Rachael Ray Nutrish (Dry)

Share

Rating: ★★½☆☆

Rachael Ray Nutrish Dog Food receives the Advisor’s second-lowest tier rating of 2.5 stars.

The Rachael Ray Nutrish product line includes three dry dog foods, each claimed to meet AAFCO nutrient profiles for all life stages.

The following is a list of recipes available at the time of this review.

  • Rachael Ray Nutrish Chicken and Veggies
  • Rachael Ray Nutrish Beef and Brown Rice
  • Rachael Ray Nutrish Healthy Weight Turkey and Veggies

Rachael Ray Nutrish Beef and Brown Rice was selected to represent the other products in the line for this review.

Rachael Ray Nutrish Beef and Brown Rice

Dry Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 30% | Fat = 16% | Carbs = 47%

Ingredients: Beef, chicken meal, ground rice, brown rice, soybean meal, whole grain corn, corn gluten meal, poultry fat (preserved with mixed tocopherols), dried plain beet pulp, dicalcium phosphate, natural chicken flavor, calcium carbonate, salt, dehydrated alfalfa, dried peas, dried carrots, potassium chloride, olive oil, choline chloride, mixed tocopherols, iron oxide (color), zinc sulfate, vitamin E supplement, ferrous sulfate, l- ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), niacin supplement, manganese sulfate, copper sulfate, d-calcium pantothenate, sodium selenite, biotin, vitamin A supplement, riboflavin supplement, vitamin D3 supplement, thiamine mononitrate, pyridoxine hydrochloride, vitamin B12 supplement, menadione sodium bisulfite complex (a source of vitamin K activity), potassium iodide, cobalt sulfate, folic acid

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 4.5%

Red items when present indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis26%14%NA
Dry Matter Basis30%16%47%
Calorie Weighted Basis26%34%41%

The first ingredient in this dog food is beef. Although it’s a quality item, raw beef contains about 80% water. After cooking, most of that moisture is lost, reducing the meat content to just a fraction of its original weight.

After processing, this item would probably account for a smaller part of the total content of the finished product.

The second ingredient is chicken meal. Chicken meal is considered a meat concentrate and contains nearly 300% more protein than fresh chicken.

The third ingredient is ground rice, another name for rice flour. Ground rice is made from either white or brown rice and is considered a gluten-free substitute for wheat flour.

The fourth ingredient is brown rice, a complex carbohydrate that (once cooked) can be fairly easy to digest. However, aside from its natural energy content, rice is of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

The fifth ingredient is soybean meal, a by-product of soybean oil production more commonly found in farm animal feeds.

Although soybean meal contains 48% protein, this ingredient would be expected to have a lower biological value than meat.

And less costly plant-based products like this can notably boost the total protein reported on the label — a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

The sixth item is corn. Corn is an inexpensive and controversial cereal grain. And aside from its energy content, this grain is of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

For this reason, we do not consider corn a preferred component in any dog food.

The seventh ingredient is corn gluten meal. Gluten is the rubbery residue remaining once corn has had most of its starchy carbohydrate washed out of it.

Compared to meat, glutens are inferior grain-based proteins lower in some of the essential amino acids dogs need for life.

This inexpensive plant-based ingredient can significantly boost the total protein reported on the label — a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

The eighth ingredient is poultry fat. Poultry fat is obtained from rendering, a process similar to making soup in which the fat itself is skimmed from the surface of the liquid.

Poultry fat is high in linoleic acid, an omega-6 fatty acid essential for life.

However, poultry fat is a relatively generic ingredient and can be considered lower in quality than a similar item from a named source animal (like chicken fat).

The ninth ingredient is beet pulp. Beet pulp is a controversial ingredient, a high fiber by-product of sugar beet processing.

Some denounce beet pulp as an inexpensive filler while others cite its outstanding intestinal health and blood sugar benefits.

We only call your attention here to the controversy and believe the inclusion of beet pulp in reasonable amounts in most dog foods is entirely acceptable.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With six notable exceptions

First, dried peas are a good source of carbohydrates. Plus they’re naturally rich in dietary fiber.

However, dried peas contain about 27% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the meat content of this dog food.

Next, olive oil contains oleic acid, a healthy monounsaturated fat. It’s also rich in natural antioxidants and carotenoids.

In addition, iron oxide is a synthetic color additive used in industry to impart a reddish color to food — and paint. In its natural form, this chemical compound is more commonly known as “iron rust”.

We’re always disappointed to find any artificial coloring in a pet food. That’s because coloring is used to make the product more appealing to humans — not your dog. After all, do you really think your dog cares what color his kibble is?

Next, we find no mention of probiotics, friendly bacteria applied to the surface of the kibble after processing to help with digestion.

Additionally, the minerals listed here do not appear to be chelated. And that can make them more difficult to absorb. Non-chelated minerals are usually associated with lower quality dog foods.

And lastly, this food contains menadione, a controversial form of vitamin K linked to liver toxicity, allergies and the abnormal break-down of red blood cells.

Since vitamin K isn’t required by AAFCO in either of its dog food nutrient profiles, we question the use of this substance in any canine formulation.

Rachael Ray Nutrish Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Judging by its ingredients alone, Rachael Ray Nutrish Dog Food looks like a below average dry product.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 30%, a fat level of 16% and estimated carbohydrates of about 47%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 29% and a mean fat level of 14%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 48% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 49%.

Near-average protein. Below-average fat. And near-average carbs when compared to a typical dry dog food.

When you consider the protein-boosting effect of the soy and corn gluten meals as well as the dried peas, this looks like the profile of a kibble containing a below average amount of meat.

However, it’s unfortunate the company chose to include menadione in its recipes. Without this controversial supplement and use of plant-based protein boosters, we would have been compelled to award this brand a higher rating.

Bottom line?

Rachael Ray Nutrish is a plant-based dry dog food using a below average amount of named meats and meat meals as its main sources of animal protein, thus earning the brand 2.5 stars.

Not recommended.

Please note certain recipes are sometimes given a higher or lower rating based upon our estimate of their total meat content.

Special Alert

Rice ingredients can sometimes contain arsenic. Until the US FDA establishes safe upper levels for arsenic content, pet owners may wish to limit the total amount of rice fed in a dog's daily diet.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, our rating system is not intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in specific health benefits for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

To learn how we support the cost of operating this website, please visit our public Disclosure and Disclaimer page.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Notes and Updates

03/05/2010 Original review
10/06/2010 Review updated
05/08/2011 Review updated
02/04/2012 Review updated
04/19/2012 Review updated
10/26/2013 Review updated
10/26/2013 Last Update

  • Raphaloujo

    Thank you! Will do.

    I believe her allergies may be to carrots and or dye.

  • theBCnut

    Your dog’s issues with Nutrish sound like a food intolerance, so you may see this issue come up again if you feed another food with whatever the offending ingredient is. Please keep the Nutrish ingredient list so if it ever happens again you can make comparisons and figure out what the offending ingredient is.

  • Raphaloujo

    Pet feeding is no different than Humans deciding to become Vegan and Raw foodest or sticking to being Omnivores. Each animals needs are different, and can not be grouped in or thrown into one proper feeding of any food.
    My 10 month Yorkie will eat any and everything, so I have to watch her diet with an eagle eye. I have noticed that She is itching more when I feed her Nutrish. I normally give her Fresh Pet Select, and even occasionally her Raw Food from Raw Dog Foods. She doesn’t care much for the raw food for daily consumption, so I save that for special occasions. She loves the Fresh Pet select, so I feed her small portions of it at her meal times. (it goes stale fast when left out). But the nutrish, hasn’t given her anything but itchy skin, so I won’t feed her this brand any longer.

    That being said. Pets diets seem to be “experimental”. Even when advised by a Vet, sometimes the Vets choice is not always the best choice. My Doctors told me Beets where highly beneficial, but I am allergic to them, so there is no benefit for me eating them or even touching them.

  • theBCnut

    Some people are not transitioning appropriately, but some dogs just need better food than this. The people on the Walmart site have dogs that are used to eating grocery store food, which is mostly 1 star food, so this would be a step up for them.

  • toddschul

    This is SO freaking frustrating!!!!!!
    Are people corrupt enough to come on here and lie about what is happening to their dogs? Putting other dogs at risk….
    Are people who have had the problems appropriately weening from one food to the next? Or are they just running out of food and deciding to feed something else?
    I’m trying to find a quality dog food for two older yellow labs at about $1/lb. We currently are feeding Chicken Soup of the dog Lover’s Soul but it keeps going up. It’s now up to $49 for a 35 lb bag. And I hear that is going to a 30lb. bag for the same price.
    There are hundreds of rave reviews on this food on the Walmart site. Is that all corrupt?
    Finally who manufactures this food? Does anyone know? I haven’t been able to find that info. I will email the company if I can’t find it but if they are putting out a food that really makes so many dogs sick can I trust their reply?

  • kickingclover

    My cat really liked Nutrish. I bought one bag to give the dogs something different between Costco runs. He would steal it from our female pit bull who did not always want to eat it. I gave him some and he definitely preferd Nutrish dog food to his Iams cat food for Seniors. After seeing the low review I bought a bag of Only 6 for the dogs, which they ate. Now they are back on their regular Kirkland wet and dry dog food, both of which have 5 star ratings. Thought a dog food endorsed by Rachel Ray had to be a good product. Go figure. Sad to find out that it has made other reviewers pets really sick.

  • InkedMarie

    I don’t feed Nutrish. Never have.

  • Gigi

    Please, if you love your dog, do not feed him Nutrish. My dog is eight years old and has never become ill after I have changed his dog food. I bought Nutrish Beef and Rice four days ago and each time he eats it he vomits at least three times. He has been vomiting non-stop. I don’t know low quality ingredients RR is allowing into her dog food line but stay away from it! If you want a higher quality dry dog food without spending for Innova consider either Trader Joe’s dry mix (compare the ingredients to higher end food) or something like Taste of the Wild (what Dr. Andrew Weil feeds his dogs). RR Nutrish will never cross my dog’s lips again. It’s tainted with something. Just because your dog doesn’t vomit it up doesn’t mean it’s good for him.

  • Bev

    I was starting to be worried about all the bad reviews on Beneful. So, I swtiched to RR No Grain. By the next day, my 2-year-old, 7-lb Shmorkie was vomiting with a small amount of blood. I thought he had got into something from the trash. My 9-year-old, 18-lb coca-a-poo did okay for a couple of days, but then stopped eating. I switched to a cheaper brand of dog food. They both ate it like the were starving, and the vomiting stopped. So glad I caught this soon enough that they did not get worse or die. I am wondering if it is because it says there is turkey in it?

  • Judy Pierce

    Try the just six. My of has bad allergies and does great on it. Feed him kibbles and bits once it almost killed him

  • Alyssa

    Earth’s Pride is the BJs brand. They just changed the name of all of their products. Probably to make it sound better. It’s a decent enough dog food but has given my poor pooch awful gas.

  • Rebecca Reynolds

    We’re having the exact same problem with our Boarder Collie. Since we started to feed out dogs RR dog food our dog has lost 25-30 pounds and she stumbles and can hardly stand up on her own.

  • Andra Blanco

    Sorry if this is a copy. Please heed all our warnings on RR Dog food. First of all blessing and prayers to all who’s dogs have been ill or died from RR Dog Food. My healthy active poodle died shortly after eating RR dog food. Loose Stool, Vomiting and neurologic problems.
    I feel so guilty I should have stayed with Blue Buffalo but money got tight. So please let your pet loving friends know to keep an eye on their dog if they switch to RR Dog Food. :( Thanks for all who posted about RR Dog Food . I kept thinking it was the dog food that made my dog sick. But now with all the other negative post on RR Dog food my suspicion were sadly true.

  • Israel Jurkevicz

    It seems like RR have some loyal paid supporters on this forum. Stay away from the RR dog food. I fed my dog that stuff for two months, when I took my dog to the vet, I was surprised to see that my 100 German Shepard had lost 20 pounds. I didn’t register at first, but two days after we went to the vet, my poor dog that morning started having problems keeping her balance, was falling down, breathing heavy. Immediately I cooked her some rice, chicken and broccoli, within 30 minutes after eating my dog was acting a lot better. The next day, I bought a different brand of food, my dog has since gained 10 pounds, and haven’t have any more problems.
    When I was feeding my dog RR, I noticed that she wasn’t eating all her food, she was vomiting at least once a week, energy levels were down. I feel so bad that it took me so long to realize what the problem was.

  • Cori

    I also feed both of my dogs this food and have for over 5 years. Both are very healthy with beautiful coats and good health. Funny story though about the food coloring/dye being for humans. I don’t know if it is specifically because of the color or the content of the little blue/green kibble in this food, but my Shih-poo picks them out EVERY TIME. She won’t eat them. Puts them aside for her big Beagle sister to eat instead. It’s too funny.

  • Ashley

    Despite these ratings, I feed both of my dogs this dog food. I am not even a die-hard Rachel Ray fan haha. It is the only food that does not make them sick or hyper active. I have a 70 lb boxer mix (3 years old) and a 20 lb purebred Cavalier King Charles Spaniel- retired show dog (9 years old). Both of my dogs have gotten sick of off Blue Buffalo and Earth Pride. Blue almost put my big dog into renal failure and the Earth Pride gave my dogs the runs. We had tried a variety of dog foods ranging from $70 expensive organic/free range/ etc. a bag to a cheapo bag of Purina. Rachael Ray Chicken (green bag) is the only one that they both can eat without any problems. It is fairly inexpensive, and it is a good sized kibble that my big and small dog can easily eat. It is also readily available at most of the grocery stores I shop at. My dogs have been on RR for over a year, and I would recommend this to any of my friends without hesitation. We have not had any issue with bellies, rashes, vomiting, sickness, weight gain/loss or hyperactivity. Sometimes I mix it with some olive oil because my little guy can get a little constipated and it helps keep things going. Oh, I also have not notice any changes from bag to bag, either. It is very consistent.

  • Betsy Greer

    Which RR variety were you feeding? RR now makes a Zero Grain. You might have been feeding one of her grain inclusive formulas and it sounds like your dog was developing yeast issues on the grain inclusive product causing him to bite his paws. The only things is the RR Zero Grain still contains white potato and if I were you, I’d look for a grain and white potato free formula that would help with the digestion and the yeast.

  • InkedMarie

    Take a look at NutriSource, I’ve read that dogs with sensitive stomachs do very well on it.

  • kim

    My dog has done the SAME THING!

  • kim

    My yellow lab, Kobe, has always had a sensitive stomach since a puppy. We found out from our vet he has a form of Crohn’s Disease. After spending $60/month on a bag of dog food we tried Rachel Ray. His thoroughly enjoyed the taste of his new food. His bowel movements were normal. After a few month he started to nibble and bite at this paws and feet. A new mannerism we had never seen from him before. He developed a staff infection from biting his back paw. The Vet had told us the food we were feeding him was causing him to get a reaction to bite his paws. And sure enough he has been doing is non-stop.
    I LOVE Rachel Ray and her food, but unfortunately it isn’t catered to truly whole breed sensitive dogs. My poor baby is on antibiotics from this food. Too bad.

  • Guest

    My yellow lab, Kobe, has always had a sensitive stomach since a puppy. We found out from our vet he has a form on Crohn’s Disease. After spending $60/month on a bag of dog food we tried Rachel Ray. His thoroughly enjoyed the taste of his new food. His bowel movements were normal. After a few month he started to nibble and bite at this paws and feet. A new mannerism we had never seen from him before. He developed a staff infection from biting his back paw. The Vet had told us the food we were feeding him was causing him to get a reaction to bite his paws. And sure enough he has been doing is non-stop.
    I LOVE Rachel Ray and her food, but unfortunately it isn’t catered to truly whole breed sensitive dogs. My poor baby is on antibiotics from this food. Too bad.

  • CollieLover4Ever

    I ran across it at the local BJs wholesale store. I don’t know why I looked as we have been buying our dog food at our CountryMax store which carries a great variety of dog food brands including many of the 5 star ones. But I saw this before getting the dog food and it looked good. We’ll see how it works out and I will try and post something a few weeks from now when I should be able to see how it is working. I am just grateful that we don’t seem to have run into the problems described here with the RR food. My condolences to those who lost their dogs.

  • Annie

    Where can u get the earths pride? Do u have to order it online?

  • CollieLover4Ever

    Recently, hubby picked up the RR food. Our smooth collie had been on Taste of the Wild Salmon since birth. She turned her nose up at the RR at first. She’s been on it @ month and her coat is dry and she’s itchy. We are transitioning her to Earth’s Pride Duck formula. (I wasn’t entirely happy with the Taste of the Wild. Nothing major but I didn’t feel her coat was as good as it could be. However, RR quickly brought her coat way down.)

    Unfortunately, there isn’t a review of Earth’s Pride on here but there are a couple of forum comments.) I chose the Duck formula as duck/goose is supposed to be a fatty meat and I am anxious to get her coat/skin in good condition. Also, the fact that it is grain free was also a determining factor.

    A friend of my mother lost her young collie when Diamond had that problem with the corn. The poor dog went through 2-3 weeks of misery while under the vet’s care before having to be put down. It’s made me very leery about Diamond products and grains and fillers, in general.

  • Bert and Ernie

    After reading most of the comments below, I found that I needed to comment on the Rachel Ray Nutrish – Chicken. We have been breeding and showing dogs for almost a half of a century now. We have been through the ringer on dog food and their quality of life. After losing 5 out of about 12 dogs about a decade or so ago to tainted dog food, we switched to a very popular dog food only to find that our coats were NOT shiny and the weight of our dogs were dropping drastically. We happen to pick up a bag of RR – chicken and the quality of coat is once again apparent in our dogs. Most recently, we adopted a puppy from Texas – we changed over the dog food immediately. There was no loose stools, vomiting or any of the symptoms of a less-quality dog food. We are very happy with RR and recommend it to many.

  • beachlovers4

    I had been using the Just 6 for awhile but our dogs were not consistent in their bowel movements, soft/hard/runny, never sick though. I switched several months ago to Rachael Ray’s ZERO GRAIN as I had read for quite awhile how dogs can have allergies to grains and our Cockapoo had skin issues for years and we had to give her monthly Prednisone shots which can shorten their life span. FINALLY, I found a food that our dogs like and they now have regular/hard stools and the Cockapoo no longer has skin issues. The Cockapoo has NEVER liked canned dog food & I’ve tried many that “appeared” as though they would be people food, no dice, no fooling her! So they get the RR Zero Grain mixed with boiled chicken breast…spoiled:) I buy the RR at WalMart but you can’t get it at all WalMarts, the one closest to my home does not carry it so I buy it at the one closest to my work.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Your dog has a food allergy that has less to do with the quality of food and more to do with the particular ingredients in this food. Make sure you keep the ingredients list so that if it happens again on a different food you can compare the 2 and figure out what you need to avoid in the future. Unfortunately, when dogs have reactions like this to a particular ingredient, each successive exposure can be more severe, even life threatening, so it is important that if you have the opportunity to figure it out, you take it, without exposing your dog to it any more than absolutely necessary.

  • Courtney Noel

    I’ve tried this brand of food twice now in a transition from another food for my 60 lb Pitbull – each time, on separate occasions, my dog’s belly broke out in a red rash. As soon as I ceased the use of the Rachel Ray food, the rash went away. Definitely not a good line of food.

  • Pingback: Pet Product Reviews: Rachel Ray Dog Foods – Nutrish |

  • Pattyvaughn

    If your dogs are used to having a regular food, then you certainly can’t blame the RR for causing digestive upset when you suddenly start feeding it.

  • InkedMarie

    Did you gradually transition them over to the Rachael Ray food or just give them the new stuff?

  • Kate

    Bought small bag of RR to get by till we could get our regular stuff. Two of our three dogs are sick after one day of feeding. Our little poodle rescue had a large bloody diarrhea this morning and we had to take him to the emergency vet clinic. He got a shot of Cerenia and Amoxicillin. My poor, poor baby! I think this food is dangerous! Iron oxide and menadione in it! If you love your dog don’t take the chance!!!

  • Lura

    What kind of dogs do you have. We’ve been trying this dog food for the past month and my dog has similar symptoms. He’s a 3 year old Boston Terrier.

  • Steve

    I have been using RR for some time now and my Pomapoo seemed to like it, but the last bag was quite a different experience. I bought a new bag at Wal Mart on Monday. On Tuesday, we fed her a bowl in the morning. Soon afterward, she got gravely ill and had to be taken to the vet. She was given some medicine for nausea and an antibiotic. The vet said it sounded like a bad bag of food. The vet said that if the bag had been stored in the warehouse for an extended period or if there were issues with the ingredients, that would most likely explain what made my dog sick. She is better now and I switched to Blue Buffalo. It seems to have given her a lot more energy. I returned the bag of RR to Wal Mart and let them know what happened. I will be contacting RR about the food I had purchased.

  • Karen

    She has had kibles and bits and beniful. They Roy crap Walmart sells, bad!!!!!! So I guess I will have to change it. I feel so bad for her, she has never had this problem before till she started eating this!

  • Betsy Greer

    It might not be the food in general. It could be she has issues with grains or chicken.

  • Karen

    Well, I did the beef bag and all was good, then I did the chicken and my one dog, she is scratching like crazy! So I think she is having issues with it! Has anyone else had problems with this?
    [email protected] please feel free to email me, she is lab/coon and also have French bulldog and jack Russell /beagle

  • damitajo1

    check out the grainfree!

  • InkedMarie

    Please throw it away

  • Alis

    My Mini-pin has been on Iams salmon formula. I decided to try the RR chicken….I weaned her onto it using less than a quarter of her serving for the RR. Within 3 hours she was sick. I tried it again, using a very small amount, and again, she was vomiting and had diarrhea. She is back on the Iams fish diet, and fine. I hestiate giving the rest of the bag to the local SPCA!!

  • DogLover2

    I have given our to dogs this food off and on as I thought this was better then the Iams foods that they got sick from a few years ago. About 3/4 way through the bag both dogs got sick. The older one is picky with her food and was only a little sick. Then the young one wouldn’t eat which is very unusual.

    I threw the bag away and am moving back to Origen. I think RR might have a bad batch of food out there. Wish I knew how to report that to someone.

  • Kate

    We’ve heard good things about Rachel Ray Nutrish and thought to give it a try with our dogs. It was a no go. We have two pointer mixes. After the first meal, one threw up all night. The second one did okay. So we figured it was just the one dog and switched her back to her normal diet(Purina One Lamb and Rice). Well day two, our second pointer mixed didn’t want to touch the RR food in his bowl, but did nibble a little bit. Within thirty minutes he threw up what he did eat. The only thing that I could think that the RR has Iron Oxide in it . Maybe our bag has more of it than normal. I do not know. But I will be calling the quality guarantee hotline tomorrow to inform them. Again, we’ve heard good things but reading comments below I figured I would add my experience, too. I think that dog food is an individual preference and not all dogs will work with all dog foods. Hope my comment helps others.

  • Eileen

    I have a yellow lab and a flat coated retriever I was feeding them beneful until I heard dogs were dying from eating it. I have watched your show many times and my daughter saw that you made dog food What a difference They are almost 10 years old and the yellow lab Angel wasnt really eating much She loves both wet and dry Thank you for making quality dog food that is also affordable

  • Anne

    I have two dog German shepherd and Great Dane. Great Dane has the most sensitive stomach, and could eat only eat the worst kind of dog food but that was the only thing that would stay in her stomach tried everything under the moon nothing would work until we switch the both the RR food did wonders for about the past year both dog stop playing with each and would just lazy around until we switch them to RR food they play all the time again coats are so much more shine teeth are cleaner and use more of the food and are looking amazing. I think in my opinion it depends on the dog if the food will be best for them instead of us saying.

  • Pattyvaughn

    He has never posted here before so no one has told him anything until this post.

  • Pattyvaughn

    This website was designed to help people do the best they can for their four footed family members. If your doing the best you can then good for you. Other people can do better, other people want to know what they can do better. If you aren’t one of those people, I don’t even know why your here. Nobody is judging you for doing the best you can, so don’t judge people who want to do more. And there is no need for your language.

  • Betsy Greer

    Everyone he thinks is responsible for his circumstances.

  • InkedMarie

    Who are you speaking to? You didn’t click “reply” under the post you’re responding to.

  • Larry M. Shelton

    ok. when u make $885 a month social security you’re telling me to spend 200 a month on dog food right. or not have a dog right. i feed all 3 of my labs racheal ray. right. you damn well better get off your high horse with me. or start giving a 500 dollars a month, right.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Yes, Rachael Ray Zero Grain can be fed to a puppy. It’s an all life stages food.

  • Tammi Smith

    I’m asking about the RR zero grain, by the way. I don’t want to try the other, nurish

  • Tammi Smith

    But, is this for adult or can you feed it to puppies? I am looking for a healthier dog food for my pup, after hearing horror stories of Beneful, which I am feeding.

  • Pingback: Anyone tried this food? - Chihuahua Forum : Chihuahua Breed Dog Forums

  • Betsy Greer

    I think that generally speaking, what you find at the pet store is better quality. However, there is a new RR Nutrish Zero Grain that you can pick up at the grocery store that is actually pretty decent. If he has digestive issues, it might be the result of the grain and possibly getting him on to a grain free diet could help.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Those of us who disparage Science Diet disparage this too. It definitely isn’t any better, but at least RR isn’t spending millions to convince every vet in the country that they are wonderful.

  • Liz Mc

    I looked this up because my 14-year-old Yorkiepoo has had watery stools for the last four days and I had just changed him to RR Just 6 dog food. I admit he does have some digestive issues but this food appears to have made him worse. Most of you disparage Science Diet but it didn’t cause this problem. I just find it inconvenient to go to the pet store for it so I thought I’d try RR. So–back to the pet store.

  • Liz Goad

    So what food did you finally decide on?

  • Liz Goad

    What did your vet say? The same thing has happened to my dog just two days ago and also once last summer, but it was only until I read your post that it may be her food. I never thought of that. So just curious what your vet said

  • LawofRaw

    Hi Valerie,

    Don’t be surprised if your vet recommends changing to a Hills Science Diet diet as many of them, profit from such a ludicrous recommendation. Perish the thought!

  • Valerie

    My dogs too. Bloody watery stools It’s the second time I have given them this food. The last was about a year ago. The first time I did not attribute it to the food. Just thought they got into something but, did not re=purchase. Then needed something and this seemed reasonable. After feeding them this time, two of three of my dogs has had watery diarrhea for the past three days. I am bringing one of them to the Vets today because the diarrhea is ongoing and he is getting weak and a 7 year old dog who is now weak and anemic

  • Valerie

    My dogs have had bloody watery stools for the past three days from RR dog food. We’re going to the Vets today

  • Valerie

    My dogs too. Bloody watery stools

  • Valerie

    Oh my goodness. I am so glad I found your website. Rachel Rays dog food has caused two of my dogs to have blooding watery stools. We are going to the Vets today. This is the second time I have bought this. My dogs always have organic, home made food but, I just moved and have not had time to cook. What a mistake.

  • Pingback: Rachel Ray's dog food? o.O

  • Pattyvaughn

    Call or email the company and ask.

  • Greyhound mom

    Is there a way to find out how much sodium is in her Just 6 line?

  • Pingback: R.I.P Bain!!! (Poison Killed My Dog) | Quemela

  • InkedMarie

    I know nothing about RR food but while it may be made by Ainsworth, do you know where the ingredients come from? That’s one of the problems, food may be made here but if ingredients come from overseas, it *could* pose a problem

  • Jessica

    My dogs have not had a problem with RR dog food and they have been eating it for about a year now. They have beautiful coats and they are healthy. If your dog broke out in a rash he/she is probably allergic to a certain food ingredient, not an entire bag of dog food…

  • Jessica

    My dogs have been eating RR Nutrish Beef and Rice for about a year now and they love it. People always comment on how beautiful my dogs look, especially my Bloodhound mix. RR nutrish is also only $15 for a 15-lb bag, and I have printed out manufacturer’s coupons before for $3 off! Great deal! I would never waste my money on a more expensive dog food- especially when the ingredients were manufactured outside of the U.S. RR is manufactured by Ainsworth, which is a great company.

  • LabsRawesome
  • Jan_Mom2Cavs

    Just saw a new Rachel Ray food at my local grocery store….and it looks decent! It’s grain free, has turkey, chicken, no menadione, seems like it’s sorta limited in ingredients and it’s made by Ainsworth. The price was really good, too. Not saying I’m gonna feed it, but if I were looking for a very budget friendly food I just might give it a try. I also (for some reason?) got a 4.00 off coupon in an email today which would make a small bag (6lbs.) cost around $6-7.00.

  • diane billferraro

    AAFCO “STANDARDS are deplorable. Any bag of junk can tout that claim, it’s not an achievement. Also just because any food has certain ingredients doesn’t mean they are of QUALITY. Companies are FAR from transparent about their SOURCES as they are mostly from China and worthless at BEST and HARMFUL AT WORSE WHICH IS USUALLY THE CASE.

  • diane billferraro

    Whoops that’s The truth about PET food, sorry. Please make sure it’s the one with Susan Thixton as there are many sites labeled that. ;)

  • diane billferraro

    Filled with corn sy ALL VERY BAD for dogs especially their skin etc.

    The AAFCO is a joke, A VERY BAD ONE. AAFCO approved means WORSE than nothing once people learn the truth about them. Please go to (thetruthaboutdogfood) with Susan Thixon & (petsumerreport.com) The info Is INVALUABLE AND they DON’T FEED Commercial food to their pets, so they have NO AFFILIATION WHAT SO EVER with any company. Yet they are working VERY HARD for those of us who do!

    Ratings on most of these sites differ so vastly it’s insanity!

  • http://twitter.com/lorimoose lorimoose

    I think this dog food has made my dog ill , he was never sick until eating this food for a few months, now tons of stomach issues, I suspect this food 99% !

  • http://twitter.com/lorimoose lorimoose

    I think this dog food made my westie very ill with stomach issues. Switched back off it, after reading about how bad corn meal is. Especially since lots of corn in GMO. He is back on Castor and Pollux Natural Ultramix, the ingrediants are far superior I feel better about feeding it to him.

  • Jessica

    Fed my three dogs this, one small, medium and large breed. They all got sick! Big dog started losing fur and scratching, they all had runny stool and started to look lifeless and lazy. We took the food back right away and got our money back. We tried a new brand and right away they started improving. I’m never buying Rachel Ray again.

  • LabsRawesome

    Rachael Ray has a new grain free food. It looks like a 4 star food. Anyone buying RR should go for this new one. It’s made by Dad’s/Ainsworth. http://nutrish.rachaelray.com/products/nutrish-zero-grain-dog-food

  • Kate Davies

    absolutely disgusting dog food made my dogs breath just stink and she just stopped eating it.

  • MadameBHughes

    Did you ever think that your dog might have just gotten sick because you switched after feeding the same food for years? Maybe that’s what did it, not necessarily the food. I know I switched my dog from one of the “poor” rated foods to one of the “4 star” foods on here and he was pooping a ton for a week after that.

  • Pixie

    My 2 year old chihuahua Yorkie mix does not want to eat this food. Do you think it may be too difficult for him to chew?
    It kind of seems that way. The bag says its okay for a dog of his weight to eat it

  • yorkiepam

    Not all dogs will do well on every food they are fed. Some dogs might do great others may not. But I have 4 yorkies and they all are doing great on this food. Infact better than the more expensive stuff out there. I stumbled on this when I was getting low of food and the place where I got my feed was closed so I had to get it at the grocery store and read a lot of lables and picked RR. I got the smallest bag to hold me over. I now only feed RR

  • beaglemom

    You yourself said the food is “decent” and your dog does “ok”. Why not keep searching for a better quality food that he’ll be great with? The ingredients are most important, not the manufacturer.

  • beaglemom

    Dogs will eat almost anything though. Doesn’t make it nutritious (which is what most people look for in a food) or species appropriate.

  • Pattyvaughn

    While I believe that who makes it is important, that doesn’t make it good food. It is good food because of the ingredients used to make it, not because of who makes it.

  • Cassie Hale

    Nutrish is a very decent food! They now offer a Zero Grain turkey kibble (no vit. K either), as well as a limited ingredient food called Just 6. All her kibble is affordable. Plus, the maker of Back to Basics, Ainsworth, also makes the Nutrish line. Back to Basics is rated 5- stars on this very site. So, I hardly think this line is absolute junk. My dog cannot tolerate Blue Buffalo, Innova, Simply Nourish, or Halo (all 4 or 5-star foods on here). He does ok on Pro Plan Focus Lamb and Rice, as well as Just 6. I am happy to give the Zero Grains a try. I also feel good about supporting this particular company. What works for your dog doesn’t work for every dog.m if that were the case, I wouldn’t read all these negative reviews on all these “superb” food reviews!

  • Cassie Hale

    Nutrish offers a Zero Grain food and Just 6, neither of which contain soy, corn, or wheat. As far as price, this stuff is a fraction of the price I was paying for Innova, Blue Buffalo, and Halo.

  • Cassie Hale

    Nutrish is made by Ainsworth, who makes Back to Basics, a 5-star food on this website. I do not believe there is one miracle dog food that works for every dog. As far as the grains argument, we lived by a corn field. Guess what were always out there eating leftover corn? Yep. Dogs.

  • Cassie Hale

    Nutrish is made by Ainsworth, who puts out Back to Basics, a 5-star food on here!

  • Cassie Hale

    Can you please write a review of the Just 6 and Zero Grain line she carries? Zero Grain looks excellent! The company that produces her food is also the maker of Back to Basics, which is rated 5 stars on here.

  • InkedMarie

    OH! Oops, sorry bout that!

  • Pattyvaughn

    Hi Inked
    I think s/he is saying the dog was already on this food, but the new bag made him sick.
    I wouldn’t take a chance with excessively bloody diarrhea. I would get him to the vet immediately.

  • InkedMarie

    Did you transition over to this food over a period of 5-7 days? If not, that could be the problem.

  • BAD reaction to this dog food!

    I just served my dog the first scoop of the second bag of rachael ray nutrish dry dog food chicken and vegetable recipe 6 lb bag and a few hours later he had diarrhea that was excessively bloody!! Anyone have this problem?! Did is just give him a serious illness?

  • Laura

    I brought my dog from the pound and she wasn’t experiencing any hair loss. I started her on RR nourish and she’s losing hair like crazy. I’m taking her off this food.

  • melissa

    my chocolate lab is alergic to something in the RR food, he loves the taste but it does not do well with his body, he was getting frequent ear infections, licking his paws and his skin was really dry and flaky and he was losing hair on his back, we switched to Wellness and within 2 weeks his symptoms are gone! i had other dogs do well with RR its just him.

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1140685339 Betsy Greer

    Wow…, that definitely puts a completely different spin on the preconceived notion of a day in the life of a “research dog.”

  • Hound Dog Mom
  • http://www.facebook.com/alexandria.dube Alexandria Dube

    Iams does animal testing. It’s awful what they do to those poor animals.

  • http://www.thegreedypinstripes.com/ BryanV21

    People oftentimes forget that the up front cost of cheaper food may save you money, but in the long run you’re actually spending more by using a lower quality food.

    Basically, you feed less of a higher quality food. That may be of minimal savings to you when it comes to buying one bag, but over the course of a dog’s life you’re talking about a whole lot of money. And that doesn’t even get into possible vet costs due to lower quality foods being fed.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Rachael Ray just came out with a grain-free food. Not sure of the cost. It’s not as good as Earthborn though (in terms of ingredients).

  • Pattyvaughn

    I understand if money is an issue, but RR really could be higher quality than it is. Read the label carefully to make sure it doesn’t have grain products hidden in there somewhere. Good Luck.

  • Kim

    My fiance’s beagle was almost bald from itching for years; vets gave him infections and everything with no results. Until I asked a pet store maestro who said “he is prob allergic to corn”. Got a grain free food, either Earthborn or Blue and he LOVES it! His hair grew back in a miraculous 2 weeks. And this picky dog who doesn’t like anything, even treats, scarfs this stuff down and growls when the cat tries to eat it. I am going to try RR just due to it being almost half the cost.

  • Hound Dog Mom
  • Hound Dog Mom

    The protein content is on the low side for a grain-free food but it actually doesn’t look horrible in terms of the ingredients – a fresh meat followed by two meat meals are the first three ingredients, this is good, and there are no serious red flag ingredients (doesn’t contain menadione like her other foods). I’ll be curious to see what it’s selling for, if it’s at Walmart and it’s not too expensive it could be a decent non-diamond grain-free option for those on a budget.

  • terriJerseyShore

    I can see that the Rachel Ray dry dog food bag have new looks and stated, NO GRAIN…It’s the newest Turkey version at the Wal Mart…I have 4 Rat Terriers, adopted from shelters and rescues, all loves the RR, never had problems feeding RR to them since 6 years.. Their BM are consistent and twice a day, and their coats are even better than before… Really, I can’t complain for any reasons and will contuine to feed them!! But, now with newest RR version without grain, shall see how they react after feed them…

  • Pattyvaughn

    She shouldn’t have lent her name to such an inferior product.

  • Joey’s mom

    Not recommended- adopted a senior dog and was trying different dry foods to help with his allergic skin condition. Its not very expensive but did not do the job. It did not improve his skin and worse it made his stools irregular and loose. I have changed him to a brand that was recommended by a friend and is “hollistic” but more expensive. His skin has improved and his stools are soft but well formed. I would say it was even worse thatn the purina and iams that I tried, as they did not give him diarrhea and he at least liked eating them. I am a RR fan but really? Would you feed this to your dog?

  • tocamo

     Did the crystals develop with the UTI ?

  • ValerieNoyes

    citysuzy, while each dog has their own preferences, I have 3 dogs to whom I feed a half raw diet (Darwin’s Naturals grain free) and half high quality kibble (Brothers, Acana Regional’s grain free, etc.) topped with WeRuVa Homestyle or Kobe.  I also add various other weekly foods such as green tripe, eggs, sardines, some fresh veggies… also occasional greek yogurt and pumpkin.  I home make their jerky treats, buy Salmon Ears (salmonears dot com).  I’ve worked really hard to provide my kiddies with the best and tastiest fodds I can afford and my dogs to backflips when it is breakfast and dinner time. 

    It takes time and effort to develop a diet that your dogs will love, but it is out there.  The effort is worth it.  You’ll never be able to provide a well rounded, balanced diet from one single food, especially kibble, and especially at the grade of RR.  Please invest the time, it is so worth it.  

  • citysuzy

    Why can’t anyone come up with a dry dog food that dogs actually like?  I tried feeding this food to stray dogs & they wouldn’t even eat it.  Complete waste of money.

  • michelle

    my dog loves the beef and rice but gets sick on the chicken and veggies do you know why thay may happen

  • LabsRawesome

     Nanna, while Hills might be a step up from Rachael Ray…it’s not a great dog food either. Look at this site at the 4 and 5 star foods, if budget is a concern, there are some decent choices too.

  • Nanna

    I use Hill’s Science Diet for my 2 dogs. I tried RR, again because of pet store being on other side of town. They loved it but were both vomiting. I have found with our boy, vomiting is a symptom of allergies. Even buying the lamb & rice flavor of Hill’s, neither dog has ever been sick & we’ve seen no other bad results. He even went on their adult diet version to shed a few pounds. It not only worked (plus added exercise) but also left his coat very shiny. I’m sticking with Hills.

  • Jennlynnn

    I switched my 1.5 year old doberman to Rachel Ray from BlueBuffalo for the cost. Bad mistake. Diarrhea even though it was a very slow transition to the new food and now he has a UTI after about 4 months. He has always been a finicky eater but he really hates Rachel Rays for some reason, i had to mix it with Alpo canned to get him to eat it. He is on prescription food now to get rid of the crystals in his bladder and he loves it. No more Rachel Ray, i thought it would be a nice mid-priced food.   

  • Stefeb

    I could not get ahold of my usual brand & saw this at Target.  I knew it wasn’t the best but it would have to do for now.  His breath smells So bad after eating this food!  Normally, his breath doesn’t really smell at all.  Yuck!!

  • guest

    Our usual brand is Taste of the Wild, but the store that sells it is across town, and we were almost out, right before Christmas, so I picked up RR food at Walmart while I was there. My dogs are loving this food! That being said, I will not be buying it again! Yikes! We are calling it candy for dogs! lol They can’t seem to get enough, and have gone adhd on us. Believe me, getting a border collie and a pug more hyper than they already are is not a good deal.  Now I am seeing all the carbs this food has and I’m not pleased. Not to mention all the other yucky grains(that have the boys itching more now too) in there too. Will make a point to drive the extra few miles to our pet food store, even in the cold, for one more stop for a better brand!

  • Ann

    Try Blue Buffalo. I had a dog with stomach problems, and hair loss. After a lot of research, I tried Blue Buffalo and her hair came back, and the stomach problems went away.  she has a very nice coat now and is happy and playful now.

  • Ref

    I tried rachal Ray foods and my dog started to shed like crazy. I switched to Natures Variety and Whole Life pet treats and only a few weeks later his coat is gleamimg and no shedding. Rachel Ray dog foods are garbage.

  • Shawna

    Hi Troy,

    I think ANY improvement in nutrients helps..  Dr. Becker DVM discusses seizure potential as having a threshold.  Anything you can do to lower the seizure threshhold can bring some relief.

    A local business owner has a Beagle that had grand mal seizures daily.  I suggested she see my holistic vet.  My vet had her change diets to a grain free, higher protein (5 star) food.  She also had her stop ALL chemicals — no heartworm, no flea/tick meds, no vaccinations, no yard chemicals, had her eliminate or lessen as much as possible household cleaning chemicals etc…  It was many months before I saw the store owner again..  At that time she told me her Beagle had not had a seizure for 6 months. 

    Some info from Dr. Becker  http://healthypets.mercola.com/sites/healthypets/archive/2011/02/22/pet-seizures-and-pet-dog-cat-food-diet.aspx

    Good luck in getting your boy to a completely seizue free state..

  • Troy Duval

    I am disappointed this food didn’t get a good review.  My 8 year old lab suffers from seizures.  My vet mentioned switching foods.  I’ll admit I wasn’t feeding him very good food before switching to Rachael Ray brand so I tried this one mainly because the first ingredient wasn’t “corn” or some “by-product”.  I cannot argue the sketchy ingredients listed by this review but I will say this.  I have tracked my dog’s seizures over past 10 months.  My wife is home when I am not so there is always someone home.  Since feeding him Rachael Ray brand (he was son the weight control flavor) his frequency of seizures has decreased from 1-2 a month back in Dec/Jan12 to about 1 every 2-3 months here recently. It didn’t happen immediately but around September is when I noticed it and I started him on this food back in January 2012. That is not to say this food is the main reason but it’s been the only thing that has really change in his lifestyle.

    I’m afraid though I can’t ignore the review of the ingredients of this food and I will be switching brands. 

  • momluvs4kidz

    My 8 year old Lab/Shepherd mix has always been able to switch foods. I was out of our regular nutro (which I will always swear by) and the pet marts were closed, I didn’t feel like driving, blah blah blah…I bought RR food. UGH! Poor dog has had diarrhea all day, has had 3 accidents in the house. She NEVER EVER goes in the house. I feel HORRIBLE that I gave it to her! I have no doubt at all that it was the food. Went out today, as soon as I realized it, and got her nutro. Hopefully by tomorrow her tummy will be settled down. :(

  • Poopsie

    I bought a bag yesterday and I choose it because I was at Target and it was impossible for me to run to PetsMart afterward and amongst the brands target carries it seemed to be the best choice.  My dog is very picky but he hate it fine and his poop was slightly bigger this morning, not much of a difference.  I understand most dog foods, even the high quality ones, have fillers, and some bad ingredients.  We’ll finish up this bag and get him back to his Nature Choice but so far RR is okay.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Iams Naturals Dog Food (Dry)
    Iams Premium Protection (Dry)
    Both of these are three stars so they are slightly better.  The other Iams formulas are only two stars.  They are all very grain heavy/animal protein light.

  • Carter. [email protected]

    I have been feeding both my dogs RR ..They love the dog food ..However over the past yr one of my dogs seem to be having lots of stomach, acid problems lot going on in his little belly {my beagle} He will  eat..but  He has been eating lots of grass{thought at one point i had a cow} throwing it up{no worms} so i have switched to iams..Does anyone if this food is better?

  • Donna

    Diahrrea will happen when you change a dogs food.  Actually, my dog had diahrrea, so called bad plumbing and the RR food actually helped him.