Cesar Original (Canned)

Share

Rating: ★★½☆☆

Cesar Original Dog Food receives the Advisor’s second-lowest tier rating of 2.5 stars.

The Cesar Original product line includes 17 canned dog foods. However, since we’re unable to locate AAFCO nutritional adequacy statements for these dog foods on the product’s web page, it’s impossible for us to report specific life stage recommendations for these recipes.

The following is a list of recipes available at the time of this review.

  • Cesar Original with Beef
  • Cesar Original with Duck
  • Cesar Original with Lamb
  • Cesar Original with Turkey
  • Cesar Original Top Sirloin Flavor
  • Cesar Original Filet Mignon Flavor
  • Cesar Original T-Bone Steak Flavor
  • Cesar Original Grilled Chicken Flavor
  • Cesar Original with Chicken and Beef
  • Cesar Original with Chicken and Veal
  • Cesar Original with Chicken and Liver
  • Cesar Original Pork Tenderloin Flavor
  • Cesar Original Porterhouse Steak Flavor
  • Cesar Original Smoked BBQ Chicken Flavor
  • Cesar Original Senior with Chicken and Rice
  • Cesar Original Puppy with Chicken and Beef
  • Cesar Original with Oven Roasted Chicken Flavor

Cesar Original Filet Mignon Flavor was selected to represent the other products in the line for this review.

Cesar with Filet Mignon Flavor in Meaty Juices

Canned Dog Food

Estimated Dry Matter Nutrient Content

Protein = 44% | Fat = 19% | Carbs = 28%

Ingredients: Sufficient water for processing, beef by-products, liver, meat by-products, beef, chicken, chicken by-products, calcium carbonate, natural flavor, added color, sodium tripolyphosphate, carrageenan, dried yam, xanthan gum, potassium chloride, salt, erythorbic acid, natural filet mignon flavor, guar gum, zinc sulfate, vitamin A, D3, and E supplements, sodium nitrite (for color retention), d-calcium pantothenate, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1)

Fiber (estimated dry matter content) = 5.6%

Red items when present indicate controversial ingredients

Estimated Nutrient Content
MethodProteinFatCarbs
Guaranteed Analysis8%4%NA
Dry Matter Basis44%19%28%
Calorie Weighted Basis37%39%24%

The first item is water, which adds nothing but moisture to this food. Water is a routine finding in most canned dog foods.

Three of the next six ingredients are all animal by-products, items made from slaughterhouse waste. This is what’s left of slaughtered poultry and livestock after all the prime striated muscle cuts have been removed.

In addition to organs (the nourishing part), this stuff can contain almost any part of the animal — except quality skeletal muscle.1

Although most animal by-products can be nutritious, we do not consider ingredients like these to be high quality items.

Now, returning to the list, the third ingredient is liver. Normally, liver can be considered a quality component. However, in this case, the source of the liver is not identified.

For this reason, it’s impossible to judge the quality of this item.

The fifth ingredient is beef. Beef is defined as “the clean flesh derived from slaughtered cattle” and includes skeletal muscle or the muscle tissues of the tongue, diaphragm, heart or esophagus.1

The sixth ingredient is chicken. Chicken is considered “the clean combination of flesh and skin… derived from the parts or whole carcasses of chicken”.3

Both beef and chicken are naturally rich in the ten essential amino acids required by a dog to sustain life.

From here, the list goes on to include a number of other items.

But to be realistic, ingredients located this far down the list (other than nutritional supplements) are not likely to have much of an effect on the overall rating of this product.

With four notable exceptions

First, we’re always disappointed to find artificial coloring in any dog food. Coloring is used to make the product more appealing to you, not your dog. After all, do you really think your dog cares what color his food is?

Next, we note the inclusion of sodium nitrite, a controversial color preservative. Sodium nitrite has been linked to the production of cancer-causing substances (known as nitrosamines) when meats are exposed to high cooking temperatures.

In addition, carrageenan is a gelatin-like thickening agent extracted from seaweed. Although carrageenan has been used as a food additive for hundreds of years, there does appear to be some recent controversy regarding its long term biological safety.

And lastly, we find no detailed listing of the minerals included in this product. So, there’s no way for us to know with certainty if these minerals are chelated.

Non-chelated minerals are considered more difficult to absorb.

The Bottom Line
Cesar Original Dog Food

Judging by its ingredients alone, Cesar Original Dog Food looks like a below-average wet product.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the product’s meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 44%, a fat level of 19% and estimated carbohydrates of about 28%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 45% and a mean fat level of 19%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 28% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 43%.

Above-average protein. Below-average fat. And near-average carbs as compared to a typical canned dog food.

Free of any plant-based protein boosters, this looks like the profile of a canned dog food containing a significant amount of meat.

Bottom line?

Cesar Original is a meat-based wet dog food using a significant amount of species-specific and generic by-products as its main sources of animal protein, thus earning the brand 2.5 stars.

Not recommended.

Those looking for a higher rated food from the same company may wish to visit our review of Cesar Gourmet Filets canned dog food.

A Final Word

The descriptions and analyses expressed in this and every article on this website represent the views and opinions of the author.

We rely almost entirely on the integrity of the information posted by each company on its website. As such, the accuracy of every report is directly dependent upon the quality of that data.

Although it's our goal to ensure all the information on this website is correct, we cannot guarantee its completeness or its accuracy; nor can we commit to ensuring all the material is kept up-to-date on a daily basis.

Each review is offered in good faith and has been designed to help you make a more informed decision when buying dog food.

However, due to the biological uniqueness of every animal, none of our ratings are intended to suggest feeding a particular product will result in a specific dietary response or health benefit for your pet.

For a better understanding of how we analyze each product, please read our article, "The Problem with Dog Food Reviews".

Remember, no dog food can possibly be appropriate for every life stage, lifestyle or health condition. So, choose wisely. And when in doubt, consult a qualified veterinary professional for help.

In closing, we do not accept money, gifts or samples from pet food companies in exchange for special consideration in the preparation of our reviews or ratings.

To learn how we support the cost of operating this website, please visit our public Disclosure and Disclaimer page.

Have an opinion about this dog food? Or maybe the review itself? Please know we welcome your comments.

Notes and Updates

01/14/2010 Original review
08/18/2010 Review updated
05/27/2012 Review updated
12/25/2013 Review updated
12/25/2013 Last Update

  1. Association of American Feed Control Officials
  2. Association of American Feed Control Officials
  3. Association of American Feed Control Officials
  • Tessa Grant

    I have a yorkie and I feed him this all the time, he seems to love it.. I havent seen any problems with him at all, just that he is gaining weight, and he poops alot. Idk if thats good or bad?

  • Maija Lorraine

    i hate this dog food it makes my dog have a dry mouth. shes not healthy because its all fake food it has artificial flavoring. I say go to wilderness blue buffalo dog food it is better for your dog in so many ways. you will see what i’m talking about when you go to there web site and read there ingredients and then look at you dog food ratings and ingredients you will see the different’s.

  • ccat

    I have recently been finding a lot of large chunks of viens and pieces of white things that i really don’t know what it is. My dachound mini has been on ceasar dry foe six years no problems but my one year old shi poo wont it dry so I put her on canned Caesar….not any more after seeing that stuff.

  • [email protected],

    I have been feeding my dog ceasers for the past 5 years, he is a yorkie before that he was eating mighty dog but that was giving him diarea and ever since he has been eating ceasers he hasnt had diarea and he loves it, but he is gaining alot of weight, dont know if it is because of the food or is it because he doesnt go out everyday and I also give him one treats a day beacon strips, all i know is that my dog loves ceasers dog food

  • Ryan

    Our Silky Terrier loved Cesar dog food and ate 1/2 a can in the morning and 1/2 a can in the evening for her entire life. She not only got her Championship, She lived an extremely long and healthy life. (The Life expectancy of this breed is normally between 12 & 14 years.) She passed away a few weeks after her 19th birthday. I really disagree with those who claim this food isn’t good for your dog. It sure didn’t hurt mine. In fact, she loved it!!!

  • char9508

    my minpins eat both – wet cesar and dry blue buffalo.

  • theBCnut

    That was a huge change in diet and should have been done very slowly. Just like people, if your dog is used to only one type of food, sudden changes will cause an upset stomach. With a food as poor as Ceasars, you could even need to switch to foods that are slightly better first before going for something as rich as BB.

  • Naunieann

    Ok My little Mini Pin has been on Ceasars since I got him and he is 1 year old now. This is the only thing he eats. I changed him and my other dog to Blue Widerness because I was advised by someone here to use a different food. Well the next few days after the so called better food ,my little fellow had bad Diarreah and was pooping blood .So was my other dog. I have started him back on his ceasars and he is striving again. Shiny coat and happy. Sometimes I use the generic Filet Minot brands and they do fine on them also. Both my dogs are better now .

  • Irene Greenfield

    my dog is atibetan spaniel and at a18 months old was sick for the first time after eating ceaser filets amber

  • butchroy

    Jennie, have you notified the makers of the Cesar’s canned food? This is a site for learning about all kinds of pet foods, it is not the site for Cesar’s. If you look on the can of Cesar’s food you will find a number to call or a web site to visit. Good luck.

  • Jennie Marie Estrada

    Hi I was gonna feed my dog your food and found a pig or some kind of animals ear in the food, gross..

  • Pattyvaughn

    Take her to the vet and see what the vet says about her loose teeth. A lot of small dogs don’t do enough chewing on things that will clean their teeth and the build up of gunk makes their teeth loose.

  • Steve Mallory

    Hi fellow dog folks. My name is steve i have a verry lovely blond chiwawa thet i love whith all my hart iv ben feeding my girl cesar gourmet filets in the litteil cup she absolotly wont eat inythag els she loves it and i want my girl happy …But i just noticed thet her frunt tooth are loos and shes ackting like she dosent want to play so much ennyi bont know what to do im nerves can inny one help me … im terafide i may have cased this buy feeding her thuat soft food .. what can i do

  • Naunieann

    My Mini pin won’t eat anything elese. He just loves the breakfast trays and Filet Minon.
    He has a shiny coat, wet nose and is a very happy dog.

  • Sherri

    We have had the same experience with our shih tzu/lhasa apso mix. Beau loves the Cesar dinners and breakfasts and I mix his evening meal with dried food which he will not eat unless Cesar is in the bowl, too. He is a healthy and active 12 years of age and has been eating Cesar for the last 9 years. I have not run across any that smelled bad.

  • Pingback: Allergies or more? My pug has been breaking out in rashes, hives, bumps. Loosing hair and more. - Page 2()

  • InkedMarie

    Yeah, figured that out lol but I have your email. Going to send you a pic now that I’m on my computer

  • Pattyvaughn

    And be careful of who you give what info to on here. There is a certain person who is being a creeper and trying to get personal info from some of us and making inappropriate posts under multiple names with what he thinks is someones personal info.

  • Pattyvaughn

    I’m not on FB :-{

  • Guest

    nevermind, was thinking you were my fb friend. Are you on fb?

  • InkedMarie

    nevermind, I was thinking you were my fb friend but you aren’t. Are you on FB?

  • InkedMarie

    Don’t want to go too off topic but will fb you a pic

  • Pattyvaughn

    I guess that explains my problem then. I come from a long line of hill folk who never had diamonds, but they never got divorced either. I don’t think that for ordinary people that the tradition of diamond engagement rings goes back very far. I think that is a bill of goods that the jewelry industry has sold us.

  • Melissaandcrew

    I disagree. I don’t think the issue is the diamonds or size of them, but rather the following of tradition. But, to each there own and things vary from generation to generation.

  • Pattyvaughn

    I told my husband(then fiance) that I didn’t want an engagement ring because I don’t like stones on my rings(they catch on everything, and I was crazy busy back then) and I don’t like wearing two rings on the same finger(they pinch) and the wedding band was more important to me. My sister went the other route and has this huge heart shaped diamond that she is constantly worrying about. No Thanks!! The funny thing is my wedding band is filagree so it doesn’t even have a whole lot of gold in it. It cost a whopping $68. My husband’s wedding band was twice what mine was. It will soon be our 19th anniversary, so it must have worked.

  • InkedMarie

    If I could do it over again, I’d have hoped for turquoise or opal ( real opal has hues of blue & purple). After 31 yrs of marriage, Steve got me a beautiful opal with tiny diamond ring. I love it!

  • Pattyvaughn

    People who think you have to have a diamond ring only care about how much it cost, not the relationship it’s supposed to represent.

  • http://www.facebook.com/mah4angel Mary Alida Hornaday

    That’s how I feel, but I do know some people who wouldn’t agree without a ring. Those people can have their opinions, and I obviously have mine ^_^
    Everyone at the place we work at calls him my husband! Hahaha :)

  • InkedMarie

    If he asked you to array him, or vice versa, then you’re engaged!

  • http://www.facebook.com/mah4angel Mary Alida Hornaday

    That’s what I’ve always believed :D

  • Pattyvaughn

    A ring is only a symbol of what is already there. It’s not a necessity. He is your fiancee.

  • http://www.facebook.com/mah4angel Mary Alida Hornaday

    Aw thanks! :D
    We don’t! We’re both young, and we don’t have much money to our names so we’re not planning on a wedding for a couple of years, actually. I’m trying to figure out a date or general time-frame. I want an outdoor wedding (dangerous, I know) in a garden setting, so I’m thinking the beginning of summer.
    He wants to have a house and a career first and I agree. But we’re very happy with where we are (in our relationship, that is).
    I don;t have a ring (he’s saving up for one) so I guess you could say that we’re not officially engaged, but engaged to be engaged? I’m not really sure because he asked me, kind of spontaneously if I would be his wife and I said yes, of course, even though he didn’t have a ring. I actually don’t really care, he had love in his heart, so the ring on my finger can wait ^_^ I still call him my fiancee, though.

  • InkedMarie

    Wow, so sorry you have to deal with this. I hope you get out soon. Do you have a wedding date set yet? Congrats to that, by the way!

  • http://www.facebook.com/mah4angel Mary Alida Hornaday

    Thanks so much! I just can’t stand any of this stuff actually being fed to my Louie!
    It’s like if someone tried to feed a newborn baby vending machine food…

  • Pattyvaughn

    It’s really tough when it’s family…
    I hope you’re able to move soon, and fortunately a few lousy meals probably won’t have long term consequences. Added antioxidants help the body get rid of the bad junk. Good luck.

  • http://www.facebook.com/mah4angel Mary Alida Hornaday

    YES! My fiancee (Michael)’s nieces are over all the time and I want to strangle him for the way he treats those kids. I’ve already told Michael that that man will never meet my children.
    He does back me up, but we can only go so far because it’s complicated. His father is an alcoholic and a veteran. Of course, I thank him with all of my heart for his service, but he is bat-sh*t crazy, Michael has to be very careful what he says around him, his dad has straight up socked him in the face before when he was drunk. And that was just because Michael said that he owed him money he was promised for doing a favor for him.
    In the end, we don’t really have any backyard space for our baby here and obviously this is not the best environment for any of us. I cannot wait until I can feed him nothing but this carefully selected diet without being impeded by morons.

  • Pattyvaughn

    My sister is in a very similar situation so I completely feel for you. And if he treats you that way with your dog, then imagine how he’ll be with your kids. A bad situation all around. I hope your fiancee backs you up against him. If he doesn’t, don’t marry until he gets a spine, what a nightmare.

  • http://www.facebook.com/mah4angel Mary Alida Hornaday

    I’m making it my sole mission in life to move out with my fiancee as soon as possible.
    I’m sorry for my negative rant and bad language but, I have spent entire days devoted to finding great dog foods for my baby because I love him to death and I want him to be happy and healthy.
    How someone can be so ignorant and arrogant is beyond me. It seriously brings out all of the anger I have stored inside myself when someone is basically hurting someone I love, intentionally or unintentionally, good-intentioned or bad.

  • Pattyvaughn

    If you live with your father in law, let him clean up the mess. And insist he pay the vet bill for excessive stool checks and whatever else you can think of.

  • http://www.facebook.com/mah4angel Mary Alida Hornaday

    Earthborn wet dog food! It has distinguishable veggies and chunks of meat. My dog goes absolutely crazy for it. It’s on PetFlow and is reviewed on here if you’d like to check it out. It also got a five-star rating on here.

  • http://www.facebook.com/mah4angel Mary Alida Hornaday

    My a**hole drunk father-in-law decided to buy this crap for my dog and will feed it to him whenever he damn well pleases because he thinks I’m not feeding him enough. Probably because my dog isn’t a fat, lazy, slob like he is.
    I’ve spent a lot of time, energy, and money researching and finding the perfect dog foods for my dog (I’m using Earthborn Holistic wet and dry dog food at the moment and was previously using Innova Prime until the recall, I also plan on rotating between high quality foods like DNA and Orijen, among others), and I cannot stand that my dog is eating this stuff and getting full off of this stuff and NOT eating his very high-quality dog food because of this idiot.
    Have you read the ingredients list? Seriously? I would never in a million years give this to my dog of my own free will. So far, I can’t link his diarrhea or vomiting to this food, but it;s definitely the main and only suspect. The stupid Filet Mignon treats from Cesar give him diarrhea (guess who bought those treats for him??), so I wouldn’t doubt for a second that his diarrhea is being caused by this. The vomiting, I suspect, is from over-eating because of this stuff but I can’t be sure of that.
    I may have some idea about the vomiting and diarrhea but it sure is hard to keep tabs on any possible CANCER caused by the sodium nitrite in his food.
    Bottom line, this stuff is crap, there’s no denying that this stuff is crap, and I will find a way to throw it out or SO HELP ME, someone is going to pay.
    I should tell him to eat that crap and see how he feels afterwards.

  • Maggie1123

    My dog was sick for 3 days with diarrhea after eating this food. I bought quite a bit of it at Wal-mart and I hesitate to return it because they’ll just put it back out on the shelves for other dogs to get sick. I wish we could test it to see what’s in it that made her so sick.

  • 38manny

    I appreciate your specific information. I’ve recently adopted a small dog, over weight and has only eaten table food. Getting him to eat dog food has been impossible. I was hoping to find good things about this product. Sadly, I am still on the hunt for quality dog food that is much like Cesar gourmet since its consistency reasonables table food.
    Any ideas or suggestions? Thanks. I’m desperate

  • http://www.thegreedypinstripes.com/ BryanV21

    It’s costly, but Weruva is probably the best canned food I know of. It’s made in human-grade facilities with human-grade ingredients. I heard that they’ll actually have people there taste-test the food themselves.

  • davenbecky

    I thought I was doing Riley good, giving her soft food twice a day as she is a puppy, then she stopped eating everything I was giving her. I opened a container of food one evening and I always cut up and heat up her food in the microwave and was DISGUSTED!!! There were what looked like big arteries in her food all rubbery and clumped together! I LOOKED UP REVIEWS here and immediately quit giving her it forever. Now prob is having trouble getting her to eat much of anything! Listen to your dog!!! That SHOULD BE OUTLAWED! Even for .72 cents a container the company could make sure it is real meat and no by-products. I feel awful, I could make her meat myself for that cost. Im not feeding her anything that doesnt seem up to the standards and smell like something I would eat myself!!!

  • Crystal N.

    YES! I have two dogs. One male mixed breed (tibetian spaniel/pomeranian) and one female Pomeranian. They are both from the pound and to my surprise are very picky eaters. My male over my female! I wasn’t able to go to my normal dog store to pick up there food and saw cesars so I thought I’d let them try it (the low cost was nice too!) and my male didn’t touch it and my female LOVED it but it makes her very very sleepy! My normal dog food whic is more expensive but all natural and has NO by products, fresh ingredients and delicious for dogs safe for owners is Natures Valley Raw Instincts. They’re frozen meat patties. I know you hear frozen, but trust me this stuff is safe then I mix it with Lotus Dry kibble to make the patties last longer. Both my dogs love it and so do other dogs who come over. The money is well worth peace of mind for a long living healthy dog!

  • Pattyvaughn

    Somebody pointed that out at the time, but when Disqus changed formats that comment got seperated.

  • JellyCat

    Cesar dog food has nothing to do with Cesar Milan! Absolutely nothing! It is made by Mars – Pedegree and Nuro maker.

    Cesar Milan used to have his own brand Dog Whisperer. I don’t know if this food still exists. However, ingredients in this food are fairly decent.

  • JellyCat

    ZiwiPeak canned is really tasty to most dogs. However, I think it is more expensive than Cesar. But because it comes in bigger can and is more concentrated, one can will probably replace 3 of Cesar. Tripett is also very tasty to most dogs.

    My dog is picky eater and he likes Go grain free canned and Evo canned for cats. I think you just need to try different things and you’ll eventually find one.

  • http://www.thegreedypinstripes.com/ BryanV21

    I don’t think anybody here can speak on what your dog will find tasty, and what they won’t. It’s not fun, and can cost you a bit more to do, but it comes down to trial and error.

    Pick out some of the higher rated foods on this site and go buy a can or two of each and test them out.

  • Pattyvaughn

    It would be a rare dog that turned down Tripett.

  • Leigh

    My little dogs LOVE Cesar, it’s the only thing they’ll eat. Been eating it for almost 10 years now with minimal health problems. Granted, I feed them mixed with high quality dry food, Wellness, Evo, etc I would love to switch them to something better and healthier, but what other option are there out there for price and taste for the dogs? Is there a product that is as tasty to dogs as Cesar, a bit more expensive, with MUCH better quality? I’d love to try it out. Anyone have any suggestions?

  • Len Lister

    I think dry foods contain a lot of ‘ash’ product and may lack certain nutrients. We give our dog a wide variety of dog foods, dog treats, human food [eg liverwurst], table scraps and some fresh fruits and vegetables too; whatever she will eat. The vet has always said she is in excellent health. I think that the Cesar foods contains a level of beneficial nutrients but also include elements that are not good for dog health, and elements that may ‘go bad’. Based on our experience with Cesar I think as long as a portion looks and smells okay, it probably is but beware the ones which look and smell bad – they are, and will make your dog sick.

  • Len Lister – Kitchener Canada

    We have been feeding our 12 year old Shih Tzu the Cesar individual portion sized food for about 5 years. A few years ago a worker at a health-conscious pet food store warned us of unsavory ingredients in commercial pet foods in general, and that they are legally allowed to include undefined by-products and things like used restaurant grease. Our dog seemed to like the Cesar food okay but sometimes some of them really smelled bad, like something gone rotten. We ignored and kept buying anyway. About 2 years ago our dog started having frequent cases of diarrhea, prolonged and loud stomach growling, vomiting, and frequent grass eating. By process of trial and error eliminations we have determined that only since the removal of the Cesar foods have these symptoms subsided completely and the dog seems able to tolerate anything and everything else we give her, including a multitude of table scraps, other tinned dog foods and commercially produced dog treats. A very strong piece of evidence against using Cesar! We recommend everyone stay away from this brand.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    What food were you feeding him before you switched to Cesar’s?

  • Tammyvparker

    My dog is a small mixed terrier and he was over weight and his teeth were turning black, he had thyroid problems and his hair was dull and falling out. I had always fed him good dry dog food but it just wasn’t enough! So I started to feed him Cesar’s twice a day everyday! In 4 months his teeth were white again, his hair was shiny he has lost weight and has no more thyroid problems, I am greatful for Cesar’s I love my Toby and want him to live a long time. Dogs are meant to eat meat scraps, I think Cesar’s has got it right!

  • Cressy

    Just wanted to say that expensive as it is – I’ve been feeding my dog Cesar Dog food (mostly beef and turkey) for 15 years and she’s been to the vet a total of 5 times in her life. She’s hardly ever been sick.  All I know is that she loves it – it’s always fresh and not sitting in a can in the fridge, tasting tinny or becoming rancid.  It’s convenient and she always gets the same portion.  She always has a bowl of various brands of ‘crunchies’ handy and likes to nibble here and there, but Cesar is the main meal.  Either we’ve been lucky or perhaps it’s not that bad …

  • Gabrielle

    It is most amazing for a disgusting canned dog food to cost as much as it does.  I, like and idiot, purchased 10 cans of it (10 cans for $7.00).  When I read the “Dog Food Advisor) I threw out 8 cans of it.  I can’t believe the junk they sell for that much money.  I am very careful what I feed my little Dachshund from now on.  

  • LabsRawesome

     Cesar dog food has nothing to do with “Cesar Milan”. lol http://www.petsmart.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2750304

  • Pattyvaughn

    Just like every other ignorant pet owner, they believe what people tell them, until they have reason to find out for themselves.

  • Pattyvaughn

    It’s not about good dog food when they make it about money, and Mr. Milan IS about money.

  • InkedMarie

    I would be surprised if Cesar, Rachel Ray, Ellen DeGeneres, any other celebrity who has their name on dog food have any idea where the ingredients come from. I could be wrong but since they probably won’t read this, we will never know

  • J1cent

    My Westie likes Cesar  canned dog food. I serve half portions. Unfortunately, he won’t eat other dog food especially dry and I’ve tried all the enhancers. Cesar is not being straight-forward about the quality of their canned dog food. Either put up or get out of the market. I say that to people who sell junk food for my dog. Is Cesar’s good or not? I can hardly believe Mr Milan would lend his name to something that would harm my dog. Be very careful.

  • http://profile.yahoo.com/V4NABWAPMP2VBXQ5EPAKZSPMDQ Victor

    I’ve tried Cesar dog food with my two dogs at different times.  The first few times I gave it to my Yorkie, he vomited half the time after he ate it.  My pomeranian didn’t initially seem to have any trouible with it, but after giving it to him for about a straight week he suddenly developed acute pancreatitis.  He wouldn’t eat any dog food at all for about 3 days, and then I started giving him some boiled chicken and he scarfed that down.  Now I’m just giving them both home-prepared dog food.  At least with home made, I know what goes in their stomachs.  And neigther one has ever vomited after eating home made dog food.

  • Rddupuis

    i by cesar dog  my dog dose not like those light colored stips that r cut she picks them all out

  • http://www.facebook.com/CherryDcupcakes Trinity Wayshak Kamler

    Thank u to Vanessa and to u all for bringing this horrible doggie food and how bad it is and also bringing to my attention the possible heartache it has caused our family
    I posted our story in reply to one of Vanessas comments i pray none of u have experienced such a painful thing

  • http://www.facebook.com/CherryDcupcakes Trinity Wayshak Kamler

    Hey there im so glad to hear ur baby (puppy) is doing much better. Im so very glad u caught it when u did. I read ur review and it made my heart drop. Our beloved baby boy (Boots) at 3years old. Started having seizures back to back uncontrollably. He who has never had them b4 and has been very healthy. Unfortunately me bein far away at the time. My poor mom alone rushed him to the emergency. Please keep in mind him being my moms world. Unfortunately the vet was not able to stabilize him. No meds nothing would help him at all. He breathtakingly did not make it. With not a clue or answer to the sudden cause of this. I am horrified with a wonder. Did this have to do with the GARB doggie food we are all speaking of. Now in huge amounts of fear. My heart Chloe (Boots) auntie and best friend. Who we also have been giving this GARB to. She is 9 yrs old seems like she forces herself to eat it. After turning her head from it for hours. I am going to immediately stop feeding this to my babygirl. In severe fear of losing another one of our babys. Now im not positive that this is the cause of our loss of our beloved Boots. But i will not chance it. These arent just Dogs these pups are our family our pride and joy. so thank u deeply Vanessa and to the rest of u. For sharing ur thoughts and storys. U just might have saved our other babys life. THANK U from,
    Boots,Chloe,Trinity,Debbie,Brittney and baby Lani. From Palo Alto Ca

  • InkedMarie

    Chelsea, you say “I want the best for my little girl and I feel that’s what she’s getting with little Cesar! “. If you are feeding this food, she is NOT getting the best. Take a look at the ingredients. They’re not good. If you want to feed her canned, there are other GOOD canned foods out there.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Hi Chelsea –

    I’m glad to hear your dog is eating, but did you read the review and the ingredients list? Cesar is pretty low quality food. Why not try a 4 or 5 star canned food? I’m sure she’d enjoy that just as much.

  • Chelsea

    Hello there!!!
    I have a little yorkie named Chelsea, she,s just about to turn 4 years old and I’ve always given her very expensive dry healthy dog food! One day a few weeks ago she just stopped eating it! SHE WOULD NOT EAT!!! Come to find out she was just bored with it! Can’t blame her! Did some research and started buying little Cesar in all different flavors!! She loves it and eates it up!! It smells great too!! I’m happy!! I want the best for my little girl and I feel that’s what she’s getting with little Cesar! Just thought someone else might like to know!

  • melissa

     melissa-

    I don’t think any of us need to go to the ceasar site to read up on them. By Products, colorings etc are not things I wish to feed to my dogs. Dr S’s reviews clearly spell out anything that is relevant for me and my dogs.

  • melissa

    my daushaund loves ceasars dog food been feeding it to her for years. she is 11 years old now and i would never take it away from her. you people need to go to the ceasar site and read up on them and contact them for questions on their product. my vet ask me want foods i gave my dog and i told him and he said that was fine. plus it has n-e-v-e-r had a recall like so mny of major dog food brands. waggin train dog jerkys are great treats for dogs look them up as well. melissa

  • LabsRawesome

     F Yoder, check out Variety canned dog food. It’s available at Walmart.

  • F Yoder

    I bought my first can of your dog food and will probably be the last…the things I found in it was disgusting if I want to feed anus to my dog I will pass!!!!!

  • Suzanne

    Thank you, Hound Dog Mom, for that excellent information.  My dogs are all rescued, as have been dogs I have rescued for many years.   Never before have I had my dogs become sick after they were once rehabilitated from the cruel experences they previously had in life.  Now,  money grubbing manufacturers of inferior and dangerous dog food dogs cause dogs to become sick in this country and even die.  It is heartbreaking to spend the time, the money, and to give our dogs love and devotion to have them become ill from FOOD that we buy in GOOD FAITH, sickened due to the cheap, filthy and even sometimes imported dangerous ingredients that our dogs would eat because they trust us!   One of my very old dogs did not have the strength in his system to overcome this problem of extreme diarrhea, and I still have a dog at the vets and still have other dogs at home with this problem.  I have always given my dogs the best, and I dropped the ball using one food that does not make public all the ingredients, but that will never happen again.   I hope others have learned from my trauma and grief in this.

  • Hound Dog Mom

    Hi Suzanne,

    I’m sorry to hear that your dog got sick.

    Unnamed animal by-products and fats can definitely contain controversial material. Low levels of sodium pentobarbital have shown up in low quality dog and cat foods that utilize by-products. Sodium pentobarbital is the drug used to euthanize dogs and cats, indicating that dead dogs and cats make their way into the meat rendering vats.

    This is an excerpt from “Mad Cowboy”:
    “The city of Los Angeles alone, for example, sends some two hundred tons
    of euthanized cats and dogs to a rendering plant every month. Added to the blend are the euthanized catch of animal control agencies, and
    roadkill.”

    According to “Food Pets Die For” by Ann Martin, many of these euthanize animals used in by-product still have on flea collars, collars, id tags, etc. when put into the rendering vats.

    And of the other non dog and cat animal material used, it generally includes 4D meats (dead, dying, diseased, downed) and includes such parts as heads, feet, feathers, tumors, etc.

    http://www.naturalnews.com/012647.html

    http://www.acreaturecomfort.com/truthaboutpetfood.htm

  • Suzanne

    Mike, my dogs are worse, and they went to the vet today.  The vet thinks the problem is likely the Cesar dog food some of them, the ones who have the serious diarrhea, ate.   He says it might be that a bad batch of the food was not recalled, was left on the shelves, and new batches will replace them.  I believe that, because the batch that caused the problem was on sale for five dollars less a carton.  This brings to mind that no one really knows what the ingredients really are, other than that they are by products.  But, where does that come from?  Do products from diseased animals or contaminated ingredients make their way into that food, and then sicken animals?   I am very upset, and fighting this problem that should not have happened.  I have replaced the canned Cesar with canned Wellness, and am still using the dry Blue Buffalo.
    I don’t know for sure if this was caused by the Cesar food, but wanted you to know this is the status.  I have never had this problem before with my wonderful dogs, and I am very worried about them. 

  • Suzanne

    Thank you so much, Mike. 

    I’m ashamed, because I have always fed my dogs the best, and stooped to feeding the Cesar’s because they were in bad shape when I rescued them, and they wouldn’t eat.

    Actually, the only dogs who are sick are the small ones who eat the Cesar’s food.  The others all eat Blue Buffalo.

    My concern was that this Cesar food for some reason was on sale, and it seemed to have stringy meat in it, which I have not seen before.   Really nasty looking.   Also, I had received an e-mail saying that Mars also manufactures Pedigree and some dogs had choked on Pedigree.  I guess in my mind I was making that Mars connection, and I do know that in the past dogs died from one of the foods they process there.  When I called and asked them at Mars where they source the ingredients they said out of the country and said they didn’t have to say where.  

    I don’t want berries in my dogs’ food, so I dropped using Blue Buffalo canned and Wellness canned, and have also used
    Castor & Pollux, dry and canned.   The little dogs, now sick with diarrhea, only like Cesar, but they will have to be indoctrinated to a new food.   I buy a lot from Foster&Smith, but have never tried their food.   What do you think about my trying their food for my dogs?

    Thanks!   You are a treasure!

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com/ Mike Sagman

    Hi Suzanne,

    Relax. Cesar has not been recalled since I started keeping track of dog food recalls back in 2008.

    Mars is a huge conglomerate and manufactures many different brands. The recent recall for Pedigree was for a specific line of weight loss dog foods only.

    Although Cesars isn’t one of the best dog foods in our database, this product is certainly satisfactory (especially if it fits your budget and your dogs like this brand).

    However, I’d suggest you rotate the different Cesar products as some appear to have better recipes than others.

    And be sure to check back here for comments and recommendations from some of our other regulars. There are some very knowledgeable dog owners in our community who live and breathe this topic.

    Hope this helps.

  • Suzanne

    Hi,

    I read you and refer your recommendations to others for reference.   My dogs, all rescued and many, dine on Blue Buffalo.    However, this is my question.   I have two finicky eaters who were in dire circumstances when I got them, and who would not eat, are eating Cesars in the paks.   This was working okay, although I felt guilty feeding them Cesars because I know it is suspicious in content.   To my knowledge it has never been recalled, but it is manufactured at Mars, and many foods there have been recalled, some dogs died from imported ingredients.   Recently Pedigree, made there, was recalled.  

    This week the Cesars was on sale and we bought quite a few cartons.   Now my three small dogs, after eating Cesars yesterday, are ALL having serious diarrhea today, and I am very worried.   None of the other dogs are sick.   I have also noticed strings of something in the Cesar this week, maybe strings of intestines or muscles, ugggggghhhhh, and I read that one food at Mars had caused dogs to choke.

    I am very worried and scared now, because I know that dogs have died from food made at the Mars plant.  However, other than the diarrhea my small dogs are okay now, and they have gotten meds for diarrhea.  I will be watching them closely.

    Can you give me advice on this, and also what canned food would appeal to them the way the Cesar does that they would EAT that wold be safe.    I know all the top brands and use them, but I do not like berries and vegetables in the canned food which many of the top brands contain.

    Please help me.   I am very stressed out and worried.

    Thank you,

    Suzanne

  • Pingback: Best soft puppy food - YorkieTalk.com Forums - Yorkshire Terrier Community()

  • Dog Food Ninja

    Lewis, this is a website that reviews dog food, not the manufacturer’s website. Why would they rate themselves with two stars? Please read the detailed review above, as this is an awful food.

  • Lewis

    I would like to know?What is being done differently to your cesar dog food?I have talked to other breeders and they also have seen a difference.I breed yorkies,corgis,shelties.My puppies loved the cesar puppy chow.Now they will not eat it as always before .I am concerned about your product.I have used it for many years with success.But now,I will be forced to look for other foods.It has got so bad that even my larger breeds will not eat it as before,even the adult dogs.I hope someone in your company will seek a resolve or you will see a great reduce in sells of your products.Concerned in Virginia

  • vanessa

    I, like other reviewers, also suspect that they put something addicting in the caesar. My cockapoo wouldn’t touch anything else at first, but eventually we made the transition. I was thinking that maybe they added sugar, but the comment about msg also seems plausible.

  • vanessa

    My cockapoo used to have seizures about once every other month or so. I did some research and I am convinced it was the caesar I was feeding her. After switching her over to avoderm, she is much more energetic and in the last 3 years has only had one seizure. I just wish I knew sooner how bad caesar really is. I thought I was feeding her the best but sadly I was wrong.

  • Lucy

    My small Yorkie-Maltese mix, started life on dry Science Diet at the breeders. I switched him to dry Wellness Puppy Formula during a four day period. He discovered “people food” via some unhelpful relatives and began to turn up his nose at the dry Wellness after a few months.

    I began to use Cesars because it was available almost every where I turned. I noticed my puppy started defecating a great deal more on Cesars and reverted back to eating his own feces — something he stopped doing after the switch from Science Diet to Wellness. I believe it was because he wasn’t getting enough nutrients from Cesars. I researched Cesars and promptly disposed of the packets I’d bought. I was so horrified and pale that my sister thought I was ill. I got the puppy canned Wellness Stews and Core. I plan on alternating to Merrick next and then Blue Buffalo.

    Thank you, Mike. I feel much better about feeding my little guy. I worry over past mistakes I clearly made with my childhood dog. I plan on printing some of your articles and pinning them to the bulletin board in my local dog run.

  • Phyllis

    My female Shih Tzu was a very picky eater and would only eat Cesar. My boy seemed to have more allergies on Cesar so I switched him to Freshpet Select. I can’t say Cesar was bad for Wendy as she lived to be 15 1/2 eating it but after reading this article I wouldn’t want Cody to have a steady diet of Cesar with it’s questionable ingredients.

  • Solomohn Ennis

    I recently started feeding my dog Caesars. I started 3 days ago and everything was fine until I fed my 7-year-old Rat Terrier the senior Caesar food; hence my 4AM entry to this board. I awakened this AM to what I thought was a cat mewling on the patio, to my shock it was Crophy’s stomach. I rushed him outside and he started chewing grass like there wasn’t a chance of survival without it. I will stop feeding him this food. After hearing my baby’s stomach and reading that there’s everything in this stuff from cow vaginas to Chinese food–he will not eat another bite.

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Lynda… The Senior product is included in the review listed as Cesar Original. Hope this helps.

  • Lynda Burgiss

    Do you have a Cesar’s Senior dog food review?

    Thanks! :-)

  • Brianna

    I should, also, add that I know it wasn’t from transitioning too fast because the Chihuahua was previously on Cesar, too, he just wasn’t eating from the pack. (But the single trays that you can buy from the store)

  • Brianna

    Normally, I don’t buy this kind of dog food. But my family has fell upon some hard times and we just want to make sure our dogs are fed, you know. I check the recall lists frequently so that I can avoid buying a recalled food. About four days ago, I bought one of the 12 packs of Cesar dog food (Filet Mignon, Porterhouse Steak) and two of the Bistros for my Corgi mix. My Corgi happily ate both Bistros and had no problems at all. Now, to understand my Corgi completely you’d have to know that she is a very intelligent dog. If she smells something “off” about a food even if she normally likes the food, she WILL refuse to eat it. When I gave her the first can from the pack, she acted as if she was excited to be getting it and then sniffed it and walked away. She did not eat. She did not touch her food that evening, the next morning or evening, or this morning. I decided that, maybe, she just didn’t like the flavors. I didn’t put two and two together right away. My mother, realizing that my dog was not eating the food, decided to give it to her Chihuahua. He happily chowed it down. Ten minutes later, he was sick. He was shaking pretty badly, throwing up, and lethargic. He is still acting listless, we’re keeping a close eye on him. We might have to rush him to the emergency vet but he has been acting better. I have been trying to find out if there has been a recall on Cesar recently but I have not found anything. Other than this site, I haven’t found much on the brand at all. My mother contacted the company, but I suspect they might deny it. A lot of the “big brand” pet food companies do. But her Chihuahua was just fine before he ate the Cesar and all our other dogs are fine, too, and they did NOT eat the Cesar. The ONLY difference between them and him is the Cesar. Mostly, what I was wondering is, has ANYONE else had a similar experience recently with Cesar? I think I’ve learned my lesson from this experience. I’m going to find an affordable, decent food. I have saved the pack of Cesar just in case we need the UPC.

  • Janice Kirk

    I have 2 Shih-tzu dogs. Mickey is going on 7 and Oliver is going on 4. The first time I opened a “ceasar for dogs” to give to my “boys’ I almost threw up. How disgusting, seeing parts of windpipe from god only knows what!!!!. I would never feed that garbage to anything except the garbage pail itself. You should be ashamed of yourself trying to pass off this crap as good for dogs. SHAME ON YOU.Shame on me for buying this s_ _ _ in the first place!!!

  • melissa

    Hi Lisa-

    I too have a very picky dog and it took quite a while to find foods that he likes(and he gets bored quickly!) I found that he gobbles up canned foods such as Merrick(no buffalo please!) 4health chicken/rice or lamb/rice pate style, and most 95% meat canned foods. I switch the flavors and brands for him every three days and he has been eating just fine since. I would suggest starting with a good canned to mix with the dry and once you find something that your dog likes, start looking for a better dry product to go with it. I also found that the smaller the nuggets, the better he eats-

  • ShamelessRawFoodie
  • Lisa Palacios

    I have a very similar problem with my dog as well. She is a malti-poo who loves Caesar. I stopped feeding it to her about 6 months ago, after finding many pieces of by-product I myself find disgusting..I switched her to Science Diet. I have had some success with it, but find it non-constistant when it comes to her eating it. I have tried so many different foods and she will just not eat it. What am I doing wrong?

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Beverly… According to the Waltham Centre for Pet Nutrition, small to medium breeds may be considered adults after about six months of age. But large and giant breeds shouldn’t be fed as adults until they reach about one to two years (depending upon the breed). Hope this helps.

  • Beverly Clark

    How old should a dog be to eat the little trays of dog food instead of the puppy one–I can’t find this info anywhere

  • melissa

    Suzanne-

    Why not just buy a few cans of other,(better quality) foods and try them with your picky two? We have found that one extreme picky eater loves the Merrick cans,& Nature’s Variety-These are a bit pricier however. He also LOVES the By Nature cans($1.20 or so in my part of Ny) AND the 4health canned(4 1/2 star rated, and only 99 cents per can!!!) The 4health is a complete diet, not just a meat topper or “intermittent” feeding food. Mix them if you feel the need to encourage them to eat a better quality and fear that they won’t, but even a 50/50 mix to start with(LC and a better food) is still better than just this stuff!

  • Christine Cooke

    I usually have been feeding a good supermarket brand of dog food in small foil trays. When they ran out recently I bought some little foil trays of Cesar & to my disgust found that they were little more than jellied vegetables. You could see that the meat content was MINIMAL. I opened them & threw them away. I could have made this from a cheap tin of mixed veg & put it in aspic jelly. This is not nutricious dog food. I have kept dogs all of my 62 years, have shown & bred dogs & am an experinenced dog owner & dog lover. I would not feed this sort of rubbish to my dogs. In my opinion a dog fed on this would be seriously malnourished.

  • Suzanne

    Thank you Barbara. I’m not surprised. I am beginning to wonder if Cesar adds MSG to their food to hook dogs and to give it the flavor. They refused to respond to my inquiries about the beef or chicken FLAVOR, and many manufacturers refused to give their sources, as they did when dogs and cats died from out of the country additives to the food. I am feeding C&P dry and canned to all my dogs, but am ashamed that I feed Cesar to two dogs, one weakened with extreme age and the other one physically and neurologically damaged from extreme abuse and couldn’t even stand up when I got her at 2#. These two dogs will only eat Cesar and I don’t want their health declining by their refusing to eat at all, so I feed them this. If there is ANY dog food that is extremely tasty to dogs and still high quality PLEASE TELL ME. Frankly, I have decided dog food isn’t that flavorful, and the dogs can’t really tell us, and they force themselves to eat what we give them. That is why I wonder about the Cesar, and why it is so enticing to dogs. I wonder if they would be prosecuted if really bad things are in that food, and I find it very suspicious that they don’t list ingredients properly.

  • Barbara B

    I buy Caesar Dog Food for my dog 6-8 cans a week. I opened one the other day to put on top of her dry dog food and there was a rubber band in it. Thank God I stirred it and saw the rubber band. Otherwise, she could have choked to death. Should I file a complaint against the company?

  • Suzanne

    Thank you, Mike, and thanks for all you do for animals. What you do in checking out and evaluating food is really hard work, so I know it is a labor of love for animals. Plaudits to you!

  • http://DogFoodAdvisor.com Mike Sagman

    Hi Suzanne… Thanks for sharing your story and for rescuing so many dogs. Good news… there are lots of great dog foods. And many not especially costly. Unfortunately, I cannot provide customized reviews and product recommendations for each reader. Please check out my reviews and visit our FAQ page and look for the topic, “Help Me Choose a Dog Food” for more information. Or check back for a possible response from one of our other readers.

  • Suzanne

    I need some help on Cesars, and this is why.

    My dogs are all rescues from horrible situations. They went through a lot, I love them and devote my life to them, and they are happy. But, we have had some really hard times trying to find the right food, most of which is inferior, and has wheat, corn, additives, fillers and bad presesrvatives. Now all my dogs are on Castor and Pollux, thanks to information you provided.

    Now to the Cesar. A few months ago I had to take in two very sick dogs, one couldn’t stand up, only weighted 2 lbs., and had been beaten to the point of neurological damage.
    She would not touch food until I offered her chicken flavored Cesar, and still that is all she will eat, and she has gained a half a pound now and can stand up and walk some. She will still only eat the Cesar.

    The other dog was sick with infections, heart worms, abscessed teeth and cataracts, all of which I have fixed, but she doesn’t like the Castor and Pollux, and I changed her to the Cesar. She did fine for a few days, but then was spitting up bile. Now she has diarrhea. The worse problem I have with my dogs is finding safe food for them. However, the very sick and weak little dog has had no digestive problems or stomach upset with Cesar.

    This is my problem. I have never trusted Cesar food because of the suspicious ingredients and because instead of saying “real chicken” or “real beef” it says on the carton that the food is “chicken flavor and beef flavor”. FLAVOR? So what are they eating that is flavored like the real thing but is something else? If all dogs love to eat Cesar, whether it is good for them or not, what is in it that dogs like so much? I am in a trap on this, because the tiny dog will not touch any other food, I tried for two days.

    I also have a 14 year old Peke who now will only eat the Cesar and who eats little, so I have three dogs on Cesar, against my judgement, but have found no other food that these three at risk dogs who have to eat, will accept.

    My other dogs, large and small, are thriving on Castor and Pollux. Frankly, I trust few dog foods now, think there is too much stuff like berries and vegetables, taking up too much space when meat in my view is more important. I don’t think dogs in the wild were seeking out vegetables and fruit. My dogs get canned and dry food. I would like to see more meat in both and less what I consider garbage.

    Any dog food, in my opinion, that has wheat, corn, additives, preservatives and fillers should not be bought. I am looking for something for my small dogs that they find as tasty as Cesar that is of a higher quality. Thank you for any advice and comments you can offer me.

  • cathy

    ok i have 2 dogs , one was a lhasa , the other is a Corgi , My lhasa lived to be , 14 yrs old , & was on it til she passed away this , June , she lOVED IT NO problems at all .. now my corgi is on it , HEARD too much of the many recalls on Eukanuba, & many others so far with CESARS it hasnt been recalled my corgi has tried many others too , ( DOESNT LIKE THE TASTE / OR GETS SICK .. ) so I will stick with it ..

  • Amy

    Lisa, sorry your Boston Terrier became ill, hopefully he is doing much better now. Not sure which Eukanuba you went with, but according to this site they are rated as low as Cesar. For the same price you can find many higher quality foods.

  • Lisa Boone

    My Boston Terrier loved Little Cesar’s but became ill after eating it for one month. Vet called it fast food for dogs, high calorie with little energy output so dog is constantly hungry after consuming product. Will not go back to this food and do not recommend it to anyone else. Going to feed higher quality Eukanuba food.