Simply Nourish Dog Food (Canned)

Share

Rating: ★★★★½

Simply Nourish Dog Food receives the Advisor’s second highest tier rating of 4.5 stars.

The Simply Nourish product line lists six canned dog foods, each claimed to meet AAFCO nutrient profiles for adult maintenance.

The following is a list of recipes available at the time of this review.

  • Simply Nourish Chicken and Fish Stew
  • Simply Nourish Chicken and Rice Stew
  • Simply Nourish Tuna and Salmon Stew
  • Simply Nourish Chicken and Beef Stew
  • Simply Nourish Chicken and Pasta Stew
  • Simply Nourish Limited Ingredient Fish and Potato Stew

Simply Nourish Chicken and Beef Stew was selected to represent the other products in the line for this review.

Simply Nourish Chicken and Beef Stew

Canned Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 59% | Fat = 8% | Carbs = 25%

Ingredients: Water sufficient for processing, chicken, sweet potato, pea, beef, tapioca starch, sunflower oil, tricalcium phosphate, xanthan gum, calcium carbonate, choline chloride, zinc sulfate, vitamin E supplement, ferrous sulfate, vitamin D3 supplement, copper sulfate, riboflavin supplement (B2), pyridoxine hydrochloride (B6), folic acid, vitamin B12 supplement

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 5.9%

Red items when present indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis10%1%NA
Dry Matter Basis59%8%25%
Calorie Weighted Basis57%19%24%

The first ingredient in this dog food is water, which adds nothing but moisture to this food. Water is a routine finding in most canned dog foods.

The second ingredient is chicken. Chicken is considered “the clean combination of flesh and skin… derived from the parts or whole carcasses of chicken”.1

Chicken is naturally rich in the ten essential amino acids required by a dog to sustain life.

The third ingredient includes sweet potato. Sweet potatoes are a gluten-free source of complex carbohydrates in a dog food. They are naturally rich in dietary fiber and beta carotene.

The fourth ingredient includes peas. Peas are a quality source of carbohydrates. Plus (like all legumes) they’re rich in natural fiber.

However, peas contain about 25% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

The fifth ingredient lists beef. Beef is defined as “the clean flesh derived from slaughtered cattle” and includes skeletal muscle or the muscle tissues of the tongue, diaphragm, heart or esophagus.1

Beef is naturally rich in all ten essential amino acids required by a dog to sustain life.

The sixth ingredient is tapioca, a gluten-free, starchy carbohydrate extract made from the root of the cassava plant.

The seventh ingredient is sunflower oil. Sunflower oil is nutritionally similar to safflower oil. Since these oils are high in omega-6 fatty acids and contain no omega-3′s, they’re considered less nutritious than canola or flaxseed oils.

Sunflower oil is notable for its resistance to heat damage during cooking.

There are several different types of sunflower oil, some better than others. Without knowing more, it’s impossible to judge the quality of this ingredient.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With one notable exceptions

The minerals listed here do not appear to be chelated. And that can make them more difficult to absorb. Non-chelated minerals are usually associated with lower quality dog foods.

Simply Nourish Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Judging by its ingredients alone, Simply Nourish Dog Food looks like an above average wet product.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 59%, a fat level of 8% and estimated carbohydrates of about 25%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 59% and a mean fat level of 8%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 25% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 14%.

Above-average protein. Below-average fat. And below-average carbs when compared to a typical canned dog food.

Even when you consider the protein-boosting effect of the peas, this looks like the profile of a wet product containing a significant amount of meat.

Yet it’s unfortunate the company chose to include non-chelated minerals in its recipes. Without this lower quality ingredient, we’d have been compelled to award this line our highest rating.

Bottom line?

Simply Nourish Dog Food is a meat-based wet product using a significant amount of chicken, beef or fish as its main sources of animal protein, thus earning the brand 4.5 stars.

Highly recommended.

Please note some products may have been given higher or lower ratings based upon our estimate of their total meat content.

Special Alert

Rice ingredients can sometimes contain arsenic. Until the US FDA establishes safe upper levels for arsenic content, pet owners may wish to limit the total amount of rice fed in a dog's daily diet.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, our rating system is not intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in specific health benefits for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

To learn how we support the cost of operating this website, please visit our public Disclosure and Disclaimer page.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Notes and Updates

07/01/2011 Original review
11/25/2012 Last Update

  1. Association of American Feed Control Officials
  2. Association of American Feed Control Officials
  • Elizabeth Lazare Marshall

    Thanks for responding–I was just confused because Weruva also doesn’t have chelated minerals.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com/ Mike Sagman

    You’re correct. These 2 products are extremely similar. However, when the Simply Nourish canned dog food review was last updated in November 2012, we sometimes reduced the star rating of a recipe by about a half star if the minerals weren’t chelated.

    However, as long as the apparent meat content is high enough to negate this factor (as it is in this recipe), we now rarely adjust the rating for this reason.

    So, when this review comes up for an update some time around the end of May 2014, we will probably raise its rating by about a half star. Hope this helps.

  • Elizabeth Lazare Marshall

    Why does Weruva get 5 stars and Simply Nourish only 4? They seem to be very similar.

  • rachael

    I got chicken and rice the other day for my beagle brothers. They weren’t even touching the other foods I tried since I’ve had them. They LOVED this and gobbled it up sooo quickly. I’m very impressed and I will continue to buy this brand of dog food.

  • InkedMarie

    Thanks, I walk like a little old lady in snow & ice

  • Pam c

    Well I hope your surgery goes well. And in the mean time watch out for the black ice!

  • InkedMarie

    My aunts family is in Rochester, last name of Fichter. I normally don’t mind snow but I have a bad hip, getting a replacement in May but this year, the cold & snow are making it a painful winter for me :(

  • Pam c

    Rochester. We were supposed to have a “storm” on Sunday. I wouldn’t mind another one of those.

  • InkedMarie

    Ok, thanks for answering. Where in NY? I was born & raised outside Buffalo. I’m in NH now & understand about this winter. We have another storm coming tomorrow. Tired of this.

  • Pam c

    Nope, New York. And I’m sure if I had a gorgeous Great Pyrenees dog she’d be loving this winter ^.^

  • InkedMarie

    Ot but Pam, are you by chance from Florida with Great Pyr’s.

  • Pam c

    Scroll down a bit. Apparently Thailand meat exports are of a higher quality.

  • Amy

    I had gotten 2 cans and happened to notice before I opened them that the label says product of Thailand?!?! I prefer to feed food from the USA. Any thoughts? Now I’m worried about where their dry food comes from? I just switched to this brand from victor.

  • schinia

    my vet told me to get her off the food QUICK!

  • JudyandSam Simpson Norris

    Mix it with some dry and see how she does.

  • Jannarama from Arizona

    Simply Nourish has 3 varieties of the wet dog food that have NO chicken in them. My Tibetan Spaniel’s allergies have calmed down since I stopped feeding her poultry. We buy the Seafood Bisque, Fish & Potato Stew, and Tuna & Salmon Stew, mixing it with the Simply Nourish Sweet Potato & Salmon recipe dry dog food.

    Both my Tibby and my Malchi love this food and I’ve been using this brand for about 4 months now.

  • enivaldo

    Não entendi nada :[

  • Pattyvaughn

    Nevermind, it’s a spammer!

  • Pattyvaughn

    Where is Labs when you need her?

  • enivaldo

    Alguém quer ser meu amigo?

  • Cyndi

    Maybe you should take a class on dog nutrition AND a spelling class.

  • Shawna

    Curious what part of the post do you think is off base?

  • Gordon Volans

    It is a typo you nit wit but thanks for your useful contribution. I am still using this screen name and I am still a practicing veterinarian.
    I will also often mistype “hte” for “the” but I know how to spell that as well.

  • LawofRaw

    Haha, yeah true! Because really they’re not at all a veterinarian. By the way, that guest post G volans replied to a year ago, is just one of my own old posts where my originally deleted Disqus account, reverted all my old posts as “Guest” posted, unfortunately. Which now combines with other ‘Guest’ posts.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Wow – I hadn’t heard of Bil Jac’s new grain-free formula yet. Unfortunately it looks rather low quality as far as grain-free foods go. Ingredients are listed by weight. The first ingredient is “chicken” followed by pea starch. Chicken is a wet product that is about 80% moisture – mostly water weight. Once processed the moisture is removed and the chicken will fall way down on the ingredient list making pea starch the first ingredient. :(

  • Betsy Greer

    Reminds me of that old, old HBO commercial…

    “I don’t eat meat…, because I’m a veterinarian.”

  • diana

    I also wonder about people who cannot spell their profession. It’s veterinarian.

  • diana

    Bil Jac has a grain free dry food now so that’s what I give my dog. He hasn’t had any problems with it so far.
    Bil jac does not contain any by products and all that other nasty stuff at least not the grain free one which is what I give my dog. I don’t trust a country that’s poor like thailand to have good labeling and to abide by US laws. I mean if the country is poor I really don’t see how they would be all that good in handling dog food.

  • Storm’s Mom

    Are you the same diana that is on the Bil-Jac page singing Bil-Jac’s praises? If so, I’m sorry, but Bil-Jac isn’t much better than Ol’Roy, if at all…at least not their dry food. Walmart has a new food – Pure Balance – that is MUCH better than Bil-Jac, at a similar price!

  • diana

    Ol roy is not a good brand

  • diana

    Cate, I think the mixing of the two is what caused your dog to get sick.

    Here are people who say simply nurish works wonders for them and blue is good too although blue have had recalls and I’ve heard their food has some type of particles in their kibles so you never know. I think you mixing the food is what caused your dog to get sick.

  • Susan Hetland

    I have two dogs at home – shih tzu and beagle mix sisters and they would not eat dog food. Now, let me tell you before you start with the “a dog will eat if they are hungry enough” line, or “you are treating them too much” that may be true for your dogs but not mine. They made themselves sick from not eating and puppies need their nutrition so I ended up cooking for them for their first year, giving them vitamins and at the same time I was searching for food they would eat. I tried 27 different types of dog food, even the refrigerated type, the dry and flash frozen types, expensive and cheap but had no success. I am known at my local PetCo and PetSmart as the women with the picky eaters and the staff would ask, have you tried xyz? and I would say yes. It was horrible, time consuming, frustrating and expensive. I had pretty much given up hope when I found Simply Nourish but it was new so it was worth a look. I was a bit concerned because it is coming out of Thailand but the ingredients were awesome, I thought what do I have to lose. I bought two small cans just to try it and look up the reviews on line and found it had a 4.5 star rating from dogfoodadvisor. When I opened the first can, Chicken and Rice it looked and smelled like something I would eat and I was absolutely shocked when they both wolfed it down. Thinking it might have been a one time thing or a fluke, I gave them the second can at their next meal they wolfed it down again. When I heard the empty plates being licked across the floor, I was shocked, very happy but shocked. I went back to PetSmart the next day and bought a bag of the dry food Chicken, Potato and Peas flavor and several more cans. Every meal since has been a gobble down fest and face dragging thank you mama experience and I leave some dry food out just for nibbling and they like that too. Look, this food is $2.29 for a 10.5 oz can and that is spendy but, by using the dry food with the wet food, I can afford it. Heck, it is cheaper than cooking steak and chicken breasts and a lot easier too. As for all of you tough love folks, I am sure I could have given them the choice of eat or die and they might eventually have eaten but they only get to live on this planet 15 years if we are lucky and I just thought it should be better than that. I am so glad I did this my way and kept looking for a food they would love because now I found it and they can love meal time too! Food is a big part of life it should be enjoyed!

  • Carol

    No, they are likely going to recommend Science Diet.

  • Matt

    Best dog food ever. Our 2 year old LaChon is very picky and turned her nose up at most dog foods. She loves the chicken/rice and chicken/pasta. The chicken appears to be all white meat and always looks fresh.

  • losul

    They’re all supposed to abide by U.S. import laws, including labeling. Thailand has a better reputation for abiding by U.S. law, some of that may be due to the huge volume of imports from China vs Thailand. But pet foods laws are pretty loose in the U.S., and I imagine our import laws for pet foods are as well.

    Thai labeling laws for human foods for domestic production, use, and import into their country are usually at least as stringent as U.S. and many times much more so. Don’t know about pet food laws there.

    Section II deals with labeling. ( for use in their Country)

    http://gain.fas.usda.gov/Recent%20GAIN%20Publications/Food%20and%20Agricultural%20Import%20Regulations%20and%20Standards%20-%20Narrative_Bangkok_Thailand_8-14-2009.pdf

  • Marie

    The Thai government has very high export standards on purpose, because they don’t want to be compared to China. And I totally do NOT believe that Thailand has no labeling laws.

  • Cate

    Thailand has no labeling laws. They can say anything on the can.

  • Marie

    That’s great. I feed my pets canned food from both the US and Thailand with no adverse effects. The country of origin isn’t relevant here because both countries make good pet food. What’s the problem with Thailand?

  • Cate

    I’ve been feeding Blue for 3 1/2 yrs with no problem.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Thailand has a very good reputation for high quality food standards.

  • Marie

    I know that, and that’s irrelevant. But you mixed two different brands of dog food together, so you really don’t know for sure what caused the problem.

  • Cate

    Blue Buffalo is sourced & made in the USA.

  • Marie

    I had emailed the president of Weruva asking him if his company made Simply Nourish. His answer was no.

  • Marie

    Thailand exports a number of extremely high quality brands. It could have been the Blue.

  • Cate

    After reading reviews I bought a can of chicken & rice for my Shih Tzu & Papchi Friday & put some on top of their Blue Buffalo kibble Sat morning. It looked & smelled great & ingredients were wholesome.

    Within 10 min of eating my Shih Tzu was starting to throw up & could not get her back legs steady. I got her outside & everything barfed up but she could not walk & just sat there scared. I waited a bit and 15 min later seemed better. A few hours later I gave her the Blue Wilderness Trout & Chicken which is wonderful. I’m sticking with Blue which has been wonderful for them & is made & sourced in the USA with nothing imported.

    I re-read the can to Simply Nourish & it is made in Thailand !

    Best by Oct 2015

    nx1670/Prod.23/10/2012B

  • http://www.facebook.com/TokenGimp Layne Nelson

    You make a good point. If not part of a chain they will be member of any number of vet related organizations (http://www.ivis.org/home.asp) and just as likely to have an expensive dog food that is just what your dog needs.

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    Some of these foods made in Thailand are actually made in a human food plant which have higher standards. The only one I know of for sure is Weruva and they disclose the plant info on their website. For other brands, you’d need to contact them and see if they’ll disclose that information. There are a couple of “tubs” foods that are made in Thailand also like Ol’ Roy and some others.

  • Alcovypet

    I was shocked to see it was made in Thailand. I’m just concerned.

  • Itsmepersis

    I do the same.  I actually mix the Simply Nourish with Wellness Core and my Shih-tzu loves it.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Their GA is slightly different, very slightly, so some ingredients are in different amounts at the very least.

  • Jonthan

    How does this food get a 4 1/2 star vs Weruva 5 star. Ingredient for ingredient they seem to be identical, made in the same place. When I first saw, I realized quickly that Weruva had just repackaged to sell at PetSmart without angering their small retailer network.

  • Bogie

    Hi,
    PLEASE stop advising people to consult their vet when in doubt about pet foods?   Mainstream veterinarians, as well as the vert association, is virtually owned by the PFI.  Look at the largest veterinary chain in the US — Owned, LITERALLY, by MARS (yes, the company most well-known for candy). Check out the ingredients in their foods sometime!!  
    A mainstream Veterinarian is NOT going to badmouth any commercial food — no matter HOW sick an animal may be due to improper diet!!!!

  • Pingback: PetSmart's "Simply Nourish" canned food? -   - City-Data Forum

  • notaman

    Sounds like you are on the right track in terms of nutrition. Make sure when he barks, you never look at him or respond in any way, unless you want a dog that barks all the time. Make sure you teach him sit, stay and down commands. Walk him with a harness—not a collar. Collars can hurt their trachea. Teach him how to play with toys and walk him once a day. Teach him how to go out the doggie door or buy potty papers and teach him to use those. They go by scent. Sometimes it takes a while for them to gain impulse control. No matter what— NEVER strike him. Kill him or her with KINDNESS. Put your face near his face all the time so he is never afraid of a human face. Touch his paws and ears a lot so he learns to love being groomed. Find a good groomer or learn to do it yourself. Put your hand in the feeding bowl periodically to ensure he is never food aggressive. Shit-zus are great—but they can be just like a big dog—–and they can be bad unless you do your job as a human. Give him his own bed and space and keep to a structured routine and you will have the PERFECT canine cubble bear of a companion. I promise. —– Original Message —–
    From: Disqus
    To: [email protected]
    Sent: Sunday, December 09, 2012 9:03 PM
    Subject: [dogfoodadvisor] Re: Simply Nourish Dog Food (Canned)

    persis (unregistered) wrote, in response to notaman:

    I have a 4 month old shih tzu. He’s my first pet and my family and I love him dearly. We decided to feed him healthy so he can live a long healthy life. I just started him on simply nourish and he seems to love it. I have mixed it with Wellness Core dry food for puppies. No complaints or concerns so far. :-) Do you have any recommendations for me? Being that we both own Shih Tzu’s.
    Link to comment

  • persis

    I have a 4 month old shih tzu.  He’s my first pet and my family and I love him dearly.  We decided to feed him healthy so he can live a long healthy life.  I just started him on simply nourish and he seems to love it.  I have mixed it with Wellness Core dry food for puppies.  No complaints or concerns so far.  :-)  Do you have any recommendations for me?  Being that we both own Shih Tzu’s.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com/ Mike Sagman

    Hi Jan_Mom2Cavs,

    Since most of these products are indeed made without grains in their recipes, I’ve added the grain-free tag to the review.

    And since the tages are how our software identifies specific candidates for our suggestions, you should now see Simply Nourish in the Best Wet Grain Free Dog Foods list.

    Thanks for calling this oversight to my attention. Good job!

  • Jan_Mom2Cavs

    Dr. Mike S., is there a specific reason why this canned food is not on the “best grain free canned food” list?  Just wondering…I do use it, and it seems to be a high quality food.  It does have 4.5 stars.  There are a couple of flavors that aren’t grain free, but most of them are.  Thanks for your consideration.

  • Pingback: Anyone ever heard of VARIETY PET FOOD MIXABLES?

  • Jan_Mom2Cavs

    All I know is that this food is Petsmart’s private label super premium brand and that it is made in Thailand.  I use this canned food almost exclusively and my dogs are doing fantastic.  Hope this helps, but if you want to know more I’d look at a can and get the phone number off of it and call them.

  • Mytime04

    what company makes this food?

  • Pingback: All Different Dog Food Brands & Types | My Blog

  • MARGOHOME

    I FEED THE EXACT SAME FOOD (ROYAL CANINE DRY AND SIMPLY NOURISH) AND MY FINICKY CHIHUAHUA LOVES IT AS DOES MY WOOFER CHIHUAHUA.  I GET EXCELLENT POOP RESULTS .  I’M HAPPY WITH THIS FOOD.

  • Austin196464

    My Yorkie loves this food. I put some dry food underneath and she couldn’t be happier

  • notaman

    My two Shih-tzus, who are fit and lean,  love this food. When I open the can, I love the smell myself and am tempted to eat it.  Both my Shih-tzus, who weigh nine pounds,  are healthy and fit and each baby gets one fourth of a can of Simply Nourish a day.  I also feed them one half cup of Royal Canine dry food as well.   Seems to make their poop regular and not runny at all. None of their treats contain any sugar as I think sugar is the worse thing for Shih-tzus.  Leads to diabetes. Check all labels on ALL treats.  

  • Lumanutt

    I was surprized it is made in Thailand!. I hope they do checks on the batches of food shipped and consumed by our pets. My dogs love the wet and dry types though.

  • JOHN

    BOTH DOGS LIKED IT WHICH IS RARE – ONE GOOD THING – THEY FURNISH A LID FOR THE CAN

  • Tstalkin

    Thanks for your hard work here! I found your site looking for Calorie counts in this food. Not listed on the cans and can’t find it elsewhere. I suspect it’s low but…

  • Psalmi

    my two shi-tzus love this food.  since they have been eating this food their coat is much healthier.  one is a very picky eater but cannot lift his head from the bowl once I put the bowl down.  they absolutely love this and I see all the benefits of serving the food to them, thank you
    tempe az

  • Momof4

    I have nothing but good things to say about this food and the quality you can see when you open the can real meat, vegies and pasta nothing else looks better that than the canned food we feed our families. My dogs love it even the cat comes running when I open a can. Have been using it for about 8 months.

  • Shawna

    LOVE your avatar picture G volans :)

    What part/s of the post do you think are way off base?

  • G volans

    This person has no idea what they are talking about.  As a veterinarain I think they are way off base.

  • Mdolling

    my dog is allergic to chicken. I have been giving him the dry food -Simply Nourish–oatmeal –lamb–do you have that in canned food??

  • jasmine

    what is the calorie content in the canned 10.5 oz simply nourish line like chicken & beef stew ????

    dieting my pom  was 17.9 pds & she dieted for 1 1/2 week lost 1 pound & 6 oz started on 1/4 cup food &* 1 tbspoon wet  started on nutro natural water soaked after 1 wk refused it even wick chicken broth or vita gravy  used nutro canned wt loss too stools finally firmed up till she frefused it i tried simply nourish  she loves it but runny pooh

    i tried blue bufflo she refused it

    she likes evo beef its too hi calorie  she s consuming no more than 250 calories aday

    2xday  feeding  very picky , please help me find sm thing she will eat & will still lose weight ????

    also she is 10 yrs old  not active  lame in bk end  cushings disease  , no upper teeth , & collapsing trachea severe arthritis , & luxating patellas in bk knees

    so a lot s wrong  , but still going

    please help , ps where do you get bone meal ? i
    im going to try mixing in  nutro with simply nourish she is picky & wont eat the vetables in simply nourish

    help help find a small bite , dry she likes low calorie & a good wet food 2

  • Missimo29

    I have a 9lb Malti-Poo that might be the pickiest dog ever.  I adopted him from a shelter a year and a half ago at about 4 years old.  While I definately agree with training dogs to eat at specific times, I also want him to like what he’s eating.  When you adopt, you have no idea what they grew up eating or what they’re used to.  So it’s really trial and error, before you find what fits. Before I became a pet parent, I assumed all dogs like everything. WRONG! I discovered not only will he go days without food if he doesn’t like what is there, he has gone nearly a week without food before I have given in and just fed him chicken so he will eat something. It’s not funny, but I have joked about his hunger strike.
    So after trying almost every kind of food on the shelf, I came across Simply Nourish and he ate all of his food the second I set it down.  It looks like shreaded chicken and even smells pretty good.  I was litterally amazed, and not to mention it is a natural food so it’s actually good for him!  I mix in some dry Royal Canine for sensitive stomachs to avoid the soft stool issue and he is a happy puppy!
    I highly recommend it for finicky eaters!

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=512195759 Angel Candlemaking Idowu

    Sheryl, I have the Exact same problem! My Yorkie/ Bichon is so finicky!

  • Anonymous

    ok ,let me do this again. britni is 8yrs old now. i got her as a baby. i fed her cesars dog food in the flat plastic container. from the start she used to cry and run under the bed and hide for a while. (i fed her the dog food for a couple of yrs) my vet just said that it’s too bad dogs can’t tell you whats wrong. (he never asked me what i was feeding her) then i changed her food to hills science diet. she stopped having the , what i think were stomach aches. but every once in a while she would have diarrhea and after a few times small amounts of blood would appear. i brought her to another vet and he checked her out, and said he couldn’t find anything wrong. (he never asked me what i fed her) he recommended prescription dog food for a week, she was cured, until i went back on the reg food, and it started all over again. went back to the vet and he said to go back on the prescription food a little longer. then i just went to another food (simply nourish) she loves it but (soft stool) thats when i put her on wellness turkey and duck stew, for a week, she loves it and her stool firmed up. i only started looking at dog food ratings when i selected simply nourish. i think she has a sensitive stomach. as i am writing this , i believe the solution is a no brainer. i’m just sorry it took me so long to realize something that was so obvious since the beginning.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Schinia,

    As with humans, routinely soft or watery stools may be a sign of an underlying health or dietary problem. And symptoms like these should not be ignored.

    One thing I would NOT recommend is removing the water from the food. Moisture is not likely to be the cause. As a matter of fact, when an animal looses excessive moisture through its stools or urine, dehydration can be a very serious result.

    So, your goal is to retain and replace as much water in the body as you can.

    Unfortunately, since I’m not a veterinarian and due to the biological uniqueness of each pet, it would be inappropriate for me to provide specific health advice or product recommendations. Please see our FAQ page and our reviews for more information.

    Or check back for a possible response from one of our other readers.

    Wish I could be more help.

  • Anonymous

    i have a chihuahua, and have been feeding her simply nourish for about 3 months, and she loves it but has runny poo. (to steal an expression) should i drain off alot of the liquid in the can before feeding it to her? is runny poo bad? i will say i fed her wellness grainless turkey and duck stew, and her poo had gotten alot better. any suggestions?

  • Sheryl

    Toxed, no I haven’t tried bone meal for the runny poos. Her poos have straightened up today. She hasn’t had any of the Simply Nourish food…only Freshpet and it’s made a big difference. I’ll keep the bone meal in the back of my mind for future reference though. Thanks!

  • Sheryl

    Gordon…she’s definitely a meat eater, but I don’t know if I have it in me to feed her a raw diet. I don’t think I can even do a raw meaty bone since she’s an inside girl and I have light colored carpet. She would eat nothing but meat all day long if I would provide it. I guess I just want to make sure that she’s getting all the nutrients she needs.

  • Gordon

    Sheryl – Perhaps I haven’t read up on your entire problem, but from the jist of what I’ve read above, sounds like your dog is telling you that she’s 99.82% wolf and wants real food. That being whole raw meaty bones, carcasses and offal. I could be wrong and not know enough of your dog’s whole fastidious history, and if so, I don’t mean to be presume so. However, could it be that she is telling you that she doesn’t want manufactured/processed/fabricated doggy biscuits/pellets and instead wants REAL FOOD?

  • http://www.facebook.com/Toxed2loss Toxed2loss

    As regards the runny poo, have you tried putting a little quality bone meal in it? When I feed my dogs bones they get quite “dry.”

  • http://www.facebook.com/Toxed2loss Toxed2loss

    Let it soak in for a few minutes, first.

  • Sheryl

    Oh Melissa, I’ve tried the chicken stock and she just licks it out and leaves the dog food.

  • Sheryl

    Jan and Melissa…thanks for the info on picking up for the picky eater. I have dry food out for her all the time since I don’t want her to go hungry if she really gets that way. It literally needs to be dusted it’s been sitting there so long. I guess I should pick that up and try the “make up ur mind” thing and see how she reacts. Her picky behavior has gotten really bad and yes, it’s probably learned. She even likes something one day and the next day, she just turns up her nose and walks away from it. I think if I could just put out dry food and leave for a couple of days she would eat. The thing is…if I put out something she doesn’t want to eat, she paws the crap out of me wanting me to get her something to eat. And yes, I usually try to find something else for her…here lately, it’s been the Simply Nourish canned food and we’re back to square one with the runny poo.

  • Jan (Mom to Cavs)

    Lucy, my Mixed Breed, is a what I call a picky eater. However, she is not really that way anymore. Over the years, I’ve measured all foods I’ve fed by her reaction and tried many different ones because she wouldn’t eat various ones. One day I decided to do the pick up the food bowl thing lol. She even went without her food for a couple of days. Then all of a sudden she started eating whatever I put down! She hasn’t really been picky for awhile now, but I still call her the picky one because I’m just waiting for the other shoe to drop lol, and because she will still be picky with certain treats….thank goodness they don’t get that many treats. So, Lucy is a testament to the pick up the bowl system. It just might work for you, too.

  • melissa

    Sheryl-

    In the meantime, you could try adding some salt free or reduced sodium chicken stock to her food to see if she will eat it. Honestly, picky eating seems to be typically a learned behavior. With some dogs, the “picking up the food” works, with others leaving it down works to get them to eat. We recently had a rescue foster that would not eat-he was always looking to see if something better was about to “fall from the sky”. It would take him an hour or better to decide to eat, but when nothing else ‘appeared’ he ate. eventually,. knowing nothing else was forthcoming, he ate like any other dog : )

  • Gordon

    I really couldn’t help noticing the comment found at http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/dog-food-reviews/simply-nourish-canned/comment-page-1/#comment-42016
    about his boxer and bone fragment problem. Because I care about the welfare of dogs and animals in general, and irrespective of what I think about certain posters and their feeling of insecurity or being threatened for what ever reason, I want to reiterate some following advice that I have probably posted 100 times before and was read by that poster.

    When a dog is so used to being just fed doggy biscuits (cooked pellets regardless of its quality), and is occasionally given a real hard bone such as beef femur (more bone than any meat) and even harder if from older cattle than younger same, for the sole purpose so it can just chew on it for hours, then it is not surprising that an owner would see this kind of problem.

    A dog’s biological enzymatic processes, even if compromised via years of neglectful feeding, needs a variety of raw meaty bones, of both soft and medium dense RMB’s, with sufficient surrounding meat as well.

    Such variety of RMB’s for a boxer size dog, to properly and naturally process and digest same, should include, chicken frames, backs, turkey same, rabbit carcasses, whole raw fish, lamb briskets, lamb shanks, marrow bones, soup bones, beef briskets, etc, where not only should such be chewing on these for teeth cleaning, but also to be actually able to be tearing and crunching and breaking these RMB’s with their teeth and jaws before swallowing them, where such softer bones with actual surrounding meat is better digested and processed as well as slowly healing the stomach walls, digestive tracts, and returning the stomach pH to 1 or 2, exercising the natural biological processes of the dog’s digestive system.

  • http://www.facebook.com/Toxed2loss Toxed2loss

    Lol, my spell checker does that to me ALL the time! :-D

  • Sheryl

    lol, I meant TOXED!!!

  • Sheryl

    Tossed, I just ordered some samples of Brothers. Keep ur fingers crossed that she likes it! Would make me really happy if that happened!

  • Sheryl

    Sandy, I’d say she has me trained pretty well. When I adopted her, she was extremely skinny and pretty sick. The ladies at the shelter started fixing her chicken and bringing it to her because she wouldn’t eat the dog food they offered her. The only thing I’ve found that she’ll consistently eat is chicken. I’ve cooked some dishes for her from recipes I’ve found online and most of them she wouldn’t touch. I’m not familiar with the Weruva Human Style or the Addiction. I’ll check that out. I do take food away after about 30 min of not eating. Just ordered some samples of Brothers and will see how that goes.

  • sandy

    Sheryl,

    Sounds like your dog is training you. By now she knows you’ll bring home something different. Have you tried just taking her food bowl away after 15 minutes and then letting her wait till the next meal time? Dogs will not starve if they miss a meal or two or three like humans. You need to be the boss. Sounds like you could save money and time and frustration by cooking her food. Some home cooking and a doggie vitamin rather than going out and buying all sorts of foods. Have you given her a raw meaty bone? Chicken neck or turkey neck?

    That being said, have you tried Weruva Human Style? My dogs haven’t met a Weruva flavor yet that they don’t like or Merrick cans or Addiction cans?

  • http://www.facebook.com/Toxed2loss Toxed2loss

    What I like to feed best is Raw (with cooked veggies), & meaty bones, & the B.A.R.F. homemade,in rotation. I also use Great Life Performance, when I need Kibble or I want to add variety to their veggies/meat. We raise grass fed, not registered organic beef and lamb, my husband hunts and fishes…

    I’ve noticed that my Pom, loves veggies. All kinds and she prefers them raw. Kind of strange, but o.k. My poodle, our German shorthair+, definitely meat eaters. They all like the GLP. It does smell very “clean.” no contaminants. And trust me, I could smell em.

  • Sheryl

    I’m not familiar with Brothers, but will have a look at it. I haven’t found a canned food other than the simply nourish that she will eat. I’ve tried probably 15 different ones as well as at least 25 different dry foods. She had some freshpet select for dinner tonight. She’ll eat it if it has some grated cheese on it. I’ve tried to use canned as a topper, but haven’t really found a dry that she’ll let me do that with. She just takes a sniff and walks away. It’s an everyday battle to get her to eat something that’s good for her.

  • Mike P

    I messed up on Saturday afternoon.I gave my dog a raw meaty beef femur bone and let her chew on it for a couple of hours.She got the trots and puked up some tiny bone pieces.I skipped her dinner and fed her a cup of Brothers on Sunday with no topper.Poops back to normal.

  • Jan (Mom to Cavs)

    You could try Brothers, too, though….it’s great. Also, if you’re willing and able, there’s premade raw foods available most places (at least some brands). You would have to buy them from another pet store, though. There are also foods like Fresh Pet Select/Deli Fresh that can be an alternative to canned food. Check them out on the canned section on this site, too.

  • Jan (Mom to Cavs)

    Yes, Brothers is great, but currently they don’t have a canned food (soon I understand). Anyway, my dogs like this canned food but I only use it as a topper. If you’re just feeding canned foods there are a lot to choose from and it might take some experimentation. Check out this sites canned food ratings to see if there are any available near you that you could try. I know this food is strictly Petsmart’s brand and if you’re looking for a good canned food there I can recommend:

    Wellness (they have pate and stewey types)
    Blue Buffalo (they have grain inclusive and Wilderness which is grain free and they have pate and stewey types)
    Avoderm
    Castor & Pollux Organix
    Castor & Pollux Natural Ultramix (stewey type)

    There is Innova, as well, but I’m not fond since P&G bought them.

    Hope this helps! :)

  • http://www.facebook.com/Toxed2loss Toxed2loss

    Grrr. Sorry about the typos! I upgraded to iOS 5 and I haven’t gotten used to its quirks yet. LOL

  • http://www.facebook.com/Toxed2loss Toxed2loss

    Hi Sheryl,
    I’ve never tried this food so I don’t know much about it. A quick scan of the contents showed me a couple of things. 1.) nothing that I could identify as bone or bone meal. If I don’t feed bone or bone meal to my dogs, they get runny. 2.) In this food they use sunflower an inactive omega oil, not optimal. Xanthan gum, a thickener. One that by processing is high in free glutamic and Aspartic acids. Think MSG and aspartame. While teensy tiny trace amounts are necessary, processing practices release way more than we can handle. Diarrhea is a common reaction to glutamic acid.

    I note you have a picky eater… I can’t really address that as mine are pretty good. Lots of posters have found Brothers to be exceptional and Well liked. Hope over to that thread and see what they’re saying. :-) good luck!

  • Sheryl

    I have the pickiest eater in the entire universe. Bought the canned Simply Nourish in several flavors. The Chicken and Beef dish gives her horrible gas. The other flavors make her poop really soft and hard to pick up…diarrhea at times. The other flavors also create gas, but not as bad as the Chicken and Beef. She’s been eating this for about 3 weeks or so. Shouldn’t the stomach upset be over by now??? Anybody else having this kind of issue??? I’ve given her a digestive aid to help with the issues, but it doesn’t seem to do much for her. Advice!!! Don’t know whether to abandon the food to hang in there. She won’t eat dry food and refuses most other dog foods as well.

  • Marie

    LOL – well, I wouldn’t know that. ;-) All I know is that Weruva, although manufactured in Thailand, has excellent standards. :)

  • Michelle

    Marie, aren’t they the ones (Thailand) that serve sweet & sour tabby? :)

  • Marie

    Dave, that’s a shame. Weruva, as an example, is considered one of the top makers of canned cat and dog food and it’s factory is in Thailand.

  • Dave M

    David I agree with you. I became educated after all the food recalls. I wouldn’t consider any dog food product out of Asia.

  • David

    I wouldn’t dare feed this wet food as I remember from my time in Thailand that dog is a common food there… often substituted for chicken! Ask any Vietnam Vet who spent time in the bush and they’ll tell you it’s so!

  • Melissa Glowacki

    I just bought the tuna & salmon stew for my 14 yr. old gold. retriever, who all her life has had allergies and skin irritations. I’ve been looking for a good quality canned food with no chicken and I think I may have found it. The food looked and smelled much better than other canned foods and I was happy to see peas, carrots and potato pieces that were not mush. And best of all, the picky eater that she is, she loved it! I’ve had no problems getting her to eat like usual. Now to search for a website to have it delivered. The closest store is about 15 miles and having a boarding kennel, it’s hard to get away.

  • Gordon

    Michelle started it! :P ;)

  • http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ninja Dog Food Ninja

    Knock it off, you two, or I’m gettin the hose out. :-P

  • Michelle

    Gordon, always trying to get someone to pat you…..;)

  • Gordon

    OK then…..so it would be more like patting me then…lol. Meaning any human, really. :)

  • aimee

    His skin doesn’t really feel any different than human skin. I think Richard posted about their infant like nature. He even is sporting a farmer’s tan right now. I don’t usually put sun block on him for just a quick potty run and apparently it shows!

    It has been many years since I’ve patted a pig but as I recall the skin was much rougher in texture.

  • Gordon

    It probably would feel “ewww”. You’d probably pat him when he’s clothed, lol. And on the head as well.

  • http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ninja Dog Food Ninja

    Ewww, I really don’t like hairless dogs and cats. You can’t pet them, they feel too weird!!

  • Gordon

    Bit like wine then huh aimee? You’re still getting used to/acquired to him/the taste, lol. What does it feel like to pat him? Is it like maybe patting a pig? Not that I’ve patted a pig before. But is the skin in similar condition?

  • aimee

    Gordon,
    I’ve had him several years now and still am not quite used to his hairlessness…he is always dressed.

  • Gordon

    You’re welcome, Louise.

    I’m joking Dr. aimee. I already like such dogs. Hairless, but hair on the head with cute ears, makes a cute dog. I love ‘em all, great and small, ugly and pretty.

  • aimee

    Louise,

    Your Welcome!

    Gordon,

    His hairlessness is an aquired taste….

  • Louise

    Gordon and Aimee,
    THANK YOU both for figuring out the estimated number of calories for the canned Simply Nourish!!
    My two chis LOVE this food and now I can properly portion out for both of them.
    Again, MANY thanks, – Louise
    P.S. Still have not heard from Petsmart – suspect I never will!

  • Gordon

    Huh, it’s adorable! The head anyway, lol.

  • aimee

    Finally got the gravatar to work!

  • Gordon

    No probs Dr. aimee. I’m sure that it isn’t amongst the most important in your list, lol :P

  • aimee

    Gordon,
    Gravatar is on my list of things to do…

  • Gordon

    Thanks Dr. aimee for the confirmation. I thought as much.

    Hey, where is your gravatar? I thought you were contemplating putting one up?

  • aimee

    I got about 200/can ballpark as we are working off of GA numbers. Would be a bit less if use Modified Atwater numbers for protein, fat and carb.

    Either way a good starting point estimate!

  • Gordon

    So whether 219 or 200 calories it is probably a good ballpark figure being close to accurate.

  • Gordon

    Say 51 gram in the can if we deduct the 83% of water/moisture, so:-

    0.59 x 51 = 30 grams of protein

    30 x 4 = 120 calories of protein

    0.08 x 51 = 4 grams of fat

    4 x 9 = 36 calories of fat

    0.31 x 51 = 16 grams of carbs

    16 x 4 = 64 calories of carbs

    So the total calories in a can is approximately 120 +16 + 64 = 200 calories or 0.2 kcal

    Anyway, I think I got it close to right. Perhaps Dr. aimee (food scientist/nutritionist) can confirm?

  • Gordon

    I made a mistake. We can’t consider the can at 298 grams if we take out water, so:-

    that total figure calculated at 1288 calories, could be times by 0.17 which would = 219 calories.

    Wait, I mucked up my whole thing now. Hang on, I’ve confused myself. Following in a minute or so will get it right lol

  • Gordon

    Louise – According to energy in the macro nutrients, for every gram of protein and carbohydrate there are 4 calories in each. For every gram of fat, there are 9 calories..

    So based on the figures you displayed you can at least approximate the energy level. So if we take the water content out of the equation and convert the figures to dry matter basis, we have:-

    59% protein, 8% fat and 31% carbs (I deducted 2% ash)

    And 10.5 oz is about 298 grams so 1 can of that dog food would approximately be around (in energy as calculations below):-

    0.59 x 298 = 176 grams of protein

    176 x 4 = 704 calories of protein

    0.08 x 298 = 24 grams of fat

    24 x 9 = 216 calories of fat

    0.31 x 298 = 92 grams of carbs

    92 x 4 = 368 calories of carbs

    So the total calories in a can is approximately 704 +216 + 368 = 1288 calories or 1.288 kcal

    Please note that the above is just an approximation because the figure for carbohydrates may include insoluble fibre, and could muck up the total figure a little. But generally it be a ballpark figure.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Kris… My review for Simply Nourish “dry” is already posted. You should be able to find it listed on our Search by Brand link in the left navigation bar. Hope this helps.

  • Kris

    Any ratings for the dry formula? They are selling it at Petsmart and it looks pretty good. A friend said it gave her dogs mild diarrhea when they first tried it, but once they got used to it, no more. Her too-thin dogs are putting on some much needed weight for a change. No probiotics in it, but it has pumpkin. Would adding yogurt be enough probiotics?

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Louise… I’m sorry you haven’t heard from PetsMart yet. However, you can do what you need to do without ever knowing the exact caloric content of the food.

    Since each dog has its own unique energy requirements (just like people), there’s no way to reliably predict the exact serving size that’s right for each pet. No matter which method you use.

    So, in this case, I’d suggest starting with your best guess. Simply go to some online retailer sites (like PetFlow) and get a general idea of what a recommended serving size for a similar canned dog food might be.

    Always measure the food with a real measuring cup. Not a scoop. Never guess. Keep an accurate record of how much you’re feeding.

    Be sure to weigh your dog periodically (every few weeks or so). Then, simply adjust (titrate) that serving size up or down to establish and maintain your pet’s ideal weight. Hope this helps.

  • Louise

    Erin,
    Am frustrated that still no response from Petsmart regarding the number of calories in the canned foods!
    Mike (or Jonathan), is there any way to “guess” the approximate number of calories in one of these cans?? Each can is 10.5 oz and lists
    Crude Protein (min) 10%
    Crude Fat (min) 1.4%
    Crude Fiber (max) 1.0%
    Moisture (max) 83%
    Ash (max) 2.0%
    It also advises feeding an adult dog 2 cans per day per 15 lbs. of body weight.
    My two small dogs LOVED the canned chicken and rice. However, don’t want to feed it if I cannot at least approximate the calories. For my girl with pins in her back legs, have to be extra careful how much she eats each day or she easily gains weight.
    Thanks, Mike for the great site and Jonathan, love reading your posts!

  • Erin

    I got a can of the chicken and pasta. My dog really loved it, except for the peas! He picked every single one out. This food looks better than anything I have ever seen from a can, including people food. However, the cost per serving is really high. For my 6 pound dog, it comes out to 1.33 a day, with Blue Wilderness at .96 a day for comparison. That is with the on sale price of $2.00 a can that PetSmart has right now. Louise, please do share if you find out the calorie count. I tried to get it too, and I couldn’t find it anywhere.

  • Jackie

    I picked up 6 cans of this, I had 2 buy one get 2 free coupons. The food, while probably not a great per pound value because they were $2 on sale for a smaller than average sized can, looks good. The dog likes it, and the cans come with plastic caps so that you can store unused food in the fridge. Plus the caps fit on other brands of food too, so I like that. The food looks just like what you might eat too, shreds of meat and whole peas and carrot bits and gravy. Smells nice. So if you get it on sale, it isn’t a bad choice.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Bill… This is a very important (and misunderstood) topic on my list for a future article. In a nutshell, the government (border control, not the FDA) requires any food item manufactured outside the USA to carry a statement (like Made in China) on its label. However, if a product contains ingredients made in another country (like China) but the food itself is actually manufactured here in the US, there’s no legal requirement to inform consumers.

    So, my question, are you safer buying a product that states it’s made in Thailand or a USA-made dog food that’s made with Chinese ingredients that you don’t know are in the recipe?

    A perfect example… the largest pet food recall event ever documented in US history occurred in 2007. And involved literally dozens of American companies that naively used Chinese-made melamine-tainted ingredients to make their finished products. And yet were never required to so state this fact on their respective labels.

    That’s why I like to say just because a food is made in your own backyard doesn’t guarantee its free of Chinese ingredients.

    Food for thought, don’t you think?

  • Bill Laird

    Concerned that the canned product country of origin is THAILAND. After the melimine issue with CHINA even though the distribtor “PET SMART” claims to have inspectors on site, there is a thread of thought to avoid offshore dog food products. What say you??

  • Bill Laird

    Referance: Simply Nourish (caned) from Pet Smart.
    1. Can indicates it is a product of Thailand

    2. I have been led to believe that outsourceing from an offshore nation is not wise ?? (probly a result of the melamine issue)

    3. I just started feeding this as a topper to the Dry formula, which I have not been able to identify the country of origin, it is not listed on the bag (at least I can not find it) nor have I located the web site.

    4. I did locate a toll free number for the distributer in Arizona (1-800-299-7387) Pet Smart. Mike at Pet Smart states it is manufactured in the US at a facility in Utah but could not give me the manufacturer name. He further satated the caned food is inspected and monitored by Pet Smart employees. Is that peace of mind??

    5. Please comment

    Bil

  • Louise

    Tried the Chicken/Rice Stew and my two dogs loved it! Big pieces of white meat chicken.
    However, no calories listed on the cans. Called Petsmart today who claimed they do not have this information in the database. Took my email address and said they would pass along the request to Management.
    Cannot imagine why dog food companies do not routinely list calories on the cans. Frustrating when trying to portion out for two small dogs!
    If anyone else knows the calories per can, please share the info. Otherwise, if I get a response, will post the numbers.

  • Melissa

    Woops… just found it. It didn’t come in a site search for some reason.

  • Melissa

    If you could also evaluate their dry line that would be nice. We are feeding our dogs the lamb and rice and the ingredients seem pretty good according to information on some other sites I have visited (www.dogfoodproject.com).

  • Kathleen

    This dog food is exclusively available at Petsmart. It is their own product. They have several others as well, but this is their first super premium pet food. Simply nourish was only released a couple months ago.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Pat and Ken… I only review the dog foods here on my website. I don’t track product availability. You should probably contact the manufacturer for that information. Also, to protect your privacy, I’ve taken the liberty to remove your address and phone number from your comment.

  • Pat & Ken Snider

    We bought a can of Simply Nourish Dog Food – Chicken & Pasta Stew when we were in Sarasota, FL. Our Yorkie LOVES it.

    Can you tell me where I can buy it in Venice, FL?

    Our address is [Deleted by editor]

    Our phone number is [Deleted by editor]

    Thank you.

    Pat & Ken Snider