Kirkland Signature Nature’s Domain (Dry)

Share

Rating: ★★★½☆

Kirkland Signature Nature’s Domain Dog Food earns the Advisor’s mid-tier rating of 3.5 stars.

The Kirkland Signature Nature’s Domain product line includes three dry dog foods, each claimed to meet AAFCO nutrient profiles for all life stages.

The following is a list of recipes available at the time of this review.

  • Nature’s Domain Grain Free Turkey Meal and Sweet Potato
  • Nature’s Domain Grain Free Salmon Meal and Sweet Potato
  • Nature’s Domain Grain Free Beef Meal and Sweet Potato (3 stars)

Nature’s Domain Grain Free Turkey Meal and Sweet Potato was selected to represent the other products in the line for this review.

Kirkland Signature Nature's Domain Grain Free Turkey Meal and Sweet Potato

Dry Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 27% | Fat = 16% | Carbs = 50%

Ingredients: Turkey meal, sweet potatoes, peas, potatoes, canola oil, potato protein, potato fiber, natural flavor, flaxseed, ocean fish meal, salt, choline chloride, dried chicory root, tomatoes, blueberries, raspberries, Yucca schidigera extract, dried Enterococcus faecium fermentation product, dried Lactobacillus acidophilus fermentation product, dried Lactobacillus casei fermentation product, dried Lactobacillus plantarum fermentation product, dried Trichoderma longibrachiatum fermentation extract, vitamin E supplement, iron proteinate, zinc proteinate, copper proteinate, ferrous sulfate, zinc sulfate, copper sulfate, potassium iodide, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), manganese proteinate, manganous oxide, ascorbic acid, vitamin A supplement, biotin, niacin, calcium pantothenate, manganese sulfate, sodium selenite, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), vitamin B12 supplement, riboflavin (vitamin B2), vitamin D supplement, folic acid

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 3.3%

Red items when present indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis24%14%NA
Dry Matter Basis27%16%50%
Calorie Weighted Basis23%33%44%

The first ingredient in this dog food is turkey meal. Turkey meal is considered a meat concentrate and contains nearly 300% more protein than fresh turkey.

The second ingredient includes sweet potato. Sweet potatoes are a gluten-free source of complex carbohydrates in a dog food. They are naturally rich in dietary fiber and beta carotene.

The third ingredient includes peas. Peas are a quality source of carbohydrates. And like all legumes, they’re rich in natural fiber.

However, peas contain about 25% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the meat content of this dog food.

The fourth ingredient is potato. Potatoes can be considered a gluten-free source of digestible carbohydrates. Yet with the exception of perhaps their caloric content, potatoes are of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

The fifth ingredient is canola oil. Many applaud canola for its favorable omega-3 content while some condemn it as an unhealthy fat.

Much of the objection regarding canola oil appears to be related to the use of genetically modified rapeseed as its source material.

Yet others find the negative stories about canola oil more the stuff of urban legend than actual science.1

In any case, plant-based oils like canola are less biologically available to a dog than fish oil as a source of quality omega-3 fats.

The sixth ingredient is potato protein, the dry residue remaining after removing the starchy part of a potato.

Even though it contains over 80% protein, this ingredient would be expected to have a lower biological value than meat.

And less costly plant-based products like this can notably boost the total protein reported on the label — a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

The seventh ingredient is potato fiber, a source of dietary fiber. Fiber in reasonable amounts can help stabilize blood sugar levels and reduce a dog food’s caloric content.

After the natural flavor, we find flaxseed, one of the best plant sources of healthy omega-3 fatty acids. Provided they’ve first been ground into a meal, flax seeds are also rich in soluble fiber.

However, flaxseed contains about 19% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With three notable exceptions

First, we note the use of an ingredient listed as ocean fish meal, another protein-rich meat concentrate.

Fish meal is typically obtained from the “clean, dried, ground tissue of undecomposed whole fish and fish cuttings” of commercial fish operations.2

Unfortunately, this particular item is anonymous. Because various fish contain different types of fats, we would have preferred to have known the source species.

We are pleased to note that, unlike many fish meals, this particular item appears3 to be ethoxyquin-free.

Next, chicory root is rich in inulin, a starch-like compound made up of repeating units of carbohydrates and found in certain roots and tubers.

Not only is inulin a natural source of soluble dietary fiber, it’s also a prebiotic used to promote the growth of healthy bacteria in a dog’s digestive tract.

And lastly, this food also contains chelated minerals, minerals that have been chemically attached to protein. This makes them easier to absorb. Chelated minerals are usually found in better dog foods.

Kirkland Signature Nature’s Domain Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Judging by its ingredients alone, Nature’s Domain Dog Food looks like an average dry kibble.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 27%, a fat level of 16% and estimated carbohydrates of about 50%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 27% and a mean fat level of 16%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 50% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 58%.

Near-average protein. Near-average fat. And near-average carbs when compared to a typical dry dog food.

However, when you consider the protein-boosting effect of the peas, potato protein, flaxseed (or pea protein and garbanzo beans found in some of the other recipes), this looks like the profile of a kibble containing a below-average amount of meat.

Bottom line?

Kirkland Signature Nature’s Domain is a grain-free plant-based kibble using a below-average amount of meat or fish meals as its main sources of animal protein, thus earning the brand 3.5 stars.

Recommended.

Note: Although this recipe does not appear to have changed, we have lowered its rating due to the greater weight we now place on the use of plant-based meat protein substitutes.

Please note certain recipes are sometimes given a higher or lower rating based upon our estimate of their total meat content.

Special Alert

Rice ingredients can sometimes contain arsenic. Until the US FDA establishes safe upper levels for arsenic content, pet owners may wish to limit the total amount of rice fed in a dog's daily diet.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, our rating system is not intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in specific health benefits for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

To learn how we support the cost of operating this website, please visit our public Disclosure and Disclaimer page.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Notes and Updates

05/15/2010 Original review
10/07/2010 Added new turkey product
10/27/2010 Review updated
01/03/2012 Review updated (minor recipe change)
03/30/2012 Added Kirkland Signature to product name
07/06/2013 Review updated
07/06/2013 Last Update

  1. Mikkelson, B and DP, Oil of Ole, Urban Legends Reference Pages (2005)
  2. Association of American Feed Control Officials
  3. Diamond Pet Customer Service via email, 7/7/2010
  • Mojo

    Thank you, I may try that. He is doing ok but bowel movements are a bit soft right now. We are only a week into the full kirkland brand. I mixed it with his reg dog food first week.

  • Arhcangel

    adding a probiotic (We use plain yogurt) can help with sensitive stomach’s. Dogs need good bacteria the same as we do to help digest and if our food doesn’t contain any they can dwindle leading to certain foods being indigestible.

  • Brianne

    I thought it wouldn’t be an issue for our 60lb lab/pit, but it was… BIG time! I would suggest halving your formulas together before switching one out for the other.

  • Dawn E.

    I have been feeding my 3 large dogs Natures Domain fish and the turkey mixed for two years then switched the fish out with the beef and they all did fine.

  • theBCnut

    Most dogs can switch between formulas within a brand with no problems, however some dogs can’t, so it’s a case of know your dog.

  • Maggie Kudasik

    Does anyone know if you can switch between the 3 formulas without issues? I know lots of brands you can switch between flavors and it doesn’t cause upset tummys.

  • http://www.thedogsassistant.ca TheDogsAssistant

    Thanks Mike!

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com/ Mike Sagman

    Unless we have verified (either verbally or by email) that the product is ethoxyquin free, then we would not make this statement. However, we’ve just lately stopped doing this because we’ve discovered it isn’t only fish that contains hidden preservatives.

    All meals can contain hidden preservatives and the companies are not required to state this on the label. So, it’s unfair to only single out fish meal.

    Here’s an article regarding this issue from Whole Dog Journal that does an exemplary job of clarifying this problem.

    http://www.whole-dog-journal.com/issues/13_5/features/Dog-Food-Preservatives_16221-1.html

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    That info came from Diamond, the manufacturer. It’s in the footnote.

  • http://www.thedogsassistant.ca TheDogsAssistant

    Mike, when you note that the fish content seems to be ethoxyquin free, are you contacting the manufacturer to ask if the supplier of the fish uses ethoxyquin, or only making this determination on whether the manufacturer adds ethoxyquin?

  • LabsRawesome

    You’re welcome. Kirkland cuts in gravy is grain free. Incase you didn’t know. :)

  • Mojo

    Thank you for the information, I usually mix a spoon full of canned veggies or canned dog food of some sort. If its not GF he has horrible gas and sometimes diarrhea :(

    I think I will give it a try

  • LabsRawesome

    Hi Mojo, I have used GF Salmon,and GF Turkey. My 3 dogs liked it & did well on it. I mixed in Kirkland cuts in gravy for added protein & moisture. The cans are packed full of meat. Not much gravy, which is a good thing,

  • Micka Nasello Mayes

    I have an English Mastiff been feeding him Canidae salmon & sweet potato I believe. He is quite expensive to feed but has a sensitive stomach. I was looking into the grain free Kirkland brand but not sure any advice? Oh he is 5 yrs old pushing 200 lb about 31 in tall at the rump if this helps

  • LabsRawesome

    You have no faith. Haha. :)

  • InkedMarie

    Oops, I should have kept reading!

  • InkedMarie

    Bet she never calls.

  • LabsRawesome

    I just got a call back from Diamond, she said ND Stews are manufactured in South Dakota, by Performance Pet.

  • LabsRawesome

    I just called, was on hold for a couple minutes. A Lady finally answered, so I asked who manufactures ND canned stew? She said,”what a great question, I have no idea, can you hold, and I will get that info for you?” I was like okay. She came back and said that she would have to call me back, she took my name and number. So we’ll see if she finds the info and returns my call.

  • LabsRawesome

    No, we don’t have ND canned. It has been out for a long time. Like a year or 2. My Costco doesn’t carry the ND Cat food either, just the crappy grain inclusive Kirkland. Blah.

  • Crazy4cats

    Just did a search. It is only in the California Bay Area so far.

  • LabsRawesome

    I think she was a lot confused. As far as I know Diamond does not own a Cannery.

  • Crazy4cats

    Actually, I just called the number and the lady said they did manufacture the Nature’s Domain canned, but not the Kirkland cuts in gravy. But, she did sound a little confused?

  • Crazy4cats

    Hey, how did you know about this website already? We don’t have any of the Natures Domain canned foods in our area yet. Do you?

  • LabsRawesome

    Hey Betsy, No Diamond does not have a Cannery. I suspect N.D. canned is probably also manufactured by Simmons. They put it on the same site because they’re all N.D. products. :)

  • LabsRawesome

    You’re Welcome. :)

  • Betsy Greer

    Simmons is the co-packer for Kirkland’s Cuts & Gravy, right? I didn’t think Diamond manufactured any wet foods, but the link you provided says “Copyright 2014 by Diamond Pet Foods” in the lower right hand corner. So, does Diamond manufacture canned foods as well? I can’t imagine why they’d put the product on their website if it wasn’t their product.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com/ Mike Sagman

    OK. Thanks. I’ve added Nature’s Domain canned dog food to our To Do list. Sometimes I don’t always see these requests when they’re posted on the blog.

    So, next time, just click the “Contact Us” link in the footer of any page.

    Thanks for the suggestion. BTW, I really appreciate the included link.

  • LabsRawesome

    Here’s Kirkland’s site for more info. http://www.great-pet-supplies.com/

  • Guest

    I just got back from taking my Collie to the vet and spending 100s of dollars on tests which were inconclusive. My boy has been very thirsty after eating the turkey ND. He also has a fever. I need to call our Vet back!

  • Twyla Davis

    Since the diarrhea and the dog park seems to be connected; I would say that the diarrhea is a sign of stress. Your boxer may do better with just 1 or 2 playmates instead of the free for all that is in a dog park.

  • Edc415

    Last year, the deceased owner of two foster dogs I took care of fed her Shiba Inus Ïnstinct”which loved, but I couldn’t afford on a long term basis. After doing some research here on Dog Food Advisor and a friend recommended Taste of the Wild, I discovered that Costco carried Kirkland Signature Nature’s Domain Turkey Meal & Sweet Potato kibble which is made by the same people that make Taste of the Wild. WIN!

    .I have been feeding Turkey Meal & Sweet Potato to my foster Shiba Inus since November 2012 and all three of them love it. Firm compact stools, lots of energy, great coat. I even put the kibble in one of those balls that dispenses treats and my current Shiba Inu loves to try to get the kibble out.

    Haven’t tried the other varieties. I don’t like a fishy smell so I am sticking to the Turkey for now.

    The recalls Diamond had concerned me, but after reading about them on here, I learned that the plants that were affected were in the South and not the plant in California.

  • Pingback: Just got back from vet Urine PH of 9 need input - Page 2

  • Darcy

    Yes! I switched from Fromm Gold to ND Salmon and all four of my dogs were very thirsty! My next bag was ND Turkey and it seems a little better but they still drink considerably more than they used to on Fromm. I’m not sure yet if that’s good or bad.

  • terri

    I feed my 4 Goldens ND salmon and sweet potato. Works wonderful! I recommend adding Dynovite to food as all dry kibble loses vitamins and minerals.

  • NoSnake Oil

    I’ve had my 80lb boxer on ND Turkey for about 7 months. I can’t say I notice any different in how he looks or acts. He does poop a ton at home but it’s solid. I notice when I take him to the dog park however he has diarrhea several times. Is that just a product of running around crazy so much? Also should I keep him on the Turkey or is the Salmon better or should I switch him up between the two?

  • LabsRawesome

    Good old Joe.

  • Betsy Greer

    Back with a new name?

  • palm beach

    Higher protein intake does not increase the enzyme amounts. There are many factors that lead to cancer. Toxins more so than anything else. Carbs give the cells energy not just cancer cells. It is all not so simple. Dogs do not need as much protein you suggest

  • Crazy4cats

    Hmmm…. Sounds like I should be taking a good quality probiotic along with my dogs?

  • Pattyvaughn

    Thanks, Shawna.
    That’s very interesting and explains why a dog can handle one meal of a food it is intolerant of, but not several in a row. When I noticed Micah could handle a meal of raw chicken, I started giving that once or twice a week and didn’t see the usually reaction so I thought he could handle the raw, just not processed, but over the course of about 3-4 months his coat got thin again and he started producing more body oils again. I figured even if I wasn’t seeing the short term reactions, it was still affecting him and cut chicken out completely, well except for chicken liver, he can still handle that.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com/ Mike Sagman

    Due to the unusual length of your comment and other reasons only Disqus.com knows, only one of your posts was withheld by the Disqus spam filter.

    By the way, at the time your comment was withheld, it was 12:55 AM (nearly 1 o’clock in the morning) here in the Eastern time zone and like many others, I was asleep.

    And since I am the owner and only human moderator of this blog, no one was actually here and awake to read or take any action on your remarks.

    I have now released that comment and it is now visible for all to see.

    In any case, your misinterpretation of what actually happened to your one and only post trapped by our spam filter — as well as your hostile tirade and false accusations that followed — are not welcome or appreciated.

    For this reason, I have now deleted every one of your abusive comments.

    Posting on this or any other website is a privilege granted by the owner. And that privilege can be permanently revoked at any time.

    Please consider yourself duly warned.

  • Hot stuff

    And you sound like someone who does not provide a balanced diet but believes you are above others who do

  • Shawna

    You sound like another poster that was here that went by Joe..

    How does protein amounts at or exceeding 40% harm dogs?

  • Hot stuff

    You are promoting your ideas about your 40% protein ideas all over creating possibe side effects in otherwise heathy dogs.

  • Hot stuff
  • Michael Mantion

    I did 3 post were removed. they were there, people even responded then gone. I have the emails notifying me of the responses and my posts. I guess if you want to know you will have to send me a private message. I just want people to get correct information.

  • Guest

    well I posted a review on webutation, if enough people post accurate reviews people will seek better information elsewhere.

  • Michael Mantion

    Very interesting. that’s pretty sad that peoples egos are so delicate that they need to hide the truth to protect their false information.

  • Shawna

    I have yet to see any data that would demonstrate why I’m wrong? I would at least expect you to give your opinion in a manner that would refute my opinions but not even that — just comments that I am wrong?

    “Over the last years, evidence has accumulated suggesting that by
    systematically reducing the amount of dietary carbohydrates (CHOs) one
    could suppress, or at least delay, the emergence of cancer, and that
    proliferation of already existing tumor cells could be slowed down. This
    hypothesis is supported by the association between modern chronic
    diseases like the metabolic syndrome and the risk of developing or dying
    from cancer. CHOs or glucose, to which more complex carbohydrates are
    ultimately digested, can have direct and indirect effects on tumor cell
    proliferation:” http://www.medscape.com/viewarticle/757713_1

  • Hot stuff

    They flag you and flag you….

  • Hot stuff

    Sounds romantic but not real

  • Michael Mantion

    My post showed, then disappeared mysteriously.. lol, no links not very long. but it did show that shawna was very confused. really sad it was a good post that took about 20 minutes I guess shawna knows the people who control the page and her ego is more important than the truth. Private message me if you have any questions.

  • Hot stuff

    Today one of mine was officially deleted without warning the other magically dissappiered

  • Hot stuff

    How about the proper balance your post may show in the history log on top to the right

  • Shawna

    I agree that we can’t always extrapolate the findings of one species for another but you must have missed this part “but the scientists involved agree that the strong biological findings are definitive enough that an effect in humans can be considered.”

    Edit — since carbs are not a necessary macronutrient in the canine diet (even less so than in humans) I would imagine they could have similar if not same negative affects as humans.

  • Hot stuff

    In mice not humans and dogs

  • Betsy Greer

    Michael Mantion,

    Your posts haven’t been deleted. Posts that are deleted remain in the common history log and the deleted post is replaced with the words, “this comment was deleted.

    If you / hot stuff have something to say, say it.

  • Shawna

    No, I can not.. The only person with the ability to delete posts is the site, that I am aware of, is the moderator/owner Dr. Mike. And from past experience, he would not delete posts without first giving a warning about the site rules.

    Several of my posts, back when I started the site about three years ago, didn’t appear. Disqus (not the owner of DFA) blocked my posts due to excessive links. Mike had to up the limit and approve my posts. If that is not what is going on here, then I have no idea?

  • Michael Mantion

    WOW the low carb high protein diets decreasing the risk of cancer was exactly what I wrote in 2 of my posts, one of which was already deleted.

  • Michael Mantion

    what a really messed up group that would rather spread lies and delete the truth then admit they were misinformed.

  • Shawna

    “June 15, 2011 — Eating a
    low-carbohydrate, high-protein diet may reduce the risk of cancer and slow the growth of tumors already present, according to a study published in Cancer Research, a journal of the American Association for Cancer Research. Share This:
    746

    The study was conducted in mice, but the scientists involved agree that the strong biological findings are definitive enough that an effect in humans can be considered.

    “This shows that something as simple as a change in diet can have an impact on cancer risk,” said lead researcher Gerald Krystal, Ph.D., a distinguished scientist at the British Columbia Cancer Research Centre.” http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2011/06/110614115037.htm

  • Michael Mantion

    any reply? Can you restore my post that explained how consuming any protein or enzymes will not kill cancer cells or tumors? or do you want to hide the information? why are you hiding that information? Shawa is very wrong on many things, I would like to explain how but you delete my posts. Please explain your motives for doing this? consuming protein so not fight cancer. the cancer research that is being done is to inject cancer into the blood to prevent living cancer cells from spreading. Why did you delete my post explaining this.

  • Hot stuff

    Same here

  • Michael Mantion

    Do you want to know why you are wrong or are you going to to have someone delete my post?

  • Michael Mantion

    That is weird because I replied to you showing you how you were very wrong and my post was removed? can you explain that?

  • Michael Mantion

    be careful they are deleting all of my post one by one. so far 3 posts have been deleted. this page is controlled by a very sick bunch that would gladly have dogs malnourished.

  • Shawna

    “In cancer, the natural processes that lead to apoptosis are often
    blocked, preventing the removal of cancer cells and thus facilitating
    the growth of tumor tissue. Caspases are a family of enzymes known as cysteine aspartyl proteases that play a central role in process of apoptosis. Activation of these enzymes leads to fragmentation of DNA and ultimately the death and clearance of cancer cells.” http://www.conatuspharma.com/cancerfacts/role-caspases.htm

    Some feel that if there are not enough digestive enzymes to cover digestion that the body will “rob” enzymes from other sources to meet the needs of providing further nourishment to the body. I don’t know if these folks are right but makes sense to me.

  • Michael Mantion

    To whom ever deleted my posts will my responses be deleted?

  • Michael Mantion

    WOW that is scary I just wrote a long response that corrected many of your mis information, posted it and it disappeared.. this site must be controlled by a mentally unstable mod that will delete usefull posts. Since my relies are being deleted you are a clearly a very sad bunch.

  • Hot stuff

    The data suggests the enzyme promotes apoptosis

  • Shawna

    I’m all ears.. If I’m wrong I’d love to know.

    I’m especially interested in how “more protein can have an adverse effect to the animal”?

    PS, I am aware that things like viri or bacteria can trick the system and prevent apoptosis.

  • Hot stuff

    The relatioship between the different stimuli is explained in a manner that is inaccurate. Look there is much more going on in the body then you make it sound like.More protein doesn’t mean more enzymes and it can have an adverse effect to the animal. Michael is right. He knows what he is talking about.

  • Crazy4cats

    Beware of what?

  • Hot stuff

    27% protein is plenty.And cancer cells are not stopped by enzymes,totally agree with you. BUYER BEWARE

  • Shawna

    “Misinformed” – how so?

  • Hot stuff

    It appears that you are misinformed about carbs,cancer and enzymes. Free feeding is a good option. If the fats go bad you would smell rancid.

  • Shawna

    Okay………

    For the record, the enzymes referred to as Caspases trigger apoptosis and apoptosis kills cancer cells.

    Also, the enzyme bomelain found in pineapple has been scientifically shown to kill cancer. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/22191568

    Other foods like berries, certain mushrooms, garlic and others kill the blood supply (and thus food) to the tumor and thus kill the tumor. This is called anti-angiogenosis.

    I actually weigh out the raw food I feed my dogs on a scale. I can tell if they need more food or less food by their body condition. One of the topics that comes up often here is the dangers of free feeding. But to each their own..

    Clearly you know more than I so I’ll put this to rest.. :)

  • Michael Mantion

    Hello I think there are a lot of opinions out there and since everyone can’t be right most people are wrong. Sure every cell in the body are made of amino acids. Not sure what the point of that statement is. Free feeding is the only healthy way to feed a dog or cat. If a pet finishes its food either it is not full or over eat not knowing when the next meal will be. I highly doubt you, a vet or a chart can tell how much food a dog or cat needs. I tend to ignore ignorant know it alls but please don’t write me again. I don’t have time to deal with stupid today. Cancer cells are NOT stopped by enzymes, harmful cancer cells are those that grow faster than other cells. eating all the “enzymes” or “proteins” in the world will not kill cancer cells. you spelt Apoptosis correctly but apparently that is all you know about the subject. Eating a high protein diet will not increase levels of protein in your blood. Your blood is the only way I know of that cells get nutrients. There has been research about using special proteins injected into blood stream to prevent cancer cells from spreading but that has absolutely nothing todo with dog food, sorry. “Carbohydrates are known to “feed” cancer cells” not sure what that means as all food we eat gets digested and passed into the bloodstream as simple sugars (aka carbohydrates). From everything I know the ONLY thing our cells use for food are carbohydrates. So YES carbohydrates feed cancer cells as well as EVERY cell in your body. So if you want to live, you will need to feed your cells, if you do not use food, your body will consume itself. IF you are suggesting that a high carbohydrate diet causes cancer, that is a complex subject with many dynamics. SOme studies have shown especially in women that extremely low carb diets like atkins have shown decreased levels of cancer. in addition when when healthy fats are used decreases in heart disease and other illness are observed. That said, even in no carb or low car diets, fat and proteins are converted to carbohydrates for your cells to use. I do feed my dog grain free, but mostly because they get lots of treats and other foods that are largely carbs. I do believe proteins are very beneficial and in some dogs that are less active lower levels of carbohydrates are needed. a 17 month old Golden Retriever needs ALL the fuel it can get. They also need all the exercise they can get. I have NEVER EVER been able to exhaust a 2 year old golden. So many late stage illnesses are caused by malnutrition often when the dogs are young. Enough Nutrients are key, even if they get excessive calories and get fat reserves they can be very healthy when young. I have taken the fattest dogs and made them skin in under a month with proper levels of activity and thought exercise. Ultimately like humans, dogs use food to move, breath and think. If a dog is malnourished the first sign is will be lack of focus, anxiety, moodiness and eventually lethargic behavior. If you stand up to do something and your dog doesn’t it is very likely that your dog needs more food. If once smart dogs don’t seem to get it or are not listening, it is very likely they need food. Once a dog finds out there will always be food in the bowl they will only eat what they need. True dogs with hip problems often can not burn enough calories and get fat which is not good. But we aren’t talking about a dog with mobility issues we are talking about hyper active 2 year old retrievers and thus more food is better then less food, 27% is enough protein, but good for your dog to get the wet stuff, more protein may cause cramping but will not cause serious long term harm. SO I am fine with the dog getting wet food, but no doctor should tell a women with young retrieves that 27% protein is not enough. This is just the opinions of those who spent a great deal of time compiling a great deal of useful fact and logic base conclusions. I myself have never been part of any scientific study so my opinion is not worth it. Please research the benefits of free feeding from a site that has scientific and peer reviewed data.

  • Shawna

    Hi Patty,

    IgA and mucin protect the gut from food intolerances etc. If pup is producing adequate IgA/mucin than a reaction is less likely to be seen. The body is still having to deal with the problem food but no symptoms. From what I understand, with continued feeding of the problem food the body can not keep the production of IgA up and the lectins then bind with the gut wall instead of IgA. Now you start to see symptoms.

    Probiotics are helpful in that they too create IgA/mucin. I’ve read that in several different places but here’s one “By taking a good quality probiotic you’ll help stimulate adequate mucin and secretory IgA production.3,4 And controlling your stress response will help prevent the over production of IgA and maintain immune balance in the gut to improve your tolerance to lectins.” http://institutefornaturalhealing.com/2009/07/lectins-a-little-known-trouble-maker/

    They now have a “supplement” that some people with gluten intolerance can take. The lectin binds with the supplement, N-acetyl glucosamine, sparing the IgA/mucin or gut wall.

  • Shawna

    Not all agree but some feel that higher amounts of protein are optimal because of all the needs for amino acids the body has. EVERY cell of the body is made from amino acids found in protein. Cancer cells are stopped by enzymes, made from amino acids, that trigger these cells to die (called apoptosis). Other enzymes are used to digest the food eaten. Puppies would need more than adults due to the cellular turnover rate.

    Free feeding isn’t really a good option as the fats are likely to go bad rather quickly in the foods. This creates free radicals that the body then has to deal with. Even if free feeding wasn’t problematic, pup is still getting the same protein percent per calorie fed.

    Carbohydrates are known to “feed” cancer cells. If you have that low of protein you either have to have high fat (which can be problematic) or high carb. Since Goldens are a breed prone to cancer, I think I’d keep the carbs lower for them. Just my opinion though…

  • Michael Mantion

    I think you may want to get a new ve if he feels that 27% protein is not enough. So long as you free feed your dog they will get as much protein and calories that they need. Not sure why you would need to use canned food. I mean good for the dogs but still seems odd a vet would recommend that much protein for young adult dogs. They just need a lot of calories, far more then the recommendation on the bag. most goldens need 2-3x the food of a non-retriever dog.

  • JanesGreatDanes

    We have 6 adult great danes and fed them the ND, they don’t like the salmon so we go back and forth for variety with the turkey and beef. … No issues at all.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Kirkland Signature Nature’s Domain Salmon made Hound Dog Mom’s original list of foods that are OK for large breed dogs, but that list was grain free and 4 and 5 star only, so that doesn’t necessarily answer your question. You can call the company and ask for their as fed calcium level.

  • aurigan

    Any idea on the Calcium content in this food? I’ve feed it to my Corgis and Aussies for over a year now. they love it, coats are lovely and it is easy for me to get. But, I am thinking of looking for a Large Breed Puppy food that I can monitor the calcium content better. This brand doesn’t list it. Any suggestions?

  • Pattyvaughn

    Raw fed dogs are noted for poop that has little smell at all and they get a much higher protein level than this food has, so it has to be digestability or something else affecting the poop smell, not just protein level. I know that for some dogs, horrible gas is an issue for anaerobic bacteria eating the undigested protein. I wonder if that can be a poop issue as well. If you care to see if it helps, probiotics and digestive enzymes for a couple weeks should tell you.

  • Jennifer Caldwell

    I have two dogs and we have been feeding them the salmon mix as well – we used to feed them a well known brand and my black lab started to loose her fur – we tried everything fish oil, vitamins, etc. We where recommend this brand of food and where warned about the higher smell of feces (stronger smell) due to higher protein levels, which is a very true fact. But as another user below all of my dogs allergies have gone away and all of her fur is back and shinier than ever. I personally have not noticed any weight gain. I really love this product and appreciate there is a comparable grain free product out there for a good price – especially when I have two large dogs to feed.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Dog food manufacturers are not required to report sodium levels, so the only way to know is to contact the company and ask. They may or may not be able to tell you. But with no one else reporting sodium levels, you don’t have anything to compare the info to, unless you contact another company to get their info. Crazy system we have.

  • Laurie

    I have seven dogs and recently switched to ND Turkey. They all become very thirsty after eating this food. Has anyone else noticed this? Is it high in salt?

  • Crazy4cats

    Very interesting. Thank you.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Richard Darlington believes that over time the gut can become healthy enough that the reaction goes away, because partially digested proteins don’t make it through the gut wall anymore. I’m not sure if that really is the case or not. But I can tell you that when a dog(or person for that matter) has time to clear all the histamine out of the system, the reactions lessen. When the immune system is hyper-responsive, every little thing sets off a reaction, but when the immune system has a chance to calm down, reactions are slower. My dog that is intolerant to chicken can handle eating a meal of chicken with no visible reaction, but if I feed him chicken for 3 or 4 days in a row, then I’ll start to see something going on.

  • Crazy4cats

    Patty-
    Once an intolerance like this is created, can the gut become healthy again and the food be tolerated again at a later date? Or will the dog be allergic or intolerant forever?

  • Pattyvaughn

    We believe that some of these allergy/intolerance issues are from being on the same food long term. It creates an unhealthy gut, which allows partially undigested proteins to enter the blood stream, which causes an immune reaction, creating a food intolerance.

  • Staff lover

    Great website. Thanks! We’ve been on the Kirkland salmon mix and our Staffie’s allergies have really cleared up. Not sure why she’d get these allergies after at least 2 years on her former food, but hopefully it really was her diet and not some seasonal issue. She loves the salmon n sweet potato mix by the way. We no longer give her Milkbones either in an attempt to keep her off all wheat.

  • Bob K

    Maggie – Also a raw egg a week is a cheep protein additive. Psst. My dog gets some meat scraps from the table in their bowl.

  • Maggie

    Low animal protein made it 3.5 stars.

  • Maggie

    I’ve been feeding my 17 month Golden /lab Retriever ND since she was 4 months. I fed her the Kirkland Puppy food before that. She had loose stools, gas, and bad body odor. The vet told me she needs to be on a grain free diet.I then discovered ND at Costco.She prefers Turkey over the Salmon recipe .The vet told me that 27%(ND), is not enough protein for a dog her age.So, addition to her dry food, I give her a can of the 5 star Cuts and Gravy canned food. It has 44% protein. I also started feeding her canned pumpkin. She loves it!

  • GW

    Yes we have German Shepherd and the male has been having ear infections for a long time and we did a spot allergy report and found that hes allergic to lots of stuff thats why am on this website .We bought this Costco
    Nature’s Domain Grain Free Turkey Meal and Sweet Potato dog food

  • Julie

    I feed my dogs wild caught Alaskan pollock that I buy frozen at Food4Less for about $1.70 per pound. It is a high quality protein and a good source of Omega 3s, although not as good as say salmon (but much cheaper), but better than tilapia. It is not high in the food chain, like tuna, which is good for both your dogs and the environment. Maybe your little guy would do okay on that as a source of meat protein. I do cook mine, but you don’t have to.

  • Pattyvaughn

    They are not the same. If you look at the ingredients lists and guaranteed analysis, you will see that they are all different. However, one of them might be close enough to work.

  • Claire

    Costco, Diamond, 4health (TSC) are all made by the same company, so you should be able to find the same food just with a different name… They also make Taste of the Wild but they use other meats.

  • Mike

    Interesting. Just started feeding our Aussie this food and first thing I noticed was that she’s gaining quite a bit of weight. Good to know we’re not alone.

  • Pattyvaughn

    It definitely sounds like a food intolerance issue. Keep the ingredient list to compare if you ever have this problem with another food.

  • Betsy Greer

    Hi GreatDanemom,

    I pulled up the ingredients for the beef formula. I’d be curious to see how the ingredients for this formula compare to that of the previous beef formula (assuming there was one) or to the ingredients of what you were previously feeding. Are you feeding this exclusively or as part of a rotation diet?

    Are these the ingredients in what you’re currently feeding:

    INGREDIENTS

    Beef meal, sweet potatoes, garbanzo beans, peas, potatoes, canola oil, potato protein, pea protein, egg product, tomato pomace, potato fiber, flaxseed, brewers yeast, natural flavor, fish meal, salt, choline chloride, dried chicory root, yucca schidigera extract, tomatoes, blueberries, raspberries, dried Enterococcus faecium fermentation product, dried Lactobacillus acidophilus fermentation product, dried Lactobacillus casei fermentation product, dried Lactobacillus plantarum fermentation product, dried Trachoderma longibrachiatum fermentation extract, vitamin E supplement, iron proteinate, zinc proteinate, copper proteinate, ferrous sulfate, zinc sulfate, copper sulfate, potassium iodide, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), manganese proteinate, manganous oxide, ascorbic acid, vitamin A supplement, biotin, niacin, calcium pantothenate, manganese sulfate, sodium selenite, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), vitamin B12 supplement, riboflavin (vitamin B2), vitamin D supplement, folic acid.

    This particular food is really heavy on the potatoes, legumes, peas, etc. My guess is that your pups might be having an issue with all of the starches. I’d look for something else that doesn’t contain any white potato and feed it as part of a rotation diet of foods by varying manufacturers that use different named animal protein sources and varying starches.

    I have a dog that would develop a yeast infection in his ears if he got a whiff of this stuff. I switch his food constantly to avoid prolonged exposure to problematic ingredients, but avoid white (and generally sweet) potato altogether.

  • GreatDanemom

    Has anyone had a problem with getting ear infections? Seems we tried the new Beef variety and all 3 of my Danes are now shaking their ears and have red ears . like some sort of allergy ?? never had a problem on this food before .

  • Linted

    Our two wheaten terriers have been eating Nature’s Domain for about a year. They seemed to be doing well, but lately they won’t eat it or the Wellness 95% Salmon that I mix with it. I have been blaming the canned food but now, after reading comments here think it is likely the kibble as well. I did try the older, pickier dog on Canidae bison kibble which he ate so I guess a switch is in order.
    They are both grazers of grass and weeds and like the previous poster they will occasionally eat dirt so I think something is missing in their diet.
    I had them both on a raw diet but it didn’t work for me. I was so enthusiastic about the raw diet. The older dog loved it and did well but was allergic to chicken, turkey and beef and began gnawing on his feet and tail. The younger dog, for some reason hates the texture of raw and spits it right back out! I was reluctant to switch them back to commercial dog food but it was too costly to try to source out raw that wasn’t readily available in the grocery store.
    I wish I could just find something that the older dog isn’t allergic to, and likes!

  • Pattyvaughn

    Changing dog food often is only a big no no for the dog food companied that want instant customer loyalty. I change after every bag, and so do a lot of regulars here. We believe that no dog food is perfect, so you should not feed any one food long term. Also when you feed one food long term all the different strains of probiotics that that food does not support die off. A healthy gut has as many different strains as possible, so feeding only one food long term is not healthy to the gut for your dog, any more than it is for you.

  • April

    We had our Alaskan Malamute puppy on Blue Buffalo until he was one. When we adopted his half sister she was on Kirkland Dry dog food. When our pup turned 1 we switched him to Kirkland. Molly she’ll eat anything. Toby our pup he started eating really slow, spitting food out but finally would eat. We started noticing increasing of eating grass & vomiting. Toby was really sensitive to milk bones as well. So we did some research on Nature’s Domain. About 3 months ago we started feeding both this. They both gobble it up and the vomiting has really reduced. Now the problem we have is dirt eating (both) which can get excessive & watching their weight. Vet said feed less of grain free, grain free dog food has a tendency of increasing dogs weight. The only other food our dogs get are carrots and Natural Balance LIT bones. I feel like we are almost there with the right dog food but something else seems to be lacking. According to articles maybe vitamins and minerals. It’s so hard to get the right answers & changing dog food often is a big no no. Anyone else out there have dirt eating dogs?

  • Pattyvaughn

    Sounds like fat level has gone up. Carbs and proteins have the same number of calories, but fat is double.

  • Kerry

    We have been feeding this product for nearly 3 years. Over the last 6-9 months our dogs eating the same amount and having the same activity have gained a dramatic amount of weight. Something must of changed in the food!

  • Aussiemom

    Yes Yes Yes! I was feeding my two aussie shepherds natures Domaine Turkey and Sweet potatoe, half way through the bag they quit eating it…they would actualy take akibble into there mouth and then quickly spit it out. We took it back.my guess is the chicken fat is not trated properly and goes bad…

  • Deb

    Yes, my boxer-mix vomits on it too. I wish it agreed with her (due to price) but had to return the bag to Costco.

  • POODLEMOMMA1

    I have done EXTENSIVE research on the supplements, and I found “YOUNG AT HEART” it is incredible!!!! and the dogs will try to eat it dry off the floor if i spill some!! They also have a “Joint Strong” formula that I also like the results. Personally I mix the 2 together for my arthritic Standard Poodle (13) and we have tried MANY,MANY,MANY, other supplements, liquid, powder, pills, etc, you name it but I just love the results of the “YOUNG AT HEART” I order it from k9power.com. They are the direct shipper for the company. check it out!!

  • Shmoodle

    We have tried both and he seems to do well on both kinds.

  • Jim

    I’ll look into it… Thanks!

  • Catherine Boxers

    I too have had this problem recently and I have 8 that have been turning their nose up at it – I’ll put canned on it and they’ll eat it and whatever kibble the canned touched but leave any kibble that didn’t get a dose of canned on it – wonder what’s up with this – have been worrying about it…

  • Catherine Boxers

    I too found it hard for the pups to manage and way too long of a soak time – what I did … was run a bunch of the dry kibble thru the food processor and made crumbs which I stored and measured out when needed – worked so much easier – could add both formula and water to this mix depending on age of pup – as they got older I processed it into just smaller chucks and not “crumbs” (this can also be done in a nutri bullet type machine if you don’t have a food processor…

  • neezerfan

    Are you near a Tractor Supply? They have 4Health which might work for you.

  • flitpriss

    No matter how highly rated the kibble is, it is always best to add some real animal protein and fresh veggies. I add a raw egg three times a week, also get inexpensive cans of mackerel, cook up some liver, or pork chops on sale or chicken parts. Also add a dollop of plain yogurt a few times a week. Bottom line, I always add something ‘extra’ at every meal. I feed my 95 lb blue tick / golden retriever / shepherd mix twice a day. He is 71/2, never had a health problem and the vet says he is extremely healthy. I also run him a few miles a day – take him with me when I jog.

  • Jim

    Hello All! I have a 3.5 yr old St. Bernard, approximately 120 lbs, and he does really well with this food. Unfortunately, we’ve moved to an area where the closest Costco is over an hour away. I have enough to get him through another month, but I need to switch him to a different grain-free food due to allergies. Any suggestions that are similar to this price point (30 lbs for 35 bucks, approximately)?

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    What Storm’s Mom said plus the fact that part of that protein number is from potato protein and pea protein in the other recipes. It sounds like it’s working for you, so it may be 3.5 stars but when it works for your dogs, it’s 5 stars! You can always add your own protein extras like scrambled egg, cottage cheese and canned fish, leftover meat.

  • Storm’s Mom

    There’s not enough protein in it to warrant a higher rating.

    125+lb German Shepherds?!?!?!

  • Brenda

    Still wondering why Kirkland’s Grain Free Nature’s Domain is still a 3-1/2 star. I did feed my two 125+ pound German Shepherds Diamond Naturals when they were younger and they had loose stools, but have done much better on Kirkland’s. When they were puppies I fed Chicken Soup. Still seem to do much better on Kirkland’s. Have thought about Blue Buffalo and/or Taste of Wild, but I really can’t afford that, hence their size although they really don’t eat too much, but as all know, dog food can be very expensive.

  • Sage

    My french bulldog has been on this brand (and similar brands) for years, and she will sometimes skip a day or two of eating the kibble. We make up for it by giving her high quality treats (chicken/duck strips) but she will often go back to the old kibble and eat it merrily. If your dogs are eating from time to time, they might not need so much food to be satisfied. It’s hard to say though without witnessing it first hand.

  • Storm’s Mom

    Nutrisource GF Lamb Meal is a tiny kibble. Not sure about the others as I haven’t tried them.

  • Betsy Greer

    I’ve had Pure Vita in my shopping cart a time or two, but never ended up bringing any home.

  • Betsy Greer

    Petflow had trial sizes of Pulsar fish and chicken formulas as well as Amicus. The Pulsar trials are gone, but they still have the Amicus. One pound bags for .99 cents (maximum five per household).

    Mine are eating Canine Caviar right now and the kibble size is really tiny ~ about the same size and shape of a peppercorn.

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    No, I haven’t used PureVita. I could just take pictures of all the different kibbles I have and post them. Betsy has quite a stash too! We’re hoarders.

  • GSDsForever

    So, I would think Amicus from Horizon might be worth looking into, if Karen is looking to stay with a GF, something similar in ingredient list to ND. *Excellent* brand also; I’ve fed their Legacy formula.

  • GSDsForever

    Sandy,

    Wow also (lol) and these posts from you are really interesting and helpful.

    Have you thought about putting these in a thread, to put the info in one place, for small breed people needing smaller kibbles? I’ve seen people ask about this before.

    It’s really cool to me that you’ve listed multiple good brands/quality foods — because I can imagine it could be overwhelming for people out there trying to identify which brands make which sizes of kibbles that are also top brands.

    I like Nutrisource as a company. Do you know if any of their Pure Vita line or GF formulas are small sized? Just curious . . . since I’m a large breed person.

  • Storm’s Mom

    Wow!!

  • Pattyvaughn

    There it is and I guess that is the size I remember it being, just my peppercorns are smaller than yours. ;-)

  • Pattyvaughn

    I’m assuming there is a picture with that but it hasn’t shown up yet.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Well, I haven’t used the NutriSource Small/Medium Breed Puppy in quite some time, many years actually. They must have shrunk it since I used it, because I don’t remember it being quite that tiny. But I do remember the puppies I had at the time doing really great on it.

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    Here it is next to a small kibble. Actually Nutrisource small/med breed puppy and Nature’s Select Hi-Pro (puppy) are the same size & shape. Epigen is xmall too but it is shaped like guinea pig pellets.

  • Storm’s Mom

    LOL @ “the next size up would be Amicus and Nature’s Logic”!!! I never imagined I’d hear “next size up” and “Nature’s Logic” in the same sentence!!! NL kibble is TINY… can’t imagine how a smaller kibble could possibly be made haha, but I guess NutriSource found a way!!!

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    Maybe the puppies can eat Nutrisource Small/Medium Breed Puppy (actually the adults can eat it too). It is the tiniest kibble I’ve ever seen! Like the size of a peppercorn but flat and triangle shaped. Then the next size up would be Amicus and Nature’s Logic. I would call these extra small.

  • Pattyvaughn

    If you really want do feed this to your puppies, then try a coffee grinder or a blender.

  • Karen Fischer-Smith

    I have show dogs (toy breed) and the dogs love the food. However, It needs to be made into a smaller bite for small dogs. It would be much easier to eat. Also the kibble size is way to big for toy breed puppies-and it takes forever to soak in water to get soft-so we have started feeding our pups another food (Wellness Small Bite for Puppies).

  • Ashton

    Same thing with our Goldendoodle. Got thru half the bag and now she won’t even go near it… She then threw up after I tried to feed her a piece. But she will eat canned dog food!

  • Ashton

    My Goldendoodle just did the same thing. We got thru 75% of the bag and now she hasn’t touched it for 5 days. But she will eat canned dog food. I messages natures domain with product info to see if it’s a bad bag. Not sure what the deal is

  • BouvBounce

    I just read that “fake beef” was seized in China (9/24/13). Can you tell me where Costco sources their meat products used in Nature’s Domain? I have been using the Turkey product and just bought a bag of the Beef product to try it out.

  • BlkHrt

    Has anyone experienced their dog getting sick on this product? My son has been feeding his Boxer this product and he vomits and gets diarrhea.

  • GSDsForever

    It could be the food, i.e. they are tired of it, don’t like it that much after the novelty wore off, or even the fat/protein has spoiled a little, with dogs having much more sensitive senses of smell, etc.

    If you are using a plastic container to hold the food though, many dogs begin rejecting food from picking up some of that plastic taste/smell on the food after it has been stored for a while. Just another possibility.

  • GSDsForever

    Jen, I’m glad to hear your dog is doing so well and really likes her food.
    I do want to respond, for others who come here, to a few points:
    This isn’t a high protein food at 24%. Higher protein foods start at about 34-35%. But even so, high protein foods do not make dogs gain too much weight. Carb heavy diets can, as can simply overfeeding an inadequate exercise on any diet.
    When an inexpensive food *appears* to be “almost identical” to a more costly brand, here are a few reasons — which extend beyond Costco’s and Diamond’s greater buying power:
    1)lower protein overall, esp. from meat/fish
    Higher protein formulas with more meat are more expensive because it is a premium ingredient.
    2)lower grade of meat meal or fish meal
    high ash/low protein vs. low ash/high protein
    defatted/oil stripped fish meals vs Omega 3 rich
    For example, salmon meal can have low digestibility, low protein, and low fat because it includes lots of bone and indigestible content and the oil has been removed (sold separately at profit). Manufacturers pay more for higher grades, just as they pay more for testing for contaminants, etc.
    3)farmed fish vs. wild caught
    grass fed, free range meats vs large factory farmed meats w/industrial feed
    4)lower overall formula digestibility
    Nature’s Domain Salmon & Sweet Potato is 84% digestible vs. some more expensive foods that are much more highly digestible.
    Compare that to formulas that are meat based and 94-95% digestible.
    5)Several carbs/plant based ingredients following a single animal protein source, often with “ingredient splitting” of the same or similar ingredients:
    potato . . . potato fiber
    peas . . . pea protein
    sweet potatoes AND white potatoes
    This formula contains A LOT of carb heavy plant based ingredients, and uses ingredient splitting, which manipulates the order of ingredients. So by weight, salmon meal appears #1. But it is more likely that sweet potatoes/white potatoes/peas are the #1 ingredient. 24% protein makes this more likely. And much of this formula’s protein will come from vegetables, not the salmon.
    6)Inexpensive fat source: Canola
    Industrially produced canola oil vs. Omega 3 rich fats left in the fish and/or added expensive oils like cold pressed wild salmon, herring, etc.

  • Elizabeth Gillioz

    I believe Salmon oil is better. That is the major supplement of many dobermans in conformation competitions.

  • slwpdx

    My pom/border collie was eating the Kirkland Natures Domain and suddenly won’t touch it. He picks out the kibble or won’t go near the bowl at all. I had to switch him to the canned Costco brand that gets 5 stars and he loves that. I don’t know if I should try to go back to a dry food at all or not.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com/ Mike Sagman

    Hi MikeC,

    Although they’re both made by Diamond, these are certainly NOT the same product. Taste of the Wild appears to contain much more meat and doesn’t use potato protein to boost its reported protein content.

    Please read my detailed reports for even more differences. Hope this helps.

  • MikeC

    Why does Kirkland get 3.5 stars, while Taste of the Wild gets 4.5 stars? They are the same product.

  • Bob3rd

    Yes I’ve had my dogs do that. This is their main food and I think they just got tired of it although it took a bit longer than yours. I usually just mix other brands in with it including canned dog food to keep them interested.

  • Home Brewer

    Definitely not a valid review. I have returned everything from opened dog food to washed (and shrunken) jeans to Costco. It’s just too bad people can’t accept that Costco might carry decent dog food, and have to wright false reviews bashing it.

  • Betsy Greer

    Hi Tanya,

    If your dog did well on the Orijen also, maybe you could occasionally rotate in a bag of it between bags of Kirkland. The variety would be beneficial to his digestive system, prevent overexposure to potential allergens and give him a wider variety of proteins and you wouldn’t have the full-time expense of using Orijen alone that way.

  • Tanya Barnes

    i also have a GSD which we just adopted (5yrs old) we first bought origen but after a month knew it was too costly so we have just bought the Kirland’s blue bag as i read good comments and it sell’s at a good price :) hope we have luck with it :)

  • Kristin

    Has anyone had an issue with their dogs starting to eat this food and then just stopping? I’m not sure what the deal is with our two goldens (if it’s actually the food or something else, one had surgery on his ear about the time this started). We made it through about half a bag of food and they were eating normally, then all of a sudden it is like pulling teeth to get them to eat. Never had this issue with any food they’ve eaten previously. They were on Nature’s Recipe Grain Free for a long time before that. Ingredients seem about the same between the two. May not be the food at all, but just curious. They do seem to be more thirsty since we’ve started this food. We’ve tried salmon and chicken and they don’t seem to prefer (or maybe dislike) one more than the other.

  • Jen

    We use the Kirkland Nature’s Domain Salmon and Sweet Potato for our GSD who needs to be GF! Ingredients were almost identical to a more costly brand. She LOVES it and her coat is soo shiny that people comment on it. No weight problem with all the protein – she is actually on the thin side. I think they gave this a lower rating – we LOVE this dog food and have tried MANY others!

  • Pingback: What is everyone feeding? - Poodle Forum - Standard Poodle, Toy Poodle, Miniature Poodle Forum ALL Poodle owners too!

  • bonfire62

    “genetically modified rapeseed” that just sounds harmful!

  • Crazy4cats

    I’m sorry, I don’t know. I don’t think we have them in our area. I work at distribution, not the buying office. I did try to find them on computer and couldn’t find. Are they called Yummy Chummies? Do you have an item# off a receipt? We just have the chicken and lamb jerky treats in our area that are made by Del Monte. Our prices are so great on our pet stuff. I just wish we used a different manufacturer for our food.

  • Betsy Greer

    Hi Crazy4cats,

    I’ve been giving my dogs the WildSky Salmon Jerky Treats from Costco. My dogs are absolutely crazy about them! This morning, my Cavalier was sitting in her crate waiting for hers as I was getting ready to head out the door ~ the sad part was, she wasn’t getting one because we were all leaving, including her and she just didn’t realize it because she wanted that treat so badly. : )

    From everything I see on the bag, the treats are completely sourced and manufactured in the USA. I should probably just email Costco myself, but I thought I’d ask you here instead after I read your post this morning.

  • Crazy4cats

    Yes, Costco absolutely takes everything back. Unfortunately a couple of years ago we changed the policy on electronics. They have to be returned within 90 days. But the manufacturers warranty is extended to 2 years and they also offer free concierge service for these products. Technology is happening so fast and customers would bring products back just to get the latest and greatest. I can’t imagine refund clerk being mad about it. They do returns their entire shift!

  • LabsRawesome

    I really wouldn’t worry about a half star drop. Just give the dog some quality canned (Kirkland cuts in gravy) is very good. (5 star) and/or some other quality protein like eggs, sardines, ect. You can significantly boost the quality of any kibble by doing this. :)

  • LabsRawesome

    Yeah they do. They took back my xbox360 when it froze up. And it was 3 years old. They gave me what I originally paid for it. I bought a new one off of Costco.com, and had money left over. :) No other store would have done that. That’s why I buy stuff at Costco, they really do take everything back.

  • Pattyvaughn

    There are a few good ingredients in it, but they are kind of overwhelmed by the not so good. Toxed once looked at Missing Link right before I had been set to buy some and she quickly convinced me that were too many sources of MSG and that fresh fish oil and a chicken neck would do far more for my dogs than this. I look for more than just one joint supplement in a joint supplement so this wouldn’t do it for me that way either.

  • Betsy Greer

    Hi Patty,

    Do you think this supplement she’s using is OK for a dog with pano? I’m not certain which specific formula she’s using, but this one is fairly representative of all of the product offerings that are hip & joint targeted:

    THE MISSING LINK ULTIMATE CANINE HIP, JOINT & COAT FORMULA
    Ground Flaxseed, Glucosamine Hydrochloride, Freeze Dried Beef Liver, Cane Molasses, Rice Bran, Primary Dried Yeast, Sunflower Seed, Dehydrated Alfalfa Meal, Dried Carrot, Ground Beef Bone, Dried Fish Solubles, Freeze Dried Oyster, Ground Barley Grass, Dried Kelp, Zinc Methionine Complex, Lecithin, Selenium Yeast, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B6), Niacin (Vitamin B3), Garlic, Taurine, Yucca Schidigera Extract, Riboflavin (Vitamin B2), Thiamine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B1), Folic Acid, and Vitamin B12 Supplement.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Hi Megan
    You dog is the first time I’ve heard of pano being diagnosed on the back legs. Has she had any issues with it in her front legs too? Betsy gave you some great advice. Protein should not be a problem, but any excess weight could be problematic. Keep her thin until she is completely done growing. Turmeric really does help, 1/8-1/4 teaspoon twice a day. Try adding a little apple cider vinegar(the unfiltered one with the mother) to her food. I mix it in water first then pour it over the food, about 1/2 teaspoon per cup of food. That will help with digestion as well as helping with the pano. Please do find a few foods that you can rotate her on. It will help her gut health so much. Good luck with your girl.

  • Betsy Greer

    Hey guys,

    I wanted to bump this post from last night to see what you thought of Megan’s pup’s condition.

    She has a 13 month old 41 pound spayed Springer Spaniel / Border Collie X with pano. She’s been feeding Nature’s Domain Turkey for a while now and is giving a daily supplement called The Missing Link. That supplement seems potentially problematic to me, but wanted to see what you all thought.

  • Betsy Greer

    Hey Shawna! Just the lady I was looking for! ; ) When you have a chance, could you please take a look at Megan’s post and see what you think about her pup.

  • Betsy Greer

    Nice x-rays. : )

    My dog, like yours had no other conditions; ie: dysplasia, which was of course what I was most worried about. Whew, huh…

    Pano is very painful, but at least it does resolve itself. Do try the turmeric, it should help. Have you by chance consulted with a holistic veterinarian. They will offer some additional suggestions and your pup might benefit from chiropractic care like mine did. Try this link to find a holistic practitioner to add to your veterinary team: http://www.ahvma.org/Widgets/FindVet.html.

    BTW, I know you mentioned her weight…, what do you think of her body condition? Does she had a defined waist when you look at her from above and a defined underbelly? Can you easily feel her ribs and the notches in her spine, but not see them? Did your vet tell you the her weight was OK?

    Your pup is fully grown, so the Calcium level in the ND shouldn’t be a concern. Personally, I’d switch her to grain free and white potato free. I’d probably also look to avoid nightshades as well because they contain lectins which in turn, cause inflammation. My sensitive stomach boy just did a rotation of Horizon Legacy (grain and white potato free with no garbanzos or lentils) and he did awesome on it. That might be one for your to try also.

    Speaking of foods, I would start taking a look at getting a solid foundation of several foods that you like for her and rotate them for better overall gut health. The longer she’s on one food, the more likely she’ll have GI upset when exposed to something different, so you might want to switch her slowly, over a period of weeks, and offer a spoonful of plain, canned pumpkin if she seems to have some loose stool.

    But, back to the Pano issue, I wish some of the others were here tonight, because I’m just not sure about that Missing Link supplement. Each of the varieties contains ground flaxseed as the first ingredient. Flax is an endocrine disruptor and even though yours has been spayed, I would suppose it could still be problematic when taken daily. I’d prefer to get my Omegas from fish oil instead as it’s more readily utilized. Also, the supplement has grains in it which create inflammation. And, the food your feeding contains white potato, which contains lectins and therefore inflammation.

    Again, there are many others far more knowledgeable about this sort of thing than me, so I’ll be sure to bump your post to bring their attention to it as I feel you need much more feedback than mine.

  • Megan

    Here is a photo of one of her radiographs :

    http://tinypic.com/r/2h55s01/5

  • Megan

    Thanks for the reply!

    She is eating the turkey formula of the natures domain. I like that its grain free and I definitely like the price tag, but may be willing to switch to a different food as long as it agrees with her (she is very food sensitive) and isn’t too much more than what she’s on now. She also gets The Missing Link daily.

    She was diagnosed technically twice, once at 6 months (without radiographs – it was a free vet visit at a low cost clinic that came with her adoption) and again at 10 months to get a second opinion. That time includes two radiographs. Both vets did full ROM tests and said they did not feel/see any hip displasia, arthritis or luxating patellas.

    The problem started around 5 months, I adopted her from a humane society at 4 months, and she is now 13 months old. She is 41lbs and is spayed.

  • Betsy Greer

    My dog had pano as well and the first thing my TCVM vet wanted me to do was slim him down. He never recommended lowering his protein at all and in fact, thought that the combination of raw and high protein kibble / canned diet my pup was eating at the time was just fine.

    My vet also recommended turmeric ~ one capsule per meal for my dog was the dosage, but I also bought it in bulk and gave him an 1/8th of a teaspoon at each meal. Turmeric is a powerful, natural anti-imflammatory.

    My dog was a 70 pound, approximately seven month old Golden Retriever at the time and he’s now about 14 months old and one “fortunate” thing about pano, is that generally it corrects itself by the time the dog is about a year old.

    How old is your pup? What’s his current weight? How was the pano diagnosed? And, what are you feeding him currently?

  • Megan

    Does anyone know of a dog food that is in the same price range as natures domain but has lower than 26% protein? My springer spaniel/border collie has horrible pano and all the research I’ve done says that the lower protein the better.

  • Island

    i agree with the other comment. Costco takes back anything and everything with the exception of pricey electronics/technology.

    I have to question the validity of this review.

  • neezerfan

    Costco takes anything back.

  • aussiejo

    I brought 2 bags of the turkey … but bags are filled with bugs /wiggle things.
    Contact Costco to bad no refund no exchange plus she got so mad at me for bring them back. Contact company who makes it and still waiting for refund.
    Buyers be ward can make your dogs sick lucky I noticed them so my daughter service dog and our 2 other dogs don’t get sick but daughter is sick and think it for the bugs.
    Seeing doctors tomorrow I am so mad plus I am 1st time and last time customer

  • Kikki

    Thanks for the reply. I’ve never bought any personally (only bought as gift for a friend abroad that loves them) so I’ve never checked the back for the ingredient list, when I made the question, I was assuming it was purely dried berries.

    But thanks again, will go to the frozen dept. Instead :)

  • Sue

    Thank you, Patty. By the label, the protein difference is only 1%, but I can see that the TOTW probably has a higher percent of protein in the form of fish (rather than vegetable proteins) than the ND. For the price difference and how well our dog is doing, I will stick with the Nature’s Domain for now.

  • Pattyvaughn

    They are probably very close in quality. The ingredients probably come from the same places, but last time this question came up the TOTW was still higher protein, I imagine it still is. Dr. Mike is adjusting his ratings and taking in to account more when there are other protein boosting ingredients, so when he reviews TOTW again, it’s ratings may go down a little, IDK, but it is still slightly better.

  • Sue

    I adopted a “young” 8 year old golden 7 months ago. She was in great shape, except for a terrible skin problem and itching all over. She was eating Iams kibble. I switched her to the Kirkland Nature’s Domain Salmon & Sweet Potato, and her skin quickly healed – no more itching, scabs or flakes. She looks perfect. …but, I don’t think she is wild about the taste. My Costco finally just got the turkey and sweet potato. Both versions seem to have equal amounts of Omega 3 and 6 fatty acids, but I’m wondering if the salmon (fish oils) are better for her skin. I’m experimenting now with switching to the turkey, or perhaps will mix them. Any thoughts on whether the benefit is in the salmon? I, too, am disappointed to see the downgrade in rating of this food, and it is scary to see all the bad reviews, but we seem to be doing great with it. I’m wondering why the Taste of the Wild Pacific Stream Formula is still getting 4 stars, since (I think) it is basically the same formula, same manufacturer. I would love to know if Nature’s Domain has the same quality of ingredients as Taste of the Wild.

  • losul

    Hi Kikki. I wouldn’t feed those dried berries. I think if you check the ingredients, they contain alot of added sugar. Plus, I think being dried, they have a much tougher skin on them, making them less apt to be digested properly, especially if swallowed whole.

    Instead you could go to the frozen dept. and get bags of frozen blueberries, mixed berries (blue, black, ras, straw) etc. These are what I use, along with wild elderberries, aronia, and blackberries.

  • Kikki

    Ditto on what Betsy said. While you do have a Costco membership, you should try their 5-star canned food “Cuts in Gravy”. It’s the cheapest 5-star canned food you’ll ever find ;)

    While we’re talking about Costco, does anyone know if it’s okay to feed the dogs some of Kirkland’s dried blueberries and cranberries? Although fresh is best, dried should be okay, or?

  • Pattyvaughn

    If you look above the yellow box where it lists the names of the formulas that are covered by this review, you will see that the Beef formula was given 3 stars. It did not lower the rating on the other 2 formulas.

  • The K9 Mentor

    They based the review on the newest flavor – Nature’s Domain Beef. I believe that it was determined to be a lower quality than the Salmon & Sweet Potato formula and therefore brought down the star rating.

  • Betsy Greer

    Oh Lynn,

    You’ll find lots of other fun things at Costco that you never knew you needed. ; )

    If you decide to discontinue your membership, Costco will always give you a refund for it.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Their canned food has the higher rating, not the dry. The Cuts and Gravy.

  • Lynn

    I should have also added my shepherd has EPI and has to have a grain free diet. She is an expensive girl, with her enzymes, b-12 and probiotics and I was trying to save a bit of money by blending the two foods. My chow loves the Natures Domain turkey and is doing really well. I had to stop it for the shepherd as she started getting gassy and spitting up, I think she has a gluten and fat intolerance as well. I am thinking of blending with Annamaet Lean and Fit.

  • Lynn

    Crap, and I just joined Costco to try it for my Chow, as I can’t afford to keep them both on Back to Basics. She is doing really well on it, amazingly enough, she loves it and she isn’t pee dribbling anymore. Go figure.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Earthborn GF, Victor GF, 4Health GF – similar ratings, similar price.

  • b.obur

    Ok, Currently I have one dog on taste of the wild (6 month old Bernese Mountain Dog that I got a week ago) and one on Kirklands ND… I am wondering what foods are comparable to these 2 grain free etc.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com/ Mike Sagman

    Hi M. Pace,

    Nature’s Domain used to be rated 4 stars (it was never rated 5). However, please note I closed this updated version of our review with the following statement:

    Note: Although this recipe does not appear to have changed, we have lowered its rating due to the greater weight we now place on the use of plant-based meat protein substitutes.

    Hope this helps explain the slightly lower rating.

  • Germansheppups

    I think it was 4 stars before. Per the review it was downgraded as the rating standards have changed to reflect how much meat is used in the food.

  • M. Pace

    I switched from Nature’s Variety Instinct (grain-free) to Nature’s Domain since they were both rated 5 stars and the Kirkland’s Nature’s Domain was much cheaper. However, I came back to this site and was checking up on other dog foods and noticed that the Kirkland’s grain free is now rated lower at 3.5 stars. Does anyone know what happened? Is it no longer a good dog food? I stay in the 4-5 star range to make sure my dogs are getting the proper nutrients in their dog food.

    Thanks!

  • LabsRawesome

    Nature’s Domain is not made in China. It is made by Diamond. They have had several recalls. I would not recommend using 1 brand or formula for a whole entire year. Especially a fish based food, because due to the kibbling process, the fish oils used are probably rancid, after being exposed to such high temps. I do occasionally buy the Turkey ND, but I rotate between about 8 different brands.

  • Dog lover

    Re Kirkland Nature’s Domain. We have five large mixed breed dogs , a German shepherd, two golden retrievers, two border collies. We ran into a problem with Orijen salmon based dog food so we tried the salmon and sweet potato from Costco. The dogs looked very good for a year, but in Feb/March of this year, 2013, they started blowing coat, acting lethargic, refusing to finish their food. We have two friends that also switched to this food at the same time and one dog experienced unbelievable itching and her coat look like it was burned off. She was in agony. When I saw the similarities, I stopped the food and, in most dogs, saw an immediate improvement. When I contacted Kirkland, the verteriarian insisted it was environmental! It has taken a lot to bring my dogs back to the level of health they had previously and my older golden retriever appears to have permanent liver damage.
    I will never purchase a dog food from costco or made in china again.

  • Betsy Greer

    It seems that Costco prices vary by region. I seem to recall that a 30 pound bag was somewhere in the neighborhood of $29.00 at my Costco, which is in the Chicago area.

  • Dave’s Hounds

    no

  • Mishismom

    Can someone please tell me how much this food costs for how many lbs?

  • LabsRawesome

    My cats wouldn’t touch the Earthborn grain free fish formula. It probably smelled rancid to them. They love the grain free Primitive Feline tho.

  • Tom Crull

    I have been feeding my Greyhounds ND Salmon for over three years now and they are thriving on it. I was disappointed to see it downgraded to 3.5 stars. As for the mercury in Salmon, it depends on where its farmed, I feel safe on it. I eat absolutely NO SEAFOOD or any food product sourced from China. I eat mostly fish in my diet along with fresh fruits and veggies, the Paleo diet as prescribed by my cardiologist. Since ND Salmon and Taste of the Wild Salmon have basically the same ingredients and are made by the same manufacturer (Diamond), why is TOTW not down graded? As far as the kibble process degrading the Omega 3′s, my Greys all get Omega 3 supplements every day. Their coats are shiny, their stools are normal and they inhale the ND Salmon. I would be interested to see where Diamond sources their Salmon if any one knows.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Yeah I feel like I’ve mostly been reading to avoid eating fish (at least farmed and high mercury fish)? I generally hear no more than two servings per week for people. I’d be weary of even feeding an entirely fish-based kibble. I can’t imagine the effects on a dog of eating one day in and day out for a lifetime – especially one made with farmed salmon..

  • Pattyvaughn

    Um, you might want to consider that fish is recommended for the things that are in fish that are not protein, like fish oil, which is damaged in the kibbling process.

  • Hound Dog Mom
  • dsparil

    Even for humans doctors recommend fish as the primary protein source. Fish is a healthier meat than any other meat.

    My dog isn’t sensitive to chicken, but his coat did change for the better when I changed to fish as his primary protein source.

    For all intent and purpose, I feel that ND salmon is a superior formula than the regular kirkland chicken, brown rice, and vegetable formula.

  • Maryam

    Where do you get Canidae for cheaper than Kirkland?

  • Hound Dog Mom

    It’s great that you’ve found a food that is working for your dog however there’s nothing about one protein source that makes it superior to another. Certain proteins can be less favorable for certain dogs if that dog has a sensitivity to it but you can’t expect Dr. Mike to up the rating of a lower quality formula because your dog doesn’t have a sensitivity to the ingredients or downgrade a formula because you’re dog does have a sensitivity to the ingredients. In fact, I personally would avoid fish-based foods as after the rendering and extrusion process the delicate omega 3′s are likely rancid.

  • dsparil

    I think the Salmon formula rating downgrade should be reconsidered because although I agree that this food is a little low on the protein side, it’s poultry free, and the natural fish oils keeps his coat healthier than the other foods on here that do have a 4 star rating including the regular Kirkland Signature that maintained the 4 star rating.

    In other words, although 24% guaranteed minimum protein is on the lower end, I still think that fish protein is a superior protein than chicken, lamb, or beef.

  • GSDsForever

    What breed do you have that hot spots are considered to be a breed trait?

    Just curious . . . as I would have thought that would not be primarily genetics/breed based.

  • GSDsForever

    mcbburton,

    I’m really glad you found something that your dog was not allergic to and that your dog is feeling better. That can be such a relief. My own dog is allergic to chicken. So I understand.

    My recommendation for the turkey formula vs the salmon certainly wasn’t meant for those with a turkey specific allergy! I just recommend avoiding farmed salmon due to toxic contamination levels and considering skipping the higher priced fish foods when they aren’t Omega 3 rich anyway.

    We had success with fish based formulas too. I’d recommend my own favorite fish based food to you to try sometime, Timberwolf Organics’s Ocean Blue in either the Classic Formula (moderate protein, and grain free/sweet potatoes instead) or Platinum Formula (high protein and grain free also). It is more expensive, but its ingredients are cleaner and higher quality: exclusively wild not farmed salmon & fish, higher Omega 3, more highly digestible (percent: 90s vs 80s), more nutrient dense/higher calorie per cup, many other excellent ingredients, and a much safer history of quality control/lack of recalls (unlike Diamond, manufacturer of ND). Another neat brand to check out is Horizon, also with good fish formulas.

    I also recommend finding a range of proteins one’s dog is not allergic to and rotating for best health.

  • GSDsForever

    Um, just to clarify –

    I don’t “heavily recommend” Fromm, as it is not even a food I feed. I like a number of foods and recommend them for differing reasons. I also feed various foods myself.

    Fromm’s Classic Adult formula is about $1/lb online, not 3 x the price. I recommend Fromm’s base product to those searching hard for something they can afford in that price range, as it is a good solid small family company with their own manufacturing faciity and without recalls in 100 yrs. It’s simply one step toward minimizing risk vs. other options, e.g. Diamond manufactured foods with respect to recalls and other mass manufacturing quality control problems.

    I have recommended it only at that price point and only as one good option to consider vs Kirkland & Nature’s Domain.

    What I “heavily recommend” are finding the best food at each price point that someone can afford and considering all one’s options.

    I like some versions of Earthborn Holistic and agree that it can be a good option, albeit not quite as inexpensive. I have also recommended Nutrisource/its various brands often on this site.

    As far as grain-free goes, I feed grain free. I consider low glycemic and highly digestible more important than the ultra trendy “grain free,” and that excludes non-grains like white potatoes high on an ingredient list. I also consider having generous amounts of high quality protein sources in the first few ingredients the first priority in choosing a food, which will rule out many grain free and grain included foods equally . . . especially those that engage in plant ingredient splitting. (Ingredient splitting = listing an ingredient like peas and pea fragments several times, several different forms, making it in reality higher in the ingredient list than would first appear.)

  • Pattyvaughn

    Is this bag also salmon, or another flavor? That would explain a color change. And intolerance.

  • Heather S

    Just bought our 2nd bag of this food and it looks totally different than the first. The kibble is a much lighter color (the kibble in the first bag of Salmon one was almost black) and I’ve noticed my dog is itching more and has looser stool. Very disappointed.

  • mcbburton

    Actually, after tests, my dog showed that the poultry (and my vet first suggested this as a cause) is what created chewing, hot spots, etc. No poultry, no hot spots. I had used Natural Balance NIB, Natural Instinct, Evo in my past, and am a food snob, but the ND salmon is a staple in my home now.

  • MCBBurton

    My dogs get hot spots, it is a breed trait, and any poultry brings it on. Took poultry out, and no more biting. I use the Salmon, they love it and no chewing!

  • InkedMarie

    Sandy, I just want to make sure you realize that you’re posting on the Dog Food Advisor, not any site related to Natures Domain

  • Sandy Desert

    We rescued our GSD almost 4 years ago and he came with a very dicey stomach. Frequent spitting up and diarrhea for the first year as we tried various wet and dry foods. Finally we settled on ALPO lamb wet food given as a supplement once or twice a week and raw food most of the time. Our surprise was in trying Natures Domain salmon and sweet potato dry kibble – Our Baron loves it, gobbles it all down without incident, and even asks for it as a treat – we put it in his Kong ball which dispenses the kibble as Baron rolls it across the floor – when empty, he flings it back to us for a refill – His stomach is now stable, diarrhea a rare occurrance, and he looks absolutely wonderful. I recommend it to anyone in our dog park when the topic of pet food comes up. Thanks for a good and reliable product at a reasonable price!

  • Pattyvaughn

    You may have to transition the first couple times depending on whether or not your dog is sensitive, but the more you change foods the more your dog gets used to having his food changed.

  • LabsRawesome

    No, it shouldn’t. Because all the other ingredients are the same.

  • John Nicastro Sr

    My Costco has the 3 types as well. I may do that – but my dog inhales whatever I give her. Would switching varieties mean transitioning with each change?

  • LabsRawesome

    They have a Beef formula, as well. It is the cheapest one. If your warehouse doesn’t stock the Beef, ask them to. Then you can rotate between Turkey and Beef. :)

  • Peter Farrell

    @GSDsForever:disqus Do you work for Fromm’s? Because you have commented to switch to Fromm’s repeatedly on this page.

  • John Nicastro Sr

    I just started my Portuguese Water Dog on the ND Turkey recipe – its nurtritionally the same as the salmon – cost almost $4 less per bag & I don’t want to run the risk of the salmon having mecury in it.

    My PWD has been eating Kirkland Signature varieties most of her life. Now that ND is available I figured what better reason to switch her over.

  • that’s science

    GSD heavily recommends Fromm, and while it is probably a superior food, if you want to go grain free, the foods aren’t comparable in terms of price. Fromm is 3 times as much per pound, and calorie density won’t make that up. If you want to go grain free without breaking the bank you could look at earthborne, victor and nutrisource brands as well as ND

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    It could be from any ingredient in the food. You would need to compare ingredients in the SD and ND and see what ingredients are different. Keep good records of the foods with ingredients that they are eating.

  • FosterMom

    We have two foster pups (in addition to our two permanent residents who we feed Earthborn). The shelter provides Science Diet for the fosters but I’m trying to find a better, cost effective alternative (since SD has a lot of filler but feeding them anything else will come out of my pocket). So, we started switching to ND- Turkey about a week ago and I noticed that one of the fosters is doing great on it while the other is licking/biting her paws a significant amount. Could this be due to yeast from ND? Any advice?

  • LabsRawesome

    My 2 dogs really like ND. Although I do rotate with other brands, and add canned and fresh foods. :)

  • Rick Bunte

    Wow, what a great review. Concise and data focused. Thanks very much!

  • Cindy

    I don’t recommend Nature’s Domain, but if choosing beween the two formulas, I’d recommend the Turkey & steering clear of the salmon.

    Costwise, you might also look into non-Diamond made products at a similar price point (~$1/lb online) — like Fromm’s Classic Adult. Good smally family company, 100 yrs w/o a recall, and they stick to their own food line.

    You need to have an idea of what he’s allergic to also, not just assume grains. Outdoor pollen/grass/pesticides, etc are big causes; any protein commonly fed is a potential culprit; a topical or oral medicine can be a cuplrit; even carpet/dyes can be. Fleas, ticks can cause powerful allergic reactions, rashes and itchiness — with some dogs sensitive to even one bite. The good news is the pattern areas and debris left behind can give clues.

    You’ve fed the same kibble for years without incident, but just lately have noticed itchy dog. Check for other causes first.

    If you still suspect food, my best suggestion is a homemade control diet, one bland protein that is high ly digestible and one bland carb highly digestible (e.g. boiled chicken OR turkey & white rice; or cottage cheese & white rice) . . . and NOTHING ELSE, including NO TREATS. See how your dog does and start slowly intoducing one things at a time. Try simple kibbles first with a minimum of ingredients, after finding a single protein source and carb well tolerated.
    P.S. I do think that regardless of whether there’s anything in the food causing the itchies, youre dog will be better off eating something else than Pedigree. You have lots better choices & there are some affordable ones out there.

  • Cindy

    I’d rather see someone do that with a safer food and less likely contaminated.

    Instead of Diamond (ND & Kirkland), I’d recommend looking into Fromm’s base product, Classic Adult, at ~$1/ln online. The company has a much better history & quality control, with a single exclusive focus on their own food line.

  • Cindy

    Suki,

    Just a tip: On the budget that you mention . . . you might wish to try Fromm’s Classic Adult, which also goes for ~$1/lb online w/20% discount autoship (from I believe Pet Food Direct).

    It’s a good solid family owned company 100 yrs, no recalls, only makes natural health food type dog foods. And it’s not outsourced manufactured by the giant Diamond with all their recalls/quality control problems.

    And not sure where you’re getting the $80 figure exactly. My top of the line favorite food I buy costs $50-64, depending on adavnce ordering or immediate demand, no shipping. And that’s for a 520–560 cal/cup food, where less is fed.

    I do see Orijen 6 Fish sold for ~$100+ here, and I think that is completely 100% ridiculous.

  • Lynn

    Why not use this food as a mixer to cut your costs down on more expensive grain free food. I am feeding back to basics turkey and it is not cheap, so I bought a bag of the turkey natures domain for $33.00 and mix is with the back to basics. It looks like a quality food, but I really like the back to basics but I can save a bit of money this way.

  • Kara224

    The first ingredient in pedigree is corn, which is a filler and which many dogs are allergic to. Nature’s domain fish or turkey or beef would be an excellent food for a reasonable price. It is grain free and the first ingredient is a protein, which dogs need. The money you save on medications and vet bills will make it worth it. The price is probably comparable to the pedigree but with a much higher quality. From–a veterinary technician. Good luck!!!

  • Mark

    My 8 mo. old German Shepherd was just the opposite, loves the Turkey, but she’ll eat just about anything

  • LabsRawesome

    Lol. You are funny! Don’t you recognize a copy/paste when you see one? I was just answering Gail’s question, “Where is this product manufactured?” Answer copied from Diamond’s site. To 99% of people that would be obvious.

  • Jody Connearney

    My 13yr. old mix has recently become super itchy. Charlie gets lots of ball chasing in and is otherwise healthy. He has always had a great appetite for fruits and veggies. He has been taking fish oil caps for quite a while. His kibble diet has been Pedigree for years. Thinking I should switch him to a grain free like Natures Domain. Salmon or turkey? Am on a slim budget.

  • Anton K.

    Starting week #2 of switching our two Boston Terriers over from Natural Balance L.I.D. & have noticed that the gas (farting) has diminished, their breath seems to be getting less dog-breath-y and their energy level seems to be more consistent. We’re at about a 50-50 mix between old & new kibble right now, will go to 75-25 later this week. As someone mentioned earlier that the kibble seems smaller, that would definitely be a plus for us as our dogs are coming off a “Small Breed” (i.e. small kibble) formula and even our older Boston doesn’t seem to have a problem chewing the Kirkland Signature.

    So far, pretty darn good. Figure in the cost savings, really darn good!

  • Pattyvaughn

    She did a copy/paste from their website. That’s why all the lines are messed up. It is usually best to get the info from the horses mouth, as it were.

  • Grazhoppa

    “We”? Do you work for Diamond?

  • Crazy4cats

    Are you using the turkey or the salmon? Or, have you tried both?