Earthborn Holistic Dog Food (Dry)

Share

Rating: ★★★★☆

Earthborn Holistic Dog Food receives the Advisor’s second-highest tier rating of 4 stars.

The Earthborn Holistic product line includes four dry dog foods.

Although each appears to be designed for a specific life stage, we were unable to find AAFCO nutritional profile recommendations for these dog foods on the product’s web page.

The following is a list of recipes available at the time of this review.

  • Earthborn Holistic Small Breed (4.5 stars)
  • Earthborn Holistic Ocean Fusion (3.5 stars)
  • Earthborn Holistic Adult Vantage (3.5 stars)
  • Earthborn Holistic Puppy Vantage (4.5 stars)

Earthborn Holistic Small Breed formula was selected to represent the other products in the line for this review.

Earthborn Holistic Small Breed

Dry Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 31% | Fat = 19% | Carbs = 42%

Ingredients: Chicken meal, whitefish meal, oatmeal, ground barley, ground brown rice, chicken fat (preserved with mixed tocopherols), rye flour, potatoes, sweet potatoes, canola oil (preserved with mixed tocopherols), tomato pomace, ground flaxseed, natural flavors, apples, blueberries, cranberries, carrots, peas, spinach, salt, potassium chloride, choline chloride, dl-methionine, l-lysine, taurine, Yucca schidigera extract, l-carnitine, beta-carotene, vitamin A supplement, vitamin D3 supplement, vitamin E supplement, zinc sulfate, l-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), ferrous sulfate, niacin, calcium pantothenate, riboflavin supplement, copper sulfate, pyridoxine hydrochloride, thiamine mononitrate, manganese sulfate, zinc proteinate, manganese proteinate, copper proteinate, calcium iodate, cobalt carbonate, folic acid, sodium selenite, bitoin, vitamin B12 supplement, dried Lactobacillus plantarum fermentation product, dried Enterococcus faecium fermentation product, dried Lactobacillus casei fermentation product, dried Lactobacillus acidophilus fermentation product

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 4.4%

Red items indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis28%17%NA
Dry Matter Basis31%19%42%
Calorie Weighted Basis26%39%35%
Protein = 26% | Fat = 39% | Carbs = 35%

The first ingredient in this dog food is chicken meal. Chicken meal is considered a meat concentrate and contains nearly 300% more protein than fresh chicken.

The second ingredient is whitefish meal, another protein-rich meat concentrate.

Fish meal is typically obtained from the “clean, dried, ground tissue of undecomposed whole fish and fish cuttings” of commercial fish operations.1

The third ingredient is oatmeal, a whole-grain product made from coarsely ground oats. Oatmeal is naturally rich in B-vitamins, dietary fiber and can be (depending upon its level of purity) gluten-free.

The fourth ingredient is barley. Barley is a starchy carbohydrate supplying fiber and other healthy nutrients. However, aside from its energy content, this cereal grain is of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

The fifth ingredient is ground brown rice, another name for rice flour. Ground rice is made from either white or brown rice and is considered a gluten-free substitute for wheat flour.

The sixth ingredient is chicken fat. Chicken fat is obtained from rendering chicken, a process similar to making soup in which the fat itself is skimmed from the surface of the liquid.

Chicken fat is high in linoleic acid, an omega-6 fatty acid essential for life. Although it doesn’t sound very appetizing, chicken fat is actually a quality ingredient.

The seventh ingredient is rye flour, a finely-ground product obtained by milling rye. Rye is a cereal grain nutritionally similar to barley.

The eighth ingredient includes potato. Potatoes can be considered a gluten-free source of digestible carbohydrates. Yet with the exception of perhaps their caloric content, potatoes are of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

The ninth ingredient includes sweet potato. Sweet potatoes are a gluten-free source of complex carbohydrates in a dog food. They are naturally rich in dietary fiber and beta carotene.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With six notable exceptions

First, we find canola oil. Unfortunately, canola can be a controversial item. That’s because it can sometimes (but not always) be derived from genetically modified rapeseed.

Yet others cite the fact canola oil can be a significant source of essential omega-3 fatty acids.

In any case, plant-based oils like canola are less biologically available to a dog than fish oil as a source of quality omega-3 fats.

Next, tomato pomace is also a controversial ingredient, a by-product remaining after processing tomatoes into juice, soup and ketchup.

Many praise tomato pomace for its high fiber and nutrient content, while others scorn it as an inexpensive pet food filler.

Just the same, there’s probably not enough tomato pomace here to make much of a difference.

In addition, flaxseed is one of the best plant sources of healthy omega-3 fatty acids. Provided they’ve first been ground into a meal, flax seeds are also rich in soluble fiber.

However, flaxseed contains about 19% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

Next, this recipe includes peas. Peas are a quality source of carbohydrates. And like all legumes, they’re rich in natural fiber.

However, peas contain about 25% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the meat content of this dog food.

We also note the inclusion of dried fermentation products in this recipe. Fermentation products are typically added to provide enzymes to aid the animal with digestion.

And lastly, this food contains chelated minerals, minerals that have been chemically attached to protein. This makes them easier to absorb. Chelated minerals are usually found in better dog foods.

Earthborn Holistic Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Judging by its ingredients alone, Earthborn Holistic Dog Food looks like an above-average dry product.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 31%, a fat level of 19% and estimated carbohydrates of about 42%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 28% and a mean fat level of 17%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 47% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 61%.

Near-average protein. Near-average fat. And near-average carbs when compared to a typical dry dog food.

Even when you consider the protein-boosting effect of the flaxseed and peas, this looks like the profile of a kibble containing a moderate amount of meat.

Bottom line?

Earthborn Holistic is a plant-based dry dog food using a moderate amount of chicken or whitefish meals as its main sources of animal protein, thus earning the brand 4 stars.

Highly recommended.

Please note certain recipes are sometimes given a higher or lower rating based upon our estimate of their total meat content and (when appropriate) their fat-to-protein ratios.

Those looking for a grain-free kibble from the same line may wish to visit our review of Earthborn Holistic Primitive Natural dog food.

Earthborn Holistic Dog Food
Recall History

The following list (if present) includes all dog food recalls since 2009 directly related to this product line. If there are no recalls listed in this section, we have not yet reported any events.

You can view a complete list of all dog food recalls sorted by date. Or view the same list sorted alphabetically by brand.

To learn why our ratings have nothing to do with a product’s recall history, please visit our Dog Food Recalls FAQ page.

Get free dog food recall alerts sent to you by email. Subscribe to The Advisor’s recall notification list.

Dog Food Coupons
and Discounts

Readers are invited to check for coupons and discounts shared by others in our Dog Food Coupons Forum.

Or click the buying tip below. Please be advised we receive a fee for referrals made to the following online store.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

The Dog Food Advisor does not test dog food products.

We rely entirely on the integrity of the information provided by each company. As such, the accuracy of every review is directly dependent upon the specific data a company chooses to share.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

We rely on tips from readers. To report a product change or request an update of any review, please contact us using this form.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, due to the biological uniqueness of every animal, none of our ratings are intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in a specific dietary response or health benefit for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

However, we do receive a fee from Chewy.com for each purchase made as a direct result of a referral from our website. This fee is a fixed dollar amount and has nothing to do with the size of an order or the brand selected for purchase.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Notes and Updates

09/02/2015 Last Update

  1. Association of American Feed Control Officials
  • Erika Watts

    My aussie prefers the coastal catch. Really did not like the bison. I’ve heard numerous complaints about the bison one and I’m not sure it’s the type of meat anymore thats making dogs not like it/sick. My puppy absolutely loves the puppy formula and I’m gonna be sad when I have to switch her after this bag. She loves the little pieces and taste. Too bad it’s so fattening.

  • Erika Watts

    I have been feeding my two dogs Earthborn for about a year. After having a horrible incident with Blue Buffalo. During the time of BB I had a 15 year old lab and a 3 year old mini aussie. Unfortunately my lab passed away this January and we got another mini aussie last august. The younger aussie eats the puppy formula. No problems, she gobbles it down. My lab and my older aussie had the adult food and we bought whatever chicken or lamb one they have and coastal catch. It wasn’t until my lab passed away that we bought the bison one. My aussie eventually finished the bag but he didn’t seem to like it at all. Had a hard time getting him to eat it willinigly. Usually he wouldn’t eat it in the morning and would only eat it at night when he was really hungry. Bought the coastal catch and he seems to like it much better. We also mixed it with a smaller bag of diet because he’s a chunky boy (couch potato dog lol) So I definitely agree that something is wrong with the bison one. Currently looking into another dog food because it seems like Earthborn went cheapo just like BB did.

  • Crazy4cats

    I think Halo cat kibble is very good, but expensive. But, mostly, I think you should take your cat to the vet for a physical and have his teeth checked. How old is he?

  • jj lp

    my cat been eating earthborn holistic.he been acting strange.stare at ceiling.he moves his mouth weird on side.he been jerky on his body.i thought this food was good.i don’t know what to fed my cat anymore unless I try halo.

  • Crazy4dogs

    Unfortunately, any expired food can go bad. Most dry food has been made at least a year before the expiration date. You never know how it’s been stored or handled over that time. If it smells bad to you, that’s a good indication that it’s gone bad. That’s why I purchase my own food for my fosters. It saves me trips to the vet. 😉

  • Susan

    Yes call Earthborn you should be getting a full refund, I had to take back an opened bag of Ocean Fusion 12kgs $100 Patch was doing really well on the 2 kg Ocean Fusion bags then I bought the big 12kg bag & it looked & smelt different to his last 2 kg Ocean Fusion bag, he started doing sloppy poos & was farting real bad, so I contacted the Australian people that import Earthborn & they said yes refund my $100 to the Pet shop, I emailed the American Earthborn & the lady told me the potatoes are probably different sometimes they buy the rustic potatoes, then the next batch may have red & white potatoes, I think they buy rotten green potatoes, real cheap potatoes & that’s why some dogs react & get sick…

  • Susan

    Hi, I would email Earthborn ASAP & tell them, these companies need to know, when a use by date has expired their food are expired, I normally buy kibbles when the use by date has just expired the Pet Shop takes off 75%…. what I noticed as soon as I opened certain bags with in 1-2 weeks the kibble started to smell weird then Patch was doing very sloppy yellow poos, I took the bag back & got a refund cause the food was still Guaranteed….

  • Doug Austin

    That makes sense… thanks

  • theBCnut

    This is the smell of the oils in the food going rancid. Throw them out.

  • Doug Austin

    We foster huskies and were given two expired 12kg bags of Earthborn Holistic Adult Vantage from a local pet store (the store says the kibble is still good and ok to use, feeding several foster dogs can get expensive and so local pet stores donate recently expired bags to adoption agencies).

    Both Earthborn Holistic Adult Vantage bags of kibble have a weird smell to them, like an oil paint or paint varish or something like that. Is that normal for this brand?? We are throwing the two bags out, but were just wondering if this smell is normal for this brand. We have not used it before… thanks

  • Susan

    When I first rescued Patch he had red blood thru his poo he also had mucus around the end of the some poos, looked like a condom around his poo, vet said colitis he’s sensitive to an ingredient…He was put on a vet diet. then after 6 months I started introducing new kibbles….Earth Born is guaranteed money back…I was feeding Patch the Earthborn Ocean Fusion when Patch was eating the smaller bags with same use by date (same batch) he was doing really well, then I bought the larger bag different use by date so different batch & Patch started doing sloppy smelly poos & was farting real bad, I email Earthborn & asked what type of potatoes are used she said rustic, brown, red, white sweet what ever potatoes we can get, so I thought I bet green & rotten potatoes are used as well, so I don’t feed any kibbles with Potatoes no more, I prefer a kibble with rice especially when they have sensitive stomach/bowel….. Have a look at Wellness Petite Entree’s or the Wellness Simple Small Breed its a limited ingredient kibble http://www.wellnesspetfood.com/index.aspx

  • LabsRawesome

    Did you compare the ingredients list from the bags with 2 different expiration dates? Just wondering if there was an ingredient change.

  • Shari Veller

    I am convinced there is something wrong with the Meadow Feast! I have six dogs, two with allergies, especially to chicken and eggs. I have been feeding Meadow Feast for years. I get a 28# bag delivered every two weeks from Foster & Smith. In January, I noticed the kibble in a new bag looked different. It was darker, smaller and shaped differently. The expiration date was May 2017. The dogs ate the food fine, but I noticed both of the dogs with allergies started to break out with symptoms. Got through that bag and noticed the next bag had the same expiration date and the kibble also looked different. Got halfway through that bag and decided there was something off with the food as the allergy dogs were now having full blown symptoms. I went to Tractor Supply and found a bag with an expiration date of August 2017. Opened the bag and the kibble looked like the old kibble I was used to. Fed that bag and the allergy symptoms started to subside. Got my new delivery from Foster & Smith and again it had the same expiration date of May 2017. I decided not to even open the bag and went back to Tractor Supply to purchase a bag. This bag had an expiration date of January 2017. Again the kibble was different. Since I was out of food, I went ahead and fed my dogs from this bag anyway. One of my allergy dogs started throwing up and having loose stools. Ended up taking her to the vet to be checked out. Initial bloodwok and xrays showed all normal. Vet attributed the symptoms to something she ate. Now with a $418 vet bill in hand, I went back to Tractor Supply and found a bag with an expiration date of September 2016. Opened the bag and it is the old kibble from before. So, from what I have been able to piece together, something is wrong with the Meadow Feast kibble from at least the bags with expiration dates between January 2017 and May 2017. There may be other expiration dates involved, but these are the dates I can personally attest to. On Monday, I will be returning the bad bag to Tractor Supply and calling Foster and Smith for return of the bad bags from them. Then I will be calling Earthborn! I have to say this is the second time I have had issues with Earthborn Meadow Feast. A few years ago, I got a bag of food that I thought was bad. It was also different looking and smelled off too. I returned the food and called Earthborn. I spoke with someone named Mike. His explanation at that time was sometimes the nozzles do not get cleared out completely when they switch from one formula to the next during manufacturing. He sent me some coupons. Coupons are not going to fix the problem this time. This problem involves multiple bags with multiple expiration dates and hundreds of dollars in vet bills. I am switching my six dogs off of Earthborn!!!

  • Shari Veller

    I am convinced there is something wrong with the Meadow Feast! I have six dogs, two with allergies to chicken and eggs. I have been feeding Meadow Feast for years. I get a 28# bag delivered every two weeks from Foster & Smith. In January, I noticed the kibble in a new bag looked different. It was darker, smaller and shaped differently. The expiration date was May 2017. The dogs ate the food fine, but we noticed both of our dogs with allergies started to break out with symptoms. Got through that bag and noticed the next bag had the same expiration date and the kibble also looked different. Got halfway through that bag and decided there was something off with the food as the allergy dogs were now having full blown symptoms. Went to Tractor Supply and found a bag with an expiration date of August 2017. Opened the bag and the kibble looked like the old kibble I was used to. Fed that bag and the allergy symptoms started to subside. Got my new delivery from Foster & Smith and again it had the same expiration date of May 2017. Decided not to even open the bag and went back to Tractor Supply to purchase a bag. This one had an expiration date of January 2017. Again the kibble was different. Since I was out of food, I went ahead and fed my dogs from this bag anyway. One of my allergy dogs started throwing up and having loose stools. Ended up taking her to the vet to be checked out. Initial bloodwok and xrays showed all normal. Vet attributed the symptoms to something she ate. Now with a $418 vet bill in hand, I went back to Tractor Supply and found a bag with an expiration date of September 2016. Opened the bag and it is the old kibble from before. So, from what I have been able to piece together, something is wrong with the Meadow Feast kibble from at least the bags with expiration dates between January 2017 and May 2017. There may be other expiration dates involved, but these are the dates I can personally attest to. On Monday, I will be returning the bad bag to Tractor Supply and calling Foster and Smith for return of the bad bags from them. Then I will be calling Earthborn! I have to say this is the second time I have had issues with Earthborn Meadow Feast. A few years ago, I got a bag of food that I thought was bad. It was also different looking and smelled off too. I returned the food and called Earthborn. I spoke with someone named Mike. His explanation at that time was sometimes the nozzles do not get cleared out completely when they switch from one formula to the next during manufacturing. He sent me some coupons. Coupons are not going to fix the problem this time. This problem involves multiple bags with multiple expiration dates and hundreds of dollars in vet bills. I am switching my six dogs off of Earthborn!!!

  • Crazy4dogs

    Forthglade reads like a very good food. If I’m reading correctly, it sounds like your adding a tablespoon (25%) of Earthborn to the Forthglade. If so, that should be the correct transition. I’m not sure why your dogs are having problems, but it might be a bad bag, or just a food that doesn’t agree with them. I’ve had good luck with Earthborn, but I use the grain free version and have large dogs, so I don’t use any small breed formulas. If you don’t see an improvement in a few days, I would either try a new bag or a different brand. Good luck with it!

  • Pompom mama

    For forthglade It like a tray so I give them quarter mixed with their new food
    Quarter is about 3 tablespoons

  • Crazy4dogs

    Hi Pompom mama,

    It’s a bit difficult since forthglade appears to be a UK food and the website won’t show me the G/A. Also the measurement conversion to US units appears to be about a tablespoon. Is this correct?

  • Pompom mama

    I was feeding them forthglade
    I gave them the dry as treat the day before and today I mix 15 grams with there old food

  • Crazy4dogs

    Hi Pompom mama!

    What were you feeding them before and how much did you mix in?

  • Pompom mama

    I start giving my poms earthborn small breed yesterday as a treat
    And today I mix it with their old food to make the transition
    But I notice there is blood in stool
    Also the poop smells like blood
    Any Ideas !

  • G C

    After much research, I just bought Earthborn Holistic Puppy Vantage for my 11 week old husky/lab mix. I hope he likes it. Of course, I then read more comments on here that make it out to be terrible! Oh well, I think he’ll be fine; he eats everything put in front of him, and the ingredients in this are seemingly much better.

  • Crazy4cats

    Hi Ashley-

    I have a dog who has one ear that tends to get yeasty no matter what I feed him. He’s a lab/retriever mix. He has long ears and a long vertical ear canal. I have found that cleaning his ears at least once a week really helps. Also trying to “air” their ears out as much as possible is helpful as well. Some good cleaning solutions are Vetericyn ear rinse, zymox and banixx. Of course, if he has some type of food or environmental allergy, as c4d mentioned, it would best best to eliminate it as well. Here is a link that may be helpful:
    https://www.cesarsway.com/dog-care/ear-care/ear-infections-in-dogs-symptoms-causes-and-treatments

    If he has a full blown ear infection, he may need to be taken to the vet for a course of antibiotics. Best of luck!

  • Bobby dog

    Well good to read. I was thinking that might be the case. Happy New Year to you too!

  • Crazy4dogs

    All is well, just a really hectic holiday schedule with family in town through the rest of the holidays. Thanks for asking! Have a Great New Year! 🙂

  • Crazy4dogs

    Hi Ashley,

    Unfortunately Beagles are prone to ear infections due to the shape and length of their ears.

    http://www.beaglepro.com/beagle-ears

    He might have developed an allergy to the grains in it. I have a lab that gets ear infections when she develops an allergy to food ingredients. You might want to switch to a grain free version of Earthborn to see if that helps. You might want to pick a different protein source too. Several of their formulas say that they are suitable for all life stages. Here’s a link to one of the formulas:

    http://www.earthbornholisticpetfood.com/us/dog_formulas/meadow_feast/

    If that doesn’t help, you might want to try a different grain free food. Good luck with it!

  • Ashley Niemann

    We have been feeding out beagle mix puppy Earthborn’s puppy vantage for about 4 months. He hasn’t had a problem at all until recently his ears became severely inflamed. He definitely has an ear infection. Anyone have any advice as to what this could be?

  • charged99

    I bought a bag & put it in the bin but cut out the CPU & have the receipt the store wouldn’t take it back without the bag. I never anticipated that I would return a bag of dog food so I discarded the bag. So Earthborn refuses to give me a refund. It’s good this happened because it shows they don’t have the best interest of the dog or dog owner but they want your $$ that’s all. The ? is does earthborn distribute there own food?

  • charged99

    Dont buy this brand they don’t stand behind there product. At least 50 dog owners claims there dog got sick from the Kibble and there response was “we don’t know what went wrong” they told the dog owners they would refund there money if not satisfied 100% yet they refuse to refund the customers. Shady Business practices. We live in a society where we “think that holistic dog food is better” yet my dog does excellent on a 2 dollar can of Ideal Balance mixed with Origen Kibble. A reputable company would say we are sorry your dog got sick on our kibble and we want to ensure you we haven taken measures to prevent this from happening again yet Eathborn took 0 steps. Why would you gamble with your dog’s life? Even Merrick if your not 100% satisfied with there food for any reason while give you a refund no questions asked. What a great policy but I only took my Boston Terrier of Merrick because it was bought out by Purina. Earthborn not a good company

  • Carol_Wessberg

    My bad – this comment should have gone under Earthborn Holistic Grain Free Grass Lands Feast.

  • Susan

    Does anyone feed the “Earthborn Ocean Fusion Natural” it has no peas, no tomato pomace & no probiotics like the other flavours.. it’s lower in protein & fat.. http://www.earthbornholisticpetfood.com/us/dog_formulas/

  • Crazy4cats

    Hi-

    I just visited the Earthborn website. The ingredients listed above are still correct: http://www.earthbornholisticpetfood.com/us/dog_formulas/small_breed/ingredients.php

    The reviews are updated approximately every 18 months. This one should be updated in a couple of months.

    You are probably feeding one of the grain free recipes, whose reviews are on a different thread. But, you are right. A lot of the grain free recipes are using peas to up the protein content. Reading labels is so important!

  • Carol_Wessberg

    My dog was doing well on this for years, but then stopped eating it. Upon checking the label I noticed that Pea is item 2 and Pea Protein is item 3 now on the ingredients list. My guess is that the primary source of protein is now Peas not meat. Increased profits for the company, decreased nutrition for my dog.
    This item is in need of an updated score.

  • Sucker4Rescues

    I’ve also have had no issues with Earthborn grain free and have fed it as part of my rotation for several years. I also sometimes use the tubs as a topper.

  • Crazy4cats

    Hee Hee, naughty girl! Yeah, I think most people are more likely to post a review when they have an issue with a product than when they are happy with one. Whether it be dog food or a refrigerator! Good looking dog. Thank you for the positive review!

  • Laya R White

    I’m seeing so many bad reviews and it would scare me if I wasn’t already on it. I’m feeding my dog primitive natural and she’s been doing great. Loads of energy, fur glowing and shiny, her eyes looking brighter. She’s just been doing so well. I’ve been feeding her this for nearly a year now and I think this is good if you know you can’t afford to feed raw and need a good substitute. They also offer treats that are good and though my dog broke into them and ate them all, she got no bellyache fortunately.

  • Debbie

    UPDATE: I had originally posted this to another Earthborn flavor page here on dogfoodadvisor and several other people have had the same problem, all starting upon opening new bags. I have all my bags and am composing a letter with all the facts and batch #’s, dates, etc. If anyone else has had a problem and would like to share any of their info with me please let me know here or email me at [email protected]. I am seeking batch #’s to match against mine. This problem involved 2 different flavors so it has to be more than 1 bad batch and could involve any of their flavors.

  • Debbie

    Wondering if anyone has had issues around the beginning of 2015 or after? Coastal Catch or Great Plains? I wanted to transition my 2 German Shepherds from Coastal Catch to Great Plains Bison. They seemed to have allergies that cause itching so before the snow melted here in MA I wanted to do the switch to see if it was the food or
    seasonal allergies. They had been on Pacific Coast for at least 6 mos and doing well but didn’t want them to get bored with it either. They had both been on Earthborn for 2+ years. I didn’t have enough of the Fish to do the full transition with both dogs so bought a new bag of Fish and a new bag of Bison. Both dogs had been eating up to 6
    cups/day, thriving well. As soon as I opened the 2 new bags, neither dog would eat it. Cold turkey, one day eating great, next day wouldn’t eat the food at all. I tried putting water in it, raw egg, then yogurt.
    Usually that would kick start them but not this time. They were still
    very hungry they would eat the egg off the bottom of their dish, around the food, but not the dog food. When I put yogurt in with it, they were
    licking the yogurt off the food but again, not eating the food. Thougth their stomachs were upset from the flavor transition so added pumpkin and they would would eat a little here and there after at least a day of no food and being starving. A few times they vomited shortly after eating. I thought they were just being picky. I SO regret making them eat it. My oldest GS just turned 8 and never sick a day in his life, lost a significant amount of weight. Took him to the vet and got a different vet than our own vet and she ran xrays, but no blood work or urine, contrary to what I thought she should do. (His urine was very concentrated looking). Xrays were fine, she told me if it continued to come back in a few weeks. Two weeks later he was still losing weight and occasional vomiting, I added canned food (another brand) to the Earthborn dry. They started eating again and my older dog started gaining again so I didn’t take him back to the vet. During this time of them eating those 2 new bags, I noticed that both my dogs had very
    runny eyes, thick yellow eye discharge. I just thought it was maybe allergies and didn’t think much of it. After 1 wk of adding the canned food, my older dog was gaining and seemed to be doing good. The younger one never lost much weight. At about 2-1/2 wks I noticed my dog had stopped gaining weight. Each day I noticed he was losing weight again despite eating plenty. 2 wks after that he was so thin again! I noticed on a Wed morning (4/29) that he seemed
    a little off balance and disoriented. Wed afternoon I came home and he
    was staggering, head was tilted, eye lid drooping and not able to focus and falling. I took him to the vet 1st thing Thurs morn and his blood was yellow so they did rush testing and all his levels, especially liver, were off the charts! I rushed him to Boston’s Angell Memorial Hospital (one of the best in the country) and spent $5000 over 4 days. His liver was so badly damaged that they couldn’t save him. Neither vet thought it was the food but they didn’t experience what I did for those 2 mos.

    While my older dog was in the hospital I had bought another new bag and my younger dog went back to eating the Earthborn without the canned. He ate good for about a week and all of a sudden he won’t
    touch the Earthborn again. I am not making him eat it. After a few
    days of him turning down the food I put down 2 dry foods each feeding, the Earthborn and another brand and let him pick. He chose the other brand hands down every time. I am not here to bad mouth Earthborn, I have praised and recommended this food to many until this happened. I just want to know what killed my very healthy dog and see if anyone has had similar experiences? If not, then I have to accept it wasn’t food related but I just can’t go back to that day they stopped eating it. I have had my younger dog tested and his levels are all excellent.

  • Susan

    There must be an ingredient that ur Pitbull & Maltese has a allergic reaction with the inflamed paws. My boy gets the red swollen paws too, I tried a new kibble the other week & it kept happening when I was slowely adding the new kibble, the only ingredient that I think it was from was the Rye.. Just start writing down ingredients then you mite start to see a pattern with the same ingredient…there’s alot of peas in the Great Plains Feast ( Bison formula) peas, pea protein & pea fiber

  • Katrina Kueny

    So I have had really bad experiences with the Earthborn Bison formula. First with my pug, who this food wasn’t originally for, ate this food and every time he has ate this he’s puked. He didn’t eat it very frequently so we just put that together once we started noticing our Pitbull have a horrible reaction also. Her nose was turning burnt red looking and her paws were inflamed. Our smaller Maltese was also biting his paws and having hot spots. I am taking them off this food IMMEDIATELY and putting them on taste of the wild!

  • Lisa Simon

    I fed Earthborn Holistic Coastal Catch for about a year with no problems. Then I tried a different flavor – the one with the wolf on the bag. My 13 year old terrier got stomach issues and died a week later. She had Cushings for two years and I was afraid the protein was too much for her system. I was feeling terribly guilty for trying a different food with her but then my chihuahua also began having stomach issues. I dumped out the bag of food and discovered it had really nasty bugs in it. I haven’t used it since and don’t plan on going back to this brand of food. No I did not call the manufacturer. I had lost my German Shepherd to hemangiosarcoma in January and the loss of my terrier in March left me without much energy to deal with this the way I should have.

  • john sparacino

    It was Petfoodgirect.com. My biggest issue was that Earthborn Plant manager admitted fault,but didn’t follow through with his promise to take care of it for me. I do agree the vendor sucks as well. Won’t be buying anymore Earthborn products or any products from this vendor

  • Melissaandcrew

    Please state where you bought it from, No one wants to be in your position and that vendor customer service sucks.

  • Betsy Greer

    It couldn’t have been chewy.com that it was purchased from. They would’ve taken care of it immediately. Not that that helps even remotely.

  • john sparacino

    It was a online purchase

  • neezerfan

    I agree with losul.

  • losul

    John, IMO, no matter who’s fault it is, it’s also the vendor’s issue because they sold it to you. They should give your money back and then THEY can argue with the manufacturer. I don’t see how the vendor can just wash their hands of the matter, that vendor wouldn’t be anyone I would want to deal with again…. Was it an online purchase?

  • john sparacino

    I did and they said they stored it properly that it was a manufacturer issue

  • losul

    Did you try taking the matter up with the vendor-whoever sold it to you?

    I agree, $3 off coupons is not a satisfactory solution.

  • john sparacino

    I bought a bag of rancid
    dog food from Earthborn. Spoke with customer service and no apologies no
    attempt to make things right. They gave me the plant managers phone number and
    told me to give him a call. Talked to the manager Mike and he apologized and promised
    to send me a replacement bag. Seven days later I received a couple of $3 off
    per bag coupons. Called Mike again and he said it would be taken care of. Seven
    more days passed I get five $3 off coupons (one per visit a far cry from the
    $50 I spent on rancid food). Since then more time has passed without any
    results. Talked to Mike via text and he basically said he helped me the best
    way he could and sorry if I was disappointed.Making me promises that he doesn’t
    fulfill really doesn’t sound like someone helping you the best way they know
    how. I totally understand that problems occur in the production of dog food,
    but how you handle a problem is the measure of a good company and in my eyes
    this was handled very poorly!

    John P.S. The food was
    Earthborn Coastal Catch and my dog’s stomach still isn’t right.

  • theBCnut

    YIKES!! Reactions like your dane is having are very dangerous, because from one feeding to the next they can be fatal. Make sure your dane does not get even one more bite of that bag of food. I would call the company and let them know. Not that I think it will do any good, but if there is a problem, there has to be a first report.

  • doggievangogh

    My last bag of grain free bison seems to be causing 2 of my dogs to have some weird reactions. The dane is clearly having an allergic reaction as her eyes have swollen and also the leather of her ears. The toy poodle is chewing on her feet like crazy! This only happens when there have been grains introduced to them. I’m NOT happy right now. Looks like going back to raw is it for me. This was just nice to have as a back up for the dog sitter.

  • theBCnut

    If you read down through other posts, you would see that several people have written about this lately.

  • sandary

    I have been mixing different bags of the earth born grain free together like coastal catch & meadow fest etc in the last few months my 6 year old golden has gotten a lot of loose stools I am thinking it might be the food and am thinking of changing has anyone else seen this problem

  • Christina Dubuque

    Have been to vet with several of my large dogs on this food with great weight loss digestive issues etc .I need to switch vet states it is this food.

  • Christina Dubuque

    Yes same issues my dogs have loose diarrhea now so frustrating. I am changing foods soon.

  • Guest-1111

    Awesome, thanks so much for all of the suggestions! After they adjust to the kibble transition, I’m going to bring some raw into the rotation & see how it goes.

  • Guest-1111

    Thanks for the input. My dogs eat too much to go raw completely (financially anyway), so after they adjust to the new kibble, I’m going to try to bring some raw into the rotation & see how it goes.

  • Guest-1111

    Glad to hear your dogs are getting better! I emailed the company also, but have received no response. Sad really.

  • jan

    yes, my 4 dogs were all on coastal catch for a couple of years. just recently , last 6 months , my dogs were having intestinal issues and losing weight. I tried resolving this isssue but 3 of my dogs lost too much weight and it was only getting worse. we found no other reason for the weight loss. my vet ran test on one of the dogs and found nothing. I can only assume it was the dog food. I even contacted the company , they claimed there has been no change in the recipe of coastal catch. I finally had to change dog food, and My dogs have gained the weight back. We also noted a difference in the kibble shape and size. Like I said I really like there product until this happened.

  • Beth Knuth

    I have done raw, Darwin’ delivered right to your door, for breakfast and then kibble at night for awhile. Lately, Butch, pit mix has done a little puke burping at night after kibble, I do rotate and change, I try to get grain free kibble, but this time I did get a NutriSource brand grain inclusive type. I think that was the main problem. So the last three days I have done all Darwin’s raw, no puking at all, and already Butch smells sweet, his fur actually smells sweet. It is amazing about raw, I don’t know if I can afford this total raw with Darwin’s but we will see. Just an idea from me, good luck to you!

  • InkedMarie

    Yes, lots do kibble and raw, myself included (in the past). My brittany has a raw meal once or twice a week. Feeding any raw is fantastic, sure does not defeat the purpose!

  • Guest-1111

    Thank you for the suggestion!

  • Guest-1111

    I think I would probably have to do ground also, don’t know if I could handle watching them eat whole parts, natural or not. I’ll have to do some more research on the raw diet with regards to portioning & balancing. Have you heard of anyone doing both raw & kibble? For example, feeding kibble in the morning & raw in the evening? Was wondering if that would defeat the purpose.
    My finicky one gets ear infections, but I suspect she has environmental allergies that are causing them. They didn’t start until recently when we moved to the south & only act up when it thaws outside. So she’s on daily allergy meds currently, not ideal, but they help.

  • Crazy4cats

    Hi Guest-
    Sorry, you are having trouble with the Earthborn food. I wanted to let you know that Victor has two fish recipes. One with grain and one without. I’ve been using the grain free beef with great results. I plan on trying the Yukon salmon formula next. Just thought you might want to check it out if the Canidae does not work out. Good luck!

  • InkedMarie

    we’ll just start over 🙂

    My husband is not into prey model raw so I buy ground. Not cheap but I got tired of vet visits and meds for his ears. My holistic vet prefers no veggies for him for now so I buy from Hare-Today.com

    I was going to try the Canidae Sea for Boone, he had been on Natural Balance sweet potato & fish and doing fine. Had a phone conference with my holistic vet, Pure Sea was the choice of foods. Two days later, bam, another infection. Decided to go to raw.

  • Guest-1111

    I would love to try the raw diet with mine, it’s unfortunately too time consuming & costly for me at the moment, some day! Friends that have their dogs on it absolutely love it. I’ve heard good things about California Naturals for dogs with allergies, but hesitate because they’ve been part of so many recalls lately. The Canidae Pure Sea looks like it would work for my girl based on the ingredients. I think I’m going to grab a bag, start the transition & see how it works. Hopefully my other finicky girl will eat it. Thank you for the suggestion, and I do apologize for getting defensive so quickly. A bit out of character for me, but I won’t bother you with all of the excuses.

  • InkedMarie

    :::passing peace pipe::::

    I understand about going through dog food. My allergy boy had no ear infections for seven years, then bang, last april, they came back and didn’t stop. I have given away the equilivent of 4 big bags of dog food in the last year. Six weeks ago, I put him on ground raw as it seems to be the only thing that works. I adopted a toothless dog last January, she ended up with 2 back to back UTI’s and needed two enemas for constipation. She was also underweight. Now she’s on Canidae Pure Sea with a little Pure Sky canned, they’re the only thing that works. My other gal can eat anything, thank god.

    You’re right about EB, I don’t feed it but used to. I’m not a troll, just commented.

    Hope you grasp the peace pipe.

  • Guest-1111

    Well when you go through dog food as fast as i do & combine all of this with a stressful interstate move, it’s not always easy to pinpoint the cause of such things. It’s only since life has calmed down a bit that I was able to identify it. Since you have not commented on the actual question, I assume you do not use this type of food & just troll the comments section?

  • InkedMarie

    I have a dog with allergies too but I can tell you that if I bought 7 or 8 bags of food and my dog(s) had digestive upsets AND the dog appearance varied, I would have stopped after the second or third bag. I’m sorry you felt criticized but thats an awful lot of bags to buy with the same issues.

  • Guest-1111

    Because it took me a while to realize it was not a coincidence. Because previous to this, they had been on the food for about 2 years with no trouble. Because I have a dog with severe allergies and this is the only reasonably priced food I have found that works for her. Do you want me to go on? I posted on here asking for input, not criticism, thanks.

  • InkedMarie

    Why have you continued to feed a food that has been inconsistent over 7-8 bags of food when your dogs have had digestive upsets? That just makes no sense.

  • Guest-1111

    Has anyone else had trouble with the consistency of their food from bag to bag lately? The kibble in the last 7-8 bags of Coastal Catch I’ve purchased has varied greatly between the bags, and each time I open a new bag, my dogs have digestive issues. Just wondering if anyone else has noticed this, and trying to determine if it’s time to switch to a food I can trust to be consistent between bags.

  • Msams0975

    I actually just bought a bag of ocean fusion for my springer mix this morning. I mixed it with the small amount of orijen regional red she had left. I am going on a stricter budget and had to find a cheaper food that I felt she could handle. She had it for dinner tonight, loved it and seems completely satisfied. Her tummy is sensitive but so far it’s agreeing with her. I would recommend it, even though I don’t normally like grain-inclusive foods.

  • InkedMarie

    You can unsub still the bottom of this page. Unclick the green subscribe

  • LabsRawesome

    Whatever.

  • Susan

    Unsubscribe!

  • LabsRawesome

    Did you think you were the only Susan in the world? If you are worried about people confusing your posts for another Susan’s posts, make your name more unique. Add your last initial, the name of your dog, or something else. You could also add an Avatar. Gravatar.com

  • Susan

    Appears to be two posters as Susan. I did not post
    this..

  • susan

    Has anyone tried the Ocean fusion?? when I read the ingredients they were limited ingredients & no garlic, mite be better for sensitive tummys…also fat was only 12% fat,, Has anyone tried..

  • Cate

    I try to stay with 5 star foods and rotate for a healthy gut.

  • jo

    My dog has been on blue grain free for 2 1/2. Years…never see bits of cat food in it..however we are gtti g new pup nd someone suggested earthborn…..does dog food come in tiny morsels for pup and dogs

  • Pingback: going back to kibble :/()

  • Pattyvaughn

    Oatmeal, barley, brown rice, rye flour, and potato are all in this one.

  • Storm’s Mom

    These are the grain-inclusive formulae. The grain-free ones are here: http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/dog-food-reviews/earthborn-holistic-grain-free/ They are 5 star vs these 4 star ones.

  • Susan

    Just as an FYI and to beware. I used to give my dogs those little marrow bones that I got at the butcher. One of these bones cracked and lodged on his jaw. He wouldn’t let me work to get it off and he was getting anxious and could not drink water. So I had to take him to the vet and they sedated him and sawed it off. That little bone cost me $35 in the end and a very scared dog and nervous dog mom. So from then on I bought the knuckle bones instead.

  • Susan

    I read the ingredients for this food. I am not impressed other than it has no grains or potatoes

  • Pingback: earthborn holistic reviews - Holistic Mexico()

Get Free Recall Alerts by Email

Get Free Recall Alerts by Email

Receive lifesaving dog food recall alerts anytime there's a recall event in the U.S. or Canada.

You'll also get our best tips and ideas to help you feed your dog better... and safer.

No spam.  Unsubscribe anytime.

You have Successfully Subscribed!