šŸ± NEW!

Introducing the Cat Food Advisor!

Independent, unbiased reviews without influence from pet food companies

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    lovemypuppy

I’m confused. I need to figure out about how many calories my pup needs per day. She eats raw (frozen commercial). According to Primal’s website she needs 340 kcal to maintain. But according to Instinct’s calculator, she needs 518 kcal. And, this site’s calculator says she needs 510 kcal a day. I’m guessing the 500 kcal is the correct ones and the Primal calculator is just off?

I’ve been feeding Primal since she was 2 months (she’s 1 year now) and it’s always seemed like she has eating a lot more than what their calculators said she needed. Maybe this is why?! I dunno, but I do need an accurate calculator so I can calculate costs and insure I’m not overfeeding.

TIA!

#81867 Report Abuse
    lovemypuppy

Now I’m even more confused.

Looking at Instinct’s calculator it shows that to maintain my dogs weight I need to feed 518 kcal a day and recommends 8 ounces of the food I selected.

Thing is, it shows this for both the Venison and the Lamb and each are listed as 384kcal and 368 kcal, per patty, respectively. So, I’m not a math genius but this doesn’t add up.

I’m I missing something or just having horrible luck with these calculators??

#81871 Report Abuse
    InkedMarie

When feeding raw, feed 2-3%. If you go to Hare Today Gone Tomorrow (google for the website, under raw education, there’s a feeding calculator.

#81878 Report Abuse
    aimee
    Participant

Hi Lovemypuppy,

There are various ways to calculate calorie needs and none of them are particularly accurate in regards to any one dog. After arriving at the number nutritionists will say that any individual dog can deviate 50% in either direction from that number. So if I calculate 500 kcals a day that means some dogs may require only 250 kcals a day and others 750 kcals.