Horizon Legacy (Dry)

Share

Rating: ★★★★★

Horizon Legacy Dog Food earns the Advisor’s top rating of 5 stars.

The Horizon Legacy product line includes three dry dog foods, each claimed to meet AAFCO nutrient profiles for all life stages.

The following is a list of recipes available at the time of this review.

  • Horizon Legacy Fish
  • Horizon Legacy Adult
  • Horizon Legacy Puppy

Horizon Legacy Adult was selected to represent the other products in the line for this review.

Horizon Legacy Adult

Dry Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 38% | Fat = 17% | Carbs = 38%

Ingredients: Chicken, chicken meal, pea, pea starch, turkey meal, chicken fat (preserved with mixed tocopherols, source of vitamin E), salmon meal, pea fibre, flaxseed, egg product, salmon oil (preserved with mixed tocopherols, vitamin E), carrots, apples, broccoli, bok choy, cabbage, blueberries, salt, fructooligosaccharides, Yucca schidigera extract, dried Aspergillus niger fermentation extract, dried Aspergillus oryzae fermentation extract, pineapple, dried Trichoderma longibrachiatum fermentation extract, dried Rhizopus oryzae fermentation extract, dried Enterococcus faecium fermentation product, dried Lactobacillus casei fermentation product, dried Lactobacillus acidophilus fermentation product, dried Bifidobacterium bifidum fermentation product, and dried Lactobacillus plantarum fermentation product, vitamin A acetate, vitamin D3 supplement, vitamin E supplement, vitamin B12 supplement, riboflavin, niacin, folic acid, pyridoxine hydrochloride, thiamine mononitrate, d-calcium pantothenate, biotin, l-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), ferrous sulphate, iron proteinate, zinc sulphate, zinc proteinate, manganous oxide, manganese proteinate, copper sulphate, copper proteinate, calcium iodate, sodium selenite, magnesium oxide

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 3.9%

Red items when present indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis34%15%NA
Dry Matter Basis38%17%38%
Calorie Weighted Basis33%35%32%

The first ingredient in this dog food is chicken. Although it is a quality item, raw chicken contains about 80% water. After cooking, most of that moisture is lost, reducing the meat content to just a fraction of its original weight.

After processing, this item would probably account for a smaller part of the total content of the finished product.

The second ingredient is chicken meal. Chicken meal is considered a meat concentrate and contains nearly 300% more protein than fresh chicken.

The third ingredient is peas. Peas are a quality source of carbohydrates. And like all legumes, they’re rich in natural fiber.

However, peas contain about 25% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the meat content of this dog food.

The fourth ingredient is pea starch, a paste-like, gluten-free carbohydrate extract probably used here as a binder for making kibble. Aside from its energy content (calories), pea starch is of only modest nutritional value to a dog.

The fifth ingredient is turkey meal, another protein-rich meat concentrate.

The sixth ingredient is chicken fat. Chicken fat is obtained from rendering chicken, a process similar to making soup in which the fat itself is skimmed from the surface of the liquid.

Chicken fat is high in linoleic acid, an omega-6 fatty acid essential for life. Although it doesn’t sound very appetizing, chicken fat is actually a quality ingredient.

The seventh ingredient is salmon meal, yet another high protein meat concentrate.

Fish meal is typically obtained from the “clean, dried, ground tissue of undecomposed whole fish and fish cuttings” of commercial fish operations.1

We are pleased to note that, unlike many fish meals, this particular item appears2 to be ethoxyquin-free.

The eighth ingredient is pea fiber, a mixture of both soluble and insoluble dietary fiber derived from pea hulls. Aside from the usual benefits of fiber, this agricultural by-product provides no nutritional value to a dog.

The ninth ingredient is flaxseed, one of the best plant sources of healthy omega-3 fatty acids. Provided they’ve first been ground into a meal, flax seeds are also rich in soluble fiber.

However, flaxseed contains about 19% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With four notable exceptions

First, we note the inclusion of egg product, an unspecified (wet or dry?) form of shell-free eggs. Quality can vary significantly. Lower grade egg product can even come from commercial hatcheries — from eggs that have failed to hatch.

In any case, eggs are easy to digest and have an exceptionally high biological value.

Next, salmon oil is naturally rich in the prized EPA and DHA type of omega-3 fatty acids. These two high quality fats boast the highest bio-availability to dogs and humans.

Depending on its level of freshness and purity, salmon oil should be considered a commendable addition.

In addition, this recipe contains fructooligosaccharide, an alternative sweetener3 probably used here as a prebiotic. Prebiotics function to support the growth of healthy bacteria in the large intestine.

And lastly, this food also contains chelated minerals, minerals that have been chemically attached to protein. This makes them easier to absorb. Chelated minerals are usually found in better dog foods.

Horizon Legacy Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Judging by its ingredients alone, Horizon Legacy Dog Food looks like an above average dry product.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 38%, a fat level of 17% and estimated carbohydrates of about 38%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 38% and a mean fat level of 18%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 36% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 46%.

Above-average protein. Above-average fat. And below-average carbs when compared to a typical dry dog food.

Even when you consider the protein-boosting effect of the peas and flaxseed, this looks like the profile of a dry product containing a significant amount of meat.

Bottom line?

Horizon Legacy is a meat-based dry dog food using a generous amount of named meats and meat meals as its main sources of animal protein, thus earning the brand 5 stars.

Enthusiastically recommended.

Those looking for a similar kibble with slightly less meat may wish to check out our review of Horizon Complete Dog Food.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, due to the biological uniqueness of every animal, none of our ratings are intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in a specific dietary response or health benefit for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

To learn how we support the cost of operating this website, please visit our public Disclosure and Disclaimer page.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Notes and Updates

07/16/2010 Original review
05/07/2012 Review updated
11/15/2013 Review updated
11/15/2013 Last Update

  1. Association of American Feed Control Officials
  2. Horizon Customer Service, 7/15/2010
  3. Wikipedia definition
  • Storm’s Mom

    I rotate every bag …sometimes it’s a large bag, sometimes a medium bag, sometimes a small bag. A small bag usually takes my guy about 2-3 weeks to go through, though. I currently have 8 foods (7 brands) in my rotation, although I’m a little uncertain about keeping 1 of them.

    As for your other question, I’m not sure if there’s any benefit from a food that you feed for only 1 week (other than the dog gets to enjoy something new/different for a bit), but I don’t see any harm either.

    I wouldn’t say I “recommend” Victor as I’ve never tried it (it’s not available where I live), but I have heard excellent things about it on here from reputable people, so on that basis I would suggest it. Horizon Fish is the one I’ve tried, and my guy has always done excellent on it. It’s one of the ones in my rotation (I’ve rotated between it and Nutrience Grain-Free Fish as a fish option for Storm)

  • Melanie

    Hi Storms Mom I have a question for you. I have an 85 lb lab and I’ve been experimenting a lot of different high quality foods because I want to have a rotation for him. Problem is I’m only buying 5 lb bags to make sure he likes it. He loved the Victor Yukon blend but my feed store is closed today and he needs more. I’m gonna have to go back to another food. I really wanted to get a 30 lb bag of this stuff because he loved it, is he getting any benefit from a food if it gets changed after only 1 week? How often do you rotate your foods and how many different foods do you rotate with. I think you were the one that recommended Victor and also Horizon Legacy. Victor is a difficult food to get. The feed store only had 1bag of each recipe. Horizon Legacy doesn’t seem to have a huge selection. My dog isn’t a huge fan of chicken even when it’s grain free. Let me know your suggestions. Thanks.

  • Lindsay Lovstrom

    Have you contacted the company about it?

  • SP
  • Miranda

    Hi there, I am a first time puppy mom of a 5 month old Morkie. I’m trying to find the best food(s) to feed him and will be transitioning from Royal Canin puppy. He is a picky eater and seems to go on a hunger strike every now and then (for less than a day), so I try to feed him fresh cooked chicken breast as a topper. I am thinking of Wellness Core for Puppies, Orijin Puppy Grain-Free, and have recently purchased a bag of Canine Caviar Grain-Free Puppy Dinner to try. I’ve doing research but it seems like there are downfalls to every brand … I’m worried Orijin will be too much protein and give him soft stool, and it seems Canine Caviar is somewhat untrusted in this community. Any suggestions? Thanks, M

  • TestDrive

    Oh no thanks. I was just wondering about this brand because I was considering ordering it for the first time. The Acana (Duck and Pear) dog food was really big for my little baby pug!

  • TestDrive

    Thank you so much! You did an awesome job with your description! Thanks again.

  • Betsy Greer

    Would you like some suggestions for kibble that are very small in size?

  • Betsy Greer

    Hi TestDrive,

    It’s been a while since I used Acana, but I seem to recall it was fairly large; and from what I’ve been told Fromm is very small. What I can tell you is that Horizon is somewhere between the two. That’s probably not very helpful, is it? LOL!

    I have fairly small hands and Horizon Legacy is about the size of one of my pinkie fingernails, which are short; and it’s a little thinner than it is wide. My 17 pound Cavalier has no problem with it.

  • TestDrive

    Sorry, (it’s me again)… Actually, you can compare it to anything. I am currently feeding my pugs Fromm Grain Free Surf N Turf dog food (very, very small kibble). In the past, I have used Acana Duck with oats (kibble was sort of big for them). So any help is much appreciated. Thank you in advance again.

  • TestDrive

    Hello,

    Can someone please give me an idea of how big the kibble size is regarding, Horizon Legacy Salmon Formula? Please compare it to a penny, nickel, dime… Etc.

    Thank you so much!

  • Robert C

    Update…Wag.com just started carrying Horizon products…and it’s cheaper than Petflow with faster shipping!

  • Betsy Greer

    I agree Kathyherr. Horizon Legacy is one of my yeast prone dog’s best foods and I agree that it’s made by a quality company. It’s always hard when it’s time to rotate to another food from the Legacy, but I always know we’ll be back to it again in time. I second your recommendation.

  • Kathyherr

    My 1 1/2 yr old English springer spaniel loves Horizon Legacy. I had him on the puppy formula the first year and since have switched him back and forth between the legacy fish and chicken formulas. Stools are always firm. Great company!

  • Alicia R Freysinger

    That sounds like a signal that could work for my son to give. Fantastic. We will start working on it this weekend. Thanks!

  • Pattyvaughn

    Something that might help at school, if you have a quiet signal that means touch my hand with your nose, that will help disrupt the seeking behavior without being negative or obtrusive. I do a finger snap without any force behind it, so it sounds like rubbing 2 fingers together to me, but my dogs know the difference. I can always find them in the dark that way, so I don’t step on anyone, and it has come in handy in so many other situation that it has surprised me, best thing I ever taught them.
    I should add that I have Border Collies so I know that I’m at an unfair advantage when it come to training, but I’ve had several breeds over the years and they all learn, just at different rates, and sometimes they need to be shown what you want in a different way. I also have a JRT, so it isn’t all fun and games. Good Luck!

  • Alicia R Freysinger

    Training is certainly the best. I need to work harder on that at home. Our work crumbles a bit at school, but it sounds like you have it well controlled. I am now on a mission. ;-)

  • Pattyvaughn

    Hmm, that’s a little bit tough, because it relate to the individual behavior of the dog, which appears to be food hound. My dogs aren’t service dogs, but they are loose around small children eating and go to a training class where there are always treats on the floor. One of mine has food intolerances, so he can’t go around eating whatever he finds and I don’t allow any rude food seeking behavior at home. When we are eating, I always have all dogs lie down. Now, it’s automatic, we sit down to eat, the dogs lie down. The one with food intolerances has had to have a rock solid ‘Leave it” trained into him. He now knows that he is not ever allowed to pick food up off the floor. I pick it up and hand it to him if he can have it or it goes in his food bowl or crate. What you feed should not have anything to do with begging and food searching behaviors, but how you feed might.

  • Alicia R Freysinger

    With a service dog, I try to keep meals straight forward so he does not desire people food. We can’t let him hunt for food when we are out. It is hard and he loves it. I am beginning to think I need to feed him more so he is not looking for food in a restaurant or at school with my son. He is 45 lbs. and I give him a cup of Kibble twice a day. I have started rounding up, but I appreciate thoughts anyone has to offer. Thanks, Alicia

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    Here’s another article:

    http://urbanpawsmagazine.com/archives/59

    I feed raw, freeze-dried, canned and kibble. Any combo, any meal or one product at a time. Duck, fish, red meat, white meat, goat…got some rabbits in the freezer to grind for the boys next. They would probably enjoy them whole though too.

  • Alicia R Freysinger

    Thanks so much, Pattyvaughn. Very helpful. Alicia

  • Pattyvaughn
  • Alicia R Freysinger

    Storm’s Mom, why do you rotate food. I love Horizon’s Legacy, but want to make sure I am doing the best thing for our boys – Shih Tzu and Labradoodle service dog. Thanks.

  • Betsy Greer

    Hey! Welcome back Storm’s Mom! I’ve been wondering how you were. Hope your holidays were wonderful!

  • Storm’s Mom

    In addition to the ones Betsy recommended, Earthborn Holistic Coastal Catch also has a really tiny kibble size. Similar ingredients to TOTW Pacific Stream, but I’d take Earthborn over TOTW/Diamond any day.

  • Betsy Greer

    Last I used Orijen their kibble size was probably the largest of any I had ever used. I prefer not to use Diamond products so I wouldnt use TOTW, but there are plenty of quality kibbles that are perfect for small dogs, such as Nature’s Logic, Nature’s Variety, Horizon Amicus, NutriSource small / medium breed, Wellness, to name a few.

  • Lacy

    The size of the kibble seems a little big for my dauchsand.He. eats it but l going back to Taste of the Wild which he devours.Tried Orjien too,kibble size fine but he likes Totw best.Super shiny coat

  • Chris

    Big fan of Horizon. My standard schnauzer has been on puppy from day one and adult for the last 5 years and is thriving. I cannot say enough good things about Horizon Legacy dog food.

  • Pingback: Your Dog Food Matters « Unforgettable Underdogs

  • Robert C

    I’m on my 4th bag of Horizon Legacy…1 fish, 3 chicken. I recently started rotating foods for my dogs and cats. I’ve tried all kinds of high end foods in the past and my dogs seem to do very well on this stuff (5 dogs). They’ve been on Nutrisource, Nutrisca, Great Life, Brothers, and Orijen to name a few. They loved the Orijen but besides being super pricey it seemed to make my puggle Xena and my yellow lab Sydney itchy. The Horizon Legacy totally got rid of that and everyone seems to do very well on it. For the price it is a really great option…although nobody carries it here in the Tampa Bay area so I buy it from Petflow (they actually had the old ingredients for the chicken formula on their website, I emailed them to tell them, and within like 2 hours it was updated). While I can’t say my 2 picky dogs are enthusiastic about it like they were about Orijen they still eat it. I just got a sample of Red Moon Chicken and Yellow Pea formula so that’s next in the rotation…they LOVED it. But, the Horizon Legacy is fantastic food…I highly recommend it!

  • Storm’s Mom

    Do you add digestive enzymes and/or probiotics to their food to help with digestion? I’d start there.. 99.9% of the time it’s not the food, it’s the dog(s) …or, in this case, possibly something environmental. I’ve fed several bags of Legacy Fish at various points in time since it came out and have never had a problem.

  • michelle

    I have had my working dogs on legacy fish for several months, and they still get diahrea at least once per week each. There is something wrong with this food.

  • Olivia

    has anyone had good success with the Pulsar fish line for yeast problems ?

  • Storm’s Mom

    Wow, that’s an amazing deal!! If you got the max of 5 for each variety (Horizon Legacy, Horizon Legacy Fish, Pulsar Chicken, Pulsar Fish, Amicus (let’s just assume you only get the Adult version of that one)), you’re looking at 25lbs of food for $25!!!! I mean, if you only got that amount, you’d have to pay the $4.95 shipping, but even still, that’s an amazing deal on some awesome food!!!

  • Betsy Greer

    For anyone who might be interested in trying Horizon Amicus or Pulsar fish or chicken… you can get one pound trial bags for .99 each at Petflow.com [maximum of five of each variety per household]. FedEx shipping is free if your order is $49 or more, otherwise shipping is $4.95 flat rate.

  • Pingback: Complete List of Foods Carried and Endorsed by Duncan Pets (with Links) | Duncan Pets

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    You use the “upload image” icon in the bottom left corner of the text box and it will upload images from your computer. The images need to be reduced in size first.

  • Kathyherr

    How do you post a pic?

  • Kathyherr

    Beautiful Springer!

  • jill

    I adopted my 1 yr old border collie cross and put her on Horizon Legacy. I was amazed at the difference in her coat and bowel movements. She has little or no gas. I had a dog years ago and just used Purina, now I would never use anything but this or a food of equal quality.

  • Melissaandcrew

    Too cute!

  • Pattyvaughn

    I’ll blame Disqus, but they did finally show up. He is gorgeous!!

  • LabsRawesome

    Um, I don’t know. There’s two pictures of my Springer showing on my end.

  • Kathyherr

    I may also try the Victor Grain Free adult food and use as a rotation with the Horizon Legacy food. My breeder just started as a distributor of Victor and it looks like a great food to use too.

  • Pattyvaughn

    Am I missing something? Because I love to see baby pictures, but I see nothing. LOL

  • LabsRawesome

    This is Cooper’s baby picture.

  • Kathyherr

    My English Springer pup is now 1 year old and just switched him to Legacy Salmon and he loves it! Stools are firm, all is well!

  • Cat

    It is NOT discontinued. Via FB post. This rumor is not correct.
    Cat

  • Kathyherr

    I have never had a problem with Petflow. I get my order in 2 days and expiration dates are always good. Will be switching to the Legacy adult formula next, as my little pup will be a year old in May.

  • Storm’s Mom

    You get a warning from a human food company when they do the same thing?! Wow, lucky…

    This is (one reason) why rotating what you feed your dog on a frequent basis (every bag, every week, every day..whatever) is great… it literally does not matter whether any company makes any product anymore…I just choose something else.

  • Pattyvaughn

    That seems to be par for the course with dog food companies. It is very rare that they tell the public that they are going to change something before it’s a done deal.

  • Don

    Have had our shepherd pup on it since he was 9 weeks old. Very happy with the food. Last week went to pick-up up another bag of Complete puppy large breed and was told that they no longer make it…were going to streamline and just have the large breed brand. Does not matter at this point to me; but was a little disappointed that there was no warning from the company,

  • Karissa

    Currently feeding my new one year old Australian shepherd this. The rescue I got her from was feeding her Pedigree and she was going purely diarrhea no solid stool. One, yes, one, feeding of this legacy salmon with pumpkin mixed and she was entirely firm again. She loves it and gobbles it up.

  • Pingback: What’s the Deal With Dog Food? | Duncan Pets

  • Northern AB gal

    Does anyone know the calcium/phosphorus component of the Legacy puppy formula?  It’s not on the bag and also not on the company website.  Kinda strange that they wouldn’t include that info, kinda important info for large breed puppies.

  • Storm’s Mom

    Besides Horizon Legacy Fish, the ones he’s done best on (firm stool, great coat, and general look and attitude of wellbeing) are Nutrisource Grain Free, Earthborn Holistic Grain Free, Nature’s Logic, and Merrick (both grain-free and grain-inclusive varieties). Hope this helps!!

  • http://www.dfwpugs.com/ sandy

    I’ve used the Horizon Amicus food and my dogs had firm stools on that and also on Nutrisource Grain Free, Nature’s Select Grain Free, Blue Buffalo Wilderness, Core Ocean, Nutrisca and Brothers Complete.

  • Kathyherr

    What other brands fare well and leave your dog with firm stools? My 6 mos old pup has been back on Horizon Legacy Puppy formula and stools are firm again. Love this brand!

  • Storm’s Mom

    No, the Legacy Fish is the only Horizon variety in my rotation (I just tried one bag of Pulsar Fish), because the other formulas have chicken, which my guy is allergic to. I didn’t feed Horizon Legacy when he was a puppy because the Fish variety wasn’t available until he was over a year old, I think.. if memory serves, I first fed it the same week it came out! :-) At any rate, all Horizon varieties are “all life stages”, so you can feed them to a puppy.

    When I rotate, I do so around different proteins.. salmon, lamb, turkey, duck, etc …so I have no choice but to use different brands.  I hope Horizon will come out with other non-chicken varieties, though, so I could use more of their products. 

  • Kathyherr

    When you rotate foods, do you only use Horizon brands? Did you use Horizon for a puppy age dog?

  • Storm’s Mom

    The only Horizon products I’ve tried are the Legacy Fish and the Pulsar Fish… everything else Horizon makes has chicken in it, which my guy is allergic to. 

  • Kathyherr

    It was Precise Holistic small-medium breed puppy. Will not order anymore. Bowels still looser, even sometimes has smell from anal sac. Did you try the other Horizon products too?

  • Storm’s Mom

    Kathyherr – did you switch him to a grain-free variety of Precise Holistic or a grain-inclusive variety? Grains can cause gas, as can the garbanzo beans that are in the grain-free varieties. Horizon Legacy has neither.  As it happens, I did the same switch – Horizon Legacy Fish to Precise Holistic Complete Grain-Free (the lamb & turkey followed by the pork) …it’s a switch I wish I had never made. I also found his coat quality really deteriorated on the Precise. I would definitely choose Horizon Legacy over Precise Holistic ANY DAY.

  • Kathyherr

    I just switched my 5 mos old English Springer to Precise Holistic puppy food to try to put a little more weight on him. He seemed too thin on Horizon Legacy but his stools were always firm. Precise is leaving him with some gas and somewhat firm to loose stool. Might switch him back to Horizon when Precise is consumed.

  • Canadian_babe88

    My local store sells it for $56.99.

  • ohnoesaz

    I bought this from petflow and received a bag that would expire in a month. Yuck. So yes, I also buy this from a pet store now.

  • Kathyherr

    The pet store charges me $57.99 plus tax and I don’t have to worry about leaving it in extreme heat or cold or figuring out when to order. They are very helpful, but if shipping works for you, that is great too!

  • Joechou79

    http://www.petflow.com has the cheapest price anywhere for Horizon Legacy.

  • Kathyherr

    Started our 9 week old English Springer Spaniel on Legacy puppy formula 1 week ago, mixing with the breeder’s food. Transition was easy and he loves his food! His stools are firm, he goes twice/day and we are happy with this line. Couldn’t find it locally in Lancaster, PA area so our pet store (not a chain) orders it for me.

  • ohnoesaz

    For anyone curious, this kibble is large imo. Maybe 3.5x the size of a Blue Wildnerness kibble and 2.5x the size of Horizon’s Pulsar kibble. I personally like this.. My chihuahua mix dogs think they’re getting more food when they have to focus on every individual piece and the bigger dogs think they’re getting more food when they can’t inhale this as quickly as other kibbles.

    If you have a little wimp dog (just kidding) then this food size may frustrate them.

  • Korin

    It is a great cost on the food, I personally feel my dogs were alot less gasy on the Legacy compaired to the Pacifica, I also appericate they aren’t using potato in this grain-free food, Seems most grain-free products are still using potato. (semi-filler)

  • Korin

    Simply AMAZING food, Very cost effective!

  • InkedMarie

    I wish it was available around here so I could try it.

  • Jess

    This has to be one of the most overlooked dog foods made today. Tony did great on it and it goes on sale at k9 quite often. I just happen to get Orijen for a good price in my area but this would be my #2 choice. Problem for me it is very hard to get in my area.

  • vicky

    Great – I think they will like this than.  

  • viki

    its more square shape vs flat like totw and definitely larger in size. 

  • Waterwings

    vicky – it’s fairly large, I would say.  Bigger than TOTW. 

  • vicky

    I’m thinking of trying my two shepherds on this since I’m just really trusting TOTW anymore.  What is the size of the kibble?  One of the foods we tried had very small kibble, and the big dogs had trouble chewing the little pieces.

  • ohnoesaz

    My collie/cattle dog loooooooves her Horizon legacy adult! Her little brother beagle mix loves his Horizon Pulsar. It seems like the low GI effect is causing them to become very sustainably energetic. I’ve had to up their feed measurements a bit since switching to this food to compensate.

    The protein at 38% on this site is not accurate anymore. I believe my bag says 34%.

  • Waterwings

    Nope, doesn’t say on the package, sorry! Glad I could help on the other bit though ;-)

  • Catbest

    YES!!! Thankyou!! I have been searching. I just ordered some off and I will be looking forward to trying it. their web site says the fish formula contains gloco and confront but it doesn’t say percentages. does it say on the package? I really appreciate your info, this ratio will be fine for my GSD pups. slightly high but not out of my range of acceptable.
    Cathie

  • viki

    Stop taking a picture and feed me now woman!

  • viki

    Thanks, got our bag of salmon formula a week ago and you’re right, its a huge hit, he loves it more then acana pacifica, which is very surprising in itself. I noticed that his coat is starting to feel softer as well. 

  • Waterwings

    Catbest – the Fish Formula is Calcium: 1.35, Phosporous 1.08 if that helps any.

    Viki – the Fish Formula was a big hit with my guy!!! I’ve added it to his rotation, and will definitely come back to it in a couple bags. It’s a very high quality food!!! Can’t go wrong feeding it, really.

  • Catbest

    Does anyone have a bag or know what the calcium phos. Levels are in the legacy adult? Thanks Cat

  • viki

    Has anyone tried the fish formula yet? I just ordered a bag and hoping my pup does well on it. 

  • SandySaya

    I’m switching back to this brand for my olde english bulldog. It got rid of a lot of yeast infections on him. I wanted to budget so I currently have him on Costco’s nature’s domain grain free but the evil yeast returned. Horizon Legacy recently introduced their Fish selection dry dog food. Haven’t seen it on petflow.com yet…looking forward!

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=533888409 Ginefra Dos Santos

    wonderful wonderful food if your dog has any issues with yeast infections its gone now! its almost like feeding RAW but in a kibble form!!!! best way to get it is through petflow.com 59.99 no tax and no shipping as long as you make a scheduled delivery! and its cheaper than the petstore (which i work at one) and it comes straight to your door. Great food, really is takes away everything that a dog really shouldn’t have, can be considered a LOW GLYCEMIC food because its ingredients all have low sugar 

  • Anonymous

    I was checking out this review today and think I may add it to my kibble rotation. Grain free – potato free and tapioca free. It also has a decent fiber content.

    Wondering if anyone recently tried this out?

  • sandy

    Chel,

    I had used BB Wilderness for about a year and then changed to potato free Brothers, Amicus and Nutrisca and my one pug boy finally quit chewing his paws. Currently he’s eating Brothers and Great Life GF and raw. No paw chewing or any other scratching for that matter.

  • Chel

    Switched my 16 month old Belgian Terv to Horizon Legacy about a month and a half ago. She was on Blue Buffalo Wilderness grain Free Duck for a couple of months to try to combat some scratching which did go away, but after reading the article on potatoes I decided to switch again. Much less gas and stomach upsets (she has a somewhat finicky stomach). So getting her off grains and then off potato seems to be a good thing. Only problem is she has a lot of energy and The Horizon Legacy seems to give her more. She tears through the yard. Good muscle but she continues to be skinny. I know it may be her age and her mom was famous for being scrawny (at 6, she is finally putting on weight). She was the smallest in her litter but also the alpha and has always been thin. She’s been checked for worms. I show her in conformation occsionally for fun. She’s finishable but it’ll take time, but she is so thin I’m a little embarrased. She gets 2 3/4 cups a day and weighs about 35-36 lb – small for a Terv bitch. Question, since Horizon is so low fat, should I add some and if so what?

  • Jan_Mom2Cavs

    He’s gorgeous!  I love the breed and will always have at least one!  Now I just need a Tri-Color and I’d have a matched set lol.

  • Nahenahe

    Thank you Jan.  Here is Po’ele, he’s 2.5 years old.

  • Jan_Mom2Cavs

    Sorry, Nahenahe…I’m not sure about the freezing of the kibble.  Also, thanks for the kind words concerning my ruby Cav, Laverne!  I also have a black and tan, Hazel and a blenheim, Stella.  Stella is the oldest and turning 11 this Feb.  Hazel is 4.5 and Laverne is 6.5.  Would be lovely to see pics of your baby!

  • Nahenahe

    @Jan, Thank you for your reply.  You have a lovely Cavalier, mine is black and tan.  Another question, I like to store the kibble in the freezer after it’s been opened, I wonder if that would affect the probiotics?

  • Anonymous

    I’m no expert, as other on here are, but the purpose of the probiotics is to replenish the good bacteria in the dogs stomach/intestines.  I believe if too much probiotics are fed then diarrhea may be the result.  I think that is all that might happen, but not sure.  I’m sure others will respond if I’m wrong.

  • Nahenahe

    I am about to switch my dog to Horizon Legacy as I’m unable to get Nutrisca in Hawaii.  My question is: I’ve been feeding Mercola’s Complete Probiotics for pets, can I continue to give it with Horizon Legacy?  Is it possible to overdose on probiotics?

    Thank you.

  • Jen

    I switched my 7 month old Lab to Horizon dog food, I had him on Before Grains dog food for almost 2 months when he completely stopped eating it. He LOVES Horizon (even when we made the switch to B.G he wasn’t crazy about it). Thank-you so much for your food reviews. I think with all the issues related to dog food production it’s important to have the resources when choosing what to feed our “babies” :D. After the puppy stopped eating B.G he went after my sister-in-laws dog’s food (pedigree) my bf thought that was all our puppy would eat. So I did some research on dog food available in our small town and decided on a few brands to try once I found out which foods were suitable, and then our pup did some taste testing. I was told that the difference between good dog food and bad dog food are like feeding a child veggies or chocolate, but I think that we can all find a suitable dog food that tastes good for our dog without going to a sub par food. ( more like offering boiled broccoli or raw carrots, both are healthy it just depends on what you like)

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Leanne… Whenever we think of probiotics we (even this reviewer) tend to mistakenly believe these are always bacteria. But in truth, probiotics can also be considered any microorganism that’s believed to be beneficial to an animal. I certainly don’t consider myself an expert in probiotics, but certain species of fungi and yeast (like Rhizopus and Aspergillus) are also classified probiotics by some. To get a better answer to your question, you may wish to contact the company. Hope this helps.

  • Leanne

    love the ingredients and quality of food. My only question is the “probiotics” listed.. I can understand the bacterial additives for gastrointestinal flora but what’s with the Aspergillus niger fermentation extracts, and Rhizopus fermentation extracts? What benefit do they provide?

  • Gordon

    Lol, yeah finally Mike. Sometimes it’s hard to figure out when just reading black text with a white back ground. I miss a lot myself. But shhhhh, don’t tell Mike P, because we’re “old school”. haha

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Gordon… I’m finally getting smart enough to catch your humor. Your last one about gluten is a scream! :)

  • Gordon

    Novak Djokovic is also gluten free. Look at him. He recently won Wimbledon and is world number 1. What’s that say about gluten? He eats a diet completely void of gluten. The greater the gluten avoidance as possible for dogs, the better.

    I did omit one factor. Novak is gluten intolerant. This post is kinda related because he is a “dog” of a tennis player!

  • sandy

    Instinct is also gluten free (stated on their website). Although by looking at Horizon’s ingredient list, I don’t see any gluten.

  • sandy

    Honest Kitchen has gluten free formulas.

  • Leah Scanlan

    Our dog has been on Legacy for several years. She suffers from celiac disease, colitis and epilepsy. I myself also have celiac’s. The neurologist feels that her recent increased seizure activity may be due to her diet. Grain free does not necessarily = gluten free. I wanted to verify that legacy adult food is in fact gluten free. Thanks

  • Laysha

    Sandy:
    Hi I had concerns about that once too but this is what I heard back from them a year ago. The ‘hair’ that you see in the kibble is actuallythe astragalus root. – Jason Skotheim, M.Sc., P.Ag.Horizon Manufacturing Inc.

  • Sandy

    I’m almost halfway on the big bag of horizon legacy. I’ve noticed some pointy ‘stuff’ sticking out on some of the kibbles, almost as sharp like broken fish bone or hard claw-like and some tiny hairlike pieces. I’m thinking, is this normal because the other dog brand kibbles i’ve seen didn’t have these ‘stuff’ sticking out. I haven’t contacted Horizon about this concern..

  • Laysha

    I had my puppy on Dogswell Nutrisca because that was a grain free potato free option for her and not that expensive. I had started her on Horizon Legacy but it was a bit expensive and limited where I live. A week before she got spayed she started having major digestion issues with Dogswell. I put her on a Pumpkin fast and then put her right onto the Horizon Legacy she was back to normal. I will ALWAYS keep her on Horizon. It is the best dog food! I love this site! Mike you are great.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Michelle… Unfortunately, I cannot provide customized product comparisons. And because I only read the package labels, I’m unable to answer many of your questions (like whether a food contains free range chickens). Please see our reviews and our FAQ page for help. And be sure to check back later to see if you get a reply from another reader.

    Please be assured, the sum of everything I know about each food is already contained within each review. Wish I could be more help.

  • Michelle

    Hi Mike, I ran across the Horizon Legacy food and I heard it is similar to dogswell nutrisca. I know that the nutrisca does not contain probiotic and does have some plant based protein boosters in its formula. Does Horizon contain any Plant Based protein boosters? Also I am thinking of trying the Horizon Legacy and just wanted your thoughts and opinions comparing Dogswell Nutrisca and Horizon Legacy. Which one do you think contains more vital nutrients and better protein source, but at the same time which one is more natural of the foods. Also is Horizon Legacy completely free of ethoxyquin and do you know if they use cage free chicken? I am just wondering if it has more health benefits to it then dogswell nutrisca. Thanks so much for all your help! Your Wonderful!

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Sandy… Unless your dog has a specific allergy to peas, I can’t see how this common ingredient could contribute to your pet’s yeast infection.

  • Sandy

    Hello,
    Will the peas and pea starch contained in Horizon Legacy affect a dog that may have a systematic yeast infection, like a potato would?? I am really concerned because I want to properly treat his infection by first choosing the right type of dry dog food. Thanks!

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Elsammra… We don’t sell or make any dog food. But due to differences in labeling standards from country to country, we only (currently) review products made in the USA and Canada only. We plan to expand into other mostly English-speaking markets in the latter part of 2011. Thanks for writing.

  • elsammra esam

    do you sale in egypt

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Catherine… After speaking with Karim Hassam (a sales rep for Horizon) I was advised the changes mentioned in the above letter were made about 6-8 months ago. We still like this dog food… just as it is today.

  • Catherine Figler

    This is what Horizon told me:

    “Please be assured that the new formula for Horizon Legacy will not have a negative impact on your dog’s health. The new formula has a slightly lower protein level. This has been reduced as a result of customer demand. High protein levels have been a hot topic for a long time and a lot of people are concerned. Horizon maintains that the high protein levels in our food is not a cause for concern. Studies were conducted years ago on high protein food but what is not commonly known is the different types of protein. Various foods with by-products and high levels of corn can register as high protein but the quality is low and not easily digestible by animals. We have never used by-products, which often include feet, feathers and entrails…yuck! Our chicken and turkey protein comes from muscle meat only.

    We have removed colostrum, unfortunately, as well as most of our botanicals in order to comply with AAFCO regulations so that we can distribute our product in the US. These natural products are not patented or have scientific studies the “prove” their benefits and simply having them on our list of ingredients is according to AAFCO, the same as making a drug claim.

    Legacy still includes prebiotics, probiotics (added at the end of the production cycle to maintain viability) omega 3 and 6, fresh fruit and vegetables and high quality, nutrient dense muscle meat protein.

    Some of our customers were disappointed to hear about the exclusion of colostrum in our formulas and we have directed them to the Saskatoon company that we purchased our colostrum from. They are a fantastic Canadian company that will ship colostrums to you if you would like. You can visit their website at http://www.peterna.com

    I hope that I have answered all of your questions but if not please don’t hesitate to contact me directly.

    Sincerely,
    Chris Strawson”

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Mike… Oops! Thanks to that sharp eye of yours, Mike, I’ve now corrected my mistake. Thanks for the tip.

  • Mike Tann

    Mike,
    I may be splitting hairs here; but I wondering why Horizon Legacy only earns a Highly Recommended rating wheras GO Endurance and the Orijen foods get an Enthusiasticaly Recommended rating. Is there something I’m missing in reading the reviews?
    Mike

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Mike… This review reflect the new Horizon formulations. The company modified its recipe a good while ago due to customer concerns over what some felt were excessive protein content.

    For most healthy pets, we do not share this concern about high protein as a dog’s natural ancestral diet was considerably higher in protein content that most modern kibbles.

  • Mike Tann

    All the Horizon kibbles have been reformulated, including the Legacy grain free foods. This also happened to Blue’s Wilderness formulations. The big change is in the protein content. Was in the 40% range, now lowered to the mid 30% range. What’s going on here really?
    Thanks