Stella and Chewy’s Freeze Dried (Freeze-Dried)

Share

Rating: ★★★★★

Stella and Chewy’s Freeze Dried Raw Dog Food earns the Advisor’s top rating of 5 stars.

The Stella and Chewy’s product line includes seven freeze dried raw dog foods, each claimed to meet AAFCO nutrient profiles for all life stages.

The following is a list of recipes available at the time of this review.

  • Chewy’s Chicken Freeze Dried Dinner
  • Stella’s Super Beef Freeze Dried Dinner
  • Stella & Chewy’s Surf N Turf Freeze Dried Dinner
  • Stella & Chewy’s Dandy Lamb Freeze Dried Dinner
  • Stella & Chewy’s Simply Venison Freeze Dried Dinner
  • Stella & Chewy’s Absolutely Rabbit Freeze Dried Dinner
  • Stella & Chewy’s Duck Duck Goose Freeze Dried Dinner

Stella & Chewy’s Duck Duck Goose Freeze Dried Dinner was selected to represent the other products in the line for this review.

Stella and Chewy's Duck Duck Goose Freeze-Dried

Freeze-Dried Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 42% | Fat = 30% | Carbs = 20%

Ingredients: Duck with ground bone, turkey, turkey liver, goose, turkey gizzard, pumpkin seed, potassium chloride, organic cranberries, organic spinach, organic broccoli, organic beets, sodium phosphate monobasic, organic carrots, organic squash, organic apples, organic blueberries, choline chloride, dried Pediococcus acidilactici fermentation product, dried Lactobacillus acidophilus fermentation product, dried Bifidobacterium longum fermentation product, dried Enterococcus faecium fermentation product, taurine, tocopherols (preservative), calcium carbonate, zinc proteinate, zinc sulfate, iron sulfate, iron proteinate, vitamin E supplement, niacin, copper sulfate, copper proteinate, manganese sulfate, sodium selenite, manganese proteinate, thiamine monohydrate, pyridoxine hydrochloride, vitamin D3 supplement, calcium iodate, vitamin B12 supplement

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 4.2%

Red items when present indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis40%28%NA
Dry Matter Basis42%30%20%
Calorie Weighted Basis31%53%15%

The first item in this dog food lists duck. Duck is considered “the clean combination of flesh and skin… derived from the parts or whole carcasses of duck”.1

Duck is naturally rich in the ten essential amino acids required by a dog to sustain life. Plus this particular meat also includes ground bone… an excellent source of natural calcium.

The second ingredient includes turkey, another poultry item with a nutrient profile similar to duck.

The third ingredient is turkey liver. This is an organ meat sourced from a named animal and thus considered a beneficial component.

The fourth ingredient is goose, yet one more poultry item.

The fifth ingredient lists turkey gizzard. The gizzard is a low-fat, meaty organ found in the digestive tract of birds and assists by grinding up a consumed food. As foreign as it may seem to us humans, the gizzard is a favored delicacy to a dog.

The sixth ingredient is pumpkin seed. Pumpkin seeds are rich in fiber, vitamins, minerals and, more importantly, linoleic acid — an essential omega-6 fat.

The next several items includes a number of nutrient-rich fruits and vegetables

  • Organic cranberries
  • Organic spinach
  • Organic broccoli
  • Organic beets
  • Organic carrots
  • Organic squash
  • Organic apples
  • Organic blueberries

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With two notable exceptions

First, we note the inclusion of dried fermentation products in this recipe. Fermentation products are typically added to provide enzymes to aid the animal with digestion.

And lastly, this food also contains chelated minerals, minerals that have been chemically attached to protein. This makes them easier to absorb. Chelated minerals are usually found in better dog foods.

Stella and Chewy’s
Freeze Dried Raw Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Since this recipe contains a number of organic ingredients, we feel compelled to grant this line a more favorable status as we consider its final rating.

That’s because organic ingredients must comply with notably more stringent government standards — standards which significantly restrict the use of any synthetic pesticides, herbicides, insecticides, hormones or antibiotics.

With that in mind…

Judging by its ingredients alone, Stella and Chewy’s Freeze Dried Raw Dog Food looks like an above-average raw product.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 42%, a fat level of 30% and estimated carbohydrates of about 20%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 43% and a mean fat level of 32%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 17% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 73%.

Above-average protein. Above-average fat. And below-average carbs when compared to a typical raw dog food.

Free of any plant-based protein boosters, this looks like the profile of a freeze-dried raw dog food containing a significant amount of meat.

Bottom line?

Stella and Chewy’s Freeze Dried is a meat-based raw dog food using a significant amount of named meat and organs as its main sources of animal protein, thus earning the brand 5 stars.

Enthusiastically recommended.

Please note certain recipes are sometimes given a higher or lower rating based upon our estimate of their total meat content.

To read about another raw food from the same company be sure to see our review of Stella and Chewy’s Raw Frozen Dinners.

For more suggestions, be sure to visit the Advisor’s Recommended Raw Dog Foods summary page.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

The Dog Food Advisor does not test dog food products.

We rely almost entirely on the integrity of the information posted by each company on its website. As such, the accuracy of every review is directly dependent upon the quality of the test results from any specific batch of food a company chooses to publish.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, due to the biological uniqueness of every animal, none of our ratings are intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in a specific dietary response or health benefit for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

To learn how we support the cost of operating this website, please visit our public Disclosure and Disclaimer page.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Notes and Updates

06/15/2010 Original review
01/14/2011 Updated (chelated minerals)
10/19/2012 Review updated
11/02/2013 Review updated
12/30/2012 Rating adjusted to 4.5 stars due to modified protein, fat and carb guidelines for our raw dog food category
11/02/2013 Last Update

  1. Adapted by the Dog Food Advisor from the official definition for chicken published by the American Association of Feed Control Officials, 2008 Edition
  • Tim

    How does Stella & Chewy’s freeze dried food compare to Orijen’s freeze dried?

  • Kyle

    Hello,

    We feed one of our two shih tzus Ziwipeak air-dried dog food, and because he’s spoiled and occasionally refuses to eat Ziwipeak by itself, we also mix in Stella and Chewys freeze-dried. He loves this food, and he does very well on it, but I’m wondering if this food, because it has to be rehydrated, isn’t good for dogs prone to plaque and teeth discoloration. We got him as a rescue from a high kill shelter when he was one year old (he’s now four), and he came to us with stains on his teeth. Despite brushing them a few times a week, the stains never went away, and just this January, we decided to have his teeth cleaned at the vet. Due to the concerns of anesthesia, we’d like to never have him go under again, as it’s just too risky for us.

    Since then, I’ve made an effort to brush both our dogs’ teeth every night before bed with the CET antitartar toothpaste that has excellent reviews on Amazon and every other website where it’s sold. It’s been only two months since his cleaning, and even though I brush his teeth every night, some of his teeth are getting a slight brown to them. It looks like it’s only his bottom front teeth, but I don’t understand why this would happen considering I’m brushing his teeth every single night. Is it possible he is just prone to plaque buildup since he’s a smaller dog, or does the rehydrated Stella and Chewys exacerbate the issue? I’m also wondering if this light brownish coloring is even plaque at all, or is it possible it’s just staining? On a positive note, his gums have always been in excellent shape, nice and pink, and the majority of his teeth look great. I’m just trying to be proactive and see if there is something else I can do to help care for his teeth.

    We’ve tried raw meaty bones, but after our other shih tzu choked on a piece of a chicken back right in front of us despite our supervision (we were even holding the bone for him because we’re afraid he would just gobble the whole thing down if he could), we’re very hesitant to go back to raw bones. Luckily, the bone was only stuck for a few seconds before he swallowed it and stopped gasping for air, but that sight scared the heck out of us and we’d like for that to never happen again. We’ve also tried grass fed bully sticks, but now there’s reports online stating that these sticks could be contaminated with all kinds of bacteria and could actually do more harm than good.

    I apologize for the lengthy post, but as loving dog parents, our dogs are like our kids and we want to do everything we can to give them the best life possible. Any help is sincerely appreciated.

    Thank you

  • aimee

    Certain dogs/breeds are less fat tolerant than others. The site owner has calculated out the fat content for you on the dashboard as “calorie weighted basis”. For the variety evaluated at minimum 53% of the calories fed come from fat. This is higher than I feel comfortable feeding.

  • Christin Nowinski

    Thank you very much your explanation makes perfect sense. That is exactly what I had worked through in my mind. My dogs are not prone to pancreatitis though I would think any dog is, if fed a fatty meal over a long period of time. Most vets say that dog foods with high fat content more than 30% puts even a healthy pet at risk so I’m still stuck on wether or not to feed my dogs this food.

    I wish I knew how to evaluate the fat and caloric content to know if this food is safe. I’m not sure how many calories can be fed as fat for the average 30 pound Active adult dog.

  • aimee

    Hi Christin,

    Think of it this way. If you had a tablespoon of fat it is 100% fat. 1 tbls fat/ 1 tbls total x 100 = 100%. If you now added to it 1 tablespoon water you have 2 tablespoons fat/water mixture and on a percentage basis the fat content is 50%. 1 tbls fat/ 2 tbls total x 100 = 50% Adding water lowered the fat content on a percentage basis because you doubled the volume but it didn’t change how much fat you have.

    The best way to compare foods is on a caloric basis meaning of the calories fed what percent come from fat, protein and carbohydrate. It is immaterial how much water you add, the percent of calories being fed as fat remain the same. It is the percent of calories fed as fat that is important to monitor for a dog prone to pancreatitis.

  • Christin Nowinski

    My pups love this food but my vet tells me with the high fat content they are at risk of getting pancreatitis if used long term. Store owners that sell this food say the fat content is lowered if you add water to the freeze dried formula…I wish I knew of this were true or not….

  • Dori

    I have used the goat and presently have the rabbit in rotation. Glad to hear your dogs are doing well on it.

  • Shawna

    Hi Dori :)

    I actually added it last year too (around October I think). The pups really really like it and I like the small and easy to thaw/distribute size. I’ve used the goat and rabbit. Because they are so low fat I do add extra quality fats.

  • Dori

    Hi Shawna, I added OC Raw last year into rotation and the girls are doing really well on it. I know this is off topic but how are you liking it?

  • Shawna

    As BC stated, when judging the nutrient profiles of raw (or any wet food – canned, rehydrated etc) you have to first convert the numbers in wet to dry matter. Mike has done that for all the foods he reviews but Drs Foster and Smith discuss how to do it on their website — http://www.drsfostersmith.com/pic/article.cfm?aid=2690#answer_2

    Mike’s review of Darwin’s show it has a dry matter protein of 46% http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/dog-food-reviews/darwins-dog-food/

    OC Raw (which I started feeding earlier this year) has 68% on a dry matter basis http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/dog-food-reviews/oc-raw-dog-food/

    Bravo Balance (which I feed once in a while) has 62% protein http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/dog-food-reviews/bravo-balance-dog-food/

  • theBCnut

    If you scoop out 4 ounces of the dehydrated food, and feed it just like that, your dog will get about 2 ounces of protein. If you take that same 4 ounces of food and add 12 ounces o water to it, your dog will still get 2 ounces of protein. If you add 20 ounces of water, your dog will still get the EXACT same amount of protein and it’s body will have to digest the same amount of food. That’s why we talk about food on a dry matter basis. Water does not count.

  • Crazy4cats

    Don’t you mean “hydrate” it by adding water? OK, see if this helps….if I have an ounce of cubed chicken and I put it in an ounce of water, the protein level in the cubed chicken remains the same. It is just now spread over 2 ounces rather than 1. The nutrients and the protein remains the same, it is now just diluted. The water does not change the nutrients or the protein in the chicken. Does that help any?

  • theBCnut

    When we talk about nutrient levels, we typically convert to dry matter, since the amount of water in the food doesn’t count and changes between every brand. It makes it easier to compare apples to apples.

  • DogFoodie

    Right, because the majority of the moisture content has been removed, like theBCNut explained above.

  • Natalya Ignatyeva

    which raw food has that high protein? Raw meet is varies between 15-17% of protein

  • Natalya Ignatyeva

    If you read freeze dried bag of Stella and Chewy’s it clearly say that from 50% it drops to 17% after you dehydrate it .

  • aimee

    By caloric basis I meant the percent of calories that are fed as protein. You probably already know this but. I find I need to watch this with Brook to hit the target number of grams of protein I feed her. For example if I fed Answers pork the DM protein is 35% which looks “better” than her kibble protein DM of 27 % but she will take in more protein when fed 100 calories of kibble( 7.7 grms), than 100 calories of Answers(6.2 grams) due to the difference in fat content between the two.

    Dogs, when allowed to self select, will eat about 30% calories as protein which coincidently ( maybe not) is the caloric protein content in dog milk.

  • Dori

    Aimee,
    Yes, I mean on a dry matter basis.
    I don’t feed by caloric basis, I mentioned calories in my reply to the poster because I realize that’s how most people feed. I use a kitchen scale to feed all three dogs. At this point, depending what food I’m feeding, I can pretty much eye ball it. Depending on the time of the year whether it is too cold or too hot (I live in the South), more activity, less activity at any given time of the season, and weather, I feed them between 2.5 and 3 % of their body weight. Lola, my 5 lb. Yorkipoo usually eats closer to 3% of her body weight because her metabolism runs much higher than the other two. She’s always “on”. Loves to be on the go 24/7. She’s always been this way and will slim down a little too much if I feed her any less. Hannah and Katie are more like 2.5 %. I determine their individual amounts of food per meal as their body condition warrants. I’m not a big believer in weighing my dogs though I do have a scale at home. I feel my dog’s body and always have. I want to be able to feel their bodies on a daily basis and adjust their meals constantly. I’ve always done this with my dogs even before I started them on healthier diets approx. 3 years ago. If they feel like they’re a little heavier I adjust down (very rarely happens), too thin I feed a little more. All three tend to stay on the lean side. When I fed them kibble I had to watch their weight because they all tended to be a little on the heavier side of what I consider healthy and was constantly having to adjust the amount I fed. Their weight seems to stay somewhat constant since the switch to commercial raw, freeze dried and dehydrated. I honestly thought it would be the other way around when I first switched to raw due to the high fat. I was one that thought that fat would make them heavy and unhealthy. Their vets, that don’t particularly care for raw feeding, all say that though they don’t agree with what I feed my dogs they can’t argue with what they see and what their tests results are.

  • aimee

    Dori,

    When you say you feed 38-54% protein I assume you mean on a dry matter basis. What level do you look for on a caloric basis?

  • Shawna

    My toy and small breeds get a variety of raw with protein amounts ranging from 45 to 54 and are quite healthy on those amounts.

  • Shawna

    I agree with Dori and BC, this is not too much for toy breeds and toy breeds do not need a reduced protein diet unless medical conditions warrant (but that holds true for large breeds too). I have toy breeds and they get a variety of raw that ranges from 45 to 54%. My four pound Chihuahua just passed away of old age at 19 years of age. We adopted her when she was 9 and she was in poor shape — greying muzzle, cloudy eyes etc. Her color came back and her eyes cleared when changed to high protein raw.

    The reason I popped on though was to say watch the recommended amounts as they are nothing more than a recommendation and can get you in trouble. As an example — I have two Poms that are both five pounds and close in age. One eats only half the amount of the other or she starts to put on weight. Don’t go by the suggested amount but rather feed a high protein, moderate fat and carb diet and watch your pups body condition to determine what the appropriate amount to feed is. I use a small tea scale to weigh out my pups food to ensure they are getting proper amounts. I can also determine if someone is eating less or needing more which may indicate a potential health concern.

  • Dori

    If you’re toy breeds are getting fat, common sense would dictate that they are being fed too much food. Give them less food and they will slim down. Please also remember that protein and fat (quality fat that is) do not make dogs or people fat. Carbohydrates make us put on the pounds. Also you have to keep in mind when feeding a dog and determining how much food he should be eating per day, those calories need to be divided into two if you are, indeed, feeding twice a day. Very very important also which a lot of forget completely is that our dog’s daily intake of calories MUST include calories that they are getting from any and all treats. We usually forget about the calories in treats or we think, especially with toy dogs, that what can that little itty bitty piece of treat hurt. A lot given they are so small. I have three toy dogs. A Maltese, a Maltipoo and a Yorkipoo. I have been feeding my girls commercial raw diets for the last three years. I feed a high protein (38 – 54% sometimes even higher than that), moderate to high fat (quality companies with quality fat ingredients) and as low a carb food as I can find. I do also feed periodically, for convenience sake, freeze dried foods. My husband is the only on occasion feeder and he won’t take the time to feed anything the raws. Freeze dried to him is like a kibble. I also, from time to time feed THK Zeal formula. Zeal doesn’t include poultry or white potatoes which I do not feed. I don’t feed Stella & Chewy’s but that’s not to say it’s not a good food, I just don’t care for it for my dogs. By the way, protein levels in a food do not drop once they’ve been hydrated. As BC stated, that’s a very silly notion. To justly compare foods (wet and dry) they need to be converted to a dry matter. One last statement on my part, I would never ever feed my dogs a food that only contains 26 – 27% protein. Much too low a protein. Also when you consider a food saying it has 26 – 27% protein I would pretty much bet that those 26 – 27% are not going to be meat based. They will include proteins from what ever plant based ingredients that have included in that food. I don’t mean to sound preachy but when I hear of someone given such false information on protein, fats and carbohydrates it truly makes my blood boil. If I can be of any help, please post and I and others that have been feeding freeze dried, dehydrated and raw foods with the correct amount of percentages, we will be happy to try to assist. If any of your toy dogs is a senior citizen, it is even more crucial that they be fed a high protein food.

  • theBCnut

    Toy breeds can certainly have higher protein than that. The percentage may drop when you add water, but the dog is still eating the same amount of protein. It’s positively silly to compare dry to wet when talking about nutrient levels unless you convert it all to dry matter. The water level does not affect the amount of nutrition the dog is taking in.

  • Natalya Ignatyeva

    When you add water the protein level drops, you can see on package how much protein it is after dehydration. Toy breeds can have up to 26-27% of protein :)

  • Carol Loeb

    this is a fantastic food that is also on the protocol for yeast issues

  • Bobby dog

    I only use their Duck, Duck, Goose recipe for a topper and their pheasant for treats. They also have a FD treat that Bobby goes nuts for. I haven’t fed them in a while because I made a whole bunch of meatballs a few months ago.

  • Crazy4cats

    Thank you. Not sure if I ever will buy it. But, if I do, I think I will do he same. Happy New Year to you too!

  • Bobby dog

    I soak it before I feed it for the added benefit of more moisture. I prepare all FD the same way now, I crumble them up and add enough water to rehydrate. When I am ready to feed I add a little more water to mix it with the kibble. I would say it depends on how you like to prepare your dog’s food. Happy New Year!

  • Crazy4cats

    Hi-
    Happy New Year! I received a free sample of the S&C freeze dried and tried it out this morning. Each dog got a patty crumbled on their kibble and then I mixed it in with some warm water. It was a little strange for me as I’ve never tried freeze dried before. Should I have soaked it and rehydrated first? The instructions didn’t say to. They dogs didn’t care, they ate it right up.

  • Cassandra Thorson

    Have you tried giving it as a supliment to the dogfood? I take the wafers and divide it between my 4 doxies and sprinkle it over their dogfood.

  • Hater & Molly’s Mom

    Has anyone tried their meal mixers?

  • sharron

    according to opinions which is considered better – stella and chewy’s freeze dried or orijen freeze dried – thanks

  • theBCnut

    The recommendation is just a guideline based on the averages of several dogs, so not intended to be strictly followed for every dog. Just like people, some dogs have faster and some dogs have slower metabolisms. If your dog is fat, you are feeding it too much for it’s metabolism. Cut back on food and increase exercise.

  • Jessica

    Is Stella and Chewy’s too high in protein and fat for toy breeds? I’ve had my baby on it for a year now and he gained a few pounds. I don’t give him any more than is recommend on Stella and Chewy’s feeding guideline online. Is it possible that this food is just not suitable for toy breeds?

  • theBCnut

    Type 1 is what dogs get.

  • Zadok153 .

    Once you find the food that is BEST FOR HIM, his blood sugar will stabilize and his organs will heal….just like many human diabetics when they change their lifestyle. He was not diagnosed with genetic diabetes/juvenile diabetes……So give him what his body needs to HEAL ITSELF.

  • Nancy Calloway

    Shawna, thank you! 1st – I just want to make it clear that the GSD (Axel) is not the same as the 10 yr old Golden Retriever who has just had the UTI starting on our beach trip over July 4th. Axel is only 22 months and is back up in New Hampshire where he is undergoing training during the summer.
    Agree. I had identified the lentils and chick peas in Champion as the culprets. He had done well with TOW before that. Then the vet put him on the Hills Rx kibble – 1st ingredient corn I think – so at least I know he can eat corn – (not that he will be doing that!) And I have a list of all the TOW ingredients which he tolerated with no trouble. (I have been keeping an accounting). He’s okay with chicken so far as we can tell. Dr. Tim’s Pursuit kibble is chicken based. It is heartening to know that he was fine on the TOW, Fine on Persuit, FIne on Hill’s WD, and fine on Purina Pro Sensitive Stomach for 6 to 8 weeks before he moved to Dr Tims Persuit in June.
    When he returns in September He will have been on Persuit for 3 months. I can move him “down” to Dr Tims Kinesis which is an All Life Stages as he won’t be in training and probably won’t need the punch that Persuit offers which is good while in training. ( Can review that with the trainer). Dr. Tim told me either would be okay.
    I will print out your instructions and re read Dr Becker’s book and we should be good to go. When he returns and I know which food he’ll be on then I will find you again to review the amounts of food (due to protein/ fats/ carbs and the amount of raw chicken.
    Due to GSDs tendency to have sensitive stomachs the key will be to creep along and not get in any bit of a hurry.
    Hope you can get some rest now. Thank you again for that beautiful laid out plan. I feel SO much more confident about this! :)

  • Nancy Calloway

    Thank you. Helpful. I am not as knowledgable as you, so I have to rely on a “complete and balanced” preparation until I get him used to raw and deal with the expected initial diarrhea and OUR general adjustment. THEN I can venture off with more confidence – I hope. This helps to know though, because I will probl NEED to rely on some kibble to start with. I appreciate your addition.

  • Shawna

    I would bet that his reaction to Orijen/Acana was due to one particular ingredient in the food (possibly the lentils or legumes).

    Since you do want to be careful though, I would go very slowly and not introduce too many foods too fast. Example — give raw chicken as a topper for at least two weeks (it can take a bit for a reaction to cause symptoms). If he does well on the chicken then try ground beef as a topper for a couple weeks. Then maybe lamb or pork or whatever. This way you can rule out the proteins before you start adding pre-mixes.

    Then when you’ve identified proteins that work add one premix at a time and feed it for two weeks(ish). If there’s a reaction, document the ingredients and then try another. Document the ingredients in the new (whether it works or doesn’t) so you can compare it to the others tried. This way you can start eliminating ingredients that you know are okay. I hope I’m making sense. I’m in a bit of a hurry and a bit too tired today.. :)

  • Shawna

    Sounds good but do remember — you can also use incomplete raw as a “topper” (like the eggs you’ve already been giving) to the kibble as long as you keep it at about 20% of the diet. This can allow you to incorporate raw while still keeping the cost lower. Once you are adding more than 20% to the diet you can then transition over to the balanced. By then you may have a better understanding of how to do it, or have some recipes to use etc.

  • Nancy Calloway

    And I will have to HOPE and PRAY that he can tolerate the Pre Mix. That is “like” a dog food itself, right? This is a lot of transitioning for a dog who has a temperamental stomach — IF HE DOES. I think it is normal for a dog NOT to be able to eat Origen and Acana. Many have written that this is true for their dog. And there is NO question that his second bout with diarrhea was due to that Solesto collar. So there is a chance that his stomach is NOT as temperamental as I am thinking. I just cannot KNOW, so I must be careful so not to EVER have to give him that Hills Rx WD formula. That stuff is toxic.

  • Nancy Calloway

    Thank you Shawna. This is so much to learn and remember and I am feeling overwhelmed by it. With so many people doing raw it can’t be THAT hard. I suppose that like anything else new, it takes some getting used to. After I read that link you sent I thought OMG there is too much to remember here and if I forget it then I will screw up my dog while I am intending to HELP HIM BE HEALTHIER.
    I’m going to have to start slowly and ease myself and him into it.
    Wondering if Darwins is a good place to start, since theirs is complete and balanced. Then I can incorporate another complete/ balanced raw food and slowly get the hang of it. Does this make sense? I’m going to be worrying about him getting diarrhea in the beginning and should probl transition him even to Darwin’s very slowly using his Dr Tims Kibble simultaneously.
    Until I get him going it’s probably safer to stick to complete and balanced so that I don’t have to be concerned about that from the beginning. Does this sound like a reasonable approach? Would you suggest using PRIMAL or Answers along with the Darwins?
    Then at some point I could use a Pre Mix and provide fresh raw from wherever I discover I can get it fresh here (not frozen). And the Pre Mix then supplies those supplements, right?
    I’ve got to focus on getting him eased into raw before I start obsessing about whether he’s getting the right or enough supplements etc. How does this sound? Thank you.

  • Betsy Greer

    I frequently would feed one meal of kibble with a topper and one meal of raw. I did it just for convenience reasons though, not because I was concerned about balance, as I knew already were.

  • Nancy Calloway

    I’ve read a bunch and am still reading about raw. (Overwhelming) Honestly I’m getting weary because you really have to keep up with all the supplementation unless you feed something LIKE Darwins complete and balanced and like you said, add the sardines. I notice that some people give Darwins for one meal and a kibble with a canned meat topping (or a little raw?) with the second meal. I suppose with the kibble people feel that they are at least getting “complete and balanced ” then as well?

  • beaglemom

    Correct – it’s a fully balanced meal. I supplement with some fish oil or canned sardines for the omega-3’s but that’s about it.

  • Shawna

    There are two rules of thought with raw feeding. The one is “balance over time” using a WIDE variety of whole foods, whole prey and a little supplementation (maybe).

    In my opinion, it would take a well planned out, balance over time, diet to incorporate all known nutrients without at least some supplementation. Two examples — if not feeding the right fish OR eyes and brains of grass finished ruminants, the dog may have inadequate intake of omega 3’s. This could lead to a symptom of quicker aging cells — which isn’t going to be able to be readily identified by looking at the dog or looking at bloodwork. Could also lead to a sluggish brain which again might not be easy to pick up on. Wild canids would get sodium (and other nutrients) from the fresh blood of their kill and fiber from the small amount of fur. Store bought whole carcasses are going to be drained of blood and fur free.

    The school of thought that I follow is — the toxins and chemicals in our homes, water and food make our pets environment different enough from a wild canids that a little extra nutrition and thought into the diet isn’t such a bad thing. For that reason I would never feed a diet completely devoid of whole food supplements, as well as nutrient dense veggies and fruits.

    Look at some of the complete and balanced diets, that only use foods, to see what type of variety is actually involved in creating a balanced diet. Of course when home preparing you wouldn’t have to make EVERY meal balanced but you do have to create a balance over time. Some good data on balancing over time can be found on Mary Straus’ website. Here’s a quick blurb from the page “The wider the variety of healthy foods in appropriate proportions you feed, the less need for supplements there should be. Conversely, the more limited the diet you feed, the more supplements are needed.” http://dogaware.com/diet/homemade.html#supplements

  • Nancy Calloway

    I have a friend who has about 3 to 4 goats that she milks 2x a day and GIVES the fresh milk away. I should go get some, right? (I always was afraid to drink it myself — you never know) but SHE drinks it fresh and is always healthy. My point is that you JUST MIGHT FIND someone who has a couple of goats for the same reason. My friend’s goats put out so much milk she cannot keep up with it… and cannot SELL IT. She’s head of IT at our police dept so is way too busy to worry about going into business. Anyway, there might be someone like that not far from you.

  • Nancy Calloway

    So, with DARWINS you do get complete and balanced, right? Do you give additional anything? Thank you.

  • Nancy Calloway

    The reason I mentioned the $2.99/lb for the organic chicken at WFoods is that when our GSD returns from training I am going to move him to raw —- very slowly. He is 70 lbs so 1.5 to 2 lbs of raw per day is probl enough for him. I was glad to see that this was a 3 lb chicken or hen and that such would probl “cover ” him for two days. That was heartening that at least I can do the raw without breaking the bank. But what about the supplements etc? I’ve watched some videos on the net but I do not see them giving anything else but raw. Need to see more. And I noticed the thighs were not expensive either at WFoods. But now I am not trusting WFoods like I did. There is a class action suit against them which I read on Natural News website. They have discovered all these toxins and heavy metals in WFoods foods and say they have TOLD W Foods months ago and Nothing has been done… so they are filing a suit. I’m also looking for a local family farmer for chickens. Back to the question about raw. Thanks.

  • Nancy Calloway

    Hi Shawna… Question: Sunday I bought an organic chicken fr Whole Foods and noticed it is $2.99 a lb. Brought home for my husb and me to eat but gave the liver to my Golden Retriever who gobbled it on down. NP. (I wrapped her Cephalexin in the liver!) So then yesterday I bought some 92% antibiotic hormone free ground sirloin at the groc store for hamburgers and gave about a TBS to my golden again w the Ceph in it. She gobbled that and wanted more of the meat. I think this is a good sign so far as beginning to get her on true raw, but slowly. I’m talking around and someone has ref me to a butcher on the outskirts of town who I will go visit soon. I’m unclear though on HOW to monitor and be sure that what the dog eats is complete and balanced if you feed all raw. Or is that WHY one uses the pre mixes? Or is there something supplemental like vitamin pills that dogs can be given daily? Thank you.

  • Elle Varga

    My dogs are S&C’s advocates of Health!

  • Mary McCulley

    Nicole…same here, the dehydrated works better for us. Some people think you shouldn’t mix raw and kibble because the rates of digestion are supposed to differ. I don’t think using a small amt. of dehydrated raw is an issue at all. I now have another bag of S&C carnivore crunch (beef) and she’s been fine. Not sure if the duck was just too rich…but she’s had it before. Anyway, all back to normal for now!

  • Kevin Stockfish

    The classic proteins (chicken, beef, lamb, duck and surf & turf) of Stella & Chewy’s FD have 95% meat ingredients. Also they have about 4.6% fruits/vegetables and vitamins/minerals/probiotics make up only about 0.4% of the formulas. On the other hand, the exotic proteins (pheasant, rabbit, venison) have 90% meat ingredients, 5% olive oil as a healthy binder, about 4.6% fruits/vegetables and 0.4% vitamins/minerals/probiotics. Research is key in any decision in figuring out what the best option is for your pet(s). Just because it looks like there is an abundant amount of vitamins/minerals added due to the long list on the label, they only make up about 0.4% of the formulas.

  • Michelle Fichter

    Thanks :)

  • USA Dog Treats

    Thank you!

  • USA Dog Treats

    Hi Michelle

    Sorry to hear about your boy becoming diabetic!

    The first thing I would do is know what his blood sugars are at different times during the day. Test first thing in morning (fasting) before meals (pre-prandial) and 2 hours after meals (post-prandial). This will give you an idea of how he doing on his current regimen.

    Once you get into the habit of home testing his blood sugar you can decide to make a change in his food and or insulin regimen.

    Are you currently testing his blood sugars? How often and when? What are the results?

    What type of insulin (N, NPH, Lantus, etc) is he on.

    What time do you give it and how much do you give?

    Testing his blood sugar is the tool that will allow you to evaluate how your boy is doing no matter what food or insulin he is on. Without this knowledge it is near to impossible to evaluate how his diabetes is being controlled. Remember diabetes is manageable and you are one who will be managing your boy’s diabetes.

    BC nut is right. I subscribe to the Diabetic Dog Food thread on DFA so I get those posts in my email.

  • theBCnut

    If you post questions on the link I left, USA Dog Treats has experience with diabetes and will more likely see your post.

    http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/frequently-asked-questions/diabetic-dog-food/
    Don’t feel bad about feeding kibble, when every vet everywhere has been telling everybody that kibble is the thing to feed. You have to start somewhere, but at least now you are on the right road. S&C is definitely better than any kibble, but you don’t have to stick with only one flavor and I don’t recommend sticking with only one brand, but with diabetic dogs you do have to be more careful switching foods.

  • Michelle Fichter

    I am such a newbie when it comes to this raw/freeze dried food so please excuse my dumb questions.

    We have been feeding our miniature poodle kibble since he was a baby *hangs head in shame* and haven’t had any issues since. About 6 months ago our 8.5 year old got diagnosed with diabetes. So he was put on Hills Metabolic kibble to reduce his waist size (which has worked perfectly). He is a one dose of insulin a day dog and now more than ever we want to give him the best possible chance at a long and healthy life.

    We know that he will never be cured of his diabetes but if we can make things easier on his organs while digesting his food, give him more nutrients, energy ,and if there is a side benefit of soft/shiny coat and nice teeth then that’s what we want to do.

    What is everyone’s opinion on Stella and Chewy’s freeze dried Dandy Lamb? Should we be using the chicken instead?

    Any info I can get to discuss with my vet I’d appreciate. I want to be fully informed when I chat with him.

    Thanks

  • Nicole

    I should probably point out that while the dehydrated food hasn’t made her sick, she didnt do so well with the frozen medallions. :-/

  • Nicole

    Hi Mary,
    I also have been crumbling S&C dehydrated food (the dandy lamb dinner) in small amounts on my dog’s kibble. I haven’t had any problems so far, but I keep my dog on only two protein sources at a time…currently it’s salmon and lamb. I haven’t had any problems so far. You mention mixing raw and kibble…is this a bad thing to do? I use only 1/4 -1/2 a patty as a tasty topper to boost the nutrition a bit, but I obviously don’t want to make my pup sick. Any advice on that is appreciated. :)

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com/ Mike Sagman

    Test comment 2

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com/ Mike Sagman

    Test comment

  • Dave

    What you have them on is great. Also try Nature Variety dog food as well as Nutrisource dog food.

  • Deborah Therien

    Also, I won’t be using this brand of dog food, I don’t care how many stars on this site it gets.

  • Deborah Therien

    All the listed ingredients do not seem to be taken into account here. Potassium chloride is the ‘seventh’ ingredient, and sodium phosphate monobasic is the ‘twelfth’ ingredient. Why should these ingredients even be in the dog food, let alone in those prominent areas of listing??? Count them down and you’ll see what I’m talking about. Even the fermentation products on the list are lower down than these two as well as some of the fruits.

  • Mary McCulley

    I have a concern about Stella and Chewys right now. I don’t use it as a primary source to feed my dog…I give her Acana Kibble…but I sometimes sprinkle a little of the dehydrated patties or a couple of pieces of carnivore crunch over her kibble. She’s done fine with this until recently when I got some new CC (duck) that was in a different style bag. She had diarrhea after eating this. Took it away and it stopped, tried it again, and it happened again, so I know that’s the culprit. I have some older bags of the patties, have used them, and no problems. I read on their website they’ve changed their formula and have added some vitamins, minerals, and Taurine…which I’ve read can cause diarrhea if you get too much. Any thoughts on this…and anyone else having any issues with S&C?

    (should add: not interested in a discussion about mixing raw and kibble…it’s a very small amt and she’s had perfect stools up until this event). 😉

  • Sharon

    Shawna
    Would it help the ratio to add some fresh (cooked) meat to the patty?

  • Kathy15

    Sandy thank you so much. I ordered the weruva grandmas chicken soup, green eggs and chicken and also chicken and duck, she loves it. I would have rather feed raw but finally found something she likes that’s halfway decent. I also made some homemade beef stock to rehydrate the raw with and she will eat a little of the k9 chicken like that. Just received the k9 lamb green tripe formula today so I will try mixing some of that in too. Thanks for your help!

  • Kathy15

    I checked out the ziwipeak canned and it also has carrageenan.

  • Kathy15

    Thanks Nicole. She really doesn’t care for the stella and chewy. She will eat the ziwipeak (jerky style) in the evening.

  • Kathy15

    Thanks! I appreciate it!

  • Pattyvaughn

    As far as comparing foods, wet versus dry, wet foods have all different levels of moisture in them, so if you want a true picture of what you are really paying for, dry matter comparisons are the only way to go, and are what we are used to looking at, so we aren’t confused by them.

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    I’ve been using freeze dried/dehydrated The Honest Kitchen and Grandma Lucy’s Pureformance lately. These are not raw though but still less processed than kibble. And my 14 yr old loves it!

  • Shawna

    Hi drockasap,

    I’m actually not talking about the overall content of fat in the diet but rather the protein to fat ratio. A general rule of thumb, based on the ancestral diet, when evaluating any food (raw, freeze dried, kibble etc) is that the fat amount should not exceed about 50% of the protein amount. So if protein is 46% than fat should be no more than 23(ish)%. Most freeze dried foods far exceed the 50% guideline making the majority of calories in the diet from fat. This is appropriate for a sled dog but not for most house dogs.

  • drockasap

    Freeze dried is not high in fat. The numbers your are reading are based on dry matter analysis. When you add the proper amount of water back to the product/reconstitute , then the fat % dilutes down significantly. For example if the fat % reads 38% on a freeze dried product then its really about 12-13% fat when reconstituted. wet matter analysis is where its at! that’s the true number…but you have to make sure the water is added back or your relying on your dogs self regulating water intake to offset what’s missing from any dry matter diet.
    I hope this helps.

  • DEB

    Thank you again for your time Shawna. I will take your advice & try a variety of the options you suggested.

  • Nicole Elocin

    I just read some controversy on the HPP – High Pressure Processing of Stella-chewys since is freezed dried (ensuring it kills bacteria however some people question how much of the raw benefits have been altered). There is an entire thread about it – IDK how I feel about it. Unless you cook for your dog, seems its impossible to find a perfect dog food. I do incorporate dog friendly veggies and fruits but need to do it more often.

  • Nicole Elocin

    My little dogs love stella-chewys -raw-freeze dried and Ziwipeak (also has 5 stars). I switch it up for them (they don’t have sensitive stomachs). I buy both stella and ziwipeak from my local organic dog/boutique type of pet stores (never seen those brands sold at chain pet stores). My stores will order it for me since both of those brands fly off the shelf. I also integrate safe people foodc- veggies & fruits in their diets. There are some good dog holistic dogs books on amazon. Ziwipeak has a 5 star can food too . If you make your dogs food – I was told to make sure they get enough calcium in their diet.

  • Nicole Elocin

    My little dogs love stella-chewys -raw-freeze dried and Ziwipeak (also has 5 stars). I switch it up for them (they don’t have sensitive stomachs). I buy both stella and ziwipeak from my local organic dog/boutique type of pet stores (never seen those brands sold at chain pet stores). My stores will order it for me since both of those brands fly off the shelf.

  • Shawna

    No, no, not opposed to the idea of freeze dried at all!!! I just think it’s hard to find adequate variety when so many of the options are REALLY high in fat. With active dogs this is less of a concern but since senior dogs, as a general rule, need more protein than do younger dogs, a diet too high in fat could prevent them from meeting their desired protein needs. Could being the operative word….

    I’m not particularly fond of high pressure pasteurization either but that is hard to get away from even in commercial raw..

    I’m a raw feeder so I do, of course, think raw is “best” but certainly not the only good option.. :) You could, if you desire, use a variety of products and processes — freeze dried, dehydrated premixes with raw or lightly cooked meat, commercial raw, toppers on anything (eggs and sardines are generally good options). The options are endless…

    And no, I don’t think it is ever “too little, too late”!!!!!! :) Your girls are lucky to have you!!

  • DEB

    Thank you Shawna. So it kind of sounds like you’re not a big fan of freeze dried. Would I be better off ordering one of the frozen raw foods? It may be too little too late, but I’m just trying to keep my old girls as healthy as possible for as long as I can. I run them 3 miles about 3 times a week & they are the healthiest looking 13 yr olds I have seen & I’m a dog groomer!

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    Weruva Human Style (I haven’t looked at their other lines) is on my BPA free list and some of their recipes are carrageenan free too.

  • Kathy15

    Thank you so much for your reply. I am so sorry for your loss.
    She had blood work done at the end of Oct. and the holistic vet I took her to said that her levels were slightly elevated but nothing horrible. I have tried heating the darwins slightly on very low heat, even adding cooked ground turkey. I am going to try healthy dogma today with cubes of beef. It is cooked but I am running out of options. I will check out that facebook site. Thanks again

  • Kathy15

    Sorry hound dog mom, I have been reading so much lately having a hard time keeping it all straight. Do you have any suggestions on canned food without bpa and also carrageenan. Was going to try ziwipeak but they add it. Still having a rough time with the raw. I have since tried answers pork, no luck. OC raw fish flavor no luck. Bravo dehydrated chicken and beef, Stellas venison freeze dried, sojos chicken mixed with cooked chicken breast(this looked pretty good, she kind of picked it apart and ate most of the chicken) I have also tried mixing tripett canned with raw. I just noticed that it has garlic and also the carrageenan in it also. What is your take on garlic? I was adding garlic powder to the water that I was boiling the chicken in, and also sprinkled it on the raw. I didn’t know that it was questionable. Sorry about so many questions, just don’t know where to turn next.

  • Crazy4dogs

    Kathy15, we lost our old boy 80 lb lab/ridgeback mix last year @ 14.5 years old to degenerative myelopathy. He was always a picky eater, even though we fed grain free dry, canned & started him on raw. My choc & black labs adjust to my rotations very well but we had to transition him very carefully. When we first gave him raw (frozen) he would get up and walk away. I think it was just a matter of his being older and not used to it. I finally started cooking it and mixing a bit of cooked ground beef in it. He did eat it and I was able to slowly cook it less, but he only liked it when it was slightly cooked. I know that raw feeders might not agree to cooking but for me, it worked in getting him to eat raw. This might work for your dog. I do feed raw in rotation of 3-4 meals/week since I have big dogs & it’s a bit cost prohibitive for me to feed only raw. Also, a lot of times dogs won’t eat because of kidney failure. They build up a lot of acid and it takes their appetite away. In the final 6 months of my old boys life, his blood panels showed the beginnings of kidney failure. I asked my vet what she had for me besides K/D and she gave me some home cooked recipes. I also joined CRF Dogs on Facebook. They have a lot of information for dog owners in feeding healthy fresh meals for dogs that are in all stages of renal failure. They also include supplements and a lot of help. It helped us keep our dog going. I’m not sure if this would apply to your situation but I thought I saw you post that his kidneys aren’t in the best shape.

  • Shawna

    From what I’ve seen, the issue with freeze dried foods is that they are too high in fat. Fat should not exceed about 50% of the protein amount. So if, on a dry matter basis, protein is 42% than fat ideally should be about 21% (give or take a little each direction). However, since your dogs are active you can get by with a bit higher fat..

    Many of the freeze dried products are also still subjected to high pressure pasteurization. Is that an issue for you? If not, Primal has a freeze dried turkey and sardine that is high in protein 61% and moderate fat 26%. This could be fed with other higher fat products to lower the overall fat of the entire diet. http://www.primalpetfoods.com/product/detail/c/14/id/56

    Stella & Chewy’s chicken (also high pressure pasteurized) is another option at 42% protein and 25% fat. http://www.stellaandchewys.com/dog-driedchicken.php And their Duck Duck Goose might work too. http://www.stellaandchewys.com/dog-driedduck.php

    Nature’s Variety (also HPP) products are all a bit high but if combined with Primal Turkey could work as well. http://www.instinctpetfood.com/instinct-raw-freeze-dried-dogs-and-cats
    Those are the “freeze dried” options I am aware of. Maybe some others know of more.

  • DEB

    Anybody??

  • Pattyvaughn

    Oh well.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    I see it, but I have no idea what it’s about! lol.

  • Kathy15

    I hope so!

  • Pattyvaughn

    Maybe she will see this and know what it is all about.

  • Kathy15

    I cant remember the exact wording but it is a study that is done every other year on odd numbered years. It bugs me now that I can’t go back and find it. Mabey it wasn’t her that posted it.

  • Pattyvaughn

    You mean Hound Dog Mom, but I don’t even have a guess what “best dog foods on odd numbered years” is referring to.

  • Kathy15

    I was just reading a post by someone that listed the best dog foods on odd numbered years. Now I cant find it. Can anyone help? I believe it was the lady with the 3 bloodhounds?

  • DEB

    Looking to replace half my two old girls (13) diets with a freeze dried product. Will need to have it shipped as I’m in outback MT. What’s best protein to fat ratio?. My dogs are active. An Aussie & a Chessie. They are currently eating Wellness Core Dry & I add water & K9 Power ShowStopper supplement. Any help would be appreciated.

  • Kathy15

    Are any of these HPP?

  • Kathy15

    I haven’t tried raw or canned tripe but I did buy some of the Dr. Harvey’s power patties(dehydrated tripe). She seemed to like it, but today I gave her one and it layed there for an hour or 2 before she ate it. I will try to hydrate it and mix it with some of her food. Tried the darwins again tonight with some garlic powder and cheese on it, slightly warmed on the stove but no luck again.

  • Kathy15

    I don’t think I want to fast her. She’s 14(aprox) and I would feel terribly guilty. She was eating Merrick canned grammys pot pie and turducken. (when she felt like it).I was also giving her some blue kibble. Unfortunately she has always gotten some (not a lot) people food also. She had some intestinal inflammation and was put on steroids and antibiotics at the beginning of October. Of course on the steroids, her appetite was out of control. Now she is back to being really picky.

  • Kathy15

    I will try it!

  • beaglemom

    I also thought last night about how occasionally people suggest fasting the dog for a little bit (12-24 hrs) during the transition to raw – the hungrier the dog the more likely he/she is to try something new. I personally couldn’t do this because my dogs know how to push my buttons (ie. huuuge puppy eyes, lol) but figured I’d throw it out there…

    I’m also curious – what food DOES she like to eat?

  • Shawna

    Carb of a raw diet is usually around 25 to 30%. I like closer to 25 but wouldn’t rule out those with a little higher as long as the carbs are veggies and a small amount of fruits. Protein will likely range from 40(ish) to low 50’s depending on what meat is used etc.
    For a picky dog —– I’d personally try THOROUGHLY mixing some canned, or better yet raw, tripe with whatever raw you are trying to get her to eat. You can gradually lower the amount of tripe and see if she will accept the raw without it..

  • Pattyvaughn

    Some dogs really appreciate a sprinkling of parmesan cheese.

  • Kathy15

    Oh no problem. All of the info is a little bit overwhelming. I’m not sure what to try next. What is the ideal fat / protein / carb / ratio? I did boil some plain chicken with a little garlic powder and hydrated the stella beef patty with that and also put a little of the shredded chicken with it and she did eat it but she doesn’t seem crazy about it. I think she was actually just trying to get all the chicken. I guess she may adjust over time. I am going to try Darwins again because I still have quite a bit left. Mabey mix that with some shredded chicken? Any info / comments are appreciated!

  • Shawna

    Hi Kathy15,

    So sorry I missed your post yesterday… I am in the US so I am evaluating the freeze dried option.

    Crucifers are cruciferous vegetables such as broccoli, cauliflower, cabbage, kale etc. Raw crucifers can contribute to thyroid issues by blocking the uptake of iodine (which the thyroid absolutely needs for proper health).

    That said, raw crucifers are also known to prevent cancer.. So you definitely don’t want to cut them from the diet completely. So, to get the benefits for cancer without contributing to thyroid problems, eat/feed raw crucifers no more than 3 to 4 times per week. If one were to only feed this brand of food there is no way they could do that.

    The fat content of the chicken variety is just a teeny tiny bit high. Ideal is — fat should not exceed 50% of the protein. So if protein is 41.3 (as in the chicken variety), fat should be 20.65 (22 is close enough)…

    Hope that helps :).. Sorry, again, for the delayed response.

  • Sugar

    I just posted to you again, I guess you got it.

  • Sugar

    Kathy15 only the Beef and the Lamb are high on fat. The chicken is fine.
    That is why I recommended the chicken to you and nothing else. Because when you have an older dog you may want to watch the fat content, it depends.
    Shawna pointed out the beef and lamb only and perhaps should have mentioned the foods that are fine.

  • Sugar

    There are herbal tinctures you can give to her to support the kidneys.

  • beaglemom

    What I said applies to frozen raw — but you said you’d gotten the freeze-dried so don’t worry. :)

  • beaglemom

    I agree – it’s fine to feed dry but better to rehydrate — dogs need and benefit from the moisture in their diet. It’s not as big of an issue here as it is with say, kibble, but it’s still better for them to consume food with moisture whenever possible.

  • beaglemom

    Shawna (a regular here) is an expert on all things kidney so maybe she can weigh in here.

  • Kathy15

    Also with Darwins, I was worried about the sea salt. Her kidney function isn’t quite up to par.

  • Sugar

    it is better to hydrate them but it is also ok the companies say to feed them dry. The K 9 has blood in it and stronger taste.

  • Sugar

    Same here. Only the dehydrated Stellas they eat!

  • Kathy15

    Sorry I didn’t see your post until after I posted to Shawna.

  • Kathy15

    Gosh with that being said I’m almost scared to feed her the k9.

  • Kathy15

    This may sound stupid but I am new to all of this. What is crucifers? I ordered the chicken. What is your take on the fat content?