Kirkland Signature Nature’s Domain (Canned)

Share

Rating: ★★★★★

Kirkland Signature Nature’s Domain canned dog food receives the Advisor’s top rating of 5 stars.

The Kirkland Signature Nature’s Domain product line includes two canned dog foods.

Each recipe below includes its related AAFCO nutrient profile when available on the product’s official webpage: Growth, Maintenance, All Life Stages, Supplemental or Unspecified.

  • Nature’s Domain Turkey and Pea Stew [A]
  • Nature’s Domain Organic Chicken with Vegetables [A]

Kirkland Signature Nature’s Domain Turkey and Pea Stew was selected to represent both products in the line for this review.

Kirkland Signature Nature's Domain Turkey and Pea Stew

Canned Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 44% | Fat = 28% | Carbs = 20%

Ingredients: Turkey, turkey broth, vegetable broth, natural flavor, dried egg product, peas, agar-agar, carrots, salt, sodium tripolyphosphate, calcium carbonate, potassium chloride, spinach, choline chloride, cranberries, blueberries, raspberries, iron proteinate (a source of chelated iron), zinc proteinate (a source of chelated zinc), vitamin E supplement, copper proteinate (a source of chelated copper), manganese proteinate (a source of chelated manganese), riboflavin supplement, sodium selenite, calcium iodate, thiamine mononitrate, niacin supplement, calcium pantothenate, vitamin A supplement, vitamin B12 supplement, potassium iodide, biotin, vitamin D3 supplement

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 5.6%

Red items indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis8%5%NA
Dry Matter Basis44%28%20%
Calorie Weighted Basis34%51%15%
Protein = 34% | Fat = 51% | Carbs = 15%

The first ingredient in this dog food is turkey. Turkey is considered “the clean combination of flesh and skinโ€ฆ derived from the parts or whole carcasses of turkey”.1

Turkey is naturally rich in the ten essential amino acids required by a dog to sustain life.

The next two ingredient are turkey broth and vegetable broth. Broths are nutritionally empty. But because they add both flavor and moisture to a dog food they are a common addition component in many canned products.

After the natural flavor, we find dried egg product, a dehydrated form of shell-free eggs. Quality can vary significantly. Lower grade egg product can even come from commercial hatcheries — from eggs that have failed to hatch.

In any case, eggs are easy to digest and have an exceptionally high biological value.

The sixth ingredient includes peas. Peas are a quality source of carbohydrates. And like all legumes, they’re rich in natural fiber.

However, peas contain about 25% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the meat content of this dog food.

The seventh is agar agar, a natural vegetable gelatin derived from the cell walls of certain species of red algae. Agar is rich in fiber and is used in wet pet foods as a gelling agent.

The eighth ingredient lists carrots. Carrots are rich in beta-carotene, minerals and dietary fiber.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With one notable exception

This food contains chelated minerals, minerals that have been chemically attached to protein. This makes them easier to absorb. Chelated minerals are usually found in better dog foods.

Kirkland Signature Nature’s Domain
Canned Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Judging by its ingredients alone, Kirkland Signature Nature’s Domain canned dog food looks like an above-average wet product.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 44%, a fat level of 28% and estimated carbohydrates of about 20%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 44% and a mean fat level of 30%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 18% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 68%.

Above-average protein. Above-average fat. And below-average carbs when compared to a typical canned dog food.

Even when you consider the protein-boosting effect of the peas, this looks like the profile of a wet product containing a significant amount of meat.

Bottom line?

Kirkland Signature Nature’s Domain is a grain-free meat-based canned dog food using a significant amount of turkey or chicken as its main sources of animal protein, thus earning the brand 5 stars.

Enthusiastically recommended.

Please note certain recipes are sometimes given a higher or lower rating based upon our estimate of their total meat content and (when appropriate) their fat-to-protein ratios.

Kirkland Signature Dog Food
Recall History

The following list (if present) includes all dog food recalls since 2009 directly related to this product line. If there are no recalls listed in this section, we have not yet reported any events.

You can view a complete list of all dog food recalls sorted by date. Or view the same list sorted alphabetically by brand.

To learn why our ratings have nothing to do with a product’s recall history, please visit our Dog Food Recalls FAQ page.

Get free dog food recall alerts sent to you by email. Subscribe to The Advisor’s recall notification list.

Dog Food Coupons
and Discounts

Readers are invited to check for coupons and discounts shared by others in our Dog Food Coupons Forum.

Or click the buying tip below. Please be advised we receive a fee for referrals made to the following online store.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

The Dog Food Advisor does not test dog food products.

We rely entirely on the integrity of the information provided by each company. As such, the accuracy of every review is directly dependent upon the specific data a company chooses to share.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

We rely on tips from readers. To report a product change or request an update of any review, please contact us using this form.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, due to the biological uniqueness of every animal, none of our ratings are intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in a specific dietary response or health benefit for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

However, we do receive a fee from Chewy.com for each purchase made as a direct result of a referral from our website. This fee is a fixed dollar amount and has nothing to do with the size of an order or the brand selected for purchase.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Notes and Updates

11/17/2016 Last Update

  1. Adapted by the Dog Food Advisor and based upon the official definition for chicken published by the Association of American Feed Control Officials, Official Publication, 2008 Edition
  • J W

    I used this on occasion and my lab loved it. I just bought a new case and the 1st can I opened is definitely different in consistency than the product I had before. It was increased in liquid and extremely soupy like other describe. (Not like the picture below, which is similar to what I was used too). Maybe I got a bad case, but I’m taking it back…

  • Bobby dog

    My Wal-Mart is the same way, but the cat food section is always stocked and well maintained. Used to feed the Pure Balance stews, but Bobby lost his enthusiasm for them and last few times I fed them they seemed to get skimpy with the meat content.

  • Crazy4cats

    I don’t go to the pet food section at Walmart much anymore. I kind of got disgusted with how they stock and keep it up. Or should I say, how they do NOT stock it up and keep it organized. Last time I checked, seems as if half of the cans were dented. Maybe I’ll give them another chance.

  • Crazy4cats

    One of my son’s previous roommates is either Hawaiian or Filipino. His mom was always buying them cases of Spam. That and seaweed. He’s a great college athlete. Must be doing something right.

  • Bobby dog

    My Wal-Mart carries Variety. I only like the stews because of the low fat %’s. My grocery store started carrying them a year or so ago so they are in rotation a little more often now. Bobby likes Purina cat foods too!!!

  • Bobby dog

    Variety Homestyle and Purina One Stews are hearty like the Turkey and Pea stew too.

  • Bobby dog

    My dad loved Spam sandwiches!!

  • anon101

    It looks like chopped up Spam to me, lol
    I avoid canned foods as much as possible.
    Just cause it looks like meat doesn’t mean it is. It is still a highly processed combination of who knows what.
    I prefer to buy meat/chicken at reduced prices at the local market, chop, cook and add a bit to a quality kibble with a dash of water.
    Much better than canned dog food.
    Although, years ago when I had a dog that was recovering from surgery, the only thing he would eat was Mighty Dog.
    I would trust that product again, if I had to.

  • InkedMarie

    Not soupy to me

  • Crazy4cats

    Exactly, and this shot was taken from the bottom of the can. There was hardly any liquid left. Not sure what people are talking about. It’s thicker than Wellness Stews that are twice the price.
    4Health stews are similar.

  • Susan

    Gee wish I lived near a Costco Store, we only have a few Costco Store at the moment in Australia, probably to see how they go then more stores will pop up, that looks really good, full of meaty pieces, its more like a thick meaty casserole.

  • Crazy4cats

    Here are a couple of pics I took this morning of ND Turkey and Pea Stew. I don’t consider this soupy. I’m not sure if I’m just lucky and didn’t get a bad case or if my idea of soupy is different from others. https://uploads.disquscdn.com/images/943a1a9d9a1f699d5d318ae24b4ff8394bbf08d0930ec32c8098005e46792814.jpg https://uploads.disquscdn.com/images/0ec30defa9563a526176bff8d4cec0859afc6f6410fe17ededb2d1bbb422a106.jpg

  • Susan

    Hi, take the rest of the case back, it may have been stored in the sun, heat etc look at the batch nb & use by date on cans or side of case & when you return get another case with different use by date…

  • foxymoderate

    I loved this food until the last case. 2 of my 3 dogs are fine but 1 has had diarrhea. The food changed with this last case, not sure what they have done to it!

  • Crazy4cats

    You’re welcome. You can call Costco’s customer service to find out if a warehouse near you sells the canned organic chicken recipe. There is an 800 number on your receipt. Good luck!

  • Susan

    Hi, have you tried “4Health” at Tractor Supplies, 99c – $1.19 a 13.2 oz can, they are a good price…. click on link below once you click on 1 wet tin food then all the flavours should come up on the right side.. https://www.tractorsupply.com/tsc/search/4healthspecial
    I have found it works out cheaper to make their meals or give 1 cooked meal or when your cooking make a bit extra for the dogs as long as it’s not spicy & has no onion…
    Buy some lean turkey mince or chicken mince, I get lean pork or the lean beef mince, add 1 whisked egg to 1 kg, 2lbs, some chopped parsley, some broccoli, 1 grated carrot mix all together & make 1/2 cup size rissole balls put them all on foil lined baking tray & bake in the oven, turn them all over & drain any water & fat 1/2 way thru cooking, I also peel sweet potato cut into same size pieces & boil, then I cool everything & freeze the meals in sections, enough for 1-2 days meals, thaw in fridge the day before, you can also get a Crock Pot & add your minced meat or a full chicken then 1/2 way thru cooking add a bag of frozen veggies or peeled & add potatoes pumkin, carrots etc then the chicken all falls off the bone & take out the pieces of bone & you have a heap of meals, buy the tin sardines in spring water or olive oil & add a few small sardines to one of the cooked meals a day & keep all your egg shells & add 1 teaspoon of grounded egg shell or just crush 1 egg shell over I of the meals a day per dog, 1 egg shell = 1 teaspoon, adding sardines are very healthy they have omega 3 vitamins & minerals, for brain, heart, joints, skin & coat, egg shells have calcium..

  • SportstHER

    Update: I gave the Kirkland Signature Turkey & Veg a try over a couple nights and they all HATED IT! One of them ate it unwillingly, one of them picked around it and the other left it to dry in the dish refusing to eat it! Scraping dried out dog food was unpleasant and wasteful.The contents of the can was very soupy, not at all what I hoped it would be. I took the remainder of the case back and Costco was happy to give me a refund. I asked about the Kirkland Signature Organic Chicken & Vegetables, but not one of my local Costco carries it (I called them) and I can’t drive around the county to find it. I was told they won’t carry it unless each warehouse has enough “in-store” requests for it. I’m SOL! So I’m back with the lesser brand of canned food I’ve been feeding. But that has been problematic too! The last few cans with the same lot# have had plastic bits in it! I am really trying to find an affordable brand that has a good quality grain-free under $2 a can! (that doesn’t have rosemary in it, due to a seizure dog)

    Thank you Crazy4cats for the clarification on the
    manufacturer.

  • Crazy4cats

    Nature’s Domain canned is manufactured by Performance Pet Products. Diamond does not have a cannery. Yeah, at 80 some cents per can, I do not expect it to be packed with meat! I pay more than that for a can of chicken and noodle soup for my human family that is mostly broth!! We add this to kibble for several morning meals and then fresh foods for our pups’ evening meals. Hope it works for you!

  • SportstHER

    I decided to try Kirkland Turkey & Pea Stew for my pups since it gets a better rating than the canned food I currently feed AND its priced at a significant savings! I picked up a 24 pack yesterday (6/16/2017) and decided to check the label contents here. It appears that Diamond may have changed the formulation. While the ingredients are exactly the same and the volume of the can (13.2 oz) is too, the K Calories have gone down per can. As reviewed here, the KCals per can is listed as 370 and the calories on new label is listed as 356. Unless the company has decided to do better math, the only way that can happen is if they’ve increased the moisture/water content. So, that might explain the previous comments about the product becoming looser, more wet. I’m still going to try it out knowing that I may have to feed a bit more to make up the lost calories. Per the review here, its still a better choice in quality & value. Lets hope they like it! Here’s an image of the label. https://uploads.disquscdn.com/images/96022e203b1621a9b16f4df43af2c71175eeef043fa16e1f72293a49653e6d10.jpg

  • Crazy4cats

    So, I bought another case of both the turkey stew and the chicken pate Nature’s Domain canned at Costco a few weeks ago. We didn’t notice any change and our dogs are fine. I do keep in mind that this canned food is less than half the price of most pet supply stores. So yes, there may possibly be a little more gravy, but not much more than the Wellness stews that I have bought. Still will continue buying it.

  • Crazy4cats

    You still feed it to her even though it gives her diarrhea?

  • daisy mae

    I have seen the same problem, it smells worse, looks gross and it gave my cattle dog diarrhea. Such a shame, she has a sensitive stomach and she did well with this food before it turned to crap. I still have most of the case so I mix it with white rice and add lean ground turkey.

  • Crazy4cats

    I’ve had good luck so far. But, I’m about to buy another case of it. Hopefully, it is just a temporary glitch. Also, I hope you returned it to Costco so they know what is going on with it. They are very good about returning everything, even without a receipt. Fingers crossed our next cases are back to normal. It is such a great deal!

  • Caroline

    I noticed the same thing with my last couple of cases. They had a Best Buy date of 3/19. I will try one more case but if it’s the same glop I will be switching. It’s a shame because it was GREAT up until now. I am hoping it is just a temporary glitch.

  • Babslynne

    I have noticed that some cans are full of gravy, I have also noticed some cans are full of chunks, barely any gravy. They need to be more consistent.

  • Don Smith

    We have seen a decline in the ‘apparent’ quality – from a stew to a soup. This has been our experience for the last 2 cases of Nature’s Domain Turkey and Pea Stew. Someone decided to increase the percentage of liquid (water) to increase profits.

  • Crazy4cats

    I’m finishing up a case and haven’t had any issues. It is still manufactured by Performance Pets. Try taking it back and getting a new case and see if it is any better.

  • Robert Arco

    what happened to this stuff? I am ready to switch because it went from being meat and vegetables to a soupy glop. Cant be 5 stars anymore unless your dog cant digest solid food. Can anyone tell me, why the switch (besides them cutting cost and quality)?

  • Amateria

    Wow that is cheap, considering it’s good quality, so I guess it’s possible to be cheap and good (knew that already haha) but most companies would rather you pay a premium so their profit is ginormous.

  • Crazy4cats

    The new Nature’s Domain Organic Chicken & Vegetables canned food is now on the website: http://www.kirklandsignaturepetsupplies.com/natures-domain-brand
    It’s $28.99 for 24 cans at most locations.

  • bojangles

    ๐Ÿ™‚

  • At a ratio of 1:135, the dry matter solids content in a typical broth would be just 0.70%.

    AAFCO specifies that the protein fraction of those solids on a dry matter basis must be at least 90% of that figure, or 0.66% — a tiny amount of protein when compared to the total weight of a wet dog food.

    To put this in perspective…

    Per NutritionData.com, one cup of canned beef broth suitable for human consumption contains just 2.7 grams of protein.

    Keeping in mind that a typical wet dog food may contain as much as 1/4 cup of broth, a consumer would expect to find no more than 0.675 grams of protein in the entire can.

    When you then consider an entire 13-ounce can of Purina One SmartBlend contains 368 grams of dog food (as fed), the total amount of protein contributed by the broth to each meal would be just 0.183% — less than 1/5 of 1%. Not exactly a nutritionally significant amount — by any measure.

    In any case, because there is at least a small amount of protein and other nutrients in a broth, perhaps we should consider updating our current description from “nutritionally empty” to “nutritionally modest”.

  • bojangles

    Hi Mary, Welcome!

    “”Broths are nutritionally empty”?! That is a very broad, general statement and is absolutely NOT accurate.”

    You’re absolutely right! When it comes to dog foods, broth MUST be at least 90% protein on a dry matter basis, it can be up to 135 parts water to one part protein.

    So it can be very dilute and not nutritionally dense, or it can be less dilute and more nutritionally dense.

    Either way broths in dog food are never “nutritionally empty” ๐Ÿ™‚

    AAFCO definition of “broth”
    https://uploads.disquscdn.com/images/c9443ab74debc5e3fa7b147f3193a81714be18282ba0ff1ff6880a3961c369db.png

  • Mary M. Valentine

    “Broths are nutritionally empty”?! That is a very broad, general statement and is absolutely NOT accurate. Spend 10 minutes on an internet search for the nutritional value of homemade chicken or beef stock made from bone in chicken or beef and you will quickly find out how beneficial broths can be.

  • Did you have good luck with the organic chicken and vegetables canned dog food?

  • Has anyone tried the Nature’s Domain dog food mentioned in a prior comment ” Organic Chicken and Vegetables, 24 cans for $28.99.” I had to return the turkey stew because my two mutts would not eat it. This one is a few dollars more, but well worth it if they like it.

  • Crazy4cats

    Looks like Costco has two new Nature’s Domain canned foods. One for dog and one for cats. The dog is Organic Chicken and Vegetables, 24 cans for $28.99. My store is carrying it and I bought some yesterday, but have not given it a try yet.

    They also now have canned cat as well, 48 – 5.5 oz cans for $29.99. My store doesn’t carry it yet, but I may travel a bit to a location that does to check it out! Fingers crossed it is as good as the canned dog food!!!

    Both also canned by Performance Pet Products.

  • Crazy4cats

    Nature’s Domain canned food is manufactured by Performance Pet Products. The dry food is made by Diamond.

  • Marie Happeny

    Does anyone know who manufactures this food? Also where it is manufactured. I called Costco but they did not have an answer.

  • Stace Rierson

    I took my 15 year old dog to a vet certified in acupuncture, and she recommended I feed both my dogs grain-free wet food since it is less processed and frequently healthier than dry food. (I had no idea…!) She had heard me speak of Costco earlier in our appointment, and recommended this turkey and pea stew. Both of my dogs absolutely love it. It is also available on jet.com for a price competitive with Costco. The nice thing about Jet is that you don’t have to drive to the store, park, carry heavy food to your car and then your house… I heartily recommend this food!

  • Ooops_6805

    Per my vets recommendation, and high rating of Nature’s Domain, I feed my dogs 1 can of this food once a week and then give them a very normal amount of their dry Nature’s Domain.
    Reason is for pet attention should they het sick and can’t crunch the dry food. Then we have established a food that they enjoy!
    Case closed!

  • Ooops_6805

    The author need to be more specific on recall issues.
    Costco puts their brand “Kirkland” on many products that are manufactured for general retail, based on certain criteria.

    The dog food rated here is the “Nature’s Domain” which is manufactured “for” Costco based on criteria determined by Costco and is not necessarily, if at all, sold under a different label.
    This product, Nature’s Domain, has never been under any recall order/consideration.

  • LabsRawesome

    Hahahaha. ๐Ÿ™‚

  • Crazy4dogs

    LOL, too bad it wasn’t a Drake David post. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  • LabsRawesome

    I just accidently flagged a comment. I’m on my iPad and my Doxie just jumped on my lap and bumped my hands. I almost dropped my iPad, and as I caught it I accidently flagged the comment. Not sure if I flagged mine or yours. lol Just wanted to let the mods know.

  • Crazy4cats

    It would be nice. I have absolutely no pull at all, but I’ll check it out!

  • LabsRawesome

    Thanks. lol my local warehouse has the bully sticks. Seems we are having the same problem, just with different items. Thank you for the item number, that will be very helpful when I inquire about the cat food. It would be great if they expand the dept with more products for cats. ๐Ÿ™‚

  • Crazy4cats

    Hi-
    Yes, my warehouse does carry it, but I have not fed it. It looks good though! I just wish it wasn’t salmon flavored. Anyway, it looks like just about every region carries it. However, the Northeast and Los Angeles regions only have limited warehouses that have it for some reason. Let me guess…you live in one of these regions. Here is the item # (570940) if you want an employee at your store to look up to see if a nearby Costco has it.

    That’s how the bully sticks are here. Only a few scattered stores have them in our region. I have to drive a bit to buy them. But the price is worth it.

    I’m going to attempt to contact the asst. buyer to see if there are any plans to expand the cat products with some canned!

  • Crazy4cats

    I’ll check it out tomorrow.

  • Weirdanimalboy .

    Oh, it is 24. I miscounted. Such a deal!

  • LabsRawesome

    Does your warehouse sell Nature’s Domain cat kibble? Mine does not. Any tips on getting them to carry it? I’ve asked for it in the suggestion box several times.

  • LabsRawesome

    My 3 love it too. Are you sure about it only being 18 cans tho? My warehouse sells a case of 24 cans for $19.99

  • Weirdanimalboy .

    I was saving up for a couple of cans of Blue Buffalo canned food from PetSmart to add to my dog’s food as a treat. A case of 12 cans from PetSmart costs over $30! So I went into Costco next door to get a 40lb bag of dry food (which costs $30 at Costco, while the same amount of food would cost $50 at PetSmart) and happened to see the Nature’s Domain food. I was a little skeptical. It had 18 cans and was only $20. I didn’t want another FreshPet kibble fiasco (dog’s gas and stool worsened over the course of only 3 days, he threw up and had terrible diarrhea on the third), so I didn’t hesitate to come here to check the rating. FIVE STARS?!?! Really!? I grabbed the pack and hustled to the check out line. When I got home I gave him half a can with his normal food. He didn’t really know what it was at first, but after a lick he was over the moon. Adding this to his normal dry food has really made his eagerness for meal time return, he beats me to his meal place now. He also eats slower surprisingly, taking small bites and licks instead of becoming a Pitbull/Labrador/Hoover Vaccum mix like he used to, but his appetite isn’t diminished. I was worried about gas and runny poop, but he has had just the opposite, his stool doesn’t smell like bad onions like it used to on a brand of food I got from Tractor Supply (4Health I think it was called). It’s pretty solid and small, which I take as a good sign he’s actually digesting the food. So glad Costco carries this stuff!

  • LabsRawesome

    Hi Babslynne, not sure if you’re still interested, but I have been using Natures Domain stew since it came out. I go thru 2 cans per day, mixed with various kibble. My 3 love it. I also use 4health stews, and Pure Balance puppy stew. My 3 do great on all of the foods. ๐Ÿ™‚

  • CEDUPZ

    We use Costco dry and canned for our 3 Chinese Cresteds, all are healthy, and love teh stuff, COSTCO does it again, high quality priced right!

  • Crazy4cats

    I highly recommend KS Nature’s Domain Turkey & Pea Stew. It’s a great value at 84 cents per can found only at Costco Wholesale. It is packed full of meat, looks and smells great. It is manufactured by Performance Pet Products. I really wish they had more flavors and offered it in cat food as well. I like it just as well (or better) than the Kirkland Cuts in Gravy that I finally ran out of after buying four or five cases of it when it was being discontinued! LOL!

    Edit: Here’s the link: http://www.kirklandsignaturepetsupplies.com/natures-domain-brand

  • Connie Moss

    I have been feeding both my 6 year old bloodhound and 14 year old pitbull with Nature’s Domain Turkey and Pea Stew for a year now. They both look fantastic and have shiny, soft coats. I highly recommend this product.

  • Mike Turner

    It is scary isn’t it? What does it tell us?It’s not worth taking any chances.

  • Mike Turner

    Real meat?

  • Hani Freudenberger

    I noticed the last two packages I purchased have less turkey and more gravy. It’s overall more mushy than before. I think I prefer the previous formulation.

  • Edie Gutierrez

    I changed to this about 2 weeks ago and the dogs love it. I use it to mix in with Kirkland Small Breed Kibble.

  • Babslynne

    I don’t see any recent comments on this Nature’s Domain Turkey and Pea Stew form Costco. I am considering adding it to my rotation but would like to hear from people who are still feeding it now.

  • LabsRawesome

    Hi David, just wanted to let you know that no food is made by Costco. Costco just sells it. Well they used to, Kirkland cuts was discontinued. It was replaced by Nature’s Domain, which sells for right around $20 for a case of 24 cans.

  • Crazy4cats

    Kirkland Cuts in Gravy manufactured by Simmons was unfortunately discontinued and Nature’s Domain turkey and pea stew manufactured by Performance Pet Products replaced it. In addition, a couple of budget friendly canned foods we feed to our dogs are Pure Balance stews found at Walmart and 4Health stews found at Tractor Supply and/or Del’s.

  • Crazy4dogs

    Costco doesn’t make anything. They are just a merchant/distributor.

  • David Crandon

    Whatever….. Costco has all kinds of things manufactured, whether they actually make this, or just re-label it, it’s the same stuff. They obviously distribute it.

  • Crazy4dogs

    It’s not made by Costco. I’m not sure who the manufacturer is, but Costco is a merchant, not a manufacturer.

  • David Crandon

    Interesting…it’s made by Costco.

  • David Crandon

    I know that this stuff was taken off Costco’s shelves last year while it was being reformulated. After it came back out, it appears turkey replaced the either chicken or beef (can’t remember which). It was tightly packed and not full of gravy, but I can say that our dog definitely didn’t think it tastes as good as before. This is unfortunate because as far as I know, it’s the only inexpensive grain free wet/canned food out there.

  • Crazy4cats

    Nature’s Domain canned food is manufactured by Performance Pet Products.

  • Syl: What is HGE? I was trying to figure out who makes the dog food to understand how there could be so many inconsistencies. I have two lab poodle mixes. One is on Limited ingredient foods, Wellness line and then I saw the Coscto brand with seemingly comparable ingredients. It’s scary to read about so many sick dogs. It makes me not want to take any chances.

  • Syl

    We returned the food to Costco and informed them of what happened to our dogs. All the pups are doing fine now. I do have the numbers off the canned dog food case.

  • Syl: How are your dogs? Did you find out if the food caused the illness? Did you get a batch number on the food?

  • LabsRawesome

    I would also like to see Nature’s Domain make a canned cat food. They do make kibble for cats, but my warehouse doesn’t carry it.

  • Cora Armstrong

    I have to say, my latest case of Kirkland Stew is packed tight, full of meat and it looks like it used to so… never mind what I said before.

  • LabsRawesome

    Walmart carries 2 similar products as well. Pure Balance Stews, And a canned food called Triumph. And Tractor Supply has 4health Stews.

  • Cora Armstrong

    Thanks, but I do not have a Safeway in this area. Any other ideas?

  • LabsRawesome

    Hi Cora, Here’s an alternative food you might want to try. It’s called Priority and it’s available at Safeway. Very similar to the old Kirkland Cuts that Costco used to sell. https://a.disquscdn.com/uploads/mediaembed/images/1316/8001/original.jpg

  • Cora Armstrong

    I sent a copy of these comments to Costco customer service. I too have noticed the way the “stew” just runs out of the can I need this dog food as it is the only one that my dog can tolerate without vomiting. He developed pancreatitis with everything else i’ve tried. He cannot take dry food either. I hope we can find a solution.

  • Syl

    Three out of 4 dogs have gotten sick with the new case of ND turkey and pea stew can food. 2 were hospitalized a week ago (smaller dogs) and one showing symptoms now (larger dog). Vomiting, diarrhea that turns bloody, lethargic, not consuming water. First two diagnosed with HGE.

  • Crazy4cats

    Hahaha, my cats love the dogs canned food too. They like the Kirkland Cuts In Gravy! I still have some. I bought 4 cases when it was being discontinued. ND canned cat food is a definite possibility. I talked to someone at the corporate buying office about it. They were kind of waiting to see how the dog food sells first.

  • Coni Marie

    Ty Crazy4cats

  • Crazy4cats

    That is good to hear. I haven’t bought any for a while as I rotate several brands of canned. But the case I did buy was good. I was starting to worry that I might not want to buy it anymore and lose a great budget friendly option in my rotation. Hopefully, we’ll hear more good reviews.

  • Coni Marie

    What are all these people talking about stating there is less meat in Costco’s ND cans of Turkey. I see more meat than even Gravy & it’s well balanced overall. I purchase this Awesome can food to go with Nutro Nuggets Lamb & Rice also from Costco or Smart & Final. All 3 of my dogs Love this can food mixed in & none of them have had any problems with it! My Rott & Cocapoo have sensitive stomachs & do very well with this “no Diarrhea etc, just solid poop.

  • JG

    Kirkland’s nature domain canned dog food has changed significantly and based on my experience is currently more what i would suspect to be a three star rated product rather than the five stars it used to be. The “meat” looks and smells low grade now, it won’t be hard to find something better than this.

  • Hater & Molly’s Mom

    If you look through the comments you will see others have posted about the cans having a lot more gravy. Not one chunk of turkey is not good!

  • ChristySpeaks

    Just returned a partial case of this after opening several cans and it being mostly liquid. One can I opened today was 100% liquid — not one chunk of turkey meat or peas. It poured out the can like milk would. Totally disgusted in what used to be a top quality dog food. I can understand a mistake — a can or two getting by quality control, but I went through 14 cans of this case and only one was even close to being full. I’m done…

  • ChristySpeaks

    Noticed this, too! I’m very disappointed and will be returning the remaining portion of this case. I thought it was a fluke when I opened the first two cans. My dog is diabetic — this food is perfect for him. However, since he’s a fairly large dog he has to eat four cans a day. Because of the increase in the “gravy” and no meat, he’s extremely hungry now. So disappointed, Costco!!

  • LabsRawesome

    I have noticed the same thing, way more gravy than there used to be in this food. I bought a case several months ago I opened about 4 or 5 cans where the gravy wasn’t gravy at all. It was a extremely thick gel. The cans were 60% thick gel and 40% meat. I returned that case and waited several months to try ND again. The case I bought has much more gravy than before. I’m going to wait awhile before buying this again. Hopefully they get their quality control issues fixed. I never had any problems with Kirkland Cuts in Gravy. Too bad Costco discontinued it. Kirkland Cuts cans were always packed full of meat.

  • theBCnut

    Please contact the FDA. If people don’t report, there won’t be an investigation.

  • LabsRawesome

    Which Costco dog food are you using?

  • Teresa rudd

    Thank you

  • You might also want to file a report with the FDA. Hope your little feels better soon.

    http://www.fda.gov/AnimalVeterinary/SafetyHealth/ReportaProblem/ucm182403.htm

  • Teresa rudd

    I will be returning all of my Costco dog food something is going on with it it’s stinks terrible is making my little dog sick and I think that something is going on that needs to be investigated

  • Pamme Serafine

    Our dogs are not having any gastrointestinal issues from the ND turkey & pea canned food–it’s me who is having an issue whenever I open a can from the case I bought a couple of weeks ago. With the current case, there is definitely more “gravy” added, and less of the cubed “meat”. The manufacturer has loaded up on the gravy portion and decreased the amount of cubed food since I first began buying this product several months ago. That is shortchanging the consumer–both the canine one and myself, the one with the financial and nutritional interest. I can’t find any link for getting my complaint heard other than this comment thread.

  • Melissa Aybar

    You are right and I agree. I was a bit upset when I wrote the comment and have adjusted it to not take it out on DFA. I still think this is a horrible food that has made plenty of dogs sick.

  • DogFoodie

    Wow. If I fed my dog the Orijen you recommended, I’d end up in the situation you’re in currently. DFA rates and recommends foods based on ingredients alone. Does that mean that every food is right for every dog? Obviously not. You wouldn’t believe the number of recommended foods that I’ve tried that my dog hasn’t tolerated. Not once have I ever blamed DFA for an adverse reaction that my dog has had to a food. It’s my responsibility to figure out those ingredients of which my dog is intolerant. Maybe you should use this experience to figure out the ingredient in the Nature’s Domain canned to which your dog reacted so that you can avoid it going forward.

  • Crazy4cats

    Check out the Kirkland Cuts in Gravy thread. There is a poster that recommends a cAnned food found at Safeway that is called Priority. It looks almost identical to it and very economical. I Have not tried it yet. Also Pure Balance and 4Health have good economical canned that you may want to try. I haven’t had any issues with the above rated food, but apparently, it’s not for every dog. Good luck!

  • binkster93

    You’re right. I just bought some 4health beef stew–they were out of the chicken. Thanks! I’ll keep everyone posted.

  • LabsRawesome

    I know you think it’s the fruit causing diarrhea, but just to be on the safe side, I wouldn’t get any 4health Stews w/turkey. ๐Ÿ™‚

  • binkster93

    HI to Labs and Crazy4! I’m going to tractor supply and try out the stews. I think it may be the fruit as that can give a dog the runs even though I don’t think there’s a whole lot in there.I’ll let you all know how it turns out and y’all can keep me posted if anyone’s dogs are doing well on the Tractor supply stews. Hey, at 16 and 3 months, I’m happy she’s still around and any extra time with my girl is (cuts and) gravy!

  • LabsRawesome

    Hi binkster93, it could be the Turkey that’s’ disagreeing with her. I feel your pain. I liked the Cuts In Gravy better too. Walmart’s Pure Balance Stews are very similar to the old Kirkland Cuts. I like the Puppy Stew the best, because it has hardly any gravy, so the cans are packed with meat. PB Stew sells for $1/can and us rated 5 stars on this site. I also use Tractor Supply’s 4health stews .99/can.

  • Crazy4cats

    Pure Balance stews found at Walmart are very similar. If I remember correctly, they are also manufactured by the same company as cuts in gravy. They are also nicely priced and have a few different flavors. Good luck!

  • binkster93

    Diarrhea and some regurgitation happening to my 16 year old dog with this stuff. I was feeding her the cuts n’ gravy for years with no problem. Now, all of a sudden, diarrhea and a few times she regurgitated the food. I wonder if it’s the fruit in the canned food. I know blueberries, etc. are great antioxidants, but dogs aren’t exactly frutarians. I introduced it very slowly and tried this a few times. Each time she’s back on the Natures Domain Turkey and Pea canned–diarrhea. I’m going to call my vet but anyone have any suggestions for a different food that is like the Kirkland Cut’s n’ Gravy? I’ve been feeding that to my dog for years with NO problems. I wish Costco would bring it back.

  • Sandra Dunn

    I have been feeding my bullies diamond extreme athlete for a while now. Just bought another bag 4 days ago and all my bullies have diareah. None are throwing up yet but I have a female that has drool hanging from both sides of her mouth for the past few days also. Is anyone else in here feed the extreme athlete and are u experiencing the same symptoms? Thanks

  • Dejรก Joy

    I mixed 1/4 canned food with their kibbles. I know about mixing food carefully and gradually for pets.

    My dogs are doing well with limited ingredient diet. Kirkland food is not for them.

  • michiganders

    Only 18 at our Costco.

  • michiganders

    You can’t just change a dogs food suddenly, you must gradually mix it. If not you will have problems and they might even stop eating it because they know it is making them sick.

  • fourdogs

    I do not find this to be true at all. I feed one of my dogs exclusively canned food and she has perfect stools.

  • fourdogs

    I had the same experience with ND Turkey/pea. I have four dogs and they all got diarrhea from it. For 3 I use it as a topper on kibble and for one she gets all canned due to her megaesophogus. I did return the food and complain, but I don’t know if it goes any further than just the returns department.

  • Crazy4cats

    Actually, as long as it is a complete balanced canned food, it is fine to feed alone without kibble. If it is a canned food that is labeled supplemental only, then yes, it should only be a “topper” for kibble. Obviously, however, in this case, this particular food is not agreeing with Carol’s pup for some reason and should be discontinued.

  • Hater & Molly’s Mom

    If my girls kept getting diarrhea from a canned food i would for sure change brands. I would not keep feeding it. It many not be that anything is wrong with the food. It sounds like it’s just not for your dog.

  • Jay

    Did you mix the canned dog food with kibbles Carol? They can’t eat it straight, it should be mixed. It’s like eating soup as humans day after day.. Your stool will get liquidity. I too, like Ruth will give my 3 dogs kirklands signature dog food a few times a week.

  • Ruth Kaempf

    We have a total of 8 dogs in our family and at least 3 of them live on Kirkland dog food only, without any issues whatsoever. The reason I discontinued the K’land kibble for my three is that I can no longer handle the 30# or over bags by myself.

  • Ruth Kaempf

    I doubt that there is something wrong with this food, I feed it to my doxies as a treat mixed with grain free kibble, although not regularly, only a couple of times a week. My dogs have stomachs made of iron and the only problem they ever had with diarrhea was when I fed them one of the Blue Wilderness kibbles. I don’t remember which concoction it was but I returned the bag to the pet store. Considering that Blue is very expensive and seldom on sale, I was surprised that it didn’t sit well with my dogs. Sometimes any food isn’t compatible with dogs, just like it is with people. For example our family cat was put to sleep when she was 22 years old and she was never sick, never had any cat food, ate people tuna, chewed up chicken bones and caught the occasional bird. All things that one is not supposed to feed a cat.

  • theBCnut

    Google FDA. There is a place to report on their website.

  • theBCnut

    Did you not get that she’s been feeding it for over a year now, and now it’s making her dog sick?

  • M Egan S Horttie

    Not to sound rude, but it’s not always the food, its the dog like people some are lactose intolerant and can’t drink anything with lactose or something, some foods upset our tummies too. I’m sure you went out to eat, and came home and ran to the bathroom, would it be the waitress/ waiters fault? I don’t think so, it was you made the order they just served it to you much like a dog who will eat anything and then regret it later lol.

    He or she may not be able to tolerate that food. i tried feeding my dog wet food and she had terrible diarehea I discontinued feeding it and shes doing great I always add lots of water to her dry food. ( and yes I also tried to introduce it slowly)

  • Carol L

    Fed my dogs Costco Kirkland Sig Nature’s domain canned dog food for at least a year now. In the past few months my pup’s BM’s got very loose and later, worsened with diarrhea. I changed the dog food and the problem went away. Returned to the Kirkland canned again–and the problem came back. (yes, I introduced it slowly back into their diet). I returned the remaining dog food to costco–telling them of the problem. They said there have been no other complaints. Same thing happened: diarrhea. Diarrhea went away when I stopped feeding them the Costco’s Kirkland’s ND. and started up again when I returned to the same food. Something is wrong with this food! What do I do–where do I report this?

  • Bobby dog

    thanks2him you can sign up for free dog food e-mail alerts here:

    http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/dog-food-recall-alerts/

  • aquariangt

    I’m glad you haven’t had an issue. I definitely have no desire to chance it.

  • Bob K

    Since this is a canned food, then it is not made by Diamond, but made for Diamond. I have never had an issue with Diamond Natural or Kirklands products dry kibble which are sold at Costco. in over 7 years.

  • aquariangt

    The biggest problem with Diamond is they don’t seem to learn from their mistakes, and the problem has come and gone more than once, and they didn’t handle themselves well.
    For the record, Diamond has NO canning facilities. Nature’s Domain, Taste of the wild, and other Diamond made dry brands use other companies to do their canning

  • Bob K

    Deja – Why the switch to Nature’s Domain? What were they eating previously? Did you slowly transition your dogs to Natures Domain over a week?

  • Bob K

    Diamond has several plants in the US and produces many dog foods both canned and dry. They produce tons of tog food daily. I have been feeding Diamond to my dogs for over 6 years without incident. If you are concerned buy another product. Companies usually learn from their mistakes, Bad press and sick dogs do not provide a good business or sales.

  • Bobby dog

    Yes, this is manufactured by Diamond. As your dog’s caretaker you would be the best to decide what you feel comfortable feeding your dog.

  • thanks2him

    Glad about the excellent review here on dogfoodadvisor. Have purchased and began feeding to my two 10 pound terriers. They like it ok, but they really don’t like any dog food much. My one concern is that if you take a look at the bottom of the label you can see that it is made by Schell & Kampeter. I believe this is the same company that made Diamond dog food and had some problems with Salmonella a couple of years back. Anyone have any information? How can we be sure it is safe?

  • DalTXJim

    The dogs we have that are eating ND Turkey/Pea Stew remain healthy and happy. No problems whatsoever!

  • Dejรก Joy

    I bought Nature’s Domain for my two young mastiffs and one senior pitbull. They threw up and had nasty diarrhea for a whole week!!! I tried to mix it with dry kibble or cooked rice but their symptoms didn’t change. I had to return it to Costco. I am not quite sure why it made them sick. ๐Ÿ™

  • LabsRawesome

    Thank You. I love them all so much. ๐Ÿ™‚

  • Hound Dog Mom

    What a cute picture!

  • Betsy Greer

    Mine are enjoying theirs also. I just bought more today. You absolutely cannot beat the price ~ $18.99 for 24 cans.

  • LabsRawesome

    My 3 have been on Nature’s Domain Turkey & Pea for over a month. They love it, and stools are perfect, small and firm.

  • Peter Farrell

    We’ve figured out that this Nature’s Domain causes really bad diarrhea in our dogs whereas with the old Cuts N’ Gravy all of our dogs were doing just fine. This wasn’t overnight, they were fine for a few days and then it all started up. We use it as a topper with normal kibble.

    We took them to the vet and they were parasite free. We discontinued all food and make homemade rice and chicken per the advice from our vet. Our dogs were fine on this and back to normal. We started to add items in their normal diet — day by day — one by one — to see what was causing issues. We restarted the Nature’s Domain Turkey wet food a week later and we were back to square one. That’s been the only change in their diet in the past six weeks so we were already suspect when this happened.

    Just word to the wise to keep an eye out on your dogs bowels if you switch to this. Your dog could be just fine and it could be that our dogs are sensitive to something or another in this new product. I’m just so disappointed because we used the Cuts N’ Gravy for over a year with great success. I guess you get what you pay for…

  • Betsy Greer

    I like it too. My Sam seems to be getting very picky. The only raw he’ll touch is MPC Tripe Supermix, which I don’t want to give him too often because it includes organs. I use it as a topper. He turned up his nose at a big bowl full of Darwin’s beef last night and ended up very eagerly eating a big bowl full of dry kibble. He does love canned food though and I’ve started giving him kibble with the new ND canned as a topper. I think I’ll stick with it for him for a while and am going to run to Costco at lunch one day this week and buy a couple more cases to have on hand. Turkey is great, I just wish they had other proteins in addition.

  • Crazy4cats

    This food is great! I finally gave it a try even though I have a few cases of the Cuts in Gravy still. My canned food cupboard is starting to look like Sandy’s! I think this new food looks and smells delicious. Oh yes, my dogs do too, LOL! I chatted with the buyer yesterday. She stated that depending on how this sells, they are seriously considering adding a Nature’s Domain canned cat food as well. So, everyone, buy up! BTW, the Turkey and Pea Stew is $20.79 for a case of 24 13.2 oz cans.

  • LabsRawesome

    I go thru 2 cans a day. Fromm would cost me $46.99 for six days worth of food. I get 12 days of Nature’s Domain for $20. That’s a huge difference in price and quantity. $20 for 12 days is totally doable. $46.99 for only 6 days, is not within my budget. Even the cheaper Fromm that Betsy mentioned would be $60 for 12 days. That’s outrageous. Nature’s Domain would still be the better buy.

  • neezerfan

    Just wanted to call that to people’s attention so they are not penny-wise and pound- foolish.

  • Betsy Greer

    Yeah, but the ND canned is just over $20 for 24 cans and on Chewy.com, the Fromm Four Star is $46.99 for 12 cans. I stink at math, but I got that one figured out pretty quick.

  • neezerfan

    I looked at the cans of this food the other day when I went to Costco. If you’re budget conscious, check the serving size of this food. My dog would get one full can a day. Fromm and Nature’s Variety are one half can a day. Whole Earth Farms is 3/4 can a day. So keep that in mind when you are considering price.

  • Betsy Greer

    Probably just a fluke. It should be by its star rating alone. It’s probably just a software glitch.

  • Shaggy

    It’s a tuly great canned!

  • Dog Lover Plus

    Why isn’t Natureโ€™s Domain Grain Free (Canned) included on the Best Grain free wet list? It has a 5-Star rating.

  • Mickey’s Dad

    Mickey is loving this food as a topper. Then again Mickey will eat anything. I’m glad that we have a 5 star canned food again that I can get a Costco.

  • Crazy4cats

    Hey Joey-
    Labs is right. Nature’s Domain canned is Turkey Stew. But, mostly I want to say, GO HAWKS! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ I haven’t tried the turkey and pea stew yet as I still have a bunch of the former Kirkland canned food left. Good luck with your dog, your pet sitting business and our upcoming football season!

  • LabsRawesome

    Nature’s Domain canned is made with Turkey. Not Chicken. It’s called Nature’s Domain Turkey And Pea Stew. I just wanted to correct your post, in case someone reads it and gets confused. ๐Ÿ™‚

  • Joey Yates

    Hey guys! we picked up a case of ND a few weeks ago for our Goldendoodle Harry who is a really picky eater. He had been eating EVO Chicken and Turkey or Turkey and Chicken if it was available. And the ONLY kibble he will eat regularly Lotus Oven Baked Grain Free Duck. Being Costco members we noticed the new ND line and I came here and started in 3 stars lol. I was excited when i saw it was 5. 24 cans for around 20 bucks compared to 12 cans for around 30……. hmmmmmm?
    First reviews were mixed. It is much thicker than i had expected and I think my boy can see the carrots and doesnt like them. My thoughts on the chicken are this. If i was a dog Id love it. Me and my wife love some chicken nuggets or a microwave chicken sandwich and thats what the chicken appears to be like. Mechanically separated chicken I think its called. I am in no way saying it is not a quality ingredient for our pups. I love it myself and will give it to my man over a meal-loaded, grain-loaded food any day. There is also A LOT of it.He loves the gravy but after having the EVO for a while he is not a beast for the chicken like he is for his EVO.
    We are pet sitters and we have had at least 7-8 dogs over since I got this and everyone of them has liked it so it is just my Doodle thats picky. However over the past few days he has actually been more receptive to it. We have a pup over here now who has the Merrick Wing-a-ling meals and this appears to be the exact same food only without the chicken wing and the meat is whiter. I will buy some more EVO but Ill always have a case of this around for guest pups whos owners feed them garbage and to conserve the expensive stuff. I just wish I could get him to touch an unbaked kibble……. flipin doodles XD

  • Betsy Greer

    That’s awesome Christy!

  • ChristySpeaks

    Just tried this a few days ago — the canned Turkey Stew with Peas. I’m ecstatic about it! I have a severely diabetic Walker Hound. With this food I have been able to cut his insulin back by 3/4s. So, I highly recommend anyone with a diabetic dog to try this! It costs lots less than the “prescription diet” dog foods and, obviously, is better since it is controlling his blood sugar levels.

    Thank you Nature’s Domain/Kirkland!

    (Prior to this I was using Kirkland’s Cuts and Gravy but it didn’t control his blood sugar nearly as well as this. I was so upset when they discontinued it, but now I’m glad they did. This is so much better!)

  • Betsy Greer

    Ah ha! For most of us, the Turkey and Pea Stew is the new product. Is your Costco carrying and canned products right now? Crazy4Cats is our resident Costco expert, so I’ll look for her and ask what she thinks.

    Are you comfortable mentioning at which Costco you shop?

  • Laura Livingston

    Hi Betsy,
    My Costco discontinued the Nature’s Domain Grain Free Turkey and Pea Stew, so I wondered if anybody knows what they would replace it with? In some earlier posts, it sounded like they were rolling out a new product.

  • Betsy Greer

    Hi Laura,

    I’m not sure if I understand your question, but the Nature’s Domain Turkey and Pea Stew is the new grain free canned food at Costco. Kirkland Cuts in Gravy was discontinued and this new product offering was introduced afterward.

  • Laura Livingston

    Is the new food grain free like the ND Turkey Stew with Peas?

  • Love Sophie

    Well, DA, you were a lot smarter than I to have stocked up on the Cuts and Gravy! FOUR LABS— phew, nice you got enough to tide them over!

    Alas, my Helena, MT site had only about 12 cases of ND stocked when I finally could pick-it-up-after-not-realizing-I-bought-the-last-case-of-cuts-and-gravy-I’d-ever-obtain-but-my-dogs-loved..grrrr..

    I’ve bought only one case ND for now as who would know what “they’d” like? (They = the four-paw-shed-make-us-smile-over-125-times-per-day machines!) Next time = I’m getting enough for the outdate time for the year. THEY LOVE THIS and IT’S SUCH A GOOD FOOD! And I agree w/ LabsRawesome- the ‘outcome’ is suitable!

    I use ND canned w/ ‘Mature Dog’ and ‘Small Dog’ kibble from Costco. Also, as LabsRawesome indicates– the cans are fully packed, not watery and the turkey is small enough to suit our Chihuahua, (Lily,) of the “3-dog-night” crew.

  • Dumbass

    I’ve been following this site for a couple months. When I read that Kirkland Cuts was being discontinued, I stocked up on it, to hold my 4 black Labs over till the arrival of Nature’s Domain. They love it.

  • Love Sophie

    Hello. I am so GLAD to have joined DFA site and find comments on the “replacement” Costco wet food when they discontinued “Cuts and Gravy.” The new ND “Turkey” wasn’t available in Helena until after 7/7/14! (I wished I’d bought 3-4 cases of “Cuts and Gravy” back in late May, when I discovered it, but didn’t realize they’d d/c it then… ah, if only… that was such a good product… why make it go away?)

    In any event.. I’m HAPPY to say the new Nature’s Domain product is well rec’d by the “3-dog-night” crew!

  • LabsRawesome

    I gave ND to my 3 yesterday. It was a hit with all 3. All outputs were normal. The chunks are small in this food. About the same size as Pure Balance canned. So way smaller than KCIG. Which is good because I don’t need to chop up the chunks for my little guy. 3 paws up for ND. The cans are packed full, with just a small amount of gravy. Hopefully they’ll come out with another protein source, for some variety.

  • Crazy4cats

    Or… Is there another Costco that you would be willing to drive to that might have it? I haven’t got any yet as I bought 4 cases of the Cuts in Gravy before it ran out.

  • Crazy4cats

    My fingers are crossed! Have you tried the Pure Balance stew that you can buy at Walmart? It is $1 per can and it is very similar to Kirkland Cuts in my opinion. Maybe that could hold you over until the Nature’s Domain comes in.

  • mtagntz

    I really hope so! My dog just had surgery and has to be on canned food for at least a month, We normally would buy the select cuts but panicked once I found out that is discontinued. Hopefully they get this in soon!!

  • Crazy4cats

    Just looked it up and it appears that Bellingham has sold out of it’s original supply and has 192 cases on order. The expected arrival date was yesterday, however, I see that they are not even in transit yet. That means it will at least be a few more days. At least it’s selling! Maybe they will keep this one around!

  • mtagntz

    I just called them today and they said in Bellingham they should have been here yesterday, but they aren’t available yet. Any ideas?

  • theBCnut

    Excellent!! The only lingering issue I see is that the comments that were posted during that timeframe disappeared.

  • Good news. It looks like we’re finally up and running again. We had installed an updated version of the Disqus plugin on our servers late yesterday. And of course, it didn’t work without a manual re-start a little while ago.

  • theBCnut

    Are we back to normal again? This is the first comment I’ve seen show up on recent comments in 18 hours.

  • Testing Disqus

  • Crazy4cats

    Oh good, except I have three cases of the cuts in gravy still. Have you tried it?

  • Dave’s Hounds

    I picked it up at Costco in Seattle for 19.99

  • Crazy4cats

    Hooray! I have a friend that has a pup with a cleft palate. I didn’t think it was very common. Glad yours is doing well!

  • DalTXJim

    We purchased 2 cases of the ND Turkey & Stew at the Rockwall, TX (East side of Dallas, TX) location today (6-21-14). 24 cans for $19.99. I’m happy to report that the food (appearance wise) is similar to the Kirkland Cuts & Gravy, with the food portions being about 1/4 the size of the Cuts & Gravy, which we like. We have a dog that has had 3 surgeries for a hole in his palate, so he must eat soft food. The Cuts & Gravy chunks were too large and had to be mashed, but not with the ND Turkey & Stew! Also, there are a lot of small green bits in the food, which must be the spinach. All in all, we’re excited that Costco kept the recipe similar, yet tweaked it with a few changes. A taste test proved Costco has another winner!

  • Crazy4cats

    Ok, new forecast:
    The NW region has the Turkey Stew in transit. Should be there by today or tomorrow! A few Texas and NE locations are being shipped as well.

  • Bobby dog

    You’re the doppler radar of dog food!!!!

  • Crazy4cats

    Hi All-
    Update:
    Looks like the Turkey Stew is rolling into the Mid West, San Diego and South East regions. Everyone else still on order! Hang tight.

  • LabsRawesome

    YES!!!! LMAO.

  • Crazy4cats

    Yay! Are you going to buy all 192 cases?

  • LabsRawesome

    Hey C4C, Just got off the phone with my Costco, and they said KS ND Stew is on order. One hundred and 92 units. YAY! Oh and the correct item # is 895073.

  • DalTXJim

    Costco tells me the item # for the ND Turkey Stew is going to be 895073 and should start being available this week (6-16-14) in the Dallas, TX area.

    Costco in Rockwall, TX states the packs are 24 cans for $19.99. Not available as of 6-15-14. Costco Plano states they are arriving on 6-19-14 at $19.99 for 24 cans.

  • swak

    say it

    richarddarlington.com

  • Crazy4cats

    No problem. I’m good with numbers, but wish I could remember names and more important things better!

  • Kim

    Thank you so much!! The second number was correct. What a good memory. I was told that they will have them by the end of this month. Thank you again!

  • Crazy4cats

    Going off memory 895063 or 895073? Tell them KSND Turkey Stew.

  • Kim

    Bellingham Costco doesn’t have this item on order in their system, and wants to know the code. Can anyone tell me what the code is please? Thank you in advance!

  • Mickey’s Dad

    Ask and we shall receive. Thanks for the quick review!

  • Crazy4cats

    Oh yes, I have those 4 boxes of the trial size HK also, that I just had to have because they were such a great deal! In addition to the 4 cases of Cuts in Gravy!

  • Crazy4cats

    Looks like the Mid West states are getting the Turkey Stew in now. All of the rest of us… still on order.

  • neezerfan

    I’d be first on line except I have 3 cases of cans already, 2 boxes of HK and 5 bags of freeze dried….

  • Germansheppups

    Thanks!

  • Crazy4cats

    It will be $20.79 for 24 13.2 oz cans at most locations. Prices sometimes can vary a little.

  • Germansheppups

    Great news – I wonder what the price will be.

  • LabsRawesome

    Haha, I do too!! I’ll go thru it quick tho. ๐Ÿ™‚

  • Crazy4cats

    Yes, but I have four cases of the cuts in gravy to use up first! Lol!

  • LabsRawesome

    # AWESOME!!!

  • Crazy4cats

    Woo Hoo! This should be in most Costcos by the end of the week!