Clumber Spaniel help?

Dog Food Advisor Forums Canine Nutrition Clumber Spaniel help?

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    hwballew
    Participant

I have a 7 year old Clumber Spaniel.

I’ve been feeding her Purina her whole life, switching between Pro Plan and One. She has also been fed Iams.
    She’s very active for her breed (which to any other breed would still be incredibly lazy), and has never been overweight.
    She is having digestion problems recently, and with the death of her littermate last Thanksgiving, she has dropped to 48 pounds when she should be between 55-65 pounds.
    She shows signs of hip dysplasia, and I was wondering if there is a better diet for her. She just had entropion surgery a month ago to preserve the eyesight she has left, and is doing very well, but I would like to know if there is a diet out there to help protect her eyes.

As a college student, I would prefer dry food recommendations for convenience, but would be able to prepare food for her if it would be best. I’m not worried about cost, I will do anything to lengthen the life of my best friend and keep her healthy. I would love to have my dog for many years to come.

#14979 Report Abuse
    Hound Dog Mom
    Participant

Hi hwballew –