Rachael Ray Nutrish (Dry)

Share

Rating: ★★½☆☆

Rachael Ray Nutrish Dog Food receives the Advisor’s second-lowest tier rating of 2.5 stars.

The Rachael Ray Nutrish product line lists four dry dog foods.

Each recipe below includes its related AAFCO nutrient profile when available on the product’s official webpage: Growth, Maintenance, All Life Stages, Supplemental or Unspecified.

  • Rachael Ray Nutrish Beef and Brown Rice [A]
  • Rachael Ray Nutrish Chicken and Veggies [A]
  • Rachael Ray Nutrish Healthy Weight Recipe [M]
  • Rachael Ray Nutrish Turkey, Brown Rice and Venison [M]

Rachael Ray Nutrish Beef and Brown Rice was selected to represent the other products in the line for this review.

Rachael Ray Nutrish Beef and Brown Rice

Dry Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 30% | Fat = 16% | Carbs = 47%

Ingredients: Beef, chicken meal, ground rice, soybean meal, whole grain corn, corn gluten meal, brown rice, chicken fat (preserved with mixed tocopherols), dried plain beet pulp, natural chicken flavor, dicalcium phosphate, calcium carbonate, salt, dehydrated alfalfa, dried peas, dried carrots, potassium chloride, olive oil, zinc sulfate, iron oxide (color), vitamin E supplement, ferrous sulfate, choline chloride, l-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), niacin supplement, manganese sulfate, copper sulfate, d-calcium pantothenate, vitamin A supplement, sodium selenite, biotin, riboflavin supplement, thiamine mononitrate, pyridoxine hydrochloride, vitamin B12 supplement, menadione sodium bisulfite complex (source of vitamin K activity), potassium iodide, vitamin D3 supplement, cobalt sulfate, folic acid

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 4.5%

Red items indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis26%14%NA
Dry Matter Basis30%16%47%
Calorie Weighted Basis26%34%41%
Protein = 26% | Fat = 34% | Carbs = 41%

The first ingredient in this dog food is beef. Although it’s a quality item, raw beef contains about 80% water. After cooking, most of that moisture is lost, reducing the meat content to just a fraction of its original weight.

After processing, this item would probably account for a smaller part of the total content of the finished product.

The second ingredient is chicken meal. Chicken meal is considered a meat concentrate and contains nearly 300% more protein than fresh chicken.

The third ingredient is ground rice, another name for rice flour. Ground rice is made from either white or brown rice and is considered a gluten-free substitute for wheat flour.

The fourth ingredient is soybean meal, a by-product of soybean oil production more commonly found in farm animal feeds.

Although soybean meal contains 48% protein, this ingredient would be expected to have a lower biological value than meat.

And less costly plant-based products like this can notably boost the total protein reported on the label — a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

The fifth ingredient is corn. Corn is an inexpensive and controversial cereal grain. And aside from its energy content, this grain is of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

For this reason, we do not consider corn a preferred component in any dog food.

The sixth ingredient is corn gluten meal. Gluten is the rubbery residue remaining once corn has had most of its starchy carbohydrate washed out of it.

Although corn gluten meal contains 60% protein, this ingredient would be expected to have a lower biological value than meat.

And less costly plant-based products like this can notably boost the total protein reported on the label — a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

The seventh ingredient is brown rice, a complex carbohydrate that (once cooked) can be fairly easy to digest. However, aside from its natural energy content, rice is of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

The eighth ingredient is chicken fat. Chicken fat is obtained from rendering chicken, a process similar to making soup in which the fat itself is skimmed from the surface of the liquid.

Chicken fat is high in linoleic acid, an omega-6 fatty acid essential for life. Although it doesn’t sound very appetizing, chicken fat is actually a quality ingredient.

The ninth ingredient is beet pulp. Beet pulp is a controversial ingredient, a high fiber by-product of sugar beet processing.

Some denounce beet pulp as an inexpensive filler while others cite its outstanding intestinal health and blood sugar benefits.

We only call your attention here to the controversy and believe the inclusion of beet pulp in reasonable amounts in most dog foods is entirely acceptable.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With seven notable exceptions

First, this recipe contains dried alfalfa. Although alfalfa is high in protein (18%) and fiber, it’s uncommon to see it used in a dog food. This hay-family ingredient is more commonly associated with horse feeds.

Next, dried peas are a good source of carbohydrates. Plus they’re naturally rich in dietary fiber.

However, dried peas contain about 27% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the meat content of this dog food.

In addition, iron oxide is a synthetic color additive used in industry to impart a reddish color to food — and paint. In its natural form, this chemical compound is more commonly known as “iron rust”.

We’re always disappointed to find any artificial coloring in a pet food. That’s because coloring is used to make the product more appealing to humans — not your dog. After all, do you really think your dog cares what color his kibble is?

Next, we find no mention of probiotics, friendly bacteria applied to the surface of the kibble after processing to help with digestion.

Additionally, the minerals listed here do not appear to be chelated. And that can make them more difficult to absorb. Non-chelated minerals are usually associated with lower quality dog foods.

And lastly, this food contains menadione, a controversial form of vitamin K linked to liver toxicity, allergies and the abnormal break-down of red blood cells.

Since vitamin K isn’t required by AAFCO in either of its dog food nutrient profiles, we question the use of this substance in any canine formulation.

Rachael Ray Nutrish Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Judging by its ingredients alone, Rachael Ray Nutrish Dog Food looks like a below-average dry product.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 30%, a fat level of 16% and estimated carbohydrates of about 47%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 29% and a mean fat level of 14%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 49% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 46%.

Near-average protein. Below-average fat. And near-average carbs when compared to a typical dry dog food.

When you consider the protein-boosting effect of the soybean and corn gluten meals, dried alfalfa and dried peas, this looks like the profile of a kibble containing a moderate amount of meat.

However, it’s unfortunate the company chose to include menadione in its recipes. Without this controversial supplement and use of plant-based protein boosters and coloring, we would have been compelled to award this brand a higher rating.

Bottom line?

Rachael Ray Nutrish is a plant-based dry dog food using a moderate amount of chicken or turkey meals as its main sources of animal protein, thus earning the brand 2.5 stars.

Not recommended.

Please note certain recipes are sometimes given a higher or lower rating based upon our estimate of their total meat content and (when appropriate) their fat-to-protein ratios.

Rachael Ray Nutrish Dog Food
Recall History

The following list (if present) includes all dog food recalls since 2009 directly related to this product line. If there are no recalls listed in this section, we have not yet reported any events.

You can view a complete list of all dog food recalls sorted by date. Or view the same list sorted alphabetically by brand.

To learn why our ratings have nothing to do with a product’s recall history, please visit our Dog Food Recalls FAQ page.

Get free dog food recall alerts sent to you by email. Subscribe to The Advisor’s recall notification list.

Dog Food Coupons
and Discounts

Readers are invited to share news about coupons and discounts with others in our Dog Food Coupons Forum.

Or click the buying tip below. Please be advised we receive a fee for referrals made to the following online store.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

The Dog Food Advisor does not test dog food products.

We rely entirely on the integrity of the information provided by each company. As such, the accuracy of every review is directly dependent upon the specific data a company chooses to share.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

We rely on tips from readers. To report a product change or request an update of any review, please contact us using this form.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, due to the biological uniqueness of every animal, none of our ratings are intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in a specific dietary response or health benefit for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

However, we do receive a fee from Chewy.com for each purchase made as a direct result of a referral from our website. This fee is a fixed dollar amount and has nothing to do with the size of an order or the brand selected for purchase.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Notes and Updates

10/13/2016 Last Update

  • Mari Bartz

    I have been using this food for a few years and my dogs love it. I will get chicken now and then but mostly just use the beef. My dogs ages are 9, 5, and 1. The beef being a all-life stages food is a bonus and it meets all their needs perfectly. My older dog who is a rescue has flourished on it and my vet is impressed with how well she is doing. Skin and coat as well as some joint discomfort had improved tremendously.

  • Pat Edwards West

    I didn’t realize the rating when I bought this (I thought it was the grain free which has a higher rating). This is the worse food I have ever feed my dog. Worse than Pedigree. First he got diarrhea even thought I mixed it with the food I had previously for at least a week. Now all he does is poop everywhere. Multiple times a day. I think it just goes in one end and comes out the other. There is no way he is getting any benefit from this. I am SO disappointed that Rachael Ray would endorse this food!

  • anon101
  • Kama Drake

    Our dog died from the same thing a few weeks ago. And she had only been on this food for 3-4 weeks. So very sorry for your loss. We want this off the market. If you are interested in joining us let me know. I will send you my direct contact information.

  • Jasmine Bradford

    This is what I feed my dogs. The 2 older dogs do pretty good with it. My puppy on the other hand can’t hold it in anymore. I have to take her out to potty every hour. This is NOT a good thing! I’m running low on energy cause I’m not getting sleep. It’s hard to go to work anymore. She acts normal but I know when she has to go. I’m going to start feeding them something else. I DO NOT want this dog food around them anymore! It’s terrible!

  • Lonnie R Brooking

    Do a report with the FDA and do what you need to do to get this food off the market. My dog died about a couple years ago and never thought it could be the food until reading other dogs having same problems especially after seeing more issues over the last couple years from the food . I can’t prove it was the food though but she was healthy and no known problems before eating food. I hope your dog recovers.

  • Do NOT feed this to your dog. Full stop. This food threw my dog into a SERIOUS bat of ACUTE PANCREATITIS and I am getting an attorney for his pain and suffering. My dog is DYING from this AWFUL, AWFUL food that is made to LOOK like its good but is absolutely HORRIBLE for your dog. If you’re giving this to your dog, stop the food IMMEDIATELY!

  • InkedMarie

    Urinating blood? I hope you’ve taken the dog to the vets.

  • Susan

    Hi Monique.
    how’s your dog doing did he/she see vet about weeing blood?
    For 5 star dry kibbles look for the “Search this Website: search bar & write “3-5 star dry dog food” & all the 3 4 & 5 star list come up, it will depend on how much money you want to spend & do you have medium/large breed dogs, also if your dogs are use to eating a lower protein-23% & lower fat-10% kibble make sure you slowly introduce the new kibble over 7-10 days, especially if the new kibbles are heaps higher in protein-30%+ & fat-16%+…
    are you near a Adli’s store, look for Adli’s “Pure Being” it’s grain free & suppose to have good ingredients for the price also do you live near a “Tractor Supply” store look for “4Health” formula’s, there’s Large breed with grains 35lb for $35 & there’s grain free formula’s
    there’s also “Sport Dog Food” Ellite Beef, pea free 28lbs -$46 its a bit dearer but has freeze dried ingredients so a better quality kibble Canidae” make their cheaper brand called “Under The Sun” 28lbs for $36 You can get “Canidae’s” All Life Stages formula 44lbs – $55 & this formula has 4 meat proteins, there’s also “American Journey” 25lb-$29 for Lamb & Rice formula only sold thru chewy, but a few of American Journey formula’s have tested very high in toxins & contaminates, so I stay away from A.J & fish kibbles, I’d rather add my own tin salmon or sardines in spring water to the meal, salmon /sardines are excellent for their skin, coat, brain, heart, joints….
    Always rotate between a few different brands & proteins so your dogs are NOT eating the same brand, some kibbles, treats are high in toxins & contaminates, some kibbles may not be balanced properly, low in Omega 3 fatty acids etc, rotating between a few different brands of kibble they’re getting a variety of different ingredients in their diet & are not eating the same dry kibble 247 & when you have any left overs etc add to their meal…

  • anon101

    Inadequate water intake, lack of opportunities to urinate frequently, and a genetic predisposition, plus infection are often the culprits.
    Depending on what the vets diagnosis reveals, dietary restrictions may be recommended.
    Your vet may recommend prescription food.

  • anon101

    Go to the vet right away (now, today), the emergency vet if your regular vet can’t fit you in.
    Urinating blood is a medical emergency, they will examine/test/diagnose and prescribe for your dog accordingly.
    This condition may have absolutely nothing to do with the food. It can lead to a blocked urethra (especially males) and be life threatening and require emergency surgery. Don’t waste time looking for answers on the internet, you need a veterinarian, stat!

  • Susan

    Hi Monique,
    see a vet, needs Sterile urine sample, then Ultra Scan to see what type stone crystals etc he/she has??….
    My resuce boy was doing the same weeing blood the day I rescued him, then he was getting desexed the next day & the rescue vet did ultra scan & saw he had Struvite Cystals, he was put on antibiotics & a Vet diet Royal Canie, Urinary S/O wet & dry diet for 6 weeks then he had another ultra scan & all his crystals had dissolved then he went back to normal diet…
    Is this a male or female dog who’s weeing blood ? are your dogs desexed? cause my boy vet said my boy was probably used for breeding & caught infection, then vet said poor female dogs he has mated with…

  • Monique Nikkie Loupe

    Hey Kristi, I just found this forum this morning. How did things go for your Chorkie?

  • Monique Nikkie Loupe

    Hi Susan, can I find some of the highest recommended pet foods on this same site? Thanks so much!

  • Monique Nikkie Loupe

    Hi Joni,
    How’s your dog doing? I’m truly sorry for his suffering. I didn’t associate my Molly drinking a lot w/ RR food (I switched to RR 5-6 weeks ago). So thank you!
    I’m not sure if you saw my other 2 posts: one asked if any pet(s) had urinary probs–Molly had bloody urine today–after feeding RR; the 2nd (under Jacky’s post) was about a surgical scrub wash that thoroughly treats my Staff. Terrier’s recurrent skin breakouts (smelly blisters that scab) called Hibiclens (chlorhexidine, $11 for 8 oz). It’s quite gentle & a little goes a long way, esp w/ a ZoomGroom. I def empathize w/ hard to treat skin probs, Joni. Thanks for sharing.

  • Monique Nikkie Loupe

    Hello DFA community,
    About 5-6 weeks ago, I started feeding my 2 dogs Rachael Ray Nutrish Natural Dry Dog Food Real Chicken & Veggies Recipe and they loved it; however, I noticed this afternoon that my hound is urinating bright red blood. My Staffordshire Terrier seems just fine though.
    Has anyone had a similar experience, or any adverse effects at all, after feeding this food?
    I am truly grateful,
    MNL

  • Monique Nikkie Loupe

    Hello DFA community,
    About 5-6 weeks ago, I started feeding my 2 dogs Rachael Ray Nutrish Natural Dry Dog Food Real Chicken & Veggies Recipe and they loved it; however, I noticed this afternoon that my hound is urinating blood! My Staffordshire Terrier seems just fine.
    Has anyone had a similar experience, or any adverse effects at all, after feeding this food?
    I am truly grateful,
    MNL

  • Monique Nikkie Loupe

    Hi Jacky, I hope your baby is better! Yrs ago, Lola, my Staff. terrier, swam in the MS River & has had blisters (that scab over & take weeks to heal) ever since. One day my bf brought home a wash from the hospital that surgeons use to scrub in before surgery & it works incredibly for us. It’s very gentle. I use it as a face wash & it makes my skin so soft. The over-the-counter name is Hibiclens (generic name: chlorhexidine), $11 for 8 oz. Anyway, I’m not trying to give you advice you, just share our experience with you! 🙂 Happy Harvest!

  • Bobbi

    We have a 22 dog rescue mostly Chihuahuas. All are doing well on the Nutrish chicken & veg no grains dog food. Just bought two new bags and the food is different. It looks burned, has pieces clumped together and smells different. The dogs are not liking it now. If I could post pics here I would show the two side by side. Not happy!

  • Susan

    Hi Jacky,
    get some antifungal/ antibactactial medicated shampoo like “Malaseb” start bathing your dog twice a week then once a week & change what your feeding, it sounds like your dog has food sensitivities to 1 or a few ingredients in the dog food your feeding, read ingredient list & take it back & get a Limited ingredient kibble with different ingredients to what she eat with only 1 meat protein source.. I work at a pound & when some dogs come in they must be feed either a raw diet cooked & a grainfree premium kibble after eating the cheap pound dog food some of these does start scracthing, itchy & smell yeasty thats when I come in arrange baths & change their diet then we see a big improvement…. start adding foods that are high in Omega 3 fatty acids, tin sardines/salmon in spring water, freeze dried Green Lipped Mussels to her diet as well Colloidal Silver does help but you need to stop the source causing the itch..

  • anon101

    NO. Go to the vet.
    The first thing you need is an accurate diagnosis. His symptoms may have absolutely nothing to do with food.

  • Jacky

    I gave my dog Rachel Rays turkey, venison dry dog food, and she has started having the same symptoms. Scratching like crazy with hot spots. I tried Benadryl with no effects on the itching. Does colloidal silver help?

  • Dane

    We switched our dogs from IAMS to RR at the encouragement of our vet. We were on our second bag of Nutrish and both dogs became violently ill and passed with four days of each other. We are heartbroken. Both were healthy active dogs until the start of the second bag.

  • Mel

    Amazing. Thank you so much!

  • Susan

    Here look at Clean Label Project 2nd study that just has been release, I’d say it’s the contaminates & Toxins in these pet foods that is causing intestinal stress, it has happened with 4 American brand fish foods I have feed my boy now, I’ve feed him an Australian made fish kibble & had no problems, feed him the American made fish kibble & he’s really bad IBD flsre vet didnt know what was happening with him now I know it was Toxins in the kibble. Click on link below then click on “Dry Dog Foods” on the left then click on pages 11 thru to 16 & you will see all the 1 star dry kibbles brand & fomula’s that tested high in Acrylamides & BPA/BPS, Lead, Mercury, Arcenic, cadmium.. http://www.cleanlabelproject.org/pet-food-study-2-0/ also click on “Brand Report Card” on the left, it shows all the brands how thay rated..
    My boy can not eat any kibbles or wet tin foods that have Beet Pulp it causes bad acid reflux, big smelly sloppy poo’s, Beet Pulp is a prebiotic, a fermentable fiber, Beet Pulp is suppose to make a dogs bowel healthy, it doesn’t make my boy bowel healthy it makes everything worse when he’s having a IBD flare, some dogs & like you said horses do not do well on Beet Pulp especially if they have Helicobactor-Pylori (bad Stomach Bacteria) or S.I.B.O (high bad bacteria in small bowel)…If you can afford it start feeding raw diet for 1 meal & a limited ingredient dry kibble for his other meal, you’ll have a healthier….
    Read all the brands & their formulas that got 5 stars on the CLP site, I have found “Canidae” to work really well for my IBD & Skin Allergy boy & have had no problems, Canidae have their “All Life Stages” Large Breed Turkey meal & Brown Rice or their Pure Formula’s that are grain free & have limited ingredients contact Canidae if you have any questions you need to know..

  • Joni

    These posts are heart-breaking. We recently experienced similar symptoms with our Schnauzer-Poodle after consuming RR’s Nutrish dog food. First, his breath was terrible! So we amped up brushing his teeth. His water consumption increased significantly as well. He would wake us in the middle of the night by hitting his water bowl across the floor because he would run out of water so quickly. Then the itching…..constant scratching and red/hot spots, mostly on his under carriage but also under his chin, the sides of his rib cage, around his ears and on his hind legs. We thought it was fleas–so we made sure to apply his flea medication, bathed him, and shaved him. Turns out he had NO fleas and the itching continued. We have kitties as well, one in particular often nibbles at our dog’s food–his reaction has been the worst yet. His hot spots have turned into oozing sores on his face under his chin, on the back of his neck and down between his shoulder blades. He is loosing his hair in these areas and we are doing our best to treat him with colloidal silver and feed him quality cat food. It took us THREE of the smaller bags of Nutrish Beef flavored food before we read the ingredients and learned of all the dyes and preservatives in the food! Lesson learned. Research everything.

  • Mel

    I am wondering if it is the beet pulp. This food seems to get stuck and sour in my Great Dane’s system. He has been eating RR’s potato and turkey for about 3 months. Has had about 2 weeks of diarrhea, gas, noisy stomach, and is drinking tons and tons of water. I have a horse and many horse owners feed beet pulp to add weight and there is definitely controversy over it. Many say that the beet pulp expands in the stomach and chokes the horse…super mad at myself for not reading the reviews or ingredients before feeding it to him…

  • Bradley Shanks

    I have a 13 yr old Heeler. I had been given the opportunity to try RR dog food so I did and she seemed to like it and she was able to hold her stool without needing to drop a load every two hours or so. With being able to hold her stool for more than six hours at a time I was impressed for she is mostly an indoor dog. But then after awhile I noticed her wanting to grass graze more than her normal amount, I started to get concerned. Bought two other brands of dog food and introduced them alongside her RR. Needless to say, the RR was not touched again until two days after the other dog food was gone. She also stopped foraging on grass when outside. I have another full bag of RR dog food in the pantry that I will not open nor will I feed it to her. I am not using this dog food from here on out.

  • Kristi Rae

    Omg how was the death linked to RR dog food? I’m so sorry. I just left my dog at the vet, he is very ill and we think from RR food….

  • Kristi Rae

    I agree. Unfortunately she herself probably has trusted others. Please read my recent comment. If my dog is sick because of her food it’s not going to be pretty.

  • Kristi Rae

    10 days ago I switched my 11lb chorkie to RR Dish chicken & brown rice recipe with dried veggies. He liked eating my friends dogs food so I switched. I just left the vet. Xrays show He has two distinct circular objects lodged inside him. He may need surgery. My dog dies not eat non food items or chew stuff up. After racking my brain I looked down and saw the hard round carrot & pea pieces in his food bowl! I will know more in a few hours. If these objects turn out to be bits of this food, it will be a travesty. I’m beside myself right now, I’m so worried about my dog.

  • Mary Rabbitt Feola

    My 90 lb black lab started with scratching and breath similar smell as sour milk, definitely changed her food , it happened right when I started the food, it looked so healthy in advertisement, what a disappointment

  • Pitlove

    Hi Janet-

    I don’t feed Rachael Ray dog food, but I would not call their response “jibber jabber”. Their response was fair imo.

    If it were my dog, I would definitely be interested in having their on staff vet contact the vet that treated my dog and discuss whether or not the food could be the root cause. If you choose not to take them up on that offer, you are simply cutting your nose off to spite your face because you didn’t get the answer you were looking for.

  • Janet S

    I emailed Rachael Ray directly. Here’s what I said and the jibber jabber they replied with: Dear Janet,
    We have received the following web submission:
    I just wondered if you are aware that your dog food is causing dogs to get sick and die. After a bout with excessive bloody diarrhea and throwing up my dog developed pancreatitis which turned into diabetes. And don’t say it must have been an underlying condition. Too many dogs have gotten sick and or died after eating your food. I really think you should do something about it. Like take the food off the market . they replied :
    Pancreatitis is an inflammatory condition that can happen with food changes, but that does not mean that there is anything wrong with the food. The pancreatitis and diabetes could have happened at any time. There are many causes of pancreatitis in dogs. Here is an informational article in Whole Dog Journal:
    https://www.whole-dog-journalcom/news/Pancreatitis-Causes-and-Treatment-21579-1.html

    If you would like, we would be happy to have our On-Staff Vet follow-up with your vet to discuss their thoughts on your dog. Please provide your vet name and contact information.

    Typically, an investigation is conducted by our Quality Assurance Department. However, in your particular case, there were no bag codes to check production records or pull retention samples. There was also no product available for retrieval and testing.

    As employees, we feed our products to our own pets. Ainsworth Pet Nutrition has been in the pet food manufacturing business for over 80 years. Here is a link to our company website which explains our philosophy on Nutrition, Ingredient Quality and our Triple Check System: http://ainsworthpets.com/nutrition .

  • Lonnie R Brooking

    I’m sorry to hear about your dog. We have to get the word out about this food. I know what it is like to lose a pet but this food company doesn’t care and is just looking out for their profits.

  • Kristen Good

    Killed my dog too!

  • Christy Maurer

    Thank you! I posted it on the Nutrish Facebook page. It’s horrible that they sell food that can kill animals and make them ill.

  • Pitlove

    Hi Cyndi-

    There are drugs out there that affect each breed differently. For example those that pass the blood brain barrier in Collie breeds. They are not going to be taken off the market because they affect a small fraction of the breeds out there. They are simply avoided or given with caution in the effected breeds.

  • Janet S

    Cyndi I seriously doubt ALL these dogs had underlying conditions, but I know that’s what they would say. It’s out of control. RR is more than a disappointment. My daughter went to school with her nephew and everyone always said she is not a nice person. How could she let this go on without stepping up and doing the right thing. I guess it shows what she is really made of. Crap like the food!

  • Janet S

    it’s not that I don’t want to do it, it’s just that it happened a while ago and I don’t have a sample of the food anymore. With all these people on this thread that have had dogs die or be sick from this food I would think there’s someone out there that still has the food and can have it tested. I find it completely unbelievable that all this damage can be done from her food and she”s still in business.

  • InkedMarie

    Making an assumption you’re talking to me: I know nothing about this food, it’s nothing I would feed my dogs but I DO know what should be done if you think a food made your dog sick. You don’t want to do that, it seems; fine, doesn’t matter to me but it could help others.

  • Christy Maurer

    Anytime I see Rachael Ray anything now, I get so angry. Her food and products are probably all dangerous.

  • Janet S

    I know this is dog advisor but this is a Rachael Ray thread. You seem to know a lot about it but you’ve never used it so how could you know how sick it makes dogs. it seems like everyone on this thread is complaining about RR food because they have had bad experiences with it

  • InkedMarie

    Yes the latter but in order for anything to be done, proof is needed.

    I have never fed this food nor would I but if I thought my dog got sick or died from dog food, you can bet your butt I would be sending the food to the company and a lab.

  • InkedMarie

    Yes, you chimed in after a year. Scroll up, you will see where you responded to a post I made a year ago.

    Psst: this is the Dog Food Advisor, not a Rachael Ray blog

    (Sorry if this posts twice, iPad issues)

  • InkedMarie

    Yes, you did chime in after a year. Scroll up. You replied to me about a post I made a year ago.

    Psst: this is the Dog Food Advisor not a Rachael Ray blog.

  • Janet S

    Anthony, you should probably give the one that’s sick boiled chicken and White rice. That’s what the vet will tell you. If the sick ones back is arched that means he’s in pain and probably has pancreatitis. Also do not give RR to your other two or you will have the same problem. Good luck

  • Anthony Bryant

    Hey there! So, recently one of my pups has been getting very loose and bloody stool. Very alarming! Read many reviews stating that others are seeing the same thing in their dogs! Switching foods tonight! My other two boys are mostly fine with it with the exception of hard stool in them? Weird. However, still switching cause this is not okay.

  • Janet S

    Karen, the vet recommended some dry kibble for her so I guess it’s okay. I just tested her blood and she is 250. She started out at 3 mg 2x/day and is now at 8. I’m so sorry to hear yours is blind. There’s supposed to be a drop coming out that removes cataracts in dogs. It’s called Lanosterol or Lanomax. My vet is waiting for the FDA to approve it. My girls eyes are very slightly cloudy but the vet says that’s due to age.

  • KAREN

    Janet, did the vet say it’s okay to feed her during the day? I would think that would make her blood sugar spike? Our new problem is the eyes…totally blind. Quickly. It was pancreatitis that brought on the diabetes, and diabetes that brought on the sudden blindness. Otherwise, healthy as a horse. It took us about 4 or 5 months to figure out the insulin though. Started at 4cc 2x a day and are now at 7cc 2x per day. We will likely have to increase again in a few months. But weight is back to normal. Serious process.

  • Richard Mendoza

    Absolutely terrible product. My dog threw up twice after about a week. What a waste of $40.

  • Janet S

    Not too much different. Mine gets two shots per day also. During the week It’s 6:30 a.m. and 6:30 p.m. before and after work. On the weekends it’s 8 a.m. and between 7 and 8 p.m. . I have her on Science Diet WD and it’s $23 per case of 12 Cans. Lasts 24 days. Approx $50/mo. + I leave dry Nutrisca in her bowl for her to snack on during the day. I check her blood once per week with the Alphatrak monitor. Hope this helps.

  • Janet S

    that’s exactly what happened to my Schnoodle. Have your vet check his sugar. Bloody diarrhea can be a sign of pancreatitis which could lead to insufficient insulin production a.k.a diabetes.

  • Janet S

    Christy I am so sorry for your loss. I wish you read these stories before you gave your dog this crap.

  • Janet S

    A year ago or a day ago, this food is crap. Call it heresay, call it a guess. It’s still crap! Too many dogs have gotten sick & /or died after eating this food. People should know before something bad happens. If someone came to you and said my dog got sick after eating RR food would you INSIST ON PROOF and if you didn’t get it feed it to him anyway? or would you just play it safe and stay away to save your dog? I’m hoping the latter. I guess it boils down to how much you care about your dog.
    And in Lonnie’s defense: those who say “you need mental help” are usually the unstable ones.

  • Janet S

    this food caused stress on her pancreas with the bloody diarrhea throwing up and pancreatitis , and now she has diabetes. Thanks Rachel Ray good job!

  • Janet S

    I chimed in after a year? I guess I have more of a life than to sit on Rachael Ray’s blog

  • InkedMarie

    If you look, my post was to Jennifer Peterson….a YEAR ago. You chimed in, to a year old post; I responded what is needed to do to have something be done.

    Obviously, you didn’t do anything to prove the food caused the illness. That won’t help anyone else when it’s a guess/heresay on your part.

  • KAREN

    Janet, sorry to hear this about your dog. We still have ours, but he is vastly different as is our life. He takes 2 shots a day now, and his food is about 100.00 per month, maybe more. He has gained weight back, and from afar, he looks healthy as a horse. Get close though and the effects of the diabetis on his eyes is more than evident. We can’t really leave him with anyone else because of could really screw everything up.

    Whatever it is and however it all came about, I still believe it started with the RR food.

  • KAREN

    So sorry! We almost lost ours too. Glad you filed a report.

  • hanover boxer

    Shame on a rich celebrity like Rachel Ray pimping this garbage. Does she really need the money to promote crap like this?

  • dcfla

    Dog foods along with ANY & ALL PETS Foods & Snacks are worse than Our Own food, which is also NOT inspected..Not REGULARLY..All Foods WE eat is RANDOM, as are The MEDs We take. Our PETS FOOD?? Not even THAT MUCH. The FDA & USDA along with those who Supposedly TEST, Randomly the Pharma Drugs for Humans, should EVERY ONE BE FIRED..I know..It’s like EVERY OTHER “GOVERNMENT INSTITUTION” That’s lONG Over due for some Responsible & Ethical & Fraudulent RESULTS. We Lost a rescue who I’M Positive was Killed SLOWLY OVER 6 MONTHS, by Science Diet canned food. She’d been on it for years, she had Colitis, & over the course of one day back in 2012, after not wanting to eat the same food she’s been eating for her Digestive issues, she’d continued to turn away from the food. ONLY because we were Not WISE enough & TRUSTED too much, did we feel what a lot of people think..”Oh when she gets Hungry enough, she’s eat!” Well she DID. Within “can’t remember How many hours’ she had hemorrhaged out one end, & vomited out the other. She was literally in a pool of blood. We Immediately rushed her to the VET. They proceeded to give her antibiotics, IV Fluids, Did x-rays, Stool checks, & she went through this with this VETS Office we do NOT use any longer, because had We taken her to the ONE Farther away, she’d have either One NOT Suffered for 6 months, back & forth, or Her Diagnosis & Treatment would’ve been Far More Positive an outcome. Instead this VETs Office, strung us & her along for 6 long painful months, for her & for us, mostly for HER. Just repeated SAME TESTS, SAME MEDS..& after 6 months, & her hating all the meds we had to crush & liquify & use a liquid syringe to get in her mouth..She hated it, Must’ve tasted really bad..One evening she cried out, Had NEVER Done that before. I knew she’d had enough. We had to wait for morning to get her in. I gave her some crusshed pain meds to help her until am. I know that Science Diet canned food is what killed her..She’d lost half her weight by then, after 6 months of eating small amounts. She was already a small little girl. She was only 13, a miniature Poodle rescued because her “Owner” couldn’t Make ANY More MONEY OFF OF HER, because she’d been dropped off to be put DOWN due to an Infection from Not being taken care of, that’s how the other VET We Wished we’d taken her to, is the VET that did her surgeries back in 2005, from the infection that had gone without care, causing her to have Colitis in the first place. So, now we have another older rescue, this one we have no idea of his age, but all 4 of our rescues have been on Wellness core for over 4 1/2 years. Now since he’s been sick, & been battling His health now for over 2 weeks, did take him to the RIGHT VET..& he’s so far not eating much, but at least he’s getting his antibiotic in..then he’ll get another blood test to test his A counts. But the other 3 now, after eating same food for over 4 years, are turning away from this one BAG. People need to realize, just because one food, expensive or not has worked before, does not mean the NEXT BUNCH..is going to be OK. For Gypsy the Poodle we lost, she’d also had same Science Diet canned food for 7 years..but that BATCH, that probably Lot, was Obviously bad. How do I know for sure?? Same as now with RR’s FOOD, dogs were DYING then too..Some made it, some TOO Many DID NOT. Same with a lot of SNACKS that might sayt..Made in USA, but just like the MEDS my husband picked up for ME?? Used to have ONE manufacturer on it, From US..This same medication, a steroid, Medrol, is NOT as the past times I’ve had to take it. Now the Package says..US..If you google the COMPANY?? INDIA..The pet foods & snacks & even Much of OUR OWN Food & meds are MADE With Ingredients from ANOTHER COUNTRY. Whether or not though they were ALL Ingredients from US?? Doesn’t matter, all are TESTED..Randomly, Pets?? LESS than that..SO, if your animals turning their noses up at food or snack, DON’T Do what we did, & think, Oh when they get hungry they’ll Eat. Yes, like people they WILL. Problem?? Their hunger kills them, because THEY Know..their Sense of smelll & hearing & all senses are much Better than ours..Find some TRULY Natural foods they like that agrees with them..& GO from there..& FIND A GREAT VET. Not one who is just in it for the MONEY. They DO Exist.

  • Janet S

    Yes, as you said above, I don’t need to prove anything to you or to anybody else. I’m not looking for reimbursement . Obviously this dog food caused problems. I know because I am dealing with a diabetic dog now. I’m glad I stopped giving her this crap before it killed her. Just letting people know.

  • InkedMarie

    Anyone can claim anything caused their pets sickness or death; proof is needed as I said above.

  • Janet S

    You should stop making lite of this food causing sicko dying dogs. My girl has developed Diabetes since her bout with bloody diarrhea after we changed to this food. I believe this food causing excessive bloody diarrhea put a strain on her pancreas causing it to stop producing enough insulin. I’m not saying this food causes diabetes but RR food caused the whole chain of events with the bloody diarrhea and pancreatitis, which ultimately led to her getting diabetes.

  • Janet S

    My girl has developed Diabetes since her bout with bloody diarrhea after we changed to this food. I believe this food causing excessive bloody diarrhea put a strain on her pancreas causing it to stop producing enough insulin. I’m not saying this food causes diabetes but RR food caused the whole chain of events with the bloody diarrhea and pancreatitis, which ultimately led to her getting diabetes.

  • Janet S

    My girl has developed Diabetes since her bout with bloody diarrhea after we changed to this food. I believe this food causing excessive bloody diarrhea put a strain on her pancreas causing it to stop producing enough insulin. I’m not saying this food causes diabetes but the whole chain of events with the bloody diarrhea did

  • Janet S

    Update: My girl has developed Diabetes since her bout with bloody diarrhea after we changed to this food. I believe this food causing excessive bloody diarrhea put a strain on her pancreas causing it to stop producing enough insulin. I’m not saying this food causes diabetes but the whole chain of events with the bloody diarrhea did

  • Janet S

    My girl has developed Diabetes since her bout with bloody diarrhea after we changed to this food. I believe this food causing excessive bloody diarrhea put a strain on her pancreas causing it to stop producing enough insulin. I’m not saying this food causes diabetes but the whole chain of events with the bloody diarrhea did.

  • Lisa R Fliss

    Same with my dogs. I’ll be going back to Fromms dog food.

  • Francine

    I buy chicken, beef, pork, carrots, string beans, rice and food that I cook for my husband and I and cook for my dog. It’s cheaper then dog food and I know what he’s getting. I don’t give him things that not good for him like onions, grapes and other things. I look up the food that I give him to make sure it’s OK for him. He’s 16 years old and runs around like a much younger dog. His teeth are great, white and no decaying at all. The vet said his health is good. So don’t feed your pet chemicals and poison that you won’t eat yourself. Take a little time and cook for your pet. Keep the extras in the refrigerator and heat it in the microwave. I think the bad stuff in the pet food is like animal abuse.

  • Christy Maurer

    I think that has to be the case.

  • Lonnie R Brooking

    That’s great you filed a report. Hopefully they will get enough reports that they will have to do something. There’s probably a lot more cases but aren’t aware of discussions like this online.

  • Christy Maurer

    I did file a report, so I hope something is done. I just can’t believe this has happened to so many dogs and nothing is being done.

  • Tanya Odessa

    I’ve been researching and can’t find much about that food. That’s Really scary

  • Lonnie R Brooking

    I’m sorry you’re having problems but hope your dogs get better. It’s been way over a year now since my girl died but I will still fight for her. We just have to get the word out about this food. I will not buy anything with Rachael Ray on it.

  • Lonnie R Brooking

    Please file a report with FDA and tell others to stay clear of anything of Rachael Ray since I wouldn’t trust it. I can’t prove it was the food that caused my dogs death but she was healthy and no known problems prior to eating the food.

  • Christy Maurer

    My dog just died 2 days after eating Rachael Ray Nutrish. He was perfectly healthy before. We are devastated.

  • For Online

    It took a dose of Omega-3 and about two weeks. Be patient!

  • Susan

    Hi Kathleen, you have you work out what ingredients are causing the yeasty skin & ears, what is the common ingredient in the new & old kibble?? 80% of food sensitive dogs have “Otitis Externa” outer ear infection or it’s Spring/Summer now in US, Environment allergies can also cause itchy skin & ears as well this is when it becomes very confusing, baths relieve itchy skin, bath weekly or twice a week to wash off any pollens, grass dirt etc, I bath in “Malaseb” medicated shampoo seem to work the best for my boy also increase Omega 3 in the diet & boost the immune system, as soon as I know Spring is coming I rotate foods that are higher in Omega 3 sardines, salmon tuna & get him ready for Spring & Summer, a few dogs do really well on “Canidae limited ingredient formulas, Pure Sea Salmon & Pure Wild Boar http://www.canidae.com/dog-food/products
    or “Zignature has a few single protein limited ingredient formulas
    http://zignature.com/?_id=333&lang=en

  • Kathleen Ann

    How long did it take for your dog to seem better? I noticed my dog seems to have ear / skin infection since RR and just switched back to his old food. He doesn’t seem better yet, but its only been a couple of days. Thank you

  • BUTCHIE B

    Did the bumps go away after changing brands

  • BUTCHIE B

    My dog the same with the eraser sized bumps….class action suite…they have multiplied over about a year of feeding him RR dog foot… I thought it was because of his age..12…havent counted how many but there are a lot of them wtf

  • Susan

    Hi now your dog is doing well on the D/D vet diet you should do a food elimination diet & start adding 1 new ingredient to her D/D food for 6 weeks no treats no other foods just the 1 food say chicken?? & see if she reacts in the 6 weeks this way you will know what foods she is sensitive too & you can avoid these foods in the future..
    …. Elimination food diet is the only true way to know what foods your dog is sensitive/intolerant too…then start feeding her a normal premium diet again like Canidae & Zignature kibbles…these wet tin & dry kibbles have single proteins with limited ingredients..
    The protein is very low in the Hills D/D vet diets, 18% protein & some of the protein is coming from the potato protein in the D/D diet… it takes anywhere from 1 day to 6 weeks for a dog to react to a food/ingredient….

  • For Online

    My toy poodle developed itching and a skin rash while on Rachel Ray Nutrish, dry dog food and treats. With the itching she scratched all of the hair off of her ears. With the skin rash came a unique odor. Took her to the vet who diagnosed a food allergy and suggested we switch to Hills Science Diet, d/d, for skin/food sensitivities. Haven’t had an issue since.

  • Becky Caldwell

    I do so appreciate your insight! I’d never thought of it from a human perspective (I’m not glueton intolerant so I have no reason to cut it from my own diet). I’m giving him a bit of boiled chicken and rice now, during the transition back, so he is a very happy guy. Hopefully the itching will stop soon.

  • Becky Caldwell

    Thanks so much for the advice.

  • Susan

    Hi you have probably just picked the wrong grain free food brand, he’s probably sensitive to an ingredient which has caused yeasty, itchy smelly skin problems also the Omega 3 might be too low & the Omega 6 is probably way to high which can cause skin problems as well…..
    Have a look at “Canidae Pure” formula’s or “Taste Of the Wild” Sierra, Mountain Roasted Lamb, these kibbles have limited ingredients & use single proteins & the Omega 3 & 6 are balanced properly your dog skin & coat will look good again, also look at the Kcals per cup in the Rachel Ray you’re feeding the Kcals per cup may be lower in the Rachel Ray formula then the Purina One formula that you were feeding, always rotate between a few different brands of kibbles with different proteins, in Summer months I feed a Salmon kibble & Autumn/Winter months I rotate kibbles & feed Canidae Pork & TOTW Lamb Kibbles I also add fresh food to my dog & cat diet & try & feed less kibble & more healthy foods, I’m always having people stop Patch & I & ask, “Gee his coat is beautiful & so shinny what do you feed him?” there’s heaps better quality foods then Purina One…
    If you want a good price kibble that’s a 5 star have a look at “Nature’s Recipe” Grain Free Salmon, Sweet Potato & Pumkin Recipe, its on special at the moment thru “Chewy” a 24lb bag for $31.49 always look at “Today’s Deal’s” up top & start rotating with 4-5 star kibbles that are on special… https://www.chewy.com/natures-recipe-grain-free-salmon/dp/36660

  • Veronika

    The problem with grain free like gluten free for humans, is everyone gets on the bandwagon thinking it’s the best thing ever and thinking that finally they will loose some weight on it, sadly going gluten free doesn’t mean much when you don’t have coeliac, you can still put on weight, it’s still just as bad if not worse for insulin resistance and really you just changed from one bad to worse lol.

    Same thing with grain free, unless your dog is allergic to grains there’s no need to change over to grain free, that’s not to say that corn is necessary for dogs as its high GI but then so is the grain free tapioca.
    So if you change from corn to tapioca your not actually changing anything at all.
    A lot of foods these days are adding tapioca and a lot of it.

  • Becky Caldwell

    My beautiful six year old chocolate lab has eaten Purina One since his very first vet visit (vet recommended). I recently purchased a grain-free food, thinking I was doing right by my big guy. I think we’re on our second bag of Rachel Ray Nutrish. He seems to like the food but we are noticing significant weight loss, dull coat, and he is constantly scratching. I’ve just been reading other posts about the RR food (scary!). I feel so bad for putting my guy through all this. I’ll be transitioning him back to the Purina One! Never a problem in 6 years. I also posted this comment on the Purina One discussion page.

  • aussie mom

    I have an australian Shepherd, we switched to this Racael Ray food and he got diarrhea, since was his first time with beef, we assumed was just the beef, switched to chicken from Rechael too and now he is super sick, diarrhea, lots of blood! Horrible food

  • kitty banner

    I have a chaweenie and austrialian sheppard, both seem to be hungry all the time. Changing to another brand. They were only on this food for a month, month to long. dissappointed.

  • Shannon Crocker Ploof

    I have been feeding this to my four dogs, a mini chihuahua, a shitz zu , a pappillion, a German shepherd, our shitz zu died two days ago, my pappillon is so sick he can’t walk, my German shepherd and chihuahua have both been throwing up, so we are changing them back to the dog food we’ve used for a while that they love and doesn’t make them sick. I’m so disappointed with this product and Rachel Ray I lost one of my family members and she just gets richer. Please don’t give to your animals if you love them.

  • Ariana

    I had my 3 dogs on Rachael Rays Nutrish dog food and for the first 3 months they seemed to love it but, then I began to notice they seemed to always be thirsty and always hungry no matter how much I was feeding them, I kept their food and water out 24/7 but, regardless they couldn’t get enough it seemed and then they all 3 started having diarrhea and their hair started falling out. After the 4th month I took them to my vet who said would never recommend this dog food or cat food to any pet owner she’s seen several other patients with the same problems but, most were a lot worse then my dogs and the general link to all was Rachael Rays Nutrish dog food. My vet recommended 4health dog food and it’s sold at my local tractor supply store. My dogs LOVE it and the diarrhea went away within a couple days after switching and their hair grew back and they are not drinking near as much water and seem so much happier and calm! I definitely recommend trying 4health if anyone is searching for a good quality dog food.

  • Pamela Jackson

    We bought this bag for our dog and luckily we were dumping it in to our storage container for food when a dead rotting rodent dropped out of the bag. The moisture from the rotting thing caused rot throughout the bag! Thank god we found it before we fed it to him!!!!

    I have tried calling the company and have left voicemails! Images include what I assume is the run number! Do not feed to your dog!!!

  • You said “that is why I was so shocked when I saw that Chewy popup link”.

    There are absolutely no Chewy popup links anywhere on this website. There is a Chewy link on each review and article you can optionally choose to click on, if you’d like.

    The only popup generated on this website is an invitation to get free emergency dog food recall alerts sent to you by email.

    That cost-free, spam-free public service has been offered to our readers for more than 8 years.

  • John Dozier

    Wow if I am wrong I am wrong No need to go into an adolescent rant of attack in your defense! With all the sarcasm. Thanks for your Free service that helps people out. And actually I did get pop up for Chewy when I was reading about your rating of Rachael Rays dog food. That is what surprised the heck out of me. My most sincere apology. So I corrected my post a dog food retail company. Either way it still seems like conflict of interest when you are funded by a company that sells dog food. But if you say it is not then I stand corrected. There are a thousand other ways to fund a website like this. It is not my job to tell you how. If you say you are not influenced by them than I’ll take your word for it. I will be glad to remove my negative post. I have always relied on your site and appreciate it. That is why I was so shocked when I saw that Chewy pop up link. But I guess since that is the food I was looking at it is ok. By the way all that sarcasm is really not needed to carry your message.

  • What conflict of interest are you referring to? You are misinformed. We do NOT “get money from (any) dog food company”. And we never have.

    As clearly explained within this and every one of the more than 1000 reviews throughout this website, we “receive a fee from Chewy.com for each purchase made as a direct result of a referral from our website. This fee is a fixed dollar amount and has nothing to do with the size of an order or the brand selected for purchase”.

    Chewy is a pet food retailer — and NOT a “dog food company” as you claim.

    By the way, did you happen to notice that there’s no advertising on any article or review? Nor has there ever been in the more than 9 years we’ve made this information available free of charge to any and all visitors — including YOU?

    Without some way to generate revenue, how else would you suggest we pay our 4 employees, top level Rackspace hosting, a CloudFlare content delivery network, custom software, business insurance and hundreds of other expenses?

    Enjoy your 100% free visit.

  • John Dozier

    I find the fact that you get money from a dog food company disturbing and so much a potential conflict of interest that I no longer have as much faith in the review write ups.

  • Ashley Van Tubergen

    Hence my concern with finding a safe, healthy food for them. Thanks

  • InkedMarie

    I had luck with Wellness Core reduced fat; Annamaet Lean is a good choice too. Doxies may be “like little garbage cans” but the owner feeds them.

  • Ashley Van Tubergen

    Also, if anyone has any affordable, healthy alternatives to this food, we are open to suggestions! We have doxies, so it’s very important to us that we find something to help control their weight. Doxies are complicated—they’re like little garbage cans, but you have to be so careful about their weight because of their backs. 🙂

  • Ashley Van Tubergen

    We switched to this dog food about 3 or 4 months ago. We have 4 doxies, and it seemed like they all loved it. Haven’t noticed any significant weight gain or loss. However, about 3 weeks ago, we noticed one of our dogs wasn’t feeling well. He was shaking uncontrollably and whimpering, and we noticed his belly felt hard so we rushed him to the vet. They did x-rays and said nothing looked abnormal. We couldn’t tell if it was his back or stomach. They put him on pain meds and an antacid, but we noticed he wasn’t pooping. Ended up having to give him steroids and a bunch of fluid a couple days later and he finally pooped and seemed to be feeling a bit better. However, he’s still lethargic. Not his normal self, and we can tell he isn’t feeling well. Not necessarily sick, but just uncomfortable. He’s on prednisone, and I’ve given him miralax and gas-x. I’m wondering if it’s just gas? Now I’m starting to question his dog food. Our other 3 dogs love this food, but I’m thinking it isn’t sitting very well for him. Judging by some of the other reviews, it looks like that may very well be the case. Lots of similar stories.

  • Stephanie

    I am the owner of a almost 6 year old Boston terrier Chihuahua mix that I got when he was 3 the person we got him from told us he ate a name brand dog food well for almost 3 years I have been buying different bags of dry food for him to eat and he just turned his nose to it no matter how long it sat there he would only eat soft well on a chance we figured to try RR nutrish real beef and brown rice and we r shocked to see he actually eats it and we couldn’t be happier thank you so much

  • Andrew Pershing

    Yes! Good nutrition! And the baked swt. potato helps them stay regular.

  • Linnett Terzolino

    I just bought two sm bags of the rr nutrish new dish and my one dog ate it for about a week she’s 12 and is so sick won’t eat is throwing up very lethargic wants to go out and eat grass. I’m going back to my old food hope it helps her.

  • InkedMarie

    Cindy, you’re posting to the Dog Food Advisor, not whomever makes the food.

  • Cindy McCuan Christian

    I have been using your foods for a few years now, mostly the dry grain free, but when my Chihuahua started getting finicky I decided to try your super premium wet food….BIG MISTAKE! My guy is soooo sick right now…lethargic and vomiting after being on it for 3 days. (I was mixing it with the dry not fully changed over) I should of looked at the packaging and seen that you sold out to Taiwan to make this food! I really thought you cared about animals but I guess I’m wrong!

  • ladydye_5

    Oatmeal, rice (brown especially) there are many things you can feed your dog that would be better than just changing food cold turkey.

  • Karen Poet Snyder

    My chocolate lab was on the RR chicken and rice for about 4 years, she loved it, but she had terrible skin problems and was scratching all the time. The vet gave us medicine for allergies and special shampoo for her skin and the whole time, it was her dog food. She even had some bald spots where her fur was falling out. We also had problems with her needed expressed about every 3 months which we never had problems with before. We switched to Blue Buffalo Grain Free about 6 weeks ago and all her problems stopped. Her fur has grown back and her cost is shiny…she’s not scratching at all anymore and she’s not rubbing her butt up against the furniture anymore. I wished we had made the food connection earlier. I can’t say enough good things about Blue Buffalo Grain Free dog food!!!

  • disqus_SBl7sCuYS7

    I would take her to the vet, her symptoms may have nothing to do with the food and may be related to environmental allergies or a medical condition. At the least the vet will prescribe medication to stop the suffering (temporarily) as you decide what type of testing to have done.

  • Jess

    My dog has been steadily scratching and biting all over. She doesn’t have flees and the only thing that has changed has been switching her food to RR beef. She has a hard time sleeping because she wakes up constantly to bite herself.

  • Barbie Scott

    Just pay attention to your pets needs.Changing foods does this with any animal. You have to gradually mix with something and not give full portions when doing this.Ask your vet. I have many dogs, 2 were having skin issues, i change to rachel ray and not a problem since. You have to remember every dog is different in their organs strength and weaknesses, so dog foods that are best for them will vary…

  • Barbie Scott

    Changing foods does this with any animal. You have to gradually mix with something and not give full portions when doing this.Ask your vet. I have many dogs, 2 were having skin issues, i change to rachel ray and not a problem since. You have to remember every dog is different in their organs strength and weaknesses, so dog foods that are best for them will vary…

  • Michelle Smith

    My dog was seriously ill. Throwing up, refusing to eat, fever, lethargic, runny nose, bloated belly, tail wrapped totally under her body. All not long after I switched to Rachel Ray chicken and veggie. She had been eating the Beef and Rice for a few months prior to that. She refused to eat for 4 days. I nursed her back to health with a bland diet of eggs and canned Beyond food. She refused to eat the Rachel Ray anymore. I started to feed her Purina Smart Blend and she ate great. After I felt she was back 100 percent, I tried the Rachel Ray again because I had $30 worth of it still and I wasn’t sure why she had gotten so ill. She would eat less but out of hunger still eat it. 3 days in and she’s barfing again. There’s something bad in that food!!!!!

  • Mommat

    We made ours chicken and rice. I threw a couple chicken breasts into the pot of rice I was cooking and shredded the chicken when it was all done. Couple it with some baked sweet potato slices and you have a good meal and treat.

  • Mommat

    We have a dog who is doing the same thing. He is now chewing sores all over himself.

  • janisofny

    My dogs (Dobermans) have been eating Rachael Ray’s nutrish dog food for about five years. Their health is excellent, their coats are glossy, their poops are regular and firm and they love the food (they drool when I am filling their bowls). Your dog may have been suffering from something else. You don’t seem to have solid medical proof it was the food? I’ve had many, many pets in my lifetime, including two Pitties. One died at six from a massive stroke, the other one at age 11 from cancer. One of my Dobermans died at six, another at 17. None of my previous pets ate Rachael Ray dog food, only the two I currently have. Sometimes dogs die young. My current two Dober-boys are six and 10. Both are in excellent health and sometimes very puppy-like.

  • disqus_SBl7sCuYS7

    Please take her to the vet asap, something is wrong.