Kirkland Cuts in Gravy (Canned)

Share

Rating: ★★★★★

Kirkland Cuts in Gravy Dog Food receives the Advisor’s top rating of 5 stars.

The Kirkland Cuts in Gravy product line includes two canned dog foods, each claimed to meet AAFCO nutrient profiles for growth and maintenance.

The following is a list of recipes available at the time of this review.

  • Kirkland Cuts in Gravy with Beef and Vegetables
  • Kirkland Cuts in Gravy with Chicken and Vegetables

Kirkland Cuts in Gravy with Beef and Vegetables was selected to represent both in the line for this review.

Kirkland Cuts in Gravy with Beef and Vegetables

Canned Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 44% | Fat = 28% | Carbs = 20%

Ingredients: Chicken, beef broth, chicken broth, chicken liver, beef, dried egg whites, dried egg product, potatoes, potato starch, carrots, peas, natural flavor, dried beet pulp, flaxseed meal, salt, guar gum, sodium phosphate, potassium chloride, sodium carbonate, vitamins (vitamin E supplement, thiamine mononitrate, niacin supplement, d-calcium pantothenate, vitamin A supplement, riboflavin supplement, biotin, vitamin B12 supplement, pyridoxine hydrochloride, vitamin D3 supplement, folic acid), minerals (ferrous sulfate, zinc oxide, copper proteinate, sodium selenite, manganese sulfate, potassium iodide), choline chloride

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 8.3%

Red items when present indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis8%5%NA
Dry Matter Basis44%28%20%
Calorie Weighted Basis34%51%15%

The first ingredient in this dog food includes chicken. Chicken is considered “the clean combination of flesh and skin… derived from the parts or whole carcasses of chicken”.1

The next two ingredients include beef broth and chicken broth. Broths are nutritionally empty. But because they add both flavor and moisture to a dog food they are a common addition component in many canned products.

The fourth item is chicken liver. This is an organ meat sourced from a named animal and thus considered a beneficial component.

The fifth ingredient lists beef. Beef is defined as “the clean flesh derived from slaughtered cattle” and includes skeletal muscle or the muscle tissues of the tongue, diaphragm, heart or esophagus.1

Beef is naturally rich in all ten essential amino acids required by a dog to sustain life.

The sixth ingredient is dried egg whites. Eggs whites are highly digestible and an excellent source of usable protein.

The seventh ingredient is dried egg product, a dehydrated form of shell-free eggs. Quality can vary significantly. Lower grade egg product can even come from commercial hatcheries — from eggs that have failed to hatch.

In any case, eggs are easy to digest and have an exceptionally high biological value.

The eighth item is potato. Assuming they’re cooked, potatoes can be considered a gluten-free source of digestible carbohydrates. Yet with the exception of perhaps their caloric content, potatoes are of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

The ninth item lists potato starch. Potato starch is a gluten-free carbohydrate used more for its thickening properties than its nutritional value.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With three notable exceptions

First, beet pulp is a controversial ingredient, a high fiber by-product of sugar beet processing.

Some denounce beet pulp as an inexpensive filler while others cite its outstanding intestinal health and blood sugar benefits.

We only call your attention here to the controversy and believe the inclusion of beet pulp in reasonable amounts in most dog foods is entirely acceptable.

Next, flaxseed is one of the best plant sources of healthy omega-3 fatty acids. Provided they’ve first been ground into a meal, flax seeds are also rich in soluble fiber.

However, flaxseed contains about 19% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

And lastly, this food also contains one chelated mineral, a mineral that has been chemically attached to protein. This makes it easier to absorb. Chelated minerals are usually found in better dog foods.

Kirkland Cuts in Gravy Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Judging by its ingredients alone, Kirkland Cuts in Gravy Dog Food looks to be an above-average wet product.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 44%, a fat level of 28% and estimated carbohydrates of about 20%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 44% and a mean fat level of 28%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 20% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 63%.

Above-average protein. Above-average fat. And below-average carbs when compared to a typical canned dog food.

Even when you consider the protein-boosting effect of the flaxseed, this looks like the profile of a wet product containing a significant amount of meat.

Bottom line?

Kirkland Cuts in Gravy is a meat-based canned dog food using a significant amount of chicken as its main source of animal protein, thus earning the brand 5 stars.

Enthusiastically recommended.

Please note certain recipes are sometimes given a higher or lower rating based upon our estimate of their total meat content.

Special Alert

Rice ingredients can sometimes contain arsenic. Until the US FDA establishes safe upper levels for arsenic content, pet owners may wish to limit the total amount of rice fed in a dog's daily diet.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, our rating system is not intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in specific health benefits for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

To learn how we support the cost of operating this website, please visit our public Disclosure and Disclaimer page.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Notes and Updates

02/12/2012 Original review
08/22/2013 Review updated
08/22/2013 Last Update

  1. Association of American Feed Control Officials
  2. Association of American Feed Control Officials
  • LabsRawesome

    Hi Little dude, I don’t think that KCIG has ever been available on Costco.com I found another page with info on it. http://costcocouple.com/kirkland-signature-cuts-and-gravy-dog-food/

  • Crazy4cats

    It has not been discontinued. I don’t believe it has ever been available on the website. Unless, perhaps it was on the business delivery site. Most items in the stores are not available online and visa versa. Do you have a store nearby? It is a definitely a great value if you have it available in your area.

  • Little dude

    Has Kirkland cuts and gravy been discontinued? I just tried to look it up on costcos website but couldn’t find it.

  • Cyndi
  • Jjennilee Flowerbuddys

    euthanized dogs and cats ? how can you tell that by the ingredients listed?

  • Pattyvaughn

    You mean you don’t have a boldlock button?

  • LabsRawesome

    Lmao. I have been feeling strongly today, haven’t I ? :)

  • Pattyvaughn

    LOL Labs!! Is your boldlock stuck today or are you feeling strongly?

  • LabsRawesome

    Diamond does not can anything. They do not have a cannery. Kirkland cuts In Gravy is made by Simmons. It doesn’t bother me that the Beef has more Chicken in it. I use Kirkland Cuts and for variety (in meats) I use 4health canned and a couple other brands. http://simmonspetfood.simmonsglobal.com/our-company/

  • Crazy4cats

    Actually, it is made by Simmons. Yes, I agree that the beef type probably contains as much or more chicken than beef. However, I have used this food a lot and my dogs do great with it. It has chunks of meat and it mixes well with kibble. It’s not too soupy either. Unfortunately, that’s how labeling works. There was talk about that on another thread just this week about the new Whole Earth Farms grain free label being misleading. Good luck!

  • Pattyvaughn

    I haven’t heard that Diamond cans anything. They do make the dry though.

  • Mama DeeDee

    We recently bought, and then returned, the Kirkland Cuts and Gravy because:
    1. we learned that Diamond is the manufacturer. Diamond has had their share of recalls.
    2. After checking the label more closely, I also was bothered by the fact that Beef was not the first ingredient, Chicken is. Beef is the 5th ingr. down on the list.
    Disappointed with the labeling.
    Too bad as this canned food recieved a high rating and was very affordable.

  • LabsRawesome

    Hi Maggie, yes it is grain free. :)

  • Maggie

    Is Kirkland Cuts and Gravy grain free?

  • lmp

    I just bought a case from Costco after reading the many, many reviews about it. Our lab mix is driving us nuts (although we love her). She has acid reflux, which after trying different options we finally put her on pepcid and that seemed to solve the problem. Now she is throwing up (food, not bile) about once a week at 4 or 5 IN THE MORNING, this was also the same time she was throwing up bile before we put her on meds- never during the day. We are feeding her 3 times a day (as recommended by our vet) and mixing her dry food with water. We are hoping that switching her dry food again (this time to Nature’s Domain) for her morning and afternoon meals and giving her the canned food for her evening that will solve the problem. If anyone has any ideas, thoughts, suggestions I would be so appreciative.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Glad to hear your dogs are doing so well on this food! If you want to add in some more variety but still keep it budget-friendly I’d recommend also checking out Pure Balance canned at Walmart (also a 5 star rating and only $1 per can) or 4Health at Tractor Supply (4.5 stars and only $0.99 per can).

  • Tiffani Hallan

    I have all 4 dogs on cuts in gravy 100% now. They are doing really well! Shiny coats, and their stool is much smaller than any kibble I’ve ever fed. Really like this food! And at a price decent enough to be able to feed 67lbs worth of dogs :) Very surprisingly pleased!

  • Tiffani Hallan

    A little update. I’ve been rotating Cuts In Gravy with other canned foods and dry and the dogs are doing well. My chihuahua eats canned only and this stuff gives her the best poops ever :) My sensitive poodle does fine with it mixed in with his kibble as a topper as well and the other 2 are great with it too! Happy to find such a good price on a good food to rotate with!

  • The Katman

    Kikki,
    Our boxer has a similar habit. I fill half her dish with the canned food and place the kibbles next to the wet food. Since she has a puss only a mother could love, she shoves the canned food around a bit and gets the gravy on it. She comes back later for her evening snack and wolfs down the bit of kibble I gave her.
    Also, the Kirkland dog treat bones are very good. It’s all we feed the dog and for a picky eater, she loves them. And they too, are inexpensive like the Kirkland dry and wet food.

  • The Katman

    There isn’t much better dog dry or canned dog foo out there than the Costco brand, Kirkland. It gets very high marks here and our boxer loves the food.

    And the best part is that it is 4 or 5 star food that costs less than half of what the name brands cost. Win/Win.

  • Robin Colledge

    Have it back in Gilbert also. Very good food. My dog loves it.

  • Bulldognumba10

    I have 3 Great Pyrenees and they get a combination of Wellness Puppy and Blue buffalo puppy dry with homemade ground chicken, thyme, and certain veggies-They love it and their size is X-Large;-)

  • Betsy Greer

    That’s great news, Bee! Glad Costco was listening to their members!

  • Bee

    Kirkland Cuts and Gravy is now back in my Tucson Costco! Maybe I wasn’t the only one writing corporate! YAY!

  • Kikki

    Aaaaw! Bummer! That would’ve been awesome. Wish there was someone nearby that shared my interest in dog food. Would’ve been awesome to do halvsies on new foods to try and such. People at our dog park all feed mainstream brands. Wellness and Blue Buffalo at best or low quality grocery store brands like Pedigree and Cesars(!!!). At least I managed to get one family feeding Pedigree to switch to Wellness Core and now Earthborn ..

  • jaycee1258

    too bad you dont live in stl kikki, we could go halvsies. my dogs like both but would be fine with the beef only.

  • Eldee

    Some dogs have a difficult time digesting rice, since their pancreas does not secrete enough amylase to fully digest it. I think it is best to feed grain free canned and kibble, just my opinion.

  • Kikki

    Although both flavors are chicken based with the beef containing some beef broth and beef, all 3 dogs unanimously prefer the chicken flavor. Too bad I can’t get that flavor only.

  • Tiffani Hallan

    I just bought a case of this to try today since it is rated 5 stars. I’m hoping the dogs do ok with this added in as a topper. I don’t feed any of the dry foods from Costco. I rotate around with Fromm grain frees usually and Petguard Lifespan. How are everyone’s dogs doing with these?

  • Strey

    Glad to say my Mishka went from eating Pulsars fish formula then was directly switched to Natures variety Lamb & Oatmeal without any problems :)

  • Kikki

    I figured with all marked up prices for anything related to pets, it’ll be difficult to find any good budget foods with proteins that are more expensive. I think I’ll settle for canned fish. It’s 100% fish and still cheaper than any quality fish-based canned dog food. I saw 14-15 oz cans of mackerel and pink salmon for below $2 today.

  • Crazy4cats

    Hey thanks, Kikki, I’ll watch for that. My store did not have the 95% beef, so I did buy the other and there really isn’t that much rice in at all. Very happy with it. Still hoping to find something similar in a lamb, turkey or fish flavor.

  • Kikki

    Just went on a nightly stroll with hubby to Walmart to pick up some stuff. Figured I might as well pick up a few Pure Balaned beef variety. Never noticed the 95% was “Beef and Chicken”. So I went for the regular beef with rice and veggies. Make sure you get the right kind that’s completely non-chicken.

  • Kikki

    So I finally picked up a case when I stopped by Costco to give this great bargain food another try. Our 3 dogs got to share a can, 1/3 each, over their kibbles. They all ate it. Our picky eater, Trip, did exactly what I expected him to. Ate all the soft chunks and licked the bowl dry of all gravy leaving the kibbles behind and then begging for more canned. I let him see and smell the empty can as evidence. After a few minutes, he agreed on finishing his kibbles (he must’ve been hungry after all the running ang playing at the dog park earlier)

    Going to keep an eye on them and see how the poop looks like tonight just in case.

  • Smoove

    I have 3 Danes also. We use the cuts and gravy to bribe the older dane to eat. the 3yr old dane has a very sensistive stomach and she does great with the cuts and gravy

  • Bee

    I say the same thing!!

  • Crazy4cats

    Oh yes, they know. I love my labs, adore my cats, and my husband and kids are ok too. :-)

  • Crazy4cats

    Well, Bee, have you guys been misbehaving down there? It is strange you are the only region without your precious cuts in gravy. Everyone better straighten up soon so you can get it back! Lol! The good news is that it is not a pending delete item and you should be getting it back. Or…..I guess you’ll just have to move!

  • Bee

    Are you SURE we’re not being punished? :)
    Just got a few cans of Pure Balance and will try it when my Cuts n’ Gravy runs out. Due to the smaller can and increased cost, I will be spending about $40 more a month on food. Cuts and Gravy-come back! I miss you already, and you left so suddenly. I feel like someone who’s boyfriend broke up with them via text.

  • Bee

    Thank you–I see now where I messed up. I went and bought some today–95% and the regular kind. I have a month’s worth left of Kirkland cuts and gravy and will slowly introduce the Pure balance over a period of a few weeks. I love Labs! I hope yours know how well-loved they are!

  • Kikki

    My Walmart carries 3-4 flavours and I normally just get 1 or 2 of each depending on how many I’m buying, they all have the same consistency so I never pay attention to which flavor I feed it. I think there’s some salmon in the Pure Balance beef although not a lot. Found a can of pink salmon laying around and gave it to the dogs after reading recommendations about canned fish, the dogs love it so I’ll keep on giving that but if you happen to find a budget canned fish variety, please do share!

    Now when I think about it.. I recall seeing on Variety’s website that they has a salmon flavor because I vaguely remember being upset about my Walmart not carrying it. Gonna go double check and see if there’s any other retailers in my area that might be carrying more flavors.

  • Crazy4cats

    Hi Bee-
    Thats funny! I highly doubt you are being punished. I don’t work at the corporate office, so I’m not sure who to talk to other than customer service. I work in a distribution office now, after several years in a store. We don’t always know why they do what they do! Funny thing is your region will still be getting the other type of canned food in. Who knows?? I’ll keep an eye on it and let you know if it goes back on order for your region. Another thing, Costco employees never want to recommend anyone going to Walmart or Sam’s, but the Pure Balance canned food is very similar to the Kirkland. But… Kirkland is a larger can and is still cheaper! Hope it comes back soon. Good luck!

  • Bee

    Thanks for the info. Why, of why, is our region being punished? The area you described is full of people who buy super-premium dog food. Is there a way to complain or a way to get a petition going or can you give me a name, number or email of someone I can directly talk to rather than costco customer service?

  • Crazy4cats

    Actually, I can’t see that much. Only that just about every location in the US has it and also has some on order except for the SanDiego region. Which again, includes Colorado, Arizona and Southern California. I have noticed that Christmas stuff is starting to arrive and we only carry a limited number of SKUs at any one time. But, I’m going to have to agree that it’s weird replacing the dog food with it. Everything is ordered through the corporate office. Often, the store employees have no idea why or when products come and go.

  • Betsy Greer

    Do you see that it looks as though the product offering is going to be temporarily suspended during the holiday season?

  • Crazy4cats

    Hi Kikki-
    Yes, I agree. I personally do not like the consistency at all either! It’s a little too gummy or sticky. But, my dogs don’t seem to mind. Lol! However, it does have decent ingredients at a good price. They have a lamb flavor that I like to buy. I haven’t found a good budget canned fish variety yet. I suppose that I could use sardines though. I hear a lot of people recommend them on this website.

  • Crazy4cats

    Hi Bee-
    I work for Costco and I just checked the computer inventory because you scared me when you said it was deleted. Looks like every region is still getting it, but the San Diego region, which looks like it includes the Southern California states and Arizona. Weird?

  • KarenC

    This is a valid excuse for a vacation! They don’t ship the cans, unfortunately. I wish!

  • Kikki

    I love Costco! Won’t they ship it? Maybe when ur going out of town to somewhere they have a Costco, you can stock up LOL! If ur ever happened to go to southern CA, I’ll personally take you Costco shopping ;)

  • Kikki

    I used Variety canned food a lot in the past but I don’t think the dogs liked the thick pate consistency. Our boy that’s the least food motivated out of the 3 would never clean his bowl because he found it too much of a hassle to get the paste off the surface of the bowl. It’s been a few months since they had it, maybe I’ll go get some and see how they like it now.

  • Crazy4cats

    Yes, that’s exactly what I do, buy the Kirkland canned for chicken and then go to Walmart for the beef variety. The pure balance beef smells really good! Walmart also sells the Variety canned food at a great price. I believe it’s a 4 star food.

  • KarenC

    I soooo wish we had Costco here. I want to try this food so bad! This is Sam’s country. The local Sam’s manager couldn’t tell me if they’d ever have Pure Balance by the case.

  • Kikki

    Think it’s time to give it another try after last time’s failure. Will go pick up a case next time I go to Costco. I would say the only thing that’s a bit of a bummer is that the beef flavor is chicken based so there’s really little to no difference in the 2 flavors. I feel like it’s a marketing trick to make us feel good, thinking that we’re giving our dogs some variety. With that said, it’s still such a bargain that I’ll put my 2 cents in my pocket and maybe go pick up a few cans of the beef flavored Pure Balance that contains no chicken when I want some real variety.

  • Kikki

    My warehouse was fully stocked. Thanks for the update btw, considered going and stocking up on a few cases LOL. My dogs got sick last time I tried Cuts in Gravy so I returned the food, however 2 weeks later one of the dogs got sick again so I think it was something else going around and just a coincidence that I was trying Cuts in Gravy for the first time that day. I’m going to give the food another try.

  • Crazy4cats

    Hi Bee-
    Actually both brands have approximately the same amount of fiber. The 8.3% you see above on the Kirkland food is converted into a dry matter content. Where the 1.5% on the can is not converted. If you look on the Kirkland brand it also lists fiber at 1.5% on the can. I use both brands and my dogs love them both. Of course, however, they are labs and love everything! Good luck!

  • Bee

    Could you mail me some ? :)

  • Andrew J Traxler

    i bought it today.Madison, WI

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    I give about 1/4 – 1/2 tsp of ground psyllium sometimes when giving canned foods.

  • Betsy Greer

    You’re welcome, Bee!

    Yes, that is a big difference in fiber. The canned pumpkin helps, I’m sure. You might also talk to your vet about adding some Metamucil to her food also.

    Keep us posted! : )

  • Bee

    Betsy
    Thanks so much. I can read it and I’m making a copy to take to my vet. My problem is that it only has 1.5% fiber and the Kirkland had 8.3%. My dog needs fiber or it’s hard for her to go to the bathroom. Even with the Kirkland Cuts N’ Gravy, I give her canned pumpkin to add fiber. You have been a HUGE help to me and other–thanks and enjoy what’s left of the weekend.I’m very grateful for your help and time.

  • Betsy Greer

    Yes, Simmons makes both Pure Balance and Kirkland Cuts In Gravy.

  • Bee

    Thank you so much! Do you know who makes this for WalMart? I think someone said Simmons, who makes Kirkland canned food.

  • Betsy Greer

    Wow, the label came off easier than I thought it would. Hope this isn’t too tiny to read though.

  • Betsy Greer

    Hi Bee,

    You know what, I Iooked on their site the other night when I responded to your post and I couldn’t find it either. I know they put items on their site that they only sell in stores. My suggestion would be to call the store and ask if they carry it.

    Be careful when you look for it in the store, it looks almost identical to the regular Pure Balance. I attached a photo I took, the 95% is the one on the right, the “regular” grain inclusive formula is on the left. I tried to take a picture of the ingredients for you, but it’s too hard to read on the can. I’m going to see if I can take a label off and if I can and it’s still legible, I’ll post it for you.

  • Pattyvaughn

    It’s just starting to come out so many stores don’t have it yet.

  • Bee

    Where can you find the Pure Balance 95%? I searched all over the Walmart site and online–no mention of it. http://www.walmart.com/search/search-ng.do?search_query=pure+balance+95%25&ic=16_0&Find=Find&search_constraint=5440

  • Bee

    I know–it’s crazy. Everyone I know who feeds canned foods loves it.

  • LabsRawesome

    Tell them to quit carrying Beneful instead. :)

  • Betsy Greer

    I hear that! My poor Cavalier’s ear are downright gross at times!

  • LabsRawesome

    Lmao, too cute! I need one of those for my Springer, his ears are always getting in his food. :)

  • Betsy Greer
  • neezerfan

    UH-OH, just read the above. Will go post-haste and buy it!

  • neezerfan

    No, not yet. I still have about a case of cans left to use before I buy more food. And some Darwin’s. I was at Costco last week and spoke to a woman who was looking at it. I think I convinced her to try it. I’m pretty sure I’ll try it. If it becomes too messy I’ll donate it. Keep you posted….

  • Betsy Greer

    That’s crazy!

    That tells me that sales of the item are tremendous and therefore the products take up a very large amount of warehouse space for them as a result. They have to know how limiting the offering is going to be very injurious to their brand’s loyalty; but, they’re not dummies and they know what their profits are from dog food versus other items.

  • LabsRawesome

    Did you ever try Kirklands?

  • LabsRawesome

    What upcoming holiday season? That really makes no sense. I mean it’s not like there’s a bunch of seasonal stuff for dogs. WEIRD. I just picked up a case yesterday and my warehouse was fully stocked with product.

  • Bee

    Latest info from Costo:
    The information provided to us indicates it was temporarily discontinued due to the upcoming Holiday Season, possibly due to space restrictions, or maybe lower predicted sales, but it has not been recalled.

    Unfortunately, this item is not currently available for delivery from our website, and is also not available at any warehouse in Arizona at this time.

    Thank you,

    Matt
    Costco

  • Bee

    Got an answer from Costco (I live in Southern Arizona) It has NOT been discontinued in all stores, but is set to return to my area in mid-December. I asked why and am waiting for an answer.

  • Betsy Greer

    Make sure you look for the Pure Balance 95% as they also make a Pure Balance that’s grain inclusive. The grain inclusive variety typically sells for $1.00 per can.

  • Bee

    I’ll have to look into Pure Balance, as I can’t afford to buy one of the top brands. Thank you so much. I’ll let everyone know if I find anything out from Costco.

  • Bee

    I guess yours has a few left or the two people who checked for me (one a manager) were wrong. I just wrote Costco corporate to find out. Thanks so much for the info!

  • Betsy Greer

    Hi Bee,

    Yes, carbs feed cancer. I’d look for something grain free. You might like Merrick’s 96%. It’s grain free and it’s complete and balanced. The consistency is different than the Kirkland…, it’s not chunky like the Kirkland and, you could expect to pay around $2.65 per can compared to about .75 for a can of the Kirkland. Oh, wait… I just remembered another option for you, at Wal-Mart, their new Pure Balance 95% is grain free and it sells for $1.25 per can. It’s made by Simmons, the same people who make Kirkland’s product.

    That completely stinks that Costco discontinued the product! You’re right, the quality for the price cannot be beat.

  • Kikki

    My Costco still carries it, I was there just yesterday.

  • Bee

    I was just told that Costo has deleted this product from all stores. Does anyone know why? My dog has done very well on Cuts and Gravy and it costs 1/3 of what a premium of this quality would usually cost. Anyone else in my position? I’m thinking of switching to Kirkland’s canned Lamb or Chicken and Rice but my dog is a cancer survivor and my vet told me to feed her very low-carb food. Any suggestions would be welcome. I wish they would have given me warning.

  • Pattyvaughn

    I’m assuming your BC has short hair on its muzzle, like mine. They never get any food on their face, but dogs with long hair around their muzzle frequently get the juices/gravies from wet food on their faces.

  • blevink

    We have a border collie and I have never seen it on her face after she eats. I think it is because she likes it so much she makes sure there is not a drop left. Between out two dogs we have never had an issue with a mess. With Costco if you tried a can and were unsatisfied you can return it no question asked. We have been highly satisfied with our Kirkland cuts in gravy and dry food.

  • Pattyvaughn

    I would expect if he gets gravy on his face, this food would do it.

  • neezerfan

    Is this food very messy? My dog is drop coat/ long haired. I really want to try this food but I don’t want to have to wash his face every day. Wish I could buy one can to try.

  • Strey

    Thats interesting!, I do give her a different canned food every few days without a gradual transition…So i think ill try directly switching her to the next kibble and see how she handles it. ill probably throw in some pumpkin just in case :)

  • InkedMarie

    Reading what you said above makes sense except that, for me, it doesn’t because I don’t think any of the foods I feed come in 40lb bags (except for Dr Tims & only if I order the grain inclusive from one online retailer). I do get what you mean though.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Hi Strey –

    Regardless of the dog’s current eating regimen, if the dog can’t switch foods with out digestive upset the dog is unhealthy – period. It doesn’t matter what the dog is currently eating or how long the dog has been eating it, if the dog is truly healthy there will be no digestive upset with a change in diet. My oldest dog, who recently passed, ate low quality foods for years. I switched him directly to 4 and 5 star dry foods with no issues. After a couple years eating four and 5 star dry foods (rotating brands every few weeks) he was switched directly to dehdyrated (THK) with no issues. A year later he was switched directly to raw with no issues. My, current, oldest came home on Eagle Pack at 8 weeks, I transitioned her directly to THK with no issues. A year later she switched directly to raw with no issues. My youngest came home at 8 weeks on Pro Plan and was switched directly to a raw diet with no issues. Both my dogs currently eat a homemade raw diet with something different at each meal, no issues. The unhealthy state in a dog that has digestive issues with a change in diet may be owner induced (meaning the owner has fed the same food for so long that the dog’s digestive flora is altered to the point it has difficulty digesting new foods) or it could be an underlying health condition (i.e. colitis, IBD, etc.).

  • Storm’s Mom

    I’ve fed all sorts of combinations of bag sizes and brands – 25-30lb bags back to bag (of totally different kibbles), small ones back to back, large ones to small ones to medium ones, medium ones to large ones to small ones, etc etc etc. Doesn’t seem to matter, he doesn’t need a transition regardless of how long he’s been on a food. I’m not one who mixes foods or has more than 1 open at a time (usually) ..haven’t gotten THAT ambitious yet! ;-)

  • Pattyvaughn

    Right now I have three different bags open and I rotate between them, usually I have four. When one runs out I replace it with a different food. I use freeze dried for treats, which is like another meal with how much training I do. And I also rotate between RMBs, Darwin’s, homemade raw, Hare Today grinds, and whatever else I come up with, in addition to lots of eggs. But while I was on vacation, I simplified everything for my husband. He fed only one kibble and rotated through the different flavors of Darwin’s, added eggs, and gave the dogs their freeze dried without much work.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Watch your dogs stool while you transition. If it starts to get soft, you are changing too fast, if it doesn’t you may be able to switch faster.

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    There is not one way to rotate a diet. Some people rotate with every bag just like you are saying and do well, and some folks feed something different at each meal. Me I always have 2 kibbles mixed together so when one flavor runs out, I get a different one and they don’t have any problems with the change since they are always eating something “old” with the “new” flavor. I mix the kibbles up in a 1.5 or 2 gallon jug. You could get 2 or 3 different foods at the same time instead of just one if you have the space. But the more you rotate the shorter the transition will be and some time in the future you won’t have to transition any longer. Actually I have 4 different kibbles out right now. I’m also one of those who feed many different types of foods – kibble, canned, raw, freeze dried, dehydrated. No transitioning for my crew. I’ve given them probiotics and digestive enzymes in the beginning too to help with the different foods and to get their GI tract healthy but now only give them a couple times a week.

  • Strey

    Hm, i know some of you feed a different meal each time, so it makes sense that your dogs don’t need transition since they are used to that, but what about if you rotate between the 30-40 lb bags of kibble(each different brands and protein source) It takes my pup about 2 months to finish one of those, so in my head it makes sense to make a gradual change between each bag.. When she was 2 months the people i got her from let me finish the big bag of puppy chow, then i switched her to whole earth farms, then blue buffalo, now shes on Pulsar, and ill be giving her Orions choice after (which is almost identical to BB imo) So even though she gets something new every 2 months….2 months is still kind of a long time…what do you think? Just wondering xD

  • Betsy Greer

    My two had something tonight that they’ve never had before. I don’t expect any problems, we switch all the time and rarely ever have any issues. Last night they had RMBs and this evening we’re having straight up kibble.

  • Shawna

    I have 8 dogs and introduce new brands and proteins (kibble, canned and raw) as new ones are available, without transitioning or symptoms. Just tried a new brand last week in fact. Also just introduced ostrich, as a topper, not long ago. No issues..

  • Pattyvaughn

    Like Storm’s Mom, I switch cold turkey to foods my dogs have never had before. Yes, my dogs are worth the extra care. That’s why I went to all the trouble of making sure that they had healthy guts and could handle switches like that. I make sure my dogs get foods that have enzymes and probiotics in them often. And I feed the best foods I can find, kibble, dehydrated, and raw.

  • Storm’s Mom

    There’s actually no difference at all, after you’ve done a few switches. It’s likely the people reporting issues are ones who have never transitioned before or have only done it once or twice ..or who have a dog with an unhealthy gut. I introduce new foods to my guy all the time – he’s on one right now he’s never had before, the previous bag was new to him (as were at least the last 3 or 4). It’s rare that he gets one that he’s had before, actually (I can think of 4 that I have fed more than once, in 2 years) The next bag will be one he’s never tried before, and the bag after that will be one he’s never tried before. One of them I “transitioned” him for 3 days because I underestimated how much I had left of the previous food, but otherwise he switches “cold turkey” to ones he’s never had before all the time.

  • FLVTIST

    Rotating foods your dogs are used to isn’t the same as introducing them to a brand new food they’ve never had. I think it’s best to err on the cautious side. I too rotate my dogs’ food, but I only feed them foods they’ve already had or introduce new foods gradually. Why take a chance of causing problems? My babies are worth a little extra on my part.

    Most of the people complaining about problems here are the people who ignore the gradual change advice. ;)

  • Hound Dog Mom

    If my dog had problems switching from food to food cold turkey I’d be concerned that the dog wasn’t healthy. I’ve never done a gradual transition with any of my dogs and none have ever experienced any issues.

  • Pattyvaughn

    When your dog is used to rotational feeding then it doesn’t need the gradual changes anymore. I feed mine something different every meal.

  • Storm’s Mom

    No it’s only the first few/half dozen times, most likely, that you’ll need to transition. My guy can switch foods with no transition required now. Like, totally different ingredients (say, Nature’s Logic Venison to NutriSource Grain Free Lamb).

  • FLVTIST

    Regardless of quality, you still need to make gradual changes when switching from one food to another. Even high quality foods vary in their ingredients and the percentages so anytime you change your dog’s food, you need to do it gradually. Doing it any other way only invites potential problems that can easily be avoided if you’re not trying to do things too quickly.

  • Sue

    Thank you.

  • Betsy Greer

    Last I knew, Simmons made the canned products for Kirkland, Cuts in Gravy. Diamond makes Kirkland’s dry foods.

  • Sue

    who makes this product?

  • Kikki

    If you’re switching from a lower quality food, yes. I think what Cindy meant was it shouldn’t be a biggie if you go from already feeding a high quality food and then switching to another.

  • malrescueSATX

    you are actually more likely to get diarrhea when switching to higher quality food.

  • Audra in TX

    I have three great danes, ranging in age from 10 months to almost 2 years. I had my three on Kirkland Ultra Premium Chicken, Rice and Vegs and decided to switch them to a grain free formula, Nature’s Domain Turkey & Sweet Potato, only because my oldest dane has a little bit of a sensitive stomach. All of their stools are much improved (especially his!) and they eat this food better than the predecessor. They do eat sporadically instead of at the 2 X a day that I feed them, one might opt out for the night and I’m thinking about adding the Cuts and Gravy to their Nature’s Domain to hopefully get them to eat more regularly. Looking for thoughts on whether this would be beneficial, or will I revert back to tummy issues with the older dane? Thanks for any help you can provide!

  • Cindy

    I agree with you Kiki, when you have higher quality food you normally don’t need gradually get the dog used to the food, they won’t get diarrhea.

  • Kikki

    Perhaps, but I honestly don’t think so. I only used half a can divided to all 3 dogs. That’s like 2 spoonfuls each on top of their kibbles. I’ve introduced other brands of wet food a lot quicker than that without any problems (excluding the puppy, that was her first time trying wet food).

  • FLVTIST

    It is extremely important to introduce new foods gradually. If you give them too much of it too soon, you’ll run into digestive problems. From what I can see, that may be your problem….giving them too much too soon.

  • Kikki

    The 11 weeks old puppy is the only one that hadn’t had wet food prior but the 2 older ones has had it many, many times. Many different brands throughout the years, I like trying different brands (I feel like a kid in a candy store when buying trying new stuff for the dogs). They’ve most recently been on Variety Homestyle Recipes on and off for a year and been doing fine on it except getting bored with it lately and wanted to try something new. It has 4 stars rating and is 1.5 dollars a can so thought why not updrade to Kirkland’s cuts in gravy which is 5 stars for half the price.

    Our girl is still not well and there was bile all over the bedroom floor when we woke up this morning. We’ve let her stay out in the backyard majority of the day since she feels more comfortable out there where she has access to grass. Feeding her boiled rice and chicken breast today but she has no appetite. The other dogs are happy to get some of it though.

    Just came home from returning the food and the guy at costumer service said they hadn’t have any returns lately but he’ll definitely put a note on it. Idk.. If she doesn’t get better by tomorrow we’ll have to bring her to the vet.

  • losul

    Hi Eugene, if you can write back later telling me he does with it, I’d appreciate it!

  • losul

    Thats very odd, especially all 3 dogs. Have your dogs ever had any wet foods before? My dog hasn’t had ANY problems with it, and I never transitioned to it at all. When I feed it, I simply dump a whole can in his bowl, where he proceeds to lap it up.

  • Eugene Otsuka

    Thanks for your help! I also went to Costco this past weekend and bought a case, you definitely can’t beat the price/quality.

  • Kikki

    I bought a case last week after reading the great reviews in the comment sections all around DFA. Great bang for the buck considering it got 5 stars and all, however, all 3 of my dogs got major diarrhea on 2 different occasions after eating it.

    Same day I bought it, I opened a can a poured some on top of the kibbles, our female refused to eat, our male finished his portion, our 11 weeks old puppy gobbled down her portion happily and had some of the female’s untouched food as well.

    Our puppy immediately had the runs the same evening, which I figured was normal as she ate a lot more canned than we intended for her to eat (should always introduce new food slowly, especially for puppies). Anyways, that evening our boy was farting like a mad man! There was so much gas in our bed room I swear it would’ve exploded if I lit a match. Our girl that refused to eat was the only one that was normal.

    Yesterday, I decided to give it another try and opened a 2nd can. This time she was hungry and ate 1/3 can. Our boy decided he wasn’t interested this time and took a small lick before he left the kitchen.

    What do you know, she was scratching the bed room door all night long and wanted to be let out to take a dump. 3 times in the middle of the night. Today, she’s been very unsettled, panicky, running into the puppy’s crate to hide, hiding under the blanket, doesn’t wanna come in from the backyard (normally she cries and wants to come in as soon as she’s finished her deeds). Poor thing, he’s been pooping at least a dozen times today. The other 2 that didn’t eat any this time are totally fine.

    I’m gonna go and return the food tomorrow.

  • losul

    Yes, that’s the food. Excellent food and even better value! 75 cents/can can’t be beat .

    The top of the case packaging, just above the net weight has the statement…..” is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO dog food nutrient profiles for growth and maintenance.” Statement is also on the individual cans.

    Growth=puppies, maintenance =adults.
    So yes, good for puppies as well as adults.

    I just bought 4 more cases yesterday.

  • Pattyvaughn

    You have to look at the AAFCO statement.

  • Eugene Otsuka

    Hi everyone,

    The Kirkland Cuts in Gravy I see at my local Costco is the following: http://images-cdn.ecwid.com/images/187609/35787933.jpg

    It clearly says “Adult Food” so I was confused if this is the one everyone here is referring to. I’d appreciate it if someone can confirm if this is the correct one. I’d love to have my puppy eat this as it is a very cost-friendly alternative but wasn’t sure if it was ok for puppies as well.

    Thanks!

  • crazy4cats

    Hi Mel- I’m not Betsy either, but my two golden lab pups have also been on this as a topper since it came out. They are doing great as well. There sure is a lot of meat in it considering it’s a gravy food and costs less than 80 cents a can!

  • LabsRawesome

    Hi Mel, I’m obviously not Betsy Greer, but I will tell you this, my 2 have been on Kirkland cuts in gravy since it came out over a year ago. They are doing great. They are also fed fresh meat, fish, and eggs, as well as a small amount of kibble.

  • Marg

    Hi, I have been buying it in East Hanover, NJ.

  • BRR3

    Just an update: I bought the Kirkland Cuts In Gravy yesterday at my Costco for $17.89 per case. My dogs seemed to really like it. Yes, my Costco still sells the original KS canned food– it was stocked right next to what I bought, and it’s even 10 cents more than the 5-star Cuts in Gravy.

  • Blondie the poodle

    Simmons has 4 plants, one of which is located in Streetsville, Ontario (Canada). It says “product of Canada” on the label so I guess ths canadian version is made at the Ontario plant.

  • BBR3

    Labs, I know that feeding amounts differ from dog to dog, but do you feel the canned Kirkland feeding recommendation is right on for the average dog, or do you feed more/less than what’s recommended? I know your dogs are bigger too, so how much more in “extras” such as fresh foods do you need to add on a daily basis (list examples, please), and do you still feed kibble at all too?

  • BBR3

    Thank you, Betsy. Good to know…

  • BRR3

    Thanks, Labs. I’ve read your reviews for quite some time, and know that you know your stuff re: dog foods. Next time I’m at Costco, I will pick up a case.

  • BRR3

    Thank you for your reply, Crazy4cats. Glad you’re having good luck with the food. As I told Labs, I will pick some up soon.

  • Pattyvaughn

    That’s what I’m going to try next for cat kibble.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    My Tractor Supply finally got in the grain-free kibble for cats. I might try it for mine and see how my sensitive girl does. It’d be cheaper than the Nature’s Logic they’re eating now and I wouldn’t have to order it.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    My Tractor Supply stores (I have two near me) don’t carry the canned cat food either.

  • crazy4cats

    Hi-
    I was excited to hear that 4Health made cat food too. However, we do not have it in our area. They sell the dry food at our Del’s feed stores, but no canned cat or dog food. They said they were working on getting it in our area. Their customer service said it was something to do with shipping costs as I live in the Northwest.
    My cats swarm around me (all four) when I’m opening the dog’s Kirkland dog food. So, would like to find something similar for them. Of course, if I put in IN their bowls they would probably turn their noses up at it!

  • Pattyvaughn

    I just started using the canned 4Health for my cats. So far they like it and are doing well on it. I wish it had slightly higher protein.

  • LabsRawesome

    Hi BRR3, I have used Kirkland Cuts in gravy for the last year. My two love the food. Great food at a great price. Here is a peek at the Simmons canning plant. http://www.cisco-eagle.com/case-studies/Distribution-Case-Studies/Simmons-Pet-Foods

  • Crazy4cats

    Hi-
    Yes, I’ve been feeding the Kirkland cuts in gravy to my two pups for the last year. They love it and I love the price. I use it as a topper with their kibble. It has a lot of meat and veges. It’s not just mostly gravy like a lot of the canned stews and gravy foods. There are two flavors, but just to let you know, the first ingredient in the beef is chicken. There is not much difference between the two varieties. Therefore, I also use Evanger, Whole Earth Farms, and By Nature in the mix.
    I wish I could find something as good and healthy at such a reasonable price for my cats also.
    I’d sure give it a try. Costco will certainly take it back if it doesn’t work out for you.

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1140685339 Betsy Greer

    Hi BRR3,

    I’m not currently using it, but have in the recent past. I’m comfortable with Simmons and for the price, I’m definitely planning to give it another shot.

  • BRR3

    Hi. I’d like to hear from anyone currently using the 5-star Kirkland Cuts In Gravy. Is all going fine? Do the dogs like the taste? Does Simmons seem to be a trustworthy company? I feed primarily raw, but this would be a nice and convenient alternative on some days, and you can’t beat the price. Thank you.

  • http://www.facebook.com/emilie.handschyn Emilie Handschyn

    Exactly, I forgot to say that in my previous post.

  • http://www.facebook.com/emilie.handschyn Emilie Handschyn

    It is a cultural thing in China. I don’t understand why Americans get so outraged over people who eat dog or horse meat, are they not all animals after all just like pigs, chickens, cows, sheep, goats? Before we pass judgement we should look at ourselves. The supermarket packed meat in America and elsewhere was at one time a live animal! Really!

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1140685339 Betsy Greer

    Hi Sandy, I recall LabsRawesome posting this information on a different thread just the other day. Here’s what she wrote:

    “…the calorie count for the Chicken formula is 376 kcal/can. The Beef is slightly higher at 383 kcal/can.”

    This is a great choice for a more inexpensive canned food. I know at my Costco, I purchased a case of 24 cans for just under $20.

  • Sandy

    Does anyone know the calorie content of the Kirkland canned food? I have a very fat senior sheltie that is inactive. I have been feeding him Bil-Jac tubs because of the lower calorie content, but I am unemployed and need to try to find a little cheaper food if possible without compromising my dog’s health. Thanks!

  • http://www.facebook.com/jack.tripper.3950 Jack Tripper

    you should be more worried about euthanized dogs ending up in purina, pedigree, ol roy and kibbles n bits than in kirkland since you know those brands actually contain euthanized dogs and kirkland contains only named animals.

  • http://www.facebook.com/jack.tripper.3950 Jack Tripper

    addiction is rated 4.5 stars. its minerals are not chelated which is likely why it lost a half star. nutro grain-free is indeed rated 3 stars but like shawna said, it is low in protein and high in carbs, furthermore it only contains 1 mineral – copper. i think addiction would be at least as good as kirkland cuts if its minerals were chelated, it has a very good ingredient list. nutro unfortunately is lacking a little bit. anyway, any of the 3 are sufficient, its not like we’re talking ol’ roy or alpo or something here.

  • http://www.facebook.com/jack.tripper.3950 Jack Tripper

    at under a buck a can including tax, this stuff is a real bargain. rarely can you get cheap, nutritious and delicious but this one nailed it.

  • http://www.facebook.com/jack.tripper.3950 Jack Tripper

    kirkland cuts in gravy doesn’t even contain vitamin c but even if it did, i think you’re being rather alarmist here. there are hundreds of dog foods of far lower quality that you should be concerned about over this one.

  • FLVTIST

    We have never had a problem with it. My question to you is: Did you add it to your dog’s food gradually or did you make a sudden switch? A sudden switchover to a new food or too quick of a switchover can defnitely result in digestive upset. Wouldn’t hurt to have the vet check out your dog if the problem hasn’t gone away. You could have internal parasites causing that problem too.

  • Crazy4cats

    Hi Mel-
    I have been using the Kirkland Cuts and Gravy as a topper for my two labs. They love it and there have been no problems. It is made at the Simmons Mfg. plant, not Diamond. It is a great value at about 75 cents per can.

  • Mel

    I fed Kirkland’s chicken to my dog before and she had bloody diarrhea. I’m afraid of feeding foods from costco. Can anyone verify the safety of their canned from personal experience?

  • Mel

    Are your pups still doing well on this food?

  • http://www.facebook.com/Kelita715 Kelly Rhodes

    I switched my 13 year old (at the time) dog over to this food after having almost constant diarrhea and having to feed her medicine from the vet to make her stop. Poor thing was so sick. Ever since she’s been on the Kirkland cuts, she’s has no problems and even seems healthier. She’s now 14 and loves her food. Thanks Costco for having such a great dog food.

  • JohnMason

    Haaaa, I’ve shot many videos in many large plants that mix the pills, etc. for retail in main stores. I’ve seen a lot of kilo bags from China from C to Z in powder form before their made into pills,etc. Nothing new. You take your every day C from a big label, and you’re swallowing powder from China and other countrys.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Kirkland canned food is manufactured by Simmons.

  • Kristi

    Does anyone know who manufactures the Kirkland Cuts in Gravy that are sold at warehouse locations in Canada?  Thanks

  • Kristi

    The first ingredient in the beef flavor is chicken…

  • Reese

    So, I recently bought this canned food for my dog to save myself a little money. We rotate feed her with many different dry, canned, freeze dried, and cooked chicken in her food (we will still rotate canned food). I am really excited about a dog food product at costco that actually is up to par with other dog food brands. With that said, I have one main concern. When buying any dog food for my dog I always look to ensure it is made in the USA. I see this food is distributed in America, but it doesn’t say anything about where it is made? Since this is a costco product, it is hard to find any information about it online. So, can anyone answer my question?

  • Pattyvaughn

    Many vitamin supplements are made in China.  This is a well known fact.  No one should doubt you.

  • Momapbt

    I just added a comment regarding kirkland signature canned food i use the super premium adult dog food with chicken n veges. since petsmart recalled many treats because they were made in china and they used antibiotics in the food/treats i looked at the ingrediants and were the dogfood was made. there is nothing on the label that says the origin of the food and that is a law in us that cans etc must be labeled country origin(i was told) i called up 8007742678 and spoke to customer service again to make sure of my comment that a vitamin supplement in costco-Kirkland signature super premium dog food(chicken and veges and other flavors) was made in china-well yes, i made a mistake, it was the VITAMIN C SUPPLEMENT IN THAT BRAND IS IN FACT MADE IN CHINA, DUE TO ALL THESE RECALLS OF CHINA BASED DOG FOOD OR DOG TREATS OR CHEWS, I WILL NOT BUY THIS DOG FOOD EVEN IF ONE INGREDIANT IS FROM CHINA,SO CALL THIS NUMBER AND ASK IF YOU DONT BELIEVE THIS. also,check for yourself, on internet, chinese eat dogs, i just entered”eating dog meat in china, and there it was. so if they think so lowly of eating a poor dog(your best friend)they dont give a damn what they put in dog food,treats,chews,etc.

  • Momapbt

    There is a vitamin folic acid one of the d vitamins is made in China, and any dog food made in china or dog treats many have been pulled off shelf. dont buy any dog food or treats or toys made in china-after all they eat dogs in china, yes,they have them in cages in marketplace or are added to chinese food

  • LabsRawesome
  • RLS

    I just wish they would sell the flavors seperate . They sell 1/2 beef and 1/2 chicken . My dog is allergic to chicken. I wish I could just buy the beef.

  • LabsRawesome

     The 3.5 star one is called Kirkland Signature. It has 12 Lamb and 12 Chicken. After the new Cuts in Gravy (5 star) came out, my warehouse stopped carrying the KS, and now only has the Kirkland Cuts in Gravy. Does your Costco still stock both kinds?

  • Flvtist

    Costco has 2 different Kirkland canned foods.  I don’t remember the name of the other one, but it only rates 3.5 out of 5 stars on DogFoodAdvisor because of the possibility of ethoxyquin being used in it.  We dumped that one as soon as I started following this site’s suggestions.  :)

  • Adele Walch

    My dogs got sick recently and I have been feeding them on the same canned food. It happened after i got a new casewith same date. Can you provide any more info that can help me withmy pets? Did Costco provide any help? Thanks.

  • LabsRawesome

     Hi Chris Eye, My 2 have been on Kirkland cuts in gravy exclusively for a week. (I have used it since it came out about 7 months ago) I used to mix it with kibble, but now they are just eating canned, and they’re doing very well. Their poop is even smaller/firmer than it was on the kibble/canned mix. Plus no matter how much I bathed my one dog, he always stunk. Now that he’s on Kirkland canned exclusively, his body odor is gone. YAY!

  • Chris Eye

    I have a big girl boxer that also seems to have a delicate stomach.  She’s been eating Taste of the Wild dry food and pretty much just picks at it.  I’m thinking of switching to a wet food to get her to eat more consistently, and the reviews of the Kirkland food are excellent.  Does your dog only eat wet food?

  • http://www.facebook.com/netslayer Chris Germano

    my nearby costco didn’t seam to have it today when I went to grab some. does anyone know if they come and go or what the status is? My two dogs have been on this food for a while now and love it. 

  • LabsRawesome

     Hey luvmydog, I would think it is the obedience class. Especially if she is fine all day, until she gets to class. It’s either all the other dogs that she is afraid of, or maybe the class is too harsh. Do they use positive reinforcement?

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1140685339 Betsy Greer

    Wow!  I was at Costco today so I picked up a case of this for $17.89 ~ that’s a case of 24, not 12.  That’s about .75 per can versus the $2.58 I was paying per can of Wellness Core.  You get 12 cans each of chicken and beef with vegetables.  The product reminds me a lot of Merrick’s Harvest Moon.    

  • luvmydog

     I see you post a lot and i have a quick question I have a 2 year old lab. She is on Kirkland sweet potato and salmon due to stomach issues this it the only food that helps. I just added the beef cuts .  Now this is more than likely a dumb question . My dog has suddenly become fear aggressive. The only things different . this food and a new dog obedience class . I am thinking it is the class . We have about 20 large dogs in this class and when we get there she is crazed and petrified. Should i stop with the beef or the dog class .I paid for 10 classes and have 6 to go. I cant get anyone at the class to talk to one on one because the class is so large and a small area . What do you think?

  • LuvMyMutt

    I’m in NJ and have not found Kirkland canned dog food in our local Costco store.  If anyone reviewing is in or near NJ could you please let me know what store you buy it in? Thanks!

  • LabsRawesome

     Because it’s sold in bulk. Everything is cheaper when you buy it in bulk. :)

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    Makes me wonder WHY is it so cheap??

  • LabsRawesome

     I think those two are around $1.69 per can. No other decent canned food comes close to .78 cents a can. Except 4health, which is .99 cents per can.  :)

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    I think Merrick’s Whole Earth Farms and Petsmart’s Simply Nourish cans are reasonably priced as well.

  • Flvtist

    Yes, I’d figured on that, but I used the $2 figure as most 5-star foods are $2 and above.  78 cents is definitely a bargain!  :)

  • LabsRawesome

     Actually, @ $18.69 for a 24 pack the price averages out to around 78 cents a can. A bargain all day long.  :)

  • Flvtist

    Thank you!  :)

  • Flvtist

    Thanks!  My dogs are loving this food.  Very exciting to see a 5-star rated food for under $2 a can.  :)

  • Aprillynne

    My veteranarian suggested I put my overweight dog on all canned food for his blatter problems. I don’t understand the calorie label on the canned dog food. I can’t figure out the calories per cup.

  • Quark

    My dog has no problems with anything, so she loves this food.  On the other hand, I am angry that many manufacturers include things like euthanized dogs and cats in their foods, so I have become very conscious of what is actually in the food and no longer naively assume that there wouldn’t be anything bad in there. Kirkland dogfood is an excellent value.

  • Gdt324

    There is no radura picture on the cans. Best by date on bottom reads March 2, 2015.  For Flvtist

  • LabsRawesome

     Hi Flvtist, NO Kirkland does not have that symbol on the can.  :)

  • Gdt324

    My boxer has been on these cans for about 6 months now and he has had no problems. It was not involved with the recall as it is not made by Diamond. He enjoys it. Boxers can have delicate stomachs so I’m pleased the way he has responded to it. At about 75 cents per can it is a bargain. I’m sure there are higher quality cans available but for a lot higher cost

  • Flvtist

    Can someone please tell me if there is a radura pic on the can?  I avoid dog foods/treats that have it as I refuse to eat or feed my dogs anything that has been irradiated.  (If you don’t know what a radura sign looks like, try this page and scroll down a bit.  It’s green and looks kinda like a plant here, but on packages, it may not be green:

    http://uw-food-irradiation.engr.wisc.edu/Facts.html

  • LabsRawesome

     Hi Anne, glad to hear your dogs are feeling better. :)  Sorry about the whole misinformation thing. What I meant was the wrong manufacturer. It’s not your fault that Costco gave you the wrong info. Anyway, please feel welcome to post any other info or updates.  :)

  • Anne

    In that case, I will contact Simmons. Thanks for the information – I’m not sure why Costco wouldn’t have the correct manufacturer information.  I’m glad your dogs are fine and I hope it’s not the food, but we suspect that in our case it was the food and since this forum welcomes comments about the food, it seemed appropriate to share this.  Thankfully, both dogs of our dogs have fully recovered after a lot of vet care.

  • LabsRawesome

     Hi Anne, Mars in not responding to you because they do not manufacture Kirkland cuts in gravy. It is manufactured by Simmons Pet. Sorry Costco gave you the wrong manufacturer. :)  I just checked my cans, and they have the same expiry date as yours. My two dogs are fine though. Get in touch with Simmons Pet. Here is their contact info. http://simmonspetfood.simmonsglobal.com/contact-us-2/

  • Anne

    Hi LabsRawesome, yes, I’m talking about Kirkland Signature Beef & Vegetable cuts in gravy.  I contacted Costco for the manufacturer information.  Based on the UPC codes and lot numbers, they looked up the manufacturer information and sent me to Mars.  Unfortunately, Mars has not replied to my emails or phone calls to date so I cannot confirm this information, but I have no reason to doubt the information that Costco has provided to me.  Additionally, I have the cans in front of me and the ability to read labels.  As I said, we suspect the food is the cause, but we do not have conclusive proof.  Please don’t accuse me of spreading misinformation when I am not. 

  • LabsRawesome

    Hi Anne, Are you talking about Kirkland Beef & vegetables cuts in gravy? When you contacted Mars what did they say? Did they tell you that they  ARE NOT the manufacturer? If they didn’t, they should have because it is actually manufactured by Simmons pet. Maybe you bought a different canned food that is sold at Costco? And manufactured by Mars? I believe Pedigree canned is sold at Costco, and manufactured by Mars.You should get your story straight before posting misinformation. http://simmonspetfood.simmonsglobal.com/contact-us-2/

  • Anne

    We suspect that our dogs got sick from the Beef & Vegetables cuts in gravy (exp. Jan 21, 2015).  I’ve contacted the manufacturer (Mars) as well as Costco and the FDA.  It has not been determined that this food is the cause, but we feel that it is likely the cause, so I wanted to let everyone know.

  • monkey

    Lioness8674,
    Yes it is grain free.

  • Lioness8674

    Is this product grain free?  By looking at the ingredients list above – I don’t think I see anything with grains in it…

  • MsSideswipe

    How much sodium does this product contain per serving and the total daily percentage of sodium?

  • Mbell_tx

    I have 2 Boxers (9&2) both healthy males. I have been doing the Lamb/Chicken Rice loaf Kirklands & it seems fine. Due to the bad email floating around I am trying to determine if these could be bad all of a sudden for my dogs. i posted my request to this but have not heard yet. I am returning a new case to the store  in next 2 days. If youve heard anything factual, I would appreciate you sharing. Thx, mbell

  • Gdt324

    I was surprised when I went to Costco and they did not have the original cans.  That was over 6 weeks ago. Anyway i strated my boxer on the new food and he is now on the 2nd case.  I was worried about transition problems but had none.  His stools have been firm and smaller than before.  I think there is less odor with the new food as well. I would recommend this canned food as even better than the previous wet food from Costco 

  • Shawna

    I think your weather is VERY similar to here in Nebraska..  Today we are supposed to hit 71 degrees and by Thursday back down to 47 degrees..

    And NO, you don’t need to “borrow some nerve”.  I and others like me need to borrow some common sense :)… 

  • Shawna

    WOW ~~ that would be scary as heck!!  I’ve seen most from far away — we don’t know what hills are :) 

  • GSDGal ;)

    Shawna,
    Sounds like I need to borrow some nerve! I have this fear of someday madly trying to get 6 dogs in the cellar and not having enough time! It was bad enough last year when I wrestled my two Shepherds down there! I’m not sure that would work any more! I might have to do tornado drills! :)
    Each year out here there are storm watchers meetings. It’s a good place to go to learn some things about weather. As we learned again today though it’s not many places that weather can change as quickly as it does here! It’s supposed to be close to 80′ here today and tomorrow sometime freezing drizzle is forecasted! If it’s moisture I’m not gonna complain tho!!

  • Marie

    Shawna,

    I think I would storm chase if I lived in those states! The problem here in the South (especially on the east coast) is our hilly topography and time of day. We only know where our tornadoes are by Doppler radar alone – it’s just too dark and views are too obscured unless you happen to see it illuminated by lightening in an open field, or you manage to spot transformers going out near ground level in the distance. If you see low-level flashes of light that look like lightning but are too low to be that….RUN AWAY! D:  (Just kidding, take cover! D:)

    LOL, I was taught in college how to read a radar hook echo signature for a tornado….the only way I’ve ever seen one! :)

  • Toxed2loss

    I meant the direction they were heading in. That one I watched made a 90* turn, suddenly. I was just wondering, “How would you know they were coming right at you?!” just wondering. Oh, yeah, and it moved so quick!!

  • Shawna

    Not an expert on tornados — but some can be predicted by the type of storm/cloud — “wall” cloud.  If you see wall clouds it is likely a tornado could form.  I’ve seen small ones form before.  

    I met a guy at a foster home party that is a “storm chaser”.  They follow them around and report back to the news stations as to what they predict the storm/tornado will do.

    All of Nebraska and where I grew up in Eastern Colorado are in “tornado alley”.  I think they are even more common in the States directly south of Nebraska.

  • Toxed2loss

    Hmmmm,… Are they predictable, there?

  • Shawna

    I’m from Colorado and now live in Nebraska.  We get them so often we don’t even take cover unless they are coming right at us…  Not saying we are the brightest folk around though :)…  hee hee hee

  • Shawna

    Marie ~~ you have a wonderful knack for creating images with your words!!!  I feel horrible that you HAD to herd your cats but I was cracking up at the image.

    The cats did MUCH better then my dogs would have done :)..

    I’m glad everyone was physically and emotionally okay!!

  • Toxed2loss

    GFETE meow baby!!!

  • Toxed2loss

    GSDGal;)
    Well, it’s pretty cool that you and your husband helped with the relief work! :-) Right before I got disabled, I was scheduled to go to Rwanda, and planning a trip to the south. I was about to have both kids in college, and I wanted to spend the next part of my life doing mission and relief work. Nothing big. Just helping. All of that got tossed. :-(

  • Marie

    They actually did better than I did! :) They’re real cool cats.

  • GSDGal ;)

    I can identify although I have never actually seen one. It’s scary feeling to see the clouds about you beginning to rotate! I’m not sure I’m ready for tornado season this spring! I got pretty spooked last year!

    Although we weren’t married at the time my husband and I both helped with the disaster relief work after the big Greenburg tornado. It wasn’t pretty.

  • Toxed2loss

    At the time, it happened so fast and I was so stunned, I didn’t have time to be frightened. Tornados are that rare here. I think knowng they are out there, in the dark, and may hit you with out warning, is scarier. How’d your fur-kid do?

  • Marie

    WOW! That must have been frightening!

    The problem here is that you just don’t see one coming – most of the storm systems travel west to east and tend to show up after dark (thanks Alabama!) Even if a tornado touches down during the day (which happens sometimes) the topography here is very hilly (and dense with trees) – it’s just not visible :-/

  • Toxed2loss

    I’ve only ever seen one. It was marching up the road t’word the house, 1/3 a mile away, back in 2000 (I think) then it veered east. It was pretty scary. It went right by a house, but left it intact. I don’t know the wind speeds. As far away as we were, it still threw sand against all the windows hard enough to etch the glass. I’m glad we don’t have them normally. :-}

  • Marie

    Not at all. I’m in Georgia – I know we don’t get the monster F5s and F4s like you guys do, but most of us are woefully under prepared for any twister! I live in an apartment on the 2nd floor, and my bedroom has A.) large windows and B.) close to a lot of trees. (actually, I have massive windows EVERYWHERE! LOL)
    A F1 apparently swung just north of me, but two F3s touched down closer to my mom (she’s okay, no property damage).

    I know they say herding cats is impossible, but I did it…poor things had no idea why I was yelling and flailing my arms in a vaguely menacing fashion to get them all in the bathroom FAST.

    Thanks for asking though! :) We’re all good.

  • Toxed2loss

    Your welcome. :-)

  • GSDGal ;)

    Glad you’re ok Marie! Being from Ks I know the feeling! Do you mind me asking which state you’re from?

  • Marie

    Well, thankfully it missed us, but not by a whole lot. Thanks for the link!

  • Toxed2loss

    Marie!! We’re you in a tornado?!!! Yikes!!! I’m so glad you’re alright!!!

    Here’s the link: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/12088508

  • Marie

    Hi Toxed!

    Now that I am finished huddling in fear in my hallway, I would gladly read the link to the paper. :)

  • Toxed2loss

    Hi Labs and Marie,
    I have to say Pete’s not that far out in left field here… For some individual’s dogs, this stuff would be “poison.” and here’s why: beef broth, chicken broth, dried egg product, potato starch, natural flavor, & guar gum are all known sources of free glutamic and Aspartic acids, by process… Both are excitotory neurotoxins. A toxin is a poison. In sensitive individuals one of those Could be enough to trigger a “toxic event.” a.k.a. MSG and/or Aspartic acid poisoning. Then there is the cyanide in the flaxseed meal, another known poison.

    Obviously, his dog is sensitive. For his dog, and many others like it, this is an appropriate warning.

    I have a canine glutamate and aspartate research paper if you’d like the link.

  • LabsRawesome

     LOL Pete! Which one of these ingredients are poison? Ingredients: Chicken, beef broth, chicken broth, chicken liver, beef,
    dried egg whites, dried egg product, potatoes, potato starch, carrots,
    peas, natural flavor, dried beet pulp,
    flaxseed meal, salt, guar gum, sodium phosphate, potassium chloride,
    sodium carbonate, vitamins (vitamin A, E, B12, D3, supplements, thiamine
    monitrate, biotin, riboflavin supplements), minerals (ferrous sulfate,
    zinc oxide, copper proteinate, maganous sulfate, sodium selinite,
    potassium iodide, choline chloride                             You people are so funny, just because your dog got diarrhea, you claim the food is poison. If your dog was on dry food and you put a whole can of food in their bowl of course they will have problems. Any food changes need to be made gradually. Thanks for the laugh though! :)

  • Marie

    Whoa whoa now…I’m sorry to hear that your dog’s stools are nasty, but I’m not convinced that means  the food = poison!

  • Pete

    My dog poops this stuff out like smelly water. The old stuff wasn’t as pleasing looking, but he was much better off with it. This new stuff is poison.

  • LabsRawesome

    Hi Casey, I can’t see how any of the ingredients could cause an illness. I think that McKenzieB’s dog came down with an illness, and she just automatically blamed it on the food. If you read the info that I posted on 2-20, you can see the suspected causes. My 2 dogs are doing great on the new Kirkland. :)

  • Casey

    I’ve been alternating the new cuts with the previous canned food and use it to top off the Kirkland dry.  My dog has not had any problems.  I hated to see the hemorrhagic gastroenteritis posts, Harper really likes the food so I hope it did not cause it. 

  • LabsRawesome

     McKenzieB, there are many causes of hemorrhagic gastroenteritis. Please read this- http://vetmedicine.about.com/cs/dogdiseasesh/a/HGEindogs.htm

  • Diana

    THANK YOU for this post and the message of “Beware”.  My little maltese has such a delicate system….he’s old and feeble.  You may have just saved us a trip to the animal hospital.  I was ready to purchase my first case of this food, but after reading your post, I’ve decided to just stick with Wellness Turkey Stew for now….no problems there, just wish it wasn’t so pricey.  Hope your dogs are on the mend.   

  • Diana

    Hello LabsRawesome….(and yes, they are!).  Thank you for this link, and I’ll email to see what I can find out from Simmons about the Kirkland “Cuts in Gravy” Adult Dog Food.  If I find any helpful information, I will post it. 

  • Diana

    Mike, I really appreciate your locating manufacturing information on the Kirkland Cuts in Gravy Premium Dog Food product.  I feel better knowing that the product is made in Arkansas, but not sure why CostCo didn’t include any such info on the package.   I will see what I can find out about Simmons, and Menu Foods as well.  Such GREAT work you do for all of us….thank you! 

  • LabsRawesome

    Hi Diana, here is the contact information for Simmons Pet, they make Kirkland cuts in gravy. Send them an email with your questions. http://simmonspetfood.simmonsglobal.com/contact-us-2/

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com/ Mike Sagman

    Hi Diana,

    This product appears to be manufactured by Simmons Pet Food in Arkansas as a private label for Costco.

    Unfortunately, though, just because a dog food is “made in the USA” can’t assure you it’s not made with ingredients from other countries.

  • Diana

    Hello Fellow Dog Enthusiasts:
    Wouldn’t it be great if we could find a great canned food at a great price….I was excited about the buzz here regarding Kirkland’s Super Premium Adult Dog Food “Cuts in Gravy”, but when I went to my local CostCo to pick up a case last night for the first time, I was dismayed to see that CostCo/Kirkland was unwilling to fess up on the package, anywhere, and tell us where the product is actually manufactured.  If the product is made in China, I’m afraid it doesn’t matter what the ingredients are, personally I would not be able to trust the product.  Does anybody know how I could find out where the product is manufactured?   The employees at CostCo tried to help, but were unable to locate the information in their store log.  Thanks….

  • Diana

    Hello Fellow Dog Enthusiasts:
    Wouldn’t it be great if we could find a great canned food at a great price….I was excited about the buzz here regarding Kirkland’s Super Premium Adult Dog Food “Cuts in Gravy”, but when I went to my local CostCo to pick up a case last night for the first time, I was dismayed to see that CostCo/Kirkland was unwilling to fess up on the package, anywhere, and tell us where the product is actually manufactured.  If the product is made in China, I’m afraid it doesn’t matter what the ingredients are, personally I would not be able to trust the product.  Does anybody know how I could find out where the product is manufactured?   The employees at CostCo tried to help, but were unable to locate the information in their store log.  Thanks….

  • McKenzieB

    One of my dogs got hemorrhagic gastroenteritis the day after trying this dog food. He was in the hospital for 4 days. Didn’t relate it to the dog food until my other dog is getting the same symptoms after eating it too. Beware.

  • dataexaminer

    Thanks LabsRawesome, I hope it works out like you suggest at my Costco.  Best of everything for you and your labs.

  • LabsRawesome

     Hi dataexaminer, My Costco’s has a customer suggestion box. Some warehouses are carrying both recipes. Right before the new product came out, they had no canned at all. The next time I went,they had just the new product, now they have both. So maybe this is a stocking issue, or they are in the process of switching over? You could always ask at the customer service counter. They should be able to tell if your warehouse is planning on carrying both kinds. My two do the happy dance for the new cuts in gravy! lol

  • dataexaminer

    Thanks Mike.  Based on the valuable knowledge I have gained from using this site, I had estimated that this food was somewhat better than the original Kirkland canned foods (which my dog loves and thrives on — she is a border collie pup).  Now I can buy with more confidence.

    Does anyone know how to influence Costco to make both canned food recipes available in one’s local store?  Mine is in Merrillville, Indiana.

    Thanks in advance for any useful comments.

  • Casey

    Thanks Mike! I’m really excited to see the 5 star rating on this food and  plan to pick it up  next trip to Costco.   My store carries both can foods.

  • Shawna

    Jackson_Jones ~~ you wrote “It is also much easier to determine which protein source your dog might be allergic to if they have a food allergy.”

    That is true but allergies and intolerances can be to proteins in foods other then meat. The lectins (which are glycoproteins) in potatoes, peas, garbonzo beans, tomato pomace, and grains can cause allergies by inducing leaky gut.

    Nutritional and brewers yeasts are another common allergen.

  • Anonymous

    Hi Way2GoSparky,

    I like foods that contain a single meat protein.

     Multiple meat proteins are good but not at the same time, if your dog is eating multiple meat proteins all the time the chances go up that your dog will develop a food allergy to one of those proteins.

    If you feed your dog a food with a single protein source it is much easier to change protein sources completely every 3 months or so. It is also much easier to determine which protein source your dog might be allergic to if they have a food allergy.

  • Shawna

    It is quite obvious by your comment RJ that you do not know how to evaluate ingredient and analysis information in an attempt to determine better quality food.. 

    Nutros canned food has more carbs then protein in the food.  There is absolutely no excuse for that in a canned food!! 

    Stick around — you can learn from Mike :).

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com/ Mike Sagman

    Hi RJ,

    I notice in all your comments at DFA you appear to ignore the estimated quantity of meat in your evaluations. And this is a critical determinant in the nutritional value of any dog food.

    For example, be sure to go back and visit my response to your comment in the California Natural thread you posted ojust last week..

    In this case, please note Addiction canned gets 4.5 stars (with some of its recipes garnering 5 stars).

    Now, let’s look at the nutrient figures.

    Kirkland contains 44% protein (28% fat). Addiction boasts 39% protein and 10% fat). And Nutro Natural Choice Grain Free is a distant third place dog food with just 34% protein and 23% fat.

    By the way, of the 3, I lean more toward the Addiction products because of their lower average fat content (10%).

    This is an admirable feature. It means the company is probably using better quality meats in its diets.

    Thanks for your comment.

  • RJ

    This is anything but a 5 star food. If Addictions canned foods are 4 stars & Nutro’s new grain free foods are 3! Then to rate this as a 5 star is just absurd.
    I’m glad I can make up my own mind.

  • UnclaimedHearts

    Hi Mike,
    Thank you for your valuable website.  It’s obvious you put much work into these reviews.  I’ve been checking food on your site for quite some time, and find the information you post factual and reliable.  On top of all that, you display a lot of class in dealing with some posters who seem a little hostile, when they disagree with you.  Please keep up the good work!  

  • LabsRawesome

     Way2goSparky, while you are entitled to your opinion, I disagree with you. Multiple protein sources are great for a dog. The loaf style food contains brewer’s rice, and fish meal with ethoxyquin. It is a 3* food. The new cuts & gravy canned food is a 5*. What you need to reevaluate is your understanding of what good ingredients actually are. FYI the word “Premium” can be added to Ol’roy dog food, you can’t go by that word, ingredients speak for themselves. I believe the original canned product is still available, if you would prefer to feed it. Any knowledgeable person can see that you have no idea what you are talking about. Mike works very hard on this site, if you don’t appreciate that, then maybe you should take your ignorant remarks somewhere else.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com/ Mike Sagman

    Way2GoSparky,

    It’s my understanding the other canned Kirkland dog food product is still available. So, its review it’s still listed and posted here on my website.

    When you see the “with” word in the title of any dog food, FDA rules permit as little as just 3% of the named meat ingredient.

    So, I would tend to agree that the beef product is really a chicken product.

    And even though this seems misleading, this is very common practice in the pet food industry.

    However, many excellent dog foods are made from more than one protein source.

  • Kristin

    Why would including multiple named meat sources be a problem? Unless your dog has an allergy in which case, is it too much to ask for the consumer to read the label? I think not. Besides, this product never claimed to be 100% beef. I’m sure I will be satisfied with this product.

  • Kristin

    I’m very excited you posted this! I’ve been looking for a good quality but affordable canned food and found the new Kirkland canned product at Costco the other day. It looks like I found it just in time for your new review and it’s even better than the other Costco canned dog food. I needed an affordable canned option as I found out recently that my new foster dog from the pound was pregnant! She just gave birth to 6 beautiful puppies yesterday morning and I know we are going to be going through a ton of food now! This will be a great addition to the Orijen 6-Fish dry I’m currently feeding mom too.

  • Way2goSparky

    This is NOT “premium” food. Meat comes from multiple sources– both products contain chicken AND beef. This is especially misleading on the “beef” cans. The prior product was MUCH better. The lamb can contained only lamb. The chicken product contained only chicken. I am very disappointed in the new, inferior Kirkland canned dog food. As a long time Costco member, I’ve come to associate Kirkland products with quality. Clearly, I need to reevaluate. I am also very disappointed in Dog Food Advisor. No stars for either.