Simply Nourish Dog Food (Dry)

Share

Rating: ★★★★☆

Simply Nourish Dog Food receives the Advisor’s second-highest tier rating of 4 stars.

The Simply Nourish product line includes 15 dry dog foods.

Although each appears to be designed for a specific life stage, we were unable to find AAFCO nutritional profile recommendations for these dog foods on the product’s web page.

The following is a list of recipes available at the time of this review.

  • Simply Nourish Adult Chicken and Brown Rice
  • Simply Nourish Healthy Weight Adult (3.5 stars)
  • Simply Nourish Healthy Weight Large Breed Adult
  • Simply Nourish Healthy Weight Small Breed Adult
  • Simply Nourish Adult Limited Ingredient Lamb and Pea
  • Simply Nourish Puppy Chicken and Brown Rice (5 stars)
  • Simply Nourish Senior Chicken and Brown Rice (2.5 stars)
  • Simply Nourish Large Breed Adult Chicken and Brown Rice
  • Simply Nourish Small Breed Adult Chicken and Brown Rice
  • Simply Nourish Large Breed Puppy Chicken and Brown Rice
  • Simply Nourish Adult Limited Ingredient Sweet Potato and Salmon
  • Simply Nourish Senior Limited Ingredient Sweet Potato and Salmon
  • Simply Nourish Small Breed Puppy Chicken and Brown Rice (5 stars)
  • Simply Nourish Small Breed Senior Chicken and Brown Rice (3.5 stars)
  • Simply Nourish Puppy Limited Ingredient Sweet Potato and Salmon (5 stars)

Simply Nourish Small Breed Adult Chicken and Brown Rice was selected to represent the other products in the line for this review.

Simply Nourish Small Breed Adult Chicken and Brown Rice

Dry Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 29% | Fat = 18% | Carbs = 45%

Ingredients: Chicken, chicken meal (source of glucosamine and chondroitin), oatmeal, brown rice, canola oil (preserved with mixed tocopherols), tomato pomace, natural flavor, flaxseed, dried chicory root, dried carrots, dried spinach, dried sweet potatoes, dried pumpkin, dried blueberries, salt, vitamins (vitamin E supplement, l-ascorbyl-polyphosphate (source of ascorbic acid), niacin, d-calcium pantothenate, vitamin A supplement, riboflavin, pyridoxine hydrochloride, thiamine mononitrate, calcium iodate, folic acid, biotin, vitamin D supplement, vitamin B12 supplement), minerals (zinc sulfate, ferrous sulfate, copper sulfate, manganese sulfate, calcium carbonate, sodium selenite), potassium chloride, choline chloride

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 5.6%

Red items indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis26%16%NA
Dry Matter Basis29%18%45%
Calorie Weighted Basis25%37%39%
Protein = 25% | Fat = 37% | Carbs = 39%

The first ingredient in this dog food is chicken. Although it is a quality item, raw chicken contains about 80% water. After cooking, most of that moisture is lost, reducing the meat content to just a fraction of its original weight.

After processing, this item would probably account for a smaller part of the total content of the finished product.

The second ingredient is chicken meal. Chicken meal is considered a meat concentrate and contains nearly 300% more protein than fresh chicken.

The third ingredient is oatmeal, a whole-grain product made from coarsely ground oats. Oatmeal is naturally rich in B-vitamins, dietary fiber and can be (depending upon its level of purity) gluten-free.

The fourth ingredient is brown rice, a complex carbohydrate that (once cooked) can be fairly easy to digest. However, aside from its natural energy content, rice is of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

The fifth ingredient is canola oil. Unfortunately, canola can be a controversial item. That’s because it can sometimes (but not always) be derived from genetically modified rapeseed.

Yet others cite the fact canola oil can be a significant source of essential omega-3 fatty acids.

In any case, plant-based oils like canola are less biologically available to a dog than fish oil as a source of quality omega-3 fats.

The sixth ingredient is tomato pomace. Tomato pomace is a controversial ingredient, a by-product remaining after processing tomatoes into juice, soup and ketchup.

Many praise tomato pomace for its high fiber and nutrient content, while others scorn it as an inexpensive pet food filler.

Just the same, there’s probably not enough tomato pomace here to make much of a difference.

After the natural flavor, we find flaxseed, one of the best plant sources of healthy omega-3 fatty acids. Provided they’ve first been ground into a meal, flax seeds are also rich in soluble fiber.

However, flaxseed contains about 19% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With three notable exceptions

First, chicory root is rich in inulin, a starch-like compound made up of repeating units of carbohydrates and found in certain roots and tubers.

Not only is inulin a natural source of soluble dietary fiber, it’s also a prebiotic used to promote the growth of healthy bacteria in a dog’s digestive tract.

Next, we find no mention of probiotics, friendly bacteria applied to the surface of the kibble after processing to help with digestion.

And lastly, the minerals listed here do not appear to be chelated. And that can make them more difficult to absorb. Non-chelated minerals are usually associated with lower quality dog foods.

Simply Nourish Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Judging by its ingredients alone, Simply Nourish Dog Food looks like an above-average dry product.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 29%, a fat level of 18% and estimated carbohydrates of about 45%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 28% and a mean fat level of 14%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 50% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 51%.

Near-average protein. Below-average fat. And near-average carbs when compared to a typical dry dog food.

Even when you consider the protein-boosting effect of the flaxseed, this looks like the profile of a kibble containing a moderate amount of meat.

Bottom line?

Simply Nourish is a plant-based dry dog food using a moderate amount of poultry, fish or lamb as its main sources of animal protein, thus earning the brand 4 stars.

Highly recommended.

Please note certain recipes are sometimes given a higher or lower rating based upon our estimate of their total meat content and (when appropriate) their fat-to-protein ratios.

Simply Nourish Dog Food
Recall History

The following list (if present) includes all dog food recalls since 2009 directly related to this product line. If there are no recalls listed in this section, we have not yet reported any events.

You can view a complete list of all dog food recalls sorted by date. Or view the same list sorted alphabetically by brand.

To learn why our ratings have nothing to do with a product’s recall history, please visit our Dog Food Recalls FAQ page.

Get free dog food recall alerts sent to you by email. Subscribe to The Advisor’s recall notification list.

Dog Food Coupons
and Discounts

Readers are invited to check for coupons and discounts shared by others in our Dog Food Coupons Forum.

Or click the buying tip below. Please be advised we receive a fee for referrals made to the following online store.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

The Dog Food Advisor does not test dog food products.

We rely almost entirely on the integrity of the information posted by each company on its website. As such, the accuracy of every review is directly dependent upon the quality of the test results from any specific batch of food a company chooses to publish.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, due to the biological uniqueness of every animal, none of our ratings are intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in a specific dietary response or health benefit for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

However, we do receive a fee from Chewy.com for each purchase made as a direct result of a referral from our website. This fee is a fixed dollar amount and has nothing to do with the size of an order or the brand selected for purchase.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Notes and Updates

01/21/2016 Last Update

  • theBCnut

    You may want to do a search for “How we rate dog food” so you understand the rating system. The system is good only because the people get on her and tell each other what the real problems are with each food. There is no system that is perfect, since as you saw with this food, quality can change on very short notice.

  • theBCnut

    SN is well known for having grain moth larva in their food, which look like fly maggots but are not. Kibble is not very likely to have fly maggots alive in the bag because flies prefer to lay their eggs in wet stuff. However, due to the horrible conditions that many foods are made under, it wouldn’t surprise me in the least to find out that a kibble had fly DNA inside the kibble.

  • Alfie Leetz

    When I bought SN I wasn’t aware that it was one of PetSmart’s own products and it wasn’t suggested by anyone. After that fiasco I did some research and found any dry food containing high meat content has a much greater percentage of having maggots. Dog food processing leaves a lot to be desired.
    I agree about this website. I’ve found several things that don’t make sense or I question their judgment on.

  • Rich

    Hi, Alfie,
    Thanks for replying to me. I agree. The manufacturer does share in the blame, yet, the onus is on Pet Smart to provide quality control of their own product & make sure they aren’t selling a substandard product.

    I switched overr to it because the SN representative was stocking the shelves with it and he lauded the quality.

    On that note. Have you noticed the people running this website don’t seem to rate accordingly the dog foods that all us consumers are complaining about? Certain dog foods like this one (and others that actually have been recalled) still get 4 stars or higher. It seems the editors don’t read our comments on their own site lol.

  • Alfie Leetz

    The blame needs to be put on the manufacturer, not PetsMart, because this food was processed/handled with unsanitary conditions. As someone previously posted, most likely these were larval form of grain moths sealed in the bag as eggs with the food when it was made.

  • Rich

    Just bought SN a week ago and they are STILL selling infested food. Pet Smart has known about this and doesn’t care. Ergo, they would not be selling MAGGOT infested food for well over 7 months straight!

    Looks like someone is losing my business for good. Pity that Pet Smart has the monopoly on dog food in my area.

  • Rich

    I purchased Simply Nourish a few weeks ago and it was infested with flying bugs and maggots also. Since I was unsure if a bug got into the container that I keep the food in (plastic with rubber seals) I dumped the food out and went back and purchased another bag of the same. It had maggots ALSO!
    I dumped all the food out and noticed the food in my dogs bowl had a maggot in it also and who knows if my dog now has worms or some other parasite.
    I scrubbed down all my dog bowls and storage container and filled it with some Blue Buffalo brand and have been watching it close. So far no maggots or bugs.
    We all know the FDA doesn’t regulate dog food, but, a large bag of dog food SWARMING with maggots and flying bugs is unacceptable.

    Am I going to have to start bring a knife to Pet Smart with me and cut EVERY bag open before I buy it?

  • TMAC

    I buy this dry food. Live in Arizona. Never had any pest issues at all. Been using the food for about 3 months for my 3 retired racing greyhounds. Greyhounds have very finicky digestive tracts. Some evenings its unpleasant to have them in the room with you. If you catch my drift. And cleaning up the yard can be a challenge.

    But since switching to the Simply Nourish, both of those issues have vanished. Their stomachs have zero issues with this food.

  • Cristina

    I purchase SN for my 3 month lab mix. At first she got a bad diarrhea I called the vet and she recommended meds for it, now she gots running nose and her stool is getting soft and she’s using the bathroom more now. I thought these was a good quality food but is not.

  • Nitaya

    My last purchase of dry food was infested with maggots, went back to return it couldn’t find a bag without bugs. Please be careful when purchasing. I am very disappointed & now panic mode cause I dont know if my boy’s gonna be sick.

  • Rebecca

    I have a lab mix and just switched her to simply nourish wet food and she is having bloody runny stools now and she is not normally sensitive to changes in food or people food. I did a lot of research on simply nourish before switching her to it and read that they had rated it 4.5 stars but I am not pleased at all with the results especially after paying $2 a can

  • Ezmatic

    Same thing happened to me with their Senior dry bag. Brought it home, opened it and there was webs and definitely dead stuff infested inside. Brought it back and immediately searched the web based on my discovery. Seems pretty common with this company. There should be some time of investigation as to why this is more common with their brands. I had only been feeding her this food for a few months off of Blue because I was finding the high protein in Blue was too much for her. This was my first experience with buying a big bag of it, until then I was getting small bags at a time so maybe those are fresher or bagged more often? She is a picky very eater and seemed to like this brand, but probably the same way kids like hot dogs. I won’t be feeding her this anymore, and I do caution other buyers of this brand.

  • Pitlove

    No one insulted your intelligence. It is ok to be wrong every once in a while. Does not mean you are not intelligent.

    Higher quality control compared to China…….

  • SavageBlows

    Please…don’t insult my intelligence! I know the difference. Higher quality as compared to who? No, I’ve done my research on all Asian countries and their standards for quality and control are 3rd worldish. Why would I want to risk the health of my dogs just to save a few dollars when I can guarantee better quality from Made in the USA products? My suggestion: stop buying from any and all Asian countries. Not worth the risk!

  • Pitlove

    Thailand is not to be confused or associated with China. They have much higher quality control practices and standards.

  • SavageBlows

    Called the Petsmart Customer Service #(1-888-299-PETS) after I purchased 10 cans of adult Simply Nourish Source. Found out that the adult can food originates from Thailand. The dry food may be from China, but Thailand is just as bad (actually ALL Asian countries can’t be trusted…their sub-standard quality control is notorious and well documented). I’ll be returning all 10 cans today. I’ll never feed my dogs food made from ANY and ALL Asian countries…period!

  • kitty24

    you know what i mean you jerk!

  • kitty24

    your a jerk! and i hope you get whats coming to you and it comes like a hard slap in the face!

  • LabsRawesome

    You can return the SN for a refund. There could be something
    wrong with the bag you got, then again it could be totally fine.
    Sometimes dogs don’t just don’t do well on some foods.
    I have 3 dogs, and I’ve bought foods before that 2 did great on
    while the 3rd one got diarrhea and vomiting.

  • Katie McGee

    I started my beagle pup on authority grain free and he was doing great I bought a bag of simply nourish puppy food and tried to switch him slowly. He started getting sick a lot had the runs it smelled very foul started to have blood but he was acting completely normal. It didn’t sit right with me and I started to worry so I took a stool sample to the vet and they said he had a bad bacteria in his gut from eating something spoiled but I always go out with him and never noticed him eating anything he shoukd other than cat poo he found but I stopped him. After reading these reviews however I’m starting to think it’s this dog food bc anytimenhe eats authority he was fine but anytime he ate sn he had loose stools they put him on antibiotics and probiotics and I went back to authority and yes doing much better now. But what do I do with this info call them get a refund notify them they are selling spoiled dog food although the date was in date and the bag sealed??

  • Caria

    Worms require 2 doses of med. Some vets don’t know that,

  • Caria

    An open bag of Pet Food exposed to air after 24 hrs. and improperly stored grain ingredients probably have Aspergillus toxic mold which can kill a dog. Throw it out. http://www.petmd.com/dog/conditions/infectious-parasitic/c_dg_mycotoxicosis

  • Caria

    This Petsmart house brand is MADE IN CHINA!

  • Alfie Leetz

    You have no clue what you’re talking about. These were brand new, fresh bags, just placed on the shelf the day before, per the store employee. That means they were sealed in the bag when it was made, which is what theBCnut said and that makes a whole lot more sense. Also, if you’re going to post “information”, you should check your grammar and spelling so you don’t sound like an idiot.

  • LabsRawesome

    My car likes human food more than cat food. πŸ™‚

  • Amateria

    Let’s just copy and paste this spelling disaster everywhere because why not…

  • Amateria

    It also appears that no one can spell beneful that my iPad was just about to auto correct to “be evil” haha man iPad you be awesome!

  • Amateria

    Apparently you can change your “cars” food :p

  • InkedMarie

    LOL….you are really making people want to shop at Pet Smart now.

  • InkedMarie

    ROFL down below you said “,,,,And we have proven this food to be the best…” now you say “it’s not the best”.

    My dogs would eat anything I put in their bowls so your dog eating this food really doesn’t mean anything. Since you work at PetSmart, I’m guessing, probanly correctly too, that you have tried mainly foods that are sold there. Unfortunately they don’t sell the highest quality foods.

  • kitty24

    That is from the store not the food! That just means not a lot of people were buying the bag and they don’t clean the store offten so the bugs got to it. Seen it before with benafull which is a horable dog food anyway but still it came from the clenleness of the store. Not the food! The worm like things are nannies who chew there way into the bag and they got into the food.

  • kitty24

    Call or make a complant to the manufacturer! That’s not good!

  • kitty24

    No! It’s a really good brand and they don’t know what there talking about… I do I have dealt with is first hand! It’s because the store was not clean and the bugs got into it when it was at the store! Not the manufacturer.

  • kitty24

    No it’s because the store that sold the bag had the as moth things and they laid eggs and then the babbies are there way into the bag. The store didn’t clean up well that’s why it’s not the manufacture.

  • kitty24

    That is from the store not the food! That just means not a lot of people were buying the bag and they don’t clean the store offten so the bugs got to it… Seen it before with benafull which is a horable dog food anyway but still it came from the clenleness of the store. Not the food! The worm like things are there way into the bag if they got into the food.

  • kitty24

    That is from the store not the food! That just means not a lot of people were buying the bag and they don’t clean the store offten so the bugs got to it… Seen it before with benafull which is a horable dog food anyway but still it came from the clenleness of the store. Not the food! The worm like things are there way into the bag if they got into the food…

  • kitty24

    Sn is the best and y’all are very rude to say how “bad” it is! I will tell you from the get go no it’s not the best but my animals will always eat it became I say it is the best seeing its the only dog food that can make a table food eating animal go to a pet food eating animal… Can them name brands do that… No.
    10 stars!

  • kitty24

    I work at Petsmart the retailer who sales it… And we have proven this food to be the best… We used to to change one of our cars from human food to cat food.

  • Nancy2160

    I adopted a 8 month old puppy and after researching brands, I decided to try out simply nourish, sweet potato and salmon diet. This poor baby was malnourished and you could see all his ribs! He took to this food right away and steadily put on weight. I’m extremely happy with this diet. My pup has done so well on it.

  • Carolyn R.

    Hi Sherry, I feel the same as you do…my doggie has been eating SN for months but now I’m leery about it because of the bad reports I’ve read, but mostly I’m leery because it’s a Petsmart brand! Now, I really don’t think it’s of the highest quality…When I first went into Petsmart shopping for a high quality, nutrient rich dog food, the girl in the store quickly recommended SN!! She talked as if it was the best ever, even said she did her research and it was rated “THE BEST!”…and I fell for it! I really don’t think it’s the best! When my dog goes poop, (small breed} he poops like a horse!..my vet said when a dog has a large volume of poop, the body is not absorbing most of the nutrients into the bloodstream ..which means the food is NOT nutrient rich! Same with Rachel Ray’s dog food…low quality that is not nutrient rich..that’s when I first found out about how the more nutrient rich the food is, the more the food is absorbed into the body/blood stream rather than pooped out in large amounts! Thanks Godeway, I’m definitely switching from Simply Nourish!!! I had no idea SN was a Petsmart brand until I read your comment..Thanks for the tip!

  • Carolyn R.

    Hi Sherry, I feel the same as you do…my doggie has been eating SN for months but now I’m leery about it because of the bad reports I’ve read, but mostly I’m leery because it’s a Petsmart brand! Now, I really don’t think it’s of the highest quality…When I first went into Petsmart shopping for a high quality, nutrient rich dog food, the girl in the store quickly recommended SN!! She talked as if it was the best ever, even said she did her research and it was rated “THE BEST!”…and I fell for it! I really don’t think it’s the best! When my dog goes poop, (small breed} he poops like a horse!..my vet said when a dog has a large volume of poop, the body is not absorbing most of the nutrients into the bloodstream ..which means the food is NOT nutrient rich! Same with Rachel Ray’s dog food…low quality that is not nutrient rich..that’s when I first found out about how the more nutrient rich the food is, the more the food is absorbed into the body/blood stream rather than pooped out in large amounts! Thanks Godeway, I’m definitely switching from Simply Nourish!!! I had no idea SN was a Petsmart brand until I read your comment..Thanks for the tip!

  • LabsRawesome

    It says Trinity Hunt is partnering with, and investing in Mid America, not that they bought them out. Or am I reading it wrong?
    The Victor website still lists Mid America too.
    Either way, they still make excellent foods, that my 3 love. πŸ™‚

  • Crazy4cats

    Looks like Victor has joined the club of the disappearing family owned businesses.

    http://www.trinityhunt.com/index.php/news/news_item/trinity-hunt-partners-announces-acquisition-of-mid-america-pet-food

    I still think it’s a great food and have no problem feeding it to my pups.

  • InkedMarie

    I don’t think the protein level has anything to do with ear infections. What foods have you fed (brand name & what flavor) and the same with treats. It may be something in the food that is causing the infections and it could be environmental.

  • LabsRawesome

    Check out Victor dog food. It’s rated 5 stars on this site.
    My 3 do great on it.
    http://www.victordogfood.com

  • airforce wife

    I own two golden retrievers with constant ear infections. My “temporary” vet (regular out sick), said she thought it was food allergies, and said to try Simply Nurish because of the high protein. However reading the comments about it I am repulsed! Can anyone recommend a high protein dry dog food that is made in the USA?

  • Phyllis Carr Mason

    I buy the grain free Chicken and Brown Rice for my dachshunds. They love it and have had no stomach upsets with it. I have purchased several other well advertised expensive brands but I have to say I am sticking with this one until I have a reason to change it for them. I am sold on the grain free diet for my dogs.

  • Phyllis Carr Mason

    I have dachshunds and they can’t eat the salmon. They have done wonderful with the grain free Chicken and Brown Rice. No issues at all.

  • Guest

    I have also purchased this food, only to find cobwebs and inactive larvae inside near the top of the bag (this was a few months ago). I wasn’t sure what they were at first, but when I squeezed one and cream-colored runny-stuff came out, I was disgusted. Needless to say I returned it. I looked at this food within the past 2 weeks in Petsmart and saw that the same cobwebs & a couple small bug-egg things were on the outside of the bag, so I can only imagine what’s inside it. Gross.

  • theBCnut

    If there are no really small holes in the bag around the seams, it likely means that their food was sitting around in open bins for a while before being bagged up, which is considered to be an unsanitary condition. I wouldn’t buy it either and I would take it back and complain.

  • Alfie Leetz

    That tells me their manufacturing conditions are less than desirable and I won’t try buying this brand again.

  • theBCnut

    They are likely the larval form of grain moths and were actually sealed in the bag as eggs with the food when it was made.

  • Alfie Leetz

    I just purchased a bag of SN Adult Small Breed Healthy Weight, brought it home and opened it to find it full of maggots. The bag was completely sealed and in excellent condition. How could this happen? Disgusting!!

  • Patricia Emmerson

    I too purchased a case of SN dog food that was suppose to have 13.02 oz. in each can.. As I used it, I noticed that it did not go as far as I expected, because I weigh and measure my Yorkies daily ration and could not get the feedings that I should have. I finally weighed a can that said it had 13.02 oz. but it really only weighed 10 oz. I called the 800 # on the can and Pet Smart answered. I did the usual complaining and took them the light weight can to prove my point. I lodged a formal written complaint and I never heard back from the 800 #. Pet smart did offer me a replacement or a refund but, since I was buying this SN by the case, I did not want to take the chance of getting short changed again. I’M now trying to find a company I can trust and also be in my budget. I am seriously thinking of home prepared meals at this point. Good luck, everyone. It is truly , buyers beware!!!!

  • Marian Ullrich Blumenberg

    Craz4cats thank you I will. It has been hookworm right now.it was

  • Crazy4cats

    Hi Marian-
    Make sure you bring in a stool sample when you return to the vet. She might need another round of dewormer. If it was giardia that she had, the symptoms can be intermittent and tough to get rid of at times. I hope you get it figured out. I know it’s frustrating!

  • Marian Ullrich Blumenberg

    My puppy is 11months old we have been feeding her SN dry salmon and sweet potato since she was 9 weeks old. She loves it! But when she was about 5 months she started getting sick. GI problems diarrhea running fevers lethargic. We thought she was getting into something in the yard. We took her to the vet and she had parasites in her. We do the GI diet and she’d be fine and go back on SN. Now it happens every month! She went back on SN and is lethargic and having diarrhea again! We wanted to put her Blue but the Petsmart manager recommended SN highly! Well she’s back to GI diet today and I will call the vet tomorrow.

  • theBCnut

    I would expect it to be bone. But it could be stems.

  • Grace Velez

    Yes, they’re dry. It seems something like a mini toothpick.

  • theBCnut

    Are they hard like bone? Or dry and shatterable like plant material?

  • Grace Velez

    I have being feeding my maltese puppy with SN chicken and brown rice for the past 8 months. In the last bag I noticed a lot of ‘spiky things’ in the food. Is it normal? What is it?

  • Danika Bryan

    Both my Minature Schnauzers eat this food and honestly I did notice the old cans of wet food were made in Thailand but the new cans are made in Arizona. I do not ever see bugs or any issues. I check my dogs food every day no problems. I will continue to purchase.

  • Jim Deis

    check for GI bleeding

  • Pitlove

    Very possible that Texas uses a different production plant than NC for Simply Nourish. I’d call and find out if its two different plants producing the food. This is common with a lot of foods.

  • Danielle

    Absolutely repulsive! I have purchased this food in NC for about 6 months and never NOTICED any problems. I know reside in Texas, I purchased Simply Nourish source duck and chicken june of 2015 to find maggots and cobwebs inside the sealed bag. I reported it, returned it and was sent to another location to pick up food where i was able to open the bag before purchase. I was satisfied, as my dog has only ever been on this food. Now 3 months later i return to buy a small bag of the adult food (since my dog was transitioning to adult food). My dog acted sick all week i thought perhaps it was the change in diet. Until today OCT. 14TH 2015 i returned to that store to purchase food and all over the shelves and simply nourish were maggots!!!!

  • Danielle

    I’m disgusted with this product. I have bought it for almost a year. We lived in nc with zero issues. Now we live in Texas. I purchased a bag of duck and chicken puppy food and found it to have maggots in the sealed bag. I then filed a complaint with corporate and brought the bag back to the store. Right on the shelf under all the other bags maggots consumed the shelf. Its now been 3 months I went back to that same petsmart and purchased a small bag of adult chicken and duck and once again maggots. I will file every claim i can against
    this company!!!

  • Pitlove

    very weird. my pit ate EVO and he’s not very active besides walks and his stool was fine. I wonder why that’s happening for your pits.

  • Peter Sisco

    No when they are not as active and eating evo their stool gets like that its greasy petroleum road looking lol

  • Pitlove

    If the dog is healthy high protein will not make them sick

  • Pitlove

    So is that when they are eating the Taste of the Wild?

  • Peter Sisco

    Yeah i dont know i just dont want to find out if it does make them sick

  • Peter Sisco

    When they are not training hard their poop gets really dark and slimmy it kinda looks like that sticky petroleum they use for the roads

  • Pitlove

    Beautiful dog. Sorry, I’m not understanding what you first said. Their poop is weird if they eat EVO other than when they are training and they can get sick from high protein? Not sure thats what you’re trying to say, just a guess.

    EVO is expensive I do understand that and its not bad to give them a variety of foods. I certainly understanding wanting to give them time to rest. I’m sure it helps make sure they don’t tear muscles because they do weight pulling.

  • Peter Sisco

    yeah but when I’m not into their poop is weird and I heard they can get sick because of that soo I train them every two months so in does months I feed them evo the rest of the time I feed them taste of the wild. They love it. btw the reason I do trainings of every two months is because I cant afford evo that much to feed them that all the time lol plus gives them time to rest.

  • Pitlove

    I know they are a working breed, was just curious as to what you trained them for. I considered doing agility for mine as I think it gives them a really good mental challenge.

    Also EVO is an excellent food and healthy dogs benefit from high protein diets all throughout their life. It keeps them at ideal weight and keeps them healthy.

  • Peter Sisco

    They are a working breed i train them for agility weight pulling and spring pole evo has a really high protein percentage.. They eat that when they really need it.

  • Pitlove

    Hi- Why would you only feed your pitbulls EVO when I’m training? Also what do they train for?

    My picky pitbull loves Fromm.

  • Peter Sisco

    Feed your dog sonething better, all you who say thats the only food your pups eat. Stop lying you have not tried every dog food out there. Trust me I have some picky pitbulls. Get something good that you actually can trust. Blue Buffalo is not the only holistic dog food in the market. Theres Taste of The Wild, Acana, Origen expensive best one in the market. There is also Evo my dogs love that one but its good when they are in training right now they are not. My point is dont just settle for simply nourish just because your dogs eats it. Buy food that you can contact the manufacturers if any issues where to happen. Dont buy purina please!!

  • Peter Sisco

    I cant see myself buying dog food that doesnt even have formal website with proper contact information or information about who they are what do they strive for, what are their goals. Simply Nourish could be a good dog food but how am i supposed to know if they are legit. Just because they are sold in petsmart it doesnt mean is good, i mean they sell purina products. That being said i wouldnt trust that company.

  • Mrs.Candfamily

    Mary,

    I had spoke with spoke Tracy several months ago at American Nutrition Inc. She said
    Simply Nourish is manufactured by them at a few of their facilities.

    The lamb and oatmeal “DRY FOOD” is made at their Ogden Utah plant. She had
    me look at the back of my bag to locate a code next to the best if used
    by date. A, stood for the Ogden Utah plant.

    I asked if any of the ingredients came from China, she mentioned that they did not.
    Some ingredients come from New Zealand such as lamb.

    She said they test batches for salmonella by putting the batch on a 3 day hold and send samples to an independent lab.

    Pet food she mentioned has the same labeling as human grade food. If
    any ingredient is from another country they cannot put on the bag made
    in the USA, even though the food is actually manufactured in the USA.

    In speaking with Tracy it was apparent that she is a very knowledgeable
    and friendly lady whom cares about a consumer when they call her
    regarding the Simply Nourish “DRY DOG FOOD”.

    Tracy’s contact Phone
    # is: 1-800-257-4530 extension #1350 in consumer affairs. She
    mentioned if there were any more questions or concerns that I had to
    feel free to contact her.

    The Simply Nourish “CANNED” food said made in Thailand the last time I looked at a can of it in the Petsmart store.

    Hopefully this info. and the above phone number will be helpful to you.

  • Mary Gatison

    I have been looking for a number to call we switched to this recently for our three dogs and for the past week they have been having gastric upset, I had not realized it was from China, and half way through the large bag I found what resembles a bug pod?? maybe larve Im unsure, I am extremely disappointed I was unaware that it was from China and Cannot find a Number to call to complain. I am so glad I saw your comment today. I m reaally upset with Petsmart too,

  • Kelly

    I recently tried this food for our 16lb mix breed. I read the reviews and it came highly recommended by PetSmart staff. My dog seemed to like it. A week or two later our dog developed a huge boil on her neck. I have read that some dry foods can cause dogs to develop boils. I have NO IDEA if this is connected, but I think I wills switch to be safe. I think it is the oils in the food but I am not sure. Anyway, going to look into some local brands that were giving out samples at an event. The quest continues.

  • Katherin Km

    my dogs switched from natures recipe too they love it they still eat the natures recipe soft food topped onto the simply nourish dry food they love it

  • Katherin Km

    i just switched both my puppies over to this after trying a few 5 star rated small breed puppy foods and the switch was really easy they love it .i have picky eaters and the day i walked in i put the bag of food down to greet them and they forgot about me and sniffed the bag i havent seen bugs . for freshness i pour the food into a sealed container and take the servings from there it has 5 stars, my puppies seem to be happy with it so i am too πŸ™‚

  • godewey

    American Nutrition also has had recalls and was under investigation a few years back for tampering with the food. Blue Buffalo used to use them but no longer does. A lot of everybody
    blaming everybody else. Either way not something I am willing to feed my dog.

  • Mrs.Candfamily

    I had spoke with spoke Tracy at American Nutrition Inc. She said
    Simply Nourish is manufactured by them at a few of their facilities.

    The lamb and oatmeal “DRY FOOD” is made at their Ogden Utah plant. She had
    me look at the back of my bag to locate a code next to the best if used
    by date. A, stood for the Ogden Utah plant.

    I asked if any of the ingredients came from China, she mentioned that they did not.
    Some ingredients come from New Zealand such as lamb.

    She said they test batches for salmonella by putting the batch on a 3 day hold and send samples to an independent lab.

    Pet food she mentioned has the same labeling as human grade food. If any ingredient is from another country they cannot put on the bag made in the USA, even though the food is actually manufactured in the USA.

    In speaking with Tracy it was apparent that she is a very knowledgeable and friendly lady whom cares about a consumer when they call her regarding the Simply Nourish “DRY DOG FOOD”.

    Tracy’s contact Phone # is: 1-800-257-4530 extension #1350 in consumer affairs. She mentioned if there were any more questions or concerns that I had to feel free to contact her.

    The Simply Nourish “CANNED” food said made in Thailand the last time I looked at a can of it in the Petsmart store.

  • godewey

    Please be careful when using this food. It is a Petsmart house brand.
    Made in China and Thailand. There are also many ongoing reports
    of bugs in the food. Check on who manufactures the food, not just the food.

  • Crazy4dogs

    Simply Nourish isn’t a bad brand. I prefer the family companies and ones with good track records. Fromm’s, Merrick, Whole Earth Farms, Earthborn, Propac Ultimates, Victor and Wellness are among the ones I use and others recommend. It depends on what you’re budget is.

  • Sherry Quiroz-Barnes

    what foods do you recommend?

  • Sherry Quiroz-Barnes

    this is scary. I buy SN puppy food. So far no problems. I always check the date on the bag. Reach for the ones in the back if possible. Its frustrating not knowing what is or isnt safe.

  • Crazy4dogs

    That’s too bad it happened. Unfortunately, it can happen with almost any dog food. It’s usually a case of improper storage somewhere along the distribution line. If he saw the spiders/bugs on it why didn’t he pick a different brand? Return the bag to Petsmart. They will take it back.
    This is a good reason to rotate between a few varieties of food. Personally, Eukanuba would not be one that I choose, but if you rotated, you could buy a bag of what is available without any worries. πŸ™‚

  • Chelsa Graver

    My boyfriend went to petsmart and they were out of the eukanuba so he decided to buy simply nourish. He calls me on his way home to say he grabbed a bag with spiders on it and went back and all the bags had spiders, so he brushed it off. we just opened open the bag and saw bugs flying inside it with what looks like nesting of an animal. we’ve been buying from petsmart for years and this was the first bag of dogfood that we’ve ever had an issue with. needless to say we will never buy simply nourish again. and seems that you cant even get a hold of the company because it deals with petsmart. so now our dogs will not be able to eat tonight.

  • Sherry Quiroz-Barnes

    I buy SN small breed puppy. Its the only food my pups will eat. I never have a problem with bugs..etc. I always check the dates on the bags. But after reading bad reviews Im worried about my dogs getting sick. They love the food and seem to be ok. Should I worry?

  • Bobby dog

    Hi Jennifer:
    I would contact the store manager at Petsmart for a refund. That is their house brand and here is their return policy:
    http://www.petsmart.com/helpdeskarticle/-/-helpdesk-returns-refunds-category-helpdesk_category_cmp_20121219_173450-helpdesk_landing_article_return_policy_cmp_20120808_132132

  • Jennifer Bartman-Bull

    Does anyone know how I can contact the company that makes this food? I bought a case of the canned cat food and every single can was

    only half full. Clearly a packing blunder. The pet store told me to contact the company for a refund but I can’t seem to find them online.

  • Audra

    My parents have been feeding this brand to their rescue Bichon for over five years, they’ve never had an issue with a bag or bugs being in the food. When I got my bichon as a puppy, I immediately put him on this food. I only changed it once to another brand and he immediately hated it and it caused him to get sick. Once I put him back on SN, he was fine. I too have never had a problem with the brand or bugs in the bags. Maybe you all should change Petsmarts..

  • Latisha Nichols

    I have been using the Salmon and Sweet Potato for about a month now, and my dogs really like it. The bag was well sealed, and the product seemed really fresh. I show dogs, so I am really picky when it comes to their food, and so are they. The only negative I have about it so far is that (a). They like it too much and beg for more than they need, and (b). Their bowel movements almost doubled on this formula, but that could be because they ate a third more than their last food (Wilderness Salmon) and I may need to adjust their intake. In all, I am satisfied with the price, and the quality so far.

  • Latisha Nichols

    LOL (sarc) Glad you are out of school. Hope you aren’t facing the unemployment line when you leave PetSmart, as you’ll need to pay off all those student loans you acquired along the way….Take from me (just retired)….NO matter who you work for, it won’t be any different than PetSmart. My advice is work for yourself….If you want to be really comfortable then Invent a sweet app or start a nice “Foundation” like the Clintons (we should all take note on that one).

  • Donnie

    If you call that number, please let me know what ya find out…. Thanks?

  • Donnie

    Thank you!

  • Bobby dog

    Hi Donnie:
    Here’s a form to fill out to help expedite the review process:
    http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/contact-us/request-update/

  • Donnie

    Can you give a rating on the Simply Nourish Duck & Chicken ?? Seems to be the only one you left out.

  • Stacy H.

    I’ve been feeding my dog Simply Nourish Lamb and Oatmeal (with a bit of canned added). His coat is nice and soft, his skin allergies that were bothering him seem gone. I actually plan on trying something different but he seems to be doing good.

    I’ve been buying Simply Nourish for 2-1/2 years off and on. I’ve never seen an insect or worm. Honestly I kind of would hate for someone to be scared away from trying this food that could end of being good for their dog.

    Honestly I think it’s great that PetSmart has made Simply Nourish; I think it’s a good combination of good quality but affordable.

  • LabsRawesome

    Call American Nutrition, Here is their number, 1-800-564-1455

  • Stacey

    I tried to find out from Petsmart what company makes Simply Nourish for them. This was their response:

    Thank you for contacting PetSmart.
    We are sorry, however, for safety and security reasons, we do not give out the names of our pet food manufacturers. We apologize for any inconvenience.
    Holly
    PetSmart Customer Care
    1-888-839-9638

    What on earth could the “safety and security” reasons be for not saying who the manufacturer is? It seems like they are trying to hide something. It was posted on this thread the food is made by American Nutrition, but there’s no way to verify that and the person didn’t say how they know that. American Nutrition doesn’t say they make it on their website either.

  • GSDsForever

    Thank you!

    Feel kinda dumb for not knowing more about this. But I always thought infestations came from opened bags sitting, say, outside hot or in a garage or moist basement.

    OR — holes/perforations in bags, which you mention

    I wonder if foil type thicker bags are safer? I know I always check the bag for holes and seal, along with manufacture date & best by at delivery or purchase.

    I do worry about hot delivery trucks like UPS out all day and local distributor warehouses — and what that does to the food & nutrient preservation. I don’t want my food cooked again!

    That’s weird to imagine kibble lying around spoiling, not being bagged right away. I think many small good companies are passionate enough about freshness of their product & nutrient preservation that they don’t do this. Yet another reason to prefer them, I’m thinking!

    I *just* talked to yet another small family company that I’d honestly never heard of today (gets 5 star here) — and it was very, very clear from the answers I received that they care about making the best product they can.

  • theBCnut

    It is usually a grain thing. Grain moths can feed on other carbs, but they do prefer grain. The kibbling process would kill any moth eggs in the ingredients, so moths in kibble is something that happens after manufacture. If kibble is left lying around unbagged, as Diamond is known to do, it is easy for moths to lay eggs on the kibble, but it is often a warehouse issue, or even a store issue. Wherever kibble sits for a long time, it is possible for moths to get in it. They can eat through paper bags to get in bags and they can eat their way back out again to go from bag to bag in a new location. They are more common in warmer climates, so hot trucks and hot warehouses encourage them.

  • GSDsForever

    Anyway, sorry . . . don’t mean to turn you into the moth, maggot, and bugs expert (lol), but clearly you seem to have more knowledge about this. So I thought I’d ask.

    I do my best with home storage, but is there anything else we can do to avoid this problem?

  • GSDsForever

    Just reading through discussion about this problem now . . .

    Would you mind explaining a bit more? I have never experienced this or bugs in any dog food I’ve ever bought.

    So are there warehouse conditions that create less risk for this? Is there some prevention for it?

    Is this a temperature thing? (Some foods I buy are stored in warehouses very far below ground and at lower temperature & dry.) And are there preventative measures in the manufacture of the food? Or ingredient sourcing?

    Is it a grains thing or are the bugs & moths equal opportunists infecting grain-free carb foods too?

  • GSDsForever

    Yikes! Right there, that would be a red flag for me. I don’t want anything made by American Nutrition. Not safe or trustworthy.

  • theBCnut

    She probably did mean that. Some foods get infected with grain moths from sitting around too long. When you open the bag, they come flying out. When you scoop up the food, you find pieces stuck together with their cocoons. And you find the maggots eating the food. This company is aware of the problem and has chosen to ignore it. There were several complaints about it a few months back, but it is something that usually slows down in winter, so it remains to be seen if they got their warehouse cleaned up.

  • Dave McKay

    It has been my experience for many decades that any brand can get bugs in the bag and any brand can be the subject of a recall. Blue buffalo and taste of the wild are both premium brands that have been recalled

  • Marilyn

    I highly recommend all of you to try Acana or Annamaet (grain free) they run a few dollars more than all these “highly recommended brands at these popular stores” but they also do 12 bags and get 1 free if you keep labels and receipt. They are both excellent. Acana is a little more costly than Annamaet but they helped all the allergies and digestive problems in my dogs. I have 2 pits and 2 min. Schnauzers. I never had to deal with maggots or anything disgusting like that, so it’s not true that ANY brand of dog/cat food can get them. Only when they just care about the profit maybe. Acana is made by Orijen which is the best dog/cat food in existence. But super expensive, so Acana is a more affordable version of it.

  • Dave McKay

    Oh, I’m sorry, I though you meant you clean out the insides of the bags themselves!

  • theBCnut

    Grain moth larva. It’s a common storage problem when food has been sitting around in a warehouse for extended periods of time.

  • Dave McKay

    It can happen with ANY brand of dog food. Blue Buffalo has been recalled in years past. I firmly believe that Taste of the Wild killed one of my dogs with their recall a few years ago. i Hate those people.

  • Dave McKay

    Upgraded our dog food from Natures Recipe to this brand over a year ago. Simply Nourish is doing great with our dogs. Never had any bugs in the bag. I have had bugs in the bag with other brands though, in years past. It happens. SN is the best bang for the buck for dog food. 5 star food for a great price! Whats not to like?

  • Dave McKay

    What do you mean you go through the bags and clean out the maggots? Sounds like BS to me

  • Kluck Katie

    I’ve been feeding my dogs (golden retriever and Pembroke corgi) this food for the past couple years. I have never had a problem with any of the bags I’ve gotten. If you buy them from Petsmart, you can take them back and they will refund you your full price if it is defective. I switched my dogs off of California Natural to Simply Nourish because my vet stopped selling it. They love this food and it has completely eliminated my golden’s sensitive skin and food allergies, which has saved me thousands on vet bills. They are healthy and their coats are shiny. The vet is always saying how great they look and they are at an ideal weight. I highly recommend this food!

  • Mary C

    I just bought a bag of SN Adult Large Breed Turkey & Brown Rice. I came home, poured it into the food container and saw an infestation of maggot worms. It’s absolutely disgusting! Now the store is closed and I won’t be able to feed my dogs until after work tomorrow. One of them has a sensitive stomach and I can’t change his food without causing him to be sick. I had this happen to me back in November last year but I thought it was because the bag had a small hole in it. I check my bags now before buying them and this bag appears in good shape with no holes. How does this happen? Is it where the food is manufactured? If I switched to Blue Buffalo or any other quality brand, can this still happen? I wish I could show you a picture I took on my cell of the worms.

  • Jacob Malaney

    Yes, she ate the salmon and sweet potato. There was just a point where the food started making her throw up. I actually just switched her over to Blue Turkey and Potato. It’s the only Turkey dog food I could find without and chicken by product in it.

  • JoeMuggsy

    Dori, you say that as if you had a choice. I’m not talking about a lack of choice because something was forced upon you. I’m talking about the lack of choice being that’s how it is because it can’t be any other way. All manufactured foods has a certain level of bugs and critters in it.

    Also, “Disgusting and gross” has no bearing on whether safe or dangerous. If they are indeed flour moths then they are harmless and your dog has, with a 100% certainty, eaten worst stuff (bugs or anything random) laying around your house, in your yard, at the dog park or anywhere else. Flour moths are the least of your concerns.

    Grain free also has bugs and stuff as that’s an inevitable part of the manufacturing process no matter how careful. You can say it’s gross if you want, but that’s more of a disconnect people from the west have with those kinds of foods rather than it inherently being gross. Bugs are indeed a good source of protein and are enjoyed in many countries around the world. Many countries think it’s totally disgusting that we in the west will eat curdled milk (cheese) which is normally thrown away. We found a way to make the spoiled (I’m using this word very loosely) milk edible, but the thought of consuming spoiled milk in the first place is gross to them, while they themselves might consume edible spoiled beans, fish, or meat.

  • Victoria Teterya

    Did you Lab eat the Salmon and Sweet Potato? I’ve been having issues feeding my girl since she’s extra picky unless it’s table food (i refuse to give her any). I’m trying to find something she’ll like that good for her.

  • SightHoundMom

    Hi! Just the state. Feel free to call them if you have further questions.

  • Bobby dog

    SightHoundMom:
    Did they provide the name of the manufacturer or just the state?

  • SightHoundMom

    Nothing is being hidden. I believe the answers you sought have been posted above today by SighthoundMom.

  • SightHoundMom

    I believe the answers you sought have been posted today – please see above commentary by SighthoundMom.

  • SightHoundMom

    Hello All, first let’s add to the list of food being offered here is the Health Weight Turkey and Potato kibble which has turned out to be a lovely option and very affordable kibble for a “super-premium” food worthy of it’s 4 stars! Allow me to put some minds to rest and assure you that the homework I’ve done on this food is calming:

    Mr. Wayne Thompson of Petsmart’s Customer Care Headquarters in Phoenix, AZ, relayed the following by phone today (1/27/15): Simply Nourish KIBBLE (all varieties) are made in the USA, specifically manufactured in Utah. ONLY the canned versions are made in Thailand and their Beef & sweet potato biscotti treats were recalled last year (2014), voluntarily. This company has nothing to hide and may be reached by phone during regular business hours! The food is created for Petsmart and is sold in bulk sizes in most stores. Quality Control is always a factor and focus in making this food, and infestations DO NOT exist in all states. If you’ve found insects inside of new bags, simply return it for a full refund or exchange it for a new bag that you may inspect before leaving the store with it. The ingredients meet strict AAFCO Standards.

    Only YOU can decide whether to buy and feed this food, but please don’t hesitate to allow YOUR DOG to decide whether he/she enjoys eating it and thrives while doing so. There’s a wonderful variety of different proteins and carbs fit for all life stages, ages, breeds, allergies and sensitivities. It’s easy to be suspicious and good to be weary of food distribution and regulatory issues but unless or until you’re privy to THE FACTS and not just opinions, it’s unwise to judge a whole company or one person. I hope this helps – both you and your beloved dogs.

  • Gail Taraschuk

    I just bought a bag of the Simply Nourish grain free duck and chicken recipe. I just noticed on the back of the bag it claims to maximize protein and minimize carbs….only the ingredients list dried potatoes as the third ingredient ? Isn’t that a cheap filler ? What is there in white potatoes that is good for dogs ? Not so good or beneficial ! After learning this and reading all these comments I am never buying it again ! My dog is not all that crazy about it anyway. My dog seems to like the Wellness grain free wet foods a lot. But he needs grains or he has loose stools. I take a can of this and add brown rice or some other healthy grain and tiny pieces of a variety of vegetables I know he is not allergic to and a few eggs and mix it together and bake it like tiny meat loafs in a muffin tin..then I break it up in his dish. He loves this so much and no fuss eating his food. I am going back to this as it works ! I have a fussy eater ..my little Jack Chi. I want him to be healthy and have the best..he is my baby..family !

  • Gail Taraschuk

    True…if they know all this and still sell it to our dogs for food….they should loose our business ! I also heard that Pet Smart sell dog and cat toys from china that are made with cat and dog fur ! As if I want my cat or dog playing with the fur of a dead animal of its own kind ? Its like having your cat playing with a dead cat for a toy ! Sick ! They have been confronted with this problem many times and refuse to take it off the shelves…Hmm-mm ?

  • Gail Taraschuk

    Pet smart should STOP carrying that product !

  • Jacob Malaney

    I was told by a Petsmart employee that SN was designed by Blue Buffalo. He said Blue Buffalo had no comment when asked about it. I was told this about a year and a half ago. I have been feeding my Lab the Salmon and sweet potato for over two years now. After reading about all of this, I plan on switching to something new.

  • dawnswearingen

    Just bought my first and last bag of Simply Nourish. Opened up the new bag and bugs were flying around in it.

  • This rating is current and reflects our opinion of the label only and nothing else.

    None of our reviews anywhere on this website have anything to do with individual reports posted by visitors to our blog.

    In any dry pet (or human) grain-based food, what these observers are finding are most likely not maggots (fly larvae) but rather the result of an infestation of Indian meal moths and their larvae (similar to meal worms).

    According to entomologists at the University of Minnesota…

    A stored food product can become infested anywhere during the process from production until it arrives in your home.

    However, stored food is most likely to become infested in stores or in homes.

    Most of the stored food insects also are pests of stored grain or other commodities and may be relatively abundant outdoors.

    Food products that are left undisturbed on the shelves for long periods are particularly susceptible to infestation

    The most likely source of insects like these is typically the storage and distribution chain — or even within the home of end consumers.

  • clippiequeen

    I don’t understand why the rating for Simply Nourish remains high when all I have read here is complaint after complaint about maggots. How about an update to reflect this serious issue?

  • Dori

    Call them what you’d like, they do not belong in dog food. Disgusting and gross! I’m certainly not going to increase the protein in my dogs food that way. lol! And sure, let’s all trust the FDA as to allowable limits of anything and be okay.

    Possibly the manufacturers should spend some money on a higher quality packaging than ones that can be easily chewed through and/or already have holes in them. Yikes!

    Another good reason to go grain free.

  • Urban zoo

    The moths, maggots and webbing people are finding in bags appear to be flour moths. They are able to chew holes through some plastics as well as make use of any tiny hole already present. The caterpillars create the webbing and pupate in it. They will happily infest and breed in any grain containing foods (flour, bread, pasta, cereal, pet foods) as well as in closed undisturbed places like books, folded linens, stacked can edges, etc. Pheromone tabs on fly strips look gross but work well to get rid of them.

    They can be a nightmare to remove as they can stay in pupae form for months and it is not uncommon to find them in supermarkets and warehouses. This is one of the reasons food grade diatomaceous earth is added to many grain flours and foods. They are endemic ( in the environment) and not necessarily a sign of poor manufacture, quality control or expiration of product.

    Yes it’s gross. All that said, you can always look at it as a free way to increase the protein content of your food. πŸ˜‰ We unknowingly consume quite a bit of insect protein in foods with allowable limits set by the FDA.
    To happy tummies.

  • Hater & Molly’s Mom

    Did you call or email them? From what i have been reading they seem to have some real quality control issues going on and don’t seem to care!

  • T.S.

    Here are the pictures I took of my problem. This is the second time it’s happened to me, and these pictures were taken just minutes after opening the bag. You’ve been lucky to not have this issue so far!

  • myname

    I would’ve done the same. Hopefully they’ll give us an answer :-

  • Melissaandcrew

    I dont know. That is supposed to be the only change from what I know, but who knows if there is something else. I had a bag that stunk and another unopened and its going back.

  • myname

    Yeah that’s been goin on for a while now. Don’t know how much I can say bc I don’t know how much is insider info but there’s a chance that a sell (depending on who to) could actually improve things in the long run. Either way I’m done school so idc

  • Crazy4cats

    You might have your wish. I read today that they are being sold.

  • myname

    Mmhmm yeah I know at least they advertised that on the bag though… but does the baking soda explain the sulfur smell? It’s really bad and I feel like it can’t be good for the pets either esp ones w/sensitive resp tracts

  • Melissaandcrew

    The new formula has baking soda in it. Baking soda should not be used for prairie dogs, rabbits or Siberian hamsters. The particules will get in to the nasal passages and become “cement”. Very bad, lots of info on the internet about it. Its my understanding that carefresh was just bought out, and hence the change to the product.

  • myname

    Oh yeah! My store’s good w/pulling the bad ones. You can tell by the outside of the bag. Not sure about others though.

  • Hater & Molly’s Mom

    It’s a shame! The health of a dog could very well be at risk.

  • myname

    Long story short as much as I love animals and I have good relationships with our customers and my co-workers… I can’t wait to get out and my co-workers feel the same. But that’s retail I guess…

  • myname

    Lol (sarcastic laughter not for reals). I’d hate to say this but I don’t think they do. PS corporate like all corporations care most about $$ abd public appearance (and the only reason they care about image is for money). They don’t care about their workers either… stores are understaffed and eployees are overworked and underpaid. In general though the employees really do care as long as they haven’t been there so long that their will to care has withered away. Another part of the problem is that I think some employees have just given up. Have you read the other reviews abd noticed that when customers tell employees about infestation the employees seem unfazed? It’s bc I’m sure they’ve tried to deal with this before and have been given the run around by corporate.

  • Hater & Molly’s Mom

    If they are having so many problems with a manufacturer they need to find a new one. It sounds to me like they just don’t care.

  • myname

    Quality control for every brand is mostly controlled by the manufacturers. Stores only work off of feedback. We can pull bags and filter up info through corporate but alotof the time we have a hard time getting mfrs to give us an answer. Another example is carefresh small animal bedding. The New formula for this product smells like sulfur/rotten eggs. The company hasn’t given any answer to us or customers who have complained. We need to keep pushing corporate to put pressure on the mfrs but the problem is that if it stops at the store level (exchange/refund/us complaining) I think they don’t take it as seriously. This is a problem in all of corporate America… food stores as well you’d be surprised.

  • myname

    The problem is it’s not every bag… I don’t know if they’re trying to figure out packaging issues or if it’s just the old bags or what. They haven’t given us any concrete info. I think part of the problem is that it’s not that popular of a dog food and its proprietary to petsmart so some places might not even know plus it’s only the big bags. My store knows because I found a bag with the webbing, cut it, freaked out and then cut a bunch of other bags. We’ve had issues with other brands & packaging like dentleys (really popular and sold on all stores that sell pet stuff) so I think it was more publicized.

  • Hater & Molly’s Mom

    From all the postings it seems to me that they don’t take quality control very seriously.

  • Hater & Molly’s Mom

    So PetSmart knows about the problems with the bags and does nothing about it? What are they waiting for? Dogs to get sick? I’m glad that it’s not a food that i would feed anyway. Even happier that i don’t shop at PetSmart!

  • Terrance

    Precisely my point! There are plenty of others who aren’t hiding anything from which to choose. . .

  • Hater & Molly’s Mom

    If they can’t be transparent i want nothing to do with their food! Makes me believe they are hiding something.

  • Bob K

    Good For you – They often negotiate labeling and customer support when they sign the contract. The Mfgs usually want nothing to do with customers and related issues other than supply product. PetsMart saying they oversee the mfg. process is highly doubtful.

  • myname

    It’s a packaging issue! Call corporate and complain, please! I work at petsmart… they don’t listen to the employees!

  • myname

    The food itself is good! The packaging on 15+ lb bags is bad! Call corporate and complain!

  • myname

    I work at Petsmart! It’s a known issue (packaging problem… tiny holes in the bags) and corporate won’t listen to us! We keep pulling and throwing out bags but it gets us nowhere! Corporate will only listen to where the money comes from!

  • myname

    Keep calling corporate bc corporate doesn’t listen to the employees! There’s perforations in the bag they’re not airtight (I work at petsmart).

  • myname

    It’s a packaging issue! I work at a PetSmart and corporate won’t listen to us! Keep calling corporate! If you look at the bags they have little perforations up the sides that they can burrow into!

  • myname

    Please call and complain to corporate and the store! Don’t file a corporate complaint against the store that does nothing. I work at PetSmart and we’ve had this problem for a while now. The problem is that corporate only listens to money so we need more customers to make a fuss so maybe they’ll actually do something about it! Plus I’m sick of going through these bags and cleaning out maggots!

  • myname

    It’s the fault of the company. The infestation is limited to the 24+ lb bags because the bags have small perforations (I don’t know if that’s the right word… there are little holes as part of the packaging design) along the sides. The flies/maggots can burrow into the bags. None of the other bags of food have this problem and they all come from the same distribution center. It’s a packaging issue(granted I know there shouldn’t be maggots there to begin with). Source: PetSmart employee who pulls, cuts, and throws out tons of bags of this food because corporate/the manufacturers won’t listen to us

  • Β‘Liz!

    I just bought a bag and had the same problem. Moths and maggots and dome kind of webbing??? Guess I’m swithcing back to Blue Buffalo…

  • Terrance

    Thank you!

  • aquariangt

    Fwiw, it’s american nutrition

  • Terrance

    I called PetsMart regarding the manufacturer of this brand as well as their two other brands; Authority and Grreat Choice. They flat out refused to provide any information. They simply repeated that they oversee the manufacturing process. I have seen a few other comments about brands refusing this information claiming it to be “proprietary”, most notably Halo. I cannot imagine buying any product which feels the need to hide the manufacturer, much less feed such a thing to my babies!!!
    What are they hiding? Walmart willingly disclosed the manufacturer of their foods, as did Costco. (The answers were Ainsworth and Diamond respectively). . .I wouldn’t bother with this food on that basis alone. . .there are plenty of comparable foods in the same price range that aren’t hiding manufacturer information!!!! Be safe, they deserve it!!!!

  • Jessica Rivas

    Contact me today for your free My Pit Bull is Family sticker at http://www.facebook.com/c2crep get more info at MyPitBullisFamily.com

  • Bob K

    Since you go through a large bag fairly quickly, your chances of getting moths and maggots is slim. The age of the food as well as storage procedures greatly effect contamination from bugs. The proper place for kibble is a cool, dry place in an airtight container and only buy what you will use in less than a month also watch expiration dates. Keeping kibble in an open bag in the garage, porch or patio is a bad idea. Many kibble bags are now made out of plastic or plastic lined to minimize water damage and mold. Buying a large bag of kibble for a small dog that will last several months is foolish.

  • theBCnut

    Maggots and moths are a storage issue, so particular to certain warehouses or stores, not the fault of the company that made the food, unless the warehouse is the company’s…

  • Crazy4cats

    What a cute smile your pup has! Thanks for the review.

  • Crystal Hovick

    I am curious as to why no one posted pics of this maggot/moth issue. I have been buying Simply Nourish from PetSmart in South Jersey for over 2 years now. I buy the 30lb bag of dog food approx every 10-14 days. I have never had this issue! I have a 5 year old greyhound we adopted 3 years ago & a APBT pup that we adopted 6 months ago. I do top their food with EVOO. Both are healthy with no loose stool nor skin condition.

  • Melissa orton

    I feed it to 12 dogs from picky small dogs to hard to keep weight on big dogs. The all do great and it all seem to feel better . My dogs range in age from One year old to 16 years old.

  • Francesca Arias

    I have several dogs and I buy a brand new large bag of dog food every 3 weeks. I have been feeding simply nourish to my dogs for 2 months now. The last purchased bag of simply nourish grain free lamb had maggots in it. I only buy grain free dog food and I have never seen maggots in dog food before. I will never purchase this food again.

  • Matt

    I switched over to this brand a couple of months ago (July 2014) and I have nothing but positive results since.

    My dog has so much more energy; at a new state of playful I haven’t really seen in him before. There isn’t much of a change in his coat other than he’s shedding more frequently; which is expected from his breed (Shepherd/Chow mix); but his coat had also gone through some improvements when I had started him on a regular daily dose of fish oil.

    This also seems to satisfy him better than my previous brand of dog food; and he seems to enjoy eating it more. Before he’d eat in very small portions over a long period of time. Now he’ll eat what’s in his dish in about 3 visits within a 30 minute period.

    Overall, I’ve been extremely happy with my switch to Simply Nourish and have yet to find any complaints.

  • T.S.

    I took plenty of pictures before taking it back. This problem should not be this common.

  • Bob K

    Time to vote with your wallet and choose another brand and petfood store. Sad situation. Make sure you know the serial numbers, batch numbers, expiration date
    and any other data on the bag. Send nasty notes to the store, Corporate
    HQ of the retailer and also the dog food mfg. Call the Dog food mfg
    immediately and raise hell. Demand a refund. Take photos. Most likely
    the retailer will blame the distributor or mfg. The Mfg will blame the
    store or shipper for poor storage. Lots of finger pointing is usually
    what happens.

  • Bob K

    Possibly – What are the expiration dates, where do you store it? Take the bag back and demand a refund, call the mfg help desk and raise hell. Write down all the details in the bag and take photos.

  • Bob K

    Make sure you know the serial numbers, batch numbers, expiration date and any other data on the bag. Send nasty notes to the store, Corporate HQ of the retailer and also the dog food mfg. Call the Dog food mfg immediately and raise hell. Demand a refund. Take photos. Most likely the retailer will blame the distributor or mfg. The Mfg will blame the store or shipper for poor storage. Lots of finger pointing is usually what happens.

  • T.S.

    I buy the chicken and rice for adult dog food. In both the 30lb bag and 15lb bag I have found the moths and their webbing. The first time was after a few days, so I thought maybe my food container wasn’t sealed properly. Last week I bought the 15lb bag and immedately after emptying it into the container I saw the worms and webbing. I returned it to the store and intend on contacting the company about it. The manager seemed totally unphased, like it’s normal to find this in dog food. Apparently for this brand it is…

  • Anatx

    I purchased this food and noticed mold in less than half of the bag of food! I contacted the store and was told it was due to the humidity!! Not 1 but several bags

  • nellierae215 .

    I purchased Simply Nourish today from my local Petsmart and when I opened the bag I saw a ton of maggots. It was absolutely disgusting! There is a problem with this brand, which I have found is a Petsmart brand. Neither the store manager or the 800 number on the bag seemed surprised at what I found in the bag.
    I’ve reported it to the FDA because Petsmart hasn’t seemed interested in ensuring they are selling a safe product.

  • Jan_Mom2Cavs

    I’m sure it has. I actually would rather see that are stating animal digest than the vague natural flavors. At least you know now.

  • Jan_Mom2Cavs

    Karen, you will have to contact Simply Nourish to find out what the natural flavor contains. It may be hard to find this out because SN is made for Petsmart by a manufacturer, which is hard to get them to disclose. I do think it’s a decent manufacturer, though. If your dog is doing so well on the food, then by all means, keep feeding it as it is not a bad food at all. Good luck!

  • Karen

    1. What is Natural Flavor in this food?
    2. Should I worry with the Lamb & Pea formula that Pea is a main ingredient?
    3. Can you do a review just for the Lamb & Pea formula since it’s so different?

    I started my bullmastiff on Lamb & Pea dry food 2 months ago and his digestive issues (burps, farts, loose stool) are all gone. His coat is amazingly soft/puppy like and gorgeous. He did gain weight so we are now feeding only 3 cups per day and hope to get him down to 135-140lbs

  • Molly

    Just started my pup on Simply Nourish Large Breed puppy and I have also found worms in the food…. little white one, almost look like maggots. I am taking the food back today, Also my puppy has had diarrhea for a while and reading these comments its from the food, I thought this food was GREAT before I found the worms.. Yuck!!!

  • Molly

    Hello, I just bought a bag of Simply Nourish large breed puppy and this morning found worms in it as well….. almost looked like maggots, small white worms. I am taking the food back today!!

  • Christy

    I am suspect of what is “Natural Flavor”. Reason is because I just came from the pet store to see the newer bags (expiration date aug,15) no longer list “Natural Flavor”. Instead they now list “animal digest”. Older bag (expiration July, 15) does not list “animal digest” yet it does list “Natural flavor” . Has “animal digest” always been in this pet food labeled as “Natural Flavor”?

  • Dori

    You should complain not only to the store but the company and the FDA. This should not be happening on a regular basis. Doesn’t matter where in the route of the food from manufacturer to store, the manufacturer is responsible.

  • Mike_Pf

    I’ve opened three bags with some worms / moths in them. I did a lot of research and I’m finding a LOT of people having the same issues. Before, it was just here and there. This last time, I bought a bag of Senior Chicken and Rice and it was filled with moths. Taking it back and switching dog foods (again). Once maybe, but this is consistently a problem with this brand.

  • John

    He was on it for 3 some odd months before i finally gave up and switched him to raw. They dont have large breed puppy in grain free, or i would have given that a shot.

  • Mia

    How fast did you switch him? My dog, Chief, also has an upset belly when I switch his food too fast. For some dogs, it may take 2 weeks for for a dog to fully be able to handle the dog food. If you do switch him to a raw dog food, though, make sure to do lots of research!!!

  • Crazy4cats

    What a cute pup! πŸ˜€

  • joanne

    Omg what do I feed Bauer now? I need to try to get him off of Bumble Bee Wild caught canned Salmon w/ white rice & canned pumpkin and back onto kibbles I brought SN Salmon/sweet potato and it has been sitting in my kitchen cause I was unsure if I should give it to him. He use to be on Wellness Grain free but was sick for a while had him on RX high energy food and stools were horrible,put him on bland boiled chicken and rice and was throwing up and had severly loose stools was at the vet every other day and he didn’t sleep at all threw the night. since he has been on bumble bee wild pink can salmon,rice and pumpkin and prostura w/ vit b12 shots he is doing much better. I don’t wan’t to keep him on can salmon to long I believe that is to much mercury for a small dog.

  • joanne

    My ??? exactly

  • Crazy4cats

    Mmmmm.. You should have had to pay extra for those lol!

  • Jay

    Found meal worms in bag !!! Kinda gross but, its more protein. That’s not in the ingredients list ????

  • John

    once i found simply nourish large breed puppy food i was very happy with what id read about the product and its rating, however, the entire time my dog was on it, it caused him diarreah, so i have since been reluctantly forced to switch him to a raw diet

  • Crazy4cats

    Hi Kathy-
    It sounds like a great idea to switch his food. It sure couldn’t hurt! Try something totally different than what you are currently using. Maybe something with lamb, turkey or beef and sweet potato. Also, have you had a fecal test done to check for parasites, worms and/or bacteria? These things can also cause loose stools. I wish you luck.

  • KathyM

    We have a 6 month old Golden Retriever puppy. He has been fed thie large breed puppy chicken and brown rice formula since we brought him home from the breeder. All of his shots were finished at 4 months old. He has had runny poop off and on for 4 months now. We’ve added pumpkin to his food. He made it more solid, but as soon as we stop, the runniness comes back. We are thinking about switching his food. Any thoughts or ideas?

  • Mia

    Just because something is imported doesn’t make it a bad food. It truly comes down to the quality of the meat. If you got nice, juicy, 5 star chicken from thailand, and gross, 2 star chicken from America, you would probably eat the chicken from Thailand right? It really matters the quality of the meat, not where it comes from. It is also possible that they got it from a facility in America, which got it from Thailand, therefor they can classify it as being from America.

  • Mia

    Sorry for the little incident. As I have heard, dogs who eat grass have and upset belly.

    I find that my dog, Chief, who used to eat 3 cups a day, now eats around 2. He is really active, and he seems to be doing good on eat. He had kennel cough for a while, but we gave him this food and he “coughs” only now and then, not as frequently as he used to.

  • Mia

    Ew! That sounds terrible. But, you must remember, not all dog food can be fully sanitized without the use of some harmful chemicals. I have personally not gotten a bad batch, but have heard terrifying stories about it. It could also be from shipping it from the factory to the store. Some little worms might wiggle their way in there and build themselves a little home! Hope your dogs are fine and I’m sorry about your incident.

  • Mia

    I’ve done the same thing. I would make a “wet food” from the dry food out of water and honey and the dry food. Had to stop because Chief is going to a camp for 2 weeks and we can’t send wet food with him. I would just give it time. I hand feed my dog the first 2 bites and he eats till he is full off of the 1 cup per meal. It worked for me. As long as your dog is not drastically losing weight, he should be fine. Some dogs just don’t eat much, like I eat a lot and my sister doesn’t. HeeHee!

  • Dianna Kelleher

    If your vet thinks she looks good he/she can also suggest a good portion size for her. The bags usually estimate the max they should have. My food now suggests 5 cups for my “large breed adult”, but my lab is only 70 lbs and the vet says to maintain her weight she only needs 3 cups per day.

  • Allahquan L. Tate

    I feed both my cat and my dog the Simply Nourish brand. I think it is pretty great. I like the fact that it is grain-based. I gives me piece of mind and I know that my dog, who is a Blue Heeler-Lab hybrid, has enough food to balance her energy use. Well written piece.

  • GIGI

    I’ve been trying to praise SN, yet now my dog is seriously ill. Looking into fish farms, since I heard they are filthy and this is a concern for our animals and their guardians who trust PetsMart. Sorry, but I can’t risk any possible risks. Please help to clear up the doubt about foreign markets.
    Aunt Gigi

  • Guest

    There is nothing wrong with canned food from Thailand but think about where Thailand outsources to gather it’s ingredients. If you read the articles online they do a lot of trade with China.

  • HappyTails

    You don’t have to believe my post,that’s fine. I am the one who had to scrub the upholstery and vacuum my car for several hours to clean up after these critters,I know what I found and know what I saw. The biggest concentration of worms were in the cargo area where the bags were,but I found several worms burrowed in my upholstery in the back seat and then a few more under the drivers seat,the bags I had were severely infested(the Petsmart I bought and returned them to,cut open the bags while I was still standing there,and both bags were crawling with them). I am glad that your dog is doing well on this food,as previously stated mine did excellent on it as well,but the worms were not something I was willing to deal with.

  • Mrs.Candfamily

    Jon,
    Our 75 pound 3yr old boxer eats about 4 1/2 cups a day. Some days less. Our 6yr old boxer mix eats about 2 cups a day. They tend to wait until the whole family is home together to eat. Neither of them liked the salmon flavor nor the turkey flavor. The turkey I tried feeding them for the past few months. They both prefer the lamb and oatmeal that they have been eating for a couple of years now. Our 13yr. old Boxer that passed away was never a big eater. He was very healthy and was slender his entire life. His top weight was 60 pounds Just a suggestion, you may want to slowly transition her over to the Lamb and Oatmeal and see if that flavor is of more interest to her. I put out some of their food first thing in the morning and they graze until it is gone and then I will add more. We have had boxers for over 30 years and have pretty much experienced the same thing with each of them. If the vet thought she looked fine I wouldn’t worry.

  • Mrs.Candfamily

    Your welcome Rich!

  • Reg Carter

    Thank you for this well-written, objective analysis. Much appreciated! πŸ™‚

  • theBCnut

    It sounds like she self regulates her food really well. If she isn’t really skinny, she is eating the amount she needs. The bag of food has no way of knowing what your individual dog needs, they are just suggestions, and they happen to be suggestions that are all wrong for your dog. Since she is at the age where her growth starts to slow, she may need even less.
    Try putting down only the amount you know she eats and pick up any she doesn’t until the next meal. If she isn’t grazing all day, she will eat her evening meal better. And her food will be fresher.

  • Jon

    I forgot to add….

    She’s also never been a big eater with any kibble we’ve put down in front of her. If that means anything…..

    She was initially on some low grade puppy chow from the breeder, we switched her to a Blue Buffalo recipe, then an Acana recipe, then the Orijen puppy, and now here we are with the SN. She’s been the most consistent with this.

  • Jon

    Hi Betsy,

    According to our vet, she looks just fine. No ribs are showing or anything. She is very lean though, but from what I understand, this breed doesn’t really fill out until 1-2 years old.

    We attempt to feed her once in the morning and once at night. She doesn’t really touch the food in the morning until after we come back from a walk or the dog park. That’s when she’ll eat most of it. Whatever is left over from her breakfast portion I just keep down as she kind of grazes at it all day. At night, after dinner is when I’ll throw in her remaining portion. She’ll probably eat a cup or cup and a half of it and call it night. Whatever I don’t use I just store away and use it again the next day.

    3,350 kcal/kg, 349 kcal/cup

  • Betsy Greer

    Hi Jon,

    How does her body condition look? Is her weight good?

    Has this been the case for a long time or was there once a time she ate more and is just slowing down now?

    How many meals per day do you feed her? Do you see the k/calls listed on the bag, if so, what is it?

    There’s nothing wrong with healthy table scraps! Just don’t feed from your plate or you’ll encourage begging.

  • Jon

    I’m feeding my 8 month old boxer puppy the SN Salmon and Sweet Potato Puppy recipe. She’s a very playful, happy, and healthy puppy, however she’s just not crazy about her food. At her weight, she should be eating 5 cups a day but we’d be lucky if she eats just over half of that. We switched her food around a few times in the beginning (I think we created a picky eater) and she does get an occasional treat, i.e., a few pieces of chicken or beef every now and then from the table (I know I know, she’s hard to resist!). I’ve been told since it’s a high quality food, she’ll just eat what her body needs and it may be just enough, even though she’s not eating up to her daily allowance as to what is posted on the label. Any truth to this? I’m reluctant to switch her food again because her stools have been pretty consistent on this diet.

  • Rich

    Awesome!! And my bag shows the “A” Code! Thanks!

  • Rich

    I have been feeding “Bella”, my 18 month old Miniature Schnauzer Simply Nourish Lamb n Oatmeal for about 3-4 months now. She is very healthy, active, and shows no signs of illness. She is fully vaccinated, and receives Heartgard Plus once a month. The SN I buy, comes in a 6lb bag that is made of plastic. I have seen no signs of any foreign matter or critters other then dog food! I do find it hard to believe that “Little” worms can make it from the cargo area of an SUV to the front drivers seat in a few hours. Especially when a food source is right at their noses. Australian or New Zealand Lamb? That’s what I eat!! I see nothing wrong with that. My Aunt is a “Champion” dog breeder, and did make a dog food recommendation when asked. But for now unless something drastic changes, I will stick w what Bella is eating!

  • Pingback: "Simply Nourish" Brand dog food??()

  • theBCnut

    The percentage is actually only one consideration. The grams per 1000kcal is vitally important because it determines how much calcium overall the dog is ingesting.

Get Free Recall Alerts by Email

Get Free Recall Alerts by Email

Receive lifesaving dog food recall alerts anytime there's a recall event in the U.S. or Canada.

You'll also get our best tips and ideas to help you feed your dog better... and safer.

No spam.Β  Unsubscribe anytime.

You have Successfully Subscribed!