šŸ± NEW!

Introducing the Cat Food Advisor!

Independent, unbiased reviews without influence from pet food companies

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Laura B

I’m a dog trainer and a client of mine has now been told by 2 different vets that what he feeds his dog doesn’t matter. That Purina or Alpo are just as good as any other food. I don’t believe it but am having trouble finding objective information to the contrary. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

#87337 Report Abuse
    anonymously

I find this site helpful. http://skeptvet.com/Blog/category/nutrition/
    “A Vet Takes a Skeptical & Science-Based Look at Veterinary Medicine”

#87339 Report Abuse
    Susan
    Participant

Hi have a look at the ingredients in Alpo in the Reviews….then have the look at ingredients in a few good 5 star kibbles & print their review out & show him all the ingredients marked in red in the Alpo kibble…..I just had a look at the Alpo & there’s more fat then protein & 60% carbs….also tell him to change vets if they said that Purina & Alpo is good….

#87364 Report Abuse
    Jenna K

I took my youngest dog (6 months) to a clinic when I first got him and I asked the vet about keeping him on the same grain free diet as my 3 year old dog (he has been eating Fromm since he was a pup). The vet said the same thing, that as long as it works for the specific dog, it’s fine. It’s kind of frustrating because it doesn’t make any sense that the cheap food that’s full of fillers would be as good as the grain free recipe. It does make sense that each dog won’t have the same needs or reaction.

#87384 Report Abuse
    anonymously

Also, I recommend Linda Caseā€™s book “Dog Food Logic”. She has great credentials, wide knowledge, and is not affiliated in any way with any pet food company.

#88623 Report Abuse
    Josh H