Diamond Naturals (Dry)

Share

Rating: ★★★★☆

Diamond Naturals Dog Food receives the Advisor’s second-highest tier rating of 4 stars.

The Diamond Naturals product line includes 12 dry dog foods.

Each recipe below includes its related AAFCO nutrient profile when available on the product’s official webpage: Growth, Maintenance, All Life Stages, Supplemental or Unspecified.

  • Diamond Naturals Senior Dog [M]
  • Diamond Naturals Lite Adult Dog (2 stars) [M]
  • Diamond Naturals Small Breed Adult Lamb [M]
  • Diamond Naturals Extreme Athlete (4.5 stars) [M]
  • Diamond Naturals Small Breed Puppy (4.5 stars) [A]
  • Diamond Naturals All Life Stages Chicken and Rice [A]
  • Diamond Naturals Large Breed Puppy Lamb (3 stars) [A]
  • Diamond Naturals Adult Beef Meal and Rice (3.5 stars) [M]
  • Diamond Naturals Adult Lamb Meal and Rice (3.5 stars) [M]
  • Diamond Naturals Large Breed Adult Chicken (3.5 stars) [M]
  • Diamond Naturals Small Breed Adult Chicken (4.5 stars) [M]
  • Diamond Naturals Large Breed Adult Lamb Meal (3.5 stars) [M]

Diamond Naturals Adult Beef Meal and Rice was selected to represent the other products in the line for this review.

Diamond Naturals Adult Beef Meal and Rice

Dry Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 28% | Fat = 17% | Carbs = 48%

Ingredients: Beef meal, peas, pea flour, ground white rice, rice bran, chicken fat (preserved with mixed tocopherols), egg product, potato protein, dried beet pulp, natural flavor, flaxseed, potassium chloride, salt, choline chloride, dried chicory root, kale, chia seed, pumpkin, blueberries, oranges, quinoa, dried kelp, coconut, spinach, carrots, papaya, Yucca schidigera extract, dried Lactobacillus acidophilus fermentation product, dried Bifidobacterium animalis fermentation product, dried Lactobacillus reuteri fermentation product, vitamin E supplement, beta carotene, iron proteinate, zinc proteinate, copper proteinate, ferrous sulfate, zinc sulfate, copper sulfate, potassium iodide, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), manganese proteinate, manganous oxide, ascorbic acid, vitamin A supplement, biotin, niacin, calcium pantothenate, manganese sulfate, sodium selenite, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), vitamin B12 supplement, riboflavin (vitamin B2), vitamin D supplement, folic acid

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 4.4%

Red items indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis25%15%NA
Dry Matter Basis28%17%48%
Calorie Weighted Basis24%35%41%
Protein = 24% | Fat = 35% | Carbs = 41%

The first ingredient in this dog food is beef meal. Beef meal is considered a meat concentrate and contains nearly 300% more protein than fresh beef.

The second ingredient includes peas. Peas are a quality source of carbohydrates. And like all legumes, they’re rich in natural fiber.

However, peas contain about 25% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the meat content of this dog food.

The third ingredient is pea flour, a powder made from roasted yellow peas. Pea flour contains as much as 25% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the meat content of this dog food.

The fourth ingredient is ground rice, another name for rice flour. Ground rice is made from either white or brown rice and is considered a gluten-free substitute for wheat flour.

The fifth ingredient is rice bran, a healthy by-product of milling whole grain rice. The bran is the fiber-rich outer layer of the grain containing starch, protein, fat as well as vitamins and minerals.

The sixth ingredient is chicken fat. Chicken fat is obtained from rendering chicken, a process similar to making soup in which the fat itself is skimmed from the surface of the liquid.

Chicken fat is high in linoleic acid, an omega-6 fatty acid essential for life. Although it doesn’t sound very appetizing, chicken fat is actually a quality ingredient.

The seventh ingredient is egg product, an unspecified (wet or dry?) form of shell-free eggs. Quality can vary significantly. Lower grade egg product can even come from commercial hatcheries — from eggs that have failed to hatch.

In any case, eggs are easy to digest and have an exceptionally high biological value.

The eighth ingredient is potato protein, the dry residue remaining after removing the starchy part of a potato.

Even though it contains over 80% protein, this ingredient would be expected to have a lower biological value than meat.

And less costly plant-based products like this can notably boost the total protein reported on the label — a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

The ninth ingredient is beet pulp. Beet pulp is a controversial ingredient, a high fiber by-product of sugar beet processing.

Some denounce beet pulp as an inexpensive filler while others cite its outstanding intestinal health and blood sugar benefits.

We only call your attention here to the controversy and believe the inclusion of beet pulp in reasonable amounts in most dog foods is entirely acceptable.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to affect the overall rating of this product.

With six notable exceptions

First, we find flaxseed, one of the best plant sources of healthy omega-3 fatty acids. Provided they’ve first been ground into a meal, flax seeds are also rich in soluble fiber.

However, flaxseed contains about 19% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the actual meat content of this dog food.

Next, we note the inclusion of chia seed, an edible seed nutritionally similar to flax or sesame. Provided they’re first ground into a meal, chia seeds are rich in both omega-3 fatty acids as well as dietary fiber.

However, chia seeds contain about 17% protein, a factor that must be considered when judging the meat content of this dog food.

In addition, we find quinoa in this recipe. Quinoa (pronounced keen-wah) is not a true cereal grain but a plant prized for its gluten-free seeds.

Compared to most other grain-type ingredients, it is high in protein (about 12-18%), dietary fiber and other healthy nutrients.

Next, we also note the use of coconut. Depending upon the quality of the raw material, coconut is rich in medium chain fatty acids.

Medium-chain triglycerides have been shown to improve cognitive function in older dogs.1

Because of its proven safety2 as well as its potential to help in the treatment of canine cognitive dysfunction syndrome (CDS) and chronic skin disorders, MCT can be considered a positive addition to this recipe.

We also find chicory root. Chicory is rich in inulin, a starch-like compound made up of repeating units of carbohydrates and found in certain roots and tubers.

Not only is inulin a natural source of soluble dietary fiber, it’s also a prebiotic used to promote the growth of healthy bacteria in a dog’s digestive tract.

And lastly, this food contains chelated minerals, minerals that have been chemically attached to protein. This makes them easier to absorb. Chelated minerals are usually found in better dog foods.

Diamond Naturals Dog Food
The Bottom Line

Judging by its ingredients alone, Diamond Naturals Dog Food looks like an above-average dry product.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 28%, a fat level of 17% and estimated carbohydrates of about 48%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 28% and a mean fat level of 17%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 47% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 59%.

Near-average protein. Near-average fat. And near-average carbs when compared to a typical dry dog food.

When you consider the protein-boosting effect of the peas, pea flour, potato protein, quinoa, flax and chia seeds, this looks like the profile of a kibble containing a moderate amount of meat.

Bottom line?

Diamond Naturals Dog Food is a plant-based dry dog food using a moderate amount of named meats as its main sources of animal protein, thus earning the brand 4 stars.

Highly recommended.

Please note certain recipes are sometimes given a higher or lower rating based upon our estimate of their total meat content and (when appropriate) their fat-to-protein ratios.

Diamond Dog Food
Recall History

The following list (if present) includes all dog food recalls since 2009 directly related to this product line. If there are no recalls listed in this section, we have not yet reported any events.

You can view a complete list of all dog food recalls sorted by date. Or view the same list sorted alphabetically by brand.

To learn why our ratings have nothing to do with a product’s recall history, please visit our Dog Food Recalls FAQ page.

Get free dog food recall alerts sent to you by email. Subscribe to The Advisor’s recall notification list.

Dog Food Coupons
and Discounts

Readers are invited to check for coupons and discounts shared by others in our Dog Food Coupons Forum.

Or click the buying tip below. Please be advised we receive a fee for referrals made to the following online store.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

The Dog Food Advisor does not test dog food products.

We rely entirely on the integrity of the information provided by each company. As such, the accuracy of every review is directly dependent upon the specific data a company chooses to share.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

We rely on tips from readers. To report a product change or request an update of any review, please contact us using this form.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, due to the biological uniqueness of every animal, none of our ratings are intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in a specific dietary response or health benefit for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

However, we do receive a fee from Chewy.com for each purchase made as a direct result of a referral from our website. This fee is a fixed dollar amount and has nothing to do with the size of an order or the brand selected for purchase.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Notes and Updates

04/08/2017 Last Update

  1. Pan Y et al, Dietary supplementation with medium-chain TAG has long-lasting cognition-enhancing effects in aged dogs, British Journal of Nutrition, Volume 103, Issue 12, June 2010, pp 1746-1754
  2. Matulka RA et al, Lack of toxicity by medium chain triglycerides (MCT) in canines during a 90-day feeding study,Food Chem Toxicol, Jan 2009, 47(1) 35-9.
  • Susan

    Hi Brandon, if the formula doesnt have any rating next to it then it”s the stars above, in this case 4 stars, Extreme Athletes is 4.5 Stars …..Diamond also make “4Health” my boy does real well on “Taste Of The Wild” Sierra Mountain Roasted Lamb.. another Diamond brand…..

  • anon101

    Zignature. It’s the best. Worth a little extra $
    IMO.

  • Brandon Madery

    So I have a 5 1/2 yr old English springer spaniel. He ate blue buffalo puppy (dry) food until 1yr. I then switched him to Fromm Gold line of adult food. He has been eating that for the past 4 years. Recently chewy.com stopped selling fromm so I’m thinking about making a switch to Diamond Naturals dry dog food. I want something that is above average quality and not expensive. I normally wouldn’t consider buying a major manufacturer brand but have heard good things about this product. I’m considering the Extreme Athletes formula or the all stages chicken and rice. Are both of these still 4 star rated? when reading the review for this it has the list of all the diamond natural’s line but some say different star levels and some dont even give a star level. When they say that this is a 4 star food are they talking about the entire line of naturals food? Thanks for the help

  • Darlene Fowler

    I know this question was asked a year ago, but my response could help someone else if they read through these comments.

    I have two picky Yorkies. It’s strange that both are picky from different parents. My first yorkie ate the same food his entire life without problems. I have tried all kinds of kibble and wet food. I don’t like starving them either. Like yours they will gobble up the baked chicken as well as green beans, peas, carrots and sweet potatoes, but they need the other nutritional ingredients found in dry dog food. My female Parti/Biewer just had a litter of puppies so it was important that she got enough nutrition while she was pregnant. I finally got her over being picky. I mix the Diamond Naturals small breed puppy with Pro Plan canned puppy food as she needed the extra fat during pregnancy plus I add puppy replacer milk also good for pregnant and nursing dogs. She prefers it microwaved warm. She gobbles it up. Now that she has had the puppies she will continue this until they are weened plus I add cottage cheese so she gets the extra calcium she needs while she’s nursing. She is very healthy and so are her puppies. For my male Yorkie I mix Diamond Naturals small breed adult chicken & rice with the canned Pro Plan Savor Grain Free adult turkey & sweet potato entree microwaved warm as well. He gobbles it up and I’ve seen her eat his also so I shouldn’t have a problem transitioning her to this after she stops nursing the puppies. Right now I am very happy since they are both eating well, I just pray it continues.

  • Susan

    Hi another good Diamond food is “Taste Of The Wild” Sierra Mountain, Roasted Lamb, Lamb is the only protein & it has limited ingredients, sweet potatoes, peas egg & potatoes your dog will love it & my boy is also nice & lean, the Kcals are only 338 Kcals per cup & it’s an all life stages formula, “Costco” sell the Kirkland Signature Domain formula’s they’re also made by Diamond.. there might be more different formula’s when you go to Costco shop https://www.costco.com/dog-food.html

  • Anthony

    I started my bichon-poodle mix on Professional Lamb and rice and he loved it. I learned that they are made by Diamond and found from this site that Diamond Naturals had the same score, so I switched. My dog enjoys the food and is very healthy. He is very lean and happy. I had heard from my vet that chicken is the number 1 cause for food allergy problems for dogs, so I am glad that he can have a healthy choice without too much chicken. I also order the bags from Amazon for free prime delivery.

  • InkedMarie

    Did you do a slow transition from nutro to diamond? You could look at some of Dr Tim’s and Victor foods but probably not cheaper than what you’re paying which would probably be considered cheap by most here.

  • Craig Hutton

    Never Never Never will I ever use Diamond Grainfree again. I was using Nutro Max for a few months but its pretty expensive (40.00 for a 25lb bag) and wanted something that I was told is better from a local feed store. All of a sudden my dogs were eating less and their poop tripled from before. I figured I would give them time to get use to the new food but after 3 weeks I threw this crap out and went back to Nutro Max. At this rate I would be no better off using cheap ALPO or some crap dog food. I went back to Nutro Max and wont stray again. I give Diamond Grainfree .05 stars for at least being grain free. Crap food.

  • Aimee Gildner

    We have a Shepherd/Husky, a Beagle/Pointer and a Havanese. At first I fed them Beneful because that was what I always fed my dogs. My Havi didn’t tolerate it well, so we switched to Tractor Supply’s 4Health brand. He still didn’t do well, so I decided to try grain free. It worked! No more diarrhea. After buying the 4Health Grain Free for a while, I found Diamond Naturals. They are cheaper per pound and my dogs seem to eat them better. We are very happy with this brand.

  • Pitlove

    Hi Erin-

    I find it interesting that you say that corn and wheat lower the seizure threshold in dogs, as I have a pittie who is predisposed to seizures and he does fantastic on corn based diets.

    Could you post your source of this info? I’m interested in reading it.

  • Susan

    Hi bad breath isn’t always their teeth the bad breath comes up from the stomach, the kibble could be sitting in the stomach & not digesting properly this is why I always tell people to rotate dogs kibbles with different brands & proteins so if something isn’t right with one brand of kibble your rotating between a few different brands & different proteins this way your dog isn’t on one brand of kibble long enough to get any health problems….Costco has their Kirkland Signature formula’s & Tractor Supply has their 4 Health formulas wet & dry, both very good prices for people on a budget, start adding some fresh whole foods to your dogs diets as well, some nights when you cook, cook a bit extra for the dog its heaps healthier then a dog kibble & watch her bad breath go away….

  • Erin Miller

    Corn and or wheat are not good for dogs. My three year old golden has seizures and that is especially bad for dogs with that condition. As I am on a budget, I feed her Diamond naturals. Has anyone else noticed that it gives their dog bad breath? I took my dog to the vet and had her teeth cleaned. The tech commented that her teeth were not that bad and I said that she had always had bad breath. She wondered if it wasn’t the food I was feeding her.

  • John Brown

    You cant just automatically switch a dogs normal daily food. Its hard on thete stomachs. Says right on the bag!!!!!!!!

  • John Brown

    I been using Diamond Naturals Lamb & Rice for 3 yrs and my dogs love it and are big healthy and playful. I have several friends who have started there dogs on it and they like what they see. They eat all there food are more active and seem mire upbeat. Dogs have tricky stomach issues though.

  • Linda Szymoniak

    Wow, thanks. That’s nice to know. I tend to worry about things like what I feed my furbabies. It’s nice to find that I made the right choice. Funny, too, that when you do the product comparisons on the Blue Buffalo website, they don’t give you the choice of Diamond Naturals. I’m guessing is that they only list the products that have junk in their food. Of course, Blue Buffalo will always look good compared to Purina and Beneful.

  • Susan

    Hi, if you click on this Link “Clean Label Project” they just completed a study on 900 pet food products & 71 brands, products were screened for over 130 toxins including heavy metals, BPA, Pesticides & other contaminates with links to cancer & other health conditions in both humans & animals… Diamond Puppy Small breed came 7th & Diamond Chicken & Rice came 9th out of the Ten with the least amount of harmful environmental & industrial contaminates & toxins, here’s the link, http://www.cleanlabelproject.org/product-ratings/pet-food/

  • Linda Szymoniak

    I grew up with my dad buying basic, mass-produced dog food for our dog. When I got my first dog as an adult, I had no idea just how different foods could be and bought my dogs brands like Purina and sometimes even store brands. It’s only been in recent years that I realized just how different the different brands were and how poor quality many of them all. I was up to five Treeing Walker Coonhounds and three cats, so I looked for a product that was superior to brands like Purina but not as costly as some of the top rated food. I did a lot of research and label reading, so I was happy to see that not only did the Diamond Naturals have what I was looking for, but was more reasonably priced. I noticed that the basic Diamond dog food isn’t really any better than brands like Purina, though, so when I recommend it to anyone, I make sure they get either the Naturals or the Grain-free product. My dogs and cats have thrived on this brand, and with as much as we go through, it’s been affordable. Even my kitten, who is turning 10 months this week, started on Diamond Naturals kitten formula as soon as she was off her bottle (she was just two weeks old when I found her). My dogs and cats love the food and I feel good knowing that they are getting a decent nutrition. I was shocked to find out that so many of the premium-priced products really aren’t any better (and in many cases, not as good).

  • JC

    I tried the Kirkland branded dog food for a while and it is not as good as diamond naturals. One of my dogs had orthopedic surgery a while back and while on the Kirkland food my Vet noticed through period x-rays that his bones were not healing properly. Once I moved him to Diamond Naturals bone growth started back up again like normal. The kirkland branded food may be made by Diamond but it is not of the same quality as Diamond brand foods.

  • Susan

    Hi the formula your feeding, might have an ingredient she is sensitive too causing her to be itchy…. change kibbles with different ingredients & start bathing weekly baths in Malaseb medicated shampoo or an anti bacterial shampoo, Walmart sells anti bacterial shampoo with Malaseb ingredients that’s heaps cheaper then the Malaseb shampoo….Have you looked at Aldis new kibble, it’s suppose to be really good ingredients, go on the “Shep” dog food Review, it hasn’t been up dated yet read the post Aldis have changed their Shep formulas & It’s called “Pure Being” formula now…I’m trying in Australia to get our Aldis to do the same & improve their Julius kibbles, so many people buy it & it’s CRAP real crap…

  • Susan

    Hi yes the Kirkland Signature grain free Salmon & Sweet Potato is the “Taste Of The Wild”, Pacific Stream, Smoked Salmon formula & cheaper then TOTW formulas..

  • JC

    I feed diamond naturals to all my dogs and have done so for the past 8 years. They have done well on it. In fact for a short while I tried Purina Pro Plan because my vet recommended it after one of my dogs had orthopedic surgery. While it is a good dog food I feel Diamond is better. For one thing Diamond Naturals feels less greasy than the Purina Pro Plan. The poop coming out of the dog is much neater with Diamond Naturals and the dogs seem to like it. It also is a better value as it cost less per pound than Purina Pro Plan. I will say that early on when I got my dogs about 11 years ago I was using Nutro (back then it was called Natural Choice) and it was hands down the best dog food I have ever given to my dogs. However, they started to reduce the size of the bags and increased the cost so that it became unsustainable to buy that dog food for two large labs. That is when I switched to Diamond Naturals. Unless you are rich like Warren Buffet it really all boils down to a cost/benefit ratio. Right now Diamond is clearly the leader in that area.

  • Pioneer

    Kirkland dog food at Costco is made by Diamond and formulated just for them. It has good ingredients and I used it for years until the long drive became too much for me to get to the store. They have lamb and rice and chicken and rice. I use a feed store feed called Sport Mix now and the Shih Tzu’s I breed are doing well on it, but I am still looking for a good puppy food as the Caliber was putting fatty deposits in their corneas.

  • Joe Lansing

    My 7 year old, 130# Black German Shepard has always eaten Diamond Naturals from Menards. He’s never been sick. I did get *BAD* canned dog food *LONG* ago from Sams Club, don’t even know what it was now, but it put my dogs into a puking fit for half a day..:(

  • Cyrus Wayne

    Everything in her food she has had no problem. The issue started when I introduced the grains in this food. She has never had skin issues until I started this

  • Crazy4cats

    Have you checked out Costco or Tractor Supply? Why does your dog need grain free?

  • Cyrus Wayne

    Any good words for this food? I see alot of people saying it made their dogs sick. My dog needs a grain free food and I’m on budget need a cheaper one

  • Diamond K Farms

    I just read on the Consumer Affairs website of a LOT of sick dogs from this brand in the last 4 months.

  • Bear’s Labs

    I have nine, and raise Labradors. We have fed Diamond Natural now for about seven years. Our dogs have trimmed down about five pounds each (great for Labs) and have great coats. Vet is greatly impressed and we recommend it to new puppy owners. If you stay away from grains and feed a “quality” food I think you can have good results with lots of foods. Many times it’s how and when an animal is fed that creates issues. We like Diamond.

  • Cira Linko

    My dog is on diamond naturals and he’s super sick. His intestines are dying and we’re trying to counteract with meds. Any chance it’s the food? He puked for days beforehand.

  • briweve_2000

    My two Jack Russels started diamond natural in Aug. Just got a new bag in Couple weeks ago, within 1 week my 2yr old Jack started puking and noticed loose stool, lastnight my 12 yr old Jack Russel started puking and is not looking to good today.

  • gordythreehorses

    i have 10 dogs and i started feeding them diamond naturals, since then they have been throwing up, getting the shits, my vet said it was the food, so i switched them back to what they were all eating before and all of their symptoms have vanished and they eat all of their food, now where as before when they were on the diamond naturals, they wasn’t.

  • Petaltown

    I have a healthy 14 yr old mini dachshund. He’s been eating Diamond brand dry food for most of his life. My vet said “whatever you’re doing, stick with it”. When Diamond had a recall several years ago, I contacted them with questions. They responded the same day and answered all of my questions in detail.

  • theBCnut

    You now live in an area where any product from Diamond comes from their Gaston, South Carolina plant, the plant where almost every recall has come from. You just plain need to switch to a food not made by them.

    Also, you need to only buy a bag size that you will use up within a couple weeks. The fats in the food start to go rancid immediately upon opening the bag. You have about 2 weeks to use the food before the amount of rancidity starts to do more harm than good. Think of it this way. What kind of human food would you open, then 2 months later still be willing to eat. Yes, dog foods have a lot more preservative in them than human foods, but that’s not necessarily a good thing either.

  • Teresa Douglas

    Maria hi. I have a senior dog who is having similar problems since starting a new bag of Diamond Senior. It take her over 2 months to go through a 40 pound bag. She has been fine for the last year on Diamond while I lived in Wisconsin. I just moved to Atlanta GA and couldn’t get to a nearby place that sold it, so I ordered off Amazon. 3 days after starting the food she developed diarrhea, and the typical addition of pumpkin and Kefir to her food didn’t help. So I took her off the kibble and placed her on potatoes, egg whites, and broth for 2 days. It cleared up. Then I tried her on kibble again, and the diarrhea started up again too. So now I’ve switched brands, and my senior dog is now back to normal. I plan to contact Amazon and the company.

  • DogFoodie

    Thanks for following up, Launa!

    It’s good to hear from you. I’m so glad the Victor is working well for your pups. That’s great news! I continue to think highly of Victor and recommend it.

    I recently noticed the inclusion of blood meal in some of their formulas and would avoid those formulas until I get some more information about that ingredient.

    But, maybe you could take a look at some of their other formulas to offer your boys some variety. It would also offer varying proteins and ingredients. I really like the Yukon variety.

  • Launa Elaine Strickland

    Hi DogFoodie!
    I just came across this in my inbox and thought I’d follow up. I found a Victor Dog Food seller on the East Coast that has great prices and free shipping, so my Boyz have been enjoying and thriving on the Victor Lamb and Brown Rice for 1-1/2 years. Their coats are shiny, skin is healthy and they have lot’s of energy. Best dry dog food ever!
    Thanks for the great recommendation!
    Launa and Rudy and Dug

  • Crazy4cats

    You’re welcome. Pumpkin is highly recommended by many but never really did much for my dogs. It is a healthy addition to their diet though. You can buy many supplements such as Proviable online through companies such as chewy.com, healthypets.com and amazon.com at much cheaper prices than the vet if you are comfortable doing so. Try to continue with it after finishing the Metronidazole to get his tummy back in balance. Let us know how he’s doing!

  • Maria Zingler

    HI there, the vet put him on Metronidazole and Proviable. I’m also giving him yogurt and pumpkin puree. Thank you for the recommendations.

  • Crazy4cats

    Hi Maria-
    Did the vet put your dog on an antibiotic to help clear the bacteria? Also, consider doing another fecal test because both Giardia and Whip Worms can cause intermittent loose stools. They both shed intermittently as well making it hard to detect with just one sample. I would also recommend starting a probiotic that contains the prebiotic FOS. I gave my dogs either Gastriplex by Thorne or VetriProbiotic BD made by Vetri Science when my dogs were experiencing those symptoms. Also, switching foods may be a good idea to see if it helps. Choose something with a different protein and carb this time. My dogs with this issue do well on Grain Free Victor, Grain Free Whole Earth Farms, Taste of the Wild and NutriSource. Here are a couple of links with some information: http://dogtime.com/dog-health/760-colitis-in-dogs-vin
    http://www.dogaware.com/health/digestive.html#ibd
    Good luck to you and your dog!

  • Maria Zingler

    I’ve been feeding Diamond Naturals Small Breed puppy since I brought home my 6 month old Cockapoo. It is the food his breeder recommended. In the last couple of weeks he has been having progressively worsening loose stools and recently bad diarrhea. I took a stool sample to the vet and was told he has Clostridium colitis. He also has been really itchy and has bad breath. I know Diamond naturals is good dog food per all the research I’ve done when analyzed from a label perspective. However, there have been complaints lately at the consumer affairs website about Diamond https://www.consumeraffairs.com/pets/diamond_dog_food.html .
    Coincidence? I’m not really sure but I do know my dog is currently having problems. Several of these complaints mention GI issues, itching and bad breath. I think it would be foolish for me to ignore this. So I think I’m going do go out and find another dog food today. Thank you for having this website. I’ve really learned a great deal about pet food.

  • Levon Mock

    Diamond Naturals is the best selling no corn wheat or soy food we carry in our store. It is a great quality at a great price. Lamb and Rice is the best selling protein.

    http://www.bangorfeedstore.com/#!diamond-naturals/c1l9x

  • Mary

    Hello everyone, I am getting a new addition to my family and need help with the dog food. Penny my Maltese should be coming home at the end of next month DOB 4/21/16. Would you please help me. I have read a lot of different post and am still confused. I would like to a Puppy food the will keep her healthy inside and out. Also looking for treats. Can you give me some info on adding yogurt to her food something I read. Sorry for all the questions. Thank you

  • Christina

    Hey there. You seem to have a picky pup. Couple of suggestions …

    Try the Diamond Naturals Beef Meal and Rice formula if you haven’t already–really inexpensive through Amazon. Also, top his food with something soft and yummy. Canned pumpkin works really well and is (typically) an effective dog-pleasing treat. You can also try a little bit of fish oil (pollock oil is not too expensive). Or, chop up a hard-boiled egg and mix it into his kibble. This is a super inexpensive, highly effective option.

    Your pup could also have a case of stage fright. If you are watching him and/or feeling stressed about whether he will eat, chances are he’s picking up on that. Try moving his food bowl to a secluded space and give him 10-15 minutes to himself with his food. Don’t interrupt him at all during this time.

    Good luck!

  • Jed Johnson

    Try a bag of taste of the wild appalachian valley small dog food.

  • Jed Johnson

    I sure hope you have tried giving different flavors throughout the years. She may needm ore fibre in her diet.

  • Jed Johnson

    Honestly, to me it sounds as though you need to try something that isn’t chicken flavored. Try out Diamond brands “Taste of the Wild” label. Their flavor “High Prairie Canine” is made of Venison and Bison. it is a bit costly but well worth it. I’ve noticed dogs tend to have aversions to certain tastes and if they don’t like it, just like with us, they will not eat it unless they are forced. again, I would highly suggest switching up flavors, not just brands.

  • txn64

    The Diamond Naturals is not too expensive and last a while. It’s a good food look at the ingredients. Trust me a dog will not starve themselves.. If the dog is not eating at all I would ask if you are feeding him human food and he is waiting around for you to feed him what you have. They will wait and hold out if this is the case. And if so you have to show him he cannot have anything until he eats his food. Put his food down Dry in the morning for 30 minutes if he doesn’t eat then pick it up and put it down in the evening again for 30 minutes, Never giving him any treats or your food. He will catch on in a few days he has to eat his food and your problem will be solved. Good Luck

  • txn64

    My 4 German Shepherds are fed the Lamb and Rice formula and they love it. It may have been due to the switch. If you did not mix the old with the new food long enough the will do it with any dog food. I know sometimes you can’t help it if you run out.. Always keep Pure pumpkin on hand for that. Hope your dog is doing better now. 🙂

  • C.c. Gardner

    I know it can be pricey but you could try trudog dog food (trudog.com) or another brand of Nature’s Select (letyourdogchoose.com). these foods are closer to what dog were meant to eat.

  • Sam G

    The vet said to just starve him until he eats his kibble without treats or anything n believe it or not it kinda worked. He starved himself for 2 FULL days but end of 2nd day he ate a little n he still doesn’t eat his full meal but atleast there’s progress. I limit the treats n he only gets them when he eats atleast a little kibble. So he eats when he’s starving. For anyone out there that’s looking thet said not to feed him rice n chicken everyday he doesn’t have the essential nutrients n stuff that’s only for when dogs r sick.

  • Cherie Parker

    Did you ask your vet if its okay to feed your dog chicken and rice or egg and rice? I know they prescribe boiled chicken or beef and rice if a dog needs to be on a bland diet. Since fat is not an issue, I would use the water from boiling the chicken or beef to cook the rice in. Better to give that to your dog than let it be hungry. Try VERY Gradually adding a piece or two of kibble at a time to the egg n rice or chicken n rice or beef n rice. And try a small bag of Pure Balance dry as the kibble (very small). The rice and whatever is cheap. Also I just looked and Amazon.com has the dog food you are looking for. 18 and 40 lb bags. $24 & $37. Good luck.

  • sandy

    I would find another store that has the chicken and rice formula and put the pocket pit back on it. All dogs are different and she just might be more sensitive to sudden food changes especially if she’s been eating the same food for nearly a year. After she’s better, you can try mixing the two foods together or slowly transition to the lamb formula.

  • Karen

    Hi everyone,

    We have been using the Diamond Naturals Chicken and Rice for about a year now. I did a ton of research on a fairly affordable food that was a decent quality. Our pet store was out of chicken the last time we needed food so my husband bought the Lamb and Rice. For the last week or so our pocket Pit has had the worst diarrhea and gas. I did not think it was the food as our Boxer/Vizsla/Basset mix and Lab/Catahoula mix have been fine. After reading all the comments here and on other sites I am now thinking it is the food? We have had a stool sample done on her and it is negative. What would you all recommend I think of switching to? Price is a big concern as we go through a lot of food but I do not want to skimp on quality. I need to do this as I cannot continue with the clean up and the smell of her gas is killing me.

  • tigermom65

    You may need to just try another food then? Maybe try mixing a bit of wet food in with this for awhile before giving up. Some dogs just don’t like certain foods. I would try a wet food food with chicken and rice and some of this kibble then very gradually cut down on everything until only the dry food remains. If you are wanting to stay for sure on this food, you may need to stay with a bit of mix of wet food. Be sure you are getting your pup used to having his teeth brushed. They have fingertip brushes you can start with, just a few seconds at a time and praise, then work your way up. As far as food you may end up just needing to switch to a different food, or try mixing this with one he like if the new one is too expensive.

  • Sam G

    no he actually has all his major teeth already (we just saw the vet and she confirmed) he did go through his teething phase.. i microwave his dry kibble with some water to make it more gravy-ish and soft…he eats a little if hes hungry (i make sure its not hot) this is seriously driving me crazy..im always so worried hes not getting all the nutrients he needs…he rather starve himself but eat his dog food….after like a day and half of starving…i try n force him softened kibble and then he will eat like a little….i know its not right to force it but idk wat else to do..he will literally starve himself…and beg us wen we are eating but will not touch his food

  • Sam G

    I wish i could afford the canned stuff..its sooo expensive compared to the kibble. Lately i put some water in his dry food microwave it (i make sure to cool it and check to see there are no hot pockets) if hes super hungry he will eat a little. He eats like milk bones and stuff so i know its not that he cant chew

  • LabsRawesome

    Hi Sam,
    Your puppy might just not find kibble very appetizing.
    Have you ever considered feeding canned?
    Costco has Nature’s Domain case of 24 cans $19.99
    Walmart’s Pure Balance Stews $1 per can.
    Tractor Supply’s 4health .99 per can.

  • tigermom65

    Your puppy might be teething and hard food is painful right now. I would keep doing what you’re doing, only add small (tablespoon) amounts of dry food in gradually get the pup back on the dry. You can also get canned food and mix a little bit in with the dry, a good flavor shot. If you are changing foods too often he may be getting upset tummy. Stick with the food you want to feed him and add it slowly. Have a good look at his gums when he is sleepy and see if you notice any red spots or sore areas all around the teeth. You can try giving him a frozen washcloth (terry cloth) or ice to chew on.

  • Sam G

    I seriously need help! i have a 6 month schichon (new dog) who just wont eat dog food. Ive tried EVERYTHING from blue buffalo (chicken), kirkland nature domain salmon and WEF (chicken) and he wont eat ANYTHING already been to the vet and she said no problems watsoever. Im not giving him any treats to make him hungry so he’ll eat but nope…but If i give him boiled chicken and rice or egg and rice he devours it. I just dont know wat to do…is there any brand thats not too expensive…ur small dog LOVED? Ive also tried mixing in boiled chicken with his kibble…if hes super hungry (nothing for about a day and half) he’ll pick out the chicken n eat but most of the time he wont even touch it

  • Kevin

    My dog has been on diamond lamb and rice for 2 largebags. The last two days he has vomited after eating. Appears to have nature energy,no fever. Is anyone else having any issues?

  • txn64

    I just replied about dog food for Diamond Naturals. I give my German Shepherds 2 tablespoons a day of Unrefined Organic Coconut Oil Daily.. It is the dry season. If you bathe your dog too much they will be itchy when you wash the oils out of their coat. Not good to bathe them to often. =Start with 1 tsp a day you can melt and put in food or let them eat it off the spoon. Move up to a TBLSP a day.

  • txn64

    I personally would not feed them puppy food.. I start all of my German Shepherds on Adult food to slow the bone growth. You might try the adult Lamb & Rice. Of course mix old food with the new to transition the dog to new food.. Give him pumpkin for loose stools (pure pumpkin) not the pie filling.

  • Caitlin Nicole Sealey-Brown

    Pauline they’re Pitbull Terrier mixes. I don’t know what their dad was so that’s what I refer to them as. We’re going to try Victor dog food and see how that works. I will also be supplementing fish oil as well. As much as I hate to say it I can’t afford foods like Earthbound. Trust me if I could they’d be eating it.

  • Pauline

    ‘pitbull’ mixes tend to have alot of skin issues, you will need to see what kind of Terrier they are. I have a Pitbull and she tends to have dry skin no matter the food she is on, however I do see a huge improvement with Hollistic brands such as EarthBorn. If possible try putting coconut oil in their food to help, D-Earth, as well as some coconut oil baths. It helps with my girls skin issues especially through the winter months

  • Caitlin Nicole Sealey-Brown

    Aaron it sounds like you need a new vet if you’ve formed your opinion based on experience. My vet doesn’t even sell food and I’ve used him long enough that I trust him with our animals.

    As for the UTI statements, when multiple people are reporting the same thing and the problem stopped after the food was switched then it more than likely was the food. Not every vet is out to make a quick buck off of people.

    After reading what people have reported I would say that they had every reason to believe it was the dog food.

  • Caitlin Nicole Sealey-Brown

    After reading those comments I will say I’ve seen a lot of the same things in our two dogs. Our dogs also act like they’re starving all the time even though they get fed 2-3 times a day and at least two of those times I fill their bowls up. It’s seeming like a switch wouldn’t hurt.

  • Crazy4cats

    I’m sure it has. I’ve been there. But, with digestive issues not itching and scratching. I hope you can get to the bottom of it. Best of luck to you and your pups!

  • Caitlin Nicole Sealey-Brown

    It has been very annoying playing the food guessing game.

  • Caitlin Nicole Sealey-Brown

    Aaron where are you pulling the UTI statement from? There was nothing mentioned above about one just diarrhea which has happened to my dogs.

    As for the vet comment, some vets, like mine don’t even sell dog food and any that I’ve seen sell Sciene Diet and I would hope people wouldn’t feed that to their dogs.

  • Crazy4dogs

    One other thing you’ll want to take into consideration is you also want to make sure that it has the correct calcium/phosphorus ratio for a large breed puppy if he is going to be over 50 lbs at maturity.

  • Crazy4cats

    Hi Caitlin-
    Sounds like you have a frustrating situation. In addition to the information that Shawna gave you on food sensitivities, your dogs could have environmental allergies. Here are a few links with some examples:

    http://www.petmd.com/dog/conditions/skin/c_dg_atopic_dermatitis

    http://healthypets.mercola.com/sites/healthypets/archive/2009/12/23/environmental-allergies-and-your-pet.aspx

    Hope this helps. Good luck!

  • Caitlin Nicole Sealey-Brown

    I’ve thought about trying something grain free. I noticed a lot of Pit owners reporting a lot of issues with chicken and grain in their animals. Now before anyone freaks out yes I know each dog is different. The only reason I took those comments into consideration is because of how many people were reporting the issuer and it wasn’t just on this site.

    Diamond makes a grain free that I almost got when I bought our last bag of food. I may go back and get it and see if it helps any.

  • LabsRawesome

    Here’s Victors’ site, if you want to check them out.
    http://www.victordogfood.com

  • Crazy4dogs

    It’s hard to say if it’s the ingredients in the Diamond formula, or the protein. You might want to try Lamb from a different company or, if you want to stay with Diamond, pick a fish formula. It could also be the grains in the Large breed puppy. My avatar did have issues with grains, many years ago, which is why I went grain free. The other option is going with a limited ingredient diet to see if that helps the itching problem. If you do, you have to keep the protein source for treats the same as the food source to see if it really helps. Good luck with it.

  • Caitlin Nicole Sealey-Brown

    I never said they were wrong. They just got off topic from my question.

    Anyway, their main food has been Diamond Large breed puppy. The main protein source in that food is lamb. I try to avoid anything with chicken or wheat in it.

  • Crazy4dogs

    Hi Caitlin,

    Labs is right, there are negative opinions on almost every food reviewed on this site. Pure Balance is budget friendly and currently made by a good manufacturer.

    It’s hard to be sure that any food caused the kidney failure unless there were blood tests done and food tested. Probably the best protection against kidney failure is provide some fresh food to help keep him properly hydrated. I always feed a mix of kibble, canned and fresh food on a daily basis.

    Regarding the itchiness, have you always used the same protein source (i.e. chicken, turkey, etc)? If so, I would try switching proteins to see if that helps.

  • Shawna

    The itchy skin and off and on diarrhea can be from an ingredient in the food that the dogs are reacting to – if they are litter mates or related it wouldn’t be unusual for them to react to the same ingredient.

    So, as an example, if they are reacting to potato in food A and you switch to food B, which also has potato, it too will not work for them – if it is the food that is causing the symptoms.

    The best way, in my opinion, to handle this is to look for a food similar in ingredients to the Pure Balance and try that. Keep in mind that it can be the protein source (chicken, beef etc) OR the protein in the carb source (potato, pea, garbonzo, soy etc) that can cause the reaction. Keep a journal of what foods they react to and what foods they don’t and you can start to pick out ingredients that could be the problem.

    Don’t be surprised if they have set backs. If you change the food and see noticeable improvement in the itching but then one of them has a day of intense itching, as long as he gets better again I would not consider that a reaction to the food. When reacting to foods the body has a build up of histamine and other things and those have to be cleared out. This can take time, months even, to happen and is often the reason for a day or two of bad symptoms after weeks of getting better.

    Also, most of us here rotate our pets’ foods. If you decide to rotate, don’t do it while you are getting them back to the non-itchy, always good poo state.

  • Caitlin Nicole Sealey-Brown

    Yes I know that but a review about kidney failure is different from ones where people said their dogs had vomiting and diarrhea. Anyway that was not the purpose of my post as I had said.

    Victor is sold at our local pet store and I’ve looked at it a few times but have never actually bought it.

  • LabsRawesome

    You will find negative reviews on almost every food on this site. That is true for all reviews from the 5 star rated foods all the way down to the 1 star. Just because a food get some bad reviews, that doesn’t mean that there is anything wrong with it. Not all foods will work for all dogs. I use 3, 4, and 5 star rated dry foods, and 4-5 star rated canned foods. I rate them based on how my dogs do on them, not how other people say their dogs do on them. I use human grade fish oil, it has dramatically improved my dogs skin and coat quality. One other food that I forgot to mention is Victor. It’s more budget friendly if you can find it locally. I use the grain free varieties. Another food to look into is Nutrisource, many people seem to have good luck with it too.

  • Caitlin Nicole Sealey-Brown

    I stopped using it because more than one person were giving the same review. My question was about foods that could help with itchy skin that were budget friendly but also good quality. I’ve looked into a lot of foods Walmart carries and in my opinion they are mostly junk. My dogs love Diamond but it’s not helping their skin and they are chewing themselves raw at times.

  • LabsRawesome

    If your dogs did well on Pure Balance why did you switch? Just because some people give bad reviews, that’s no reason to change foods. I don’t put too much faith in peoples reviews because some people don’t take the time to transition from one food to the next, or even know how to properly do so. Or perhaps their particular dog just doesn’t do well on a food, then they post that their dog has diarrhea or vomiting, and they’re convinced that whatever food they’re using is somehow poison. It’s ridiculous.
    Dogs can get diarrhea and vomiting for a variety of reasons, its not always from their food.
    Here are some of the Budget friendly foods I use.
    4health grain free, Pure Balance grain free, Rachael Ray Zero Grain, Costco has Kirkland, and Nature’s Domain.

  • Caitlin Nicole Sealey-Brown

    I have a question. When I first got our now 7 month old Pit mix I begged him Pure Balance. After reading some bad reviews on that food I started looking for alternatives. We’ve tried Taste of the Wild and now he eats Diamond Naturals Large Breed Puppy. Him and his brother have both had a flea problem and of corse had itchy skin. After the fleas were taken care of they both were still itchy. Their food is a 3.5 star rating on this site. They do fine on it for the most part but do have lose stool from time to time. My question is what would be another food worth trying that could help with the itchy skin and stools? I get confused when I’m at the pet store looking at all the different foods. Wallet friendly options would be best.

  • Peggy Egan

    My 9 year old Pom/Eskie mix was switched to the small breed lamb Diamond Naturals about 5 years ago and done well. (Recommended by a groomer friend of mine.) Her weepy eyes and red stained fur around her eyes disappeared, she doesn’t stink anymore, her weight is stable and has small, regular, medium firm poops…..all good as far as I can tell.
    I appreciate your information about this food.
    On another note….wow! I was stunned by how many brands of dog food there is!

  • Franshesca Henry

    I will have to agree that Diamond has been giving my huskies alot of problems lately, my husky has been gradually losing weight and has been having worse and worse diarrhea. She’s now very skinny, won’t eat, and her BM’s are liquid now. I’m taking her to the vet tomorrow and most likely will have to change the food.

  • BoxerBliss

    I use Pure Balance canned stews frequently. My dogs always have done very well with it.

  • LabsRawesome

    Absolutely nothing. I use their canned and dry foods.

  • DogFoodie

    I’ve used Pure Balance canned and dry foods and would recommend them to others in certain circumstances. I think PB is a good, budget friendly, choice.

  • JV777

    Whats wrong with Pure Balance?

  • Aaron Schmitz

    99% of the time when your dog has a UTI infection, it’s the water your giving them.

  • Aaron Schmitz

    No problems here. If your dog has a UTI infection, it’s not cause of the food, and of course a Vet is going to tell you it is, so you’ll buy the food THEY sell and make a huge profit on. Gullible people fall for this every minute of the day.

  • Aaron Schmitz

    Are you for real? Pure Balance?? LOOOL, do NOT, I repeat do NOT feed your dog Pure Balance, complete garbage.

  • Jan Short

    Lots of issues reported lately with Diamond. I’ve been feeding for years. Going to switch now. http://www.consumeraffairs.com/pets/diamond_dog_food.html

  • sorackley

    Thanks for the suggestions!

  • Storm’s Mom

    Check out Nutrisource. They have a Small Breed Puppy formula that’s very similar to Diamond’s. However, you may want to look into something with a different protein source (such as lamb (Nutrisource’s Grain Free Lamb formula, for example) or fish), as there may be an intolerance/allergy involved. You don’t need to feed a puppy formula specifically, though..look for something that says it’s for “All Life Stages”. Pure Balance, which you can buy at Walmart is another one I’d suggest. Fromm would be another one to look into. Hope this helps!

    edit: if you have a Tractor Supply store nearby, take a look at their 4health dog food…it’s another budget friendly, good quality food.

  • Sarah Rackley

    Please help!! Are there any equally high quality foods in the same or lower price range as Diamond? My Boston Terrier puppy has had almost constant soft poops, sometimes with blobs of mucus or full blown diarrhea, on Diamond Naturals small breed puppy. He’s been checked by the vet and is clear of parasites. I’m thinking it is too rich for him, but I don’t want to compromise quality and my husband won’t let me spend any more on food. I also have a 2 year old collie that I switched to the large breed chicken and rice formula, but he seems to be doing fine on it. Thank you!!

  • InkedMarie

    I’m pretty sure I’m allowed to comment on anything that is posted here as long as I am courteous. Thats great your puppies parents/grandparents have no HD but its the testing that is important.

    Treating others as equals? I’m honestly not sure what you mean. I’m not a breeder but I DO know what makes a good breeder. Anyone who breeds a dog just because the dog is smart isn’t,

  • Matt d

    Hi @ inked marie, thanks for your concern. i just asked about food, not your take on breeding.. to answer your questions thou, and elaborate–that i already stated in my original question…. he is by far the smartest dog i’ve ever owned [he’s a boxer], i’ve raised boxers, dasc, and aust. shepherds before that were amazing [aust. shepard’s that is], he puts them to shame… hes 11-12 weeks and his vocabulary and recall and problem solving is the best i’ve seen, he’s akc , parent and gparents no cancer/hip/etc. i’ve
    had dogs for 30 yrs.. next a rich man,, rich is a objective word.. what’s rich?? can i afford to throw away money… no. Can i afford the 550 $ vet bill for animal hospital on the weekend for a uti on the weekend pup just had ..yes.[ by the way a k9-jethro was there that night, he got shot 3 times , sadly he didn’t make it. rip jethro….] just saying maybe you should treat people on here as your equals. im sry, if i seemed harsh.. i realize there are a lot of dogs out there. most in my area are pit mixes and i cant afford insurance on them, already tried… have a great female boxer in ohio, lets talk ??

  • LabsRawesome

    Take a look at Victor dog food. Use their store locator to find a store in your area. If you can get it locally, its a great food at a good price. http://www.victordogfood.com

  • InkedMarie

    I won’t address the food but I will the breeding. Why do you want to use him to father a litter? You say you aren’t a rich man but it’s not cheap to have all the necessary health testing done to see if your dog is medically sound to breed. If you choose a female, it’s necessary that she have the testing done. Ideally, you will see the results for the grandparents as well.

    Just some things to think about. There are far too many dogs needing homes; breeding should be done for certain reasons and using the best specimens.

  • aimee

    Hi Matt d,

    Congratulations on your new pup!

    When it comes to choosing a food I approach the task from a different perspective than most. The star ratings here are based on an ingredient list. I don’t look to the ingredient list I look to the company.

    This is a well written piece on how to select a food.

    http://www.wsava.org/sites/default/files/Recommendations%20on%20Selecting%20Pet%20Foods.pdf

    The puppy food I choose doesn’t have a lot of stars, only 2 1/2 but the company employs veterinary nutritionists who formulated the diet, the food was fed to the breed I own and those dogs were monitored for a 1 year for growth and orthopedic development. Over 1200 test parameters were taken during that period. The company described for me the extensive quality control procedures they take. The company invests in nutritional research and publishes in peer reviewed publications.

    In other words it met all the criteria set out by the World Small Animal Veterinary Association.

    Interview the company, once you find a company you like than you can choose among the products they make.

  • Matt d

    i am in the process of switching my 10 wk old boxer from purina puppy complete to diamond large breed puppy. is this a good idea? this food had better than average reviews, but reliability may be an issue.. im not a rich man, but i figure i can afford better than box store food.. i know this food is a lot better nutritionally, but does the companies rep. negate the positive ingredients? i would rather have a less healthy dog than one with salmonella. any thoughts greatly appreciated!! ive had boxers before.. been a few years. But this new guy is really smart, best lil one i’ve ever had!!! i just want to do the best for him i can afford, as i look to what he will become, might even possible breed him… any thoughts appreciated… thanks in advance!!!

  • tonia

    The information on this site is extremely helpful and I refer to it often but it’s my understanding that the star rating is heavily based on protein levels and my dogs have varying protein sensitivity

  • tonia

    I haven’t noticed my packaging changing but I have noticed changes in how my dogs and cats are tolerating diamond natural all of a sudden.. Seems to me they must have changed something.. I’m researching to make a change..

  • theBCnut

    This is Dog Food Advisor, not Diamond. This does sound like an allergy, and they probably did change the formula. That’s what bag changes usually signify.

  • Adam -Baldr Vordermark -Odinso

    My dog has been on diamond, adult breed. for 5 years. Their packaging just changed, and all of a sudden he is breaking out in a rash on his underside, and getting feverish. i took him off of it and he is getting better. Did you guys change your formula? did he just develop an allergy to it?

  • Bobby dog

    Hi bmetz:
    We’re doing well, thank you!

    At least the tears you shed are for a good reason! 😉

    Very good customer service with Chewy. I find their prices are usually in the range, sometimes cheaper during sales, of my local shops. They also offer free shipping on orders over $49 if that is something your budget can handle. Autoship might be something to look into as well. They are very accommodating with this service and you receive a discount while using this option.

    I used to order from Dr. Foster & Smith years ago for my JRT and always received good customer service from them; never ordered food from them either.

  • Crazy4cats

    You’re welcome! I’ve read many praises on this site about Chewy. It saves on gas and I don’t believe they charge sales tax either. But you need to feel comfortable with it.

  • bmetz

    Hey Bobby dog!!! 🙂 How are you?
    Yes, they finally are. I could have cried tears of joy when all the dogs had solid bowel movements and stayed that way! LOL How sad is that?! Haha.

    Good deal on Chewy! I am glad you both mentioned it because I was just looking at the food on there before I posted here. Glad to hear that, never know with some online places.. they make things difficult sometimes! Sounds like good customer service.

    I like Drsfosterandsmith.com for a lot of things. I haven’t ordered food from them before though because I always found it cheaper locally(but that is the case most times with online shopping for heavier items).
    Thanks for the input! I appreciate it! Hope you all have been well!