Kirkland Signature Nature’s Domain (Dry)

Share

Rating: ★★★½☆

Kirkland Signature Nature’s Domain Dog Food earns the Advisor’s mid-tier rating of 3.5 stars.

The Kirkland Signature Nature’s Domain product line includes three dry dog foods, each claimed to meet AAFCO nutrient profiles for all life stages.

The following is a list of recipes available at the time of this review.

  • Nature’s Domain Turkey Meal and Sweet Potato
  • Nature’s Domain Salmon Meal and Sweet Potato
  • Nature’s Domain Beef Meal and Sweet Potato (3 stars)

Nature’s Domain Turkey Meal and Sweet Potato was selected to represent the other products in the line for this review.

Kirkland Signature Nature's Domain Grain Free Turkey Meal and Sweet Potato

Dry Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 27% | Fat = 16% | Carbs = 50%

Ingredients: Turkey meal, sweet potatoes, peas, potatoes, canola oil, potato protein, potato fiber, natural flavor, flaxseed, ocean fish meal, salt, choline chloride, dried chicory root, tomatoes, blueberries, raspberries, Yucca schidigera extract, dried Enterococcus faecium fermentation product, dried Lactobacillus acidophilus fermentation product, dried Lactobacillus casei fermentation product, dried Lactobacillus plantarum fermentation product, dried Trichoderma longibrachiatum fermentation extract, vitamin E supplement, iron proteinate, zinc proteinate, copper proteinate, ferrous sulfate, zinc sulfate, copper sulfate, potassium iodide, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), manganese proteinate, manganous oxide, ascorbic acid, vitamin A supplement, biotin, niacin, calcium pantothenate, manganese sulfate, sodium selenite, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), vitamin B12 supplement, riboflavin (vitamin B2), vitamin D supplement, folic acid

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 3.3%

Red items when present indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis24%14%NA
Dry Matter Basis27%16%50%
Calorie Weighted Basis23%33%44%

The first ingredient in this dog food is turkey meal. Turkey meal is considered a meat concentrate and contains nearly 300% more protein than fresh turkey.

The second ingredient includes sweet potato. Sweet potatoes are a gluten-free source of complex carbohydrates in a dog food. They are naturally rich in dietary fiber and beta carotene.

The third ingredient includes peas. Peas are a quality source of carbohydrates. And like all legumes, they’re rich in natural fiber.

However, peas contain about 25% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the meat content of this dog food.

The fourth ingredient is potato. Potatoes can be considered a gluten-free source of digestible carbohydrates. Yet with the exception of perhaps their caloric content, potatoes are of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

The fifth ingredient is canola oil. Many applaud canola for its favorable omega-3 content while some condemn it as an unhealthy fat.

Much of the objection regarding canola oil appears to be related to the use of genetically modified rapeseed as its source material.

Yet others find the negative stories about canola oil more the stuff of urban legend than actual science.1

In any case, plant-based oils like canola are less biologically available to a dog than fish oil as a source of quality omega-3 fats.

The sixth ingredient is potato protein, the dry residue remaining after removing the starchy part of a potato.

Even though it contains over 80% protein, this ingredient would be expected to have a lower biological value than meat.

And less costly plant-based products like this can notably boost the total protein reported on the label — a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

The seventh ingredient is potato fiber, a source of dietary fiber. Fiber in reasonable amounts can help stabilize blood sugar levels and reduce a dog food’s caloric content.

After the natural flavor, we find flaxseed, one of the best plant sources of healthy omega-3 fatty acids. Provided they’ve first been ground into a meal, flax seeds are also rich in soluble fiber.

However, flaxseed contains about 19% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With three notable exceptions

First, we note the use of an ingredient listed as ocean fish meal, another protein-rich meat concentrate.

Fish meal is typically obtained from the “clean, dried, ground tissue of undecomposed whole fish and fish cuttings” of commercial fish operations.2

Unfortunately, this particular item is anonymous. Because various fish contain different types of fats, we would have preferred to have known the source species.

We are pleased to note that, unlike many fish meals, this particular item appears3 to be ethoxyquin-free.

Next, chicory root is rich in inulin, a starch-like compound made up of repeating units of carbohydrates and found in certain roots and tubers.

Not only is inulin a natural source of soluble dietary fiber, it’s also a prebiotic used to promote the growth of healthy bacteria in a dog’s digestive tract.

And lastly, this food also contains chelated minerals, minerals that have been chemically attached to protein. This makes them easier to absorb. Chelated minerals are usually found in better dog foods.

Kirkland Signature Nature’s Domain Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Judging by its ingredients alone, Nature’s Domain Dog Food looks like an average dry kibble.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 27%, a fat level of 16% and estimated carbohydrates of about 50%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 27% and a mean fat level of 16%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 50% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 58%.

Near-average protein. Near-average fat. And near-average carbs when compared to a typical dry dog food.

However, when you consider the protein-boosting effect of the peas, potato protein, flaxseed (or pea protein and garbanzo beans found in some of the other recipes), this looks like the profile of a kibble containing a below-average amount of meat.

Bottom line?

Kirkland Signature Nature’s Domain is a grain-free plant-based kibble using a below-average amount of meat or fish meals as its main sources of animal protein, thus earning the brand 3.5 stars.

Recommended.

Note: Although this recipe does not appear to have changed, we have lowered its rating due to the greater weight we now place on the use of plant-based meat protein substitutes.

Please note certain recipes are sometimes given a higher or lower rating based upon our estimate of their total meat content.

Special Alert

Rice ingredients can sometimes contain arsenic. Until the US FDA establishes safe upper levels for arsenic content, pet owners may wish to limit the total amount of rice fed in a dog's daily diet.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, due to the biological uniqueness of every animal, none of our ratings are intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in a specific dietary response or health benefit for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

To learn how we support the cost of operating this website, please visit our public Disclosure and Disclaimer page.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Notes and Updates

07/06/2013 Last Update

  1. Mikkelson, B and DP, Oil of Ole, Urban Legends Reference Pages (2005)
  2. Association of American Feed Control Officials
  3. Diamond Pet Customer Service via email, 7/7/2010
  • Amberlie

    Last time I was at costco, they had a new natures domain formula. “Natures domain organic chicken” I think it was. I would love to see a review on it.

  • DevilBaby

    Weight comes from carbs, lower the the protein levels, higher the carb levels, higher the weight.

    Go high protein.

  • DevilBaby

    I’d feed EVO before I fed ND.

    Even with the company changing hands.

  • LabsRawesome

    Okay thanks. It must’ve been discontinued.

  • mariah

    Ive been using Costco’s Nature Domain salmon and sweet potato for years. Yesterday and today two of my dogs started having vomiting and diarrhea after opening a brand new bag the day previous. After reading the last comment, I’m positive it is the dog food.

  • Jennifer Wehking

    Thanks

  • Jennifer Wehking

    Oh boy . had to be 2 1/2 years ago.

  • Melissaandcrew

    My dogs lost weight on the Victor ALS grainfree-the red bag. All of the others have worked wonderfully for them, but every dog is different. If you find a food you like and can not find wholesale pricing, look into frequent buyer programs. They can be anywhere from buy 6 get one free to buy 12 get one free. Not much at the 12 level, but something, lol

  • LabsRawesome

    Hi Jennifer, just wondering how long ago it was that you tried Victor, I can’t find a Pork formula on their site. http://www.midamericapetfood.com/victordogfood/index.html

  • Jennifer W

    done! ; P

  • Jennifer W

    Thanks… I tried Victor with HORRIBLE results. Dogs lost weight, coats dropped. At the time the only one available to me was the pork formula and I think it was just too rich for my Cavaliers. Did well on ProPac years ago…. hard to find wholesale rather than retail pricing. Dogs were all on Blackwood and did great until they priced themselves out of the market. I’d love to be able to go back to that food.

  • Melissaandcrew

    Btw Jennifer-there are MANY great foods out there at lower price points. Try to find Victor, Nutrisource, Hi Tek, or Propac in your area, just to name a few.

  • Melissaandcrew

    Diamond at its finest…

  • Jennifer W

    A few years ago I joined Costco specifically to start purchasing the Kirkland line. Up until the last 2 months, I’ve been completely happy. My first issue was very similar to the one I’m dealing with now. Bloody blow outs, vomiting, refusing to eat food they normally inhale. Ruled out parasites first. My vet did group fecals and found nothing… sent several samples from multiple dogs and all were negative for parasites. Had contacted “Costco” thought the number on the bag and was forwarded to a veterinarian who called me back. Indicated that I was not looking to lay blame but going through the normal eliminations of causes. No parasites, you look at food. Did the same as others, supplied the product code ( all the bags were the same Turkey and Sweet Potato ) and was basically blown off stating that quality control said there was nothing wrong with the smell or appearance and that the ingredient levels were all within target range. Once I moved onto a different lot, no more vomiting, explosive bloody blow outs, strange looking stool with white crusty streaks and the dogs started eating again. 2 months go by, open a new bag and it starts again. Bypassed calling and went directly to email correspondence again. Sent photos this time because the food had a grainy coating to each and every piece of kibble. Quality control explained it was an issue they were dealing with in all the Diamond foods due to a change of ingredient in the flavoring process. In addition to this, I found large , hard white specks and one blue speck embedded in the kibble. I was asked to mail the kibble with the blue speck to them. I did along with several of the white ones. Not ONE TIME was I ever advised NOT to feed my dogs this food any longer. I did take 6 bags back to Costco today. Guess I’m done…..All I want is to feed my dogs decent food that I can afford. I didn’t buy into putting them at risk. My next move is to contact Costco at a corporate level. Hopefully they will have something to say about this as I was advised by the person at the return desk that they knew nothing about any problems with the food. Thankfully, I have everything on paper….

  • Patrick Irish

    I sent in my production # to Nature’s Domain and got this back.

    “I heard
    back from the Quality Control Department and everything checked out just
    fine on this batch. They did an additional test for what is called PV
    or peroxide value. This would indicate if
    the food was not preserved properly. This test was negative, indicating
    that the food is still fresh and good to feed. I will continue to
    monitor any reported issues and will reach back out to you if something
    turns up.”

    Since only 1 of my two dogs was avoiding the food, it could have been
    something else (dogs are dogs after all and do eat weird stuff in the
    summer time). At this point, I’m returning the food to costco and going to try the lamb mix. If he doesn’t like it then we will stick with our new choice Blue lamb which the dogs have liked.

  • Paigeshack

    If you have problems, please report them to the FDA so we can start tracking this. http://www.safetyreporting.hhs.gov

  • Paigeshack

    We just lost a 6 YO border collie to liver failure, then our 4 YO lab also gets sick and has elevated liver enzymes and had to spend 3 days on IV fluids and antibiotics, and isn’t out of the woods yet. We think it’s the food. Our other lab vomited and we immediately put him on a bland diet. All of the dogs didn’t want to eat the food and the only way we would get them to eat was to put all kinds of crap on it, like cottage cheese, chicken, etc… Even then, they would spit the food out. We returned the food to Costco and have a case # with Nature’s Domain. We are going to make a complaint with the FDA, and saved some of the food. I think people should start making complaints with the FDA if this is going to get noticed more.

  • Paigeshack

    We believe this made our dog sick and may have killed another. One dog just came back from 3 days at the vet on IV fluids and antibiotics. They also all lost interest in the food, wouldn’t eat it, started vomiting. We also were cost-conscious, but went and bought some high-end food (Nature’s Instinct) that is all made in the US or Canada without ingredients from China. You feed less, so though the bag is more, there isn’t much difference when you come to cost per meal.

  • Paigeshack

    There have been a lot of complaints recently about the salmon and sweet potato variety of Nature’s Domain. We just lost one 6 YO dog to liver failure, and then another dog
    spent 3 days at the vet on IV fluids and antibiotics for elevated liver
    and kidney enzymes. She stopped eating, had vomiting, diarrhea,
    increased drinking, etc… When I searched about ND food, I found a TON
    of complaints on their facebook page with the same symptoms, Makes you
    wonder what’s going on. Everyone has the same symptoms… the dog loses appetite, vomits, has diarrhea, seems depressed and/or lethargic. We have a case # with ND and have spoken with their staff vet, and they claim nothing is wrong. Diamond brands had a HUGE documented issue with animal deaths in 2007, so it wouldn’t surprise me if something is going on. We returned the food to Costco and disinfected all of our bowls and the dogfood container. We are still not sure the 4 YO lab will be fine, but the vets were all very suspicious about something the dogs ate since they had the same elevated liver enzymes. They did not get into any toxins and were never left outside unattended.

  • Paigeshack

    We just lost one dog (6 years old) to liver failure and then another dog spent 3 days at the vet on IV fluids and antibiotics for elevated liver and kidney enzymes. She stopped eating, had vomiting, diarrhea, increased drinking, etc… When I searched about ND food, I found a TON of complaints on their facebook page with the same symptoms, Makes you wonder.

  • Guest

    I have been searching the internet trying to figure out why my Scottish Terrier has been vomiting and diarrhea. It has been progressively getting worse over the past 3-6 weeks. When I first called the vet, they asked me if there was something she could have “gotten into”(nope) & put her on a vet prescribed homemade fat free bland diet after waiting until she had stopped vomiting bile for 24 hours. Rapid turn around. We were going to work her up for elevated liver enzymes, pancreatitis or Cushings’ if she didn’t bounce back. After reading your posts, I am wondering if its the Nature’s Domain! I just bought her a bag that she has been nibbling at. Now that I think of it, it is taking her a long time to eat the stuff and she has had 2-3 huge lose stools/day on it. Hmmmmmm.

  • Crazy4cats

    Steve-
    I thought most of the Costco stores carried the beef, salmon and turkey grain free Kibbles. Also most stores have the new Natures Domain canned food as well. Only a few scattered stores have the organic kibble. I’m an employee, but am off for the weekend and can’t check for you. But, like labs said you can call and ask. I’d call the 1800 customer service number rather than your local Costco.

  • LabsRawesome

    Oh sorry! LOL. ND only comes in grain free varieties. The grain inclusive food that Costco sells is called Kirkland Signature. That’s weird, your warehouse doesn’t stock any ND. Try calling the warehouses in your area that you don’t typically shop at. They will be able to tell you over the phone, if it’s in stock.

  • Steve Clark

    Thank you for your reply, but if it’s NOT in my local CostCo, then is there another way to obtain it? (I’m going to double-check the stores in my area, but I have yet to see the grain-free versions.)

  • LabsRawesome

    Nature’s Domain is a Costco exclusive.

  • Steve Clark

    How do you get this stuff? It’s not in my local store, and it doesn’t show up online??

  • Suzi Ironmonger

    I basically feed my dogs raw…RMBs, offal, veges & a little ripe fruit along with raw eggs, yogurt, salmon oil, kelp, etc. But I also keep a bag of the ND Salmon & Sweet Potato. I had fed EVO previously many years ago prior to the company changing hands.And Nature’s Instinct before that. I don’t think my dogs have any problems with it. Sometimes they beg for it as a treat from their raw, and other times they aren’t that interested. But as it is the same bag of food in many cases (kept in a sealed food bin), I can’t say it is the ND. Just what the dogs are craving at the moment, I would say.I like to change their food, especially protein sources as we all know that a variety makes for the healthiest diet for omnivores, carnivores & herbivores alike.

  • LabsRawesome

    Hi Gatorgirl, With a protein level of 22% and a fat level of only 12% it might be a good food for dogs with fat or protein sensitivities due to illness, but I wouldn’t feed it to a healthy dog. Although it does contain organic chicken, there is no “meal” to bump up the meat based protein. This food is almost vegetarian, with most of the protein coming from peas, lentils, and garbonzo beans. Organic chicken, organic peas, organic lentils, organic garbanzo beans,
    organic sweet potatoes, organic canola oil (preserved with mixed
    tocopherols), organic pea protein, organic sunflower meal, organic
    canola meal, organic flaxseed, natural flavor, calcium carbonate,
    choline chloride, taurine, organic kelp, vitamin E supplement, iron
    proteinate, zinc proteinate, copper proteinate, ferrous sulfate, zinc
    sulfate, copper sulfate, potassium iodide, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin
    B1), manganese proteinate, manganous oxide, ascorbic acid, vitamin A
    supplement, biotin, niacin, calcium pantothenate, manganese sulfate,
    sodium selenite, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), vitamin B12
    supplement, riboflavin (vitamin B2), vitamin D supplement, folic acid.

  • Steven Ranney

    Hey there – We had been feeding Nature’s Domain Turkey for several months and five days ago thought we’d try the Salmon/Sweet potato formula. After a few days, our dog lost her appetitie, couldn’t keep anything down (not even rice and chicken) and today, after taking her to the vet, we found out that she has an inflamed liver as well as elevated liver and kidney enzymes. The vet has reported to us that after a few days of IV fluids, she should be okay.

    I called Nature’s Doman customer service line and reported the production code/batch number:

    NDS0708B3N SDL

    We recently had to put our 6 year old border collie down from liver failure. He had been eating ND for only a few weeks. Needless to say, we’re really freaked out and hope that Costco/Kirkland/Nature’s Domain can look into the issue.

    We’ll be switching to a more natural diet, one with traceable products.

  • Crazy4cats

    Hi Gator girl-
    Try this website:
    http://www.great-pet-supplies.com/

    I think this is only available in a few scattered stores in the NW and Bay area right now. My store doesn’t carry it so I haven’t seen it yet.

  • Gatorgirl

    Does anyone know anything about the new Organic Chicken & Pea formula Nature’s Domain?

  • Patrick Irish

    I changed to Blue Lamb for adult dogs/large breed. They seem to be enjoying it very much but it is more expensive :(

  • Melissa Ward

    I changed to Merrick Sweet Potato & Pork grain free. They haven’t had any problems. Have to be careful because my border collie if not careful develops itch skin. They have no problems eating this and I haven’t seen them eating grass. Think I will contact Costco to give them heads up on all the issues with the dog food.

  • Sarah Turpin

    My dog had the same exact symptoms about three weeks ago with blood in the stool. The vet said there were no infections or worms. He doesnt eat ND..i fasted him for a day then added cooked chicken livers mixed with finely chopped organic spinach,grated organic carrot, prayed a lot, and he was good to go two days after the incident started. I dont have this problem in the winter months…maybe they picked up a bug or something. Healthy, vomiting, bloody stool, and diarreah, back to healthy…all while feeding off the same bag of dog food.

  • Babslynne

    Above is a copy and paste of one of the posts, its on the left side of their facebook page under the photo’s, it says”posts to page >”

  • Babslynne

    August 7 at 9:08am ·
    my
    dogs where on this food for about 2 years, then last week i purchased a
    bag, immediately during the night my vissla started having a bad case
    of diarrhea and vomiting, i figured it was just that one meal that
    didn’t settle well , well i was wrong its been 7 days and she still has
    diarrhea, i been waking up every morning at 2-3 in the morning cause she
    has to go relieve herself every few hours, I finally stopped feeding
    her this crap last night and it seems like today shes better
    after i feed her eggs and carrots. Unfortunately not knowing food was
    getting my vissla sick i fed this junk to my little Yorkie and he also
    got sick a couple days later, he hasn’t been doing well, he’s very
    lethargic and has been pooping blood for a day and a half – I’m really
    surprised about him because he’s like a garbage disposal he can eat
    anything and not get sick – he won’t even get up now, after trying all
    kinds of things to get him better i’m taking him to the vet today and
    hopefully he can fix him, I’m so furious i think if i where to lose my
    dog i will purse legal action.
    LikeLike · · Share · 2
    Top Comments
    Write a comment…

    Nature’s Domain Pet Food I
    am sorry that your Viszla has been experiencing diarrhea. I have set up
    a case for you in our system. If you could please call in with the
    production code to 800.797.9607, case number 50147, we would like to get
    your contact information and look into the batch number. I hope that
    your Yorkie feels better soon, please let us know how the veterinary
    visit goes.
    Like · Reply · 1 · August 7 at 9:26am
    Redbird Redpelicandesign I will call in the lot number for the bag i bought is NDS0712C3S SXS – Additional info – best by 15 jul 2015 4196 DL
    Like · August 8 at 8:23am
    Ed Schmidt Stripe please tell us if this lot was made in your California plant or the north Carolina plant
    Like · 1 · August 13 at 9:39am
    Nature’s Domain Pet Food This is a California code.
    Like · August 13 at 2:33pm
    Redbird Redpelicandesign any updates on this?
    Like · 12 hrs
    Nature’s Domain Pet Food The
    Quality Control Report includes nutrient analysis and bacterial testing
    and toxin testing. In addition to normal nutrient content in the batch,
    the bacterial tests and toxin tests were negative.
    Like · 7 hrs
    Write a reply…

    Redbird Redpelicandesign I will be posting the “PRODUCTION CODE”. when i get back to the house

  • Dani Kulas

    My dog has been puking all night, at first his dinner and probably some undigested breakfast, then bile probably 6 times, and also couldn’t keep water down. I *finally* got him to eat a little bit of rice just so he can have something in his stomach so he can hold water, and now he seems a little better and is sleeping.

    I switched him from beneful (I know, I know) to Nature’s Domain earlier this year and at first had great results-shiny coat, spike in energy/vitality, etc. A few months ago I noticed he was losing interest in his food but I attributed it to behavioral changes (while he definitely gets adequate exercise, he usually gets less in the summer- he’s a keeshond/g.shep mix and we live in the south). I also thought he could be anxious about me leaving town, as my parents first reported his eating changes while they were watching him.

    He is not the type to leave his food (otherwise the cat will eat it…) but he would leave it. Otherwise he’s been drinking and acting fine, except he eats grass way more than usual. It never really occurred to me that it could be his food since I’d been previously successful with it and nothing appeared to be different about it.

    I’ve become increasingly concerned and have been on the verge of taking him to the vet but also trying to rule out external factors, it sure seems like this could be the culprit…. its outrageous to me that a company can seemingly just change a formula, or blatantly try to cover up some kind contamination that is going on… there are certainly enough people making noise about this on the internet (facebook and amazon in addition to this page from what I’ve seen). Why is there not a recall or some kind of clear statement from the company? The reason we all bought this dog food in the first place is that its supposed to be GOOD for your dog. This kind of thing happens way too often in the pet food industry and its appalling.

    Anyway, I’m going to put my dog on a bland diet in the morning and mix in a new food to see if his interest if food increases… and puking decreases. Any suggestions on food? I’ve heard Innova and Nature’s Variety are great but I’m also looking for cost friendly as well (hence buying costco brand).

    Thank you all for reporting your stories, I would probably be freaking out a lot more right now if I hadn’t read all this and still had no clue what could be going on.

  • Patrick Irish

    For what it is worth, Nature’s Domain got back to me and said they make it in three different facilities and no one batch has had more than one complaint. The volume of emails has not spiked. Because of the number of dogs that eat it and could have any issue, its not easy to pinpoint on the food just yet. Although I will say I switched and my dog ate all his food normally again. I’m not convinced it was Nature’s Domain but I’m not switching back until we get more info.

  • 4beagles

    Please read my original post a day ago which was in refernce to the turkey ND kibble(which is made by diamond, which is made by diamond and confirmed by costo yesterday, who suggested i call them
    ) and my comment in the most recent post was for the kirkland canned food not the ND cans.. The only reason I mentioned it was to indicated that I had stopped feeding the kibble.

  • LabsRawesome

    Kirkland Nature’s Domain canned food is NOT made by Diamond. Diamond does not even own a cannery.

  • 4beagles

    Just wanted to provide an update. Yesterday morning I gave everyone some Kirkland canned food that we keep on hand for emergencies so I could get some new kibble. They were fine during the day. I picked up Fromm’s four star grain free which I had used with good success a couple of years ago and fed them it for dinner last night and this morning. There have been no additional episodes. Could be alot of causes, but they have seemed to be fine as soon as I switched the food so I’m going to stay off of the ND for now.,

    Unfortunately, I was checking on the Fromm’s info and found that many people seemed to be having some problems with some their food. Not sure it is always the food, but you just can’t seem to win.

    I have been thinking for a while of starting to cook them some of the their food(not ready to go to raw yet) so I think this episode will get me to do that, at least partially. There is a lot of info out there regarding recipes so if anyone can recommend some sound basic recipes(chicken veggies etc) please let me know.

    Babslynne, I checked the ND facebook page and didn’t see any recent postings, but maybe I am looking in the wrong place.

    I am just going to get the Diamond customer services number and let them know my recent experience.

  • Babslynne

    I’ve noticed a few people posting the same complaints on Nature Domains Facebook page also, they are given a phone number to call and a case number.

  • michelle

    My dog has almost finished the bag and now has incredibly itchy skin and losing fur like crazy. I initially thought it was because he was recently neutered a month ago but my vet med friend said the extent he is sheddig is unlikely neuter related. Good to know its likely the food!

  • Patrick Irish

    Thanks, the more people that report this the greater chance we will get some clarity

  • 4beagles

    I have been using both the turkey and salmon for a couple of years with no issues. I just started a new bag of the turkey and one of our dogs vomited last night. He appeared to be better today, but now two of our other dogs started to vomit tonight. Not surei if it is related to the food or they picked up a virus or something, but thought I would post given the comments below. I am going to change their food tomorrow just in case it is food related. Our other two dogs appear to ok.

  • Angie M.

    Having the same issues. Went to Costco and they gave me store credit for the two bags I had trouble with (and I had already thrown the bags away). Just FYI. They’ve been doing better on the Blue Buffalo Basics, might switch to Taste of the Wild.

  • Patrick Irish

    Did you ever get an email back?

  • Patrick Irish

    I’m wondering the same thibg. One of my two dogs Is having trouble with it. Eating grass too

  • Patrick Irish

    Same thing for us. One dog keeps eating it and the other dog stopped and doesn’t care for it.

  • Melissa Ward

    I also buy the Sweet Potato & Salmon and have noticed both my dogs take a long time to eat it. They used to love it. They have been eating tons of grass and I know usually when they eat grass it is because they have an upset stomach. They must have changed the formula…think I am going to switch to something else.

  • Shayla Chippendale

    My dogs dogs loved the food but they got really bad skin allergies. Also had 2 dogs pass away with in the past 8 months, they were only 5 and 7. Not sure if the food had any thing to do with it but I switched the the real taste of the wild.

  • ade

    Yes, we’ve fed Kirkland grain free a month now, and in that time had huge hair loss on our GSD, really dry skin and a staph infection that required antibiotics. We’re not buying this again.

  • ade

    We fed our Shepherd a month of this because it was cheap at Costco. As comparison came from Blue Buffalo and Taste of the Wild. Our dog stopped eating it after about 2 weeks, in a month her fur started falling out heavily, she nearly went bald on her back legs, she got a staph infection, her skin became dry. We were appalled at the change in her condition of an otherwise healthy 1.5yr old dog. Would not recommend, spend the extra $10 a month and try Taste of the Wild or if you want to spend more, blue buffalo.

  • Angie Mattox

    Mine have done the same thing. About a week or so ago, they just stopped eating it. I was feeding them the Salmon and Sweet Potato. I even tried adding green beans…no dice. I finally bought Blue Buffalo again (which is what I fed them prior) and they are slowly starting to eat again, but not much. Do we know if they recently changed their formula?

  • C Baines

    My dogs have been on ND for several years and it would never last in the bowl more then a few minutes now they have no interest in eating it at all. I haven’t seen vomiting or diarrhea. I’ve been on salmon but switched to turkey and same results of not wanting to eat.

  • RICHARD K. SEEBARAN

    This brand, specifically the salmon and sweet potato is perfect for my weimaraner/chinock mix. I replaced this food with a “leading brand” salmon meal and watched his coat get rough and he started to shed more. After a week back on the Kirkland Nature’s Domain he had more energy and his coat was back to being silky smooth with a perfect shine. I would rate this food four stars for quality, and five stars for value because its about $33 for a 35lbs bag, lasts a whole month. I have purchased 5 star rated food suggested from this site as well as recommended brands from vets and feed stores, Natures Domain tops all of them in my humble opinion…

  • clandahlina

    Mike, we also feed the salmon/sweet potato, and my corgi mix has started having an allergic reaction which seems to be food-related. I’m also wondering if the recipe recently changed.

  • Germansheppups

    I’ve been feeding two of my dogs this without a problem. I’ll have to check the most recent bag I bought about a week ago to check the lot # but both pups are fine.

  • Mike Shortliffe

    not sure as I didn’t keep the older bags around to compare..

  • Betsy Greer

    Hi Mike,

    Do you know if there was an ingredient change since the last bag you fed? If your dog has been eating the same food for “some time,” he might not tolerate even subtle ingredient changes well.

    Here’s a link to the website: http://www.great-pet-supplies.com/natures-domain-brand

  • Mike Shortliffe

    I have a yellow lab who has been doing very well on Nature’s Domain for some time. After the most recent bag of Salmon/sweet potato, he has been vomiting. I know it could be from something else, but recent comments leave me concerned…anyone else having similar issues?

    Lot# NDS0613D2N RSB

  • griffgirl

    I began using this dog food about 3 years ago for my advanced-aged English Mastiff, in hopes that switching her to a grain free diet might have some beneficial effect on her arthritis. I noticed a change almost immediately, within days. She was like a new dog. She was more energetic, almost spritely I’d say, which for an old Mastiff is saying a lot!For the money, it’s definitely a high quality dog food. I’ve been through MANY different foods with my Mastiff, ranging from other Kirkland brands (before this one came out) to the very expensive boutique brands, and this one seemed to be the best for my Mastiff. I continued feeding it to her for the last years she was with me. After she passed, I still had some left over, and wound up getting another dog sooner than I expected to, so I fed her the remaining food since it’s appropriate for all life stages (I adopted a 7 week old black lab/hound mix from a shelter.) Almost a year and a half later, I still have my lab on the same food, and she has grown into a very happy, very healthy (and REALLY shiny!) girl with absolutely NO problems from this food, ever. I HIGHLY recommend it.

  • Angelica Reid

    I have used this dog food for years with my show dogs and brood stock and never have i ever had a problem with allergies etc…. i use the blue bag, salmon kind. Ive campaigned many best puppies, champions, grand champions, best of shows and best of opposites on this kibble…….

  • LabsRawesome

    How much salt is added to ND? I’m sure that you have no idea, so you shouldn’t be posting that it has too much. I’m sure the salt added is within normal limits.

  • Anita Horne

    Nature’s Domain from Costco sounds good but has a ton of salt added. The dogs drank so much and pee’d again and again. Awful and bad for kidneys. Dog food does NOT have to list how much salt.

  • brandi

    So I was feeding this brand and in the last week and a half I lost my lab and have had to treat all of my other dogs with activated charcoal and one was at the vet for 3 days with a bad outlook. He is doing fine now but if anyone is having problems do not wait to take your dog to the vet! Also contact Costco management.

  • Shayla Chippendale

    Any ones dogs get any skin issues with this food?

  • http://www.sproutedwellness.com Amanda Strong

    I just saw the Nature’s Domain Organic Chicken & Pea Protein in my store this week (Anchorage, AK). I’m off to search out the ingredients now.

  • Aubrey Walker

    Thanks for sharing this, I think I will switch to another brand. it was a good price and I like the ingredients. Has anyone tried Trader Joes dog food?

  • LuvMyMutt

    Thanks

  • Peggy LaLonde

    Unfortunately I did not keep the bag from the Turkey formula but on the bag of Beef formula it says :Best by 12 June 15 4163DL NOB0660581N SDL 2119

  • LuvMyMutt

    Could you please share the lot number? Thanks

  • Natalie Marie Alvarez Padilla

    Scary…Good call! Who knows what is in that food that is causing this. A lot of people on this site won’t feed their dogs kirkland, canidae or any food made by Diamond. They have had numerous recalls in the past. Thankfully my dog is still doing well but if this continues with other dogs I will look elsewhere for my next bag. If you have a petco near you try Whole Earth Farms grain free, it’s half the price of bil jac and is rated 4.5 stars. Bil Jac is only rated 3 stars. I’ve been feeding it to my lab/pit puppy and it completely regulated his stools.

  • Peggy LaLonde

    Seems like something odd is going on. I opened a new bag of Beef & Sweet Potato and they are having the same reaction. The older Lab has switched between all 3 formulas all of her life without any problem, the younger has only had the beef and now the turkey. I sent an email to Costco and plan on calling them tomorrow. I ran up to Petsmart and grabbed them a bag of Bil Jac and they have eaten that without any upsets…so far! They have not had any diarrhea or any personality changes. They are both active and happy except for the vomiting.

  • Natalie Marie Alvarez Padilla

    I will add the last few people who commented before you are complaining about the same issue so maybe there is a bad batch and you guys should contact kirkland for a possible recall?!

  • Natalie Marie Alvarez Padilla

    I had switched between both formulas with my dog for the last 2 years with zero issues. Sounds strange to me, do they also have diarrhea? I hear that switching formulas on a dog so fast can cause stomach upsets so it’s better to wean them off by mixing them both together and removing the older formula little by little from their food. However, my 12 year old american bulldog never had problems switching between the turkey formula and the salmon formula cold turkey. Some dogs might have more sensitive stomachs. Or maybe they simply prefer the Beef one.

  • Natalie Marie Alvarez Padilla

    I saw on some website that Nature’s Domain has launched an “organic” line with chicken. That is of high interest to me since I would prefer chicken without antibiotics and vegatables without pesticides in my dog’s food. Has anyone tried it or will dog food advisor be doing a review soon? I’m dying to know if the ingredients are any good! Here is the website where I found it: http://www.great-pet-supplies.com/natures-domain-brand

  • Peggy LaLonde

    My two labs have been throwing up every meal for the last day. They were eating the Beef & Sweet Potato formula but just started on the Turkey & Sweet Potato. Other than the vomiting and some reluctance to eat they seem fine. Is anyone else feeding the Turkey formula & having issues?

  • Stephanie Brown Vaughn

    Been feeding this for months. Suddenly my dogs don’t want to eat and are itchy and vomiting some. I think they either changed the formula or have a bad batch.

  • Jennifer Wehking

    Looking into the same problem. Fecals all neg at the vet’s office. Waiting on more specific results from the lab. Do you still have the bags? I’m wondering if they are from the same lot. Been happy with produce and results until till these last 2 bags were opened

  • sc3pilot

    We’ve been feeding our three dogs Nature’s Domain for a while now, but on this most recent bag (red), two of them have been vomiting very frequently, and none of them are happy to be eating it. They usually wolf down their food but this latest bag they eat very reluctantly. I went and got a bag of Wellness at the PetSmart and they’re loving it.

  • http://www.tomlinsons.com Jeremy

    This happened in Feb and also is one of the dangers of co-packing. Plus the lawsuit is from over two years ago,

  • HUGO CHAVEZ
  • HUGO CHAVEZ

    CAUTION: ATTENTION!!!!

    02/03/2014

    Costco Wholesale Corp. and Diamond Pet Foods Inc. agreed to pay $2 million to settle a class action lawsuit over dog food that caused a
    salmonella outbreak that sickened an untold number of pets and dozens of people who handled the food.

    The case was filed by Barbara Marciano, whose dog Benji died after
    eating Kirkland Signature Nature’s Domain pet food she bought at a
    Westbury, N.Y., Costco and manufactured at Diamond’s plant in Gaston, S.C., where the outbreak began.

    She filed suit in federal court in Brooklyn, charging the company
    with negligence, breach of warranty, product liability, unjust
    enrichment and violations of state law. Diamond made three recalls of nine brands of dry pet food in 2011 and 2012.

    Diamond is a major manufacturer of pet foods and sells them under several brands:

    Chicken Soup for the Pet Lover’s Soul
    Country Value
    Diamond
    Diamond Naturals
    Premium Edge
    Professional
    4Health
    Taste of the Wild

    FYI BEWARE!!

  • HUGO CHAVEZ

    YOU MAY BE ENTITLED TO COMPENSATION AS THE FOOD HAS SALMONELLA…

    Costco Wholesale Corp. and Diamond Pet Foods Inc. agreed to pay $2
    million to settle a class action lawsuit over dog food that caused a
    salmonella outbreak that sickened an untold number of pets and dozens of
    people who handled the food.
    The case was filed by Barbara Marciano, whose dog Benji died after
    eating Kirkland Signature Nature’s Domain pet food she bought at a
    Westbury, N.Y., Costco and manufactured at Diamond’s plant in Gaston,
    S.C., where the outbreak began.
    She filed suit in federal court in Brooklyn, charging the company
    with negligence, breach of warranty, product liability, unjust
    enrichment and violations of state law. Diamond made three recalls of nine brands of dry pet food in 2011 and 2012.
    Diamond is a major manufacturer of pet foods and sells them under several brands:

    Chicken Soup for the Pet Lover’s Soul
    Country Value
    Diamond
    Diamond Naturals
    Premium Edge
    Professional
    4Health
    Taste of the Wild

  • David Davis

    +1 that’s an excellent find win for sure. I’ve seen this at Costco a million times but never even gave it a thought cause I assumed it was from Pedigree or something. But you are 100% sure with TOTW yes?

  • Betsy

    both my dogs have been vomiting on this food, will be changing immediately.

  • 49ergirl

    I too am wondering about the chicken and pea organic formula. I have two small dogs, about 9lbs each but high-ish energy for a 6 & almost 8 year old dogs.

  • Crazy4cats

    Oh, I wasn’t planning on feeding it. Too many peas and not enough meat for my dogs. I don’t think they do well with peas. I was just being curious. It is in a few NW stores, but none very close by. Thanks for the info.