Rachael Ray Nutrish Zero Grain (Dry)

Share

Rating: ★★★★☆

Rachael Ray Nutrish Zero Grain Dog Food receives the Advisor’s second-highest tier rating of 4 stars.

The Rachael Ray Nutrish Zero Grain product line includes three dry dog foods, each claimed to meet AAFCO nutrient profiles for all life stages.

The following is a list of recipes available at the time of this review.

  • Nutrish Zero Grain Turkey and Potato
  • Nutrish Zero Grain Salmon and Sweet Potato
  • Nutrish Zero Grain Beef, Potato and Bison (3.5 stars)

Rachael Ray Nutrish Zero Grain Turkey and Potato was selected to represent the other products in the line for this review.

Rachael Ray Nutrish Zero Grain Turkey and Potato

Dry Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 29% | Fat = 16% | Carbs = 47%

Ingredients: Turkey, turkey meal, chicken meal, dried peas, tapioca starch, whole dry potatoes, poultry fat (preserved with mixed tocopherols), dried plain beet pulp, whole flaxseed, natural chicken flavor, salt, calcium carbonate, potassium chloride, zinc sulfate, choline chloride, zinc proteinate, vitamin E supplement, iron proteinate, l-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), manganese proteinate, copper proteinate, niacin supplement, calcium pantothenate, biotin, sodium selenite, vitamin A supplement, riboflavin supplement, thiamine mononitrate, vitamin B12 supplement, calcium iodate, pyridoxine hydrochloride, vitamin D3 supplement, folic acid

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 4.5%

Red items indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis26%14%NA
Dry Matter Basis29%16%47%
Calorie Weighted Basis26%33%41%
Protein = 26% | Fat = 33% | Carbs = 41%

The first ingredient in this dog food is turkey. Although it is a quality item, raw turkey contains about 80% water. After cooking, most of that moisture is lost, reducing the meat content to just a fraction of its original weight.

After processing, this item would probably account for a smaller part of the total content of the finished product.

The second ingredient is turkey meal. Turkey meal is considered a meat concentrate and contains nearly 300% more protein than fresh turkey.

The third ingredient is chicken meal, another protein-rich meat concentrate.

The fourth ingredient includes dried peas. Dried peas are a good source of carbohydrates. Plus they’re naturally rich in dietary fiber.

However, dried peas contain about 27% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the meat content of this dog food.

The fifth ingredient is tapioca starch, a gluten-free, starchy carbohydrate extract made from the root of the cassava plant.

The sixth ingredient is dried potato, a dehydrated item usually made from the by-products of potato processing. In most cases, dried potato can contain about 10% dry matter protein which can affect our estimate of the total meat content of this recipe.

The seventh ingredient is poultry fat. Poultry fat is obtained from rendering, a process similar to making soup in which the fat itself is skimmed from the surface of the liquid.

Poultry fat is high in linoleic acid, an omega-6 fatty acid essential for life.

However, poultry fat is a relatively generic ingredient and can be considered lower in quality than a similar item from a named source animal (like chicken fat).

The eighth ingredient is beet pulp. Beet pulp is a controversial ingredient, a high fiber by-product of sugar beet processing.

Some denounce beet pulp as an inexpensive filler while others cite its outstanding intestinal health and blood sugar benefits.

We only call your attention here to the controversy and believe the inclusion of beet pulp in reasonable amounts in most dog foods is entirely acceptable.

The ninth ingredient is flaxseed, one of the best plant sources of healthy omega-3 fatty acids. Provided they’ve first been ground into a meal, flax seeds are also rich in soluble fiber.

However, flaxseed contains about 19% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With two notable exceptions

First, we find no mention of probiotics, friendly bacteria applied to the surface of the kibble after processing to help with digestion.

And lastly, this food contains chelated minerals, minerals that have been chemically attached to protein. This makes them easier to absorb. Chelated minerals are usually found in better dog foods.

Rachael Ray Nutrish Zero Grain Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Judging by its ingredients alone, Rachael Ray Nutrish Zero Grain Dog Food looks like an above-average dry product.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 29%, a fat level of 16% and estimated carbohydrates of about 47%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 29% and a mean fat level of 16%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 47% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 54%.

Near-average protein. Near-average fat. And near-average carbs when compared to a typical dry dog food.

When you consider the protein-boosting effect of the dried peas, dried potato and flaxseed in this recipe as well as the pea protein contained in other recipes, this looks like the profile of a kibble containing a moderate amount of meat.

Bottom line?

Rachael Ray Nutrish Zero Grain is a plant-based dry dog food using a moderate amount of named meat meals as its main sources of animal protein, thus earning the brand 4 stars.

Highly recommended.

Please note certain recipes are sometimes given a higher or lower rating based upon our estimate of their total meat content and (when appropriate) their fat-to-protein ratios.

Rachael Ray Dog Food
Recall History

The following list (if present) includes all dog food recalls since 2009 directly related to this product line. If there are no recalls listed in this section, we have not yet reported any events.

You can view a complete list of all dog food recalls sorted by date. Or view the same list sorted alphabetically by brand.

To learn why our ratings have nothing to do with a product’s recall history, please visit our Dog Food Recalls FAQ page.

Get free dog food recall alerts sent to you by email. Subscribe to The Advisor’s recall notification list.

Dog Food Coupons
And Discounts

Readers are invited to check for coupons and discounts shared by others in our Dog Food Coupons Forum.

Or click the buying tip below. Please be advised we receive a fee for referrals made to the following online store.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

The Dog Food Advisor does not test dog food products.

We rely almost entirely on the integrity of the information posted by each company on its website. As such, the accuracy of every review is directly dependent upon the quality of the test results from any specific batch of food a company chooses to publish.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, due to the biological uniqueness of every animal, none of our ratings are intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in a specific dietary response or health benefit for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

However, we do receive a fee from Chewy.com for each purchase made as a direct result of a referral from our website. This fee is a fixed dollar amount and has nothing to do with the size of an order or the brand selected for purchase.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Notes and Updates

04/20/2016 Last Update

  • Susan

    Hi, with Kidney disease your better off cooking her meals or feeding wet tin foods NO Kibble, I just lost my cat from renal failure they get acid reflux & feel sick & unwell google Dr Judy Morgan she has easy recipes on you tube & has a Face Book page, here’s one of her web pages she also will answer any question on her Face Book page.. if you don’t want to cook have a look at Honest Kitchen http://www.honestkitchen.com/dog-food http://www.drjudymorgan.com/items/Shop-/list

  • Hotdog

    I’ve been feeding zero grain turkey and potato regularly in my rotation for several years now and my dogs loved it. I usually buy the 14 lb bag but this time had to buy the 6 lb because that’s all the store had. As soon as I opened the small bag I noticed that the kibble color was a light brown rather than its usual dark brown. I still have the empty 16 lb bag that they finished up the day before I opened the small bag so I compared the ingredients on the two and they appear to be the same formula.
    My little dog (who will eat anything!) is refusing to eat these lighter color kibble from the small bag. My big dog is eating it but not completing her meals and having very frequent too soft bowel movements. I discontinued the food today and plan to call the company.

  • Mandy Kleinhans

    I just found out today from my vet that my dog’s kidneys aren’t doing so well. I noticed just yesterday, she spit out her RR dry food to eat the wet, expensive dog food around it. She’s NEVER done this before. It triggered me to Google-it and here I am. – it’s been two weeks since she first showed signs of not being able to control her pee. Any advice or recommendations? I speak to my vet again tomorrow. – thanks so much in advance!

  • Jennifer Peterson

    No, get him off this food. My dogs kidneys were being overworked on it and he was drinking way too much water. Had to pull him off, put him on prescription diet for months, to get his system working normal again. Luckily caught it in time. He also had horrible diarrhea, blood it it, which is when I took him to vet.

  • Jennifer Peterson

    This food made my dog VERY sick. Had to pull him off it and put him on Prescription Diet for months to get his kidneys working well again. I do NOT recommend this food and no sure how it has such a good review here. Lots of dogs getting sick on it. He was drinking too much water because his kidneys were being overworked!

  • Unearthly Dust

    Go away…. sorry for your loss but the dog had issues and was not caused by just one brand of food.

  • Unearthly Dust

    My. Golden retriever has been on the grain free for a few months. No issues, no vomiting, no diarrhea.. she seems to love it.

  • supergold1

    Fish naturally are higher in sodium compared to other proteins. My dogs love the Salmon too πŸ™‚

  • supergold1

    I have 3 dogs and they love love love RR Zero Grain Turkey & Sweet Potato. It’s hard to find a large breed kibble in Zero Grain & RR should advertise ‘Large Breed’ most other quality brands are little pebbles like, well, rabbit turds.
    Also, my dogs occasionally throw up & it’s not from dog food especially not high quality food such as RR Zero Grain. Dogs are natural hunters & run into rabbit turds & varmite feces outside, mine have eaten cow poop yuk I know but trust me if they throw up & dry heave they WILL NOT go back to it. When they do throw up I see dog food but it’s not the actual dog food making them throw up its something rotten they’ve helped themselves to. I say this in regards to comments made on this thread that have Zero business being here & have nothing to do with the dog food being reviewed by Dog Food Adviser.

  • InkedMarie

    I don’t know what posting to thr Dog Food Advisor will do in your situation. No one here can *do* anything. YOU have to send the food to be tested, if your vet won’t and you will need your vet records as well.

  • You should stop trying to start trouble πŸ˜‰

  • Hi Lonnie,

    Labs just wants to fight! As soon as I replied to you in a kind and respectful way, she tried to start trouble. She wrote;

    “You should take your own advice. :-)”

  • LabsRawesome

    No problem James.

  • Thanks Michelle πŸ˜‰

  • LabsRawesome

    You should take your own advice. πŸ™‚

  • LabsRawesome

    I never said that you were afraid of me. You have no reason to be. Fight back against what, exactly?

  • Hi Lonnie

    Not to sound corny, but your baby wouldn’t want you arguing with people on the internet.

    Tell your story calmly, please DON’T fight with anyone. It really doesn’t matter what any particular person thinks.

    Your story will be read by hundreds, maybe thousands of people who will never leave a comment. They will listen better if you stick to what happened without getting sidetracked into arguments that no one will ever win.

    My thoughts and prayers are with you and your baby πŸ˜‰

  • Lonnie R Brooking

    Yeah i just want something done about a product that i know had something to do with my dog dying. I’m not afraid of you and will fight back.

  • Lonnie R Brooking

    You know what i meant.

  • Crazy4dogs

    I think Sheryl C is a her.

  • LabsRawesome

    lol. Nope I don’t work for RR. Do you work for some other dog food company? Are you getting paid to trash RR? I wrote a civil post to you explaining that if you are trying to warn people about how you believe that RR Nutrish is all somehow poisoned, you might want to do so on the RRNutrish thread, instead of the Zero Grain thread. That way if a person would be helped by your comments, they will easily be found if they’re posted on the correct thread.
    You claim that you have been attacked for posting. I haven’t read any posts where anyone attacked you. But I write a helpful post to you, and you accuse me of having a subversive agenda. BTW, Pamela Winder posted that she had her RR Nutrish tested and everything came back fine. No poison. Imagine that. She also went on to say that it’s okay to post things without making sure that they are true, or having any proof. Just like you are doing.

  • Lonnie R Brooking

    Thank you for your advice. I will do what I can to get the word out. I’m not afraid of them.

  • Lonnie R Brooking

    I know what feed this is and just responding to him but you must work for RR Nutrish and trying to tell people what to do.

  • LabsRawesome

    Just wanted to let you know that this is the Zero Grain thread. It is a totally different line of Rachael Ray dog food than the one that you are talking about, which is called RR Nutrish. You should post your comments about RR Nutrish on that thread. It just makes things easier for people looking for info on either food to have the comments actually pertain to the correct food on the correct page. It just causes too much confusion to post about a different food than the thread you’re on. Also, posting on the correct thread helps the people that are looking for info on Nutrish actually find your posts.

  • Pamela Winder

    I admire you taking a stance. There was only 1 person who ever respected my freedom of speech…el doctor. Lonnie you are up against some very evil people who spend their time and energy trying to make you feel as miserable as I suppose they are or why would you go to the lengths they go through they must be stock holders. A very good piece of advice I wished I had followed Lonnie if you are going to pick this to wage a battle be prepared and ignore the viscious attacks that will be emailed to you. Just delete them and don’t bother reading any of them. You can’t be sued and wether these cyber bullies realize it or not what ever you do post on the internet does not have to be proven or even true or I would be extremely wealthy and would not have to do anything. Just don’t stoop to their level and keep posting your words without replying or even reading their words. Just delete and ignore. Trust me they know how to get under your skin don’t let them have that power over you. The only thing I would do is post on the RR Nutrish thread. Once again Lonnie I admire you for doing what you are doing and I hope you are successful because I know that the RR Nutrish gave Charlie Seizures and uncontrolable vomiting and would have ended in his demise if I had not listened to my son and stopped feeding him the RR Nutrish. He wouldn’t even have lived through the bag. I sent samples to Nutrish as they asked and a month later received a letter stating that the contents contained in it were normal. If that was normal I would hate to see toxic.

  • LabsRawesome

    No one attacked you. You need to have proof before you post that a food is poison. I don’t know for sure, but maybe you could be sued for slander. Just sayin

  • Lonnie R Brooking

    ok I’m starting to get attacked now but I will not back down saying that Nutrish is poison and is bad for your dog.

  • Lonnie R Brooking

    I was feeding my dog the Chicken at the end. I did give that info to the FDA. You need to also fill out a report to the FDA or states attorney general even though you don’t have the info you can still report a problem. I’m glad you didn’t lose your dogs like a lost my dog.

  • Lonnie R Brooking

    I’m glad you still have your dog. I didn’t get attacked but still trying to get RR Nutrish off the market or there should be at least better warnings on dog food warning it may cause problems in some dogs. However this is the Zero Grain on this feed which it looks like a lot better food than the regular Nutrish. I know people feeding their dogs Zero Grain and have done great on it. Not sure how one is so great and one is so bad.

  • Pamela Winder

    Thanks el doctor, you are the only decent human that i have had the pleasure of reading their posts. I just wanted to say thanks, good to know not all the people posting is evil, however I am not coming back to the DFA. I can handle bullies really I could care less what these people have to say. Life is just to short to be around this much negativity. I read through the comments again and decided that 99.6 percent of the post are negative and I would just prefer not to be associated with a group that does not know how to play well with others (present company excluded). By the way Charlie Yates is healthy and back to normal since we stopped the RR Nutrish dog food we realized in time that the dog food was making Charlie that sick. There was a person who posted that they had lost their pet due to feeding them RR Nutrish by the name of Lonnie R. Brooking, which I do hate to hear that was the reason I posted to begin with was in hopes of an actual death. Thanks for your decency.

  • Hi Pamela Winder, Welcome back to DFA!

    You have as much right as anyone else to comment here on DFA. Please don’t let the insensitive comments of others cause you to leave.

    People sharing their experiences with dog foods is what The Dog Food Advisor is all about

    There are thousands of people each day who read these comments, and the people you have had a bad experience with, might have the loudest voice, but being loud doesn’t make you right.

    Feel free to not respond to a rude comment. You’ll be better off if you don’t engage with people who cause you any stress or anxiety.

    Edit; I’m very happy to hear that everything turned out alright for you and Charlie πŸ˜‰

  • Pamela Winder

    Sorry to hear about your dog Lonnie. I hope you were not attacked for stating that like I was. Its bad enough to loose your dog. Once again I hate to hear that. I know if we had kept feeding Charlie RR Nutrish he wouldn’t be here today.

  • Pamela Winder

    It was not Gravy Train dry food my son was feeding him. My mistake it was Alpo Prime Cuts. Also sorry about posting on Zero Grain. I didn’t realize that there was different threads sorry for that confusion. Charlie had been eating RR Nutrish for months prior to having the seizures. We just noticed he was vomiting uncontrollably and having seizures before we even got less than half way through that particular batch of RR Nutrish. He is back to normal since we have stopped the Nutrish brand and is feeding him the Alpo Prime Cuts. No more seizures or vomiting. I have taken down my post due to all the vicious attacks calling me and my son names. The fact that we can’t be civil to one another is very disappointing. I thought that we were all on the same side, however I posted this in the best intentions in case others was going through similar situations. I will not post anything else on this website due to all the cyber attacks and the fact I don’t want to be a part of the negativity of the people who just want, I assume to make themselves feel important or more intelligent by bullying others. I had just checked to make sure all the posts were down and to assure others that they will be. I was in the process of removing the posts when I saw I am still being talked about. I just wanted to answer your question and to apolgize for posting on the wrong thread do to it causing others to be annoyed.

  • snowmoon

    Why would you contact PETA? You do realize they are anti people owning pets right? Do you really think they’ll care? Or if anything they just say your dog was better off dead than with you.

  • Mandy K

    Dogs with idiopathic seizure disorder can absolutely have food sensitivities that trigger seizures. Food or food additives are not the cause of the condition (hence the term idiopathic), but my Pom that had a seizure every 6 weeks weeks like clockwork for the first 10 years of his life went 10 months seizure free when I switched to homecooked food.

  • Aerogenous

    We just bought a small bag of both flavors and our 5 yr. old shepherd mix guest LOVED it. He was picky with his **horrors** Beneful and I refused to buy that for him. He scarfs the Salmon Sweet Potato one up. What I have noticed is that he is drinking a LOT more water now so am curious about the sodium content. This was the only grain free food that seemed the best choice of one of our local grocery stores.

  • InkedMarie

    sorry your dogs got sick; now you know to either put the food bag in the container or cut off the info!

  • Sheryl C

    I started giving both my dogs (German Shepherd mix & a Pug) the Nutrish Chicken & Veggie dog food about 3 weeks ago. Unfortunately, both had adverse reactions to the dog food. The Pug started having diarrhea and the German Shepherd started vomiting within the last week. I gave them each a bland diet for a day & their issues cleared up immediately. I’ve never seen either of them react this way to a new food before. I had to switch them to a different food (Blue Buffalo. Despite what’s going on with them right now, both dogs have loved it & never had any issues) and will have to throw away most of the large bag of Nutrish I bought.
    I don’t have the receipt or the bag anymore (I put food in a big container), so I can’t bring it back to the store or send anything to the manufacturer. I just wanted to give some feedback. I did send an inquiry through the Rachel Ray dog food website. Maybe there was something wrong with the batch of food we got, but I hope no one else has experienced this with their pets on this food.

  • Tina

    My dog has been seizure free for 3 years. He’s on grain free and NO Rosemary in food ingredient and takes extremely low potassium bromide. Forgot to mention no beef.

  • Tanya Doyle

    This is what I started my puppy on and she was doing great. Then all of a sudden she decided she didn’t like it. She would only eat when she got so hungry that she couldn’t go without which was always toward the end of the day and even then she would only eat A little. I switched to Hills Science per my Vets request /suggestion and attempted to do it slowly by adding only a little in, my puppy would pick out the RR, laying it on the floor next to her bowl (normally she eats every bit that she drops on the floor, she’s a very clean eater. Lol) and ONLY eat the new food. She seems to love the Hills and no issues so far but it only has a 3 star rating on here where the RR has a 4 star! Any thoughts on the Hills Science?

    Thanks
    Tanya

  • Pamela Winder

    Debbie i know that when i post on the internet everyone will have the info. Trust me i have been talked to and about like i was a complete idiot. However i will gladly go through it if it means that it may keep just one pet owner having to go through what we went through. I would repost the same thing in a heartbeat because i did not post what i did out of malice but in hopes of informing pet owners whose pet was exhibiting the same symptoms. I posted the codes and pictures with it and sent Nutrish the samples they had requested and they are testing them. As soon as I hear from them what the results are from that particular batch. I will post the results. It is not all their foods he just got sick with that batch and hasn’t been sick since we stopped feeding him that food.
    “When you post on the internet, you make anything that you’re talking about everyone’s business. Food for thought.”

    [image: Disqus] Settings

    A new comment was posted on Dog Food Advisor —————————— *Debbie
    Goldthwait Clemeno*
    When you post on the internet, you make anything that you’re talking about everyone’s business. Food for thought.

    11:05 a.m., Sunday Jan. 24 | Other comments by Debbie Goldthwait Clemeno
    * Reply to Debbie Goldthwait Clemeno *

    Debbie Goldthwait Clemeno’s comment is in reply to *Pamela Winder* :

    He is doing fine in Mrs. Winder aka my home now that we have changed his dog food. Thanks for your concern about Charlie Yates …

    Read more ——————————

    You’re receiving this message because you’re signed up to receive notifications about replies to pamelawinder.

    You can unsubscribe from emails about replies to pamelawinder by replying to this email with “unsubscribe” or reduce the rate with which these emails are sent by adjusting your notification
    settings .
    [image: Disqus]

  • Debbie Goldthwait Clemeno

    When you post on the internet, you make anything that you’re talking about everyone’s business. Food for thought.

  • Aaron Mason

    Keppra sucks!

  • LabsRawesome

    Okay, so you switched to a grain free diet two years ago. And you’ve been feeding that same food for two years, correct? Then you can’t just switch to a different food overnight. You need to do it gradually over a week to ten day period. You need to mix the two foods together. Starting with 75% original food 25% new food for a few days, then go to 50% original and 50% new for a few days. Then 25% original 75% new for a few days. Then you will be at 100% new food.

  • Dorothy Hogan

    Interestingly, I had switched them to non-grain kibble about 2 years ago. This was simply the first time I tried RR. My dogs have never experienced issues with anything I’ve fed them before – other than refusal to eat a particular brand – but certainly not vomiting. They’re pretty rough and tumble Labs and this is the first time for something like this. We’re pretty careful how we feed them.

  • LabsRawesome

    What were feeding before Rachael Ray? Also, did you do a slow transition from one food to the other over a week to ten day period? If you fed the old food for one meal and then the new food for the next, I’m not surprised that your dogs experienced stomach upset. You must do a slow transition.

  • Dorothy Hogan

    I just started feeding my dogs RR Nutrish Lamb & Brown Rice and Beef with Bison etc. For some reason, both formulas have caused our dogs (both) to vomit… I’m sending the UPC info to RR this morning to let them know to be fair. Of course, I won’t be buying any more…it’s a bit too coincidental. My goal is no corn since everything I’ve read on various sites say that this is bad for dogs and having a survivor of Parvo my male Beau certainly has compromised intestines so why further aggravate that. (They’re both rescues.) Has anybody else seen vomiting from RR dog foods?

  • Lonnie R Brooking

    My dog is dead due to feeding her Nutrish. It gave her complications that led to a seizure than death. Nobody should have to lose their pet due to the negligence of Rachael Ray’s food. Please report to the FDA at http://www.fda.gov/AnimalVeterinary/SafetyHealth/ReportaProblem/ucm182403.htm

  • Shawna

    Hey Labs πŸ™‚

    I’m guilty of posting off topic often so I won’t personally hold that against her. πŸ™‚

    I missed the info about Gravy Train — EEK!!!!!!! It wouldn’t surprise me if both foods contributed to the seizure… If both foods were being alternated I’m surprised she implicated just the RR food… Vaccines, as well as flea/tick meds, and so much other could definitely be implicated….I totally agree with you on that.

  • LabsRawesome

    Hi Shawna, I don’t see soy beans in the ingredient list for Zero Gain, which is the page we’re on. And I’m guessing it’s the food Pamela fed since she posted on the Zero Grain thread? She was alternating between RR and Gravy Train (shudder) on a daily basis, so it would be pretty hard to tell which food ingredient might be causing the problem. I haven’t looked at the Gravy Train review but I’m sure the ingredients are horrid.

  • Shawna

    Although I think Pamela will not find the resolution she is hoping for, this food could, in fact, be triggering the seizures via free glutamic and aspartic acids. This is assuming the ingredient list in the attached link is the same as the food fed – http://nutrish.rachaelray.com/dog/dry-food/real-chicken-and-veggies

    Here’s some data, there is LOTS more “Glutamate is the principal excitatory neurotransmitter in the brain and, as such, it inevitably plays a role in the initiation and spread of seizure activity.” http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/7970002

    Glutamate and aspartate are amino acids in protein but when they are “freed” the body can react quite differently to them then when they are eaten as part of the protein complex. Ingredients that could be potentially high in freed glutamic and aspartic acids in the Rachel Ray food Pamela says the dog ate are “soybean meal” – soybeans are quite high in glutamic and aspartic acid from what I’ve read, “natural chicken flavor”, “corn gluten meal”, “chicken meal” and potentially other ingredients.

    Not every dog/person will react to freed glutamic and aspartic acids the same so not every dog on a diet high in these freed amino acids will develop seizures. Other disease, in people at least, attributed to these neurotoxins include heart disease, autoimmune diseases and many others.

    Another reason this food might be causing an issue for this dog could be a food sensitivity to one of the ingredients that damages the gut which prevents absorption of some nutrients. A deficiency of magnesium, as an example, can cause seizures.

    And yet another possible explanation for seizures on this food is if the soybeans are genetically modified. I don’t know that there is any hard core data linking GMO’s to seizures but there is definitely a great deal of speculation.

    I wouldn’t go as far as to say that this food definitely IS the cause of the seizures in Pamela’s dog but it sure could be and I would be one of the first to suggest trying a different food.

  • Luci Kizer

    OMG!

  • Luci Kizer

    Dogs and people can suddenly begin having seizures with NO KNOWN CAUSE: it is called idiopathic seizure or idiopathic epilepsy. Both my 13 yr old dog and my 45 yr old son have this diagnosis. They were both healthy, active and happy when seizures started. They most certainly were not eating the same food and they live in different states. Both are on Keppra, living happily with the disorder. Google dogs with seizures online and you will find support groups; the history, age and breed of the dogs widely varied. It can happen to any dog (or person) for no reason or for a specific reason. Extensive neurological, metabolic and blood tests are required to find a specific cause or the idiopathic diagnosis. There is NO MEDICATION that will stop ALL seizures. MRS. Winder has jumped to a premature conclusion, as has her son, that RR Nutrish is the cause. Glad the Vet put the dog on phenobartitol, as it is the standard vet protocol along with Potassium Bromide. It is also the most cost effective. But, she needs to be aware Phenobarbital causes liver damage and that will be a whole new problem. Keppra is more expensive, but less side effects.

  • theBCnut

    Dogs that are prone to seizures can have seizures triggered due to ingredients in dog food. I’m not saying that is the case here, but there can be things in dog food that trigger seizures in dogs that are already prone to them.

  • Cherie Joy Grant-Skiba

    Dogs don’t have seizures form dog food

  • Cherie Joy Grant-Skiba

    Yikes Pam to much

  • LabsRawesome

    She left out the FBI, CIA, and Department of Homeland Security.

  • Pamela Winder

    He is doing fine in Mrs. Winder aka my home now that we have changed his dog food. Thanks for your concern about Charlie Yates and his know it all owner ie ny son. FYI the vet asked him what food he was on and he told him what he fed him. He said he didn’t even think of telling the vet we had been feeding him RR and thank God my know it all son thought to check everything which probably saved his life. I saved the batch of food and it is now being tested by Nutrish, which has been the only ones who even bothered to ask how Charlie was doing. So please keep your opinions of my home and my Son to yourself. My husband was right when he told me not to even reply to crazies on the internet but when you mess with my son or home I am not just going to set by and allow bullies try to intimidate others. May you be prosperous in all your future endeavors. Good day to you.

  • Pamela Winder

    Your under the impression I care what you or anyone else thinks. I stated the facts of what we went through during feeding Charlie a certain bag of dog food. Its awful discerning that the only people who has even bothered to check to see how Charlie Yates is doing was the maker of that dog food and they have been incredible. They have the samples and codes for testing. So as I have requested to all the other bullies who have been insane and selfish; please stop harrasing me for stating the facts of what we went through. I don’t believe in calling someone a fool for trying to warn others.Please do not contact me again. If you have concerns please direct them to the makers of the dogfood company or better yet just keep them to yourself. Thank you.

  • Pamela Winder

    The honest, christian thing to do is being done. I have sent the samples to Nutrish and the codes they asked for to test it. They have been great a bout Checking on Charlie. Thanks for your concern about our sons dog Charlie Yates. You being a honest Christian I appreciate you having checked to see how Charlie is doing. Real Christian of you. We had been feeding him RR for months. Right after we got the new bag…which could be contaminated…In less than a week Charlie was foaming at the mouth, having seizures with his eyes rolled back in his head, foaming at the mouth & vomiting uncontrollably. Our son called thinking he was dieing, took him to the vet and missed the rest of the week from work just in case he had more seizures No one should have to go through what we had too. Once we stopped feeding him that batch he had a full recovery. So if me telling others the truth about what happened to Charlie gets me sued then so be it. As I see it, that’s the most honest Christian thing I can do. Please stop harrassing us over this we have been through enough, that would be the most Christian thing you could do for us at this point and thanks for your concern about how Charlie Yates has been doing, very Christian of you.

  • Luci Kizer

    Pamela Winder needs to learn to use the internet to validate information she receives before posting malicious slander. She should also ask her know it all son exactly where he got this information. I notice the Vet said nothing about Rachael Ray Dog Food causing the seizures. I am the Mom of a seizure dog and she has been fed Rachael Ray kibble and treats for years. She was on another brand when the seizures started. If her dog was okay at her son’s and sick at her own home, maybe the problem is something in Ms. Winder’s home (like fleas, pesticides….)

  • Luci Kizer

    You’re making a fool of yourself!

  • Mike Davis

    What you are doing is spreading fear among people with no just cause. It’s called slander. Seizures can happen for a lot of reasons, dogs can have a span of seizures over a short amont of time then never have one again. Patient Zero? You seriously sound like a crazy person with a lot of time on their hands.

  • Mike Davis

    You’re full of crap Pamela and have no just claim. You should do a little research on seizures befor throwing out acusations. Also, contacting PETA over a regulated dog food company is the most idiotic thing, you need to get a life.

  • Felicia Ferguson

    We have used a few different Rachel Ray dog foods. The grain free beef one is his favorite and seems to settle well on his tummy. We give it 5 stars!

  • SamN

    Hey Pamela, There is NO RECALL of any Rachael Ray Dog Food, never has been recalled either. It would be nice if you deleted your post because now you know there never was a recall and if you keep this up maybe you could be sued. Like I said, maybe. Just think about it.It for sure is the honest, christian thing to do.

  • LabsRawesome

    FYI Rachael Ray dog food WAS NOT recalled 5 months ago as Pamela Winder has stated. I just want everyone to know the real true facts, and not be mislead.

  • LabsRawesome

    Wow really? What a rude and ignorant post. My replies to you were nothing but respectful. Your post to me shows your true colors.

  • Pamela Winder

    Would you please leave me alone. I get it you love Rachael Rays dogfood. So does Charlie. However when we stopped feeding him that batch he is returning to normal. I am working with Nutrish to find out if this certain batch is contaminated. So please get a hobby or a therapist or something because you really need to fill your time with something besides trying to prove that my sons dog Charlie has seizures on his own. Just let the adults handle this.

  • LabsRawesome

    Dogs can become sick for any number of reasons. There are many factors that come into play. Treats, getting into something outside, most dogs will eat anything that they find. Also this time of year there are plants/ flowers that are toxic to dogs if ingested, and could cause seizures. And no one can watch their dog 24/7. I’m not saying that dogs don’t ever get sick from food, but sometimes it’s the dog and not necessarily the food. Example- I have 3 dogs, I’ve tried foods that gave 1 explosive diarrhea and vomiting. The other two were completely fine on that same food. So sometimes it’s just the way some dogs digestive system reacts to different foods, that doesn’t necessarily mean there’s anything wrong with the food.

  • LabsRawesome

    I use Rachael Ray Zero Grain in my rotation. My 3 dogs always do good on it too.

  • BDS

    My dog loves this food and is thriving on it.

  • el doctor

    In he interest of fairness I’m posting a link to some of PETA’s accomplishments as an animal welfare organization. I’m also posting the results of the investigation into the allegation that Peta “have been caught on tape stealing people’s dogs out of their yards and putting them to sleep”

    http://features.peta.org/petasaves/?gclid=Cj0KEQiA496zBRDoi5OY3p2xmaUBEiQArLNnK9zy8yN6jIZaoK7IF4zdtmkX0WcLDX9lMf48bdBGvm8aAnO08P8HAQ

    The results of the investigation;

    The facts appear be that PETA was asked to help when an adjacent landowner reported that they should see how his cow with her udders ripped up from abandoned and stray dogs in the trailer park area amounted to a menace not to be tolerated. He complained to PETA that the abandoned and stray dogs attacked his livestock, injured his milking cow, killed his goat and terrorized his rabbits. Abandoned and/or stray dogs and cats have appeared to have been considerable in what is known as Dreamland 2. PETA responded and the trailer park management encouraged their efforts in an attempt to gather stray/abandoned cats and dogs. Additionally the leases provided that no dogs were allowed to run free in the trailer park.

    Approximately three weeks before Mr. Cerate’s dog [Maya] was taken by the women associated with PETA, Mr. Cerate asked if they would put traps under his trailer to catch some of the wild cats that were in the trailer park, and traps were provided to him as requested. Additionally, parties associated with PETA provided Mr. Cerate with a dog house for two other dogs that were tethered outside of Mr. Cerate’s home.

    On or about October 18 a van that was operated by the ladies associated with PETA arrived the at the trailer park. The van was clearly marked PETA and in broad daylight arrived gathering up what abandoned stray dogs and cats could be gathered. Among the animals gathered was the Chihuahua of Mr. Cerate. Unfortunately the Chihuahua wore no collar, no license, no rabies tag, nothing whatsoever to indicate the dog was other than a stray or abandoned dog. It was not tethered nor was it contained. Other animals were also gathered. Individuals living in the trailer park were present and the entire episode was without confrontation. Mr. Cerate was not at home and the dog was loose, sometimes entering the shed/porch or other times outside in the trailer park before he was put in the van and carried from the park. The dogs owned by Mr. Cerate that were tethered were not taken.

    Whether one favors or disfavors PETA has little to do with the decision of criminality. The issue is whether there is evidence that the two people when taking the dog believed they were taking the dog of another or whether they were taking an abandoned and/or stray animal. There have been no complaints on the other animals taken on that same day, and, like the Chihuahua, [they] had no collar or tag. From the request of the neighboring livestock owner and the endorsement by the trailer park owner/manager the decision as to the existence of criminal intent beyond a reasonable doubt must be made by the prosecutor. More clearly stated, with the evidence that is available to the Commonwealth, it is just as likely that the two women believed they were gathering abandoned and/or stray animals rather than stealing the property of another. Indeed, it is more probable under this evidence that the two women associated with PETA that day believed they were gathering animals that posed health and/or livestock threat in the trailer park and adjacent community. Without evidence supporting the requisite criminal intent, no criminal prosecution can occur.

  • Pamela Winder

    I have been contacted by Nutrish. I will have to check with our son as to where he found the info. I did not contact Peta just Nutrish and the FDA. Sorry for wanting to give people a heads up just incase this one batch could be contaminated. Charlie may be Patient Zero. I assume you are familiar with that term. He has been eating Rachael Ray dogfood for a couple of months. However with this bag of Nutrish Chicken and Vegetables which I will gladly send to their lab for testing. Since he has stopped eating this food he is continuing to improve and seems to be getting back to normal. Every recall has to start somewhere.

  • LabsRawesome

    What makes you think that this food should have been recalled 5 months ago? And why would you contact PETA? They have been caught on tape stealing people’s dogs out of their yards and putting them to sleep.

  • Pitlove

    Rachael Ray Nutrish dog food has not had a recall, thats why it is still on the shelf. The cat food did however.

    http://www.fda.gov/Safety/Recalls/ucm449841.htm

    Here is the FDA’s list of recalls for 2015:

    http://www.fda.gov/AnimalVeterinary/SafetyHealth/RecallsWithdrawals/ucm393160.htm

  • Pamela Winder

    I have just found out this morning about Rachel Rays Nutrish Chicken Dog Food and will be contacting the FDA , PETA, & the manufacturer. I also kept the rest of the DogFood for testing. No one should have to go through what we have been through with seizures and vomiting due to dogfood that was suppose to be recalled 5 months ago and is still on the shelves.

  • Pamela Winder

    If he starts having seizures and vomiting do not feed him the Nutrish Chicken and Vegetables. As to the comment below I have just started to contact the manufacturer of Rachel Ray and will also be contacting PETA and FDA. Still even kept the DogFood for testing.

  • Pamela Winder

    Just found out that the Rachel Ray Nutrish Dogfood Chicken and Vegetable dogfood was causing our Sons Dog who put him in our care while he works caused him to have seizures. Our son feeds him a different Dog Food so we had started feeding Charlie Yates Rachel Ray. This morning our son brought over his Gravy Train Dogfood and told us the Rachel Ray had been recalled 5months ago because it had been giving Dogs seizures. So why is it still on the shelves. He is not even halfway through the bag and our was off yesterday and was researching seizures and the fact that Charlie would get better while he was in our sons care and would only get sick and start uncontrollably vomiting after lunch. He would gorge himself every morning and the problems would start after lunch. The seizures started on December 16 2015. Our Son was off the day after his Birthday. Wednesday morning Dustin called me and said that Charlie had just had a seizure and had fallen off his bed. He said he was going to watch him and then later he had a more severe one then he called and said he was taking him to the vet. They told him more than likely he had developed epilepsy to start giving him phenabarbital and if that didn’t stop it to bring him back and they would do more tests. He took the next day of work off which is unheard of and he seemed to be doing better that Friday until he was dropped off at my house and then Friday afternoon was staggering and vomiting 16 times. Saturday the same thing my husband and I cancelled all of our events to stay home with him. He is doing better since we have stopped feeding him the Rachel Ray Nutrish Chicken and Vegetables dogfood. However I would like to know why nothing about this Dog food is reported on your website if your an advisor would you please advise your following of the dangers of Rachel Ray Nutrish Dogfood. Its easy to at the very least type:WARNING RACHEL RAY NUTRISH DOG FOOD MAY CAUSE SEIZURES AND VOMITING. That would save people a lot of money and heartache thank you.

  • catdogme

    Just 6 and the one with Lamb Meal & brown rice are two different products, and both different from the one reviewed here. I learned that in the store this morning when I was looking for “emergency” dog food for my pups.

  • Nancy Allen

    The zero grain made my 11 year old Jack Russell frisky again, so I’ll keep buying it. She also likes the Just 6. I give her apple slices or green beans as treats. Occasionally, I cut back a little on the dog food and mix it with cooked, unseasoned butter beans. She looks and feels better now than she has the last couple of years.

  • Crazy4dogs

    Hi Wendi,

    Since your dog has been eating Beneful for his whole life, I would look at some of the 3 star foods to feed and do it in a very slow transition. I’m not sure what your price range is, but you could look at Pure Balance, ProPac Ultimates, Victor or 4health as some of the options. The traditional way to transistion is 75% old food/25% new food for 3-5 days, 50/50 old and new food for 3-5 days, 75% new food/25% old food 3-5 days. It might take longer for each transition since he’s not used to any other food. I had a dog that took almost a month to transition to a new food. It just depends on the dog. Pure canned pumpkin (about a tablespoon) added to the food will help with any digestive issues.

    Here’s the DFA link that might help:

    http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/frequently-asked-questions/diet-rotation-for-dogs/

    Since he’s an older dog and has never had any other food, I would keep him on the new diet for a couple of months before transitioning to another food since he’s not used to rotation. Also, the terrible breath has me concerned. Has he been to the vet recently to have blood panels done and a check on his teeth, including a dental cleaning? Dental issues are one of the leading causes of liver and kidney issues and health problems in dogs.

  • Wendi

    I am looking at this food for my dog – he is a 10 year old Australian Shepherd. He has always had Beneful, but I am getting concerned with the reports about it. He also has horrible breath. I would like to get him on something that is not going to break the bank, though. Any specific suggestions? Also, what kind of “rotation” of food should he be on?

  • Pitlove

    Taken from the Rachael Ray website–

    Lamb Meal, Brown Rice, Ground Rice, Dried Plain Beet Pulp, Natural Chicken Flavor, Poultry Fat (preserved with Mixed Tocopherols), Sodium Chloride, Potassium Chloride, Di-Calcium Phosphate, Zinc Proteinate, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (Source of Vitamin C), Vitamin E Supplement, Choline Chloride, Iron Proteinate, Zinc Sulfate, Manganese Proteinate, Copper Proteinate, Niacin Supplement, D-Calcium Pantothenate, Biotin, Sodium Selenite, Vitamin A Supplement, Riboflavin Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Calcium Iodate, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Source of Vitamin B6), Vitamin D3 Supplement, Folic Acid.

    No K3. Looks as though the review for Just 6 needs to be updated.

  • Jason Barker

    Why would RR just 6 include a controversial vit K in it’s “just 6” dog food and not put it in nutrish? I appreciate the professionalism and the unbiased opinion but as always, I question the source. Why wouldn’t this company put in the same vitamin substitute in all of their dog foods? That would seem to be an appealing mark on the quality of the dog food. I’ll wait to switch until I read the label myself and make sure that menadione isn’t an ingredient.

  • Kandy

    My dog love this dog food .and also she use to have the runs on some. Other kinds of dog food but I switched to Rachael ray nutrition and the runs are gone and no more belly problem..thank you..Rachael!!!

  • Crazy4dogs

    Ouch! That’s gotta hurt!

  • theBCnut

    The vomiting, diarrhea, and lack of stool production that they list are the symptoms of an intestinal blockage from swallowing the pit whole.

  • Crazy4dogs

    Hi Idnyrae16,

    Several of the other posters have given you many suggestions for alternate foods. Avoderm is absolutely fine to feed you dogs. Even apples that can be toxic (the seeds contain cyanide) but my dogs eat apple slices on a regular basis, which are completely healthy for them.

    Here are a few of the foods that I feed that I really like: Earthborn, Fromm, Nature’s Variety Instinct, Canidae (grain free only), Wellness Core. There are many others that are more budget friendly (depending on your budget). Let us know and we’ll be happy to give you some other options!

  • theBCnut

    They are poisonous to several animals, so it was assumed that they were poisonous to all, but it has to do with how different animals metabolize things and dogs and cats don’t have issues with persin, just like we don’t have any issues with garlic, I guess.

  • Crazy4dogs

    Very interesting, theBCnut. I remember years ago that it was considered toxic to dog. Apparently not any more.

    http://www.aspca.org/pet-care/animal-poison-control/toxic-and-non-toxic-plants/avocado

    http://www.petpoisonhelpline.com/poison/avocado/

    Thanks for making me research further! πŸ™‚

  • Pitlove

    That website is not very clear since it says that the toxicity is mild and goes on to give you symptoms in dogs and cats to watch for and then tells you persin doesn’t affect dogs and cats. It’s probably easier to just not chance it.

  • theBCnut

    Dogs can have avocado. They should not have too much of it because it’s a high fat food and that may cause diarrhea. And they shouldn’t be given the pit, because it is a choking hazard. But avocado is fine for dogs.

    http://www.petpoisonhelpline.com/poison/avocado/

    “Avocado contains a toxin called persin, but despite the rumors, avocado is not poisonous to dogs, nor likely to cats.”

  • theBCnut

    Dogs aren’t actually affected by persin.

  • Pitlove

    Yes. Thank you.

  • Crazy4cats
  • Bobby dog

    Hi indyrae16:
    I used to have the Avoderm trout recipe in my dog’s food rotation; my dog loved it. It is one of three kibbles that my dog’s skin and coat looked best on. The others are Wellness Core and Pro Plan’s Focus WM or Natural recipes.

    Here are some other brands I have in rotation that might fall within your budget Nutrisource, Precise, Purina Beyond, Infinia, Exclusive, and Fromm.

    If you have feed stores or garden supply shops in your area see if they sell pet food. Some do and allot of times have a great selection at reasonable prices. The Infinia and Exclusive kibble are sold at feed stores.

    Along with chewy.com other on-line retailers I frequently order from are petco.com, petsmart.com, and petflow.com. Each offer free shipping when you reach the $49 range otherwise the shipping charge ranges around $5.95.

    Petco.com is currently offering free shipping on all orders through Friday:
    “Promo Code: shipme
    Promotion Description: Get Free Shipping on all orders! Exclusions apply. (expires: 11/6/2015)”

    If you decide to order on-line be sure to sign up for e-mail alerts. They notify you of sales and free shipping/no minimum purchase specials and other promos. Most offer discounts if you sign up for autoship too. Some autoship programs are more flexible than others in regards to changing and adding items or changing shipping dates so be sure to check that out if you go that route.

  • Pitlove

    Yes and no about the avocado. There are parts of the avocado (that aren’t used in dog food) that contain pectin, which is the toxic part of the avocado to dogs.

    Look at chewy.com. It’s often cheaper than amazon and they offer free shipping at 49$ or more. They have a good selection of foods.

  • indyrae16

    I can’t remember what I put him on after that. Right now he is on Purina Pro Plan, per my vet’s reccommendation, which isn’t the best food, but he does have healthy poops. I put him on Beneful once when I first got him, and it was horrible. They actually make a food with avocado as a main ingredient, and dogs can’t have avocado! I have a hard time finding good dog food where I live. The nearest Petco is 45 minutes away, and the pet store here is really expensive. I’m looking into buying food from amazon. I’m looking for something reasonably priced, but still good. Any suggestions would be welcome!

  • indyrae16

    My dog was also SUPER hyper on this food.

  • ellyce

    I have one question for any pet owner who believes that his or her pet(s) became ill while consuming Rachael Ray’s Zero Grain Dry Food: Did any of you contact the U.S. Food and Drug Administration’s (FDA) main office in Silver Spring, MD or the closest District or Regional Office to alert the FDA to the suspected problem via telephone or internet? (All of the locations, telephone numbers and email addresses are on the FDA’s website.

    If you did not, why not? Did anyone contact the manufacturer?

    I’ve read all of your stories, complaints, etc., about very sick dogs. Bloody stools and/or vomiting blood are not considered “normal” reactions following ingestion of ay food, including pet food. Writing about the alleged problem on an internet message board instead of contacting the US FDA just may have caused other people’s pets to get sick or worse.

    This saddens me. After the heartbreaking incidents a few years ago, when many dogs and cats died as a result of the manufacturers’ use of gluten in the food that came from China — the gluten contained a large amount of melamine and melamine-related compounds.
    The FDA takes these complaints very seriously and investigates every complaint that it receives.

  • acawthon711

    This did not agree with either of my dogs. I normally feed them Taste of the Wild, thought I’d try this since it’s cheaper and more readily available. After 2 days my yorkiepoo had bloody diarrhea and my boxer was puking with bloody streaks in it. Scary. Some tlc and better food and they are doing better, thankfully.

  • Josh Leveque

    My 1 year old Springer Spaniel died after eating this food. She was pooping pure blood. Do not buy this food it’s deadly

  • Crazy4dogs

    What food did you put him back on?

  • indyrae16

    My dog liked this food, and it seemed very healthy, he had very healthy poops. The only problem was he was 10x more hyper on this food than any other I’ve fed him. Dogs burn protein for energy, so maybe because it’s grain free it is higher in protein? I don’t know, all I know is he was CRAZY while he was eating this stuff, and calmed down when I put him back on a different food.

  • Samantha Lezama

    Thank you

  • Pitlove

    this is a much better food as well. glad you made the switch and found something he likes in the process.

  • Samantha Lezama

    I bought RR for my 2 pound Chihuahua And he loves it and wants it all the time ,was using Beneful But he love eating RR so much more

  • Peggy Christensen

    This happened to my Yorkie!

  • Peggy Christensen

    I have a picky Yorkie that I fed this food to, didn’t take long – a bag or so and he was throwing up pure blood. Have a friend that was having the very same issues with her dog and this food and we hadn’t shared our circumstances until today! I honestly raced him to the vet and so did she, we thought we were losing our beloved pets!

  • Glenn Ehrlich

    My American bulldog loved this food, but developed hives from it.

  • Tessa’s mom

    We went through so many foods for our rescue, Tessa, because of her allergies. She would eat great for 1-2 meals and then nothing. We now have her on the Grain free beef & bison and have had no issues for 5 bags now! She still does circles and gets all excited and her digestion is back to 100% normal. I would rate at 5 stars!

  • Denise Vacco

    I just switched to RR grain free turkey and potato for my basset hound who would only eat kibble mixed with canned food. She is now eating RR’s dry! She likes it a lot. I hope it continues without any problems. The canned food wAs fatty and I want her to just be on grain free dry kibble. She needs to lose weight. I will stay with RR’s grain free. She does not like fishy flavored food either, so the turkey and potato is good.

  • I’ve been using Zero Grain Beef and Bison for my chicken, potato allergic bulldog.

    He’s doing great on it!

  • Tom Justus

    I would love to try this dog food but: my dog has allergies. Oats-wheat-venison and PEAS. I have only found 1 brand meeting these needs. Science diet hypo allergenic which is out ragious in cost. The peas in these food are the problem

  • Crazy4dogs

    Having a dog on a food for 14 years would make it difficult to switch. If she is walking away from her food, it could be for any number of reasons. It could be something as simple as her sense of smell is failing, which often happens in older dogs, but it could be a health issue as well. Has she had a complete blood panel done recently? It’s probably the single most important thing you can do for your dog. It let’s you know how everything in her body is working or not. If you haven’t, I would strongly suggest that as a first step.

    If everything in her blood panel is good, you can SLOWLY add a 3 star kibble to her current food. Do you know how to transition a dog to new food? It’s 25% new/75% old 3-4 days, 50% new/50% old 3-4 days, 75% new/25% old 3-4 days. In her case, since she’s been on the same food for 14 years, I would stretch the time out even longer. If she gets a loose stool, take her back to the ratio that was working and stay there longer. Probiotics and pure canned pumpkin in small doses can help with the transition. I just want to caution again that all of these changes need to be done VERY SLOWLY as she’s an older dog and never had a change in her diet.

    Here are the 3 star rated dog foods, I personally prefer family companies with good track records, but it depends on what you can find in your area:

    http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/dog-food-reviews/dry/3-star/

    If everything is going well with the new food, you could SLOWLY add a bit of wet food that’s rated well to give her some extra moisture, or at least wet her food with some warm water for extra moisture and increased scent. Good luck with it!

  • Tammi

    My pit bull terrier mix is almost 14 and I’ve fed her kibbles and bits her whole life but I’m wondering if I should switch her to something better. Sometimes I see her go to her dish and look at her food and smell it, then walk away without eating it..any suggestions on what I should feed her? It’s scary switching foods but I want something healthy for my baby girl

  • Devon Watson

    My pit mix died last year after 3 days of eating this food. My other two got very sick but are much smaller and didn’t eat as much so I was able to get them back after pulling their food for 24 hours πŸ™

  • Kim Christian

    Our dog only ate beneful all her life (6yrs). She Had VERY bad skin problems , cholesterol problems,and was prediabetic UNTIL we used RR and ALL have cleared up. We started mixing small amounts of the RR no grain with her beneful until it was 100% of the RR. All has cleared . Her vet said he was surprised how much healthier she was . Just my experience and story. If you try or any other dog food to it in small amounts and if there are any problems stop feeding it to her.

  • Crazy4cats

    Hi Christine-
    Have you checked the FAQ section on this site? There is a link called “how we rate dog food”. That will explain the system. Calories are not taken into consideration. Sounds like your personal criteria for rating a dog food is a little different. Mine is too. I also try to rotate with foods that have similar calories to make life easier for everyone ( mostly me) to know how much to feed our dogs. I take it upon myself to find out the information on the individual company’s website. I also value foods that are around 400 calories a little higher also.
    I’m just pleased to have such a wealth of basic info to start with for free at my fingertips! I feed Victor grain free dog food frequently. Do you have it in your area? It’s a great budget friendly kibble in my opinion with more calories than a lot of the other value type foods. Good luck!

  • I disagree with the 4 star rating of this food. I’ve been studying the ME (metabolizable energy) Values of several foods lately and Rachel Ray’s Zero Grain formula should be given no more than a 2.5 to 3 star rating. There are only 313 kcal/cup. Quality 4 star foods have at least 400+ kcal/cup. This means going the extra step to rate the value of pet foods on the kcal/cup can help pet parents to see the actual value their pet will absorb in nutrients, and that higher quality, more nutrient dense foods are very affordable because pets don’t have to eat as much. I would like to see the food evaluators going into more details. Ingredients alone do not tell the whole story as to the quality of a pet food!

  • JandiTheJindo

    My 7 yr old Jindo rescue LOVES the zero grain..
    BUT has a food sensitivity to the beet pulp. She had large patches of lost hair
    on the back half of her body, and had severe itchiness. We did extensive a/b
    testing over a period of several weeks (poor girl), and we determined it was
    the dang beet pulp. She’s now recovering with Taste of the Wild (which she is
    not the biggest fan of), but does her body very well. It’s so unfortunate. I
    thought I finally found a very reasonably cost effective kibble for her that
    she loves, but I won’t be buying ANY more Rachael Ray products for my dog until
    the beet pulp is gone completely.

  • Kari

    I have two lab mixes and they have been eating Rachel Ray Zero Grain Turkey & Potato for months. They seem to like it and have no digestive issues. I’ve tried several other higher quality brands and they didn’t care for them. Not only that, but a good portion of them have sweet potato, poultry or fish. My dogs’ stomach does handle sweet potato well, and they seem to itch a lot when eating poultry or fish products. They are doing just fine with this Rachel Ray food. It’s a keeper for us. My boys are happy & healthy!

  • Kristin Acker Hutchison

    None of my smaller dogs will eat it. My larger dog has now for 4 days and now is sick and his stools have blood in it. It’s the chicken one.

  • J. Saldo-Giddens

    I have 2 Siberian Huskies. The youngest is a year old and he had very sensitive stomach as a pup. The one food we found that he did well with started giving him sporadic runs and anal leakage after a few months. I switched him over to the RR beef and brown rice and he has done 200% better! He has healthy poops (about 2-3 times per day) and the runs only show up when he gets into something he isn’t supposed to (like bacon grease on a stove top :/ ).
    Our other husky was a rescue and 15 pounds under weight when we got her. We have had her for 3 weeks now and she loves the RR food. We has been mixing it with boiled or grilled chicken as well to boost the protein content since she wasn’t eating much when we got her home. She has put on about 4 pounds in the last 2 weeks off of the dry food. alone.
    I used to feed my dogs only Pedigree but after my American Bulldog passed away with kidney and ulcer issues, I have been more observant as to the ingredients in dog food. While it is true that better dog food is usually more expensive, my huskies have proved that its not always best. RR food is moderately priced and my dogs love it and are quite healthy.
    I have never tried the grain free type and probably won’t unless their diet needs change; but I cannot highly enough recommend the beef and brown rice formula.

  • ALV

    Crazy4Dogs, see my comment above about the chickpeas. I wish these dog food manufacturers would quit putting chickpeas in foods as the latest fad. I’ve see other people on this site complain about chickpeas giving their dogs diarrhea.

  • ALV

    Check the ingredients on the zero grain bags. RR’s new version of this food, which is beef, has chickpeas in it as the third ingredient. Chickpeas give my dogs diarrhea and it may be that RR has now added chickpeas to the chicken and fish varieties of this food. This beef version has given two dogs that I am boarding diarrhea. They normally eat the fish version but the store was out of the fish so the owner picked up the beef. It has been quite the mess.

  • ALV

    I am caring for two dogs eating a beef version of Rachael Ray grain free. Behind beef and beef meal the next three ingredients are chickpeas, peas and lentils. Both of these dogs are pooping huge amounts four times a day and they are both having intermittent diarrhea. It looks as if every single cup of this food they are eating is coming right out the rear. My own personal dogs started having diarrhea when Canidae added chickpeas to their food. Ugh. Rachael Ray may be a shrewd business woman but she doesn’t know how to cook for dogs.

  • Wifey010505

    my dogs got very sick when they tried Rachel Ray dog food

  • Jlyo

    thanks again πŸ™‚

  • Crazy4dogs

    Everyone likes/dislikes various brands. I tend to use family companies that haven’t had big recall issues, but as long as you do a slow transition and try a 3.5 or better rated food, you should do well. Since she’s 13, make it a very slow transition.

  • Jlyo

    really appreciate the advice, she will be 13 years old this year and she’s done really well on beneful but i dont want to take any chances since there’s been so many cases of beneful harming dogs. i asked her vet and they just gave me an in general list of brands to try. researching reviews is proving to be scary. lots of conflicting opinions.

  • Crazy4dogs

    Yes, I use the Grain Free Freshpet’s in my rotational diet. I would probably use this after your dog has been introduced to and is already eating a better food. The reason I’m saying this is because she might like this so much that she’ll only eat that and leave the Beneful behind. If that’s the case, you’re not really going to transition and may encounter some digestive problems and/or loose stools.

  • Jlyo

    thank you, would you also recommend the freshpet brand too?

  • Crazy4dogs

    Since she’s been on Beneful for her whole life, I would pick a moderate protein, moderate fat food to start with. Since you’re on this page, this could work for you. Just make sure to make a slow transition. Failure in starting a new food happens when people feed the same food every day for many years and then make a sudden switch. The standard method is 25% new/75% old food 3-4 days. 50% new food/50% old food 3-4 days, 75% new food/25% old food 3-4 days.

    Good Luck with it!

  • Crazy4dogs

    There might be something wrong with that particular bag, it’s hard to say. I feel that if a dog was eating it before and is not happy with the new bag, there may be something wrong with that bag of food. So many things happen between the manufacturing and the purchase and sometimes, even after the purchase. Have you tried returning the bag and trying a new one? If that doesn’t work, there are many well rated foods that are not as expensive as NB.

  • Jlyo

    my 5lb. chihuahua has a VERY sensitive stomach, im looking for options
    that are safe for her, but the more reviews i read the more confusing it
    becomes. she’s been on beneful for most of her life, but with all the
    bad things happening with that food, i want to switch to something that
    has a good track record and doesnt harm dogs. any advice is welcomed.
    thanks.

  • jenb76

    We switched from Natural Balance LID food to RR zero grain and at first all seemed okay. Our dog (black lab/australian shepard mix) loved it and had no issues. We bought a bag of RR zero grain recently and she’s not eating it like she used to and now she’s having the runs when she does eat it. She’s currently on a rice diet with some boiled chicken until things improve (per the vet) and then we’ll be going back to Natural Balance since she didn’t have any issues (it was just a bit cheaper and since I lost my job, I was trying to save a little bit of money).

  • Holly

    Ainsworth Pet Nutrition in Meadville, PA, formerly known as Dad’s Dog Food.

  • Crazy4dogs

    It’s a much better choice. Beneful costs less, but considering the quality of the food, it’s overpriced.
    I’ve never fed RR anything so I can only see some of the online prices. There are other brands that might be less expensive. Earthborn, Whole Earth Farms maybe American Natural Premiums. Labsrawesome likes Victor.

  • jpilarczyk

    we have a pointer/lab mix (3/4 yrs old) had her about 6 months
    we have been using the RR grain free for about a month now. we switched from Beniful when we heard of the issues with that. she was having tumming issues and was throwing up pretty regularly. since we switched to the RR grain free, we have seen a ton of improvement. tummy issues all but gone. one has thrown up once since the switch, but that was because she ate so fast, she made herself sick πŸ™

    so far so good–just dont like the high price πŸ™

  • Christine Daley

    You can get many dog foods on mr chewy delivered right to your door!! Check it out!!

  • Shawna

    How so?

  • Christine Daley

    Mr border patrol. I personally do not choose to purchase my pets food at Walmart!! Understood!! They do not have what I am looking for. LOL for anyone interested in the brands they carry!! Personal preference!! Nothing to do with my credibility!! Everyone shops where they like. No problem here!!

  • Border Patrol Agent

    Statements like this tend to point more toward your credibility than anything else.

  • Elizabeth Michaels

    I have a lab/beagle mix (6 years old) – I’ve had him since he was 2.5 months old.

    Since he was a puppy he has been on the Nutro brand food. Last month we were out of food — and weren’t able to get to Petsmart — wound up going to Wal Mart and purchasing a bag of the RR dog food (med. size bag). Recently, Tank had a horrible bowel movement – mucus and blood. I was talking with my coworker who stated her dog had the same reaction after being on the RR food. She stated that she went to her vet and dropped over $500.00 for the vet to tell her that the dog was fine. Common link to this freak bowel movement – RR dog food.

    My dog has been back on his Nutro for close to two weeks now…
    Maybe it isn’t related, but for two healthy dogs to have -0- issues and all of a sudden to have a bloody/mucus bowel movement and the common link is the brand of food.. a little too weird.

  • Ray Korbyl

    Ya and dog still doing great on it but gonna switch to Fromm next week,lamb and lentils because my other dog can’t have poultry so she’s on acana singles right now but not good enough on it so just switching her to Fromm and she’s doing great on it so far…nice poops and I really think Fromm is as good as orijen and acana@ $10 a bag cheaper…

  • Bobby dog

    I believe I discussed Precise with you in the past. Are you still feeding it?

  • Ray Korbyl

    Ya I like family run business’s like Fromm,orijen/champion pet food which also make acana,earthborn,precise holistic all are family run dog food companies and all use local produce and don’t outsource and they own there facilities.

  • Bobby dog

    Fromm is in my rotation along with other kibbles for both my dog and cats. Good stuff!

  • Ray Korbyl

    Try Fromm,it’s a family run business and has not had a recall in over a 100 years

  • A P

    Scarletsunn………..same thing with my dog and dog food. Was feeding her Blue Buffalo and she was constantly spitting out the dark pellets. I switched her to RR Nutrish Zero Grain and she loves it and is doing great with it.

  • A P

    Hi, not sure what to tell you but. My dog will be 11 yrs old in May. She started having seizures approx 5 yrs ago. She is on phenobarbital to control the seizures. She has ALWAYS had a very touchy stomach. When a 80 – 90 lb dog throws up, it is not fun to clean up. I was feeding her Blue at time and did so up until approx 3 yrs ago. She did not care for Blue and would spit out the little black balls that are in Blue. So I tried her on the Nutrish Zero Grain. She loves it and is doing great on it. So I am not sure what to say. Two previous dogs I had, put them on Nutro and they did horrible on that. It seemed their health went down hill after eating the Nutro.

Get Free Recall Alerts by Email

Get Free Recall Alerts by Email

Receive lifesaving dog food recall alerts anytime there's a recall event in the U.S. or Canada.

You'll also get our best tips and ideas to help you feed your dog better... and safer.

No spam.Β  Unsubscribe anytime.

You have Successfully Subscribed!