Aunt Jeni’s Home Made (Raw Frozen)

Share

Rating: ★★★★★

Aunt Jeni’s Home Made Dog Food receives the Advisor’s top rating of 5 stars.

The Aunt Jeni’s Home Made product line includes five raw frozen dog foods, each claimed to meet AAFCO nutrient profiles for all life stages.

The following is a list of recipes available at the time of this review.

  • Aunt Jeni’s Home Made Goat
  • Aunt Jeni’s Home Made Beef
  • Aunt Jeni’s Home Made Turkey
  • Aunt Jeni’s Home Made Lamb (2 stars)
  • Aunt Jeni’s Home Made Chicken (3 stars)

Aunt Jeni’s Home Made Beef was selected to represent the others in the line for this review.

Aunt Jeni's Home Made Beef

Raw Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 60% | Fat = 20% | Carbs = 12%

Ingredients: Grass-fed, hormone and antibiotic-free, free-range beef, beef heart, beef liver; pureed mixed squashes, mixed leafy greens (kale and collards), celery, apples; whole eggs (including shells); ground, organic flax seeds; fresh garlic; raw, unpasteurized honey; organic, unfiltered, unpasteurized apple cider vinegar; fresh parsley; powdered alfalfa and kelp

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 4%

Red items when present indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis15%5%NA
Dry Matter Basis60%20%12%
Calorie Weighted Basis50%40%10%

The first ingredient in this dog food is beef. Beef is defined as “the clean flesh derived from slaughtered cattle” and includes skeletal muscle or the muscle tissues of the tongue, diaphragm, heart or esophagus.1

Beef is naturally rich in all ten essential amino acids required by a dog to sustain life.

Even though it has nothing to do with our rating here, it’s important to acknowledge the unusual quality of this ingredient in its description as “grass-fed, hormone and antibiotic-free, free-range beef”.

The second ingredient is beef heart. Although it doesn’t sound very appetizing to us humans, heart tissue is pure muscle — all meat. It’s naturally rich in quality protein, minerals and complex B vitamins, too.

The third ingredient is beef liver. This is an organ meat sourced from a named animal and thus considered a beneficial component.

The fourth ingredient is squash. Squash is a nutritious addition high in complex carbohydrates, vitamins, minerals and dietary fiber.

The fifth ingredient is mixed leafy greens and specifically identifies kale and collards, two nutrient-rich vegetables.

Kale for example, is a type of cabbage in which the central leaves do not form a head. This dark green vegetable is especially rich in beta-carotene, vitamins C, vitamin K and calcium.

And like broccoli, kale contains sulforaphane, a natural chemical believed to possess potent anti-cancer properties.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With three notable exceptions

First, garlic can be a controversial item. Although most experts favor the ingredient for its numerous health benefits, garlic (in rare cases) has been linked to Heinz body anemia in dogs.2

However, the limited professional literature we surveyed provided no definitive warnings regarding the use of garlic — especially when used in small amounts (as it likely is here).

Next, flaxseed is one of the best plant sources of healthy omega-3 fatty acids. Provided they’ve first been ground into a meal, flax seeds are also rich in soluble fiber.

However, flaxseed contains about 19% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

And lastly, although we find no added vitamins or minerals on the ingredients list, it’s reassuring to find a list of naturally included nutrients (for each recipe) detailed on the company’s website.

Aunt Jeni’s Home Made Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Judging by its ingredients alone, Aunt Jeni’s Home Made Dog Food looks to be an above-average raw dog food.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 60%, a fat level of 20% and estimated carbohydrates of about 12%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 49% and a mean fat level of 28%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 15% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 58%

Above-average protein. Near-average fat. And below-average carbs when compared to a typical raw dog food.

Even when you consider the protein-boosting effect of the flaxseed, this looks like the profile of a raw product containing an abundance of meat.

Bottom line?

Aunt Jeni’s Home Made is a meat-based raw frozen dog food using a significant amount of species-specific meat and organs as its main sources of animal protein, thus earning the brand 5 stars.

Enthusiastically recommended.

However, due to its exceptionally high fat content, we cannot in good conscience recommend the lamb product.

Please note certain recipes are sometimes given a higher or lower rating based upon our estimate of their total meat content.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

We rely almost entirely on the integrity of the information posted by each company on its website. As such, the accuracy of every report is directly dependent upon the quality of that data.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, due to the biological uniqueness of every animal, none of our ratings are intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in a specific dietary response or health benefit for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

To learn how we support the cost of operating this website, please visit our public Disclosure and Disclaimer page.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Notes and Updates

01/25/2012 Original review
07/27/2013 Review updated
07/27/2013 Last Update

  1. Association of American Feed Control Officials
  2. Yamato et al, Heinz Body hemolytic anemia with eccentrocytosis from ingestion of Chinese chive (Allium tuberosum) and garlic (Allium sativum) in a dog, Journal of the American Animal Hospital Association 41:68-73 (2005)
  • Voosey

    Eh – for me….saving $2 per pound is worth the work it would take me to drive to the decent butcher in my area, buy it, and prepare it (I’m the skittish chick that’s grossed out.) My mom did buy me a meat grinder for my kitchenaid so maybe I’ll try it one day.

    It also helps that I only feed raw for their evening meals which cuts the amount of raw I have to buy in half.

  • Nancy Calloway

    Nobody will see this because it’s a year later. However, you make your point. And I resonate with it especially after seeing a couple of You Tubes watching just weaned puppies eating RAW CHICKEN. They were so cute and their ENTIRE BODIES were at work pushing and pulling that meat off the bones. One could see the physical activity of engaging the entire body to become nourished. Thanks for reminding us of something often over looked but some how I think it ‘s very significant.

  • sam schultz

    funny I have horses also and you are not kidding about the demanding my one horse acts almost like he is going to have an orgasm when fed but when not fed on his time he is demanding and will keep pawing or banging at the feeder and he is not kept in a stall in a pasture

  • Gary Alan

    I commend those who take extra effort especially in cooking their dog food. We don’t just cook food for them, we should also determine the amount of nutrients and vitamins contained in the food we prepare to ensure that they are getting a balanced diet and good health. Two nutrients should present in their food: protein and carbohydrates. Protein keeps them healthy and generates shiny coat while carbohydrates give them energy which allow them to be active. There is no other way for them to get enough of these nutrients except home made dog food. Pre-made dog foods are just ain’t enough because the nutrients they give are developed and synthesized which has harmful side effects to dogs health.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Hi Monet –

    Aunt Jeni’s is one of my favorite commercial raw foods (the other being Answer’s). I make homemade raw for my dogs but I do use commercially prepared products on occasion. What is concerning you about the addition of nuts? Nuts and seeds are an excellent way to ensure the food isn’t deficient in certain trace minerals (i.e. manganese). I frequently include sprouted pumpkin seeds and sprouted sunflower seeds and, occasionally, sprouted almonds (all ground) in my dog’s raw meals. The trade off for not including these ingredients would likely be that synthetic supplements would need to be added. The main reason I like Aunt Jeni’s is due to the fact that their formulas are whole food based – no synthetic vitamins and minerals (this is what I like about Answer’s as well).

  • Monet

    I am researching raw brands looking for something new for my dog. I was excited to see that Aunt Jeni’s has a goat formula, so I went on to their website to do some more research. The ingredient list online shows that nuts (almonds and walnuts) are added. This is concerning to me.

  • Puppymom

    Diane, I’d suggest getting a vet to check out that stool. It could be anything, dogs can easily hurt themselves and cause bloody stool from straining with diarrhea or constipation, but it could also be parasites. Good luck!

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Are the bloody mucousy stools on the raw or Orijen? When switching to raw it is normal to have some mucousy stools in the beginning, however blood in the stool is never a good thing. I would get a stool sample to the vet if you haven’t already. It could be any number of things from colitis to parasites – you definitely should have a vet check out any bloody stool though. I agree with Storm’s mom about adding probiotics and digestive enzymes, especially when switching to a new food. If you want to add raw just start small, maybe give her a few bites daily as a treat then start mixing a little with her meals every day and work yourself up to however much raw you’d like her to be eating.

  • Storm’s Mom

    You’re definitely on the right track! Orijen 6 Fish is one of the best kibbles on the market – great choice!!!!! (unless she’s having the bloody, mucousy poops and digestive problems ON the Orijen? ..in that case, you would probably want to add probiotics and digestive enzymes to help). Adding raw would be great too… I don’t do raw, though, for my own lifestyle reasons, but I am sure someone else who does feed raw will pipe in on the best way to go about it.

  • Diane Lee Dunlap

    What is the best way to feed a small beagle/terrier/unknown little girl? I am feeding her Origen 6 fish dry, but am considering adding raw and do not have a clue how to start. She is prone to digestive problems with off and on bloody, mucousy feces. Thanks so much for your input! Many Blessings, Diane Lee

  • InkedMarie

    Not everyone wants to feed pmr. I might want to but my husband isn’t interested. I’ve fed Darwin’s pre made which I think is the best one out there. I currently use grinds from Hare Today. It’s still pmr, just ground.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Hi –

    I agree with you that a homemade raw diet utilizing RMB’s is best. I personally feed my dogs a homemade raw diet – in the a.m. they get boneless items such as green tripe, gizzards, heart and various organs in addition to a small amount of cooked/pureed vegetables (yes – vegetables can be digested and provide beneficial nutrients to a carnivore when properly prepared), whole foods supplements (kelp, spirulina, bee pollen, etc.) and fish oil and in the p.m. they get RMBs (chicken backs, pork necks, turkey necks, occasionally whole prey quail or rabbits). However – a homemade raw diet utilizing bones isn’t possible for everyone. Some individuals simply don’t have the time to plan meals and prefer to feed a pre-balanced product and some have older dogs with dental issues that simply can’t eat RMBs. Also – Aunt Jeni’s is balanced. Supplemental calcium is added to account for the lack of bone and it meets a dog’s basic nutritional requirements – it’s actually likely that it’s much more balanced than the “prey model” diets many novice raw feeders attempt to execute.

  • PreyModelRawIsBest14

    But, just wanted to say, this stuff is MILES better than kibble, but is SO much more expensive than a real raw diet would be. =)

  • PreyModelRawIsBest14

    Doesn’t make any sense why someone would buy these premade raw diets when you can feed a prey model raw diet for 10x cheaper! Not to mention, they pump it full of veggies and such which dogs can’t even digest properly. The diet isn’t complete anyway. In order for the diet to be balanced, you need to have meat, BONES, and organs. I see no bone mentioned (egg shells don’t count, they are only for calcium), and the only organ mentioned is liver (which should only make up 5% of the raw diet). I feed a prey model raw diet for a lot cheaper than a premade raw diet which go for around $4-$8/lb. I think I spend around $2 or less per pound on all of the meat and organs I buy, and it comes WHOLE so that the dogs actually have something to work on! :) Grinds remove all of the physical/mental/dental/psychological stimulation from the food. Let’s face it, feeding time isn’t a dog’s favorite time of day just because of what they eat…HOW they eat it also plays a HUGE role in overall satisfaction. Gulp, swallow is what it takes for a ground raw meal. Chomp, chew, crunch, grind, gnaw, toss around, hold with paws, flip, flop, tear, rip, shred….swallow is what it takes to feed whole, unaltered pieces of meat/bones/organs. Which would you choose?

  • Hopper

    Hi, does anyone have any opinions on Gimborn Raw Science freeze dried food (chicken)? Can’t seem to find any info. on this, but a friend says her puppy loves it and he’s 5 mths old. Would appreciate feedback.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Calorie content is posted on Aunt Jeni’s website.

    Chicken: 358 kcal/cup

    Turkey: 263 kcal/cup

    Lamb: 521 kcal/cup

    Beef: 274 kcal/cup

    Rabbit: 256 kcal/cup

    Goat: 245 kcal/cup

    1 C. of raw food is approx. 1/2 lb.

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    You need to contact Aunt Jeni’s. This is just a review site.

  • Sarah Metcalf

    Can you tell me how many calories each of your dog food has? Thank you.

  • losul

    Still a word of caution. Even though their site appears to be fixed for now, there may still be security issues that need to be fixed permanently.

  • losul

    here’s what google diagnostics showed earllier; I am removing parts to make all links unworkable, I think.

    Advisory provided bySafe Browsing
    Diagnostic page for thehonestkitchen.productsWhat is the current listing status for thehonestkitchen products?Site is listed as suspicious – visiting this web site may harm your computer.
    Part of this site was listed for suspicious activity 5 time(s) over the past 90 days.What happened when Google visited this site?Of the 16 pages we tested on the site over the past 90 days, 2 page(s) resulted in malicious software being downloaded and installed without user consent. The last time Google visited this site was on 2012-12-30, and the last time suspicious content was found on this site was on 2012-12-30.Malicious software includes 23 scripting exploit(s), 6 trojan(s).
    Malicious software is hosted on 2 domain(s), including rtffeatureand, wickedwolfgifts
    1 domain(s) appear to be functioning as intermediaries for distributing malware to visitors of this site, including journaldugeek
    This site was hosted on 2 network(s) including Has this site acted as an intermediary resulting in further distribution of malware?Over the past 90 days, .thehonestkitchen/products did not appear to function as an intermediary for the infection of any sites.Has this site hosted malware?No, this site has not hosted malicious software over the past 90 days.How did this happen?In some cases, third parties can add malicious code to legitimate sites, which would cause us to show the warning message.Next steps:Return to the previous page.If you are the owner of this web site, you can request a review of your site using Google Webmaster Tools. More information about the review process is available in Google’s Webmaster Help Center.

  • losul

    I think their site has been fixed. Google diagnostics says clear now, so maybe i got through to them on E-Mail

  • Hound Dog Mom

    That’s too bad. I wonder who would want to hack thk…?

    I visit THK’s site fairly frequently, hope this wasn’t going on last time I was on their site!

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com/ Mike Sagman

    To Everyone,

    Please do NOT leave ANY links of any kind to The Honest Kitchen Website. Unfortunately, that website appears to have been hacked.

    Numerous pages on The Honest Kitchen website have been blacklisted by Google due to the presence of malware.

    Until that problem has been rectified, any comments posted on The Dog Food Advisor website linking to The Honest Kitchen website will be removed by the moderator.

    Thanks for your help.

  • InkedMarie

    I just went to their site, got no Malware warnings. I think I know their site but heart, I go there so often!

  • losul

    I just sent honest kitchen an E-mail, alerting them to this.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Such wonderful people in the world!!

  • losul

    Evidently and unfortunately, sabotage might be Evidently and unfortunately, sabotage might be rampant in this industry.
    On Honest kitchens site,. when I clicked on Preference to see what it is all about, google chrome strongly advised against opening it, with a malicious malware warning. It is probably coming from a third party (security issue)

    of 16 pages tested over the past 90 days, malware was detected in 2 pages, resulting in malicious software being downloaded and installed. Malicious software includes 23 scripting exploits, 6 trojans. etc. etc.

    Here is the warning I got;

    http://safebrowsing.clients.google.com/safebrowsing/diagnostic?site=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.thehonestkitchen.com%2Fproducts%2Fpreference%2F&client=googlechrome&hl=en-US

  • Pattyvaughn

    Good, can you please report back and satisfy my curiousity, that way I don’t have to call them.

  • losul

    yes truly baffling. Now i have to try to call them again next week, if nothing else to satisfy my curiousity.

  • losul

    You messed up my fur. I owe ya one. haha

  • LabsRawesome

    losul- lighten up. I was just messing with you. Sorry, I don’t have any info on Aunt Jeni’s.

  • Pattyvaughn

    They must have had a specific reason for formulating the lamb the way they did, but I can’t imagine why.  It actually has the lowest ash%.  I could understand if they had enough lamb in it to have the ash up to a certain level and then decided to not go higher…but what would low ash and really high fat be for?

  • Pattyvaughn

    Sorry, I had to run off and feed the horses.  They are far more demanding than dogs and less apt to be able to tell you what they are demanding.

    What I heard was that they were hacked and that their security wasn’t up to it so the hackers were able to get customer info.  I don’t know if it’s true or not but it fits the info available.

  • losul

    They have a pretty enviable source “claim” page

    http://www.auntjeni.com/sources.html

    and ingredient page

    http://www.auntjeni.com/frozening.html

    the analysis page is baffling

    http://www.auntjeni.com/pdf%20files/GA%20Dog%20Food%20Formulas.pdf

  • losul

    I didn’t read anything about the reason, just that they have security issues. Sabotage?

  • Pattyvaughn

    I have heard that the lack of protein in the lamb is because the ash content would sky rocket, but that doesn’t explain the chicken.  This was one of the last ones that I looked at before deciding to go with Darwin’s and I had the same reaction.  “It seems a little sketchy and I think I’ll just scratch it off my list.”  So I did. Betsy’s post shook a few things loose in my memory.

  • Pattyvaughn

    I thought I remembered something like that, but I didn’t go back and check.  It was one of the reasons I chose Darwin’s.  And I also read something about the reason they are having computer security issues so not taking orders that way.

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1140685339 Betsy Greer

    Patty, I went back a ways in this thread and read this in a post by Dr. Mike:

    With more than 73% of Aunt Jeni’s Lamb recipe’s calories coming from fat compared with just 18% from protein, this food has one of the highest fat contents of any dog food in my entire database.

  • losul

    Yes they seem to have real interesting products, But I can’t understand the extreme extremes between the varieties. Nearest retailer listed to me is 50 miles away.

    Their site says they can’t take online orders currently becuase of security issues, but hey are still taking phone orders. hmmm. Just tried to call them, just recordings…. But that could be because it’s Saturday.

    Probably going to have to scratch this one.

  • Pattyvaughn

    I haven’t been able to find it around here, but I like everything I have read about it.  My dogs can tolerate a higher fat content than that, but I don’t consider the lower level to be a negative.  That said, I wouldn’t feed the chicken or lamb without reading the label closely myself.  I want to know if by increasing fat they sacrificed protein or added less carb.  I suspect that they sacrificed protein and that would be a no sale for me without a very compelling reason.

  • losul

    No that’s not true, except it WAS mostly a waste of my time to read through it all  trying to research Aunt Jeni’s and even though this topic had LOTS of posts, and prob some good info, I didn’t find any real information on Aunt Jeni’s, just mostly on Abady’s and other info. So I was just commenting on that fact. 

    BTW, I’m sure I’m guilty of some of the same on other topics. Hopefully the new forum(s) will alleviate it.

    I’ve NEVER flagged ANY posts if thats what you and your likers are thinking, but I’ve obviously ruffled some feathers, or rather some fur.So does anyone here use Aunt Jeni’s? There’s not really that much info available at their site online.

  • LabsRawesome

     Sounds like you have a lot of time on your hands.

  • losul

    Wow, I had to go all the way back to the start of this thread, at least 10 months ago to find ANY posts related at all to Aunt Jeni’s food, which is supposed to be the topic, and then there isn’t much there at all. Unless Shawn’a last post is referring to Aunt Jeni’s, not sure on that one.

    I guess no one uses Aunt Jeni’s, but just uses the Aunt Jeni’s blog for other issues.

  • Melissaandcrew

    I tried so many things, hubby and vets were ready to declare me nuts, lol. I even tried the prescription foods(for a stop gap measure) but even they worked sporadically. I think the only foods we did not try were “generic/off label’ type brands(think ol roy) to middle of the road to Orijen. Then we hit the raw commercial products, then the dehydrated and freeze dried, home cooked etc. We added probitics(3 different brands) enzymes etc. Even metronidazole and Tylan powder worked on and off.

    I never thought about the lack of saponins, so you very may well be onto something there for her!

  • LabsRawesome

     Hey Dr. Mike, in my case, “disappearing” comments happen when I write out a post, then when I go to post it, it seems like it is working, but then the post never appears on screen. If that makes sense. It seems to happen more often when a link is added. But it also happens when there is no link, too. It happens on the forums, as well.

  • Shawna

    WOW, that’s got 13% protein and 18% fat.  Non-working dogs could, over time, become protein deficient on this food. 

    For the right dogs, like Red’s outdoor kennel dogs or sled dogs, this could be a quality food but for most house dogs this wouldn’t work long term. 

  • Shawna

    I kinda roll my eyes when I read someone say “I’ve tried everything and this is the only food that worked” — usually it is a prescription food they are referring to.  In your case however I’m quite certain you proabably have tried most everything for her.. 

    I don’t think saponins are the scourge of the earth that Abady makes them out to be (I like garlic too much :) but there’s nothing saying that some dogs really can’t tolerate them.  Maybe it is the lack of saponins in Abady that works for her?  That would certainly make sense as to why she’s eating less but still gaining weight.  Or maybe the lard (which I don’t have an issue with) coats her stomach preventing whatever is bothering her from doing so.  Doggone posted data from Dogtor J discussing how Italians do this to protect their digestive tracts from the large amount of gluten they eat.  Hard telling what it could be but I’m glad it is working for her!!

    There are a few things that would make me feel better about the food — like an AAFCO definition of “Beef Meat and Bone Meal”.  They say their food is taken right from the kill floor but “meat and bone meal” is a rendered product — admittedly it is not the same but darn close.  No one else that I know of uses beef meat and bone meal.

    I’m glad you all are giving it a go.  I just have too many questions that make me uncomfortable as well with issues with data presented on the website to use or recommend myself. 

  • Pattyvaughn

    Definitely, what Marie said.  When a dog has issues, and you’ve tried everything, you go with what works for that dog.

  • InkedMarie

    This is one of those instances where I agree with “if it works for the dog, feed it”

  • InkedMarie

    Thanks Shawna!  I have the say, the original letter was hard for me to read, due to the horrible spelling and grammar. Glad his reply was easy to read!

  • Melissaandcrew

     LOL. I have to say, after nearly 5 yrs of a dog with on again off again squirts, I would feed her anything that worked. Not sure why the Abady does, but there is no denying the fact that it does. One other thing-she was eating 4 cups of kibble a day on most brands-sometimes she could get away with 3-31/2. On Abady, she gets 4-5 OUNCES of granular twice a day, 1/4 canned and 1/3 cup of dry : )

  • Shawna

    I posted this once as a guest but it didn’t show so logged in and reposting..

    Here’s the link to Abady’s response which I found by Googling “Abady Bittner response”.

    In the response they admit to using corn in the small breed formula and that they switched to rice when GM corn came out as GM corn causes allergies — ummmm and regular corn DOESN’T?????  Okayyyyy…..

    They also say they use white rice because brown rice causes more allergies due to the gluten.. Hmmmmm

    In all fairness, I should probably call the company but I just find their wild statements, lack of transparency, ingredient lists etc all too much.  Just me though. 

    For the record, I very much respect and adore Doggone just not his choice in Abady.  Admittedly that is my problem not his though :).

    http://therobertabadydogfoodcoltd.com/abady_response.htm

    I just skimmed the response but now I’m off to read for content..

  • Shawna

    Okayyyyyyy, I need to read YOUR post for comprehension — you were able to pull it up just not the response :)…  Yeah, it’s been that kind of a month :)

  • Shawna

    I actually didn’t find it on their site. Pulled the page up from a Google search. Not sure why the link isn’t working for you? I was able to get it to work just now from my phone. I don’t know if Abady responded or not but they didn’t in the linked page. It is just the letter.

  • InkedMarie

    Shawna, where on the Abady site did you find the letter that is in the first link you posted? I wanted to read Abady’s response, there is an arrow but it wouldn’t work for me

  • Pattyvaughn

    I sent you an email.  It was on the forum, not the blog.

  • Shawna

    With white rice the phytic acid is removed by stripping the bran (where all the nutrition is).  Rice gluten is concentrated in the bran but not exclusively in the bran.  I’m not concerned about arsenic :).  By the way, I only eat organic apples and greens (these are always on the EWGs Dirty Dozen list). 

    As grains go I have less issue with rice.  However, I wonder what their reasoning for using corn meal, corn oil and “meat and bone meal” was.  I’ve found several sites (including a letter from a customer on their website) showing at least one of the formulas as late as 2005 had corn in it?? 

    http://therobertabadydogfoodcoltd.com/Bittners_Letter.htm

    Looks like some of the quotes from the above letter were taken from this page.
    http://www.pedigreedatabase.com/forum.read?mnr=25930&pagen=1

    This is from 2006 showing same ingredient list
    http://www.iheartpaws.com/forums/showthread.php?t=703&page=2

  • Red

    I am big fan of Abady’s Raw diets, especially, NPF and the granulars. They really are great foods. I use Dr. Tim’s Momentum 35/25 though due to the fact my kennel is outside and Abady’s granular food is too hard to scoop in the cold and for some of my dog’s they need a better fiber complex like in Dr. Tim’s.

  • InkedMarie

    I can’t answer about the Abady but we adopted a foxhound who was underweight, years ago. I found some food, think maybe it was a Timberwolf, had over 600 kcals per cup. She didn’t gain. I think it’s like us: we’re all different, so are dogs. JMO

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com/ Mike Sagman

    Are you referring to comments here on the blog or in the new forum? Comments here on the blog and flagged by other readers have been deleted.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com/ Mike Sagman

    No problem, Doggonefedup. Humor is always welcome. However, please see my comment to Betsy for a better understanding of off topic discussions. Thanks.

  • Pattyvaughn

    I wouldn’t be able to take part in that discussion though because my posts on the forum are disappearing as soon as I try to post them.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com/ Mike Sagman

    No problem, Betsy. I always welcome discussion here about the topic of dog food. And it’s OK to sometimes be slightly off topic.

    However, remarks completely unrelated to the subject invite readers to invoke the “flag” for moderation.

    Please keep discussions to the topic of dog food, especially (when possible) to the subject of the specific review to which the comment is posted.

    Otherwise, please take these irrelevant discussions to the “Off Topic” forum area created specifically for that purpose.

    Hope this makes sense.

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1140685339 Betsy Greer

    Ouch, poor thing. She’s laying next to me snoring away right now. Hopefully, they wake her up without having to cut anything. I’m so stressed out right now knowing I have to take my little sweetie in tomorrow and leave her there alone and she’ll be so scared and potentially in a decent amount of pain.

    I didn’t know to ask yesterday if they used a scalpel or other sharp cutting tool, or if they use a laser. I know they use a lot of lasers in the practice, so hopefully that’s the case (no stitches, less bleeding, faster recovery).

    So, to keep this about food, I was taking inventory of my canned this evening thinking that might also be the option I need to utilize.

  • doggonefedup

    Sorry Mike,
    No disrespect intended just trying to add a little humor among friends.

  • doggonefedup

    with white rice the phytic acid or phytate is removed by soaking. The rice protien which is sometimes called “rice gluten” is also gone. It is called gluten because it acts in the gut a lot like wheat gluten. The amount of arsenic found in white rice is way less than the amount found in leafy veggies like spinach and fruits like apples. The amounts of rice used in Abady’s is low enough you don’t have to worry about anything else as far as I know. 

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1140685339 Betsy Greer

    Sorry, Dr. Mike! No disrespect Intended. I’m guilty. I kept thinking this is exactly what the forum is meant for.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com/ Mike Sagman

    Hey Guys,

    Please try to keep your comments to the topic of dog food. I’m receiving numerous flags from other readers and guests requesting moderation of this thread. Thanks.

  • Melissaandcrew

     Hmm.. I would probably go with canned watered down to a gruel consistency if she has surgery-the granular might be like swallowing wet dirt.

  • Shawna

    Please explain further..

  • Shawna

    I wouldn’t say that the “only” bad thing about rice is arsenic..

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1140685339 Betsy Greer

    OMG! I knew you’d have the answer!

    And, my good man, I do believe you’ve hit the nail squarely on the head!

    ROFLMAO!

  • Pattyvaughn

    I had to go and look at him closely so I could count his fingers because of you.  I don’t know if I can ever forgive you for that.  My eyes are burning right out of my head.  OK they’re fine now, you’re forgiven.

    BTW He only has the normal number of digits.

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1140685339 Betsy Greer

    Ah ha! Perfect timing, you can talk to the doc tomorrow afternoon. (I’m on vacation and actually had to look to see whA day it was today).

  • doggonefedup

    I don’t know but somebody told me he’s downed so many drinks  that he actually thinks he is wearing a tux’s and working as undercover security at the Sands Hotel and Casino ;->

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1140685339 Betsy Greer

    Ewww! It might be his brother.

    Have you ever noticed that it looks like the troll has a couple of extra fingers?

  • Pattyvaughn

    Thanks!!

  • Pattyvaughn

    Is it the troll?

  • doggonefedup

    For yeasty problems Dr. Brian Wessels at Abady’s will tell you to use the Apex and/or Vitality. He is only available on Friday afternoons talk on the phone. You can ask for Erika any other time for most any questions. Just don’t get her started on organic foods. As for that actual carb count I don’t know but they should be able to tell you at Abady’s

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1140685339 Betsy Greer

    Hey Doggone,

    What’s with the creepy, hairy, bloated guy wearing the Speedo in the Southern Comfort commercials?

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1140685339 Betsy Greer

    Patty,

    You might also try calling Abady tomorrow. They can tell you where you can buy their products in your area, if they’re available.

    If they’re not, I’d try 1800whiskers.com.

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1140685339 Betsy Greer

    I wonder what it is about Abady that obviously works so well for her? That’s fantastic that she’s even gained weight back that she had lost.

    I was thinking that if the vet end up needing do do the palate resection tomorrow, that my sweet little Bella will be coming home with a sore throat. If she does, I was thinking maybe the granular I just bought might be easier for her to eat.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Yes, but what kind of carb level are we talking about?  I’m trying to stay as absolutely low as possible for my yeasty IBS pup.  My other 2 do very well on most anything.

  • doggonefedup

    Also One other thought about the rice. In Abady foods the rice is added in the proper amount to balance the glycemic index with respect to all the other ingredients.

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1140685339 Betsy Greer

    Dang it… I just subscribed to the petsumer report thinking it was “the list,” but it’s something completely different. And, the 2012 list isn’t even available anymore. : (

  • doggonefedup

    Patty,
    The thing about Abady is they use washed/soaked, cooked white rice only. The only bad thing about rice is arsenic. As I pointed out to Dr. Mike you would have to feed a 50lb dog approx 35 cans twice a day for five or six years before significant levels of arsenic could be found in the dogs blood. Also Arsenic is a natural heartworm treatment and prevetitive.

  • Herpe

    Hey Labs,
    It still won’t let me use that cake as a Gravatar!!!!!

  • Herpe

    as ar as I know the entire “Natural Electives” line is Rice free.  some of the “Premium” and “Complete” canned uses Pearled Berley in plave of Rice and says so on the label.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Hi Doggone, glad you’re back online.  Which canned doesn’t have grains in it?

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1140685339 Betsy Greer

    I was surprised, after I got home this evening, I was comparing the ingredients of Apex and Vitality and I noticed that, for the most part, they are almost the same. Something like the first seven ingredients…

  • LabsRawesome

     What’s goin on HERPES?????

  • doggonefedup

    Hi Ladies,
    I just got my internet connection back.
    Abady’s NPF Raw does not have rice in it but the Maintenance and stress does have a small amount of rice just to help balance glucose levels in puppies diet. Abady is the only food that I know of that you can’t over feed puppies on. And Abady will tell you to let them eat their fill just like in the wild.
     The Apex and the Vitality are almost the same food and the bigest difference between the two is price. The Vitality is a little cheaper.

  • neezerfan

    Also Nature’s Logic and THK

  • neezerfan

    I bought the list for 2012 but now I can’t find it on my computer. I have a macbook and I’ve never learned to use it properly. I remember Mulligan Stew is on it, too.

  • InkedMarie

    I can’t tell you how many times I want to pay to see her list LOL

  • neezerfan

    Answers is on Susan Thixton’s recommended list. From The Truth About Pet Food. It’s a food she would trust to feed her own pets.

  • Melissaandcrew

     PS- I don’t really see a difference in the dogs as an overall, as they do not eat Abady as a sole diet-we rotate things. Maya is the only one that eats it primarily on a daily basis. She is active, shiny, and gained back the weight she needed.

  • Melissaandcrew

     Hi Betsy-

    When I first wanted to try the Abady, the canned tripe and Vitality A were the only two the store carried, so I got those. Maya(dobergal) does great on both, and its the first time she has been able to eat a canned food w/out blow out diarrhea. I am just too scared to  try something else with her, lol, as things have been nice and quiet. I did recently replace the NY natural with Acana, and then had to replace the Acana with Dave’s for sensitive stomachs. Last few days no issues. If I feed her the granular and canned only, she is 100 percent solid-but she gets frustrated trying to lick up the canned/granular mix, hence the kibble.

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1140685339 Betsy Greer

    Hey Melissa, Just curious why you chose the Vitality A over the other canned complete diets? I can’t seem to tell any difference between that and the Apex 1. I’m not at home to compare the ingredients.

    Can you tell any difference in your dogs?

  • Pattyvaughn

    I think I will.

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1140685339 Betsy Greer

    That’s exactly what I was most interested in too, Patty. Most other sites, you have to buy it a case at a time. My experience with 1800whiskers.com was very positive. Try it! You can put together a sampler of cans. The shipping wasn’t free, but not outrageous either.

  • Pattyvaughn

    That was a little scary!!

  • Pattyvaughn

    I’m most interested in trying Abady canned, as a topper.  I’ve got a pup that has to stay low starch, grain free and I haven’t been able to figure out which canned to get.

    About the rice, I KWYM!!

  • Melissaandcrew

     Hi Betsy-

    I use the Vitality A, the New York Natural kibble and the granular. I will say, with all the dogs I have tried it with, not a single upset stomach from cold turkey transition. The raw was another story though, lol, and I have not used it since.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Murderer;-)  I actually liked what I read, fermented green tea sounds excellent to me as long as I don’t have to take it, but I was kind of put off by it’s resemblance to Natural Balance rolls.  Stupid of me I know…Darwin’s looks like meat, my homemade looks like meat.

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1140685339 Betsy Greer

    Patty, this reminds made me think of the State Farm commercial: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rmx4twCK3_I. They can’t put anything on the Internet that isn’t true. Bon Jour! ; )

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1140685339 Betsy Greer

    I can’t find Abady where I am either, but I did order some through 1800whiskers.com. I ordered a couple boxes of the granular, a small bag of kibble and I was mostly interested in them for the canned products.

    All we’ve tried so far is the canned. Something unexpected were seeing those whole grains of rice. I thought it was something else at first! KWIM?

    That aside, I do like the canned foods and Sam and Bella both like them a lot. No digestive problems. I ended up choosing Apex and Vitality. They have a lighter sort of density than other canned products I regularly use (Wellness Core, EVO, Nature’s Logic, ZiwiPeak). They have a stronger aroma than most foods I’ve used, not unpleasant at all though.

    I haven’t tried than granular or kibble yet. I have more on hand than I’d like to be opening something different right now. I ordered from 1800whiskers.com, although there is a place in Chicago that delivery probably would’ve been cheaper. Doggone and I chatted and he recommended whiskers, which is why he uses. I liked that I could order individual cans from them and doggone sold me on them when he said they individual wrapped the cans. They sure did, the order was packed very well. When they ran into an out of stock issue with an item I ordered, the called me the same day Iplaced the order. I called them back and said it was fine to wait until the following week when it was all in stock and send it in one shipment, but they ended up sending o
    Two separate shipments within a week of each other. I thought the service was excellent.

  • InkedMarie

    I order all dog stuff now. Darwins, Brothers and Dr. Tims, not to mention supplements etc

  • InkedMarie

    I understand how you feel. We should be able to judge any and all dog foods by the label/ingredients. It’s hard for me to get past some stuff regarding Abady but one day, I will try it, to see.

  • Shawna

    WELL SAID!!! :)  hee hee hee  I totally agree!!!  I’m not one to rely on others for my info too much so having such a hard time finding the info for myself goes against the grain.  I know I can call them but I want things in writing.  Anybody can say anything.  When it’s in writing…..

  • Pattyvaughn

    It may be available in FL, but since I live in the middle of nowhere in FL, I don’t want to drive 100 miles to give it a try.  Must be why I am coming to love mail order.

  • Shawna

    As mentioned, they are higher in fat than I like but they have some redeeming qualities.  As an example, they use “cultured whey” or “fermented green tea” (aka kombucha).  These are both similar to apple cider vinegar.  They help with pathogens, whey is an EXCELLENT source of protein, they provide excellent quality probiotics (the probiotic in kombucha is called a SCOBY — symbiotic colony of bacteria and yeast).  They add live enzymes to the food etc etc etc..  Most brands don’t add this kind of superior nutrition..  :)

  • Pattyvaughn

    I gotta admit I feel the same way.  I am interested because of what Doggone has to say about them, but I want a ton more info on their website.  Feeding Abady feels like an act of faith, and while I have plenty of faith, I’m using it elsewhere right now.

  • InkedMarie

    Forgot to say, I’m in NH and its available in state

  • Shawna

    Thanks HDM..  I should probably give Abady a break but the misinformation on their website, the fact that they would use a grain in their raw at all, the lack of ingredient lists etc are just a major turn off for me..  I’ve actually even lightened up some cause of doggone but I still have issues I can’t get past…???  Maybe some day :).

  • Shawna

    She’s also a chapter head of her local Weston Price group — which I know means she knows more about nutrition than most — “real” nutrition.  And, as stated, I have spoken directly with her at great length.  I stand by what I said too.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    I think they have one formula without rice – maybe it’s the NPF. Doggone posted the ingredients list once, I don’t remember what thread it was on though. I remember I did like the ingredients on the rice free one he posted, high fat though.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Wow, stalker much, you know she has a background in sales.  That really makes you sound like a disgruntled competitor or ex employee.  You do know that Dr Mike, who runs this site, is a dentist, right?  Just goes to show, you don’t have to have a PhD in animal nutrition to know something about dog food.

  • Pattyvaughn

    I can’t find Abady products around here either.

  • Shawna

    What’s the ingredeints in Abady NPF.  If memory serves, I was not at all impressed.  Seems to me they had rice in their raw??????  My memory may be worse than I think though :)

  • Shawna

    They are a newer company and are picking up areas.  The food is not AAFCO certified “complete and balanced” so some stores may not pick them up.?

    I like Darwin’s better too (lower fat etc) but Answers has a raw goat milk that I tried for a while to get picked up by our stores and finally we got it :)… 

  • Redr

    She is a Vet Tech with a background in sales. I stand by what I said.

  • Shawna

    You’ve apparently never talked with their VP, Jacquline Hill?  She worked at Nature’s Variety before Answer’s and I assure you she is QUITE knowledgable about nutrition :)..  I spent over an hour on the phone with her and I’m not easy to spoof.

    The food is too high in fat for my dogs and likes but others here feed foods a bit higher in fat.

    I do feed the raw goat milk from Answer’s though..

  • InkedMarie

    They carry it at a store in my state. I don’t know much about it though.

  • Red

    If you want a complete raw food Abady NPF is the best. All red meat and organs. Great food.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Yeah, I just found the website and I think I like Darwin’s better, a lot better.

  • Red

    I went to the website and not one person has any experience in canine nutrition. Why would anyone buy a dog food where the only person with any experience in food science worked at Heinz & Jack In the Box?

  • Pattyvaughn

    I’ve never heard of Answers before.  Are they only available regionally or have I just never googled the right thing.  I would be interested in more info, whatever you can tell me.

  • fidosmom

    Answers is pretty much the best commercially available raw food you can find.  Many of the raw food companies just toss in synthetic vitamins so they can have the highly-coveted, completely useless AAFCO stamp on their product.  Answers has the experience and science to back up their formulations as well as an independent vets feeding trial. We’ve been feeding it for two years and my dogs do fantastic on it.  I find I feed slightly less of their recommended amount, and definitely less than any other raw products we’ve tried.  I rotate through many brands, but Answers is my favorite…and my dog’s favorite.

  • Rcgc1070

    Hi Pamela,
    Is so nice to hear from a chow chow mom.
    My husband and I only had Chows too. Total of 5.
    The girls are now 13 months old. Sophie and Bella.
    I am still not feeding them row food, they don’t like it, but I am still wondering if I should try again. Rigth now I feed them Orijen which is a meat based food, plus some cooked meat and carrots. I never heard of chows needing a vegetarian diet, and is funny the reasons that you mentioned, because for the second time my vet. prescribed antibiotics for urine tract infection. Would you recomend any book or site for chows or for the home made food for them?
    thank you very much!
    Regina

  • Pamela

     Chow Chows need to eat a more vegetarian diet and don’t do well with a meat based diet, fish is the preferred alternative with rice, carrots, celery, cottage cheese, plain low fat yogurt, etc. Because of their digestive system, jaws, and susceptibility to allergies and yeast infections it’s better and cheaper in the long run to make your own homemade food. I am a Chow Chow parent to 2 chows and my husband and I have raised only chow chows. Hope this helps!!

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100000295626466 W Marvin Thomas

    Was wondering where and what the local puppy mix you purchase is made from and where I could possibly get some?

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    That’s awesome!  I was trying to decide between the #22 or the #32 Weston.  Do you think the #22 will do turkey necks and turkey parts OK?

  • Dan

    Regina, I just started feeding raw, and I purchased a commercial grinder (weston#22) that will grind meat & bone. I buy 30lbs of raw ‘puppy mix’ locally for $15/box and I grind in a whole chicken, beef ribs, hearts, liver, etc., and then I divide it up into 14 seperate 3Lb ziplock baggies. I put two days worth in the fridge & I freeze the rest. It takes me about an hour to set up, grind, weigh, divide, freeze, and clean up. I only have to do it twice a month, and it only ends up costing me about $.90-$1.00/Lb
    I believe in the prey model diet ratio of
    80-10-10 for my GSP, & he loves it!!

  • http://petonlineboutique.com/ Dog items

    Hi,
      yes definitely  it is informative to make dog healthy and caring by providing him complete nutrition. 

  • hounddogmom12

    Regina,

    Just a thought (although if you were mixing the raw with kibble maybe not that likely), some dogs are turned off by the coldness of raw and will be more likely to eat it if you either let it sit out just long enough to come to room temperature or mix in a small amount of warm water.

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    ZiwiPeak is an air dried raw food. Dry like kibble.

  • regina

    Thank you sandy,
    I am going to try all over again, starting with treats like you sugested. I think that I problably went to fast from kibbles with cooked meat to kibbles and the raw food! I will definily get some of the books you sugested!
    thanks a million!! 
    I love your carnivours crew!!!

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    There are premixes you can use as well.  You add your own meat to it.  Some brands I know of are The Honest Kitchen, Dr Harvey’s, Urban Wolf, Grandma Lucy’s. Primal has a meat/bone premix (Frozen Grinds)and you add your own veggies and vits. Bravo (raw) also has different kinds of raw, with veggies, no veggies, no bone, complete and balanced.

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    My carnivorous crew:

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    I would suggest a recipe book.  It gives nutritional info on meats, organs, fruit/veg, essential fatty acids and more.  This one also has cooked and raw recipes and a vit mix. I like the Nature’s Logic all food fortifyer more so over Missing Link.

    http://healthypets.mercola.com/sites/healthypets/real-food-for-healthy-dogs-and-cats-cookbook.aspx  Even if you don’t home cook the info is valuable.

    http://www.drharveys.com/products/line/17-dogs#type-2

    For some other reading:

    http://www.amazon.com/Unlocking-Canine-Ancestral-Diet-Healthier/dp/1929242670/ref=sr_1_sc_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1338085939&sr=8-1-spell

    http://www.amazon.com/Work-Wonders-Feed-Meaty-Bones/dp/0975717405/ref=sr_1_3?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1338085980&sr=1-3

    http://www.amazon.com/Give-Your-Dog-Bone-Commonsense/dp/0646160281/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1338085980&sr=1-1

    When I first introduced raw I gave a bite or two as a treat during the day of a beef formula.  Then I gradually would give them more and more.  Then they got a meals worth and so on.  My dogs eat kibble and raw and canned. Not picky at all.  There are raw freeze dried products you can use to introduce raw as well.  I’ve use the Stella & Chewy’s freeze dried and the Nature’s Varitey freeze dried and gave them as treats.  Nature’s Variety also has raw Boost sprinkles you can top your kibble with for just a taste of freeze dried.

  • regina

    No, I just started the process and I am not sure how to do it. A friend of my sugested “Answer”, but i am not to convinced that , that is the best choice for my dogs. Maybe I am the picky one, but I want to be sure they are getting the best food. I am even thinking about home made food!!! Would that be too hard??

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    Have you tried giving them raw bone to chew on?  That might be a good way to introduce raw.  They can enjoy gnawing on a bone and get some raw meat off it for a taste. Maybe a beef rib bone. My dogs are not picky and will eat anything. Raw chicken legs/wings/feet, rack of lamb, raw turkey or chicken necks.

  • Rcgc1070

    thank you for the answer. I have two, nine months females  chow-chows, I am trying to introduce them to raw food, but they don’t seem to happy about it. Some times one of them go a day w/o eaten. I am mixing the raw food with the kibbles ( Orijen for puppy ). Before I would complement the food with cooked chicken or beef. I wonder if would be better off going back to the cooked meat!!! Any sugestions??

  • monkey

    Regina, 
    Answers is too high in fat, the fat should be about half the amount of the protein. 

  • Regina

    Could someone please give an opinion on the brand: Answers pet food?

  • Dog care guide

    Very nice tips have been shared for providing dog with complete nutrition. Keeping balance of carbohydrates, fats and proteins will make dog healthy and strong.

  • http://www.homemadedogfoodrecipesguide.com/ Homemade Dog Food Recipes

    My elderly dog with medical problems who was refusing to eat any commercial dog food on his own just gobbles this up!! We’ve gone from hand/force feeding to cleaning the bowl and looking for more. Anyway Thanks for sharing this article with us!

  • shane

    Hello there. I was wondering if you could do a review on the Vital Essentials dog food and the Answers raw pet food.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com/ Mike Sagman

    Hi Uatdgi,

    Pawgevity is already on my To Do list. However, due to my current backlog of products for review, it could be a while longer before I get to it. Thanks for the time reminder.

  • Uatdgi

    Hello and thank you for all the work you put into the reviews.
    If you have the time, I would love to know what you think of Pawgevity raw.
    http://www.pawgevity.com/

  • Jackie

    Dr. Karen Becker’s was very helpful video.  A helpful site :)   

  • Jackie

    Dr. Karen Becker’s was very helpful video.  A helpful site :)   

  • Jackie

    Jackie

  • Jackie

    Thank you Shawna.  I have had her on Fresh Pet Select from the grocery store thinking it was a better dog food but I think I am wrong.  She isn’t liking any canned food or any dry food so I’m following her.  I do not have a brand picked out yet for the raw food I am considering.  I am thinking I will go to my local k 9 store and start asking questions.  I’m very thankful for your information and your link.  :)

  • Shawna

    Good decision Erjlg3 ~~ The transition can be easy and smooth or can be symptomatic..  Some dogs will detox when switched to raw (or even a better quality kibble).  The detox can show up as symptoms like vomitting, diarrhea, eye drainage etc.  This detox is a good thing but some see it as bad symptoms..  Couldn’t be further from the truth..

    You can either cold turkey switch (we have to do this with foster dogs often).  Or you can purchase premade raw foods and add small amounts to the kibble and increase the amount of raw while decreasing the kibble over time.. 

    You have to watch the fat content of premade raw foods.  The ideal ratio for fat is to not exceed 50% of the protein.  So if protein is 12% then fat should be 6% or less — ideally..  Primal, Darwins and Bravo Balance are all ones that meet/or mostly meet this criteria.  If the Aunt Jeni’s is truly complete and balanced they would be a great option too..

    Generally feeding raw is as safe as feeding kibble but there are considerations.  Best to thaw in the fridge, can’t let sit out too long, wash hands and some wash bowls after handling/eating etc. 

    Vet Dr. Karen Becker is a raw feeder and has a great video on dangers of raw feeding  http://healthypets.mercola.com/sites/healthypets/archive/2011/02/15/raw-meat-the-best-and-healthiest-diet-for-pet-cats-and-dogs.aspx

  • Erjlg3

    I am considering switching my dog to a raw food diet.  Is this an easy transition?  Is it safe?  Any suggestions or tips or favorite manufactures?  

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com/ Mike Sagman

    Hi Don,

    With more than 73% of Aunt Jeni’s Lamb recipe’s calories coming from fat compared with just 18% from protein, this food has one of the highest fat contents of any dog food in my entire database.

    That’s why I rated it just 2 stars (and not recommended).

    Regarding your question about Aunt Jeni’s versus Primal…

    Unfortunately, due to the biological uniqueness of each pet, I cannot provide customized product comparisons for each reader.

    You may wish to check back for a possible response from one of our other readers.

    Hope this helps.

  • Don

    Mike – Given that Primal is using HPP for all of their poultry recipes would you recommend Aunt Jeni’s over Primal?
    I understand the fat content is an issue with the lamb formula but I was told by Jeni’s that they may be making a change to the recipe to reduce the fat. 
    After speaking with some dog owners they noted that depending on the activity level and climate (north east/inside vs. outside working dog) dogs may need a higher fat content vs. a couch dog which the lamb formula would offer similar to the Alaskan sled dogs.
    Thanks 

  • Don

    Thanks Mike for the quick response to review this food. I am surprised that the Lamb and Chicken formulas are so high in fat especially compared to the Primal recipes that I am currently using. 
    It is interesting to note that Primal formulas as a whole have a higher calorie count other than the chicken (Primal-343 and Aunt Jeni’s-358) and lamb (Primal-400 and Aunt Jeni’s-521) per cup, all other Primal recipes are higher in calories. 
    Based on your reviews it would seem best to avoid the chicken and lamb recipes if high fat is a concern but you would still recommend the remaining flavors. 
    Thanks again, Don 

  • http://timberwolforganics.com/ Stephanie

    Thanks so much for the great information. I always love to read more about how to keep my dog healthy.
    Thank you.
    http://timberwolforganics.com/