Castor and Pollux Organix (Dry)

Share

Rating: ★★★½☆

Castor and Pollux Organix Dog Food receives the Advisor’s mid-tier rating of 3.5 stars.

The Castor and Pollux Organix product line includes 2 dry dog foods.

Each recipe below includes its related AAFCO nutrient profile when available on the product’s official webpage: Growth, Maintenance, All Life Stages, Supplemental or Unspecified.

Important: Because many websites do not reliably specify which Growth or All Life Stages recipes are safe for large breed puppies, we do not include that data in this report. Be sure to check actual packaging for that information.

  • Castor and Pollux Organix Healthy Weight [M]
  • Castor and Pollux Organix Chicken and Oatmeal [A]

Castor and Pollux Organix Chicken and Oatmeal recipe was selected to represent both products in the line for this review.

Castor and Pollux Organix Chicken and Oatmeal Recipe

Dry Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 29% | Fat = 18% | Carbs = 45%

Ingredients: Organic chicken, organic chicken meal, organic oatmeal, organic barley, organic chickpeas, organic peas, organic pea protein, organic coconut oil, organic chicken fat (preserved with mixed tocopherols), organic sunflower seed meal, organic flaxseed, natural flavor, organic chicken liver, organic blueberries, organic alfalfa meal, salt, organic sunflower oil, salmon oil, vitamins (vitamin E supplement, niacin supplement, thiamine mononitrate, d-calcium pantothenate, vitamin A supplement, pyridoxine hydrochloride, riboflavin supplement, vitamin D3 supplement, biotin, vitamin B12 supplement, folic acid), choline chloride, minerals (zinc amino acid complex, iron amino acid complex, copper amino acid complex, manganese amino acid complex, sodium selenite, calcium iodate), potassium chloride, dried Bacillus coagulans fermentation product, organic rosemary extract

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 5.6%

Red items indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis26%16%NA
Dry Matter Basis29%18%45%
Calorie Weighted Basis25%37%38%
Protein = 25% | Fat = 37% | Carbs = 38%

The first ingredient in this dog food is chicken. Although it is a quality item, raw chicken contains up to 73% water. After cooking, most of that moisture is lost, reducing the meat content to just a fraction of its original weight.

After processing, this item would probably account for a smaller part of the total content of the finished product.

The second ingredient is chicken meal. Chicken meal is considered a meat concentrate and contains nearly 300% more protein than fresh chicken.

The third ingredient is oatmeal, a whole-grain product made from coarsely ground oats. Oatmeal is naturally rich in B-vitamins, dietary fiber and can be (depending upon its level of purity) gluten-free.

The fourth ingredient is barley. Barley is a starchy carbohydrate supplying fiber and other healthy nutrients. However, aside from its energy content, this cereal grain is of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

The fifth ingredient includes chickpeas, also known as garbanzo beans. Like peas, bean and lentils, the chickpea is a nutritious member of the fiber-rich legume (or pulse) family of vegetables.

However, chickpeas contain about 22% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

The sixth ingredient lists peas. Peas are a quality source of carbohydrates. And like all legumes, they’re rich in natural fiber.

However, peas contain about 25% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the meat content of this dog food.

The seventh ingredient is pea protein, what remains of a pea after removing the starchy part of the vegetable.

Even though it contains over 80% protein, this ingredient would be expected to have a lower biological value than meat.

And less costly plant-based products like this can notably boost the total protein reported on the label — a factor that must be considered when judging the meat content of this dog food.

The eighth ingredient is coconut oil, a natural oil rich in medium-chain fatty acids.

Medium-chain triglycerides have been shown to improve cognitive function in older dogs.1

Because of its proven safety2 as well as its potential to help in the treatment of canine cognitive dysfunction syndrome (CDS) and chronic skin disorders, MCT can be considered a positive addition to this recipe.

The ninth ingredient lists chicken fat. Chicken fat is obtained from rendering chicken, a process similar to making soup in which the fat itself is skimmed from the surface of the liquid.

Chicken fat is high in linoleic acid, an omega-6 fatty acid essential for life. Although it doesn’t sound very appetizing, chicken fat is actually a quality ingredient.

The tenth ingredient is sunflower seed meal, a by-product of the oil extraction process – and an item more typically found in feed for livestock.

Although sunflower meal contains about 34% protein, it would be expected to have a lower biological value than meat.

And less costly plant-based products like this can notably boost the total protein reported on the label — a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With five notable exceptions

First, we find flaxseed, one of the best plant sources of healthy omega-3 fatty acids. Provided they’ve first been ground into a meal, flax seeds are also rich in soluble fiber.

However, flaxseed contains about 19% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

Next, although alfalfa meal is high in plant protein (about 18%) and fiber (25%), this hay-family item is more commonly associated with horse feeds.

In addition, we note the use of sunflower oil. Sunflower oil is nutritionally similar to safflower oil. Since these oils are high in omega-6 fatty acids and contain no omega-3’s, they’re considered less nutritious than canola or flaxseed oils.

Sunflower oil is notable for its resistance to heat damage during cooking.

There are several different types of sunflower oil, some better than others. Without knowing more, it’s impossible to judge the quality of this ingredient.

Next, we note the inclusion of dried fermentation products in this recipe. Fermentation products are typically added to provide enzymes to aid the animal with digestion.

And lastly, this food contains chelated minerals, minerals that have been chemically attached to protein. This makes them easier to absorb. Chelated minerals are usually found in better dog foods.

Castor and Pollux Organix Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Since this recipe contains a number of organic ingredients, we feel compelled to grant this line a more favorable status as we consider its final rating.

That’s because organic ingredients must comply with notably more stringent government standards — standards which significantly restrict the use of any synthetic pesticides, herbicides, insecticides, hormones or antibiotics.
With that in mind…

Judging by its ingredients alone, Castor and Pollux Organix looks like an above-average dry product.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 29%, a fat level of 18% and estimated carbohydrates of about 45%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 29% and a mean fat level of 15%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 48% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 50%.

Near-average protein. Near-average fat. And near-average carbs when compared to a typical dry dog food.

When you consider the protein-boosting effect of the chickpeas, peas, pea protein, sunflower seed meal, flaxseed and alfalfa meal, this looks like the profile of a kibble containing a moderate amount of meat.

Bottom line?

Castor and Pollux Organix is a plant-based dry dog food using a moderate amount of named meat meal as its main source of animal protein, thus earning the brand 3.5 stars.

Recommended.

Please note certain recipes are sometimes given a higher or lower rating based upon our estimate of their total meat content and (when appropriate) their fat-to-protein ratios.

Castor and Pollux Dog Food
Recall History

The following list (if present) includes all dog food recalls since 2009 directly related to this product line. If there are no recalls listed in this section, we have not yet reported any events.

You can view a complete list of all dog food recalls sorted by date. Or view the same list sorted alphabetically by brand.

To learn why our ratings have nothing to do with a product’s recall history, please visit our Dog Food Recalls FAQ page.

Get free dog food recall alerts sent to you by email. Subscribe to The Advisor’s recall notification list.

Dog Food Coupons
and Discounts

Readers are invited to check for coupons and discounts shared by others in our Dog Food Coupons Forum.

Or click the buying tip below. Please be advised we receive a fee for referrals made to the following online store.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

The Dog Food Advisor does not test dog food products.

We rely entirely on the integrity of the information provided by each company. As such, the accuracy of every review is directly dependent upon the specific data a company chooses to share.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

We rely on tips from readers. To report a product change or request an update of any review, please contact us using this form.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, due to the biological uniqueness of every animal, none of our ratings are intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in a specific dietary response or health benefit for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

However, we do receive a fee from Chewy.com for each purchase made as a direct result of a referral from our website. This fee is a fixed dollar amount and has nothing to do with the size of an order or the brand selected for purchase.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Notes and Updates

11/08/2017 Last Update

  1. Pan Y et al, Dietary supplementation with medium-chain TAG has long-lasting cognition-enhancing effects in aged dogs, British Journal of Nutrition, Volume 103, Issue 12, June 2010, pp 1746-1754
  2. Matulka RA et al, Lack of toxicity by medium chain triglycerides (MCT) in canines during a 90-day feeding study,Food Chem Toxicol, Jan 2009, 47(1) 35-9.
  • haleycookie

    because that’s what dog food companies do unfortunately. They redid some of the formulas and made them “better” which increases the price. It probably didn’t make them better in any way tbh. Halo dog food recently decreased bag size by 3 lbs on the big bags and they are now 80$ for 25 instead of 60$ for a 28lbs bag. They are still a plant based food and even added soy to some of their formulas. It’s a load of crap in my opinion. I’ve seen Blue Buffalo do it over the years and now halo is doing it and so many others. Some of them aren’t even doing formula changes. Just getting money hungry as if they don’t have enough as it is. Castor and pullox is owned by purina for the most part now. Idk if they have anything to do with the large changes going on in the foods or not. Purina also owns merrick now but so far marrick has not raised their prices, shrunk bag sizes, or changed formula. Haven’t had any complains on merrick. Which is the sister company to castor and pollox. Maybe check their healthy weight formula out sometime.

  • Kim

    Why has the price of Castor and Pollux healthy weight increased while the amount of food has decreased by over 4 pounds?

  • Chandra Stephens

    Thanks for the feedback Let me know if you have any issues with this food, my malinois just has a sensitive stomach and didn’t do well on this food, I went back to Diamond care and started mixing with Raw OC Dog food with occasional raw meaty bones and he does so well on this I’ve not had any issues with it Also noticeable fresher breath, white teeth and shiny coat

  • Chester

    My dog almost died from the bones. Not soft, not edible. He bleed from it lucky to pull it out from his throat. 15 lb Maltese.

  • Chester

    They recently discontinued this at my local store bought one. See if my dogs uave same issues.

  • Chester

    Wow I would of stopped with first ounce or two.

  • dawn

    i’ve been using castor & pollux for a while now, but in the last few months i’ve had problems. with the cat food–the shredded chicken and chicken liver recipe cans have not been properly filled. with the dog food–two cans–i can’t remember the names–had corrosion on the outside. when i opened the cans the food looked bad. i didn’t feed it to my dogs. yesterday i opened a can of the whole chicken thighs, fresh cut carrots and sweet potato entree in gravy and immediately smelled the rancidity. it was the first can from the case i opened. i’m not opening any more. i’m emailing the company today.

  • Susan

    Hi looks like he’s sensitive to an ingredrient in the Castor & Pollux, look at “4Health” Special Health Sensitive Stomach it is the same as Diamond Care formula’s but cheaper also look at the 4Health Sensitive Skin formula it has Hydrolyzed Salmon & not as many ingredient has the Castor & pollux has.. Sold at Tractor Supply…Bloody dirrahea is from food sensitivities STOP feeding what ur feeding ASAP. Take back food get a refund. https://www.tractorsupply.com/landing-pages_brands_4health-special-care.html

  • haleycookie

    Well your pup definitely sounds sensitive. He may do best back on diamond care.
    If you’re interest solid gold dog food has a studied and proven patented probiotic sprayed on the food before it is bagged and proven to last the entire shelf life of the bag. They also carry a seameal supplement that I have had several customers and co worked try out with amazing results. Whatever you do choose good luck.

  • Chandra Stephens

    I fed him Diamond Care sensitive stomach formula which has a canine probiotic panel to build natural flora it was so pricey so I thought the Castor and pollux aultramix would be better I don’t see a probiotic in the Ultramix also the Ultramix has chicken meal, salmon meal, turkey meal , salt, and the freeze dried fruit and veggies and that’s really the only thing different. Today he’s had bloody diarrhea so I’ve just been giving him bone broth and Perhaps I have to switch back to Diamond Care I’m really worried about my dog, I am disappointed because I bought a 30 pound bag and still have 8 pounds left He does love the food but I don’t think he’s adjusting well to it. Thank you for your feedback

  • haleycookie

    What was he eating before? What proteins and other ingredients are in the ultramix that weren’t in his previous foods? I would give it a couple days with the probiotic and see what happens if he doesn’t get better I would suggest switching either back to what he was on or another type of food. Maybe a limited ingredient food like canidae pure.

  • Chandra Stephens

    I just started feeding my 1year old Malinois the Ultramix a week ago and he loves it but he has had diarrhea and runny nasty stools since switching to this food, I recently tried to add in an enzyme supplement to help him adjust to the food I don’t know what to do any suggestions

  • Heartteacher_

    I add baked sweet potatoes & canned peas (which are like super foods to dogs), add a tiny amount of olive oil or coconut oil to it, add some chicken or beef broth, & then mix in Organix. I mix enough for a few days at a time & store it in the fridge. I heat it slightly when I feed it to my dogs. Sometimes I mix in chicken or beef if we have leftovers. My lab lived to 17, which is old for a lab. Now we have a 12 year old mini schnauzer who has never needed to go to the vet except for shots and a 5 month old chihuahua.

  • haleycookie

    I work at a petco that carries this line. I was unaware petsmart did as well. However I am aware that petco has recently discontinued this food because it hardly sells. So I’m thinking perhaps petsmart may do that as well seeing as it’s a rather low quality food but also rediculously more expensive then the rest of the foods the pet stores carry. My store however has a new line called prestine if you’re looking for a strictly organic food. It is made by this company but again it’s a plant based grain free organic food like organix but it’s even more expensive (18 lbs for 80$). If you are looking for a good quality senior food I know merrick (c&p’s sister company) just released a new senior formula.

  • Roxas Angell
  • Roxas Angell

    Does anyone know if C&P discontinued the Senior formula in this line recently? I bought the last bag at my PetSmart after doing weeks of research on a food to switch my old Sully to, but I cannot find it anywhere online & PetSmart site is out of stock. No news or recalls… any help appreciated. Thanks!

  • InkedMarie

    Glad the diarrhea & vomiting has stopped.

  • IMHO

    Thank you… I had already considered that point, but she switched up before and never had an issue.
    Since I wrote, I stopped feeding her the Organix and the diahrea/vomit has stopped. So something in it obviously didn’t work for her.

  • InkedMarie

    Insight? Yes. You ran out of your dogs food and put her on a new food without transition. That can cause diarrhea and vomiting

  • IMHO

    I’ve been feeding my 1 yr old dog Organix dry for a few days, due to running out of her regular food and Unleashed had just closed for the night… Since we got it, she’s been having pretty consistent diarrhea, that sends her crying to the back door… She has also thrown up a few times. I was assuming it had a lot to do with her becoming a grass addict, eating it constantly – but is that because her stomach is already upset? I’m going to go back to her old food to see if that changes things. Any insights?

  • Jim Garrett

    BONES!!! OK, you found Bones in the Can. SHOCK!!! Yes, my initial reaction was shock and anger. I am over protective of my little guy and finding bones in his food is enough to make me see RED! However, after reading up on the website and yes there is a YouTube Video explaining it, I learned that the Bones ARE supposed to be there AND they are SOFTENED, easy to mash up and easy to digest. Thought I would share this with anyone capable of “Flying off the Handle” like I am and understand what’s up. Hope it helped.

  • SaritaBeth542

    I guess Purina bought Merrick and Castor and they changed some of the recipes slightly. There are stickers placed on some of their bags at PetCo. My dog had been eating this food, but with a new bag I bought he broke out on a bad case of hives. Now that I got rid of the food, he is fine!! Disappointed!

  • Sally666

    I recently got this organic dry food for my dog on http://bestdogfood-review.com It is quite good for dogs. It has real organic chicken that is why I don’t affraid to feed my dog with it.

  • keleee

    Awww, What a cutie pie! I feel the same way. My Bostons can have so many skin issues and I have never had one with Organix either. Because it is certified organic it has no GMO’s and I buy the wheat free because my Boston has allergies to wheat.

  • Karma_Grant

    Then email them via their contact link. My above statement remains true regardless.

  • keleee

    FYI -Petco has stopped selling Organix wet and dry foods instore but you can still get it on their website.

  • Gregarious Antithesis

    I feed my dog as a supplement Adult Organix, I have a bowl sitting around if he is hungry between meals. I feed my dog all raw Chicken- legs, thighs, gizzards, liver, and trimmings, eggs; Pork-meaty neck bones, split feet, hawks; Beef-tripe, heart, ground beef; fish-tuna, catfish, carp, organs from fishing; Wild game-From hunting meaty bones and organs; vegetables/fruit/misc-carrots, apples, beets, plain yogurt, cheese, red bell pepper, turnips, squash, rice, sweet potatoes, pumpkin, assorted berries, his favorite treat is baby carrots and hot dogs.
    He is a 20 lb, 11 year old Wired Fox Terrier and he has perfect teeth and his breath never smells. Firm minimal stools awesome coat and he is never sick. It is a no brainer to feed a dog primarily raw meat and if you shop right you can feed a dog raw meat for no more than the best dry dog food available and he is always happy with raw meat versus dry food but will eat the Organix from time to time.

  • Amber Hayghe

    I love their products! The ONLY food sold in Petsmart stores that is certified organic. I know a lot of people pick apart the ingredients even more than this site does but I am curious, how many of you eat a super clean diet? I am happy to say I feed my dogs an amazing food and I am not broke because of it. Just my two cents 🙂

  • Amber Hayghe

    Maybe she has a chicken/poultry allergy? I would suggest a non-poultry substitute. Good luck!

  • Robin Martin Hixon

    Have you tried Newman’s Organic? Also the green bean diet? Weight management foods always get low reviews because the food is washed out… give the same kibble, just cut down and add a pile of SALT FREE canned green beans. (Wal-mart brand isn’t expensive) My dogs love it! My corgi lost 5 pounds, and is very healthy.

  • Karma_Grant

    Petco would be the place to ask that, not a dog food review site.

  • mopsie1

    We used Organix Grain Free for almost two years but then began noticing stool problems. We spoke with our vet and also did some research- turns out that grain free is a useless fad, much like the anti-carb movement that humans are currently embracing. Dogs are actually omnivores and while meat protein is still ideal, it doesn’t mean they cannot handle carbs. We switched to the regular Organix and she was almost instantly better (firmer stools, much happier overall). Still, we tried Wysong Epigen because our vet suggested it and because of the much higher meat protein content. It worked out great but now Epigen has changed the formula and it’s not working out for us at all. Back to the drawing board…in the end, I don’t think dry kibble is the best way to go, just the most convenient.

  • Lyn Parker

    newman’s canned food all organic.my poodles like the beef the best!and the dry food is organic too!

  • keleee

    Why has the price increased at Petco for all sizes of the Organix dry food? It is a dollar more for some reason?

  • George Lamson

    I have been using C&P Ultramix for my 2 Goldens for a couple of years without any problems. This summer we brought a new golden puppy into the family and I started her on C&P Ultramix puppy. She seemed fine with it for the last 2 months. Last week I received a new bag and continued to feed her. Two days after she started on the new bag she started having severe diarrhea. Since she tends to eat lots of things in the yard, I figured she ate something that caused the diarrhea. After 3 days on a rice-yogurt-turkey diet her stool returned to normal. I phased in the C&P and after the second day the same diarrhea started up again. I can only assume it is the food. Not sure if she developed an allergy to the food or there is something wrong with this bag, but I’m looking for another food for her.

  • sue sanders

    I agree, same thing happened to my dogs. Now I have to work on getting them healthy again. Thank god no one has died from this food. I have been buying it for years. Something change, and then the health problems started. I did not know that they were bought out by Merrick. Now, I know what happened. I will never support them again. I agree that Diamond and Natura, are brands not to support. they are different companies, but they have had recalls.

  • Betsy Greer

    Hi Sue,

    How did you happen to learn that your dog was highly allergic to chicken and turkey? Did you do an actual elimination diet? True allergies are actually unusual.

  • sue sanders

    Oh my, my dogs started chewing on their legs since this change. I have pulled them off of it completely . One of my dogs is now very allergic to chicken and turkey. This brand is not worth the money. Thank you for your input. We have several long months ahead of us, to get their bodies back to normal.

  • sue sanders

    If the dogs eat non-organic chicken meal then that means they are eating food that has GMO in it. The same goes for the Salmon. Their salmon can be farmed salmon which means they are eating a very unhealthy source of salmon. I have supported this dog food company for a while. I have three dogs, two of them are very big. In the last 3 to 4 months this food has made them sick. I have stopped purchasing it and I have had to go the route of making their dog food.

  • Sue sanders

    I have purchased this dog food for a while. But in the last 3 to 4 months my dogs are having health issues. I have pulled them off of the organix, One of them has developed a really bad allergy to chicken! Also his liver needs a boost. Not happy. Their food is expensive and no different than a non organic brand. Will never support them again. We have moved on to raw organic homemade dog food and a all organic vegetarian dog food.

  • keleee

    I googled best organic dogfoods and this is what popped up.
    http://www.naturalnews.com/028904_organic_pet_food.html#

  • Organix_Rocked

    My dogs ONLY ever ate Organix wet and dry food. The Merrick brand – they won’t even sniff. The stuff literally smells like manure. I can’t get the stench off my hands. It is a fallacy that Merrick is a high premium dog food. The crap found out during the 2007 dog recall would make your stomach churn. Now my dogs are without a good quality organic dog food….thank God I mostly feed them human grade food. I use dog food simply as back-up. If anyone KNOWS of a high quality organic brand, I’m all ears!

  • Gaven

    Unfortunately the dog food industry is just as corrupt as the as a politician that might have had good intentions before getting into office, but once in they see the potential of power and control, and lost what they stood for from beginning. A company like castor and pollux was once a legitimate company that had a great idea with a great natural formula based on a healthy lifestyle for our pets. They have now sold themselves and there followers down the river for the O’mighty dollar. A company like merrick will now change the true ingredients of a once healthy food, in order to cut there margins, to compromise the ingredients for a bigger buck at the expense of our pets. But yet the price of the food still remains the same. If your going to take any product and lower its value, than you should price it for what its really worth. GREED RUINS ALL THAT WAS ONCE GOOD!

  • Bronwen

    I, too, noticed sudden change in C&P adult dry dog food. Kibble was extremely dry and so crumbly it was difficult for dogs to eat after using C&P for years, switching from regular to grain free and back. Did not know C&P had sold or changed formula but switched to Canidae grain-free with bison, which Westies love. But now sorry to learn that some Canidae products uhave been recalled in past due to salmonella problems.
    Any known problems with Canidae grain-free with bison or should I switch again?

  • keleee

    Thanks Helen for posting this. A lot of folks are getting hung up on a simple change to keep the formula “Organic” which is in the dogs best interest to keep the nasty GMO’s out of their diet along with antibiotics. Organic food is expensive but better for your pet. Merrick is a 5 star dog food company which a lot of people don’t seem to get. Look up Merrick and see what they are rated and you will see that Castor and Pollux can only benefit by the merger. They were not bought out by Proctor and Gamble! It’s 18 bucks for a small bag for a reason. My dog only eats Organix and they sell it at the health food store because it has the “Certified Organic Seal” on it. Please stop making a mountain out of a mole hill. If you get it for free stop complaining because you don’t know how lucky your pet is. The main mistake a lot of folks make is to take a great dog food like C&P and then throw a beneful or Mighty Dog wet topper on it like a friend of mine does. I am going to print out the report on her topper and show her she is ruining her dogs health this way. Leave the dogs food out for 10 minutes and if they don’t eat it pick it up and try it later. They will eat it when they get hungry. Dogs that are picky are made picky by us. A fat dog is not a healthy dog. Don’t leave food out all day but serve it at certain times and always do your homework on the food and treats you serve. Try and feed the best food you can afford. A 4 or 5 star dogfood is good and look them up on dog food advisor first.

  • losul

    Well Helen,

    lol. After I read it a few times, I thought yeah, it makes sense and is plausible to me.

    But then I went to their website and looked. It looks the packaging on the front for the grain inclusive organix also highlight organic chicken, as one of the 3 specific organics highlighted, (made with organic chicken, brown rice, and flaxseed), just like the grain free, yet the ingredient list shows organic chicken, chicken meal, etc. for those grain inclusive formulas, so I dont get it. Probably the picture of the packaging on the website is not/no longer accurate for the grain inclusive? Must be the case, either that or they are telling a real doozy or I’m really confused. Its really late so it might be the latter, lol.

    http://www.castorpolluxpet.com/product/organix-small-breed-adult-dog

  • Helen

    They sent me this mesage because I asked them about poultry meal in all the diets(not just in grain-free)
    I want to show all the buyers their response.
    What do you think of their reply?
    ……………………
    Hi Helen, I just wanted to follow up on your good question. Here’s what I learned…

    WHY DO YOU USE POULTRY MEAL IN YOUR ORGANIX® GRAIN-FREE FORMULA?
    The ingredient dec for the ORGANIX® Grain-Free formula states poultry meal, rather than chicken meal due to the organic certification regulations. The ORGANIX Grain-Free food is actually formulated with chicken meal, which is of the same high quality as our chicken meal in all of our ORGANIX diets.

    Our product is certified in the “made with organic” category and there are specific regulations about how to label or communicate to the customer which ingredients are organic. We are allowed to list 3 specific organic ingredients or organic food groupings in the “made with organic“ statement. This is why the front of our bags call-out “made with organic chicken, peas, flaxseed”. Part of the regulations also require that if the organic ingredient is a call-out on the packaging that all ingredients in that category are organic.

    Since our packaging references “made with organic chicken”, it is required that all chicken ingredients in the ingredient dec are organic. This seems like a simple problem to solve. Just use organic chicken meal. The problem is organic chicken meal does not currently exist. There are multiple reasons why it is not available, but the main point is we cannot purchase organic chicken meal, yet our formulas were formulated to contain chicken meal in order to provide a wholesome balanced nutrition for our pets. This is why chicken meal is listed as poultry meal in ORGANIX Grain-Free.

    We thought long and hard about what our options were to get around this complication, but at the end of the day it seemed most important to communicate clearly to our customer the food is made with organic chicken. The poultry meal was a definition that allowed us to meet organic regulations and yet was still more specific than meat meal.

    We strive to provide not only a wholesome balanced diet for our pets, but to be forthcoming and compliant to our regulatory partners.

    Hope that makes sense and answers your question.

  • Garypen

    For everyone that appears to be so worried about the changes made to C&P foods since Merrick acquired them, calm down. Merrick is an excellent pet food company, with a number of excellent brands and products. They also manufacture all of their foods, both dry AND canned. Most of the “holistic” brands use contractors to make their canned foods (C&P was one that did), and some even contract out their dry foods, like Natural Balance and Blue. And, for those switching to Innova because of this, you might be interested to know that NaturaPet (Innova, EVO, California Natural) was purchased some time ago by Proctor & Gamble. PROCTOR & GAMBLE, makers of Eukanuba and Iam’s. Yeah. That oughta be so much better for your dog than Merrick.

  • keleee

    Most dogs on a raw diet prefer it to dry kibble. Try mixing the kibble with some meat or a can of wet food until he gets used to his new diet. I have never been able to get a dog to go back to just kibble after being on canned or a meat diet. I start my puppy off on dry and try and keep it to just dry dogfood and no table scraps. My dog is fine on both the old formula and the new Merrick one. Merrick is an excellent maker of Dog Foods so I don’t think the dog food is the issue. You may want to bring him top your vet for a checkup as it could be so many things causing this. Keeping your dog in a hot van does not sound very good for your dog unless you have AC. I would rethink taking him on your roadtrip.

  • bohicasis

    OK, i dont know what is up but normally i buy the 6 or 7 lb bag_the smaller one and this past shoping trip i purchased the 14.5 lb bag_same food as the smaller bags, same ingredients and not past date. Well odd thing is_he regurgitates it before it even hits his stomach. I dont know if it is an “off batch” or what but it is siting here gathering …well, tightly sealed and waiting. I have NEVER had this problenm with their fdog food. NEVR. and i have been purchasing it for 2 yrs or so now. He is back on a strictkly raw diet for now.
    This began when i addded, as i normaly due, pumpkin to his kibble_up it came. So i tosed out the pumpin_but it continues with the kibble.
    Sticking with strickly raw for now with no pumpkin and _no tossing it up.
    Odd…any ideas?
    I want to keep the kibble in his diet as we will be living out of my van and soon. Southern temps will be hard to keep the meat a decent temp even with a so called “5 Day Cooler” despite where i go south. I do not habve solar or secondary batteries, cant afford them.
    Any one have regurgitating issues with the larger bags of food or in general lately (PURCHASED 8/2013) ?????

  • Victoria Blynn-Schaffer

    I too found several bones in the Organix canned chicken food. I will say, however, I do like the line of canned food almost as much as my dogs.

  • Betsy Greer

    Hi FoodBank,

    A link card is a card one uses to access their foods stamps in the State of Illinois.

  • FoodBank

    Mine is a SD too. 🙂 I don’t know what a link card or food product “F1” is. Maybe I’m a dinosaur. I’m so grateful the food bank has this stuff, but I was worried about it, so thank you.

  • bohicasis

    I have had “past date” on this and it hasnt efectedmy dog. Also if you use a link card “JO” scanners slide the kibble by as a food product under “F1” . Believe me, if i didnt have tht source my dog would be eating very poorly. I calculated how much it cost to feed my dog properly and it is expensive_sadly. As he is my SD it all all written off as “medical expensivesnot paid for by insurance” Note: SD = Service Dog

  • bohicasis

    I try to keep my dog on raw meat as much as possible. Did you know_and maybe i shouldnt say this because some might flip _this dry dog food goes thru one major grocery stores scanner and comes up as food “F1” therefore passing as a food item which can be purchased on a Link/SNAP card? Yep_saved my day. I looked behind me at the woman buying fruit loops and processed “goodies” for her home and stated ,” yep, im making a meat loaf tonight_this works grt. And so does the canned as a pate’ at any party!” I swear my dog eats better than most who chose for their homes. He eats better than i do_he is my SD and i rely on him 24/7. I AM concerned that i would have to go to a low quality dog food. It would be like feeding my child McDonalds . There are so many dogs i know that have cancer before they are even 4 yrs old. A far as “pultry meal” as opposed to chicken_i have sen no difference in my dog except that he seems to gain weight on this more lately when i have to phase out raw meat.

  • FoodBank

    This is a general question. The food bank is giving me high quality dog food (Organix being one) that is approaching the “best by” date. It is now past the best by date. When expensive dog foods go unsold, pet stores give them to the food bank. (I was also recently given a box of Honest Kitchen Embark.) I have been feeding my dog these foods along with a wet I make myself from chicken breasts, giblets, fruits and veggies. I want my dog to get at least SOME non-processed food. Right now it’s a 1/3, 1/3, 1/3 mix each meal. I’m thinking about phasing out the food I cook because of the expense. Some food I eat is also past the “best by” date–canned, bottled, not meats, but eggs and milk if it’s within a week or so. I am doing fine and appreciate getting the food. Is there a difference with dog food on this? I’m told “best by” are estimates and foods, especially dehydrated or processed are okay for quite some time afterward. Most of the reviews here seem to come from people who have money to choose high quality foods. If you couldn’t afford these, would you choose a high quality food like this over a newer bag of a cheaper food?

  • Hi Michelle,

    You said, “I’m slightly concerned that the dog food advisor is looking only at websites and not the actual bags of food.”

    Please understand there are over 800 reviews here representing some 3,800 recipes. What’s more, there’s no geographical location anywhere in America that has available every product found on this website.

    Company’s change their recipes frequently and without warning. In addition, whenever any company introduces a new formulation, it can take months for all the old product to be sold off the shelves and the new recipe to completely replace it.

    So, we rely heavily on the ONLY information available to us (or anyone) posted on each company’s website for the label information necessary to create and maintain hundreds of reviews.

    Thanks for your understanding.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    You can’t expect Dr. Mike to go out and find a store that carries every food he reviews in order to check the ingredients. I’m sure the website will be updated soon and when Dr. Mike revisits the product and updates the review, the rating will be changed accordingly. Although, assuming no other changes were made, I’m not sure that a switch from chicken meal to poultry meal with have a significant impact on the rating.

  • Michelle

    I went to the store today to check the ingredients on the actual bags of Adult Organix dry. Sure enough, Merrick changed the ingredients and now use poultry meal instead of chicken meal. Same change was made for the Organix Weight Management food. No wonder my dog has been chewing on his leg. These are not older packages. These are bags that have the Amarillo, TX address on the back, which means that they were made after Merrick acquired C&P. (Older bags of C&P would have Clackamas, Oregon as the company address on the package.) I had concerns that when Merrick acquired C&P that there would be changes. Now I’m slightly concerned that the dog food advisor is looking only at websites and not the actual bags of food. I’m in the process of going from store to store and trying to find another high quality brand.

  • Michelle

    Thanks very much for these reviews. My bag of Organix Dry Weight Management has poultry meal in the ingredients on the bag as well. This is a brand new bag with the Amarillo, TX address on the back (indicating that it’s now made under Merrick so it’s a recent bag). I’m in the process of looking into a new brand. Next time I’m at the store I’m going to check the actual bags for the other products in the line to see if they list poultry meal as well. C&P has high turnover on the shelves at our local store, so it should be the most recent product. Thanks again everyone.

  • keleee

    I had an overweight dog and he trimmed down nicely on the dry Organix Wight Management. I can’t say how good the canned is but it definately works if you keep an eye on treats and just feed them the dry food.

  • jjack

    OMG! I just found a whole bone in mine as well as several small sharp bones. What the heck??? Getting ready to contact C&P and Petsmart about this. HOW GROSS!! Also, I didn’t know they had sold the company. One of the reasons I trusted it to be fresh was it was manufactured right here in Clackamas, ore. where I live. What a shame they had to change the food.

  • Hi Liz,

    Please note this review was dated 3 weeks ago and was checked against their website at the time the review was posted.

    You may have an older package yourself. Please check with the company to confirm you are using a current package.

    Hope this helps.

  • liz

    The ingredients have changed in the organix line of food, and now contain “poultry meal” instead of the chicken meal.

  • Betsy Greer

    Sweet lab, Brad! : )

    It’s a really good idea to find a few foods of different protein sources and different manufacturers, that you like and can rotate between. You’re avoiding prolonged exposure to certain less desirable ingredients and giving a wider variety of amino acids. Also, if one of your favorites has an ingredient change, you have something to “fall back on” in case of a unpleasant reaction to the change. Dogs like and need variety just like we do!

  • Brad

    i used the ultramix and my lab and yorkie poo started throwing up > just about the time Merrick took over. I stayed with C&P and use the grain free organix dog food and no throwing up but i noticed my little dog isnt to thrilled about eating it anymore
    Im pretty pissed off that I was not informed of an ingredient change

  • Betsy Greer

    I was lucky enough to happen to get ahold of a case of C&P Organix canned turkey & vegetable recently on clearance while browsing through one of my local pet stores. It was really cheap, but not having tried it before, I was reluctant to buy more than one. I wish I had though, both dogs really like it and it mixes into their kibble easily. I’ve heard a lot of people do not like the reformulated products.

  • InkedMarie

    Unless I’m wrong, this review is for their dry food, you’re speaking of canned.

  • Betsy Greer

    I don’t know what the texture is like of the Innova Prime Lower Fat canned food, but that might also be a low fat choice that isn’t currently listed in the “Suggested Low Fat Foods.” It looks as though the GA has the fat between 4% and 6%.

    http://www.innovapet.com/products/811

  • This was updated in May. The Weight Management food is lower in protein (24%) so it received a lower score than the rest. I’m sure there are many changes since merging and will probably be more to come. As far as low fat stew foods go, take a look at Weruva Human Style. There’s a couple other canned foods listed in the “suggested low fat foods” article as well but I’ve only used Weruva and Addiction is not a stew. It is pate.

  • Michelle

    I noticed that Petsmart near me is only selling the Natural Ultramix “indulgent” canned food now and not the original N.U. Chicken and Rice. When I heard that there were chicken bones inside, I was totally grossed out. My dog doesn’t need anything “indulgent” so I don’t know why Merrick is changing the original product. I had a feeling that when Merrick acquired C&P that there would be changes and that they would not be for the good.

  • Michelle

    I feel that this food needs to be reviewed again. It appears that both the Natural Ultramix Chicken and Rice and the Organix Weight Management ingredients have been changed. The pieces look different, there is a disgusting gravy that rises to the top of the can that you see when you open it, and very few veggies. I drain this gravy off by putting the food in a colander. Yuck. But one of my dogs is extremely finicky and only likes stew style food. When Merrick bought C&P I was very concerned that this would mean changes for the bad. My other dog is on C&P weight management dry and it looks like the second ingredient is “poultry meal” now, which I do not think was in the original ingredients when this was being made in Oregon pre-Merrick acquisition. Also, does anyone know why the Weight Management was given 3.5 stars? My dog needs to be on a low fat food because he had pancreatitis last year and was on a weight loss routine (he has lost weight while on this food). Does anyone know of a very high quality stew style food that they could recommend? Thanks.

  • Caitlan Ishmael

    It seems ridiculous that you would switch from Castor & Pollux because their recipes changed. Most people seem so confused about dog food that they will believe anything dog-food companies will tell them. What possible benefit could come from feeding your dog the exact same processed foods every day of th eir lives? Nothing. Even higher-quality, organic processed foods should be supplemented with whole-food based vitamins, minerals, and (oh no!) REAL foods. Don’t be afraid of changing recipes; embrace them. C&P is doing well by using fresh, seasonal ingredients and changing their recipes to reflect that. Kudos to them.

  • LabsRawesome

    First of all, I would return the old food. Here is a list of best grain free dry foods. Or better yet, check out the best canned foods page. http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/best-dog-foods/best-grain-free-dog-foods/best-grain-free-dog-foods-dry/

  • Christine

    My 4yr 3lb yorkie just got out of the ER for deathly high levels of sodium in her blood. She just finished her first small bag of pollox c&r and threw up over 15 times in one day. It was always a brown/chocolate milk like substance and she couldn’t keep liquids down. It took 2 days of IV fluids to get her to a safe level. I thought it was food poisoning but now I’m starting to think it was the food. Anyone recommend other organic food (corn free) for my yorkie? And has anyone experienced this?? I’m really concern. ALSO. I purchased another bag before she got sick (about a week ago) and this one was totally different from the first. The kibbles were flat and granny instead of rounds (like a smartie candy)

  • Pattyvaughn

    Merrick

  • Cyndi

    LOVE her!! She is adorable!! I have a soft spot in my heart for pitties! (& dobermans)

  • InkedMarie

    I think you’re confused. Merck isa drug company, I believe. I don’t think they make food.

  • 4 dogs here

    My smallest dog (a 40 lb bull dog shitzu) refused to eat the new chicken cans as well. We switched her to the beef and she LOVES it.

  • 4 dogs here

    Merck did buy castor and pollux. I called the company after the canned food started looking different. They have NOT changed the recipe but have changed processing plants. So the food looks different but according to c&p the recipe is exactly the same.

  • C&P Organix ugh!!!

    ‘d bought you dry food in the last year and most recently the above named chicken can food. I was completely shocked to find a fully intact 4 x 1″ chicken bone.

    I’ve always read ingredients but I am a bit taken back to now read the whole back label to find a note from the chef about bones and processing. This one was not and I believe the “bones” should be listed in the ingredients not as an “oh by the way”.

  • Kay

    I have been purchasing the large bags of C&P Organix on a monthly basis for over a year and have found the quality to be very inconsistent. All of the bags were purchased at my local Petsmart which has a turnover of C&P food since it is often sold out. Some of the purchased bags have food of nice uniform shape, color, decent smell, and I guess flavor since the dogs gobble it up. Other bags however are completely different, tiny pieces so small my husky had a difficult time eating them, dark color and an off putting odor. It is these bags that have given my dogs foul gas and loose smelly stool. I’ve made several returns of these bags and have lucked out to get a good one in exchange . I purchased one two weeks ago that was off and was unable to get another one of a different lot number. I kept it and regret it, even when mixed with a little ground beef, my dogs refused to eat it. I thought I was doing the best for my seniors by giving them a high quality organic food less likely to be recalled due contaminants, however after a year of hit and miss, I’m looking to switch to another brand.

  • blue made my dog very sick so be aware.

  • Randomly read the comments before I went to buy more food for my Cocker Spaniel and saw that the recipe changed. Sure enough, I went to PetSmart yesterday and all the canned food is different. The dry adult dog food looked the same but they didn’t have the dry weight management formula that I was planning to switch to because my dog is starting to get a little fat as she’s aging. A saleswoman for Blue happened to be there and I was in such a rush to get the food, feed my dog and get to work on time that I didn’t have time to compare brands or research. So I grabbed some of the Healthy Weight Life Protection Formula by Blue and a few cans of the “stew”style wet food. I was worried that my pup would get an upset stomach because of the abrupt switch but this is day 2 on Blue and her stools are firm and she seems to be perfectly happy. I am very disappointed that Castor & Pollux changed their recipes out of nowhere. I was very happy with the products and used it for 4 1/2 years. But since they switched on me, I’m switching to another brand. I bought a small bag of the Blue just to give it a try but if anyone else has any recommendations for high quality wet and dry dog food for weight management I’m all ears!

  • Hound Dog Mom

    She’s a cutie!

  • George

    Lot of negative comments on here so just felt i should leave some positive about c&p puppy food. First time I’ve ever left any comments for a review btw. I have a 4 1/2 month blue pit bull that I have had on c&p puppy since I got her at 2 months. She absolutely loves it and have seen no negative signs from this food. I also give her a half a can a day of c&p Can food which she loves. So from me they both get two thumbs up.
    George

  • Pattyvaughn

    Does your bag have poultry meal and poultry fat listed in the ingredients? Those were definite changes.

  • If your dog has been eating the same food day after day for years, it should come as no surprise when a simple ingredient changes creates gastrointestinal chaos for him.

    It’s my understanding that there were some ingredient changes after Merrick acquired Castor & Pollux.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Oh, I absolutely believe that something has changed, just not that they are admitting it. It could be the same ingredients, but of different quality, or a different vit/min premix, or any number of things. And it really doesn’t even necessarily mean that the quality has gone down, only that your dog is absolutely not used to it. That is one of the dangers of feeding the same food long term, your dog is not able to handle any changes. Now is a great time for you to start feeding your dog a rotational diet. Instead of picking just one new food, try picking a few and rotating through them. You’ll have to do slow transitions at first, but you will quickly find that your dog’s gut will become healthier and he won’t get intestinal upsets over every little thing any more. For now try giving him a tablespoon of pure pumpkin with every meal and a digestive supplement that has probiotics and enzymes in it as well.

  • Allie

    Yes it only talks about a new variety but my dog is very ill after eating C&P Organix confirmed by Merrick that it was made in the Merrick plant. Previously my GSD had been eating Organix for years

  • Pattyvaughn

    As best as I can tell, it is talking about new varieties, not changes in the old ones. Did I read the wrong thing?
    “In addition to crafting a new Organix dry dog food recipe for large breeds, Castor & Pollux has created five new Butcher & Bushel Grain-Free canned food for dogs recipes. The canned varieties are made with meats such as chicken wings and thighs, chopped turkey and chicken liver; and nutritious vegetables and fruits including sweet potatoes, garden peas, white potatoes and apples.”

  • Pattyvaughn

    Where do you get your ideas? Merrick, Diamond, and Natura aren’t any of them related to the other. Other people are reporting problems with C&P though.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Merrick has no affiliation with Diamond or Natural.

  • Same with our service dog Golden, Harmony. She is very ill. Get your dog on a different food. Organix is no longer a good dog food. Here is an article about recent changes (3/11/2013) to the recipe. http://www.castorpolluxpet.com/news-and-community/press/castor-pollux-adds-organix-and-natural-ultramix-food-pets-lines-24-new

  • Read this – specifically paragraph five about changes to the recipe, this is dated March 11, 2013!
    : http://www.castorpolluxpet.com/news-and-community/press/castor-pollux-adds-organix-and-natural-ultramix-food-pets-lines-24-new

  • They have changed ingredients in the foods without ANY packaging or label changes to let us know. Boycott this crappy food right now. It is not what we have been feeding for the past years. It is different.

  • Please not that Castor and Pollux has CHANGED their recipe as of March 31st and this review is no longer accurate. My dog has been sick (as a dog!) on this food, where previouysly she was fine. Castor and Pollux has been taken over by Merrick, maker of Diamond and Natura, the subject of many recalls. Please AVOID this food!!!

  • Take a look at what’s become one of my favorite kibbles, Nature’s Logic. Their kibbled, canned and raw diets are made with whole food ingredients and have no synthetic vitamins or minerals added; and have no ingredients from China. Nature’s Logic is GMO free. Meat meal ingredients contained in Nature’s Logic contains muscle meat only. http://www.petsumerreport.com/…. I feel good about feeding it to my dogs and they both love it. Nature’s Logic also happens to be made in the USA by trusted manufacturers as well. I confidently recommend it.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Organix is a good food, worth a try if you want to feed Organic. There are other organic foods out there too: Natural Balance has an organic variety, Karma, Newman’s Own Organics, Natural Planet Organics, By Natural has an organic food, Party Animal, I believe PetGuard and Wenaewe have organic offerings as well. Just be aware that just because a food labels itself as organic, all the ingredients aren’t necessary organic. Most organic foods use a fresh organic meat as the first ingredient followed by a non-organic meat meal – the fresh meat is 80% moisture so after processing the non-organic meat meal will be the main source of protein. Personally, I think organic kibbles are a waste of money. Most are too low in protein and they generally contain grains (lots of grains). I know different people have different criteria for rating food, but for me species-appropriateness (high protein, grain-free) would take precedence over organic vs. non-organic. If GMOs are a big concern, I think the best option would be to buy organic ingredients and make homemade food.

  • G

    I have a 3 year old male apt and a 1 1/2 year old blue nose female. The male has been fed blue buffalo lamb puppy food, then natures balance large breed puppy, and the female has eaten blue buffalo lamb her entire life. I was going to make the switch over to c&p but after reading I’m not so sure… I’m a college student so cost is a concern but not when it comes to feeding them the best gmo free food.. What would you guys suggest I try?

  • My dog Ralph got very sick after eating the Castor and Pollux Peanut Butter Flavored Wheat Free Mix. Initially, I didn’t know what made the dog so sick, and even after a $500 vet workup they couldn’t say, but a week later, when he recovered I reintroduced that treat and the puking began immediately. I
    contacted the company, surprisingly their vet found nothing wrong with their treat and I was stuck with the bill. I will never purchase any Castor and Pollux treat again and will tell anyone who will listen the same, starting with the dog park crowd.

  • Allie

    Merrick insists there was no ingredient change.

  • Hi Allie,

    Was there possibly an ingredient change? If your dogs had been eating the same food every day for years, a slight change would probably send their digestive systems into turmoil. If for no other reason, it’s a good idea to rotate foods to avoid digestive chaos over the smallest changes.

  • Allie

    I have been feeing Organix for 4 years; starting in March both of my dogs had diarrhea when Merrick started production; I called Merrick to confirm the bags were made by Merrick; tried again, same result; have now spent hundreds of dollars and my GSD is still not normal.

  • Shelley919

    I feel a lot better reading this! My greyhound LOVED C&P Organix for almost a year. She would run to her food bowl at meal time. Now, she won’t even go to the bowl unless I mix something in, like pumpkin. This is very disappointing. $60 wasted on a bag of food. I emailed them this morning with questions, so we will see. Now off to find a new food again. Bummer 🙁

  • Shelley919

    I’m wondering if that’s why our greyhound is now turning her nose up at her food bowl. She used to run when it was time to eat her Castor & Pollux Chicken and Brown Rice…. Did they change something? I just bought the bag last week.

  • Brinny

    Thanks. My mom can’t afford that one, but I got a sample of Victor’s Grain Free Salmon food, and her dog loved it and it is small enough for her.