Rachael Ray Nutrish (Dry)

Share

Rating: ★★½☆☆

Rachael Ray Nutrish Dog Food receives the Advisor’s second-lowest tier rating of 2.5 stars.

The Rachael Ray Nutrish product line includes three dry dog foods, each claimed to meet AAFCO nutrient profiles for all life stages.

The following is a list of recipes available at the time of this review.

  • Rachael Ray Nutrish Chicken and Veggies
  • Rachael Ray Nutrish Beef and Brown Rice
  • Rachael Ray Nutrish Healthy Weight Turkey and Veggies

Rachael Ray Nutrish Beef and Brown Rice was selected to represent the other products in the line for this review.

Rachael Ray Nutrish Beef and Brown Rice

Dry Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 30% | Fat = 16% | Carbs = 47%

Ingredients: Beef, chicken meal, ground rice, brown rice, soybean meal, whole grain corn, corn gluten meal, poultry fat (preserved with mixed tocopherols), dried plain beet pulp, dicalcium phosphate, natural chicken flavor, calcium carbonate, salt, dehydrated alfalfa, dried peas, dried carrots, potassium chloride, olive oil, choline chloride, mixed tocopherols, iron oxide (color), zinc sulfate, vitamin E supplement, ferrous sulfate, l- ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), niacin supplement, manganese sulfate, copper sulfate, d-calcium pantothenate, sodium selenite, biotin, vitamin A supplement, riboflavin supplement, vitamin D3 supplement, thiamine mononitrate, pyridoxine hydrochloride, vitamin B12 supplement, menadione sodium bisulfite complex (a source of vitamin K activity), potassium iodide, cobalt sulfate, folic acid

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 4.5%

Red items when present indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis26%14%NA
Dry Matter Basis30%16%47%
Calorie Weighted Basis26%34%41%

The first ingredient in this dog food is beef. Although it’s a quality item, raw beef contains about 80% water. After cooking, most of that moisture is lost, reducing the meat content to just a fraction of its original weight.

After processing, this item would probably account for a smaller part of the total content of the finished product.

The second ingredient is chicken meal. Chicken meal is considered a meat concentrate and contains nearly 300% more protein than fresh chicken.

The third ingredient is ground rice, another name for rice flour. Ground rice is made from either white or brown rice and is considered a gluten-free substitute for wheat flour.

The fourth ingredient is brown rice, a complex carbohydrate that (once cooked) can be fairly easy to digest. However, aside from its natural energy content, rice is of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

The fifth ingredient is soybean meal, a by-product of soybean oil production more commonly found in farm animal feeds.

Although soybean meal contains 48% protein, this ingredient would be expected to have a lower biological value than meat.

And less costly plant-based products like this can notably boost the total protein reported on the label — a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

The sixth item is corn. Corn is an inexpensive and controversial cereal grain. And aside from its energy content, this grain is of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

For this reason, we do not consider corn a preferred component in any dog food.

The seventh ingredient is corn gluten meal. Gluten is the rubbery residue remaining once corn has had most of its starchy carbohydrate washed out of it.

Compared to meat, glutens are inferior grain-based proteins lower in some of the essential amino acids dogs need for life.

This inexpensive plant-based ingredient can significantly boost the total protein reported on the label — a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

The eighth ingredient is poultry fat. Poultry fat is obtained from rendering, a process similar to making soup in which the fat itself is skimmed from the surface of the liquid.

Poultry fat is high in linoleic acid, an omega-6 fatty acid essential for life.

However, poultry fat is a relatively generic ingredient and can be considered lower in quality than a similar item from a named source animal (like chicken fat).

The ninth ingredient is beet pulp. Beet pulp is a controversial ingredient, a high fiber by-product of sugar beet processing.

Some denounce beet pulp as an inexpensive filler while others cite its outstanding intestinal health and blood sugar benefits.

We only call your attention here to the controversy and believe the inclusion of beet pulp in reasonable amounts in most dog foods is entirely acceptable.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With six notable exceptions

First, dried peas are a good source of carbohydrates. Plus they’re naturally rich in dietary fiber.

However, dried peas contain about 27% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the meat content of this dog food.

Next, olive oil contains oleic acid, a healthy monounsaturated fat. It’s also rich in natural antioxidants and carotenoids.

In addition, iron oxide is a synthetic color additive used in industry to impart a reddish color to food — and paint. In its natural form, this chemical compound is more commonly known as “iron rust”.

We’re always disappointed to find any artificial coloring in a pet food. That’s because coloring is used to make the product more appealing to humans — not your dog. After all, do you really think your dog cares what color his kibble is?

Next, we find no mention of probiotics, friendly bacteria applied to the surface of the kibble after processing to help with digestion.

Additionally, the minerals listed here do not appear to be chelated. And that can make them more difficult to absorb. Non-chelated minerals are usually associated with lower quality dog foods.

And lastly, this food contains menadione, a controversial form of vitamin K linked to liver toxicity, allergies and the abnormal break-down of red blood cells.

Since vitamin K isn’t required by AAFCO in either of its dog food nutrient profiles, we question the use of this substance in any canine formulation.

Rachael Ray Nutrish Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Judging by its ingredients alone, Rachael Ray Nutrish Dog Food looks like a below average dry product.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 30%, a fat level of 16% and estimated carbohydrates of about 47%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 29% and a mean fat level of 14%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 48% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 49%.

Near-average protein. Below-average fat. And near-average carbs when compared to a typical dry dog food.

When you consider the protein-boosting effect of the soy and corn gluten meals as well as the dried peas, this looks like the profile of a kibble containing a below average amount of meat.

However, it’s unfortunate the company chose to include menadione in its recipes. Without this controversial supplement and use of plant-based protein boosters, we would have been compelled to award this brand a higher rating.

Bottom line?

Rachael Ray Nutrish is a plant-based dry dog food using a below average amount of named meats and meat meals as its main sources of animal protein, thus earning the brand 2.5 stars.

Not recommended.

Please note certain recipes are sometimes given a higher or lower rating based upon our estimate of their total meat content.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

We rely almost entirely on the integrity of the information posted by each company on its website. As such, the accuracy of every report is directly dependent upon the quality of that data.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, due to the biological uniqueness of every animal, none of our ratings are intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in a specific dietary response or health benefit for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

To learn how we support the cost of operating this website, please visit our public Disclosure and Disclaimer page.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Notes and Updates

03/05/2010 Original review
10/06/2010 Review updated
05/08/2011 Review updated
02/04/2012 Review updated
04/19/2012 Review updated
10/26/2013 Review updated
10/26/2013 Last Update

  • Katie Hudson

    This is very upsetting to see all these cases of health disparities in dogs after they consumed Rachael Ray’s dog food. I googled this subject because I suspected this dog food to be the cause of my dog’s illness. I recently switched to the weight loss formula dog food made by Rachael Ray and my dachshund is currently in the hospital for pancreatitis! I don’t believe all of these cases of pancreatitis and other illness are a coincidence. I believe it may be the ingredients in this dog food brand. I would not recommend this dog food to anyone. This is the first time my dog has ever been sick in all four years of her life. I hope she is going to be okay.

  • aquariangt

    I mean, sure. You can say that all you want, but the FACTS are that there is a lot of crap in this food that you shouldn’t be feeding your dog. I wouldn’t call the ingredient panel an opinion, and while people’s “stories” aren’t necessarily something to go by, that is.

  • Gary Wade

    Save your own good name by deleting your post. Your gonna say what you just said all because of the negative things people (that you dont know) have ‘claimed’ on this board? What about ALL the reviews from people that have been using this food for a LONG time whose dogs are in great health and love the food and have never had any issues? Those don’t count? I LOVE all the stories that claim their dogs ate just one bowl, one time, and they are sick and dying because of it, and they know for a FACT that Rachel Rays dog food caused it! Do your own research and quit taking peoples opinions as FACTS and follow it up with your own disparaging remarks about Rachel Ray personally.

  • Gary Wade

    That’s funny, cause my two dogs have been on her food for a LONG time and my vet bills are no different than anyone else’s…along with the fact that they’re both as healthy as they could be. You people need to quit blaming a dog food company for all your dogs problems. I agree there are some dog foods out there that you should keep away from your dogs, but it isn’t Rachel Rays. If you want your dog healthy…take them out to play for some more exercise…I guarantee your dogs will be more healthy and energetic regardless of what your feeding them…and quit (not you D’Arla C) lying to yourselves saying that you do make sure your dog gets PLENTY of exercise. Im not specifically mentioning ANYONE here on this board, but I am speaking ‘in general’.

  • Gary Wade

    How dare you talk to this lady like you love your dogs more than she does, and/or your a BETTER pet owner because your gonna make your dogs eat what you ‘believe’ to be a better food than what they prefer.

  • Gary Wade

    I don’t blame him for being upset. First of all, I have two black labs that I love more than anything, and they’ve both been on RR for a LONG time, and theyre both very healthy, with beautiful coats and as energetic as they could possibly be. Everyone on here has been told numerous times, as they should know anyway, that dogs react different to different ingredients/dog foods. I keep hearing so many people tell us that they SHOULDNT buy this JUNK FOOD because they KNOW with out a doubt that their dogs issue did indeed come from this dog food…when they’re obviously assuming that ‘fact’. I’m also sure by the way most of them told their story that they did NOT slowly transition their dogs from one food to the next, which we know can cause major issues with dogs. Besides all of this, I’ve also read, including what I just wrote, that they have dogs that not only love this food, but have been eating it for some time and are very healthy dogs, yet it seems that those RR haters skim over those posts and ignore anything they read that doesn’t agree with their beliefs, and that’s what most are…beliefs. I haven’t read or seen any proof that this dog food, due to one or two ingredients, IS the cause of their dogs pooping blood, or some other terrible issue. Everyone is entitled to their opinions, but most people on this board state their opinions as facts, and they are very from from bring facts. I LOVE dogs and wouldn’t wish ANY harm to come to a dog, but for you people to say Rachel Ray should be ashamed of herself….your crazy. Lastly, okay, I admit you may find a better dog food out there for the same price as Rachel Ray, but again, its your opinion that that other food may be better. Just because of an ingredient or two that you don’t like/care for doesn’t mean crap. I have found VERY FEW dog foods (affordable) that I myself would agree with every ingredient in it. Bottom line…you shouldn’t talk ‘facts’ when theyre merely opinions…

  • LabsRawesome

    Hahaha, No, we knew it wasn’t. I was like that guy looks like Ozzy! Go ask him if he’ll take a pic with you! :) But a friend did get a pic with John Cusak in Italy.

  • Cyndi

    I knew it wasn’t Ozzy, but I forgot to come back and comment that. & also because I didn’t want to burst your bubble in case you really did think it was him, lol!!

  • Crazy4cats

    ; D

  • theBCnut

    I kind of want to walk up to the cranky people I know and tell them to be careful, they might get stuck that way. I just don’t know how people like that can stand themselves. My dad is going to be 85 soon, and he is pleasant to be around and has a great sense of humor, an all around optimist. That’s how I hope I am.

  • Dori

    Wow, that is just really so very sad. I mean I know we all have to get old but do we have to loose our faculties too! She’s lucky she has a loving family to keep an eye on her. I know it’s hard on all of you but I guess we’ll all be her age at some point hopefully with our brain cells in tact. Some of us sooner than others. My mom passed away at 90 and thank God she was as sharp as a tack and had it all going on so I’m praying I take after her and not my dad who died at 76 and just a cranky old coot not recognizing anyone and all that. I refuse to take after him. I have to admit he was pretty much always a cranky old coot even when he was youngish.

  • theBCnut

    Some days it is just horrible. She is 82 and constantly frets that we are all going to die and leave her alone. She thinks she is younger than the rest of us, which I think is hilarious because even when she was young, I remember her being a fretful old lady. I used to think she was 20 years older than my mom instead of just 6.

  • LabsRawesome

    We went to Ozzfest last year, I took this pic of my boyfriend with Ozzy!!

  • Dori

    And you wouldn’t be able to blame the electric lines?

    That’s got to be pretty rough and you and the family. Very sad. How old is she if you don’t mind my asking?

  • theBCnut

    I don’t like it either, but life is what it is. My aunt fell again a couple days ago and spent 2 entire days screaming at the top of her lungs that she wished she could die. She wasn’t hurt or anything, she’s just like that, which makes it all the harder to be bright and positive when dealing with her. Today, she came to my house for Sunday dinner and you would never have known that she had been wailing nonstop for 2 days. Go figure. I am sooooo thankful that I have more family in town to help with her, so it’s not just me. If it was only me, I would go starkers, I’d truly be that lunatic.

  • Dori

    You’ve got me cracking up BC. I love when you’re on DFA. I know you have lots of other responsibilities but we don’t like when you take too much time away from us.

  • Cyndi

    OMG, LMAO!! That cat looks just like Ozzy!!!

  • theBCnut

    I’m not governed by the moon!! It’s the electric lines, I tell ya!! They’re EVERYWHERE!!!

  • LabsRawesome

    Yep.

  • Melissaandcrew

    Like its a bad thing??? Roflmao

  • Dori

    And darn proud of it too!!!!! And…..we don’t call people names.

  • LabsRawesome

    Lunatic-noun

    1.

    an insane person.

    2.

    a person whose actions and manner are marked by extreme eccentricity or recklessness.

    3.

    Law. a person legally declared to be of unsound mind and who therefore is not held capable or responsible before the law.

    I think you used the wrong word. I see nothing crazy or insane about caring what I feed my dogs. They deserve the best I can afford. :)

  • LabsRawesome

    Lunatic- noun

    1.

    an insane person.

    2.

    a person whose actions and manner are marked by extreme eccentricity or recklessness.

    3.

    Law. a person legally declared to be of unsound mind and who therefore is not held capable or responsible before the law.

    adjective, Also, lunatical
    [loo-nat-i-kuh l] (Show IPA), (for defs 4, 5, 7).

    4.

    insane; demented; crazy.

    5.

    characteristic or suggestive of lunacy; wildly or recklessly foolish.

    6.

    designated for or used by the insane:
    a lunatic asylum.

    I think you used the wrong word. I see nothing crazy or insane about caring what you feed your dogs. :)

  • Crazy4cats

    Why, thank you. Yes, we are! Lol!

  • amanda

    you people are lunatics… jussaynn.

  • Jonesy

    Patricia, thank you for your reply. I am very grateful that you took your babies off this food. Our grief has gone deeper than we knew could ever imagine. We count out so many snacks, and 1 to many. Wait for that extra dog to come in, and she isn’t there. Still call her name out waiting for her. I finally went to the Humane Society for 2 days and found one that would help the other dogs not grieve as badly. I spoke of the dog food that took the life of Breyonna Lynn to the Humane Society. Guess what? Someone listened. They checked out the website, and pulled that food off. I am so grateful even if it only saved one life or a heartache of that pets family. What is so neat of our new addition, really kind of freaked me out. When we got her in the car, she crossed her paws, as Breyonna did. When laying next to you, she has to make sure she has a paw on you, like Bre. She was born the same month as Bre was born, and born the same year that Breyonna died. She has such a great very sweet spirit as she did also. There are other things this new puppy does just as Bre did, but not my other pets. But I have been truly blessed by this puppy that God lead us to. Her name is Madison Lynn. We have tried so hard to find a female white boxer, but haven’t been able to. We can’t afford to pay a arm, leg, and even a kidney for one. My son is grieving the worst. Even at 41 it was still his best friend. He is starting to find a love in his heart for Madison. And for Madison, she is happy, loved, and deeply cared for, and NO RACHAEL RAY’S LAMB AND RICE FOOD. Thank you all for your help in this very trying time.

    Even my new vet, he and his office sent us a card for her loss, but it had a small card in it about “Crossing the Bridge under the Rainbow” About pets that dies and goes on to be with love ones and playing, being healthy again. My husband and I broke down and cried deeply. But at least he cared. Blessings to all. Save a pet. Educate people, friends, strangers.

    I even told someone at Walmart about this food that they were getting ready to purchase. They listened, the got a different dog food. TAKE CARE ALL.

    REST IN PEACE BREYONNA LYNN

    7/26/2003-9/9/2014 6:30 P.M.

  • Patricia McDaniel

    I am so happy I looked up this food. I just got this same food for my babies. They have eaten it for the last two days. The very last time they will be eating it. Thank God I found out about this food and I pray it isn’t too late. My sincerest condolences on your beautiful Breyanna. I cannot even begin to think how I’d feel if I lost one or both babies because of this darn dogfood. It’s going to dumpster tomorrow. Thank you so much for posting this warning I assumed this was a good dogfood having Rachel Day’s name on it. Apparently, this goes to show not to trust a name. Rather, check out the ingredients and go by that. I pray my babies will be fine! Pray to God for them! God bless you and best wishes! I’m sorry! :(

  • Jonesy

    Sadly to say they are all grieving. They take turns going in the corner where Breyonna crawled off her bed and laid. They never had laid in this corner. They even crawl under the blanket. When one leaves another takes its place. Like taking a vigil. Their personalities have even changed. My son and I doesn’t go a day without breaking down crying. We have even looked online for a female white boxer puppy. But also think do I dare do it again.
    Thank you so much for asking how my other dogs are doing. They also aren’t eating as much as these last few days either. Take care and I am praying God will richly bless you for caring about us.

  • Hater & Molly’s Mom

    You actually think that Rachel Ray came up with this food herself? LMAO! Her name is just on the bag of dog food. It’s called an endorsement! She should be ashamed of herself for endorsing this food.

  • Guest

    Rachel Ray is a chef for human food. BUT

  • Melanie

    I am soooo sorry for the loss of your dog. I can tell you really loved her. I am so sorry she didn’t have a peaceful passing. The nice thing is you were with her and she knew she was loved and not alone. Your story made me cry. I lost my lab 5 years ago and I swear I felt like I lost my best friend and I grieved deeply. My thoughts are with you. Who knows if it was the food but I do think Rachel Ray should be ashamed of herself for lending her name to this food. I can tell you must be a fan because you haven’t bashed her. Well I’ll do it for you. That food looks just horrible and she should be embarrassed. Educate yourself on this site and you will find some wonderful 4 and 5 star foods that are quite affordable. I’ll be praying for you tonight.

  • Melissaandcrew

    Actually if you re read it the food was bought on the 19th..first vet visit on 25th…then not again until sept 8th. It may take a day or three for symptoms to show, but it wss “brewing” .

  • Melanie

    I just re read my post. My point about feeding my last lab Iams was that I was uneducated about dogfood and I feel like he died at a very young age. I think I could have gotten a few more years out of him had I had him on a more nutritious food. Who knows. Maybe not. But this Rachel Ray food looks like pure junk!

  • Melanie

    What is up with you. Every single review on this site mentions the rice warning. I think even the grain free. I have learned so much on this site about dogfood. I learned my dog lab does better on a lower protein food with rice than a grain free. My dog has tried so many great dogfoods because of this site. My last lab ate Iams his whole life and died at 10 years old from liver cancer. I educated myself on dogfood and this site is my favorite. My 5 year old lab is healthy and thriving and hopefully will live a long life full of great different dogfoods thanks to this site. Please read more of Mike’s reviews. He doesn’t try to sell any product. Rachel Ray should be ashamed of herself for landing her name to this dogfood. I would be so embarrassed. And to Jonesy, I am so sorry for the loss of your dog. I am sorry his passing wasn’t peaceful. Thank goodness you were with her as she passed. She was loved.

  • LabsRawesome

    It doesn’t matter what food she was on. Pancreatitis needs to be treated immediately. The vet is to blame, you can’t possibly diagnose a dog from across the room, as you stated he did. She needed emergency treatment and did not receive it. She was sick with Pancreatitis from August 25 until Sept 8, Shame on that Vet for not helping her. Again, I am very sorry for your loss.

  • Jonesy

    I did contact 2 other vets and by xrays and blood test urine test and poop test is was from this food. Again I am not blaming Rachael. Just read the comments its food now that has been placed on the shelves. Pet stores have put this on sale to get rid of it. Read other sites even Big Lots got this food to sell. And we don’t change food cold turkey either.
    It is no different than people food. If you buy lettuce that was tainted and some people got ill and some even died. That would be a big deal. They would recall and pulled off the shelves not put it on sale and try and get rid of it.
    My comments arent from spite but from real concern. The company is saying they haven’t had any complaints on this food. We just want someone from the company to check it out and not look at the $ sign but the care of their customers. We would want the same for you.

  • Crazy4cats

    This sounds awful. How are your other dogs/dog doing?

  • LabsRawesome

    I am very sorry for the loss of your dog. But from your post, it sounds like she was suffering from Acute Pancreatitis and was misdiagnosed, and let go too long. I would blame that on the Vet, not the food. As you know Pancreatitis is an emergency situation, and needs immediate care. If my Vet was diagnosing my dogs illness from across the room, and not even touching my dog, or doing a proper examination, I would leave immediately and go to another Vet.

  • LabsRawesome

    As you know, I feed my dogs kibble with 42% protein and 22% fat, and at times I have mixed it with Pure Balance Grain Free canned, which I found out is outrageously high in fat. With No Pancreatitis issues.

  • Melissaandcrew

    It says that about the protein level for ALL foods that contain a meal versus fresh chicken. Its concentrated because the liquid has been removed. Honestly this food isn’t even a higher fat one, so the pancreatitis may have been brought on by a sudden change in diet versus the food itself.

  • Jonesy

    Thank you so much. I just hope that people will pass this on to every contact they know. Print out this web site and send it to every Vet possible that you know of in your town or other places. Face book, Twitter, or where ever, and asked them to also share this problem with others. It is one thing to have to take your love pet to the Vet to have it put to sleep. It is one thing that your pet dies peacefully in it’s sleep. It is another thing with you have to watch not just your pet, puking, and having diarrhea, having to clean up after your pet. Doing for your pet. But when you have to watch and see your pet dying a violent death, is totally different. And especially when you have to see your child no matter what age, be in such great pain trying to save this pet. You, yourself is trying to help the pet, and your child needs that comforting at the same time, is almost impossible. I watched my son (whom is 41) hang over the tub, pleading with Breyonna Lynn to fight to live and cry his heart out. I watched him dig her grave, I watched him put her in the grave. I watched him as he laid on the ground, and half way in her grave for a long time, petting her, talking to her, and kissing her goodbye. Then imagine, watching your child covering up Breyonna’s grave. This is why I am saying that we need to rally together and educate people and Vets of what can happen and what is happening. Again, please understand, I am not blaming Rachael Ray, because she endorsed the food. She didn’t make it. Just like a waitress that says she is sorry that your food isn’t right. Like I tell them don’t say your sorry, you didn’t cook it.
    Again, Thank you, it is very touching what you have shared.
    Let’s save our pets, and our families from going though this TRAGEDY.

  • Jonesy

    I want to thank you for your sincere response. And especially your prayers. Our family is really having a difficult time, even as of today. Some people do not understand how pets can be pets to some and be a family to others. My heart goes out to those whom too have lost their pets over this food. I just read yesterday, where a pet owner put their pit dog on this food on a Sunday and lost his dog on a Tuesday. 3 days, just 3 days, and his friend died. People don’t understand, you may or may not have children. Children get to a age, they become their own person. They become more independent and want to go be with their friends, get a life, move out. But your pet, if you have made it a family member, they rely on you to feed them, love them and care for them. They don’t smart off to you, tell you wait until later. They are faithful. There are some family pet owners that make their pets their lives. And when they lose a pet, they just don’t cry for a short time. They grieve.
    Again, thank you so very much. You are in my prayers that God will richly bless you for caring and praying for a total stranger.

  • Jonesy

    Thank you for your response. I am not saying that it is all the food. If you would read other’s stories, it is the food that has been placed on the shelves since July. Also if you would read, they are trying to change the protein level from a 21 to 30. The chicken that is added is also 300% more protein in it than if you fed your pet real chicken. And read all the protein that is in the other contents. I have spoken with other vets, and they agree that it is from this food.

  • Melissaandcrew

    Jonesy- I too am sorry for the loss of Breyonne. I don’t use this food, and never would..its not what I look for in a dog food personally. However, you need to understand that just because this food caused pancreatitis in your dog, does not mean it will in others. All dogs are different and can handle different fat levels etc. I feel horrible that you lost your friend, but also think its necessary to point out that it doesn’t mean something is wrong with the food.

  • Barbara

    I am so sorry for your loss but it is not your fault. It is hard enough to loss a pet naturally with old age but I cannot even imagine how hard this was for you and your family to loose her this way. I hope that everyone who reads this will stay away from this dog food! Take care of yourself she is over the bridge now and out of pain.

  • Jonesy

    I wanted think 81 here has posted a response I having crying so hard that I am a mistake on the date that she died she was born july detroit third 2002 inside that ever the night 2014 at 630 p_m this is the result of

  • Crazy4cats

    Your story is heart breaking. I’m very sorry :(

  • Dori

    Hi Jonesy. This is one of the most heartbreaking stories I have heard. Please don’t blame yourself for what happened with Breyonna. I’m so very very sorry. I wish there was something that I or anyone could say that would ease your pain but I know that there isn’t. Please know that Breyonna will be in my prayers as will you and your family. Again, I’m devastated by Breyonna’s story.

  • Jonesy

    Sept. 10, 2014 WARNING TO PET OWNERS….I used to feed my dogs Ole Roy’s but it was giving them diarrhea really bad, so I switched them to Kibbles & Bits. They have been on this food for years with no problems. I started reading how dogs shouldn’t have corn meal, Ect. & I wanted my dogs to have the best of care. Even their food. I went to the store and spent over an hour reading dog food bags. I picked Rachael Ray’s Lamb and Rice. Now understand, I am not blaming Rachael Ray. But I do believe that Celebrities should really research out product before they endorse them. On July 19, 2014 I took the dogs to the vet to get their yearly shots. My White Boxer weighed in at 59 lbs. as she has maintained that weigh for years. Anyway, after reading how to be healthy, on August 19th I purchased this dog food. A few days later, Breyonna Lynn began throwing up and had diarrhea really bad. I removed her from the food on August 25th. She still was ill. She was so weak that she tried to get up on the couch, and it appeared that her hip became dislocated. I took her to an emergency animal hospital for her illness, not just the hip. The vet stood across the room, not even touching her and said that she had spinal cord injury. They kept her for the afternoon. When picking her up they said that she didn’t have this, but it could be:::the first stages of cancer, or it could be neurological because of the spine, it could be her kidneys/liver her pancreas count was way off the charge, or it could be just a nasty infection. They sent her home with pain meds, and a antibiotic. That was Monday. I tried to get her into another vet, but couldn’t. So on Sept. 8th a vet called and said they could work her in. When I took her to Dr. Tim Fleck, in Noblesville. He examined her. X rayed her. Gave her antibiotic shots, sent home special food, and meds and told us to keep her hydrated and call back today. Before I left the vet, Breyonna was alert and trying to get up. Mind you, this dog couldn’t even walk after being to the animal hospital. She hadn’t eaten since Friday, but after seeing this vet, she started eating, became really alert.

    Dr. Tim said that the blood work from the other vet says that she had kidney and liver damage, and a acute liver damage, and was treating her for something that she didn’t even have.

    Dr. Tim says that acute liver failure is something that happens within a week or so.

    Dr. Tim said that Breyonna had a bad case of

    I just know with a healthy very active dog go from 59 lbs. and went to 43 lbs. in a week, there is something wrong. When I came home yesterday Tuesday the 9th, Breyonna was lethargic, and later she started throwing up. Then I looked and the best way I can describe this is a trachea patient that gets such thick mucus to come up and they can’t breath until they are suctioned out. She has so much coming out of her mouth, she couldn’t breath. I even used a baster to suction a lot of it out, but couldn’t get deep enough to get it all. It was a horrible death to watch. We placed her on a mat in the tub. She was thrashing around. When she finally took her last breath. Her front legs were facing the wall and her back legs were facing the opposite direction as if she had be twisted into. I started reading how people had just put their dogs on this food, or had been on the food. But since August their pets are becoming very ill or dying. People need to be educated. People also need to put back an emergency fund for their pets, for those whom can’t afford vet care, or find a vet that will work with you. I has cost me close to a $1,000 for her. Please people ask the vet before you change your food. And research your vet, and their ratings. Wish I had checked this food out online before I killed my Boxer.

    Breyonna Lynn
    7/23/2014 – 9/9/2014 6:30 p.m.
    No matter Breyonna what anybody says, YOU WILL ALWAYS BE LOVED, YOU WILL ALWAYS BE MISSED. YOU WEREN’T JUST A DOG, YOU WERE A BEST FRIEND, A PROTECTOR, AND MOST OF ALL, YOU WERE FAMILY. I LOVE YOU.

  • Columbia

    Cheap foods with additives are often addictive to animals, like junk food. It’s got salt and flavouring in it. Given a choice over a corndog or a salad, what would you pick? High quality feed is better for your dog, no matter what they think taste better. Your dog relies on you to pick what’s best for them… so please make an informed choice on you pet’s food. I’m sure they’d do the same for you if you were a dog.

  • Columbia

    It’s really hard to get donations, I don’t think she is being rude. I tried a GoFundMe for my dog’s emergency surgery and no one was able to help me.

  • John Hoskins

    I think the problems with this and a lot of the dog foods is the handling of the fresher ingredients. For years people have been feeding junk to their dogs that were full of preservatives. But now that we’re all trying to give our dogs healthier options the dog food industry has responded but the shipping industry is still handling the same old way. This and all the other dog foods are being left in hot warehouses and trucks. I might be wrong and I apologize if I am but if you put a bunch of healthy natural ingredients in your pet food you need to invest in better ways or shipping companies that treat your product as such. I wonder if the problem with this dogfood is walmart and not the dogfood maker.

  • Renate Hammond

    I just spent over $300 on my little chihuahua getting her well after eating this. Vomiting all over the place. Broke my heart seeing her like this. Don’t feed the wet Nutrish to your dogs.

  • Devon Watson

    Thank you. He is not puking anymore but he also can’t eat :( I’m lucky my daughter’s chihuahua didn’t eat as much either.

  • Crazy4cats

    That is terrible. Best wishes for your other dog to pull through.

  • Devon Watson

    That is good one of mine lost his life last Tuesday and he was only 3 :( .I hope my other can recovers but he is very old.

  • Devon Watson

    I switched my dogs to this last Sunday on Tuesday my 3 year old pit died vomiting and diarrhea the vet could not find any other problems well today my 12 year old dog started throwing up and diarrhea just like a water fountain hopefully he can pull through but my other dog lost his life and it was from this food. Do not feed your dog’s this please. They had shaking and vomiting at least 30 piles in one night and it happened so fast but it was to late that even the medications didn’t help :(

  • Jessica Diaz

    About 3 months ago I had switched my 2 dogs over to the RR food. They ate it just fine and I saw no issues at all. Well about 5 days ago I opened up a new bag and poured it into their bowls. My golden retriever ate it just fine but my 13 year old beagle mix refused to eat. She LOVES to eat so this scared me. I honestly thought it was a sign of her going down hill fast. Well yesterday on the 3rd day of giving them this food I hand fed it to the older one and she ate it but I could almost tell she didn’t want to. After a few hours of them eating my golden retriever took a huge diarrhea poop in our house and spent most of the day pooping every hour. The smaller older one spent the day throwing up. After that I KNEW it was the FOOD. I ran out to Petco and I bought them eat a bad of Nutro Max and they LOVED it. $25 for a 15 lb bag is expensive but usually that size bag can feed both of them for a month. I will take paying the extra $10 so both my dogs stomachs are okay. I am not downing the RR dog food since both my animals reacted to it fine the first 3 months. I am just assuming there is something wrong with THIS bag that I bought. However if there is something wrong with my bag than there is probably something wrong with a lot of bags out there.

  • Dusty

    Sounds like a grain allergy. Labs are notorious for allergies and nibbling their paws, corn is usually the culprit. I’ve had this problem with 2 of my labs.

  • Dusty

    It’s all my Shepherd/Lab mix will eat, he’s been on the regular Nutrish for several years with no problems.

  • Crazy4cats

    Thanks for the update. It’s good to know that the company is taking the situation seriously. I’m very glad to hear that your dog is on the road to recovery. Take care!

  • Amanda Taylor

    Just to update those who are interested. I previously posted (see below, 7 days ago) about my dog Barney who nearly lost his life after eating Nutrish for 2 weeks. He is recovering now and we have contacted the makers of Nutrish. They are currently investigating our case and have requested samples of his food. Their company vet, Dr. Lang, has also been in contact with the hospital were Barney stayed. Please beware of this food!

  • CindyGregg

    I bought this because it was a no grain “better dog food” then crappy Pedigree which would give my dog gas. My Boxer was on RR for about 2 months when he started breaking out in hives and would throw up occasionally after eating, we thought no way its the food, but we switched to another grain free brand from Tractor Supply and within 3 days the hives were gone. My cat is on RR too and I havent noticed anything with her yet but watching closely. Funny thing is my sister switched her pit bull to RR as well bc its at walmart and she told me her dog is breaking out in hives as well after a month or so.

  • aquariangt

    erm…was this the first review you’ve read on this site? Down here…yes, we’re biased. The forums…yes, biased. But the actual review portion is not. Even if it’s a brand/food Dr Mike doesn’t like, it will sound the same. This food is full of trash, which is why the review reflects that. Go read a few more, geesh

  • LabsRawesome

    LMAO. This review is not an attack on Rachael Ray. If you understood how to read/decipher an ingredient list, then you would agree with the review. Also the “rice alert” is included in every review on this site. Even grain free foods that don’t contain rice have the disclaimer. Here is an article explaining how dog foods on this site are rated. http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/frequently-asked-questions/rate-dog-food/

  • Kat Kiecke

    Ok, I wasn’t able to edit my last line but it is this: If you really want respect for your reviews, you need to make them “Fair and Balanced” as Bill O’Reilly likes to say!

  • Kat Kiecke

    I

  • Betsy Greer

    I hope your dog regains his health, but I find it very offensive when someone links to a website intended to solicit donations for their pet’s healthcare.

  • Amanda Taylor

    Please do not feed your dog this food! Our 6 year old dachshund started on this food 3 weeks ago when we could no longer find Purina One Beyond in our area. He is now suffering from acute pancreatitis which has now caused him to have diabetic ketoacidosis. He has been hospitalized at Animal Emergency and Specialty Clinic in Maumelle, Arkansas since Wednesday, July 2nd. He is fighting for his life. You can read his full story at http://www.gofundme.com/b2746c

  • theBCnut

    No, it would not be a reason for any seizures. The seizure may have woke him up though, not the other way around.

  • Mia

    Okay so a new little update heehee. The problem to Chief’s “seizures” might have been how fast he woke up (this is what my sister says so I don’t know if this was entirely true) but one night he woke up when i woke up and his head was shaking a lot. He could walk but his head was just shaking the whole time. Sorry if this sounds confusing, but just wanted to ask if you know if this may be the reason for his “mini seizures”

  • Angie Traylor

    the ol roy smells like play dough

  • Angie Traylor

    my collies love this,, they hve been eating this for a year,, no problem at all,, thanks rachel ray!!!

  • Mia

    Well, I had to get his stomach issues down so I mixed some veggies and some meats. I had to stop his bubbly stomach. Turned out it was the bag. We threw out the bag and he is on RR and is fine now. Still kind of scares me though that the bag caused seizures…

  • Mia

    Thanks. Might try it

  • theBCnut

    It’s never just one thing. Many things keep your dog at a point where one thing pushes him over the edge and he has a seizure. There was definitely something that pushed him over, but you could see seizures come back due to something else pushing him beyond his tolerance any time. Not trying to scare you, but it is something to always have in the back of your mind, if you change something or if you need to change his routine at some point. Good luck!

  • Dori

    What food did you switch to? Glad he’s fine now. Seizures are so scary.

  • Mia

    I don’t know what is was, if it was the food, or maybe the packaging, but his seizures have stopped. I just changed his food, and he is fine now. I think it was the food, we have used the same cleaning supplies we have always used since he was born. Maybe there was a chemical in the food that was causing his seizures?

  • theBCnut

    Seizures are a threshhold event. Your dog has a certain threshhold for chemicals and pollutants in his environment. When he gets over that level, he seizures. You need to get as many chemicals out of his environment as possible. This includes cleaning supplies, air freshners, scented candles, perfumes, pesticides, herbicides, fertilizers, food dyes, artificial preservatives, and on and on. Limit shots to the necessary ones. Look for natural ways to control fleas. Definitely do not use Trifexis, and even consider stopping heartworm prevention all together. Look for patterns in his seizures, that will help you to figure out if there is a specific thing affecting him. If you take him for walks, keep him out of other peoples lawns. And watch ingredients in treats too, they are often much worse quality than food, which can be pretty bad in some instances.

  • Mia

    I think it is the food. My dog is allergic to the arsenic in grains, so I got him the grain free version of this food. He had small seizures again (he used to get them on Purina Fiesta Healthy Weight or something like that.)

  • Mia

    My dog was on RR Grain Free. He has a sensitive stomach and can’t handle grains very well. She has always either eaten turkey or chicken, this time we tried turkey. He just started having small seizures. I don’t like this food.

  • Brenda Lambert Ratliff

    I buy Rachael Rau nutrish dog food all the time. My dogs love it. But today when I opened one and pull the covering I thought I would puke. This stuff was watery and smelled spoiled. I didn`t let my dogs near it. I bought this at walmart in Kingsport tn. The one on stone drive. I pay $1.86. I want my dogs to have the best. I spent hrs trying to get the smell out of my house. I notified Walmart and they told me to bring my receipt back and they would replace it. I think Rachael should know about this . How many other have had this happen to them. Now I`m almost afraid to open any more for the face that the smell might come back.

  • Giovina

    Thank you.

  • Bobby dog

    I have never fed them due to the ingredients. They contain added sugar, others include added color, and also artificial flavors. I do feed her Zero Grain kibbles and wet dog foods on a rotational basis; my dog enjoys both and does well on them.

  • Giovina

    Has anyone had their dog on the Rachel Ray treats? Wondering because I’ve been giving them to my Doberman puppy. :/

  • Raphaloujo

    Thank you! Will do.

    I believe her allergies may be to carrots and or dye.

  • theBCnut

    Your dog’s issues with Nutrish sound like a food intolerance, so you may see this issue come up again if you feed another food with whatever the offending ingredient is. Please keep the Nutrish ingredient list so if it ever happens again you can make comparisons and figure out what the offending ingredient is.

  • Raphaloujo

    Pet feeding is no different than Humans deciding to become Vegan and Raw foodest or sticking to being Omnivores. Each animals needs are different, and can not be grouped in or thrown into one proper feeding of any food.
    My 10 month Yorkie will eat any and everything, so I have to watch her diet with an eagle eye. I have noticed that She is itching more when I feed her Nutrish. I normally give her Fresh Pet Select, and even occasionally her Raw Food from Raw Dog Foods. She doesn’t care much for the raw food for daily consumption, so I save that for special occasions. She loves the Fresh Pet select, so I feed her small portions of it at her meal times. (it goes stale fast when left out). But the nutrish, hasn’t given her anything but itchy skin, so I won’t feed her this brand any longer.

    That being said. Pets diets seem to be “experimental”. Even when advised by a Vet, sometimes the Vets choice is not always the best choice. My Doctors told me Beets where highly beneficial, but I am allergic to them, so there is no benefit for me eating them or even touching them.

  • theBCnut

    Some people are not transitioning appropriately, but some dogs just need better food than this. The people on the Walmart site have dogs that are used to eating grocery store food, which is mostly 1 star food, so this would be a step up for them.

  • toddschul

    This is SO freaking frustrating!!!!!!
    Are people corrupt enough to come on here and lie about what is happening to their dogs? Putting other dogs at risk….
    Are people who have had the problems appropriately weening from one food to the next? Or are they just running out of food and deciding to feed something else?
    I’m trying to find a quality dog food for two older yellow labs at about $1/lb. We currently are feeding Chicken Soup of the dog Lover’s Soul but it keeps going up. It’s now up to $49 for a 35 lb bag. And I hear that is going to a 30lb. bag for the same price.
    There are hundreds of rave reviews on this food on the Walmart site. Is that all corrupt?
    Finally who manufactures this food? Does anyone know? I haven’t been able to find that info. I will email the company if I can’t find it but if they are putting out a food that really makes so many dogs sick can I trust their reply?

  • kickingclover

    My cat really liked Nutrish. I bought one bag to give the dogs something different between Costco runs. He would steal it from our female pit bull who did not always want to eat it. I gave him some and he definitely preferd Nutrish dog food to his Iams cat food for Seniors. After seeing the low review I bought a bag of Only 6 for the dogs, which they ate. Now they are back on their regular Kirkland wet and dry dog food, both of which have 5 star ratings. Thought a dog food endorsed by Rachel Ray had to be a good product. Go figure. Sad to find out that it has made other reviewers pets really sick.

  • InkedMarie

    I don’t feed Nutrish. Never have.

  • Gigi

    Please, if you love your dog, do not feed him Nutrish. My dog is eight years old and has never become ill after I have changed his dog food. I bought Nutrish Beef and Rice four days ago and each time he eats it he vomits at least three times. He has been vomiting non-stop. I don’t know low quality ingredients RR is allowing into her dog food line but stay away from it! If you want a higher quality dry dog food without spending for Innova consider either Trader Joe’s dry mix (compare the ingredients to higher end food) or something like Taste of the Wild (what Dr. Andrew Weil feeds his dogs). RR Nutrish will never cross my dog’s lips again. It’s tainted with something. Just because your dog doesn’t vomit it up doesn’t mean it’s good for him.

  • Bev

    I was starting to be worried about all the bad reviews on Beneful. So, I swtiched to RR No Grain. By the next day, my 2-year-old, 7-lb Shmorkie was vomiting with a small amount of blood. I thought he had got into something from the trash. My 9-year-old, 18-lb coca-a-poo did okay for a couple of days, but then stopped eating. I switched to a cheaper brand of dog food. They both ate it like the were starving, and the vomiting stopped. So glad I caught this soon enough that they did not get worse or die. I am wondering if it is because it says there is turkey in it?

  • Judy Pierce

    Try the just six. My of has bad allergies and does great on it. Feed him kibbles and bits once it almost killed him

  • Alyssa

    Earth’s Pride is the BJs brand. They just changed the name of all of their products. Probably to make it sound better. It’s a decent enough dog food but has given my poor pooch awful gas.

  • Rebecca Reynolds

    We’re having the exact same problem with our Boarder Collie. Since we started to feed out dogs RR dog food our dog has lost 25-30 pounds and she stumbles and can hardly stand up on her own.

  • Andra Blanco

    Sorry if this is a copy. Please heed all our warnings on RR Dog food. First of all blessing and prayers to all who’s dogs have been ill or died from RR Dog Food. My healthy active poodle died shortly after eating RR dog food. Loose Stool, Vomiting and neurologic problems.
    I feel so guilty I should have stayed with Blue Buffalo but money got tight. So please let your pet loving friends know to keep an eye on their dog if they switch to RR Dog Food. :( Thanks for all who posted about RR Dog Food . I kept thinking it was the dog food that made my dog sick. But now with all the other negative post on RR Dog food my suspicion were sadly true.

  • Israel Jurkevicz

    It seems like RR have some loyal paid supporters on this forum. Stay away from the RR dog food. I fed my dog that stuff for two months, when I took my dog to the vet, I was surprised to see that my 100 German Shepard had lost 20 pounds. I didn’t register at first, but two days after we went to the vet, my poor dog that morning started having problems keeping her balance, was falling down, breathing heavy. Immediately I cooked her some rice, chicken and broccoli, within 30 minutes after eating my dog was acting a lot better. The next day, I bought a different brand of food, my dog has since gained 10 pounds, and haven’t have any more problems.
    When I was feeding my dog RR, I noticed that she wasn’t eating all her food, she was vomiting at least once a week, energy levels were down. I feel so bad that it took me so long to realize what the problem was.

  • Cori

    I also feed both of my dogs this food and have for over 5 years. Both are very healthy with beautiful coats and good health. Funny story though about the food coloring/dye being for humans. I don’t know if it is specifically because of the color or the content of the little blue/green kibble in this food, but my Shih-poo picks them out EVERY TIME. She won’t eat them. Puts them aside for her big Beagle sister to eat instead. It’s too funny.

  • Ashley

    Despite these ratings, I feed both of my dogs this dog food. I am not even a die-hard Rachel Ray fan haha. It is the only food that does not make them sick or hyper active. I have a 70 lb boxer mix (3 years old) and a 20 lb purebred Cavalier King Charles Spaniel- retired show dog (9 years old). Both of my dogs have gotten sick of off Blue Buffalo and Earth Pride. Blue almost put my big dog into renal failure and the Earth Pride gave my dogs the runs. We had tried a variety of dog foods ranging from $70 expensive organic/free range/ etc. a bag to a cheapo bag of Purina. Rachael Ray Chicken (green bag) is the only one that they both can eat without any problems. It is fairly inexpensive, and it is a good sized kibble that my big and small dog can easily eat. It is also readily available at most of the grocery stores I shop at. My dogs have been on RR for over a year, and I would recommend this to any of my friends without hesitation. We have not had any issue with bellies, rashes, vomiting, sickness, weight gain/loss or hyperactivity. Sometimes I mix it with some olive oil because my little guy can get a little constipated and it helps keep things going. Oh, I also have not notice any changes from bag to bag, either. It is very consistent.

  • Betsy Greer

    Which RR variety were you feeding? RR now makes a Zero Grain. You might have been feeding one of her grain inclusive formulas and it sounds like your dog was developing yeast issues on the grain inclusive product causing him to bite his paws. The only things is the RR Zero Grain still contains white potato and if I were you, I’d look for a grain and white potato free formula that would help with the digestion and the yeast.

  • InkedMarie

    Take a look at NutriSource, I’ve read that dogs with sensitive stomachs do very well on it.

  • kim

    My dog has done the SAME THING!

  • kim

    My yellow lab, Kobe, has always had a sensitive stomach since a puppy. We found out from our vet he has a form of Crohn’s Disease. After spending $60/month on a bag of dog food we tried Rachel Ray. His thoroughly enjoyed the taste of his new food. His bowel movements were normal. After a few month he started to nibble and bite at this paws and feet. A new mannerism we had never seen from him before. He developed a staff infection from biting his back paw. The Vet had told us the food we were feeding him was causing him to get a reaction to bite his paws. And sure enough he has been doing is non-stop.
    I LOVE Rachel Ray and her food, but unfortunately it isn’t catered to truly whole breed sensitive dogs. My poor baby is on antibiotics from this food. Too bad.

  • Guest

    My yellow lab, Kobe, has always had a sensitive stomach since a puppy. We found out from our vet he has a form on Crohn’s Disease. After spending $60/month on a bag of dog food we tried Rachel Ray. His thoroughly enjoyed the taste of his new food. His bowel movements were normal. After a few month he started to nibble and bite at this paws and feet. A new mannerism we had never seen from him before. He developed a staff infection from biting his back paw. The Vet had told us the food we were feeding him was causing him to get a reaction to bite his paws. And sure enough he has been doing is non-stop.
    I LOVE Rachel Ray and her food, but unfortunately it isn’t catered to truly whole breed sensitive dogs. My poor baby is on antibiotics from this food. Too bad.

  • CollieLover4Ever

    I ran across it at the local BJs wholesale store. I don’t know why I looked as we have been buying our dog food at our CountryMax store which carries a great variety of dog food brands including many of the 5 star ones. But I saw this before getting the dog food and it looked good. We’ll see how it works out and I will try and post something a few weeks from now when I should be able to see how it is working. I am just grateful that we don’t seem to have run into the problems described here with the RR food. My condolences to those who lost their dogs.

  • Annie

    Where can u get the earths pride? Do u have to order it online?

  • CollieLover4Ever

    Recently, hubby picked up the RR food. Our smooth collie had been on Taste of the Wild Salmon since birth. She turned her nose up at the RR at first. She’s been on it @ month and her coat is dry and she’s itchy. We are transitioning her to Earth’s Pride Duck formula. (I wasn’t entirely happy with the Taste of the Wild. Nothing major but I didn’t feel her coat was as good as it could be. However, RR quickly brought her coat way down.)

    Unfortunately, there isn’t a review of Earth’s Pride on here but there are a couple of forum comments.) I chose the Duck formula as duck/goose is supposed to be a fatty meat and I am anxious to get her coat/skin in good condition. Also, the fact that it is grain free was also a determining factor.

    A friend of my mother lost her young collie when Diamond had that problem with the corn. The poor dog went through 2-3 weeks of misery while under the vet’s care before having to be put down. It’s made me very leery about Diamond products and grains and fillers, in general.

  • Bert and Ernie

    After reading most of the comments below, I found that I needed to comment on the Rachel Ray Nutrish – Chicken. We have been breeding and showing dogs for almost a half of a century now. We have been through the ringer on dog food and their quality of life. After losing 5 out of about 12 dogs about a decade or so ago to tainted dog food, we switched to a very popular dog food only to find that our coats were NOT shiny and the weight of our dogs were dropping drastically. We happen to pick up a bag of RR – chicken and the quality of coat is once again apparent in our dogs. Most recently, we adopted a puppy from Texas – we changed over the dog food immediately. There was no loose stools, vomiting or any of the symptoms of a less-quality dog food. We are very happy with RR and recommend it to many.

  • beachlovers4

    I had been using the Just 6 for awhile but our dogs were not consistent in their bowel movements, soft/hard/runny, never sick though. I switched several months ago to Rachael Ray’s ZERO GRAIN as I had read for quite awhile how dogs can have allergies to grains and our Cockapoo had skin issues for years and we had to give her monthly Prednisone shots which can shorten their life span. FINALLY, I found a food that our dogs like and they now have regular/hard stools and the Cockapoo no longer has skin issues. The Cockapoo has NEVER liked canned dog food & I’ve tried many that “appeared” as though they would be people food, no dice, no fooling her! So they get the RR Zero Grain mixed with boiled chicken breast…spoiled:) I buy the RR at WalMart but you can’t get it at all WalMarts, the one closest to my home does not carry it so I buy it at the one closest to my work.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Your dog has a food allergy that has less to do with the quality of food and more to do with the particular ingredients in this food. Make sure you keep the ingredients list so that if it happens again on a different food you can compare the 2 and figure out what you need to avoid in the future. Unfortunately, when dogs have reactions like this to a particular ingredient, each successive exposure can be more severe, even life threatening, so it is important that if you have the opportunity to figure it out, you take it, without exposing your dog to it any more than absolutely necessary.

  • Courtney Noel

    I’ve tried this brand of food twice now in a transition from another food for my 60 lb Pitbull – each time, on separate occasions, my dog’s belly broke out in a red rash. As soon as I ceased the use of the Rachel Ray food, the rash went away. Definitely not a good line of food.

  • Pingback: Pet Product Reviews: Rachel Ray Dog Foods – Nutrish |()

  • Pattyvaughn

    If your dogs are used to having a regular food, then you certainly can’t blame the RR for causing digestive upset when you suddenly start feeding it.

  • InkedMarie

    Did you gradually transition them over to the Rachael Ray food or just give them the new stuff?

  • Kate

    Bought small bag of RR to get by till we could get our regular stuff. Two of our three dogs are sick after one day of feeding. Our little poodle rescue had a large bloody diarrhea this morning and we had to take him to the emergency vet clinic. He got a shot of Cerenia and Amoxicillin. My poor, poor baby! I think this food is dangerous! Iron oxide and menadione in it! If you love your dog don’t take the chance!!!

  • Lura

    What kind of dogs do you have. We’ve been trying this dog food for the past month and my dog has similar symptoms. He’s a 3 year old Boston Terrier.

  • Steve

    I have been using RR for some time now and my Pomapoo seemed to like it, but the last bag was quite a different experience. I bought a new bag at Wal Mart on Monday. On Tuesday, we fed her a bowl in the morning. Soon afterward, she got gravely ill and had to be taken to the vet. She was given some medicine for nausea and an antibiotic. The vet said it sounded like a bad bag of food. The vet said that if the bag had been stored in the warehouse for an extended period or if there were issues with the ingredients, that would most likely explain what made my dog sick. She is better now and I switched to Blue Buffalo. It seems to have given her a lot more energy. I returned the bag of RR to Wal Mart and let them know what happened. I will be contacting RR about the food I had purchased.

  • Karen

    She has had kibles and bits and beniful. They Roy crap Walmart sells, bad!!!!!! So I guess I will have to change it. I feel so bad for her, she has never had this problem before till she started eating this!

  • Betsy Greer

    It might not be the food in general. It could be she has issues with grains or chicken.

  • Karen
  • damitajo1

    check out the grainfree!

  • InkedMarie

    Please throw it away

  • Alis

    My Mini-pin has been on Iams salmon formula. I decided to try the RR chicken….I weaned her onto it using less than a quarter of her serving for the RR. Within 3 hours she was sick. I tried it again, using a very small amount, and again, she was vomiting and had diarrhea. She is back on the Iams fish diet, and fine. I hestiate giving the rest of the bag to the local SPCA!!

  • DogLover2

    I have given our to dogs this food off and on as I thought this was better then the Iams foods that they got sick from a few years ago. About 3/4 way through the bag both dogs got sick. The older one is picky with her food and was only a little sick. Then the young one wouldn’t eat which is very unusual.

    I threw the bag away and am moving back to Origen. I think RR might have a bad batch of food out there. Wish I knew how to report that to someone.

  • Kate

    We’ve heard good things about Rachel Ray Nutrish and thought to give it a try with our dogs. It was a no go. We have two pointer mixes. After the first meal, one threw up all night. The second one did okay. So we figured it was just the one dog and switched her back to her normal diet(Purina One Lamb and Rice). Well day two, our second pointer mixed didn’t want to touch the RR food in his bowl, but did nibble a little bit. Within thirty minutes he threw up what he did eat. The only thing that I could think that the RR has Iron Oxide in it . Maybe our bag has more of it than normal. I do not know. But I will be calling the quality guarantee hotline tomorrow to inform them. Again, we’ve heard good things but reading comments below I figured I would add my experience, too. I think that dog food is an individual preference and not all dogs will work with all dog foods. Hope my comment helps others.

  • Eileen

    I have a yellow lab and a flat coated retriever I was feeding them beneful until I heard dogs were dying from eating it. I have watched your show many times and my daughter saw that you made dog food What a difference They are almost 10 years old and the yellow lab Angel wasnt really eating much She loves both wet and dry Thank you for making quality dog food that is also affordable

  • Anne

    I have two dog German shepherd and Great Dane. Great Dane has the most sensitive stomach, and could eat only eat the worst kind of dog food but that was the only thing that would stay in her stomach tried everything under the moon nothing would work until we switch the both the RR food did wonders for about the past year both dog stop playing with each and would just lazy around until we switch them to RR food they play all the time again coats are so much more shine teeth are cleaner and use more of the food and are looking amazing. I think in my opinion it depends on the dog if the food will be best for them instead of us saying.

  • Pattyvaughn

    He has never posted here before so no one has told him anything until this post.

  • Pattyvaughn

    This website was designed to help people do the best they can for their four footed family members. If your doing the best you can then good for you. Other people can do better, other people want to know what they can do better. If you aren’t one of those people, I don’t even know why your here. Nobody is judging you for doing the best you can, so don’t judge people who want to do more. And there is no need for your language.

  • Betsy Greer

    Everyone he thinks is responsible for his circumstances.

  • InkedMarie

    Who are you speaking to? You didn’t click “reply” under the post you’re responding to.

  • Larry M. Shelton

    ok. when u make $885 a month social security you’re telling me to spend 200 a month on dog food right. or not have a dog right. i feed all 3 of my labs racheal ray. right. you damn well better get off your high horse with me. or start giving a 500 dollars a month, right.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Yes, Rachael Ray Zero Grain can be fed to a puppy. It’s an all life stages food.

  • Tammi Smith

    I’m asking about the RR zero grain, by the way. I don’t want to try the other, nurish

  • Tammi Smith

    But, is this for adult or can you feed it to puppies? I am looking for a healthier dog food for my pup, after hearing horror stories of Beneful, which I am feeding.

  • Pingback: Anyone tried this food? - Chihuahua Forum : Chihuahua Breed Dog Forums()

  • Betsy Greer

    I think that generally speaking, what you find at the pet store is better quality. However, there is a new RR Nutrish Zero Grain that you can pick up at the grocery store that is actually pretty decent. If he has digestive issues, it might be the result of the grain and possibly getting him on to a grain free diet could help.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Those of us who disparage Science Diet disparage this too. It definitely isn’t any better, but at least RR isn’t spending millions to convince every vet in the country that they are wonderful.

  • Liz Mc

    I looked this up because my 14-year-old Yorkiepoo has had watery stools for the last four days and I had just changed him to RR Just 6 dog food. I admit he does have some digestive issues but this food appears to have made him worse. Most of you disparage Science Diet but it didn’t cause this problem. I just find it inconvenient to go to the pet store for it so I thought I’d try RR. So–back to the pet store.

  • Liz Goad

    So what food did you finally decide on?

  • Liz Goad

    What did your vet say? The same thing has happened to my dog just two days ago and also once last summer, but it was only until I read your post that it may be her food. I never thought of that. So just curious what your vet said

  • LawofRaw

    Hi Valerie,

    Don’t be surprised if your vet recommends changing to a Hills Science Diet diet as many of them, profit from such a ludicrous recommendation. Perish the thought!

  • Valerie

    My dogs too. Bloody watery stools It’s the second time I have given them this food. The last was about a year ago. The first time I did not attribute it to the food. Just thought they got into something but, did not re=purchase. Then needed something and this seemed reasonable. After feeding them this time, two of three of my dogs has had watery diarrhea for the past three days. I am bringing one of them to the Vets today because the diarrhea is ongoing and he is getting weak and a 7 year old dog who is now weak and anemic

  • Valerie

    My dogs have had bloody watery stools for the past three days from RR dog food. We’re going to the Vets today

  • Valerie

    My dogs too. Bloody watery stools

  • Valerie

    Oh my goodness. I am so glad I found your website. Rachel Rays dog food has caused two of my dogs to have blooding watery stools. We are going to the Vets today. This is the second time I have bought this. My dogs always have organic, home made food but, I just moved and have not had time to cook. What a mistake.

  • Pingback: Rachel Ray's dog food? o.O()

  • Pattyvaughn

    Call or email the company and ask.

  • Greyhound mom

    Is there a way to find out how much sodium is in her Just 6 line?

  • Pingback: R.I.P Bain!!! (Poison Killed My Dog) | Quemela()

  • InkedMarie

    I know nothing about RR food but while it may be made by Ainsworth, do you know where the ingredients come from? That’s one of the problems, food may be made here but if ingredients come from overseas, it *could* pose a problem

  • Jessica

    My dogs have not had a problem with RR dog food and they have been eating it for about a year now. They have beautiful coats and they are healthy. If your dog broke out in a rash he/she is probably allergic to a certain food ingredient, not an entire bag of dog food…

  • Jessica

    My dogs have been eating RR Nutrish Beef and Rice for about a year now and they love it. People always comment on how beautiful my dogs look, especially my Bloodhound mix. RR nutrish is also only $15 for a 15-lb bag, and I have printed out manufacturer’s coupons before for $3 off! Great deal! I would never waste my money on a more expensive dog food- especially when the ingredients were manufactured outside of the U.S. RR is manufactured by Ainsworth, which is a great company.

  • LabsRawesome
  • Jan_Mom2Cavs

    Just saw a new Rachel Ray food at my local grocery store….and it looks decent! It’s grain free, has turkey, chicken, no menadione, seems like it’s sorta limited in ingredients and it’s made by Ainsworth. The price was really good, too. Not saying I’m gonna feed it, but if I were looking for a very budget friendly food I just might give it a try. I also (for some reason?) got a 4.00 off coupon in an email today which would make a small bag (6lbs.) cost around $6-7.00.

  • diane billferraro

    AAFCO “STANDARDS are deplorable. Any bag of junk can tout that claim, it’s not an achievement. Also just because any food has certain ingredients doesn’t mean they are of QUALITY. Companies are FAR from transparent about their SOURCES as they are mostly from China and worthless at BEST and HARMFUL AT WORSE WHICH IS USUALLY THE CASE.

  • diane billferraro

    Whoops that’s The truth about PET food, sorry. Please make sure it’s the one with Susan Thixton as there are many sites labeled that. ;)

  • diane billferraro

    Filled with corn sy ALL VERY BAD for dogs especially their skin etc.

    The AAFCO is a joke, A VERY BAD ONE. AAFCO approved means WORSE than nothing once people learn the truth about them. Please go to (thetruthaboutdogfood) with Susan Thixon & (petsumerreport.com) The info Is INVALUABLE AND they DON’T FEED Commercial food to their pets, so they have NO AFFILIATION WHAT SO EVER with any company. Yet they are working VERY HARD for those of us who do!

    Ratings on most of these sites differ so vastly it’s insanity!

  • http://twitter.com/lorimoose lorimoose

    I think this dog food has made my dog ill , he was never sick until eating this food for a few months, now tons of stomach issues, I suspect this food 99% !

  • http://twitter.com/lorimoose lorimoose

    I think this dog food made my westie very ill with stomach issues. Switched back off it, after reading about how bad corn meal is. Especially since lots of corn in GMO. He is back on Castor and Pollux Natural Ultramix, the ingrediants are far superior I feel better about feeding it to him.

  • Jessica

    Fed my three dogs this, one small, medium and large breed. They all got sick! Big dog started losing fur and scratching, they all had runny stool and started to look lifeless and lazy. We took the food back right away and got our money back. We tried a new brand and right away they started improving. I’m never buying Rachel Ray again.

  • LabsRawesome

    Rachael Ray has a new grain free food. It looks like a 4 star food. Anyone buying RR should go for this new one. It’s made by Dad’s/Ainsworth. http://nutrish.rachaelray.com/products/nutrish-zero-grain-dog-food

  • Kate Davies

    absolutely disgusting dog food made my dogs breath just stink and she just stopped eating it.

  • MadameBHughes

    Did you ever think that your dog might have just gotten sick because you switched after feeding the same food for years? Maybe that’s what did it, not necessarily the food. I know I switched my dog from one of the “poor” rated foods to one of the “4 star” foods on here and he was pooping a ton for a week after that.

  • Pixie

    My 2 year old chihuahua Yorkie mix does not want to eat this food. Do you think it may be too difficult for him to chew?
    It kind of seems that way. The bag says its okay for a dog of his weight to eat it

  • yorkiepam

    Not all dogs will do well on every food they are fed. Some dogs might do great others may not. But I have 4 yorkies and they all are doing great on this food. Infact better than the more expensive stuff out there. I stumbled on this when I was getting low of food and the place where I got my feed was closed so I had to get it at the grocery store and read a lot of lables and picked RR. I got the smallest bag to hold me over. I now only feed RR

  • beaglemom

    You yourself said the food is “decent” and your dog does “ok”. Why not keep searching for a better quality food that he’ll be great with? The ingredients are most important, not the manufacturer.

  • beaglemom

    Dogs will eat almost anything though. Doesn’t make it nutritious (which is what most people look for in a food) or species appropriate.

  • Pattyvaughn

    While I believe that who makes it is important, that doesn’t make it good food. It is good food because of the ingredients used to make it, not because of who makes it.

  • Cassie Hale

    Nutrish is a very decent food! They now offer a Zero Grain turkey kibble (no vit. K either), as well as a limited ingredient food called Just 6. All her kibble is affordable. Plus, the maker of Back to Basics, Ainsworth, also makes the Nutrish line. Back to Basics is rated 5- stars on this very site. So, I hardly think this line is absolute junk. My dog cannot tolerate Blue Buffalo, Innova, Simply Nourish, or Halo (all 4 or 5-star foods on here). He does ok on Pro Plan Focus Lamb and Rice, as well as Just 6. I am happy to give the Zero Grains a try. I also feel good about supporting this particular company. What works for your dog doesn’t work for every dog.m if that were the case, I wouldn’t read all these negative reviews on all these “superb” food reviews!

  • Cassie Hale

    Nutrish offers a Zero Grain food and Just 6, neither of which contain soy, corn, or wheat. As far as price, this stuff is a fraction of the price I was paying for Innova, Blue Buffalo, and Halo.

  • Cassie Hale

    Nutrish is made by Ainsworth, who makes Back to Basics, a 5-star food on this website. I do not believe there is one miracle dog food that works for every dog. As far as the grains argument, we lived by a corn field. Guess what were always out there eating leftover corn? Yep. Dogs.

  • Cassie Hale

    Nutrish is made by Ainsworth, who puts out Back to Basics, a 5-star food on here!

  • Cassie Hale

    Can you please write a review of the Just 6 and Zero Grain line she carries? Zero Grain looks excellent! The company that produces her food is also the maker of Back to Basics, which is rated 5 stars on here.

  • InkedMarie

    OH! Oops, sorry bout that!

  • Pattyvaughn

    Hi Inked
    I think s/he is saying the dog was already on this food, but the new bag made him sick.
    I wouldn’t take a chance with excessively bloody diarrhea. I would get him to the vet immediately.

  • InkedMarie

    Did you transition over to this food over a period of 5-7 days? If not, that could be the problem.

  • BAD reaction to this dog food!

    I just served my dog the first scoop of the second bag of rachael ray nutrish dry dog food chicken and vegetable recipe 6 lb bag and a few hours later he had diarrhea that was excessively bloody!! Anyone have this problem?! Did is just give him a serious illness?

  • Laura

    I brought my dog from the pound and she wasn’t experiencing any hair loss. I started her on RR nourish and she’s losing hair like crazy. I’m taking her off this food.

  • melissa

    my chocolate lab is alergic to something in the RR food, he loves the taste but it does not do well with his body, he was getting frequent ear infections, licking his paws and his skin was really dry and flaky and he was losing hair on his back, we switched to Wellness and within 2 weeks his symptoms are gone! i had other dogs do well with RR its just him.

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1140685339 Betsy Greer

    Wow…, that definitely puts a completely different spin on the preconceived notion of a day in the life of a “research dog.”

  • Hound Dog Mom
  • http://www.facebook.com/alexandria.dube Alexandria Dube

    Iams does animal testing. It’s awful what they do to those poor animals.

  • http://www.thegreedypinstripes.com/ BryanV21

    People oftentimes forget that the up front cost of cheaper food may save you money, but in the long run you’re actually spending more by using a lower quality food.

    Basically, you feed less of a higher quality food. That may be of minimal savings to you when it comes to buying one bag, but over the course of a dog’s life you’re talking about a whole lot of money. And that doesn’t even get into possible vet costs due to lower quality foods being fed.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Rachael Ray just came out with a grain-free food. Not sure of the cost. It’s not as good as Earthborn though (in terms of ingredients).

  • Pattyvaughn

    I understand if money is an issue, but RR really could be higher quality than it is. Read the label carefully to make sure it doesn’t have grain products hidden in there somewhere. Good Luck.

  • Kim

    My fiance’s beagle was almost bald from itching for years; vets gave him infections and everything with no results. Until I asked a pet store maestro who said “he is prob allergic to corn”. Got a grain free food, either Earthborn or Blue and he LOVES it! His hair grew back in a miraculous 2 weeks. And this picky dog who doesn’t like anything, even treats, scarfs this stuff down and growls when the cat tries to eat it. I am going to try RR just due to it being almost half the cost.

  • Hound Dog Mom
  • Hound Dog Mom

    The protein content is on the low side for a grain-free food but it actually doesn’t look horrible in terms of the ingredients – a fresh meat followed by two meat meals are the first three ingredients, this is good, and there are no serious red flag ingredients (doesn’t contain menadione like her other foods). I’ll be curious to see what it’s selling for, if it’s at Walmart and it’s not too expensive it could be a decent non-diamond grain-free option for those on a budget.

  • terriJerseyShore

    I can see that the Rachel Ray dry dog food bag have new looks and stated, NO GRAIN…It’s the newest Turkey version at the Wal Mart…I have 4 Rat Terriers, adopted from shelters and rescues, all loves the RR, never had problems feeding RR to them since 6 years.. Their BM are consistent and twice a day, and their coats are even better than before… Really, I can’t complain for any reasons and will contuine to feed them!! But, now with newest RR version without grain, shall see how they react after feed them…

  • Pattyvaughn

    She shouldn’t have lent her name to such an inferior product.

  • Joey’s mom

    Not recommended- adopted a senior dog and was trying different dry foods to help with his allergic skin condition. Its not very expensive but did not do the job. It did not improve his skin and worse it made his stools irregular and loose. I have changed him to a brand that was recommended by a friend and is “hollistic” but more expensive. His skin has improved and his stools are soft but well formed. I would say it was even worse thatn the purina and iams that I tried, as they did not give him diarrhea and he at least liked eating them. I am a RR fan but really? Would you feed this to your dog?

  • tocamo

     Did the crystals develop with the UTI ?

  • ValerieNoyes

    citysuzy, while each dog has their own preferences, I have 3 dogs to whom I feed a half raw diet (Darwin’s Naturals grain free) and half high quality kibble (Brothers, Acana Regional’s grain free, etc.) topped with WeRuVa Homestyle or Kobe.  I also add various other weekly foods such as green tripe, eggs, sardines, some fresh veggies… also occasional greek yogurt and pumpkin.  I home make their jerky treats, buy Salmon Ears (salmonears dot com).  I’ve worked really hard to provide my kiddies with the best and tastiest fodds I can afford and my dogs to backflips when it is breakfast and dinner time. 

    It takes time and effort to develop a diet that your dogs will love, but it is out there.  The effort is worth it.  You’ll never be able to provide a well rounded, balanced diet from one single food, especially kibble, and especially at the grade of RR.  Please invest the time, it is so worth it.  

  • citysuzy

    Why can’t anyone come up with a dry dog food that dogs actually like?  I tried feeding this food to stray dogs & they wouldn’t even eat it.  Complete waste of money.

  • michelle

    my dog loves the beef and rice but gets sick on the chicken and veggies do you know why thay may happen

  • LabsRawesome

     Nanna, while Hills might be a step up from Rachael Ray…it’s not a great dog food either. Look at this site at the 4 and 5 star foods, if budget is a concern, there are some decent choices too.

  • Nanna

    I use Hill’s Science Diet for my 2 dogs. I tried RR, again because of pet store being on other side of town. They loved it but were both vomiting. I have found with our boy, vomiting is a symptom of allergies. Even buying the lamb & rice flavor of Hill’s, neither dog has ever been sick & we’ve seen no other bad results. He even went on their adult diet version to shed a few pounds. It not only worked (plus added exercise) but also left his coat very shiny. I’m sticking with Hills.

  • Jennlynnn

    I switched my 1.5 year old doberman to Rachel Ray from BlueBuffalo for the cost. Bad mistake. Diarrhea even though it was a very slow transition to the new food and now he has a UTI after about 4 months. He has always been a finicky eater but he really hates Rachel Rays for some reason, i had to mix it with Alpo canned to get him to eat it. He is on prescription food now to get rid of the crystals in his bladder and he loves it. No more Rachel Ray, i thought it would be a nice mid-priced food.   

  • Stefeb

    I could not get ahold of my usual brand & saw this at Target.  I knew it wasn’t the best but it would have to do for now.  His breath smells So bad after eating this food!  Normally, his breath doesn’t really smell at all.  Yuck!!

  • guest

    Our usual brand is Taste of the Wild, but the store that sells it is across town, and we were almost out, right before Christmas, so I picked up RR food at Walmart while I was there. My dogs are loving this food! That being said, I will not be buying it again! Yikes! We are calling it candy for dogs! lol They can’t seem to get enough, and have gone adhd on us. Believe me, getting a border collie and a pug more hyper than they already are is not a good deal.  Now I am seeing all the carbs this food has and I’m not pleased. Not to mention all the other yucky grains(that have the boys itching more now too) in there too. Will make a point to drive the extra few miles to our pet food store, even in the cold, for one more stop for a better brand!

  • Ann

    Try Blue Buffalo. I had a dog with stomach problems, and hair loss. After a lot of research, I tried Blue Buffalo and her hair came back, and the stomach problems went away.  she has a very nice coat now and is happy and playful now.

  • Ref

    I tried rachal Ray foods and my dog started to shed like crazy. I switched to Natures Variety and Whole Life pet treats and only a few weeks later his coat is gleamimg and no shedding. Rachel Ray dog foods are garbage.

  • Shawna

    Hi Troy,

    I think ANY improvement in nutrients helps..  Dr. Becker DVM discusses seizure potential as having a threshold.  Anything you can do to lower the seizure threshhold can bring some relief.

    A local business owner has a Beagle that had grand mal seizures daily.  I suggested she see my holistic vet.  My vet had her change diets to a grain free, higher protein (5 star) food.  She also had her stop ALL chemicals — no heartworm, no flea/tick meds, no vaccinations, no yard chemicals, had her eliminate or lessen as much as possible household cleaning chemicals etc…  It was many months before I saw the store owner again..  At that time she told me her Beagle had not had a seizure for 6 months. 

    Some info from Dr. Becker  http://healthypets.mercola.com/sites/healthypets/archive/2011/02/22/pet-seizures-and-pet-dog-cat-food-diet.aspx

    Good luck in getting your boy to a completely seizue free state..

  • Troy Duval

    I am disappointed this food didn’t get a good review.  My 8 year old lab suffers from seizures.  My vet mentioned switching foods.  I’ll admit I wasn’t feeding him very good food before switching to Rachael Ray brand so I tried this one mainly because the first ingredient wasn’t “corn” or some “by-product”.  I cannot argue the sketchy ingredients listed by this review but I will say this.  I have tracked my dog’s seizures over past 10 months.  My wife is home when I am not so there is always someone home.  Since feeding him Rachael Ray brand (he was son the weight control flavor) his frequency of seizures has decreased from 1-2 a month back in Dec/Jan12 to about 1 every 2-3 months here recently. It didn’t happen immediately but around September is when I noticed it and I started him on this food back in January 2012. That is not to say this food is the main reason but it’s been the only thing that has really change in his lifestyle.

    I’m afraid though I can’t ignore the review of the ingredients of this food and I will be switching brands. 

  • momluvs4kidz

    My 8 year old Lab/Shepherd mix has always been able to switch foods. I was out of our regular nutro (which I will always swear by) and the pet marts were closed, I didn’t feel like driving, blah blah blah…I bought RR food. UGH! Poor dog has had diarrhea all day, has had 3 accidents in the house. She NEVER EVER goes in the house. I feel HORRIBLE that I gave it to her! I have no doubt at all that it was the food. Went out today, as soon as I realized it, and got her nutro. Hopefully by tomorrow her tummy will be settled down. :(

  • Poopsie

    I bought a bag yesterday and I choose it because I was at Target and it was impossible for me to run to PetsMart afterward and amongst the brands target carries it seemed to be the best choice.  My dog is very picky but he hate it fine and his poop was slightly bigger this morning, not much of a difference.  I understand most dog foods, even the high quality ones, have fillers, and some bad ingredients.  We’ll finish up this bag and get him back to his Nature Choice but so far RR is okay.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Iams Naturals Dog Food (Dry)
    Iams Premium Protection (Dry)
    Both of these are three stars so they are slightly better.  The other Iams formulas are only two stars.  They are all very grain heavy/animal protein light.

  • Carter. [email protected]

    I have been feeding both my dogs RR ..They love the dog food ..However over the past yr one of my dogs seem to be having lots of stomach, acid problems lot going on in his little belly {my beagle} He will  eat..but  He has been eating lots of grass{thought at one point i had a cow} throwing it up{no worms} so i have switched to iams..Does anyone if this food is better?

  • Donna

    Diahrrea will happen when you change a dogs food.  Actually, my dog had diahrrea, so called bad plumbing and the RR food actually helped him.