Rachael Ray Nutrish (Dry)

Share

Rating: ★★½☆☆

Rachael Ray Nutrish Dog Food receives the Advisor’s second-lowest tier rating of 2.5 stars.

The Rachael Ray Nutrish product line lists three dry dog foods, two claimed to meet AAFCO nutrient profiles for all life stages and one for adult maintenance.

The following is a list of recipes available at the time of this review.

  • Rachael Ray Nutrish Beef and Brown Rice
  • Rachael Ray Nutrish Chicken and Veggies
  • Rachael Ray Nutrish Healthy Weight Recipe

Rachael Ray Nutrish Beef and Brown Rice was selected to represent the other products in the line for this review.

Rachael Ray Nutrish Beef and Brown Rice

Dry Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 30% | Fat = 16% | Carbs = 47%

Ingredients: Beef, chicken meal, ground rice, brown rice, soybean meal, whole grain corn, corn gluten meal, poultry fat (preserved with mixed tocopherols), dried plain beet pulp, dicalcium phosphate, natural chicken flavor, calcium carbonate, salt, dehydrated alfalfa, dried peas, dried carrots, potassium chloride, olive oil, choline chloride, iron oxide (color), zinc sulfate, vitamin E supplement, ferrous sulfate, l-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), niacin supplement, manganese sulfate, copper sulfate, d-calcium pantothenate, sodium selenite, biotin, vitamin A supplement, riboflavin supplement, vitamin D3 supplement, thiamine mononitrate, pyridoxine hydrochloride, vitamin B12 supplement, menadione sodium bisulfite complex (a source of vitamin K activity), potassium iodide, cobalt sulfate, folic acid

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 4.5%

Red items indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis26%14%NA
Dry Matter Basis30%16%47%
Calorie Weighted Basis26%34%41%
Protein = 26% | Fat = 34% | Carbs = 41%

The first ingredient in this dog food is beef. Although it’s a quality item, raw beef contains about 80% water. After cooking, most of that moisture is lost, reducing the meat content to just a fraction of its original weight.

After processing, this item would probably account for a smaller part of the total content of the finished product.

The second ingredient is chicken meal. Chicken meal is considered a meat concentrate and contains nearly 300% more protein than fresh chicken.

The third ingredient is ground rice, another name for rice flour. Ground rice is made from either white or brown rice and is considered a gluten-free substitute for wheat flour.

The fourth ingredient is brown rice, a complex carbohydrate that (once cooked) can be fairly easy to digest. However, aside from its natural energy content, rice is of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

The fifth ingredient is soybean meal, a by-product of soybean oil production more commonly found in farm animal feeds.

Although soybean meal contains 48% protein, this ingredient would be expected to have a lower biological value than meat.

And less costly plant-based products like this can notably boost the total protein reported on the label — a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

The sixth ingredient is corn. Corn is an inexpensive and controversial cereal grain. And aside from its energy content, this grain is of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

For this reason, we do not consider corn a preferred component in any dog food.

The seventh ingredient iscorn gluten meal. Gluten is the rubbery residue remaining once corn has had most of its starchy carbohydrate washed out of it.

Although corn gluten meal contains 60% protein, this ingredient would be expected to have a lower biological value than meat.

And less costly plant-based products like this can notably boost the total protein reported on the label — a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

The eighth ingredient is poultry fat. Poultry fat is obtained from rendering, a process similar to making soup in which the fat itself is skimmed from the surface of the liquid.

Poultry fat is high in linoleic acid, an omega-6 fatty acid essential for life.

However, poultry fat is a relatively generic ingredient and can be considered lower in quality than a similar item from a named source animal (like chicken fat).

The ninth ingredient is beet pulp. Beet pulp is a controversial ingredient, a high fiber by-product of sugar beet processing.

Some denounce beet pulp as an inexpensive filler while others cite its outstanding intestinal health and blood sugar benefits.

We only call your attention here to the controversy and believe the inclusion of beet pulp in reasonable amounts in most dog foods is entirely acceptable.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With seven notable exceptions

First, this recipe contains dried alfalfa. Although alfalfa is high in protein (18%) and fiber, it’s uncommon to see it used in a dog food. This hay-family ingredient is more commonly associated with horse feeds.

Next, dried peas are a good source of carbohydrates. Plus they’re naturally rich in dietary fiber.

However, dried peas contain about 27% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the meat content of this dog food.

In addition, olive oil contains oleic acid, a healthy monounsaturated fat. It’s also rich in natural antioxidants and carotenoids.

Next, iron oxide is a synthetic color additive used in industry to impart a reddish color to food — and paint. In its natural form, this chemical compound is more commonly known as “iron rust”.

We’re always disappointed to find any artificial coloring in a pet food. That’s because coloring is used to make the product more appealing to humans — not your dog. After all, do you really think your dog cares what color his kibble is?

We find no mention of probiotics, friendly bacteria applied to the surface of the kibble after processing to help with digestion.

Additionally, the minerals listed here do not appear to be chelated. And that can make them more difficult to absorb. Non-chelated minerals are usually associated with lower quality dog foods.

And lastly, this food contains menadione, a controversial form of vitamin K linked to liver toxicity, allergies and the abnormal break-down of red blood cells.

Since vitamin K isn’t required by AAFCO in either of its dog food nutrient profiles, we question the use of this substance in any canine formulation.

Rachael Ray Nutrish Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Judging by its ingredients alone, Rachael Ray Nutrish Dog Food looks like a below-average dry product.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 30%, a fat level of 16% and estimated carbohydrates of about 47%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 29% and a mean fat level of 14%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 48% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 49%.

Near-average protein. Below-average fat. And near-average carbs when compared to a typical dry dog food.

When you consider the protein-boosting effect of the soybean and corn gluten meals, dried alfalfa and dried peas, this looks like the profile of a kibble containing a below-average amount of meat.

However, it’s unfortunate the company chose to include menadione in its recipes. Without this controversial supplement and use of plant-based protein boosters, we would have been compelled to award this brand a higher rating.

Bottom line?

Rachael Ray Nutrish Dog Food is a plant-based kibble using a below-average amount of chicken or turkey meals as its main sources of animal protein, thus earning the brand 2.5 stars.

Not recommended.

Please note certain recipes are sometimes given a higher or lower rating based upon our estimate of their total meat content and (when appropriate) their fat-to-protein ratios.

Rachael Ray Nutrish Dog Food
Recall History

The following list (if present) includes all dog food recalls since 2009 directly related to this product line. If there are no recalls listed in this section, we have not yet reported any events.

You can view a complete list of all dog food recalls sorted by date. Or view the same list sorted alphabetically by brand.

To learn why our ratings have nothing to do with a product’s recall history, please visit our Dog Food Recalls FAQ page.

Get free dog food recall alerts sent to you by email. Subscribe to The Advisor’s recall notification list.

Dog Food Coupons
and Discounts

Readers are invited to share news about coupons and discounts with others in our Dog Food Coupons Forum.

Or click the buying tip below. Please be advised we receive a fee for referrals made to the following online store.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

The Dog Food Advisor does not test dog food products.

We rely almost entirely on the integrity of the information posted by each company on its website. As such, the accuracy of every review is directly dependent upon the quality of the test results from any specific batch of food a company chooses to publish.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, due to the biological uniqueness of every animal, none of our ratings are intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in a specific dietary response or health benefit for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

However, we do receive a fee from Chewy.com for each purchase made as a direct result of a referral from our website. This fee is a fixed dollar amount and has nothing to do with the size of an order or the brand selected for purchase.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Notes and Updates

05/12/2015 Last Update

  • Susan Wolverton Warren

    I have never had a reason to post or complain, but I did want to post about this because it really saddens me that I did not research better. We started feeding our dogs Rachel Reys dog food 3 weeks ago because the ingredients looked great. We have a pit and a walker hound which are 2 very different breeds. A day or so after feeding them this food they started getting very sick and vomitting. We thought we would give it a little bit thinking it was because we changed their diet. 2 days ago our pit couldn’t stop vomitting and dry heaving. We figured it might be the food so we switched them to another food. They have not vomitted since. I’m so hurt that I didn’t realize sooner that it was the food. I know that every dog is different. Just be careful and watch your dogs. Their health and activity say a lot.

  • Susan Wolverton Warren

    Both of our dogs have been eating this for only 3 weeks and both started vomitting horribly. I thought that the ingredients looked healthy and I feel so bad for not researching better. We switched them to a new food two days ago and the vomitting stopped. So glad I found this place. I didn’t realize how bad some food can be.

  • Lonnie R Brooking

    Please report this issue to the FDA. We have got to get this and other unsafe dog food off the market.

  • Lonnie R Brooking

    Please report it to the FDA. I hope it got it quickly and no damage was done to your dog. There has been dogs that have died with this food. I lost my dog and even though i can’t prove it was the food i know it was since she has no prior problems before eating it.

  • Joan

    Our small dog is very very sick on meds and antibiotics Prednisone and a narcotic as well for over a week now and she still is not well we gave her the Rachel Ray Salomon thank god our other small dog refused to eat it,

  • Sara

    I switched to the Rachael Ray beef flavor and my dog has been throwing up ever since she’s been eating it after she does any fast movements anything like that she would vomit all the food back up

  • Ashlye Rosario

    Weird as hell

  • Tigger57

    Did your vet do any tests? What did the vet say was the cause of death?

  • Lonnie R Brooking

    Please report this to the FDA . We can’t have food making pets sick. I have no proof but I’m pretty sure it was this food that killed my dog.

  • Azul

    Just noticed something kid of weird. Every person that’s complaining about this food, if you click on their profile, that is their one and only post. Its like someone is making up profiles specifically just to complain about this food.
    I’ve used it since it came out with zero problems, so its definetly not the poison these people are claiming. I guess someone has nothing better to do. lol

  • Roy Quismundo

    I got my dog the Rachel Ray salmon and vegetables one. While I was feeding him he started developing rashes and vomiting. Didn’t realize it was the Rachel Ray food until we switched over to something else. His rashes are clearing up, he’s stopped itching and he’s stopped vomiting.

    At the same time I was feeding my cat the Rachel ray mix for cats and she was also vomiting frequently. Once we switched to another brand, she stopped throwing up everywhere.

    SOMETHING IS UP WITH THE RACHEL RAY LINE OF FOOD.

  • Lonnie R Brooking

    Please report this to the FDA . We can’t afford for our loved ones to be sick. I’m not sure if its just chicken or the others but I lost my pet a few days after Christmas and I just started giving her the Chicken recipe at the end. I know it was the food that killed her even though i have no proof.

  • Shelley

    I had been feeding my dogs the chicken and vegetable formula for the last 3 yrs. About 4 months ago my dogs stopped eating the food- would sniff the bowl and walk away, would only eat if very hungry after skipping a few meals. Their activity also dropped-became less playful. I switched to a different brand of food and mixed the two to slowly change over-they picked out the Rachel Ray and refused to eat it. Since we have switched over to new food they are back to their old playful selves.
    My sister had also been feeding her dog the same formula and she also started having trouble with her dog not wanting to eat it as well as intermittent vomiting and diarrhea. A friend of hers that was using the same food also having issues with her dog getting sick. Has anyone else noticed a change in the last few months?

  • Frank McArthur Sr.

    I have four dogs and had the same problem in the past. I now make raw food from 10 pounds of hamburger, mixed with 10 cups cook white rice and 12 raw eggs. The Shepard gets cup and ahalf, and the others get one cup each. I feed twice a day. The other meal is Blue Buffalo. I have had great result and no sickness.

  • mahoraner niall

    even though this food is bad, it’s definitely better than beneful, dog chow, and pedigree!!

  • Cannoli

    It depends on the dog. I don’t ever transition my dog to new kibble or meats. I do a weekly rotation on kibble along with meats and organs so I never had to do an introduction. My pup never had issues with his poop. If your dog can handle it there is no need for introduction.

  • Lonnie R Brooking

    I’m glad you were able to catch and stop giving this bad food to your dog. I hope you do a report with the FDA and tell everyone about this food that is bad for dogs. I lost my dog and pretty sure it was the food even though I don’t have proof. There have been too many similar stories of this happening.

  • Lonnie R Brooking

    I lost my dog after eating this. I can’t prove it was the food but she didn’t have any problems prior to me feeding her this food. Also there are bullies on this feed that will try to convince you that it wasn’t the food and something you did as a owner. I’m glad you have had filed reports and I’m sure there are a lot more cases that have not or never will be reported. I’m glad you were able to save your dogs before they got bad.

  • Susan

    When you start a new kibble, go on their web page or look on the side of kibble bag, it will tell you slowly introduce over a 5-7 day period some kibbles say slowly introduce over 7-10 days…..you give 1/4 cup new kibble & 1/4 cup less off their old kibble, you do this for 2-3 days then you give 1/2 new & 1/2 old kibble for 2/3 days, if poos don’t look good then go back to 1/4 cup new kibble…..

  • Jewels Espinoza

    This is what happened to my dog within a week of feeding him RR dog food. He NEVER messes in the house and much less on the carpet. That day he messed on the floor and on the carpet. He was also very thirsty. He didn’t eat the food for a couple of days until he finally got hungry enough and ate this crap. I switch him dog foods all the time and this haf never happened before. It would have killed him if it weren’t for me looking up reviews on this dog food.

  • Bruin Boru

    Well we purchased this because we liked that the first ingredient was meat. I have two dogs a 98 lb redbone coonhound and a 108 lb English lab. Neither one of my dogs are picky eaters…I also have also always mixed whatever chow we give them with mostly raw vegetables and brown rice or oatmeal along with chicken or salmon. First off neither of my boys wanted to touch the stuff. Figured they were just being picky and I would out stubborn them eventually. Unfortunately for me I did and they lost by giving in and eating the Rachel Ray Nutrish. While my lab showed some signs of lethargy he did refuse to eat anymore. My coonhound however became violently ill throwing up, drinking huge amounts of water, throwing up again. Of course I removed the food immediately and washed all containers it had come in contact with. Not that either one of my dogs would have touched it again. Our coonhound was shaking, puking for a 36 hour period. He has finally started to recover from this (WE HOPE) As he was able to eat breakfast this morning. I have filed reports with the FDA as well as contacting RR corporate, Ainsworth Pets, Walmart and the local manager of our Walmart where the food was purchased. All I can say is that after reading the horrible accounts of families losing their loved ones I am only so grateful my boys only consumed a minor amount of this toxic food and that they were strong enough to survive the course it ran in their systems. I can only imagine had we had weaker, older or sicker boys. Our prayers go out to those in similar situations. Please take the time to report this to the proper agencies so that we can limit the victims in the future.

  • Babslynne

    I am glad you found something that works for you, it is something different for everyone. If you ever wanted to find out if there is something that works better you could always try a rotational diet.

    http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/frequently-asked-questions/diet-rotation-for-dogs/

  • Roy Powell

    First off sorry for the ones that have their beloved pets for whatever reason. I have 2 dogs, a 4year German Shepard and a 10year Chihuahua/Pomeranian mix. We have had been feeding them Beneful and heard the stories about how awful it us so we decided to find something new. So my wife and I decided to try RR’s pet food. They have been eating it for over a year and half and have found they don’t scratch and itch so bad since they have been on it. They have had no side affects while on her food. So to hear all the horrible stories that this type of dog food is killing dogs is all craziness. I am not changing their food just because of so many think this is such a horrible dog food.

  • InkedMarie

    Jennifer,
    I really don’t think you understand. I don’t use Beneful or Alpo yet i can say without a doubt that they are poor foods. One doesn’t have to feed a food to know that if someone thinks a food made their dogs sick or die, you need to have PROOF not just what a pet owner thinks. That means having the food tested and having your vet submit your dogs medical records. Now, if you threw out the food and/or the bag, if you didn’t take your dog to the vets or if your vet doesn’t think it’s the food, you may be out of luck.

  • Jennifer Peterson

    Whatever. I am so over you.,

  • LabsRawesome

    No one is harassing you or anyone else on this thread. Just because someone asks you questions, or disagrees with you, that is not harassment. And you’re the only one calling names, so you are the one that seems to have a problem talking to other people in a normal conversation, not us.
    Edit how do you know that the food is poorly made?
    How do you know the quality of the ingredients?
    FYI just you thinking or saying something is not proof.

  • Pitlove

    Hi Jennifer-

    Thanks for the update on Zeke. I’m sure you can see I’m a pitbull lover (and owner), so my heart goes out to him of course.

    Truthfully, I don’t know the cost of having the food lab tested, but I can certainly apperciate being on a fixed income. It was merely a suggestion, not to antagonize or upset.

    We actually just brought Nulo in to my job (I work at a small family owned pet store). I still haven’t done enough research on the company to recommend it yet, but I am very glad your cattle dog is doing well on it and that Zeke will be on it as well. From the literature I have read (from the company) it seems like a good food. I am just the type of person that needs to know more.

    As for the loose stool, I’m sure Zeke’s body needs a bit more time to recover. He’ll get there! Sounds like he certainly is on the road to recovery.

  • Jennifer Peterson

    Nicole, I believe you. Trust your heart and your gut you know what happened. And I’m so sorry for your loss.

  • Jennifer Peterson

    And to keep it real, Zekes owner, has already spent over $800 at the vet on food and medications to try to fix this problem. So to spend another couple thousand on testing a dog food is pretty much out of tje question now. I’m trying to save another dogs life by posting here but the naysayers are kind of ruining that I just hope other dogs don’t die because of it.

  • Jennifer Peterson

    Zeke, Who is a pitbull, is now on prescription diet from the vet and two medications. I have read numerous reviews on this dog food and the signs are very similar, mostly affecting the kidneys. Zeke’s kidneys were very much compromised and the vet even said that he is seeing a lot of problems with some foods. But I’m sure you can appreciate how expensive it is to test dog food and most of us are on fixed incomes. So yes the stool is much better, And he is drinking far less water before he would actually stick his head in the bowl he had to drink so much because his kidneys were failing. I don’t need anymore proof. He started feeling better as soon as he was off the food. And when the prescription diet is done I’m going to switch him over to a brand called NULO that I have my cattle dog on because it’s working very well for her and the reviews are excellent.
    His stool is not 100% firm like my other dogs yet, but it’s not bloody water like it was on Rachael Ray’s food.

  • Jennifer Peterson

    I don’t use this food…, omg r u kidding me?? Yet here you are telling other people who know in their heart and soul the food is killing dogs.
    It’s like the people in the Erin Brockovich movie who say there’s nothing wrong with the water but won’t drink the water. Start feeding this food to your dog and then get back to me on this thread.

  • Pitlove

    Hi Jennifer-

    I can empathize with the fragile emotional state the loss of a pet leaves one in. I lost my beloved cat at the young age of 6 on Christmas Eve of 2014. I too at one point blamed the food he was eating.

    No one that has posted to you is invested in any way in downplaying the loss of a pet to what they feel was contaiminated pet food. In fact, I think most of the people that have posted to you thus far feed mostly or all raw and are fairly against feeding kibble.

    However, with all of the misinformation on the internet now a days and with the fact that most peoples idea of “researching dog foods” is reading consumer reviews (like yours) on websites like DFA etc, fact checking has become of the utmost importance.

    I hope you consider having the food tested, you may just save another dogs life if it is in fact contaminated. I wish that I could agree that a dead dog is enough proof, but it simply is not.

    Out of curiousity, what is Zeke eating now? Is he doing any better?

  • Jennifer Peterson

    You are disturbed. We’re not talking rat poison here or cyanide, we’re talking food that is poorly made and does not have ingredients that agree with many dogs so why take the risk. My guess is you are related to Rachael ray in some way because yiu are filly sooner if most people can afford lab testing on dog food. Please! We know what we know. If you had a child who died after eating the same meal for a while wouldnt you put two and two together? So over you and the other Rachael Ray follower in this thread. And the other woman probably remove all of her post because you were harassing her like you’re doing with me and questioning every friggin thing she said. What ever. Go ahead and feed your dog the stuff I don’t care.

    And the crazy for dogs lady is just plain crazy. She doesn’t even feed her dog this food! Why the hell is she even on this thread? Just to protect Rachael Ray?

  • LabsRawesome

    If a food contained poison it would not take a year to see effects or deaths. Pamela Winder was on here like a month ago making the same claims as you and Lonnie. She has returned and admitted to having her RR Nutrish kibble tested, and the tests came back normal. She deleted all of her posts claiming that there was something wrong with the food.

  • InkedMarie

    Jennifer, it’s not that anyone is in denial but just saying that any dog food made your dog sick or die is not proof. Food has to be tested, vet records need to be sent etc. Only then can something be done. Maybe if all of you who think like you did something, something would be done.

  • Lonnie R Brooking

    Thank you Jennifer. I’m glad you got to save your dog Zeke. I still miss my dog. She was my kid.

  • Jennifer Peterson

    Thank you for being so honest. The food is awful, you know it, I know it and several people on here know it. For those who need ‘proof’ if you feed this to your dog in time you will get the proof. sadly.

  • Jennifer Peterson

    As I wrote earlier, Zeke has been on this food for over a year…. signed were hard to read at first and then it got really bad. 🙁

  • Jennifer Peterson

    Lonnie, I hear you. These Rachael Ray worshippers are disturbing.

  • Jennifer Peterson

    Wow, the man says his dog died, and that’s how you communicate with him? Very cruel. And do the homework, there are lots of dogs dying and getting sick from it.

  • Jennifer Peterson

    Yeah. Lots of people in denial here. It took over a year for Zeke to start showing signs… his kidneys were being overworked big time – well at least we know not to feed dogs this food. I am always thankful when I get warnings. So interesting how people need ‘proof’ – a dead dog is not proof enough? Oy vey. Again, so sorry about your pup and I believe you 100%.

  • Crazy4dogs

    Hi Jennifer,

    I don’t use this food. I’m just saying that many people claim on many of the foods that it killed or poisoned their dog. If they think it’s true, the only way to prove it is by a vet check/lab test confirmation, or necropsy if the dog has died, and having the food tested. Unfortunately, there are so many various factors, including improper storage, things dogs can get into outside, etc., that companies will not believe you without the proper proof. So, if you really think this was the case, then the best thing you could do for your/friends/dogsitter dog is to confirm this the correct way.

  • theBCnut

    This may surprise you, but they have real lives outside of DFA and aren’t always on here. No doubt, they will get around to it eventually. You sure have had a LOT of comments deleted by moderators lately, which usually, when someone is that offensive, they post a warning, so I can assure you my comment was an observation displaying my warped sense of humor, nothing more. Have a good day, James.

  • Do you even know how crazy you sound?

    You tell me;

    “I can reply to whoever I want to. I don’t need you or anyone else to tell me who to reply to or what to say”

    “If I choose to reply to the BCnut and not the OP, it’s really none of your business. When were you appointed as the post police of DFA?”

    “Probably because it’s none of your business who replies to whom. Or what they say”

    And then not 5 minutes later you tell Lonnie R Brooking what he can or cannot say;

    “No one attacked you. You need to have proof before you post that a food is poison. I don’t know for sure, but maybe you could be sued for slander. Just sayin”

    How do you get away with this crap?

  • LabsRawesome

    If I choose to reply to the BCnut and not the OP, it’s really none of your business. When were you appointed as the post police of DFA?

  • “I can reply to whoever I want to. I don’t need you or anyone else to tell me who to reply to or what to say”

    Absolutely! I was just clearing up the false accusations you made

  • As I said below, it was a Moderator who removed my comment, not me. And I knew exactly who you were replying to 😉

  • LabsRawesome

    Probably because it’s none of your business who replies to whom. Or what they say.

  • My comment was removed by a Moderator, and I am a little taken aback, that instead of stepping in and clearing things up, they choose to stay silent and let you guys continue to make false accusations about me.

  • LabsRawesome

    I can reply to whoever I want to. I don’t need you or anyone else to tell me who to reply to or what to say.

  • I knew who you were replying to. I just thought it was a little insensitive that you chose to reply to thebcnut with this comment;

    “I was thinking Parvo too. It kills young pups pretty quick”

    Instead of offering a few kind words to the poor person who just lost her dog.

  • Jennifer Peterson

    I will for sure. I have all the medical bills and I am so sorry about your pup. My heart goes out to you. I don’t want this to happen to anyone else. And all the haters on this thread… I just pray for their dogs. I foster dogs a lot, and just spoke with a friend who adopted a dog I fostered who now lives in Nashville. She has been feeding this food to Kaidy and now she is pulling her off of it and putting her on a new food. I am so glad I reached her. Hopefully not too late, I am still so worried about Zeke, the pittie I have been discussing on this thread, he’s on two medications now and his stool was ok yesterday but it was looser today. 🙁 worried but will try to stay positive.

  • Lonnie R Brooking

    I lost my dog that was healthy and young with no problems prior to me feeding her Nutrish. Have you contacted the FDA and/or your states attorney general ? We have got to get this food off the shelves.

  • Lonnie R Brooking

    I don’t have proof medically from a vet but i had a perfectly healthy dog prior to eating the food. I guess all the other people on here are wrong to that had problems with the food. We should be able to trust what we feed our dogs and who is going to know at the time or should have to get a necropsy or food tested. I know it was the food after doing my research with reviews of dogs online with similar symptoms. So if you don’t like what I say than that your opinion. I either want better labeling on food r something done to Rachael Ray that killed my dog.

  • theBCnut

    He’s removing evidence apparently.

  • theBCnut

    LMAO!! You mean you aren’t sorry for my loss? I’m hurt.

  • LabsRawesome

    Yeah, the funny thing about it was in his haste to make me look heartless, he forgot to check my post to see who I was replying to. Funny how he deletes all of his posts when he is wrong.

  • DogFoodie

    He must think his condescending chastising of others makes him look superior. He did it to me recently, too. It made me laugh. If others only knew.

  • LabsRawesome

    You have made several posts that seem to be talking about 2 seperate dogs. Some posts say your dog got sick, and some say a dog that you are watching. That is where the confusion is coming from. And your snarky attitude and rude comments don’t make your posts very believable.

  • LabsRawesome

    el doctor posted to me that I should have added condolences in my post to you about the op dog possibly having Parvo. After I replied to him he noticed that my reply was to you and not the op, so he deleted his post to me. He was trying to shame me, or make me look bad.

  • LabsRawesome

    You can’t just say that without proof. You need to have the food tested. It doesn’t matter that you don’t have your original package, according to you it’s all poison. If the food was actually poison there would be hunreds of thousands of dogs dying from it. I have 3 dogs and I have tried different foods that didn’t go over well. Just because a dog gets diarrhea or vomits doesn’t mean a food is poison. Some dogs don’t do well on some foods.

  • InkedMarie

    No problem. I was just confused about your comments to me. I don’t feed this food, never have but if you think it harmed your dog, you need to have the food tested.

  • Jennifer Peterson

    oh thanks.

  • Jennifer Peterson

    Oh I don’t care if you believe me story about caps being locked. OMG, I feel sorry for the people in your life who tell you the truth and you shut them down. My lord.

  • Jennifer Peterson

    Ok,let me be clear. My name is Jennifer Peterson, I am a filmmaker you can go to my website at http://www.jenniferpetersondirector.com and see my work. You can also read about my work in animal welfare by googling my name and the words “puppy mill” and you’ll see what I am trying to do to help dogs in crisis.

    I am so sorry you have been so confused by my posts. The dog in question is not personally mine but a friends that I have been watching for three months now as my friends relocated to Florida and I am taking care of him. (how exactly did my story change?) So to strangers like you I really did not see the need to explain my connection with the dog but now that you are sooooo confused I will try to help you. So this pup who I have been watching off and on for three months has never had a solid stool. I noticed his owner (my friend) was feeding him Rachael Ray’s food. I knew it was not normal for a dog to have stool that was constantly runny and with intermittent blood in it. As well as a thirst that could never be satiated. I took him to the vet and the vet put him on another brand, two different medications, and now his stool looks pretty darn normal. Vets do not test food. If you know a vet that does please let me know. Andif you think this is just a coincidence then by all means keep feeding your dog this crappy food. But when your dog eventually goes into kidney failure please remember my name as the woman who tried to warn you and other unsuspecting customers. I am always blown away by people who feel the need to attack those just trying to help. I’m done. I wish your pups the best but I know damn well no dog of mine is EVER (yes, this time I meant the caps 🙂 coming close to Rachael Ray’s food ever again. They sell it at Wallmart and Vons…. you really think this is going to be quality food?? Please.

  • Crazy4dogs

    HI Jennifer Peterson,

    I am so sorry about your dog being ill. However, your posts are very confusing. You have said that your dog, the dog you sit for, the owner’s dog, and the dog you care for off and on have encountered problems with this food. I am not saying this food is not the cause of the dog’s problems, but it’s difficult to believe a story that changes with every post, and unless you have a definitive diagnosis stating that it was the dog food that caused the problem, it’s not really believable.

    When you post something in all caps, that is definitely perceived as shouting. I’m not sure I believe your story that caps lock was on.

    So very sorry about you dog and I hope he has a full recovery. If you believe it was the food, you should have it tested. That would provide you with proof against the company.

  • Crazy4dogs

    Hi Lonnie,

    First, let me tell you that I am so very sorry for the loss of your dog. They are our faithful companions and death is so very hard to take.

    Unfortunately, unless you have a necropsy done and the food tested, there are so many other factors that could have caused the death of your dear companion. I have never personally used this food, but it’s made by a reputable manufacturer. I am by no means saying that it was not the factor, or a contributing factor in your dog’s sad demise, but unless you have the proper testing done, unfortunately, there is no proof that the food was the cause of death.

    Again, I am truly sorry for the loss of your dog. I know how very hard this is and wish you the best.

  • Lonnie R Brooking

    The food is poison and i know the Zero Grain version is a lot better than the regular. I did not feed my dog treats or anything from China. it can’t be a coincidence this is happening and if there food spoils that quickly than there should be warnings on the package.

  • theBCnut

    What!?!

  • InkedMarie

    pay attention. My comment before your shouting comment was NOT to you but to Rob Moore. I posted my thoughts on HIS dog, not yours.

  • LabsRawesome

    Hi Candice, I’m glad that you found a food your dog does well on. I give my three the Zero Grain formulas, all 3 scarf it down. I’ve used it since it came out like 3 years ago. I can’t figure out the people that are coming on here saying that the food is poison either. They have to be feeding some kind of treats or chicken jerky from China or improperly storing their kibble. I haven’t seen any proof from anyone that is claiming that the food is poison.None of them have had their food tested or anything.

  • Lonnie R Brooking

    Thank you for saving a dog but watch out for the signs that other people have had. Sometimes it doesn’t happen right away when feeding RR Nutrish but the poison will build up than gets the dog. Just be careful.

  • LabsRawesome

    I replied to the BCnut, why would I give her condolences?

  • Susan

    Sorry for your loss, your dog needs an autopsy done & vet will take bloods,are you sure it wasn’t Parvo?? with Parvo they vomit blood & Parvo comes on so quick, one minute the dog is playing, healthy then he’s real ill & needs to see a vet asap…check & make sure it wasn’t Parvo cause you wont be able to get another pup for a while, you’ll need to bleach everything, I don’t know how long Parvo lives in the ground or its a myth google it…

  • Hi Labs

    Condolences would have been nice 🙁

  • Hi Nicole

    I’m very sorry for your loss 🙁

  • Jennifer Peterson

    It’s the food!! Owner just spent 800.00 trying to save a pup I dog sit for and we’re not sure yet if he is out of the woods or not. Seriously, why risk it????

  • Jennifer Peterson

    yes, same thing with my pup and he’s on two medications now. his kidneys were failing. It’s awful and I am so sorry about your pup. My heart breaks for you.

  • Jennifer Peterson

    don’t feed your pups this stuff. 800.00 in vet bills and the damage to my sweet pup might be irreversible.

  • Jennifer Peterson

    and I love how you school me when I have a sick dog who is on two medications now. is that polite? how about asking me if my dog is ok? no… why do that?

  • Jennifer Peterson

    I think you should totally feed your dogs poisonous food. Good luck with that. And I wasn’t yelling, i wrote in caps because my caps were locked. omg. here I am trying to warn people and you give me a lecture. again, you have been warned. that’s all i have to say.

  • Crazy4dogs

    Thank you for saving a senior!

    If the food is working for your dog, that’s the most important thing.

  • Candice Baker

    I have a 9 year old bullboxer that my husband and I rescued in December. Ever since we have had him, I have been feeding him various recipes of RR’s pet food. Now, I have finally come to the conclusion that he prefers 3 cups of the Chicken & Veggies blend, and 1.5 cups of brown rice/apple mixture 1 time per day. He is a mostly sedentary old dog and does completely fine on it. In fact, he has way more energy than he did when we got him. His previous owners were feeding him food for a small breed dog (chihuahua size dog food) and he still loves to play fetch, gets super excited when we come home, is very cuddly, and does not have diarrhea and/or vomiting. Not sure how everyone else’s animals seem to be dying from it.

  • Crazy4dogs

    I would contact whoever you got the pup from, whether it was a rescue or a breeder. Parvo is devastating and if that’s the situation, all of the pups are likely infected. So sorry for your loss. :'(

  • InkedMarie

    First of all, stop yelling. It’s not polite. Second, the person I was replying to apparently went from a low quality food (no hamburger texture food id good) to this food. He said he fed 2 cups of the food & added in mac & cheese to get him to eat it. Both of those things will likely make a dog get sick.

    I have no idea if this food makes dogs sick or not but doing what he did no doubt made his particular dog sick.

  • LabsRawesome

    I was thinking Parvo too. It kills young pups pretty quick.

  • theBCnut

    Did you take her to the vet? Because this is also symptoms of parvo. Your vet will know what to do if he thinks it’s the food. You can file a report with the FDA, but your vet should file one too.

  • Nicole

    I just lost my newer puppy to Rachel Rays alleged quality pet food. I am in tears right now in an absolute state of shock and disbelief!!! My puppy was strong, healthy. Playing, and giving kisses just 2 days prior. Now after trying this food I wake up and find her in a pool of blood and vomit?!? I’m so devastated, I am so hurt… If any of you know the first step I should take please let me know.

  • Jennifer Peterson

    YOU ARE WRONG, DOGS ARE DYING FROM IT! MY DOG IS ON SPECIAL MEDICATION AND MIGHT NEVER RECOVER. WAKE UP!

  • Anne Nonneemouse

    don’t listen to them, your dog wouldn’t be so sick just from that. Rachel Ray’s food is poison, there are countless reports all over the web. Entirely too many to be a coincidence. I switch foods all the time & have never had this problem until rachel ray nutrish.

  • Anne Nonneemouse

    I fed nutrish cat food to my cat in November. She got sick within 12 hours of eating it. She is still sick & has had intractable diarrhea ever since. Now, 3 months later, lab tests show liver & kidney failure. If you search the internet, you will find hundreds of other people with the same story, far to many to think it’s a coincidence. This stuff is poison! Spread the word!

  • Lonnie R Brooking

    My dog died a few days after Christmas that had no health problems prior to eating this food. I hope nothing happens to your dogs. Please contact as many people as can about your experience. I have contacted my state attorney’s general and I also filed a report with the FDA. I miss my dog so much and want her to pay for her unsafe food.

  • Seiran

    Since my dogs are very picky and spoiled to begin with, initially I ignored for a few days the fact that they didn’t want to mess with this food. Finally they started eating, since they were of course hungry from refusing to eat. Everything was fine, or so I thought, next thing I noticed 2 of my dogs got sick, and another one started throwing up very very badly! HOW CAN THIS HAPPEN WHEN THIS IS SUPPOSED TO BE A HEALTHY AND WE’LL THOUGHT OF RECIPE?????? I will never ever purchase any type of this poisonous food again! And to Rachel Ray: I take it you have dogs? Try feeding this poison food to your dogs and watch what happens! How dare you connect YOUR name to that garbage. If something happens to my dogs, someone is gonna pay! That is not a threat but a FACT! And to the companies that made this garbage and probably many more so called ‘SAVE AND GOOD BRANDS’, watch what happens when you market more of this BS. I will sue so fast, you don’t have time to think! A**H****S!

  • Beth

    I just might do that. He is still hesitant to eat anything, and turned his nose up at peanut butter, his all time favorite food after cheese, when I allow it. I was trying to get some medicine in him & couldn’t do it. I was getting ready to call the vet when he threw up. Once I saw what the problem was I was furious. I thought he had the flu or something. As soon as he got that crap out of him he was like a new dog, because he was pretty miserable. Except for still not eating. I’m sorry about you losing your dog. They are like our children. They will have to medicate me when my Henry goes I’m afraid.

  • Lonnie R Brooking

    Sorry wasn’t able to get those done didn’t suspect the food as cause until reading the problems on here.

  • Crazy4dogs

    Hi Lonnie R Brooking! So sorry for the loss of your dog. Did you have a necropsy done and send the food to a lab to be tested?

  • Lonnie R Brooking

    I just got done talking to a lady from the FDA. I filed a complaint through my state attorneys general. I lost my dog a few days after Christmas and didn’t know it was the food. Please contact your state AG and tell others not to buy this food. Nobody should have to lose the pet they loved.

  • Beth

    Bought my dog, very healthy by the way, a small bag of the chicken & mixed it with his old food for about a week. Bought a big bag of the beef & gave that to him 2 days ago, again mixed with his old food. He has had the worst diahrrea since & just now proceeded to go outside & throw up what he had eaten 2 DAYS AGO. It had never digested. Will be going back to Purina. Horrible stuff!

  • Lonnie R Brooking

    Definitely get rid of the food and get the word out about how unsafe this food is. I lose a dog a few days after Christmas. I didn’t realize it was food until I read the reviews. She was healthy and no known problems before eating it.

  • Jacki

    I had changed my dogs food recently to the Rachael Ray brand and about 2 weeks ago I noticed that her stool had blood in it. I started checking her stool because prior to that she threw up foamy blood, she is an extremely healthy dog and has never pooped or throwing up blood like this before. I took her to the vet and they gave her some pills, she Took them for a week and is now off of them but her poop is now thin, orange and still not normal. The only thing I can relate it back to is the food! I’m switching back to Purina pro plan. It’s super expensive but oh well, I don’t want to lose her!

  • Rob Moore

    I will let her get better with her old food and try again, this time trying to add just a little more of the new food each day.

  • LabsRawesome

    The reason your dog threw up is because you didn’t transition her from the hamburger food. You can’t feed one food for a long time and just abruptly switch to something else. You have to mix small amounts of new food in with the old food. It should take about a week to ten days of mixing the two foods together, gradually adding less of the old food and more of the new food. Even though you didn’t say the name of the hamburger food I’m sure it’s complete garbage. The Rachael Ray is a better choice than what you were originally feeding.

  • InkedMarie

    Trying to understand here. You bought your dog a whole new food, did not transition to the new food over 5-7 days, the dog finally ate it after you added mac & cheese and you’re surprised he threw up?

    This dog has likely been eating a very low quality food (I don’t think any “hamburger textured” food is above a one star), it generally takes a slow transition.

    While I’m not a fan of Rachael Ra’s food, I doubt there is anything wrong with the food. By the way, just because a human celebrity chef has their name on a food, that doesn’t mean they know diddly about dog food.

  • Rob Moore

    WOW,

    Last night I bought Rachael Ray Nutrish, the just 6 lamb meal & brown rice recipe.

    I bought it because of the Rachael Ray name.
    I thought it meant quality

    My black lab pit mix would not touch it.

    She is used eating the soft hamburger textured food.

    She did not eat anything yesterday.

    Around 3pm today, I got her to eat 2 cups of the new food by mixing in 2 tablespoons of mac-n-cheese.

    Within 1/2 an hour, she vomited twice, Softball sized almost dry piles.

    More has been vomited out than what went in.

    I am taking the food back for a refund and will never buy another product sponsored by Rachael Ray.

    This has ruined Rachael Ray’s reputation for me.

    Rachael Ray needs to stop sponsoring things that are harmful to animals.

  • Martha

    I’m so glad I read these reviews! I bought this for the 1st time a few days ago. My dog won’t eat it until hours after it’s been sitting in his cage. I thought he was acting spoiled because he wanted people food. I occasionally give him ham. I’m not chancing it!! Buying him new food tomorrow.
    Thank you all. I’m sorry for all of you that have lost your fur babies.

  • Lonnie R Brooking

    Here is the link to report it to the FDA. You have to fill out way too much just to report it but if it stops the sell of this unsafe food than it will be worth it. Also make sure it gets submitted all the way. They make it a little complicated.

    http://www.fda.gov/AnimalVeterinary/SafetyHealth/ReportaProblem/ucm182403.htm

  • rellie02

    Yeah, I have the same problem with my Jack Russell. Just FYI this isnt the first time I’ve changed his dog food as its a gradual change. But hes been having really bad diarrhea so needless to say he cant eat RR’s dog food any longer. Back to the basics

  • Michael Reed

    I’m sorry for your loss! These companies are pathetic. They thing that these dogs aren’t our family… Wrong. They are what makes our family bonds stronger. I just went to petsmart and bought all new food. “Wellness” “Blue Buffalo” brands. Heard really good reviews from these brands. I hope that I get the word out to everyone about RR horrible brand.

  • Lonnie R Brooking

    I hope your dog is safe and no long term damage. I lost my dog last Monday that was good health and never thought it would be the dog food which I was thought was of great quality. I’m fighting to get the word out to have people stop buying the food and I want the company to be held responsible for what it is doing to our loved ones. Contact as many reps or anybody to get action towards them.

  • Michael Reed

    My yorkie who is in good health and only 2 years old had a seizure last night. The hospital couldn’t tell me anything. I looked up her food this morning and I’m pissed. RR food quality is not safe it seems like. I seen one review that said rat poop at the bottom of the bag and I wonder if that day I poured her a bowl and seen something different and I thought it was a poop and wasn’t sure how it got inside the bag. Very pissed.

  • Lonnie R Brooking

    I didn’t realize it may of been RR dry dog food could of caused my dog’s death a few days ago. She was not even 4 years old but she had a seizure and died. I thought i was giving it a high quality food since they charge a high quality price but after reading these stories I’m upset I didn’t know about the problem with this food. Stay away and if you’re dog has died and had/has problems with this food we have to contact our state/federal agencies and get this food off the market.

  • Katied

    My mom called me 7 days ago to ask me advice about her bulldog throwing up and having diarrhea. I immediately asked her if she had changed his food and she said yes, that morning to the RR beef dry kibble. I looked it up to see if there were any recalls and found all the scary reviews. I told her to not give him anymore and she didn’t and he seemed fine after 24 hours. Her started having seizures last night and the vet had to put him to sleep this morning. We can not say if the food had anything to do with this but it seems very coincidental and sounds very similar to other stories. I just wanted to share the story so people can be aware of another possibility.

  • Laurie

    Ok so I started my dogs on this food about 2 weeks ago. Now all 3 of my dogs are sounding like they are hacking up their lungs. So I decided to read up in this food. Now quite frankly I’m scared! Guess I’ll be calling my vet first thing in the morning!

  • Foodbandid

    I bought a bag of RR when it first came out. My dogs seemed to like it, but at the bottom of the bag there was a LOT of mouse poop.

  • Nancy Swallow

    WOW! I was sure surprised to read some of these reviews! I have a chihuahua named Angel that I have been feeding RR dry for many years. She was 6 weeks old when I got her and she will be 17 years old in February. She has been pretty healthy her whole life with the exception of her teeth–she doesn’t chew her food-just swallows it. Has eaten this way for most of her life-nothing to do with RR food. Had a uterine tumor a couple of years back-so have I-so pretty sure the dog food didn’t cause it either. My daughter researched it and said that this is what we should feed our dogs-so that’s what they eat. She also liked the fact that RR donates money to shelters too. Angel has gotten a little on the heavy side recently so I have switched to the weight maintenance version and have already seen a difference. She mostly sleeps and just goes outside to do her business these days. She does get excited when I come home and still likes to play a bit. Not sure how much longer she will be with me but am confident that this is a good food choice for her.

  • Jen Shannon

    My dogs have been on the chicken and veggies food for years and all of a sudden, they’re having non stop diarrhea and stopped eating the food… I just contacted them through their site to see if they changed the recipe or something.

  • Jessica B Fuoco

    My dog has been eating the rr nutrus for months now and no issues, now she’s suddenly throwing up green chunks and reading all these reviews is freaking me out!

  • Debbie Hornung Jones

    I switched over to RR dog food, my dogs eyes used to constantly water and have horrible tear stains, since I switched no more watery eyes or tear stains. I will continue to buy this dog food

  • robert justus

    Are you sure it wasn’t a bad batch.

  • DogFoodie

    That’s pretty much what happens when your dog isn’t accustomed to diet rotation and you throw a random food his way. It’s not Rachel Ray’s fault.

  • Sarah

    I ran out of dog food & petsmart was closed so I picked up RR just 6 at the local store & my poor Chopper started getting horrible diarrhea. I would wake up in the morning & there would be 5-6 piles of mucus like stools. He never seemed sick during the day so I waited a few days. Problem persisted for over a week!!! Finally I started to feed him only cooked brown rice & veggies that I made. He got better over the next week…only a few accidents in the house until now. I figured he had a virus or ate something poisonous outside & he was cured. Then I made the mistake of slowly adding the dry Rachel Ray poison back into his diet mixed in with the rice. Next day woke up to 4 piles of the same mucus diarrhea. So I went online & googled her food…found TONS of horror stories of dogs getting sick and dying!! This is so appalling to me! How is this brand still on the market! Stay away!!! I’ll be sticking to homemade food. Guess the $ is all that greedy dog killer cares about! Shame on you Rachel Ray!!

  • joanne

    Will continue to buy this food.

  • mimiLove

    Omg now im spooked.today first day i gave my babys this.after reading this im not giving them this food anymore.hell no.its been 2 hours they seam okay but i rather not risk it. Now i wish i can make them throw it up smh…back to ultra

  • Crazy4dogs

    So sorry for your loss. Did you have a necropsy done and have the food tested?

  • Pitlove

    if you have any of the food left, see about having it tested. I’m very sorry for your loss.

  • Josh Leveque

    Do not buy this dog food, something in it is killing animals. My springer died 3 weeks after we started her on this food. She stopped eating and drinking, diarrhea of pure blood and complete organ failure. Before eating this food she was a vibrant, healthy puppy.

  • Mia

    I’m absolutely HORRIFIED reading these reviews! I’ve been feeding my dog Nutrish for a few weeks now and he seems to really like it; he’s finished the bag so it’s time to buy new food, but after reading these reviews I don’t think I’ll be buying another bag! Better safe than sorry

  • tbaybe

    we are having the same issue right now. Dogs have been eating this food for months, and now the newest bag seem sot have given them diarrhea, horribly. Not fun with 2 100lbs German Sheppards

  • Rhiannon Beesinger

    If you care about your dog at all….RUN from this food. I gave my precious lil’ Pomeranian Rachel Ray brand dry dog food a little over 24 hours ago and she died early this morning. She became ill after one bowl and refused to eat anything else. She kept vomiting up water late into the night and I was taking her to the vet today. Too late. She was buried at dawn and my heart has a gaping hole. My precious little Foxy girl is gone because I chose to go ahead and pick up a bag of Rachel Ray food while I was at Target instead of buying her usual brand at a store across town. I cannot believe she was playing happily one day and is dead the next. Please do not give your animals this food. I hope that someone is spared the pain and heartache, that I was not, by reading this review. I couldn’t just stay quiet…not for Foxy’s sake.

Get Free Recall Alerts by Email

Get Free Recall Alerts by Email

Receive lifesaving dog food recall alerts anytime there's a recall event in the U.S. or Canada.

You'll also get our best tips and ideas to help you feed your dog better... and safer.

No spam.  Unsubscribe anytime.

You have Successfully Subscribed!