Zignature Dog Food (Dry)

Share

Rating: ★★★★☆

Zignature Dog Food receives the Advisor’s second-highest tier rating of 4 stars.

The Zignature product line includes four dry dog foods, each claimed to meet AAFCO nutrient profiles for all life stages.

The following is a list of recipes available at the time of this review.

  • Zignature Duck Formula
  • Zignature Lamb Formula
  • Zignature Turkey Formula
  • Zignature Trout and Salmon Meal Formula

Zignature Turkey Formula was selected to represent the other products in the line for this review.

Zignature Turkey Formula

Dry Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 34% | Fat = 20% | Carbs = 38%

Ingredients: Turkey, turkey meal, peas, pea flour, chickpeas, sunflower oil (preserved with citric acid), pea protein, flaxseed, natural flavors, dried beet pulp potassium chloride, calcium chloride, salt, choline chloride, minerals (zinc proteinate, iron proteinate, copper proteinate, manganese proteinate, cobalt proteinate), vitamins (vitamin A acetate, vitamin D3 supplement, vitamin E supplement, niacin, d-calcium pantothenate, thiamine mononitrate, pyridoxine hydrochloride, riboflavin supplement, folic acid, biotin, vitamin B12 supplement), blueberries, carrots, cranberries, calcium iodate, sodium selenite, preserved with mixed tocopherols

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 7.2%

Red items when present indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis31%18%NA
Dry Matter Basis34%20%38%
Calorie Weighted Basis29%40%31%

The first ingredient in this dog food is turkey. Although it is a quality item, raw turkey contains about 80% water. After cooking, most of that moisture is lost, reducing the meat content to just a fraction of its original weight.

After processing, this item would probably account for a smaller part of the total content of the finished product.

The second ingredient is turkey meal. Turkey meal is considered a meat concentrate and contains nearly 300% more protein than fresh turkey.

The third ingredient includes peas. Peas are a quality source of carbohydrates. Plus (like all legumes) they’re rich in natural fiber.

However, peas contain about 25% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

The fourth ingredient is pea flour, a powder made from roasted yellow peas. Pea flour makes a slightly healthier substitute for wheat and can support more stable blood sugar levels.

The fifth ingredient is chickpeas, also known as garbanzo beans. Like peas, beans and lentils, the chickpea is a nutritious member of the fiber-rich legume (or pulse) family of vegetables.

Even though chickpeas contain about 22% protein, this ingredient would be expected to have a lower biological value than meat.

And less costly plant-based products like this can notably boost the total protein reported on the label — a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

The sixth ingredient is sunflower oil. Sunflower oil is nutritionally similar to safflower oil. Since these oils are high in omega-6 fatty acids and contain no omega-3’s, they’re considered less nutritious than canola or flaxseed oils.

Sunflower oil is notable for its resistance to heat damage during cooking.

There are several different types of sunflower oil, some better than others. Without knowing more, it’s impossible to judge the quality of this ingredient.

The seventh ingredient is pea protein, what remains of a pea after removing the starchy part of the vegetable.

Even though it contains over 80% protein, this ingredient would be expected to have a lower biological value.

The eighth ingredient is flaxseed, one of the best plant sources of healthy omega-3 fatty acids. Provided they’ve first been ground into a meal, flax seeds are also rich in soluble fiber.

However, flaxseed contains about 19% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With three notable exceptions

First, beet pulp is a controversial ingredient, a high fiber by-product of sugar beet processing.

Some denounce beet pulp as an inexpensive filler while others cite its outstanding intestinal health and blood sugar benefits.

We only call your attention here to the controversy and believe the inclusion of beet pulp in reasonable amounts in most dog foods is entirely acceptable.

Next, we find no mention of probiotics, friendly bacteria applied to the surface of the kibble after processing to help with digestion.

And lastly, this food also contains chelated minerals, minerals that have been chemically attached to protein. This makes them easier to absorb. Chelated minerals are usually found in better dog foods.

Zignature Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Judging by its ingredients alone, Zignature appears to be an above-average dry dog food.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 34%, a fat level of 20% and estimated carbohydrates of about 38%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 32% and a mean fat level of 18%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 42% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 55%.

Above-average protein. Above-average fat. And below-average carbs when compared to a typical dry dog food.

When you consider the protein-boosting effects of the peas, chickpeas, pea protein and flaxseed, this looks like the profile of a kibble containing a moderate amount of meat.

Bottom line?

Zignature Dog Food is a plant-based kibble using a moderate amount of poultry, lamb or salmon meals as its main sources of animal protein, thus earning the brand 4 stars.

Highly recommended.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, due to the biological uniqueness of every animal, none of our ratings are intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in a specific dietary response or health benefit for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

To learn how we support the cost of operating this website, please visit our public Disclosure and Disclaimer page.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Notes and Updates

08/05/2012 Original review
02/23/2014 Last Update

  • Kaprice

    This is one of the best foods on the market, an excellent choice for dogs with allergies. A great company , LOVE Zignature

  • Kaprice

    Zignature sources the vitamins and minerals in there food from France, this is directly from the owner himself.

  • disqus_m5vQuXgf9U

    Just purchased a bag of the signatures lamp formula from dogs.com and there is no best used by date should I feed it to my dogs

  • Rana125

    I think any dog can be allergic or have an intolerance to anything. It’s the same for humans. I had a friend once who was allergic to raw mangos, but not when they were cooked. I also had a dog that had an intolerance for bananas when I was younger. He love the smell of them, his stomach just couldn’t stand them.

  • Betsy Greer

    The tricky part is that so often, the company is so reluctant to tell you that their product isn’t China free, that they end up giving circumlocutory answers.

    For example, they might say that they don’t source any ingredients from China, but if they use a co-packer, that doesn’t mean their co-packer doesn’t source any ingredients from China. Most synthetic vitamin / mineral pre-mixes are sourced from China.

    Sadly, it gives the distinct appearance of deception when you what smacks of a vague answer.

  • Rana125

    I did e-mail them about a month ago asking if they sourced any of their ingredients from China. I got an e-mail a month later from a lady by the name of Vanessa Hereford and she told me that Zignature does not use any ingredients from China. It’s hard for me to verify the honesty of that e-mail (I question everything I read if I can’t verify the fact), but it’s the best thing I have right now.

    After having them on Nature’s Recipe for a while (my pay got better so I could give them the four star foods now. Hopefully, it will be five one day) and seeing a considerable improvement, especially in their energy levels, I am impressed with the food (I have three dogs, and I am having a hard time keeping with their energy level, which is a good thing). I rotate with Fromm Four Star Nutritionals when my local pet boutique gets a shipment (Fromm goes fast, so it’s more of a treat, and is also another food I love).

    I did get an office phone number in the e-mail and if you would like, I could give you the phone number so you could call and see if they would answer your question. I don’t know if it’s Vanessa’s phone number however.

  • Ruth Kaempf

    Thank you for the info. I came to this site to see if I could find out where the ingredients in Zig come from because my pet store person didn’t know and there is extremely little info on the Zig website. So far my Doxies are fine with the various flavors, I change their diet about once a month without any problems whatsoever. We just finished a bag of the Duck variety.

  • PetFoodie

    Zignature is made, largely if not entirely, by NutriSource, a family-owned company that has never had a recall. Their protein is all American save for the lamb which, like all brands, is sourced from New Zealand.

  • http://about.me/kaytea.thompson Kaytea

    My 6 year old Corgi had had for digestive issues forever UNTIL I found this food. She had “sour stomach”, soft stool-diarrhea, and weight management issues, AND she was a picky “bored” eater (which I actually think stemmed from her “knowing” that her food is what made her feel icky). Her previous owners had her on *shudder* Kibbles and Bits for the first 1.5 of her life. We tried everything from Blue Buffalo to California Naturals (which is actually a great brand too).
    I know it sounds funny, but I took Wiley to a vet who also practiced eastern medicine–she said she was running too hot and that she should have foods with cold water fish, and NO corn or potato starches…she recommended we try Zignature’s Salmon and Whitefish dry food. WILEY LOVES IT, has NO DIGESTIVE ISSUES and is at a constant, stable and healthy weight and energy level. She is one happy healthy dog, and I attribute it all to this food. Does poop a lot, but its good healthy poop! :) I also feed about half the recommended amount based on her activity level and breed and the vet always says he’s never seen a Corgi so trim and fit. THANK YOU ZIGNATURE!!

  • theBCnut

    That’s probably because this food has twice the fiber of most high end foods.

  • Victoria Antonyuk

    I work at a pet boutique, so we sell it for sensitive dogs but I rarely recommend it. Most common complaint: a lot of gas, loose stool and pooping 3-4 times a day which makes sense.

  • theBCnut

    They would probably be a 5 star food if it wasn’t for the pea protein boosters. They definitely don’t want people to even think that they are getting less animal protein from this food, so they really hate it when questions like your’s come up. I have to imagine that they will ignore that question wherever it comes from.

  • Victoria Antonyuk

    has anyone tried asking how much protein comes from meat vs peas? I emailed twice, posted on fecebook and they ignored each ones.

  • colorcrazed

    We have a 3 year old dogie that has tried nine different foods- all seemed fine for the first bag…and by the second bag she would get white patches on her skin and loose stool, runny eyes… Then her vet put her on a prescription food because of her loose stools- but it dried her skin out even more. We came upon Zignature duck formula, and decided to give it a try (since our feed store said they would refund us the cost if she had any problems) 8 months later, she has never been better. This food is high in fiber, which she need, so yes- she drinks a lot, pees a lot and passes a lot of stool- I am fine with that because it is normal! I will say she cannot tolerate the salmon or the turkey blends- but duck has been fabulous! We were told it was the easiest for digestion.

  • Tony L

    Hi Guys, am amazed at the amount of feedback this brand generated!
    I noticed the increased stool that my dogs have after starting on Zignature’s trout and salmon meal.
    Did anyone also noticed their dogs starting to drink more water than usual? Ever since they started on this new food, they have been drinking more water and pooping and peeing more than before… Was wondering if the additional drinking is such a good thing….

  • Crazy4cats

    It does look like a good food. Congrats and thanks for the review!

  • ANNA SMITH

    I have a four year old black Labrador and she was shedding so much I didn’t want a lab anymore. It was totally out of control. That was when I was feeding her Royal Canine for Labradors. My husband happened to be away and I thought – let me try something new. So, I came upon this brand Zignature. Her coat was silkier. No more shedding all over the house anymore and it looked like she lost weight too! She still weighs the same but is much happier and healthier. I love to pet her now….no more furry hands for me or furry feet going into the shower! I recommend it to everyone I know..even people I don’t know.

  • Beths Daily

    I lost my 3 yr old dog several years ago when the dog food was “tainted” nation wide (about 5 to 6 yrs ago). I was buying his food from walmart but I was always sure to buy the “good stuff…… NOT! any ways after that I educated myself within reason about dog foods. The Fiber IS good for them! Dogs system is made to eat & poop – almost right away. I am posting this as a lot of people are saying they think this food has too much fiber in it. I am sure there are cases where it is too much fiber for certain dogs. I love this food so much that when we got our 2ed dog and she had very runny poohs I added a teaspoon of pumpkin (NOT the pie stuff) to her food daily. You buy a small can and keep it in the frig (I put it in a plastic bowl with a lid). You’ll know if it goes bad ;) Mine lasted about 1 week to 10 days. She is now 1 yr old and still has soft poohs, but no more need of pumpkin. Keep the pumpkin is mind if your dogs get the poohs for other reasons too. My 2 yr old does not like the Trout, had to all but force him to eat it (I bought a HUGE bag), I buy the Lamb which they both love & then there is mix of all the flavors. I buy a small bag of that & use it for their treats. They LOVE the mix, so I keep it for training treats :)

  • Freeholdhound

    Just ordered a small bag of the Lamb Formula to try out as an addition into the rotation. I’ve tried NV Lamb LID in the past but my dog wouldn’t even smell it let alone eat it. Hoping this works out better.

  • Susan

    Hi Casey-Last summer one of my dogs was diagnosed with a topic dermatitis. Vet gave him a pill and fish oil to take. My dog hated both, but I got him to take the fish oil for about three months and no improvement. I switched his food and gave him a bath in shampoo with tea tree oil and in 2weeks or so he was well. I honestly think the problem was the tomato in the previous dog food. Good luck!

  • Casey

    Quick Questions… Do any of you have dogs with Atopic Dermatitis? And what has been recommended for your pooch? I have a 20 lb Frenchie who is almost 2 years old. A year ago she started showing signs of AD. I am not giving in and taking her to the vet, just to be put on Steroids. It has been manageable with baths and otc treatments, but I was told by my local pet shop owner (he’s very knowledgeable and does a lot of research before recommending) that this food is good for dogs with this type of problem. I have been feeding her Zignature for about a week and a half. I was told to give it about 3-4 weeks before I may see results. I just didn’t know if anyone had any other suggestions as well.

  • Marina

    My 3 large dogs do great on this kibble. Their yeast issues which led to skin issues are gone! I know the poop is more but fiber IS good for them and it keeps me from having anal glands expressed. My ONLY concern is the manufacturer who is Pets Global has little or no information on them. I do not want ANY kibble sourced from Diamond or China. Zignature needs to ensure customers of the source of the kibble a ingredients in writing so the consumer feels comfortable about what we are feeding our fur babies. Also what’s up with the AAFCO nutritional ingredients being unknown?? Please Zignature can you elaborate on these concerns??

  • KJ Always

    Is extra Fiber good for hyperactive dogs who loves to run and runs really fast???

  • KJ Always

    You have my empathy. My dog have tried about a dozen food. He liked cheapy Rachel’s food I purchased out of desperation. He stop tolerating that too. I opened up a sample I got from a pet store and discovered he really likes Zignature!! Whew!

  • KJ Always

    My dog barely eats his food, except when he is very hungry. I gave him a sample of Zignature, he ate it like it was people food! I am curious what is in there also!

    His mother is a Chihuahua/ Terrior mix, but he look like his father was a Malinois!! Shopping for him has always been a struggle and the most difficult tasks. As an adult, he has grown to be even more picky. After tasting Zignature, he won’t touch food that he liked a little bit anymore!!!

  • Pattyvaughn

    I totally agree! That would be wonderful. Unfortunately, as you know, there are very few companies that are willing to do this and our laws don’t really protect the consumer. I like your avatar, BTW.

  • USA Jerky Treats

    It would be great if country of origin were listed by the MANUFACTURER for all the ingredients in their dog foods. I for one think that a consumer has the right to know more about the foods they feed their four legged family members.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Bob is right. It can change batch to batch and there can be multiple suppliers of the same ingredient within a batch.

  • Bob K

    Cherie – there is nothing special about foods that originate in the US. There are over 3000 humans that die yearly in the US from bad food. Imagine how many people just claim the stomach flu or upset stomach and may not even see a Dr. or Clinic and never seek medical treatment. Many dog food mfgs. have multiple sources for ingredients depending on costs and availability. Today the corn might be from California and next summer Iowa. Many ingredients are repackaged and relabeled.

  • Bob K

    Cherie – Any plant can have issues. Some of the large dog food mfgs have multiple plants and ship products around the country depending on production runs. Diamond has several plants.

  • Karma_Grant

    If you look around you’ll find this subject already mentioned. There are too many ingredients/brands for the reviewer to go through. It’d be impossible.

  • Cherie DeMichele Manzano

    One more very important issue that should be addressed in a review is if ANY ingredients in a pet food are originated OR processed in any other country and which country. Thank you.

  • Cherie DeMichele Manzano

    I would like to suggest that the dog food review please start listing the manufacturing plant that cans or packages each brand. We want to know if something is being made in a dangerous plant such as Evanger’s or Diamond. Thank you.

  • Betsy Greer

    I use some foods in my rotation th s t contain peas, but we cannot use chickpeas at all. One dog gets gassy and has very soft stool and the other strains to poop.

  • Guest

    My dogs are not allergic to peas but it gives my chocolate lab very runny stools. Not sure if that equates allergy or intolerance but too much pea fiber, pea meal and peas just don’t work for us.

  • bill

    dogs can be allergic to peas! its rare but def possible

  • Christine

    None of my three dogs liked Zssential formula. But
    they’ve been on the trout/fish formula for about 6 months and they all love it!

  • Lenora

    I don’t see any review on the Zssential formula. Any feedback please?

  • Cheryl C.

    It’s amazing. My ridiculously fussy teacup poodle which we’ve not been able to entice even with human food gulps Zignature like nobody’s business. My new 5 month old poodle puppy also can’t seem to have enough of it. Both are doing very well on the lamb formula. I’m just wondering what’s in there which attracts them so much. I mean it’s really rare for poodles to like kibbles!

  • Pattyvaughn

    Yes! This.

  • guest

    Meadow Feast does not contain fish. And yes they can have a pea or fish allergy.
    You are correct in your assumptions, if you feed the Meadow Feast and the dobie doesn’t have a reaction you will know that he/she doesn’t have a pea allergy.

  • Pattyvaughn

    My head is spinning!! No, I don’t think that Meadow Feast has fish in it. I was just thinking that if you aren’t sure that the dog(I didn’t know we were talking about 2 different dogs) is allergic to fish and/or peas that if you fed a food that was fish free, but still had peas in it the dog could still be reacting and you wouldn’t know whether or not you had figured out 1 allergy. But if it is one dog sensitive to one thing and the other dog sensitive to the other, then it should work. Is your head spinning now? My work is done.

  • mfulton7

    Does the meadowfeast contain fish? I was thinking that it didn’t. I hadn’t checked the NV instinct turkey though. I’m pretty sure my poodle mix isn’t allergic to fish Im suspecting its the dobie.

  • Pattyvaughn

    I don’t know if I said that or not, but turkey helped mine until I was able to do more to get his gut healthy. If the same dog has the possible fish allergy and pea allergy, then I don’t know what you’ll be able to tell. If it is a fish allergy, but not a pea allergy, then it would help, but if it is both then not so much. But if you still aren’t sure then all you can do is try and see what happens.

  • mfulton7

    Yes they are. We had a rough time figuring out what was going on with my poodle mix, at one point we thought she wasn’t going to make it. Her issues ended up being caused by her autoimmune disease but recently I’ve noticed she’s burping and gassy. Exactly how you just described your babies needs is right. Each one has their own needs and since we love them so much we cater to each ones. I love them all so much and it makes me sad that I cant find something that makes them comfortable. I’m just going to give up on feeding them all the same food. I’m thinking about switching the Dobie and Chi to EB meadowfeast. I know that it contains peas but I was thinking I could eliminate the possibility of a fish allergy that way. Does that seem right to you? Then I’m going to put the poodle mix back on a LID, NV Instinct. Didn’t you say turkey seems to be better for pups with sensitive tummies?

  • Pattyvaughn

    You could try adding tripe to bring down the calcium level, if you find a good food for your dog, but with calcium too high. But you might need HDMs special skills to figure out exactly how much to add.

  • Pattyvaughn

    That’s entirely up to you. I know that feeding the wrong thing, calcium wise, for a few days won’t hurt as long as it isn’t long term. Have you not found a pea free fish free food on HDMs list yet? How frustrating!!!! I would be pulling my hair out.

  • Guest

    I also just realized this particular flavor is not on HDM’s list. Should I take this back and try something else? Should I try the EB meadowfeast instead? I know it contains peas but it doesn’t have fish in it and its on the list.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Your welcome. Allergies/intolerances are kind of crazy. My dog with intolerances can’t handle chicken meat, but is just fine with chicken liver, go figure.
    And I have one dog that has very different fiber needs than the others too, actually that’s not true, all of mine have different fiber needs, just one of them can go with either of the other two. My old JRT needs more fiber added to her diet as she has gotten older. My youngest needs to be on low fiber, but consistent amounts. My middle dog does great with whatever I give him in every way. He has no special needs except cuddle time. I love that dog.

  • mfulton7

    Well that makes sense. Thank you for explaining that to me :)

  • Pattyvaughn

    Peas are 25% protein, it is very possible to have an allergy or intolerance to them, as well as salmon.
    If it turns out to be the right amount of fiber for your dog then it will firm them up. That’s why we suggest fiber in the form of pure pumpkin for diarrhea, it helps firm up loose stools and soften hard ones. Fiber works by helping to maintain the correct amount of fluid in the large intestine.

  • mfulton7

    I’ve went over the large breed list and thread dozens of times and I know that there are a lot of options but my question is about the peas. Does it seem possible for her to have an intolerance to peas and salmon? Then I noticed Zig is high in fiber. If my dog is already having loose stools off and on wont this make it worse?

  • InkedMarie

    For your dobie, I’d feed a food that is on HDM’s list that I’m sure you’ve seen. For the little mix, feed that dog whatever he does well on.

  • mfulton7

    My dogs were on the trout and salmon flavor for a few months. My shihtzu poodle mix that has Pemphigus did great on this as well as my Chi. Then we brought home a Dobie. Put her on the same food for a few weeks and noticed that her stools never firmed up. Decided to switch to EB Coastal Catch, 5 weeks later the dobie (15wks old) is itchy, having loose stools off and on and has bad gas. The shihpoo has bad gas also. I went through the ingredient list of Zig and EB and noticed they both contain peas and salmon meal. I figured the intolerance could be due to one of these ingredients. I checked the large breed dog food list several times and decided to try a pea and salmon free food, which was Fromm Chicken Al La Veg. I go to the store to purchase it and the lady working there told me that there was no way my dog could be having issues with peas she said more than likely it is the fish. She recommended a L.I.D. NV was her first choice but I told her that I needed something a little cheaper and she then suggested I buy the Zig Turkey flavor. She said the calcium to phosphorus ratio was fine for a large breed dog. So I bought it. The dogs seemed to like it. But now after researching it some more I’m concerned its not appropriate for my dobie and the fiber content seems high. Could my dog have a pea or salmon intolerance or could it be something else? Should I continue to feed this food to them with their history? Thanks!

  • Jessica

    I gave both the Turkey and Lamb to my 6 month old puppy, Millie. She experienced diarrhea which was light brown in color and smelled horrendous. I originally thought that it might just be the poultry since our other dogs have an issue with poultry as well. Hence, trying the Lamb. Now that I’ve learned from all of you that they put in more fiber, I can see why she has been pooping a lot. My poor puppy is getting to much fiber! I would not recommend this product to any inside dog! BE CAREFUL!

  • GretaN

    My dog tried the duck version today – she was less-than-thrilled with it. Back to the drawing board for us!

  • Pattyvaughn

    I recently had a similar situation. I have a dog with food intolerance issues and only give him new foods one at a time so I can see how he does on them. I was switching him to Nature’s Variety Instinct Rabbit(which I have used before, but only for a couple days), and on the third day, his left ear suddenly started showing signs of a yeast infection. I immediately switched him back to a food that I know he does great on, and started examining the ingredients. Through trial and error, I had already found that he couldn’t handle most grains and chicken, but I soon discovered that since I started figuring out his issues, I hadn’t given him any foods with tomato in them. This one has tomato pomace. My other 2 dogs are doing great on it, but it is another one crossed off Micah’s list

  • Lita

    Well update, tried the Zignature Trout & Salmon. I am in the process of switching them over, they are at 1/2 cup Zignature 1/2 cup Earthborn. My berner’s ears are gunky and disgusting. I’m not even finishing the bag, going to Taste of the Wild Salmon. I know they are fine with that. This food was a disappointment. :(

  • K&K

    We tried to switch our Westies to the trout & salmon Zignature. We gradually transitioned them. Once they were solely on the Zignature they both ended up with horrendous foul smelling gas and diarrhea. There breath was also unpleasant. We are very disappointed!!

  • Lita

    Has anyone had any problems with this food having no probiotics? I am looking to switch over from earthborn coastal catch to the trout and salmon formula.

  • dodgsamarx

    I tried the Trout formula with my lab, she is very sensitive to just about everything, and she threw it up. I tried the lamb formula and she loves it! Been using it now for about 2 months without problems.

  • mary

    My bull terrier loves it. No problem here…

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    There is – Nutrisca. And LiveFree has beets, not beet pulp. For more choices, try looking at canned food, dehydrated food or freeze dried food.

  • ed

    any grain free with beet pulp . . forget it!!

  • Brinny

    Their price is still pretty high (without the discount)… I can get it at a local store for $54. :(

  • Betsy Greer

    Just in case anyone missed my post earlier today that might be interested.

    Got an email this morning from k9cuisine.com with a promo code for Zignature. ZIG20 will net you a 20% discount. Zignature is “based on the science of gylcemic index.” It’s manufactured by Pets Global ~ that’s actually the first I’ve heard of them [Pets Global].

  • Betsy Greer

    Hi guys,

    Got an email this morning from k9cuisine.com with a promo code for Zignature. ZIG20 will net you a 20% discount. Zignature is “based on the science of gylcemic index.” It’s manufactured by Pets Global ~ that’s actually the first I’ve heard of them.

  • somebodysme

    I’ve heard others complain of this too. This was not an issue for my dog though.

  • Pattyvaughn

    I agree fiber is wonderful, but too much is too much.

  • KaKa

    I use to feed this but it has way to much fiber for my dogs. They were poo way to much and were loosing weight. They really need to cut the fiber in this food.

  • Betsy Greer

    Unfortunately, all the foods that are using chickpeas & lentils are deal-breakers for one of my crew.

    All of that “wonderful” fiber gives him horrible gas. Even with added Mercola digestive enzymes and probiotics, he’s still miserable.

  • henry

    They poo more often because we developed Zignature with a above average of 6.5% fiber. This is to help naturally express the anal glands. Please do some research on fiber and see what wonders it can do for your dogs.

  • mfulton7

    My shihtzu poodle mix and my chi were doing great on this food. I noticed that they poo more than they did before probably 3 times a day. We recently brought a Doberman puppy to live with us and started her on this food well she poos at minimum 6 times a day. Ive been researching different foods and am overwhelmed. Someone recommended From to us but that is a little out of my price range. At the store we went to it was $72.99. Any suggestions on what food to try next? I will not feed them any diamond dog food either.

  • doglover

    I might try the Trout and Salmon with my Lab. She is itching lately and I am not sure why. No fleas. She is on a chicken/turkey formula right now. I have never had problems with chicken in the past so I am wondering if it is the turkey? Anyway a feed store near me has Zignature and I thought maybe I would try a bag.

  • Betsy Greer

    Hi Novo,

    What are your dog’s known allergens? Maybe we can help you find a food that doesn’t contain any of his problem ingredients.

  • Novo

    I bought the fish formula for my allergy laden dog(shepherd mix) hoping the removal of potato from his diet would help. Unfortunately he threw up for 2 days after eating this food. switched him off when the vomiting started putting him on a bland diet for a few days. I started him on Nutrisca and he hasn’t vomited anymore but is still super itchy. I am running out of options.

  • Vicky

    Absolutely! Zignature to the rescue! !
    My dog was tested for environmental allergies due to her constant itching and bad skin rashes. Find out she’s allergic to grass, mites and wool (should not eat lamb) among other things. We refused to put her on allergy shots. We notice she got awful rashes after eating chicken. She also suffers from yeast overload and has got mange twice. Got rid of the mange with Vet meds and baths of lyme dyp. at the Vet’s office. We have put her on all kinds of food. The Vet suggested to put her on the lowest possible dosage of steroids (Medrol) and Ketoconazole (antifungal). It’s been about 8 months. She was better at the beginning, but has not help her completely with her allergy and skin reactions. She start having some side effects from the medication. We’ve finally gradually taken her off the meds. A neighbor, who’s dog also suffers from allergies, told me about Zignature food. Immediately switched my dog to Zignature Trout and Salmon and in about a month her condition improved greatly. She’s barely itches now and has had minor rashes from time to time. Got rid of the irritated ears and goopy eyes. We no longer bathe her with oatmeal soap. Instead we use Malaseb shampoo (careful with doggy’s eyes, and ears, -Malaseb burns-) twice a week and daily rinse her off completely with water after each walk; dry her off with a clean and cotton only towel every time. We try to avoid synthetics at home; use cotton only and no perfumes or softeners on towels for her.

  • InkedMarie

    I have a friend with a frenchie who wasa mess, especially his paws. He finally did great on Annamaet Aqualuk. Paws cleared up

  • InkedMarie

    I’ll feed the NV lid again, just not as much as other foods.

  • Storm’s Mom

    Yep, and yep ;-) NL has a lamb formula you might wanna try. Just basically lamb and millet, a bit of beef (fat and liver), a teensy bit of sardine meal, and then a bit of other all good stuff :-)

  • somebodysme

    So you like Nature’s Logic Storm’s Mom? I think we talked about that already didn’t we :))

  • Pattyvaughn

    It’s still great!! I just strongly believe in rotating foods. Brother’s is still my number one go to food. Every other bag for Micah is Brothers so I know that if there was something in the last food, he will have a chance to flush it out, then I try the next food on our rotation. And I can’t wait to try the new formula that is coming out.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Sometimes when you see those quick flare ups that just go away, they are some of the bad stuff working it’s way out of your dog’s system. My dog would all of a sudden go pink and hot for just an hour of 2, then the next day his coat would be greasy with the yuck he flushed out of his pores. It would make him itchy, so I’d give him a bath and he would be fine for a couple more weeks. Then it would be his ears waxing up or something else.

  • Storm’s Mom

    Nature’s Logic

  • somebodysme

    Thanks Patty! We are all trying to find that perfect food for our allergy dogs aren’t we. You switched off Brothers? I’d thought of using it…so it wasn’t that great?

  • somebodysme

    Thanks not Patty…HEEHEE! That was the issue I had with the NV LID Turkey was the stool…I didn’t try pumpkin…I’d bet you she would be allergic to pumpkin…HAHAHA!

    I had a bad scare with her paws flaring up and I have no idea what happened but as quickly as the flared up, that went away. Believe me, I was panicking! The only thing it could have been, unless it was a contact allergy, was some dog probiotics from GNC.

  • InkedMarie

    I’m not Patty but my allergy dog does well on NV Instinct lid turkey tho he does need some pumpkin to help so he doesn’t have too hard stool. He also did great on Brothers Allergy and THK Zeal. He also ate Annamaet Aqualuk and did great on that. He’s a paw licker o matter what but no ear issues on these foods. He is currently having ear issues but I’m pretty sure it’s from the humidity.

  • Pattyvaughn

    I started with Brothers Complete, he can handle all of their varieties except the chicken. Then I went to the Earthborn Great Plains Feast. Then Nature’s Variety Instinct Rabbit, also the LID Turkey. Next, I’m going to try one of the Nature’s Logic formulas or one of the Timberwolf Platinum formulas, They each only have 1 or 2 that I can try. I also feed raw.

  • somebodysme

    What have you found that works for your allergy dog. Sounds like my same issues too including the yeast. In fact, I took her off the probiotic to experiment and all heck broke loose…HA! ARGH!

  • Pattyvaughn

    I’ve fed it, but not to my allergy dog. My allergy dog needed much lower carbs too, because of yeast overgrowth. As for how it is for allergies, that is going to depend entirely on what the dog is allergic to. I can’t give mine chicken, grains, or, I suspect, potatoes, though I haven’t confirmed the potatoes yet.

  • somebodysme

    Pattyvaughn, have you tried the Nutrisource grain free lamb and if so, how was it for allergies?

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Looks like Zignture has two new formulas – a duck formula and a multi-protein formula with turkey, salmon, lamb and duck called “Zssential.” Most of the Zignature foods are too low in protein (imo) but at 32% the Zssential formula doesn’t look too bad.

  • Jan_Mom2Cavs

    Hey, Betsy…I friended you on FB. :)

  • Pattyvaughn

    I noticed that, and they have a huge variation in protein levels too, and some of the have chicken as well as some other meat. So far mine have done great on the GPF, but I’m not sure if they have another variety that mine can eat.

  • somebodysme

    I bought the coastal catch variety and it was small but my dog was not able to eat that variety. It was either the fish or the potatoes…I haven’t attempted another fish or potato variety to see. Be careful with the EBH and check the label because some of their varieties have potatoes and some do not.

  • Betsy Greer

    I was thinking the same thing. : ) I believe I read a conversation you and Marie (I think, it was you & Marie) were having about that very thing ~ I decided I’d pick up a small bag while we were out today. Thanks! Hey, look for me on FB also, I tried to find you, but couldn’t. : )

  • Jan_Mom2Cavs

    Awww, that’s too bad. If you haven’t already tried it you could try Earthborn’s Meadow Feast. It doesn’t have chickpeas.

  • Betsy Greer

    Shoot! I thought it might be one for us to try, but it contains chickpeas. Darn. Sam’s digestive system doesn’t seem to process chickpeas & lentils very well.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Great Plains Feast is huge kibble, but I haven’t tried Meadow Feast.

  • Jan_Mom2Cavs

    Yes, I forgot about EB’s Meadow Feast. But, something tells me it has a bigger kibble size than Zignature? I need smaller because Laverne just won’t eat it if it’s big. I may try a bag sometime later for our rotation. I have some good coupons for it….I know a Demo Rep. LOL.

  • somebodysme

    I’m having great luck with Zignature Lamb. My dog has bad allergies and this is working great plus she loves it! I had to get a bowl that slows down eating…HAHAHA!

    I happened to notice that Earthborn Holistics has a lamb formula (Meadow Feast?) that has no potatoes. It has very similar ingredients to Zignature but it has tapioca in addition to the peas. I may try it since it’s a lot easier to find. But I don’t want to rock the boat either though really!

  • Jan_Mom2Cavs

    Request accepted! Now we can talk there, too.

  • InkedMarie

    Jan, I think I just sent you a friend request!

  • Julie

    Thx for the canned list. I now have an idea what to try next. I’m convinced there’s a dry & canned food out there that will make my dog bright eyed and bushy tailed instead of what actually happens (itchy & goopy eyed). Right?

  • Jan_Mom2Cavs

    Hi Marie….yes, I’m on FB and I’ve already “liked” them. I went on there to read about others’ experiences before I bought it. I was unsure at first about the high fiber, but then I thought, “Why not try it? My holistic vet wants me to add extra fiber to Laverne’s food anyway.” As for the other flavors, Laverne cannot have poultry it seems so we’ll just stick with the Trout and Lamb. Thanks!

  • InkedMarie

    Hey Jan, are you on fb? If yes, “like” Zignature. There are two new varieties. One is duck, the other called “Essentials”, multi protein variety.

  • Jan_Mom2Cavs

    Yes, fingers crossed :)! It’s nice to not worry about all I was worrying about. After I spoke with one of Laverne’s breeders and he told me others in her line couldn’t have poultry, then I decided to search out a limited ingredient food without it (or potatoes, if I could). I know some NV LIDs don’t have those things and I was so hoping they’d work, but no. I can only find this food in one place locally, but if I had to order online I would.

  • Jan_Mom2Cavs

    Thank, Betsy! Yes…I feel pretty good about it, so far.

  • Jan_Mom2Cavs

    Hi Marie…I listed the cans I’m using in my “long” post above lol…..The favorites are Simply Nourish Tuna/Salmon and Wellness Beef Stew.

  • InkedMarie

    Jan, to double check: your dogs are doing best on Zignature? What canned are they having with the Zignature?

  • Betsy Greer

    Great news, Jan! You’re making me want to try Zignature now, too. : ) I’ve looked at it before, but will again. Your story reminds me of how unexpectedly well my sensitive guy did when I tried Horizon Legacy ~ that was a nice surprise and it’s a keeper for us now.

  • Storm’s Mom

    That’s awesome, Jan!!! Fingers are crossed that it does, indeed, continue for you!! I wish Zignature was available here… maaaybe one day!! :-)

  • Jan_Mom2Cavs

    This is the most comfortable I’ve been with how my dogs are doing in quite awhile. I just hope it continues. There is no constant itching or licking of forearms. No brown tear stains coming off on the clean cloth when I brush/groom the Cavs. No diarrhea, nor “hard as a rock” stool….somewhere in the middle, more normal. Fur is still soft and no white flecks at all on Hazel’s black fur!
    I’ve kinda narrowed down the canned foods and treats, too. No poultry and grain free. They do have potatoes but I only use approx. a TBLSP or two and it has been fine. I’ve been using Wellness Stews Beef, Weruva Cirque de la Mer, TOTW Pacific Stream, Simply Nourish Tuna/Salmon, Wellness 95% Salmon, Lamb, Beef and Merrick 96% Beef/Buffalo or something like that. My dogs like stew foods the best. Occasionally I’ll addd probiotics/enzymes.
    For treats I’ve been using Wellness lamb grain free biscuits and their new small soft treats in the lamb flavor, Wet Noses grain free biscuits, Becker’s Bites (freeze dried beef liver), Stewart’s beef liver, Pure Meat beef, Smiling Dogs (from Herbsmith) beef which is freeze dried raw and finally Stella & Chewy’s freeze dried beef treats.
    Sounds like I use a lot of treats LOL, but they only get approx. 3 treats a day and one of those is at bedtime to help with Laverne’s tummy, though I might can cut that out now that she’s doing better with her food.

  • Julie

    Mom2Cavs- I just want to say thx 2 u! Your updates have been very helpful to me as I have a dog with intolerances to poultry & rice (& probably others I haven’t pinned down yet). And I choose to feed kibble topped with canned. So I’m going to try Zignature Trout next. Food switching and it not working is tiring! Let us know what canned works well with the Zig Lamb.

  • Jan_Mom2Cavs

    After the Nature’s Variety LIDs did not agree with all 3 dogs I went in search of something else. I fed them a small bag of Holistic Select Anchovy and they did fine. I then fed a small bag of Holistic Select Grain Free and they didn’t do as well. So….I will keep the grain inclusive Hol. Sel. Anchovy in our rotation. But, I wanted something grain free to use, too. I went to one of my local pet specialty stores that I frequent (they know me by name lol) and found that they now are carrying Zignature. I got a few sample bags of the Trout. I used them as treats and the dogs had no problems. So I bought a 4 lb. bag of the Trout. They are finishing it up and now I’m mixing a 4 lb. bag of Lamb in. No poultry for Laverne. So far, no problems. No itching, no tearing, pooping around twice a day. Every now and then, they’ll go 3 times but it depends on what canned food I top the Zignature with. I’ve ask the store to order some medium bags for me, as well. They only carry the small large size. I didn’t think I’d like all the pea ingredients, which is why I never tried Nutrisource (btw Tuffy’s makes Zignature) but all seems well. I’m not gonna rock the boat with this one. I’m tired of all the food switching, etc., etc. :)

  • Contessa’s dad

    Last week, I switched from EVO Herring & Salmon to the Zignature Trout & Salmon due to Natura’s two salmonella recalls in as many months. The Zignature was recommended by our trusted local pet store and is being mixed 50/50 with Orijen Senior (our Belgian Malinois is 11 but still vigorous). The first thing I noticed is her much softer stools (not quite runny, but not very firm either). Adding a teaspoon of probiotic powder seems to have helped firm her stool this week. The second thing I noticed was an increase to her already medium-high energy level. She seems to love the food and gobbles it down, but she’s never been a very picky eater and has NKA. I’ll post again in a few weeks when she’s been on this for a bit longer.

  • Dor Dor

    Thanks. Very useful information. I may probably consider a change of food for my little boy.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Zignature is a very high fiber food, I’d assume this is why you’re seeing the increase in stool volume. Very high levels of fiber can inhibit the absorption of certain nutrients.

    This is an excerpt from an article by holistic veterinarian Dr. Becker:

    “Too much fiber can block absorption of necessary nutrients into the small intestine. Excess fiber can create a barrier which prevents antioxidants, vitamins
    and trace minerals from being absorbed into your pet’s GI tract. While fiber may make your dog or cat feel temporarily full, if it’s displacing protein in the diet, your pet will remain under nourished at the all-important cellular level.”

    I’m not saying that this is necessarily what’s going on here, but this food is much higher in fiber than most other foods and I’m not sure a level of fiber this high would be necessary, or even advisable, for the average dog.

  • Dor Dor

    After taking Zignature Trout & Salmon, my 10 months miniature poodle boy’s stools have increased in size and volume. Does it mean he cannot absorb the nutrition of food properly?

  • InkedMarie

    As an FYI, if you head over to the forum, go to the Dog Food Ingredients area, I have a stickie of grain/white potato free foods

  • Christine

    Zignature to the rescue! My dog Charles was suffering from
    constant itching, particularly his paws which he’d gnaw on until they bleed. He also had significant discharge from his
    eyes. He was tested and put on allergy shots for both food and environmental allergies. He didn’t seem to get much better, slight improvement only. I read further about his symptoms and came across a lengthy article on yeast in dogs. They suggested a grain free diet. It was hard to find a grain free food that did not have potato, which is an item he is allergic. I finally found Zignature which does not contain potato. Any of the grain free food is more costly, but well worth it if your dog is suffering from yeast overload. My dog has been on Zignature-Lamb for 3 months and is so much better! No more falling asleep to his constant scratching, no more goopy eyes and looking so miserable. We are in the start of the humid season which always hit him hardest and he is doing well so far! I was forced on several occasions to get him a cortisone shot which is just a quick fix for a few days of relief. Cortisone shots are not good for a dog and can lead to bigger health issues. Hummm…I wonder why it is the vet didn’t mention anything about yeast as a potential contributing factor?….it couldn’t be for continued costly vet visits and allergy shots – could it?

  • InkedMarie

    Glad you found something to work!

  • Linda

    Our pit bull Payton has food allergy problems along with a yeasty problem. After two years of vet bills and prescription dog foods, we gave the lamb formula a try. After two days there was noticeable improvement. After two weeks, the hives, rashes, chewing paws, itching, scratching, and yeasty smell are gone. It has been 3 months and she looks great and that’s with no antibiotics or steroids.

  • Pattyvaughn

    I went through some of that with Micah, so I know what you mean. It’s frustrating when you think you are getting somewhere just to have something else happen.

  • somebodysme

    Yeah if I can ever get to the point of saying that I know she’s OK with a food. After I gave her some sardine, she developed new rashes on her back. She had developed a rash on her back when she was on some Blue Buffalo fish variety. That sardine was the only new thing that I’d started and that is with her on the NV LID Turkey.

  • Betsy Greer

    I would agree with Storm’s Mom and would place a bet on potato being the culprit. I’ve got a no-potato boy myself.

    If you’re wanting a grain free fish protein with no white potato how about Horizon Legacy Fish, Nutrisca Salmon & Chickpea, NutriSource Seafood Select or the Zignature you mentioned. My dog can also eat Nature’s Logic Sardine (NL is one of my fav’s) although it contains millet a pseudo-grain without any problem at all.

  • Storm’s Mom

    I would place bets on the issue being potato rather than “fish”. I feed almost exclusively a grain-free, potato-free rotation (there’s one grain-inclusive (Nature’s Logic) and one potato-inclusive (Performatrin Ultra Grain Free) kibble in my rotation). It’s made a world of difference!!

  • Pattyvaughn

    You could try getting him on something that you know he is fine with and then giving him some potato so you know you are only adding one thing, then you would know. Personally, I avoid potato too for mine because of one dog’s issues.

  • somebodysme

    Thanks for the reply. It seems my dog is allergic to fish but you know how it is trying to figure out allergies. Have to stop all treats and stuff and add one thing at a time. But each time I tried a fish based food it caused a rash to appear but it could have been the potato rather than the fish. I believe I’ll give the Lamb one a try. This food is a very limited ingredient which is helpful with narrowing down allergens.

  • Jessica86lynn

    We switched our 2 year old pit-mix to the Zignature Trout and Salmon from ProNature Grain Free Duck 2-3 months ago. She had really bad dandruff over the winter, and when it didn’t get better in the spring the Zig was recommended by our local pet store. Within a week her coat was shinier than it had ever been and within 2 weeks her dandruff was gone. I would highly recommend giving it a try if your pup has skin issues! On a side note, she has a sensitive stomach which has lead to gland issues in the past. Since she has been on the Zig, her stomach issues have been very minimal and no stinky gland issues.

  • somebodysme

    Anyone think this food would be a good replacement for Nature’s Variety Instinct LID? My dog has the skin allergies and NV seems to be helping although there is still a little scratching going on…my ONLY issue with NV really is the high price. This food appears similar to me though I’m certainly not an expert by any stretch of the imagination. But I do need a potato free LID food. This seems to fit the bill without breaking the bank.

  • Betsy Greer

    Ah ha, got it! Fat divided by protein = FPR. Thanks, Sandy!

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    Example: Primal freeze dried chicken has 37% protein and 37% fat. It’s FPR is 100%. The turkey/sardine formula FPR is just 43% with 61% protein and 26% fat. 43% of 61% protein is 26% (which is the fat). Ideally, you’re looking for 50% FPR in a food or too much calories are coming from the fat content. My dogs eat up to 90% FPR without any problems although I feed various amounts of fat. The raw foods have more fat than the kibbles.

  • Betsy Greer

    Hey guys,

    Can someone, in a nutshell, tell me what exactly a fat to protein ratio is? I guess I just always looked at the protein, fat and carb numbers separately and I’m trying to figure out how I should use the FPR number. Guess I should’ve thought about this one sooner, huh?

    I’m glad you brought that up, Melissa.

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    I’m getting a typo fixed, thanks! But the lowest fat formula is the trout at 14%. The FPR is from the group average, not individual formulas.

  • Melissaandcrew

    Does the fat to protein ratio apply to all varities? Looking at the other two it seems that the fat is low, but not worth the risk to me if the fat to protein ratio is high..

  • Phil

    I love this dog food. My dog loves this dog food. My dog is allergic to many things and finding dog food for her is a chore. I have tried many limited ingredient dog foods, only to have her loose interest in days. She has not lost interest in this food. I have been giving her the Lamb formula and have not seen her eat like this in a long time. I don’t care how big her poop is just as long as she is eating…..and eating she is.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Salt is a necessary nutrient for all living things. It is only bad when it’s too much.

  • Rana125

    I notice this dog food has salt. Isn’t salt harmful for dogs? Do they need a daily requirement for consumption, or is it so far down on this ingredient list that it is not going to affect the dog?

  • The Dogfather

    Very interesting…My dog is 11 and has never had tear stains either until the last 2 months which is the exact amount of time I’ve been feeding this food. But, she’s got so many sensitivities that I’m just happy we found a food that works for her otherwise…for now. Good luck to you!

  • Pattyvaughn

    Thanks for your reply. After my post, I got to thinking that I do add more fiber to my dogs foods too, in the form of prebiotics and if I’m transitioning, I might use pumpkin.

  • henrybigh

    Dr Becker is correct when it comes to excessive fiber, But we believe that 6.5% is good amount to support digestive and colon health.There are many products out to supplement dog with low fiber diets . With Zignature there is no need. Problems like obesity, constipation, and anal gland disease are all often avoided with a diet with good amount of fiber. Vet diets for dogs that need extra fiber is in the range of 18 plus percent. Sometimes Vets will even tell people to mixed peanut hulls with their dogs food to get more fiber.

  • Shawna

    I’ve read excess fiber is counter indicated.

    Vet Dr. Karen Becker writes

    “When pets consume unnecessary fillers, like wads of fiber, it inhibits digestion and absorption of many vital nutrients. A small amount of fiber is very important, but a diet loaded with fiber is very detrimental, unless, of course, you’re feeding a horse or cow.

    If you’re feeding your dog or cat a balanced, species-appropriate diet with appropriate supplementation, including pet probiotics and digestive enzymes, and your pet is easily producing small, firm stools, she’s getting the exact amount of fiber she needs.” http://healthypets.mercola.com/sites/healthypets/archive/2012/11/19/dietary-fiber.aspx

  • Pattyvaughn

    I’ve read it , thanks. And I do like fiber in dog food, I just like less fiber than that unless my dog has a specific issue that requires more fiber. Many people who switch to Zignature specifically mention stool size increases, so I assume they are like me and prefer a bit less fiber. So my real question was “Why is your fiber content 6.5%”
    I’m not trying to be a pest, I like what I’m reading about your food. But I want to understand why the higher fiber amount. As far as feeding a diabetic dog dry food, I love that a good portion of the carbs are actually fiber. And for dogs that have difficulty maintaining weight, the fiber level may be a necessity. You see I’m not oblivious to some of the reasons, but I want to understand more. That’s the nice thing about DFA, you have an opportunity to educate a group of people that don’t just want to blindly buy dog food. They want to be educated. And if they like what you say, they will in turn recommend your food to people who are having problems that they believe your food will help with.
    It should be a great opportunity for you to get the word out.

  • henrybigh

    No we make sure that our food has a good amount of fiber for a huge assortment of reason.Please read Dr Sagman’s article on
    The Benefits of Dog Food Fiber on this site.
    Thank you

  • Pattyvaughn

    Why is your fiber content 6.5%? Don’t you consider that to be a little high?

  • henrybigh

    Sarah,
    Use the trout formula and be careful of the treats you feed your dog. Also make they get distilled water or RO water.

  • henrybigh

    The reason they go more often is the because our fiber content is 6.5 percent.

  • The Dogfather

    Thanks HDM, I’ll give both a try!

  • Pattyvaughn

    You might want to give some digestive enzymes for a couple weeks until his body is completely used to the new food. That will help with the “light and airy” issues.

  • Charlie_Driggs

    But I will say this: despite the increased volume of poop (sometimes 2 dumps per walk… a bit of an anomaly considering his history of pooping), at least it’s “light and airy”.

    Should I be worried???

  • Charlie_Driggs

    My dog’s stools have definitely increased in size and volume. But my dog seems happy with the food and the boutique I buy from stands by the product. My dog is 17 and after having a disastrous experience with Canine Caviar (which came after Wellness), I didn’t want to switch him out again.

    I was concerned that Orijen was too high in protein for my senior dog and the Now! Grain Free was a little hard to find. So by default, I’ve settled on the Zignature…

  • kenny

    In the process of opening a pet boutique and am using my dogs to critique foods I want to carry. As a pet owner who had fed my dogs highly nutritous food I was annoyed at the side effect of this food. My dogs poops have doubled in size! Possibly because of the heavy legume content? Live on 2 acres and do not like this “side effect” haven’t seen poops this big in years. Wondering if other pet owners have noticed this.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Try adding digestive enzymes to each meal – that will help with gas and may even help with stool volume as the enzymes will ensure the food is getting digested efficiently.

    As for the smell, the fats could have gone rancid. Make sure the bag is always closed and stored in a cool dark place – if you can fit it in the fridge that’s best. Also, don’t keep a bag of food around for longer than 3 weeks or so – the fats start degrading as soon as a bag is opened.

  • The Dogfather

    One more thing..I started with a couple smaller bags and even though I kept the food in the bag and inside a container, after a week the smell of the food changed, (not saying it went bad, just had a stronger odor). On the second bag I started rolling and clipping it (like a bag of chips), and continued to keep it inside a container and everything has been great since.

  • The Dogfather

    I switched my dog to this food a couple of weeks ago and so far so good, (knock on wood). She has a sensitive stomach, allergies, problems with most protein sources except for lamb, and has a problem with tomato pomace. The Zignature lamb formula meets the criteria and she seems to really like it. The only drawback that I’ve noticed so far is that she has had some gas and increased stool volume and frequency since the switch. However, the stool looks firm, and the gas may be due to her still adjusting to the new food. I know it’s too early to be sure, but hopefully she does well on it.

  • Sarah At Smelly Dog

    Zignature has been a great dog food for my terrier’s skin allergies, however he has developed super bad tear stains. He is four and never had tearing problems until now. So now I have to weigh the choices.

  • James

    I have two Frenchies that we have had trouble finding food that they both like and don’t have allergic reactions to. This is the first one we found that has fit the bill as of now. I am pleased with Zignature so far, and we have been giving them pro-biotic powder as well for longer than using this product. So that was not a deciding factor for us.

  • Angel Rose

    Hello! My name is Angel and I am here to say that Zignature is BY FAR the best dog food I have ever purchased for my three Chihuahuas. My oldest Chihuahua, Jasmine, has incredibly sensitive skin. So bad in fact that she had developed a horrible case of mange/yeast overgrowth on her rear end. Now when I say horrible, I mean it! We’re talking loss of fur, red skin, odd little bumps that felt almost like pimples. Refusing to put her on pet meds I founded Zignature and oh my lord this food is a serious miracle kibble! Within a week my dog stopped itching and after about a month the fur on her rear end grew back (not bald patches!) and her overall behavior is as if she were a puppy again. As for my other two Chihuahuas; one is finicky and he loves this food and my last one will eat anything. So there you have it. I urge everyone to try out this food at least once. You and your pet won’t regret it!

  • Chrissy

    We had them on Fromm Salmon Tunalini and that was not working at all – he has done well with Fromm’s game bird and this new Zignature’s brand – this Zignature’s is the best outcome so far – the game bird was the only Fromm he could eat…it is very odd, but now that this is working right now and seems to be working well I am not going to change a thing…just leave it where it is (o: Thank you so much for the information – I will have to check that out as well! <3 Chrissy

  • Pattyvaughn

    Having a fish sensitivity is like having a bird sensitvity. You may only have a problem with a particular kind of fish and be fine with others. Or it may be a processing thing, my dog has more trouble with chicken that is heavily processed than with chicken that is lightly or unprocessed. Or it could still be another ingredient all together. I’m glad you having good luck with this food.

  • Chrissy

    Thank you Patty! I appreciate the help! We rotational feed for all, except we have figured out that our oldest just does not do well with certain foods. Actually we were heading into the store to try Orijen and someone there stopped us – just asked random questions – I LOVE this store, so never annoyed by anyone who is in the store – it is a small family owned pet store and I trust the owner so much – she loves our little girl we adopted as she were her own and I know that she only carries food she would feed to her own (when TOTW had numerous recalls, she did not immediately pull this brand, but after so many happened, she then put out a notice she would no longer carry it, but would special order for people who still wanted it) – I just know she does all she can for the animals that come into her store. Anyway, sorry – I got off the topic, lol – I was approached and we were talking foods – they agreed Orijen would be a great food for the other 3, but asked if I had tried this brand and I had not – so he was really nice giving us a TON of samples, coupons to use and there was one bag left in fish based – so I went ahead and tried it – I thought it would take awhile for him to get use to it, but he seems to be doing so well on it (knock on wood) – no red ears after eating, less scratching, still licking – but like you said it will still take time for everything to calm down…so far I have been pleased with how well he is responding – if we have finally found a match I will not jinx this by rotating him – maybe see how he does on other proteins in their lines – but on the fish he is doing quite well (which I always thought fish was an allergen for him. We feed mostly fish based foods, because we have a little girl with severe orthopedic conditions – he was always flaring up when eating fishy foods – but perhaps it has always just been the brands – or other ingredients like potatoes). I will keep him on this line as long as he continues to do so well! We have always given them probiotics and enzymes. We do need to get a vitamin E supplement I believe – if they are on fish/salmon oil, I think they have to supplement with vitamin e? If so, I have trouble figuring out the correct dose of that for them. Thank you very much for your help! I really appreciate it! <3 Chrissy

  • Pattyvaughn

    Zignature seems like a good food, but the real test is how your dog does on it. I’ve got a dog with food intolerances like yours, and the only thing I’ve found that works consistantly is figuring out what they have problems with and avoiding it. A lot of dogs with intolerance issues have an unhealthy gut so giving a low carb, grain free food with added probiotics and digestive enzymes seems to really help. Good luck, BTW it takes a while of feeding the right diet for all symptoms to completely clear up, so stick with it.

  • Chrissy

    I have had some minor issues with posting on here, so not sure if anyone read my post regarding us being new to Zignatures – Just wondering how everyone else likes it – we have 4 pugs – we just started one pug on it who has extremely bad allergies. We have not found a food that works well – he always seems to have very inflamed ears after eating – scratches a lot – chews his feet – etc. Well, we have started him on this food and I have to say his ears have not been red at all. I am hoping this works for him – many others just do not seem to work. I just wanted some feed back about the quality of the food – I am not an expert and want to be feeding them all high nutrition – I see it gets 4 stars, so assuming it must be an alright food to feed? Thank you for any feedback! It is always greatly appreciated! <3 Chrissy

  • Chrissy

    Hello! Here I am again trying to find a new food to work well with my pugs. This one was recommended today as one all 4 may do well on – one with severe orthopedic conditions, one with severe allergies and skin conditions, one who has trouble putting weight on (looks rail thin – like we do not feed him, but he eats the most amount out of all daily – he is built very different and not overweight at all – we do not want him to be overweight – just not look so thin) and last she has anxiety and nervousness, nothing dietary going on – two were rescued out of horrific conditions. Currently, they all eat differently and that is fine if that is how it turns out – we would love to try and get them all on the same food if possible – we have tried raw food and so far have been unsuccessful – they just have not taken to it well and we have tried several times – with probiotics/enzymes, without them, various things, etc and nothing has helped move them over the hump of successfully eating raw daily or consistently. We are just wondering how this food works for some already feeding it? Thank you! Chrissy

  • TwoDeafBoxers

    I did call your company, twice in fact, and spoke to the same person who could not answer my questions but asked me to email him so he could forward it on to your manufacturing department. I emailed Richard and Daniel over a month ago and I still have not heard anything. Your company didn’t even answer all my questions posted on your Facebook page……

  • Pattyvaughn

    I can add Jim at Darwin’s to that list, but it is nice when a company cares enough to do this.

  • InkedMarie

    Glad you identified yourself! To answer your question, I’ve actually spoken to one of the owners of Brothers dog food and to Dr Tim of Dr Tim’s food. Nice to know you’re so available as well.

  • henrybigh

    We source our Salmon meal out of Alaska and it’s ethoxyquin free

  • henrybigh

    Hi I’m Henry

    One of the partners of Pets Global USA. Early on when the site was up we ran into some technical difficulties and I apologize. We take our Customer service serious so when folks say we don’t respond back it’s a problem for me. How many owners of food companies can you call direct?.We have a full time customer service person available between 9 to 5 PT. His name is Richard and his direct number is 818-809-7394.

    Thank you

  • InkedMarie

    You should probably identify who you are since you put your phone number out for all the old to see

  • henrybigh

    Lisa,
    We would be glad to answer all questions.
    Here’s my #813-313-9562

  • henrybigh

    Please call any time you want for any answers to any questions 813-313-9563

  • TwoDeafBoxers

    I tried it with my 3 year old and 1year old boxers, the oldest has huge allergies including chicken and rice/grains and also IBD and suprisingly he did well on it. It was my younger one who had issues as far as scratching, chewing feet, and upset stomach. I was no upset about returning it because the company still has not responded to my multiple emails and calls asking for more info on their sourcing and the parent company, Pets Global. I wasn’t comfortable staying on it so we stopped mixing it with our other food which they both do well on. Good luck, I know how hard it is with allergies and IBD!

  • Lisa

    Thanks Patty, I hope so. We’ve tried 5 different foods already. I will post after some time on it :-)

  • Pattyvaughn

    It’s pretty new, it may take a while for people to decide how their dog is doing on this food. I hope it turns out to be a good one. Please let us know how yours does on it.

  • Lisa

    I am not seeing much in this thread as far as how everyone’s dog tolerates Zignature. I would love to hear your experiences with this food. I just started my 9 month old lab who has IBD and
    allergies to chicken and rice on this foodLisa.(fish formula)

  • http://www.facebook.com/carolyn.lambert1 Carolyn Lambert

    I thought I like this food but since I started feeding it my one boy has lost weight and he poops a lot on this food at least 3 times more then when he was on tast of the wild. I think I am going to have to change him back.

  • TwoDeafBoxers

    Thank you! So taking in to consideration one of my dogs has IBD from prolonged allergy exposures, this may not be a good option forhim? Shoot!!

  • Hound Dog Mom

    I think Dr. Mike was just trying to point out that there may be too much fat for some dogs (like those prone to pancreatitis). It seems to me that most of the other brands that have fat around the same amount as this food (18%) also have more protein – so there isn’t such a difference in calories from fat vs. calories from protein. At least that’s what I’d assume it means. The amount of fat in the food personally wouldn’t bother me and I don’t think it’d be an issue most healthy dogs.

  • TwoDeafBoxers

    Can someone explain this to me?  Sorry if I seem slow but I can’t get this to process in my brain?!  

    “However, with 40% of the total calories in this food coming from fat as compared to just 29% from protein, this product may not be appropriate for every dog.”

  • Anthony

    Absolutely LOVE this food! I went from Blue Buffalo to Zignature Trout and have noticed a huge difference. Highly recommended!

  • doggonefedup

    aimee,
    your post just now showed up…..disqus……
    Thank you. I like to know what is working for everyones dogs. It always helps me decide what may or may not work for my boys or friend dogs.  The VSL3 sounds interesting for me to use myself.  Thank you again.

  • aimee

    Hi Doggonefedup,

    I have three dogs: a labrador, a sheltie mix and a Chinese Crested.

    Currently the Crested eats RC venison and potato. He had intermittent anorexia, intermittent vomiting and bloody stools until I started using this diet.

    The other dogs currently eat Iams… I won a years worth of dog food.

    In addition to the commerical diets they get a fair amount of fresh meats, veggies, fruit and some carbs too( pasta, rice, potato)  

    Previous kibbles I’ve used are Pro Plan, Evo, Cal Natural, and Wellness core. For “toppers” I’ve used Fresh pet, Pro Plan, Iams, Ziwi, Grandma Lucy, and Natural Balance.

    When the Crested was having Gi problems I had him on Proviable and Prostora ( probiotics) Now that he is improved I give them occassionlly to him.

    I think the microbiota of the Gi tract is influenced significantly by diet. I don’t think every dog needs to have supplemented probiotics but do think they can be situationally beneficial.

    To be of significant benefit I think they have to be given in large numbers and question if what is in foods are the right strains and in high enough levels to be of any benefit. I see them more as “window dressing” JMO

    Then of course is the whole problem of lack of regulation on probiotics, so who really knows if you are even getting viable bugs or what is on the label when you buy them as supplements.

    If I purchase again I may get VSL3, 450 billion bugs/dose. Lots of studies on this product BUT it is human product so I really don’t know for sure if those strains will benefit a dog. But I think I’ll go with a proven human product vs a unknown dog labeled one.

    I do like Prostora as it is a strain isolated from and “proven” in dogs, but it is pricey and only one strain. I went with Proviable because it has 5 billion bugs and made by a company which has a decent reputation in the supplement world.  

  • Hound Dog Mom

    I don’t see it anywhere on their website. I would just email the company and ask. Zignature has very good customer service. When I emailed them they responded the same day.

  • TheodoreLilly

    Does anybody know if Zignature or the suppliers for Zignature’s fish uses ethoxyquin?  Zignature, if you’re reading this… Please state on your bag if your food is entirely ethoxyquin-free.  Thanks for any reply!

  • Toxed2loss

    You’re very welcome!!! Thanks yourself for all the great new info I got from you today!

    XO!

  • Shawna

    Very interesting!!!  Thanks for the correction :)

  • Toxed2loss

    Great info! Here’s some stuff I should probably copy to the arsenic thread.

    Arsenic isn’t “normally” stored in fat. That’s a secondary defense mechanism for people who’s methylation cycle is impaired, their glutathione is deficient and they are immune compromised (like me.) So you won’t find research papers saying that, but you can find them pointing to it…here’s the facts from the ATSDR:

    After absorption through the lungs or GI tract, arsenic is widely distributed by the blood throughout the body. [ATSDR 2007] Most tissues rapidly clear arsenic, except for skin, hair, and nails [Lansdown 1995]. Two to four weeks after exposure ceases, most of the arsenic remaining in the body is found in keratin-rich tissues such as hair, nails, skin, and to a lesser extent, in bones and teeth [Yip and Dart 2001].

    Arsenic is absorbed into the blood stream at the cellular level and is taken up by red blood cells, white blood cells, and other cells that reduce arsenate to arsenite [Winski and Carter 1995; Wang et al. 1996]. Reduction of arsenate (As V) to arsenite (As III) is needed before methylation can occur. This reaction requires glutathione (GSH) [Miller et al. 2002; Vahter et al. 1983]. A portion of arsenite (As III) is methylated in the liver by enzymatic transfer of the methyl group from S adenosylmethionine (SAM) to methyl arsonate (MMA V) and dimethyl arsenate (DMA V) [Aposhian et al. 2004; Styblo et al. 2002]. The resulting metabolites are more readily excreted. Methylation has long been considered the main route of arsenic detoxification, but more recently there has been a growing body of literature supporting other detoxification mechanisms. For example, a number of animal species lack arsenic methylation and excrete inorganic arsenic [Vahter2002]. The implication is that there may be other more important arsenic detoxification mechanisms in mammals. Other studies have suggested additional detoxification mechanisms such as antioxidant defenses, resistance to apoptosis, or transport [Yoshida et al. 2004].

    Methylation efficiency in humans appears to decrease at high arsenic doses… When the methylating capacity of the liver is exceeded, exposure to excess levels of inorganic arsenic results in increased retention of arsenic in soft tissues. Arsenic is excreted in the urine primarily through the kidneys…

    Other less important routes of elimination of inorganic arsenic include feces, incorporation into hair and nails, skin desquamation, and sweat.

  • Toxed2loss

    Hi Doggone,
    Yes I do.

    I just posted on the Beneful thread, I currently have a 15 yr old Pom (5 lbs.) and a 2 (tomorrow) year old poodle (55 lbs). My Pom has been pesticide poisoned along with me. As a result she’s had 3 surgeries to remove tumors, and used to be up on all her shots. She wasn’t a very healthy little dog. She was plagued with all sorts of issues. She barely moved, had several neurosis, horrible teeth, and never played, just to name a few. When my immune system got over whelmed & I crashed into full blown chemical hypersensitivity I had to ramp up my studying toxins. The more I learned the more I removed, the better we got. So that meant holding off on all but the necessary vacs & meds. (We no longer give any, since I studied that issue.) And feeding a really good food. I actually added probiotics and enzymes in first. There was some improvement. When I looked at getting a service dog, I focused my studying on specific dog foods. I chose one of the 5 star grain/potato free foods. There was some more improvement. When I switched to Brother’s there was dramatic improvement in Sonia, my Pom.

    Rosie my poodle, got Vaccinosis shortly after we got her, from the distemper/parvo shot the breeders vet gave. She nearly died. I switched her off the 4 star food that he breeder had her on to a 5 star, and kept her on the probiotics. But here again, she’s made the best recovery on balanced raw, + Brother’s Complete. I truly believe its the encapsulate probiotics, and balanced nutrition. I still do give enzymes & probiotics with my raw food. I also give astaxanthin. Her ears are almost all cleared up. :-)

    So, giving the best possible nutrition, removing all toxins and supporting immune function are key in having healthy dogs (& people). I strongly believe that probiotics are essential in doing that, in today’s environments.

  • Shawna

    I had a brain fart :)

    I wrote “Most of the coprophagia products have probiotics in them.. And the “old wives tale” about using pineapple or meat tenderizer —- also because of the probiotics in them.”

    Although coprophagia products can have probiotics in them and they can be helpful, it is the proteolytic ENZYMES added to the products AND in meat tenderizer and pineapple that helps with coprophagia..  Oops..  Sorry I didn’t catch that before posting….

  • Shawna

    PS — with several of the “premixes” I have to process them after they have been rehydrated to break them down even further. 

    The cellulose fiber in vegetables can not be broken down by the body (human or canine) as we do not make the enzyme cellulase.  IF the veggies are not processed adequately (or cellulase is not supplemented) then they can come out just as they went in.  Processing further OR supplementing with an enzyme product that includes cellulase should resolve this issue…  :)

  • doggonefedup

    Toxed,
    So do you use/supplement with pre&probiotics? If I may ask, what dog foods do you recommend/use? and what breeds of dogs do you have? 
    I’m very curious what kinds of foods owners recommend or use as compared to the type/size/breeds they each have. I have GSD’s and freeze dried or dehydrated foods just don’t work for my dogs at all!

  • Shawna

    It’s my understanding that heavy metals don’t stay in the blood for long..  Toxins, like heavy metals, not eliminated are stored in fat cells..  High cholesterol can be an indicator of a toxic body as an example (see the video below — Certified Clinical Nutritionist Rahdia Gleis)..

    Are you asking me what foods I recommend?  If yes, that is easy — raw :)..

    Okay, if not home preparing I like Darwins and Bravo meat only varieties mixed with HK Preference and other premixes in rotation.  For kibbles I recommend rotating between several 5 star, higher protein foods but Brothers is my fave of those foods.  I like Weruva Human Style the best for canned foods.

    http://www.bing.com/videos/search?q=video+certified+clinical+nutritionist&mid=3C358A8F2ABCC79D17E73C358A8F2ABCC79D17E7&view=detail&FORM=VIRE1

  • doggonefedup

    So they can help rid the body of toxins like inorganic arsenic? provided of course they are healthy. good to know.
    I would still like to know what dog foods aimee uses. for that mater what foods would you recommend?

  • Shawna

    I get what you are saying but there are just as many bad bacteria out there being breathed in and picked up off the ground as there is good.. 

    Yes, the good guys can be repopulated (pending there is not a larger proportion of bad guys) by eating prebiotic foods.  BUT, prebiotics feed the bad guys too (most at least). 

    And NO, not all probiotics are killed off from a round of antibiotics.  The WHOLE purpose of taking a FULL round of antibiotics though (even after symptoms are gone) is to eliminate enough of the bacteria to not cause reinfection.  This also kills the good bacteria.  However, the yeast still remain.  If there is more candida and pathogenic yeast then there is good yeast then there is still problems.

    A wolf “regrows” (or actually maintains) a healthy gut population by eating fresh raw tripe and some of the stomach contents that stick with the tripe.  Ruminants have a HUGE number of bacteria in their guts which help them break down the cellulose in the grass they eat as well as digest it.  Herbivores, just like omnivores and carnivores do not “make” their own cellulase. 

    They can eat feces from another “healthy” animal as well.  Most of the coprophagia products have probiotics in them..  And the “old wives tale” about using pineapple or meat tenderizer —- also because of the probiotics in them.  Certain populations of people used to eat feces to fight off certain illnesses too — like dysentery.  HOWEVER, for me and my dogs — I’d rather go with a supplement.  If you want to eat poop, I won’t stop you :-)

    Stress, by the way, can also damage good gut bacteria.

    Probiotics are even helping my girl with kidney disease.  When the good guys, if there are enough of them, eat on the prebiotics supplied they cause blood to rush to the colon.  Along with the blood comes BUN (and likely toxins etc).  This is called nitrogen trapping and allows for a portion of the nasties in the blood to be eliminated via the stool sparing the kidneys from the extra work load..  There are even veterinary prescribed products for this purpose.  I feel they are not as good quality as what I can supply myself though..

  • Toxed2loss

    Doggone,
    I have to side with Shawna. While dogs may pick up “some” small amount of probiotics from their natural environment, they are being inundated by vastly more toxins than they were designed to handle. Their systems can’t keep up with the lad. I think it’s absolutely necessary to supplement the beneficial bacteria. Besides research shows that the beneficial bacteria does far more, through out the entire body than previously thought. Supplementing with probiotics and feeding the guts colony with prebiotics ensures that there is a healthy enough colony to withstand the assault, and accomplish repair. :-)

  • doggonefedup

    okay that would explain worms, dermatitis, and those god awful doggy farts. poor nutrition does cause a lot of problems. And a healthy dog that is thriving seldom has any of those problems. But back to my original question. Is it necessary to add pre&probiotics to a dogs food? How important is it? can’t they just “regrow” them on their own? Are the gut bugs ever completely wiped out? And if they are how does a dog “regrow” them without purposely adding them to their food? again refering to those owners that have no idea?  

  • Shawna

    I guess I don’t understand your question?

    The dogs that “don’t get all that” have to be dewormed and have to be taken to the vet for giardia, get IBD and SIBO, candida, mange (neutrophils are one of the first on the scene with mange) etc…  Yet when these dogs aren’t actively exhibiting symptoms, they are considered “healthy”..  Ummmm nope, not so….

  • doggonefedup

    okay I understand all that but, like I said what about the dogs that don’t get all that? I’m thinking about those house puppies that eat nothing but ol’Roy or purina or an old shoe? the ones whose owner don’t know any better or even worse don’t care. My GSD’s hunt and bring their own food home sometimes. So I don’t worry about them so much.

  • Shawna

    “Seem” to be just fine is the opperative word..  Dogs on Ol Roy “seem” to be fine too…  We hear it here all the time.  Are they though???

    Probitoics actually help stimulate the immune system by “priming” neutrophil white blood cells.  Probiotics help prevent some of the damage caused by lectins.  Probiotics create lactic and butyric acids in the colon which help keep other bacteria in check and also help prevent colon cancer.  They create vitamins like K and the Bs etc. 

    Also, your GSD may bury bones but I assure you the closet my Chihuahua ever got to burying a bone is by stashing a chewy behind the couch cushion :)..  Not one of mine chew on rocks (that can actually be a sign of malnutrition — it’s called Pica).  I’m not sure how licking pee off a fire hydrant would increase the beneficial bacteria population? 

    And, as stated — chlorinated tap water, medications etc etc kill the bacteria that is in the gut..  How many dogs get chlorinated water, dewormers and other drugs etc..  How many people spray their homes with disinfectants and such – killing not only bad but good bacteria that might otherwise be breathed in. 

    YOUR dogs may have ample opportunity to supply their bodies with naturally ocurring good bacteria/yeast but certainly we can’t assume that all dogs in every situation are in the prestine conditions your dogs must live in..

    When it comes to MY dogs — Yeah, they get supplemental sources of probiotics but I try to stick with natural as much as possible.  I feed/fed raw tripe, I ferment veggies for the dogs.  I give them ACV.  Four of them eat raw meaty bones off the ground off and on during the summer etc.  BUT, I do keep a bottle of high quality probitoics on hand and when my dogs get giardia or coccidia (from the foster dogs) I don’t have to take them to the vet.  They are symptom free withint two days.

  • doggonefedup

    well i don’t know. dogs eat poop from many other animals (and sometimes roll in it) they chew on rocks, they bury bones (with meat on them) and dig them up months later to chew on. i’ve even seen them licking fire hydrants that other dog have peed on. there are many places a dog can consume bacteria from. and like you say they can even breathe them in from airborne particles. So do we need to add them to our dogs food? I know dogs that have survived on crap dog food without any of that stuff purposely added to their foods and they seem to be just fine. granted a better food would be better for the dog ….but……

  • Shawna

    I don’t think that is true of dogs in most situations doggone..  Yes, soil based organisms can be picked up from the dirt.  And bacteria can be breathed in.  But wolves definitley get more supplemental probitoics then our dogs do — the tripe, drinking stream water, eating their entire meal off the ground, buring food etc. 

    Additionally wolves don’t drink tap water, take antibiotics and other meds, eat processed foods etc etc etc — all of which influence gut bacteria..

  • Shawna

    The same holds true for MOST yogurts but not all..  However, the technology is there..  Some manufacturers may use less stable (and likely cheaper) products but it doesn’t mean they all will..

    Micro Encapsulated probiotics are “barn condition” stable for up to 2 years..  I imagine they could survive being a bag of kibble for several months..  http://books.google.com/books?id=nIn8EIS2iE8C&pg=PA820&lpg=PA820&dq=encapsulated+probiotics+animal+feed&source=bl&ots=mUZPPJpJoH&sig=yyPGO6x9HKarqTs2A4GEco1HrZk&hl=en&sa=X&ei=d-yPUNHhD43W9QSR8IGYCg&ved=0CDUQ6AEwAw#v=onepage&q=encapsulated%20probiotics%20animal%20feed&f=false

  • doggonefedup

    aimee,
    Thank you. I was always under the impression that a dog could and did actually produce all the probiotics that they needed just by consuming bits of dirt and debris from the environment. Do you have any foods that you would consider/recommend ?  Also do you have any dogs? if I may ask. what breeds and what foods do you use?

  • aimee

    The following is the only study I’m aware of that evaluated dog foods with probiotics and compared the result to what was listed on the label. Nineteen foods were tested 5 were reported as “no relevant growth” (26%) and “No products contained all of the listed organisms, while 1 or more of the listed contents were isolated from 10 out of 19 products (53%). ” 
     
    “Overall, commercial pet foods that claim to contain probiotics appear to contain very low numbers of viable organisms, and often do not contain the species listed on the label.” 
     
    http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC340078/
     
    When probiotic supplements were tested “Only 2 of the 25 evaluated products were considered acceptable.”
     
    http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3003573/
     
     
     
       

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Diana –

    If the probiotics were added before or during processing then, yes, they would not be viable. However, dog food companies know this so they aren’t going to waste the money on adding them and then render them non-viable. The food is cooked, then extruded, dried, cooled, fat is sprayed on, vitamin/mineral premix in mixed with the kibble and sticks to the fat, THEN encapsulated probiotics and digestive enzymes are added to the food. Most high quality dog foods test their probiotic/enzyme activity and are found to have viable probiotics/enzymes. Some companies go to greater lengths than others to keep their probiotics and enzymes viable, but most high end brands will have acceptable levels of activity.

    Here is some information about probiotics in kibble from the Great Dane Lady:

    http://www.greatdanelady.com/articles/viable_probiotics_in_dog_kibble.htm

  • Diana

    Why do you mention probiotic in these processed foods? The heat and processing of these foods would make any added probiotics non-viable.  Pet parents should always add a probiotic and digestive enzyme supplement as well as a FISH based oil to these dry foods.

  • ohnoesaz

    This dog food uses a ton of peas. The fish formula has four pea sources in the first dozen ingredients. It’s very possible your dog has, at the beginning, a slight intolerance to peas and this food has blown up that intolerance into an allergy.

    I see the same thing in my dogs. They rotate every meal between four different dog foods, all being potato free and grain free. All use peas.

    My recommendation is rotate foods between the three main starches: Tapioca, Potatoes, and Peas.

    Yes, I REALLY hate potatoes in dog foods, but I think its more important to keep a good rotation going so the dog’s body does not develop allergies.

  • Dog mom of 6

    We have been using Zignature Salmon for 2 months, after TOFW went to recall.  Have started noticing our dogs biting their feet.  This happened when we tried a chicken grain free dog food about 5 months ago.  Any one else notice this?

  • melissa

     Donna-

    Doesn’t count : ) It does not state WHICH guideline it meets-either maintenance or growth/reproduction

  • Diana

     I’m missing something… Does AAFCO mean much?  After all, the studies required to determine if a food meets the guidelines is a joke and a guy made a shoe out of those guidelines for goodness sake!

  • BryanV21

    When looking at this line of foods a couple of weeks ago, as we may start carrying it, I liked what I saw. Nice to see that the good doctor believes that too. 

  • Vancehartke

    On the physical bag itself, there is an AAFCO statement saying it’s approved for all life stages.