Kirkland Cuts in Gravy (Canned)

Share

Rating: ★★★★★

Kirkland Cuts in Gravy Dog Food receives the Advisor’s top rating of 5 stars.

The Kirkland Cuts in Gravy product line includes two canned dog foods, each claimed to meet AAFCO nutrient profiles for growth and maintenance.

The following is a list of recipes available at the time of this review.

  • Kirkland Cuts in Gravy with Beef and Vegetables
  • Kirkland Cuts in Gravy with Chicken and Vegetables

Kirkland Cuts in Gravy with Beef and Vegetables was selected to represent both in the line for this review.

Kirkland Cuts in Gravy with Beef and Vegetables

Canned Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 44% | Fat = 28% | Carbs = 20%

Ingredients: Chicken, beef broth, chicken broth, chicken liver, beef, dried egg whites, dried egg product, potatoes, potato starch, carrots, peas, natural flavor, dried beet pulp, flaxseed meal, salt, guar gum, sodium phosphate, potassium chloride, sodium carbonate, vitamins (vitamin E supplement, thiamine mononitrate, niacin supplement, d-calcium pantothenate, vitamin A supplement, riboflavin supplement, biotin, vitamin B12 supplement, pyridoxine hydrochloride, vitamin D3 supplement, folic acid), minerals (ferrous sulfate, zinc oxide, copper proteinate, sodium selenite, manganese sulfate, potassium iodide), choline chloride

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 8.3%

Red items when present indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis8%5%NA
Dry Matter Basis44%28%20%
Calorie Weighted Basis34%51%15%

The first ingredient in this dog food includes chicken. Chicken is considered “the clean combination of flesh and skin… derived from the parts or whole carcasses of chicken”.1

The next two ingredients include beef broth and chicken broth. Broths are nutritionally empty. But because they add both flavor and moisture to a dog food they are a common addition component in many canned products.

The fourth item is chicken liver. This is an organ meat sourced from a named animal and thus considered a beneficial component.

The fifth ingredient lists beef. Beef is defined as “the clean flesh derived from slaughtered cattle” and includes skeletal muscle or the muscle tissues of the tongue, diaphragm, heart or esophagus.1

Beef is naturally rich in all ten essential amino acids required by a dog to sustain life.

The sixth ingredient is dried egg whites. Eggs whites are highly digestible and an excellent source of usable protein.

The seventh ingredient is dried egg product, a dehydrated form of shell-free eggs. Quality can vary significantly. Lower grade egg product can even come from commercial hatcheries — from eggs that have failed to hatch.

In any case, eggs are easy to digest and have an exceptionally high biological value.

The eighth item is potato. Assuming they’re cooked, potatoes can be considered a gluten-free source of digestible carbohydrates. Yet with the exception of perhaps their caloric content, potatoes are of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

The ninth item lists potato starch. Potato starch is a gluten-free carbohydrate used more for its thickening properties than its nutritional value.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With three notable exceptions

First, beet pulp is a controversial ingredient, a high fiber by-product of sugar beet processing.

Some denounce beet pulp as an inexpensive filler while others cite its outstanding intestinal health and blood sugar benefits.

We only call your attention here to the controversy and believe the inclusion of beet pulp in reasonable amounts in most dog foods is entirely acceptable.

Next, flaxseed is one of the best plant sources of healthy omega-3 fatty acids. Provided they’ve first been ground into a meal, flax seeds are also rich in soluble fiber.

However, flaxseed contains about 19% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

And lastly, this food also contains one chelated mineral, a mineral that has been chemically attached to protein. This makes it easier to absorb. Chelated minerals are usually found in better dog foods.

Kirkland Cuts in Gravy Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Judging by its ingredients alone, Kirkland Cuts in Gravy Dog Food looks to be an above-average wet product.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 44%, a fat level of 28% and estimated carbohydrates of about 20%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 44% and a mean fat level of 28%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 20% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 63%.

Above-average protein. Above-average fat. And below-average carbs when compared to a typical canned dog food.

Even when you consider the protein-boosting effect of the flaxseed, this looks like the profile of a wet product containing a significant amount of meat.

Bottom line?

Kirkland Cuts in Gravy is a grain-free meat-based canned dog food using a significant amount of chicken as its main source of animal protein, thus earning the brand 5 stars.

Enthusiastically recommended.

Please note certain recipes are sometimes given a higher or lower rating based upon our estimate of their total meat content.

Special Alert

Rice ingredients can sometimes contain arsenic. Until the US FDA establishes safe upper levels for arsenic content, pet owners may wish to limit the total amount of rice fed in a dog's daily diet.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, due to the biological uniqueness of every animal, none of our ratings are intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in a specific dietary response or health benefit for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

To learn how we support the cost of operating this website, please visit our public Disclosure and Disclaimer page.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Notes and Updates

02/12/2012 Original review
08/22/2013 Review updated
08/22/2013 Last Update

  1. Association of American Feed Control Officials
  2. Association of American Feed Control Officials
  • Crazy4cats

    LOL! I’m still upset about our family’s favorite skillet breakfast mix being discontinued over a year ago! Anyway, I show that the Livermore store has 137 cases of the new Nature’s Domain turkey stew on hand and 288 on order. Have you actually gone in and checked?

  • dcm5150

    It is the Livermore, CA store. We did check at the store and they said there was no remaining stores in the SF Bay area with any remaining cans. I will come back (although I’m still upset they got rid of Johnny’s Ceaser at our store0

  • Crazy4cats

    Hi Dcm-
    Which Costco do you go to? I will check for you tomorrow at work to see if yours or a neighboring Costco has any on order. Since I am an employee, I hesitate to tell you this, but Walmart has canned Pure Balance stew that I think is very similar. I feed both to my dogs. The Pure Balance is a little more expensive and a tiny bit smaller can. Just promise to come back to Costco if we can find the new stuff for you. Lol! I haven’t tried it yet as I bought four cases of the Cuts in Gravy when I found out it was getting deleted by someone on this site. If there is an asterisk in the top right hand corner of a price sign, it means the item is being deleted. If you don’t mind letting me know which store, I’ll check. Otherwise call the customer service # on the bottom of your receipt and they can help you out better than a store employee. Good luck!

  • Betsy Greer

    When I was last there, hoping to catch a case of Cuts in Gravy, the guy told me, Nope, no more canned dog food anymore.” I haven’t been back yet, but I hoped he just didn’t realize the new ND food was on order. There was certainly not a place for it on the shelf.

  • dcm5150

    Does anyone know of another store brand that is similar to the discontinued Costco food?

  • dcm5150

    A see some posts below that say the Costco food was being replaced and should start shoing up in June. Well, it is mid-July and there is no canned food in two local Costcos (and they aren’t aware of any canned food coming in, but that usually doesn’t mean much). Has anyone started seeing new canned dog food at any Costcos?

  • dcm5150

    Our 2 costcos said they are not getting any canned dog food. Hopefully they are wrong

  • Crazy4cats

    Hi Marie-
    Here is a tip. When you look at the price sign above the product, if there is a star (asterisk) in the top right hand corner, the item is going to be deleted. I hope the new food works for you.

  • Marie Brandt

    This is a reply I just got from Costco today. Since they said items can be reintroduced, now is the time to contact them.

    Dear Marie,

    We appreciate you taking the time to email Costco Wholesale.

    Costco prides itself in providing our members with the highest quality
    name-brand products at the right price, while keeping our merchandise focused
    on the best-selling items. Since we price our items as low as possible,
    all items must demonstrate high sales in order for us to continue to stock
    them. In addition, our vendor must have the necessary supply for our
    warehouses.

    Our buying
    staff reviews the possibility of reintroducing product, and we have forwarded
    your feedback to their attention so that they are aware of the interest.

    Thank you
    for taking the time to provide your input on this product.

    Thank you,

    Lauren R.

    Member Service Center

    Costco Wholesale Corporation

  • Marie Brandt

    Thanks! I’ll give it a try. I’m just worried that Costco could do this again.

  • Dumbass

    Costco replaced Kirkland Cuts with Nature’s Domain canned. ND is a 5 star food it comes in a case of 24 cans for $20.99 my Labs made an easy transition from Kirkland’s to Nature’s Domain.

  • Marie Brandt

    I went to Costco yesterday and was so disappointed to find out that they had discontinued this dog food.I was really annoyed that there was no heads up to give us time to ease our dogs into a new brand. My dog has some allergies and this food had stopped the vomiting and diarrhea. It’s the main reason I renewed my Costco membership. I expected more from Costco.

  • Ngo

    Mine has had diarrhea issues with the new brand as well. The old brand he did very well on. Sigh… we are looking for alternatives now.

  • Gary Ingram

    Hi All,
    SEND COSTCO PRESIDENT AN EMAIL TO BRING THIS PRODUCT BACK. If we all complain, they will bring it back.

  • LabsRawesome

    Hi Jen, Kirkland Cuts was discontinued. It is being replaced by Nature’s Domain canned. ND is a five star grain free food. Nature’s Domain comes in a case of 24 cans for around $21 dollars. It should be at your Costco within a week or two. Here is Mike’s review. http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/dog-food-reviews/natures-domain-grain-free-canned/ Here’s Nature’s Domain website. http://www.great-pet-supplies.com/natures-domain-brand The food is called Nature’s Domain Turkey and Pea Stew, it has a red label.

  • Jen Morris

    I am SO disappointed that Costco is no longer carrying this dog food. I bought the other Kirkland Signature dog food for my 17 year old lab, and she is now experiencing uncontrollable diarrhea, which she had been having problems with, until we started feeing her this food – she had done so well on this food. Not sure what to feed her now.

  • DalTXJim

    Christy: Costco tells me the item # for the ND Turkey Stew is going to be 895073 and should start being available this week (6-16-14). It also appears that the ND Turkey Stew will be in 12 packs, instead of 24.

  • Crazy4cats

    I’ll have to check on it for you tomorrow.

  • Holly

    It’s on the border of “Melville”, so that’s prob what it’s listed under…

  • Crazy4cats

    Westbury does have some on order. I didn’t find a Farmingdale location. Costco is notorious for discontinuing things that we fall in love with in every department. Not just pet food! I still miss the skillet breakfast mix we used to sell. But, they must be doing something right.

  • Holly

    I’m on Long Island and there are a lot of stores to choose from…just don’t want to travel too far to get my pup’s food! Closest stores are Farmingdale and Wesbury…..

  • Holly

    I sure hope so! I was so bummed that it was gone. “Mason” my 110 lb black lab would miss it too as he just loves it! Your are right, Labs are awesome!

  • Crazy4cats

    Hi Holly-
    Yes the NE region has some on order, however….I see there are a few stores in New York, that do not have any on order at this time. When you are at Costco next time, you can ask at the membership desk or a supevisor if there are any on order for your store. I’m keeping my fingers crossed for you. Sounds like it will be as good as the other stuff.

  • LabsRawesome

    Hi Holly, Kirkland Cuts was discontinued. It is being replaced by Nature’s Domain canned. ND is a five star grain free food. Nature’s Domain comes in a case of 24 cans for around $21 dollars. It should be at your Costco within a week or two. Here is Mike’s review. http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/dog-food-reviews/natures-domain-grain-free-canned/ Here’s Nature’s Domain website. http://www.great-pet-supplies.com/natures-domain-brand The food is called Nature’s Domain Turkey and Pea Stew, it has a red label.

  • Holly

    I just went yesterday to get the canned food and was told it was being discontinued….as others I thought it was good food and the price was right. They have the Nature’s Domain, but only in the dry. I’m in NY….does anyone know if the ND canned will be coming here??

  • LabsRawesome

    Hi Christy, Kirkland Cuts was discontinued. It is being replaced by Nature’s Domain canned. ND is a five star grain free food. Nature’s Domain comes in a case of 24 cans for around $21 dollars. It should be at your Costco within a week or two. Here is Mike’s review. http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/dog-food-reviews/natures-domain-grain-free-canned/

  • Crazy4cats

    Hi Christy-
    The Cuts in Gravy is being replaced with Nature’s Domain Turkey Stew. It should be to most Costco Stores by the end of the week. It is already reviewed and the ingredients listed on this site. Check it out. I hope it works for you. You can ask at your store if they have any on order and when it’s expected availability is. I hope this helps!

  • ChristySpeaks

    Just when in to my local Costco to get this dog food and found that all of the Costco stores in Texas no longer carry this. This is the ONLY food my diabetic hound dog can eat — unless I went the high priced vet only foods and I can’t afford them. This dog has to have four cans a day — and I have 9 dogs (all rescues). I don’t know what I’m going to do. The other Kirkland food has rice and he can’t have that as it spikes his blood sugar.

    Why does Costco do this? This dog food is the only reason I keep renewing my Costco membership. I need 5 cases a month. Any suggestions?

  • LabsRawesome

    I realize that Costco doesn’t actually make ND dog food, but they put the Kirkland name on the product, so it technically makes it their product. I think they should stock more varieties of ND. If people want to buy Pedigree and Iams let them go to Walmart.

  • Crazy4cats

    OOoh, very pretty there.

  • Barbara

    I’ve been retired 5 years and my husband will retire next April. We have Grandchildren in Bellingham, WA and we will be moving within an hour of there along the sound somewhere…

  • Crazy4cats

    Good news! It is on order and the expected arrival date is 6/12. That is just an estimation, though. Woo Hoo! Are you coming to Western or Eastern Washington?

  • Barbara

    Thank you. Also for all yours and others on sites knowledge and researching talent.

  • Crazy4cats

    Actually, I am surprised at the amount of variety they do carry in the pet section. Look at the human food products. Usually only one brand and/or one variety of every product. That is the Costco way. They are limited in the amount of SKU’s each store can carry. Also, remember, that the people on this web site are not the average pet food consumer. The average consumer buys Pedigree, Iams, Purina and such. And in addition, they are really not Costco products, they are products made by big companies that Costco puts the generic Kirkland brand name on. Well, hopefully, I’ve made a friend in the buying office and I can give recommendations periodically to improve their selections. Shoot, I can’t even get my coworkers to improve their dogs’ diets. I don’t push it because I don’t want to make enemies with people I work with everyday. You know how defensive people get! Yikes!

  • Barbara

    I hope the NW will order the ND canned also. I don’t look for dog food when we go on our road trips from Kansas to Washington every year with our 3 dogs…we bring plenty. We are moving there from Kansas next year.

  • LabsRawesome

    Yeah I realize that Costco is not a pet store, But if they don’t carry their own products people obviously can’t buy them. They’d have plenty of room to stock more Natures Domain products, it they got rid of the Pedigree and Iams. I don;t like Kirkland cat because it has a lot of rice. I don’t want to feed Carnivores grain, and Arsenic on a daily basis.

  • Crazy4cats

    That’s funny. I’ve never seen that Deli cat. My store has Both the maintenance and the healthy weight Kirkland and Iams. The Kirkland is really pretty decent for a grocery store food. Again, you have to remember it is not a pet store.

  • LabsRawesome

    My Costco only stocks Deli Cat in a big bucket, and Kirkland Adult Maintenance and Healthy Weight. Nothing good for cats. I feel like Costco makes their own products fail, by not carrying them. I would like to try ND cat, but my warehouse never got it in. Here’s Deli Cat’s site. https://www.purina.com/products/deli-cat

  • Crazy4cats

    Deli cat? Possibly on the canned.

  • LabsRawesome

    ND canned cat food?

  • Crazy4cats

    Definitely right. I think you will be fine. I also suggested that they introduce a canned cat food. She said that it is a possibility.

  • LabsRawesome

    I forgot to complain about them not carrying ND Cat food either. I hope I don’t run out before ND comes in. I bought 6 cases for me, and six for my Mom. They probably thought I was nuts……..They’d be right. :)

  • Crazy4cats

    I saw that every region, but the NW has the new food on order. But there are no dates yet.

  • LabsRawesome

    Hi Barbara, ND canned is manufactured by Performance Pet Products. It looks like a good product. Hopefully my Warehouse gets it in. My store doesn’t carry the green shrink wrapped original Kirkland cans, ND canned, ND dry Beef, or ND Organic dry. It’s weird that Costco doesn’t stock their own products.

  • Barbara

    Thanks for sharing the info! Sounds fairly similar to KCIG except no liver and the peas are higher up in the ingredient list…which they were behind carrots…but looks like it has spinach and blueberries :) that is great!

  • LabsRawesome

    Now with this one people will say, There’s no variety!! WAH!! I’m sure that will come up. Maybe if it catches on, they’ll make another flavor. It’s a case of 24 cans right?

  • Crazy4cats

    Yes, it doesn’t look too bad. It has 370 calories which I like. Some stews have a lot less. It’s prob at least a 4, maybe 5 star food. I like that it has turkey because it is usually a little bit more expensive. I just wish we could keep the other too! But, its the Costco way.

  • LabsRawesome

    Here’s the ingredients list for Nature’s Domain Turkey & Pea Stew. Turkey, turkey broth, vegetable broth, dried egg whites, peas, natural
    flavor, potato starch, carrots, guar gum, salt, flaxseed, sodium
    tripolyphosphate, potassium chloride, calcium carbonate, dried spinach,
    cranberries, iron proteinate (a source of chelated iron), zinc
    proteinate, (a source of chelated zinc), vitamin E supplement,
    blueberries, raspberries, copper proteinate (a source of chelated
    copper), manganese proteinate (a source of chelated manganese),
    riboflavin supplement, sodium selenite, calcium iodate, thiamine
    mononitrate, niacin supplement, calcium pantothenate, vitamin A
    supplement, vitamin B12 supplement, potassium iodide, biotin, vitamin D3
    supplement.

  • LabsRawesome

    Here’s Nature’s Domain site. It looks like at least a 4 star. Maybe 5? Currently it’s rated 3.5 but it looks like the recipe might have changed for the better. http://www.great-pet-supplies.com/natures-domain-brand

  • Crazy4cats

    If you go to the front and ask a supervisor or even at the membership desk, they can check to see if any other Costco’s in your area still have it.

  • Crazy4cats

    I didn’t ask if all regions were going to get it. I just assumed they would be. The order hadn’t been placed yet. I’ll keep an eye on it.

  • LabsRawesome

    Whatever. LMAO.

  • Betsy Greer

    I stopped in today and found no canned foods at my Costco at all. I asked a guy working in the area and he said, “Nope, no canned food anymore. It’s all gone.” I hoped he was just referring to the KCIG and that they’ll least be carrying the Turkey Stew in the future. The guy was a little rude, I think I must’ve interrupted what he was doing. They rearranged a lot of stuff there so maybe he’s just busy. He looked a little pooped.

  • Crazy4cats

    Well, i sure hope so as I am a huge fan of KCIG as well. I think there is a Natures Domain website if I remember correctly. I’m going to check it out. I just hope it is as much turkey as it is stew. I guess time will tell. . I bought 4 cases of the KCIG.

  • Crazy4cats

    Hmmmm… I don’t know. I thought you were joining Sam’s Club. I think your Costco membership is suspended after that emotional rant a few days ago!

  • Mickey’s Dad

    Is Nature’s Domain Turkey Stew as good? I do not see it on the list.

  • Mickey’s Dad

    Bum deal. That is our go to wet food. I will pay a visit ASAP even though we have 3 cases.

  • Barbara

    Thanks for the info! I am using KCIG for a topper and went out and bought 8 cases when I heard it was going to be discontinued. I will look forward to the reviews for ND Turkey stew and hope it is as good at the other. Also will check where it is made since KCIG was made in Canada… Thanks again!

  • LabsRawesome

    Thank GOD!! I guess I’ll keep my Costco membership after all. LMAO. Yeah it must sell better in different locations. I was at my warehouse before I found out about the KCIG being discontinued. They had a huge pallet of it, I bought 2 cases. I just went back on Saturday and there were only about 20 cases left. I bought 6. Hopefully they will get the ND canned in before I run out. FYI my store stopped stocking the original Kirkland Chicken and Lamb ( green shrink wrap) when the new KCIG came out. I thought the original one was discontinued like 2 years ago. lol. :)

  • Crazy4cats

    Yes, please read the first comment on this thread.

  • LabsRawesome

    I bought 6 cases. Any word if Costco is going to replace KCIG? Maybe cases of Nature’s Domain canned? IDK my warehouse doesn’t even carry ND canned.

  • Crazy4cats

    Costco marks every product up the same amount. They are also very demanding of their vendors.

  • Crazy4cats

    Hi All-
    I just have been chatting (per email) with an employee in the pet division of the buying office at Costco. She states that the Cuts in Gravy is being replaced by Nature’s Domain Turkey Stew. The CIG is not selling enough to keep. She was friendly and understood as she has pets too. They are hoping that the customers who love the Cuts in Gravy will also love the Turkey Stew. As well as they are hoping that they CIG haters will like the Turkey Stew better. Apparently, there are customers that did not love the cuts in gravy as much as we do. :( Looks like the new canned food will be about a dollar more per case. Still a great value. I sure hope it’s as good as they are hoping for also! Should be available in a couple of weeks. Oh yes, and it is manufactured by Performance Pet Products. BTW, the old pate style canned food in the green wrapper is still available here and still selling. I think people just have a hard time changing their ways.

  • LabsRawesome

    I’m feeding 3 dogs a mix of can/dry I go thru 2-3 cans per day, depending on what fresh foods I include. Eggs, sardines, ect.

  • aquariangt

    ive seen simply nourish bisques on sale for $1 before. I like them, but I know they require more than some of the pate styles. I feed canned food as a topper only so I don’t pay a ton of attention on how much I need all the time

  • LabsRawesome

    It is $18.99 for a case of 24 cans. So roughly .79 cents per can. You will never find a 5 star meat based canned food for that price. The closest canned to this is Pure Balance 95% Meat cans. They’re $1.25 per can. So instead of paying $18.99 per week for canned dog food, now I have to pay $30.

  • Bobby dog

    I don’t know if Labs or C4c are online now, but it’s about $18.99/24 cans.

  • aquariangt

    out of curiosity (I’ve never looked and I can’t find a price online) how much per can is the cuts n gravy?

  • binkster93

    It would be great if we could go higher up but it seems like the Costco FB page is full of comments from people who are asking why different products aren’t available anymore. I understand they can’t keep stocking everything. But now, to me, Costco has changed from a place where I can buy all my food–including my dog food–to a place where I can only get “some stuff” and then have to to make other stops. Sad.

  • LabsRawesome

    I know. I am really jacked up about this. We are losing the best budget friendly 5 star canned food ever made. It really is a shame. I am going to drop my Costco membership and go with Sam’s Club.

  • Shawna

    Thanks for sharing!! That SUCKS!!

  • Shawna

    That is unfortunate in the case of their food but I actually respect them for not doing so!! :)

  • Crazy4cats

    Costco does not market any of their products.

  • Betsy Greer

    Gulp.

  • LabsRawesome

    Here’s the email I just received from Costco.

    Dear Michelle,

    We appreciate you taking the time to email Costco Wholesale.

    It
    does appear as though the Kirkland Signature Cuts in Gravy will no
    longer be avaiable. Costco prides itself in providing our members with
    the highest quality name-brand products at the right price, while
    keeping our merchandise focused on the best-selling items. Since we
    price our items as low as possible, all items must demonstrate high
    sales in order for us to continue to stock them. In addition, our
    vendor must have the necessary supply for our warehouses.

    Our buying staff reviews the possibility
    of reintroducing product, and we have forwarded your feedback to their
    attention so that they are aware of the interest.

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your input on this product.

    Thank you,

    Andrea H.
    Member Service Center
    Costco Wholesale Corporation

  • Shawna

    LOL!! :)

    I don’t begrudge them their employee trips etc but a little bit of marketing, I would assume, could have gone a long way!! :(

    We are also assuming that the reason for discontinuing the food is competitors or financial reasons but maybe it was a sourcing issue or something like that?

  • LabsRawesome

    Thanks for posting, I will definitely call. I have already emailed Costco about keeping KCIG. :)

  • Barbara

    Anyone who really wants Costco to keep it PLEASE call Corporate office 1-425-313-8100 and choose the Kirkland products dept. (you may have to wait 2-3 minutes to talk to someone. If you are pleasant and give a good reason they should keep it they will forward it to the group in charge of these decisions. (Or am I naïve…some of you will think so). I told them my 2 senior dogs have been eating this food for several years along with dry and I know it has really helped them stay strong. I told them it is too bad they don’t advertise how it is an excellent 5 star canned dog food that is cost effective for pet owners. People are brainwashed by advertisements to buy “the big name dog foods which many are poor quality”. Please call them. Thanks!

  • LabsRawesome

    Hey Shawna, this is what I posted to C4C earlier today. You know why? Because people are too dumb to read the label. They think
    Pedigree is a name brand, and Kirkland is an off brand. They don’t
    realize they’re paying more $ for crap ingredients when they buy
    Pedicrap & Benegarbage. Why does Costco waste so much money sending
    their workers to other states for meetings? Costco pays Airfare, Hotel,
    Meals, and drinks. They waste millions of $ a year on that stupidity.
    Hasn’t Costco ever heard of “Go To Meeting”? http://www.gotomeeting.com/onl

  • Shawna

    I wonder if people like yourself that can identify a good product by ingredient label and guaranteed analysis assume that Costco wouldn’t carry a quality brand due to selling “grocery store” brands too — and don’t bother checking?

    And those that don’t know any better assume that Purina, Iams and such would be better quality simply due to name recognition?

  • Crazy4cats

    Yes, please do.

  • Crazy4cats

    Well, then you need to get another dog to go with all that food!

  • Crazy4cats

    Yes, I hope so. Except not too much better as I just bought 4 cases.

  • LabsRawesome

    My son always wants to look at the Parrots and Macaws when we’re at the pet store. I’m afraid my cats will kill one tho. :)

  • losul

    LOL. I’m crazy about my dog, but one is enough for me right now. I have a wife that is parrot crazy. They eat up plenty of money and time.

    Turbo’s doing very well for the most part, Thnx. I need to update my forum thread when I get time.

  • LabsRawesome

    Oh yeah, I forgot, you’re not one of those crazy dog people like me. :) How is your pup doing these days?

  • losul

    I use some other brands canned also, but I don’t use much. Raw at least 50%, canned maybe 15%, kibble about 30%.

    I only have one 35 lb dog.

  • LabsRawesome

    Holy crap, you must not use much canned. I go thru 3-4 cases in a month.

  • losul

    Well, maybe they will clear out the old and bring in something new and even better.

    I still have a case and and a half left from the four I bought almost a year ago.

  • LabsRawesome

    Costco sells a lot of Pet products. When I’m there almost every cart I see has Dog food/cat litter in it. They have a really good deal on Scoop Away cat litter too, 42lbs for like 12 something. My Costco is in a very upscale area, and those people love saving money on dog food.

  • aquariangt

    exactly. I run a catering company, and my example: pulled bbq chicken is low cost, and thus low priced, I run it at 20% food cost-which is fantastic. A plated new york strip steak event is very high cost, and because of perception needs (which applies to this canned food discussion) I can only get 35% food cost on that one. So even though I may sell that whole meal at $70 a head, my $20 a head bbq menu for 200, is better for me than selling the $70 a head for 40-50 guests

  • aquariangt

    sadly, that’s still a very small percentage of the business Costco does. In fact, the only people I know that use Costco for dog food are a few people on this site, and there aren’t even that many compared to people that buy online/pet boutique/even petsmart and petco. The amount of money these giant stores make is so much that if they aren’t selling enough of one item, they really don’t care

  • LabsRawesome

    My warehouse discontinued the green shrink wrapped KS Lamb & Rice, Chicken & Rice when the new KCIG (brown shrink wrap) came out. I wasn’t even aware that the original green shrink wrap canned was still available. I did not know that Costco ever went by another name either. I hope everyone that wants this product lets Costco know.

  • Betsy Greer

    I can only imagine that the profit margin is higher for the “sub-standard” product.

    I agree. Let’s all bombard their FB page with requests to keep / bring back the product!

  • LabsRawesome

    I’d have to disagree with you there. I know a lot of people that got their Costco membership so they could save $ on dog food.

  • binkster93

    Funny that the Cuts in Gravy is only a few cents more a case than the Lamb and Rice, which is not rated as highly here. Maybe Costco should consider just selling one high-quality Kirkland canned food instead of one amazing one and one not-as-amazing-but-still-ok one. I’ve been a loyal Costco member since it was the Price Club and will continue to be one but I will buy my dog food elsewhere. Costco will listen to customers more than employees, so get workin’ on Costo’s Twitter and Facebook pages and let them know what you think. You can also call corporate. https://www.facebook.com/Costco

  • aquariangt

    unfortunately, even though it’s their own brand, I’d assume (while important to pet owners) that it’s not a big enough sell to bother with. That’s the problem with box stores. I go to Costco, but I don’t buy any food from them, for example. So though I own multiple pets, I don’t give them any revenue for any pet items. And as long as the $ is coming in, they don’t carry things to appease the few

  • LabsRawesome

    Costco loses a lot of members due to their own stupidity. They should know better than to mess with the only good canned they carry.

  • LabsRawesome

    It’s great that Costco treats their employees well. I just wish they’d do the same for their members. If they are going to discontinue KCIG, I hope they’re at least going to start stocking Nature’s Domain Canned. Does anyone have a warehouse that carries ND canned? What’s the price/size 24 cans?

  • Crazy4cats

    Also, I realize we are not a pet store, but I do wish we carried higher quality pet products. I’ll see what I can do, Lol! Ok, I’m off to go buy a few cases of KCIG!

  • Crazy4cats

    Yes, thank you, Losul. We have decent wages and extremely good benefits at an affordable price. Even for part time employees.

  • LabsRawesome

    That stinks. When will Costco realize that they should stop discontinuing products that their “members” want to buy? UGH!!!!

  • Crazy4cats

    Wow! You are a mad mamma!

  • losul

    I think one of the reasons Costco is so successful is because they treat their employees well, is that right C4C?

  • LabsRawesome

    That was awesome. They just took my Mom’s broken Phones back too. But I’m still jacked about this whole dog food situation. I’m about to go get a membership at Sam’s Club instead.

  • Crazy4cats

    Just try to remember when they took back the broken xbox.

  • Germansheppups

    They discontinued the Yummy Chummy grain free Alaskan salmon treats, too. I guess I won’t be stopping at Costco as much.

  • Bobby dog

    Oh no C4c!!!! I guess I don’t have to worry about befriending someone with a Costco membership anymore. I wonder what their reasoning behind this decision is.

  • LabsRawesome

    LOL Sorry, but Costco is really frustrating me!!

  • Crazy4cats

    Are you done now? I don’t want to interrupt your rant. Lol! I don’t think I spent too much time reading an ingredient label either until my previous dog got ill. It’s a shame, really. We need to keep spreading the word, sister!

  • LabsRawesome

    You know why? Because people are too dumb to read the label. They think Pedigree is a name brand, and Kirkland is an off brand. They don’t realize they’re paying more $ for crap ingredients when they buy Pedicrap & Benegarbage. Why does Costco waste so much money sending people to other states for meetings? Costco pays Airfare, Hotel, Meals, and drinks. They waste millions of $ a year on that stupidity. Hasn’t Costco ever heard of “Go To Meeting”?

  • Crazy4cats

    I have bad news. After texting with a co-worker. It does sound like it is being discontinued. They are probably selling more of that Pedigree junk. I think I will go buy 3 or 4 cases. I don’t have the Tractor Supply stores to buy the 4Health canned food.

  • LabsRawesome

    IDK if KCIG is being discontinued. But Costco is seriously annoying me.

  • Crazy4cats

    Hey, Missy, be careful. They are my bread and butter. But, seriously, their pet food choices make me crazy and some what embarrassed. This is making me crazy because I’m off work this week and am not able to check the computer to see what is going on. Is Kirkland Cuts being totally discontinued?

  • LabsRawesome

    Costco is so retarded. Why would they discontinue their own canned food, when it’s a top seller? My Costco doesn’t carry Nature’s Domain canned, ND beef, or ND cat food. It’s their own product, and they don’t carry it. But they stock that NASTY Pedigree canned and big bags of Beneful dry. And huge buckets of Deli Cat. Someone needs to slap Costco across the face, and tell them to CARRY their OWN products!!

  • Germansheppups

    At our Costco on the east coast the food is being discontinued as well. I’m wondering if maybe they will starting selling the Nature’s Domain canned food instead. I asked at the store, but they didn’t know.
    I bought a couple of cases, but if Costco doesn’t stock another wet food, I guess I’ll buy the canned 4health or pure balance.

  • Crazy4cats

    Glad you found an alternative!

  • binkster93

    Hi! Bee was me–I can’t find out how to get my original sign-in though Discus. Blushing because you thought my comments were cute–thanks. I was the one who brought the food back to my Costco with a number of calls to corporate and posts on social media–but i guess enough people weren’t buying it. Bummer. There is a Tractor Supply in Marana, north of Tucson, and I’ll probably buy the 4Health canned there when I run out. There were 150 cases at the Tucson NW Costco on Saturday (two days ago) I bought 16 so there should be some left. They’re closed today for memorial day.

  • Betsy Greer

    Wow!! Now that you say that, the name Bee is familiar. You have an amazing memory!

  • Crazy4cats

    Yes, it was. I think the poster’s name was Bee. She was cute. I think Bee was a she? lol! I remember her thinking that they were being punished and the food was taken away.

  • Betsy Greer

    As best I can recall, it seems it was the same party of the country that had some availability issues last year about this time. It sounds like binkster93 just bought the last sixteen cases of it, too!

  • binkster93

    I was told they’re not planning to restock–at least in Tucson.

  • Crazy4cats

    Ought oh, I’m not at work this week. I can’t tell you if it is pending delete or inactive right now. I hope not being deleted. It’s a staple here at my house!

  • binkster93

    From what Costco told me, it seems like it may be permanent this time.

  • Crazy4cats

    Hi-
    I remember this happening in the Arizona area last year also. I think it came back in about a month though. Hope that is the case again.

  • binkster93

    Found out today It’s being discontinued at my Tucson NW Costco. My dog is four months shy of 16 and she does great on it. I bought 16 cases today when I found out they’re going to discontinue it and I may go back for more.

  • Gwendolyn Thistletwit

    I see it says this is a “Product of Canada” but does anyone know if any of the ingredients are sourced from China?

  • Crazy4cats

    I think that the Kirkland cuts in gravy is an excellent value. Only about 80 cents per can for a 5 star canned food! I use it regularly with Victor grain free kibble. Each of my 80ish pound dogs get a half can each in the morning with their kibble. I use about 1/2 cup less kibble when I add. I can’t, however, promise you that your dogs will stop eating poop. Mine are born poop eaters and nothing seems to stop it. It is disgusting. They have gotten a little bit better about it when I started using digestive enzymes. For some reason they like to do it most when it’s 4:00 in the morning, dark and rainy so I can’t (won’t) go out with them to scoop it up right away. Good luck!

  • Lisa Foltz Allan

    I’ve used Kirkland’s dry food for over a year and my dogs do very well. The one thing they do that I don’t like is eat poop! I have four dogs…so, I have to add some extra nutrients and see what happens. I’ve never used the wet food but I’m thinking I may try it. Are they feeding instructions on the cans for mixing wet and dry? Thanks!

  • Bill Meister

    This food has a habit of causing extremely foul smelling, mushy stool even if you introduce it slowly. I find that you have to feed an amount way under what they recommend, which I do by mixing it with kibble. I feed it to my border collie: two spoonfuls with his kibble and he does fine. Any more than that and it’s diarrhea city.