    Vets are not trained in nutrition. Ask your vet. Further proof is in the fact that most recommend low grade, high priced kibble. While raw food diets have their critics, I have never heard of a dog getting sick from a raw diet. I have only heard positive things from their owners, and many large breed dogs are living longer on a raw food diet. Perhaps you should read more on the subject and speak to some owners that have actually experienced the results of a raw food diet before you call it dangerous.

  • Mihaela

    Try “Halo” brand, wild salmon. It is grain free, no feelers, no byproducts. It is a holistic food. I feed my dog mostly homemade food, but in the summer I give him from “Halo”. His poop looks good on that food.

  • Kait

    Yes, you are going to have to play along. I learned that 35 years ago when I studied nutrition and got my BS. You regurgitate the professor’s words and reap an A, you have an opinion that differs and you get penalized. Very few even back then had open minds. We are in agreement tho!!! Too much “science” these days is based on emotion….and money.

  • Pingback: Food for Puppy - Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums

  • Cyndi

    After losing 2 pets to commercial pet food “poisoning”, I vowed that it will never happen again! My Bailey will die from old age (I hope) and not from any Purina or any other crappy brand’s garbage.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Then you haven’t heard of one single vet who knows anything about canine nutrition. That’s a shame.
    I can’t imagine how my dogs have survived eating the bacteria laden dead things that they find on their own, if they can’t handle the small amount of bacteria found on human grade meat. Oh, wait a minute, they just do.

  • Shawna

    Here’s a short list (there’s more) of raw advocating vets that can be verified online.

    Dr. Chris Collins
    Dr. Bruce Symes
    Dr. Anita Moore
    Dr. Karen Becker
    Dr. Peter Dobias
    Dr. Amy Nesselrodt
    Dr. Meg Smart (taught clinical veterinary nutrition for over 30 years)
    Dr. Tom Lonsdale
    Dr. Ian Billinghurst
    Dr. Pitcairn
    Dr. Stephen Blake
    Dr. Christina Chambreau
    Dr. William Pollak
    Dr. Charles E. Loops
    Dr. Wysong
    Dr. Susan Kakauer
    Dr. Will Falconer
    Dr. Lisa Pierson
    Dr. Andrea Tasi
    Dr. Kim Bloomer (veterinary naturopath)
    Dr. Jeannie Thomason (veterinary naturopath)

    There’s more if you’d like me to list them..
    PS – the pup in my avatar has congenital chronic kidney disease — symptoms seen as early as six weeks old but not officially diagnosed til her one year blood eval. She turned seven years old June 30th 2013 and is still in excellent health (un-medicated, never has received sub-q fluids etc). You just don’t see that longevity in kd dogs fed kibble…..

  • Betsy Greer

    And, I’d agree that your raw diet is the safest, healthiest raw diet available!

  • Cyndi

    You’re right Betsy, I wasn’t even thinking of that kind of raw though. I feed homemade raw, so the pre-made raw never even crossed my mind when I wrote that. Thanks for clarifying that for me and everyone else.

  • Betsy Greer

    Last time my Golden pup visited the veterinarian, she got on me because I wasn’t feeding the raw I had been using, Darwin’s.

    You apparently work at a clinic where there are no vets who practice integrative or holistic medicine. Also, vets do have conversations with the clients behind closed doors and recommend diets that deviate from the practices protocol.

  • Betsy Greer

    Hi Cyndi,

    I understand you’re saying that the raw you feed has never been recalled, but to be fair, there have been raw food recalls. Steve’s, Nature’s Variety, Bravo and BARF have all had recent recalls.

  • Cyndi

    When was the last time you heard of a dog die from being fed a raw diet? & when was the last time you heard of a dog die from eating kibble? They recall dry dog food ALL the time and dogs die from it. No one has ever recalled the raw food that I feed my dog, and she’s thriving! When it’s done right, a raw diet is the best thing you can do for your dog. They need a species appropriate diet, not cooked kibble crap in a bag!

  • butchroy

    I will let the experts here tell the true story on raw, but I have a vet who promotes raw and one of the best vets around, Dr. Becker advises raw feeding, done correctly, of course! You want to research and learn, Dr. Karen Becker has a wonderful web site to learn about raw feeding.

  • Jennifer Coleman

    Dogs are not carnivores their omnivores… Feeding raw food can be dangerous. It harbors bacteria and does not have the full nutrients a dog needs. In all the years of worked at a vet office, I have never heard a veterinarian condone feeding a raw diet.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Look for Steve Brown’s book “Unlocking the Canine Ancestral Diet” to get a good idea on how to balance that diet simply.

  • Betsy Greer

    Just beef muscle meat? No bone or organs?

  • Gina

    My little black lab is happy, happy, happy nothing really gets her down she is a very healthy 16 yrs. old. I don’t feed her with any thing that has flax seed, store bought dog foods or food from China. Dogs are carnivores so I feed my dog raw beef from the meat department at the grocery store. I feed her mostly beef hearts which is cheaper than can food or even dry food.Dry dog food from Purina has wheat, rice, corn and other bad products in it and some dogs are alergic to wheat, I don’t eat corn because of Monsanto, why feed it to my dog? I don’t see wild dogs hanging out at the vegitable patch! Once in a great while I will give my dog a 1/4 in. raw carrot for a treat. Other than a lot of exercise thats all she gets.

  • Betsy Greer

    Hi Cecelia,

    There are, but off of the top of my head, the only that comes to mind is Nature’s Logic. I use it in my rotation and love it. It’s made using whole food ingredients and has no added synthetic vitamins or minerals.

    Here’s a link: http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/dog-food-reviews/natures-logic-dog-food-dry/ And, here’s a link to the NL website: http://www.natureslogic.com/.

    Nature’s Logic has signed Susan Thixton’s pledge to Quality and Origin which you can view here: http://truthaboutpetfood2.com/petsumer-report-review-of-the-month-45

  • Pattyvaughn

    Yes, but they are few and far between.

  • Cecelia

    Are there any dog foods that have no ingredient from china?

  • Joanne. Curran

    I have fed my dogs AvoDerm for 20 years now, have never had a problem. My Golde is now on the triple protein no grains AvoDerm now and I mix homemade food with it. I put in the crock pot chicken breasts, sweet potatoes, green Beans, carrots and zucinini.

  • Kathy Noom

    40lb bags

  • marc

    could somebody tell me what sizes costco sells these in?

  • Shawna

    And folks say that professors aren’t biased one way or the other!!!!!!!!!!!!! Seems awful dam-ed biased to me when you “lose points on an opinion”…. Monsanto must be a financial supporter of your school…?

    Do what you have to do but don’t lose yourself in the process!! We need the YOU that we all know and love to be present, and in full force, at the end of graduation. :)

    You have my email… I’d be happy to give you my cell number too…I’m a good listener.. :) Anything I can do to help you, just let me know!!! ;)

  • Hound Dog Mom

    You would die if you were in this class. I managed to lose points on an opinion based question on the GMO exam. The last question on the exam asked us what our feelings were about GMOs and why after the class discussions and readings and I put that I don’t feel that the long term effects of GMO consumption have been adequately studied in humans and that until more long term non-industry funded studies are done in humans I’m not comfortable consuming GMO foods and that I feel scientists are underemphasizing the anecdotal evidence that GMOs are potentially harmful. Apparently that wasn’t a valid opinion about GMOs. grr. As much as I hate to, I think I’m just going to have to play along if I’m going to get an a. :(

  • Shawna

    OH MY GOSH!!! How FRUSTRATING!!!

    “The notion, however, that food can heal is powerfully alluring, and it makes great headlines.” WOW This is why I could never go back to school… I would be frustrated beyond belief!!! ;)

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Don’t try telling a “scientist” that food can prevent or kill cancer. I thought I made a wonderful discussion post on the online discussion forum for my biology in society class about how some foods are known for their anti-cancer effects (garlic, turmeric) and touched on some of the factors that with commercial pet foods that could potentially promote cancer (BHT, heterocyclic amines, dyes) – and omg you’d think I told them the earth was flat. Professor then posted this (which I know was targeted at me): http://www.sciencebasedmedicine.org/everything-causes-cancer/ . Sigh..

  • Hound Dog Mom

    I agree with Shawna’s points about flax for dogs however flax is a great way to balance the fatty acid profile in poultry-heavy diets. Poultry is high in polyunsaturated fatty acids – particularly linoleic acid. Flax is rich in alpha-linolenic acid and adding flax to poultry-based meals is a means of bringing the omega 6:omega 3 ratio into balance without adding additional LA. I know that Steve Brown (author of “Unlocking the Canine Ancestral Diet”) states in his book that he suspects the allergy symptoms that some report when feeding flac are not caused by the flaxseed or oil itself but the fat imbalance created by adding the omega-’s from flaxseed to ruminant containing products without the addition of an omega 6 source. It should also be noted that chia can be used in the same way that flax can. I wouldn’t rely on flax as an omega 3 source due to its low bioavailability (I use cage free eggs, quality fish oils and tinned sardines for that) but I do add sprouted flax to meals that are poultry-heavy. And I don’t think it’s the addition of all these ingredients you mention causing allergies – a healthy animal shouldn’t have allergies. The immune systems of animals are being compromised through the feeding of GMOs, frequent vaccination, use of chemical preventatives, frequent use of steroids and antibiotics, etc. This weakening of animals’ immune systems is what is causing so many dogs to react negatively to so many foods – not the foods themselves.

  • LabsRawesome

    I agree, it is better to add Coconut or Fish oil. ( fresh yourself ) But you’re wrong about Green Tea, it’s great for dogs. :)

  • Shawna

    I’m not fond of flaxseed and the oil in dog foods as adult dogs are not capable of converting the omega 3 fat in flax (ALA) to the more needed omega 3 fats (DHA / EPA). Not to mention that ALL omega 3 oils easily go rancid and rancid omega 3 fats are worse than no omega 3 fats.

    Rosemary is added as a “natural” preservative. I’d much rather see rosemary than synthetic preservatives.

    Beet pulp (if the sugar has been removed) is a source of fermentable fiber and as such feeds the VERY needed good bacteria in the digestive tract. Chicory and burdock roots are better sources of fermentable fibers but I’m okay with beet pulp.

    Green tea (if added after the cooking process) has a ton of flavonoids etc and actually “kills” cancer by cutting off it’s blood supply (referred to as anti-angiogenesis). Human oncologist Dr. William Li talks about it in a Ted TV video called “Can we eat to starve cancer”. Anti-angiogenic foods, like green tea, work in humans AND dogs…

  • Pattyvaughn

    Dogs certainly don’t get out of flax what dog food manufacturers would like you to think they do. They are very inefficient at converting it to the form they need it in, so it just ends up beind extra fat and fiber in the diet instead of additional omega 3s.

  • somebodysme

    Be sure and have your puppy tested for parasites too because you want to make sure that isn’t causing it. Also remember that anything you give, treats, peanut butter etc etc can also be the culprit. Be extremely conscious of everything you give your puppy! Just because SO AND SO says that it’s ok to give a dog this and that doesn’t mean that it can’t cause diarrhea! Literally anything that your dog puts in his mouth can cause him issues!

  • Pattyvaughn

    I’ve had my dog on a supplement that was heavy with flaxseed and was giving a double dose of fish oil at the same time. He had diarrhea before we started the supplement and fish oil and a whole host of other issues, but he sure didn’t have the problem while taking it or after. I would imagine it is a case of some dogs could be sensitive to it. The amount of flaxseed in most of these foods would be pretty small.

  • Pattyvaughn

    How do you know that?